Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today
Special offers available. See details

North Pond

4.7
3099 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Scenic View
Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Wednesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(773) 477-5845
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bruce Sherman
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lakeview & Deming
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $13 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Honor your women with a wonderful brunch at North Pond! On Sunday, May 13th, we'll be offering a three course prix-fixe menu for $85 per adult and $40 per child. Reservations are available from 10am-5pm.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 3099 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.8
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Celebrated my parents 40th wedding anniversary at North Pond. The meal was fantastic and they went above and beyond to give us a memorable night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Wow, I was so impressed with the flavor, presentation and highly trained staff. Will return soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter lunch. Food was excellent but dessert had a marshmallow type thing on top that was spongy and completely devoid of flavor. I THINK it was supposed to be coconut but could not tell. All the rest was good as usual. It remains my favorite restaurant in Chicago.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The tasting menu was "off the charts" outstanding, and the wine pairings were brilliant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food was ridiculously good. Perhaps the best place I have ever eaten at. It was a bit loud and busy to start with (7:45 seating) and our table was right in the path of where the servers walk. But after the 1st course of the tasting menu and a glass of champagne, I stopped noticing that as the restaurant seemed to be clearing out a bit. The servers were fantastic and very helpful. It had all the right touches, and in my mind, the food was of higher quality than most of the 3* Michelin’s I have eaten at. This is a wonderful restaurant and we will certainly be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We were there for brunch. Brunch menu had 3 courses each had 3 options. Food quality was very decent. We were celebrating my daughter's birthday. The menu had her name on it. It was very nice. Service overall was a little slow. One thing that was surprising was that they did not have a slice of bread. Portions are smaller than usual American portions for sure but it was not a bad thing at all.

I will go there again for dinner for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Saturday night date with my spouse

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Beautiful setting, great service and fabulous food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Excellent service and food was very delicious ... very beautiful arts and crafts style ...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good food, great view, excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Enjoyed brunch and the opportunity to taste innovative creations that I will never replicate at home. Go early for brunch and you have fewer fellow diners, very intimate. Wait staff were attentive and gave great suggestions about menu and combinations

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

It was a fabulous dinner--so many different flavors and all expertly prepared and beautifully plated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We missed dining here on an earlier visit to Chicago! Delighted we could dine this time! Loved the decor, the creative and artistic food! It was a splendid dining experience!!! Thanks!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Celebrating my daughters birthday, evening so beautiful. Food, service, atmosphere, all glorious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Wonderfully flavorful food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Had the three course brunch for my birthday. Everything was artfully done and delicious except for some fishy, suspect shrimp that upset my stomach.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Awesome presentation of food, ingredients are great & food is cooked just right. However there’s a bit too much complexity in the food served and some flavours don’t seem to go well. With the great ingredients perhaps keep it simple.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We came for the prix fix brunch and loved it. We each chose something different for each course so we could maximize our experience. Every dish was amazing. Will be back for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Amazing seasonal tasting and wine menu. So happy to be able to treat our out of town guests to a special Chicago dinner. Will be coming back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Everything was perfect. I cant think of a single thing that could've been improved upon. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, and it truly was an unforgettable experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The food is creatively matched with an unusual combination of flavors. Extremely well prepared. Always a special treat. The only negative is we were seated near the kitchen which was extremely noisy with a lot of shouting of orders.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

I wanted to love this place; I’ve seen it for years and thought it was beautiful. The food was okay, definitely not worth the price! I’ve been to Comparably priced restaurants in Chicago that beyond exceeded my expectations. Our waitress was beyond rude; she was there strictly to take an order and that was it. I wouldn’t come back despite the very romantic location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Amazing and creative food: smart servers and lovely setting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We had an early reservation so had an opportunity to enjoy the architecture. The staff were attentive and helpful. A day prior to our dinner, I had a call from the restaurant confirming and asking if anyone had food allergies, which I confirmed. When we began discussing the menu options, the waitress had the allergy information and began to advise which items to stay away from.

The North Pond used to be a skating area many years ago. The building, which is now the restaurant, was where the skaters could go inside to warm themselves and drink hot chocolate.

