About Nostrana

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Nostrana - Literally "ours' - invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://www.nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15

Executive Chef:
Cathy Whims

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Smokey Rotisserie Chicken - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Radicchio Caesar Salad - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Drunken Pork with Polenta and Swiss Chard - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Nocino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Flatiron Steak - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Spaghettini - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Gigli Alla Diavola - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Alaskan Halibut - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Butterscotch Budino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Amaretto Cheesecake with Almond Praline and Chantilly Cream - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Morel, Crimini, and Coral Mushrooms with Fava Greens, Garlic and Lemon - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Spinach and Egg Fettuccine with Manilla Clams, English Peas, White Wine, Cream and Scapes - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Insalata Nostrana - Nostrana, Portland, OR
strozzapreti - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Tagliata - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Gnocchi - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Butterscotch Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce - Nostrana, Portland, OR
2011 Cameron Saignee Wine - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Goat Cheese Stuffed Pappardelle with Fava Beans, Cherry Tomatoes, Arugula and Chive Butter - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Cappuchino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Funghi Verde Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Netarts Bay Oysters  - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pizza Diavola - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Linguini With Bay Scallops - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Crab Bruschetta - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Caesar Salad - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pasta Mista - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Spaghetti Squash - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Porchetta - Nostrana, Portland, OR
House Made Bread - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Margharita Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Magherita Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Kale Salad With Pecorino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Sausage Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Charcuterie Board - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Funghi Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pan Roasted Halibut - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Polpettine Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Lamb - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Fried Squash Blossoms - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Orange-Pistachio Cheesecake - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Capalini With Meatballs And Poached Egg - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Marinara Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Insalata Mista - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Budino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Chicken - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Chilled Cream Corn Soup - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Overnight Roasted Cattail Creek Lamb - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pumpkin Cheesecake - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Seared Albacore - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Tuna Crudo - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Rhubarbarella - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Pizza Margherita - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Cappuccino - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Vanilla Gelato - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Salami pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Lamb Sugo - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Aged Steak - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Margarita Pizza - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Cheese Plate - Nostrana, Portland, OR
Fettucini With Marinara - Nostrana, Portland, OR

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (92)
Special Occasion (90)
Good for a Date (69)
See All
Notable Wine List (68)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Wood Oven (64)
Local Ingredients (55)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Authentic (42)
Good for Groups (36)
Open Kitchen (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Hot Spot (34)
Romantic (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Great for Lunch (30)
Casual (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Business Meals (26)
Fun (24)
Seasonal (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Cozy (18)
People Watching (17)
Family Style (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Healthy (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Organic (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Historic (4)
Tapas (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, excellent service. Food was d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 18 hours ago

As always, excellent service. Food was delicious . Love that lunch can be leisurely or, if in a hurry, in and out in an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nostrana lived up to their chefs 6 James ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Nostrana lived up to their chefs 6 James Beard award nominations. I'm not sure the food could have been better. I started with a spinach flan that had shaved truffle on top set in a parmesan sauce. I've not ever tasted anything like it. Decadent is the best word. Suffice it to say all 4 courses were excellent, along with the wine choice. I will be back to see what else Chef Cindy comes up with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

So good! Visited from Colorado for a wor ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

So good! Visited from Colorado for a work meeting/lunch and had an amazing vegan pizza. And the staff was very helpful storing my luggage during the meal. Thank you!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here was excellent. The portion ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food here was excellent. The portions were small, but that made us savor it all the more. We tried two pasta dishes and one pizza. My brother insisted on getting an egg on the pizza, and while I don't always like an egg on my pizza, this egg was phenomenal. Still thinking about it. The pasta was aldo great, especially the buckwheat tagliatelle.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We so much enjoyed Nostrana. It was a de ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We so much enjoyed Nostrana.

It was a delicious dinner, wonderfully served

skillfully prepared and thoughtfully presented--

everything about the evening was the very

best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times--it's our "go ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Have been here many times--it's our "go to" dining spot for consistently excellent food and civilized, but unpretentious dining. It's major drawback is that many many others obviously feel as we do, so you MUST plan well ahead to eat at a normal dinner time, or resign yourself to eating after 8:30 pm. Excellent pizza and mains. Don't miss their fruit crisp for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The BEST restaurant in Portland!(And I l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The BEST restaurant in Portland!(And I live in NYC)

