About Nostrana

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Nostrana - Literally "ours' - invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://www.nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15

Executive Chef:
Cathy Whims

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Smokey Rotisserie Chicken
Butterscotch Budino
Alaskan Halibut
Spaghettini
Gigli Alla Diavola
Flatiron Steak
Amaretto Cheesecake with Almond Praline and Chantilly Cream
Morel, Crimini, and Coral Mushrooms with Fava Greens, Garlic and Lemon
Spinach and Egg Fettuccine with Manilla Clams, English Peas, White Wine, Cream and Scapes
Margharita Pizza
Funghi Pizza
Charcuterie Board
Kale Salad With Pecorino
Sausage Pizza
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Butterscotch Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce
Overnight Roasted Cattail Creek Lamb
Tagliata
Insalata Nostrana
strozzapreti
Gnocchi
2011 Cameron Saignee Wine
Cappuchino
Funghi Verde Pizza
Goat Cheese Stuffed Pappardelle with Fava Beans, Cherry Tomatoes, Arugula and Chive Butter
Netarts Bay Oysters
Pizza Diavola
Linguini With Bay Scallops
Caesar Salad
Pasta Mista
Crab Bruschetta
Spaghetti Squash
Porchetta
House Made Bread
Magherita Pizza
Pan Roasted Halibut
Polpettine Pizza
Lamb
Fried Squash Blossoms
Capalini With Meatballs And Poached Egg
Orange-Pistachio Cheesecake
Marinara Pizza
Insalata Mista
Budino
Chilled Cream Corn Soup
Chicken
Seared Albacore
Tuna Crudo
Pizza
Rhubarbarella
Salami pizza
Lamb Sugo
Cappuccino
Vanilla Gelato
Pizza Margherita
Margarita Pizza
Aged Steak
Fettucini With Marinara
Cheese Plate

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
1 More
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

fit for foodies (191)
special occasion (136)
neighborhood gem (115)
See All
notable wine list (100)
good for groups (86)
great for lunch (62)
romantic (59)
great for outdoor dining (59)
hot spot (47)
kid-friendly (36)
vibrant bar scene (33)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1053 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great server! Food good, not terribly un ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great server! Food good, not terribly unique. Anniversary dinner - no complimentary dessert offered.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, our server Joel did a great ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, our server Joel did a great job--appreciated his recommendations for food and wine, he was attentive and took good care of us without rushing our meal. Sat outside and was very comfortable the evening we were there. We had 8P reservations but finished our errands early. Arrived early and was able to get seated earlier. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Pizza with cheese, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Pizza with cheese, spicy peppers and olives was great. Cappelini with smoked trout was fabulous.

Wines were mediocre. Both rose we ordered were odd - we sent one back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nostrana is always a favorite. I'll look ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Nostrana is always a favorite. I'll look for any excuse to stop in. Wonderful food, always a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal including nostrana salad, cra ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal including nostrana salad, crab pizza and a couple of tasty pastas

Service was excellent. ..

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had several nice meals in Portland, b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had several nice meals in Portland, but this was our best meal. Just great all around. The owner was at the restaurant and it was nice to get to talk to her.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For me, the noise level was so high that ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

For me, the noise level was so high that it overshadowed the food. I would return only if I could sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Nostrana is a reliably good restaurant. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nostrana is a reliably good restaurant. I think transcends hype and trand.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here before and I was very ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been here before and I was very disappointed. The service was poor, the charcuterie plate was unimaginative. The waitress promised coffee and did not return until I flagged her for the check.

The clam pasta was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food - large portions - impeccable ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food - large portions - impeccable service - friendly staff - hidden gem in residential neighborhood shopping center.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Was disappointed in the red ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food. Was disappointed in the red wine portion of the wine list, both Italian and local Oregon reds.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service, food and ambiance. P ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambiance. Prices are not too bad but quickly add up with cocktails, wine, desert, coffee etc. A favorite place for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very friendly staff, great cocktails, in ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very friendly staff, great cocktails, interesting beers and simple, delicious food. Dined family style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our food was stone cold. Not even warm. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our food was stone cold. Not even warm. Kind of overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Much Much Much to noisy. Impossible to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Much Much Much to noisy. Impossible to talk and hear and we were at a table.

The quality of the food was outstanding but it was compromised by the sound level.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the best food we have had in ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Absolutely the best food we have had in Portland. Thank you.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to Nostrana. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my first visit to Nostrana. The food was amazing, the staff was helpful and nice. I was meeting someone there for a date and when I got there I was a bit shocked by the noise level. There is a single large room with a very high vaulted ceiling that lets the sound just bounce around. It was VERY loud there with all the people. The place was completely packed, I'm very glad I made a reservation. I was offered drinks while waiting for our table to be ready and after my date arrived 15 minutes early, they seated us right away which was very nice.

I could see myself going back here for a casual thing, not necessarily on a first or second date. The volume level was just too much for good, getting to know someone, conversation. There were a number of times I had to ask her to repeat herself because I just couldn't hear.

