About Nuba - Kitsilano

3116 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V6K 2G9
View Larger Map

Lebanese-style taverna in the same space as the legendary Greek restaurant Orestes. Nuba unfolds over multiple levels through small, low-ceilinged nooks, and up and down numerous staircases. Healthy, delicious Mediterranean food served with panache.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Brunch/Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm/4:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Balaclava and Trutch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 336-1797

Website:
http://nuba.ca/

Catering:
We recommend booking through our Catering department at catering@nuba.ca. We are able to facilitate some large takeout orders during our off hours with 24 hours notice. Please get in touch at 6043361797 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking on West Broadway near Nuba Kitsilano is available at a street parking rate of $2 per hour. There is some free parking in the residential areas behind the restaurant on and around 10th Avenue West.

Public Transit:
The #9 and #14 stop at West Broadway and Balaclava St both east and westbound. The #99 stops at West Broadway and Alma (6 blocks west of the restaurant) or West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east). The #22 stops at West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east of the restaurant).

Private Party Facilities:
Nuba's Kitsilano location has several private dining options for parties of varying sizes from 12 to 150. Minimum spends apply to all private room bookings. Please get in touch for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kaya Hayes: 6043361797x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We book all sorts of special events. Please get in touch for details.

Nuba - Kitsilano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Kid-friendly (13)
Romantic (10)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first visit to a NUBA location and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our first visit to a NUBA location and we weren't disappointed. We went for the group meal which was fantastic - lots of variety and plenty of food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As a frequent Nuba diner, we have not re ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

As a frequent Nuba diner, we have not regularly been to this location. As this was a date night for us, and familiar with the menu, we thought we would check out a different location. Not sure if we will return to this location, although the service was great and the waitress was super friendly, its amazing how 1 fussy child can ruin the dining experience for everyone else.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice place - Halal food (but watch for w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice place - Halal food (but watch for wine added on some plates) - Lunch menu has more options that dinner menu - few plate options in a dinner menu hoped they had more - a bit expensive - good quality and quantity of food

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A great dining experience. Would conside ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A great dining experience. Would consider this establishment again in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a group of five and had a lovely ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were a group of five and had a lovely lunch at Nuba in Kitsilano. The staff were wonderful and accommodating and we enjoyed wonderful food. I was the only one who had been to Nuba before, but all the friends at the table really enjoyed it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff were lovely and the fresh juic ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff were lovely and the fresh juice and coffee were delicious. The 2 brunch meals we had were filled with lovely fresh ingredients, they were just a bit bland and really missed the mark flavour wise.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Would not go for the sharing menu again. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Would not go for the sharing menu again. The presentation wasn't thought out, and the individual skewers looked smaller than appetizers. I had invited some people out here and was quite dissapointed overall. Would not go back to any Nuba.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food but marred by a comedy of err ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food but marred by a comedy of errors. Showed up for reservation & they seemed surprised & scrambled to put together a table. Brought a very nice bottle of wine to celebrate birthday, had to remind waitress no corkage fee on Mon night. She broke the cork; had to decant wine. Hummus arrived, then long-g-g- wait. Another waiter came to apologize, as he'd given our order to another table. Kudos for honesty! And they comp'd the meal, which was nice. Maybe next time, will ask if we can open our own wine (this is 3rd time in 2 months a restaurant hasn't been able to open wine without breaking cork-always a very expensive wine. Other 2 times were in another restaurant)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great sharing platters with a large vari ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great sharing platters with a large variety of samplers. Waitress added extra skewers of meat for us instead of us ordering another appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always good..lamb Popsicles a li ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food is always good..lamb Popsicles a little overdone...will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a pleasant experience. Table wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overall a pleasant experience. Table was ready at time reserved. Was pleasantly surprised (and pleased) to see that a nursing mother was able to feed her baby at the next table without any impolite comments being made. It was nice to see that level of comfort in a neighbourhood restaurant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Perfect lite meal prior to concert! Naj ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Perfect lite meal prior to concert! Najib's cauliflower, once again stole the show! Never a disappointment.....tabbouleh salad was perfect pairing! Waitress was delightful, very busy, however, never missed a beat with ensuring everything was good! Always a pleasure to

dine at Nuba!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Food was good- the caulif ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great service. Food was good- the cauliflower which is usually my favourite was too salty but everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Loved the food and service! Only concern ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved the food and service! Only concern was sticky bathroom floor and flies!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time at Nuba and we wer ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was our first time at Nuba and we were pleasantly surprised - the food was fantastic and the service was outstanding! Overall, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food good restaurant. Perfect for a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good food good restaurant. Perfect for a vegetarian like myself. The cauliflower was awesome! I'll definitely go back for those. :p

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Lebanese dishes, has a brunch ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious Lebanese dishes, has a brunch menu excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The restaurant was ok, nothing spectacul ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant was ok, nothing spectacular... ethnic but not overwhelmingly different. I ordered the feature appetizer and main; the appetizer was quite small and my main was overcooked and salty. Friends ordered the grand plate for 2... they received more food, but was still probably not really seen as a good 'value'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and a quaint neighbourhood ge ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food and a quaint neighbourhood gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nuba is a good main stay for eastern Med ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nuba is a good main stay for eastern Mediterranean food. Food is fresh and presented nicely.

