Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About Nuba - Kitsilano

Lebanese-style taverna in the same space as the legendary Greek restaurant Orestes. Nuba unfolds over multiple levels through small, low-ceilinged nooks, and up and down numerous staircases. Healthy, delicious Mediterranean food served with panache.

3116 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V6K 2G9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Brunch/Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm/4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Balaclava and Trutch

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 336-1797

Website:
http://nuba.ca/

Catering:
We recommend booking through our Catering department at catering@nuba.ca. We are able to facilitate some large takeout orders during our off hours with 24 hours notice. Please get in touch at 6043361797 for details.

Parking Details:
Metered parking available on Broadway

Public Transit:
The #9 and #14 stop at West Broadway and Balaclava St both east and westbound. The #99 stops at West Broadway and Alma (6 blocks west of the restaurant) or West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east). The #22 stops at West Broadway and Macdonald (4 blocks east of the restaurant).

Private Party Facilities:
Nuba's Kitsilano location has several private dining options for parties of varying sizes from 12 to 150. Minimum spends apply to all private room bookings. Please get in touch for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We book all sorts of special events. Please get in touch for details.

Nuba - Kitsilano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Authentic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Casual (21)
Healthy (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Tapas (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Vegan (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Spicy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Four of us loved everything we ordered, and service was great. This is now my favourite Nuba, due to its ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Nuba is very expensive for the quantity & quality of the food, wine and service.
In particular I think the price of a 5 oz glass of wine was extremely expensive.
The Kitsilano location was extremely noisy and the table closely packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The waitress was great! The location in the restaurant lacked in many ways, mostly ambience. It was also quite cold in the upstairs alcove we got shoved into. Next time I make a reservation at that location I will request the main floor not some back room where no one can see the rest of the restaurant and lost in the back 40

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Fresh,delicious and fun!Service always good.for me good local restaurant..

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Fabulous food,service, fun atmosphere just a bit loud however not so much that I wouldn’t go back

Thx

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 22, 2017

See photo below of the feast for two. Yummy. The vegetarian and lamb choices are amazing.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Not impressed with food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2017

ONLY reviewing for the "Group Menu"
Nuba has a group menu for $27 per person which comes in three courses. I hosted a dinner for eleven and, overall, the food and service was good, but there were some big problems and I would not do a group event here again. I appreciated the manager agreeing to add a table and service was pleasant, but not attentive (water glasses never refilled, went to bar to order pitcher refills, server checked in maybe 3 times during entire meal). The biggest disappointment is in the third course which is the main protein, usually a grilled item, that is ordered from a list of 4-5 items by each person--- it was TINY (one small stick of chicken or a couple prawns, etc.) and embarrassing that such a small item was individually served. It came out after the first course (instead of third as listed on menu) which really was okay as the next (should've been second) course was tasty and plentiful. Not enough to make this a fair value for the dark, cramped table with delayed service (18% included which may explain why) and meager protein.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great people and even better food! Always a good spot for every occasion

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I showed waitress the dish on picture, she told me it was cauliflower and alfafa,End up it was only five chucks of cauliflower, some green salad, white rice, sour cabbage and hummus. Total ripe off, even a skinny girl with small ape-tide is half full,$14!! Reap off. My sister has beef for $18, just a skewer of four cubes of beef, salad rice and hummus,both hungry and went somewhere for desert. Place was old and run down at the front, not like picture shown, may be a little better if they open the back, a little closer to photo, very disappointing. Will never go back nor recommend my friend. End up I have to pay another $4 to try the alfalfa for a side dish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Good experience all-around. Excellent server, lots of menu options. Plenty of food for the price.
Loved the appetizers. Everything well-prepared and nicely presented. Pita bread should have been fresher.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Good food, decent service. Interesting for first-time eaters of this cuisine.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 28, 2017

food was good but i felt a bit oversalted. overall good but not something id return for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Food was good ! Though a bit expensive but still worth it. Try garden falafel ! It’s very tasty 😋

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

been wanting to try this restaurant for so long and finally had the chance with a much-needed dine out with girlfriends!

the restaurant is beautiful inside, larger than we expected. was cozy, warm and inviting, but because the restaurant is popular and many were dining, it was moderately loud (but did not bother us at all).

our first time there and our server gave us great recommendations to give us a full authentic experience! there was 3 of us and we had the La feast to share - the flavours all accentuated each other perfectly! the cauliflower is a must-try! and we also ordered one of the lamb to have some protein. ended up being plenty of food, though it's suggested that the sharing plates are for 2 people.

a few cocktails and wine later, added a dessert to share and we left very satisfied:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We ate on the patio here before a show at St James Hall. The restaurant is beautiful and our server was very friendly. We shared a bunch of appetizers, and all of the food was delicious. Unfortunately, the meat dishes (chicken and lamb) took over an hour to come out, so we had to eat them very quickly before heading to the show. I would come here again if I didn't have any time constraints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Nuba is a great restaurant with good ambience, servers and food! It isn't particularly cheap and the room itself can be a bit warm towards the back in the summer. The variety and freshness of the food was great, though - this is a good addition to the Kits' scene.

