About North Pond

2610 North Cannon Drive
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person. Please contact the restaurant should you have further questions.

Cross Street:
Lakeview & Deming

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 477-5845

Website:
http://www.northpondrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $13 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.

Public Transit:
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)

Executive Chef:
Bruce Sherman

Private Party Facilities:
North Pond provides one of the most distinctive settings in the city for private social and business events. Our Lincoln Park location offers stunning views of Chicago’s dramatic skyline. We offer an inclusive evening for your special occasion, complete with a seasonal four-course dinner

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Labun: 7734775845x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate mousse, butter puff pastry, banan-rum sorbet, caramelized bananas, passion dots, walnuts - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Taffy apple bombe, caramel crémeux, apple butter, pecan feuilletine, granny smith sorbet, sugar tuile - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Braised pheasant, socca crêpe Napoleon, spiced yogurt, pomegranate fruit and gel, olives, radicchio - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Pumpkin spiced kabocha tartelette, cinnamon cream, cranberry purée, sage sherbet, candied orange - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Rosemary-crusted Great Lakes whitefish, brandied butternut squash, Bosc pears, cassis, pumpkin seeds - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Earl grey tea bavarian, white chocolate, satsuma sorbet and jam, rosemary cake croûtes, almonds - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Coffee Cake - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Creamy scrambled eggs, guanciale, quince jam crouton, cipollini, broccoli, mushroom, parmesan - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Warm cauliflower-apple veloute soup, peekytoe crab cake, green apple boules, purple caulfilower - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Chilled smoked Arctic char, red, gold, chioggia beets, ruby grapefruit, fennel, horseradish crème, filberts - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Wisconsin rainbow trout, baby carrots, maple farro, carrot pudding, kalettes, black garlic, pignoli - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Wild Alaskan Copper River Sockeye salmon, charred carrots, cherry semolina, candied beets, citrus snap peas puree, tendrils - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Cracker jack and candied apple ice creams, Juipter grape sorbet, s'mores macarons, peanuts caramel corn - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Basil French macarons, ancho chile chocolate truffles, brunch mignardises - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Gold and green zucchini crostada, caramelized onions, sheep milk feta, olive tapenade, nectarines (brunch) - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Chilled Gulf shrip, basil watermelon, avocado mousse, crisp potato hay, soy lacquer (brunch) - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Great Lakes whitefish, oil-poached heirloom tomato, charred fairytale eggplant, spinach ,Viadlia syrup, house-cured pork (brunch) - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Endive Frisee Salad with cabernet onions, cheese souffle and caramelized walnuts - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Foie Gras, Cranberry Assorted Appetizer - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Seared duck breast, braised thigh-stuffed dates, chickpeas, cucumbers, olives, spring onions, almonds - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Apples, Oatmeal, Pomegranate, Chicory Ice Cream, Stout Cake - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Mignardises - pear pate de fruit and ancho chile chocolate truffles - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Grilled wild striped bass, chorizo spiced garbanzos, leeks, black olive-orange blossom panisse, fennel, dates, Marcona almonds - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Brown butter Mutsu apples, rosemary cake, smoked olive oil sorbet, candied pecans, bourbon caramel and espuma - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Amuse bouche - strawberries, ricotta and onion flatbread - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Little gem romaine, pea tendrils, warm cornmeal English pea cake, orange and red carrots, prosciutto, spiced pecans salad - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Lemon cake, braised blueberries, brown butter ice cream, bluberry gel, candied pecans, dessert brunch - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Duck - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Mignardise – Cinnamon peach pâte de fruits, dark chocoalte bouchons with lime sea salt - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Meyer lemon custard pudding with strawberries and almonds - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Wild Pheasant Breast and Confit Leg with Apples, Cauliflower and Sage Strada - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Sunnyside hen egg, cinnamon pork-chanterelle gallette, bell