About North Italia – Kansas City

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Mon 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Sundried Tomato Butter With Fresh Bread - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Tagliatelle - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Kansas City Eatup - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
moretti La Rossa - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Papardelle - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Bucatini Pasta With Rock Shrimp - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Olives - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Zucca Chips - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Bread & Butter - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Peach Ice Tea - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Grilled Chicken Panini - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Trio of Spreads - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Bucatini - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Manhattan - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Baked Ziti - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Gluten And Dairy Free Pasta With Shrimp, Shiitake Mushrooms, And Spinach Lightly Tossed In Olive Oil. - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Action Shot! - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Meatball - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Chitarra Pasta With Shrimps, Butternut Squash, Brussel Sprouts And Toasted Hazelnut - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Meatball Sandwich - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Salmon - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Zucca - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Pappardelle - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Pizza Fresh Mozzarella & Basil - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
fettuccine - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Bucatini with Meatballs - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Cavatelli - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Sundried Tomato Butter - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
strozzapreti - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Wine - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Ahi Tuna Salad - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Arugula Pizza - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Burrata - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Baby Greens with Chicken, Feta, Hazelnuts, and Raisins - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Crispy Fried Potatoes - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Day at North Italia with our special pre-fixe menu, featuring chef-driven dishes and specialty wine offered exclusively for you and your special someone. Make your reservation today!

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Modern Decor (29)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Casual (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fun (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Romantic (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Authentic (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Seasonal (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Healthy (7)
Family Style (7)
Quick Bite (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good choice for business. Easy service. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 12 hours ago

Good choice for business. Easy service. Kept us replenished with iced tea and quick order. Didn't even notice the server as we were busy with work. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a great meal! The bolognese was su ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

What a great meal! The bolognese was superb, as was the Caesar salad!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I celebrated an anniversary ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I celebrated an anniversary at dinner.We were very happy with the food and service. Our server Blake was attentive. However,what made the evening very special was Rosie, theGeneral Manager.She checked on us throughout the evening and made us feel very special.Like we were part of the family.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Terry was fantastic, made gre ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Terry was fantastic, made great recommendations and was very accommodating with questions and substitutions . Drinks, appetizers and dinner were spot on, would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Kansas City; love the atmosphere, food, and service! My husband and I go every weekenend, and always bring our friends when they visit!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to North for a late Sunday after ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to North for a late Sunday afternoon lunch. North has excellent deals on Sunday… It's happy hour all day and there are bargain prices on certain appetizers and pizzas. We ordered the delicious zucchini chips, and then split the mushroom polenta and a chicken salad. The kitchen graciously split the dishes for us on separate plates. The portions were extremely generous. The service is excellent. The staff is polite and professional. North is consistently excellent.

Tags: , Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is one of my favorite go to places to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It is one of my favorite go to places to go not only for dinner but for a glass of wine. Zucca chips are a must have!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fun, , Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal at North. They are ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a good meal at North. They are consistent and very attentive. We enjoy the energy of the restaurant and the prices are reasonable for what you get. I would recommend North to anyone looking for a great meal and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always enjoy our meals at North. Red Sa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always enjoy our meals at North. Red Sangria is the BEST!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve. Limited menu but food ser ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve. Limited menu but food served cold. Replacement took long time. Waiter could not split bill right and we finally gave up and settled it among ourselves. We have been regular customers on monthly basis since North opened and never had a bad experience before. Had advanced reservations but they were not full. Glade we've had good experience there before or else would not consider returning. $55 pre-fix menu was not a bargain either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was kind of bland for the price, I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was kind of bland for the price, I had high expectations going in but the wine was really good.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent service and got our preferred ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent service and got our preferred seating even though we were at least 15 minutes late for our reservation. Truly exceptional!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent (as usual). It was v ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was excellent (as usual). It was very busy, due to 1/2 price bottles of wine; however, service was very slow and inattentive. We'll go back, but not on a Wednesday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

North consistently delivers high-quality ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

North consistently delivers high-quality food and top-notch service. Manager Ryan is always accommodating and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service, they are hap ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food and service, they are happy to accommodate food preferences. Kids menu was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

North Italia was AMAZING! My mom and I w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

North Italia was AMAZING! My mom and I went for lunch the day after Christmas while I was visiting from Chicago. Our server was phenomenal and we never had to wait for anything. He made great suggestions on which craft cocktails to get that would compliment our meal. The menu is filled with great dishes so we decided to do 2 appetizers and 2 entrees. The portions were nicely sized so we also had leftovers. Each dish was unique, flavorful and absolutely delicious. As a Chicago girl, I was extremely impressed to find this foodie gem in Kansas City!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

North is one of our go to spots food is ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

