About Noto's Old World Italian Dining

6600 28th Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
View Larger Map

"Where good taste never ends, you know it's Noto's!" Because first impressions count, the Noto's family has given special attention to making a strong, solid & respectable statement with the building's exterior & entry. You'll find a grand stone building with multiple entries. Noto's is not only a fine-dining restaurant, but a large banquet facility. The old world atmosphere of the interior speaks of quality & care. Noto's lounge has live music, a gracious but casually elegant dining room with a massive wine list recognized by Wine Spectator Magazine, & spectacular authentic Italian foods! A new banquet entryway features a white marble spiral staircase with a glistening chandelier. The staircase ascends to a ballroom & descends into the newly completed Wine Cellar with thousands of bottles of wine & a new dining area for our Chef's Dinners. Dining spaces in the cellar are semi-private brick arched spaces with individual chandeliers. A must see!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm Facility available for non-scheduled hours by special arrangement. This also includes special holiday gatherings!

Cross Street:
West of Cascade Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 493-6686

Website:
http://www.notosoldworld.com/

Entertainment:
Noto's has live entertainment in the lounge Wednesday through Saturday evenings from 7:00pm - 10:00pm. The Tommy Hagen Trio entertains guests on Wednesday evenings (visit www.notosoldworld.com for details on The Tommy Hagen Trio); please call Noto's for more information regarding Thursday through Saturday night entertainment. Our guests will be entertained with class, professionalism, versatility & fun! Reservation Confirmation Message: As Aristotle said, "Excellence is not an act it's a habit." The Noto Family translation - When you visit and experience Noto's once, you'll have to come back! Thank you for choosing Noto's Old World Italian Dining. Should your plans change please let us know. We look forward to serving you. If you are not dining in the new Wine Cellar, don't leave before seeing it! We would be delighted to show you for your next visit to West Michigan! www.notosoldworld.com

Catering:
We have a complete catering menu on our website at www.notosoldworld.com. Many dishes can be prepared for take-out for small groups & off-site catering for large groups is available.

Parking Details:
Noto's has ample parking for most events. When needed there is street parking available, along with municipal parking for evening events within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Local cab services, along with town car and limousine services can provide transportation. Many nearby hotels will provide transportation to Noto's on request. Please call us if you need assistance in making local arrangements.

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful banquet facility can accommodate many styles of parties or events. We have small spaces perfect for parties of 10 and larger spaces for up to 2000 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joann Noto: (616) 493-6686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see the "Private Dining" tab in the top right corner for details regarding our special event options in our gorgeous, spacious, banquet facilities.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Noto's Old World Italian Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After traveling to Italy, our frustratio ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

After traveling to Italy, our frustration had been trying to find that authentic taste, but now we have a favorite "go to" place although it's a 3 hour drive for us!! Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic, old world Italian served in a c ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Classic, old world Italian served in a casual, no rush environment. Excellent food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a special occasion meal on New ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for a special occasion meal on New Year's Eve. Had 8 o'clock reservation was seating quickly, about half full of guests. Quickly noticed noise level and lack of any sound deadening materials or decor. Found it very hard to converse at a table for two because of noise. Food was good not great, had prime rib, Caesar salads and a bottle of wine. Bill was $105, and if the ambiance and food quality was excellent no complaints. However as it was wouldnt spend this kind of money for this experience again. Service was good however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The service was a little slow. They seem ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was a little slow. They seemed moderately busy for early New Year's Eve dinner. My pasta was very ordinary - cavatappi. Actually somewhat boring. My dining partner had veal salimbocca which he said was ok but he's had much better. I mainly enjoy coming to Noto's for the quiet atmosphere and general ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was amazing, but the service fe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was amazing, but the service felt rather slow. My water glass was constantly empty, and even when I asked for a refill, it took quite awhile for our server to come fill it. Also, the bathrooms are very cold. The sinks are confusing to determine how to get hot water. When we mentioned this to the hostess, she simply commented that it is cold, and was not apologetic at all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

My brother an I both had the "Special" G ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My brother an I both had the "Special" Grouper, very sorry to say it smelled of "ammonia" which means it was spoiled. I don't get upset if my meal is a little over or undercooked but, when you serve spoiled seafood, there's no forgiving.

