About Noto's Old World Italian Dining

"Where good taste never ends, you know it's Noto's!" Because first impressions count, the Noto's family has given special attention to making a strong, solid & respectable statement with the building's exterior & entry. You'll find a grand stone building with multiple entries. Noto's is not only a fine-dining restaurant, but a large banquet facility. The old world atmosphere of the interior speaks of quality & care. Noto's lounge has live music, a gracious but casually elegant dining room with a massive wine list recognized by Wine Spectator Magazine, & spectacular authentic Italian foods! A new banquet entryway features a white marble spiral staircase with a glistening chandelier. The staircase ascends to a ballroom & descends into the newly completed Wine Cellar with thousands of bottles of wine & a new dining area for our Chef's Dinners. Dining spaces in the cellar are semi-private brick arched spaces with individual chandeliers. A must see!

6600 28th Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm Facility available for non-scheduled hours by special arrangement. This also includes special holiday gatherings!

Cross Street:
West of Cascade Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 493-6686

Website:
http://www.notosoldworld.com/

Entertainment:
Noto's has live entertainment in the lounge Wednesday through Saturday evenings from 7:00pm - 10:00pm. The Tommy Hagen Trio entertains guests on Wednesday evenings (visit www.notosoldworld.com for details on The Tommy Hagen Trio); please call Noto's for more information regarding Thursday through Saturday night entertainment. Our guests will be entertained with class, professionalism, versatility & fun! Reservation Confirmation Message: As Aristotle said, "Excellence is not an act it's a habit." The Noto Family translation - When you visit and experience Noto's once, you'll have to come back! Thank you for choosing Noto's Old World Italian Dining. Should your plans change please let us know. We look forward to serving you. If you are not dining in the new Wine Cellar, don't leave before seeing it! We would be delighted to show you for your next visit to West Michigan! www.notosoldworld.com

Catering:
We have a complete catering menu on our website at www.notosoldworld.com. Many dishes can be prepared for take-out for small groups & off-site catering for large groups is available.

Parking Details:
Noto's has ample parking for most events. When needed there is street parking available, along with municipal parking for evening events within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Local cab services, along with town car and limousine services can provide transportation. Many nearby hotels will provide transportation to Noto's on request. Please call us if you need assistance in making local arrangements.

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful banquet facility can accommodate many styles of parties or events. We have small spaces perfect for parties of 10 and larger spaces for up to 2000 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joann Noto: (616) 493-6686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see the "Private Dining" tab in the top right corner for details regarding our special event options in our gorgeous, spacious, banquet facilities.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Noto's Old World Italian Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (9)
Live Music (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Private Room (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This restaurant is noted for extensive wine selection. True, but not by the glass. In fact, there was only one offering for both a pinot noir and cabernet sauvignon. I asked for a taste of the pinot. I did not care for it - almost tasteless so I asked for a taste of the cabernet. The waiter told me that would not be possible to do that again; they really do not give tastes. If they gave me a taste they would have to do that for the entire restaurant and that would be costly. I was shocked and not impressed. The owner came to the table to tell how they were featured in Wine Spectator. OK, but wine by the glass was unimpressive. However, the food was wonderful. I had a petite size portion of the cannelloni. It was excellent and a good portion. Beware, that if you ask for grated Parmesan cheese to put with the olive oil for dipping the bread, you will be given maybe a teaspoon amount, and the waiter will tell you that there will not be a charge for that!! Interesting customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was the worst restaurant I have ever been in and will not attend again. An embarrassment on Mother's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The main complaint was that the food was cold. The desserts looked good but had absolutley no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very much enjoyed our dinner here on Saturday night. The food was excellent with wonderful presentation. Plenty of food without being ridiculously large like many other restaurants these days. Took our coffee to the bar and listened to the live trio that was playing. This is a perfect place for special occasion dining - elegant, friendly, two of the owners stopped by to check on our experience. There is a nice range of prices also - it is definitely fine dining but not prohibitively expensive. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful, quiet atmosphere. Nice to relax and enjoy meal. I had 2 glasses of wonderful red wine and salmon special was done nicely. I will return next time when I'm in the area!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very good food with great service but the managers are very keen on selling their restaurant to you as if you have not already been sold. The food speaks for itself but it happens to be extremely annoying when multiple people come up to you throughout your dinner to brag about their restaurant and personal accomplishments.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very friendly and the atmosphere was amazing. The food was delicious. Will definitely be recommending to others.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My "Go To" place when I visit Grand Rapids on business with colleges. Never have been disappointed. They make a lot of their own pasta, carry a 12, 000 bottle wine offering. Many choices are by the glass. Ambiance is formal, white table cloth, traditional.
They also ofer several creative touches to traditional dishes as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Noto's is a fabulous Italian Restaurant... It is a must place to go, if you are in the Grand Rapids, Michigan area. Tony and JoAnn are incredible hosts and the chefs are magnificent. The wine room in the basement is the most amazing I've seen in all my travels. The brick ceilings are unlike anything you'll ever see or experience. Noto's is truly a hidden gem in Grand Rapids...

