About North Pond

2610 North Cannon Drive
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person. Please contact the restaurant should you have further questions.

Cross Street:
Lakeview & Deming

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 477-5845

Website:
http://www.northpondrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $13 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.

Public Transit:
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)

Executive Chef:
Bruce Sherman

Private Party Facilities:
North Pond provides one of the most distinctive settings in the city for private social and business events. Our Lincoln Park location offers stunning views of Chicago’s dramatic skyline. We offer an inclusive evening for your special occasion, complete with a seasonal four-course dinner

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Labun: 7734775845x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate mousse, butter puff pastry, banan-rum sorbet, caramelized bananas, passion dots, walnuts
Taffy apple bombe, caramel crémeux, apple butter, pecan feuilletine, granny smith sorbet, sugar tuile
Braised pheasant, socca crêpe Napoleon, spiced yogurt, pomegranate fruit and gel, olives, radicchio
Pumpkin spiced kabocha tartelette, cinnamon cream, cranberry purée, sage sherbet, candied orange
Rosemary-crusted Great Lakes whitefish, brandied butternut squash, Bosc pears, cassis, pumpkin seeds
Earl grey tea bavarian, white chocolate, satsuma sorbet and jam, rosemary cake croûtes, almonds
Coffee Cake
Creamy scrambled eggs, guanciale, quince jam crouton, cipollini, broccoli, mushroom, parmesan
Warm cauliflower-apple veloute soup, peekytoe crab cake, green apple boules, purple caulfilower
Chilled smoked Arctic char, red, gold, chioggia beets, ruby grapefruit, fennel, horseradish crème, filberts
Wisconsin rainbow trout, baby carrots, maple farro, carrot pudding, kalettes, black garlic, pignoli
Cracker jack and candied apple ice creams, Juipter grape sorbet, s'mores macarons, peanuts caramel corn
Grilled wild striped bass, chorizo spiced garbanzos, leeks, black olive-orange blossom panisse, fennel, dates, Marcona almonds
Brown butter Mutsu apples, rosemary cake, smoked olive oil sorbet, candied pecans, bourbon caramel and espuma
Mignardise – Cinnamon peach pâte de fruits, dark chocoalte bouchons with lime sea salt
Sunnyside hen egg, cinnamon pork-chanterelle gallette, bell pepper romesco sauce, parsley salad, pickled radish
Intermezzo - fennel sorbet, pomegranate, pistachio, pine nuts, almonds, black olive streusel, orange blossom
Pan-browned Scottish pheasant breast, rosemary bratwurst, potato-celeriac pavé, spinach, cranberries, sorghum
Baby spinach, radicchio, sheep milk ricotta-rye napoleon, delicata, pomegranate syrup, pumpkin seeds, fennel sausage
Line-caught East Coast cod, pretzel spaetzle, honey mustard crème fraîche, Brussels sprouts, skrumpy, dill, pomegranate.
Candied gold, chioggia and red beets, Maine lobster, heart of palm, orange, key lime, pistachio granola, mojito gelée
Wild Alaskan Copper River Sockeye salmon, charred carrots, cherry semolina, candied beets, citrus snap peas puree, tendrils
Basil French macarons, ancho chile chocolate truffles, brunch mignardises
Gold and green zucchini crostada, caramelized onions, sheep milk feta, olive tapenade, nectarines (brunch)
Chilled Gulf shrip, basil watermelon, avocado mousse, crisp potato hay, soy lacquer (brunch)
Great Lakes whitefish, oil-poached heirloom tomato, charred fairytale eggplant, spinach ,Viadlia syrup, house-cured pork (brunch)
Endive Frisee Salad with cabernet onions, cheese souffle and caramelized walnuts
Foie Gras, Cranberry Assorted Appetizer
Seared duck breast, braised thigh-stuffed dates, chickpeas, cucumbers, olives, spring onions, almonds
Apples, Oatmeal, Pomegranate, Chicory Ice Cream, Stout Cake
Mignardises - pear pate de fruit and ancho chile chocolate truffles
Amuse bouche - strawberries, ricotta and onion flatbread
Little gem romaine, pea tendrils, warm cornmeal English pea cake, orange and red carrots, prosciutto, spiced pecans salad
Lemon cake, braised blueberries, brown butter ice cream, bluberry gel, candied pecans, dessert brunch
Duck
Meyer lemon custard pudding with strawberries and almonds
Wild Pheasant Breast and Confit Leg with Apples, Cauliflower and Sage Strada
Zucchini Bread
Amuse bouche - pear soup, almond tuille, blue cheese mousse and poached pears
Chocolate-glazed espresso mousse, peanut pudding, banana ginger sorbet, candied peanuts, chocolate cake crisps
Kabocha Squash Cutlet (Vegetarian)
Chocolate Mousse
Pear, Cinnamon
Warm carrot fennel soup, poached Gulf shrimp, carrout couscous, herbs, pumpernickel
Steamed Alaskan halibut, bacon-sahlot quinoa, wild ramps, mint-pistachio pesto, aromatic broth
Key lime tartelette, ginger-brown butter cookie crumb, toasted Swiss meringue, coconut, cacao nibs
Poached Shrimp with Carrots Cous Cous
Salmon
Artichoke Soup
Lemon Cream Tart
smoked arctic char
Chocolate Torte With Avocado
Autumn Trifle: Caramelized Apples, Vanilla Mousse, Cider Emulsion
Pecan Tart With Cinnamon Creme Anglaise, Brown Butter Ice Cream With Brown Sugar Streusel
Satsuma Sorbet, Meyer Lemon And Chocolate Soil
Black Pepper Hanger Steak And Oxtail Ravioli
Lobster Consomme With Peekytoe Crab
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Chocolate, Peanut Butter
Cacao nib coconut cookies with tea
Assorted appetizers, hors d'eouvres: trout rillettes on hazelnut macarons and rabbit mousse
Beet Salad
Soft Farm Egg with Potato and Alliums
Artcic Char, Lemon Cream Cheese, Red Onion Marmalade And English Muffin
Short Ribs, Andouille Sausage, Pears And Charred Shrimp
Hiramasa, Heart Of Palm Salad
Scallop, Pear
Grass Fed Beef, Farro
Foie Gras, Pineapple
Grilled Berkshire Loin, Andouille, Croustillante, Garlic Scape Mashed Potatoea,  Rainbow Chard, Caramelized Figs
Sheep's Milk Ricotta Citrus Cheesecake, Fennel Crumb, Blueberry Sorbet And Compote, Lemon Verbena Emulsion
Gazpacho, Parmesan Foam, Watermelon Gelee
Foie Gras, Almond Pancake, Poached Apricot, Vidalia Onion Vanilla Puree
Candied Beets, Beet Sorbet, Smoked Trout Mousse, Hazelnut Macaroon
Fois Gras Appetizer
Monkfish and Leeks
Seared Foie Gras With Strawberries And Turnips
Ancho Chili Crusted Pork Tenderloin With Bing Cherries And Basil Rilette
Rabbit 3 Ways With Carrots And Peas
Lime Tart With Black Sesame And Meringue
Egg, Pastry
Gnocchi, Shrimp
Strawberry, Rhubarb

