About Nuba - Kitsilano

3116 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V6K 2G9
View Larger Map

Lebanese-style taverna in the same space as the legendary Greek restaurant Orestes. Nuba unfolds over multiple levels through small, low-ceilinged nooks, and up and down numerous staircases. Healthy, delicious Mediterranean food served with panache.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Brunch/Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm/4:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Balaclava and Trutch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 336-1797

Website:
http://nuba.ca/

Catering:
We recommend booking through our Catering department at catering@nuba.ca. We are able to facilitate some large takeout orders during our off hours with 24 hours notice. Please get in touch at 6043361797 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking on West Broadway near Nuba Kitsilano is available at a street parking rate of $2 per hour. There is some free parking in the residential areas behind the restaurant on and around 10th Avenue West.

Public Transit:
The #9 and #14 stop at West Broadway and Balaclava St both east and westbound. The #99 stops at West Broadway and Alma (6 blocks west of the restaurant) or West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east). The #22 stops at West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east of the restaurant).

Private Party Facilities:
Nuba's Kitsilano location has several private dining options for parties of varying sizes from 12 to 150. Minimum spends apply to all private room bookings. Please get in touch for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kaya Hayes: 6043361797x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We book all sorts of special events. Please get in touch for details.

Nuba - Kitsilano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (39)
fit for foodies (38)
good for groups (38)
See All
special occasion (19)
great for lunch (18)
kid-friendly (12)
romantic (10)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect lite meal prior to concert! Naj ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Perfect lite meal prior to concert! Najib's cauliflower, once again stole the show! Never a disappointment.....tabbouleh salad was perfect pairing! Waitress was delightful, very busy, however, never missed a beat with ensuring everything was good! Always a pleasure to

dine at Nuba!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Food was good- the caulif ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great service. Food was good- the cauliflower which is usually my favourite was too salty but everything else was great.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Loved the food and service! Only concern ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved the food and service! Only concern was sticky bathroom floor and flies!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time at Nuba and we wer ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was our first time at Nuba and we were pleasantly surprised - the food was fantastic and the service was outstanding! Overall, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food good restaurant. Perfect for a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good food good restaurant. Perfect for a vegetarian like myself. The cauliflower was awesome! I'll definitely go back for those. :p

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Lebanese dishes, has a brunch ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious Lebanese dishes, has a brunch menu excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The restaurant was ok, nothing spectacul ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant was ok, nothing spectacular... ethnic but not overwhelmingly different. I ordered the feature appetizer and main; the appetizer was quite small and my main was overcooked and salty. Friends ordered the grand plate for 2... they received more food, but was still probably not really seen as a good 'value'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and a quaint neighbourhood ge ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food and a quaint neighbourhood gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nuba is a good main stay for eastern Med ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nuba is a good main stay for eastern Mediterranean food. Food is fresh and presented nicely.

Servings are not generous and prices have gone up. This is not a cheap option for this type of food.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food is very good and different from ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food is very good and different from the average restaurant meal. Nice to be able to share (which we did) or have a separate meal. I particularly like the cauliflower, but there are many other choices, mostly with a Middle Eastern flavour. Staff are very friendly and attentive without being at our table constantly. We found Nuba to be good value and we would be glad too go to any of the locations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was perfect. Excellent food ( ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Everything was perfect. Excellent food (loved the vegetarian platter). Very pleasant service.

Good value. What more do you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everyone has told me about Nuba and when ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everyone has told me about Nuba and when we moved into the neighbourhood it was on my list of "must eat here"... it was delicious, our waiter was delightful, the food came out quickly, we just shared plates of appetizer and it was more than enough for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nuba has very interesting Middle Eastern ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Nuba has very interesting Middle Eastern food but a further selection such as sole (special that night) and different salads. My daughter and I were able to have a good visit as the noise level was not high and service was pretty seemless. We shared some dishes and loved the cauliflower . We also shared hummous, tabouleh salad and my daughter enjoyed the wine. We have been to Nuba previously and would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was very good.it was primarily geek b ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was very good.it was primarily geek but OK for vegetarians.the vegetarian combinationplate was good and more than ample for two with leftovers for lunch the next day.Food was frest, delivered timely and the service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best falafel and lentil soup I've had in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best falafel and lentil soup I've had in Vancouver

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server made the occasion - the last ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server made the occasion - the last time, we came, the host was so rude, we left and went to another restaurant. Glad we gave it one more shot. Food was very good - very noisy - exacerbated by a very noisy table behind us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Underwhelmed.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The waiter who served us was very nice and relatively efficient. The food was very disappointing. We had the platter for 2 that offered a wonderful variety of dishes. The pita bread was just ok, not stale but on the dry side and it tasted like it came from a package from the supermarket. All of the other dishes: eggplant dip, hummus, grilled eggplant, falafel were under seasoned and bland. Middle eastern food is simple, full of both complex and fresh flavours but these dishes were not.

