About Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

860 Franklin Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Garden City,
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria is the first of its kind on Long Island with 100 Global Wines by the glass served from a state of the art wine preservation system. The system is digitally temperature controlled and is the largest on the East Coast. So come in and enjoy the most unique wine and dine experience. Novita's kitchen serves lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Sunday Brunch:12 noon to 3:00pmDinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Stewart Avenue & Ninth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 739-7660

Website:
http://www.novitany.com/

Entertainment:
DJ on Thursday Ladies Night, Friday & Saturday nights.

Catering:
We can provide catering for your special event.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Garden City Train Station is within walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ed Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room is available with a dance floor and bar for up to 65 guests. Larger parties can be accommodated in the dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Rodriguez: 5167397660x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday through Friday from 4-7 pm,
Discounted cocktails/ wines, and complimentary buffet (Thu/Fri only)
$5 wines...$5 cocktails...$5 tap beers...1/2 priced appetizers
Every Thursday Ladies Night DJ Spinning All Night
$3 Glasses Of Champagne
$3 Glasses Of Pinot Grigio
$3 Cosmopolitans
$3 Glasses Of Cabernet
$3 Blue Moon Tap
$3 Specialty Cocktail
(Lounge & Bar Only)

Restaurant Photos

  • 100 Wines By The Glass - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Lobsterfest Until The End of August - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Salumi E Formagi - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Fried Calimari - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Seared Scallops - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Veal Parmagiano - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto  - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Prosciutto Pizza - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
100 Wines By The Glass - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Lobsterfest Until The End of August - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Salumi E Formagi - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Fried Calimari - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Seared Scallops - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Veal Parmagiano - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto  - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Prosciutto Pizza - Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Long Island / Hamptons
Best Restaurants in Garden City ›

Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Romantic (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was friendly and attentive. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 11 hours ago

The service was friendly and attentive. We have been here for brunch and enjoyed the food... for dinner it was another story. We ordered off the menu two different chicken dishes and they were extremely bland. It tasted more like catering hall type dishes. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Great happy hour at the bar until 7pm ea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great happy hour at the bar until 7pm each night with $5 glasses of wine! Also, new 3 course price fixe menu for $28 for a 3-course meal. Great deal and delicious!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Novita! Great atmosphere. You will ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love Novita! Great atmosphere. You will probably need a reservation on weekends. The service was very good as well. Try the $40 lobster.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time. Supper was great. G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time. Supper was great. Good drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and service. We dined outdoor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good food and service. We dined outdoors on a beautiful evening. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Novita is a great place - friendly staff ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Novita is a great place - friendly staff, good food and extensive wine list. We sat outside on a beautiful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to this resturant several ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been to this resturant several times but this time I was disappointed. I never came on a Saturday night and it was busy which is fine. What disappointed me was the service our waiter busy and although he noticed my wine glass was empty he never asked if I wanted a second glass. We needed to ask for bowl for the shells for my dish. The muscles were missing the rest of the dish was great. It was just odd. For the prices of the meal I expected more.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very good food and service. Very loud. L ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very good food and service. Very loud. Large booths work great for friends get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

As always, the service was friendly and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always, the service was friendly and attentive and the food was fabulous !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a delicious brunch. We love the m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a delicious brunch. We love the menu selections and the unlimited mimosas and bloody Mary's are a big plus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

2nd time there, celebrating a birthday. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

2nd time there, celebrating a birthday. Food was wonderful, not crowded. Waiter was Blah, no real personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We dined here with another couple on Sat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We dined here with another couple on Saturday night. It was rather quite when we arrived but picked up as the night went on. We opted to sit outside which was nice except for the table size...all the tables were really for 2 so it was VERY cramped. We really didn't have room for much at all, especially considering that we had a bottle of wine and the cooler was on the table (they really should have a stands considering the size of their tables) and when our apps came that we were sharing there was NO room on the table. We were happy to be visiting, so it wasn't that bad, but it took a while for our waitress to take our order, both for our apps and our entrees. Their wine list is kind of nice, a bit more extensive then several places we have been so that was nice and we did enjoy the wine we ordered. Once it was ordered the food came timely and was good. Our "go to" tomato & mozzarella and fried calamari apps were good. I enjoyed my shrimp scampi with risotto (which was actually really good). I was told the fish (Bronzino) was very, very good as well. The other two in our group said their meals were good, so all in all it was a good evening but for the tiny table!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Been here many times before and just lik ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Been here many times before and just like every other time it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with a plate of fried calamar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We started with a plate of fried calamari served with a spicy marinara and a tangy aioli. Both complemented the flavorof the tender calamari. Each member of our party ordered the two pound bibless lobster accompanied by house slaw and truffle fries. One member of the party asked to substitute risotto for the truffle fries and the server made the necessary adjustment. The food was great and the high point was the excellent service of the wait staff. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was inattentive......place was s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

service was inattentive......place was slow so waiter spent time at bar chatting with coworker and watching videos on phone......2lb lobster was at best 1 and 1/2 lbs and did not taste fresh......noted birthday on open table reservation......no cake or singing of hb by waiter.....i can see why place was so slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Too loud but otherwise decent.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Too loud but otherwise decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We have eaten here many times before and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have eaten here many times before and had great experiences

