About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Restaurant Photos

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando
Fried Green Tomatoes
Kurobuta Pork Belly
Shrimp Ceviche
Oysters
Roasted Wreckfish
Stuffed Quail
Beef Tartare
Brazilian Creamy Cracked Conch Chowder
Jean-Marc Brocard 2010 Grand Cru Chablis.
Grilled Roasted Lake Meadow Duck
artichoke fritters
Yellowtail Snapper Sampler
Pan Seared Crusted Filet Sampler
Pork Belly Tapas
Sunshine Key Lime Pie
Beer Steamed Keywest Shrimp
Tournedos of Beef
Yuca Stuffed Crispy Shrimp
Key West Shrimp Ceviche
Roasted Breast Of Organic Chicken 'Mofongo'
Fresh Brewed Coffee Presentation
Ciabata Bread
Pork 'Havana'
Havana Banana Split
Chimichurri New York Strip Steak

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Value
Orlando / Central Florida East
Notable Wine List
Orlando / Central Florida East
7 More
Contemporary American
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Overall
Orlando
Best Service
Orlando
Best Ambiance
Orlando
Best Value
Orlando
Romantic
Orlando
Contemporary American
Orlando
Best Restaurants in I Drive / Sand Lake ›

Special Occasion (90)
Romantic (77)
Fit for Foodies (66)
See All
Notable Wine List (65)
Scenic View (37)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service at Norman's is impeccable, E ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service at Norman's is impeccable, Everyone went above and beyond to make our fine dining experience extraordinary. The menu had a wide range of variety to choose from. The Chef Passion showed in Every Flavorful Dish which was HandCrafted with Love! We felt like we were the only ones in house which made the evening special. I recommend everyone to dine @NormansGrande Lakes and receive the Royal treatment they have to offer!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the ambiance of the restaurant. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We loved the ambiance of the restaurant. All staff

Were friendly and professional.

Loved the food. Great wine selection. Excellent service from Alper our server.

5 star restaurant. Thanks to manager Yusuf who came by and check on us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing meal at Normans! My daugh ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Had an amazing meal at Normans! My daughter and I both had the snapper and it has to be the best I have ever had.. Will definitely go back next time I'm in Orlando.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent, unfortunately the se ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent, unfortunately the service was not up to par. Last year when we dined there we were made to feel like royalty, this time we felt like peasants!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great food. The heat temperature on the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food. The heat temperature on the pork was a little cool, but the taste was great. De formalize the dress code. It's Orlando.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We enjoyed everything on the menu, Seaba ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We enjoyed everything on the menu, Seabass was cooked perfectly, i had a glass of cabernet Paul Hobbs Crossbarn.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Norman's and absolutely love ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We dined at Norman's and absolutely loved the entire experience. We frequently dine at high-end restaurants across the country, and this was one of the best experiences in recent memory. We asked our waiter, Fernando, to surprise us with a three-course meal of his choosing, something we do regularly. Wow, was it a delicious surprise. We started with the empanadas, which came with two dipping sauces. Our second course was the fried conch soup, something we would have never ordered on our own, and it was amazing. It had small pieces of fried conch and roasted vegetables in a fruity yet spicy broth. The final course was the sea bass and the pork, and both were cooked perfectly. Fernando paired each course with wine for us, and he could not have done a better job both choosing the food/wine and serving us. This was truly a world-class experience, and we will be returning when we are in Orlando again.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have gone to Norman's for ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My wife and I have gone to Norman's for our Anniversary for past few years - cannot say enough about the quality of food and exceptional service. We had the Chef' stating with wine pairing - simply fantastic experience. Highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the yellowtail and the Kurobuto pork ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Had the yellowtail and the Kurobuto pork belly. Prepared perfectly. Foie gras French toast is as good as seared foie gras gets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I want to complement Albert and Wilson. ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I want to complement Albert and Wilson. They were outstanding. We had the wine pairing and it was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

From the initial welcome by the hostess ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

From the initial welcome by the hostess to the special birthday dessert this was a perfect 60th birthday celebration for my husband. The wait staff was very attentive to our table. I would like to mention our main server, Cory. He was one of the best we have ever had at Norman's. His food and wine recommendations were perfect. They even started our dining experience with a glass of champagne for our table. A very special touch! The main course selection of sea bass was delicious and cooked perfectly. The lamb chops had an incredible seasoning with a great seared crust with a perfect medium rare center. Thank you for the customized menu my husband was given to commemorate the evening. it came in handy when our daughter called and asked what we had for dinner. We will be keeping the menu to remember a beautiful evening. Thank you. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamp chops was full of fat --No meat dis ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lamp chops was full of fat --No meat disappointing