Servings are not generous and prices have gone up. This is not a cheap option for this type of food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food is very good and different from ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food is very good and different from the average restaurant meal. Nice to be able to share (which we did) or have a separate meal. I particularly like the cauliflower, but there are many other choices, mostly with a Middle Eastern flavour. Staff are very friendly and attentive without being at our table constantly. We found Nuba to be good value and we would be glad too go to any of the locations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was perfect. Excellent food ( ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Everything was perfect. Excellent food (loved the vegetarian platter). Very pleasant service.

Good value. What more do you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everyone has told me about Nuba and when ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everyone has told me about Nuba and when we moved into the neighbourhood it was on my list of "must eat here"... it was delicious, our waiter was delightful, the food came out quickly, we just shared plates of appetizer and it was more than enough for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nuba has very interesting Middle Eastern ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Nuba has very interesting Middle Eastern food but a further selection such as sole (special that night) and different salads. My daughter and I were able to have a good visit as the noise level was not high and service was pretty seemless. We shared some dishes and loved the cauliflower . We also shared hummous, tabouleh salad and my daughter enjoyed the wine. We have been to Nuba previously and would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was very good.it was primarily geek b ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was very good.it was primarily geek but OK for vegetarians.the vegetarian combinationplate was good and more than ample for two with leftovers for lunch the next day.Food was frest, delivered timely and the service was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best falafel and lentil soup I've had in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best falafel and lentil soup I've had in Vancouver

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server made the occasion - the last ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server made the occasion - the last time, we came, the host was so rude, we left and went to another restaurant. Glad we gave it one more shot. Food was very good - very noisy - exacerbated by a very noisy table behind us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Underwhelmed.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The waiter who served us was very nice and relatively efficient. The food was very disappointing. We had the platter for 2 that offered a wonderful variety of dishes. The pita bread was just ok, not stale but on the dry side and it tasted like it came from a package from the supermarket. All of the other dishes: eggplant dip, hummus, grilled eggplant, falafel were under seasoned and bland. Middle eastern food is simple, full of both complex and fresh flavours but these dishes were not.

The food was by no means terrible but it wasn't very interesting or overly tasty, none of the dishes made me want to make a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Excellent food, reasonable prices, great ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Excellent food, reasonable prices, great service, never a disappointment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant and morrocan style ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and morrocan style decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nuba is one of my favorite places to din ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Nuba is one of my favorite places to dine in Vancouver, I can be assured that the food will always be excellent and the service will be too, have been so many times to introduce friends to Nuba and they all rave about it. The prices are very reasonable and the decor is unique yet simple and fresh. I have always been treated wonderfully and feel like I am getting the value I look for when having a dining out experience which part of is to be served and served well. Highly recommend Nuba for a casual or semi formal dining experience to anyone who wants to be impressed! To top it off there are several options for gluten free and vegetarian diners with the quality of local/ethical sourced food being admirable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Nuba on Mothers day with my fa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I visited Nuba on Mothers day with my family this year. The food was quite authentic and the atmosphere is very nice. Everything we ate was very tasty!

The only problem we had was that our server (Hazel B) was very rude and rarely checked in on us. We all ran our of water and frequently ran out of pita and couldn't get her attention as she'd never look at our table. At one point she even started wiping down the table while we were still eating! Lastly, after seeing her tip (which reflected the poor service) she rudely and sarcastically said "Thanks" and immediately walked away.

If not for the service than this visit would've been between 4 and 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Excellent for groups, esp. with diet restrictions

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Lots of sharing dishes. Very friendly for vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free dining. Computer billing system is set up to very easily separate bills, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but not spectacular.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered mezze plate to share and thought it was expensive for what it was. Humus didn't blow us away like we expected in a middle eastern place. The pita was store bought and wasn't warm or special. Cauliflower and lentils were great. We also ordered a beef entree which was ok, the side scalloped potatoes were heavy. I think they need to put more effort in and do more justice to the cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Their cauliflower dish is to die for.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Their cauliflower dish is to die for.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very happy dining experience

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Went for my daughter's B-day celebration. Food was excellent and service was great. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends. A little pricer than restaurants we normally go to but was worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Something different for breakfast and br ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Something different for breakfast and brunch. Very reasonable pricing, extraordinary service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a great meal at Nuba.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We always have a great meal at Nuba.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Nuba is a great place for healthy, light food. There are wonderful options for vegetarians. I love all items on the menu especially the Najib's special. They have great sharing platters. My favorite meal is the beef tenderloin kebabs. Also try the Turkish Coffee if you are interested in a unique coffee experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor service; really didn't seem to have a clue.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Will defs go back and also try their other locations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.