About Nuba - Kitsilano

3116 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V6K 2G9
View Larger Map

Lebanese-style taverna in the same space as the legendary Greek restaurant Orestes. Nuba unfolds over multiple levels through small, low-ceilinged nooks, and up and down numerous staircases. Healthy, delicious Mediterranean food served with panache.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Brunch/Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm/4:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Balaclava and Trutch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 336-1797

Website:
http://nuba.ca/

Catering:
We recommend booking through our Catering department at catering@nuba.ca. We are able to facilitate some large takeout orders during our off hours with 24 hours notice. Please get in touch at 6043361797 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking on West Broadway near Nuba Kitsilano is available at a street parking rate of $2 per hour. There is some free parking in the residential areas behind the restaurant on and around 10th Avenue West.

Public Transit:
The #9 and #14 stop at West Broadway and Balaclava St both east and westbound. The #99 stops at West Broadway and Alma (6 blocks west of the restaurant) or West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east). The #22 stops at West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east of the restaurant).

Private Party Facilities:
Nuba's Kitsilano location has several private dining options for parties of varying sizes from 12 to 150. Minimum spends apply to all private room bookings. Please get in touch for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kaya Hayes: 6043361797x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We book all sorts of special events. Please get in touch for details.

Nuba - Kitsilano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Healthy (22)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Authentic (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Tapas (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Vegan (8)
Family Style (7)
Spicy (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Organic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nuba is a go-to of mine for every occasi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Nuba is a go-to of mine for every occasion because of its flexible atmosphere, amazing and healthy food, speedy service, and decent price for local, high-quality food with character!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a surprisingly large and popular ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is a surprisingly large and popular restaurant, but you'll want to reserve to ensure you get in; we went at 6 PM on a rainy Thursday night, and people phoning for reservations for two were being told they'd have to wait until 8 PM to ensure seating. Very good Mediterranean food, with a good list of vegetarian food. For a quieter meal, ask to be seated in the upstairs area; it's set up as a number of small areas and semi-private rooms, as opposed to the main floor, which is one big room. Service was prompt (almost too prompt; the mains arrived before we could complete our appetizers), friendly and efficient. Reasonable value, and we appreciated that they have several wines available in carafe size, rather than having to order a full bottle, which is a little too much when driving. Overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We always have a lovely time at Nuba! Th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We always have a lovely time at Nuba! The service is always great. Laid-back atmosphere, cozy, and great food. The 'feasts' are great value for money and always leave us stuffed. The cuisine is unlike any other you'll find elsewhere in Vancouver. There are great options for vegetarians, vegans and meat-lovers alike. Always a great place to visit with friends, family or partners. Thanks again for another lovely visit. :-)

Tags: Spicy, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommendable! My husband and I s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Highly recommendable! My husband and I shared the hummus and four "appetizers" (think more like Spanish tapas) - definitely enough for a meal. Delicious, and great service too. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh food and great service

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fresh food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thumbs up! Nice place, Good atmosphere a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Thumbs up! Nice place, Good atmosphere and food. Will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was very good, good choice o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service was very good, good choice of beer, food was unusual but very tasty, particularly the Lamb and Cauliflower appetizers. Would go again and also recommend, especially if you have a vegetarian in you group.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The dining room is intimate and subdued, ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The dining room is intimate and subdued, The service friendly and attentive. The meal, Mediterranean comfort food prepared with fresh ingredients is flavourful and nicely presented. Someone in Tye kitchen has a passion for fine cooking. We shared 'The Feast' which starts with a large plate covered in hummous, babaganouch (eggplant dip), homemade red sauerkraut and tabbouleh (parsley tomato salad with scallions and bulgur), served with whole wheat pita for dipping. The second platter has a vegan chickpea stew, fresh falafel, fried cauliflower, Mjadra (organic green lentils and rice with onions and jalapeño, served with avocado and caramelized onions), mixed olives, and a fresh salad of greens, tomato, cucumber and creamy chunks of Macedonian feta cheese. Sides of homemade green spicy sauce, tahini and tzaziki are lovely. Could be enough for 3 with light appetites! The table is quite full with so many delicious flavours.

