About North Italia – Kansas City

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Wed 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (39)
Modern Decor (38)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Casual (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Fun (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Authentic (14)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Seasonal (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Family Style (7)
People Watching (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good but portions are very small for the price. Service was very slow. We won't likely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Seated promptly (with reservation). Waiter was very quick and brought us our drinks in a flash. I had the Seasonal Vegetable Salad with Salmon and it was the best salad I'd had in a while. It had a ton of salmon on it which surprised me. Also loved the Zucca chips which are free.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Always have a great experience and the food is always wonderful! I am never afraid to try a new dish because I know it will be great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Since I moved here from LA twelve years ago, I have been looking for a great Italian restaurant. North was amazing! The mussels were so good and the Squid Ink Mafaldine is my new favorite dish. Besides having great food, the service was impeccable. Our waiter seemed like they loved their job and made great recommendation and the manager was caring and genuinely concerned that each table had a great experience. This is a place I will tell all about and we will be back even though it is a drive for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to North for our Anniversary. Great service and nice atmosphere. Outdoor seating available with heat lamps. Food was very good. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

I brought my Fiance here for his birthday and I have to say, this is the best pasta I've had in my life! we both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The service was outstanding. I've been to Italy multiple times and I don't think anything there even compared to the dishes we had at north Italia. We're coming back this weekend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful tables were a bit close! But the waiter we had made the whole evening wonderful very attentive and knowledgeable our first time there and will be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

When the server (not waitress) delivered our pizza he was quickly out of there before he offered grated cheese or pepper flakes which we always enjoy. No other chance to obtain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first experience at North. The food was incredible. Can't wait to go back. The waitress needs some more training but she had only been working there for 2 weeks. The seating is close to others, may be bothersome for couples. I would go again for date night or couples dinner. So happy to find this place!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had reservations and we still waited 5-7 minutes to be seated. Too much time between getting our food once we finished our appetizer. At that time we could have been served bread and butter, but were not. We watched other tables receive bread and butter and we had to ask for ours after our food arrived. The food was outstanding and worth the drive and wait. We had calamari for an appetizer and hands down the best in the city. We will be back and hope that service is better. It may have just been a fluke.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and wine. Server was very informed and didn't hover. Tiny tables though. Felt on-top of our neighbors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We ate here on a Friday night. My companion likes the kale salad and had it again. I had the house salad and was reminded how much i like the dressing. We started with zuke chips (yum) which went well with the salads. He had the chicken strozzaprezzi and i had the grilled branzino. The fish comes with farro and i really like it. We had some nice glasses of wine to go with it and enjoyed the dinners. Service is professional. Parking is a shared lot, so there's plenty. This place is loud when it is busy, so be advised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Made reservation and was seated right away. Service as great! Severs were professional and welcoming..

The menu made it difficult to choose!! I wanted one of each entre!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We visit North often on Wednesdays to take advantage of the food/wine specials! Staff is friendly, know their wines, and fun to talk with - they make the evening more fun for sure.

We had Brianna this week and we will request her again. Really enjoyed her!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

we love north! The food is always great- portions are just right and easily shared. Never had a single complaint about the service and always leave thinking we love the place more and more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good modern Italian at reasonable prices. Great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is always great. Love their salmon. Seating is very close together. Much like a NY restaurant. So it is noisy and you feel like you are eating with the people at the table next to you unless you get a booth.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loud and we were set by the door and it was cold

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had Margherita pizza and wine at North's happy hour and it was delicious. Good atmosphere and good service. I would go back for happy hour!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great Happy Hour! We love the zuc chips and the $4 drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. The management and staff are knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I am never disappointed with my meal when I dine here. Great, fresh salads with healthy ingredients, lightly dressed. Pastas are awesome as is the Salmon Entree. Favorite lunch place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great night out with friends. Short wait at the bar which is a good set up and good bartenders. Cool décor and vibe in this place. Good variety of dinner options. Our waiter was excellent and gave his thoughts on the menu which were right on. Overall good spot to go and reasonably priced. It will be a good spot to be when it warms up with their outdoor patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a great time. Went with my husband and our 2 toddler girls for dinner at 5:45 on a Saturday night. Requested a booth beforehand, which they accommodated. Service was friendly and food was delicious! No complaints!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Never disappoints! One of my faves!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

