About Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

860 Franklin Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Garden City,
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria is the first of its kind on Long Island with 100 Global Wines by the glass served from a state of the art wine preservation system. The system is digitally temperature controlled and is the largest on the East Coast. So come in and enjoy the most unique wine and dine experience. Novita's kitchen serves lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Sunday Brunch:12 noon to 3:00pmDinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Stewart Avenue & Ninth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 739-7660

Website:
http://www.novitany.com/

Entertainment:
DJ on Thursday Ladies Night, Friday & Saturday nights.

Catering:
We can provide catering for your special event.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Garden City Train Station is within walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ed Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room is available with a dance floor and bar for up to 65 guests. Larger parties can be accommodated in the dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Rodriguez: 5167397660x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday through Friday from 4-7 pm,
Discounted cocktails/ wines, and complimentary buffet (Thu/Fri only)
$5 wines...$5 cocktails...$5 tap beers...1/2 priced appetizers
Every Thursday Ladies Night DJ Spinning All Night
$3 Glasses Of Champagne
$3 Glasses Of Pinot Grigio
$3 Cosmopolitans
$3 Glasses Of Cabernet
$3 Blue Moon Tap
$3 Specialty Cocktail
(Lounge & Bar Only)

Restaurant Photos

  • 100 Wines By The Glass - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Lobsterfest Until The End of August - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Salumi E Formagi - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Fried Calimari - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Seared Scallops - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Veal Parmagiano - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto  - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Prosciutto Pizza - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
100 Wines By The Glass - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Lobsterfest Until The End of August - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Salumi E Formagi - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Fried Calimari - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Seared Scallops - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Veal Parmagiano - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto  - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Prosciutto Pizza - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was notably excellent. That alone m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was notably excellent. That alone makes me want to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Novita never disappoints! They have a gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Novita never disappoints! They have a great price fixe menu option which has been revised since the last time we dined. The price has increased slightly for the three course price fixe but the selections have also expanded to give more appetizer and dessert options and the entree choices now include meat and fish dishes. I loved the roasted asparagus appetizer -two stalks wrapped in pancetta with ricotta and Spanish almonds. It was delicious! Great value for a delicious meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good waitress was very nice Hal ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good waitress was very nice Half price off the bottle of wine which we had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

For the price the food was not good at a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

For the price the food was not good at all. The calamari wasn't good at all and main entree although tender just had a blah taste. Atmosphere was nice place was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

First time here and it was definitely wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

First time here and it was definitely worth it!

Our waiter for very attentive and the food was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great we had half-price bottles ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food was great we had half-price bottles of wine excellent value and David the manager does a very good job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Space was nice. Re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was really good. Space was nice. Really hip and cozy. Prices high but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My friends and I got together for my bir ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My friends and I got together for my birthday brunch. We all thought the food was excellent and what you got for the price was great! We will definitely be back for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list with great dinner. Wait ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great wine list with great dinner. Wait staff at our table was fabulous too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Half off wine night on wednesday, it was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Half off wine night on wednesday, it was a lot of fun, and great food! I had the black fettuccine with octopus, which was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. 45 minutes before we g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Terrible service. 45 minutes before we got drinks. Food was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great wine list and good food. Busy bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great wine list and good food. Busy but can still get a reservation on a Sat. night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was pretty slow but the serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was pretty slow but the servers were very sweet and personable.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I had a great time at Novita ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I had a great time at Novita. We were seated right away, water and bread showed up almost immediately. the wait staff was very nice including our waitress, even when I decided to change my entree. We ordered the Lobster rolls and a pizza for appetizer, which is a lot so we ordered one entree and split it. The entree came out on two separate dishes and both looked amazing. They actually took the time to make each dish look exactly the same. Very nice touch. Love this place definitely going back. PS, I gave their food 4 stars because my wife is a chef and I get amazing meals at home so our expectations are very high. I usually don't give 4 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had dinnner at Novita with my husband ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I had dinnner at Novita with my husband and son. I had requested a table away from the bar area, which tend to get noisy. We were seated in the front of restaurant, which was nice and quiet. We had wanted a bottle of wine but the list is very extensive so went with one of the waiter's suggestion.

