About North Italia – Kansas City

4579 West 119th Street
Leawood, KS 66209
View Larger Map

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Dinner:
Sun – Mon 4pm - 9pm
Thu – Sat 4pm - 10pm

Happy Hour:
Mon – Fri 3pm - 6pm
All Day Sunday!!

Wine Wednesday: Half off select bottles of wine

Cross Street:
Roe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 232-5191

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Zeb Humphrey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sundried Tomato Butter With Fresh Bread - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Tagliatelle - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Kansas City Eatup - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
moretti La Rossa - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Papardelle - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Bucatini Pasta With Rock Shrimp - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Olives - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Zucca Chips - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Bread & Butter - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Peach Ice Tea - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Grilled Chicken Panini - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Trio of Spreads - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Bucatini - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Manhattan - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Baked Ziti - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Gluten And Dairy Free Pasta With Shrimp, Shiitake Mushrooms, And Spinach Lightly Tossed In Olive Oil. - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Action Shot! - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Meatball - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Chitarra Pasta With Shrimps, Butternut Squash, Brussel Sprouts And Toasted Hazelnut - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Meatball Sandwich - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Salmon - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Zucca - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Pappardelle - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Pizza Fresh Mozzarella & Basil - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
fettuccine - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Bucatini with Meatballs - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Cavatelli - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Sundried Tomato Butter - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
strozzapreti - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Wine - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Ahi Tuna Salad - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Arugula Pizza - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Burrata - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Baby Greens with Chicken, Feta, Hazelnuts, and Raisins - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS
Crispy Fried Potatoes - North Italia – Kansas City, Leawood, KS

North Italia – Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Leawood ›

Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Casual (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
People Watching (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Family Style (7)
Healthy (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Scenic View (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1041 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always good! Tonight's dinner was no di ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Always good! Tonight's dinner was no different -- good food and great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seating was not good, in the aisle and c ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Seating was not good, in the aisle and cold every time the front door opened.

Staff could little to none on whether the seating was going to work for us, and not interested in offering any solutions.

Waited ten minutes, received no service, so we left.

Don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I always enjoy North. Food is generally ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

I always enjoy North. Food is generally consistent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is great, love chef's board and hom ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food is great, love chef's board and homemade pasta.

Food quality is great, service is fantastic, very professional.

Fun for friends get together and share food, share love.

Constantly go back to explore more different dishes.

Bought several gift card for friends and ourselves.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always excellent. The squid ink pasta w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always excellent. The squid ink pasta was great. Wednesday wine night is a great offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience is comfortable and the serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The ambience is comfortable and the service is outstanding. Our waitstaff was friendly and had a great sense of humor. The quality of food "two thumbs up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was on point, our waiter was the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service was on point, our waiter was the sweetest. The food was so good I made sure to bring my friend just so she can try it because my past visit was amazing as well.

Tags: Organic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Historic, Seasonal, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was late but they brough ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our reservation was late but they brought us glasses of prosecco while we waited!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kitchen was very slow. The soup was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The kitchen was very slow. The soup was not very good. The waitress was nice but not very attentive. I would give them another chance, but this just wasn't the best experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Really good food and service. Very reas ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Really good food and service. Very reasonably priced too. The service is consistent, but does not overwhelm you or interrupt your conversation every 2 minutes. I like their spaghetti and meatballs. My only complaint is that I don't like the small chairs they have. Everything else is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

the Parent company, Fox, needs to trust ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 15, 2016

the Parent company, Fox, needs to trust Kansas City enought to open up more of their restaurant concepts. This is an extremely well run company. A wonderful neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There are so many wonderful restaurants ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

There are so many wonderful restaurants in Kansas City and North continues to be on our top 3 for favorites. Great atmosphere and service. Food is outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Norths many times and h ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have dined at Norths many times and have not found the menu to have may seasonal or interesting options. However the new menu we experienced was outstanding as was the wine. I would highly recommend for anyone who would like to take another look at North or someone who really appreciates a seasonal menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good food & Service. Wish ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Consistently good food & Service. Wish they would freshen up menu offerings or have an additional seasonal menu. We would come more often if so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Love their happy hour and pizza!!! Favo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Love their happy hour and pizza!!! Favorite spot!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place to go for casual Italian dini ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Good place to go for casual Italian dining. The truffle garlic bread was terrific. The restaurant was a little loud due to hard services everywhere. Service was good. We will definitely return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

North has a terrific everyday menu, with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

North has a terrific everyday menu, with many favorites. Small plates are all worth a try. Try their season offerings, they will become your new favorites.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met three friends here for a happy hou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I met three friends here for a happy hour before a shopping event we went to at the OP convention center. North offers great happy hour drink options, and food options as well. We were able to have some glasses of wine, some cocktails, some appetizers and split pastas and salads and were content and happy. We were well taken care of and will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, always great food and n ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love this place, always great food and not overpriced

