Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About North Pond

Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.

2610 North Cannon Drive
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person.

Cross Street:
Lakeview & Deming

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 477-5845

Website:
http://www.northpondrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $13 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.

Public Transit:
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)

Executive Chef:
Bruce Sherman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North Pond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (63)
Special Occasion (61)
Scenic View (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for a Date (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Tasting Menu (34)
Local Ingredients (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Seasonal (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Cozy (24)
Waterfront (23)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
3021 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We experienced the tasting menu and the wine pairings. Everything was excellent. The multiple courses were just the right size and the extra chef surprises were all special treats. The wine pairings were well chosen, although the pours were a bit small and we had to struggle to make them last through the courses.
The service was good but our own server was a bit socially awkward.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Special place to celebrate! Phenomenal food combinations! Love the setting in the park. Lovely!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The location and environment are stunning, due to the city skyline backdrop and the architectural pedigree. There is a great "to do" about presentation..with an eclectic and diverse attempt to delight your taste buds; however, the portions are small and the quality of the meal does not equal the price the establishment charges. The waiter mixed up my wife and my salads and the food was unimpressive....will not return.....

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I brought my partner's mother to this restaurant for her birthday and I was very nervous about it because she can be quite judgmental and often feels like she doesn't get treated well in America. I chose this restaurant for its food as well as it's beautiful location--my partner's mother is obsessed with beautiful views and natural beauty. The waitstaff was incredible and had fantastic recommendations. The only downside is that I specially requested a table in their outer room with windows and the beautiful view both in my OpenTable reservation and when the restaurant called to confirm the reservation. They told me it was first-come, first-serve. When we arrived, we saw a table available in the outer room that could fit six, but they told us they wouldn't seat us there because it only sat four people. My partner's mother doesn't speak English fluently and felt very slighted by this refusal--she talked about how unfortunate it was that we weren't put in the outer room all night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The timing in between dishes was a bit too long. We sat down at 8:00 and our first course came at 8:45. The total meal was over 2.5 hours for 2 people.

Luckily we were seated in the room that views the pond. It’s the nicest room. I felt the light from the kitchen seriously interrupted the vibes inside. It’s clear that a ton of energy went into curating the design and mood of the space, including the lighting, and the bright light from the kitchen kills that mood in the inside room.

Overall, the food was good, but I would have had a much greater experience if it moved faster and I wasn’t yawning 100 times near the end of an 8:00 pm reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Good cocktails at the bar. Food was very good, somewhat limited menu but all the dishes very well executed. Pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This has always been one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago and it really was a pleasure to take friends there. The location is perfect with a nice view if the Chicago skyline while surrounded by nature. The sevice from the host, the server and even the "bus person" was tremendous. It's nice when everyone takes a genuine interest in your experience. Thanks for a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Incredible. Everything. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Truly amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

North Pond never disappoints!! We always have a wonderful experience when we dine here.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food and service. All people are really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Perfect food! Perfect drinks! Perfect service! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Tasting menu was inventive and excellent with strong flavors. Wine pairings were a good compliment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent food, presentation and waitstaff. Rustic, scenic venue.
Will definitely return, and recommend

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience in every way. beautiful atmosphere, professional and non-intrusive service, amazing food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Absolutely fabulous birthday dinner. They printed them menu wishing me a happy birthday and wrote a special birthday wish on the dessert plate. The food and atmosphere was also incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience, celebrating a birthday at Sunday brunch. The food, service and ambiance were excellent. We'll be back again soon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Although we live only a few minutes walk from North Pond, we have somehow never been able to fit it into our dining out plans. That has changed! It is a beautiful restaurant inside with great attention to a tactile and visual experience throughout. My husband and I went for the brunch and were overwhelmed by the food. It was superb in every way. I loved the unusual combinations, but one doesn't need to be a gourmet diner to enjoy the food. We now want to return for dinner -- and soon!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I love your restaurant but on this evening the service was just off... the food was amazing as usual.. the table was in the corner were the waiters station is and we had to keep asking to have wine refilled .. it was my birthday..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Delicious! Would celebrate any occasion. A beautiful view in summer and winter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Beautiful experience at North Pond. Me and my husband had a wonderful time celebrating our first anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Uber fine dining in a quaint setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

This Chicago gen of a restaurant never disappoints. The food is amazing and the service is impeccable. It is the best place to bring out of town guests to impress. There isn't a hint of snobbiness despite the outstanding levels of food and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Simply put, North Pond never disappoints. Outstanding, creative food; friendly and professional service; lovely, but not stuffy dining room that is conversation friendly - all in a picturesque setting.

