Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About North Pond

Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.

2610 North Cannon Drive
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person. Please contact the restaurant should you have further questions.

Cross Street:
Lakeview & Deming

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 477-5845

Website:
http://www.northpondrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $13 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.

Public Transit:
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)

Executive Chef:
Bruce Sherman

Private Party Facilities:
North Pond provides one of the most distinctive settings in the city for private social and business events. Our Lincoln Park location offers stunning views of Chicago’s dramatic skyline. We offer an inclusive evening for your special occasion, complete with a seasonal four-course dinner

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Labun: (773) 477-5845

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate the ladies in your life on Mother's Day at North Pond. We'll offer a wonderful three course brunch, $85 per adult and $40 per child. Reservations will be available from 10:00am-5:00pm. We look forward to seeing you soon!

North Pond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (39)
Special Occasion (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Scenic View (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Cozy (24)
Tasting Menu (22)
Seasonal (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Waterfront (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fireplace (16)
Historic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Organic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Healthy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
2859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Most consistent restaurant in Chicago for excellent meal. Great ingredients, great staff, great ambiance, great chef. The best Chicago has to offer!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Prairie-centered dining experience that honestly presents that "earth to plate" (farm-to-table) Midwest sensibility to its seasonal tasting menu and a la carte dishes amidst the gorgeous rendering of Arts & Crafts interiors that perfectly complement the idyllic nature sanctuary punctuated by the city skyline in its exterior. Its Michelin star rating sufficiently justifies the exemplary manifestation of the attentive service, most particularly the way the reservationist empathized with our last minute cancelation due to a medical situation by offering to apply the $25 per person cancellation fee towards a voucher for future use. When we finally decided to pursue our dinner birthday celebration for a late evening seating, they were more than pleased to accommodate us and information may have been conveyed across the board as our server acknowledged our medical emergency and glad that we were still able to join for a later seating. They offered a complimentary first round of bubbly. They wowed us with the personalized birthday menu and, with the chef's compliments, added two bonus courses on the five course tasting menu. And it doesn't end there. Our server culminated our dinner by bringing a dessert plate with a single lighted candle with the birthday greeting written in chocolate (in Arts & Crafts font no less) on the plate. We were finally given the personalized menu signed by Chef Bruce Sherman along with a copy of some interesting trivia on the restaurant's history which were all thoughtfully enclosed in a brown envelope. And did I mention that they enclosed a little packet of seedlings on the bill folder as another souvenir of a featured ingredient in tonight's dinner? Compared to the competitive price point of tasting menus and cancelation fees in other Michelin-star rated Chicago restaurants, North Pond honestly, while being devoid of snobbishness, caters to that Midwest sensibility that go gentle into your pocketbook. It is Prairie perfected!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and lively yet cozy atmosphere. Went out of their way for the birthday we were celebrating (customized the menu and dessert).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of the best overall meals we have had in Chicago. Certainly the best meal in recent memory. We had the tasting menu as well as the wine pairing and both were executed flawlessly. I have nothing but great things to say about the service and ambiance as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Tasting menu was excellent. Great for those who are experimental. Beautiful setting, fabulous service and the perfect spot for our special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food is exquisitely prepared and visually breathtaking! Each course was fantastic: sardine and endive salad - gorgeous and tasty, venison with various treats for the tongue, bass with fennel and pumpkin seed to delight, and more. Service is prompt and accurate without being in your face.
Great attention is given to dietary needs (we are both gluten intolerant). A birthday celebrated there was amply attended to in a subtly festive spirit. Wine list is varied and contains a little of everything: local, small batch houses, far-reaching 'famous' labels, and everything in between. Note for gluten intolerants: You won't find much in the dessert area other than the requisite ice cream/sorbet options.
This is a fabulous destination for a romantic night out or a group of foodie friends looking to finally check out that restaurant in Lincoln Park.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A beautiful romantic location and I love the creativity of the Chef but felt that the food experience was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very lovely facility and setting, very gracious service - given its Michelin star, the food was a little disappointing, not bad just a little ordinary. May have been because their preparations for brunch have become a little routine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Venison was fantastic as was the foies gras. The only misstep was the server who appeared to be relatively new.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service in the restaurant was outstanding.

