Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About North Pond

Located within Lincoln Park, at the edge of a pond overlooking Chicago's dramatic skyline, North Pond can easily claim the city's loveliest setting. Inspired by the market, Chef Bruce Sherman utilizes exceptional ingredients at the height of their season. His cuisine reflects the Arts & Crafts decor of the dining room - complex layers of subtle craft beneath a simple decorative style.

2610 North Cannon Drive
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday- Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm;
Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Please note that we do require credit cards for ALL reservations. Our cancellation policy allows guests up to 48 hours prior to their reservation to cancel. Any cancellations made within the 48 hour period will be charged $25 per person.
Please note, cancellation policies may vary for holidays throughout the year, upwards of $100 per person. Please contact the restaurant should you have further questions.

Cross Street:
Lakeview & Deming

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 477-5845

Website:
http://www.northpondrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Taxi drop off location:
Valet Parking is $13 per vehicle. Drop-off is at the intersection of Lakeview and Deming, on the West side of the park. From there, the restaurant is a short walk into the park.

Public Transit:
CTA 151, 156 (Wrightwood), 22 (Clark & Deming)

Executive Chef:
Bruce Sherman

Private Party Facilities:
North Pond provides one of the most distinctive settings in the city for private social and business events. Our Lincoln Park location offers stunning views of Chicago’s dramatic skyline. We offer an inclusive evening for your special occasion, complete with a seasonal four-course dinner

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Labun: (773) 477-5845

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Celebrate the men in your life with a delightful 3-course, pre fixe brunch at North Pond. The Springtime menu will be $45 per adult, with selections for first courses, main courses, and dessert!

North Pond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (50)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Romantic (48)
Scenic View (47)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Tasting Menu (30)
Waterfront (28)
Local Ingredients (26)
Seasonal (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Cozy (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Historic (18)
Authentic (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fireplace (10)
Organic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
2914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunday brunch was our first visit to North Pond. It lived up to its reputation in every way. The food was great, quantities appropriate, and the view/ambiance delightful. We WILL return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

After exhaustively researching a Michelin starred, reasonably priced restaurant in Chicago, my girlfriend and I decided on North Pond. We were not disappointed. From the beautiful Arts and Crafts building, waterfront setting, romantic ambiance, attentive service, and beautiful open kitchen flowed forth a most mind numbingly delicious meal. The attention to detail and lagniappe (little extras) made our experience unforgettable. Scott was a perfect server and I truly don't have a single complaint. Thank you North Pond!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

I really wanted to like this restaurant. But I thought they tried to do too much with each dish and the flavors never really melded together. This was true of all the courses. Service was slow - it took 20 minutes just to get our menus. There are other restaurants at this price point that I'd rather spend my time and money at than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

A staple in Lincoln Park - classic design and phenomenal food fair. Cocktails were on point as well as the extra touches with complimentary app tasting and truffle to go with after dinner cappuccino. Can't wait to go back and see what the seasonal (daily) menu has to offer.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday occasion. Service ok but a bit slow. Food varied from excellent to meh. A wonderful place to eat despite expense. We will return at some point.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Our group of four enjoyed our dinner -- roasted salmon, halibut, and duck -- and really enjoyed the restaurant itself. Only disappointment was desserts, which were underwhelming in both presentation and taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The valet parking we were advised of when confirming our reservation was not available. The table we were seated at was near the open kitchen. This was a 6:30 reservation and there were several more desirable tables available. We were not reseated. Food was good, but it was difficult to converse. We listened to every confirmation of all dinner orders placed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Tastebud delight. Every part of our appetizers and entree were unique and flavorful. Very creative flavors that left you wanting to determine the ingredients.
This was my 4th visit and the best, we will return for other special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Exceptional tasting food and surprising boutique wines gracefully served in the most beautiful spot in the city. A memorable evening of haute cuisine without pretension.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is a beautiful venue with good food. I also liked the drinks from the bar

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was very competent and timely. Of course, the venue is a gem on a nice spring night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Sunday brunch is absolutely outstanding! The food is inventive and beautiful without over-stretching. Our waiter made us feel like we were the only table he had (in a good way...he took his time with us and was perfectly attentive)...personal, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the venue.

