About Nostrana

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Nostrana - Literally "ours' - invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://www.nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15

Executive Chef:
Cathy Whims

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Smokey Rotisserie Chicken
Butterscotch Budino
Alaskan Halibut
Spaghettini
Gigli Alla Diavola
Flatiron Steak
Amaretto Cheesecake with Almond Praline and Chantilly Cream
Morel, Crimini, and Coral Mushrooms with Fava Greens, Garlic and Lemon
Spinach and Egg Fettuccine with Manilla Clams, English Peas, White Wine, Cream and Scapes
Margharita Pizza
Funghi Pizza
Charcuterie Board
Butterscotch Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce
Kale Salad With Pecorino
Sausage Pizza
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Overnight Roasted Cattail Creek Lamb
Tagliata
Insalata Nostrana
strozzapreti
Gnocchi
2011 Cameron Saignee Wine
Cappuchino
Funghi Verde Pizza
Goat Cheese Stuffed Pappardelle with Fava Beans, Cherry Tomatoes, Arugula and Chive Butter
Netarts Bay Oysters
Pizza Diavola
Linguini With Bay Scallops
Caesar Salad
Pasta Mista
Crab Bruschetta
Spaghetti Squash
Porchetta
House Made Bread
Magherita Pizza
Pan Roasted Halibut
Polpettine Pizza
Lamb
Fried Squash Blossoms
Capalini With Meatballs And Poached Egg
Orange-Pistachio Cheesecake
Marinara Pizza
Insalata Mista
Budino
Chilled Cream Corn Soup
Chicken
Seared Albacore
Tuna Crudo
Pizza
Rhubarbarella
Salami pizza
Lamb Sugo
Cappuccino
Vanilla Gelato
Pizza Margherita
Margarita Pizza
Aged Steak
Fettucini With Marinara
Cheese Plate

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
1 More
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

fit for foodies (199)
special occasion (138)
neighborhood gem (111)
See All
notable wine list (103)
good for groups (87)
romantic (67)
great for lunch (60)
hot spot (50)
great for outdoor dining (41)
vibrant bar scene (33)
kid-friendly (32)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat outside in the warm sunshine and ...

Dined 5 days ago

We sat outside in the warm sunshine and it was just wonderful. My husband had the trout with risotto cake and I had pasta. Both were delicious. The server (I never remember names) made good recommendations for both wine and food and didn't hover which was nice. All in all a very nice Father's Day. Although i have been there for lunch before, this was my first dinner and it was every bit as wonderful -- especially the radicchio salad!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Went here after hearing great things abo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Went here after hearing great things about the place, food, and pizza. The restaurant was nice but a little loud as it filled up. The service was slow. As for the food, the best thing was the soup. The salad was a bowl of lettuce with 4 different clusters of vegetables on top for $9. It wasn't very good, especially for the price. The pasta was very bland and the pizza was just okay. Better pizza for less elsewhere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this restaurant. Amazing food. Amaz ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love this restaurant. Amazing food. Amazing food and ambiance. We have been here 4 times now and every time is amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been to Nostrana over a dozen ti ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Nostrana over a dozen times and always enjoyed it. This time however, the waiter was inattentive and non existent a good part of the time. When you pay good money you expect a good experience. They slipped this time. My friends will not be going back. Not sure about us.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

There are way too many great Portland re ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

There are way too many great Portland restaurants to waste your time on this one. We had a reservation made for 8pm and waited an hour to be seated. We were repeatedly told they were waiting for the party at the table they had preassigned for us to leave, all the while party after party got seated in front of us while we waited. We finally requested to see a manager at 9pm, and wonder of wonders! We were promptly seated. We will never be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great evening at Nostrana. Only ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a great evening at Nostrana. Only had to wait ten minutes for our reserved table. We three shared an antipasto platter as a starter--everything on it was excellent. We had two different dishes made with gnocchi--mine had a meat sauce which was outstanding, as were the gnocchi--light, fluffy and tasty! Desserts were gelato, cheese plate or tartes--all excellent! This restaurant has a superb wine list--we selected a Rosso di Montalcino, and it was outstanding. This restaurant is a bit noisy for my taste--lots of hard surfaces--but others like that vibe. All in all, a very nice evening, and we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The gnocchi was delicious and the servic ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