pepper romesco sauce, parsley salad, pickled radish - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Intermezzo - fennel sorbet, pomegranate, pistachio, pine nuts, almonds, black olive streusel, orange blossom - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Baby spinach, radicchio, sheep milk ricotta-rye napoleon, delicata, pomegranate syrup, pumpkin seeds, fennel sausage - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Candied gold, chioggia and red beets, Maine lobster, heart of palm, orange, key lime, pistachio granola, mojito gelée - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Pan-browned Scottish pheasant breast, rosemary bratwurst, potato-celeriac pavé, spinach, cranberries, sorghum - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Zucchini Bread - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Amuse bouche - pear soup, almond tuille, blue cheese mousse and poached pears - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Chocolate-glazed espresso mousse, peanut pudding, banana ginger sorbet, candied peanuts, chocolate cake crisps - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Line-caught East Coast cod, pretzel spaetzle, honey mustard crème fraîche, Brussels sprouts, skrumpy, dill, pomegranate. - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Kabocha Squash Cutlet (Vegetarian) - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Mousse - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Pear, Cinnamon - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Warm carrot fennel soup, poached Gulf shrimp, carrout couscous, herbs, pumpernickel - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Steamed Alaskan halibut, bacon-sahlot quinoa, wild ramps, mint-pistachio pesto, aromatic broth - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Key lime tartelette, ginger-brown butter cookie crumb, toasted Swiss meringue, coconut, cacao nibs - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Poached Shrimp with Carrots Cous Cous - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Salmon - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Artichoke Soup - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Lemon Cream Tart - North Pond, Chicago, IL
smoked arctic char - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Torte With Avocado - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Autumn Trifle: Caramelized Apples, Vanilla Mousse, Cider Emulsion  - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Pecan Tart With Cinnamon Creme Anglaise, Brown Butter Ice Cream With Brown Sugar Streusel - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Satsuma Sorbet, Meyer Lemon And Chocolate Soil - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Black Pepper Hanger Steak And Oxtail Ravioli - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Lobster Consomme With Peekytoe Crab - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Pot de Creme - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Chocolate, Peanut Butter - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Cacao nib coconut cookies with tea - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Assorted appetizers, hors d'eouvres: trout rillettes on hazelnut macarons and rabbit mousse - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Beet Salad - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Soft Farm Egg with Potato and Alliums - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Artcic Char, Lemon Cream Cheese, Red Onion Marmalade And English Muffin - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Short Ribs, Andouille Sausage, Pears And Charred Shrimp - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Hiramasa, Heart Of Palm Salad - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Scallop, Pear - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Grass Fed Beef, Farro - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Foie Gras, Pineapple - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Grilled Berkshire Loin, Andouille, Croustillante, Garlic Scape Mashed Potatoea,  Rainbow Chard, Caramelized Figs - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Sheep's Milk Ricotta Citrus Cheesecake, Fennel Crumb, Blueberry Sorbet And Compote, Lemon Verbena Emulsion - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Gazpacho, Parmesan Foam, Watermelon Gelee - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Foie Gras, Almond Pancake, Poached Apricot, Vidalia Onion Vanilla Puree - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Candied Beets, Beet Sorbet, Smoked Trout Mousse, Hazelnut Macaroon - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Fois Gras Appetizer - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Monkfish and Leeks - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Seared Foie Gras With Strawberries And Turnips - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Ancho Chili Crusted Pork Tenderloin With Bing Cherries And Basil Rilette - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Rabbit 3 Ways With Carrots And Peas - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Lime Tart With Black Sesame And Meringue - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Egg, Pastry - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Gnocchi, Shrimp - North Pond, Chicago, IL
Strawberry, Rhubarb - North Pond, Chicago, IL

