About North Italia – Kansas City

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

Treat your Mother this Mother's Day! We will be open early at 10am and be offering select brunch items!
We’ve turned a modern lens on traditional Italian cooking. North Italia – Kansas City is our love letter to Italy—a place that’ll make you feel like you’ve stepped off a charming side street to discover a culinary gem. After a decade in business, we’ve learned a thing or two and we’re approaching perfection in the art of handmade pasta and pizza. Every day, we start from scratch to create dishes like Strozzapreti with Bloomsdale spinach or supple ribbons of tagliatelle for our Bolognese. Our pizza is a revelation: an airy, barely chewy center embraced by a perfectly crisp crust. With the spirit of the Italian taverna, North is the place to talk shop over a cocktail or swap gossip sharing delectable chef creations.Every neighborhood would be lucky to have a place like North Italia.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Mon 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitalianfarmhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sundried Tomato Butter With Fresh Bread
Tagliatelle
Kansas City Eatup
moretti La Rossa
Papardelle
Bucatini Pasta With Rock Shrimp
Olives
Zucca Chips
Bread & Butter
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Peach Ice Tea
Grilled Chicken Panini
Trio of Spreads
Bucatini
Manhattan
Baked Ziti
Gluten And Dairy Free Pasta With Shrimp, Shiitake Mushrooms, And Spinach Lightly Tossed In Olive Oil.
Action Shot!
Meatball
Chitarra Pasta With Shrimps, Butternut Squash, Brussel Sprouts And Toasted Hazelnut
Meatball Sandwich
Salmon
Zucca
Pappardelle
Pizza Fresh Mozzarella & Basil
fettuccine
Bucatini with Meatballs
Cavatelli
Sundried Tomato Butter
strozzapreti
Wine
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Ahi Tuna Salad
Arugula Pizza
Burrata
Baby Greens with Chicken, Feta, Hazelnuts, and Raisins
Crispy Fried Potatoes

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, KS
Most Booked
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

Fit for Foodies (47)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Great for Lunch (43)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Groups (30)
Hot Spot (23)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and amazing food!!! The ho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great service and amazing food!!! The homemade pasta was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried 3 appetizers and one was the ca ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We tried 3 appetizers and one was the calamari. It was very overcooked and had no flavor! The other two were pretty good, especially the grilled cauliflower!

The rest of the meal was just so-so and not as good as what I remembered from my last visit. Kind of disappointed and wondering why the attention to detail in service and food quality was lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is always consistent. Great for fam ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food is always consistent. Great for families.

Summer beer selections are refreshing.

Salmon is excellent. Short ribs are a hearty filling meal.

Outdoor seating available... Faces west so bring sunglasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved sitting on the patio in a special ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved sitting on the patio in a special night enjoying the "Chefs board" & Sangria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and drinks as always!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and drinks as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Tara was very friendly and ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server Tara was very friendly and extremely helpful. I will tell our friends to ask to be seated in her section when they go there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Always fantastic. Wonderful food and bea ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always fantastic. Wonderful food and beautiful location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice experience...little too loud. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very nice experience...little too loud. I don't have anything else to say

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I think your wine is a little pricey. W ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I think your wine is a little pricey. Would have had two glasses each if wine had been more reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner was fabulous--food was great--amb ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dinner was fabulous--food was great--ambiance was nice--loved the curved booth! Thanks so much!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love their margarita pizza ! Great wine ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Love their margarita pizza ! Great wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our last two visits were disappointing. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Our last two visits were disappointing. We have been fans of this restaurant since they opened. Food has always been great and service exceptional. Lately have noticed a lot of turnover with the waitstaff and quality of service is not what we are used to. It is slow and inattentive. More disappointing is the quality of the food on the last two visits. Salad greens are wilted. Chicken Parmesan not what it used to be. We will probably give it one more chance but if it isn't improved we will have to find another regular favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Delicious entrees and seasonal salads, a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious entrees and seasonal salads, also enjoyed the red sangria .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted to celebrate in a nice Italian restaurant. North Italia has excellent food and the service was good, but it was not possible to talk due to the noise level. It has very high ceilings and nothing to block the sound. The tables were so close we could easily reach out and touch the people sitting next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was great and the food was A ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The service was great and the food was AMAZING! We will be coming back a lot more often! Was a great place to celebrate our son's birthday!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our group enjoyed four different entrees ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