Wine list is good, water glasses refilled promptly without asking. Chairs are more comfortable than they look, although an hour dining is enough with the wooden backs. Staff is quick to follow up checking that everything is the way you like it, and happy to bring more pita. Bathroom could use some updating and maintenance, but adequate.

This location is quieter and less cramped than Gastown where the mirrored walls bounce conversations amongst the close tables. The long awaited move of the fast food shop on Seymour to larger premises around the corner on Davie Street is still pending.

Metered parking in Broadway and side streets easy to find. 99 Express bus stops 3 blocks away at Macdonald Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What is great about Nuba is that the foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What is great about Nuba is that the food is consistently good. The service is good.

Just overall good place to eat.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Nuba and all its locations. Well wo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Love Nuba and all its locations. Well worth a visit for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my favourite restaurant in Vanco ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is my favourite restaurant in Vancouver. The food is unusual - broadly Middle Eastern, and very eclectic -- and always tasty. Meals can be tapas-style, with many small plates, or a single main dish can be ordered. The staff is knowledgeable, courteous, and friendly. Superb place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was very surprised when the waiter sai ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was very surprised when the waiter said my lunch meal was paid for, because it was my birthday and they could not give me a meal ( from the dinner menu) I requested because they were short staffed in the kitchen. The food is always amazing! I would highly recommend this place. Thank you Nuba you made me feel very special and at home!

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Nuba's food and I love the buildi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love Nuba's food and I love the building of the Nuba-Kitsilano branch. The only problem, as it seems to be with most restaurants in Vancouver, is poor noise control. It is only natural that customers will chat so the proprietors must invest in noise reduction material for walls and the ceilings (keep in mind that this building used to be a night club some years ago!).

Nuba- Kitsilano has multiple beautiful rooms at the back of the building; they should always use those for large parties, of six or more people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for a unique healthy dinner. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place for a unique healthy dinner. Quiet enough for a nice dinner with your spouse, but also would be great with friends

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time here. I brought my daught ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My second time here. I brought my daughters and gave them their first taste of Nuba's cuisine.

The doubters are happily reformed and look forward to the next time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always love nuba. I found the Halibut ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I always love nuba. I found the Halibut overdone and the salad was quite salty. I was disappointed as I am a regular customer and always enjoy the experience. This was disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent, great staff, very ni ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was excellent, great staff, very nice decor, all in all a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

friendly, relaxed atmosphere conducive t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

friendly, relaxed atmosphere conducive to gathering of friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great atmosphere and great s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and great servers! Couldn't ask for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have wanted to try Nuba for years & w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have wanted to try Nuba for years & we had high expectations. Unfortunately we found food disappointing, dry chicken skewers, greasy lamb, dessert (cake) was dry. We really expected to love the food but didn't. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

we ordered many various dishes to share, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

we ordered many various dishes to share, most were delicious but the the lamb chops (recommended by server) for $30 was not worth it at all! did not taste that great, no sign of any pomegranate there, only 4 tiny mini chops sitting on a bulb of a hummus..and little tabouli :(.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

presentation was good, food was good alb ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

presentation was good, food was good albeit the lamb & chicken were a bit over cooked.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nuba is amazing. We go fairly often and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nuba is amazing. We go fairly often and have a consistently perfect experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed our evening at Nuba ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We very much enjoyed our evening at Nuba.

My only thing was I thought the cauliflower might have been crispier but everything was very tasty. The service was even and discreet. It was also very well priced. Will return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nuba for lunch midweek was quiet, which ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Nuba for lunch midweek was quiet, which made it a great place for chatting with a new friend. The lunch special, lamb cabbage rolls with roast potatoes, salad, hummus and olives, was delicious. Service was good and not intrusive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Slow service every time I've been here. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Slow service every time I've been here. I won't be going back. The last straw for me was this past Saturday. We made a reservation on open table and showed up at our reservation time. There was no one there to greet us at the front door. 5 mins after arriving, when we finally flagged someone down to tell them we had a reservation, they told us all seats were full and it would be a 10-15 min wait. There was another girl who showed up at the same time and also had a reservation. They told her the same thing. It was as if they didn't even realize they had reservations. No apologies, no offer of water while we waited, nothing. Terrible way to treat customers, especially those who have made an effort to book a table in advance. We ended up ordering takeout because the wait for a table was going to be so long. The food has gone downhill too. It's mediocre at best now. I wouldn't waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was very nice, the food was d ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was very nice, the food was delicious and our waitress was very friendly. My only suggestion is to always make a reservation even if they have full availability because if you walk in, you won´t get attended ever, you are supposed to but you won´t. My boyfriend and I just walked in the place and decided to make a reservation while waiting because everyone else was entering faster than us and it worked, after we made the reservation at OpenTable, they let us in. :)

