Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Nostrana

Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest.

We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 14th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15 stops at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Cathy Whims; Executive Chef Brian Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (91)
Special Occasion (88)
Good for a Date (79)
See All
Authentic (74)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Notable Wine List (68)
Local Ingredients (67)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Casual (49)
Wood Oven (49)
Bar Seating (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Worth the Drive (42)
Comfort Food (36)
Fun (36)
Business Meals (34)
Seasonal (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Open Kitchen (25)
Healthy (23)
Cozy (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
People Watching (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Organic (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Family Style (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Fireplace (5)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food and love the atmosphere. Great service, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Fresh, quality food. A bit over salted for my taste. The house made pastas were delicious and the pizzas were too. Located in a strip mall but that doesn't take away from the great drinks and menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Nostrana's has been out favorite restaurant in the Portland area since we moved here twelve years ago. No matter the day, the season, we are never disappointed. Their pastas are exquisite, the steaks tender and flavorful, the wines - so much I could say - and of course, the radicchio salad - Kathy's creation. We have taken so many friends and family members here, that speaks to our satisfaction. Well done!!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Nostrana is one of my go to spots and never disappoints. The friendly and professional staff make you feel comfortable as soon as you enter the doors. The beautiful decor and layout of the open kitchen is an impeccable combination with the amazing tastes of each of their dishes. Perfect portions also, I left feeling just right.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and very authentic. The house Caesar is amazing and unique as it is with radicchio. The pasta with goat cheese was the best. Beautiful outdoor space on a lovely summer evening. Best of all they make parking easy. They have a great lot which can be tough in SE Portland

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food as per usual. Thanks for continuing to be a stellar restaurant in the Portland area!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely dinner, great service. Enjoyed roast chicken, and pasta dishes immensely. Will return.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good albeit pricey. Was disappointed that we didn't get our reserved table in the outdoor patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated a family birthday there on the recommendation of a family friend. We were very pleased. The atmosphere was great, bustling but not too noisy ... it just had an energy. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We already having a good time and enjoying some wine.. and then the food came... Wow. In a group of 5 everyone tasted something off each plate because each of us was convinced we had ordered the "best" entree. Next time we are in Portland, we will definitley be smiling areturn visit.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

consistently the best restaurant in Portland. our go to spot!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Nostrums is one of our goto restaurants to take out of town guests. The ambiance is a arm and inviting, but not cozy as the space is quite large. The natural wood of the roof is fantastic. It provided a feeling perfect for the Pacific Northwest. This last visit allowed us to start with a Margarita pizza topped with Mama Lil's peppers we could add ourselves. The pizza was great...even better than normal. My wife decided to have the Nostrana salad (radicchio with Caesar dressing) for her dinner. Great as usual. My eight year old granddaughter and I had the calamari pasta, good but it could have used more sauce and garlic. Our daughter had the special ravioli which she loved. Overall, a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Special birthday occasion, (this restaurant does nothing). Delicious radicchio salad and excellent 2 1/2 lbs $80.00 St Helena rib steak, (takes 40 min to prepare). Empty beer glass for 15 min, empty bread plate (never asked if we'd like more with our dinner), server was not personable or friendly. She made it seem as if she was doing us a favor by having to serve us. Would defiantly return, but not if service was this poor.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Gnocchi was OUT. OF. THIS. WORLD! We drove down from Seattle to celebrate by daughter's 18th birthday. We stayed in Portland for 3 days and Nostrana was our most memorable meal of all! Thank you for your great hospitality! Maria

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a reservation for four at 7pm. We arrived on time and the hostess greeted us outside (not sure why this happened) near the entrance to the outdoor seating area. She said she would check on table but never returned. After waiting ten or so minutes, we eventually went inside and asked if our table was ready. It was pretty busy with people waiting so I suppose she just didn't have a chance to come back outside and tell us our table was ready. Had we not been greeted outside in the first place, none of this would not have been an issue.

Service was fine, but we all agreed that the food presentation could have been better. Two people ordered the Trout because it featured fava beans, but were disappointed when there were none. We should have been made aware of this when we ordered. The chuck steak was interesting, but could have used some sort of garnish to offset the bland appearance.

Since I've gone this far, I might as well mention my most nitpicky item of being offered dessert by multiple waiters. While you can tell that the waiters were trained not to ask IF we wanted dessert and instead to just start rattling off what the desserts are, we should not have hear it twice.

