Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Nostrana

Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest.

We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 14th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15 stops at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Cathy Whims; Executive Chef Brian Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (79)
Special Occasion (76)
Fit for Foodies (76)
See All
Local Ingredients (68)
Good for a Date (68)
Notable Wine List (61)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Authentic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Open Kitchen (40)
Worth the Drive (36)
Casual (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Fun (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Seasonal (26)
Business Meals (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Cozy (21)
Romantic (21)
Modern Decor (14)
Healthy (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Fireplace (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Family Style (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Organic (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tapas (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Our lunch was good but the $25 corkage fee turned us off. This place does not warrant that high a price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We just love this place! It's great for a date night, as well as a wonderful place to take visitors to show off just what Portland has to offer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

The pizza and pasta were amazing but I was not happy that we were pressured to box the remaining pizza when there was still a wait for the pasta and then have our pasta whisked away after barely the last bite - they succeeded in getting his out in exactly one hour. I had hoped for a more leisurely meal since it was so expensive! It was delicious though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious vibrant food prepared with knowledge and passion for community and cuisine

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was exceptional - especially the Nostrana salad and pasta dishes! Salumi pizza is wonderfully balanced. Butterscotch budino cannot be missed! My favorite special occasion eatery by far. And the wait staff was so friendly and accommodating. Worth the three block walk cause parking is limited.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went for a birthday dinner (two of us) and it was lovely. From the moment we walked in it smelled delicious! Had drinks (a little pricey) but good. Main dishes were very good and dessert also. Our waitress was very friendly and we loved the ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best Italian place in Portland, including some of the best service in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We loved the interior with its layers of lighting, warm wood and rustic design. Service was friendly, easygoing and our server was relaxed but attentive. The food was lovely! We shared the insalata mista and sampled crispy trout with a cloud-light polenta, a baked pasta dish with homemade noodles and a perfect pizza topped with fresh greens. A bottle of prosecco and a silky panna cotta with berry compote rounded out a very fine meal. Like many Portland restaurants, the noise level is high but that doesn't bother everyone. We loved it and will go back to taste again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Sat at the bar, after arriving early for our reservation. They were very accommodating. Food and service were amazing. My advice, try their cocktails. The antidote. The artistry found in their libations is indicative of the effort and craftsmanship placed in the amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

It was my Birthday and we shared it with friends. They, unfortunately sat six people around a table that clearly was for four people. We couldn't keep our bread plates or taste two wines at same time. Not enough room on table.
Overall, we were all underwhelmed by Nostrana.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious meal and impeccable service. We had a really lovely meal, and the roast chicken was some of the best I've ever had. Good value for fine dining, just-right portion sizes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As always, excellent food and drink with an impeccable serve staff! I found myself watching them watching their customers, hustling at a moment's notice when there was a need. Love this restaurant!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I swear Kathy could cook golf balls and they would be exquisite and worth whatever she charges for them. We can always count on a special experience at Nostrana. But get there early on a Saturday because the wait (if you don't have a reservation) could be an hour. And we saw a whole bench-load of people willing to wit that long.

Our meal was way more expensive than we're used to, but the quality was worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic restaurant with delicious food and lovely ambience. The lower score for service is because we had to wait for 30 minutes to be seated even though we had a reservation. (It's definitely busy. )

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

All of the food was good, except the pasta with tomato butter sauce. Two people at the table ordered thinking all of the other food was so good, this dish would be elevated. It was not, but we enjoyed and would go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of my top five Portland restaurants. It never disappoints.

Tags: Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Soup and pizza on a rainy afternoon. Great bread. Good combination. Good service by our waitress.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing as always! Its definitely the place I take friends who are coming from out of town. Always a great experience and that cheesecake in my opinion the best in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Nostrana is always good. I love the salad Nostrana and their pizzas are some of the best in town. the night were were ther was gnocchi night and the one I had was very interesting with a balsamic sauce. Very nice wine list and cocktails good, too.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We felt like we were back in Italy. Great food, great service and great wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Delicious Italian food and friendly, knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Nostrana provides a wonderful ambiance to meet with friends. The food is delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was great, the service was incredible, and I'll be happy to go back anytime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

All around good food. The service is great and the atmosphere. My kids are picky eaters and they loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a good experience at Nostrana. Place is frequently packed but they always honor my Open Table reservation on time!

Tags: Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 3, 2017

They couldn't have. Even more accommodating. The customers we were with needed a little more substantial menu and they were gracious letting us finish drinks at the bar and smiling the whole way. At least we jumped off our table quick because there was a wait

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As usual--a great meal. I was entertaining an out of town client. We arrived earlier than our reservation and staff accommodated us graciously.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Experience was great except for very slow service by waitress. She was very inattentive and at one point we had to ask where she was.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Delicious dinner & service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Overrated! Served octopus which is uncool. Pizza was chewy, Cibo is way better. Drinks weren't very strong, wine pour was minimal. For the money I simply cannot recommend.
Positives: service was great...Super sweet and attentive. Ambiance is nice and it manages to stay quiet despite the size. But holy god the chairs couldn't be less comfortable. Plastic? Really??
Boo.
Go to Ox, American Local, or the Woodsman for better quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The pasta was too al dente, the pizza had a soggy cardboard crust, and the Bolognese sauce was too spicy and had too much salt. The wait staff largely ignored us and it was left to the bus boys to serve us. This was our third and probably last time at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food - service - wine - dessert. What more can you ask for. We like it so much we will be going back with friends tomorrow. The pasta is divine and I especially enjoy their pizzas which are really more than enough for a single person, although I do share. The salads are exceptional as are their desserts. The is nothing on the menu that I would not recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

All four of us agreed it was the best meal we had had in a very long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My daughters & I were visiting Portland & found this place online. If we lived in Portland, this would definitely be one of our regular haunts!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A favorite place we go to 3-4 times/year. Creative selections always well prepared. Drinks were outstanding; service attentive without feeling rushed, in and out in just over an hour and could have taken more time; Would also recommend dessert which normally I find in restaurants to be the weakest part of the menu.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I've been dining at Nostrana since they opened in 2005, and while menu has evolved the food and service is consistently good; authentic Italian dining at its best. Never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I met my 3 best pals for dinner and we had the best meal ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They went the extra mile to keep a baby and toddler happy.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Some of the most truly excellent food I have ever eaten. The front of house staff were knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and helped pick a couple of different excellent wines to accompany our meal. It's not exactly the cheapest place around, but the prices are reasonable for the kind of food you get, and the service is excellent. The decor in the restaurant itself feels a little bit off? Unbalanced? The only other downside was that dining early in the evening, there were a number of families with children, who, to their credit, were all reasonably well behaved.

Tags: Seasonal, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This is one place that i love coming back to every once in awhile. It's a place that makes your mouth water when you smell the food that is being cooked right in front of you at the open kitchen, or from across the way at your table. It has a very Portland feel going on and it caters to people that don't want to spend to much or someone that wants something amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.