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for a festive and deliciously seasonal evening of celebration this New Year's Eve! We will be offering a 7-course tasting menu for $135 with optional wine pairings at $65 per person. Reservations are available from 5-10 pm. We look forward to ringing in the New Year with you!

North Pond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Chicago
Special Occasion
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Special Occasion (63)
Scenic View (52)
Romantic (47)
See All
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for a Date (37)
Seasonal (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Cozy (26)
Tasting Menu (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Waterfront (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Historic (14)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (8)
Fireplace (7)
Organic (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love North Pond-- wish the brunch menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

I love North Pond-- wish the brunch menu was more generic however

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved the atmosphere and the ambiance ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved the atmosphere and the ambiance of this restaurant. Something not always easy to find in Chicago, is a quiet, quaint location, that feels special.. Loved the location in Lincoln Park, loved the walk to the restaurant. The food was very unusual, but delicious.. A special evening..

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistently the best table in Chicago. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently the best table in Chicago. Great chef, great food, great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent, as always. This was our third ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent, as always. This was our third visit to North Pond - the food, service and atmosphere are excellent - warm, cozy, inciting and delicious. Treat yourself to North Pond!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For me the best Restaurant. We took a fl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

For me the best Restaurant. We took a flight from Europe to the Chicago to celebrate in this great place in Lincoln Park. And this not for the first time.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we're in Chicago, we always dine at ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

When we're in Chicago, we always dine at North Pond. The tasting menu is always creative, interesting, and the food is outstanding! We have dined at many Michelin star restaurants and North Pond may very well be the best in the country. Terrific dining experience, fresh food, interesting flavors, and great ambience with exceptional views. A must for foodies.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very disappointing. lovely place, very n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

very disappointing. lovely place, very nice people, but the cuisine miscellaneous and incoherent. lots of random bits and pieces on the plate and a tendency to mushiness. The amuse bouche prophetic: lots of separate textures and tastes, but unclear what it was. Desserts superior--the same cumulative style but more effective, crisper execution. fine mignardises fruit paste and truffle. fine wine list.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Outstanding, innovative food. Fantastic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding, innovative food. Fantastic environment, except do not sit near the cold walls.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Brunch at North Pond is a culinary delig ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Brunch at North Pond is a culinary delight. We reserve it for special occasions!!!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our third visit to North Pond in about 1 ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our third visit to North Pond in about 10 years was the best yet. It just keeps getting better.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal at North Pond was a definite fin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My meal at North Pond was a definite fine dining experience. The ingredients and textures in salad, main course and desserts were creative and delicious. The selections offered were ones prepared by thoughtful chefs. As a personal touch, each menu included a Happy Birthday greeting for our birthday guest which was very thoughtful. The wait staff was attentive and willing to answer questions about menu items.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little disappointing, sadly. We were c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A little disappointing, sadly. We were celebrating our anniversary and flew in from out of town. I let the restaurant know that in advance and asked for a special table, which we did not receive. That set a poor tone for the night. The first course was a beef/oyster tartare and I'm pretty sure the oyster was bad. It tasted awful. We hardly touched that course but no one asked why. They just cleared the plates. The rest of the meal was decent, with some definite highlights, but we had such a poor start it was hard to recover. Not to mention that a couple (seated by the window with a view!) was coughing up phlegm all night like they had the plague. It was really disgusting and ruined the ambiance for us. Of course that isn't the restaurant's fault...just another reason we were bummed about the whole experience. We wanted a special night and came away disappointed. We eat out at very nice restaurants regularly and this just didn't make the grade. We would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We enjoyed our Anniversary dinner at Nor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We enjoyed our Anniversary dinner at North Pond.

The foods have very complex/interesting flavors and textures, and they use a lot of ingredients that I wouldn't have ever thought to pair together. It's definitely great for foodies. We really enjoyed it from the food experience perspective.

The service staff was excellent and knowledgeable.

My only gripe was with the bar. The wines are great, but for the price that you'll pay for dinner here, I expected the caliber of the cocktails to match the caliber of the food. By that I mean creativity in flavor in complexity. I ordered an old fashioned and it was watered down and used regular ice cubes which waters down the bourbon even more. If I'm dropping some good coin for dinner, I have high expectations on cocktails as well. (Especially in a city like Chicago that has some fantastic cocktail bars.) Perhaps most everyone there gets wine, in which case the bar doesn't have to be as solid.

The desert was excellent (a must have), and they gave these complementary after dinner parting deserts... The truffles were epic.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our fourth time at North Pond, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our fourth time at North Pond, and sadly, it disappointed. On a Friday night it was only about a third full which was surprising, I sincerely hope that the place is not considered to be going downhill. We ordered the foie gras which was meager for $18 but excellent. Our salads were very good as well - a greens one for me and a fall-themed one with squash for my spouse . But the entree we chose, a grouper for $38, just didn't work. A tiny 2 oz or so piece of fish inundated with "stuff" like pearl onions, nuts, a smear of some green stuff on the side, and I can't remember what else, just overwhelmed it. (To add to that when we ordered we mentioned we were sharing the entree the server apologetically informed us that the restaurant must charge us a "plate fee" of $5. I don't mind that if they split it in the kitchen, but at this restaurant they don't. So this fee amounts to a penalty for not ordering 2 entrees). In my opinion this is inexcusable. Our final bill with an excellent bottle of French wine was $200 before tip, an amount which in my opinion simply did not justify what we had. No dessert, but we did enjoy some excellent ports. I can not recommend North Pond any more for the food, but the building itself is beautiful, the service was excellent and it is a fun experience. I hope they can remedy the food situation.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

