Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About Nuba - Kitsilano

Lebanese-style taverna in the same space as the legendary Greek restaurant Orestes. Nuba unfolds over multiple levels through small, low-ceilinged nooks, and up and down numerous staircases. Healthy, delicious Mediterranean food served with panache.

3116 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V6K 2G9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Brunch/Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm/4:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Balaclava and Trutch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 336-1797

Website:
http://nuba.ca/

Catering:
We recommend booking through our Catering department at catering@nuba.ca. We are able to facilitate some large takeout orders during our off hours with 24 hours notice. Please get in touch at 6043361797 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking on West Broadway near Nuba Kitsilano is available at a street parking rate of $2 per hour. There is some free parking in the residential areas behind the restaurant on and around 10th Avenue West.

Public Transit:
The #9 and #14 stop at West Broadway and Balaclava St both east and westbound. The #99 stops at West Broadway and Alma (6 blocks west of the restaurant) or West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east). The #22 stops at West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east of the restaurant).

Private Party Facilities:
Nuba's Kitsilano location has several private dining options for parties of varying sizes from 12 to 150. Minimum spends apply to all private room bookings. Please get in touch for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kaya Hayes: (604) 336-1797

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We book all sorts of special events. Please get in touch for details.

Nuba - Kitsilano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (16)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Vegan (16)
Healthy (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Authentic (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Family Style (7)
Organic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Private Room (4)
Romantic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We chose Nuba as it was close to our concert venue and because it caters to vegetarians and, somewhat, vegans. The baba ganouj is the best, smoky and flavourful. I, the only non-vegetarian in the group, was somewhat disappointed in the lamb chop on the bone as it had a sweet sticky sauce and was, for the $, paltry. Servers were friendly and efficient and we had a good time all in all. One thing I did note (and remembered from a previous visit) was how small and crowded the tables are for the kind of plate-sharing dining that Nuba specializes in.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was overrated, but it will be perfect for large party.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Vancouver. Super tasty; creative; high quality cuisine; beautiful ambiance; authentic staff. Always looking forward to the experience; great value; love the wine and beer selection.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The regular menu has a wonderful selection of middle eastern food that can be shared. The features are fresh and interesting meals

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Nuba was good as usual, however the food was not very hot when we received it. The portion based on price doesn't seem to fit either. But regardless the flavours were nice and the atmosphere was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place to gather the girls group.
Broad daily board...wonderful place to take a vegetarian guest.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Organic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was delicious; service was outstanding. Look forward to coming back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It's a rare evening when EVERY bite of both of our meals was amazing. Highlight was the original ways in which the potatoes were prepared. Steelhead and Flat Iron Beef were the orders. Down note was the Turkish Coffee - never had it before - like 2 little jugs of mud! - is it supposed to be this way? Did not tell the waiter, wanted no negative memory of this great meal.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place for all foodies- vegan to meat lovers. Hot food and fantastic wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food and great service. The music was a bit loud and the server kindly turned it down when we asked. I love Nuba!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Nuba at Kits is most likely the best Arabic food in Vancouver. Although there are some questionable choices (such as slice of avocado next to the Hummus), they mostly don't interfere with the food and can be picked out. For the most part I'm currently drooling, thinking about the food. The Shish Tawook is to die for and the Hummus is as good as you'll find in Canada. Also the service is gold standard.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Nuba on West Broadway never disappoints! I have a severe shellfish allergy and I always feel well looked after here which allows me to enjoy my meal. We were a group of four friends and our server Tristan was especially attentive and atune to our needs.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We enjoyed a sampler, La Feast, that included six or eight different dishes, with the vegan option. Our waitress was attentive, the restaurant had a warm theme, and La Feast was delicious and satisfying. This was our second visit, and we'll definitely return, even though we have to drive half an hour to get to Nuba-Kitsilano. Based on my experience with the sampler, I will start with Najib’s special, Mjadra or Baba Ghanooj as an appetizer and have Stuffed Eggplant as my main course on my next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great food, generous portions, good service. Ambitious and interesting menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Already a huge fan of Nuba. First time at the Kits location. Food is consistently amazing. Service at Kits location was superior. Thanks for taking such good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food at Nuba was fine, not exceptional in any way. While our waitress was lovely, she came to our table three times before we were ready to order. At the end of the evening she brought the dessert, but forgot to bring the tea. My rating for this restaurant would be satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant never ceases to impress me. The food is always fresh and the menu is always changing. The staff are friendly and very accommodating.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went to Nuba for New Year's Eve because this was a neighbourhood gem. Food was excellent as usual. We ordered the usual food that we liked including Najib's cauliflower and hummus but we also tried new dishes that we have not tried including the Vegan Stew, the Market Fish and there dessert special. These dishes did not disappoint. The service was also quick. It has remained one of our favourite restaurants.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great appetizers (the cauliflower)! We had the grilled chicken and fish, both of which were just okay but greatly outdone by the amazing appetizer. Great place, would come again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not the amazing experience I was hoping for based on the hype. Food was decent, but not very exciting. Service was friendly but slow, I liked the ambiance. The famous cauliflower was a bit soggy but the hummus was very good. Food wasn't tasty enough for me to make the trek to Kits for it again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nuba is great. Food was excellent and the environment was perfect for good friends to sit and have a great time together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyed the family event. Many choices and variety of food - tasty and well presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food but premises are shabby and run down, dark interior and lighting is poor.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was not my first time eating here and won't be my last, the menu is refreshing and offers something for everyone. I like the fact that you can choose to share a range of dishes which is good for trying new and different things. I also like the ambience and the setting and find it's great value. I've been with parents and groups of friends. Good idea to book as it gets very busy and there's often a queue of people waiting. I'm keen to try brunch next...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. The lighting is flattering. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The fried cauliflower was amazing and the white sangria was refreshing. Service was well-timed and friendly. Bring a big appetite!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyable food and good drinks list. Service could be sharper and smaller details fine tuned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Nuba is a go-to of mine for every occasion because of its flexible atmosphere, amazing and healthy food, speedy service, and decent price for local, high-quality food with character!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is a surprisingly large and popular restaurant, but you'll want to reserve to ensure you get in; we went at 6 PM on a rainy Thursday night, and people phoning for reservations for two were being told they'd have to wait until 8 PM to ensure seating. Very good Mediterranean food, with a good list of vegetarian food. For a quieter meal, ask to be seated in the upstairs area; it's set up as a number of small areas and semi-private rooms, as opposed to the main floor, which is one big room. Service was prompt (almost too prompt; the mains arrived before we could complete our appetizers), friendly and efficient. Reasonable value, and we appreciated that they have several wines available in carafe size, rather than having to order a full bottle, which is a little too much when driving. Overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We always have a lovely time at Nuba! The service is always great. Laid-back atmosphere, cozy, and great food. The 'feasts' are great value for money and always leave us stuffed. The cuisine is unlike any other you'll find elsewhere in Vancouver. There are great options for vegetarians, vegans and meat-lovers alike. Always a great place to visit with friends, family or partners. Thanks again for another lovely visit. :-)

