About North India Restaurant

123 2nd Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

We are located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We offer a mix of modern style with traditional roots, from our handmade paintings representing the incredible Indian culture to our fabulous interior and stylish décor. Experience our romantic music, and we prepare delicious authentic Indian dishes using a centuries old traditional Clay Oven method of cooking that allows us to quickly char roast meats, poultry, and seafood at up to 1000 degrees. Also bakes traditional Nan Breads crisp or chewy. All entries are individually prepared to your specified taste and seasoning.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
We are open 7 days week 1:00am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Mission and Howard, corner of Minna and 2nd st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 348-1234

Website:
http://northindiasf.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North India Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.5

ambience

3.3

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Spicy (2)
See All
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
30 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The buffet was great. The food was hot a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The buffet was great. The food was hot and fresh coming out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Delicious food-tikka masala was great, t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious food-tikka masala was great, the tandoori looked great as it went by too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic food which was well spiced. Th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Authentic food which was well spiced. The quality of the chicken and lamb was surprisingly good. However the service and wine list could certainly do with improving.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We have come here many times and the foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have come here many times and the food is consistently good, the service very attentive and the ambiance very nice especially at dinner time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good and the prices re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was very good and the prices reasonable with the exception that it was TOTALLY a la carte -- a main course came with NOTHING at all, not a condiment, not a rice ,not a bread ,not a vegetable. Not so much of a problem if you have a bunch of people sharing but a problem if you're a single diner. A bigger problem was the incompetent service -- we ordered 5 things and the waiter totally forgot two of them, first the wine and then one of two main dishes -- which by the time we realized that he might have just forgotten it, we had to rush through eating and were still slightly late for our meeting to attend following the meal. Further, no real apology let alone an offer of some courtesy compensation such as an appetizer or dessert or even something to nibble while we sat and waited. They were also reluctant also to turn down the loud TV, let alone off, though, at the time we asked, the four of us were the only customers -- presumably because the staff wanted to watch ! Still the food was good enough that I'd go back again and, as I'm a Professor of Management, it makes a great story to tell my class about poor management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food and service are very good for t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food and service are very good for the price and location. There was an overwhelming smell of cleaning fluid during the second half of our meal even though the restaurant was over half full (so they weren't getting ready to close). Without that the dinner would have been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value5

Don't go here

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Don't go here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Food wasn't the best. Not going again.

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Food wasn't the best. Not going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
service2

We went for oracle open world and wanted ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2015

We went for oracle open world and wanted to try indian food. We had buffet . We were 8 people but buffet was not good. Food was not tasty. I will not recommend eating buffet at this place. We were not even finished but got our check immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great lunch spot in SoMA

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2015

Great spot for lunch.

And they even offer AYCE buffet!

Service is always on par at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, food and ambiance

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2015

My friend and I met here for lunch at Noon. It fills up quickly so I was very glad that I had made a reservation. I'm vegetarian and Northern Indian and I was very happy with the vegetarian selections. Overall, this is a great lunch spot with a nice variety of options for meat eaters and vegetarians (though I think they had more meat/fish options ;-) I'm glad I tried it and I'd even make the trip across town to eat here again. The service was outstanding. That alone would bring me back. Thanks for an excellent lunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

North India is my #1 place to go for Ind ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2015

North India is my #1 place to go for Indian food.

Besides the food and service that is always on par, each experience the servers introduces us to something NEW & DIFFERENT.

This time it was the HOUSE MADE CHEESE we were introduced to. Wow, it was unbelievably delicious, especially when paired with the sauces. You can equally eat it alone, just make sure you have it while hot.

Thank you again to our servers/experts- KULDEEP & LOVE. We will be back!!

-linda

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and affordable lunch buffet.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2015

Affordable lunch buffet in the SoMA, definitely worth a try. You can also order ala carte for faster service

Servers were all very attentive

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The buffet is well worth it

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2015

We usually partake in the buffet , however , we were on a time constraint this time around so decided to order aka carte.

The bill was a bit more than if we did the buffet. But service was fast and food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Lunch buffet is a great deal!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2015

Lunch buffet is very affordable and a good bang for your buck. Come before noon to dodge the crowds.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

has always been a pleasure, have looked ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2015

has always been a pleasure, have looked forward to coming back, will be back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I was surprised and impressed with the s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2015

I was surprised and impressed with the service at North India. The servers were all very attentive.