The food was by no means terrible but it wasn't very interesting or overly tasty, none of the dishes made me want to make a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Excellent food, reasonable prices, great ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Excellent food, reasonable prices, great service, never a disappointment!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant and morrocan style ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and morrocan style decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nuba is one of my favorite places to din ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Nuba is one of my favorite places to dine in Vancouver, I can be assured that the food will always be excellent and the service will be too, have been so many times to introduce friends to Nuba and they all rave about it. The prices are very reasonable and the decor is unique yet simple and fresh. I have always been treated wonderfully and feel like I am getting the value I look for when having a dining out experience which part of is to be served and served well. Highly recommend Nuba for a casual or semi formal dining experience to anyone who wants to be impressed! To top it off there are several options for gluten free and vegetarian diners with the quality of local/ethical sourced food being admirable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Nuba on Mothers day with my fa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I visited Nuba on Mothers day with my family this year. The food was quite authentic and the atmosphere is very nice. Everything we ate was very tasty!

The only problem we had was that our server (Hazel B) was very rude and rarely checked in on us. We all ran our of water and frequently ran out of pita and couldn't get her attention as she'd never look at our table. At one point she even started wiping down the table while we were still eating! Lastly, after seeing her tip (which reflected the poor service) she rudely and sarcastically said "Thanks" and immediately walked away.

If not for the service than this visit would've been between 4 and 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Excellent for groups, esp. with diet restrictions

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Lots of sharing dishes. Very friendly for vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free dining. Computer billing system is set up to very easily separate bills, etc.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but not spectacular.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered mezze plate to share and thought it was expensive for what it was. Humus didn't blow us away like we expected in a middle eastern place. The pita was store bought and wasn't warm or special. Cauliflower and lentils were great. We also ordered a beef entree which was ok, the side scalloped potatoes were heavy. I think they need to put more effort in and do more justice to the cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Their cauliflower dish is to die for.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Their cauliflower dish is to die for.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very happy dining experience

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Went for my daughter's B-day celebration. Food was excellent and service was great. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends. A little pricer than restaurants we normally go to but was worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Something different for breakfast and br ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Something different for breakfast and brunch. Very reasonable pricing, extraordinary service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a great meal at Nuba.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We always have a great meal at Nuba.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Nuba is a great place for healthy, light food. There are wonderful options for vegetarians. I love all items on the menu especially the Najib's special. They have great sharing platters. My favorite meal is the beef tenderloin kebabs. Also try the Turkish Coffee if you are interested in a unique coffee experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor service; really didn't seem to have a clue.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Will defs go back and also try their other locations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Amazing food. We got the Feast platter a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Amazing food. We got the Feast platter and my husband added spicy prawns. The dark chocolate quinoa cake for desert. Yum. Wine was reasonably priced and a generous pour. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great! The service was plea ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was great! The service was pleasant and friendly. I will totally come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was delicious, great vegan options, service was excellent and our server was absolutely charming and helpful. He helped immensely with the wine choice as well. The cauliflower is a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

family friendly

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

fun, relaxed environment with very good food. good for sharing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Night Out

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife had been to a different Nuba location for lunch, she loved it so I decided to take her to the Kitsilano location for Valentine's Day. It did not disappoint! We went 'Tapas' style and ordered most of the hot mezze. Everything was delicious and definitely the best prawns we have had since moving from Australia. The hand pressed ginger beer with a shot of rum went down a treat also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

lovely Valentine's Brunch

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

we visited nuba with a reservation for 11:30 am and were the first people to arrive and staff just coming in. this made the ambiance a little off putting. more so when the server warned us that the table was booked for 1 pm -- basically saying we had to get out by that time. she took it back later but still it felt not so nice seeing we had made a reservation. the food was delicious; the service really good and timely -- not rushed and we enjoyed the experience except for the above-mentioned ambiance and caveat about how long we could stay.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Yummy

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

the pistachio desert is a must. Absolutely delicious. Lamb chops was pretty good but not as good as they used to make it at the gas town location. Not sure if they changed the recipe. So glad that everything on the menu is halal. Very friendly and wonderful atmosphere. Will definitely be back for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My group and I enjoyed a delicious lunch ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

My group and I enjoyed a delicious lunch. The service was welcoming, friendly and efficient. The dining area was specious and well-appointed. It was a really good choice!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere. Felt like I was at Gre ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Great atmosphere. Felt like I was at Greece while I was eating. Food was great. Not mind-blowing but definitely great. Serve was awesome as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and vibe

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

I went here with my husband and parents and enjoyed the food & vibe. I would pick a table not so close to the kitchen next time, otherwise would absolutely come again!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

delicious food and plenty of it. Great ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

delicious food and plenty of it. Great for sharing.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.