About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Notable Wine List (73)
Romantic (61)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Scenic View (44)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (26)
Business Meals (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Tasting Menu (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Cozy (12)
Tapas (11)
Seasonal (11)
Authentic (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Private Room (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Organic (6)
People Watching (6)
Waterfront (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

High end dining. Attention to detail is not lacking. You definitely feel taken care of. Very professional staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

They did a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food. Superb extras (champagne, desserts) to celebrate our anniversary.
Pace of the meal was a bit rushed at times for the quiet, sedate ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating my wife's 70th birthday.
Our host, Fernando Orriols, was magnificent as he hosted my family celebration.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This place is a sensorial experience for all. Food, the combination of ingredients was creative and visually appealing. Decore, masculine but formal and comfortable. The staff, while young are experts at delivering the chefs messages. They are polite and talkative. My meal of cerviche then sea bass encrusted was extraordinary. I wish I lived local but now when in Orlando, Norman's is a must.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A delightful tasting menu, each course was playfully and carefully crafted with an eye toward regional history and flavors. The wine pairings were precise and played harmoniously with the dishes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were very pleased with everything about the dining experience we had at Normans. The waiter was very knowledgeable and helped with food choices. I had the sea bass over risotto and it was superb. My wife had Asian chicken wth noodles and she loved it, very tender .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The room is beautiful and the servers tried hard. The food,though, shows all the subtlety of Mickey and Goofy: everything is over the top. If you want bombast, this your place. If you want finesse, go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Perfect as always. thank you Milas, he did a fantastic job on recemmonding chef's special dishes. very good wine list. we will be back

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of the most outstanding experiences I have ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on March 11, 2017

we enjoyed the tasting menu. " wine pairing " it was best choices.
we will be back soon

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We've dined at Norman's Ritz Carlton many times. Yusuf and his staff have always
provided us with a superb dining experience. The Executive Chef has been adding some
innovative enhancements to the menu. Recently, the new Pastry Chef has taken the dessert
offering to remarkable level exceeding all expectations.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tapas, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and ambience is phenomenal. Our server David was amazing. We always go there for special events.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Consistently great food and service. We've been going for years and we're never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our dining experience here was superb! Our server Ian was knowledgeable of the menu, wine pairings and was an overall pleasure to be around! Our food was delectable, my husband had wild boar and I had sea bass. Both were prepared to perfection. Very quiet and relaxing dinner! We were staying at the JW Marriott and appreciated the fine dining available at this Marriott complex!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My wife and I went to Norman's for a nice dinner during our stay in Orlando. To sum it up succinctly, it was simple an incredible culinary experience. We have never had such a good meal, and every detail was perfect right from the moment we arrived (free valet parking). The staff was exceptionally well trained, courteous, attentive (but never over-bearing), knowledgeable, and helpful. The actual presentation and meal was clearly superior to anything we have had before, and the desserts were wonderful. This is not an inexpensive restaurant, but I would still rate it high for value, since the food/experience was so superior.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 5, 2017

thank you Milos. we enjoyed his recommendations and waited twice on us
thank you again

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fantastic meal, great service. Level of service is what is expected from the venue. Very friendly, personable yet professional wait staff. The menu - although not very long - has great and creative choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I would only get the steaks huhggftyyljhgtxrexyhhoufyttkiugiuyguyg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food. Great service. But very loud. Could barely hear the servers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Business dinner. I entertained my client. they were very happy. we did chef tasting menu with wine pairing. great meal and wines

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great restaurant - surprisingly kid friendly - and just an all-around awesome experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on February 27, 2017

we had a great meal. most interesting part was bread service with different olive oil and 2 different breads, wine list is very friendly on IPads. also wine steward are available on request
Nice complimentary champagne upon on arrival

