Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About North Italia – Kansas City

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Wed 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Fun (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Casual (26)
Happy Hour (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Groups (16)
People Watching (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Authentic (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tapas (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food, great waitress, outdoor seating was a plus for a beautiful cool evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first visit, and it did not disappoint. The homemade pasta was fantastic and perfectly cooked. My husband had the salmon, which was perfectly cooked over a delicious bed of white bean ragu. The appetizer of muscles were served in a slightly salty but absolutely delicious broth. We even asked for more bread to sop it up. We ended the night with Tiramisu, which was one of the best we've had. Looking forward to bringing family and friends to this neighborhood looking forward to bringing family and friends to this neighborhood gen.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Greatest feature at North was the bartender...delicious drinks, so pleasant to talk with and great service! I think his name was Justin. I'd go back for the drinks alone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great but Dani, our server, was EXCELLENT! She made our experience enjoyable from the moment she arrived to the table. Her recommendations and knowledge of both wine and food was impressive. She made our night. Thank you Dani!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding place for lunch!

We have not been to North Italia for lunch until today and it was excellent! You have got to try their “Tuscan Chicken Salad” sandwich. This is probably the BEST chicken salad sandwich I have ever had!! My wife ordered their “Our Famous Meatball Sandwich”, and it too was outstanding. Both sandwiches were served on their Focaccia Buns, which are house made daily. Their focaccia buns really made the sandwiches stand out. And the Olive Tapenade on the chicken salad definitely put that sandwich into first place on my list.

But it gets even better! – My wife ordered the house greens with her sandwich, BUT I opted for the “FRIES”. They’re not traditional “fries”, but rather twice cooked “fries”. The shape is quite irregular (not symmetrically square) but rather look like a frie/lattke/smashed shape. The manager was kind enough to give us their secret recipe, which is quite involved and we can’t wait to try it. Also, the aioli served is excellent with the “fries”.

The server and the manager were terrific. North is one place you MUST try for lunch. We will be back soon.

P.S. The table next to us had the Grilled Artichoke appetizer, and it looked wonderful. They said it was great.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Sundays are great - all day Sunday Happy Hour food and drink specials. Great pizza.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good food and quick service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I met a friend there for lunch, she had never been and was very excited to try it out. We started out with the zucca chips that speak for themselves! I don't tend to stray away from my favorites, so I went with my usual PROSCIUTTO pizza! My friend ordered the daily pizza, which I believe had sausage, peppers and spinach or was it broccolini? Either way it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food was amazing but the staff is what makes this place incredible. There was a group of us in town on business and our first experience was so spectacular that we came back the following night. The food was delicious, the cocktails were top-notch and the atmosphere was energetic. You could easily feel how much pride Rosie and her team took in their roles. I can't wait to visit your new location when it opens in Plano.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

North delivers again. Always consistent, delicious food. Very nice wine list. The service is also consistently high-quality, and the host and management do a great job of little things to make you feel special.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We loved our dinner and the food choices. It was a little louder than we would have preferred, but it's a super open restaurant and that is to be expected. Was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

One of my favorite spots! Love the margarita pizza!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Date night at our favorite Italian restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Very good salads. Excellent service. Will come back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food and great service. We'll ask for Ed again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I dined here for our anniversary. The hostess (who looked high school age) took us to a table that was located in glaring sunshine even though there were many tables unoccupied. When I asked if we could possibly find a table out of the glare, she seemed totally taken aback, but finally looked around the room and took us to another table for two. These tables are REALLY small! We are not large people and I still felt like it was tiny. The tables are also very close together. Another couple was seated next to us as we were finishing our dinner and it was impossible not to feel like you were eavesdropping on their conversation. Not ideal for a romantic evening!
The food was good, but entrees were small for the price. I had ordered a salad which was not served before the entree so I asked to cancel it. The waitress apologized and said that it was totally her fault and comped us one dessert. My husband also had dessert. When it came we looked at each other and started laughing because we typically share a dessert if we get any. This was a tiny serving of tart. We decided it was a good thing we decided not to share!
This restaurant would be fine for casual dining with friends, but we still felt it was overpriced for the serving sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was amazing! Everything always tastes good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We love North. Especially the half price wine nights. Service is great and food is excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Always a special treat to enjoy a fine dinner at North Italia! From the Hostess to the Waiters and Waitresses to the Bartenders to the Excellent Management, they always treat you like family without ever forgetting you are their guest!

