About Nostrana

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Nostrana - Literally "ours' - invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://www.nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15

Executive Chef:
Cathy Whims

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Smokey Rotisserie Chicken
Radicchio Caesar Salad
Drunken Pork with Polenta and Swiss Chard
Butterscotch Budino
Nocino
Flatiron Steak
Spaghettini
Gigli Alla Diavola
Alaskan Halibut
Amaretto Cheesecake with Almond Praline and Chantilly Cream
Morel, Crimini, and Coral Mushrooms with Fava Greens, Garlic and Lemon
Spinach and Egg Fettuccine with Manilla Clams, English Peas, White Wine, Cream and Scapes
Margharita Pizza
Funghi Pizza
Charcuterie Board
Kale Salad With Pecorino
Sausage Pizza
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Overnight Roasted Cattail Creek Lamb
Butterscotch Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce
Tagliata
Insalata Nostrana
strozzapreti
Gnocchi
2011 Cameron Saignee Wine
Goat Cheese Stuffed Pappardelle with Fava Beans, Cherry Tomatoes, Arugula and Chive Butter
Cappuchino
Funghi Verde Pizza
Netarts Bay Oysters
Pizza Diavola
Linguini With Bay Scallops
Crab Bruschetta
Caesar Salad
Pasta Mista
Spaghetti Squash
Porchetta
House Made Bread
Magherita Pizza
Pan Roasted Halibut
Polpettine Pizza
Lamb
Fried Squash Blossoms
Orange-Pistachio Cheesecake
Capalini With Meatballs And Poached Egg
Marinara Pizza
Insalata Mista
Budino
Chicken
Chilled Cream Corn Soup
Seared Albacore
Tuna Crudo
Pizza
Rhubarbarella
Pizza Margherita
Cappuccino
Vanilla Gelato
Salami pizza
Lamb Sugo
Aged Steak
Margarita Pizza
Cheese Plate
Fettucini With Marinara

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
1 More
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (199)
Special Occasion (142)
Neighborhood Gem (133)
See All
Notable Wine List (113)
Good for Groups (88)
Great for Outdoor Dining (80)
Great for Lunch (72)
Romantic (61)
Hot Spot (55)
Kid-friendly (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Late-night Find (26)
Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second visit to Nostrana. W ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second visit to Nostrana. We came for outstanding house salad and pizza, enjoyed the cocktails, and Tuesday meatball night in our group of 6. Don't miss the butterscotch budino pudding for dessert---wow! Butterscotch, caramel, a little creme fraiche and some salt--my mouth is watering right now, just thinking about it. We live in Spokane, and find that we're choosing Nostrana for special occasion meals when we're visiting friends in Portland. It's expensive, but worth it. You're going to get a memorable, carefully crafted meal here. We have enjoyed sitting inside and outside. Molto bene!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My husband and I went to Nostrana for th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went to Nostrana for the first time and had dinner on my birthday. Our waitress was really great, super friendly and helpful, and after ordering all of our courses in advance, each item came to our table perfectly timed. The only time service slowed was towards the end of our meal after I had requested tea to have with our dessert. We ended up nearly finishing the delicious blackberry crisp we had ordered long before my tea finally arrived. Other than that, the food was spectacular and we had a very nice night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Nostrana! Fabulous food, beautiful ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love Nostrana! Fabulous food, beautiful atmosphere and friendly service. The waitstaff is consistently so much better than other places in Portland. Also, the food is magical.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were disappointed. The mixed salad wa ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were disappointed. The mixed salad was nothing special, whereas a similar salad at Renata the week before was outstanding.

Our $75 steak for two also fit into the nothing special category. It also came with no sides so the complete meal was quite expensive.

Tiramisu was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I will gladly recommend or bring family ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

I will gladly recommend or bring family and friends to Nostrana; other than the several gluten free people I know as they would be too disappointed ( as I was) not to be able to enjoy a pasta or pizza which lets face it- is pretty much the main reason for choosing an Italian restaurant. The few GF options were very tasty however.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nostrana continues to be one of my favor ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nostrana continues to be one of my favorite restaurants in Portland...and that's saying a lot! The food there is outstanding and still I maintain the best pizza in Portland can be found here. The pastas and salads are great and the main courses are delicious. Make a reservation or you will be waiting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch at Nostrana. The butterscot ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great lunch at Nostrana. The butterscotch budino is the best thing ever!

