About Noto's Old World Italian Dining

"Where good taste never ends, you know it's Noto's!" Because first impressions count, the Noto's family has given special attention to making a strong, solid & respectable statement with the building's exterior & entry. You'll find a grand stone building with multiple entries. Noto's is not only a fine-dining restaurant, but a large banquet facility. The old world atmosphere of the interior speaks of quality & care. Noto's lounge has live music, a gracious but casually elegant dining room with a massive wine list recognized by Wine Spectator Magazine, & spectacular authentic Italian foods! A new banquet entryway features a white marble spiral staircase with a glistening chandelier. The staircase ascends to a ballroom & descends into the newly completed Wine Cellar with thousands of bottles of wine & a new dining area for our Chef's Dinners. Dining spaces in the cellar are semi-private brick arched spaces with individual chandeliers. A must see!

6600 28th Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm Facility available for non-scheduled hours by special arrangement. This also includes special holiday gatherings!

Cross Street:
West of Cascade Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 493-6686

Website:
http://www.notosoldworld.com/

Entertainment:
Noto's has live entertainment in the lounge Wednesday through Saturday evenings from 7:00pm - 10:00pm. The Tommy Hagen Trio entertains guests on Wednesday evenings (visit www.notosoldworld.com for details on The Tommy Hagen Trio); please call Noto's for more information regarding Thursday through Saturday night entertainment. Our guests will be entertained with class, professionalism, versatility & fun! Reservation Confirmation Message: As Aristotle said, "Excellence is not an act it's a habit." The Noto Family translation - When you visit and experience Noto's once, you'll have to come back! Thank you for choosing Noto's Old World Italian Dining. Should your plans change please let us know. We look forward to serving you. If you are not dining in the new Wine Cellar, don't leave before seeing it! We would be delighted to show you for your next visit to West Michigan! www.notosoldworld.com

Catering:
We have a complete catering menu on our website at www.notosoldworld.com. Many dishes can be prepared for take-out for small groups & off-site catering for large groups is available.

Parking Details:
Noto's has ample parking for most events. When needed there is street parking available, along with municipal parking for evening events within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Local cab services, along with town car and limousine services can provide transportation. Many nearby hotels will provide transportation to Noto's on request. Please call us if you need assistance in making local arrangements.

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful banquet facility can accommodate many styles of parties or events. We have small spaces perfect for parties of 10 and larger spaces for up to 2000 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joann Noto: (616) 493-6686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see the "Private Dining" tab in the top right corner for details regarding our special event options in our gorgeous, spacious, banquet facilities.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Noto's Old World Italian Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Authentic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (5)
Live Music (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was cold and the chicken was not cooked. sorry this was a disappointment for my wife on her names day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful Birthday & Anniversary dinner. The food was excellent. The owner and the Exuctive Chef took the time to stop by our table to ensure everything was great.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I dine at Noto's about once a year, and this year took my daughter in for her 50th birthday. There were 5 of us in our party and we all ordered something different, so that we could sample different plates. Everything was absolutely fantastic. Service was excellent. I did have to order my iced tea twice before I finally got it, but they didn't end up charging me for it. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a fantastic luxury dinner out with family and friends without having to spend their entire paycheck on the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Noto's is such a gem of a place - fantastic food, family owned, and an elegant atmosphere. We are delighted every time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

This family owned and operated establishment is truly a gem and Italian foodie nirvana. The meatball was succulent and moist without being overly spiced. We'll worth it as an appetizer and large enough to share for two. My salad was well seasoned as was my wifes. The entrees were heavenly my steak was cooked to the perfect temperature and my wife's ravioli was light and the sauce was rich and creamy without being overwhelming. Our desert was over the top wonderful. The tiramisu was one of the best I've ever had. The wait staff was friendly and familiar with the menu so as to have been able to answer any questions we had. The wine list may seem overwhelming but the Somalia was informative friendly. My family heritage is Italian so it is difficult for me to find Italian food that I can be satisfied with. This is one of best Italian restaurants I've eaten at and I would be proud to recommend Noto's to anyone that loves great Italian food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing!!!! Set the bar for customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great Entre. Small appetizers. Very elegant place. Which they should tell you that. From out of town and felt very underdressed. Everything ala carte. Kinda pricey.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our reservation was at 9:15 and the restaurant was almost empty. The wine we chose from the wine list wasn't available so the waiter gave us something that was supposed to be comparable to our original pick of a $50 bottle of Chianti. This bottle was not good, the wine was not anything special - it was just below average. We felt bad to ask for the wine list to choose another bottle on our own since they just brought us a random bottle and said that the owner recommended it. The food is over-spiced, possibly pre-cooked and just not really that fresh or good. The decor is stuck in the 80s and there were some flies buzzing around us all night. To add the cherry on top, none of our credit cards were accepted and we were forced to pay in cash due to issues with their card machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service and best wine list I have ever experienced!

