About Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando

4012 Central Florida Parkway
Orlando, FL 32837
View Larger Map

NORMAN'S, at The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, offers the unique flavors of celebrity Chef Norman Van Aken's “New World Cuisine." Conveniently located just 2 miles from the Orange County Convention Center, NORMAN'S is the recipient of the prestigious AAA 4 Diamonds and Mobil 4 Stars Awards as well as the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

NORMAN'S cuisine, is a celebration of the many different culinary and cultural influences that make Florida a unique place; it seamlessly combines Caribbean, Latin-American, and Asian flavors in dishes such as Yuca stuffed Crispy Shrimp, Key West Yellowtail Snapper, or Roasted Pork Havana.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
John Young Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 393-4333

Website:
http://www.normans.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Details: NORMAN'S offers complimentary Valet Parking to all guests dining at our Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Norman Van Aken

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buyouts and partial buyouts. Private dining and semiprivate dining areas are available as well.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Norman's has private dining options for groups from 8-400 guests. Allow Norman's to prepare a custom menu for your group showcasing the inspirations of Florida's most awarded James Beard recipient Chef Norman Van Aken. Guests may work with our sommelier for personalized wine pairings.

Norman's at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Ambiance
Orlando / Central Florida East
Notable Wine List
Orlando / Central Florida East
7 More
Contemporary American
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Service
Orlando
Best Ambiance
Orlando
Best Value
Orlando
Notable Wine List
Orlando
Romantic
Orlando
Contemporary American
Orlando
Best Restaurants in I Drive / Sand Lake ›

special occasion (104)
romantic (92)
notable wine list (80)
See All
fit for foodies (79)
scenic view (32)
good for groups (30)
great for outdoor dining (14)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch food and service, with a beaut ...

Dined 4 days ago

Top notch food and service, with a beautiful romantic atmosphere

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service and atmosphere were ex ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food, service and atmosphere were exceptional. I suspect this is the best restaurant in Orlando. My only complaint is they don't have matches - the match boxes from Coral Gables were the best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and excellent service. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food and excellent service. They know how to make each meal a special occassion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service let down by o ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food and service let down by one extremely noisy table - obviously not the fault of Norman's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been coming to Norman's for 10 years!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Norman's and the special treatment we receive each and every time we go. Love Frank Roquefort as our server... Fantastic! Been our server for over 10 years. He truly goes out of his way to give you the best service possible. Yusuf is the outstanding General Manager of Norman's. He makes a special point to come visit each guest and make sure they are enjoying their meal. The food is outstanding! We have never been disappointed. Our family has spent many special birthdays and anniversary's at Norman's. Every staff member works together to make your dining experience one to remember. From the minute you sit down they truly wine and dine you! Thank you everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Orlando for a business trip and saw t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

In Orlando for a business trip and saw that this James Beard award winning restaurant was not far from my hotel, AND the menu prices were comparable to everything else in town. Wanted to check it out and we were not disappointed! They had an amazing wine list with domestic wines that I usually cannot find outside of Napa. We started with blue-point oysters and a shrimp ceviche. Both were incredible. The ceviche was loaded with flavor but not enough to overpower the shrimp. And the shrimp were perfectly soft and not chewy. It was great. I had the sea bass with Serrano ham crust for more entree, and it was the best preparation I think I've ever had. The portion was very large and the ham crust gave so much flavor. It all just melted in my mouth. My colleague had a cuban-style pork shank and I tried a bite. The sauce was so full of flavor and pork was literally fall-apart tender and succulent. Definitely try this restaurant if in town. The service was on point and very attentive. The a la carte menu price is literally the same as any other restaurant in the area, and it is far superior!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

overall out standing

Dined on May 13, 2016

overall out standing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner 2 days in a row, we will ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Amazing Dinner 2 days in a row, we will be back. thanks for Fernando

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orlando favorite

Dined on May 11, 2016

Although the we have been to Norman's before, it never gets old. Cody was our waiter and he was exceptional. He was very knowledgable about the menu but it was his interaction with our group that set him apart. A perfect dinner was followed by a perfect dessert. We will be back again on our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service from start to finish ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding service from start to finish. First class food and drink. Overall an amazing experience. Will definitely be visiting again.

Tags: romance, special occasions, late night find, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an exceptional dinner. excellent f ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I had an exceptional dinner. excellent food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside on the patio, Sunset was ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We sat outside on the patio, Sunset was amazing and view. Server Milos was amazing great recommendation on food and wine. we were very glad to listen our friends and check this restaurant. Thanks Normans!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Overpriced and snooty

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife and kids for Mothers Day and wore a nice pair of Shorts and golf shirt. They asked if I could go back to my room and change. The manager then said he'd make an exception since it was Mothers Day. When they seated us they asked if I would sit on the inside next to a wall so that no one would see me in my shorts. I saw others walk in dressed in jeans and tennis shoes and another older gentleman in shorts. Food was ok wine list was good. Overall just ok