This night was the exception,our service was indifferent at best. Don't know if the waiter was overwhelmed or just incompetent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Very enjoyable experience overall. It wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very enjoyable experience overall. It was a bit noisy, which made it a little hard to have a quiet conversation, but I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Air conditioning not working. Water leak ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Air conditioning not working. Water leaking into my wife from ceiling. Not a good time!!!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service are always great at Nov ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service are always great at Novita. Always recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Novita Wine Bar & Trattoria is a great p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Novita Wine Bar & Trattoria is a great place to have dinner in Garden City. It's a bit pricey, but everything is pricey (often not just "a bit") in Garden City. We had an antipasto of different salami - very tasty. High quality meat. We each had a pasta dish - all were delicious. One was pappardelle with a lobster and asparagus sauce with truffle oil. Not only very good, but so nicely cooked. It is hard to NOT have the pappardelle overcook, but these were perfect. Another one of us ordered black linguine in a Calabrese sauce of tomato and charred octopus. Also excellent. Again - the pasta was not overcooked. The other two diners (my friends) thought the meal was just outstanding. I am a pretty good cook myself, so I may be doing the place an injustice by saying "only" very good. I would gladly go back to Novita any time. I definitely recommend it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is excellent and the service is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food is excellent and the service is always great. It's the perfect spot for a bite to eat without the fuss. I really enjoy the friendly staff and waiters who always suggest the best plates. The wine list is impeccable and the cocktails deliver every time. Love coming to Novita because you always leave satisfied and can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Why have we waited this long? This place ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Why have we waited this long?

This place pops up on Open Table frequently, yet for some reason we never booked it. My mistake. As someone who enjoys wine and good food, I can say this place delivers on its implied promise to deliver both.

And perhaps most surprisingly for a trendy wine bar/restaurant, Novita actually can be something of a bargain (hence my awarding of 5 stars). The food won't be the best you've ever had -- assuming you've eaten at high-level spots -- but it gives you excellent food, in good quantities, at a fair price.

And our young waiter was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great wine list & excellent, tasty origi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great wine list & excellent, tasty original food offerings. Always good & reliable, Novita is a step above other places. It's very good but then some. I would suggest Novita to everyone!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall everything was great. Unfortunat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Overall everything was great. Unfortunately, they sat us at a table 15 minutes before happy hour ended, but we didn't get to order our drinks till after it was over! We literally sat for about 15 minutes without someone coming to our table!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was delicious ! I had shrimp scampi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious ! I had shrimp scampi... Best I've ever had!!! The drinks were also delish and the server was very sweet and accommodating !!! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can be a pit pricey but we all chose the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Can be a pit pricey but we all chose the price fixe menu and it was well worth it. Lots of choices!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good attentive waitress, good food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Good attentive waitress, good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food, excellent service.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible food and service. Like a mall f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Horrible food and service. Like a mall fast food chain. Wine list was not impressive. Not a place for fine dining. I do not understand the good reviews . The staff knows nothing about the wine bottles on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

It was very good. Waitress was excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was very good. Waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Consistently delicious food. Very helpfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Consistently delicious food. Very helpful, experienced wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I got my favorite dish: the Wild Arugula ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I got my favorite dish: the Wild Arugula Salad with grilled chicken. It was spectacular. My mom loved her Chicken Parmigiano. I wanted to bring her to Novita because I get great food with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Sunday early dinner at Novita had its up ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sunday early dinner at Novita had its ups and downs. Waitstaff was attentive but "busing" needs improvement. Bread was brought out but only a small dipping saucer for four people. Three of the four of us ordered the same appetizer but the waiter gave the "odd" appetizer to the wrong person. Should have at least asked! Dinner entrees came out while appetizer plates were still on table. We had to rearrange the table before the plates were taken away.

Overall food was good - but staff need training.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was great. I am never disappointed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was great. I am never disappointed when we dine at Novita!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been coming here for a while. Was there ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Been coming here for a while. Was there on Sunday evening and the place was not full but had to wait a long time for sever to take our order and the steak was over cooked. Just hope this was a one time missed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been here numerous times, but this ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've been here numerous times, but this time I had the worst service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

be careful i booked for a 1000 point tab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

be careful i booked for a 1000 point table and after dining they said i didn't show not only did i have to call open table and the restaurant they said they didn't have 1000 point tables which was not true. as far as service happy hour only exists inside we said on patio and were the only 3 outside and we had to pay too dollar for the same drinks and food steps away from us, talk about being penalized for wanting to be outside in a beautiful day....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Everytime I come here, I am NEVER disapp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everytime I come here, I am NEVER disappointed! The food is great and the drinks are even better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wines and price fix menu...a littl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great wines and price fix menu...a little loud and dark but overall enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.