Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Nostrana

Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest.

We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 14th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15 stops at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Cathy Whims; Executive Chef Brian Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Wood Oven (91)
Fit for Foodies (80)
See All
Good for a Date (72)
Local Ingredients (67)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Notable Wine List (60)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Authentic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Open Kitchen (49)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Worth the Drive (40)
Casual (38)
Fun (36)
Bar Seating (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Romantic (29)
Seasonal (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Business Meals (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Cozy (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Happy Hour (17)
Healthy (16)
Fireplace (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
People Watching (12)
Family Style (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Organic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Tapas (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Always the food and service are really great. A good change from regular restaurants but very expensive for great Italian food. Wine list is fantastic, great wine and only $15 per glass but it is very adequate amount. A bit skimpy on the sample board but delicious small samples. Worth the visit but be prepared to pay molto soldi per la cena.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good. Did not realize that all the dishes would be a la carter, so heads up. A full meal gets pricey. Wait staff was nice but barely present. Restaurant was very loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We have dined at Nostrana three other times but this visit was disappointing. The halibut I ordered was highly recommended but texture was mealy. The asparagus were the thinnest tiny spears only a few. Bean accompanied the dish extremely salty. Unfortunately the waitress did not check back with us through the entire dinner. Not sure I will be back.

Tags: ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Good restaurant. Great ambiance. Just need more vegetarian options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We will be leaving Portland in the near future & I have a list of must dine places--Nostrana is one of those places. I can't believe we had not eaten here before. The service was professional & friendly. The food is one of the best I've had & my husband who is not the biggest dessert person loved the budino!
It was so good we were making plans to return before we leave Portland.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Gnocchi night was wonderful. We loved our meal, the wine & service. It is also a big plus that the ambiance is lovely and not loud. Very comfortable all around. It's a repeat place for myself and family and friends.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Definitely not a place to take a vegetarian, Maragarita pizza about it. When I asked if they had anything vegetarian, the server said "What were you hoping for!" I'm sure it's great but just be aware if you don't eat meat. Very noisy restaurant too....

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

One of the best and classic restaurants in PDX. Never fails to please. Expertly run and the food is just consistently well prepared and delicious. Pizzas, pastas and fish have the most interesting ingredients and the Salad Nostrana is a must. We always take friends or out of town guests as it's one of our favorite food places in PDX.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Wonderful broccoli feta salad!! Wish they had more beers on draft.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Truly amazing meal. Shared a little salad and Margherita pizza as a starter, had chicken and Ragu over noodles for entree and finished with a rhubarb and pear crostata. Special dinner for a special date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great time, great food, great service. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Outstanding, truly fresh food packed with flavor. Not salty. Hip, trendy, modern cuisine, great service. Truly VERY, VERY good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an outstanding meal at Nostrana. My wife had a great pizza, our friends had prawn filled ravioli and trout and I had an amazing halibut dish. We also had their charcuterie which was great. One of the best restaurants in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The charcuterie contained a great variety of tastes and textures.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic! One of the best charcuterie plates I have ever had. We were there for gnocchi Thursday, and we all enjoyed the creative preparations of delicious gnocchi.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Nostrana remains a favorite restaurant, not withstanding the fact that it is sometimes frustrating when trying to obtain a reservation at a desired time without having to plan many weeks in advance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food is wonderful. The servers are right there without hovering --wish it weren't so very crowded and noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was delightful and settled very well. We had the radicchio salad and split a crab pizza. The food and service was excellent...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Portland Staple. Good for all occasions, late night happ

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Class act start to finish. At the top of my favorites in Portland.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Super yummy, definitely would recommend. Loved the salads, chicken and pasta meals. Waitstaff was very attentive and friendly. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Nostrana ALWAYS delivers. Had the best halibut of my life the other night. Spectacular!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food was excellent and the decor sleek and modern. I have been making my own pizza from scratch for 40 years so I can particularly critical about pizza I order at a restaurant. The pizza I had at Nostrana was of the highest quality. The crust was thin & crisp, but with that little bit of pull at the edge. The shiitake mushrooms were prominent and plentiful, as was the arugula and cheese. My brother's trout was moist and flavorful and the nettle risotto cake delicious. I wish there was a Nostrana in NYC.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Hadn't been here in a couple of years: still as good as, if not better than, I recalled. Somewhat more pricey, though. Worth it for a special meal, but will make a not so special one very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

For a mild wedding anniversary splurge, my wife and I enjoyed a multi-course dinner with cocktails, cheese plate, salad and bread, main course, digestif, and dessert.

