About Nuba - Kitsilano

3116 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V6K 2G9
View Larger Map

Lebanese-style taverna in the same space as the legendary Greek restaurant Orestes. Nuba unfolds over multiple levels through small, low-ceilinged nooks, and up and down numerous staircases. Healthy, delicious Mediterranean food served with panache.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Brunch/Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm/4:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Balaclava and Trutch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 336-1797

Website:
http://nuba.ca/

Catering:
We recommend booking through our Catering department at catering@nuba.ca. We are able to facilitate some large takeout orders during our off hours with 24 hours notice. Please get in touch at 6043361797 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking on West Broadway near Nuba Kitsilano is available at a street parking rate of $2 per hour. There is some free parking in the residential areas behind the restaurant on and around 10th Avenue West.

Public Transit:
The #9 and #14 stop at West Broadway and Balaclava St both east and westbound. The #99 stops at West Broadway and Alma (6 blocks west of the restaurant) or West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east). The #22 stops at West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east of the restaurant).

Private Party Facilities:
Nuba's Kitsilano location has several private dining options for parties of varying sizes from 12 to 150. Minimum spends apply to all private room bookings. Please get in touch for details.

Private Party Contact:
Kaya Hayes: 6043361797x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We book all sorts of special events. Please get in touch for details.

Nuba - Kitsilano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Good for a Date (19)
Healthy (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Vegan (14)
Casual (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Authentic (11)
Tapas (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Family Style (7)
Spicy (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed a sampler, La Feast, that inc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed a sampler, La Feast, that included six or eight different dishes, with the vegan option. Our waitress was attentive, the restaurant had a warm theme, and La Feast was delicious and satisfying. This was our second visit, and we'll definitely return, even though we have to drive half an hour to get to Nuba-Kitsilano. Based on my experience with the sampler, I will start with Najib’s special, Mjadra or Baba Ghanooj as an appetizer and have Stuffed Eggplant as my main course on my next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, generous portions, good serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, generous portions, good service. Ambitious and interesting menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Already a huge fan of Nuba. First time a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Already a huge fan of Nuba. First time at the Kits location. Food is consistently amazing. Service at Kits location was superior. Thanks for taking such good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food at Nuba was fine, not exception ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food at Nuba was fine, not exceptional in any way. While our waitress was lovely, she came to our table three times before we were ready to order. At the end of the evening she brought the dessert, but forgot to bring the tea. My rating for this restaurant would be satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This restaurant never ceases to impress ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant never ceases to impress me. The food is always fresh and the menu is always changing. The staff are friendly and very accommodating.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Nuba for New Ye ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went to Nuba for New Year's Eve because this was a neighbourhood gem. Food was excellent as usual. We ordered the usual food that we liked including Najib's cauliflower and hummus but we also tried new dishes that we have not tried including the Vegan Stew, the Market Fish and there dessert special. These dishes did not disappoint. The service was also quick. It has remained one of our favourite restaurants.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great appetizers (the cauliflower)! We h ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great appetizers (the cauliflower)! We had the grilled chicken and fish, both of which were just okay but greatly outdone by the amazing appetizer. Great place, would come again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not the amazing experience I was hoping ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not the amazing experience I was hoping for based on the hype. Food was decent, but not very exciting. Service was friendly but slow, I liked the ambiance. The famous cauliflower was a bit soggy but the hummus was very good. Food wasn't tasty enough for me to make the trek to Kits for it again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Nuba is great. Food was excellent and t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nuba is great. Food was excellent and the environment was perfect for good friends to sit and have a great time together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed the family event. Many choices ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyed the family event. Many choices and variety of food - tasty and well presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but premises are shabby and ru ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food but premises are shabby and run down, dark interior and lighting is poor.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was not my first time eating here a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was not my first time eating here and won't be my last, the menu is refreshing and offers something for everyone. I like the fact that you can choose to share a range of dishes which is good for trying new and different things. I also like the ambience and the setting and find it's great value. I've been with parents and groups of friends. Good idea to book as it gets very busy and there's often a queue of people waiting. I'm keen to try brunch next...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, , Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. The lighting is flattering. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The fried cauliflower was amazing and the white sangria was refreshing. Service was well-timed and friendly. Bring a big appetite!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable food and good drinks list. Se ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyable food and good drinks list. Service could be sharper and smaller details fine tuned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nuba is a go-to of mine for every occasi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Nuba is a go-to of mine for every occasion because of its flexible atmosphere, amazing and healthy food, speedy service, and decent price for local, high-quality food with character!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a surprisingly large and popular ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is a surprisingly large and popular restaurant, but you'll want to reserve to ensure you get in; we went at 6 PM on a rainy Thursday night, and people phoning for reservations for two were being told they'd have to wait until 8 PM to ensure seating. Very good Mediterranean food, with a good list of vegetarian food. For a quieter meal, ask to be seated in the upstairs area; it's set up as a number of small areas and semi-private rooms, as opposed to the main floor, which is one big room. Service was prompt (almost too prompt; the mains arrived before we could complete our appetizers), friendly and efficient. Reasonable value, and we appreciated that they have several wines available in carafe size, rather than having to order a full bottle, which is a little too much when driving. Overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We always have a lovely time at Nuba! Th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We always have a lovely time at Nuba! The service is always great. Laid-back atmosphere, cozy, and great food. The 'feasts' are great value for money and always leave us stuffed. The cuisine is unlike any other you'll find elsewhere in Vancouver. There are great options for vegetarians, vegans and meat-lovers alike. Always a great place to visit with friends, family or partners. Thanks again for another lovely visit. :-)

Tags: Spicy, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommendable! My husband and I s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Highly recommendable! My husband and I shared the hummus and four "appetizers" (think more like Spanish tapas) - definitely enough for a meal. Delicious, and great service too. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh food and great service

