About Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

860 Franklin Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Garden City,
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria is the first of its kind on Long Island with 100 Global Wines by the glass served from a state of the art wine preservation system. The system is digitally temperature controlled and is the largest on the East Coast. So come in and enjoy the most unique wine and dine experience. Novita's kitchen serves lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Sunday Brunch:12 noon to 3:00pmDinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Stewart Avenue & Ninth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 739-7660

Website:
http://www.novitany.com/

Entertainment:
DJ on Thursday Ladies Night, Friday & Saturday nights.

Catering:
We can provide catering for your special event.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Garden City Train Station is within walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ed Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room is available with a dance floor and bar for up to 65 guests. Larger parties can be accommodated in the dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Rodriguez: 5167397660x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday through Friday from 4-7 pm,
Discounted cocktails/ wines, and complimentary buffet (Thu/Fri only)
$5 wines...$5 cocktails...$5 tap beers...1/2 priced appetizers
Every Thursday Ladies Night DJ Spinning All Night
$3 Glasses Of Champagne
$3 Glasses Of Pinot Grigio
$3 Cosmopolitans
$3 Glasses Of Cabernet
$3 Blue Moon Tap
$3 Specialty Cocktail
(Lounge & Bar Only)

Restaurant Photos

  • Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
  • Fried Calimari
  • Seared Scallops
  • Veal Parmagiano
  • Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone
  • Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto
  • Prosciutto Pizza
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City
Fried Calimari
Seared Scallops
Veal Parmagiano
Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone
Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto
Prosciutto Pizza

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have eaten here many times before and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have eaten here many times before and had great experiences

This night was the exception,our service was indifferent at best. Don't know if the waiter was overwhelmed or just incompetent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Very enjoyable experience overall. It wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very enjoyable experience overall. It was a bit noisy, which made it a little hard to have a quiet conversation, but I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Air conditioning not working. Water leak ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Air conditioning not working. Water leaking into my wife from ceiling. Not a good time!!!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service are always great at Nov ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service are always great at Novita. Always recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Novita Wine Bar & Trattoria is a great p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Novita Wine Bar & Trattoria is a great place to have dinner in Garden City. It's a bit pricey, but everything is pricey (often not just "a bit") in Garden City. We had an antipasto of different salami - very tasty. High quality meat. We each had a pasta dish - all were delicious. One was pappardelle with a lobster and asparagus sauce with truffle oil. Not only very good, but so nicely cooked. It is hard to NOT have the pappardelle overcook, but these were perfect. Another one of us ordered black linguine in a Calabrese sauce of tomato and charred octopus. Also excellent. Again - the pasta was not overcooked. The other two diners (my friends) thought the meal was just outstanding. I am a pretty good cook myself, so I may be doing the place an injustice by saying "only" very good. I would gladly go back to Novita any time. I definitely recommend it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is excellent and the service is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food is excellent and the service is always great. It's the perfect spot for a bite to eat without the fuss. I really enjoy the friendly staff and waiters who always suggest the best plates. The wine list is impeccable and the cocktails deliver every time. Love coming to Novita because you always leave satisfied and can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Why have we waited this long? This place ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Why have we waited this long?

This place pops up on Open Table frequently, yet for some reason we never booked it. My mistake. As someone who enjoys wine and good food, I can say this place delivers on its implied promise to deliver both.

And perhaps most surprisingly for a trendy wine bar/restaurant, Novita actually can be something of a bargain (hence my awarding of 5 stars). The food won't be the best you've ever had -- assuming you've eaten at high-level spots -- but it gives you excellent food, in good quantities, at a fair price.

And our young waiter was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great wine list & excellent, tasty origi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great wine list & excellent, tasty original food offerings. Always good & reliable, Novita is a step above other places. It's very good but then some. I would suggest Novita to everyone!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall everything was great. Unfortunat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Overall everything was great. Unfortunately, they sat us at a table 15 minutes before happy hour ended, but we didn't get to order our drinks till after it was over! We literally sat for about 15 minutes without someone coming to our table!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was delicious ! I had shrimp scampi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious ! I had shrimp scampi... Best I've ever had!!! The drinks were also delish and the server was very sweet and accommodating !!! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can be a pit pricey but we all chose the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Can be a pit pricey but we all chose the price fixe menu and it was well worth it. Lots of choices!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good attentive waitress, good food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Good attentive waitress, good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food, excellent service.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible food and service. Like a mall f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Horrible food and service. Like a mall fast food chain. Wine list was not impressive. Not a place for fine dining. I do not understand the good reviews . The staff knows nothing about the wine bottles on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

