About Nuba - Kitsilano

3116 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V6K 2G9
View Larger Map

Lebanese-style taverna in the same space as the legendary Greek restaurant Orestes. Nuba unfolds over multiple levels through small, low-ceilinged nooks, and up and down numerous staircases. Healthy, delicious Mediterranean food served with panache.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 4:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Balaclava and Trutch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 336-1797

Website:
http://nuba.ca/

Catering:
We recommend booking through our Catering department at catering@nuba.ca. We are able to facilitate some large takeout orders during our off hours with 24 hours notice. Please get in touch at 6043361797 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking on West Broadway near Nuba Kitsilano is available at a street parking rate of $2 per hour. There is some free parking in the residential areas behind the restaurant on and around 10th Avenue West.

Public Transit:
The #9 and #14 stop at West Broadway and Balaclava St both east and westbound. The #99 stops at West Broadway and Alma (6 blocks west of the restaurant) or West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east). The #22 stops at West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east of the restaurant).

Private Party Facilities:
Nuba's Kitsilano location has several private dining options for parties of varying sizes from 12 to 150. Minimum spends apply to all private room bookings. Please get in touch for details.

Private Party Contact:
Malloreigh Hamilton: 6043361797x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We book all sorts of special events. Please get in touch for details.

Nuba - Kitsilano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (37)
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (36)
See All
special occasion (17)
romantic (14)
great for lunch (11)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nuba is one of my favorite places to din ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Nuba is one of my favorite places to dine in Vancouver, I can be assured that the food will always be excellent and the service will be too, have been so many times to introduce friends to Nuba and they all rave about it. The prices are very reasonable and the decor is unique yet simple and fresh. I have always been treated wonderfully and feel like I am getting the value I look for when having a dining out experience which part of is to be served and served well. Highly recommend Nuba for a casual or semi formal dining experience to anyone who wants to be impressed! To top it off there are several options for gluten free and vegetarian diners with the quality of local/ethical sourced food being admirable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1

I visited Nuba on Mothers day with my fa ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I visited Nuba on Mothers day with my family this year. The food was quite authentic and the atmosphere is very nice. Everything we ate was very tasty! The only problem we had was that our server (Hazel B) was very rude and rarely checked in on us. We all ran our of water and frequently ran out of pita and couldn't get her attention as she'd never look at our table. At one point she even started wiping down the table while we were still eating! Lastly, after seeing her tip (which reflected the poor service) she rudely and sarcastically said "Thanks" and immediately walked away. If not for the service than this visit would've been between 4 and 5 stars.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent for groups, esp. with diet restrictions

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Lots of sharing dishes. Very friendly for vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free dining. Computer billing system is set up to very easily separate bills, etc.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Food was good but not spectacular.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered mezze plate to share and thought it was expensive for what it was. Humus didn't blow us away like we expected in a middle eastern place. The pita was store bought and wasn't warm or special. Cauliflower and lentils were great. We also ordered a beef entree which was ok, the side scalloped potatoes were heavy. I think they need to put more effort in and do more justice to the cuisine.

food5
ambience4
service4

Their cauliflower dish is to die for.

Dined on April 20, 2016

Their cauliflower dish is to die for.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very happy dining experience

Dined on April 11, 2016

Went for my daughter's B-day celebration. Food was excellent and service was great. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends. A little pricer than restaurants we normally go to but was worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Something different for breakfast and br ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Something different for breakfast and brunch. Very reasonable pricing, extraordinary service.

food5
ambience4
service5

We always have a great meal at Nuba.

Dined on March 26, 2016

We always have a great meal at Nuba.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Nuba is a great place for healthy, light food. There are wonderful options for vegetarians. I love all items on the menu especially the Najib's special. They have great sharing platters. My favorite meal is the beef tenderloin kebabs. Also try the Turkish Coffee if you are interested in a unique coffee experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Poor service; really didn't seem to have a clue.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Will defs go back and also try their other locations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. We got the Feast platter a ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Amazing food. We got the Feast platter and my husband added spicy prawns. The dark chocolate quinoa cake for desert. Yum. Wine was reasonably priced and a generous pour. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great! The service was plea ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was great! The service was pleasant and friendly. I will totally come back again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent.