The food was AMAZING as was the wine. The best I've had, by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

If I could just turn the volume down on ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

If I could just turn the volume down on this restaurant and create a little more ambience among the tables, it would be my ideal, perfect restaurant. The food and service are exemplary. Total perfection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nostrana is one of my all time favorites ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nostrana is one of my all time favorites....consistently delicious meals, great service and a comfortable setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we had a great time. Ordered several sa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

we had a great time. Ordered several salads, a couple of pizzes, some steak and peppers and created a beautiful meal to share. Plus great drinks and wine. Could not have been better. Delicious! and Fun time! Loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences that ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

One of the best dining experiences that we've enjoyed in many years. Fantastic beverages and wine list. The food was absolutely perfect! The dungeonus crab pizza, pasta dishes, and everything was prepared to perfection. Looking forward to our next trip to PDX and another occasion to done at Nostrana!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish I could have tried everything on ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I wish I could have tried everything on the menu in one sitting! What I did try was fantastic. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Enjoyed the occasion. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great experience. Enjoyed the occasion. Special. While our first meal there we felt and were treated like regulars. We had eaten a time or two at Cathie's previous venue (Genoa) and have just been waiting for the right time to have the whole family (including 2 month old Ivy who was very well behaved - we heard another baby there who wasn't) to Nostrana. Reservations well recommended. Nothing to criticize. Looking to return ASAP. See you there!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Family get together as parents just move ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Family get together as parents just moved into the neighborhood. Food was amazing. Wine was superb. Service was excellent. We tasted through a lot of the menu and some of the cocktails too. Nothing disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nostrana is outstanding and predictable. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Nostrana is outstanding and predictable. It is SO good. We love it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was spectacular! Very busy night ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was spectacular! Very busy night could have used some more attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything we tried was fantastic. The t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything we tried was fantastic. The two of us split everything so we could try more dishes and nothing disappointed. Our expectations were very much exceeded and because of that, Nostrana has become our favorite Italian restaurant.

We tried: Insalata Nostrana, Radiatori al Ragù, Granchio Pizze, Oregon Berry Crisp & Alaretto Cheesecake. All of them I'd highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Nostrana is amazing, for sur ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food at Nostrana is amazing, for sure. But what stands out more is the customer service. Our waitress was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is amazing and we had really gr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is amazing and we had really great experiences both times we have gone there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. The food is always fan ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Love this place. The food is always fantastic. It can be noisy, but so warm and full of life. There is something for everyone and it is all delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pizza here is amazing! I'd never ac ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The pizza here is amazing! I'd never actually tried anything else on the menu aside from the pizza and the occasional side salad before this visit. I had the lunch Cuban sandwich and my wife had the gorgonzola gnocchi. Both we amazing. The beer selection is limited but always top notch. The wine is a bit on the pricey side, which is unfortunate. Not even a more affordable house wine for the more casual diners. Still love this place, though, and will continue to return for special occasions and the rare late night happy hour pizza.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

First class in every way, from the hoste ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

First class in every way, from the hostess's smile to the unobtrusively attentive service through the bread plate and the turnip soup decorated with little stars of pink chive florets to the shared desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing... This was our third ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Very disappointing... This was our third visit and two of them have been bad. The service particularly from the hostess has been unwelcoming and that sets the stage for a bad evening. We will not return... Too many other great choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Nostrana is our go to place. On every le ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Nostrana is our go to place. On every level it only gets better with time. On our last visit we shared two appetizers a bean and tuna salad and their Nostrana salad. Both were wonderful.

Equally so were our pasta and river trout entrees. Service was friendly and totally professional and the check very fair given the wonderful meal. What more could one ask?

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The pasta was great, but the overall ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The pasta was great, but the overall service wasn't friendly. Not worth the price to get any entrees other than pizza or pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I love to eat at Nostrana, i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I love to eat at Nostrana, it is on the top of our list and good for casual dining as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent trout loved it. A little annoy ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent trout loved it. A little annoyed the waitress gave us the worst table, when asked to be moved she replied the other 4 tops were needed for larger groups, we were two. The table we sat at had 4 chairs as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was wonderful. Love that they have ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was wonderful. Love that they have a unique menu every day. The server's level of condescension was also notable. Along with the fact that he disappeared entirely after we asked for a water refill. Lovely place with fresh, simple and delicious food though. Ours was just served with a pinch of deadpan superiority.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We sat outside in the warm sunshine and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We sat outside in the warm sunshine and it was just wonderful. My husband had the trout with risotto cake and I had pasta. Both were delicious. The server (I never remember names) made good recommendations for both wine and food and didn't hover which was nice. All in all a very nice Father's Day. Although i have been there for lunch before, this was my first dinner and it was every bit as wonderful -- especially the radicchio salad!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here after hearing great things abo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Went here after hearing great things about the place, food, and pizza. The restaurant was nice but a little loud as it filled up. The service was slow. As for the food, the best thing was the soup. The salad was a bowl of lettuce with 4 different clusters of vegetables on top for $9. It wasn't very good, especially for the price. The pasta was very bland and the pizza was just okay. Better pizza for less elsewhere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.