Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About North Pond

Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.

2610 North Cannon Drive
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person. Please contact the restaurant should you have further questions.

Cross Street:
Lakeview & Deming

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 477-5845

Website:
http://www.northpondrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $13 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.

Public Transit:
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)

Executive Chef:
Bruce Sherman

Private Party Facilities:
North Pond provides one of the most distinctive settings in the city for private social and business events. Our Lincoln Park location offers stunning views of Chicago’s dramatic skyline. We offer an inclusive evening for your special occasion, complete with a seasonal four-course dinner

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Labun: (773) 477-5845

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mom (and all the other special ladies in your life) with us on Sunday, May 14th. We'll be offering a wonderful 3-course prix-fixe brunch menu from 10am-5pm, for $85 per adult and $40 per child.

North Pond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (40)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (38)
Scenic View (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Tasting Menu (25)
Seasonal (23)
Waterfront (22)
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Historic (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fireplace (12)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Organic (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
2888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Celebrated a special birthday. Many little surprises and the food was delicious, very creative. A wonderful experience!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

We had very creative and delicious food in a lovely space.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice feature of customizing the menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Pleasantly surprised by the quality and creativity of the dishes. The tasting menu was fresh and creative. Great room. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent tasting menu and wine pairing! Every course was delicious and the pairing were perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

North Pond Cafe is a long standing favorite - the kind of restaurant experience that creates wonderful memories. The food is always exceptional and full of jewel like surprises - it's like looking at the movement of a very fine Swiss watch. The location and decor are lovely and seem to reflect the beauty of the surroundings regardless of time of year. Being ever so slightly pernickety would lead to removing one star from service down to "very good". Why? When you are combining the tasting menu with the wine flights the challenge is synchronizing the simultaneous arrival of both food and wine. This time the synching was a fraction off. I'm sure its the exception and will not in any way prevent finding another excuse to go there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, but not really stellar. Ambience ok, but we were seated in an almost empty large area of the restaurant. Hard to feel cosy in that setting. Will probably go back in the summer when they have outside seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

waited almost 40 minutes after finishing meal for dessert, when we finally decided we had to leave without dessert and asked for our bill, they rushed the dessert out. dessert was mediocre and we left without finishing. no offer for any adjustment to our bill. altogether not respectful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch. Cocktails were delicious. Food was exceptional. Service outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent for a special occasion. Creative cuisine, excellent service, pleasant location. A bit expensive, but that's why it's so special

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is our fourth trip to North Pond, this time for our 40th wedding anniversary. We live in Minneapolis- also a very foodie town, but honestly, this is one of our all time favorites. Not only is the food and service exceptional, it is truly a lovely spot and beautiful building. Definitely worth of a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

North Pond is just solid. Great food, great atmosphere. Our server this time was over zealous and a bit much. I would not let this stop me from going again and again. Just a beautiful restaurant with delicious, well thought out food.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Perfect in every way

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic, service was amazing and the food was out of this world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

North Pond was the perfect place to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The wait staff was exceptional. Our waitress knew everything about the very extraordinary food and its preparation. Because the restaurant knew in advance it was our anniversary, they had a personalized menu for us and a personalized dessert plate at the end of the meal. Class!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Awesome first visit to this restaurant.
Excellent food. Great presentation. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We eat at North Pond every so often. I particularly like to go there for Sunday brunch. Everything is usually good. I have no qualms with the food and drinks. However, I had requested a table in the front of the restaurant (facing the pond), but was given one in the interior. Also, the service was particularly slow this past Sunday. Although I was in no hurry, our brunch took two hours. Also, there was a substantial amount of time between ordering drinks and receiving them.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food tasted as good as it looked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great service -- MOST Wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Well prepared. And by well I mean delicious food. Nicely presented. Pretty Location. All for celebrating a birthday that didn't disappoint. Sometimes a little apprehensive going to a restaurant that has been around for a bit. Definitely not letting things slack here. Very recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

amazing food, but less vegetarian-friendly than on previous visits. Always get a kick out of watching the hand gestures of the server as they point out, with emphatic precision, the various parts of your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wonderful for a Special Occasion, excellent service, outstanding restaurant design.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