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Organic, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We always love Norman's. Thank you yosuf and staff for a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We always have such an amazing time at Norman's! We will be back soon! Scott was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Belgium)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Everything was wonderful. we are regulars thank you all you do for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Everything there was very good. There were four of us dining. All of us were pleased with our appetizers and entrees. The service was outstanding. It is alittle pricey but again it was a very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was great. The pacing was off, but they comped the late item. Great food and service. It's pricey for a reason because it's good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food, and a real theatre. I would reccommend to anyone

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The staff were attentive and polite. Service was timely, friendly and cooperative.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's celebration. We were on vacation in Orlando and we wanted something nice for that night.
Open Table did not advise us about a prix fixe menu of $150. We arrived with our 12 year old and the manager only would allow either the kids menu or the Valentine's menu. We had had the same situation at the Peninsula LA and they were much more accommodating. The food was no good. Food was mediocre. Service was ok but nothing outstanding for $540 bill including just one glass of wine, the other drinks were tap water. Never again!! Not what I expected from Ritz Carlton and I have visited plenty all over the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Dinner. Would
Highly recommend for date night and others

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have eaten at many fine dining establishments in the Orlando proper. Our favorite thing is trying new places. That being said, we are often won over and will return, if wowed (places like Luma and Victoria and Albert's). This evening (Valentine's) we decided to give Norman's a try. We made reservations a few months prior and we were never notified of a prefix menu. The menu was roughly twice the cost of their regular menu (which we both agreed wouldn't have mattered if the food was stellar). You had the choice of a Strawberry Salad or Ceviche to start. Tomato Soup or Pork Cheeks as an appetizer. The choice of Lamb, Chicken, Strip Loin, or Swordfish for your main course. For dessert a Chocolate Cake or a Creme Brûlée. That was it. As boring as that sounds... it was as boring to taste. Our assistant server took our drink order and never brought our drink. Our server looked offended when I asked him for a beverage. The assistant server did apologize. The server felt rushed and seemed disinterested in anything we had to say. He would ask a question as if it were on his checklist and then walk away before we were even finished speaking. The twenty percent gratuity was included. We ended up paying $400 for a meal that was mediocre. Nothing was poor. Presentation was pretty. Food cooked well. Boring. Unoriginal. Uninspiring. Almost laughable. The music was lovely. The Female Maitre D was polite. Bathrooms were impeccable. The meal was paced well and then we waited and waited and waited for the check. The Valet cared about us more than our servers (one of which poked fun at how much bread we consumed). All in all - skip this place. Go to Luma and thank me after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always go to Norman's on Valentines day and we were disappointed this year. We brought our own wine and had a $700 meal. The best part was the caviar we ordered extra. The Valentines dinner was not a $150 meal. The ceviche was fishy and the desserts were not very good. The lamb was ok (a little fatty) and the swordfish wasn't anything special.

We went for dinner several months before and it was also an average meal.

Wait staff was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for our Valentine's/ Anniversary dinner! The food was beyond delicious, and the atmosphere was perfect for such an occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had been before for a birthday. So tried for Valentines day. Food was OK good but four courses at 150 seem steep for what was delivered. Wine outrageously priced three times going rate. I also really dislike the imposed 20% tip seems like it should be my decision based on service rather than an enforced policy. I must say I'm typically a very generous tipper and usually tip at 20% but huge turn off to me when someone else decides on my behalf. The billing was suspicious $50 for something I never signed a receipt for still haven't figured that one out. Overall the ambiance was not special or romantic. Just don't like sitting close enough to another patron hearing clearly everything said without listening not my thing. The place is beautiful most of the folks working are fantastic but just not my special place. Won't try it another time will explore other options.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent albeit very pricy. In fairness we had the Valentines fixed menu, since this was the only option available. $150 pp without drinks. Ordinarily we would have ordered less food since we are not big portion diners. Drinks and wine were also excellent. A good treat for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful restaurant can't wait to go back. Norman does a fantastic job pairing foods together.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our first visit to this restaurant was for my birthday celebration. The service was impeccable, the food cooked exactly to specific requests and the overall experience was royal!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Key West Shrimp Ceviche was incredible (as was the rest of our meal, but the Ceviche was our favorite)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.