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was delicious, great vegan options, service was excellent and our server was absolutely charming and helpful. He helped immensely with the wine choice as well. The cauliflower is a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

family friendly

Dined on February 27, 2016

fun, relaxed environment with very good food. good for sharing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Night Out

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife had been to a different Nuba location for lunch, she loved it so I decided to take her to the Kitsilano location for Valentine's Day. It did not disappoint! We went 'Tapas' style and ordered most of the hot mezze. Everything was delicious and definitely the best prawns we have had since moving from Australia. The hand pressed ginger beer with a shot of rum went down a treat also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

lovely Valentine's Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

we visited nuba with a reservation for 11:30 am and were the first people to arrive and staff just coming in. this made the ambiance a little off putting. more so when the server warned us that the table was booked for 1 pm -- basically saying we had to get out by that time. she took it back later but still it felt not so nice seeing we had made a reservation. the food was delicious; the service really good and timely -- not rushed and we enjoyed the experience except for the above-mentioned ambiance and caveat about how long we could stay.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy

Dined on February 6, 2016

the pistachio desert is a must. Absolutely delicious. Lamb chops was pretty good but not as good as they used to make it at the gas town location. Not sure if they changed the recipe. So glad that everything on the menu is halal. Very friendly and wonderful atmosphere. Will definitely be back for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My group and I enjoyed a delicious lunch ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

My group and I enjoyed a delicious lunch. The service was welcoming, friendly and efficient. The dining area was specious and well-appointed. It was a really good choice!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Felt like I was at Gre ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great atmosphere. Felt like I was at Greece while I was eating. Food was great. Not mind-blowing but definitely great. Serve was awesome as well.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food and vibe

Dined on January 18, 2016

I went here with my husband and parents and enjoyed the food & vibe. I would pick a table not so close to the kitchen next time, otherwise would absolutely come again!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

delicious food and plenty of it. Great ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

delicious food and plenty of it. Great for sharing.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

losing their touch?

Dined on January 11, 2016

usually a favourite, this visit it was cold, no other customers and food was just OK

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Water with cucumber - just the right tem ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

Water with cucumber - just the right temperature to be able to taste the flavour. And to round things off at the end of the meal, special Lebanese coffee - perfectly sweetened and aromatic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It has it all!

Dined on December 30, 2015

I am never disappointed when I go to Nuba and this was no exception! I had a friend who was here from LA and she loved the food, the ambience and the service! She can't wait to come back! She liked it so much she gave me and my husband a gift certificate because my husband was disappointed that he couldn't make it out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

I highly recommend the lamb kibbeh! Deli ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

I highly recommend the lamb kibbeh! Delicious!

food5
ambience4
service4

The food, service, and attention to deta ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

The food, service, and attention to detail by the staff was great. I found them to be accommodating in menu requests as well. I would suggest reserving a table if going during peak hours if you don't want to wait in a line up for a while.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner at Nuba. Thank ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner at Nuba. Thanks for taking such great care of us.

food1
ambience3
service3

Customer Service Lacks at Nuba Kitsilano

Dined on December 5, 2015

1. Requested information on a group reservation, was dealing with owner, had two responses, then never heard back again, after doing a follow-up to inquire again, nothing. 2. Went go to to restaurant for brunch, it was just myself, and was refused to be seated as they were training, and even though they had 8 seats available would not offer me a seat at the bar. 3. Sent beef kebab back as it was not cooked to my request (medium rare), it was well done when receiving it, it came back a second time and it was still not cooked properly. Was offered a refund on my food & a new plate of food for free, but declined.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Top Recommendation!

