About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (86)
Notable Wine List (68)
Romantic (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Scenic View (36)
Worth the Drive (28)
Tasting Menu (26)
Business Meals (23)
Modern Decor (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (13)
People Watching (11)
Tapas (10)
Waterfront (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (6)
Organic (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Dinner, "Tasting menu and wine pairing", if you like to sit down and enjoy 3 hours dinner

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very good, service was excellent but noise level was horrendous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Norman's is our new Favorite Restaurant. Of all of our vast fine dining experiences, Norman's at The Ritz Carlton Orlando, was the finest. From the moment our lovely hostess greeted us, to the last delicious morsel on our lips, we were truly bathed in pleasure. Upon being seated, we were presented with a commemorative Happy 30th Anniversary menu and glasses of champagne. The waitstaff is well trained to chat for the the perfect number of minutes. The presentation of food delighted our visual sense. Each taste lit our taste buds and palates in ways that had us expressing our gratitude to the chef. We enjoyed the Yuca Stuffed Crispy Shrimp. The Brazilian Styled Creamy Cracked Conch Chowder was a brilliant surprise, from presentation to last bite. I highly recommend this soup. Presented as a dry crab cake. Waiter bathed the conch in broth and toped it off with coconut cream. Wow! Yuzu Mojo Roasted Breast of Organic Chicken and Guava-Pasilla Grilled Pork Chop were delicious. Chocolate cake and espresso topped off a beautiful celebration for Gene and myself.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellence in all aspects. Exquisite cut of beef.....
Fantastic steak tartare.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service, as Ritz hotels are known for. Pretty disappointed in the food quality - #1, they are not currently serving the sea bass and have substituted tile fish, which is very disappointing. In addition, everything I had as well as the taste of my husband's filet was just average, not very tasteful or outstanding as you would expect from fine dining at a Ritz Carlton and with what we paid.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Norman's is special restaurant, very polite staff and great food and service

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing food and service ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My favorite Orlando restaurant. Great wine list. Order the steak tartare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Been there a dozen times, seems to me there is a slow decline.
Not many choices on the menu, dishes not very interesting, the rest is outstanding, but we go to dinner primarily to eat food. Prices are high, food should be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I absolutely enjoyed my first visit at Norman's and it will not be my last!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Poor Service and NOT GOOD food, the menu on the website is different from the one they give you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was perfect , we did the tasting menu with wine pairing , they served 4 different olive oil with cart service. Don't miss this place!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very accommodating and treated us just so perfectly. Food was exquisite Will return whenever in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Thanks to Sarah, she did a amazing job. very professional and understood our needs
need to come back and try the tasting menu. Thank you Ritz Carlton making our special occasion unforgetable

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Perfect meal! we had so much food and wine, it was great it took almost 3 hours dining but worth it.. we will be back

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Norman's was an exceptional dining experience. We were greeted by a friendly hostess and received very soon by our lovely attentive server, named Sarah. She was familiar with the menu, both cocktails, wine and food. She anticipated any needs we had and far exceeded any expectations. The food was DELICIOUS!!!! One of the best red snappers ever. The other attendants were excellent as well. The decor was impeccable and the ambiance spectacular.
We can't wait to return to Norman's!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had. Dave our attendant was outstanding, taking care of every request. Chefs preparations were prepared perfectly. Every detail meticulously executed. I highly recommend a night of fine dining at Norman's you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Restaurant was very nice. Staff was very attentive. Food was outstanding. We went with the Chef's tasting $90.00 pp. it was 6-7 courses and food was a culinary delight. Some of the plates I would have never thought to try, such as Duck Confit on top of French toast. It was so Yummy I wanted seconds. My only gripe about the whole evening was a 31 top table was seated about an hour after we started. Well it threw the kitchen off schedule. We ended up being there 3plus hours and had to rush the last two plates due to time constraints. Overall an excellent experience and I would not hesitate to go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

we celebrated an 80th birthday and everyone made her feel very special!! it was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Booked on Open Table. No where did I see there was a dress code. Not being from the area I had no idea. Two of my guests were made to feel uncomfortable because they wore shorts to dinner on a hot day. We made the best of he situation but I was not pleased about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had wanted to arrive early expressly to have a cocktail at the bar. Tim, was the perfect host. He suggested a White Linen for my wife; and, I asked about some American Whiskies; and, he was happy to provide a couple of nice samples. We had a great conversation about various blends and regional preferences.

Sarah T introduced herself; and, we began by ordering a bottle of "Cuttings" by The Prisoner Wine Company. For starters, I ordered the Ceviche; and, my wife opted for the Seared Scallops. Both were exceptional; and, were prepared with the perfect balance of seasoning, which allowed the quality ingredients to speak for themselves.

We decided to split our second plate, which was the Peach Salad. Now, I don't get excited about salad; but, this was something else; on a whole different plain. It was exceptional; and, the server that brought the food offered a detailed description, which helped us appreciate it all the more.

For Mains, I had the Pork Havana, with two different sauces, including a Mole for the 21st Century. Both accented on vinegar; but, elevated the dish so much, I absolutely devoured the fork-tender pork loin. My wife had the Filet Mignon, which was cooked perfectly.