First time here, but I'll be back ! Won ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time here, but I'll be back !

Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to adore North Pond but it reall ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We used to adore North Pond but it really didn't deliver what we had come to expect from it. Too many gelees and poorly executed elements, off temperatures, and overall monotony. Wonderful service but unimagined concepts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

This resturant was so wonderful all arou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This resturant was so wonderful all around. You can't beat the food, service & view. The food was so creative. Very memorable! I will absolutely come back.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner with friends w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends who were in from Singapore. The Prairie style architecture, history of the building, cozy atmosphere and the fantastically and creatively prepared food made this a special night. Well worth it for a special evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic! Attentive service, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Attentive service, fabulous food, lovely atmosphere! An unmatched delight!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect choice to celebrate our 30th Wed ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Perfect choice to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Both of our dishes were delicious and our waitress was fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say I was disappointed. I had bee ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I must say I was disappointed. I had been looking forward to dining here. I was with 3 others and we opted for the tasting menu & wine pairing. Every course was beautifully presented but was very unusual combination of textures & flavors.it seemed as if the chef was just trying to see how many ingredients he could get in each course. The wine selections were unusual, with several being very sweet and not a good match for the dish. I have had many tasting menu dinners and this was my least favorite. I probably won't return and will not tell anyone it's a must. On a positive note, the server was very knowledgeable and the building is lovely. In the summer, the setting would be fabulous for an outdoor dining experience

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent dinning environment and good f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent dinning environment and good food with wine!

Good location with a pond and park nearby and nice night scrapers.

Also, friendly service and professional introduction of each dish is important!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at many fining dining estab ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I have eaten at many fining dining establishments all over the world and this one was THE best. I had the tasting menu with the wine pairing. The variety of flavors and textures in each and every dish was unique, so interesting, and simply out of this world using fresh and local ingredients which were seasonal. Such a cozy ambiance in an old warming house within a park, updated in a Craftsman style. Beautiful view on the pond in Lincoln park makes it perfect for a date. Cheers to the chef and staff for 5 stars all around.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place always delivers. Creative men ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This place always delivers. Creative menu, well prepared in a terrific atmosphere. You need to be open to some interesting food pairings that you may not have had before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was one of the most creative and in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was one of the most creative and interesting menus we have come across. Simply remarkable and unforgettable!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was splendid, the dishes were b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was splendid, the dishes were beautiful and the service was one the best I ever experienced : friendly, efficient and discrete.

A perfect evening.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience!!!! Not only would ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent experience!!!! Not only would I come back but I've already recommended North Pond to friends.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and we were surprised how ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food and we were surprised how good the service was. Excellent wine list and we even had enough room for a scrumptious dessert.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved visiting North Pond! We enjoyed th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Loved visiting North Pond! We enjoyed the chefs tasting menu accompanied by the wine pairings. Amazing! I was able to try some new things I'd never had before and felt confident in the chef to do so. A fun adventure! I will definitely be back! They definitely live up to their James Beard award! I may make a reservation before the sun sets so I can enjoy the outdoor views!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

North pond is a gorgeous arts and crafts ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

North pond is a gorgeous arts and crafts building overlooking a lovely pond in A park north of Chicago- great view of the city skyline in the distance. Food matches perfectly: nuanced; perfectly cooked and gorgeously presented. Highlights? Monkfish; duck; black cod; sea bass. Flavor profiles and textures are highlighted. Great choices for your 3 course Sunday Brunch-- and at $35 per person, great value. However: be careful when making reservations-- if you cancel less than 48 hours before your reservation, the charge is a steep $25 per person!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was creative, unique, and absol ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was creative, unique, and absolutely delicious. Sunday brunch (3 course menu) was worth the value. They staff were friendly. There's a lovely view of the pond.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the restaurant and we were ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