The gnocchi was delicious and the service was suoerb!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our dinner - fish, pork and pizz ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner - fish, pork and pizza were all tasty. Service was good. Only complaint: when I called to change 7pm reservation from 2 to 3 people, I was told I'd have to arrive at 5 pm. They couldn't add 1 person to the table because it would be too crowded and would "jeopardize the safety of the waitress." Tables easily seated 4 people. Guess they just wanted to open up a 7 pm table for someone else.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

To me Nostrana is the best restaurant in ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

To me Nostrana is the best restaurant in Portland! My husband and I go about once a week. The crab pizza is amazing! The best and very unique pizza. We also love the staff here. They are so welcoming and are very knowledgable about the menu items. The service at Nostrana is phenomenal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The charcuterie was outstanding!

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

The charcuterie was outstanding!

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I went there with my fiance after Nostra ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I went there with my fiance after Nostrana was ranked No.3 on the list of 101 best restaurants in Portland. I was pretty disappointed, the food was fine, but i've had much better italian food and pizza in places that didn't even make the list. I found the service to be overly attentive in some ways (like interrupting a pretty serious conversation to wipe a drop of water off the table, or refold a napkin), and then neglecting things like asking if you'd like another drink or dessert before bringing the check. We had planned on sticking around and having dessert and coffee and maybe more drinks, but the constant prodding by their staff had us itching to leave and heading to Pix. It wasn't a terrible experience, but just incredibly underwhelming for a place with such a reputation. I've had much better italian in Portland for half the price.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Friendly servers made good recommendatio ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Friendly servers made good recommendations so that our table of 4 sampled a variety from the menu. We were all impressed. Salads could be more skillfully put together and dressings more interesting. Entrees and desserts were all delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved the food and atmosphere. Outst ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We loved the food and atmosphere. Outstanding dining experience ..no wonder it's rated so highly by food critics. The strawberry rhubarb crisp was a perfect finish to a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Ambience was good (although the temperat ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Ambience was good (although the temperature in the restaurant was too cold) and the food was tasty, but value is questionable. The food is very fresh but the portions are unimpressive. Didn't go there expecting large portions but I did expect a reasonably sized meal. With most of the pasta dishes near $20 and the entrees around $30++, its not a place I would go to regularly and I'm not sure I'd recommend it to friends. Even if you have disposable income like I do, there are a number of better dinner values out there, regardless of your occasion.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Vibrant ambiance, knowledgeable server, ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Vibrant ambiance, knowledgeable server, and delicious food are the highlights of Nostrana.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Another Good Experience

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were wonderful, as always. It's noisy, but worth it. This time they had clearly either overbooked or underestimated the time folks would spend there, and thus a long wait even with reservations. Maybe moving to seatings would be better?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything

Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time. Somewhat hard to ge ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a great time. Somewhat hard to get a reservation. So we jumped at the opportunity. We were seated right slaw at. Had great service and the food was excellent. Waitress was very knowledgable in helping my wife decide on a wine.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner - came for gnocchi nigh ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful dinner - came for gnocchi night and also added in a salad and a pizza. The gnocchi were soft and pillowy and perfectly cooked. Great flavors and great service. Can't wait to come again and try some pastas.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

The charcuterie plate was full of delectable bites of meats with different tastes and textures. The pasta was light and tender with an abundance of meat balls. And all of the desserts were great!! Our server was the greatest - big smile and very attentive. The meal just enhances my desire to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

one of the best Restaurants in Portland

Dined on June 7, 2016

Nostrana has to be one of the best restaurants in Portland. Great food and terrific service!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for a special occasion!

Dined on June 4, 2016

From the excellent service to the outstanding food, this was a great choice to take a friend out for her birthday. I had heard rumors about the head chef's many talents and the food surpassed my expectations. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nostrana's a golden nugget!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Birthday dinner celebration; friend chose Nostrana. I thought the entrée choices were limited on the night we went -- one seafood entrée. I'll return again and will have a better understanding of how/what to order. I had the mixed green salad -- could have shared this with 2 other people!--and the special crab pizza. Everything was delicious but the portions would have served two people. I assume this is done to justify the prices being charged. Overall, I enjoyed it and will go back. The ambience and service were truly outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was basically like being in heaven.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Everything about Nostrana was perfect. The ambiance was lovely. The meal was HEAVENLY. And our server was very informative and helpful with first time guests. I would eat there everyday if I could.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is quickly becoming one of my ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This place is quickly becoming one of my favorites. The ambiance is wonderful, the service excellent and the food mouth-watering. I just love it here!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great foodie value