It was very good. Waitress was excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was very good. Waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Consistently delicious food. Very helpfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Consistently delicious food. Very helpful, experienced wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I got my favorite dish: the Wild Arugula ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I got my favorite dish: the Wild Arugula Salad with grilled chicken. It was spectacular. My mom loved her Chicken Parmigiano. I wanted to bring her to Novita because I get great food with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Sunday early dinner at Novita had its up ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sunday early dinner at Novita had its ups and downs. Waitstaff was attentive but "busing" needs improvement. Bread was brought out but only a small dipping saucer for four people. Three of the four of us ordered the same appetizer but the waiter gave the "odd" appetizer to the wrong person. Should have at least asked! Dinner entrees came out while appetizer plates were still on table. We had to rearrange the table before the plates were taken away.

Overall food was good - but staff need training.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was great. I am never disappointed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was great. I am never disappointed when we dine at Novita!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been coming here for a while. Was there ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Been coming here for a while. Was there on Sunday evening and the place was not full but had to wait a long time for sever to take our order and the steak was over cooked. Just hope this was a one time missed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been here numerous times, but this ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've been here numerous times, but this time I had the worst service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

be careful i booked for a 1000 point tab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

be careful i booked for a 1000 point table and after dining they said i didn't show not only did i have to call open table and the restaurant they said they didn't have 1000 point tables which was not true. as far as service happy hour only exists inside we said on patio and were the only 3 outside and we had to pay too dollar for the same drinks and food steps away from us, talk about being penalized for wanting to be outside in a beautiful day....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Everytime I come here, I am NEVER disapp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everytime I come here, I am NEVER disappointed! The food is great and the drinks are even better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wines and price fix menu...a littl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great wines and price fix menu...a little loud and dark but overall enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The food was average and it came out ver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was average and it came out very quickly which is a pro and a con.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The place suited our needs. Enjoyable, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The place suited our needs. Enjoyable, good food and extensive wine list. We enjoyed the 50% off wine night! My only complaint was that the lights are too dim and it was hard to see the menu...

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect for baby showers Bday brunch ! F ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Perfect for baby showers Bday brunch ! Food was great and so were the drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is a gem' Love everything about it!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is a gem' Love everything about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food and drinks as always ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service, food and drinks as always. Still my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went on a friends recommendation..

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We went on a friends recommendation and a gift card from xmas! It turned to be an excellent choice! The food was great, the service was great! We even order d an extra dessert to take home to mom!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently good; I usually ord ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food is consistently good; I usually order one of the salads for lunch h and I have never been disappointed. The Apple crisp is a great topper the meal

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall good pricing & quality service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall good pricing & quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The fresh Mozzarella and tomatoes wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The fresh

Mozzarella and tomatoes was delicious.

The a arancini was very good

But they took the plate before we could get the chick pea puree😫

The chicken panini was okay it was very thin sliced

Pieces of grilled chicken

Not a piece of chicken hardly any cheese so basically it was a roll no flavor... The fries... Very good.

I wasn't drinking I was the driver so a chicken sandwich with no chicken for 23? Not great ..,but for my guests well worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

10 of us had a very enjoyable long late ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

10 of us had a very enjoyable long late evening without being rushed....food was delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and service was wonderful. Just wished the bread served at the beginning of the dinner was a little bit toasted or even slightly warm. Bread was very cold

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good. . If we weren't ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good. . If we weren't seated right by the door. Everything would have been great..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I live in Chicago and we were able to vi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I live in Chicago and we were able to visit my MIL for Mother's Day and I found this restaurant on Open Table. It had great reviews and did not disappoint. The buffet was great. Nice choices but not too many that you feel overwhelmed. Food was delicious. May need to come by when we are in town again. The service was attentive. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood restaurant for foodie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant for foodies who love a varied assortment of wines by the glass. Food is quite good, with nice assortment of appetizers and main courses. Excellent cheeses as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service from our waiter whose ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent service from our waiter whose name I cannot recall. Very delicious food. Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.