HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

North India Restaurant

4.2
56 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Fun
  • Casual
We are located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We offer a mix of modern style with traditional roots, from our handmade paintings representing the incredible Indian culture to our fabulous interior and stylish décor. Experience our romantic music, and we prepare delicious authentic Indian dishes using a centuries old traditional Clay Oven method of cooking that allows us to quickly char roast meats, poultry, and seafood at up to 1000 degrees. Also bakes traditional Nan Breads crisp or chewy. All entries are individually prepared to your specified taste and seasoning.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
We are open 7 days week 1:00am to 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 348-1234
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Mission and Howard, corner of Minna and 2nd st
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 56 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2  based on recent ratings
4.2
food
3.4
service
3.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
60% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
NefertitiS (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

I have been going to North India fRestaurant for over a year. The food is aunthentic and always delicious. Although you can order off the menu, I usually choose the lunch buffet because there is a variety of different types of appetizers, entrees, and desserts. The buffet is reasonably priced and you can go back for seconds. Since I work in downtown San Francisco and I am limited for time, I find that the lunch buffet works best for me and my colleagues and friends. The service is good and friendly. I recommend it for business luncheons, birthdays, or for any other occasion.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orlando)
3.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

This is a very busy and noisy restaurant. The food was tasty and hot. It is not a place where you would take a date though. Good for after work with the workmates.

Report
Helpful
vipOkforlunch (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 9, 2018

excellent lunch buffet

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
3.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

The food was amazing! But It took over an hour for us to get our food. They also never brought one of the items we ordered. I understand it was xmas night but an hour?

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

My mother was visiting me, from out of state, for my birthday, and we came down to San Francisco from Napa to have dinner with my nephew and his girlfriend. My nephew and I have eaten here previously, and liked it a lot. I also love the convenience of the location.

Report
Helpful
foodie (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on November 16, 2017

Good food but too loud for work lunch

Report
Helpful
SuperCat (Washington DC)
1.0  Dined on October 19, 2017

The staff is not prepared or not willing to give good customer service. They had a very nonchalant attitude toward service. I felt like I was a burden to them.

The food took 45mins to come out, and when it did was just meh.

Report
Helpful
vipeefrat (New England)
4.0  Dined on October 3, 2017

We had a company dinner with about 10 people dining. Everyone said they very much enjoyed themselves.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on October 3, 2017

Service was a little spotty, possibly to do with an influx of other groups around the same time as our 7.15 reservation. Food was very good, authentic and good value. Would visit again when in town.

Report
Helpful
vipCharca (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on September 24, 2017

Place had only a couple of tables full. The floor was dirty. The waiters had their fingers all over the plates instead of serving with the hand on the edge. Food was just fair. Waiters were also unfriendly. White wine was almost Undrinkable. Will not return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on August 16, 2017

My favorite Indian restaurant downtown

Report
Helpful
vipdrpainstopper (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on July 18, 2017

Good, but not spicy enough

Report
Helpful
vipMarjorieS (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on June 27, 2017

Good food, great price, casual fun place, buffet had many selections & included naan and dessert

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on May 10, 2017

Thanks great meal

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on April 18, 2017

Good lunch buffet. Service is okay... not friendly and not rude. Food is good, but comparable to other Indian restaurants at this price point... not a stand out in any areas.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
2.0  Dined on March 9, 2017

1. A/C was not ON,we asked for turning it ON they said its not working

2. Water was served with no ice, when we asked for more ice they gave only one Pint of glass full of ice begween 10 people

3. Table arrangement for 10 people was very cramped

4. Lamb dishes were almost uncooked

5. Biryani is the most pathetic dish here - its just rice with some spices. They don't know how to make biryani

Report
Helpful
vipsmbrowne (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on February 25, 2017

Good value and good food for Northern Indian food. Wait staff very knowledgeable allergy suffers. Easy location. Not our first visit and will not be our last.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
4.0  Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was very good. I recommend the saag paneer!

Report
Helpful
vipZZTapas (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on February 8, 2017

I love just about every restaurant I go to but this place was an exception. I ordered the Bombay chicken spicy. It wasn't and the sauce looked like it came from a jar of spaghetti sauce that has been sitting opened in the fridge for a couple months. Service was slow and inattentive and just not that nice. Place looks nice though.

Report
Helpful
vipLovefood (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on January 28, 2017

Good Indian food with great service. The breads are especially good I have tried a few and all I would order again.

Report
Helpful
vipLovefood (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on January 19, 2017

I really like this restaurant the food is great, especially the breads, and service is good too. I'll definitely be coming back again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food and a great value for eating in San Francisco. Our group of 7 all agreed it was a really good choice for our business dinner.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on December 25, 2016

We cannot have dinner due to Overbooking. Terrible!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
3.0  Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food. Waiter forgot my order but reorder came fast enough. The TV was super loud. Very annoying.

Report
Helpful
User123 (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was really good, we liked the atmosphere and they had a table open for us on short notice.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 15, 2016

I planned a business dinner here for a group of 14. I made reservations a week in advance and called the day-of to confirm. When we arrived, they did not have a table ready for us, it appeared that they HAD one set up but that somebody split the table up and gave it to a small group. They ended up MOVING the small party to a different table (mid meal) to push tables back together for our group. Once we got settled, the service was slow at first, but then got better. The food was really great and the value was also great. They were also accommodating with splitting the check between all of us.

I would eat here again, but wouldn't try to make reservations for a large group.

Report
Helpful
vipflash442 (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on October 28, 2016

The buffet was great. The food was hot and fresh coming out of the kitchen.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious food-tikka masala was great, the tandoori looked great as it went by too!

Report
Helpful
vipAuthentic (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on September 3, 2016

Authentic food which was well spiced. The quality of the chicken and lamb was surprisingly good. However the service and wine list could certainly do with improving.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on September 2, 2016

We have come here many times and the food is consistently good, the service very attentive and the ambiance very nice especially at dinner time.

Report
Helpful
1
2