First time at the restaurant and we were disappointed. This was a lovely location and the building and dining rooms were beautiful. We were a party of 2 on a busy Saturday night but the service was way too slow, even after the dining room was 80% empty after 10 PM. We ordered the tasting menu of 5 courses and waited 10-15 minutes between each course. We spent over 2 hours at the table and only about spent about 20 minutes eating. We are not fast eaters. The portions were small, which wasn't a problem for us, but it meant it didn't take long to eat the 10-20 bites required to finish each dish, even pausing to savor each bite. We had the wine pairings, which were interesting and thoughtful.

The dishes ranged from excellent to incoherent. The preparation was uniformly superb but there were many flavors on each plate and a few dishes seemed more a hodgepodge than unified. I'm sure the menu changes regularly so maybe we were unlucky. Perhaps a la carte would be a better way to go, though my wife and I usually find the chef can shine in a tasting menu. Not so much here.

The server was very nice and knowledgable and everyone in the room was professional. No mention was made to us of the long time between courses so this must have been the norm. Sorry to say we would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The food is absolutely sublime. You'll ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food is absolutely sublime. You'll get flavor contrasts and combinations here that can be found in very few restaurants. Service is flawless and friendly, but pricey; especially if you're having wine with dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hostess pretentious/rude Came from out o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Hostess pretentious/rude

Came from out of town party of 2 asked to be seated with my friend who had a party of 6 scheduled 6pm. Made us wait 30 min in order to occupy an empty table adjacent to my friend.

More important: food poor, not deserving of a "Michelin star". Amateur-ish, the garnishes of the foie gras course shouldn't be more voluminous than the main...

Salad not tasty. My wife not able eat salad-- too much salt (amateur error) among others!

Not at all recommended, although the location was attractive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

As always, inventive, locally sourced fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

As always, inventive, locally sourced food, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented, in a perfect setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have never been disappointed with the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have never been disappointed with the North Pond experience. The food is innovative, the atmosphere is friendly and comfortable, and the setting is one of the best in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining experience very uneven, the menu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dining experience very uneven, the menu is pre set yet some tables received extra courses at brunch- the food while, very thoughtful, was also uneven. The first course was very good. Our party had the shrimp salad, soup and pasta. The second not so good. We had the trout and pork, nothing special. The final course was also uneven.

We had the buttermilk pancake with rosemary ice cream, the pancake was dreadfully dry but the ice cream was wonderful! The service made us feel as though we were lucky to be there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My wife and I were celebrating our weddi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The seating arrangement, and personal touches that the establishment put forth were very touching. We appreciated the efforts to recognize our special occasion for the brunch time. This includes our own personalized brunch menu with "Happy Anniversary" which included our names, and got to take home with us! Our waiter "Scott" was spot on with his service and attention for our meal. We noticed all the waiters were very attentive to their tables and surrounding tables. Each choice of the brunch menu was explained and presented in wonderful fashion. For our first choice of dining in Chicago during our vacation we could not have picked a better place to start. Not to mention we will surely return. Thanks for making our special day even better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a place for anyone with nut allergie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not a place for anyone with nut allergies.

We registered "no nuts" when we arrived.

We wanted to have the seasonal tasting menu: it contained nuts that could not be removed. So we had to look at the a la crate menu.

The regular menu had nuts with nearly every item: we had to identify those dishes from which the nuts could be omitted. As a result, we ended up eating our 2nd, 3rd or 4th preference.

Even the dessert menu had nuts with everything: we gave up and had coffee only,- which was the best part of the evening!

We did suggest the restaurant make it clear they used nuts in every dish.

Service great and a lovely setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

My wife and I recently went to North Pon ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My wife and I recently went to North Pond to celebrate our anniversary and had amazing experience. We went with the tasting menu with wine pairings and loved every course. Some of them were a little different than things we would have normally ordered, but that's part of the experience of ordering a tasting menu. The city view and location are fantastic, food was great, service was what you'd expect at the price, and the ambiance is quaint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.