Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About North India Restaurant

We are located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We offer a mix of modern style with traditional roots, from our handmade paintings representing the incredible Indian culture to our fabulous interior and stylish décor. Experience our romantic music, and we prepare delicious authentic Indian dishes using a centuries old traditional Clay Oven method of cooking that allows us to quickly char roast meats, poultry, and seafood at up to 1000 degrees. Also bakes traditional Nan Breads crisp or chewy. All entries are individually prepared to your specified taste and seasoning.

123 2nd Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
We are open 7 days week 1:00am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Mission and Howard, corner of Minna and 2nd st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 348-1234

Website:
http://northindiasf.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

North India Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.2

ambience

3.2

value

3.3

Noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Business Meals (1)
See All
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
49 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We had a company dinner with about 10 people dining. Everyone said they very much enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Service was a little spotty, possibly to do with an influx of other groups around the same time as our 7.15 reservation. Food was very good, authentic and good value. Would visit again when in town.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Place had only a couple of tables full. The floor was dirty. The waiters had their fingers all over the plates instead of serving with the hand on the edge. Food was just fair. Waiters were also unfriendly. White wine was almost Undrinkable. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My favorite Indian restaurant downtown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Good, but not spicy enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Good food, great price, casual fun place, buffet had many selections & included naan and dessert

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Thanks great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good lunch buffet. Service is okay... not friendly and not rude. Food is good, but comparable to other Indian restaurants at this price point... not a stand out in any areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

1. A/C was not ON,we asked for turning it ON they said its not working

2. Water was served with no ice, when we asked for more ice they gave only one Pint of glass full of ice begween 10 people

3. Table arrangement for 10 people was very cramped

4. Lamb dishes were almost uncooked

5. Biryani is the most pathetic dish here - its just rice with some spices. They don't know how to make biryani

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good value and good food for Northern Indian food. Wait staff very knowledgeable allergy suffers. Easy location. Not our first visit and will not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was very good. I recommend the saag paneer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I love just about every restaurant I go to but this place was an exception. I ordered the Bombay chicken spicy. It wasn't and the sauce looked like it came from a jar of spaghetti sauce that has been sitting opened in the fridge for a couple months. Service was slow and inattentive and just not that nice. Place looks nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good Indian food with great service. The breads are especially good I have tried a few and all I would order again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I really like this restaurant the food is great, especially the breads, and service is good too. I'll definitely be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food and a great value for eating in San Francisco. Our group of 7 all agreed it was a really good choice for our business dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We cannot have dinner due to Overbooking. Terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food. Waiter forgot my order but reorder came fast enough. The TV was super loud. Very annoying.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was really good, we liked the atmosphere and they had a table open for us on short notice.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I planned a business dinner here for a group of 14. I made reservations a week in advance and called the day-of to confirm. When we arrived, they did not have a table ready for us, it appeared that they HAD one set up but that somebody split the table up and gave it to a small group. They ended up MOVING the small party to a different table (mid meal) to push tables back together for our group. Once we got settled, the service was slow at first, but then got better. The food was really great and the value was also great. They were also accommodating with splitting the check between all of us.

I would eat here again, but wouldn't try to make reservations for a large group.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The buffet was great. The food was hot and fresh coming out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious food-tikka masala was great, the tandoori looked great as it went by too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Authentic food which was well spiced. The quality of the chicken and lamb was surprisingly good. However the service and wine list could certainly do with improving.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We have come here many times and the food is consistently good, the service very attentive and the ambiance very nice especially at dinner time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was very good and the prices reasonable with the exception that it was TOTALLY a la carte -- a main course came with NOTHING at all, not a condiment, not a rice ,not a bread ,not a vegetable. Not so much of a problem if you have a bunch of people sharing but a problem if you're a single diner. A bigger problem was the incompetent service -- we ordered 5 things and the waiter totally forgot two of them, first the wine and then one of two main dishes -- which by the time we realized that he might have just forgotten it, we had to rush through eating and were still slightly late for our meeting to attend following the meal. Further, no real apology let alone an offer of some courtesy compensation such as an appetizer or dessert or even something to nibble while we sat and waited. They were also reluctant also to turn down the loud TV, let alone off, though, at the time we asked, the four of us were the only customers -- presumably because the staff wanted to watch ! Still the food was good enough that I'd go back again and, as I'm a Professor of Management, it makes a great story to tell my class about poor management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service are very good for the price and location. There was an overwhelming smell of cleaning fluid during the second half of our meal even though the restaurant was over half full (so they weren't getting ready to close). Without that the dinner would have been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Don't go here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Food wasn't the best. Not going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2015

We went for oracle open world and wanted to try indian food. We had buffet . We were 8 people but buffet was not good. Food was not tasty. I will not recommend eating buffet at this place. We were not even finished but got our check immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2015

Great spot for lunch.
And they even offer AYCE buffet!

Service is always on par at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2015

My friend and I met here for lunch at Noon. It fills up quickly so I was very glad that I had made a reservation. I'm vegetarian and Northern Indian and I was very happy with the vegetarian selections. Overall, this is a great lunch spot with a nice variety of options for meat eaters and vegetarians (though I think they had more meat/fish options ;-) I'm glad I tried it and I'd even make the trip across town to eat here again. The service was outstanding. That alone would bring me back. Thanks for an excellent lunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2015

North India is my #1 place to go for Indian food.

Besides the food and service that is always on par, each experience the servers introduces us to something NEW & DIFFERENT.

This time it was the HOUSE MADE CHEESE we were introduced to. Wow, it was unbelievably delicious, especially when paired with the sauces. You can equally eat it alone, just make sure you have it while hot.

Thank you again to our servers/experts- KULDEEP & LOVE. We will be back!!

-linda

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2015

Affordable lunch buffet in the SoMA, definitely worth a try. You can also order ala carte for faster service

Servers were all very attentive

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2015

We usually partake in the buffet , however , we were on a time constraint this time around so decided to order aka carte.

The bill was a bit more than if we did the buffet. But service was fast and food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2015

Lunch buffet is very affordable and a good bang for your buck. Come before noon to dodge the crowds.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2015

has always been a pleasure, have looked forward to coming back, will be back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2015

I was surprised and impressed with the service at North India. The servers were all very attentive.

I also really liked the lunch buffet, unfortunately , since we came in so late (130pm) a few dishes were out and they weren't making more to replenish. Next time i will have to go earlier!!

Overall, it was a good experience & will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2015

What a fun little find - great for lunch !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2015

The Vindaloo and Butter Chicken were awesome! We got both extra spicy! And the garlic naan was really tasty. Cosey little place with great combo service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 8, 2015

Food was amazing - everything we had was great. Service was slow, even though we got there really early. It was a kind of business dinner, ended up taking two hours for a dinner that started around 6. Slow to take drink orders. But I would definitely go back for the food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2015

Delicious entrees - flavorful and appropriately spicy. Rice could have been warmer, bu the chicken tikka masala and paneer arrived hot enough to warm the rice. Naan was yummy - crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Great complement to the dinner. Service was attentive and professional. Overall, a delightful meal. I especially enjoyed the window seating with comfy pillows and interesting views of the street scene near Market.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.