Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Nostrana

Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest.

We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 14th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15 stops at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Cathy Whims; Executive Chef Brian Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (98)
Wood Oven (90)
Fit for Foodies (84)
See All
Good for a Date (76)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Notable Wine List (68)
Local Ingredients (67)
Authentic (57)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Worth the Drive (47)
Casual (47)
Open Kitchen (44)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Bar Seating (39)
Good for Groups (34)
Romantic (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Business Meals (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Fun (31)
Comfort Food (28)
Seasonal (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Hot Spot (23)
Cozy (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Healthy (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
People Watching (14)
Family Style (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Organic (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fireplace (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great Beer (4)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food and excellent service. First time ever cutting pizza with a pair of scissors also! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We always enjoy are visit and it is well worth the drive from Salem. Pasta, pizza (for appetizer), bread, wine - everything is top notch. I highly recommend Nostrana's. We took a couple who had not been there and they raved over the pasta dishes!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I had an exquisite crab and creme fraiche pizza with arugula--superb. The weather was perfect so we ate on the patio, very nice indeed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

I have never had a bad meal here. I usually get pizza but this time got gnocchi and the person with whom I was dining got the pork shoulder and we each had 1/2 Nostrana salad. Everything from the bread and olive oil to the entrees was fabulous. The service was perfect as well. Portland has so many wonderful places to eat but this remains a favorite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and drinks!! Always consistent every time I go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was perfection. Her sense of humor and knowledge of the menu helped make my Birthday. I wish I could remember her name so I could acknowledge her here. It's always a perfect night at Nostrana. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Get there early! I had reservations for 5:30. By 6 every seat was filled.
Gracious host and servers, delicious food. Would like a little quieter environment, tho the food is worth putting up with the noise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Our lunch plates - rotisserie chicken and lamb ragu - were wonderful, as the food at Nostrana always is.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner at Nostrana. With a view of the kitchen and its wood-fired oven, we were seated at uncrowded tables under a high ceiling, so the noise level was not bad. The pizzas were thin on toppings other than plentiful greens, but tasty. Service was friendly and attentive. There was a slight mix-up about our orders, and those of us who ordered pizzas were served a bit before the others at our table, but our very kind waitress more than made amends by removing the cost of our desserts from the bill. We were favorably impressed with Nostrana's food, ambiance and service and will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Nostrana is consistently delicious. The serving staff are attentive and thoughtful. The food is varied and from what I know locally sourced. My husband and I always have a wonderful evening when we eat there.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Although Nostrana is a favorite place of mine, I brought a friend here for his first time today. He was absolutely bowled over - he had the Goat Cheese Pappardelle with prosciutto and I had the Gnocchi alla Romana - and he kept tasting my dish along with his own while marveling at the delicious fresh flavors. This place has yet to disappoint. It's wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Enjoyed the outdoor dining! There were some workmen there putting up lights and awnings, but they were unobtrusive. The service was excellent - one of our party was quite late and our wait person gave us just the right amount of attention to ensure we had what we wanted during our wait. Once we ordered, the food arrived quickly and was cooked to perfection. I have been to Nostrana several times and never been disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Checked in a few minutes BEFORE my reservation since there was NO traffic on the way over but this was not a problem at all- Sunday evening, 7:30. Food was EXCELLENT- tamarind margarita a little sour but still worth it. Deff will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had a great birthday celebration

Very authentic Italian

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

As a 30 year veteran of the hospitality industry, Nostrana is everything a restaurant experience should be. My only regret is that I didn't visit this restaurant earlier.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Nostrana is one of our favorites. We eat here weekly whether we are popping in for their amazing pizzas or having a special dinner celebration!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love the high ceiling and the setting btw bar and sit-down tables. Pizz is the best among everything, while the steak is also outstanding. Value for money, will come back for sure.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

wonderful service and great pizza. the ambience was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Being a single diner I sat at the bar which was very entertaining. The bartenders are friendly and very active and make a lot of drinks, especially Negroni. Huge selection of aperitifs and exotic liquors.
The pizza was delicious with a wonderful chewy crust. They supply scissors so you can cut your own slices. Top notch establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Nostrana is one of my favorites in Portland. The pizza with the clams? Order it. Amazing. Servers are knowledgeable about menu and wine list. I love this place and love to make it a regular stop. The late night menu is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Meatball salad had too much dressing and the meatballs were dry. My mushroom pizza had a massive amount of arugula on top & took away from enjoying the meal. My wife's pasta dinner was excellent and the radicchio salad was phenomenal. Overall a good restaurant.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