I'm still in awe of this place:Beautiful, original, unique Italian dishes, and impeccable service= I give it a 5!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful birthday party Friday ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday party Friday night. The food was great and the sommelier found us a wonderful magnum for our party of 9. Stephanie was great and we had a special time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to make it to Nostrana at least on ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I try to make it to Nostrana at least once or twice a month to have their version of a ceasar salad and a libation or two.They make their salad with raddichio so it has a slightly different twist.They always have a great selection of appetizers -but use caution when ordering because the main courses are filling and you HAVE to save room for dessert.The bartenders are some of the best in Portland,they make a lot of their own bitters,and they have wall of spirits from all over the world.The menu changes daily,but there are always two or three pasta selections,a half dozen or more wood fired pizzas,painted hills beef,carlton farms pork, and draper fowl(nothing foul about their chicken)If you're really hungry you can even get a kilo. of steak-they claim it's for two-but if you're hungry a 2.2 lb. steak might be the ticket.I've been a regular for 11 or 12 years and some of the staff have been there most of the time.Don't let the James Beard connections scare you off,unlike some foodie destinations in our fair city-you get enough food without having to order three or four sides.It's never pretentious and always delicious-It's also a very good value (if you don't have too many cocktails)-but even if the libation cost is twice what you spend on food-You still get a wonderful experience and the staff will bend over backwards to make sure you're happy.If you like Prosciutto or Anchovies get a pizza-their salty fishes and pork are phenomenal. When you make it in-Smile at all the Happy Graybeards enjoying their food and a drink I'm probably one of them.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed our time here. The food was exce ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyed our time here. The food was excellent although we found the steak a little salty. Drinks were also excellent. Service was good a little noisy though.

All in all it was a great dinner with good friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is great, fresh and seasonal. Pasta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food is great, fresh and seasonal. Pasta was great, pork chop was sensational. Good pizza as appetizer. Service is outstanding - I had two infants with me and they accommodated our family really well. We went early in the evening to avoid the crowd, but still, the staff made all the effort to make us feel welcome.

Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Uneven meal at an old favorite. The good ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Uneven meal at an old favorite. The good: fantastic wine suggestion and always-good pizza. Disappointments: good but over-the-top salted, cheesed, dressed Nostrana salad, raw interior on the now $70 Florentine steak...and we like rare..., minuscule serving of cauliflower for a $9 contorni. And maybe the biggest disappointment of all was that while we were assured multiple times that the kitchen would provide a no-salt member of our party with options beyond steak and lettuce, even when questioned because we know the menu well, the options turned out to be steak and lettuce with oil and vinegar. Wouldn't have been so disappointed if we hadn't been assured otherwise.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were celebrating my sisters birthday, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were celebrating my sisters birthday, dinner was great, the place very fun with wonderful service!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nostrana is always good. Great food and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nostrana is always good. Great food and lengthy wine list. Service is the best I've ever experienced. Not cheap but so worth the price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, since they opened, we were rea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As usual, since they opened, we were really satisfied with their food last time we visited. Meat plate was EXCELLENT! Please keep the quality and variety. My son just went there a few weeks ago for a date, but he wanted to come back for his birthday with us and he ordered the same things!! Only one critique is that we all were cold. I hope that they heated the room a little bit more...

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been meaning to come try out Nost ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I have been meaning to come try out Nostrana and have only heard good things. I got the trout and really enjoyed the meal. It felt like a good size for lunch. I came with a large group to welcome a new coworker. We only had one hour for lunch and there were 7 of us. The staff was so accommodating and let us put in our order via phone earlier in the day and then fired the meal right when we got there so that we could enjoy a really nice meal but on a tighter timeline.

