About North Italia – Austin

11506 Century Oaks Terrace
Austin, TX 78758
View Larger Map

We’ve turned a modern lens on traditional Italian cooking. North Italia is our love letter to Italy—a place that’ll make you feel like you’ve stepped off a charming side street to discover a culinary gem. After a decade in business, we’ve learned a thing or two and we’re approaching perfection in the art of handmade pasta and pizza. Every day, we start from scratch to create dishes like Strozzapreti with Bloomsdale spinach or supple ribbons of tagliatelle for our Bolognese. Our pizza is a revelation: an airy, barely chewy center embraced by a perfectly crisp crust. With the spirit of the Italian taverna, North is the place to talk shop over a cocktail or swap gossip sharing delectable chef creations. Every neighborhood would be lucky to have a plac

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily 11am - 4pm

Happy Hour:
Mon - Fri 3pm - 6pm

Dinner:
Mon – Thu 4pm - 10pm
Fri – Sat 4pm - 11pm
Sunday 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Mopac

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 339-4400

Website:
http://www.northitalianfarmhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonally, we have live bands playing outside on our patio on Friday Nights, Saturday Afternoon, Saturday Night and Sunday Afternoon.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage or out in front of the Domain.

Executive Chef:
Matt Uemura

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bread With Sun Dried Tomato Butter
Margherita Pizza
Bolognese
Pizza
Espresso
Caesar Salad
Chicken with Seasonal Vegetables
Seasonal Vegetable
Bruschetta
Angus Beef with Arugula
Bread and Butter
Bucatini
Spaghetti & Meatballs
Tomato Basil Soup
Farmers Market Salad
Funghi Puzza
Fig Prosciutto/ Arugula Pistachio Pizza
Tiramisu
Salmon With Pasta Pesto Sauce
Zucca Chips
Pig Pizza
Fig And Proscuitto Pizza
Ciabatta Bread W/ Sun-Dried Tomato Butter
Lunch Special
Rigatoni Pasta
strozzapreti
Patata
Arugula Salad With Flash Fried Calamari
Prociutto Pizza
Grilled Chicken
cheese pizza
Seared Scallops With Broccolini And Lentils
Cavatelli
Calamari
Heirloom Beet Salad
Fig Pizza
Tuscan Tomato Soup
Panna Cotta
Quiet Italian Gentleman
Ducati
Bread
Michelada
Grilled Chicken Panini
Wood-Roasted Heirloom Carrots
Faust Cabernet Wine
Meatballs with Fresh Tomato Sauce and Bucatini
Chicken & Proscuitto
Appetizer
Nuttela Cake
fig and caramelized onion pizza
Calamari Salad
Pasta
Fried Calamari
Mussels
Tuscan Chicken Salad Panini
Sausage And Cremini Pizza
Meatballs
Short Ribs With Polenta
Radiatore
Ahi Tuna Salad
Seared Scallops
Fire Roasted “NY” Steak
Strazzapreti
Italian Grinder
Latte
Nutella cake
Barbeque chicken pizza
Pepperoni And Sausage Pizza
Baked Ziti
Scottish Salmon

North Italia – Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Austin
Most Booked
Austin
Italian
Austin
1 More
Most Booked
Austin
Best Restaurants in Northwest ›

great for outdoor dining (97)
fit for foodies (85)
great for lunch (65)
See All
good for groups (63)
special occasion (62)
hot spot (52)
neighborhood gem (40)
vibrant bar scene (32)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (25)
great for brunch (18)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated promptly and our food was ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated promptly and our food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cheese Plate was to die for

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cheese Plate was to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was terribly over salted. The arti ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was terribly over salted. The artichoke appetizer was too oily. NY Strip was terrible. Tasted like it was just unfrozen and cooked quickly, perhaps unfrozen while cooking, anyway that's how it tasted. the potatoes that came with steak were too burnt, it was basically chewing charcoal. The white bean soup was probably the tastiest of all dishes, but it was too salty nevertheless. the fish dish was too oily as well. Not a good experience. Service was mediocre. For some reason this place is very popular even though the food is terrible. This won't last long. We won't be returning ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Have probably dined at North 75 times or ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Have probably dined at North 75 times or more, but not recently. Had the Zucca Chips to start the meal, then the Summer Vegetable Salad with Salmon. The salmon filet cut was large with a nice crust/glaze on the top. Delicious. Shared the tiramisu dessert - outstanding. Will be back again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level was way too high, I coul ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The noise level was way too high, I couldn't talk across the table. The space is too crowded, I could hear neighboring table as well as my companion. The food was good. Reservations weren't ready when we arrived on time. This is a scene for millenials clearly. Service was good. Will not return, will not recommend to anyone over thirty something. Definitely no kids.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