Dined on November 22, 2015

Whenever there is a request for great ideas in Vancouver for food - be it for a birthday, visiting family members, or something new to try - one of my first, and loudly exclaimed, suggestions is Nuba. Nuba Kitsilano is in a great location and has the loveliest atmosphere. Nuba in general has great food and service, but Nuba Kitsilano has a special place in my heart and has an especially excellent customer experience going for it. The quality of food for the price is also fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good restaurant

Dined on November 22, 2015

The food was good and the service was excellent . I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

Tasteless food, bad service, cold, and expensive

Dined on November 21, 2015

I was looking forward to trying Nuba as I'd heard good things about it and I love trying new cuisine. My husband and I had never tried Lebanese food so we decided to give it a go. We ordered the sampler menu thinking that this would be a great way to try a few different things. The starter was a plate with hummus on one side and baba ganoush on the other. It was fine, nothing special. It got a little boring after a few minutes. When the main course arrived (40 minutes later), we realized that the waitress ordered us the vegetarian sampler by default. We wanted the meat sampler and didn't realize there were two! We had told her that it was our first time eating there so it would have been nice if she had clarified. We only realized when she brought out the main course. When the meat sampler arrived (another 40 minutes later), I wished we had kept the vegetarian one. The main course consisted of a few dried up lamb chops, 4 overcooked prawns, dry chicken skewers, and burnt cauliflower. It was a disgrace. I'm not a fussy eater by any means but this food was terrible. The waitress offered us free desert because of the wait but we didn't bother with it. The restaurant was freezing cold so we were eager to leave and get home. With the tip and two drinks each, the bill totaled $110. I was so disappointed. What a waste of money and a waste of a Friday night treat.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very Friendly. Very Delicious. Good Value !

Dined on November 21, 2015

We love everything about this restauarnt ! We are always greeted by the hostess with a friendly smile and asked how our days going. The waitress was so kind and thoughtful. The food, delicious beyond beleief. We ordered the fatoush salad and homous for starters . Then vegetarian stuffed egg plant. Delicious ! And for desert we ordered the warm quinoa chocolate cake with pistacio ice cream. I'm still dreaming about that desert ! And best of all, my girl friend and I ate very well, even had some wine, and the bill at the end of it was extremely reasonable for the quality of it all ! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ***

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

First time dining at Nuba. Excellent din ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

First time dining at Nuba. Excellent dining experience! Everything from the food, service, & ambiance was outstanding from start to finish. Really appreciated the exceptional, attentive service & menu/wine knowledge from our server Tristen. Very impressive! Exceeded our expectations. Will definitely recommend & can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

I love Nuba

Dined on November 14, 2015

The food is always solid. It was fun trying out the Kits location for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Lunch better than Dinner

Dined on November 8, 2015

I have experienced Nuba for lunch several times, this time was my first dinner experience, I loved lunch special and the taste of Lebanese food you get there, but dinner selection was not that good, beef and chicken taste were ok, but not special.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

Our first dining experience at Nuba.

Dined on October 30, 2015

The room is a bit dark.....have problem to read the menu. The table is a bit crowded for 5 .

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

Lunch Party of 4

Dined on October 28, 2015

Food and service were excellent. Reasonably priced given what you get. Food was very fresh and portions were very good. Overall Nuba was very good. It could use some softening up to dampen the sound since noise from neighbouring tables were quite noticeable but other than that, would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great dinner!

Dined on October 26, 2015

This was our 3rd visit to Nuba Kitsilano - We love the relaxed atmosphere of this place – great for casual but delicious dining . The seared tuna special was amazing, as was the stuffed eggplant. They have a nice selection of beers - didn't have wine. Service was efficient and friendly

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious flavours highlight the main ingredients.

Dined on October 25, 2015

Great food; fabulous flavours. We both had the snapper dish and found it incredible. Appetizers, entrees, desserts, and beverages...all excellent. Couldn't get a table the night before; glad we returned the next night. We'll likely be back next time we head in to the city. Our waiter, T., had the perfect demeanour: casual, witty, and attentive but unobtrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a special trteat

Dined on October 11, 2015

Going to Nuba has always been a special treat for my wife and myself. Ambiance is lively and service is fantastic! The food has always been great and never a problem or questionable item. Well explained by the very knowledgeable waiter. Wine list is very good with many very decent wines available. Always come back to this gem in Kits.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.