About North Italia – Austin

11506 Century Oaks Terrace
Austin, TX 78758
View Larger Map

At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Happy Hour:
Mon - Fri 3pm - 6pm

Dinner:
Mon – Thu 4pm - 10pm
Fri – Sat 4pm - 11pm
Sunday 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Mopac

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 339-4400

Website:
http://www.northitaliarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonally, we have live bands playing outside on our patio on Friday Nights, Saturday Afternoon, Saturday Night and Sunday Afternoon.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage or out in front of the Domain.

Executive Chef:
Matt Uemura

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Bread With Sun Dried Tomato Butter - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Short Ribs Pasta - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Margherita Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Bolognese - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Espresso - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Caesar Salad - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Chicken with Seasonal Vegetables - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Bruschetta - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Angus Beef with Arugula - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Bread and Butter - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Bucatini - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Spaghetti & Meatballs - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Tomato Basil Soup - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Farmers Market Salad - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Funghi Puzza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Fig Prosciutto/ Arugula Pistachio Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Tiramisu - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Zucca Chips - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Salmon With Pasta Pesto Sauce - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Pig Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Fig And Proscuitto Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Ciabatta Bread W/ Sun-Dried Tomato Butter - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Lunch Special - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Rigatoni Pasta - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
strozzapreti - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Patata - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Arugula Salad With Flash Fried Calamari - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Grilled Chicken - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
cheese pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Prociutto Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Seared Scallops With Broccolini And Lentils - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Cavatelli - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Calamari - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Heirloom Beet Salad - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Fig Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Tuscan Tomato Soup - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Panna Cotta - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Ducati - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Quiet Italian Gentleman - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Bread - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Grilled Chicken Panini - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Michelada - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Wood-Roasted Heirloom Carrots - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Faust Cabernet Wine - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Meatballs with Fresh Tomato Sauce and Bucatini - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Chicken & Proscuitto  - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Appetizer - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Nuttela Cake - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
fig and caramelized onion pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Calamari Salad - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Fried Calamari - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Pasta - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Tuscan Chicken Salad Panini - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Mussels - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Sausage And Cremini Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Short Ribs With Polenta - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Radiatore - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Meatballs - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Ahi Tuna Salad - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Fire Roasted “NY” Steak - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Seared Scallops - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Italian Grinder - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Strazzapreti - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Nutella cake - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Latte - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Pepperoni And Sausage Pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Baked Ziti - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Barbeque chicken pizza - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Scottish Salmon - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX
Seasonal Vegetable - North Italia – Austin, Austin, TX

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Day at North Italia with our special pre-fixe menu, featuring chef-driven dishes and specialty wine offered exclusively for you and your special someone. Make your reservation today!

North Italia – Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Casual (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fun (24)
People Watching (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Business Meals (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Family Style (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Tapas (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, service and ambiance were exce ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

The food, service and ambiance were excellent. The delicious food was quickly served and beautifully displayed. All of our selections were absolutely perfect!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday dinner and thorou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We went for a birthday dinner and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Elegant, yet casual; tasty, yet affordable. We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nate provided excellent service - very ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nate provided excellent service - very thoughtful, knowledgeable, and polite!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had calamari, The pig pizza, and baco ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had calamari, The pig pizza, and bacon and eggs pizza. All was delicious. They have great gf pasta and pizza crust as well according to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation on a very cold nigh ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a reservation on a very cold night. When the hostess called to confirm our reservation she told my husband we were on the patio and he said if its cold that won't work. She assured us it would be warm - well it was not. Basically if he had not really been firm they were happy for us to leave but the manager in charge, Rachelle, stepped in and found us a table inside. She was very nice and understood. The other young hostess not so much - she was very unfriendly the rest of the evening. Our waiter was very nice and the food was amazing as always. We truly appreciated Rachelle's help in allowing us to dine at one of our favorite places. We will be back because of her attention to our situation and the way she handled things in such a nice positive way.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the Zucca Chips appeti ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We really enjoyed the Zucca Chips appetizer and the Beet salad was amazing! Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the dishes and how they were prepared.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

North is normally very good and did not ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 4, 2017

North is normally very good and did not disappoint. The seasonal vegetable salad was outstanding. The waitress offered a half portion making it perfect as a side to our entree. We prefer to sit outside as it is much quieter than inside. In the winter, the patio is enclosed with heaters and is very comfortable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the food was adequately priced for ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 3, 2017

While the food was adequately priced for the quality, the service is lacking. Length of time to get food to table was too long. Yes, we have dined at Food Trailers and Michelin restaurants. When the GM has to come to your table to tell you that the chef said that the food will be 'right out,' you know it's been too long and most likely, someone effed up.

