About Nostrana

1401 SE Morrison
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Nostrana - Literally "ours' - invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 234-2427

Website:
http://www.nostrana.com/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot and ample free street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-met bus line 15

Executive Chef:
Cathy Whims

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Smokey Rotisserie Chicken - Nostrana
Radicchio Caesar Salad - Nostrana
Drunken Pork with Polenta and Swiss Chard - Nostrana
Nocino - Nostrana
Butterscotch Budino - Nostrana
Flatiron Steak - Nostrana
Spaghettini - Nostrana
Gigli Alla Diavola - Nostrana
Alaskan Halibut - Nostrana
Amaretto Cheesecake with Almond Praline and Chantilly Cream - Nostrana
Morel, Crimini, and Coral Mushrooms with Fava Greens, Garlic and Lemon - Nostrana
Spinach and Egg Fettuccine with Manilla Clams, English Peas, White Wine, Cream and Scapes - Nostrana
Funghi Pizza - Nostrana
Pumpkin Cheesecake - Nostrana
Margharita Pizza - Nostrana
Overnight Roasted Cattail Creek Lamb - Nostrana
Charcuterie Board - Nostrana
Kale Salad With Pecorino - Nostrana
Sausage Pizza - Nostrana
Insalata Nostrana - Nostrana
strozzapreti - Nostrana
Tagliata - Nostrana
Gnocchi - Nostrana
Butterscotch Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce - Nostrana
2011 Cameron Saignee Wine - Nostrana
Goat Cheese Stuffed Pappardelle with Fava Beans, Cherry Tomatoes, Arugula and Chive Butter - Nostrana
Cappuchino - Nostrana
Funghi Verde Pizza - Nostrana
Netarts Bay Oysters  - Nostrana
Pizza Diavola - Nostrana
Linguini With Bay Scallops - Nostrana
Crab Bruschetta - Nostrana
Caesar Salad - Nostrana
Pasta Mista - Nostrana
Spaghetti Squash - Nostrana
Porchetta - Nostrana
House Made Bread - Nostrana
Magherita Pizza - Nostrana
Pan Roasted Halibut - Nostrana
Polpettine Pizza - Nostrana
Lamb - Nostrana
Fried Squash Blossoms - Nostrana
Orange-Pistachio Cheesecake - Nostrana
Capalini With Meatballs And Poached Egg - Nostrana
Marinara Pizza - Nostrana
Insalata Mista - Nostrana
Budino - Nostrana
Chicken - Nostrana
Chilled Cream Corn Soup - Nostrana
Seared Albacore - Nostrana
Tuna Crudo - Nostrana
Pizza - Nostrana
Rhubarbarella - Nostrana
Pizza Margherita - Nostrana
Cappuccino - Nostrana
Vanilla Gelato - Nostrana
Salami pizza - Nostrana
Lamb Sugo - Nostrana
Aged Steak - Nostrana
Margarita Pizza - Nostrana
Cheese Plate - Nostrana
Fettucini With Marinara - Nostrana

Nostrana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (177)
Special Occasion (129)
Neighborhood Gem (123)
See All
Notable Wine List (107)
Good for Groups (82)
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Great for Lunch (64)
Romantic (53)
Hot Spot (51)
Kid-friendly (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Authentic (24)
Late-night Find (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Wood Oven (23)
Open Kitchen (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
People Watching (12)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (10)
Seasonal (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Family Style (8)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a great restaurant, I have been com ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

What a great restaurant, I have been comming to Nostrana for a few years and have never been dissapointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level was the only drawback. Ever ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Noise level was the only drawback. Everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We couldn't have asked for a better even ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

We couldn't have asked for a better evening. Such a great spot. Everything from the ambiance to the food to the service was top notch!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very busy night, we had reserva ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was a very busy night, we had reservations, but still had to wait for a bit. The food was good but not for the price, very small portions. They do make a great cocktail, but you have to pay over 10 dollars for them, which is becoming the norm. I don't think I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

I have a son with anaphylaxis to dairy, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I have a son with anaphylaxis to dairy, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts. As you can imagine, dining out can be very difficult for us. We were celebrating a birthday and Nostrana was able to accommodate my son's food allergies. My son had a calamari appetizer, was able to eat the bread (which is never usually the case) and he had a pizza without the cheese. Nostrana also made my meal, flank steak and vegetables, free of his allergens so that he could nibble on my food as well. Dinner was delicious, the service was excellent and the food was safe for my son! It was a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After eight years decided to return. Was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

