About North Pond

2610 North Cannon Drive
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person. Please contact the restaurant should you have further questions.

Cross Street:
Lakeview & Deming

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 477-5845

Website:
http://www.northpondrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $10 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.

Public Transit:
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)

Executive Chef:
Bruce Sherman

Private Party Facilities:
North Pond provides one of the most distinctive settings in the city for private social and business events. Our Lincoln Park location offers stunning views of Chicago’s dramatic skyline. We offer an inclusive evening for your special occasion, complete with a seasonal four-course dinner

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Labun: 7734775845x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day brunch on June 19th. We will be offering a special pre fixe menu for $45 per adult and $20 per child.

North Pond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
American
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago
3 More
Scenic View
Chicago
Special Occasion
Chicago
American
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

special occasion (129)
fit for foodies (119)
romantic (114)
See All
scenic view (111)
neighborhood gem (56)
notable wine list (42)
great for brunch (38)
great for outdoor dining (11)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (9)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (5)
 (4)
 (4)
kid-friendly (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"The most extraordinary meal I've ever h ...

Dined 3 days ago

"The most extraordinary meal I've ever had" was what our special guest said. We agree. Everything was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful meal. The tasting me ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. The tasting menu was splendid; a bevy of coordinated flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The food was great as always. The indoor ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was great as always. The indoor restaurant was freezing. The waiter was great. Our disappointment began at the front door. We had friends visiting from the UK and we twice explained during reservations and confirmation of the reservation that we were also celebrating a birthday. Upon greeting we were notified that the front room was no longer available, even thought there were 2 open tables of 2. We were told that they would not split a party of 4 to sit at the two tables of 2. We asked if we could wait the hour to sit at in the front room to which we were told no. At some point every host has to deliver bad news to guests, this is understood. This host delivered it in such a bad way that it made us 100x more upset than we should have been. Our final bill was $400 and the experience was ruined from the moment of the first hello. The hostess needs some sensitivity training and be able to make the decision to sit people at the 2 open tables of 2 that sat empty for 40 mins. Yes we timed it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

For once I was a bit disappointed with t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

For once I was a bit disappointed with the food. I had a skirtsteak with beans for my entree. I felt the dish was overdressed with vinaigrette and the steak was cut incorrectly. I notified the waiter. It took him a while to return to the table and offer another dish. The complimentary dessert that was brought (Mango & ??) relied too heavily on gelatin to bring it together. I expect better from a Michelin starred restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, creative, and beautifully pre ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Delicious, creative, and beautifully prepared food - from appetizers to dessert. Service was attentive and warm, but unobtrusive - just perfect. A terrific birthday brunch experience - -and loved the customized menu and dessert for the special birthday diner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was excellent - food was excellent - they did a WONDERFUL job of recognizing a special occasion. EXCELLENT - as always!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was extremely impressed with the great h ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Was extremely impressed with the great hospitality the entire staff showed for our Anniversary. Food, service, experience was wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Just a few improvements needed.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Both my wife and I had fish entrees which were very well presented. The fish was warm - not hot - when delivered. The plates were not warm or heated which would have helped keep the fish at the right temperature. Close together tables make it difficult for the bus staff to clear without reaching in front of some of the guests. This breach of etiquette is not expected or deserved by your guests.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner experience. Attentive staff ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Great dinner experience. Attentive staff, great food and wine list. A great restaurant for a romantic dinner or close friends. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal and beautiful location. ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding meal and beautiful location. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding menu; could have ordered al ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding menu; could have ordered almost every dish. Cooking and presentation were excellent. Nice setting on North Pond in Lincoln Park with great city views. This was our second visit several years apart and we could not have had a nicer evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of Chicago

Dined on May 18, 2016

We've been coming here every year since 2010. It's always a memorable. We've celebrated graduation, wedding, and Birthday events. The food cannot be topped. The View of Chicago from Lincoln park's lake is breathtaking!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

North Pond remains one of the best resta ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

