About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (76)
Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (58)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Scenic View (45)
Good for a Date (42)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Seasonal (11)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Tapas (9)
Private Room (8)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Spicy (3)
Waterfront (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was great. The pacing was off, but th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

It was great. The pacing was off, but they comped the late item. Great food and service. It's pricey for a reason because it's good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food, and a real theatre. I wo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, and a real theatre. I would reccommend to anyone

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were attentive and polite. Ser ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff were attentive and polite. Service was timely, friendly and cooperative.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's celebration. We were on vac ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Valentine's celebration. We were on vacation in Orlando and we wanted something nice for that night.

Open Table did not advise us about a prix fixe menu of $150. We arrived with our 12 year old and the manager only would allow either the kids menu or the Valentine's menu. We had had the same situation at the Peninsula LA and they were much more accommodating. The food was no good. Food was mediocre. Service was ok but nothing outstanding for $540 bill including just one glass of wine, the other drinks were tap water. Never again!! Not what I expected from Ritz Carlton and I have visited plenty all over the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great Dinner. Would Highly recommend for ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Dinner. Would

Highly recommend for date night and others

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at many fine dining establ ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have eaten at many fine dining establishments in the Orlando proper. Our favorite thing is trying new places. That being said, we are often won over and will return, if wowed (places like Luma and Victoria and Albert's). This evening (Valentine's) we decided to give Norman's a try. We made reservations a few months prior and we were never notified of a prefix menu. The menu was roughly twice the cost of their regular menu (which we both agreed wouldn't have mattered if the food was stellar). You had the choice of a Strawberry Salad or Ceviche to start. Tomato Soup or Pork Cheeks as an appetizer. The choice of Lamb, Chicken, Strip Loin, or Swordfish for your main course. For dessert a Chocolate Cake or a Creme Brûlée. That was it. As boring as that sounds... it was as boring to taste. Our assistant server took our drink order and never brought our drink. Our server looked offended when I asked him for a beverage. The assistant server did apologize. The server felt rushed and seemed disinterested in anything we had to say. He would ask a question as if it were on his checklist and then walk away before we were even finished speaking. The twenty percent gratuity was included. We ended up paying $400 for a meal that was mediocre. Nothing was poor. Presentation was pretty. Food cooked well. Boring. Unoriginal. Uninspiring. Almost laughable. The music was lovely. The Female Maitre D was polite. Bathrooms were impeccable. The meal was paced well and then we waited and waited and waited for the check. The Valet cared about us more than our servers (one of which poked fun at how much bread we consumed). All in all - skip this place. Go to Luma and thank me after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We always go to Norman's on Valentines d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always go to Norman's on Valentines day and we were disappointed this year. We brought our own wine and had a $700 meal. The best part was the caviar we ordered extra. The Valentines dinner was not a $150 meal. The ceviche was fishy and the desserts were not very good. The lamb was ok (a little fatty) and the swordfish wasn't anything special.

We went for dinner several months before and it was also an average meal.

Wait staff was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My boyfriend and I went for our Valentin ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for our Valentine's/ Anniversary dinner! The food was beyond delicious, and the atmosphere was perfect for such an occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had been before for a birthday. So trie ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had been before for a birthday. So tried for Valentines day. Food was OK good but four courses at 150 seem steep for what was delivered. Wine outrageously priced three times going rate. I also really dislike the imposed 20% tip seems like it should be my decision based on service rather than an enforced policy. I must say I'm typically a very generous tipper and usually tip at 20% but huge turn off to me when someone else decides on my behalf. The billing was suspicious $50 for something I never signed a receipt for still haven't figured that one out. Overall the ambiance was not special or romantic. Just don't like sitting close enough to another patron hearing clearly everything said without listening not my thing. The place is beautiful most of the folks working are fantastic but just not my special place. Won't try it another time will explore other options.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was excellent albeit very pricy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent albeit very pricy. In fairness we had the Valentines fixed menu, since this was the only option available. $150 pp without drinks. Ordinarily we would have ordered less food since we are not big portion diners. Drinks and wine were also excellent. A good treat for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant can't wait to go ba ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful restaurant can't wait to go back. Norman does a fantastic job pairing foods together.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to this restaurant was f ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our first visit to this restaurant was for my birthday celebration. The service was impeccable, the food cooked exactly to specific requests and the overall experience was royal!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Key West Shrimp Ceviche was incredib ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Key West Shrimp Ceviche was incredible (as was the rest of our meal, but the Ceviche was our favorite)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. They cate abo ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was excellent. They cate about your needs. I am allergic to black pepper and garlic and they take the situation seriously and offered me options from the menu. The Food was really well made. I recommend this restaurant a100%. :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Venue, Amazing Food, Exceptional s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Venue, Amazing Food, Exceptional service. This is a great place for a romantic dinner. Very Impressive

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a few people in our party and eve ...

