About Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

860 Franklin Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Garden City,
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria is the first of its kind on Long Island with 100 Global Wines by the glass served from a state of the art wine preservation system. The system is digitally temperature controlled and is the largest on the East Coast. So come in and enjoy the most unique wine and dine experience. Novita's kitchen serves lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Sunday Brunch:12 noon to 3:00pmDinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Stewart Avenue & Ninth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 739-7660

Website:
http://www.novitany.com/

Entertainment:
DJ on Thursday Ladies Night, Friday & Saturday nights.

Catering:
We can provide catering for your special event.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Garden City Train Station is within walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ed Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room is available with a dance floor and bar for up to 65 guests. Larger parties can be accommodated in the dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Rodriguez: 5167397660x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday through Friday from 4-7 pm,
Discounted cocktails/ wines, and complimentary buffet (Thu/Fri only)
$5 wines...$5 cocktails...$5 tap beers...1/2 priced appetizers
Every Thursday Ladies Night DJ Spinning All Night
$3 Glasses Of Champagne
$3 Glasses Of Pinot Grigio
$3 Cosmopolitans
$3 Glasses Of Cabernet
$3 Blue Moon Tap
$3 Specialty Cocktail
(Lounge & Bar Only)

Restaurant Photos

  • Fried Calimari
  • Seared Scallops
  • Veal Parmagiano
  • Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone
  • Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto
  • Prosciutto Pizza
Fried Calimari
Seared Scallops
Veal Parmagiano
Radiatore Bolognese With Braised Short Ribs, Sausage, Mealtballs And Marscapone
Fresh Mozzarella With Roasted Peppers, Caramelized Onions And Prosciutto
Prosciutto Pizza

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Long Island / Hamptons
Best Restaurants in Garden City ›

notable wine list (43)
neighborhood gem (35)
good for groups (34)
See All
fit for foodies (25)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
special occasion (18)
great for brunch (17)
great for lunch (15)
romantic (15)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Can be a pit pricey but we all chose the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Can be a pit pricey but we all chose the price fixe menu and it was well worth it. Lots of choices!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good attentive waitress, good food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good attentive waitress, good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food, excellent service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible food and service. Like a mall f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Horrible food and service. Like a mall fast food chain. Wine list was not impressive. Not a place for fine dining. I do not understand the good reviews . The staff knows nothing about the wine bottles on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

It was very good. Waitress was excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was very good. Waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Consistently delicious food. Very helpfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Consistently delicious food. Very helpful, experienced wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I got my favorite dish: the Wild Arugula ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I got my favorite dish: the Wild Arugula Salad with grilled chicken. It was spectacular. My mom loved her Chicken Parmigiano. I wanted to bring her to Novita because I get great food with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Sunday early dinner at Novita had its up ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sunday early dinner at Novita had its ups and downs. Waitstaff was attentive but "busing" needs improvement. Bread was brought out but only a small dipping saucer for four people. Three of the four of us ordered the same appetizer but the waiter gave the "odd" appetizer to the wrong person. Should have at least asked! Dinner entrees came out while appetizer plates were still on table. We had to rearrange the table before the plates were taken away.

Overall food was good - but staff need training.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was great. I am never disappointed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was great. I am never disappointed when we dine at Novita!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been coming here for a while. Was there ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Been coming here for a while. Was there on Sunday evening and the place was not full but had to wait a long time for sever to take our order and the steak was over cooked. Just hope this was a one time missed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been here numerous times, but this ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've been here numerous times, but this time I had the worst service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

be careful i booked for a 1000 point tab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

be careful i booked for a 1000 point table and after dining they said i didn't show not only did i have to call open table and the restaurant they said they didn't have 1000 point tables which was not true. as far as service happy hour only exists inside we said on patio and were the only 3 outside and we had to pay too dollar for the same drinks and food steps away from us, talk about being penalized for wanting to be outside in a beautiful day....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Everytime I come here, I am NEVER disapp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everytime I come here, I am NEVER disappointed! The food is great and the drinks are even better.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wines and price fix menu...a littl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great wines and price fix menu...a little loud and dark but overall enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The food was average and it came out ver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was average and it came out very quickly which is a pro and a con.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The place suited our needs. Enjoyable, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The place suited our needs. Enjoyable, good food and extensive wine list. We enjoyed the 50% off wine night! My only complaint was that the lights are too dim and it was hard to see the menu...

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect for baby showers Bday brunch ! F ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Perfect for baby showers Bday brunch ! Food was great and so were the drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is a gem' Love everything about it!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is a gem' Love everything about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food and drinks as always ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service, food and drinks as always. Still my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went on a friends recommendation..

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We went on a friends recommendation and a gift card from xmas! It turned to be an excellent choice! The food was great, the service was great! We even order d an extra dessert to take home to mom!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently good; I usually ord ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food is consistently good; I usually order one of the salads for lunch h and I have never been disappointed. The Apple crisp is a great topper the meal

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall good pricing & quality service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall good pricing & quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The fresh Mozzarella and tomatoes wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The fresh

Mozzarella and tomatoes was delicious.

The a arancini was very good

But they took the plate before we could get the chick pea puree😫

The chicken panini was okay it was very thin sliced

Pieces of grilled chicken

Not a piece of chicken hardly any cheese so basically it was a roll no flavor... The fries... Very good.