North Pond is very romantic -- set in an old Arts & Crafts building with lots of ambiance, in the middle of Lincoln Park with a view of the city. The food is creative, beautifully plated and delicious. We enjoyed the tasting menu with the wine pairings. With 5 courses, it was not too overwhelming and very enjoyable.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We eat at the North Pond every time we visit Chicago. The place is awesome in every aspect, ambiance, food, service, location and we can't wait to come back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was just absolutely phenomenal! Truly amazing!!! And that's coming from a foodie and harsh judge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great restaurant in a great location and with a great view.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Hardly a better dining option anywhere. We celebrated my birthday at North Pond with a Sunday brunch. All of us loved each creative dish we ordered on the three course menu. Pear leek soup with fresh and poached pear. Blackened fish with 2 or 3 kinds of cauliflower. Apple French toast with apple slices and apple puree and carmelized pecan. Those were my choices. Fresh flavors perfectly composed. A very special occasion. Beautiful space in the midst of Lincoln Park. Great service. Reasonably priced but I'd recommend it double the cost

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A beautiful, cozy restaurant tucked into the park at Lincoln Park. We went with the seasonal tasting which included crab spring roll, scallop, foie gras, tenderloin and a couple of chef "amuse bouche". we will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Most consistent restaurant in Chicago for excellent meal. Great ingredients, great staff, great ambiance, great chef. The best Chicago has to offer!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Prairie-centered dining experience that honestly presents that "earth to plate" (farm-to-table) Midwest sensibility to its seasonal tasting menu and a la carte dishes amidst the gorgeous rendering of Arts & Crafts interiors that perfectly complement the idyllic nature sanctuary punctuated by the city skyline in its exterior. Its Michelin star rating sufficiently justifies the exemplary manifestation of the attentive service, most particularly the way the reservationist empathized with our last minute cancelation due to a medical situation by offering to apply the $25 per person cancellation fee towards a voucher for future use. When we finally decided to pursue our dinner birthday celebration for a late evening seating, they were more than pleased to accommodate us and information may have been conveyed across the board as our server acknowledged our medical emergency and glad that we were still able to join for a later seating. They offered a complimentary first round of bubbly. They wowed us with the personalized birthday menu and, with the chef's compliments, added two bonus courses on the five course tasting menu. And it doesn't end there. Our server culminated our dinner by bringing a dessert plate with a single lighted candle with the birthday greeting written in chocolate (in Arts & Crafts font no less) on the plate. We were finally given the personalized menu signed by Chef Bruce Sherman along with a copy of some interesting trivia on the restaurant's history which were all thoughtfully enclosed in a brown envelope. And did I mention that they enclosed a little packet of seedlings on the bill folder as another souvenir of a featured ingredient in tonight's dinner? Compared to the competitive price point of tasting menus and cancelation fees in other Michelin-star rated Chicago restaurants, North Pond honestly, while being devoid of snobbishness, caters to that Midwest sensibility that go gentle into your pocketbook. It is Prairie perfected!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and lively yet cozy atmosphere. Went out of their way for the birthday we were celebrating (customized the menu and dessert).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of the best overall meals we have had in Chicago. Certainly the best meal in recent memory. We had the tasting menu as well as the wine pairing and both were executed flawlessly. I have nothing but great things to say about the service and ambiance as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Tasting menu was excellent. Great for those who are experimental. Beautiful setting, fabulous service and the perfect spot for our special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food is exquisitely prepared and visually breathtaking! Each course was fantastic: sardine and endive salad - gorgeous and tasty, venison with various treats for the tongue, bass with fennel and pumpkin seed to delight, and more. Service is prompt and accurate without being in your face.
Great attention is given to dietary needs (we are both gluten intolerant). A birthday celebrated there was amply attended to in a subtly festive spirit. Wine list is varied and contains a little of everything: local, small batch houses, far-reaching 'famous' labels, and everything in between. Note for gluten intolerants: You won't find much in the dessert area other than the requisite ice cream/sorbet options.
This is a fabulous destination for a romantic night out or a group of foodie friends looking to finally check out that restaurant in Lincoln Park.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was well thought out and amazing. The food was incredible. The service was everything you would hope for. We can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A beautiful romantic location and I love the creativity of the Chef but felt that the food experience was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very lovely facility and setting, very gracious service - given its Michelin star, the food was a little disappointing, not bad just a little ordinary. May have been because their preparations for brunch have become a little routine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Venison was fantastic as was the foies gras. The only misstep was the server who appeared to be relatively new.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service in the restaurant was outstanding.

Getting a cab with the valet was terrible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food is exquisitely prepared and presented. The dishes are works of art.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.