About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Notable Wine List (69)
Romantic (58)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Tasting Menu (41)
Scenic View (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Business Meals (23)
Local Ingredients (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (14)
Tapas (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Waterfront (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Bath)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had. The staff have been nothing but lovely and attentive and the food has been fantastic. You've really made our anniversary so special, and as someone who travels to Orlando yearly, I can honestly say that we will be back. If you really want a dining experience that is truly worth every penny than this is the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was amazing and so was the food. The server was attentive and made drinks suggestions based on our food choices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

we are always treated like Kings at Normans, great dinner always...!!! Amazing Staff

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

creative and wonderful food in a relaxed atmosphere. I'll be back!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Kudos to everyone, amazing and best meal we ever had. we 're local and definitely we will be back....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Outstanding. I sent a thanks to the manager.
The evening was fabulous, the food great.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Thank you for a wonderful meal as expected by Ritz-Carlton, we had a great anniversary dinner our waiter Miloos was very professional, He explained the whole menu very nice and we tried the tasting menu, wine pairing was wonderfully paired with our meal. we will be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was awesome the service was great . My server MILOS was wonderful !!!! will go back again in the coming months.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Staff was extremely attentive. Romantic atmosphere. A true culinary experience from beginning to end. Hope to return soon!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing dinner. The incredible staff combined with their creative dishes made a completely perfect night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing food, service, and ambiance. I would definitely recommend Norman's as a special dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing and it was incredible. The wine was thoughtfully chosen to compliment each course and the food was outstanding from start to finish. We return to the Ritz Carlton every August for a getaway and will continue to make an evening at Norman's part of that tradition.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Without question in our experience Norman's is one of, if not the best place for special occasions. Service is beyond great and food quality and selection are outstanding

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Outstanding service and food! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that enjoys fine dining and wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great dinner thanks to Cody he is very professional. He made us very comfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Great food, excellent service. I've traveled the world, and this is in my top 5!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Went there for a date. Great food and excellent service. Healthy choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Outstanding Food and the service was at a level that all restaurants need to strive for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2017

great service and meal all around kudos to the team, we will be back soon for our anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Norman's was AWESOME. Delicious food in all different varieties, great wine and drinks and we sat outside in the terrace and it was beautiful. Corey was our waiter and he was incredible. He took time to get to know us, help us pick food and he was sommelier and helped pair wines and drinks that enhanced the meal and experience. He was somwell read and made the night even better. The food was delicious - best meal I've had in a LONG time. Can't recommend it enough and if you go, ask for Corey!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Extremely attentive service. Wonderful pace to the service. Appetizers were great. Salad was good, but could've used a bit more champagne vinaigrette. Entrées were excellent as were the desserts

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I got engaged at the restaurant, and everyone was more than willing to help me.
We had an amazing time, and the staff was absolutely amazing.
The food is worth every dollar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I was very happy with my meal and service. My server was very helpful with choosing a wine as well as his description of my entree. I was very impressed

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We were tired from a long drive to Orlando. Beginning with the martinis, everything improved. The service was exceptional, and the food was delicious. The prices were reasonable, and my wife and I benefited from the attentive, friendly - without hovering - service.