North Pond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Chicago
Scenic View
Chicago
American
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Special Occasion (135)
Scenic View (133)
Romantic (116)
See All
Fit for Foodies (113)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Notable Wine List (47)
Great for Brunch (36)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Surprised has a Michelin star. Staff Am ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Surprised has a Michelin star. Staff Amazing. Food acceptable. Service standard.

Don't order Bloody Mary.

"Caper berry". Not sure what person could enjoy... Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

It is the third time we went to North Po ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

It is the third time we went to North Pond. The food was fantastic as always but the service was a little slow this time. Generally, one of the best restaurants in Chicago and definitely great value for money in terms of fine dining.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Historic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Without a doubt one of the best meals I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever had. This is true molecular gastronomy, at the level of Ferran Adria or the old Charlie Trotter's. A meditative, contemplative cuisine for people who appreciate experiencing the complex nuances of incredibly well-conceived and executed cuisine. This restaurant well-deserves its Michelin Star and any and all accolades it receives. Absolutely top-notch in all respects, a quasi-religious culinary experience. A must.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have always had a wonde ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I have always had a wonderful experience at North Pond. We had friends in from New Zealand for their first trip to Chicago and we brought them to the restaurant. I don't know if it was an off night but the service was neither warm nor attentive and the dishes were quite average. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was superb, service was outst ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was superb, service was outstanding, food was delicious

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect meal in a quirt and beautiful ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

A perfect meal in a quirt and beautiful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

North Pond is a spectacular restaurant. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

North Pond is a spectacular restaurant. The tasting menu featured seasonal touches and every bite delivered a inviting mix of flavor. Fantastic craftsman decor and overall excellent service. Only complaints are with a young server who bellowed at surrounding tables and an excessively rude foursome talking on their phones at an adjoining table. The noise/crudeness marred an otherwise wonderful culinary experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

While I enjoy the inventive marriage of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

