About Nuevo Modern Mexican and Tequila Bar

54 East Mill St
Akron, OH 44308
View Larger Map

We are NO LONGER accessible on OpenTable for reservations. To reserve online please visit our website at http://nuevomodmex.com. Thanks.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
High Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 762-8000

Website:
http://www.nuevomodmex.com/

Catering:
Talk to Lisa Hirt regarding your catering event needs.

Parking Details:
There are several parking choices for guests of Nuevo Modern Mexican and Tequila Bar. Street parking is available on High Street, Mill Street, and Main Street. The High Street parking deck is adjacent to Nuevo, where parking is free for the first hour, after 6 pm, and weekends. There is also the convention center parking deck a block west on Mill Street and the library parking deck is one block north on High Street. Valet service will be available for special events.

Executive Chef:
Zack Hirt

Private Party Facilities:
Our downstairs private lounge can be reconfigured for a formal meeting, a celebration, or a casual get-together.

Private Party Contact:
Aaron Redmond: 3307628000x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Note: We don't take online reservations for the rooftop patio area, it is first come first serve and can be requested when you arrive with no guarantee.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Nuevo Modern Mexican and Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Akron
Most Booked
Akron
Best Restaurants in Akron ›

fit for foodies (48)
hot spot (34)
special occasion (32)
See All
great for outdoor dining (31)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for lunch (24)
good for groups (24)
vibrant bar scene (16)
romantic (11)
scenic view (9)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great. Our server was disengage ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great. Our server was disengaged. He did not seem overloaded just maybe his personality to be very casual. Did not have a grip on the wine list, if it is from Chile it is good attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was wonderful as was the service. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was wonderful as was the service. The entree presentation was exquisite!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They need better A/C! We were sweating ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

They need better A/C! We were sweating while we ate. Food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The air conditioning didn't work and our ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The air conditioning didn't work and our server told us this is was a common occurrence. The menu hadn't changed in more than a year. My braised short ribs were dry and and flavorless. I really liked the place when it first opened up. I don't plan on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Ordered several drinks and appetizers. S ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Ordered several drinks and appetizers. Server rudely reassured us that " it's okay". Did not know a bill of $85 was a problem. He smelled like smoke. Would explain why we waited 25 min for water and drinks at $15 a piece. He called us "Guys". We are ladies. Corrected me when I referred to the civiche coconut milk as "fish juice". Needed new plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We are having our upcoming board dinner ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We are having our upcoming board dinner there in the private room downstairs and wanted to try it first. Loved it! The décor is fabulous - felt like Mexico.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is always a great place to gather. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is always a great place to gather. Thoroughly enjoyed by our guests visiting from out of state. Cocktails prepared carefully, and a variety of appetizers and entrees were enjoyed by all.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1. The quality of the food was terrible ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

1. The quality of the food was terrible. I had chicken and it tasted like it was freezer-burnt.

2. Great looking space other than being a touch too loud but nothing outrageous

3. I felt that the service could have been better but wasn't, on the other hand, terrible

4. Fantastic rooftop patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

FANTASTIC service and OUTSTANDING food!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

FANTASTIC service and OUTSTANDING food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and I continue to ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was excellent and I continue to be impressed by their innovative and delicious drink menu and margarita options. Overall the experience was excellent though the pacing felt a bit rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service, explained the menu since ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great service, explained the menu since we were unfamiliar with some dishes they serve. Fast service and more affordable than would have thought for the great atmosphere and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated at 4:30 and did not see our waite ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Seated at 4:30 and did not see our waiter for 20 minutes. When we finally got our waiter he could not have been more put out we we asked what flavors of margaritas, needless to say we ordered beer. The tequila shrimp were over cooked and cold. That was enough to put us off from ordering dinners. Should have known there was a problem when the tables around us where asking for a manager complaining that it took 40 minutes for their appetizers .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Really nice place on the inside, staff w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really nice place on the inside, staff was friendly. Biggest downfall was the food. I had steak and my girlfriend had chicken. Steak was terrible, the sauce it was made in was even worse. Chicken tasted on but the rubberized roll (don't know what it was) was terrible. When you pay almost $60 for 2 entrees you expect a good meal. Drinks and staff were great but will not go back because of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Have been here 3 times now. Food is alw ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Have been here 3 times now. Food is always good and margaritas are excellent. Our waitress was ok. Didn't help much and was gone from view a lot. Hardly saw her. She wasn't the most friendly but was ok.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My girl and I had the nicest dining expe ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My girl and I had the nicest dining experience at this restaurant. The host greeted us immediately with a friendly smile and showed us to our table where our server promptly and warmly greeted us as well, we were made to feel very welcome at this establishment.