All of the food was excellent tasting except the noodles (cooked perfectly) arrived a bit cool and the meatballs were too dense and a bit spongy/rubbery. Wine list could offer a few more "under $60" selections as well. Service was great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food. On the noisy side, but friendly and warm.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We are in Portland a couple of times a year and always try to have dinner at Nostrana with friends. The food is outstanding. We love the Nostrana salad with caesar dressing, pizzas, fish, pastas, everything. Delicious non-alcoholic beverages and cocktails. Loved the Negroni I had to start the evening. Save room for the butterscotch or chocolate budino or espresso cinnamon ice cream. This is one of America's great restaurants. Don't miss it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved my risotto! Great vibe. David Berkvam (?) huge art piece was fascinating. We'll be back. This would be a go-to place anywhere.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

While we would have like the food to stand out just a wee bit more the service completely made up for it. An excellent experience. I will come back and probably just order appetizers and a pizza just for the service! We felt it was a little pricey for the entrees we had, but loved the octopus. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had a great meal with some of my closest friends to celebrate my birthday. The food was so good and the service was great too. The timing of everything from the appetizers to the desserts was perfect and the portions were just right. This was my second visit to Nostrana and I will return hopefully many times in the future.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

There were three of us in our party and we all had very different meals: trout, pork and pasta. We all had Nostrana's version of a caesar salad (with radicchio) and it was delicious. The main dishes were all great, perfectly cooked and delicious. It's a lovely,open space but that also means that it can be loud. Still, we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Nostrana is one of our go to places in the neighborhood for a nice glass of wine (or cocktail) and a lovely meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My new favorite restaurant in Portland. The food was wonderful, as were the wine and cocktail lists.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My birthday lunch with friends was delightful - sun drenched front patio was a possibility, although we decided to stay inside this time. While not a large menu, the choices are varied enough to suit most palates and each is prepared with care and attention to detail and presentation. Wines by the glass are well chosen and there is a nice variety. Service is attentive and professional. The only slight (and I do mean slight) negative is that the space can be noisy if there are a lot of larger parties - happily not the case during this lunch!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The goat cheese stuffed pappardelle was one of the best pastas I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

My sister and I arrived earlier than our reservation and were seated at the pizza bar. So much fun watching food being prepped in front of the wood stove oven. Food was outrageously delicious, staff courteous and friendly; The ambiance warm and welcoming. Wine selection well suited to menu items. When in Portland will definitely return for another Italian experience.

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Service was good, wait people were friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and nicely prepared. Would definitely come again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Comfort Food, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

First of all, love that there's a parking lot with ample parking. Thank you. We were unfamiliar with both the food menu and wine menu and our server, Tara, was OUTSTANDING in helping us navigate them, describing the dishes and making recommendations. We particularly enjoyed her recommendation of sharing a pizza as an appetizer. Brilliant idea and delicious to boot!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing pizza and radicchio salad!! Great server and service for a bigger group!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

we love Nostrana every time we go there. Food is absolutely superb, and the staff are courteous and agreeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very disappointing. Food is good but prices are not. $26 for a small piece of chicken??? Service was very slow. Waited a very long time for the wine we ordered. Not as good as in the past.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Best margarita pizza I've had since I left Italy
The menu was very authentic
Best restaurant in Portland in my opinion

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We enjoyed our meal; however no entree stood out as outstanding. Our waitress was very attentive and made a great wine pairing suggestion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.