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is the old "Orestes" restaurant space and unfortunately nothing has been done since then. It is in great need of a reno! The walls are dirty. There is no air-con., and we were originally seated upstairs, which felt like a sauna! Is this what reservations gets you? After many excuses, we were finally moved downstairs.
We ordered 'Le Petit Feast ' Though the Hummus was okay and Baba Ganoush was really good, the Tabouleh portion was so small it was barely a mouthful. The pita was cold and dry. On a positive note, the stuffed eggplant dish was amazing and the market fish (trout that day) was excellent. The beef on the other hand was hard and dry. We topped it all off with baklava, which I love elsewhere. This one was over sweet and hard - hardly edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I came to Nuba on account of having seen reviews on the TV show "You Gotta Eat Here" about a year or so, ago. I was not disappointed in that the food options/choices were good and, the food was well presented and tasty. The waiter we had was very friendly. The wait time however (after our order was placed..) was a tad on the slow side and it was not a particularly packed crowd that evening.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The service was slow and the food so so. The pita bread was ice cold and the cold mezza was all mashed up on one dish so it was difficult to tell what was what. The prawns, however, were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Nuba serves Lebanese and Mediterranean cuisine with great sharing plates and Mezze (smaller dishes) to make for a perfect group outing. The flavours are wondeful; subtle and not heavy on spices, and there are plenty of vegetarian and gluten free options.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Love Nuba. Best restaurant in Kits! And best value for great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had a great time. Food and service were excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Comfortable and friendly local restaurant with good Lebanese food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Staff were super friendly and the food was really good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Nuba was very accommodating. My girlfriend and I are both gluten free vegans. The options available to us were exceptionally well prepared. The staff were also very knowledgeable of everything on their menu.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Brought a friend here on their last night in town. I was bummed they elected to order their own main since La Feast is always so good and gives you so much variety. My friend ordered the eggplant dish but seemed a little underwhelmed. I ordered Le Petit Feast and added the Kibbeh, which was incredible. Najib's Special is always outstanding.

Their decor is very tasteful. I would add a special request to sit at one of the tables at the front, especially if it's nice out and their doors are open. They also have an enclosed courtyard which is very charming. We were unfortunately placed at a table immediately in front of the kitchen entrance which left to be desired in terms of ambiance. The server attempted to better accommodate us but special request reservations prevented us from moving.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great lunch spot. Excellent service and wonderful food sensations.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a great time with our cousins, eating yummy desserts and delicious juices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Loved the food, not even vegetarian, but now... haha maybe I will be. The Eggplant meal was unreal, it was heavy! Exactly what I was looking for, so much flavour. First time even having eggplant 😅 A friend recommended I try it.
Worth the drive, the first time you walk in really takes you back, it's so dynamic and much bigger then you'd think. It's not cramped, you'll find yourself trying to find where the sitting/eating areas even end.
The staff was great, and I will recommend it to any of my friends.

Cheers 🍻

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

First time at Nuba - came here after hearing great reviews and the reviews do not lie. Had a fantastic time - from the front service to the food - exceptional! Our server was really nice and friendly and service was top notch! As for the food - the lamb was something I will remember for a very long time- it was the best I have had in years! We drove all the way from Richmond - worth the drive. We will be back! Thank you Nuba!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had an excellent evening. The service was good, the mezzes we shared as a meal were outstanding, and the room is very comfortable. Our first time in but we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was great! Very helpful. Food was delicious. Great vegetarian options! Atmosphere gave an authentic feel. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My husband and I had a good dinner, and we plan to go back. The hostess initially gave us a table by the kitchen, which we then asked to move. Everything was good, and there are lots of items on the menu to try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We have have heard about the quality of the food so we went for a special occasion. the food quality and customer services were good. but the price is so high for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

One of our party has severe food allergies and sensitivities. She was treated with great respect. The meals were modified to take these into consideration and she had an absolute feast!

We decided on a tapas style meal and it was amazing. The Cauliflower is a must try dish! For the Baba Ganouj, ask for cucumber instead of the bread, the combination is amazing.

The portions are large so order fewer than you normally would for tapas. We could not even come close to finishing our meal. The prices were exceedingly reasonable and we were surprised how low our final bill was

The only complaint we had was that we were seated in a corner next to a wall and the next table was so close to us that it was actually uncomfortable for conversation, for them and for us. Plus, getting out between the tables after the meal was awkward. That is likely a better spot for a table for 4 instead of two tables for 2.

All in all a great experience with fabulous staff and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The place and food were great and so as the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Good service and the chicken was awesome portion size is good

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Fantastic authentic food which has a pride reflected not only in the food and drinks but from the service and staff.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

It was a great time, it's rather pricey, but for a special occasion it was nice. The service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.