About Nostrana

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Nostrana - Literally "ours' - invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://www.nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15

Executive Chef:
Cathy Whims

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

fit for foodies (188)
special occasion (132)
neighborhood gem (99)
See All
notable wine list (95)
good for groups (82)
romantic (71)
hot spot (55)
great for lunch (50)
vibrant bar scene (32)
great for outdoor dining (23)
kid-friendly (20)
late-night find (15)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
986 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

I don't understand this restaurant; very ...

vip
Dined a day ago

I don't understand this restaurant; very good food, great service, nice decor. But what is with the fast food plastic chairs and tables whre you can't stretch your legs. Hands down the most uncomfortable seating experience in a "nice" restaurant I have had in all of Portland.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday ...

Dined 4 days ago

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday. We both thought it wasn't anything out of the ordinary. Waiter was nice, which is always a bonus.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time at Nostrana. Th ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was my second time at Nostrana. The first was a great experience, but this visit did not live up to expectations. The service was good, but I always felt rushed to order and then to finish. We started with the shrimp fritters, which were very good, but the quantity was less than reported by our waitress. She said four, one each, but only three arrived for our table of four. She apologized, but awkward at the table. For my main, I ordered the flat iron steak, which was OK. Nothing special and lacking much flavor. My wife ordered the sanddabs with pasta, to try something new, and it was not good. She was glad there was lots of pasta, as the fish was not something she could eat. Overall a disappointing dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gnocchi Thursday was a hit again! We ha ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Gnocchi Thursday was a hit again! We had a sampling of different Gnocchi at the table along with pizza and "Overnight Braised Pork Shoulder". The broth in the pork shoulder was amazing! Definitely worthy of bread sopping!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gnocchi was delicious! Pizzas were defin ...

Dined 7 days ago

Gnocchi was delicious! Pizzas were definitely a 2-3 person plate and the scissors were great fun.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drinks, food and service, plus the ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great drinks, food and service, plus the menu had something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second favorite restaurant in ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is my second favorite restaurant in Portland. LOVE THE FOOD -- sensational -- even down to the desserts -- the panna cotta is the BEST. Our server was TERRIFIC -- so happy, kind, enthusiastic. I was there for Mother's Day with my daughter, around 5:00 or so, if you could look her up. Recently on Tuesday I was there for lunch, and the food was GREAT!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nostrana Visit

Dined on May 16, 2016

As we live in SE we visit Nostrana occasionally and find consistently good food and service. Was on a Sunday and a late decision to dine out with a friend visiting from Australia so appreciate the ability to make a reservation. For a Sunday the restaurant was quite full. Noise level was louder than I remember and the only downside I could comment on. All in all appreciate that Nostrana is a consistent high quality dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a monthly get together ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were there for a monthly get together for friends. A few of us had been there before and the others were impressed with the food, ambiance, and friendliness of the staff. We will come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Wine by the glass was stale and simply n ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wine by the glass was stale and simply not good. Service was very slow. Also, I find it very peculiar when servers explain the food to me without me asking. Food was just OK. I expected much more for the price. Lastly, it's supposed to be an Italian restaurant but apparently there is no pasta on Thursdays.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The wait staff is slow to turn over, and ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The wait staff is slow to turn over, and uniformly friendly and attentive. We go there for lunch on 'gnocchi Thursday' about once a month. I enjoy their wine by the glass selection. We don't go there for dinner often. When it is full, it is too noisy for conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect location for a romantic birthday!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Nostrana offers the usual Italian restaurant dishes, but with unique, local ingredients and imaginative spice work that make the meal especially memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here. Had lunch ( pizzas and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Second time here. Had lunch ( pizzas and salads) the first time and it was excellent . Interesting(in a good way) wine pairings suggested by waiter. Dinner was great too. Halibut was moist and delicious, risotto cake was rich and tasty, house made capellini was fresh and simple. Dessert rhubarb crisp was worth the wait. Had a bitters flight for after dinner drink and tried some new and novel bitters. All in all a very pleasant experience and my 80 year old parents loved it too:)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid Lunch at Nostrana

Dined on May 9, 2016

What a terrific location for our business lunch! I look forward to any reason to dine at Nostrana and my colleagues were equally pleased. Everything was well prepared, delicious and satisfying. I return to Nostrana again and again for its diverse menu, excellent service and I love gnocchi Thursdays when I can get there! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Portland Restaurant

Dined on May 9, 2016

been going to Nostrana since it opened. great food - pizza is best on planet earth and staff is also great-they make an excellent perfect Manhattan but I should have stopped at one.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Fabulous Setvice

