Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Nostrana

Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest.

We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 14th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15 stops at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Brian Murphy; Chef/Owner Cathy Whims

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (104)
Fit for Foodies (100)
Special Occasion (93)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Local Ingredients (78)
Creative Cuisine (77)
Notable Wine List (77)
Authentic (73)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Worth the Drive (62)
Good for Groups (54)
Handcrafted Cocktails (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Casual (45)
Bar Seating (45)
Fun (44)
Romantic (43)
Business Meals (41)
Comfort Food (41)
Seasonal (39)
Hot Spot (36)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Happy Hour (28)
Healthy (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
People Watching (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Organic (19)
Cozy (18)
Late-night Find (14)
Disabled Access (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great Beer (5)
Tapas (5)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
1742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined a day ago

Great environment meets great food. Always look forward to going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

I am a frequent visitor to Nostrana. I recommend it regularly. I particularly enjoy Gnocchi Thursday! The Gnocchi alla romana is my favorite and the "crisp" dessert of the day is always a crowd pleaser.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Noise level is horrible. Service fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Always at treat to eat at Nostrana. Fabulous food and great service and atmosphere. Great place to meet friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The menu was hard to decipher so we ended up ordering a pizza. Not the best pizza...undercooked and floppy. The pasta dishes looked much better than our pizza. The wine list was great and the wine steward was very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite Portland restaurants easily in the top five

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Reservation worked perfectly, service was very good. Food was OK, but not great. But the price was too much for OK, the food should have been great. Of the four meals the side dish of baby kale with bacon was the best part.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Best pasta we’ve had linguine with ham and mushroom - and spaghetti with bread crumbles and roe - both great. Wine - Chianti was terrific. Very busy on a Sat night make reservations.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

This place has a good vibe - spacious room, busy, festive atmosphere. Great food. Wide range of prices. Romantic dining for two or group round-up works here. Still a fresh and novel experience despite being one of Portland’s older restaurants. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Everything from the food to the service was amazing! Great wine selection and charcuterie and the trout was delicious. This place always delivers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great place to eat amazing food, get the apple crisp!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great spot! Delicious, unique Italian cuisine! Great service!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Our waiter bent over backwards for us. Everything was served in a timely manner and exactly as we ordered. I love Nostranna and will be going more often, especially with friends. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Another wonderful meal at my favorite business lunch spot!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2017

This was our first visit to Nostrana after reading previous reviews. We made a reservation as recommended on their Web site. Having traveled/lived in Italy, we knew we'd be able to split the main course with so much good food between appetizers, sides, salads, soups, and dessert. Perfectly Italian thin crust which must be eaten with a fork and knife, the sauce was perfect not too sweet, not too salty, perhaps San Marzano tomatoes(?). We brought our 2 year old and the wait staff was wonderful with him. Our food came out on time and with the flow of our eating pace. The flavors are fresh and reminded me very much of our travels to Italy. We will be coming back and will be newly acquired regulars for Nostrana. Thank you for the wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2017

I always go to Nostrana for their salted - caramel budino. The rest of he meal was also excellent, good wine, pasta and nice salad, but the dessert is always my high point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Our overall experience was wonderful for celebrating our the-day-we-met anniversary. Counter seating was perfect for watching the chefs in the kitchen working their magic. Bar service was no different than table service, and food and drink was all delightful. Will always recommend Nostrana!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Dee-licious ! Dee-Vicious !Dee-licious !Dee-licious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Fantastic meal with wonderful service. A real gem of a place

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Delicious food, great service, beautiful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Highly recommend Nostrana the food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2017

this restaurant is our go to favorite for casual during the week and special occasions. Service is polished and elegant. Pizza is the best in Portland but all of the other dishes are outstanding.
I love their negronis and wines are VERY well thought out..

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2017

I love Nostrana, but the noise level is way too high, and whoever choses the music doesn't pay attention to what adults like.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Great food and service. Very nice ambience. We love bringing our guests here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Nostrana has always maintained consistent quality.
The Nostrana salad a radicchio based caesar salad has always been our favorite along with their pizzas.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2017

First time here and plan to return! Great space and the food was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2017

my favorite restaurant in portland. consistently fabulous!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Evening out with friends and family was a joy at Nostrana. The wait staff was attentive and the food was both tasty and well presented.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Best pizza in town. Always crowded so the noise can sometimes be bothering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Had people in from out of town and the food and service were really great. Had the Bistecca alla Fiorentina, an assortment of pastas and dessert. Really solid wine list and knowledgeable staff!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Sorry to report we did not like our meals very much. The pizza was bland and didnt care for the beef and pork ragu ,,nocci wasnt very good. Was very disappointed that on a Thursday no pasta was served. Way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Excellent, classic Italian cuisine, perfectly prepared every time, and noteworthy for its consistent and expert service. Outstanding wine list, mostly Italian (of course), and outstanding wine staff. Don't miss the butterscotch Budino for dessert, a national landmark. Comfortable dining room, but a bit noisy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Fantastic first visit - atmosphere, service & food were all outstanding. I look forward to returning.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

This was our family of 5's first time eating at Nostrana but it won't be our last. From the appetizer plate to the home-made gelato, everything was outstanding. We all ordered different entrees so everyone could sample. From the crab pizza to the shrimp pasta, to the trout all the dishes were exceptional. All the sauces were flavorful and rich complements to the dishes themselves. This restaurant is a winner.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Amazing food. The crab pizza and Nostrana salad were phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Really nice pastas. The salad we ordered came undressed, and they just brought out vinegar and oil. Just found it a little odd. I'm all for making salad at home, but I'd rather the restaurant bring me a ready to eat salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Absolutely superb delicious food. I had the best gnocchi I have ever eaten. Our out of town guests had similar ratings of their dishes. But not cheap....$300 + for four including two bottles of wine. Packed on a midweek day, reservation required.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

The butterscotch desert was amazing. Food would get a 5/5 but the pizza crush had a few too many burnt spots for my liking. But over all, was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

We had a very good time dining at Nostrana. The atmosphere was good, food was amazing, only wish they had a better wine list by the glass. When we came there, we thought it’s going to take at least 30 minutes for our food to come out, they were a bit busy, but it didn’t even take them 15 minutes, which was so nice because we were starving and ready to eat! We definitely will be back, this place is just that good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Always have good meals at Nostrana. One of my long time go-to's for a delicious meal out.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.