And the wait staff are always great there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a wonderful restaurant. It is v ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant. It is very good. The noise level is high. We truly enjoyed it, but it is nowhere would go regularly because of the pricetag.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nostrana is our go-to favorite when frie ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nostrana is our go-to favorite when friends come to visit or anytime, really. Great food, great service, lovely atmosphere. We never tire!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza was very good as well as the R ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The pizza was very good as well as the Radiatori al ragù pasta dish. We didn't think the Capellini pasta was anything but average though. We had to wait quite a long time to receive our second glasses of wine - we were just about done with dinner by the time they showed up. Overall it was an above average dinner (pizzas and salads made it!), beautiful interior to the restaurant and friendly people.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always on the top of my list of Portland ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always on the top of my list of Portland restaurants. The absolute best affogato in the world! I love the grilled trout, and everything else on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed the service and the setting was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Enjoyed the service and the setting was beautiful. The food, however, was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

This was my second trip to Nostrana and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was my second trip to Nostrana and I was as pleased again. Such attentive service and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely delicious! The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was absolutely delicious! The pasta, the pizza. The desserts...omg, the desserts. We've never had a better cheesecake. And the blackberry crisp with cream poured over it at the table was fantastic as well. A great way to celebrate my birthday. Great friends and phenomenal food = a very happy girl!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Their glass of wine pour was so small th ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Their glass of wine pour was so small that I thought it was a "half glass." The server said it was 5 1/2 ounces, but I find that hard to believe (and so did my friend). For $16 per glass, I expect to get the full amount paid for. I also think they should disclose what the number of ounces is to be transparent. Also, we got two cheeses - each $5. One had two pieces of a reasonable (though still small) size, and the other -- for the same price -- had three paper-thin slivers. I couldn't believe it! The only thing I was impressed by was the peppers. Those were delicious. Otherwise, overpriced and mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We love Nostrana! We had rotisserie chic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love Nostrana! We had rotisserie chicken and a pasta. We delighted in the blackberry

crisp for dessert. You need to allow 20 minutes for it to cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great ambiance. Gourmet selections, but ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great ambiance. Gourmet selections, but pricey. Hood for special occasions. Great service. Always get a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Second chance and last. Very mediocre in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Second chance and last. Very mediocre in spite of its reputation. Won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Exceedingly well-prepared and creative. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Exceedingly well-prepared and creative. The tomato-watermelon gazpacho reflected the summer season. The crab pizza was savory with delicious sauce and crust. The braised pork with polenta was even better the next day as a leftover part of the meal. Chocolate budino is for serious chocoholics and even better with a suitable dessert wine. I enjoyed the cherry grappa. This is a restaurant I take out of town guests to, to show them what am great food scene we have in Portoand.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and wine selectio ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was delicious and wine selection was extensive. I was in town for vacation and this was the best meal I had in Portland!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Still the best...In every way. From the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Still the best...In every way. From the courteous and pleasant staff, to the remarkable food including all pastas, meats, poultry, pizzas and appetizers....to the European/italian commissary atmosphere...light, bright, full of life...

Who wouldn't want to dine there every night?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner at Nos ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner at Nostrana, however it was much louder than I was anticipating and made the ambience less romantic. It was our first time dining here so we weren't familiar with the loud atmosphere.

The staff were all very friendly and knowledgable and made the experience very enjoyable. I recommend the restaurant, just maybe not for a quiet dinner. Would be good for a regular date night or night out with friends though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had such a fantastic experience at N ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had such a fantastic experience at Nostrana! We asked our server, Stephanie, to suggest different menu items for us to order and every one of them was delicious. The sommelier was awesome and suggested the perfect wines to go with our dishes. And dessert...Oh my goodness: fresh blackberry crisp with almond cream! It was the best dessert I think I've ever had! We will definitely go back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Obnoxious staff, I wonder how bad they w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Obnoxious staff, I wonder how bad they would get if they actually won a James Beard !! The food was quite okay, but the attitude was blah..

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Had a great evening celebrating a very s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a great evening celebrating a very special birthday. Service was excellent and the wine list was great. Everything was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a GREAT place that friends and I ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

What a GREAT place that friends and I have enjoyed many many times!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. One of the best ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was delicious. One of the best steaks I've ever had. Service was great. Very nice place. If I lived in the area, I would frequent this restaurant for date nights and special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose Nostrana for convenience to Rev ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We chose Nostrana for convenience to Revolution Hall and it's notable reputation. House wine, specialty liquor drinks, and cold craft beer were excellent. Decor, ambiance and low noise level above expected. Three out of four meals were wonderful. The evening special porchetta was hard and dry. The menu pork was tender, juicy and abundant. Two Tagliata entrees were cooked perfectly to mr, tender and tasteful. The preordered blackberry crisp with a scoop of gelato was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal. Never had pizza like this. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing meal. Never had pizza like this. I didn't want to eat it because it looked like a piece of art. It tasted great as did the halibut. Never had orange wine before and it was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very authentic good Italian cuisine and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

very authentic good Italian cuisine and an interesting selection of menu items.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A regular here, and almost got my favori ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

A regular here, and almost got my favorite seats at the bartenders bar, appreciate the host staff trying to make that happen.