Getting a cab with the valet was terrible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food is exquisitely prepared and presented. The dishes are works of art.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

North Pond is always top notch. I go at least once a year.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food, but we were chilly... couldn't get warm throughout the whole meal. Be careful to sit nowhere near the entrance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Definitely one of the best spot for a dinner date. This was my first time ever in Chicago, my date and I was very happy with the service, food and ambience. We had the 5 course meal and it was delicious. I will definitely go back to this restaurant when I'm back in Chicago. Amazing experience for sure.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Sunday brunch was our first visit to North Pond. An eclectic and interesting menu of options - not your usual brunch menu - yet all delicious - many good options to choose from and great presentation of meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Incredible dining experience.
Food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Heard many great things about this place. My wife brought me for my birthday. Nice adult dinner date only to have some idiots at the next tablebring their 4 year old with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Testing menu was excellent. Staff treated us very well. Group of six. Great views. Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

North Pond never disappoints. Chef Sherman's menu is creative and delicious. The wines available by the glass are interesting and well thought out. The setting is beautiful and welcoming. A Chicago classic!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

North Pond strikes a nice balance between modern, adventurous and hearty, satisfying cuisine. It was one of the first restaurants in Chicago to offer a seasonal farm-to-table menu. The restaurant consistently delivers first-rate food and service in the most beautiful setting in Chicago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This restaurant is special. Easy to be intimate, to get lost in great conversation, it fosters romance... Beautiful space, lovely food, thoughtful service...I cannot recommend it enough.

Thank you for making our night one to remember, North Pond.

Tags: Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A favorite place in Chicago, we always come here when we're in town. The food and ambience are unsurpassed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Staff was really nice but a few were annoyingly timid. We tried the tasting menu and the majority of the dishes were mediocre at best, considering the price, the dishes were horrible. The beef plate was the only dish worth eating. I'd suggest sticking to the main menu if you go, but I would never go again.

This restaurant is not worth an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

First too had to get to. Second too noisy, third food just ok. On the plus side the service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Incredible...as always.Food /Chef are World Class.
Fantastic staff.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was decent, but $300+ for 2 people with a few drinks. Yikes. It wasn't that good. Sorry for the honesty. Interior is becoming dated.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was really excited for the view and made my Valentine's reservations months in advance. The restaurant was basically empty when we arrived (we had an early brunch reservation) and yet we were seated in a freezing cold section with no other business, far from the view. I should have said something, but I thought I had requested a seat with a view on open table and thought maybe a big party was coming in that made reservations before I did. The food was beautiful, but the freezing temperature and crappy seating ruined the mood. On the way out we passed plenty of open seats in the sunny front room. Not quite worth the price unless you are getting the prime seating. Would definitely give it another go in Spring or Summer.

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall pleased with the food. Was disappointed with one of the second courses of brunch. Service was terrible. The wait staff who clears tables and refills water was very attentive, but our actual waiter never stopped to check on us once after ordering. We had to wave him down to order a second round of drinks and to ask for th check. He never once inquired about our food or if we were happy with our orders.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant is located in a beautiful location surrounded by water and trees. This hidden gem has food that just melts in your mouth. With its excellent wine pairing and great service, the overall experience is something worth going to every time.
Natalie, the manager, was awesome in helping planning our special occasion and everything was delivered spot on!
Would love to go there many times in the future

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Such a wonderful place for a special occasion. Not only a beautiful location, but impeccable service and delicious food. Was recommended a great and unique bottle of wine from the sommelier, and we both enjoyed our meals tremendously. Cannot wait to come back in a different season.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great service, great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

FANTASTIC night! Made early arraignments to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was SO perfect in helping us celebrate and the meal was out of this world. HIGHLY recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went here for the prix fixe Sunday brunch with some friends. The service was wonderful, it was nice and quiet, and the view is simply amazing. The food was very good and diverse, the presentation was excellent. At $35 dollars per person, it was a great value. I look forward to eating here again.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is an excellent location for warm weather dining. It's in the middle of the park with beautiful park and city views.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The staff was nice. The food wasn't good...at all!
Four of us went and no one liked their appetizer or main dish. We ordered a pizza on the way home.
Never again will we go back. I will strongly in courage people to not go.
Sorry chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Chicago. Fantastic food, location, arts and crafts ambiance, city (and bird) views.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a three-course brunch at North Pond. The menu was very interesting. The food was wonderful. The amount of each course is very adequate. (not too small, not too much)
In summer evening, it would be a wonderful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

By far the most unique food experience I have ever had. If you want to try dishes that contain flavors you have never experienced, this is the place! North Pond is incredibly classy, I took my boyfriend there for his birthday and they called me the day before my reservation to confirm and to check if we were coming for a special occasion. When we arrived they took our coats and sat us right away, the menu said my boyfriends name and happy birthday, we were served an extra appetizer complimentary of the chef as well as truffles before leaving. The dessert plate also said my boyfriends name and happy birthday! Wine list is very expensive, don't expect to buy a bottle under $50, but an amazing place overall! We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Every time we dine at North Pond, it never disappoints!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had the seasonal tasting menu with wine pairings and it was magnificent. Every course was interesting, very creative and tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.