Overall a pleasant experience, but I'd expect more from a restaurant that isn't all that humble when it comes to promoting itself.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I love Nostrana. Incredible food, great ambiance, and wonderful wines. Can't beat it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Nostrana never disappoints. Of special note this time was our extraordinary server. I don't know her name, but she deserves a BIG shout-out. We were a large group of seven, which included three very hungry children. Our server anticipated every need and made certain the lunch was perfectly orchestrated. Brava!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As always, our third time eating here when visiting Portland area and it was again fabulous!! Pizzas and other entrees are very good and salads are fresh and unique. We will continue to come back to this gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Salads were good as was the trout. Steak was way too peppery (the menu did not note this). The apperitif was an extremely small pour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great-as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The Porkchop was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Delicious food and innovative plates. Fresh and local and did I say delicious? Wonderful service. I already want to return for my birthday :) keep up the great work

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always amazing, best happy hour deal in town for the value and quality of the food and drinks!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I met with my daughter to have a nice lunch visit. We were seated promptly and our waiter was on spot, no problem there. We asked for some coffee and I liked that it was served in cups with saucers, but they were just half full; they seemed chintzy. Why not a full cup of coffee. That put me off a bit. The Nostrana ensalata was pretty good with a good tangy flavor although a bit over the top with the cheese. The bread is delicious for sure and we enjoyed that.
We ordered a charcuterie plate to share and one of the meats was off, and the kitchen agreed. My daughter went to the bathroom to spit it out as she feared it might make her sick if she swallowed it. Not the kind of experience you want at a restaurant. That did not stimulate our appetite for the rest of the plate but we did taste all of it, I did anyway and was disappointed.
I thought the plate looked skimpy rather than generous, and weird rather than interesting and inviting. I was leery to eat the pickled veg, they were such fake colors but I tried and they were unremarkable. The trout pate was good but I couldn't find a condiment that really complemented it, so I smeared it on the bread with a little of the oil. I tried different combinations with the condiments and nothing seemed to really combine in an interesting or tasty way with anything else.
We were not charged for the charcuterie plate and that was fair but I was really disappointed; I have enjoyed meals there before and feel reluctant to try again now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Went for dinner with visiting daughter - in- law. Friendly, food excellent , service even better, and could converse without yelling. Parking off street and available. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This is the best Italian in Portland but it's very upscale. Spaghetti is rarely on the menu. Cocktails are gorgeous and exciting.
Wine by the glass is good but expensive. Bottles can be a good deal. The flavors are precise and intense. Get out of your comfort zone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a great time here. Had early reservations to eat before a show at Revolution hall. Food was amazing, Charcuterie plate was a deal for $18, So much good stuff on one plate. We were both very happy with food and drinks, will be back for sure

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was a glorious evening, we dined on the patio and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. We had the Friday evening fish and pasta special; fresh pasta, perfectly prepared with shrimp and artichoke hearts. The lemon, wine and parsley flavors were light and complemented the pasta. We look forward to returning as the folks at the next table were raving about the goat cheese filled pasta - they were ready to lick their plates. We indulged in dessert and were not disappointed. We had one order of vanilla gelato with chocolate sauce and one order of the most refreshing prosecco and raspberry sorbet - perfect summer desserts. We loved the unique and fun cocktail and wine selections.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

What a great meal! We were looking to revisit Rome while home in Portland. Great, food, menu, wine list (even the extra one to replace the one we wanted) and dessert.
The service was very attentive and we enjoyed early seating accommodation.

Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great service, great food. I lived in Italy for a while and I miss the authentic Italian food, eating here felt a bit nostalgic and was the most authentic Italian food that I think I have ever had in the USA. Nice ambience here too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My wife and I have been coming here since Nostrana opened. Always fine food and drinks, and excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Always a great meal at Nostrana! Good quality and friendly, helpful staff. One of my favorites:)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Oh my goodness, the food is absolutely brilliant and the service is exceptional! Go! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was good, but a little lackluster for the price. It was a tough recovery after finding some funky, stringy chunks in the meatballs. The setting was nice, and the service was great. Maybe we ordered wrong, but what we got was not exciting or left a "wow" response. $100 for two people... I would hope to be left feeling like it was a nice treat.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

6/25/17. 70th birthday party

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service. Every dish was well made and I'd go back to try what I didn't get to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I loved the food! I hated the noise. My companion and I had to shout to hear ourselves.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great location for dinner prior to show. Unique choices for dinner. Great service . Well come back

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great food and great service. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Another tasty lunch with great service at Nostrana. The butterscotch budino is heaven!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Always a great choice. I had company from out of town and going for lunch is the way I like to go to Nostrana so we can talk and relax. Everyone loved it!!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.