Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 57 times today

North Italia – Austin

4.7
1513 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
  • Special Occasion
At North, we focus on what we do best: Italian from scratch. Enjoy any of our handmade pastas and pizzas, created with seasonal ingredients and inventive flavors. Or, try a different signature dish, prepared with our fresh flavors from the garden, farm, and sea. We’ve hand crafted seasonal cocktails that pair great with our food, creating a real modern Italia experiences perfect for any occasion.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Happy Hour:
Mon - Fri 3pm - 6pm

Dinner:
Mon – Thu 4pm - 10pm
Fri – Sat 4pm - 11pm
Sunday 4pm - 9pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(512) 339-4400
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt Uemura
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Mopac
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in the garage or out in front of the Domain.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Seasonally, we have live bands playing outside on our patio on Friday Nights, Saturday Afternoon, Saturday Night and Sunday Afternoon.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
Rating coming soon

Need a crowd-pleaser in North Austin? North has your back.

The Infatuation is an app and website which uses a small team of local editors who dine anonymously to rate and review restaurants. We are partnering with them to bring you their smart, helpful, trustworthy reviews of restaurants on OpenTable
What 1513 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Loved For
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Good service, great food, ambiance is good.
Everyday dining or a great place for a date. Also family friendly.

Huge fans of all the North Italia restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Even though I had to change my reservation size last minute and was not able to call ahead, the staff accommodated me and was very gracious. The restaurant was busy because of graduation weekend but the food was delicious and worth the wait. I loved the ambiance created by the lighting and decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We always enjoy North! It had been a while since we had dined there but it delicious as we remember. Great service, food, wine and cocktails! My husband is an avid Old Fashioned drinker and raved about the one they made!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Outside is less noisy, and very pleasant (even when it is hot outside - nice cooling). Excellent food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

I often go to North; and always appreciate the food and the changing menu. Over the years it has definitely gotten to be a very popular place; and I recommend reservations at all times.

This visit, our waiter was not very tuned in; and it was the first time in a long while that I've had this experience. We didn't stay for dessert in part because of the service. I'll chalk that dining experience up to a bad night; and watch carefully in the future.

I had the salmon, which was delectable. Unfortunately the beans and celery in the dish were not completely cooked to tender stage; they were still a bit crunchy, which was unfortunate.

On this visit, I rated overall very good; but I feel I'm being generous based on being a long-time customer. If it were my first time, I wouldn't likely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Great! Good food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Simply Marvelous. My wife loved it. Made her mother's day...a Special One... Robin was very informative on recommendations. Thank her on our behalf. ....looking forward to our next dining experience on Father's day. ..We'll be bringing our daughter and son in law...till then. ..

Sincerely, Rick and Beth Garza

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

North is one of our favorite places. The food and service NEVER disappoint. We have been regulars since they opened and the Domain and it is hands down the most consistent restaurant we have ever eaten at. The pizzas are one of the best and their salmon is cooked to perfection. My go to order is the kale salad with salmon while my husbands is the funghi pizza add prosciutto. I also recommend the short ribs and strozzapretti. For lunch you can't go wrong with the meatball sandwich or chicken salad sandwich. If you haven't been I highly recommend you go........as fast as you can!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took an hour to get our food and was cold

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always love going to North. Great food and friendly service. Love being on the patio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Took our family to dinner to celebrate birthdays and it was a great experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great food on a great day!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This review is solely based upon service. For appetizers, we decided to order a few things, one of them including a vegetarian salad as we are completely vegetarian. However, when the salad came, it had a large and obvious piece of chicken. When we informed our waitress, she gave an excuse of the chicken falling rather than apologizing. Then, we informed the manager and he taked the salad off our bill, but also, was casual about the incident and also unapologetic. Let me say that we are strictly and religiously vegetarian and had told our waitress that we have these dietary restrictions. Additionally, we booked the table a week before, and we had gotten a mediocre table. Even though the service was under our standards, I must mention the food was excellent! But, the service this time, unlike other times, was very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We always eat at North when we go to the Domain, and it never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Good food and ambiance. I ordered the squid ink pasta. My wife ordered the pork with pasta. Both of us were satisfied. The tiramisu was really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Our evening was lovely! Went with girlfriends...our server was fabulous, loved sitting outside on the patio and the food was delicious! I’d definitely go back!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Food was really good! Get the short ribs with wine & polenta and the diver scallops with risotto!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Sat on the patio. Very pleasant, good service although felt a bit rushed. Everyone enjoyed their food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Service was good, and I liked the atmosphere. Was disappointed that I could not find anything vegan--if it didn't have meat, it had cheese. Even the grilled artichokes had cheese. Normally in an Italian restaurant, I have an easy time finding something vegan. Honestly, I think Maggiano's is better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our experience was great. This was our first visit and most definitely not our last Our waitress was also outstanding and informative.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Awesome food that is always consistent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Loved everything!!! Chicken pesto pasta is to die for so are the pizzas!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Not my first time to North, but it was for a first date and we had a blast! Food was great, waitress was great, and it was all around a very great time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Good! Seated at our reservation time.
Prompt and courteous wait staff.
Food was yummy!
I observed that this restaurant welcomes/serves large groups with ease and efficiency, too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Food is really good. Love the space - modern decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We had an excellent time. Great service, delicious food, and relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely be back for a visit soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great atmosphere, food and service. We will definitely return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Anniversary dinner. Asked to be seated outside and it actually happened. Would have preferred to be at an exterior table vs right in the middle and having to lean in every time when wait staff or other patrons had to walk by us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

My family of 5 went to North Italia for dinner on Friday evening. Overall, an excellent, though expensive, experience.

Starters - We had the grilled artichokes and a chef's board. The artichokes were awesome. Two of us at the table are not big 'choke' lovers, yet we both enjoyed these immensely. A little salty, but given the general mildness of artichoke, it worked. The chef's board was good, but the 2-3 person estimate is on the low side. I would say 1-2 people.

Meal - I had the Rosemary chicken. It was excellent. The meat was tender and the char left some nice texture. The vegetables with it were also perfectly cooked. Others also all enjoyed their meals (spaghetti, alfredo) all were alsy very happy with their food.

Conclusion - The price with tip was $150. That was for 5 people (2 starters, 3 adult mains, 2 kids mains, 1 cocktail and 4 non-alcoholic drinks). I imagine a table of adults ordering drinks, starters, mains, and desserts could be well over $50 a person. It was a excellent meal, worth the visit, not sure I would make it a regular thing at those prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Awesome! Great staff and food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Above and beyond expectations on all fronts, and they handled my food allergy concerns, well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Servers always seem to have an attitude

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We had my husband's birthday dinner here ~ We love the menu and the food is excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

One of our favorites for 4-5 years. Consistently good food and service. Good atmosphere and energy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Love the place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Short rib was good but a little overcooked as were the crispy potatoes. We have this meal often and this was the first time it was noticeable overcooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

John the manager is what makes this place great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We have been going for years - The food is good and the servers are very nice, knowledgable and polite. The hostesses are consistently inmpolite

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 4, 2018

I typically can depend on good food and good service when I go to North. Unfortunately, the service really missed the mark this evening.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38