This is our new top-recommended brunch destination! And we plan to try it for dinner soon, as well!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good stuff always here. Brunch dessert timing/service was uncharacteristically real poor/long delayed without a forthcoming explanation from the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Incredible food, outstanding service in a gorgeous setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lovely ambiance and service but too many different flavors that didn't necessarily go together. Some definitely amazing bites but a "cold" feeling for brunch -- we expected a more cozy heat warming wholesome meal. Service was amazing and would try dinner or lunch there but not particularly for our expectations for brunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Such a special place -- beautiful setting in the park, delicious food, great service. Even though it's a bit pricey, it's worth every last penny.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lovely, spontaneous date night! North Pond always delivers excellence in food, service and ambiance. A true Chicago staple yet still a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of the best places to get brunch in Chicago...
I can not say enough good things about their brunch - food is excellent, service is exceptional, the view is lovely.
Any chance I get to go there, I take it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

North Pond is a magical restaurant. This is the 5th or 6th time I've dined here over the last 3 years and it has been consistently wonderful for special occasions. Highly recommend the small dining room with the fireplace and views of the city over the pond - very intimate and romantic. Food is a delight for the tastebuds. I'm a pretty good cook but this is in another league - very complex assemblies of flavors. Great wine pairings also. The price is reasonable for the quality - expect about $200/person with wine pairings and tip.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 29, 2017

An overall excellent experience. We had the tasting menu and someone in our party did not want one of the courses. The chef graciously substituted another course, and we were all able to enjoy the tasting menu. Classy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My friend from Colorado, a major foodie, and I decided we'd like to try a starred restaurant in the near neighborhood. We actually took the bus there! The food was outstanding and original in combinations and flavors. We sat in a quiet corner and discussed each dish and the accompanying wines on the tasting menu. An excellent choice. The service was impeccable and waitstaff knowledgeable. A truly delightful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We love this hidden gem. The food is always creative, the service is excellent, and the Mission-style ambience and view of the water are a treat for the eyes. The only downside: the music (jazz) was a tad too loud. But that's typical of most restaurants; I think we're a small minority in our longing for quiet in public spaces. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our server on a Wednesday night was very attentive and professional. All the service was excellent and the place is absolutely beautiful. It was a bit chilly inside on a mild evening; bring a sweater just in case. Food is very, very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Celebrated a special birthday. Many little surprises and the food was delicious, very creative. A wonderful experience!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had very creative and delicious food in a lovely space.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Nice feature of customizing the menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

What can I say about North Pond? I won't even discuss the food in this review (rest assured, it was fantastic). What swept me away was how the restaurant managed to make my girlfriend and me feel absolutely special for our one-year anniversary. We even got a specialized menu that said "Happy Anniversary Amanda and Sotiri" on it. Our delight exponentially increased when we found out that we got to keep that menu.

I'll be honest, I really don't make enough money to eat here often, but this is not the last anniversary that my lady and I plan on celebrating at North Pond. Thank you, again for such warmth and hospitality!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Pleasantly surprised by the quality and creativity of the dishes. The tasting menu was fresh and creative. Great room. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent tasting menu and wine pairing! Every course was delicious and the pairing were perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

North Pond Cafe is a long standing favorite - the kind of restaurant experience that creates wonderful memories. The food is always exceptional and full of jewel like surprises - it's like looking at the movement of a very fine Swiss watch. The location and decor are lovely and seem to reflect the beauty of the surroundings regardless of time of year. Being ever so slightly pernickety would lead to removing one star from service down to "very good". Why? When you are combining the tasting menu with the wine flights the challenge is synchronizing the simultaneous arrival of both food and wine. This time the synching was a fraction off. I'm sure its the exception and will not in any way prevent finding another excuse to go there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was good, but not really stellar. Ambience ok, but we were seated in an almost empty large area of the restaurant. Hard to feel cosy in that setting. Will probably go back in the summer when they have outside seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

waited almost 40 minutes after finishing meal for dessert, when we finally decided we had to leave without dessert and asked for our bill, they rushed the dessert out. dessert was mediocre and we left without finishing. no offer for any adjustment to our bill. altogether not respectful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch. Cocktails were delicious. Food was exceptional. Service outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent for a special occasion. Creative cuisine, excellent service, pleasant location. A bit expensive, but that's why it's so special

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is our fourth trip to North Pond, this time for our 40th wedding anniversary. We live in Minneapolis- also a very foodie town, but honestly, this is one of our all time favorites. Not only is the food and service exceptional, it is truly a lovely spot and beautiful building. Definitely worth of a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

North Pond is just solid. Great food, great atmosphere. Our server this time was over zealous and a bit much. I would not let this stop me from going again and again. Just a beautiful restaurant with delicious, well thought out food.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Perfect in every way

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic, service was amazing and the food was out of this world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

North Pond was the perfect place to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The wait staff was exceptional. Our waitress knew everything about the very extraordinary food and its preparation. Because the restaurant knew in advance it was our anniversary, they had a personalized menu for us and a personalized dessert plate at the end of the meal. Class!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.