Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About North Italia – Kansas City

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Wed 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (46)
Modern Decor (44)
See All
Fun (31)
Happy Hour (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Casual (23)
Bar Seating (20)
Romantic (20)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Open Kitchen (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Seasonal (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
People Watching (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tapas (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Despite having a large party, our server gave outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently great service & good, reasonably priced food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to North for my husband's birthday over the weekend and were not disappointed. We have been to North quite a few times over the years and each time we enjoy it just as much as the last. We went early so that we felt comfortable bringing our 2 yr old with us. Later in the evening it tends to trend more date/fancy but was perfect at 5:30 for our family!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal. They need to the change the cheese on the chef board. Everything else was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The chicken parmesan I had was not good and was burnt on one side so gave it a bad taste and paying $72 for 2 dinners that you didn't like ugh. Service was good though but don't ever plan on going back!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Special care by the Chef to accommodate my 12 yr old daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I let them know ahead of time it was a date with someone I really hoped to impress. I wasn't sure if there was a better spot than others so I simply asked for them to put us where they would want to be placed.

I knew the food would be wonderful and the service impeccable, but the spot they gave us was ideal. It was comfortable, in a spot where we could survey the entire restaurant and could have a quiet conversation.

An absolutely perfect night. THANK YOU

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always great. Great food, great staff, great wine, great atmosphere!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I felt like I had the attention of staff from the moment I walked in. Service was great and we were comfortable. Great food!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We happened to go to North when we were out shopping with our children (ages 7 and 9). We stopped at North. Our children loved it, and we loved it. Our daughter just turned 10 and requested we go back to North for her family birthday celebration. Great staff, wonderful food. Ask for options that are not on the menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love coming here for the fresh kale salad. The homemade fresh pasta is always good too. I have a difficult time choosing between a pasta dish or my favorite kale salad. So this last visit was a fun outing for my daughter and I. I ordered my usual kale salad and immediately noticed something different about it. The ingredients were very fresh as usual but it seemed to have a bit of a bite to it. I figured out it was the cut up parmesan cheese in little tiny squares which I thought was apple but it wasn't. There was to much of the parmesan and it was overpowering. There was also to much dressing on the salad and it just didn't taste as good as usual. I don't think there was as much fresh fruit in it either. I learned later that it has new management. I hope they haven't changed anything else!!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great Happy Hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 6, 2017

good food and great service !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A little noisy but the food was wonderful. Reminds me of a big city loft they turned on into an upscale Italian bistro.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent service and food. Management values the customers. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service and food were really good. The tables seem crammed in, way too close together, too many for the space. Not ideal for a date night or special dinner out. Went to this one having been to the North restaurant in Denver. It has a much larger space which makes the atmosphere so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First pizza was undercooked but staff was great and quickly replaced it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Although our reservation was for 6:30, the restaurant was crowded and we still waited til close to 7 for a table. Not a big deal, but I will say that the waiting area is way too small for such crowded situations - I was standing right up against a table of guests, which I'm sure they didn't appreciate. Hostess and manager were very appreciative and polite regarding our wait. Food was delicious, great service with the exception of taking quite awhile to flag them down to order dessert. The restaurant was very loud, hard to have a conversation with my girlfriends without feeling we had to shout, but again - very crowded evening. I will definitely visit again though!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fabulous!! Amazing food, service, and experience!! Our table loved the cheese board and tried four of the desserts-all decadent and delicious! We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food was good but portions are very small for the price. Service was very slow. We won't likely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Seated promptly (with reservation). Waiter was very quick and brought us our drinks in a flash. I had the Seasonal Vegetable Salad with Salmon and it was the best salad I'd had in a while. It had a ton of salmon on it which surprised me. Also loved the Zucca chips which are free.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always have a great experience and the food is always wonderful! I am never afraid to try a new dish because I know it will be great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Since I moved here from LA twelve years ago, I have been looking for a great Italian restaurant. North was amazing! The mussels were so good and the Squid Ink Mafaldine is my new favorite dish. Besides having great food, the service was impeccable. Our waiter seemed like they loved their job and made great recommendation and the manager was caring and genuinely concerned that each table had a great experience. This is a place I will tell all about and we will be back even though it is a drive for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We went to North for our Anniversary. Great service and nice atmosphere. Outdoor seating available with heat lamps. Food was very good. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I brought my Fiance here for his birthday and I have to say, this is the best pasta I've had in my life! we both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The service was outstanding. I've been to Italy multiple times and I don't think anything there even compared to the dishes we had at north Italia. We're coming back this weekend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful tables were a bit close! But the waiter we had made the whole evening wonderful very attentive and knowledgeable our first time there and will be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

When the server (not waitress) delivered our pizza he was quickly out of there before he offered grated cheese or pepper flakes which we always enjoy. No other chance to obtain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first experience at North. The food was incredible. Can't wait to go back. The waitress needs some more training but she had only been working there for 2 weeks. The seating is close to others, may be bothersome for couples. I would go again for date night or couples dinner. So happy to find this place!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had reservations and we still waited 5-7 minutes to be seated. Too much time between getting our food once we finished our appetizer. At that time we could have been served bread and butter, but were not. We watched other tables receive bread and butter and we had to ask for ours after our food arrived. The food was outstanding and worth the drive and wait. We had calamari for an appetizer and hands down the best in the city. We will be back and hope that service is better. It may have just been a fluke.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and wine. Server was very informed and didn't hover. Tiny tables though. Felt on-top of our neighbors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We ate here on a Friday night. My companion likes the kale salad and had it again. I had the house salad and was reminded how much i like the dressing. We started with zuke chips (yum) which went well with the salads. He had the chicken strozzaprezzi and i had the grilled branzino. The fish comes with farro and i really like it. We had some nice glasses of wine to go with it and enjoyed the dinners. Service is professional. Parking is a shared lot, so there's plenty. This place is loud when it is busy, so be advised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Made reservation and was seated right away. Service as great! Severs were professional and welcoming..
The menu made it difficult to choose!! I wanted one of each entre!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We visit North often on Wednesdays to take advantage of the food/wine specials! Staff is friendly, know their wines, and fun to talk with - they make the evening more fun for sure.

We had Brianna this week and we will request her again. Really enjoyed her!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

we love north! The food is always great- portions are just right and easily shared. Never had a single complaint about the service and always leave thinking we love the place more and more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good modern Italian at reasonable prices. Great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was fantastic and that's the first reason to consider any restaurant, but I have to say that my experience transcended the food. I had my meal at the bar and could not have asked for better dinner companions than the group of three that kept checking on me through the night.

I went to North expecting to have a good meal at a "trendy" restaurant. What I found was a place with a heart that I expect to make a regular in my personal rotation.

I truly cannot recommend it highly enough

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is always great. Love their salmon. Seating is very close together. Much like a NY restaurant. So it is noisy and you feel like you are eating with the people at the table next to you unless you get a booth.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loud and we were set by the door and it was cold

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had Margherita pizza and wine at North's happy hour and it was delicious. Good atmosphere and good service. I would go back for happy hour!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great Happy Hour! We love the zuc chips and the $4 drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.