North Pond remains one of the best restaurants in Chicago -- outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brunched at North Pond this past Sund ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We brunched at North Pond this past Sunday. My friends and I were celebrating 35+ years of friendship and the staff could not have made it a more beautiful, delicious and perfect celebration! I requested that our party of 7 be seated in the front room, even though I knew the restaurant wouldn't be able to guarantee that request. As each person began to arrive, we waited at the bar and enjoyed fabulous bloody marys and mimosas. The bartender was so wonderful to us, as were the hosts while we waited for our entire party to arrive. As we were being led to our table, I realized we were on our way to the front room, with the fabulous windows and views of the park, pond and skyline of Chicago. It was a beautiful and sunny day so everything looked spectacular! Each of us was amazed and thrilled with the room, as it enhanced the celebratory mood of the event. The brunch was exquisite. The menu astounded each of us with it's deliciousness and uniqueness. And the service was simply the best. We were not rushed for one second, which gave us time to catch up and enjoy all the sensational food and beauty of our surroundings. Our server was wonderful, very professional and perfectly timed with absolutely everything. Our reunion at North Pond was the best any of us could have wanted or hoped for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite restaurant in Chicago! Much qui ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Chicago! Much quieter than other hot spots with a lovely setting. Delicious food- I highly recommend the tasting menu! It always impresses!

food3
ambience4
service3

This was our 3rd time here over the last ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our 3rd time here over the last several years and was probably the least impressive.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

birthday celebration

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great location and atmosphere. Very nice service. appreciate the Birthday wish to my wife printed on the menu. Food choices a little too gourmet for me, but my wife and her friend really enjoyed the meal. Over all, a very nice evening which will bring us back again..

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb meal

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had an excellent meal at North Pond. I will definitely return again. The chef is very inventive in the combinations he uses. Each plate was like a tasting menu of it's own. It is expensive, but worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

North Pond is always a treat!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mothers' Day dinner was a three-course prix-fixe mean. Each course was delicious. Our server was outstanding. Even though we were the last people left in the restaurant, we were never rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

A memorable and delicious way to celebrate Mother's Day! Fabulous prix fixe menu with plenty of choice and a sublime location in an arts and crafts old ice house right on North Pond. Wonderful!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS a wonderful experience . Best mea ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

ALWAYS a wonderful experience . Best meal of the year. Every bite delicious. Courteous, knowledgable & friendly staff. Beautiful setting inside & out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience for a beautiful dinner ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience for a beautiful dinner in the park. Lovely atmosphere with great fresh farm to table food selection. Options to go a la carte or seasonal tasting menu.

food4
ambience4
service2

The food was truly deserving of the repu ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was truly deserving of the reputation North Pond has achieved. Unfortunately the service was so inferior that it detracts from the food and setting. Started with a 20 minute wait for a cocktail at the bar before dinner and followed with choppy service at our table. Can't give them a rating that puts them among the elite of Chicago restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined at North Pond 5-6 times. A ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at North Pond 5-6 times. Always special, excellent food and a treat. The fixed menu w/ wine pairings, fantastic! Great service. Great ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

North Pond

Dined on May 2, 2016

On a rainy night it was a bit difficult to locate the drive to the entrance, but it was well worth it. The die-hard and very worldly foodies in our party of 5 had quite a lot to say throughout the meal...all very favorable. The food was outstanding, from presentation to the obvious intent of "party in your mouth" type flavors...fresh fresh fresh. And while the wine list is not extensive, there were ample excellent and varied options with as close to retail pricing as I've ever seen in a fine dining establishment. Everything about this place is world-class...from the hostess, to the bartender, the wait staff, the som, the kitchen...bravo.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantabulous!

Dined on May 1, 2016

What a wonderful experience in a delightfully secluded little forest at the edge of North Pond in Lincoln Park! The ambiance of this beautiful Arts& Crafts style building is equally inviting, somewhat subdued and very pleasant. The service staff are very knowledgeable, attentive, appropriately warm and friendly. The menu is attractive, creative and chock full of locally sourced fresh products to the extent possible. The owner also sources the beverages from small high quality vineyards and manufacturers. The creative American food style is perfectly executed and beautifully presented from a "chef's surprise" initial offering, through each course including the savories. Superlatives are insufficient to describe the quality of the meal. The only drawback is also central to the charm, namely the location is a "walk in the park". There is no drop off within 100 yards which is delightful in reasonable weather. We were caught in a rainstorm, rescued only by an understanding Uber driver who negotiated the walking path to pick us up. This is a magnificent place to be enjoyed to the fullest.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haute Cuisine, contemporary, unique Brunch