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took 20 minutes to get our drinks (wi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It took 20 minutes to get our drinks (with half of our party served). The food was very mediocre. Our service was poor. It was nice to dine outside but way too expensive for the level of service and quality of food. I would not recommend this restaurant or go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We enjoyed our afternoon lunch. The kale ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed our afternoon lunch. The kale salad was very good, although some of the ingredients listed on the menu were missing from the salad.The polenta appetizer served as my meal and it was generous and delicious! My husband had the black squid ink pasta dish, and that was also delicious. I did think it was odd that a place that makes its pasta fresh daily did not make its own bread. Be sure to try the salted caramel budino for dessert!!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very noisy inside. Great food. Service w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very noisy inside. Great food. Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Went for lunch on Friday. Party of 2. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went for lunch on Friday. Party of 2. Requested indoor window table - no problem. Very professionand attentive waiter. Excellent. Chopped chicken salad and chicken parmesan with pasta were excellent. Chocolate dessert was outstanding. All made in-house and delicious. Very pleased!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was delicious! They have nice specia ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was delicious! They have nice specials on Sunday evening which we took advantage of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have been to North several times and nev ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Have been to North several times and never disappointed. All dishes are nicely presented. Every dish I have tried has been delicious. Service is superb; the staff is always very helpful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The charcuterie board was well construct ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The charcuterie board was well constructed with prosciutto, apple Chutney, deep and rich parmesan and a subtle soft cheese. We also had the heirloom beet salad and although I was expecting a Russian type of beet salad with mostly beets it was still a very nice salad. The meatball and spaghetti was very good. The spaghetti was al dente which is how I prefer it. The meatballs were superb. My wife found the sauce to be too spicy(maybe she got a chunk of peppercorn) I thought it was robust with just the right mix of fresh herbs. I am an espresso snob...the double they served me was pulled perfectly with just the right amount of crema and the salt and caramel dessert paired perfectly with it.

Service was excellent. I tried to to send back my beet salad but the server took the time to explain to me that it was in fact a beet salad

Bartenders were polite and accommodating and deeply knowledgeable of their wine selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The salmon dish - YUM! Very attentive s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The salmon dish - YUM! Very attentive service, nice ambiance, and a nice menu selection.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have changed the staples on the men ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 17, 2016

They have changed the staples on the menu. We were not pleased with the changes, but the management made it right on our bill. Great service. Love this place, but staples like wines, no more tomato butter (their specialty with breads), change of the grilled chicken sandwich plate, etc. Feels like they are trying to cut corners. We were told we could always ask for these as "old style". Guess I'm an old style kind of person. :)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The calamari and service were excellent. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The calamari and service were excellent. One person in our party ordered the filet which was overcooked. Since the wait was longer than usual for the food and the taste of the steak was still good we did not complain. However the manager came over and told us the steak looked overcooked and apologized and offered to adjust for us. We opted for no comps and they adjusted the bill to accommodate us. North is a great place and has generally awesome food and always great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A friend and i went for lunch. We were ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

A friend and i went for lunch. We were at a table by the door, which was not a great location due to distraction and a draft, but they were quite busy. The service was good. I had a meatball pizza special that was great (and i took half of it home). My friend had the butternut squash soup that he said was fantastic and an italian grinder sandwich. He also loved the sandwich. Food is consistently good at North.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always first rate. Fine restaurant. Food ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always first rate. Fine restaurant. Food and service are well executed.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food! I had been there once ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We loved the food! I had been there once before for lunch, but never for dinner. The appetizers were all good. We had the mussels, arancinis (rice balls) , and calamari. Each one was so tasty! The main dish --Scallops were so good. They were very rich with the risotto that was served underneath the scallops. I had a bite of my husband's short ribs and they were also delicious and so tender.

The service was impeccable and I would definitely go back again!!!!

I may try and hit their Wednesday and All day Sunday happy hour!

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time and it was very enjoyable ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our first time and it was very enjoyable. We had cocktails on the patio and then moved in for dinner. Both salads (caesar & house green) excellent as well as the pizza. Charles, our server, was very accommodating and efficient. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love chef's board especially at Happy Ho ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love chef's board especially at Happy Hour.

Homemade fresh pasta dish was good too.

Nice place for small plates to share with friends.

Always come back for more.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always love North. Beautiful day to din ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always love North. Beautiful day to dine outside and enjoy the food too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and drinks were great. We ordered ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food and drinks were great. We ordered the calamari appetizer, spare ribs, and strozzapreti and all were delicious. Not a very intimate setting if that's what you are looking for. We had a table for two and the surrounding tables seemed too close. Close enough to hear everyone's conversation. We'll go back, but not for a special occasion. Happy hour seems like a better option for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to North Italia to celebrate our ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We went to North Italia to celebrate our anniversary, having been there once before. Again, we were very pleased with our meal. We split an appetizer, salad, pasta and all were delicious - love the Seasonal Veg. Salad and Strozzapreti. The wait staff was very knowledgeable and attentive, making sure everything was fixed gluten free for me. The meal was great from start to finish. We have tried other Fox Restaurant concepts in Arizona and California and have found them all to be excellent choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was absolutely excellent - v ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The service was absolutely excellent - very attentive. Problem with one of the entrees and they came out immediately and told us. Was celebrating a special event and they did a marvelous job. Andy was our waiter and he was excellent! Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a vibe going to North. Pros are t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Always a vibe going to North. Pros are the food. Cons are inconsistent service and the doors open always present a fly issue.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

North has very good food and excellent s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

North has very good food and excellent service. However, it can become very, very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. The noise level reaches the point where ordinary conversation is not possible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.