After eight years decided to return. Wasn't as good as I remember. Menu items were very unique and interesting. Service was lifeless. Young girl with no personality at all. My fav pizza came out rather soggy. No firewood flavor to speak of. Their signature apple cobbler was undercooked but did taste heavenly. I will return in the hopes it was just a bad day and late may I say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My husband and I had a lovely experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

My husband and I had a lovely experience at Nostrana. Our service was warm, attentive and professional; our meal, which included two starters, the 'straw and hay' pasta, the Tagliata steak and housemade nectarine sorbet were all delicious, refined, inventive, and executed expertly. We chose an excellent bottle of Corsican Rose-Gris to pair with our meal. Our evening was magical.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chef is a genius. We like every dish ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The Chef is a genius. We like every dishes we had. If we stayed in Portland for another day, we would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess is the worst part of the re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The hostess is the worst part of the restaurant despite this is the best Italian restaurant in Portland. They never have a warm greeting and always show cold faces. It always makes me wondering why they took the job If they are not able to smile. Today, again, at the door, my girlfriend and I were told right away by a ice cold hostess, that our table is already booked for 7:30pm, so it is implying we have to leave at 7:30pm??? Well, when does Nostrana start 2 hours policy?? Of course, the hostess's face is such unpleasantly arrogant.

By the way, our entree came at 7pm, we had to rush to finish the meal, and skipped deserts. The hostess kept checking on our table.

Food is very superb, waiters and waitresses are very attentive, however, the owner gotta think about their hostess. In such competitive service industry, especially in Portland, they have to train them to be a better image of Nostrana, not some girls play a snob at the door.

2 hours of dinner policy???? What is the manager thinking? Do the customers have a right to stay as long as they want without being intentionally pushed out?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We sat on the Patio and it was lovely! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We sat on the Patio and it was lovely! The service was excellent and the waitress recommendation were on pooint! I recommended 100%!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always top notch and the des ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food is always top notch and the desserts really worthwhile.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent and service prett ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was excellent and service pretty great. We had a little bit of a hard time with getting drinks in a timely fashion. It is pricey, but we all enjoyed our dishes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very beautiful decor. Good solid Italia ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very beautiful decor. Good solid Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nostrana always comes through with very ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Nostrana always comes through with very good food. Radiatori this week was excellent. We like to visit every couple of months to see what has chsged on yhe menu

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

No so noisy. There are plenty of better ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

No so noisy. There are plenty of better places to eat in Portland. The food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The best meal during our Portland visit. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The best meal during our Portland visit. Some of the simplest of foods tasted incredible. If we ever return to Portland it will be our first stop.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We have dined there before and found the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We have dined there before and found the food to be innovative and delicious but service was less than desirable. This time the food again was excellent and the service matched. Bravo!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Amazing happy hour, my favorite in Portl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing happy hour, my favorite in Portland! I've had spotty service here in the past, but our waitress this night was amazing. She mixed up our order at first, but was so professional and kind about it. We really liked her a lot! Pizza as always is the best.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!!! Ok, now that I got that out of th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

WOW!!!

Ok, now that I got that out of the way, Nostrana is my second favorite restaurant in PDX. Veritable Quandary is my top fav and it will take a lot for them to be dethroned, but Nostrana is breathing down their neck.

I dined on a Friday at 5:00 and their was a line to get in. Thank goodness I made reservations. Because I was towards the front of the line, I was able to snag a table outdoors and I was so happy as it was such a beautiful day. Even if I had to dine inside, they kept the doors open to allow for natural light and air, so it would have been just fine to dine indoors. By 5:30, every single seat was taken, so I highly suggest that you make reservations!

I am not a huge margarita fan, but the blackbeard intrigued me and after discovering that the rim is not decorated with salt, I went for it and it was so delish! One of the best margaritas that I have ever had.

There were so many dishes that caught my eye, but for a starter, I went for the granchio. The pizza was incredible and very thin, so I was not left with that disgusting full feeling.

I knew I could not indulge the entire dish of the Hawaiian blue prawn ravioli, so I took a few bites and saved the rest for the next day. This dish too was incredible.

For dessert, I ordered the chocolate budino and it was to die for! All of the reviews for this delectable dessert are spot on. On the menu, they also have salted caramel budino; although, they are both called budino, the chocolate budino is more of a pudding like flourless cake and the salted caramel is more like a true pudding.

