About Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

860 Franklin Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Garden City,
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria is the first of its kind on Long Island with 100 Global Wines by the glass served from a state of the art wine preservation system. The system is digitally temperature controlled and is the largest on the East Coast. So come in and enjoy the most unique wine and dine experience. Novita's kitchen serves lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Sunday Brunch:12 noon to 3:00pmDinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Stewart Avenue & Ninth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 739-7660

Website:
http://www.novitany.com/

Entertainment:
DJ on Thursday Ladies Night, Friday & Saturday nights.

Catering:
We can provide catering for your special event.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Garden City Train Station is within walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ed Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room is available with a dance floor and bar for up to 65 guests. Larger parties can be accommodated in the dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Rodriguez: (516) 739-7660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday through Friday from 4-7 pm,
Discounted cocktails/ wines, and complimentary buffet (Thu/Fri only)
$5 wines...$5 cocktails...$5 tap beers...1/2 priced appetizers
Every Thursday Ladies Night DJ Spinning All Night
$3 Glasses Of Champagne
$3 Glasses Of Pinot Grigio
$3 Cosmopolitans
$3 Glasses Of Cabernet
$3 Blue Moon Tap
$3 Specialty Cocktail
(Lounge & Bar Only)

Restaurant Photos

  • 100 Wines By The Glass - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Lobsterfest Until The End of August - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Salumi E Formagi - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Fried Calimari - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Seared Scallops - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Veal Parmagiano - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto  - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
  • Prosciutto Pizza - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY

Report a photo problem

100 Wines By The Glass - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Lobsterfest Until The End of August - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Salumi E Formagi - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Fried Calimari - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Seared Scallops - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Veal Parmagiano - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto  - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY
Prosciutto Pizza - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City, Garden City, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Casual (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Fun (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The brunch menu offered the traditional ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The brunch menu offered the traditional brunch options plus pasta and salad dishes. I had a delicious Arrugula salad as an appetizer and a very tasty pasta dish. There are unlimited Bloody Mary's and Mimosa's. The service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere. Alwa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Always a great time at Novita.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My party of 4 enjoyed our Friday night a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My party of 4 enjoyed our Friday night at Novita. We arrived earlier so we waited at the bar area. The female bartender was very helpful and patient while we sampled and decided on a wine. Our table was ready on time and waitress was perfect; no too much attention and not lacking either. Very loud atmosphere so at times you feel like you're yelling but overall a good restaurant choice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food. Service and waitstaff co ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food. Service and waitstaff courteous and accessible. Fun atmosphere. Perfect for any occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Fun, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was flavorless. Bloody Mary was wat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was flavorless. Bloody Mary was watered down and mimosa was overly sweet.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

I went to Novita for an early New Year's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I went to Novita for an early New Year's Eve dinner with my husband and son.

We had a nice table in the front of the restaurant. I do like that their is a kids menu.

My son loves the pizza. Service was good and we weren't rushed.

The food is pricy and but very good. Nicely presented. Being that it was a holiday, I was glad it was the regular menu with daily specials. They have an extensive wine list.

I would of like the restaurant to look more festive for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We weren't offered the lounge area wher ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We weren't offered the lounge area where drinks are a different price. When I tried to order the Happy Hour wine , they said no because I was seated in lounge area. They should have told me that or gave it as an option. Place was quiet that day. It was early. Didn't appreciate this at all. They also claim to be a wine bar but do not serve their wine in the right glasses. For wine connoisseurs, the glasses make a difference. They have some pricey wines there so I would think they would know wine glasses do matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was just OK. Nothing special , I actu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was just OK. Nothing special , I actually hated it but my boyfriend enjoyed it so it could be just me. The pancetta on my pizza and Italian nachos where way over cooked and dry, my sangria was too sweet, and my food took 50 minutes to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Such good food!!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Such good food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very good the wine was exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was very good the wine was excellent and David the maître d' does a very good job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

super loud and food was decent but not g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

super loud and food was decent but not great. would recommend for a large gathering of friends celebrating a birthday but you can hardly have a conversation in there otherwise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food as usual

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Top notch service... very good food... e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Top notch service... very good food... excellent wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really disappointed with the food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Really disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

First time to this restaurant and my wif ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