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I visited Noto's for the first time this past weekend to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. We had been in Italy for our 33rd and wanted to recreate some of the culinary memories. Aaron, our server, and Chad, the sommelier, helped us design a 5 course meal that was wonderful. They were helpful and attentive without being overbearing. The food was excellent. The wine parings were spot on. And the pacing was relaxed yet efficient. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Notos is an amazing dining experience in every way. From the extraordinary wine selection, to The beautifully prepared amazingly creative food to the knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff this is the place to be . If you choose to go ,plan on taking some time ,plan on enjoying the meal and eating in course. Chad the sommelier will help you select and educate you about a wine perfect for your meal. Whether it's a casual evening out or an evening with that someone special . Noto's is it! Our thanks to the Noto family for always making our dining there a wonderful experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We have joyed wonderful meals of celebration at Noto's over the years. The most recent visit was with my grandson after his high school graduation. Just the two of us. We could really talk and enjoy one another's company.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent, excellent, excellent. The food was simply excellent. The staff was wonderful. We were out on our anniversary date away from the kids for the evening and our waitress knew just the right amount of time between our plates and knew not to bother or interrupt us with small talk. Everything was great and the food could not have tasted any better. The presentation of even my simple caesar salad was impressive. Overall, excellent. You get the idea? Excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The menu on the open table link was completely different than the one in the restaurant. We were told it's the new menu. Many selections were odd and menu staples were missing. Prices were higher. As an example veal Marsala was several dollars more than on line and did not come with vegetables as before. The veal was black, was served on an ungarnished plate and tasted more like veal balsamic. The sauce on the pasta side was fair. The spaghetti and meat ball was a large lump on meatloaf topped with ricotta plopped on top of pasta with somewhat thin, bitter marinara . Probably not enough onions to take the bitter edge away. The server was will intentioned but not so experienced. Bread had to be requested and did not arrive until the salad was almost finished . The air conditioning was so cold that I went to my car for a jacket since my comment on the temperature was met with a shrug. We left feeling like we had a bait and switch experience . If there is a change of ownership or direction it should be reflected on open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very good experience, thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2017

