About North Italia – Kansas City

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

Treat your Mother this Mother's Day! We will be open early at 10am and be offering select brunch items!
We’ve turned a modern lens on traditional Italian cooking. North Italia – Kansas City is our love letter to Italy—a place that’ll make you feel like you’ve stepped off a charming side street to discover a culinary gem. After a decade in business, we’ve learned a thing or two and we’re approaching perfection in the art of handmade pasta and pizza. Every day, we start from scratch to create dishes like Strozzapreti with Bloomsdale spinach or supple ribbons of tagliatelle for our Bolognese. Our pizza is a revelation: an airy, barely chewy center embraced by a perfectly crisp crust. With the spirit of the Italian taverna, North is the place to talk shop over a cocktail or swap gossip sharing delectable chef creations.Every neighborhood would be lucky to have a place like North Italia.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Mon 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitalianfarmhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sundried Tomato Butter With Fresh Bread
Tagliatelle
Kansas City Eatup
moretti La Rossa
Papardelle
Bucatini Pasta With Rock Shrimp
Olives
Zucca Chips
Bread & Butter
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Peach Ice Tea
Grilled Chicken Panini
Trio of Spreads
Bucatini
Manhattan
Baked Ziti
Gluten And Dairy Free Pasta With Shrimp, Shiitake Mushrooms, And Spinach Lightly Tossed In Olive Oil.
Action Shot!
Meatball
Chitarra Pasta With Shrimps, Butternut Squash, Brussel Sprouts And Toasted Hazelnut
Meatball Sandwich
Salmon
Zucca
Pappardelle
Pizza Fresh Mozzarella & Basil
fettuccine
Bucatini with Meatballs
Cavatelli
Sundried Tomato Butter
strozzapreti
Wine
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Ahi Tuna Salad
Arugula Pizza
Burrata
Baby Greens with Chicken, Feta, Hazelnuts, and Raisins
Crispy Fried Potatoes

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

Fit for Foodies (37)
Great for Lunch (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Hot Spot (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Romantic (16)
Happy Hour (8)
Casual (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

North has very good food and excellent s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

North has very good food and excellent service. However, it can become very, very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. The noise level reaches the point where ordinary conversation is not possible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great calamari and I asked for sauce tha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great calamari and I asked for sauce that made the best appetizer I've had in a long time. Everyone in our party of 5 loved their meals. A great Italian choice!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu is consistent and offers ample opti ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Menu is consistent and offers ample options for all palates. We enjoy WED half of bottle night. For the best table plan a later reservation ( after 1930).

Atmosphere is fun, lively, and great for casual dining or celebration dinner. Multiple large tables were hosting GNO.... Overall just a cool place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great value and fun time! My hu ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always a great value and fun time! My husband and I love to come for happy hour if we can make it in time! Wish it went until 6:30pm for us working in the city and needing that extra time to make it in time :) Just an idea to extend it until 6:30pm!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Romantic, Great Beer, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice. We had the branzi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always a great choice. We had the branzino and short rib. Excellent rose too. Crisp martinis. We carried out glass of wine out to the front patio. Very fun night. Thank you! Service from the bar was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great outdoor dining. Service was frien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great outdoor dining. Service was friendly, bar was perfect for drink and snack. Food came out timely and as ordered. Would recommend for a solid dinner option

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice lunch place. Open to the outdoors w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nice lunch place. Open to the outdoors when weather permits. Food choices were heavier than I expected for Northern Italian cuisine. Excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Service staff was f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was excellent. Service staff was friendly but not very attentive. Had to ask for salt/pepper twice. Had to ask for bread/oil. Never refilled our drinks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We made a reservation for 4 people at 6p ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We made a reservation for 4 people at 6pm. When we arrived there were a plethora of empty tables, but they chose to place us where two of us had to battle the sun for most of the evening even though we objected to our placement and asked to be moved.

One of our dinners (salmon and salad) arrived with the salmon still breathing even though it was ordered medium. It was sent back and when it reappeared more than 10 minutes later, it was still flopping around. It went back again and now some 15 minutes later reappeared, this time dead. However, the other 3 of us had finished our meals and had the pleasure of watching our fourth compadre eat her meal.

North did remove the salmon from our bill (like we would have paid for it anyway?), but the meal was ruined by our location and the ridiculous inability of the chef to cook a piece of salmon.

I'm thinking the next time I eat out, I'll head South, not North.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Great evening. I had the Bronzino. Exc ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great evening. I had the Bronzino. Excellent but could have been hotter. The short rib looked great. Salads were crisp and fresh. Cocktails are always good and cold. Fun patio spot. Great time all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The last time I reviewed North Italia, u ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The last time I reviewed North Italia, unfortunately, I did not give it the best rating. This time our food and service was noticeably improved, especially on Labor Day when the restaurant offered a 25% off coupon. The place was packed when we arrived. Our waitress was working very hard to manage all of her tables and did an excellent job. Everyone enjoyed their meal. I am glad that things improved, because it has always been one of my favorite places and I hope to bring friends here to dine in the near future.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Labor Day 2016 - service was very, very ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Labor Day 2016 - service was very, very slow. Waiter tried but, must have been slammed without enough staff.