We began with cocktails, my girl had "something fruity" and I had the peach ginger margarita, both were refreshing and delightfully delicious. For appetizers we chose the House Guacamole and the Piripri Calimari which was prepared very well and pleasing to the palate.

For the main course my girl had Vieiras Scallops Peruvian with Plaintain Tacu Tacu, drizzled with a strawberry amarillo salsa which she said was enjoyable and delectable. I had the Carnitas with black beans and rice, it was tender, moist , well seasoned and was also delicious.

This was our first visit to this restaurant and it truly was an excellent dining experience. I highly recommend this restaurant for a great meal, amazing ambiance, great service and great drinks.

Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hostess could not have been more accommo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Hostess could not have been more accommodating Held our reservation until it was determined if there was room for us to be seated on their first come first rooftop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Nuevo a few times now an ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been to Nuevo a few times now and love the staff. They have fun at what they are doing and that adds to the experience. The food is good with a lot of different flavors in one dish.

I also love the fact I can get a decanter of Margaritas. There margarita mix is home made and is delicious. I will return many more times.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ideal downtown dining

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is my favorite downtown spot! It's consistently delicious and a great atmosphere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We sat on the roof patio and enjoyed the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We sat on the roof patio and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Drinks and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy and fun!!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Went to Nuevo with our family. While the restaurant was noisy, we made the most of it. Had sampler of guac andsalsa, tacos pastor, beef tonguetaco...all were delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Love Nuevo!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Have been to Nuevo a bunch of times. Magaritas are fantastic. Try a flight of 3! Not you typical Mexican fare. No goop on a plate here! Always happy walking away!!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and drinks were fantastic. The ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food and drinks were fantastic. The service was excellent and thorough. The only drawback was the very high volume of ambient nose when seated in the lower dining room. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had lunch on the roof top patio and i ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We had lunch on the roof top patio and it was gorgeous. A beautiful lunch spent celebrating a friends birthday with the perfect ambiance. Food was delicious! Service was flawless.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was alright

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

All staff was friendly and helpful, however service was extremely slow. The water guy was the only person checking on us regularly. It took at least a half hour to get a drink each time, we all would have drank at least one more margarita but it took so long we just didn't. After we placed the food order, it was about an hour before we got it. It just took forever, We were there for 3 hours. The food was ok, no one loved it but no one hated it either. They are trying really hard to be fancy. There's really weird, random ingredients on every menu item. It did take us a long time to figure out what to order because most of the menu uses Spanish words that we weren't familiar with. It's a nice place for fancy hipsters with a lot of time on their hands.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Great local Akron gem - cannot wait unti ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great local Akron gem - cannot wait until the Cleveland location opens with the same great food and views of the lake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a fun little Mother's Day ou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for a fun little Mother's Day outing. The food was great as usual! Never disappointed at this place!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Mexican food!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food is fresh and the margaritas are fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service. The carnitas dinner i ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Fantastic service. The carnitas dinner is perfect every single time. Great food, great cocktails and superb staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good selection of food and drinks good atmosphere

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Good selection of food and drinks. The Jalapeno cilantro margarita was exceptional.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Needs some work

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was ok, not spectacular. We got a guacamole trio and, frankly, I make better guac at home. The entrees were just ok. There were some definite service issues. When we ordered cocktails, the came out one by one to the table, not together. Our server forgot to put in our appetizers, so the entrees came out. The manager bought us a round of drinks as an apology which was nice. The server apologized which is fine, and we were ok with it, but then throughout the meal he apologized a couple more times which got kind of annoying. The product knowledge of the server also needed some work. I asked if the beans were vegetarian and he didn't know. These are basic questions that every server should know. When we were ready to order dessert, we had to ask another person to take the order because we hadn't seen our server for awhile. I understand people get busy, but just take a moment to check in. I would go back to give them a second chance, but it wasn't a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was outstanding.

