About Noto's Old World Italian Dining

6600 28th Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
View Larger Map

"Where good taste never ends, you know it's Noto's!" Because first impressions count, the Noto's family has given special attention to making a strong, solid & respectable statement with the building's exterior & entry. You'll find a grand stone building with multiple entries. Noto's is not only a fine-dining restaurant, but a large banquet facility. The old world atmosphere of the interior speaks of quality & care. Noto's lounge has live music, a gracious but casually elegant dining room with a massive wine list recognized by Wine Spectator Magazine, & spectacular authentic Italian foods! A new banquet entryway features a white marble spiral staircase with a glistening chandelier. The staircase ascends to a ballroom & descends into the newly completed Wine Cellar with thousands of bottles of wine & a new dining area for our Chef's Dinners. Dining spaces in the cellar are semi-private brick arched spaces with individual chandeliers. A must see!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm Facility available for non-scheduled hours by special arrangement. This also includes special holiday gatherings!

Cross Street:
West of Cascade Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 493-6686

Website:
http://www.notosoldworld.com/

Entertainment:
Noto's has live entertainment in the lounge Wednesday through Saturday evenings from 7:00pm - 10:00pm. The Tommy Hagen Trio entertains guests on Wednesday evenings (visit www.notosoldworld.com for details on The Tommy Hagen Trio); please call Noto's for more information regarding Thursday through Saturday night entertainment. Our guests will be entertained with class, professionalism, versatility & fun! Reservation Confirmation Message: As Aristotle said, "Excellence is not an act it's a habit." The Noto Family translation - When you visit and experience Noto's once, you'll have to come back! Thank you for choosing Noto's Old World Italian Dining. Should your plans change please let us know. We look forward to serving you. If you are not dining in the new Wine Cellar, don't leave before seeing it! We would be delighted to show you for your next visit to West Michigan! www.notosoldworld.com

Catering:
We have a complete catering menu on our website at www.notosoldworld.com. Many dishes can be prepared for take-out for small groups & off-site catering for large groups is available.

Parking Details:
Noto's has ample parking for most events. When needed there is street parking available, along with municipal parking for evening events within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Local cab services, along with town car and limousine services can provide transportation. Many nearby hotels will provide transportation to Noto's on request. Please call us if you need assistance in making local arrangements.

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful banquet facility can accommodate many styles of parties or events. We have small spaces perfect for parties of 10 and larger spaces for up to 2000 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joann Noto: 6164936686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see the "Private Dining" tab in the top right corner for details regarding our special event options in our gorgeous, spacious, banquet facilities.

Restaurant Photos

Bread Pudding
Granchio Crab Cakes
Cavatappi Pasta With Poached Lobster, Heavy Cream, Mascarpone And Parmesan Cheese With Toasted Bread Crumbs
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Costolette D'agnello Grilled Lamb Chops
Shrimp And Vegetable Soup
Tomato Caprese
Espresso
Potato Bread
Prosciutto Appetizer
Creme Carmel Or Baked Custard With Truffles
Shrimp Risotto
Tenderloin W/ Mushroom Demiglaze On Polenta  With Grilled Asparagus

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Noto's Old World Italian Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (6)
See All
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Music (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Cozy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing, the wait staff ver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was amazing, the wait staff very attentive and helpful. We had a wonderful time and will certainly be back.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. Amazingly huge wine selectio ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food. Amazingly huge wine selection. Occasional live bands. The tapestries kinda look bland. Some paintings would help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The reservations were easy to make. The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The reservations were easy to make. The staff were very friendly and helpful for allergy suggestions. The restaurant was very pleasant, clean, and inviting. Some of our guests indicated they would love to return to NoTo's again which means they too enjoyed the atmosphere, food and drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Did not pay myself so do not know what b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Did not pay myself so do not know what bill was but prices in menu seemed quite normal Food and wine and waitstaff were awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant with quiet, competent ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Lovely restaurant with quiet, competent staff. Delicious dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Memorable Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I recently went to Noto's to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The wait staff was friendly and helpful, the food was delicious (I had the pan-fried walleye with the Frangelico sauce; my husband had the lamb), and the pastry chef surprised us by writing "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on the plate which carried our dessert. It was a delightful evening; we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shading wine list. Old school Italian, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Shading wine list. Old school Italian, we ate family style

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb Dining at Notos

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate a special birthday. Lovely dining, food, service and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional. The staff ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was exceptional. The staff was always attentive asking if we needed anything more. The food was wonderful. There was a lot of variety, which allowed everyone in our party to find just what they would like to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nothing Special

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I went to Notos for dinner. The food is average and the service took too long. The decor is very out of date and needs to be updated. They have a large list of wines from all over Italy and the wine we had was great. Our waiter was nice but for $100 for two people, I would rather go someplace else.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was excellent. Great wine selec ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Great wine selection.

