Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Nostrana

Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest.

We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 14th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15 stops at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Brian Murphy; Chef/Owner Cathy Whims

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (105)
Good for a Date (97)
Special Occasion (93)
See All
Authentic (81)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Notable Wine List (76)
Local Ingredients (71)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Worth the Drive (57)
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Bar Seating (51)
Casual (48)
Romantic (47)
Fun (46)
Good for Groups (46)
Comfort Food (45)
Seasonal (39)
Business Meals (37)
Hot Spot (37)
Good Vegetarian Options (32)
Cozy (23)
People Watching (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Organic (18)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very lovely restaurant. Feels cozy at night and the food was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food as always. We've been going to Nostrana since it opened and have never been disappointed. Great flavors. Great service. Getting a wee bit pricey, but it's reputation is well deserved.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

Nostrana has a great ambiance and is quite loud and energetic but not over the top. The service was certainly good but this is a large restaurant and the service on a Saturday night was not as personal as I would have expected.
Food was good but not exceptional. We had crostini and it came very differently that expected with the mushroom topping in a bowl and one large slice of toasted bread. Rather hard to divide up between 4 people. Tasty but not something I would order next time.
The burata was good but portion was small.
2 pizzas were shared and both were good but not as good as at Ken's Artisanal Pizza.
Wine list was very good.

We enjoyed our evening but for my money Piazza Italia or Cafe Mingo are still my favorites!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We love this place! The food is fresh, seasonal and always good. The service was excellent. Our only complaint is the noise level. The restaurant is extremely loud and we were seated next to a large party until we asked to be moved. They were very accommodating and moved us a few tables away, which helped a lot but it was still noisy overall. All that said, next time, we'll maybe try the bar.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Only complaint is the lack of parking. A real hassle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Met friends for a late dinner, the atmosphere was nice but very loud. The food was okay, Kens or Rally's have better pizza flavors. Special dessert was nice. Sort of under-whelming for all the recommendations by people I know who have been here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Always great execution. The radicchio salad is always on point and delicate. We had the rib steak that was perfectly cooked. Peppers to go with were perfectly salty and charred. Love it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful local sourced menu. Inside is really noisy but the food and bevs are wonderful!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Given all the awards that the owner/chef has won, it was a very pedestrian and disappointing meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

In general it was an okay restaurant, but for the price, the service was sub par. While the sommelier was good, the server was short with us and appeared worn out by life. The appetizers were great, the main course offerings were limited, and not varied enough, in my opinion. I'd give it a B grade, in light of the expense to value ratio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We love Nostrana. The food is consistently delicious. They keep favorites on the menu. Gnocchi Thursday is a real treat! Our waitperson, Arielle T was terrific! You cannot beat the "Nostrana Salad" anywhere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I gave a 5 star rating and we do plan to come back, however, requiring a party of 8 to be on one check was difficult. We appreciate adding gratuity for large parties, but would probably not return with a large party due to the one check requirement.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Great wine pairing on our last visit

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food is consistently good here, the pizza's are great. However, on this occasion the service was slow, we waited ages for our entrees and had to remind staff. They have us a free dessert we didn't want as an apology. I guess at least they acknowledged it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food and service were excellent! Kathy Whims is a star!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Everyone who works at Nostrana seems infused with good vibes - from the reservation hostess to the servers to the visibly busy cooking staff. I had not had the pleasure, before, of eating outside, and last Sunday was a warm evening, and my old friends and I felt it was almost an enchanted everning. The drinks were great and the food truly delicious. Our server was exceptionally gracious, her timing with being attentive to us was spot-on. Thanks to all and Chef Cathy Whims at the helm.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The hostesses were extremely friendly and even though we arrived an hour early, we were able to order drinks and wait till our table was ready. There was plenty of seating for the folks waiting to be seated. Our sever, the busser and the folks that brought our food our were exceptional.

The drinks were amazing. The food was delightful and the service was excellent. For the amazing quality of food which was served , the restaurant is moderately priced and we were surprised our bill was so low.

We will definitely be back when we are in Portland next time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

couldnt sit outside due to the rain . only weather failed that evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

First time and it was great service, great food. Very nice time. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Nostrana has been one of our favorite restaurants for years and a go-to for taking out of town visitors or celebrating a birthday or anniversary, as well as an anytime spot for a great meal. We were celebrating a birthday on this visit, and were able to score counter seating to watch the kitchen crew in action. We ordered the Insalata Nostrana, which is a must every time, and tried the clam pizza on the menu, with mama lil' peppers, garlic & oregano and smoked mozzarella. We had a lovely bottle of Sicilian white wine, the "Lucido" Marco De Bartole 2015 - lovely. Everything was delicious! Dessert was our favorite, the butterscotch budino. We are looking forward to our next meal at Nostrana!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had our first meal at Nostrana for our anniversary and it is clear why this is a neighborhood favorite. You get very attentive service and a good range of entrees at different price options and excellent wood-fired authentic italian style pizza and a very good wine selection to boot.