It is our hope to dine at Normans on our next visit. We usually stay at the Ritz, and we always visit Normans when we are there. We have not yet been disappointed in food quality or in service. We hope to see you soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Lovely meal and excellent service. Definitely recommend, though be prepared-it is pricey.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fernando is amazing and makes the whole experience absolutely exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I finally made it to Norman's at The Ritz. We decided to go there to celebrate my 50th birthday. I have been lucky enough to have eaten at Norman's in Coral Gables as well as his second restaurant in the Gables that I can't remember the name. Chef Van Aken never disappoints. As soon as we were seated the staff greeted us with a special gift as well as a glass of Prosecco. What a special night made even better by the staff at Norman's. His yuca stuffed shrimp have been around for ever and they should go into the Food Hall of Fame. The pork belly is incredible. The guava pork chops were incredibly juicy and flawlessly cooked. If you are celebrating a special occasion or simply looking for GREAT food do yourself a favor and go to Norman's at The Ritz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went to Norman's to celebrate wedding anniversaries with another couple. The four of us splurged on the tasting menu with wine pairing, which was described as the chef's most famous dishes. The atmosphere was beautiful, and while we left dinner satisfied and happy, there were a few disappointments along the way. The seven course tasting menu had one standout dish--the snapper. Yum! The second course fois gras billed as "french toast," however, was overly sweet, so much that we couldn't even taste the fois gras from under the dessert-style sauce and moscato dessert wine. This would have been great for dessert, but it bewildered us as a second course. Likewise, the pork tenderloin was served with a plate full of sauce (a pool that covered the entire plate) that masked what may have been a delicious cut of meat. A few times throughout the meal, we asked about the brand of wine or source for olive oil, but no answers were forthcoming. We were told that "this is a sparkling rose" or "we get our olive oils from different sources." It seems that a four-star restaurant should expect this type of question from guests and be prepared with answers or at least find the answers for us. The timing and service were a bit off throughout the evening. Our wine pairings often showed up much earlier than the accompanying course, with a long wait until the food course was served, but at other times, courses arrived very quickly in succession. We had to ask for water refills, a couple of requests for a cocktail, and waited a bit long for the bill while our waiter had a long conversation with the only other couple left in the restaurant. Maybe they were more interesting or better looking than two middle aged couples like us? While our experience was pleasant, it wasn't what we expected from a four star restaurant, especially with a tasting menu that was billed as the best of the chef's repertoire. I'm glad I went, but I'm not sure I'll return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We tried cocktails. Their Dark & Stormy interpretation, called Regatta of 1888 was well received. The Norman's Negroni was refreshing. Wine with dinner was very good - good selection. They have an electronic pad with all the bar info. Easy and informative. Very helpful.
On our previous visit, we were not advised that we could order a la carte from the tasting menu. I ordered the yellowtail snapper entree and it was excellent. The grouper crusted with the Serrano ham was excellent as well.
Love the ambience. Beautiful surroundings/views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I was celebrating my 2nd wedding anniversary. The occasion started good but then it went down the hill super fast, when the service was taking for ever and the servers did not constantly check on us. The tasting menu is 80% seafood. I ordered the Tbone aged steak, (21 days aged is not enough to have rich flavor) It was tasteless, my wife ordered the filet mignon, we made sure that the server know that my wife is pregnant and her steak has to be cooked WELL DONE, after waiting for 2 hours for our steaks, they brought it out medium RARE, that is when I called it a day and asked for the bill and left. Will never go back there again,.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I am still trying to comprehend my experience at Norman's. Never before have I had my expectations so unendingly exceeded and it began even before I set foot in the restaurant. I received a courtesy call from Laura to advise that a large party of 70 had just booked and she wanted to make sure I was aware. She offered a number of opportunities for me should the volume be a concern which included having two separate tables prepared so that my wife and I could choose upon arrival.

Sarah was our server and she was absolutely delightful. While she made every initial effort to keep the interactions very professional, which started by attempting to pin down the proper pronunciation of my last name, I was very quick to keep things in a more personal first name basis which she adapted to very quickly. She was also very sensitive and responsive to my wife's medical dietary condition. We both wished to have Norman's signature menu but there were a few items that were not an option for my wife. Sarah coordinated with the chef and made a few adjustments so we could enjoy the 6-course experience together. Sarah was also quite accommodating to the fact that I do not drink. I'm not sure if every meal there begins with a toast but ours did, and while my wife enjoyed a glass of champagne, Sarah very thoughtfully provided me with a similarly glassed ginger ale. She even sourced outside of the restaurant so that I could have root beer which was what I asked for but they did not have. I suppose having a large hotel surrounding the restaurant helps to make that happen, but nevertheless it was a much appreciated action.

And the food. Oh the food. Everything was prepared perfectly and full of life. My second course of Chef Norman's Legacy dish conch chowder brought literal tears to my eyes as it stirred many happy memories of my childhood with every bite. It was one of the more unique moments I have ever had during a meal.

Simply put, dinner at Norman's was a perfect experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Thank you Ritz Carlton and Norman's team we had a amazing meal with my family we will be back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 18, 2017

They made our second anniversary very special and definitely, most memorable. We will definitely be back for more experiences with Norman's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Cuisine gets better each time I dine at Norman's. Staff is always very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Thanks to Fernando, He did a amazing job we are very happy with the service he provided to us. we will come back wine list amazing so many choices on glass section

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We celebrated a special occasion. Excellent meal and impeccable service. Norman's always does it right. Definitely recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The attention to detail is superb. I have several food allergies and my server made sure everything was as it should be. Food and ambiance was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Norman's is the best special occasion restaurant in Orlando. We have been dining there 2 to 3 times a year for 13 years and never have been disappointed. From the superb service to the delicious bread with an array of olive oil spices as well as the fried green tomato,yuca shrimp and serrano encrusted grouper and an imaginative wine list in elegant surrounding make the evening memorable. Also they have the best cheese selection if a tasty desert is not desired.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great dinner and amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.