Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About North Italia – Kansas City

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Wed 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (38)
Modern Decor (33)
See All
Happy Hour (30)
Fun (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Casual (19)
Business Meals (16)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tapas (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was very good. Service even better. Other restaurants should study how this place handles food ordering and delivery because they have it down to a science. You dont have to wait on your particular waitperson, as each one pitches in to check, deliver and follow up. Couldnt be better. Not crazy about the table arrangements; no privacy, no quiet, its like a school cafeteria in there. Tables are small, close together, no place to retreat for an intimate dinner.
Not exactly a fine dining experience, but the food and efficient service makes up for it, unless you are looking for a place to have quiet conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Great grilled artichokes app. Lots of artichoke, would have been enough for 2-3 persons. Pasta Bolognese very good as always, and even better with a few meatballs added. Slightly too salty. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

A friend's birthday. We eat here at least once a month. This was an off night for them. Service was non existent all night. Hated that we picked this place for her celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Charles gave us great service and food was great as usual.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Overall great food & service every time
Started at the bar then to a bar table
Bartender & server very attentive
Such a great place

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

One of the best places in Leawood to have a delicious lunch with two glasses of wine. My hostess was calm, friendly, and professional, even as the tables were filled. Our waitress was also a pro, helpful and responsive. My date was awesome too, but that's not for this review.

Tags: Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service were fabulous as,usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our Easter Brunch was fabulous!! Our meal, service and atmosphere were wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent overall experience - great food, service, and ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and there were 3 couples. The birthday was entered into Open Table when the reservation was made, however, there was no mention of it by our waitress. The table we got was closest to the kitchen entrance and was high traffic and loud. If I was asked to sit at that table again I would not sit there. It was difficult to hold a conversation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always consistent with great food and service. Never a bad meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The drinks came AFTER the appetizers and the luke warm coffee came AFTER the dessert... Other than that we always love North!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Server was pleasant
His suggestion of the scallops was a hit
They're were cooked perfectly

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is fantastic and the service is great. The items on the menu are all things that they do really well. This is a favorite among our friends and family and can't help raving about it every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great dinner and atmosphere. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very delicious Italian food. A changing menu so, what you liked might not be there, but everything we had was delicious, and our server gave us great recommendations on drinks and food.
Not a stereotypical Italian restaurant, but a great place to satisfy a pasta craving!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We've been to North Italia a few times, though this is the first time we brought the kids. They enjoyed the options on the kids menu and at ALL of their meals! I had the strozzapreti and really enjoyed it. Very tasty and filling. We capped it off with some gelato - the pistachio gelato was a nice treat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

North is our favorite restaurant the mangement here is outstanding! They are very perceptive and make every effort to resolve any reasonable issues. The only issue are the tables are very close together but now with the warmer weather coming there will be more outside dinners hopefully leaving more room in the main dining room. This restaurant is one of the BEST in KC!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food is consistently very good. Lively atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We've been to North three times and every time their wait staff has been outstanding. The food is incredible and the atmosphere is great - especially on a nice night when they have the doors open. It is definitely one of our favorite places in the area!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Very tasty. Great service. Love the zucchini chips

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was very good. The dishes came out very hot with much flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

There have been changes in the menu. So you'll have to check in once in awhile to see what is up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

North continues to never let me down...Food was exceptional ...service was attentive.
Place was crowded but not too noisy.
Well done North!!!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I don't think I have ever paid $25. For a salad for lunch! I think that is ridiculous !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I was looking forward to meeting a friend for dinner, and we decided to go for Italian. I was so disappointed -- the menu was incredibly limited, the tables were stacked on top of each other almost, and the noise level was headache-producing. The food was 'fair', almost. Some sounded good, but then the flavor didn't follow through. We had dessert, as well, and that wasn't as good as it sounded, either. I won't return, and I won't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our first visit. We brought another couple and it was their visit also. The place was fabulous. The greeters were not only charming but very beautiful and well dressed.
The food was excellent. The management was always checking to make sure that everything was okay.
We are ready to go bac.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everyone raved about the zucca chips. They were right. I had the bolognese and my wife had the tortellini. Both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great as always

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Very busy on Thursday! Not usual pasta served with Salmon dish. Not quite as good as usual one.
Seasonal salad didn't look like it has in the oast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Despite having a large party, our server gave outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Consistently great service & good, reasonably priced food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went to North for my husband's birthday over the weekend and were not disappointed. We have been to North quite a few times over the years and each time we enjoy it just as much as the last. We went early so that we felt comfortable bringing our 2 yr old with us. Later in the evening it tends to trend more date/fancy but was perfect at 5:30 for our family!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great meal. They need to the change the cheese on the chef board. Everything else was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The chicken parmesan I had was not good and was burnt on one side so gave it a bad taste and paying $72 for 2 dinners that you didn't like ugh. Service was good though but don't ever plan on going back!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Special care by the Chef to accommodate my 12 yr old daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I let them know ahead of time it was a date with someone I really hoped to impress. I wasn't sure if there was a better spot than others so I simply asked for them to put us where they would want to be placed.

I knew the food would be wonderful and the service impeccable, but the spot they gave us was ideal. It was comfortable, in a spot where we could survey the entire restaurant and could have a quiet conversation.

An absolutely perfect night. THANK YOU

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always great. Great food, great staff, great wine, great atmosphere!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I felt like I had the attention of staff from the moment I walked in. Service was great and we were comfortable. Great food!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We happened to go to North when we were out shopping with our children (ages 7 and 9). We stopped at North. Our children loved it, and we loved it. Our daughter just turned 10 and requested we go back to North for her family birthday celebration. Great staff, wonderful food. Ask for options that are not on the menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.