The only downside is that the restaurant is a short walk from any street and the driver needs to know the area to find the best location to drop you. Normally, this would give you a chance to enjoy the city scapes, but when it is cold and windy, it can be unpleasant.

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant as a delightful Chicago experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great food and service! We tried seasoning tasting and that was delicious even without the wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Was there for a early New Yesr’s Eve Tasting menu. Pre-fix meal with wine options were innovative and exquisite. Service was friendly but professional. The atmosphere of sitting in an beautiful room looking out on the cold pond with the city skyline in the horizon was a great way to end the year. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Best NYE meal of the 8 in a row I’ve had! Mind blowing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

This is a great restaurant! The service is impeccable. The dishes are delicious and unique. I recommend the seasonal tastings with the wine pairings but you cannot go wrong ordering off the regular menu either.

Their weekend brunch is something you should definitely try! It is not a standard buffet but rather another tasting menu with three or four interesting dishes (and a choice of two or three for each dish).

This is a can't miss place!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

It is the most elegant dining in chicago. Quaint, cozy, sophisticated and centrally locAted. There is nothing like it anywhere we have been in a metro area. An amazing meal for those wishing for something more in a restaurant. We have been going since it opened many years ago and live it more each time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

We dined here after not eating here for many years. It did not disappoint--the North Pond's menu changes regularly with the seasons which is nice for more frequent dining. We shared a few appetizers and salads and each got his/her entree which worked well. Next time we will try the tasting menu. My only complaint is that we were told the tasting menu was not an option b/c one member of party had a shellfish allergy. All other restaurants with tasting menus where we've dined were able to accommodate this particular allergy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

A hidden gem in the park that is a unique experience in the City. Delicious food that was enhanced by impeccable service in a comfortable environment.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Food excellent, as always. Music too loud to point of intrusiveness, at least where we were seated. Most annoying was that door was locked and staff inside would not open it until stroke of scheduled time for dinner service at 5:30, although night was very cold and one cannot wait in car because restaurant is in park.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

We chose this charming restaurant for our wedding anniversary, and they had special menus printed up with our names for the occasion. In bad winter weather this place can be a challenge to get to, located in the middle of Lincoln Park about 100 yards from the nearest street, but we live `within walking distrance and were fortunate to get a mild, clear evening. As fans of arts and crafts architecture, we love the décor of this former warming house for ice skaters on the nearby pond, and the unobstructed views of the downtown skyscrapers are hard to beat. The food, described simply by the two main ingredients, is complex but not fussy, and the sometimes puzzling combination of flavors almost always works. We had the seasonal tasting menu which consisted of Fois Gras, Pear; Crab, Peanut; Beef, Beet; Squab, Feta; and Carrot, Orange.-a perfect celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

North Pond offered an incredible dining experience in a beautifully crafted restaurant. The tasting menu is your best choice to see the real brilliance of the chef and find new and unexpected flavors you will love. The staff is excellent. They are friendly, always helpful, and knowledgable about each course they serve.
I highly recommend a trip to North Pond for a wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Excellent!!!! This should be a Michelin 2-Star!! Very warm atmosphere, and friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Michelin one star food, attentive but not first class service, background jazz far too lively (drums) for the setting, adequate but not exceptional wine list with under 100 bottles. Parking difficult to locate and not highlighted on the website. Not a bad value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Was absolutely fantastic...the ambience/setting/view were great but the food...omg, incredible pairing of flavors...a food adventure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Quite possibly the best meal we’ve ever had! Incredible flavors in every single dish. Wonderful service from beginning to end. We had a beautiful view from our table. It was a very special and memorable anniversary dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

I went here recently with my family to celebrate my graduation, and I was so impressed with our experience! The wait staff (hostess, valet, and waiter) were all attentive and accommodating. The architecture is beautiful, and the ambiance is quiet enough that you don't have to shout to converse with your party. The food is delicious (I had the fluke and fennel), although I would not recommend for picky eaters, as there are some unusual but tasty sides with each dish. Only downside is that North Pond is a little hard to find - be sure to enter at Lakeview & Deming (this is also where the valet is). We drove past it a couple times before realizing we were on the wrong side of the park. Overall, would recommend for a special occasion!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
78

Tweets by North Pond