Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About North Pond

Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.

2610 North Cannon Drive
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person. Please contact the restaurant should you have further questions.

Cross Street:
Lakeview & Deming

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 477-5845

Website:
http://www.northpondrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $13 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.

Public Transit:
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)

Executive Chef:
Bruce Sherman

Private Party Facilities:
North Pond provides one of the most distinctive settings in the city for private social and business events. Our Lincoln Park location offers stunning views of Chicago’s dramatic skyline. We offer an inclusive evening for your special occasion, complete with a seasonal four-course dinner

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Labun: (773) 477-5845

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North Pond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (65)
Scenic View (64)
See All
Fit for Foodies (60)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Good for a Date (54)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Waterfront (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Tasting Menu (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Seasonal (31)
Cozy (28)
Great for Brunch (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Authentic (18)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (11)
Historic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (7)
Organic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
2977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I celebrated my 50th birthday here and the entire experience at North Pond was just spectacular. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and were seated in a seat next to the window overlooking North Pond. The view of the pond and city was stunning. Soon after we were seated, the very personalized menu was brought out and our waiter thoroughly explained all of our options. We chose the tasting menu and were delighted with every course. The entire meal took quite a while but there was a lot of food to digest and I appreciated the break between courses. The final dish included bites of chocolate and fruit jellies surrounded by a birthday message in chocolate. The extra effort they went through made for a very special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We received a gift certificate for North Pond for our wedding. We decided to celebrate our anniversary by using this gift. We truly enjoyed the experience of being treated like royalty with a glass of champagne to celebrate the occasion, a small appetizer compliments of the chef, and a page of the menu with our name on it...very classy. The location and setting is beautiful, and we were happy there was valet parking, otherwise I'm not sure where we would have parked. The food is very different from any other restaurant we have visited. The corn soup I had was delicious, and my salad was a grouping of different tomatoes with balsamic vinegar, very good, but when it came to my main entree, I was disappointed. The amount of food on the plate was sparse...2 very small pieces of pork tenderloin, 2 very small pieces of some type of sausage and a some greens that i'm not sure what they were, some edamame and a tablespoon of pine nuts. I'm not a big eater, but I will tell you for the amount of money that particular plate cost, I should have gotten enough food to have left overs. I did order the Ethopian coffee, which was french pressed and delicious, but paid more for that coffee than any other coffee I have ever had in my life.
We enjoyed the experience, and had a wonderful time, but all in all, we won't be coming back for a second visit. This restaurant, though very nice, is very, very pricey and I don't feel you get enough bang for your buck.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

We love this place for brunch. The signature cocktails are delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed a lovely brunch here with my family today. Our waiter Scott was great as was all the staff. The serene ambiance of this arts &crafts-style gem makes dining here very special. We loved how the windows were open in the front dining room, which overlooks the pond. We enjoyed a fabulous view of Chicago's skyline from this vantage point. The food of course is amazing. Both my 9-year-old and 11-year-old ordered steak and practically inhaled it. We tried all four first courses and all four desserts so we could share. It was a memorable dining experience. Five stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The North Pond is an excellent restaurant that provides fine dining in a pleasant, warm atmosphere. We received a great service from our waiter who was attentive and serious. The staff was well organized. The music was refined and not loud. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We've been there for several meals over multiple years. North Pond always impresses and never disappoints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This place is simply the best. Ambiance, food, the entire package.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best fine dining experience I've had in Chicago ever. Great attention amazing food great architecture and design great environs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Beautiful restaurant located inside Lincoln Park facing a beautiful pond with a view of some of the Chicago skyline. Food was creative and very fresh. 2 complaints - way too much time between courses and of the 3 courses (the last course being dessert) the first and 2nd course looked exactly alike except the 2nd had a cracker on it. They were both fish dishes with peas. I think you should be warned if you are making this type of decision since why would they have that even as an option. Seemed strange with the few items available on this brunch they would make a first and second course so similar. I couldn't eat the 2nd course which left room for their unusual but delicious dessert. Recommend asking for a seat in the patio instead of main dining room for the full eating in this beautiful location experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The setting is magical
The decor is attractive
For the price I would have appreciated more gluten free options
The Halibut was delicious but the kale was bitter and swimming in oil

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I'd been wanting to go to North Pond for a long time, and it did not disappoint. The food was amazing—fresh, local and a delicious combination of flavors. The ambience was romantic and cozy accompanied by fantastic service. The view, of course, was to die for. I'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Out waitress Hilary was an amazing! Great service and food was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Lovely setting, leisurely and excellent service, and interesting "deconstructed" food preparations, most of which worked. At over $100/person, this is a place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food; great environment; slow service. Would come back again but not a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I have been here five or six times, and it is always exceptional. Love sitting in the patio area with a view of the lagoon and skyline.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

North Pond is the best value I have found in the city for food at this level of quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Incredible meal in a beautiful setting. We did the tasting menu and wine pairings. The food was delicious and beautifully presented - and unlike a lot of other places that seem more concerned with photo quality than sating the diner, the amount of food was perfect. All the wines matched perfectly except for a Rose that was flinty and metallic. It is an expensive meal but one that is very much worth it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The location is amazing but it doesn't outrank the food which is artfully prepared from superior ingredients. Though the emphasis is on local ingredients, there is a large selection of fish on the menu. Service was excellent except for a woman who leaned over and into - I mean REALLY close - to explain the ingredients on our plate. Normally I would enjoy this but this woman was over the top.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Lovely venue, delicious Artisinal preparations with eclectic nuances like lavender ice cream, floral decorations, perfectly presented! Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Had amazing food and wine-if you are picky don't go here! The chef goes through great efforts to prepare everything perfectly, so let the chefs do their job- which is create good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food and service impeccable - always my favorite place to visit in Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