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Mother's Day dinner. Oysters d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent Mother's Day dinner. Oysters definitely not a favorite. Would be better plain than with frozen michelada on top. Otherwise, everything was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent tasting menu

Dined on May 6, 2016

I love Norman's tasting menu and wine pairing! It has never disappointed me.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Octopus on the tasting menu was amazing. ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Octopus on the tasting menu was amazing. As good as what I had in Greece

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. One of Or ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding food and service. One of Orlando's best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing service and meal, Norman ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Always amazing service and meal, Norman is special restaurant in Orlando

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and 7 yr old daughter enjoyed ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

My husband and 7 yr old daughter enjoyed a lovely, delicious dinner here while staying at the Ritz. The sea bass was perfection! Service is outstanding and waiters were kid friendly and offered a delicious kid menu as well. I can't wait to return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Norman's delivers again

Dined on April 29, 2016

Exceptional service and food! Perfect for any special occasion! David Hursey, our waiter, was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the tasting menu - was a terrific ex ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Had the tasting menu - was a terrific experience, the chef created a wonderful set of courses that were unique and beautifully crafted

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food, ambiance, and service are superb. Tasting menu was outstanding. Every item was excellent. We picked this rather randomly while on vacation and it ended up being one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner, thank to the staff they we ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great Dinner, thank to the staff they were amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Convenient and upscale

Dined on April 19, 2016

Overall, it was a good experience. We ended up going to this restaurant largely for the convenience (not the food). The service was outstanding but the menu was a little disappointing. I was expecting a higher level of food choices for the pricing. The meal was good but I would have liked more quality in terms of the food and more selection. It was fine but if you are expecting variety, high quality food, broader selection - you would be better off leaving the hotel.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine Dining at It's Best... Don't Miss It

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I hadn't been to Norman's in about 5 years and booked the JW Marriott with that in mind. I have to say Norman's is firing on all cylinders... it's never been better. The food is absolutely fantastic. Add excellent service and the nice dining room and you have the recipe for a great dining experience. I particularly recommend the shrimp app, the scallop app, the fried green tomatoes. For entree's the ethereal sea bass (just perfection), the chicken with an amazing side of pasta. The filet is also just amazing. Basically, you can't go wrong with whatever you order. Norman's lives up to all the praise... don't miss it when you're in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Norman's 4/16

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Norman's is in the Orlando Ritz for those who have not been to the restaurant. The decor is Ritz-elegance. The staff is plentiful and perfectly trained. The wine list is adequately extensive. The menu is wonderfully inventive and unique. The presentation/plating is artistic. The food is perfectly prepared and excellent. If Michelin ever came to Orlando--which they won't because Orlando is devoid of fine food--Norman's would at least get a One Star.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and the service excep ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Food was excellent and the service exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual we always enjoyed Normans. Food ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

As usual we always enjoyed Normans. Food and wine pairing was amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on April 13, 2016

I hosted business dinner for my client at Norman`s, I am glad I did. Service was outstanding and the food was extremely delicious. Our server Alper was professional and knowledgeable about food and wine service. Great job. They have great selection of the wine. I recommend this restaurant to any occasion. When ever I am in town, I will definitely visit Norman`s. Thank you

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Evening

Dined on April 9, 2016

Not only was the food at Norman's delectable, but our server Frank was a gem. He anticipated the perfect wine for each course with skill and his personality was charming and delightful. We plan on spending many future special occasion sampling more of their delicious cuisine and excellent personal attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Twice in four days

Dined on April 7, 2016

Guess the title says it all. The food was magnificent and very reasonably priced for the quality. Service was interesting, two different servers on different days with completely different styles. We preferred the more traditional (which was more knowledgable). All in all a great place to eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4

They were out of about half of the items ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

They were out of about half of the items on the menu no rib eye, no sea bass, no pork, no snapper, no green tomatoes...... I wish I had known that in advance.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing because it was p ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

The service was amazing because it was professional and courteous while making us feel very comfortable in the atmosphere. I love food and wine pairing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Meal

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

we were there for convention, had a amazing meal with friends. did 6 course tasting menu everybody had a great time..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Meal

Dined on April 4, 2016

We celebrated our friend's anniversary, everything was super. Chowder Soup was amazing and Seabass as well

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was exactly what we needed... Romanti ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

It was exactly what we needed... Romantic, great view, great wine, wonderful service and the food was creative as well as delicious! We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great restaurant. Everything i ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is a great restaurant. Everything is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding, we really enjoyed our dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 1, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Expensive but a terrific experience. Probably won't go more than once a year because of the price though

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine Dining at Its Best

Dined on March 28, 2016

Third time I've eaten here in the last 5 years. Each time the service and food are at a level that far exceeds other high end restaurants. They take fine dining to a new level. It is a quiet, peaceful dining experience. You are not distracted in any way from the magnificent details service and presentation details. Your focus will be on every bite! As expected, its pricey, but well within range of a superior dining experience received.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.