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great vibe and fun drinks. Good well pre ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Great vibe and fun drinks. Good well prepared and authentic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

+ The dinner and drinks menus are excell ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

+ The dinner and drinks menus are excellent.

- The lack of sound deadening materials with many flat surfaces leads to a noisy meal that's difficult to maintain a conversation, even with the wait staff. Not hearing aid friendly.

+ Overall, would definitely return for the classic and signature dishes with balanced and well mixed margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Ok

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I had heard so much about the restaurant and was looking forward to a special occasion with friends. The food was just so so and the waiter wasn't that attentive. He even forgot to bring the tortilla for an order of tacos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Sorry, thumbs down

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Didn't care for any of the items on menu. Been to Mexico and many Mexican restaurants but had a difficult time picking dinner. Not sure if they are trying to be gourmet or what the cuisine is trying to be, but all four of us would not go back and neither enjoyed the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Nuevo Modern never disappoints. My husba ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Nuevo Modern never disappoints. My husband & I each indulged in a margarita flight - 3 small margaritas each of a different flavor. The roasted red pepper and the cilantro jalapeño were to die for! We had the guacamole as well as the salsa sampler (always our favorites). We tried the special appetizer of tuna ceviche and the enchilada appetizer. We would order both of them again. For me the enchilada was large enough for a meal so that by the time our pork tacos came I was too stuffed to eat them. They did, however, make for wonderful leftovers. The vibe is lively, the staff is cheerful and the food is fabulous. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great time and good food at Akron's Nuevo.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Any time the weather in NE Ohio provides 79 degrees of sunny in mid-April's a great time to soak in the warm spring air on Nuevo's deck patio area. Great service, a cool view, and the funky outdoor patio area are all good reasons to skip the franchise fare for a night of open-air dining and bespoke comestibles. While I had an interesting brioche soup chock-full of pureed butternut squash, the missus truly enjoyed her shrimp tacos, but not before devouring a plate of classic guac and house chips - preceded only by her thumbs-up to the pre-dinner white chocolate pumpkin martini. We'll be back - and you should, too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our fifth visit to Nuevo and each visit our satisfaction has slid a little down hill. This will likely be our last visit. My boyfriend and I went for dinner before the symphony. We were led through the upstairs dining room down to the windowless basement where there was one largish party and one table set up for a very large party as well as another table set for a large party and our table set against the wall and across from the storage room.

Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable and along with the good wine the highlight of our evening.

I started with a house salad. The spring mix was somewhat wilted but the toppings and dressing were good. My BF had the grilled Caesar which he said was OK but not as good as the grilled Caesar we make at home. For entrees I had the Sea Bass. It was cooked very well and I love the sides but the first bite of fish had four bones in it! I've never found bones in sea bass previously. My BF had the smoked pork shoulder tacos which were too sweet for him.

When we left the restaurant my boyfriend noted that some of the tables had been empty when we arrived and were still empty so we didn't understand why we were stuck in the loud basement with all the large parties. Not quite the dining experience we were hoping for.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Great service by Corey. Food was good, a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great service by Corey. Food was good, ambience was good. Bar drinks take way too long. I mean, when you have to wait 15 minutes for drinks, that's bad sorry. Also, the manager who was jumping the steps and making an earthquake at our booth was annoying. Besides that everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Another new favorite ... scallops! Nuev ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Another new favorite ... scallops! Nuevo ... what's not to like? Don't ask questions, just go there if you've never dined there. Free parking in deck behind restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.