The food was very good . We had mussels with crispy artichokes. I had salmon, and my husband had a special pasta dish with steak. My son is a fussy eater but enjoyed the individual size pizza.

It is a little expensive for dinner but nice for a special occasion.

Fun place for happy hour and nice bar menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Host was nice, gave us the booth we requ ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Host was nice, gave us the booth we requested, also server was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a fun place. Great bar service grea ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Such a fun place. Great bar service great happy hour love the bartender she is always so upbeat. Has a wealth of knowledge about the wine. This is my third visit to the wine bar and I will definitely go back again and again food is amazing and the service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Definitely a much sm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was delicious. Definitely a much smaller portion compared to the other restaurants ive been to for restaurant week. Other than that everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Tried it for restaurant week for my wife ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Tried it for restaurant week for my wife's birthday. Food was good and service was good. I would go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were a little disappointed. We expec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were a little disappointed. We expected a more upscale dining experience. It had a club vibe with thumping music. The service was "meh." The waitress seemed somewhat annoyed by our party of seven. The food was good though....nothing special, just good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We love Noviata! We go there often and t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We love Noviata! We go there often and they definitely have the best Resturant Week menu!

Excellent happy hour!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great wine list Dave was great will come ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great wine list Dave was great will come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food except for dessert. Cannoli wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Good food except for dessert. Cannoli was like cardboard, not much filling which was tasteless.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food and we had an amazing girls ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Amazing food and we had an amazing girls night out! It is a must do again experience with my hubby.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! Loved the pizza. T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was delicious! Loved the pizza. The Nachos were different and terrific! There were so many things I wanted on the menu, I would definitely consider going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food and service were both exception ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and service were both exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service !!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very much enjoyed our meal. Very good f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very much enjoyed our meal. Very good food and service. This is a terrific restaurant to visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good but the unlimited brun ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was good but the unlimited brunch drinks tasted mediocre. Better have one good quality drink included with brunch than this. Service would have been great if the place had been less busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Terrific staff and service. Had no prob ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Terrific staff and service. Had no problems rearranging our reservation to accommodate a party of 9 instead of the original party of 3. Food was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will return soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome happy hour, wonderful wine selec ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Awesome happy hour, wonderful wine selection. Great menu food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was friendly and attentive. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The service was friendly and attentive. We have been here for brunch and enjoyed the food... for dinner it was another story. We ordered off the menu two different chicken dishes and they were extremely bland. It tasted more like catering hall type dishes. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Great happy hour at the bar until 7pm ea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great happy hour at the bar until 7pm each night with $5 glasses of wine! Also, new 3 course price fixe menu for $28 for a 3-course meal. Great deal and delicious!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Novita! Great atmosphere. You will ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Love Novita! Great atmosphere. You will probably need a reservation on weekends. The service was very good as well. Try the $40 lobster.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time. Supper was great. G ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had a great time. Supper was great. Good drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were seated and immediately unhappy. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were seated and immediately unhappy. The noise level was through the roof. People at the bar were screaming. The music was loud and unpleasant. The menu sounded great, but the food was disappointing. We ended up asking to be moved outside. It was a little chilly, but at least we could have a conversation. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Good food and service. We dined outdoor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good food and service. We dined outdoors on a beautiful evening. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Novita is a great place - friendly staff ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Novita is a great place - friendly staff, good food and extensive wine list. We sat outside on a beautiful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to this resturant several ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been to this resturant several times but this time I was disappointed. I never came on a Saturday night and it was busy which is fine. What disappointed me was the service our waiter busy and although he noticed my wine glass was empty he never asked if I wanted a second glass. We needed to ask for bowl for the shells for my dish. The muscles were missing the rest of the dish was great. It was just odd. For the prices of the meal I expected more.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very good food and service. Very loud. L ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very good food and service. Very loud. Large booths work great for friends get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.