I enjoyed my meal however I do not like ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I enjoyed my meal however I do not like the way they have all the inside tables jammed together. It felt costa phobic.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I had a much needed "date ni ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I had a much needed "date night" away from the demands of family, so we decided to try something new. Since I love Italian food, we thought we'd try North Italia. We got there 15 minutes earlier than our reservation of 9:30 PM, and the place was jumping - full, busy and seemingly popular.

We waited at the bar, where my wife ordered a dirty martini. The martini needed to be sent back because it was missing the "dirty" element (the olive brine), and a single glass, priced at $11, was higher than we expected, and higher than most places.

In our reservation, we'd asked for a booth, but there was none available, so the seating hostess apologized, and seated us at a regular 2-seater table.

Our server was delightful, friendly, patient and helpful, although she seemed new at her job. We ordered the calimari as an appetizer, the Caesar salad, and the Strozzapreti pasta with chicken in a cream sauce and 12-inch "The Pig" pizza as entrees. The portions were smaller than most competing chains (Buca di Beppo and Maggianos).

The calimari was above average, though not amongst the top 10 we've eaten. We did enjoy it, though. The salad was delicious, and we were tempted to order another one, but we thought we'd reserve space for the entrees, which, judging by the salad, should have been just as delicious.

The pasta was pretty good, though not amongst the best. The pizza, though, with its Italian sausage and pepperoni, was pretty good - at the time. I ate half the pizza and none of the pasta, feeling strangely full with just half an order of calimari, a spoon of salad & pasta each and 6" of pizza.

A few hours after returning home, the food poisoning hit me, with violent vomiting and diarrhea throughout the night. Later the next day, the doctor opined that the pizza was the culprit, possibly bad pepperoni. I've eaten at many restaurant chains across the US in the last 20 years, and not one have I been ill. I certainly won't go back to North Italia - Austin again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Staff at North is always accommodating. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Staff at North is always accommodating. I request the original kale salad that used to be on the menu and they always have it ready for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Business lunch recommended by client. G ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Business lunch recommended by client. Great food...great service from waitress.

Will be happy to head back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a great eating experience at ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It's always a great eating experience at North. I feel like I'm somewhere else, a mini food escape.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

North never, ever, disappoints. I've bee ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

North never, ever, disappoints. I've been more times than I can count. North is truly a gem.

Ciao!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a trendy, always busy restaurent ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This is a trendy, always busy restaurent located in the Domain. It is an attractive dining room, but very noisy. I like to sit on the outside patio, which has fans and mist machines to keep it comfortable. However, there is major construction on the restaurent right next door. So the patio is noisy now too.

There are great, unique drinks and the food is good, with daily specials. THe servers are attentive and friendly. It is a great place for lunch, dinner or drinks. Just don't expect a quiet conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The braised beef pasta was awesome, as w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The braised beef pasta was awesome, as was out waitress!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food & cocktails were very good. Perfect ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food & cocktails were very good. Perfect for a weeknight date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our salmon wasn't cooked correctly. To ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our salmon wasn't cooked correctly. Told the manager and he didn't do anything about it.

Just told us next time they can do it right???

Wasn't inexpensive!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was fair. Be sure to ask for the ve ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was fair. Be sure to ask for the vegetarian menu if that is your preference - all regular menu items have meat. My wife's pasta dish was soggy, another guest at our table got his entree cold. Maybe it was a one time thing but be warned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Amazing service as usual. Went for a bda ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing service as usual. Went for a bday and they accommodated our group and made it special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

North is always a great place to eat, it ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

North is always a great place to eat, it's got a great vibe in the heart of the Domain. My Pasta was awesome, I had STROZZAPRETI a chicken with spinach, mushrooms and a cream sauce. My husband had Boloneges which was never hot (spicy) before but this time was off the charts hot so that is why the 4 for food, not everyone in Texas likes spicy so please tone down the heat.