I also really liked the lunch buffet, unfortunately , since we came in so late (130pm) a few dishes were out and they weren't making more to replenish. Next time i will have to go earlier!!

Overall, it was a good experience & will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a fun little find - great for lunch ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2015

What a fun little find - great for lunch !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2015

The Vindaloo and Butter Chicken were awesome! We got both extra spicy! And the garlic naan was really tasty. Cosey little place with great combo service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Indian food!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2015

Food was amazing - everything we had was great. Service was slow, even though we got there really early. It was a kind of business dinner, ended up taking two hours for a dinner that started around 6. Slow to take drink orders. But I would definitely go back for the food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious entrees - flavorful and approp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2015

Delicious entrees - flavorful and appropriately spicy. Rice could have been warmer, bu the chicken tikka masala and paneer arrived hot enough to warm the rice. Naan was yummy - crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Great complement to the dinner. Service was attentive and professional. Overall, a delightful meal. I especially enjoyed the window seating with comfy pillows and interesting views of the street scene near Market.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, but owner needs to better service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2015

Owner kept asking repeatedly if another member of the group will join us or not --3 times in ~15mins while we were eating. Each time we had tell him, yes he's coming and our final member did join us. It was a busy day, so I guess he wanted to optimally utilize space. Annoying for our group. Otherwise food & ambience was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food is fantastic! The staff is friendly!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2015

We live right around the corner, and I'm so glad this place offered an Amazon Local deal which prompted us to try them. Great place, quick service, authentic Indian food! We must have seen 40 orders for delivery/pick up while we were dining.... try this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Indian food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2015

I was looking for Indian food and this place was great. Chicken tikka was perfect, and their naan was amazing

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Respectable Indian Buffet

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2014

I was really impressed with the variety of dishes served as part of the lunch buffet! All of the food I tried was good...not great, but good especially for a buffet. All of the dishes were moderately spiced as is to be expected, not too mild, but certainly not as spicy as I like it. Water service left a little to be desired, but they did a good job of clearing our used plates. I definitely feel like it is pretty good deal...good food for a really good price!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good lunch spot

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2014

It's a buffet so it's fast and good for lunch. No waiting, unless there's a line of people ahead of you for the buffet. The ambiance is nice, although loud. They spend a lot of money on real roses for every table, daily.

In the window tables by the front, they really need to hang up some window curtains or screens or something because the midday sun turns those tables into a rotisserie! It's way too hot to sit there, we had to ask to move. Some curtains would help. Other than that, a great little spot for decent Indian food at lunchtime downtown.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2014

Ate there the day it opened. Food was very good. Returned and was very dissatisfied. Tandoori prawns were overcooked to the point of disintegration. Not motivated to give them one more try. The place was empty at 8 in the evening which makes me think they've got real problems in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Good food, unorganized service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2014

Great, authentic Indian food. Nice lunch buffet. The service is a bit disorganized and rather slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Chaotic Experience

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2014

The whole experience was Chaotic and Disorganized. Upon arriving I informed them I had a Opentable Reservation. They immediately shoved my group in to the "Feed Line" (Buffet) and once we had our food we had to stand holding our food waiting for a table to open up. I again informed them we had a reservation. No one seemed to know what to do. So we waited until a table became available. They attempted to seat us right next to the door and right by the feed line. I complained and they reseated us slightly away from the line. The food was good and for that reason I may go back but they need to work a little different ESP if someone takes the time to make a reservation ahead of time to dine with them. Very poor service

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Authentic Indian food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2014

I'm so glad I tried this restaurant. Having been burnt by other Indian restaurants I wasn't sure what to expect but they had pasanda on the menu which I haven't seen elsewhere. We ordered the lamb pasanda and lamb jalfrezi with rice and kabuli and keema naan breads. It was far too much food for the two of us but it was all delicious. They also serve beer, traditional Indian drinks (lassi and masala chai) as well as desserts but we were too full to try those. Their menu is extensive and I'm planning to go back for my Indian fix next time and try something different. I would have preferred the traditional Indian music but they changed the music to chart hits soon after we arrived. The restaurant was otherwise quiet and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.