About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Notable Wine List (62)
Romantic (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for a Date (42)
Tasting Menu (36)
Scenic View (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Business Meals (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Tapas (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Modern Decor (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Waterfront (8)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1927 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely meal and excellent service. Definitely recommend, though be prepared-it is pricey.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Fernando is amazing and makes the whole experience absolutely exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

I finally made it to Norman's at The Ritz. We decided to go there to celebrate my 50th birthday. I have been lucky enough to have eaten at Norman's in Coral Gables as well as his second restaurant in the Gables that I can't remember the name. Chef Van Aken never disappoints. As soon as we were seated the staff greeted us with a special gift as well as a glass of Prosecco. What a special night made even better by the staff at Norman's. His yuca stuffed shrimp have been around for ever and they should go into the Food Hall of Fame. The pork belly is incredible. The guava pork chops were incredibly juicy and flawlessly cooked. If you are celebrating a special occasion or simply looking for GREAT food do yourself a favor and go to Norman's at The Ritz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Norman's to celebrate wedding anniversaries with another couple. The four of us splurged on the tasting menu with wine pairing, which was described as the chef's most famous dishes. The atmosphere was beautiful, and while we left dinner satisfied and happy, there were a few disappointments along the way. The seven course tasting menu had one standout dish--the snapper. Yum! The second course fois gras billed as "french toast," however, was overly sweet, so much that we couldn't even taste the fois gras from under the dessert-style sauce and moscato dessert wine. This would have been great for dessert, but it bewildered us as a second course. Likewise, the pork tenderloin was served with a plate full of sauce (a pool that covered the entire plate) that masked what may have been a delicious cut of meat. A few times throughout the meal, we asked about the brand of wine or source for olive oil, but no answers were forthcoming. We were told that "this is a sparkling rose" or "we get our olive oils from different sources." It seems that a four-star restaurant should expect this type of question from guests and be prepared with answers or at least find the answers for us. The timing and service were a bit off throughout the evening. Our wine pairings often showed up much earlier than the accompanying course, with a long wait until the food course was served, but at other times, courses arrived very quickly in succession. We had to ask for water refills, a couple of requests for a cocktail, and waited a bit long for the bill while our waiter had a long conversation with the only other couple left in the restaurant. Maybe they were more interesting or better looking than two middle aged couples like us? While our experience was pleasant, it wasn't what we expected from a four star restaurant, especially with a tasting menu that was billed as the best of the chef's repertoire. I'm glad I went, but I'm not sure I'll return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

We tried cocktails. Their Dark & Stormy interpretation, called Regatta of 1888 was well received. The Norman's Negroni was refreshing. Wine with dinner was very good - good selection. They have an electronic pad with all the bar info. Easy and informative. Very helpful.
On our previous visit, we were not advised that we could order a la carte from the tasting menu. I ordered the yellowtail snapper entree and it was excellent. The grouper crusted with the Serrano ham was excellent as well.
Love the ambience. Beautiful surroundings/views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I was celebrating my 2nd wedding anniversary. The occasion started good but then it went down the hill super fast, when the service was taking for ever and the servers did not constantly check on us. The tasting menu is 80% seafood. I ordered the Tbone aged steak, (21 days aged is not enough to have rich flavor) It was tasteless, my wife ordered the filet mignon, we made sure that the server know that my wife is pregnant and her steak has to be cooked WELL DONE, after waiting for 2 hours for our steaks, they brought it out medium RARE, that is when I called it a day and asked for the bill and left. Will never go back there again,.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I am still trying to comprehend my experience at Norman's. Never before have I had my expectations so unendingly exceeded and it began even before I set foot in the restaurant. I received a courtesy call from Laura to advise that a large party of 70 had just booked and she wanted to make sure I was aware. She offered a number of opportunities for me should the volume be a concern which included having two separate tables prepared so that my wife and I could choose upon arrival.

Sarah was our server and she was absolutely delightful. While she made every initial effort to keep the interactions very professional, which started by attempting to pin down the proper pronunciation of my last name, I was very quick to keep things in a more personal first name basis which she adapted to very quickly. She was also very sensitive and responsive to my wife's medical dietary condition. We both wished to have Norman's signature menu but there were a few items that were not an option for my wife. Sarah coordinated with the chef and made a few adjustments so we could enjoy the 6-course experience together. Sarah was also quite accommodating to the fact that I do not drink. I'm not sure if every meal there begins with a toast but ours did, and while my wife enjoyed a glass of champagne, Sarah very thoughtfully provided me with a similarly glassed ginger ale. She even sourced outside of the restaurant so that I could have root beer which was what I asked for but they did not have. I suppose having a large hotel surrounding the restaurant helps to make that happen, but nevertheless it was a much appreciated action.