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fresh food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thumbs up! Nice place, Good atmosphere a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Thumbs up! Nice place, Good atmosphere and food. Will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was very good, good choice o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service was very good, good choice of beer, food was unusual but very tasty, particularly the Lamb and Cauliflower appetizers. Would go again and also recommend, especially if you have a vegetarian in you group.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The dining room is intimate and subdued, ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The dining room is intimate and subdued, The service friendly and attentive. The meal, Mediterranean comfort food prepared with fresh ingredients is flavourful and nicely presented. Someone in Tye kitchen has a passion for fine cooking. We shared 'The Feast' which starts with a large plate covered in hummous, babaganouch (eggplant dip), homemade red sauerkraut and tabbouleh (parsley tomato salad with scallions and bulgur), served with whole wheat pita for dipping. The second platter has a vegan chickpea stew, fresh falafel, fried cauliflower, Mjadra (organic green lentils and rice with onions and jalapeño, served with avocado and caramelized onions), mixed olives, and a fresh salad of greens, tomato, cucumber and creamy chunks of Macedonian feta cheese. Sides of homemade green spicy sauce, tahini and tzaziki are lovely. Could be enough for 3 with light appetites! The table is quite full with so many delicious flavours.

Wine list is good, water glasses refilled promptly without asking. Chairs are more comfortable than they look, although an hour dining is enough with the wooden backs. Staff is quick to follow up checking that everything is the way you like it, and happy to bring more pita. Bathroom could use some updating and maintenance, but adequate.

This location is quieter and less cramped than Gastown where the mirrored walls bounce conversations amongst the close tables. The long awaited move of the fast food shop on Seymour to larger premises around the corner on Davie Street is still pending.

Metered parking in Broadway and side streets easy to find. 99 Express bus stops 3 blocks away at Macdonald Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What is great about Nuba is that the foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What is great about Nuba is that the food is consistently good. The service is good.

Just overall good place to eat.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Nuba and all its locations. Well wo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Love Nuba and all its locations. Well worth a visit for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my favourite restaurant in Vanco ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is my favourite restaurant in Vancouver. The food is unusual - broadly Middle Eastern, and very eclectic -- and always tasty. Meals can be tapas-style, with many small plates, or a single main dish can be ordered. The staff is knowledgeable, courteous, and friendly. Superb place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, , Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was very surprised when the waiter sai ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was very surprised when the waiter said my lunch meal was paid for, because it was my birthday and they could not give me a meal ( from the dinner menu) I requested because they were short staffed in the kitchen. The food is always amazing! I would highly recommend this place. Thank you Nuba you made me feel very special and at home!

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Nuba's food and I love the buildi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love Nuba's food and I love the building of the Nuba-Kitsilano branch. The only problem, as it seems to be with most restaurants in Vancouver, is poor noise control. It is only natural that customers will chat so the proprietors must invest in noise reduction material for walls and the ceilings (keep in mind that this building used to be a night club some years ago!).

Nuba- Kitsilano has multiple beautiful rooms at the back of the building; they should always use those for large parties, of six or more people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for a unique healthy dinner. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place for a unique healthy dinner. Quiet enough for a nice dinner with your spouse, but also would be great with friends

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time here. I brought my daught ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My second time here. I brought my daughters and gave them their first taste of Nuba's cuisine.

The doubters are happily reformed and look forward to the next time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always love nuba. I found the Halibut ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I always love nuba. I found the Halibut overdone and the salad was quite salty. I was disappointed as I am a regular customer and always enjoy the experience. This was disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent, great staff, very ni ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was excellent, great staff, very nice decor, all in all a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

friendly, relaxed atmosphere conducive t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

friendly, relaxed atmosphere conducive to gathering of friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great atmosphere and great s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and great servers! Couldn't ask for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have wanted to try Nuba for years & w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have wanted to try Nuba for years & we had high expectations. Unfortunately we found food disappointing, dry chicken skewers, greasy lamb, dessert (cake) was dry. We really expected to love the food but didn't. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

we ordered many various dishes to share, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

we ordered many various dishes to share, most were delicious but the the lamb chops (recommended by server) for $30 was not worth it at all! did not taste that great, no sign of any pomegranate there, only 4 tiny mini chops sitting on a bulb of a hummus..and little tabouli :(.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

presentation was good, food was good alb ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

presentation was good, food was good albeit the lamb & chicken were a bit over cooked.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nuba is amazing. We go fairly often and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nuba is amazing. We go fairly often and have a consistently perfect experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed our evening at Nuba ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We very much enjoyed our evening at Nuba.

My only thing was I thought the cauliflower might have been crispier but everything was very tasty. The service was even and discreet. It was also very well priced. Will return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nuba for lunch midweek was quiet, which ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Nuba for lunch midweek was quiet, which made it a great place for chatting with a new friend. The lunch special, lamb cabbage rolls with roast potatoes, salad, hummus and olives, was delicious. Service was good and not intrusive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Slow service every time I've been here. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Slow service every time I've been here. I won't be going back. The last straw for me was this past Saturday. We made a reservation on open table and showed up at our reservation time. There was no one there to greet us at the front door. 5 mins after arriving, when we finally flagged someone down to tell them we had a reservation, they told us all seats were full and it would be a 10-15 min wait. There was another girl who showed up at the same time and also had a reservation. They told her the same thing. It was as if they didn't even realize they had reservations. No apologies, no offer of water while we waited, nothing. Terrible way to treat customers, especially those who have made an effort to book a table in advance. We ended up ordering takeout because the wait for a table was going to be so long. The food has gone downhill too. It's mediocre at best now. I wouldn't waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.