North Pond's matchless setting in Lincoln Park with the Chicago skyline as a backdrop provides a beautiful dining experience. It was a fine June day and with breezes wafting through the sunroom doors, we enjoyed a 3-course brunch. The service was impeccable, the food excellent. The Arts & Crafts architecture, the welcoming staff, and comfortable atmosphere contribute to enjoying a meal like nowhere else in Chicago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was wonderful and our server was excellent. We greatly enjoyed the tasting menu and wine pairing.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was a special occasion which was made that much more special. Everything from food, service to ambience was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went to North Pond to celebrate our 4 year wedding anniversary. I can't say enough about how attentive, kind, flexible and thoughtful the staff was. Our waiter Michael was wonderful. After being seated inside my sweet hubby asked to move to the patio with the open doors and breeze coming in. I am short, and although we had a window spot I couldn't see out. Our wonderful waiter happily moved us a lovely new table on the patio with a view of the city! I felt bad being picky but this was perfect and they made no big deal of it. They had our names printed on the menu and we dined on the delicious tasting menu with pairings. The standouts for the courses were the foie, pastrami salmon, and the rabbit. They brought us dessert on a plate with chocolate lettering saying happy anniversary with our names which was a lovely touch. The timing was wonderful with the pairings, and the courses. The service was impeccable and I look forward to dining at this lovely historic restaurant again! Thank you North Pond for a very special and wonderful meal and anniversary!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 23, 2017

What a lovely dinner in every way. The ambiance, fresh menu, nice wine list, friendly and informed staff. It is expensive and worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Having dinner at North Pond was nice, but for a special occasion (Birthday) my boyfriend an I would of preferred a better table. We were seated next to the kitchen, which is fine except the person calling the orders was a bit loud for the setting. I expected if not a full view of the pond, a glimpse of the scenery. We also noticed many tables -with better views- were empty for over an hour and a half during their "booked" time slot at 7pm. Anyway, the food started off great, my boyfriend was delighted with all the initial courses and the customized birthday menu detail was spot on. We were both taken by the freshness and combinations the Chef prepped for us, except for what they consider to be the main course. The rabbit was fairly dry and the combination of the proteins with the buttermilk was not our favorite, we were very disappointed with that course. Our server noticed almost immediately we disliked the food and proceeded to remove our plates. Overall, the food and wine combinations were good, but my boyfriend and I had higher expectations for North Pond, a Michelin-Starred restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We had the tasting menu for 2. Every plate was full of color and texture and completely lacked any interesting flavors- there were so many different things on each plate nothing came through. For $350 take your money and go to Publican- their tasting menu was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Amazing food and a server who knew the menu and ingredients inside and out! Will be coming again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brought my Fiancé for a birthday dinner and it was perfect all around! No complaints what so ever.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Absolutely Fabulous Father's Day Brunch in the windy city! This gem never disappoints - the cocktails are amazing, and the eats are off the charts!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful food! Great location! Perfect for a date night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. Made us feel special while celebrating a birthday. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and helped to point us in the right direction. Food was delicious, and our table overlooking the lagoon was amazing.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service and attention to detail was excellent. For the price though the food was up to par with other similar resturants. The beef was way too salty. My wife made the choice to not turn it back though I would have done that. Some of the flavors were excellent like the sardine salad. We just wish the vegetable and meat were more carefully prepared.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We asked to split the salmon entree and the waiter brought two. When the bill arrived & we realized his mistake, we brought it to his attention & he apologized, but did not alter the bill. It was disappointing. When we called the manager of the restaurant , she said that it was hard for her to believe that the waiter had made the mistake. After being put on hold, I was told that she would reimburse us for half of one entree. In essence, it was too much food, the salmon was really undercooked & we were charged for more than we ordered. I normally would have dealt with the situation at the time but I did not want to make a scene during a special dinner out with my college sophomore. We cannot recommend North Pond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Lovely experience as usual. Glad we missed the gang shooting that happened later! 😱

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Our family group of 6 ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing. What followed was 3 hours of food-and-wine wonderfulness. Seven courses (including two dishes "thrown in" compliments of the chef), consisting of such delights as foie gras, salmon, artichoke fondue, duck, rabbit, and panna cotta. Our waiter caught the mood of the table right off the bat and was a giant smartass (in a good way) and we had a great time eating our great food. On top of it all, when confirming the reservation I merely mentioned that we were celebrating my son's graduation, and the restaurant personalized the printed menu for him-really nice touch. Good job North Pond!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food 5 star, the highest. Also ambiance and service. Two complaints and suggested solutions. We almost turned around and left because it was so cold at 5:30. Luckily I had a sweater for my friend, otherwise she would have been miserable, she said. Why not set AC for 72? This is the temperature of all London hostesses. Men are comfortable with jackets and women with off the shoulder gowns. Later it was ok. But then the noise! Two large tables, filled with men talking sports in loud voices. Not something a restaurant can avoid, I realize, but what about getting expert advice on acoustical tile ceiling? Or putting sound-absorbing fabrics in some place?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I was visiting from San Francisco, kicking off our yearly visit to Chicago to attend NeoCon. I hosted a dinner on Sunday night for my favorite clients also from the SF Bay Area. We had an amazing time experiencing the tasting menu and wine pairing. The food was equally delicious and beautiful. The service was very good as well.
We walked out joyously stuffed as the chef graciously sent us 2 extra dishes to enjoy. I must say the portion size was larger than we would see in SF for a tasting menu, what a great value!
I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, save the hoopla for downtown Chicago. The interiors were also cozy and beautiful.
My guests had a wonderful time, as did I. Thank you North Point and Open Table for the divine experience!

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Exceptional! A must visit! Superb food, creatively assembled and presented. An oasis away from the city. Grand!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.