Thank you for taking care of the group. The food, was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I've never had a bad meal or experience ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I've never had a bad meal or experience here. The service is impeccable and attention to detail amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. Thank ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Thank you for taking reservations and also calling in advance to confirm. Nostrana will definitely be a regular spot!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice little find! It's in a little mall ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nice little find! It's in a little mall, with just a couple of other stores. Parking, we lucked out, but if you arrive late, may have to go to street parking. Service was excellent. They messed up the order, but communicated with us on the mishap. Manager came over, and even comp'ed our dessert. That's not why we liked it. Wife liked it because of the chutney on the charcuterie plate! We tried to buy some to take home, but it's made daily and DIFFERENT every time, so they needed to keep some for rest of the night (since charcuterie is a popular plate). Guess we'll just have to go back to try out the other chutney concoctions. We both had pasta. Mine was a light Capellini, and it was just right... light, but buttery and flavorful. Wife had a ragu pasta, and she said it was actually her favorite in town! (the other place she likes, the sauce is quite a bit heavier). Definitely worth a return visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Be sure to get the ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Everything was great. Be sure to get the seasonal crisp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I've just never had a home-run meal at N ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I've just never had a home-run meal at Nostrana. Each time I've been there, some part of the meal has been disappointing. This time, the funghi pizza was mushy and bland. Thankfully the radicchio salad was fabulous - from now on, I may stick just to that. Service was very good, though we made the mistake of ordering three glasses of a recommended wine that turned out to be $16/glass. Butterscotch budino was a rich finish that took the edge off of so-so pizza and expensive wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was so lovely, friendly, and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server was so lovely, friendly, and informative. Everything we got was delicious - Tagliata (steak), Nostrana salad, margherita pizza, trout, chicken, butterscotch pudding, and pumpkin pie. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for the pizza, but the rest of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came for the pizza, but the rest of the menu was too intriguing to ignore. A hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I've eaten rubber bands more tender than ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I've eaten rubber bands more tender than the octopus. The salad was served in a mixing bowl without dressing, later to have bottles of oil & vinegar dropped off. If I wanted to make my salad I would have stayed home. The flatiron was order medium and came out with hardly a sear and blue in the middle and was literally cold. Server dropped and ran, never to return. I attempted to try some of the cooked edges but was so salty I couldn't eat. Later picked up without a question as to why I didn't touch. Had a showtime to make so simply chalked it up to a busted meal. How this restaurant rates is beyond me. With so many great options in Portland I don't know how they keep up the charade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unfortunately it was not good all the wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Unfortunately it was not good all the way around. Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Portions could have been more substanti ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Portions could have been more substantial. Wait staff exceptional! Nice beverage offerings.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Each of our dishes was quite good, with ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Each of our dishes was quite good, with the exception of the Tiramisu which I did not finish. My Salumi pizze was spicy wonderful with the peppers they used. The rigatoni was very flavorful, although a small portion for the money. Service was very good, although I would prefer not having the wait person show up after each dish to ask how it was. That got annoying. As to the Tiramisu, it was a big disappointment. It was dry and the filling seemed like whipped cream- tasteless. For an Italian restaurant they need to do much better for such a signature dessert. On balance, Nostrana deserves the accolades, although the value proposition is out of whack- very expensive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Delightful cocktail and the best dessert ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Delightful cocktail and the best dessert ever. Had a really fun birthday dinner here, will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were great. My only ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food and service were great. My only complaint is that the restaurant was a bit chilly.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

What a wonderful restaurant with a very ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant with a very modern feel. The staff was so professional from making the reservation on Open Table and reconfirming to the service at the restaurant. The food knocked our socks off! At first reading the menu it was oh my goodness what are we doing here! Very different food pairings but every dish. And I mean every one from the pizza to pasta were phenomenal! We are from Bellevue WA. There is no place like this here. So yes we will be back to Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places in a city tee ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of our favorite places in a city teeming with amazing dining options. Great from drinks to dessert. The service is always top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu is extremely limited. Would prefer ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Menu is extremely limited. Would prefer a more choices, and the wine list does not have too many wines in the $50 category. It's either less than that or quite a bit higher. Not interested in spending $120 on a bottle of wine for a pizza or spaghetti dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous food, friendliest service even ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fabulous food, friendliest service even for a table of seven. Special drinks are a must,

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is fantastic and the food is ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service is fantastic and the food is absolutely delicious. The clam pizza is the best I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Introduced friends to Nostrana at lunch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Introduced friends to Nostrana at lunch on the way to the coast. As always, great food, great wine and service. Two new fans were created. Everything is so consistent with each visit.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beet salad was absolutely wonderful, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The beet salad was absolutely wonderful, and we looked forward to the rest of the meal. However, the pappardelle with lobster mushrooms tasted ok, but it seemed as if there had been a long time between preparation and its arrival at the table: what was supposed to be a creamy sauce actually just glued the pasta together.

We also had a pizza with cheese and pork/beef meatballs. Much of the pizza was soggy, and the meatballs were not especially tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food and service were exceptional, a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food and service were exceptional, as always. This has been a favorite of ours ever since it opened. We can always count on a superb meal with quality ingredients, and there's something for everyone on the menu. Be sure to order the fruit crisp for dessert - a generous serving, perfect for sharing.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard great reviews So we tried i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I had heard great reviews

So we tried it and had a wonderful experience

A little spendy but worth it

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this place! We came to visit my ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I loved this place! We came to visit my daughter who just moved to Portland 3 months ago and has found a lot of great places to eat. We wanted to take her to a place she hasn't tried yet and I found Nostrana's on OpenTable. What a great meal, great service and great Italian wine. We started with the Grilled Sea Scallops (which literally melt in your mouth) and the Spanish Octopus & Manila Clams (very delicious), then the best/unique salad I've ever had 'Insalata Nostrana', simple but very satisfying, last but not least the 'kilo' steak 'Bistecca alla Fiorentina' very tender and juicy, it was perfect ( my daughter ended up taking half of it home). We summed it up with an expresso and the four of us shared a wonderful Apple Crisp making this a unforgettable night out. Everything was so good we had to take a Margherita Pizza home to snack the next day. So skip lunch and go there hungry because there's a lot of tasty stuff going on in this place.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Wood Oven, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time in the area. Alt ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our first time in the area. Although a bit noisy ( Saturday night and packed ) we had a wonderful experience. The food and service were both excellent. We would certainly return or recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.