About Nostrana

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest.

We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 14th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15 stops at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Cathy Whims; Executive Chef Brian Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Smokey Rotisserie Chicken - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Radicchio Caesar Salad - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Drunken Pork with Polenta and Swiss Chard - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Nocino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Flatiron Steak - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Spaghettini - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Gigli Alla Diavola - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Alaskan Halibut - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Butterscotch Budino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Amaretto Cheesecake with Almond Praline and Chantilly Cream - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Morel, Crimini, and Coral Mushrooms with Fava Greens, Garlic and Lemon - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Spinach and Egg Fettuccine with Manilla Clams, English Peas, White Wine, Cream and Scapes - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Insalata Nostrana - Nostrana, Portland, OR
strozzapreti - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Tagliata - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Gnocchi - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Butterscotch Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce - Nostrana, Portland, OR
2011 Cameron Saignee Wine - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Goat Cheese Stuffed Pappardelle with Fava Beans, Cherry Tomatoes, Arugula and Chive Butter - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Cappuchino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Funghi Verde Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Netarts Bay Oysters  - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pizza Diavola - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Linguini With Bay Scallops - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Crab Bruschetta - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Caesar Salad - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pasta Mista - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Spaghetti Squash - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Porchetta - Nostrana, Portland, OR
House Made Bread - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Margharita Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Magherita Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Kale Salad With Pecorino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Sausage Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Charcuterie Board - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Funghi Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pan Roasted Halibut - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Polpettine Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Lamb - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Fried Squash Blossoms - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Orange-Pistachio Cheesecake - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Capalini With Meatballs And Poached Egg - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Marinara Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Insalata Mista - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Budino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Chicken - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Chilled Cream Corn Soup - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Overnight Roasted Cattail Creek Lamb - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pumpkin Cheesecake - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Seared Albacore - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Tuna Crudo - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Rhubarbarella - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pizza Margherita - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Cappuccino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Vanilla Gelato - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Salami pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Lamb Sugo - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Aged Steak - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Margarita Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Cheese Plate - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Fettucini With Marinara - Nostrana, Portland, OR

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (72)
Special Occasion (69)
Wood Oven (69)
See All
Good for a Date (65)
Local Ingredients (62)
Notable Wine List (52)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Authentic (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Open Kitchen (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Casual (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Business Meals (24)
Seasonal (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Fun (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Cozy (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Healthy (11)
Family Style (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Fireplace (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Organic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tapas (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always terrific Outstanding bread Nice f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always terrific

Outstanding bread

Nice friendly staff

Excellent food

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They have a great wine selection! The pi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

They have a great wine selection! The pizza was very good however the skirt steak and pasta dishes were small portions, mediocre flavor and priced like they should be a main dish. The restaurant was freezing and very loud.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The closest you can get to real Neapolit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

The closest you can get to real Neapolitan pizza in Portland. I should know because I lived there for two years

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nostrana has been one of our favorite re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Nostrana has been one of our favorite restaurants and it never disappoints! We were there for gnocchi night, my 20 year old daughter's fave! The most tender gnocchi. The pizza is very good and their Insalata Nostrana is a must. Save room for dessert - the fruit crisp with seasonal selection of fruit (takes 20 minutes to prepare) is outstanding with almond cream pored over the delicious topping.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heard a lot about this restaurant. Had ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Heard a lot about this restaurant. Had high-ish expectations going into it. Did not meet expectations:

Service:

  1. Ordered 3 oysters - received 2

  2. Ordered carrots side dish - did not receive

  3. Restaurant was drafty and cold with lots of patrons wearing coats/winter hats.

Food:

  1. Ordered the trout - Trout used was good quality trout. But flavor was lacking. I've had better at random tourist traps in the US. For the $$, it was expensive and generally not worth $28 they charged for it.
  1. Oysters - the 2 that actually was brought to our table had a strong fish flavor. Some oysters are fishier than others, but this was exceptional.
  1. Pasta - expensive and flavor was good, but not good enough to be what Nostrana was charging.

Overall - I'm surprised there was a line at 9:30 PM when we got there given my experience with this place. This was our first time and likely will be our last. Don't get me wrong...food was good. But, for the $$ and the fact that the service was poor, there are plenty of better restaurants with similar foods that taste better and the service is significantly better. I still had a good time, but I could have had that good time somewhere else for less and gotten better food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Fabulous, inviting, comforting ambience ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous, inviting, comforting ambience with an open kitchen that invites a sense of belonging and community while enjoying the finest and most authentic of dishes. Service is so friendly and helpful without snobbery or obsequiousness. A true gem of Portland nestled away in the inner South East neighborhood.