 
 (Belgium)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a few people in our party and everyone raved about their meal. Service was the best

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious! Best restaurant i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Best restaurant in Orlando!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff, amazing dinner, we will ret ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great staff, amazing dinner, we will return definitely. thanks for the complimentary champagne

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Norman's for ou ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I went to Norman's for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We had reservations, so when we got there we were seated right away. However, it took our waiter at least 15mins to even come and greet us. After he greeted us, he asked if we wanted water, he brought the water over and then he disappeared. Another waiter who noticed us waiting decided to take our order. Another thing was the noise level, it was so loud in the restaurant that we could barely hear what the waiter was saying. This restaurant got so many good reviews, we really thought we would've had a better time. Not sure if we'll be returning customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We're regular of Norman's, we always get ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We're regular of Norman's, we always get special treatment from Management & Chef

that's why we kept coming. don't miss the Ceviche cart

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Organic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They deserved all the rating, food and s ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

They deserved all the rating, food and service were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous night out with friends. First ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fabulous night out with friends. First visit to Norman's but definitely not the last!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, attentive but not overwhe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great service, attentive but not overwhelming. Table side presentation of our soup was wonderful with some ingredients coming from the hotel herb and veggie garden.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

that's what you expected from Ritz-Carlt ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on February 1, 2017

that's what you expected from Ritz-Carlton, amazing meal, server called our name and greeted, glass complimentary champagne, Amus Bouche, perfect celebrations on our wedding anniversary

we will come back that's for sure

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Lamer was the best. The food ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our waiter Lamer was the best. The food was great. My girlfriend and I went there, and while there I asked her to be my wife. It was very romantic, and our waiter saw what I was doing, and brought us champagne and chocolates. Very good overall experience. I highly recommend Norman's.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and fantastic food! Th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful service and fantastic food! They went over and above for our anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff and great service. Truly 5 s ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great staff and great service. Truly 5 star experience. Great food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous service and food. A great dinin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous service and food. A great dining experience provided by a very well trained staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter, Cody (?) was horrible. Arrog ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The waiter, Cody (?) was horrible. Arrogant, cocky, and simply doesn't belong in the (Ritz) high end restaurant.

The food was good.Sea bass was wonderful. VERY noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Felt rushed by the servers - it was a bu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Felt rushed by the servers - it was a busy night & we felt it. They cleared the plates as soon as we took our last bite. Too pricey for what you get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The best service I have ever experienced ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The best service I have ever experienced! (Scott is a gem!) I read reviews before we arrived and was blown away by others' reviews on the experiences of others and almost couldn't believe them. Definitely worth every letter people have dedicated to this aspect of this restaurant's character.

The food is great and well priced: a little playful but recognizable. My husband and I went for the cheese course which was worth the addition. We ended up too full for dessert but we certainly plan on going back again to try the Havana Banana. Standouts: the pork belly tapa, Pork Havana, Guajillo Steak (my husband says it is better than the Pork Havana), and the cheese course!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my clients for a dinner, they wer ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I took my clients for a dinner, they were blown away with all the attention to the details.

this is the place if you want to entertain your clients. The wine list is huge. thanks for the sommellier he recommend some nice wine for our dinner. KUDOS

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic, attentive service. Creative a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Fantastic, attentive service. Creative and unusual food offerings. Romantic, classic décor. Overall, a fantastic evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for our anniversary. Good foo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went there for our anniversary. Good food. Great service. Our waiter, Ian, was awesome. I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

we had a great meal with my wife, and c ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

we had a great meal with my wife, and celebrated her birthday. it was amazing

Thanks Norman

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal as always, we will come back. ...

 
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great meal as always, we will come back. thanks for your amazing service

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Norman's at the Ritz in Orlando is one o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Norman's at the Ritz in Orlando is one of the best dining experiences - Yussef, GM - and his entire staff (specifically Fernando and Cody)are professional and totally customer service focused. Executive Chef Mendoza never disappoints with a menu and presentation that is impeccable - incredible Ciabata bread served with house infused olive oil is so good it's hard to resist the second serving. Shrimp Ceviche - served tableside was delicious; yellowtail Snapper and Pork Havana both delightful and delicious. For dessert the Flan of cajeta and the dark chocolate mousse were a wonderful end to a most memorable dining experience. We dine at Norman's 1-2 times per month. And for after dinner drinks, the Norma's bar with Tim and Lauren should not be missed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef works wonders with seafood. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The chef works wonders with seafood. The dessert chef is very creative also.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ceviche prepared by table side, Bread wi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Ceviche prepared by table side, Bread with 5 different olive oil and butter, Cheese Cart and professional service, polite, not overbearing the table. that's why Normans is a special restaurant for a birthday and other occasion. We will be coming back soon

Thank you again

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate here twice during a 5 day stay an ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We ate here twice during a 5 day stay and were wowed by the food both times. The "bread cart" that came to our table with three gourmet olive oil choices to try was a nice touch. The food celebrates fusion of different ingredients together and really comes up with amazing combinations. All three of us had fabulous dishes. The dessert was a work of art and so delicious too. I'd give this restaurant high marks for ambiance, food and service. All top notch.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.