our group enjoyed four different entrees. Good food great server with personality, and fair ambience. It was crowded and noisy, but it's to be expected on Friday nights. We'll come again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was really good. The fried riso ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was really good. The fried risotto balls were amazing...although we asked our server if that if would be enough for six people and he said yes. When they came out it was just a serving of 3. We definitely would have ordered another order if we had known and thought we were covered because we asked. The rest of the food as great too. And the house margarita is awesome. It was really loud in there, which I am sure is just because of how it's built, just not great for convo. I would go there again for sure. They do the classics right.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We love North. Food is always good and t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love North. Food is always good and the servers are attentive but in a relaxed way. Tab will be a bit higher than other places of similar price range, but if you go for Happy Hour and dine on the specials, it's a great deal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent meal, everything was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had an excellent meal, everything was delicious!

Zucca chips, artichokes, pepperoni pizza, kale salad, short ribs, scallops, bolognese pasta. Seriously awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is very good, and the atmospher ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is very good, and the atmosphere is very unique. Came to town to see my girlfriend, and this was just the place to go. Great food. Great atmosphere. Quick service. Y'alls did good this time. See you the next time I am in town!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, experience was good. Just thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Overall, experience was good. Just things a few things. was good, but for lunch.

The fabric on booths are dirty.

The food needed a little salt garlic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ordered kale salad w/chicken. Salad was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Ordered kale salad w/chicken. Salad was barely dressed and chicken was rubbery. Have eaten here countless times and never had a bad meal. This may have been a fluke, but the chef/kitchen should never have let that chicken leave their kitchen. Disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

A friend and I met for lunch. I had the ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A friend and I met for lunch. I had the Italian Grinder sandwich and he had a chicken sandwich. We both had side salads. We both enjoyed our lunches. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a great spot for an anniversary ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was a great spot for an anniversary celebration. We decided to sit outside even though it was pretty warm, and the umbrellas did a reasonable job of keeping us in the shade. All staff was friendly, and our server was able to describe the more creative dishes helpfully. This is the best pasta that I've had in the greater Kansas City area - fresh and flavorful. Prices are appropriate for the quality of the food, and the half-price bottles of wine (Wed./Sun.) plus the seal-it-and-take-it option made it a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was above average; homemade pasta w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was above average; homemade pasta was a bit disappointing. Chicken added to the recommended tortolloni pasta dish was really tough, dry, bland.

Desserts (olive cake and chocolate tart) were delicious.

Server had great energy and attitude. We thoroughly enjoyed interacting with Jennifer!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great choice. Seasonal veggie ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always a great choice. Seasonal veggie salad with chicken was great. Excellent cocktails too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there and we will be back. E ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Second time there and we will be back. Excellent every time

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best server. She was very at ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had the best server. She was very attentive to our group. We were there on a Sunday and they had food and drink specials all day. We also enjoyed the seating, as we were in a half circle, which is so much easier to visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This the best Italian food have had Kan ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This the best Italian food have had Kansas City in years!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roasted beet salad is one I think about ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Roasted beet salad is one I think about eating again. The bruchetta also had many layers of flavor with tomato jam goodness. Meatball pizza did not disappoint. Sangria was refreshing and well made. Satisfying Happy Hour with my husband in the late afternoon was fun and enjoyable! We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, a very enjoyable dinner at No ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

As always, a very enjoyable dinner at North. Love the new chairs. Had the chicken parmesan (again) and it was great as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time diner. Came in with a friend ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First time diner. Came in with a friend who was visiting from overseas. The happy hour specials were just tremendous. I am definitely coming back & bringing more friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Modern design. Good food. Portions a lit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Modern design. Good food. Portions a little small but tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

As usual my favorite restaurant, North, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

As usual my favorite restaurant, North, does not disappoint. Everything was perfect. There were two in my group who had not been there before. I can't wait to go back to have the seasonal salad with salmon again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was just a little crowded but it was sti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Was just a little crowded but it was still good, it shows that many were wanting to visit the restaurant. Has a great atmosphere and the waitress that we had was especially good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The sangria and zucca chips are amazing!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The sangria and zucca chips are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have visited North 40+ times. Consist ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have visited North 40+ times. Consistent and comfortable. We bring our 8 year old and it is always welcomed. The cauliflower appetizer is small, but wonderful. Salads are full of fun nuts and veggies. The bead is great. All the pastas are SO wonderful.

We will be back next week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was fabulous and the Apricot Limonata is the best cocktail ever! Wonderful place for dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Decent food, service, way too loud!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Decent food and service, but even eating outside the music was insanely loud. We had trouble visiting with our other two guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Wonderful place

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.