We opted for no dessert; but, Sarah brought some truffles for our anniversary, which was such a nice treat. My wife had an incredible Peach Ginger Tea.

Service throughout was outstanding, with our wine glasses never going empty. Plates were removed as quickly as necessary. The bread service, water service, and food service were exemplary; comparable to any other 5-star dining experience. My only disappointment was that the Wine Steward had arrived after we had ordered; and, never checked on us and the wine recommended by the manager.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I had a 1000 point Reservation, that was reduced to 100, when we were 5 minutes late, even when calling the hostess from a cab in traffic. Not Happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food was wonderful!!!! The service was excellent. The fusion of the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Food was amazing! Setting was great and Milos was wonderful. And the most delicious Gluten Free muffins! Not your typical Ritz snobbery. Must go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Simply wonderful

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is absolutely amazing but make sure you wear pants or you won't be able to get in. Strict dress code is enforced and not known for out of town guests so could cause a problem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The valet parking service was very good. My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and we had a fabulous time. Our server paid attention to every detail and the food and service were amazing! Will definitely go there again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant with very sophisticated service. However the food doesn't match. The items we had were either not good or just mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The 6 course tasting menu with the wine pairing was the best overall dinner my wife and I have ever had. All courses were beautifully presented, full of flavor, and presented as plenty of food to enjoy each course. I could eat the orange-coconut conch chowder every day (<-- select this over the foi gras). The service by Fernando was wonderful. Servers were attentive but not overbearing. The pace was perfect and Fernando was very perceptive on when to speed up or slow down.
Wine pairings were spot on for all of the courses.
Well worth the time and value.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Dinner was delicious. Service was outstanding with attentiveness and friendliness.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have dined at Norman's a half dozen times and it never disappoints! Service and food are wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have been wanting to get to Norman's and finally made it last night for our anniversary. We had a cute table where we sat next to each other and looked out the window to see the sunset. We were given two complimentary glasses of champagne which was nice touch. Our sever milos was on point very attentive but not overbearing.
On to the food we started with the tuna and yuca stuffed shrimp. The apps were delicious with there were more that 2 shrimp for the price.
Main course my husband had the Seanad which he said was a little on the tough side and this fish should have been more melt in your mouth. I had the pork tenderloin this was ok not the best I've ever had the grits were overcooked. I'm not one to complain but milos could tell I was not a fan. He did comp the entree and offers me something else which I declined. He did buy us a dessert which we opted for the cheese plate. He rolled over a cheese cart and we picked the ones we wanted. Can't go wrong with cheese in my opinion.
Overall service was great food not so much.
We can check this place off our list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The perfect dining experience. Scott is as good a waiter as we've ever had the pleasure of meeting. It's all about the relationship of course and we built one in a shirt time. The food was u unique and prepared perfectly. The surroiundings are classic and beautiful. Highly recommended. Thanks Scott and the entire Normans team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was a real treat. Recommended by my daughter who comes to Orlando on business and had taken clients to Norman's. I am here for a conference and so am dining alone. From start to finish it was elegant, relaxed and perfect. Fernando (assisted by James) was delightful. I never felt rushed or, as sometimes happens, ignored because I was a single. The food was outstanding ... A very special meal. I was early so had a drink in the lobby bar which was also welcoming and very pretty. I am not sure I can afford to STAY at the Ritz Carlton for 4 nights (my trip here) but I SURE would head over there for the best meal in Orlando. Bar none. Outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As we were celebrating our anniversary we were looking for an outstanding dining experience. We got that and more as the food and wine were outstanding which were greatly enhanced by our service professional , Fernando.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 19, 2017

David was a terrific server.
The bartender who calculated the bill charged us for drinks that another table ordered!
It was extremely embarrassing for bringing up to padded bill in front of our guest.
The worst thing is that the incorrect bill of $283 has already been charged to my debit card in addition to the corrected bill of $241 now have been charged over $ $524 for this meal!
This was a terrible experience!
Plus I know nothing will be done to correct this!
How could a top restaurant do this!
I am reporting this to OpenTable, Yelp, and anybody else I can!
Here David was terrific as the server ; but, what kind of systems do you have that would allow such an embarrassing and costly meal! I am out $524 plus the $48 tip for David based on the corrected bill of $241!
Worst experience in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wonderful setting, service and food! Expensive but well worth the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was absolutely incredible and we highly recommend the ham crusted sea bass. The staff and service was amazing. Thank you to Norman's staff for providing us a wonderful dinner and we will be back again for sure.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Top notch in every category. Started off with the apple walnut salad, portion was very small but good nonetheless. The vast selection of bread and the olive oils and seasonings dazzled us. For the main meal I had the pork chop and it was DIVINE. Best pork I have ever had. Finally, I had the flan for dessert and it was on another level. The mango glaze it was served on top of was a fresh new take on the dessert I have had so many times, separating this one from all the others. In addition to great food, the staff was amazing. Our water glasses were always full and everyone was super polite and friendly. Overall perfect way to spend an Easter night and I will be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Completely lived up to its billing! We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on Easter Sunday and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.