While I enjoy the inventive marriage of ingredients in most chefs' creations, the food at North Pond gave the impression of having been created to prove that it could be done rather than that it should have been done. On the whole an unsatisfactory experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We got the seasonal 5 course tasting and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We got the seasonal 5 course tasting and they brought out 8 courses total. We had the same waitress that we had a few months ago and she recognized us. Wonderful experience and the food was incredibly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant but nit for a "frie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice restaurant but nit for a "friends" night out. Better as a romantic couple night out.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Everything was great: the food, the serv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great: the food, the service, the ambiance. The food tasted wonderful but it wasn't hot.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at North Pond - for a dat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our first time at North Pond - for a date night dinner a deux - was a memorable occasion. Excellent food was served in quantities that were manageable and bid a farewell to the days when 'nouvelle' meant small. The service was attentive without being intrusive and the serving staff were well informed and obliging in all respects. The wine list was extensive without being overwhelming, and the cost, though high, felt reasonable for what we had enjoyed. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic , could not have chosen a bett ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic , could not have chosen a better place to celebrate my birthday, thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Frightfully expensive. Almost $40 for fo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Frightfully expensive. Almost $40 for four bites of swordfish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food and service are excellent. Lov ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food and service are excellent. Loved the wild king salmon, and my wife's choice of three kinds of pork was delish! Both were expertly prepared. The heirloom salad for a starter was exceptionally good--a veritable explosion of fine tastes! Those few reviewers posting complaints about purportedly "small portions" must be out of touch; our servings were plentiful. Perhaps those wanting bigger portions should check out the nearest Country Buffet. LOL

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our third time at North Pond an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is our third time at North Pond and it was as delicious as the first time. I would recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, North Pond delivers on food a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

As always, North Pond delivers on food and wine. Family were visiting and thoroughly enjoyed the food and wine as well as the history of the building and the great view of the city. We will be back for the Fall menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a spectacular meal. The chef had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a spectacular meal. The chef had layered interesting tastes through the various dishes. The ambiance and service complimented each other.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I returned here with our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My husband and I returned here with our daughter and a guest to celebrate a special birthday. We were here twice a year ago, and were very impressed. This time, while quite good, it did not live up to our expectations. The setting remains lovely, of course. The food was tasty, and some combinations original, but the portions were small, particularly the main courses, and pricey. Not a good "price-performance ratio", as my husband said. The salmon was $40, and appeared to be about a 4oz portion. The swordfish, though perfectly cooked, was two small triangular pieces for $38. They were almost tasting size portions. This was not an issue last year. It is still a special occasion restaurant, but know going in, that portions are small and prices high, especially for the main courses.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Truly one of Chicago's most beautiful di ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Truly one of Chicago's most beautiful dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant, accommodating and enjoyab ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very pleasant, accommodating and enjoyable for all in our party.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is an excellent restaurant for peop ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant for people who enjoy and appreciate creative dining. For daytime dining it is in an excellent location with a great view of the pond and the city skyline. Getting to the restaurant can be a hassle since it is in the park. the restaurant does give advice but it does take effort to get to the restaurant. It is well worth it!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've lived in Chicago for 15 years and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We've lived in Chicago for 15 years and enjoy the city's vibrant restaurant scene. While we try all of the "new hotspots", we always come back to North Pond. The innovative, seasonally-driven menu is matched with outstanding service in a dining room where the tables spaced far enough apart to allow for conversation. Try the tasting menu - you will wonder why it took you so long to experience this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at North Pond is always good an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food at North Pond is always good and imaginative, even if the selections are limited. However, we were given the worst table in the restaurant, the one nearest the kitchen where the wait staff and cooks are yelling at each other all evening and the busboys are running in and out of the kitchen right past our table. This while there were a dozen empty tables nearby. The restaurant should know better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was disappointing. Having had ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was disappointing. Having had excellent meals there in the 90s, I was eager to return now that they have a Michelin star. But, of the three of us, none thought the food was anything special. They are trying too hard to be trendy (chevre foam???) and all of our dishes had too many ingredients to be elegant. Oh, they have flashy displays, but if you want really good food Chicago has so many excellent choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

although the location and ambiance and s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

although the location and ambiance and starters were very good, the two main fish courses were average at best. Limited flavor and for the price, expected much more. Impacted our overall impression significantly.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been going to North Pond for ove ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have been going to North Pond for over 10 years. It is a great dining experience and we celebrate most birthdays and anniversaries there. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a great meal and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. It was our f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. It was our first visit and we will absolutely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sadly, this highly touted establishment, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Sadly, this highly touted establishment, was a deep disappointment. Despite a reservation made 3 weeks in advance, we had to wait more than 15 minutes only to get a poorly situated table in a back room near the kitten and service area. Once seated we were immediately asked if we wished a drink but had to wait another 10 minutes to get a menu.

We ordered 5 small starters (rather than the typical starter and entree). While the descriptions of each seemed interesting and different, each dish was an inexplicable melange of mismatched,prettily presented ingredients with little flavor and all too bland textures. Put differently, each was a hot or cold mess. Perhaps the chef and the kitchen had taken the week off.