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our wedding anniversary and we ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our wedding anniversary and we have celebrated many special occasions at Norman's. On this occasion the service was not up to par for Norman's AND usually on a special occasion dinner you get a desert treat with "Happy Occasion" written on it. Our server never did this or mentioned our special occasion, plus, they tried to sit us at a back table when way ahead of time we requested window seating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I honestly cannot say enough great thing ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I honestly cannot say enough great things about our experience at Norman's last night. Our server Fernando & his assistant Vincent, were absolutely unbelievable. They were both so attentive & knowledgeable about our meal. We elected to do the tasting menu for Drew's birthday. The food was incredible & the service was even better. Fernando knew so much about each wine pairing (which Drew just absolutely loves) and was such a nice guy. We will definitely be back, and will be requesting Fernando (& Vincent)! Thank you so much!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Norman's did an outstanding job at makin ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Norman's did an outstanding job at making our 50th anniversary special. Get food & exceptional service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food ,service,ambiance all what you woul ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food ,service,ambiance all what you would expect from a 5 star restaurant.I was there about 1 year ago and it has not lost a step.My server , Fernando , helped bring the meal together with his advice on both food and wine.It is a must for those visiting Orlando who want a high end dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The $72 bone-in ribeye came medium well ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The $72 bone-in ribeye came medium well instead of medium rare. I think the waiter knew this, and was waiting to see what I was going to say. When I asked him to confirm that it was not right, he promptly took the steak away, but it was a good 35 minutes before I got my food. Meanwhile, my dining companion had completely finished his meal. Not exactly ideal.

Also, $56 corkage fee for two bottles??? That seems a little excessive.

Also, my right leg started to fall asleep waiting on my food, so it looks like it's time for them to replace their chairs.

My friend ordered an appetizer from their special menu which was a nice accommodation.

We invited our waiter to take a taste of the wine that we brought, but he was terrified to do so, as the management told him that it was against the rules to drink alcohol with guests. This policy sounds absolutely ridiculous, and seems designed to prevent the stuff from learning about the trade in which they work. This actually sort of tells me a lot about what goes on at this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I remember the old Norman's in Miami fon ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I remember the old Norman's in Miami fondly, but this food was heavy, tiny portions, low quality, and unimaginative. Incredibly over-priced for what it is. Some examples: the shrimp was overcooked and bland; the fish was a small portion and also quite bland. Once upon a time, Normans had soufflees but the server said it took too much time. One nice note: the server was helpful when our guest was an hour late, and he did not upsel the wine but actually brought a cheaper wine than we ordered. One tacky note: the fancy online wine menu simply did not track what they had available. We only had bad food in Orlando.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

We came to this restaurant because we we ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came to this restaurant because we were staying in the hotel that night. We were celebrating my birthday. Overall the experience was okay. I felt as if our server was very busy and rushed. Don't get me wrong I like privacy at the table especially when it was just my fiancé and I but it was almost like we were forgotten about and the assistant did a lot for us. I probably would not visit this restaurant again. It was disappointing that the Ritz name was behind it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Impeccable service and amazingly delicio ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Impeccable service and amazingly delicious food :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there before but this time: ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We have been there before but this time: SERVICE left much to be desired. We started early: 6:45 and all went well but as the dining area filled up; we were forgotten. Too bad!

Next time: Victoria & Albert's; Bull & Bear; Saratoga Springs; il mulino: we live in Windermere... so: Thank God for choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything from the time we arrived unti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Everything from the time we arrived until the time we left was just wonderful. Service was outstanding, food was perfectly prepared and presented, the restaurant itself was elegant and quiet. I would definitely come back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, service was great. We h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was great, service was great. We had great time there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamb was divine, complemented by the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The lamb was divine, complemented by the "on sale" bottle of wine. We were treated to complimentary champagne to toast our anniversary and attentive service. Our appetizers and dessert and cheese were all wonderful. First bit spoiled a little by cranky little ones next to us and almost being seated by the kitchen even tho my hubbie had been promised a window seat about three hours earlier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service overall and a lot of atten ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great service overall and a lot of attention to detail. Quickly took care of anything that arose during the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