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food. Wonderful service. Warm atmo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food. Wonderful service. Warm atmosphere. My teenaged sons and I really enjoyed our meal together and the friendly staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Spicy, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately the service was lacking. O ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Unfortunately the service was lacking. Our server was very friendly but we were left on many occasions for lengthy periods of time. We wanted pita with our meal even though we had requested veggies to go along with the dips. We basically finished our dips without any pita when half of our table would have preferred to have pita with it. We were often looking around hoping to get a server's attention. I would say they need more staff working on busy Friday nights.

The rice was undercooked and almost crunchy. The chicken skewers were over cooked and dry for everyone at the table (I have noticed this on more than one occasion at Nuba). I went home with a stomach ache. The najib's special was too greasy--too bad it has to be deep fried. The guest eating the falafel was happy though. I would prefer lamb skewers as an add on instead of one measly lamb popsicle. Even the server said it was not good value.

The margarita was awesome though, so I would perhaps go back just for drinks.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Our first visit to a NUBA location and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our first visit to a NUBA location and we weren't disappointed. We went for the group meal which was fantastic - lots of variety and plenty of food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As a frequent Nuba diner, we have not re ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2016

As a frequent Nuba diner, we have not regularly been to this location. As this was a date night for us, and familiar with the menu, we thought we would check out a different location. Not sure if we will return to this location, although the service was great and the waitress was super friendly, its amazing how 1 fussy child can ruin the dining experience for everyone else.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice place - Halal food (but watch for w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice place - Halal food (but watch for wine added on some plates) - Lunch menu has more options that dinner menu - few plate options in a dinner menu hoped they had more - a bit expensive - good quality and quantity of food

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A great dining experience. Would conside ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

A great dining experience. Would consider this establishment again in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a group of five and had a lovely ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were a group of five and had a lovely lunch at Nuba in Kitsilano. The staff were wonderful and accommodating and we enjoyed wonderful food. I was the only one who had been to Nuba before, but all the friends at the table really enjoyed it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff were lovely and the fresh juic ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff were lovely and the fresh juice and coffee were delicious. The 2 brunch meals we had were filled with lovely fresh ingredients, they were just a bit bland and really missed the mark flavour wise.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Would not go for the sharing menu again. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Would not go for the sharing menu again. The presentation wasn't thought out, and the individual skewers looked smaller than appetizers. I had invited some people out here and was quite dissapointed overall. Would not go back to any Nuba.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food but marred by a comedy of err ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food but marred by a comedy of errors. Showed up for reservation & they seemed surprised & scrambled to put together a table. Brought a very nice bottle of wine to celebrate birthday, had to remind waitress no corkage fee on Mon night. She broke the cork; had to decant wine. Hummus arrived, then long-g-g- wait. Another waiter came to apologize, as he'd given our order to another table. Kudos for honesty! And they comp'd the meal, which was nice. Maybe next time, will ask if we can open our own wine (this is 3rd time in 2 months a restaurant hasn't been able to open wine without breaking cork-always a very expensive wine. Other 2 times were in another restaurant)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great sharing platters with a large vari ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great sharing platters with a large variety of samplers. Waitress added extra skewers of meat for us instead of us ordering another appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always good..lamb Popsicles a li ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food is always good..lamb Popsicles a little overdone...will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a pleasant experience. Table wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overall a pleasant experience. Table was ready at time reserved. Was pleasantly surprised (and pleased) to see that a nursing mother was able to feed her baby at the next table without any impolite comments being made. It was nice to see that level of comfort in a neighbourhood restaurant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.