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a wonderful early evening meal with friends. Very accommodating, professional courteous service, very creative delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Always a great meal.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Always a great meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even better than expected

Dined on April 27, 2016

This is a very lively vibrant restaurant that was filled to capacity. The service was exceptional and the advise given to us by the server regarding menu options was spot on. The fresh asparagus soup and asparagus ravioli were both stellar and the seasonal crab pizza was also superb. Everyone loved what they ordered. This will definitely be a regular on our restaurant rotation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique and delicious

Dined on April 26, 2016

Top rate service exceptional food what's not to like?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Vacation trip to Portland

Dined on April 25, 2016

On our first trip to Portland and Oregon we choose Norstrana from trip advisor. It was awesome and meet all of our expectations. We loved the atmosphere and the food was wonderful. We had a great server and she helped us in our selections from the menus and wine selection. She even brought tastings of the wine before ordering. I would highly recommend this resturant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, but a bit loud

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We always enjoy the food at Nostrana. We had a four-top on Saturday 4/23. The only disappointment was that it was very hard to hear the person across the table. On a positive note, the amaro tasting flight (on the desert menu) was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Thellina as hostess

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Thellina makes for a great dining experience. Her personal touch and caring takes it from a nice place to a great place

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Good As Usual

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fourth time at Nostrana. Have never been disappointed overall, but a few misses this time. The Capellini was quite bland, while everything else was scrumptious, especially the seafood fettuccine. This trip, since it was packed on a Friday night, it was so loud it made my ears bleed. Other than these two whines, it was another great meal at Nostrana.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved this place!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Impeccable service and food. Our waiter was awesome. He was very friendly and attentive to our requests and questions. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Radicchio salad is the bomb! Pizza was f ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Radicchio salad is the bomb! Pizza was fantastic and adding arugula adds a nice peppery touch to more basic pizzas. Plus, cutting pizza was scissors a fun novelty. Great wine selection and the open kitchen is awesome for watching pizza dough getting tossed in the air!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Real Italian pizza

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've been waiting to try this place since it opened because I'd heard it was pizza like you'd get in Naples. Great pizza being one of our favorite things, we were not disappointed! Excellent Nostrana salad to start and the fresh ingredients on the pie made for a delicious splurge!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We loved everything about our dining experience at Nostrana and we will be back! The food was excellent as was the wait staff. We went through about 4 different plate and silverware changes which was a bit over the top, but not a big complaint. Also, the noise level is rather high, so if you are looking for a quiet place to have a conversation, this is probably not your best choice. Other than that, it was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

No seconds for us

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was just ok. Service came with a side of attitude. Pricey for what you get. We won't go back

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, slow service

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was really good but the service was pretty slow.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nostrana Delivers

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had not been to Nostrana recently, but we're reminded why we like it. Solid menu, good service and great food at a reasonable price. Great for a special occasion, or drop in fir a seat at the bar and a week night bite. One of Portland's best.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nostrano never disappoints.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The classic pizza and radicchio salad are our favorites to share. The trout and pork entrees were wonderful. Family from Montana loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perfect Dining Experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

I recently visited Nostrana with two friends to celebrate a birthday. Our food was amazing and the service was outstanding. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is consistently good

Dined on April 13, 2016

The food here is consistently good. It can be little crowded and noisy on weekends, but it is great for a weekday lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Portland Essential in Nostrana

Dined on April 10, 2016

The best way to dine here is to take tour of many offerings. The charcuterie platter was over the top good. Focus on many flavors and portions were right on. We started our night with a pizza and enjoyed using scissors to cut the right amount of wood fired and beautifully finished pizza crust. Flat iron steak cooked medium rare finished with arugula and garlic was amazing. Service was right on even during a very busy and active restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, as always

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been going to Nostrana's for the past 10 years, and we have never been disappointed. It's such a great restaurant, and we are reminded of that every time we go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Just great, all around, food, drink, service et al

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Great service. Server was fri ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Good food. Great service. Server was friendly and provided amazing service... As we are vegetarians, so, she went in the kitchen to check with the chef about the ingredients...

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Improved

Dined on April 5, 2016

Recent return to Nostrana after a year or two away. Food much better and service quite good. Will become a regular again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 3, 2016

Recommended by a very good friend who happens to be Italian. He and we are particular about Italian and it met and exceeded both our expectations. The flow was a little confused at one point but considering the full booking it was acceptable. My wife gambled at the last minute and added a pizza, as an extra. She was delighted. A memorable evening. One minor confusion. The menu listed that a 20% service would be included in the final total. According to my math it was not....perhaps an oversight or not properly noted in the presentation of the bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.