Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About North Italia – Kansas City

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Wed 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Great for Lunch (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Happy Hour (37)
Casual (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Fun (28)
Authentic (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Business Meals (24)
Worth the Drive (20)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
People Watching (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1390 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meals were oh so good! There were six of us, we all ordered something different and all of us loved our meals. We also had special food and wine requests, and all were handled so sweetly and professionally. If I lived anywhere near this restaurant it would be my local favorite for sure !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Good, central location. Loud atmosphere in evenings. Good service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our waitress was very attentive and the food was delicious! Wonderful dessert! I recommend the restaurant to all my friends!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing food. Great wine selection. Great service. Would definitely recommend and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My roasted salmon lunch was excellent paired with passion fruit iced tea. Service was great and the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Absolutely loved it. My nephew was in town and also was thrilled.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Organic, People Watching, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Happy Hour special - bottle of house red and Chef's charcuterie board $20 could serve 4. Very pleased!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

My late lunch was terrific. Our waitress friendly and appeared at all the "right" times. Her recomendations were spot on. Her name, Alex. I will return and order the same dish and perhaps branch out, order more and share. I dined at 1 PM to miss the lunch rush and it worked out perfectly.

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

North is great for lunch or dinner during the week. We went on Friday night and it was very noisy and the service was slow and the waitress did not bring our appetizer.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We love North and frequent the restaurant quite often - especially on Wednesdays when the wine is half price and the Happy Hour food is delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 26, 2017

First-time going here. Staff was excellent without bothering us too much. Food suggestion was good. This might be the best place to get homemade pasta in the city.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Terrific Chicken Salad Sandwich!

A friend & I went to North yesterday for lunch before we went to see the Overland Park 9/11 Memorial. He has been to North many times for dinner but never for lunch.

I absolutely love their Tuscan Chicken Salad sandwich. If you haven’t tried them, order their “fries” with the sandwich. They are actually twice cooked fries. The shape is irregular and look like a frie/lattke/smashed shape. They are very good. He didn’t order the chicken salad but went for the Grilled Chicken sandwich instead, which he said was very good.

If you haven’t tried North for lunch you need to put this place on your list. Very good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2017

My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays and we had a wonderful lunch there at North. Our food was excellent and our service superb! A perfect choice for our special celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Disappointing anniversary diner. This was my third visit and after this experience I won't be back. SLOW service in a restaurant that was not crowded - took 20 minutes to bring two glasses of wine to the table. The salmon was so salty my wife could hardly eat it and the amount of arugula (not noted on the menu) was unacceptable.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were so impressed with our waiter, who seemed to know every ingredient in every dish we asked him about. The grilled cauliflower appetizer was light but delicious, standout entrees included the chicken parmesan and divers' scallops (really juicy and tasty), and the house pinot grigio wine was a great complement to the meal. Would totally recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Consistently great food; my only complaint is the pace of the meal-they bring your entrees before you are done starters/appetizers; or fail to clear your starter plate before delivering entree since it is ready so fast, forcing you to hold your starter plate while they place your entree on the table. This has happened on almost every occasion. I get they want to turn tables but it's annoying given the price you are paying for your meal and drinks and it's not a fast food restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We enjoyed a great Friday night meal at North for 4 people. We requested a booth online and they honored our request. Booths are especially nice for 4-6 people.

Friday nights are pretty lively and on the loud/energetic side. Not for everyone.

We started with a pitcher of red sangria, calamari and a charcuterie plate. The calamari is well prepared with very light breading and served with a good amount of arugula. the charcuterie was interesting. We had some pasta main dishes and salmon. Both were satisfying.

Outside dining is nice in the shoulder seasons, but most outside dining faces west so not great in the heat of the summer sun.

Sundays is a great deal for all day happy hour menu of selected menu items and drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

A good friend recommended North Italia for my business meeting with 2 other associates. Great Choice! We had a very good meal, professional setting, not interrupted and much was accomplished.

Thank you,
Harry Mullins

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

One of our favorites that never disappoints. Date night or girls night, with kids or without, it's just always a great experience. Incredible food, service, and drinks. :)

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It's always a wonderful place we enjoy often. Consistently very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent food as always but also service a bit slow due to shortage of waiters as usual

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Always a great experience. Would highly reccomend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

North is always an enjoyable experience. The food is good quality and the service is usually pretty good. The menu is relatively small by Italian restaurant standards in our experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Absolutely love to dine here. I've been a few time and each time was great. The waitstaff is friendly and diligent. The food is delicious and well worth the price. Perfect place for dates or casual nights out with friends. The dinning room was loud with conversations, but with a spacious outdoor dinning option the indoor noise can be avoided (weather permitting) with that option provided.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Porscha delivered the best service I've had in a long time at any restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Overall the food was excellent and fresh pasta was really tasty, especially the squid ink pasta. Great place for our family celebration!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

North seems to be slipping. Party of 6 and almost everyone had to have their martinis redone. Food was over salted. We like this place and will come back but the management needs to staff the bar properly and ensure drinks are out faster as well as check the salt shaker. Too heavy handed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Consistently good. A solid value for the money....service always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Another wonderful dining experience! Divers scallops, roasted salmon, calamari salad, bread appetizer with truffle oil, Parmesan--all fabulous! Excellent service and a great music and social vibe. Bravo!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Being Italian and growing up with homemade Italian food, I can honestly say this is the best Italian restaurant I've ever been to! Everything tastes amazing and the fact they make the pasta fresh in house everyday is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

This restaurant would be top notch if the staff was trained properly. Ex. The starter was delivered and consumed before drinks arrived. The second round arrived midway through dinner. Terrible pacing - for the price - this type of horrible service killed the experience.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Went for their 25% off Labor Day deal. Service was pretty fast, considering how busy they were. Always feel cramped when they seat us at a table rather than a booth. Feel like I am sitting elbow to elbow with the people next to me. Still a great find and will always go back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I Love North! This location in particular is well situated in Leawood, next to great shopping. It's just a good spot for great food in an awesome location.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We ate here on the Friday of Labor Day weekend. Because we can't resist, we started with the zucca chips. They were so good. I had the branzino and my companion had the chicken parm. Both were really good. He said the pasta that came with the parm was really good and a great match of flavors. He loves the kale salad as well. We split a hazelnut dessert that was delicious. Good choice of wines by the glass. Service was very professional. Parking is on a huge lot, so no issues there. Noise level quite energetic so if that matters to you, be advised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fabulous food and cocktails - especially the burrata tortellini and the Rosemary Lime cocktail! Excellent service as well!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent experience. The food was delicious, the service impeccable, and the atmosphere was fun. I was surprised the dress code was more casual than I anticipated, which is actually pretty great. The place has high ceilings so it can get very loud -- a minor complaint, but they should turn down the music. When you have to talk over the crowd sitting next to you AND the music, it's not conducive to much conversation! But overall, it was a very nice dinner out (celebrating my birthday) and I enjoyed it....we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Try the Bolognese. It was great, as was the bruschetta with prosciutto and grilled asparagus.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Have eaten here several times. Food quality is lacking over the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Dinner was delicious as always. Great service as well. North never disappoints!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Took our son and wife out for a special occasion, they had just moved from Las Vegas back home. The staff was great, the food was better and the entire evening was fun at a great resturaunt

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.