Tags: , Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place. The exceptional menu ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We love this place. The exceptional menu is always changing and the bar staff's amazing cocktails never let us down. The service is always impeccable, friendly and top-notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another good lunch get-together. Nostran ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Another good lunch get-together. Nostrana, in SE Portland, is a good choice for any occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was ok. It's a beautiful place. The s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It was ok. It's a beautiful place. The service was amazing. The food was adequate and well presented and it tasted pretty good, I'd say. However, it felt lazy and normal, casual and boring at that price range. Maybe I had higher expectations and the food turned out to just be ok. The wine list however, is to die for. But I went for dinner. Will I recommend it? I guess. However, Portland is a foodie and there's so much great food out there!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

We went here for a special dinner before ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We went here for a special dinner before seeing a show and had a bit of sticker shock, but it was a nice meal. We were also seated next to the wall/window and it was absolutely freezing! Food was great but we were uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I wish there's more selection on their d ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I wish there's more selection on their dinner menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Opened at 5; arrived at 5:30 for 5:30 re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Opened at 5; arrived at 5:30 for 5:30 reservation. Restaurant was very cold, outside temp was at 30 but they obviously had waited as long as possible to turn the heat on. Most diners were eating in there coats. Mentioned to server that it was cold and basically got blown off! Service level went down hill from there. Food quality was average. Service poor. Ambience missing. Won't be back anytime soon,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Amazing service on top of amazing, caref ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing service on top of amazing, carefully crafted food. We had some sort of ginger cocktail which was absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic Italian food with a flair . De ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Authentic Italian food with a flair .

Delicious and had us wishing Nostrana was in our neighborhood ...we would be regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience. A wond ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great dining experience. A wonderful way to celebrate the new year with our out-of-towners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, flavors were developed a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good food, flavors were developed and thoughtful. Portions small, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First visit and the trout was exceptiona ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First visit and the trout was exceptional. Atmosphere was fun and a great staff.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding! We ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service was outstanding! We had a very enjoyable dinner experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought it would be really good, and it ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thought it would be really good, and it was reasonably good. Ravioli was disappointing. Cheesecake was excellent. Service was fine, and they left us time to visit without rushing us. provided quiet table, per our request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious all around. I had lentil soup ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious all around. I had lentil soup which was out of this world, although pricey for soup. Also a pizelle with crab and a cappuccino for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved our special celebration at Nostran ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved our special celebration at Nostrano. Trout was so moist and flavorful - never had it better!

Cocktails - especially the dark Manhattan - was divine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What can I say about Nostrana that hasn' ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What can I say about Nostrana that hasn't already been said many times over by a legion of loyal customers. It's great. Spectacular food, ambience, and well-priced for the quality---it's a true dining experience. My wife and I have eaten there many times. We like to take our friends there as well as family when they come to town.

First and foremost I love the food. This last visit I had pork shoulder and I can honestly say I've never had more tender and flavorful pork than this. And a generous portion as well. Salads, deserts, everything is just a cut above at Nostrana.

I'm not a foodie but I appreciate good food. I also enjoy dining in an atmosphere that is welcoming and has a sense of place. It's hard to beat the dining room at Nostrana. With the tall exposed beamed ceilings, bar with shelves about two stories high, and big beautiful windows, Nostrana provides the perfect setting for having dinner with friends or a date.

I highly recommend Nostrana.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Prompt seating and excellent service. We ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Prompt seating and excellent service. We had 4 entrees between us and they were all excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it as always. Nostrana salad, Mar ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved it as always. Nostrana salad, Margherita and crab pizzas, trout and ragut - perfectly delicious! Fairly prices and honest drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. We took our M ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was excellent. We took our Manager there to show our appreciation to her, and could not have been more pleased, from the first course to the last. The pistachio cheesecake was out of this world.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always feel welcomed and always apprecia ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always feel welcomed and always appreciate and enjoy the good, service and experience.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful world class dining. Special ou ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful world class dining. Special out of town guests for holiday. Did not disappoint

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious kale pesto, helpful waitress r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious kale pesto, helpful waitress recommended a great wine.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always amazing and last night did not di ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always amazing and last night did not disappoint. The manhattan's are the best around and pair with the food perfectly. This is our first choice for family dinner when we are all in the same city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just fantastic. What a wine list!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Just fantastic. What a wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cathy Whims is a spectacular chef and re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Cathy Whims is a spectacular chef and restaurateur.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful lunch. Great food.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful lunch. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to Nostrana to celebrate our 27t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We came to Nostrana to celebrate our 27th anniversary, and it could not have been more perfect. The food was wonderful, the service exquisite and the drinks stiff. We had a great table by the window with a view of Christmas lights in the neighborhood and out of the path of the very busy waitstaff. Thanks for a memorable evening. We will be back whenever we can get a table!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an anniversary dinner and it ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went for an anniversary dinner and it exceeded my expectations. We eat at a lot of places all over the country and I'd never been to this Portland gem. We went on Thursday, gnocchi night, and both had different preparations of those. So yum. We had a creamy pudding like dessert with salted Carmel on top for dessert and it was so good. Excellent service: Big wine list. It was all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience, food and drink for my ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great experience, food and drink for my annual family reunion dinner with my three sons. I was an hour late with traffic but kept calling to push the time forward and you were very obliging, but it probably helped being there on a Wednesday night instead of Friday or Saturday.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved our meal! All the things we ordere ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Loved our meal! All the things we ordered were delicious and the service was terrific! Nice wine list and sommelier seemed to be very knowledgeable

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had dinner here to celebrate my wife's b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Had dinner here to celebrate my wife's birthday. Had a great time. Everything was great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the charcuterie board and the ox t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I had the charcuterie board and the ox tail ragu. Both were outstanding! The ox tail melted in the mouth and the duck liver terrine with pistachios was addictive. My friend got the gnocchi. I was surprised at how big they were. They had a beautiful crust and were perfectly creamy and light. Great dinning experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

this place never disappoints . Would rec ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

this place never disappoints .

Would recommend . RE

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another exquisite meal at Nostrana.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Another exquisite meal at Nostrana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.