About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Notable Wine List (67)
Romantic (64)
See All
Creative Cuisine (53)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for a Date (47)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Scenic View (35)
Tasting Menu (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Business Meals (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Modern Decor (15)
Tapas (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
People Watching (10)
Waterfront (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1899 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I celebrated my husband's birthday and father's day at Norman's on Sunday and as soon as I walk in, the place showed class and sophistication. The ambience and atmosphere was very warm and welcoming. We had the pleasure of getting Fernando as our waiter for the evening and I have to tell you Fernando is the best waiter and listener to what our needs were. I recommend Fernando whenever you visit Normans. The food was mouthwatering and delightful. So whenever you're in Orlando make a reservation at Normans you would regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything from beginning to bend was detailed and above excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food and lots exceptional service. The best chicken dish I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

This place was amazing. My husband and i git the tasting menu with the wine paring. It took 3 hours and was worth every penny. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Really enjoyed tasting menu with wine pairing. All courses were superb with the ceviche presentation leading the way. That was both tasty and fun to watch. Appreciated attention to food allergies. Staff was responsive to requests and provided for a true fine dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Always great. Do the tasting menu as it gives you the best of the chef

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I should have been told that one could not drive to the front of Normans due to construction. My wife and I had to drive to the front of the hotel and then be directed to the path to Normans, after leaving our car to be parked by a valet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was phenomenal. We received great level of attention and service. The restaurant has a great ambience and the food was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This was a great dining experience from the time we entered the restaurant. The food and drinks were top notch. The decor and ambiance was very classy. The service was impeccable. I could not rate any part of this experience less than 5 stars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Still one of my top five restaurants in the country. Food and Service is outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We went to Normans for our anniversary and absolutely loved it. The staff really was remarkable, handshakes on the way out by multiple people is just a little touch that set their service apart. The food was amazing. I had the gag grouper and loved it. My wife had the chefs tasting menu and everything sampled was right on point. I honestly expected to pay more for what we got so the value seemed great. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great dinner, thank you again Norman's Fernando was amazing he always take care us
He is real professional

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was amazing, we will be back again. I will definitely tell my family and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Casual, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Absolutely *fantastic* service and food, as usual. Job well done!!! We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 28, 2017

we had a business dinner, they did a amazing job my clients were still talking about it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Can't go wrong with this place, The Ritz Carlton knows how to care of their guest satisfaction
Amazing Tasting menu and wine pairings, and the Value was spot on. we will be back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is the place I select for a special occasion - this time was my birthday. The food is spectacular. My favorites include the yuca shrimp and foie gras French toast. Juan, the head sommelier, also knows how to pair wines with the food in a way that enhances what is already a beautiful meal. Then, you top it off with impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent service Fenando was the service professional that looked after us and he was excellent. Food (as always) also excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a spectacular evening ! The bread and olive oil ,amazing ! We chose the tasting with the wine paring menu . Worth every penny ! Can't wait to return !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great Dinner, "Tasting menu and wine pairing", if you like to sit down and enjoy 3 hours dinner

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was very good, service was excellent but noise level was horrendous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Norman's is our new Favorite Restaurant. Of all of our vast fine dining experiences, Norman's at The Ritz Carlton Orlando, was the finest. From the moment our lovely hostess greeted us, to the last delicious morsel on our lips, we were truly bathed in pleasure. Upon being seated, we were presented with a commemorative Happy 30th Anniversary menu and glasses of champagne. The waitstaff is well trained to chat for the the perfect number of minutes. The presentation of food delighted our visual sense. Each taste lit our taste buds and palates in ways that had us expressing our gratitude to the chef. We enjoyed the Yuca Stuffed Crispy Shrimp. The Brazilian Styled Creamy Cracked Conch Chowder was a brilliant surprise, from presentation to last bite. I highly recommend this soup. Presented as a dry crab cake. Waiter bathed the conch in broth and toped it off with coconut cream. Wow! Yuzu Mojo Roasted Breast of Organic Chicken and Guava-Pasilla Grilled Pork Chop were delicious. Chocolate cake and espresso topped off a beautiful celebration for Gene and myself.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellence in all aspects. Exquisite cut of beef.....
Fantastic steak tartare.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service, as Ritz hotels are known for. Pretty disappointed in the food quality - #1, they are not currently serving the sea bass and have substituted tile fish, which is very disappointing. In addition, everything I had as well as the taste of my husband's filet was just average, not very tasteful or outstanding as you would expect from fine dining at a Ritz Carlton and with what we paid.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Norman's is special restaurant, very polite staff and great food and service

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing food and service ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My favorite Orlando restaurant. Great wine list. Order the steak tartare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Been there a dozen times, seems to me there is a slow decline.
Not many choices on the menu, dishes not very interesting, the rest is outstanding, but we go to dinner primarily to eat food. Prices are high, food should be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I absolutely enjoyed my first visit at Norman's and it will not be my last!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kent)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a pleasant evening at Normans the setting, service and food was fine but I'm sorry to say not memorable. A nice touch was the complementary valet parking.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Poor Service and NOT GOOD food, the menu on the website is different from the one they give you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was perfect , we did the tasting menu with wine pairing , they served 4 different olive oil with cart service. Don't miss this place!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very accommodating and treated us just so perfectly. Food was exquisite Will return whenever in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Thanks to Sarah, she did a amazing job. very professional and understood our needs
need to come back and try the tasting menu. Thank you Ritz Carlton making our special occasion unforgetable

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Perfect meal! we had so much food and wine, it was great it took almost 3 hours dining but worth it.. we will be back

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Norman's was an exceptional dining experience. We were greeted by a friendly hostess and received very soon by our lovely attentive server, named Sarah. She was familiar with the menu, both cocktails, wine and food. She anticipated any needs we had and far exceeded any expectations. The food was DELICIOUS!!!! One of the best red snappers ever. The other attendants were excellent as well. The decor was impeccable and the ambiance spectacular.
We can't wait to return to Norman's!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had. Dave our attendant was outstanding, taking care of every request. Chefs preparations were prepared perfectly. Every detail meticulously executed. I highly recommend a night of fine dining at Norman's you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Restaurant was very nice. Staff was very attentive. Food was outstanding. We went with the Chef's tasting $90.00 pp. it was 6-7 courses and food was a culinary delight. Some of the plates I would have never thought to try, such as Duck Confit on top of French toast. It was so Yummy I wanted seconds. My only gripe about the whole evening was a 31 top table was seated about an hour after we started. Well it threw the kitchen off schedule. We ended up being there 3plus hours and had to rush the last two plates due to time constraints. Overall an excellent experience and I would not hesitate to go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

we celebrated an 80th birthday and everyone made her feel very special!! it was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Booked on Open Table. No where did I see there was a dress code. Not being from the area I had no idea. Two of my guests were made to feel uncomfortable because they wore shorts to dinner on a hot day. We made the best of he situation but I was not pleased about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.