If you haven't been Noto's in a while they have done a great reboot. The new menu and the taste of all the food we ordered were absolutely great. They have brought in a Chef from Italy as well as celebrity Chef from Hell's Kitchen, Robert Hesse. He gave us a full description of every item on the menu and after hearing the descriptions I wanted one of everything. One appetizer we ordered was the formaggi dip served with homemade flat bred. OMG - we would have been happy with just that. The dip was delicious, but the bread was heaven. Could not stop eating it. For my entree I had the Picasso chicken. Really really good. The portions of all entrees at our table were very generous. Despite being full had to order from the excellent choices of desserts. I had the salted Carmel pane dolce. Again, amazing. Just wanted to keeping feeding me face. We will definitely be back. Food is great and a good value. Genuinely nice owners too.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was good. Wished the waitstaff was more knowledgeable on wine and wine paring suggestions. There was a wine cellar manager who came over with a good suggestion but we were already halfway through the meal. Not a big deal. The wine we chose was good. We had a nice time.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My family was celebrating a special birthday and we had a wonderful meal! The food was excellent! The service was amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and we thank Notos for making it special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great atmosphere and my wife and I really liked having live music.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Service was great. Some of the entree's were good and some mediorce and one very bad. We had all eaten at this restaurant a few years ago and had a very bad experience from a-z. We finally decided to try it again and the one bad dish from before was the same bad dish this time too. Unfortunately none of the 7 at dinner will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We can always count on Noto's for a special dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were on a family trip and felt like Italian food. This came up on OpenTable and I made a reservation. I saw that it was worth 1,000 points, which may be an indicator in the future to not select that restaurant. Mediocre food with a high price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This restaurant is noted for extensive wine selection. True, but not by the glass. In fact, there was only one offering for both a pinot noir and cabernet sauvignon. I asked for a taste of the pinot. I did not care for it - almost tasteless so I asked for a taste of the cabernet. The waiter told me that would not be possible to do that again; they really do not give tastes. If they gave me a taste they would have to do that for the entire restaurant and that would be costly. I was shocked and not impressed. The owner came to the table to tell how they were featured in Wine Spectator. OK, but wine by the glass was unimpressive. However, the food was wonderful. I had a petite size portion of the cannelloni. It was excellent and a good portion. Beware, that if you ask for grated Parmesan cheese to put with the olive oil for dipping the bread, you will be given maybe a teaspoon amount, and the waiter will tell you that there will not be a charge for that!! Interesting customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was the worst restaurant I have ever been in and will not attend again. An embarrassment on Mother's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The main complaint was that the food was cold. The desserts looked good but had absolutley no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very much enjoyed our dinner here on Saturday night. The food was excellent with wonderful presentation. Plenty of food without being ridiculously large like many other restaurants these days. Took our coffee to the bar and listened to the live trio that was playing. This is a perfect place for special occasion dining - elegant, friendly, two of the owners stopped by to check on our experience. There is a nice range of prices also - it is definitely fine dining but not prohibitively expensive. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful, quiet atmosphere. Nice to relax and enjoy meal. I had 2 glasses of wonderful red wine and salmon special was done nicely. I will return next time when I'm in the area!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very good food with great service but the managers are very keen on selling their restaurant to you as if you have not already been sold. The food speaks for itself but it happens to be extremely annoying when multiple people come up to you throughout your dinner to brag about their restaurant and personal accomplishments.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very friendly and the atmosphere was amazing. The food was delicious. Will definitely be recommending to others.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My "Go To" place when I visit Grand Rapids on business with colleges. Never have been disappointed. They make a lot of their own pasta, carry a 12, 000 bottle wine offering. Many choices are by the glass. Ambiance is formal, white table cloth, traditional.
They also ofer several creative touches to traditional dishes as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Noto's is a fabulous Italian Restaurant... It is a must place to go, if you are in the Grand Rapids, Michigan area. Tony and JoAnn are incredible hosts and the chefs are magnificent. The wine room in the basement is the most amazing I've seen in all my travels. The brick ceilings are unlike anything you'll ever see or experience. Noto's is truly a hidden gem in Grand Rapids...

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was our first visit to Noto's, and it did not disappoint. We were in Grand Rapids for business, and we chose to have an early dinner there, as it was also our First Date Anniversary. The food was fantastic from start to finish; the Mozzarella Al Forno is a must (they make their own Mozzarella), as is the spinach salad. We had petite portions of Cannelloni and Eggplant Parmigiana, then Veal Marsala and the Bistecca Ribeye. Everything was cooked as it should be, and had an authentic taste. Aaron was our server and he took great care of us; he was knowledgeable, professional, and very personable. Mary Catherine was very kind, as well. Definitely try this place if you haven't already---we look forward to returning the next time we are in Grand Rapids!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Ordered Ribeye - no real flavor, underwhelmed. Very expensive in relation to the portion and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Never a bad meal at Noto's. I would say aside from Amore on Alpine, Noto's is the best Italian cuisine in GR. If you can swing it, do the cellar experience with a personal chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Noto's staff, food and atmosphere was truly wonderful! This restaurant will always be where I dine when I am in Grand Rapids!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place for a quiet dinner night with great food and service.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Not an everyday restaurant - the bill topped $100 for two of us with a bottle of wine - but a great nigh out for a special occasion. Also got to tour the lower level wine cellar. It would make for an amazing dining experience for a very special occasion. The service and level of attention to detail makes it a great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Delicious food, although one in our party thought his beef entrée was only "okay," and one person's soup was lukewarm. Cozy, quiet, nice live jazz in the background. Wine list overwhelming, but knowledgeable staff helped us select the perfect bottle.

On Open Table, it said our latest choice was 6 pm-- but there were empty tables all evening, so next time I'll call the restaurant directly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went there after looking at several different places online while we were in town for the weekend. The food was great and our server, Aaron, was fantastic. The wine selection is incredible! Nice atmosphere and had live music the night we were there

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Noto's is always a great meal. Aaron provided wonderful service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.