The noise is abysmal. Some kind of dampening in the ceiling would be nice. If it's already there, they should hire someone to re-do it and get their money back from the other acoustical engineer. Might I recommend David Nelson in Elgin, perhaps?

The volume is prohibitive for me to bring clients or work related parties. I'd have to shout that we're going public in 3 days and that we expect a $15/share price.... so loudly that I would be busted for insider trading. And no, we're not going public in 3 days.

The chairs in the main dining room are reminiscent of desk chairs in junior high school.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent service and food. We ordered ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent service and food. We ordered a variety of apps and entrees. The beef short rib main dish and pasta dish were outstanding. The scallops, pizza and squid ink pasta were also excellent. You can't leave without having the salted caramel budino - yum!

Wine list is good and priced fairly -

A very enjoyable dinner -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great flavor and great service.. they ra ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great flavor and great service.. they ran out of stuff and so guests in my party had to order other items. Hate going to places that do not plan ahead..

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I came to North Italia ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My girlfriend and I came to North Italia for our New Year's Eve dinner and really enjoyed every course in the fixed menu. The ambiance in the restaurant was great too - very modern and classic. We chose the bruschetta and lasagnette appetizers, the scallops and bolognese entrees, and the tiramisu for dessert. It is the best tiramisu we have ever had! We also enjoyed the latte and a custom espresso and chocolate drink at the end of our meal. This is the first time we ate at North Italia, and it will definitely be a place we continue to go to.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was absolutely amazing! We e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was absolutely amazing! We enjoyed everything from the delicious appetizer, entrée, and dessert. Did I mention the aroncini was my absolute favorite? Thank you for a great meal on New Years Eve! It made our trip to Austin great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. The only comment ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was great. The only comment I have is to let the chef know to be careful with the salt. Both our meals turned out to be very salty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was excellent and surpassed expecta ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent and surpassed expectations. I had the Brandon and it was cooked to perfection. One of the best restaurants at the Domain

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is superb. It is listed as a ro ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food is superb.

It is listed as a romantic place...it is not. The tables are tiny and very close to each other, not very romantic. Plus it is very loud and difficult to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A consistent favorite with my family. Al ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A consistent favorite with my family. Always amazing service, food and atmosphere.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome everything! Pizza, Bolognese, Sp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Awesome everything! Pizza, Bolognese, Spaghetti, were delicious. Staff were friendly and competent. Made reservation on website and was seated quickly.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Definitely a beautiful place with awesom ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Definitely a beautiful place with awesome staff. I will be back again for sure!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had an amazing dinner at North Italia. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had an amazing dinner at North Italia. I heard about it from my sister, who brought home some leftovers one evening. This place had me hooked from cold leftovers, that's how delicious their food is. The waiter, Nate I believe, was amazing. He obviously prided himself with the food, and made some wonderful recommendations. I thought it was going to be much more expensive compared to how the food tasted. A great bang for your buck in my opinion.

Had a great dining experience and will definitely be going back there soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and great atmosphere

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, the meals were good but not qui ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Overall, the meals were good but not quite up to par. Service was a little slow at first but was better towards the end of the meal. It took a long time to get our appetizers and when the Zucca chips came out (a usual favorite), they were overcooked significantly. They very quickly brought us a fresh batch that was much better though. The truffle bread appetizer was delish. One of the pasta dishes was a little too salty but overall we enjoyed our meals. The biggest issue was the outside patio heat. We usually enjoy the patio but with the freezing weather, the patio heat needed to be working. If the heaters are working, the patio is okay but the heaters were consistently turning off and customers were constantly having to let the staff know so they could turn them back on. There were a few near us that were not working properly and kept popping and shutting down. Hopefully with winter just beginning to sink in, they will get the patio heaters working again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Our server was amazing. I proposed to my ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our server was amazing. I proposed to my girlfriend and she helped me with everything. My fiancé never saw it coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is seriously some of the BEST Itali ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is seriously some of the BEST Italian food I've ever had! I would bring anyone wanting Italian food here! This would be a great restaurant for a date! It's a little noisy, but quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