I wasn't drinking I was the driver so a chicken sandwich with no chicken for 23? Not great ..,but for my guests well worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

10 of us had a very enjoyable long late ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

10 of us had a very enjoyable long late evening without being rushed....food was delicious

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and service was wonderful. Just wished the bread served at the beginning of the dinner was a little bit toasted or even slightly warm. Bread was very cold

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good. . If we weren't ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good. . If we weren't seated right by the door. Everything would have been great..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I live in Chicago and we were able to vi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I live in Chicago and we were able to visit my MIL for Mother's Day and I found this restaurant on Open Table. It had great reviews and did not disappoint. The buffet was great. Nice choices but not too many that you feel overwhelmed. Food was delicious. May need to come by when we are in town again. The service was attentive. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood restaurant for foodie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant for foodies who love a varied assortment of wines by the glass. Food is quite good, with nice assortment of appetizers and main courses. Excellent cheeses as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service from our waiter whose ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent service from our waiter whose name I cannot recall. Very delicious food. Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Modern Italian at its finest

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

My friend and I tried Novita for the first time during restaurant week. The salmon was delicious, and the butternut squash spätzle with roasted brussel sprout leaves was absolutely phenomenal! The mini zeppoles we had for dessert were reminiscent of a street fair, and left us wanting more. Our waiter, Brendan gave us a warm welcome and was extremely charming and attentive. There was great music playing at the bar, and I look forward to returning for drinks with my friend. I will also be back for dinner and brunch! I'm so excited to have found a new hotspot in the heart of Garden City!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad customer service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

In a pretty empty restaurant in the early evening on a weekday, I was told I couldn't be seated in a booth because they were for larger parties (than my party of two). This was so despite the fact that there was a party of two seated at one of them. Yet somehow before I left there was ONE person, seated alone, at one of those booths and then another booth with just a couple seated at it. This is just bad customer service and I wouldn't go back for that alone. But just in case you had doubts, the food wasn't any good either. Meatball sliders were terrible, the Bolognese was just ok and the salmon was white NOT pink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Food is greasy and service is rude!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Food is greasy and service is rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Loved it , great food , great drinks. Gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved it , great food , great drinks. Great place for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Restaurant week disappointment

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Saw restaurant week advertisement online and reserved table for 745pm through Open Table. When we arrived were told that restaurant week ended at 7pm. There was no restriction listed on the restaurant week menu or open table reservation form. Our "budget" dinner cost $200. Extremely disappointed at the misrepresentation by Novita and Open-table

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

SERVER WAS VERY NICE DIDNT HAVE A GREAT ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

SERVER WAS VERY NICE DIDNT HAVE A GREAT KNOWLEDGE OF THE WINE LIST THEY SHOULD BE TRAINED TO HELP SUGGEST . THATS THE MANAGEMENTS FAULT . FOOD WAS JUST OK . I WENT WITH MY WIFE AND WE FELT VERY RUSHED ! WINE WAS SERVED . WAITRESS CAME OVER TWICE IN A FEW MINUTES OF POURING THE WINE TO TAKE OUR ORDER . DIDNT HAVE A CHANCE TO ENJOY THE WINE OR FULLY LOOK AT MENU . WE BOTH HAD MAINS NO APPETIZERS . THE MINUTE WE WERE FINISHED WITH MEALS . TABLE WAS CLEARED AND DESERT MENU WAS DROPPED ON TABLE . WE FIGURED LETS GIVE IT A TRY . DESERT CAME OUT IN RECORD TIME . WE FINISHED DESERT CHECK CAME A FEW MINUTES LATER . WE WERE OUT THE DOOR . I FELT LIKE I WAS BARELY GIVEN ENOUGH TIME TO FINISH WINE !! IT WAS ALMOST LIKE WE WERE SPEED DATING LOL . I GIVE THEM A D+ AT BEST . I WOULDNT GO BACK . MY WIFE AND I GO OUT 8 TO 10 TIMES A MONTH . WE WERE NOT IMPRESSED AT ALL .

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

restAurant week.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The food was great. We went for restaurant week. The service was a bit slow, especially on a Tuesday nightwhen they were not that busy. Besides that, it was great.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceded Expectations

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Decided to try Novita for restaurant week after not having been there for several years. The evening was so much better than we expected. We arrived early and sat at their lovely bar. The bartender couldn't have been nicer. We decided on 2 glasses of wine, at which time she informed us that they were offering half price on bottles of wine. In addition to really enjoying the wine, we got great value. Our dinner did not disappoint. Our asparagus appetizers were excellent. I followed with the shrimp scampi with asparagus risotto and my husband had the spicy black linguini with octopus, which were both wonderful. They even packed up desert for us to go. What a lovely evening. We will definitely return soon.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Very good food. Not the place for a quie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Very good food. Not the place for a quiet diner as it can be quite loud. Fun atmosphere. Great wine selection.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good but not great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Parking was available, we sat quickly and apps were delicious. Was disappointed with my meal. Ordered the agnolini pasta, it was all sauce and just 2 agnolinis in the dish for $19.00. Nutella Creme Brûlée was also a bit disappointing.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.