Either the cook didn't care or was not experienced enough to tell when food has spoiled both are a big problem.

And why was it on special because, they had to get rid of it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Staff is very attentive and proper while ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Staff is very attentive and proper while still being friendly and open to suggestions.

Traditional & unique Italian selections.

Vegetarian dishes available as well.

I expected higher cost but was actually very reasonable.

Upscale but still comfortably casual.

Free tour of the building is a must - history of the Noto family is interesting.

I was visiting GR...Noto's will have my business next time I'm in GR again.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Fabulous Tom Hagen Trio d ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We enjoyed the Fabulous Tom Hagen Trio during their weekly Wednesday night Gig. Our server was terrific - good sense of humor & very patient with us all.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great old world Italian experience. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great old world Italian experience. The owners come by your table and great you. The food is very traditional and homemade. Excellent every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I brought our kids for our 2 ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My wife and I brought our kids for our 25th anniversary. Very enjoyable. Nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and desserts. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food, service and desserts. Pricey, was about $100 for 2, with one drink each.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to Nodo's for the first time this w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Went to Nodo's for the first time this week. While the food was very good and wait staff friendly and attentive. The wait time for our food was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I made had dinner at Noto's ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My wife and I made had dinner at Noto's before attending a concert at Calvin College. The service was timely and food was simply outstanding. Wine list was excellent, and waitress was helpful in navigating the menu. We will plan to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Impeccable, friendly, polite, timely ser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Impeccable, friendly, polite, timely service outstanding food and wine- generous, but not HUGE portions -heavenly desserts

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noto's is a short drive from the center ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Noto's is a short drive from the center city on a business street. They have successfully isolated from the traffic so I'd loosely classify it a neighborhood restaurant. The dining ambiance is quiet although combo music inhabits the bar. Food and drink are excellent and the assistance offered for the extensive wine list (think book) is helpful but not intrusive.

I don't think of Noto's often enough but it is back on my list as a go to fine dining option in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you are wanting a fabulous meal that ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

If you are wanting a fabulous meal that is very quiet and relaxing Noto's is the place. We enjoy the ability to not be rushed and to know that this is an event not a quick get in and get out. Noto's provided us with a great culinary experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third trip or maybe fourth. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our third trip or maybe fourth. Always a good casual meal. Wife loves the wine and I love the food, so it works out ;)

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Grand Rapids numerous tim ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I have been to Grand Rapids numerous times, but always stay downtown and eat at the great restaurants like the Chop House and the B.O.B. and enjoy them very much. I had occasion to stay on the Airport side of town and found Noto's to be the best kept secret in Grand Rapids. The food is fantastic and the service was great. In the future when traveling to Grand Rapids on business, I will now make a point of going to Noto's even when I'm staying downtown.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the wait staff ver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was amazing, the wait staff very attentive and helpful. We had a wonderful time and will certainly be back.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I waited a little too long to write this ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I waited a little too long to write this review too include many details. The most memorable part was that the service seemed excruciatingly slow. Even with a half empty restaurant, we were there for an unusually long time for a dinner for two. However, the food we had was very good, and our waiter was very personable. I do also recall thinking that the place could use a little freshening up as far as things starting to age and look a little less clean than a restaurant should. The bottom line is that if you have plenty of time and want some good Italian food, it's not a bad choice, based on our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food. Amazingly huge wine selectio ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food. Amazingly huge wine selection. Occasional live bands. The tapestries kinda look bland. Some paintings would help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The reservations were easy to make. The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The reservations were easy to make. The staff were very friendly and helpful for allergy suggestions. The restaurant was very pleasant, clean, and inviting. Some of our guests indicated they would love to return to NoTo's again which means they too enjoyed the atmosphere, food and drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Did not pay myself so do not know what b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Did not pay myself so do not know what bill was but prices in menu seemed quite normal Food and wine and waitstaff were awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant with quiet, competent ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Lovely restaurant with quiet, competent staff. Delicious dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Memorable Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I recently went to Noto's to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The wait staff was friendly and helpful, the food was delicious (I had the pan-fried walleye with the Frangelico sauce; my husband had the lamb), and the pastry chef surprised us by writing "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on the plate which carried our dessert. It was a delightful evening; we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shading wine list. Old school Italian, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Shading wine list. Old school Italian, we ate family style