Tags: Spicy, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Highly recommendable! My husband and I shared the hummus and four "appetizers" (think more like Spanish tapas) - definitely enough for a meal. Delicious, and great service too. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fresh food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Thumbs up! Nice place, Good atmosphere and food. Will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service was very good, good choice of beer, food was unusual but very tasty, particularly the Lamb and Cauliflower appetizers. Would go again and also recommend, especially if you have a vegetarian in you group.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The dining room is intimate and subdued, The service friendly and attentive. The meal, Mediterranean comfort food prepared with fresh ingredients is flavourful and nicely presented. Someone in Tye kitchen has a passion for fine cooking. We shared 'The Feast' which starts with a large plate covered in hummous, babaganouch (eggplant dip), homemade red sauerkraut and tabbouleh (parsley tomato salad with scallions and bulgur), served with whole wheat pita for dipping. The second platter has a vegan chickpea stew, fresh falafel, fried cauliflower, Mjadra (organic green lentils and rice with onions and jalapeño, served with avocado and caramelized onions), mixed olives, and a fresh salad of greens, tomato, cucumber and creamy chunks of Macedonian feta cheese. Sides of homemade green spicy sauce, tahini and tzaziki are lovely. Could be enough for 3 with light appetites! The table is quite full with so many delicious flavours.
Wine list is good, water glasses refilled promptly without asking. Chairs are more comfortable than they look, although an hour dining is enough with the wooden backs. Staff is quick to follow up checking that everything is the way you like it, and happy to bring more pita. Bathroom could use some updating and maintenance, but adequate.
This location is quieter and less cramped than Gastown where the mirrored walls bounce conversations amongst the close tables. The long awaited move of the fast food shop on Seymour to larger premises around the corner on Davie Street is still pending.
Metered parking in Broadway and side streets easy to find. 99 Express bus stops 3 blocks away at Macdonald Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What is great about Nuba is that the food is consistently good. The service is good.
Just overall good place to eat.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Love Nuba and all its locations. Well worth a visit for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is my favourite restaurant in Vancouver. The food is unusual - broadly Middle Eastern, and very eclectic -- and always tasty. Meals can be tapas-style, with many small plates, or a single main dish can be ordered. The staff is knowledgeable, courteous, and friendly. Superb place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was very surprised when the waiter said my lunch meal was paid for, because it was my birthday and they could not give me a meal ( from the dinner menu) I requested because they were short staffed in the kitchen. The food is always amazing! I would highly recommend this place. Thank you Nuba you made me feel very special and at home!

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love Nuba's food and I love the building of the Nuba-Kitsilano branch. The only problem, as it seems to be with most restaurants in Vancouver, is poor noise control. It is only natural that customers will chat so the proprietors must invest in noise reduction material for walls and the ceilings (keep in mind that this building used to be a night club some years ago!).
Nuba- Kitsilano has multiple beautiful rooms at the back of the building; they should always use those for large parties, of six or more people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place for a unique healthy dinner. Quiet enough for a nice dinner with your spouse, but also would be great with friends

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.