Great live music coming from the lounge.

They had a huge banquet party going on so only one waitstaff in the dining room. Despite that the waitress was extremely friendly, always smiling, and the food was hot. The Noto family also took the time and stopped by the table several times to make sure all was well. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal I have had in Grand Rapids.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

By far one of the best restaurants in the area. Superb wine list, great customer service, and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be back!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We first went to Noto's on the previous Tuesday for a wine tasting session with 11 friends and fell in love with the place. So needless to say, when we were looking for a fancy, dress up, double date celebration for 2 newlywed couples...Noto's was our only thought. The food and wine are amazing. The staff is so friendly and eager to help us with any food or wine decision. They are patient with new people who are not sure what to order. The wine host "Chad" is amazing and our server right on time with everything! We were there for quite a while to visit with my wife's god daughter who is stationed in Germany in the Air Force but home on leave with her baby and husband we had not been able to meet yet. My wife and I are also newlyweds as of last May so we had lots to celebrate. There was no rush at all and every single item of food ordered was so good. Yes it may be a little pricey for some...but it was a special occasion for us and worth every penny. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and great menu selection

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

If you love quality, tasty, Italian food, then Noto's is the restaurant for you. There are many pasta and entre choices, along with delicious desserts. Give Noto's a try - you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

NOTO was notso....

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The ambiance was very nice. Prices are high for what you get. My spinach salad had maybe a cup of spinach and 4 cranberries not sure I found the goat cheese. My chicken was a little overdone and hence dry. Veggies were a soggy mess. Food was only fair and very overpriced for what was on our plates. Staff is friendly and very nice. good service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good but not great experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This was our third time here in approx 8 months and the experience has always been fantastic. We had one fairly minor problem with a ribeye we ordered that had quite a large vain of gristle running thru it. We both had the same meal and mine was perfect. Was still a delicious steak but wish it hadn't had that flaw. Not sure if that's detectable before cooking or not. Other than that fantastic and cooked perfectly. Great salads and service and sat in lounge after meal and had a drink and listened to live music. Was minor issue and it won't stop me from coming again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice for special occasions.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

A bit on pricey side, but worth the trip. This is way above our normal price range. Nice for specail occasions. Service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

It was great food and a fun atmosphere. The service was fantastic and could hear the music from where we were sitting. Great atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Definitely doesn't com ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was amazing! Definitely doesn't compare to your normal Italian restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian and Sicilian cuisine. The wine list is extensive. Great selections at all price points.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic Valentines Day

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Came here for valentines and I couldn't be happier. The food was delicious, the waitress was kind, curious and knowledgeable and the atmosphere was intimate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

bad experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The male host who did our coat check was very rude. He also brought us water once and he was very quiet and did not respond when we thanked him. He walked around to other tables to check on other guests but not once did he stop to ours to check on us to see how we were doing. He did not acknowledge us what so ever and we will not be coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Highly recommend

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I had a difficult time selecting my entree as each dish appealed to my appetite. I selected gnocchi with lump crab in citrus lobster sauce and it was fantastic. My date ordered the cannelloni and raved about his meal. Definitely save room for dessert, you won't regret it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a wonderful wine list but poor food

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We made reservations for Valentine's day. I have a background running restaurants. I loved the wine list and the ambiance was spectacular. The food was mediocre and very pricey. I had the gnocchi and it was oily, flavorless, and not worth the price. I would never go back. I was very very disappointed. I do not want to spend $100 on a meal that I could have done way better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Love Noto's

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Another fine dinner at an authentic Italian restaurant. Great service by our favorite server, Valerie. Not only is the food great, the pace of the meal is never hurried. Thank you for caring about your customers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricy with bad service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The service for this level of establishment is simply awful. Prepare to sit with an empty glass and food temperature was very unacceptable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

First time to Noto's

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We went to Noto's for the first time. We made it a destination for the evening. The Italian menu is excellent. Some dishes that you can't get at many other places. The wine list is probably the largest that I have experienced from any restaurant in GR or Lansing. They have a very extensive collection of Italian wines and are very knowledgeable of each one. Service was polite, professional, and timely. Very friendly and inviting. The food was prepared well. And desert was very good. Prices are higher than expected, however for us this would not be a regular dining experience but more for special occasions without the kids. In terms of a higher-end restaurant, it is good value compared with others.

