Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar

Norfolk Seafood Company is a place where seafood lovers can find a traditional plate of flounder, scallops or crab but without the fancy ingredients and inflated prices. The restaurant is centrally located in downtown Norfolk. The mission of the Norfolk Seafood Company is to bring tasty seafood to locals and tourists, minus the trip to the Oceanfront. The menu features everything a good seafood restaurant should offer, plus all the sides. A cold beer, wine or a specialty drink from the bar rounds off any meal.

111 Tazwell St
Norfolk, VA 23510
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Granby St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 227-6222

Website:
http://www.norfolkseafoodco.com/

Parking Details:
Valet after 5:30pm

Executive Chef:
Sean Olds

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Morgan: (757) 227-6222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The restaurant was really nice - the food was very good and the restaurant had a nice atmosphere. We had a great meal before going to the Well's theatre, which is less than a block away. Very convenient location.

However, the service was sooooooo disappointing. We barely saw our waiter -- he was preoccupied with a large group. But even in the few times he came to us, he wasn't particularly friendly. The manager came by to check on us and apologized for giving us the waiter with the big group, but lets just say the service was far below expectations for a fine dining environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The décor and ambience are conducive to quiet conversation.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very good atmosphere and food. With the bed menu change it was hard comparing what I could and could not get from the online menu.

The service started out okay but being that I was seated next to two big parties; my wife and I felt somewhat neglected on refills and impeccable service.

I ended up having to go downstairs to the other part of the restaurant, ordered a drink and walked it back up.

For a Friday - I understand business and weekenders but it should not demote other patrons to feeling "secondrate".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Delicious food and big portions! We had a wonderful evening and will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food and service was good. Great happy hours specials. The drinks were interesting. They had many unique drinks with a different twist. I liked the idea of some of them, but didn't love the ones I tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our server was amazing. He was there when we needed him and let us be when we were enjoying our dinner. The food was very good and the warm cornbread muffins was the perfect accompaniment to our dishes. The bar ambiance down stairs was a little more casual than I would have preferred when I made the reservation, but our server was amazing and it made up for it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Awesome food and atmosphere, definitely on my list of top 5 places to dine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Out at this quaint little restaurant during Restaurant Week in Norfolk. The server was very attentive to our needs and helpful with the drink selection. Atmosphere was perfect for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Overall it was a good experience. I mostly went because I wanted some beignets and this was the only restaurant that sold them. The beignets were decent; however I wish had more than just 2 per order because if I'm paying $8.99 for the dessert I should get at least 5 of those beignets.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It took a little bit for the server to get us water and introduce himself. The moment the food came, I completely forgot about that cause it was so delicious. I would recommend this place to anyone. The atmosphere was cozy and quaint. Perfect for a date or small group.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My husband and I went out for our Friday night "date." He really, really likes the jambalaya and I enjoy almost any kind of seafood. Both of us had delicious meals.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Spicy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

While the overall review is one of excellence, my husband was not very pleased with his shrimp and crab scampi. Very few shrimp, small pieces of crab and mostly pasta. The flavor was good, just not enough of the shrimp and crab. My scallop risotto was a very good meal. The scallops could have used a couple of more seconds on the grill/pan, but the risotto was wonderful. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was a little slow. But overall the food was delicious, drinks were great, and as always downstairs at this restaurant is a great quaint ambiance dining experience

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had looked forward to a quiet dinner and top-quality seafood. We got neither. The hostess seated us next to a family group of about 16 who were so noisy we had trouble conversing. When our food arrived -- 40 minutes after we had ordered -- my flounder stuffed with crab meat was almost tasteless, smothered in a thick, bland sauce atop very dense mashed potatoes with a few spears of tough asparagus. It was difficult to tell the crab from the flounder or the potatoes. My wife's crab cakes were acceptable but certainly not exceptionable. We were never offered coffee or tea, only a glass of wine. We had expected to pay a fairly high price for quality seafood, but what we were served was outrageously overpriced. We are unlikely to be in the Norfolk area again, but even if we were, we certainly would not return to that restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Delicious food Good service (if you don't mind waiters with tattoos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great evening dining
Good location for many Norfolk activities
Friendly knowledgeable staff
Will return

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great oysters - good variety and reasonable price. Excellent martini. Server very nice. Prices reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Megan our waitress was very informative and attentive. She told us in advance that there maybe a little wait in food due to a huge party just placing their order and she brought corn muffins to the table when we asked. She explain the were a little over cooked. If she had never said anything we would have not known. They were delicious and golden.