And the food. Oh the food. Everything was prepared perfectly and full of life. My second course of Chef Norman's Legacy dish conch chowder brought literal tears to my eyes as it stirred many happy memories of my childhood with every bite. It was one of the more unique moments I have ever had during a meal.

Simply put, dinner at Norman's was a perfect experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Thank you Ritz Carlton and Norman's team we had a amazing meal with my family we will be back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 18, 2017

They made our second anniversary very special and definitely, most memorable. We will definitely be back for more experiences with Norman's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Cuisine gets better each time I dine at Norman's. Staff is always very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We celebrated a special occasion. Excellent meal and impeccable service. Norman's always does it right. Definitely recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The attention to detail is superb. I have several food allergies and my server made sure everything was as it should be. Food and ambiance was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Norman's is the best special occasion restaurant in Orlando. We have been dining there 2 to 3 times a year for 13 years and never have been disappointed. From the superb service to the delicious bread with an array of olive oil spices as well as the fried green tomato,yuca shrimp and serrano encrusted grouper and an imaginative wine list in elegant surrounding make the evening memorable. Also they have the best cheese selection if a tasty desert is not desired.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great dinner and amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Exceptional service! The presentation and quality of the food shine at the top of the Orlando food scene.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The wait staff was excellent. The young man that was our waiter was personable and attentive to our rrquest. Also I ordered the filet. I was the best I have ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We are regulars for so many years for Normans, thank you to Yusuf for being a great manager, The wines he recommend for our dinner always spot on

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great meal all around, tasting menu was great as well as wine pairing..

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

10th anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Norman's is one of those restaurants that promises more than it delivers. We had the chef's tasting with the wine parings, and although the wines were for the most part properly paired, the food was average at best, and some of the dishes were overpowered by spices. Learned that the chef had just opened another restaurant in the area and was spending "all his time" there, so perhaps without him the kitchen was having problems. You would expect more from any restaurant attached to the Ritz-Carlton...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Amazing. Great to take the special person in your life. The key is to pick the right wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A top notch restaurant in Orlando or any city. Service and food make it worth the cost.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This is a great place for excellent food and great services. Servers were very attentive, visited us often and fully explained each dish. Food was simply fantastic, from appetizers to desert. As long as you can afford it a great place to enjoy good food, classy environment and great service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was perfect. Best dining experience start to end I've had in quite a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I celebrated my husband's birthday and father's day at Norman's on Sunday and as soon as I walk in, the place showed class and sophistication. The ambience and atmosphere was very warm and welcoming. We had the pleasure of getting Fernando as our waiter for the evening and I have to tell you Fernando is the best waiter and listener to what our needs were. I recommend Fernando whenever you visit Normans. The food was mouthwatering and delightful. So whenever you're in Orlando make a reservation at Normans you would regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything from beginning to bend was detailed and above excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful food and lots exceptional service. The best chicken dish I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This place was amazing. My husband and i git the tasting menu with the wine paring. It took 3 hours and was worth every penny. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Really enjoyed tasting menu with wine pairing. All courses were superb with the ceviche presentation leading the way. That was both tasty and fun to watch. Appreciated attention to food allergies. Staff was responsive to requests and provided for a true fine dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Always great. Do the tasting menu as it gives you the best of the chef

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I should have been told that one could not drive to the front of Normans due to construction. My wife and I had to drive to the front of the hotel and then be directed to the path to Normans, after leaving our car to be parked by a valet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was phenomenal. We received great level of attention and service. The restaurant has a great ambience and the food was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This was a great dining experience from the time we entered the restaurant. The food and drinks were top notch. The decor and ambiance was very classy. The service was impeccable. I could not rate any part of this experience less than 5 stars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Still one of my top five restaurants in the country. Food and Service is outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We went to Normans for our anniversary and absolutely loved it. The staff really was remarkable, handshakes on the way out by multiple people is just a little touch that set their service apart. The food was amazing. I had the gag grouper and loved it. My wife had the chefs tasting menu and everything sampled was right on point. I honestly expected to pay more for what we got so the value seemed great. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great dinner, thank you again Norman's Fernando was amazing he always take care us
He is real professional

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

It was amazing, we will be back again. I will definitely tell my family and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Casual, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Absolutely *fantastic* service and food, as usual. Job well done!!! We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Amazing service and great food. We loved every minute of it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 27, 2017

we had a business dinner, they did a amazing job my clients were still talking about it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.