The "relleno" squash blossom starter was bursting with flavor, while the salmon was cooked to perfection. My husband had a pork/fig dish that was just the right mix of sweet and savory. Ask for a table on the porch - the view is magical. And if you enjoy wine, their knowledgeable sommelier will pair the perfect glass (even if you order a la carte!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service here was absolutely fantastic. That coupled with outstanding food made celebrating our anniversary so special. We tried the tasting menu which was recommended To Us by our server and it took all of the guesswork out of figuring out what we wanted to have... We could just try the seasonal Delights offered this summer. Every dish that came from the kitchen was beautiful, well prepared and offered an unexpected surprise in every bite. If we were ever in the area for another special occasion we would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

North Pond has become our GoTo place for special occasions and fine dining. The service is top notch and the food is always incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had the seasonal tasting menu with wine pairings. It was creative and delicious. My biggest surprise was how much this tentative fish eater loved smoked caviar with black cod. All but one wine hit the mark for me. Highly recommended for a change from traditional menus.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner as always. Good job! Service was a little uneven at times.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 10, 2017

What a wonderful evening! The ambience was beautiful the food was divine. It could be used as a romantic occasion or a splendid birthday celebration. Good for smaller groups not as good for large groups. The wait staff was very attentive and patient. The food was good for all levels. Although there was a tasting menu that was more specific for the specialized pallet they also offered food for the average person. We really enjoyed our time they did not rush us but we're prompt with the service. They know their wines they know they're mixed drinks. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It has a lovely view of the pond as well as an exquisite a view of the city. Romantic absolutely! But also just a nice time with friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Everything was amazing, truly. But, the night was ruined when my wife found a parasite - alive and moving around - in her salmon. Apparently, this is rare but it does happen when you eat fresh - very fresh - seafood. The chef (through the manager) and the manager was very apologetic and covered our meal and dessert. Again, the food was A++, as well as the service (especially our waitress); but, I would be lying if I didn't say our night wasn't ruined due to the unfortunate circumstance during the main course. Go to the North Pond: just don't order the salmon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Cool space and great deal for brunch. Gracious staff and good drinks. Food was subpar to be honest but would be willing to try dinner another time as it was an overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It would not surprise me to learn that the current decor of the restored North Pond gem of a building that houses the resturant is even more attractive than it was when first built about a century ago. The service is very good (although our server was a bit odd), and the food was both creative and tasty. All four of us enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

A wonderful restaurant with wonderful food and exceptional service. The perfect place for our 40th anniversary!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We arrived at around 5:30 and all had the seasonal tasting. In addition to the tasting we got two extra dishes, and the food was overall very great. I would highly recommend this restaurant to people who love seasonal dining and great wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

It's hard to give North Pond anything other than a 5. They set the standard for what a 5 is.
My extremely minor complaint is that we were't given a choice of where to sit . We PROBABLY would have chosen the patio, where we were seated, but it was a very warm day and we were considering asking for a table inside. All's well that ends well and we had a lovely dining experience. Food was beautiful and tasty, just the right amount of each. Timing of the serving was perfect. Staff all seem bright and energetic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

North Pond's unique location within Lincoln Park is spectacular. The restaurant is located in a building that was initially a warming hut for the North Pond ice skaters. It has been transformed into a spectacular restaurant which offers a tasting menu or a la chart choices. Their food is creative American and there are a lot of great choices on the menu from meat to fish to vegetarian.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Chicago. Great location. Fantastic dishes. Very friendly service. Memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was finger licking good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Top notch dining experience; highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Went to North Pond with my fiance after getting engaged. It was the perfect spot to celebrate. The service was simply perfect. They made us feel so incredibly special. Highly recommend if celebrating a special occasion. Just let them know ahead of time so they can prepare.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.