North continues to deliver fantastic Ita ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

North continues to deliver fantastic Italian fare. The service is always spot on - ask for Steve N. It goes without saying that the place is great because of the food, people, and most of all the management provided by Kevin!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met a friend at North for a pre-Christ ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I met a friend at North for a pre-Christmas lunch. The place was slammed but we were immediately seated when we arrived for our reservation. The service was good but I did have to ask for an iced tea refill.

The food came out in a timely manner during the lunch rush. We ordered the fig, goat cheese and arugula pizza. It was hot and delicious. I think this may be my favorite item on the menu and I order it every time even though I always tell myself ahead of time that I am going to try something new.

The prices are reasonable given the location in the Domain.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great, as always. One of ou ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service was great, as always. One of our favorite restaurants in Austin!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome menu, never boring love the trad ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Awesome menu, never boring love the traditional stuff we come back for but also enjoy trying the new items. Service is always fantastic much thanks to the restaurant for providing a great and very good wine list with some great bargains on there as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was amazing! Love this place ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our waiter was amazing! Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is very good. Thank you for g ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Everything is very good.

Thank you for good service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The gluten-free pizza dough does not tas ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The gluten-free pizza dough does not taste good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved everything about this place. Exce ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Loved everything about this place. Excellent service, food, pricing, and more. Everything is made by hand in house and every wonderful bite verifies that. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very tasty. I would like to men ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food was very tasty. I would like to mention that calamari is always bland. No seasoning in breading and then no sauce for dipping. Also, no one cleared away our appetizers. But, all in all, a pleasant visit like always.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had our company party here and it was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We had our company party here and it was amazing. We had the chefs board and zucchini chips as appetizers. Great for sharing and everyone could find something to eat. We had a gluten free and vegan with us and they absolutely loved their meal. Red Sangria we ordered by the pitcher and was great to share with the table. I have eaten her many times and everyone I take here loves it so much!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Healthy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish, North Italia was a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 5, 2016

From start to finish, North Italia was amazing and I would definitely go there again for any occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent; service good. It is ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was excellent; service good. It is loud. Tiny 2-tops close together . We had to move tables Bc we had "loud talkers" next to us, but North was accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

North has been a reliable favorite over ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

North has been a reliable favorite over the years, but we were disappointed at our last visit. I'm not sure why, but 90% of our visits there, we are seated on the patio, regardless of the weather, in our case cold and raining. Maybe that is the only place they seat customers that reserve through open table? On this occasion, the patio heater above our head was not working properly. It would go on and off with bursts of energy and was very unsettling. Unusually, the restaurant was not full, so why seat us under a malfunctioning and potentially dangerous heater? The waitress commented that they new it was not functioning correctly and someone was coming out to fix it. Regarding the food, it was just average. The homemade pasta used to melt in your mouth and was delicious. It really set the restaurant apart. If the pasta is still homemade, it sure doesn't taste it. Also, no more fresh grated parmesan. Really? Is that too much work now? Also, the spaghetti sauces have changed. Maybe an off night with new chefs? I think management of this restaurant has stopped trying. I will definitely give it a second chance due to many good experiences there, but I will be booking on open table only so I can give a follow up review, NOT because the restaurant will be fully booked.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had great corner table for the family to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had great corner table for the family to celebrate a special event for my daughter. Food was delicious and service was attentive and helpful. Would definitely dine here again when in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on the patio (by request) ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were seated on the patio (by request) for a late lunch at 12:45p.

The heaters were just barely adequate, but they were fighting against a draft from an open panel at the end of the patio. Why was it open on a cold day? The hostess tried to seat us at a table next to the open space first, despite there being an open table against the wall.

I am REALLY TIRED of the apparent policy of hostesses attempting to seat people in the worst possible location first. I overrode her choice and requested the table against the wall and got it.

The food was not up to usual standards. The chicken in the strozzapretti was alternately good and overcooked (tough). The dish did not hang together the way it has before. It tasted thrown together. It was just barely warmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.