After we gave our order to the server, she disappeared and - although we had told her we were going to review the wine list - she never returned to take our order. Having finally caught the eye of a person who may have been a manager, I was able to order two bottles of wine to accompany our meal. The first of our courses were served but, again, it was only after I had to ask that the first bottle of our wine was opened and poured.

We shared a dessert and it, too, was all show and no substance.

While food pricing was at the high end, the prices for wine (on a small albeit barely acceptable list) was inexcusable. This is not Taillevent or Guy Savoy in Paris or Daniel or Eleven Madison Park in New York or Grace or Alinea here in Chicago -- yet even their wine lists offer greater value.

I would stay away from this joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

North Pond is one of my favorite places ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

North Pond is one of my favorite places to be because of the beautiful and comfortable dining room, the way it showcases the park and the city, the service, and last but not least the creative menu. It is peaceful and allows for conversation. We love to take out of town guests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome birthday experience. Enjoyed the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome birthday experience. Enjoyed the 3-course prefixed lunch with the additional complementary dessert. Food is very delicious and summer time seasonal ingredients are really refreshing. Price is very reasonable, only 35 dollors for prefixed lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Being in the park is a big plus. The me ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Being in the park is a big plus. The menu is very creative. The sauces are wonderful

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to brunch last Sunday. We were a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went to brunch last Sunday. We were a party of 6 adults and two children (Age 5 and 3). The place is really in a beautiful spot in Chicago. The pond and the restaurant itself has a nice ambience. The food was good but as others have mentioned did not seem to me as a Brunch Menu . It was more like a three course lunch. The service was extremely slow and the we kept having to ask the waiter to refill our wine glasses. One of the ladies in our party was pregnant and the waiter failed to ask her if she wanted anything to drink (did not have to be alcoholic). I felt that although the hostess and the other wait staff were very acommodating with the kids, our waiter was not too happy that we had 2 in our party. I do understand it is a high end restaurant but feel that if it has a brunch option it should be more open to having children for brunch days. I would go back but not for brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Really not impressive food for the money ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Really not impressive food for the money. I'd heard such great things about North Pond but was really disappointed with their brunch offering. Too much clashing flavors... seems like it's a dish that's just "trying too hard." Maybe they're still getting used to a brunch offering, but I won't be returning any time soon.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Gastronomique fun in a lovely setting... ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Gastronomique fun in a lovely setting....if that is what you are looking for, head to North Pond. The building has great character, having once been a warming shed next to an ice skating pond. The staff were attentive but not annoyingly so as is sometimes the case. The food was fresh, flavorful, and scrumptious, if a bit fussy. This is not for the meat and potato lover who wants each food in its own space. Various ingredients and seasonings were blended and presented creatively with an emphasis on a pretty plate. The good news is that it all tasted wonderful. The wine list was expensive and offered a variety to suit different tastes and food pairings. We had a Margaux that held up brilliantly to the various meals. The Amuse Bouche was a nice treat as were the petite truffles offered at the meal's conclusion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best dining experience I've ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was the best dining experience I've ever had, hands down! I made reservations a month in advance for the girlfriend's birthday with high expectations, and was absolutely blown away. We have dined at several other highly rated restaurants in Chicago, but out experience at North Pond surpassed all others. The food was mind blowing: the sauces paired with our main courses were incredibly unique and brought out the flavor of the protein in each of our dishes. Service was exceptional, the ambiance was perfect for a special occasion with a significant other, and the location was wonderful. I can't recommend this restaurant enough--I will definitely return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The North Pond is an outstanding restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The North Pond is an outstanding restaurant. The service and food are unbelievable. Definitely a place for a special occasion or very nice date. I've been here the day I proposed to my wife and now on our first anniversary. It was spectacular on both occasions. Would highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience was excellent, it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our dining experience was excellent, it was our first time there and will definitely return. We had family in from Washington and they were very impressed by the service and great looking and tasting food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our experience at North Pond. B ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Enjoyed our experience at North Pond. Bartender Max was very good. Loved looking out at the pond and walked out after to city lights.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

North Pond was on a list of 10 best Chic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

North Pond was on a list of 10 best Chicago restaurants with a water view and it has a Michelin star so I booked a table. We were disappointed with the view - a pond with a few buildings beyond but it can only be seen from 4 tables by the window and there are no outdoor tables. The view itself isn't very impressive but once it got dark and we walked out after the meal it looked lovely with the light reflected in the water.

The food was average for a place of this caliber - fois gras underwhelming, corn soup was good, swordfish was hard to taste. A duck main was expertly done though. The service was fine. The decor seemed a bit stodgy.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.