We definitely want to experience the wine cellar downstairs for dinner some time. Very romantic setting and I imagine the private-chef would prepare some excellent dishes. Would be great with a group of friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Our veal dishes were unevenly pounded and the thicker parts were tough enough to be inedible. When the owner came asking how everything was, we told him about it. No apology at all, but he mumbled that he would "let the kitchen know." He did comp our $8 cannoli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Good but not great

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Back for the second time because first was really good ... but this time wasn't as memorable. Maybe because this time was Saturday evening & they were jam-packed; conversation was difficult ... dining room was NOISY! We were seated behind a large column. Hostess was not at all welcoming - our guest had come from a workshop & was delayed, so not dressed up; guess hostess thought she should be hidden. Our waitress was the same as 1st time - last summer! - & remembered us immediately! Even recalled our drink order! Food this time - just not quite as good & I ordered the same thing: pasta w pomodoro. Flavor this time pretty bland. Guest enjoyed her eggplant parm & hub had the salmon dish - he liked it but thought it quite pricey for what it was. Desserts good but standard - changed from summer & not as interesting. We'll give it another try, but probably not on a weekend. One big plus: we were near the bar & could easily hear the live music - a jazz trio which was excellent. Overall: what was ****+ first time was *** the second. I would recommend only because of first experience & I'd definitely say 'weeknight!'

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Yum

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

It was good. The food was yummy...the waiter helpful and the wine perfect. My only complaint was the hostess. She greeted us cheerfully, noted our reservations...but then another small group walked in. She looked around us to greet them (which was fine) but then took them to their seats first. Maybe there was a reason....but she didn't say and it made me feel very unimportant. Then we just stood awkwardly in the entrance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Business Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

We had a business dinner meeting at a central location, and ended up at Noto. Great food, wonderful service that was very accommodating and respectful of the meeting conversations, and nice atmosphere. I would recommend this for a social or business gathering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic seat next to the Fireplace ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Very romantic seat next to the Fireplace only enhanced the excellent food and spectacular service. The owner showed us around the facilities and made us feel very welcomed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time here. The food w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

This was our first time here. The food was very good. The ambience is nice and felt a bit classical. One of the Noto's stopped at our table to talk to us. Really nice guy. You can tell that he took pride and had passion for what they do. I would definitely consider going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Highly reccomend!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

The wine selection is extensive. Service was very good and the food was fabulous. We had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasurable dining

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

I was so pleased to have had the opportunity to make reservations online. When I got to Noto's, they had my name and was expecting me. I was shown to a very nice table in the dining area and had a wonderful dinner and wonderful dining experience. The food was superb; the service was the best. The restaurant lived up to my expectations. This was not the first time I dined at Noto's, and it is far from the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly Disappointed.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I dined here on NYE. I thought it would be a nice change to the more modern dining spots near Downtown Grand Rapids. We were given a very small table near the fire, but also near 3 other couples. The NYE menu was great for meat/game lovers, but not for the vegetarian. We were each given one piece of bread. The food was served in a matter of minutes. I'm pretty sure they had these meals prepared in a banquet style, because the cream sauce on my dish was congealed and was room temp. I couldn't wait to get out of there. We didn't order dessert, we paid and left. I was super disappointed. Will not dine again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

An excellent and romantic dining experience.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Delicious food. Friendly, helpful, knowledable waitstaff. And amazing wine selection. One of the best dining experiences I've ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

A wonderful dinner celebrating Christmas. Food was great. Setting beautiful. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Absolutely amazing food, customer service, and wonderful server. I couldn't believe we were able to go on a tour of the facility and meet one of the chefs. We were allowed to go in the kitchen and watch them prepare food which was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very disappointed with our visit. Wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Was very disappointed with our visit. Was told 10-15 minute wait which turned into a half hour, I went 15 minutes with no drink refill, waited forever for anything (food order and check). For being so expensive I expected better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.