North India Restaurant

3.8
66 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion
We are located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We offer a mix of modern style with traditional roots, from our handmade paintings representing the incredible Indian culture to our fabulous interior and stylish décor. Experience our romantic music, and we prepare delicious authentic Indian dishes using a centuries old traditional Clay Oven method of cooking that allows us to quickly char roast meats, poultry, and seafood at up to 1000 degrees. Also bakes traditional Nan Breads crisp or chewy. All entries are individually prepared to your specified taste and seasoning.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
We are open 7 days week 1:00am to 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 348-1234
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Mission and Howard, corner of Minna and 2nd st
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 66 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.6
food
3.4
service
3.5
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
50% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on May 21, 2018

This was the worst experience I have ever experienced in any Indian restaurant through the world. If your thinking of going here DONT. Food was cold and when we told the waiter he took our food away, rice with peas on top, lamb vindaloo, chicken vindaloo and breads. We had already put half the meal on our plates. He then asked if we wanted clean plates. Well the food on the late was cold too. Well on the food returning the rice was now mixed with the peas ? Obviously just reheated but when the meals returned they were half the original quantity. Sure no guessing they had reheated the original remaining food minus what was in the plate. Absolutely shocking for an overpriced crap meal. Please don’t waste your hard earned dollars this place is a joke. I’ve only write a fraction of what went wrong here but please please don’t Go it’s disgusting to treat full paying customers that way.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Upon entering the restaurant it was noticeably shy of patrons. Still, we were sat at a small table right next to two people. We asked to move and the obliged. Took about 15 min to get a drink (mind you the place had maybe 8 pp in it). Beer glass had large chip. Waiter asked to take order; I had a question. He rolled his eyes. Food order placed. One dish asked to be spicy. Food came promptly, some in chipped dishes. Had to use table next door for our dishes. Spicy dish not spicy and they added paneer. The whole time a single wait staff gentlemen walked back and forth behind us, depositing dishes loudly into bin. Dishwasher is banging dishes, too. And then, out of nowhere, they blared Indian music...but they did dim the lights.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The service was quick. The restaurant ambience is great. Our chicken was a bit tough which is why I didn’t rate it 5 stars. Overall good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Took awhile to get TP replaced in the bathroom, but everything else to do with the experience was wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Good food & service! Felt like home cooked food. Good Vibe!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Garlic naan and potatoe naan were delicious!! They have us complimentary dessert for the five of us and it was good. Service was nice, orders came out quickly!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 14, 2018

The worst experience ever. No one spoke English. Asked for mild. Came out so hot couldn’t be eaten. Brought one dish and no others. We got so fed up we got up and left and went somewhere else. DO not eat here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great restaurant for Indian food. Service was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Food was really good. Waiter staff was bothered by having to wait on us. Just on occasion would like a smile and have them be happy we are eating at their restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Amazing food and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

I have been going to North India fRestaurant for over a year. The food is aunthentic and always delicious. Although you can order off the menu, I usually choose the lunch buffet because there is a variety of different types of appetizers, entrees, and desserts. The buffet is reasonably priced and you can go back for seconds. Since I work in downtown San Francisco and I am limited for time, I find that the lunch buffet works best for me and my colleagues and friends. The service is good and friendly. I recommend it for business luncheons, birthdays, or for any other occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

This is a very busy and noisy restaurant. The food was tasty and hot. It is not a place where you would take a date though. Good for after work with the workmates.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 9, 2018

excellent lunch buffet

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 25, 2017

The food was amazing! But It took over an hour for us to get our food. They also never brought one of the items we ordered. I understand it was xmas night but an hour?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2017

My mother was visiting me, from out of state, for my birthday, and we came down to San Francisco from Napa to have dinner with my nephew and his girlfriend. My nephew and I have eaten here previously, and liked it a lot. I also love the convenience of the location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Good food but too loud for work lunch

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 19, 2017

The staff is not prepared or not willing to give good customer service. They had a very nonchalant attitude toward service. I felt like I was a burden to them.

The food took 45mins to come out, and when it did was just meh.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 3, 2017

We had a company dinner with about 10 people dining. Everyone said they very much enjoyed themselves.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 3, 2017

Service was a little spotty, possibly to do with an influx of other groups around the same time as our 7.15 reservation. Food was very good, authentic and good value. Would visit again when in town.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 24, 2017

Place had only a couple of tables full. The floor was dirty. The waiters had their fingers all over the plates instead of serving with the hand on the edge. Food was just fair. Waiters were also unfriendly. White wine was almost Undrinkable. Will not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2017

My favorite Indian restaurant downtown

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 18, 2017

Good, but not spicy enough

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 27, 2017

Good food, great price, casual fun place, buffet had many selections & included naan and dessert

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2017

Thanks great meal

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 18, 2017

Good lunch buffet. Service is okay... not friendly and not rude. Food is good, but comparable to other Indian restaurants at this price point... not a stand out in any areas.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 9, 2017

1. A/C was not ON,we asked for turning it ON they said its not working

2. Water was served with no ice, when we asked for more ice they gave only one Pint of glass full of ice begween 10 people

3. Table arrangement for 10 people was very cramped

4. Lamb dishes were almost uncooked

5. Biryani is the most pathetic dish here - its just rice with some spices. They don't know how to make biryani

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2017

Good value and good food for Northern Indian food. Wait staff very knowledgeable allergy suffers. Easy location. Not our first visit and will not be our last.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was very good. I recommend the saag paneer!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 8, 2017

I love just about every restaurant I go to but this place was an exception. I ordered the Bombay chicken spicy. It wasn't and the sauce looked like it came from a jar of spaghetti sauce that has been sitting opened in the fridge for a couple months. Service was slow and inattentive and just not that nice. Place looks nice though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Good Indian food with great service. The breads are especially good I have tried a few and all I would order again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2017

I really like this restaurant the food is great, especially the breads, and service is good too. I'll definitely be coming back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food and a great value for eating in San Francisco. Our group of 7 all agreed it was a really good choice for our business dinner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2016

We cannot have dinner due to Overbooking. Terrible!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food. Waiter forgot my order but reorder came fast enough. The TV was super loud. Very annoying.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was really good, we liked the atmosphere and they had a table open for us on short notice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2016

I planned a business dinner here for a group of 14. I made reservations a week in advance and called the day-of to confirm. When we arrived, they did not have a table ready for us, it appeared that they HAD one set up but that somebody split the table up and gave it to a small group. They ended up MOVING the small party to a different table (mid meal) to push tables back together for our group. Once we got settled, the service was slow at first, but then got better. The food was really great and the value was also great. They were also accommodating with splitting the check between all of us.

I would eat here again, but wouldn't try to make reservations for a large group.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2016

The buffet was great. The food was hot and fresh coming out of the kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious food-tikka masala was great, the tandoori looked great as it went by too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2016

Authentic food which was well spiced. The quality of the chicken and lamb was surprisingly good. However the service and wine list could certainly do with improving.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 2, 2016

We have come here many times and the food is consistently good, the service very attentive and the ambiance very nice especially at dinner time.

Report
Helpful
1
2