From beginning to end our dinner at Norm ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

From beginning to end our dinner at Normans was unforgettable. We were greeted by the assistant general manager Juan ,who quickly seated us at a beautiful table by the window. We were greeted soon after by Fernando who'd be taking care of us that night and that he did, from start to finish he guided us through the menu and made great recommendations for dinner. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better Juan came around to check on us and we asked for help with wine for the evening, he made a gorgeous selection for our wine, he selected a champagne that complimented our seafood dishes so well. I have been in the hospitality industry for almost 10 years here in Orlando and I haven't been treated better anywhere than I was at Normans by Juan and Fernando. We will definitely be returning to eat here soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service by Fernando and his as ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful service by Fernando and his associates. Food was excellent, especially the Pork Belly and the Sea Bass. I really enjoyed my selection of cheeses and Port, thanks to Fernando.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service, nice atmosphere.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good service, nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

If you are looking for excellent service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

If you are looking for excellent service, food, and atmosphere, this is the place. This was our second time at Norman's. The first time was during our honeymoon to celebrate where they paid attention to the details I had under the notes section of my open table reservation.

The food was fantastic and the waiter was very knowledgeable about what would pair greatly with the courses we selected. My wife and I travel from Georgia to go back to Norman's when we are in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly optimistic and was slightly disap ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Highly optimistic and was slightly disappointed with overall service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My wife and I enjoyed the special Chef's ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the special Chef's Tasting Menu. Every bite of food was amazing, the wine parings were perfect and the service was impeccable. It was perhaps the best meal we have ever eaten! We even received a signed copy of the menu from Chef Norman at the end of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always Norman's delivers our high expect ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

always Norman's delivers our high expectations for fine dining.. Special Thanks to Milos

he was amazing server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Not up to par

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our experience at Norman's was outstanding because of the food. Amazing! However, the service was too attentive and rushed - and when the manager came over, he didn't have the courtesy to button the top button on his shirt or tighten his tie - unprofessional for a supposed five-star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I have to say that we were very impresse ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have to say that we were very impressed with the service and the attention. First, the host remarked our reason for our dinner and congratulated my husband for his birthday. I wasn't expecting that the note I made on the reservation would be taken into consideration throughout the night. Second, my husband received a personalized menu with a message wishing him a happy birthday !! Third, our server also congratulated him and offered us free champagne to start celebrating his day. This personalized and warm attention from the staff is very uncommon specially in very touristic cities such a Orlando. I always get great experiences dinning in any of the Ritz Carlton restaurants but so far this has been the best one !! Thank you guys for the extra attention

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We truly enjoyed the restaurant, staff, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We truly enjoyed the restaurant, staff, and food. We will certainly return every time we are at the Ritz Carlton in Orlando\

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Evening

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We virtually always get a reservation for Norman's if we stay more than a couple of nights in Orlando.

On this occasion we visited mid-week and decided to try the Chef's Tasting Menu - and in my case the accompanying Wine Flight. The entire meal was a delight especially supported by outstanding service and knowledgeable and friendly staff.

It was not inexpensive at a touch below $350 for our meals and including an appropriate tip. But the quality, presentation and cooking were there too.

The Evening was slightly disappointing in that some fellow guests decided to use their cellphones in the Restaurant. There's fortunately plenty of space so that one is not sitting atop other guests; and we ate at a civilised pace too. Despite the "Dress Code" there were some very casually dressed people in the Restaurant.

There's an excellent selection of wine; prices range from just under $50 a bottle. We had surprisingly generous portions and thought we'd enjoyed a very good value meal highly professionally served and truly fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were waited on by Fernando and his ta ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were waited on by Fernando and his table team, which included Andrea. Their attentiveness made our anniversary dinner wonderful. The food was spectacular and provided great sharing portions for all three courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As most locals we typically avoid "hotel ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

As most locals we typically avoid "hotel restaurants", but the great reviews compelled us to try this one. It was a fantastic experience all around. Great food, service and ambiance, and the perfect place to have a romantic night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Balcony dining

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Noise level for inside dining was quite loud. We had requested dining on the balcony when making our reservation. It was perfect out there. Beautiful view of the sunset. You might want to bring your sunglasses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.