About Nostrana

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest.

We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 14th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15 stops at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Cathy Whims; Executive Chef Brian Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (80)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Special Occasion (73)
See All
Good for a Date (67)
Local Ingredients (65)
Notable Wine List (63)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Open Kitchen (46)
Authentic (42)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Fun (28)
Casual (28)
Romantic (28)
Seasonal (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Cozy (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Fireplace (13)
Family Style (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

I met my 3 best pals for dinner and we had the best meal ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Some of the most truly excellent food I have ever eaten. The front of house staff were knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and helped pick a couple of different excellent wines to accompany our meal. It's not exactly the cheapest place around, but the prices are reasonable for the kind of food you get, and the service is excellent. The decor in the restaurant itself feels a little bit off? Unbalanced? The only other downside was that dining early in the evening, there were a number of families with children, who, to their credit, were all reasonably well behaved.

Tags: Seasonal, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

This is one place that i love coming back to every once in awhile. It's a place that makes your mouth water when you smell the food that is being cooked right in front of you at the open kitchen, or from across the way at your table. It has a very Portland feel going on and it caters to people that don't want to spend to much or someone that wants something amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Always love the service and food at Nostrana. However, I'm not a fan of their tradition of putting parties of six at a table made for four. It happens regularly and is far too crowded to be comfortable.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was excellent without being intrusive. The menu was inviting. The quality and quantity of the food was just right.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meal was delicious. I wanted to order something new, but ended up ordering the exact same thing as a prior visit because it's so good -- oven roasted trout. Our server knew how to pace the courses, which was great. Only drawback is the noise level, but in spite of that, we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We treated my Mom to her birthday dinner here. She and my Dad had never been and both loved everything, as did we. Excellent food, wouldn't change a thing. Service was outstanding: friendly and fun, professional and not bothersome at all. Loved it and will keep coming back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was meh. Environment was nice. Didn't meet the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service! We loved the atmosphere and wait staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Nostrana is, and continues to be ,my favorite restaurant in Portland. Amazing food, great ambiance and best of all they take reservations so no standing out in line or having to go to some dive to weather your wait time. I love this place!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Late dinner, great menu, new stuff, knowledgeable staff (Lia knows the wines), tough to beat.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nostrana is my all time favorite! I never get tired the food. The capalini pasta is so simple but delicious and the daviola pizza is my staple!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful Valentine's Day lunch. Everything was magnificent. You can really tell that they've got their act together at Nostrana.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

For Italian food, is way overpriced. Price way too high for cocktails and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love this restaurant! Don't miss this place. The food is wonderful and the service is terrific. Everyone is so friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great time with some friends. We ate slowly and enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a reservation, still had to wait almost an hour before we got a table. That just beats the purpose of having a reservation. And then no apology was made.

Food is great, but just the service kills the overall experience. That was probably the last time we dine there; going to try some other place next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We are fairly new to Portland, so it was our first time at Nostrana. Came because we heard the pizza was great. However, we ended up NOT ordering pizza this visit after seeing the rest of the menu. Instead, we shared the Insalata Nostrana, the Charcuterie plate, and the Wood Oven-Roasted Idaho Trout. Oh, and a lovely bottle of wine. Absolutely everything - from the friendliness and professionalism of the wait staff and Sommelier, to the preparation and flavors of the food - was most excellent.

Will definitely return ASAP.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nice restaurant. Nice ambience. Food generally ok, in my opinion a little overpriced for the food quality. But for a special occasion or i guess a pizza if you want to control costs, would be fine. Nice restaurant space inside.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Stellar. Everything. The food is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The place is nice however where we were seated I kept having staff bump me and my chair also I was bumped by customers. the noise level was almost to loud. I felt I had to yell to my friends draped material on the ceiling would really help with the noise levels

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We always love dining at Nostrana. The food is always wonderful. Our favorite pizza and gnocchi in the city. We enjoyed bringing our son's girlfriend here for the first time. We had a very nice evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good food. Nice staff. I have a little bit of trouble hearing there, but it sin't as bad as some places. I go here a lot because it is open for lunch.