It was my birthday so my daughter and 16 year old grandson joined me, my grandson had the pig pizza which was very good but again with the hot spices.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was great- good service and excel ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dinner was great- good service and excellent food. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu has many interesting variations ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The menu has many interesting variations on common dishes. Can be a bit noisy at lunch time, but most restaurants tend to be.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly and accommodating service. Food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Friendly and accommodating service. Food was excellent and consistent with previous visits.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The half price wine during happy hour ma ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The half price wine during happy hour makes a good bottle of wine with your meal affordable and adds to the enjoyment!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an excellent experience at North. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had an excellent experience at North. The pasta was fantastic and service was great. The restaurant is a bit noisy, so it is not a great choice if you are looking for something quiet/romantic. But, I love the food and the location--looking forward to going back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Food and service were ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Food and service were both great, would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, with reservations ma ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great, with reservations made we were able to be seated promptly. There was a live band playing right outside the patio which made the evening more enjoyable. The "pig" pizza was one of the best pizzas I have eaten in the Austin area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Although my husband and I dine at North ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Although my husband and I dine at North frequently, and have previously had a great experience, we were disappointed how rushed we were on Friday night when we went. In addition, the short rib plate that is generally one of the best meals on the menu, was quite disappointing, as the short rib was burnt on the outside, but not cooked well enough on the inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Excellent food and service was great. Ou ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food and service was great. Out waiter was very friendly and great recommendation for food and wine. Cocktails are amazing there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had not been to North Italia for a wh ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had not been to North Italia for a while but are glad we went back! Our meal was delicious, and the service was friendly and professional. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was great but three piece ban ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great but three piece band playing 15' from outside seating made it hard to converse

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We're not from Austin and North Italia ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We're not from Austin and North Italia was suggested when I inquired about a nice restaurant for an anniversary dinner. We were somewhat surprised when we realized it was not the dark, romantic kind of restaurant we go to for our anniversary. However, we decided to stay and try something new, and we were not disappointed. We had a great time. The specialty cocktails were great. We ordered 3 small plates for appetizers, stuffed mushrooms, meatballs, and mussels and they were all wonderful. For dinner we had the Scallops and Salmon and both dinners were excellent. Our waiter was attentive and engaging, which added to the fun. Even though we sat at a two top table that was in a line of several two top tables next to each other, we thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience, especially interacting with the diners on either side of us. A fun anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First visit - we'll be back!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent food. Service was top-notch, a nice change after a bad experience at another restaurant. Ambiance was nice, but nosy and crowded. Manager came to our table to chat and thank us. We'll be back, at a quieter time if there is one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very surprised

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

North was so much better then I expected. I walked by 100 of times and always seen the douchbags sitting outside and didn't want to stop. Well I finally decided to eat here and it was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but very noisy!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I took an out of town friend because the food is good but we couldn't have a proper conversation. In and out in less than an hour.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Overall a great experience. Thankfully w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Overall a great experience. Thankfully we sat outside as the music level was an immediate irritation upon walking through the front door. Turn it down. It's a restaurant not a nightclub.

Food and service was top notch. Fresh and tasty with great combination of flavors. Our server got everything exactly right. Attentive but not constantly bothering you. Fix the music nonsense and it would be 5 star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My server was a rockstar!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I can't remember his name but came in for the bolognese and said they were out, then tried to order the artichoke, said they were out, so my experience didn't start off great. BUT my server ran back into the kitchen and said they had enough for one more plate of bolognese! YEAH!

It was delish....

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

All of their pasta is fresh made daily. We met some friends there while we were in town. Had amazing garlic cheese bread and cheese place appetizers. We all ordered pasta dishes and everything was so good. Our waitress was also very knowledgeable and helpful on the menu and was a charm to be around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Dinner

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We wanted piccata which was not on the menu. Te chef made it special for us even though the restaurant was packed. It was fantastic! Our server was wonderful, too! She recommended the appetizer and dessert and was spot on!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food (Bronzino is out of this wo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Amazing food (Bronzino is out of this world!) and wonderful service, overall a perfect evening at North...they never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gone to the dogs

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

North used to be a great date spot, romantic, refined, but now it has become Austinfied. For $100 for two you can be seated on a loud patio surrounded by kiddos jumping and having a fun time, while watching someone's dog next to you mosey in and have a seat under your table. I love kids and dogs and have a couple of my own, but I thought this would be romantic date night so left both at home, but no need to get a sitter because this place has gone to the dogs, so join and have fun, but for that atmosphere, lets lower the price!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

As always, we enjoyed our experience at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

As always, we enjoyed our experience at North. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.