I love to din at the bar here, if not the patio is lovely. Slow getting anyone to acknowledge we were here this time (Unusual) but once that happened it was fabulous as always. Great food, drinks, wine, and service...and the blackberry crisp is the best of all of them while they last!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious! No complaints. Pizza was grea ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Delicious! No complaints. Pizza was great, as was the trout with lentils and steak with arugula. We took Lyft there and walked back to downtown. If you have a car, they have a large parking lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was very nice and the foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The restaurant was very nice and the food was pretty good overall. I have some very odd food allergies and called ahead to make sure that they would be able to accommodate things which they assured me they would. The hostess was wonderful and knew that we had called ahead of time and they had taken very thorough notes about my requests. However the waiter was not very helpful and I was disappointed with the choices he presented to me. I had been looking forward to this dinner as it was our 16th anniversary so a very special occasion. What I ordered did taste very good but I was under the impression that I would have more choices than what I was presented. We would have given the restaurant a better review however the waiter did really put a bad taste in our mouths and we most likely will not visit this restaurant again due to the poor service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Our experience at Nostrana was perfect. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our experience at Nostrana was perfect. We sat outside. The waitstaff was accommodating, lovely and helpful. Our food was perfect. AND, the olive oil was superb, as was the bread. I ordered wood-fired trout. I usually find trout banal, but the server suggested it and it had such depth of taste, simply delicious...as was my husband's duck. I also ordered the berry tart, which was hot from the oven and SO delicious. I am picky, eat out infrequently because I like my cooking, and was So pleased to be in Portland and dine at this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nostrana is one of our favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nostrana is one of our favorite restaurants. We bring friends and visitors there frequently. The service and food are normally first rate so we are proud to bring people there. But I must be honest when things are not up to its normal standards.

None of the issues we had were large, but together they were disappointing. Our server seemed in a hurry taking plates and glasses off the table without asking. The meatballs for "Meatball Monday" were overly salty, while the accompanying pasta was quite good. The soup was great, but the dessert (tiramisu) was little more than whipped cream, while its size was so small that all four of our party commented that its price must be mistake.

I asked to speak to a manager and a young fellow approached our table at the end of our meal. He talked with me and offered to remove the tiramisu from our bill. My thoughts were that this was the first time Nostrana was less than excellent from top to bottom. My hope is that whatever issues were at work on Monday get turned around quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was mixed: the salads were quit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was mixed: the salads were quite good; the pizzas not so much. The crusts were stretched too much, making for very soggy pizzas. The rose by the glass was too expensive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Another memorable evening at Nostrana--g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Another memorable evening at Nostrana--great table outside, attentive but not intrusive service. It was fun to see families with small kids actually get some good food. Ours was delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious blistered-crust pizzas. Frien ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Delicious blistered-crust pizzas. Friendly, relaxed atmosphere in nice neighborhood. Service was friendly but sometimes slow. Would return on a future visit to Portland.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner was good. We had a reservation at ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dinner was good. We had a reservation at 7:30 on a Saturday. Six of us shared plates and two bottles of wine. Started with the Padron peppers, fig/prosciutto appetizer and the burrata. 2nd round was the diavolo & crab pizzas-which their pizzas are alway great! Followed with the Tagliata, halibut, and the salmon pasta. Dessert was our favorite: the salted butterscotch budino!

Service was where they fell short.

They were very attentive at first...the wine service was a nice touch, and our server(Bunny on our receipt) was very friendly. It was only after all of our entrees were served that we seemed to have been forgotten about. I know service was getting busy because of their 9pm happy hour and I saw our server running around, but we were done eating at 9:13 and no one came back to our table for 30 minutes. I know this because I was checking my phone in case our babysitter was trying to reach us. I saw our server attend to a two top 3x before a runner came by to clear some of dishes.

When one of the support staff started to lay down dessert menus we informed her that we knew wanted to order two budino stop share. It took over 15 minutes till we got them. Which I don't think they should've taken that long because I know they're already pre-made.

I truly do enjoy Nostranas food and maybe this was just an off night, but I don't think it's really acceptable to be sitting unattended to for 30 minutes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The entrees were fair but nothing specia ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The entrees were fair but nothing special. The potato and broccoli side dishes were great! The service was mediocre at best. We had to request bread and other items multiple times before they were provided. The noise level of the restaurant made it nearly impossible to carry on a conversation which defeats the purpose of getting together with friends to enjoy a meal and catch up. Expensive, considering the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.