love this restaurant...but the food is overpriced. I had a salad with chicken and a soft drink my bill was 27$ including tax and tip. I can go to many restaurants that are good that are not that pricey...will start remembering how much this is. Wish you would revisit the price points.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Bartenders need some help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our third time eating here. First time was great. Second was OK. This time was dark, hurried, and the food was not up to par.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very enjoyable meal. Our waiter was knowledgeable and made excellent suggestions with respect to cocktails and wines. The facility is small and can be noisy but my spouse and I were able to engage in conversation. Recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

So loud, glad the food was great. Fun, creative and simple menu. About 10 bites into the meal, we stopped talking because we had to repeat/yell everything we said to each other. Tables were so close together- add the extremely loud music, I felt like I was at a concert. Disappointed I couldn't enjoy my date.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was great as were our KCRW17 meals. Just wish the tables weren't so close together, and it was a bit of an obstacle course to get to the bathrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

loved our evening there...great food and exciting atmosphere...loud but okay..we could converse....great waiter...

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This was our first time at North Italia, but will not be the last. The service was very good and the dinner was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Wonderful food. Even had something to accommodate my gluten free 4 year old. Loved the food and our server, Charles was very attentive. The salmon in my kale salad was to die for. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Good choice for business. Easy service. Kept us replenished with iced tea and quick order. Didn't even notice the server as we were busy with work. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a great meal! The bolognese was superb, as was the Caesar salad!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I celebrated an anniversary at dinner.We were very happy with the food and service. Our server Blake was attentive. However,what made the evening very special was Rosie, theGeneral Manager.She checked on us throughout the evening and made us feel very special.Like we were part of the family.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our server Terry was fantastic, made great recommendations and was very accommodating with questions and substitutions . Drinks, appetizers and dinner were spot on, would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Kansas City; love the atmosphere, food, and service! My husband and I go every weekenend, and always bring our friends when they visit!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to North for a late Sunday afternoon lunch. North has excellent deals on Sunday… It's happy hour all day and there are bargain prices on certain appetizers and pizzas. We ordered the delicious zucchini chips, and then split the mushroom polenta and a chicken salad. The kitchen graciously split the dishes for us on separate plates. The portions were extremely generous. The service is excellent. The staff is polite and professional. North is consistently excellent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It is one of my favorite go to places to go not only for dinner but for a glass of wine. Zucca chips are a must have!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a good meal at North. They are consistent and very attentive. We enjoy the energy of the restaurant and the prices are reasonable for what you get. I would recommend North to anyone looking for a great meal and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always enjoy our meals at North. Red Sangria is the BEST!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve. Limited menu but food served cold. Replacement took long time. Waiter could not split bill right and we finally gave up and settled it among ourselves. We have been regular customers on monthly basis since North opened and never had a bad experience before. Had advanced reservations but they were not full. Glade we've had good experience there before or else would not consider returning. $55 pre-fix menu was not a bargain either.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was kind of bland for the price, I had high expectations going in but the wine was really good.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent service and got our preferred seating even though we were at least 15 minutes late for our reservation. Truly exceptional!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was excellent (as usual). It was very busy, due to 1/2 price bottles of wine; however, service was very slow and inattentive. We'll go back, but not on a Wednesday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

North consistently delivers high-quality food and top-notch service. Manager Ryan is always accommodating and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food and service, they are happy to accommodate food preferences. Kids menu was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

North Italia was AMAZING! My mom and I went for lunch the day after Christmas while I was visiting from Chicago. Our server was phenomenal and we never had to wait for anything. He made great suggestions on which craft cocktails to get that would compliment our meal. The menu is filled with great dishes so we decided to do 2 appetizers and 2 entrees. The portions were nicely sized so we also had leftovers. Each dish was unique, flavorful and absolutely delicious. As a Chicago girl, I was extremely impressed to find this foodie gem in Kansas City!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.