North is one of our go to spots food is always great. This time the service wasn't up to par. Long waits before checking on us. Our drinks were empty and took forever to clear our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We celebrated our sons 21st birthday. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We celebrated our sons 21st birthday. The manager was very accommodating. Since the tables weren't turning he had us order an app so it was ready when we were seated. The short rib was excellent. So was the tortoloni. Pizza special was a hit. Thanks for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Usually, I rave about the food at North ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Usually, I rave about the food at North Italia. The crispy calamari appetizer was delicious. However, my squid ink mafaldine pasta dish was so over-the-top loaded with sliced garlic that it was awful. It left a horrible after taste in my mouth for 12 hours. The wines could also be priced a bit more reasonably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

North is one of our 'go to' places. As u ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

North is one of our 'go to' places. As usual, the service was excellent. Zucca chips are wonderful, the pasta dishes are great and the salted caramel budina is tondie for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great northern Italian food.....period. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

great northern Italian food.....period. Great place to people watch. Has a great bar to get in, have a drink, eat and get out. Bang for the buck, this is the best place to go. Even two or three times per week is not too much.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although expensive, North is a great res ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Although expensive, North is a great restaurant. The food is wonderful and the service excellent. It was a little noisy and a little cold, but we had a excellent meal and enjoyed North very much.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The staff is very friendly and acommodat ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The staff is very friendly and acommodating. The filet was AMAZING! I think there could be a starch served with the fish. Guests loved the pasta. Nice that they had a gluten free option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the PERFECT birthday spot. I've ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was the PERFECT birthday spot. I've done a few dinners here and I am impressed every time :)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Great service Nice birthday ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Good food. Great service

Nice birthday treat for birthday girl!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot for lunch and I really like ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

A great spot for lunch and I really liked my kale salad. The place was jumping on a December Wednesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have enjoyed many dinners at North. T ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We have enjoyed many dinners at North. This visit was for lunch. One of my favorites is the Tortellini..... however this new version with butternut squash was so SALTY it was terrible! I could taste nothing BUT salt! My husband had had a turkey/ salami sandwich that he could not even eat. It will be a long time before we return.....also very overpriced for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My husband and I don't get to go on date ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I don't get to go on dates much, but when we do, we try to make it out to North. We have been during the day and at night, and both have been great. The ambiance at night is nice and the food is delicious. I will say my favorite things on the menu so far have been the burrata tortelloni, the calamari and the garlic truffle bread(which may be a bad idea if you are on a first date or have a business meeting where you are in close range to others). The service has always been fantastic. I definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server I think her name was Dani was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our server I think her name was Dani was awesome. I told her that when we come back we would prefer her section. She was very attentive, friendly and new the menu well, which helped when making our selection. The only thing I would suggest is to get better lighting for each table. It was very difficult to even read our menu and the room felt dark.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The food was very good as was the servic ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was very good as was the service. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always good! Tonight's dinner was no di ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always good! Tonight's dinner was no different -- good food and great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seasonal salad was excellent! Everythin ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Seasonal salad was excellent! Everything else - poor. The pizza with egg should feature a soft, runny center. Ours was served with a hard, dry yolk. I chose North bc a special friend was in time to visit. We were seated at a little table right by the door and dealt with incoming guests running into us with their coats, purses - even the hostess bumped out table (dropping menus) twice! Servers were more interested in their "big" tables and we received very little care. Disappointing evening ... should have chosen elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Seating was not good, in the aisle and c ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Seating was not good, in the aisle and cold every time the front door opened.

Staff could little to none on whether the seating was going to work for us, and not interested in offering any solutions.

Waited ten minutes, received no service, so we left.

Don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I always enjoy North. Food is generally ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I always enjoy North. Food is generally consistent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is great, love chef's board and hom ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food is great, love chef's board and homemade pasta.

Food quality is great, service is fantastic, very professional.

Fun for friends get together and share food, share love.

Constantly go back to explore more different dishes.

Bought several gift card for friends and ourselves.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always excellent. The squid ink pasta w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always excellent. The squid ink pasta was great. Wednesday wine night is a great offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience is comfortable and the serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The ambience is comfortable and the service is outstanding. Our waitstaff was friendly and had a great sense of humor. The quality of food "two thumbs up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was on point, our waiter was the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service was on point, our waiter was the sweetest. The food was so good I made sure to bring my friend just so she can try it because my past visit was amazing as well.

Tags: Organic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Historic, Seasonal, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was late but they brough ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our reservation was late but they brought us glasses of prosecco while we waited!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kitchen was very slow. The soup was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The kitchen was very slow. The soup was not very good. The waitress was nice but not very attentive. I would give them another chance, but this just wasn't the best experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.