-Chris

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service excellent. Two of us were early for our reservation and one of us was late -- the staff never made us feel rushed. We each ordered something different and all dinners were delicious and nicely presented. The cobbler is amazing, and so was the butterscotch budino. Overall, a really nice place.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I love this place. The mushroom pizza is a delight. The butterscotch butino dessert is beyond description -- my favorite in the whole world. My only complaint is that it can sometimes be hard to hear your companions when the dining room is full.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Wow what a pleasant surprise was suppose to dine at a different restaurant and changed to Nostradamus at the last minute awesome Italian food can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had been meaning to go hear for years and finally got the opportunity with a small family group. Was VERY impressed with everything except for the noise level, which was higher than ideal. Service was excellent with clearing of utensils and cleaning of table between servings along with very knowledgeable servers and a nice Italian wine menu. Food was perfectly prepared with some great and original flavor combinations. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Service was great, as was the ambiance. The food fell short though, in particular the crispy fried calamari over capellini. It lacked flavor, but mostly it was not a good pairing. It likely would have been better if the calamari had been grilled or fried in olive oil with garlic. Instead, it was lightly battered and deep fried. Just didn't go with the angel hair pasta. Other dishes were good, but not great. For the price there are much better options in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waitress was very accommodating re my food intolerances. I would definately return for such a healthy and fresh meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Organic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food, excellent service, a neighborhood venue.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Delicious and original food combined with exceptional service. I would like to come back often and work my way through the menu. Also there was an excellent wine selection and the waitstaff were personable and very welcoming.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Everyone in our party raved about the food. The crab pizza is the best pizza I have ever had! And I'm from the NY metro area, so that's saying something!!!

We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We could write 500 words about Nostrana, but the fact that you need a reservation on Tuesday speaks volumes. Nostrana is just about perfect: the menu retains some standards that should be retained forever yet is inventive and always includes new dishes, the bar is massively stocked and the bartenders are superb, the staff know their menu and the table service is spot-on, and they take reservations! The chairs could be more comfortable, and the waiting area needs to be expanded given demand!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unique pizza toppings, flavors were superb. Cocktails were excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food options, everything tasted fresh and unique. Took out-of-towners here and they loved it. Wait staff was kind and knowledgeable, overall great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Kudos to the front of the house for squeezing three of us into a 2-top when we had accidentally only reserved for two! It was gracious. Pizza was that genuine thin crust with few toppings' a real Italian version. Our sauteed brussels sprouts and a plate of garlic spinach, both exquisite. Service polite and even friendly.

Nostrana is fashionable; crowded, loud , people waiting in the hall and the doorway. Gives one a feeling of being someplace hip. I'd call wine at $11 and up per glass kind of pricey. You don't come here for a bargain, or for a quiet conversation, or as a last minute decision. It's a great place to say you've been!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time here. Was everything I've read about. Food outstanding....cocktails great. Only negative.....a little loud.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and service at Nostrana are always excellent but the place is cacaphonous so it is very hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant. Their crab pizza and Nostrana salad are so ridiculously good. We drove from the west side at rush hour to take advantage of a rare date night. This is by far my favorite restaurant. We gave gift cards to our friends for Christmas so they can enjoy it too (and hopefully invite us).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nostrana has unique pizzas, excellent small-portion vegetable sides, alcohol-free drink options and a changing menu that includes meat, poultry, and fish options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious simple food, server not very knowledgable and kind of awkward.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Delicious as always, love the radicchio salad and pizza, thank you~

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always terrific

Outstanding bread

Nice friendly staff

Excellent food

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They have a great wine selection! The pizza was very good however the skirt steak and pasta dishes were small portions, mediocre flavor and priced like they should be a main dish. The restaurant was freezing and very loud.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The closest you can get to real Neapolitan pizza in Portland. I should know because I lived there for two years

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nostrana has been one of our favorite restaurants and it never disappoints! We were there for gnocchi night, my 20 year old daughter's fave! The most tender gnocchi. The pizza is very good and their Insalata Nostrana is a must. Save room for dessert - the fruit crisp with seasonal selection of fruit (takes 20 minutes to prepare) is outstanding with almond cream pored over the delicious topping.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Heard a lot about this restaurant. Had high-ish expectations going into it. Did not meet expectations:

Service:

  1. Ordered 3 oysters - received 2

  2. Ordered carrots side dish - did not receive

  3. Restaurant was drafty and cold with lots of patrons wearing coats/winter hats.

Food:

  1. Ordered the trout - Trout used was good quality trout. But flavor was lacking. I've had better at random tourist traps in the US. For the $$, it was expensive and generally not worth $28 they charged for it.
  1. Oysters - the 2 that actually was brought to our table had a strong fish flavor. Some oysters are fishier than others, but this was exceptional.
  1. Pasta - expensive and flavor was good, but not good enough to be what Nostrana was charging.

Overall - I'm surprised there was a line at 9:30 PM when we got there given my experience with this place. This was our first time and likely will be our last. Don't get me wrong...food was good. But, for the $$ and the fact that the service was poor, there are plenty of better restaurants with similar foods that taste better and the service is significantly better. I still had a good time, but I could have had that good time somewhere else for less and gotten better food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous, inviting, comforting ambience with an open kitchen that invites a sense of belonging and community while enjoying the finest and most authentic of dishes. Service is so friendly and helpful without snobbery or obsequiousness. A true gem of Portland nestled away in the inner South East neighborhood.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We love this place. The exceptional menu is always changing and the bar staff's amazing cocktails never let us down. The service is always impeccable, friendly and top-notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.