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was our first visit to Noto's, and it did not disappoint. We were in Grand Rapids for business, and we chose to have an early dinner there, as it was also our First Date Anniversary. The food was fantastic from start to finish; the Mozzarella Al Forno is a must (they make their own Mozzarella), as is the spinach salad. We had petite portions of Cannelloni and Eggplant Parmigiana, then Veal Marsala and the Bistecca Ribeye. Everything was cooked as it should be, and had an authentic taste. Aaron was our server and he took great care of us; he was knowledgeable, professional, and very personable. Mary Catherine was very kind, as well. Definitely try this place if you haven't already---we look forward to returning the next time we are in Grand Rapids!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Ordered Ribeye - no real flavor, underwhelmed. Very expensive in relation to the portion and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Never a bad meal at Noto's. I would say aside from Amore on Alpine, Noto's is the best Italian cuisine in GR. If you can swing it, do the cellar experience with a personal chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Noto's staff, food and atmosphere was truly wonderful! This restaurant will always be where I dine when I am in Grand Rapids!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place for a quiet dinner night with great food and service.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Not an everyday restaurant - the bill topped $100 for two of us with a bottle of wine - but a great nigh out for a special occasion. Also got to tour the lower level wine cellar. It would make for an amazing dining experience for a very special occasion. The service and level of attention to detail makes it a great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Delicious food, although one in our party thought his beef entrée was only "okay," and one person's soup was lukewarm. Cozy, quiet, nice live jazz in the background. Wine list overwhelming, but knowledgeable staff helped us select the perfect bottle.

On Open Table, it said our latest choice was 6 pm-- but there were empty tables all evening, so next time I'll call the restaurant directly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went there after looking at several different places online while we were in town for the weekend. The food was great and our server, Aaron, was fantastic. The wine selection is incredible! Nice atmosphere and had live music the night we were there

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Noto's is always a great meal. Aaron provided wonderful service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our food was overcooked and pretty terrible. It was the most expensive meal we have had in many months and the worst. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 14, 2017

After traveling to Italy, our frustration had been trying to find that authentic taste, but now we have a favorite "go to" place although it's a 3 hour drive for us!! Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Classic, old world Italian served in a casual, no rush environment. Excellent food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for a special occasion meal on New Year's Eve. Had 8 o'clock reservation was seating quickly, about half full of guests. Quickly noticed noise level and lack of any sound deadening materials or decor. Found it very hard to converse at a table for two because of noise. Food was good not great, had prime rib, Caesar salads and a bottle of wine. Bill was $105, and if the ambiance and food quality was excellent no complaints. However as it was wouldnt spend this kind of money for this experience again. Service was good however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was a little slow. They seemed moderately busy for early New Year's Eve dinner. My pasta was very ordinary - cavatappi. Actually somewhat boring. My dining partner had veal salimbocca which he said was ok but he's had much better. I mainly enjoy coming to Noto's for the quiet atmosphere and general ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was amazing, but the service felt rather slow. My water glass was constantly empty, and even when I asked for a refill, it took quite awhile for our server to come fill it. Also, the bathrooms are very cold. The sinks are confusing to determine how to get hot water. When we mentioned this to the hostess, she simply commented that it is cold, and was not apologetic at all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My brother an I both had the "Special" Grouper, very sorry to say it smelled of "ammonia" which means it was spoiled. I don't get upset if my meal is a little over or undercooked but, when you serve spoiled seafood, there's no forgiving.

Either the cook didn't care or was not experienced enough to tell when food has spoiled both are a big problem.

And why was it on special because, they had to get rid of it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Staff is very attentive and proper while still being friendly and open to suggestions.
Traditional & unique Italian selections.
Vegetarian dishes available as well.
I expected higher cost but was actually very reasonable.
Upscale but still comfortably casual.
Free tour of the building is a must - history of the Noto family is interesting.
I was visiting GR...Noto's will have my business next time I'm in GR again.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We enjoyed the Fabulous Tom Hagen Trio during their weekly Wednesday night Gig. Our server was terrific - good sense of humor & very patient with us all.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great old world Italian experience. The owners come by your table and great you. The food is very traditional and homemade. Excellent every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My wife and I brought our kids for our 25th anniversary. Very enjoyable. Nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food, service and desserts. Pricey, was about $100 for 2, with one drink each.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Went to Nodo's for the first time this week. While the food was very good and wait staff friendly and attentive. The wait time for our food was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My wife and I made had dinner at Noto's before attending a concert at Calvin College. The service was timely and food was simply outstanding. Wine list was excellent, and waitress was helpful in navigating the menu. We will plan to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Impeccable, friendly, polite, timely service outstanding food and wine- generous, but not HUGE portions -heavenly desserts

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Noto's is a short drive from the center city on a business street. They have successfully isolated from the traffic so I'd loosely classify it a neighborhood restaurant. The dining ambiance is quiet although combo music inhabits the bar. Food and drink are excellent and the assistance offered for the extensive wine list (think book) is helpful but not intrusive.
I don't think of Noto's often enough but it is back on my list as a go to fine dining option in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

If you are wanting a fabulous meal that is very quiet and relaxing Noto's is the place. We enjoy the ability to not be rushed and to know that this is an event not a quick get in and get out. Noto's provided us with a great culinary experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our third trip or maybe fourth. Always a good casual meal. Wife loves the wine and I love the food, so it works out ;)

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I have been to Grand Rapids numerous times, but always stay downtown and eat at the great restaurants like the Chop House and the B.O.B. and enjoy them very much. I had occasion to stay on the Airport side of town and found Noto's to be the best kept secret in Grand Rapids. The food is fantastic and the service was great. In the future when traveling to Grand Rapids on business, I will now make a point of going to Noto's even when I'm staying downtown.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was amazing, the wait staff very attentive and helpful. We had a wonderful time and will certainly be back.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I waited a little too long to write this review too include many details. The most memorable part was that the service seemed excruciatingly slow. Even with a half empty restaurant, we were there for an unusually long time for a dinner for two. However, the food we had was very good, and our waiter was very personable. I do also recall thinking that the place could use a little freshening up as far as things starting to age and look a little less clean than a restaurant should. The bottom line is that if you have plenty of time and want some good Italian food, it's not a bad choice, based on our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food. Amazingly huge wine selection. Occasional live bands. The tapestries kinda look bland. Some paintings would help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.