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

This place never disappoints. One of the best values in Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service4

I don't understand this restaurant; very ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

I don't understand this restaurant; very good food, great service, nice decor. But what is with the fast food plastic chairs and tables whre you can't stretch your legs. Hands down the most uncomfortable seating experience in a "nice" restaurant I have had in all of Portland.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What looks like an ordinary strip mall o ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

What looks like an ordinary strip mall on the outside becomes a beautiful, ambiance-filled, lively dining spot on the inside. Great menu, although not extensive, with a little something for everyone. Love the imported cheeses, the pizza was delicious and we loved the meatballs on "Meatball Monday." Highly recommend this great spot, especially when it's nice outside, as they have lovely patio seating too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can always count on a good meal at Nos ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

I can always count on a good meal at Nostrana. I like that they change the menu with the seasons, using fresh and locally sourced ingredients. There is always something new and interesting and if you just want pizza , then you are set as well. The service was excellent- always available when needed but not hovering, the bread was brought out quickly and our food was served in a timely manner as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday. We both thought it wasn't anything out of the ordinary. Waiter was nice, which is always a bonus.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Good but lacks consistency

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a faboulous experience on our previous visit to Nostrana. On this occasion the service was rushed and the check came before we had a chance for coffee or tea. It wasn't completly full so no need to turn the table that quickly. We barely had time to squeeze in a dessert order after they assumed we would be splitting the Rhubarb tart. They also seemed annoyed we ordered a flight of Amaro... Also while its nice they switch the menu I found this visit's selection and food to be below expecations

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time at Nostrana. Th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was my second time at Nostrana. The first was a great experience, but this visit did not live up to expectations. The service was good, but I always felt rushed to order and then to finish. We started with the shrimp fritters, which were very good, but the quantity was less than reported by our waitress. She said four, one each, but only three arrived for our table of four. She apologized, but awkward at the table. For my main, I ordered the flat iron steak, which was OK. Nothing special and lacking much flavor. My wife ordered the sanddabs with pasta, to try something new, and it was not good. She was glad there was lots of pasta, as the fish was not something she could eat. Overall a disappointing dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gnocchi Thursday was a hit again! We ha ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Gnocchi Thursday was a hit again! We had a sampling of different Gnocchi at the table along with pizza and "Overnight Braised Pork Shoulder". The broth in the pork shoulder was amazing! Definitely worthy of bread sopping!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gnocchi was delicious! Pizzas were defin ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Gnocchi was delicious! Pizzas were definitely a 2-3 person plate and the scissors were great fun.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drinks, food and service, plus the ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great drinks, food and service, plus the menu had something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second favorite restaurant in ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is my second favorite restaurant in Portland. LOVE THE FOOD -- sensational -- even down to the desserts -- the panna cotta is the BEST. Our server was TERRIFIC -- so happy, kind, enthusiastic. I was there for Mother's Day with my daughter, around 5:00 or so, if you could look her up. Recently on Tuesday I was there for lunch, and the food was GREAT!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nostrana Visit

Dined on May 16, 2016

As we live in SE we visit Nostrana occasionally and find consistently good food and service. Was on a Sunday and a late decision to dine out with a friend visiting from Australia so appreciate the ability to make a reservation. For a Sunday the restaurant was quite full. Noise level was louder than I remember and the only downside I could comment on. All in all appreciate that Nostrana is a consistent high quality dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a monthly get together ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were there for a monthly get together for friends. A few of us had been there before and the others were impressed with the food, ambiance, and friendliness of the staff. We will come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Wine by the glass was stale and simply n ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wine by the glass was stale and simply not good. Service was very slow. Also, I find it very peculiar when servers explain the food to me without me asking. Food was just OK. I expected much more for the price. Lastly, it's supposed to be an Italian restaurant but apparently there is no pasta on Thursdays.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The wait staff is slow to turn over, and ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The wait staff is slow to turn over, and uniformly friendly and attentive. We go there for lunch on 'gnocchi Thursday' about once a month. I enjoy their wine by the glass selection. We don't go there for dinner often. When it is full, it is too noisy for conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.