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing quality of ingredients, creativity in their combination, perfect seasonings, flavors, and textures. Extraordinarily delicious. Beautiful and unique park location, lovely prairie style architecture, perfect service - discreet and efficient. All in all, a memorable experience and a very good value for the price.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch experience in town

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Love having brunch here - the view, the food, the service are all exceptional. It is 3 courses with just the right amount of food to be happy without being stuffed. I would recommend - actually encourage - anyone and everyone to go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply incredible from start to finish!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Simply incredible from start to finish!

food3
ambience5
service3

The food and service were rather disappo ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and service were rather disappointing. We chose the tasting menu, and found most of the dishes to be short on flavor. An hour after dining, I couldn't tell you about a single dish that had really stood out. The location and ambience were wonderful, and we enjoyed ourselves despite the slow service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A culinary masterpiece!

Dined on April 29, 2016

North Pond was just amazing! It was our 10 year wedding anniversary and they made it extra special. An incredible meal with incredible service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on April 28, 2016

From the moment we entered, the staff treated us like gold. The view from our table was gorgeous, and our server, Charmaine, was a delight to converse with. Our food tasting menu was so inspired and delicious! Every dish was so delicious and different from the last and will be memorable for years to come. My compliments to the chef, the staff, and North Pond! If I lived near Chicago, this would be one of the top restaurants of the city. All I can do is give my hearty recommendations to any one who loves good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better and better

Dined on April 25, 2016

I've been going to North Pond for the past eleven years. The location is lovely and the atmosphere inviting, formal but not too formal. The food was always good but now it's consistently outstanding. Not cheap but worth the extra: it's a treat. I'm very relieved they haven't gone for tasting menu only; the a la carte menu offers good variety and decent-sized portions. A well-judged wine list too with enticing choices under $100. Service friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Long may it thrive!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

marginal service / attitude

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Would be nice if they would reserve you a proper table when you book 3 weeks in advance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in a quite area of Lincoln Park

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was exceptional, the ambiance was romantic and the service was courteous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Melissa was amazing!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Melissa was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 21, 2016

From start to finish this place was amazing. I had accidentally booked dinner one week later than I intended. When we arrived the hostess noticed the error and gladly still accommodated us. The waitress was very friendly, professional, and attentive. The food was absolute perfection. The attention and detail that went into creating every meal was obvious. I will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Chef's week dinner

Dined on April 18, 2016

I can't speak to the full menu, because I was only there for the chef's week prix-fixe special. The first problem was that online it advertised four courses, and it only came with three. There was plenty of food, but it was a bit devious to advertise a different offering. I did the duck appetizer, and I did not like it. The menu said smoked duck breast, but in reality it was more of a foie gras, and I really do not like that sort of consistency. So there was one course gone. I had the steak for the main course, which was delicious. And the dessert was good too. Overall the service was good, and the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It is one of our favorite restaurants in ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

It is one of our favorite restaurants in the USA. Whenever we are in Chicago we try to eat there and always have a phenomenal experience. Today was no different except that we had a car. Normally we walk there or take a car service and now we know why. The valet situation is atrocious. There is no sign indicating there is a valet and the valet is a single guy who is there only when not parking or retrieving cars. He is also not identified as the Northpond Cafe valet, so hard to tell even when he is there. As a result I dropped off my family at the restaurant and then went on the hunt for a parking space while coming by another time to see if the valet had shown up. No parking to be had but by my third pass a young man who appeared to be a valet (and indeed was) took my car. The whole ordeal took about 20 minutes off my enjoying brunch since we had to get to the airport (not quite enough time to fully savor the food and ambiance). Looking forward to my next meal at Northpond already but will not be driving to get there!

food5
ambience5
service5

I was there celebrating my engagement to ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I was there celebrating my engagement to my fiancé and everything was amazing! The food and service was exceptional!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.