Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About North Italia – Kansas City

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Wed 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Casual (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Great for Lunch (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Happy Hour (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (28)
Authentic (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Business Meals (22)
Bar Seating (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Romantic (16)
People Watching (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tapas (3)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Really great food overall. Atmosphere was nice and they have a great Sunday happy hour wine specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food. Great windows and lighting. Bruschetta was THE best I have ever had! This will be on our go to list in KC!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorite patios for dinner! Food is consistently good and our waitress was not of the usual high caliber as in the past at NoRTH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Used Open Table to reserve a table, confirmed. Then reconfirmed with restaurant, still no table upon arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Went for our 7th wedding anniversary. Was a little disappointed it wasn't a bit more quaint and romantic, however the food out weighed that. Delicious and very friendly service.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding!!! Homemade pasta and sauce! Real tomato sauce!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Always fabulous and consistently good. One of my favorite restaurants

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We have been repeat visitors but took our friends who were back in town from being away for several weeks and wanted to introduce them to North. They loved it as much as we do and everyone left happy....and will return!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This restaurant has been declining in my opinion for about 2 years. It used to be one of my go to favorites in KC, but it is not any longer. Food quality, has decreased. Im sure it's a cost saving measure, but it shows. Just raise your prices, and maintain top quality products. We will All still come. I used to feel like management was watching to make sure things went well,bit I just don't feel that anymore. Our wItress, was in a less than cheery mood, it was very visual. I always try to engage service providers, so that they feel, that I appreciate their efforts. I really had to work hard on this one. She was visibly pregnant, and I thought, maybe she just doesn't feel good, or is tired. It was a long night, till I got maybe a smile. The whole evening was a disappointment. Sorry

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Found this place in Open Table and was very pleasantly surprised. High top seating for 8 with great food. Excellent chef and service!

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

North Italia is one of my very favorite KC restaurants! It never disappoints. Great staff, great vibe. We sat outside for a delightful lunch. Shared the calamari salad with lemony dressing that is so amazingly tasty and light. The calamari is never tough. I cannot go to NoRTH without ordering the calamari salad. We also shared another tasty salad with pine nuts, orange sections, kale, romaine, dried fruit, etc. with a savory chicken salad sandwich on ciabatta that was very good. All in all, another exceptional dining experience!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We were there on a Monday night and they were doing a pretty good amount of business at about 7 PM. It took forever to get our food, and by that I mean about 45 minutes and that was after nagging the manager about our order. They offered a free dessert that we declined and then took about 10% off of the bill as a gesture for how long it took to get the food. But they seemed a little annoyed that we were annoyed even though we were polite and our request about the status of our order. In my opinion for the price I expect a lot better service. The food was good but quite honestly not worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Always amazing. Food is fresh and always packed full of flavor. Sunday is all day happy hour and you can't beat half priced bottles of wine, especially well picked Italian wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great lunch experience- food was fab; ambience relaxed and fun, service was wonderful. Good lunch and happy hour options. Pasta made in house

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I went on a busy Saturday night, we did have a 20 min wait. For appetizers, My husband had the Mussels which he loved! I ordered the mozerella, tomato app, I wasnt fond of it so the waitress took it off our tab. The Margarita pizza and our waitstaff were fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food, as always! Outstanding service, as well. Had the hazelnut tort with salted caramel ice cream for dessert. Was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The service was good. The food was average. It is way overpriced. We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had not been in a while, so this was a real treat. And our server was one of the best parts. She made it fun. Oh yeah, she was excellent at her job too.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great place for a business meal. Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times over the years. The service this time was horrible. We had to wait and wait on certain items. The silverware was dirty and sticky and finally someone nicely exchanged them for us but the new silverware was soaking wet. We were there two weeks ago and it wasn't this bad. Not as good as it was in the past. This restaurant is going downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

It was a wonderful evening at North . Our food and service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Dined in the middle of the afternoon on a Sunday. Food was delicious (order the calamari!) and fresh. Server was very good. Happy hour available with half price wine. I will return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Zucca chips are a must! Food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Exceptional food and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Visiting town and it was a very nice restaurant. I would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Everything was great with the exception that we had to wait for main dish for quite some time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Amazing atmosphere and food is creatively prepared from scratch. Run, don't walk here!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great menu and atmosphere. Menu items are generous proportions and very tasty. Was having a business meeting, and waiter was respectful of conversation and minimal disruption. Will definitely entertain business clients there again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our server was great. We got Happy Hour food and nothing about it made me want to have a full meal here. The pizza wasn't any better than frozen pizza. I also got the fried zucchini which I was told was a specialty. I found it greasy and tasteless. The place was packed though so there must be some better offerings on the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were not sat until 40 minutes after our reservation. The hostesses were very rude and there was no apology for the late seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Been a north regular for years. Busy Saturday during July heat. Was just stifling hot in dining area for the whole meal. Had to be upper 80's and just made the whole night tough to enjoy. Food good as always, service good. But the heat just ruined the sense of nice night out.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food and good service. Enjoy this spot a lot

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food and service were excellent. It was a bit crowded and noisy but other than that it is a great place for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My scallops were delicious! However my husband had the white fish and it had quite a bit of bones. The noise level is high therefore making conversation with our table mates difficult. It took the server a long time to bring our check after are the dessert plates were cleared. Normally enjoy North but not so much on this occasion.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our group was seated in a timely manner. Our server was prompt, efficient and helpful. The food was wonderful. The whole experience made the celebration of a birthday very special!

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Overall great dining experience. Food is always great and service was good too. Never disappointed when we dine at North!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We have dined here for several special occasions. And returned for our 26th Wedding Anniversary expecting the same lovely experience. It was not to be ....at all. It was quite disappointing. North has been a restaurant we've enjoyed greatly in the past. But the level of personal care is now definitely missing. And several of the food elements that made them stand apart are missing, as well. (I.e. Even the roasted red pepper butter is gone -- for awhile now. Apparently, it's sadly somewhere hiding out with the good service.) I'm sadly disappointed to feel this way about a place we have truly loved. Next year? I know a few other places that will be happy to have us celebrate with them and welcome our $100.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good food, good service. I nice place for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great as always. Love the squad ink pasta. Mussels were also really good but chef should never let a closed one out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The air conditioning had been out since Tuesday (we were there Wednesday evening-heat index outside was 100+ degrees). It was soooo hot once we were seated and ordered drinks. No one told us that the AC was broken until we asked why it was so hot. We would have left but didn't have time to go somewhere else before our sitter had to be home. I left feeling very sweaty and sick to my stomach. I can't believe they were still open and didn't warn people about the extreme heat. Our server was wonderful and tried his best to make a yucky situation a positive experience. Shame on management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.