About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (51)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Tasting Menu (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Scenic View (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Tapas (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Waterfront (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

My expectations for the quality of food were not met even though the presentations were very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Really nice limited menu that’s created for the evening fare.
Very attentive staff watching over our table for drinks, appetizers, main course, desserts, and other amenities.
We felt very comfortable and un-rushed.
Very enjoyable evening meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food & service!! Sarah was very knowledgeable of the menu and pairing of the wines with our food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Hands down the best fine dining experience in Orlando! Without the inflated prices. You have to go to experience it for yourself. Yes it is on the higher price point per entree but not any more expensive than your Sandlake Rd. restaurants. The food is spectacular and the service is second to none as well. Trust me go! You won’t be disappointed......

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff was very attentive. We had put in an alert that we were gluten-free for health reasons. The freshly baked gluten-free rolls had us at first bite! Our first plate of masa-crusted tuna was deliciously tender with a unique blend of flavors. The yellow-tail snapper was fresh and tasty served with mashed potatoes with truffle oil waa excellent. The guajilio spiced filet mignon is best served rare and it was excellent. Sarah, our server, was informative and attentive. It was a Golden Spoon experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 9, 2017

David, our waiter was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Made our 10 year anniversary very very special! Excellent service and food was amazing! Norman's menu is special! We will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2017

My husband and I ordered the tasting menu with wine pairings. Each course was unique and delicious. We each picked different choices for the first two courses, so we're able to try even more dishes. Ceviche was prepared tableside. Our waiter, Wilson, was very attentive and knowledgeable. Enjoyable meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Amazing service and delicious seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

Excellent service, great atmosphere, awesome selection of cheeses - unfortunately that is where it ended.

The rest - first plate , second plate was great presentation, but the food was subpar.
The grouper especially was over cooked - extremely dry and bland.

Had very high expectations and would of had better at a Red Lobster - that's pretty sad.

Would not recommend other then to do wineand cheese.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Loved it and the attention to detail for our 3rd Anniversary was incredible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2017

What an extravagant and elegant evening. We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary at Norman’s and we are so glad! A Champaign toast awaited us on arrival. We both enjoyed a delicious first plate, mine was the beet salad my husband chose the conch chowder, then we both opted for the red snapper main course, followed by a warm pecan pie dessert. Decadent. The wine list was also quite impressive. Oh what a night!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We come back to Norman's when we have a chance to come back to Orlando. We enjoy the service that we receive. It is definitely a pleasure to dine at this location. Not only is the service great, the food is delicious. My wife and I love the conch chowder and the foie gras. We also enjoy the available cocktails and great wine list.

We hope to continue to come to Norman's for years to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 28, 2017

We did the tasting menu. Very good food and wine. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Ordered a beet salad to go. I get home and have 3 beets and a little lettuce. Sad for a salad I paid around $15.00 for!!! Might be my last time to Norman’s.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 27, 2017

In my opinion, one of the best restaurants in Orlando. Overall excellent. Tasting menu was superb. Service was top notch. Waiter and his team were very knowledgeable and offered great advice on menu selections.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal. We did the Chef's tasting. Everything was fantastic. The Yuca stuffed crispy shrimp was incredible-trust me the name doesn't do the taste justice. The Foie Gras on french toast was perfectly cooked, and the garlicky mashed potatoes paired perfect with the snapper. We felt the pork tenderloin was a little overcooked and tough, however, the waiter quickly took the plate away and brought back a perfectly cooked filet that was so tender and juicy my date said it was the best she ever had. The atmosphere was elegant, the wait staff was phenomenal-catered to our every need and desire. Make sure you tell your waiter if you are a red or white wine person for the pairing, as they will make adjustments to accommodate you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 23, 2017

This was my second visit to Norman's but my first holiday dining experience with the restaurant. It was not a traditional Thanksgiving menu, but I was not looking for one. The menu had options for many tastes and my guest and I were able to choose different options and share a bit from each plate. I thought all of the items were excellent except the second dish (crab) was a little heavy on the smoke flavor. Otherwise everything was great. The ambiance was perfect and the servers were attentive, could offer recommendations and were not overbearing, allowing us to enjoy our meal with limited interruptions. I would highly recommend Normans!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Went to Norman’s for Thanksgiving dinner. Arrived early but yet there was a screaming child nobody took care of. Everything was great except for the incessant child crying and screaming. Management did nothing about it. I mentioned it to the waiter but they didn’t seem to care. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2017