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb Dining at Notos

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate a special birthday. Lovely dining, food, service and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional. The staff ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was exceptional. The staff was always attentive asking if we needed anything more. The food was wonderful. There was a lot of variety, which allowed everyone in our party to find just what they would like to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nothing Special

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I went to Notos for dinner. The food is average and the service took too long. The decor is very out of date and needs to be updated. They have a large list of wines from all over Italy and the wine we had was great. Our waiter was nice but for $100 for two people, I would rather go someplace else.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was excellent. Great wine selec ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Great wine selection.

Great live music coming from the lounge.

They had a huge banquet party going on so only one waitstaff in the dining room. Despite that the waitress was extremely friendly, always smiling, and the food was hot. The Noto family also took the time and stopped by the table several times to make sure all was well. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal I have had in Grand Rapids.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2016

By far one of the best restaurants in the area. Superb wine list, great customer service, and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be back!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2016

We first went to Noto's on the previous Tuesday for a wine tasting session with 11 friends and fell in love with the place. So needless to say, when we were looking for a fancy, dress up, double date celebration for 2 newlywed couples...Noto's was our only thought. The food and wine are amazing. The staff is so friendly and eager to help us with any food or wine decision. They are patient with new people who are not sure what to order. The wine host "Chad" is amazing and our server right on time with everything! We were there for quite a while to visit with my wife's god daughter who is stationed in Germany in the Air Force but home on leave with her baby and husband we had not been able to meet yet. My wife and I are also newlyweds as of last May so we had lots to celebrate. There was no rush at all and every single item of food ordered was so good. Yes it may be a little pricey for some...but it was a special occasion for us and worth every penny. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and great menu selection

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2016

If you love quality, tasty, Italian food, then Noto's is the restaurant for you. There are many pasta and entre choices, along with delicious desserts. Give Noto's a try - you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

NOTO was notso....

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2016

The ambiance was very nice. Prices are high for what you get. My spinach salad had maybe a cup of spinach and 4 cranberries not sure I found the goat cheese. My chicken was a little overdone and hence dry. Veggies were a soggy mess. Food was only fair and very overpriced for what was on our plates. Staff is friendly and very nice. good service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good but not great experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2016

This was our third time here in approx 8 months and the experience has always been fantastic. We had one fairly minor problem with a ribeye we ordered that had quite a large vain of gristle running thru it. We both had the same meal and mine was perfect. Was still a delicious steak but wish it hadn't had that flaw. Not sure if that's detectable before cooking or not. Other than that fantastic and cooked perfectly. Great salads and service and sat in lounge after meal and had a drink and listened to live music. Was minor issue and it won't stop me from coming again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice for special occasions.

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2016

A bit on pricey side, but worth the trip. This is way above our normal price range. Nice for specail occasions. Service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 28, 2016

It was great food and a fun atmosphere. The service was fantastic and could hear the music from where we were sitting. Great atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Definitely doesn't com ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was amazing! Definitely doesn't compare to your normal Italian restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian and Sicilian cuisine. The wine list is extensive. Great selections at all price points.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic Valentines Day

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Came here for valentines and I couldn't be happier. The food was delicious, the waitress was kind, curious and knowledgeable and the atmosphere was intimate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.