The overall the food was very tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The quality of the oysters and rest of the seafood was top notch. The service while very friendly was extremely slow. I would base this on the service staff and not the kitchen as the server would disappear for long periods of time. My wine glass sat empty for more than 20 minutes before I was asked if I wanted a refill. Our wait for a dozen raw oysters was 40 minutes. With no bread or food on the table that can seem like a very long time. Over two hours and 15 minutes for a dinner for two is pushing it. The value on some items seems to be a little off. Oysters were priced fairly but $26.99 for 3 scallops and 4 shrimp with a side of cole slaw is steep. Overall pretty disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Overall good experience, however they must have been understaffed that night as the wait for service and food was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was good but not spectacular. Service was fine. We felt like we walked into a ghost town... hardly anyone there and very quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I were very excited to try this restaurant based on its wonderful reviews. We really appreciated the valet parking and the great menu. What soured our experience was the seating of a very large group of extremely loud women right next to us after we had let the hostess know that we were looking for a quieter table. Not 5 minutes into our experience did she sit this group and we had a pecifically chose the upstairs dining for the more formal experience. These women should have, clearly, been seated in the pub.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a 6:15 reservation to have dinner before an 8:00 performance at the Wells Theatre. We arrived on time and were seated right away. We had excellent service and the seafood dinners were outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Dinner was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food made me think of New Orleans. My date and I enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We arrived for an early seating due to afterwards heading over the the theatre for a play and were seated immediately. The timing was because other reviews said the service was slow which was not what we found to be true on this evening but it was not busy at this early time (6pm) so it was also quiet. We shared the app on the specials list of oysters bienville and they were fantastic as well as the complimentary muffins/soft butter. Since we had used the valet (which they let us keep the car there until after the play which is a nice touch) , we did't have anywhere to put leftovers and if we had both ordered entrees they would have gone to waste so we ordered the crab bisque which was tremendous as well as the crab and avocado salad and shared. Both dishes were over abundant with lump succulent crab meat. The avocado could have used another day of ripening but overall it was good. My Kettle One slightly dirty martini was delicious. There server, while pleasant seemed almost to have turned to walk away barely even having put the plates on the table. She didn't appear to be that busy. Good array of craft beers. This isn't our first visit and we've ran the gastro gambit and it can get quite pricey but the food is always good and for us, worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our waiter was either very new or just slow. We ordered etoufee, which is a stew-like meal no doubt made in advance. It took over an hour to get our order. It was crowded but not that bad. Maybe they need to hire more wait staff.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our steaks were both over cooked and bland. Lobster was over cooked and rubbery as well.
We waited outside for over 10 minutes for the valet to show up just to get our keys. We would never go back to this establishment again nor recommend it to anyone. It was a waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and waiter was great! It took a long time to get out food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had to give the restaurant two opportunities to do a review. The service the first time was good but our bill was really done incorrectly. It took them over week to correct it, but they did. The first time the food was truly over shadowed by the billing process
The second was great and the food was just as good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and service. Tables are a bit close together. Not great for quiet conversation or privacy, but not too noisy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed beautifully prepared meals while sitting by the warm fireplace before attending a Virginia Symphony Concert. We topped off the meal with a slice of key lime pie that was out of this world! The atmosphere was quite, romantic and perfect for both the young and young in heart. A good choice for a Valentines Day dinner with your sweet heart!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was beyond incredible. Scallop Risotto was life changing.

Valet parking was ideal.

I think trouble was brewing with their wait staff. One young man was learning the ropes of being a server and had the smiley, happy, friendly vibe down. While our server was perfectly attentive, he barely spoke a word, seemed extremely annoyed to be working that shift, and interacted with us as if we insulted his very existence. It was a Tuesday night though, so we didn't expect greatness.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wasn't pleased with overall food during this visit :
- Oysters came with no condiments
- Coke was flat, long wait for sweet tea
- Shrimp were small (only 2 with steak and shrimp meal)
- Steak wasn't good

Service was ok. Waitress/staff were friendly and apologetic.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Waitress was somewhat inattentive throughout the whole meal. Many different people ended up serving us during the meal to include the hostess who had seated us. Staff was friendly. Maybe they got swamped by number of customers? Had to wait an inordinate amount of time before our dinner check came at the end of the meal causing us to be delayed in arriving at the theater in a timely manner. Food was okay. We have mixed feelings about returning. Maybe the downstairs raw bar would be a better experience overall.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We made a reservation through Open Table for 6:30 on a Tuesday evening, and the reservation was confirmed. We promptly arrived at 6:20. We were told our table was not yet ready. We waited, and the time of our reservation passed. At 7:00 pm, the restaurant was still unable to provide us our table for 2. At 7:15, we had to give up on a table, because we had obligations later that evening and the time constraints would no longer allow us time to have dinner. We did not end up eating dinner at the restaurant due to their failure to have a table available for us even 45 minutes after our scheduled reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

You must like seafood if you come here because the menu is almost all seafood. They had a few other types of dishes on their specials. We got a small raw platter as an appetizer and everything was tasty. My husband got a fried seafood platter and I got a grill seafood combo. All the seafood tasted fresh. My husband's dish was fresh from the deep fryer. The sweet mashed potatoes were delicious. We finished it off with a brownie sundae, also excellent. The bread was excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fried oyster poboy and fried okra! Don't get much better than that!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Well-prepared food, with attentive servers in a lovely building. Varied menu with excellent specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.