First time to this restaurant and my wife and I had a super meal. The service was outstanding and the food plentiful and tasteful. I would definitely recommend the pastas, as they were freshly made. Overall, we will definitely come back. Also excellent wine list at reasonable prices

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was notably excellent. That alone m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food was notably excellent. That alone makes me want to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Novita never disappoints! They have a gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Novita never disappoints! They have a great price fixe menu option which has been revised since the last time we dined. The price has increased slightly for the three course price fixe but the selections have also expanded to give more appetizer and dessert options and the entree choices now include meat and fish dishes. I loved the roasted asparagus appetizer -two stalks wrapped in pancetta with ricotta and Spanish almonds. It was delicious! Great value for a delicious meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good waitress was very nice Hal ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was good waitress was very nice Half price off the bottle of wine which we had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

For the price the food was not good at a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

For the price the food was not good at all. The calamari wasn't good at all and main entree although tender just had a blah taste. Atmosphere was nice place was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

First time here and it was definitely wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time here and it was definitely worth it!

Our waiter for very attentive and the food was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great we had half-price bottles ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food was great we had half-price bottles of wine excellent value and David the manager does a very good job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Space was nice. Re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was really good. Space was nice. Really hip and cozy. Prices high but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My friends and I got together for my bir ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My friends and I got together for my birthday brunch. We all thought the food was excellent and what you got for the price was great! We will definitely be back for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list with great dinner. Wait ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great wine list with great dinner. Wait staff at our table was fabulous too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food, wine, venue. Great place ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent food, wine, venue. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Half off wine night on wednesday, it was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Half off wine night on wednesday, it was a lot of fun, and great food! I had the black fettuccine with octopus, which was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. 45 minutes before we g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Terrible service. 45 minutes before we got drinks. Food was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great wine list and good food. Busy bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great wine list and good food. Busy but can still get a reservation on a Sat. night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was pretty slow but the serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was pretty slow but the servers were very sweet and personable.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I had a great time at Novita ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I had a great time at Novita. We were seated right away, water and bread showed up almost immediately. the wait staff was very nice including our waitress, even when I decided to change my entree. We ordered the Lobster rolls and a pizza for appetizer, which is a lot so we ordered one entree and split it. The entree came out on two separate dishes and both looked amazing. They actually took the time to make each dish look exactly the same. Very nice touch. Love this place definitely going back. PS, I gave their food 4 stars because my wife is a chef and I get amazing meals at home so our expectations are very high. I usually don't give 4 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had dinnner at Novita with my husband ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I had dinnner at Novita with my husband and son. I had requested a table away from the bar area, which tend to get noisy. We were seated in the front of restaurant, which was nice and quiet. We had wanted a bottle of wine but the list is very extensive so went with one of the waiter's suggestion.

The food was very good . We had mussels with crispy artichokes. I had salmon, and my husband had a special pasta dish with steak. My son is a fussy eater but enjoyed the individual size pizza.

It is a little expensive for dinner but nice for a special occasion.

Fun place for happy hour and nice bar menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Host was nice, gave us the booth we requ ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Host was nice, gave us the booth we requested, also server was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a fun place. Great bar service grea ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Such a fun place. Great bar service great happy hour love the bartender she is always so upbeat. Has a wealth of knowledge about the wine. This is my third visit to the wine bar and I will definitely go back again and again food is amazing and the service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Definitely a much sm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was delicious. Definitely a much smaller portion compared to the other restaurants ive been to for restaurant week. Other than that everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Tried it for restaurant week for my wife ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Tried it for restaurant week for my wife's birthday. Food was good and service was good. I would go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were a little disappointed. We expec ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were a little disappointed. We expected a more upscale dining experience. It had a club vibe with thumping music. The service was "meh." The waitress seemed somewhat annoyed by our party of seven. The food was good though....nothing special, just good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We love Noviata! We go there often and t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We love Noviata! We go there often and they definitely have the best Resturant Week menu!

Excellent happy hour!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great wine list Dave was great will come ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great wine list Dave was great will come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food except for dessert. Cannoli wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Good food except for dessert. Cannoli was like cardboard, not much filling which was tasteless.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food and we had an amazing girls ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Amazing food and we had an amazing girls night out! It is a must do again experience with my hubby.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.