I highly recommend reservations, and well in advance. We showed up early for cocktails and an 8:00 reservation. We were seated by 7:30, just as our Bombay&tonic and Amaretto sour arrived.

Although the menu changes daily, I recommend the following pairings: 1) Nebbiolo with the pecorino, chevre, and blue jay plate; 2) Carmignano with the Beef Peposo and arugula.

The noise level was a bit louder than I anticipated, and the music selection (NKOTB?!) threw me. This did not detract from the ambience; rather, it combined with the smart decor and open kitchen to sharpen the singularity of our experience. Amidst all this, we shared food, wine, and intimate conversation while enjoying one of our favorite pastimes from our window seat perch: people-watching.

Service was perfect: thoughtful and prompt, with out being overbearing. The kitchen, wait staff, and sommelier really owned their respective trades, and made this special evening all the more memorable for us. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Nostrana is one of our family's favorite restaurants!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Outstanding! I was so happy with my choice and it looked beautiful! Service was excellent!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything was fantastic. It is a special place to bring your foodie friends or just have a glass of wine and pizza. The food is authentic Italian and doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Disabled Access, Authentic, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Organic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I was disappointed at the limited number of choices. I love good gnocchi. Three of us ordered it, and we agreed that it was a bit pasty. The oxtail ragu was a bit on the skimpy side but good. Four of us split the charcuterie which was excellent. It could have served as a meal for one person with the addition of a salad. I ordered the butterscotch budini for dessert, and it was fabulous. The restaurant has the revamped warehouse feel to it which is getting old in Portland. The seating wasn't very comfortable, and it was very noisy--not just energetic but deafening. Conversation which should go with good food was very difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Nostrana has always been as excellent place to have lunch, but on my recent visit I was shocked by the lunch prices. It was very expensive, especially considering what we ordered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I have been here 4 times. Each time the food and service has been outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We called ahead to advise of a member in our group that is disabled. Very accommodating and friendly.
Will be going back.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A friend recommended this restaurant to me. He loved the bread. I did, too. Another friend and I had salads and shared pizzas. One friend ordered a salad and a meat entree and said it was good. It looked sparse to me. The pizza was good (but maybe not the best I've had). We all liked the salads. Even though we sat at a smallish table, the restaurant was so loud that we could not easily hear each other. There is an extensive wine list--but all the wines are very expensive (when Italian wines are usually less so). The sommelier was very knowledgeable, but only recommended quite expensive wines (to drink with pizza). No one tried the pastas--and we didn't see any walk by, so we can't even tell you how good they looked!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Our lunch was good but the $25 corkage fee turned us off. This place does not warrant that high a price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We just love this place! It's great for a date night, as well as a wonderful place to take visitors to show off just what Portland has to offer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The pizza and pasta were amazing but I was not happy that we were pressured to box the remaining pizza when there was still a wait for the pasta and then have our pasta whisked away after barely the last bite - they succeeded in getting his out in exactly one hour. I had hoped for a more leisurely meal since it was so expensive! It was delicious though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Delicious vibrant food prepared with knowledge and passion for community and cuisine

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was exceptional - especially the Nostrana salad and pasta dishes! Salumi pizza is wonderfully balanced. Butterscotch budino cannot be missed! My favorite special occasion eatery by far. And the wait staff was so friendly and accommodating. Worth the three block walk cause parking is limited.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went for a birthday dinner (two of us) and it was lovely. From the moment we walked in it smelled delicious! Had drinks (a little pricey) but good. Main dishes were very good and dessert also. Our waitress was very friendly and we loved the ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best Italian place in Portland, including some of the best service in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.