And oh, not to leave out the fine Cooks, for goodness sake! WOW! What incredible food they turn out, from simply marvelous Spaghetti & Meatballs in that superb Meat Sauce, to fancier dishes deserving of a King and Queen!

Plus OMG, Do Not Fail to Order the Unbelievable Grilled Cauliflower Appetizer! It is so good, I cannot find words that would even approach doing it justice. Beyond Impeccable X 10 might come close...

As the song once said, "I don't care how you get here, just get here if you can!"

Steve Gish

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

LOVE THE FOOD; HATE THE NOISE. SERIOUSLY, I COULD BARELY HEAR MY FRIENDS AND CONSTANTLY HAD TO ASK THEM TO REPEAT WHAT THEY HAD SAID.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Used the special Memorial Day coupon like we do every year. Great Mussels, good salads. Service was pleasant but mains came way too quickly when we had ordered appetizer. Lovely patio on a sunny summer day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Always great food and service. The Zucca Chips are awesome.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Just awesome! Great specials on Sunday, great sangria and beer. One of the best meals I have had in KC. Staff were great and accommodating!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Took our nieces there for dinner. Surprisingly good kids' menu. My wife and I both had salads, each of which were excellent. Much, much better than typical suburban fare.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great outdoor patio for nice days like today. Bolognese was really good. Others had kale salad with salmon and chicken pesto which were excellent. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Always a lovely meal. I ordered the kale salad (again). It never disappoints. This time I was smart and made it a half salad and also ordered the risotto small plate. I would have preferred to have the red sauce served on the side to preserve the crispy nature of the fried risotto balls. But, really, how can I nitpick such a lovely lunch. And, the service was flawless!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants ! The food and service are always of the highest quality ! Love happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Our usual Wednesday spot did not disappoint us, however they may have the new summer staff in training...no greeting at the front desk, and slow with our second bottle of wine and water refills. Salads and pizza, easy menu choices this time!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I highly enjoyed our stay the food was phenomenal, and the manager was very respectful. I recommend the champagne with the mussels appetizer, which complement eachother very well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent food and presentation. Easily accommodated request for table instead of high top. Hostesses were pleasant and helpful. Will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Late Mother's Day dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The fig, goat cheese, and prosciutto pizza is phenomenal. All of our food was fantastic. The noise level was rather intense and made conversation across our table challenging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

North in Leawood Kansas is a great place to dine. This time I was there with a client for lunch and the food and service were excellent. I also know they have a very large assortment of wines to pair with your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We enjoy North for this reason, friendly, great food, nice place to hang out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I made a reservation for 3 at 12:15 on a Wednesday for lunch. I did this because being on your lunch hour does not leave much time for waiting. When we arrived the table was not available so we waited and waited. And there is really no good place to stand while you are waiting. We were taken outside then back inside. We also had a 13 month old with us so this was very stressful for her. I would not come here again unless I had an open afternoon or evening. The food was very good but felt rushed to eat it.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Olive Garden atmosphere at 4 star Italian Restaurant prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was magnificent; fresh, full of flavor. It made me slow down and enjoy the food. We Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere; service staff was incredibly friendly, but not overbearing. Seating was comfortable and relaxing without feeling crowded when sitting on the patio.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Graduation university

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My husband and I had a lunch date here last week and both left less than satisfied. Our server initially (quickly) greeted our table but didn't come back for 15 minutes. My husbands sandwich (he got the chicken) was mediocre and my salad was delicious but greatly overpriced for the size. I enjoyed my wine (I had the Rose), but one glass was the price for the entire bottle at the liquor store. I understand the need to make a profit but this seemed excessive. We've dined at North for dinner on several occasions and will be back, but we do not have an plans to join them for lunch again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.