Small portions, but good quality. Very open restaurant. Crowded, with tables too close together. Disappointed. Prefer other Italian restaurants options in Johnson County.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

In the past, North has been one of my fa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

In the past, North has been one of my favorite restaurants. It has been a disappointment in the last year, getting worse with every visit. They have cut back ,on their food, their service, etc. They try to tell the public that they not longer make ther famous sun dried tomato butter, but they do. It only comes if you specifically ask for it. They don't really offer bread service unless you ask. for it. The chicken in the salads has shrunk. it's tasteless.The artichokes, are tough. Overall, it's highly evident that they are cutting corners, to cut costs. Not appealing to me. I'm always happy to pay increased prices to cover increasing food costs, but don't cut quality or service. Won't work for those of us who truly like to dine.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

North is always exceptional. At 25% off ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

North is always exceptional. At 25% off for Labor Day, it's can't miss. I wanted to sit outside and other than wind, it was perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

North is one of our "go to"'spots. Great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

North is one of our "go to"'spots. Great menu and the food is always good. Upscale feel meets casual dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommend the Happy Hour deals on Wednesday and Sunday, with half price wine bottles and Chef's Board, Chef's pizza and other specials. The patio is a nice place to spend the evening!

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Family Style, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a chicken salad. It came out w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I ordered a chicken salad. It came out with no chicken on it. My friend ordered the same hers had no chicken either. No sincere apologies from the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent but had to sit in the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent but had to sit in the sun when we would preferred a more romantic table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

WAY Over priced for what you get $17 for ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

WAY Over priced for what you get $17 for about 2 cups of pasta with no bread or side items wifes chicken ceasar look the size of a side salad. Not worth the price with many other good italian places around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great experience, I would highly recomm ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great experience, I would highly recommend North to friends and family.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fun, Family Style, Romantic, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This will always be my favorite place - ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This will always be my favorite place - from the healthy food options for my lifestyle, the friendly servers & the atmosphere! We love coming to North & have nothing but wonderful things to say about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience with fr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always a great dining experience with friends and family!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and amazing food!!! The ho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great service and amazing food!!! The homemade pasta was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried 3 appetizers and one was the ca ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We tried 3 appetizers and one was the calamari. It was very overcooked and had no flavor! The other two were pretty good, especially the grilled cauliflower!

The rest of the meal was just so-so and not as good as what I remembered from my last visit. Kind of disappointed and wondering why the attention to detail in service and food quality was lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is always consistent. Great for fam ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food is always consistent. Great for families.

Summer beer selections are refreshing.

Salmon is excellent. Short ribs are a hearty filling meal.

Outdoor seating available... Faces west so bring sunglasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved sitting on the patio in a special ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved sitting on the patio in a special night enjoying the "Chefs board" & Sangria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and drinks as always!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and drinks as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Tara was very friendly and ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server Tara was very friendly and extremely helpful. I will tell our friends to ask to be seated in her section when they go there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Always fantastic. Wonderful food and bea ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always fantastic. Wonderful food and beautiful location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice experience...little too loud. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very nice experience...little too loud. I don't have anything else to say

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I think your wine is a little pricey. W ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I think your wine is a little pricey. Would have had two glasses each if wine had been more reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner was fabulous--food was great--amb ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dinner was fabulous--food was great--ambiance was nice--loved the curved booth! Thanks so much!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love their margarita pizza ! Great wine ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Love their margarita pizza ! Great wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our last two visits were disappointing. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Our last two visits were disappointing. We have been fans of this restaurant since they opened. Food has always been great and service exceptional. Lately have noticed a lot of turnover with the waitstaff and quality of service is not what we are used to. It is slow and inattentive. More disappointing is the quality of the food on the last two visits. Salad greens are wilted. Chicken Parmesan not what it used to be. We will probably give it one more chance but if it isn't improved we will have to find another regular favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Delicious entrees and seasonal salads, a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious entrees and seasonal salads, also enjoyed the red sangria .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted to celebrate in a nice Italian restaurant. North Italia has excellent food and the service was good, but it was not possible to talk due to the noise level. It has very high ceilings and nothing to block the sound. The tables were so close we could easily reach out and touch the people sitting next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was great and the food was A ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The service was great and the food was AMAZING! We will be coming back a lot more often! Was a great place to celebrate our son's birthday!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our group enjoyed four different entrees ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

our group enjoyed four different entrees. Good food great server with personality, and fair ambience. It was crowded and noisy, but it's to be expected on Friday nights. We'll come again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was really good. The fried riso ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was really good. The fried risotto balls were amazing...although we asked our server if that if would be enough for six people and he said yes. When they came out it was just a serving of 3. We definitely would have ordered another order if we had known and thought we were covered because we asked. The rest of the food as great too. And the house margarita is awesome. It was really loud in there, which I am sure is just because of how it's built, just not great for convo. I would go there again for sure. They do the classics right.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We love North. Food is always good and t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love North. Food is always good and the servers are attentive but in a relaxed way. Tab will be a bit higher than other places of similar price range, but if you go for Happy Hour and dine on the specials, it's a great deal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent meal, everything was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had an excellent meal, everything was delicious!

Zucca chips, artichokes, pepperoni pizza, kale salad, short ribs, scallops, bolognese pasta. Seriously awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.