The chefs tasting menu and wine pairing was extraordinary! Great experience!!! Food quality and preparation were great!!! Loved the creativity of the chef in its fusion cuisine. Highly recommended and will definitively visit again and again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Here on business and decided to try Norman’s. We both ordered filets. Wow! The filet was excellent! One of the best filets I’ve ever had. We enjoyed our meal experience so much that we went back a couple nights later! From the drinks and bread when you are seated through desert we’re all amazing!
I️ would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a nice meal and great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2017

On November 19 my wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with dinner at Norman’s. The experience actually began about two weeks earlier, when I called and spoke with hostess Jessica to make some special arrangements to surprise my wife with. I told her it was our 40th anniversary and planned on bringing a bottle of 40 year port and some custom made wine glasses. She was very friendly and helpful, and not only made the necessary arrangements for that, she assured me that they would also make us a commemorative copy of the menu and a special dessert. Little did I know that this would be only the first steps in what would be one if the best dining experiences we’ve ever had. The decor of the restaurant exudes class without being pretentious. From the time we were seated until we left, Fernando made sure everything was perfect. We both ordered the tasting menu with the wine pairing. All of the food was expertly prepared and presented (and delicious). The service provided by the entire staff , especially Fernando and assistant GM/sommelier Juan, was exemplary. They went way out of their way in making certain our anniversary was truly a special event. We live two hours away, but will definitely return to Norman’s.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Food was great. No complaints about that.
Our server was friendly but a little too relaxed. It felt as if he needed some training on etiquette (for example, asking if he could pick up the check from the table before we had left... he really should have waited until we left. he did this to another table as well.)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Wonderful food and service, perfect for special occassional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The service and food were nothing short of perfection. Everything on the menu is flavourful and well presented. Each plate is a work of art and bursting with flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Fried green tomatos are a must. Wine pairings with the vegetarian tasting menu were perfect. Norman's is classy, but not pretentious. I did a vegetarian version of the tasting menu. Being from the dairy state of Wisconsin, I was utterly impressed with the cheeses. Every minute, from the moment I was seated by the hostess to the moment I left raving to the assistant General Manager and hugging everyone (full disclosure--I had a delightful wine buzz), was enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Beautiful preparation with each dish flavorful and expertly prepared. Best dining experience in Orlando

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I came to celebrate a friend’s birthday and was very impressed with the food but more impressed by the amazing service we received. I’ve dined at most of the higher end restaurants in central Florida but never encountered such a well trained and hospitable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Excellent on all levels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 9, 2017

This is a decent "fancy" restaurant. Overall it's just not as good as many more reasonably priced options. Their Wagyu beef wasn't the best considering the price tag on it. There are quite a few advanced kitchen techniques used, a lot of Pureés and Foams which are fun.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Norman's is definitely worthwhile the experience. Well trained and pleasant staff. The tasting menu needs strong fine-tuning. Portions are far to large on what they call the main courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of the best restaurants I've been to for a while. The chef's 7-course menu and wine package was of exceptional value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Lovely restaurant. A great spot for any kind of event. Cozy yet upscale. The food was delicious, the service impeccable. We loved it!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Out of town with my wife celebrating our 35th anniversary. Food was delicious and service was very efficient. Fernando was right on top of every detail and helped make it a special event. I really appreciated his relaxed and at times humorous delivery of service.Will be back next time in Orlando. I would recommend the Snapper or Grouper, both were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Always enjoy our times at Norman’s. This time was no exception. Everything was great from the Wagu to the black grouper. Can’t miss going to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Had the Chef's flight with wine pairing. My wife really enjoyed the first 4 of 6 courses. The shrimp appetizers were excellent as was the following soup course. The yellow snapper and pork chop was excellent. The pork chop was the most tender piece of pork I ever had. By the time we got to the fifth course of cheese plate we were pretty well stuffed. The cheese was good, but felt the port wine pairing was a bit too sweet for our tastes. The final desert course of fried bananas and ice cream was good but not great. Overall it was a very good experience and would recommend for a very good dining experience. The wait staff was excellent throughout dinner especially our main waiter, Scott.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Amazing, hands down you wont be disappointed. Service is incredible and food is delicious!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Very big on presentation. Service was a little much.
Th octopus appetizer and the conch chowder both very good.
The Filet was excellent, however the Snapper was just ok, quite bland.
Selection of Wines by the glass was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Excellent service, outstanding food, fine wine selections, relaxing and pleasurable environment. Everyone was attentive and knowledgeable with a genuine desire to make our evening exceptional. The Clam Chowder is a special treat not to be missed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

It was an amazing experience. Everyone was so nice and felt like at home. I would recommend to anyone to go at least once to experience what i did. I loved it

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.