Lia T was my waitress and she was great and very attentive.

The food was very fresh and you could taste the freshness with every bite. There is a reason that the chef has been nominated six times for the illustrious James Beard award. If Nostrana is not on your list, I suggest that it takes the top spot...pronto!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We always appreciate the consistently re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We always appreciate the consistently reliable great service and, of course, the food which is always delicious. Nostrana is our go-to favorite.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a later reservation but got done ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had a later reservation but got done earlier so we stopped in and asked if we could be seated earlier. The staff were great they ste able to seat us early. Our waiter was one of the best we have ever had and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was presented beautifully and w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food was presented beautifully and was cooked to perfection. Service could have been more attentive and wine was very pricey. Overall, though a good dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

excellent meal, our friends had been wan ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

excellent meal, our friends had been wanting to eat there and we had a reservation. their previous tries had been without a reservation and they did not get seated. so, make a reservation about 2 weeks in advance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very patient and generous!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The staff was very patient and generous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A long time favorite! The menu gets cha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A long time favorite! The menu gets changed up regularly, and features seasonal dishes. They have a brick, wood-fired oven and make a yummy pizza (as well as other things in the oven). Noise can be a problem inside if you want to have conversation... Outside is lovely in the right weather.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was seated right away with our reservati ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Was seated right away with our reservation and had hoped that the same service was continued, but it was not. Wait staff assigned was terrible. Had to ask for water, had to ask for bread twice. Our cheese plate came with TWO crackers for 4 people. The Nostrana salad was very tasty but main entrees were below average. My chèvre pasta dish was cold and my wife's flank steak was overdone. They were aware we were celebrating a birthday which was mentioned when we sat down but forgotten about until we paid the check, it was then they brought a rooster candle out? No small complimentary dessert or anything special abt the meal. With the competition in Portland, we definitely won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We had poor service that included an imp ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had poor service that included an impatient server, cold food and over an hour wait for our entrees. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Our service and the knowledge of the wai ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our service and the knowledge of the waiter was excellent. We enjoyed very much the lovely evening. Great fresh pasta, the charcuterie and the Nostrana salad were excellent as well.

Delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best authentic Italian food in US. You'd ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best authentic Italian food in US. You'd have to go to Italy for better

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 52 anniversary. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were celebrating our 52 anniversary. They accommodated the occasion with flowers and a table that afforded us both privacy and the wonder ambience. Our sever was gracious and delightful and acknowledged our special day the the Anniversary Rooster candle. A memorable evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb take on the less traditional side ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Superb take on the less traditional side of Italian cooking by a chef often cited by the James Beard award as well as being a winner. Excellent individual wood fired pizza's as well. They take full advantage of the Oregon farm to market potentials. Great cocktails, wine and beer on tap.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. High noise level is ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great restaurant. High noise level is the only criticism.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were fortunate to receive a gift cert ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were fortunate to receive a gift certificate to Nostrana We had no high expectations of the restaurant, except that it had received many high culinary honors. The results are in - a restaurant we will return many times over for the food and service.

From the Nostrana salad to the tasty gnocchis and the wine pairings everything was perfect. The service was par excellent and all the servers flowed seamlessly in their recommendations and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great place to celebrate my dea ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

It was a great place to celebrate my dear friend's birthday. The food was delicious and the service was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our House of Portland makes Nostrana the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our House of Portland makes Nostrana their go-to place for many business meetings. Great food, great service, great ambiance, easy parking. Thanks!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from North Carolina and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were visiting from North Carolina and Nostrana was recommended to us for dinner. We were so happy we dined there! Great food and service. Eclectic crowd, excellent wine selection, and fun atmosphere. I would go back in a minute and recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nostrana always puts quality food made w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Nostrana always puts quality food made with local ingredients on the table. Always incredibly delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here to celebrate a birthday, an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were here to celebrate a birthday, and we thoroughly enjoyed the food, the service, and the ambiance. The food was fresh, flavorful, and each dish exceeded our expectations. Service was excellent. The Insalata Nostrana was marvelous. The sage mini croutons were the perfect concluding touch. What fun watching the pizza lovingly made from a distance. We were so happy to be there for the last night of their blackberry crisp. We all love that Nostrana teams with small farmers. The freshness and favors cannot be topped. We'll come again!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine at Nostrana as often as possible ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We dine at Nostrana as often as possible. Never disappointed. A little pricey but worth it

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was very good. The no ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food and service was very good. The noise level was not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.