Nostrana changes the menu frequently which keeps things fresh and interesting. We came back the very next week and had a similar experience. I'm sure we will be back many times!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Pizza is great, restaurant is beautiful, and the service and food excellent!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Loved Nostrana! Excellent service, food, and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Delicious food on deck outdoors with friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Lunch, quiet small crowd, wonderful food. We're returning, NO DOUBT.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Whenever we travel to Oregon from the Midwest to visit family, we stop here. In fact, we go out of our way to eat at Nostrana. Gnocchi Thursday is on my kids request list. The wine list is awesome. The handcrafted cocktails and kid-tails are amazing (especially the fresh ginger mocktail). Their Nostrana salad is so good it just can't be duplicated. Seriously, if you have just one night in Portland, head to Nostrana. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

A lovely meal outside catching up with family.
Very Good food/wine/cocktails.
Service was great too! Haven't been in a long time, as good as I remember.
Would definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We made a reservation on Open Table for six people at 7.30PM on Wednesday and arrived promptly. We were not seated till 8PM. It took another 20 minutes + for the waiter to give us any attention. We were three couples - my wife and I, my attorney and his wife and my financial advisor and his wife. My wife and I are of Indian descent and were hosting and paying for the dinner. But, the waiter found it inconvenient to give us any attention. She forgot my wine order and did not try to correct her error. The place was packed for a weekday, but then reservations are there for a reason. The only thing the waitress remembered was her tip. She added a 20% tip without checking with me (may be it is standard practice and I don't have too much of an issue with that). Management - I am sure that you are aware that being the top in the restaurant business can be short-lived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We made our reservation through Open Table and had to wait just a short time. The ambiance is very pleasant with lots of warm wood used in the creation of the space, high ceilings and a notable bar area. We sat by the window and enjoyed the complementary bread and olive oil. The olive oil is excellent! Cheese plate was great, too. The buffalo creamy cheese was my favorite. Our mixed salad was very fresh tasting and chilled. We had a bit of trouble with the olive oil and vinegar dressing that is poured from cruets because we were unfamiliar with the amount that pours. Consequently, a bit too much vinegar; yet, it was tasty just the same. The smoked trout with pasta was very, very good. Lemony cream sauce was just the right amount of tangy and rich. Very nice dish! The server was very attentive and helpful. Our only disappointments were the noise level and sitting indoors when we asked the host about sitting outside. The place is noisier that I prefer. The outdoor seating area is quieter and so I asked to sit outside. The host insisted that our table inside was almost ready and he was not placing any other customers outside due to poor air quality (forest fires in the area). A couple of hours later when we exited the restaurant there were still customers sitting outside! I suppose I should have been more forceful in my request.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Really enjoyed the delicate smoked trout pasta and a great Negroni of the month. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Nostrana! We had delicious cocktails (blackberry with cava and tamarind margarita), the Summer Lettuces salad (delicious with subtle flavors), the phenomenally flavorful goat cheese stuffed pappardelle, and the seasonal fruit crisp with tasty almond cream sauce! Delicious!!! Will keep coming back whenever I'm home in PDX!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fantastic food- we caught the happy hour @ 9pm and probably ordered 80% of the HH menu and everything was excellent. Highlight recommended! Also, the service was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was sublime. The service was attentive and friendly. The prices are a bit high to make it a regular dinner place, but it was worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a fantastic time. We came for dessert and drinks at a busy Friday night time and were treated with incredible welcome and warmth. The bartender was sparkling with energy, and she offered great guidance on cocktails and wine. We were wowed by the ambience and very much enjoyed the new pastry chef take on tiramasu and the balance of a delicious cheese plate. A wonderful experience and already looking forward to coming back. In a city full of special eating, this place truly stands out with the sense of old world warmth and contemporary vibe and take on food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Anniversary dinner was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing service and wonderful food! Loved the energy in the dining room. Though it was crowded and lively (Friday night), this only enhanced our dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Nostrana is my go to place. Whenever I want to have a special lunch date with my husband I make a reservation at this establishment. The food and service are excellent. They allow you enough time to not feel rushed. Their pizza is fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was the best gnocchi we have ever had! Outstanding staff, food, wine, and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Delicious ! Menu changes daily with local sourced ingredients . Can't wait to go again.!
We called that we would be half hour late and we were pleased to see that they held our table. Many patrons waiting, really appreciated the hold.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Like so many restaurants today, the noise levels (to include, loud inappropriate music), makes conversation difficult. The great food and service will bring us back. They do need to take a serious look at the wine list with very few choices less than $50.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.