About Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar

111 Tazwell St
Norfolk, VA 23510
View Larger Map

Norfolk Seafood Company is a place where seafood lovers can find a traditional plate of flounder, scallops or crab but without the fancy ingredients and inflated prices. The restaurant is centrally located in downtown Norfolk. The mission of the Norfolk Seafood Company is to bring tasty seafood to locals and tourists, minus the trip to the Oceanfront. The menu features everything a good seafood restaurant should offer, plus all the sides. A cold beer, wine or a specialty drink from the bar rounds off any meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Granby St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 227-6222

Website:
http://www.norfolkseafoodco.com/

Parking Details:
Valet after 5:30pm

Executive Chef:
Sean Olds

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Morgan: 7572276222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar, Norfolk, VA
  • Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar, Norfolk, VA
  • Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar, Norfolk, VA
Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar, Norfolk, VA
Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar, Norfolk, VA
Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar, Norfolk, VA

Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

70% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
See All
Fun (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

You must like seafood if you come here b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

You must like seafood if you come here because the menu is almost all seafood. They had a few other types of dishes on their specials. We got a small raw platter as an appetizer and everything was tasty. My husband got a fried seafood platter and I got a grill seafood combo. All the seafood tasted fresh. My husband's dish was fresh from the deep fryer. The sweet mashed potatoes were delicious. We finished it off with a brownie sundae, also excellent. The bread was excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried oyster poboy and fried okra! Don' ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fried oyster poboy and fried okra! Don't get much better than that!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well-prepared food, with attentive serve ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Well-prepared food, with attentive servers in a lovely building. Varied menu with excellent specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is my 4th trip to Norfolk Seafood C ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This is my 4th trip to Norfolk Seafood Co. since last year so I figured I knew what to expect. I haven't been on a weekday or since Valentine's Day so I was unaware that the valet would be unavailable on this night. Upon arrival we received the sparkling water (which I didn't know I would be charged for). We ordered our regular she crab soup and full oysters rockefeller. Our reservation was at 7, we ordered around 7:30 but did not receive either until around 8:15. This seemed a bit excessive for an empty restaurant on a rainy Thursday night. Our Oysters were a bit overcooked, the she-crab soup was excellent as always. I can't rave enough about the soup its an excellent blend of quality with the pepper being spicy but not overbearing as well as good sized pieces of crab meat. Seafood jambalaya as well is a perfect blend of quality and quantity, the lump crab is not in short supply in this dish. A couple concerns notwithstanding, this restaurant is great and I plan on making future reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I had made reservations at the restauran ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had made reservations at the restaurant for a special night out with my husband. When we arrived, we were seated in the bar downstairs, rather than the restaurant, which had plenty of seats available.

The bar had a nice vibe and would have been OK, except a large party arrived and it got very noisy, very quickly. I was never able to determine why we were not seated in the restaurant.

We ordered Oysters Rockefeller for an appetizer and they were wonderful!

My husband had the creole pasta and liked it very much. I had the gumbo and found it to be very salty and spicy for spicy's sake, rather than for taste. I like spicy, but this too spicy, and did not enhance the flavor.

The Catch of the Day was Salmon, which is not a fish local to Virginia, so I found it an unusual choice.

A comment card was handed out with the receipt which I don't feel is appropriate in a nice restaurant. This wasn't McDonald's.

So, overall, I don't plan to go back

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to eat and have drink... atm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great place to eat and have drink... atmosphere is relaxing and casual. Food was great. Could stand a little more attention from the wait staff.... overall.... go and eat!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

This was our first time dining here. We ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our first time dining here. We had reservations and were seated downstairs. The service was very good and friendly. We were expecting a bit more upscale ambiance. The oysters Rockefeller were superb! The blackened tuna bites were cooked too long and were accompanied by a very salty dip. The broiled seafood platter was overpriced at $30 and over cooked. The crab cake was good with plenty of crab but the two small shrimp, two small scallops, and small piece of fish were overcooked. We will not be returning for dinner but maybe for the Oyster Rockefeller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went there with my family. The waiter wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went there with my family. The waiter was very helpful in making suggestions and and helping us with our dining choices. All the courses were prepared deliciously and we truly enjoyed our meal. If you have tried it you should.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Here's the thing, if you say you are a s ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Here's the thing, if you say you are a seafood restaurant, I think you should offer more than one fish. (e.g. Legal Seafood in Boston) Don’t get me wrong, I like Salmon but I was expecting more options. We sat in the (below) bar area, which was cool but a bit noisy and understaffed. Apparently there was a private party upstairs and that could have affected the food and service, I suspect. I had to go to the bar to get my guest a drink b/c the waiter was a bit covered up with the 3-4 tables he was handling. Oh well....back to LA. for more of a real variety of seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great place for a date night. If you lo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place for a date night. If you love seafood or just that Cajun touch in your food, keep this place in mind! Valet parking was a breeze.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Up stairs was having a private party. So ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Up stairs was having a private party. So my family had dinner down stairs next to the bar. It was a little dark. Not the best for a family with kids. The waiter lacked personality. He was polite and attentive but lacked conversation. I ordered the special, which was blacked mahi. The portion was very small. Luckily I had the crab salad before. When I asked for the wifi, no one knew how to access it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was great, nice quaint restaura ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was great, nice quaint restaurant with great staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was date night for my husband and I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was date night for my husband and I. The service and food were excellent. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very helpful and knowledg ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The server was very helpful and knowledgeable. She was attentive without being hovering. The meal was great and we enjoy the ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fresh Fresh Fresh, and wonderfully prepa ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fresh Fresh Fresh, and wonderfully prepared with attentive service. The soft shell crabs were the best we have had in quite awhile and the blue point oysters were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance was a little to dim. Need some ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Ambiance was a little to dim. Need some more lighting. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

This lace was great and had great happy ...

vip
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This lace was great and had great happy hour prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Looking for Jazz

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Big Easy and Oyster Bar was a nice experience food wise. The Mother's Day Buffet was very good with nice selections for variety. The prime rib was prepared perfectly for your taste. The disappoint was in the ambiance. My husband and I were given the impression by friends that the Big Easy was a jazz spot and good place to have a nice meal while listening. Not so much. My mother's day plan to listen to some jazz at dinner fell short!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

not what you thought.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We made reservations based off the website , we were expecting to have seafood. But they were doing a buffet instead. The food was good. But it was not worth $29.99 per person. There could have been more choices. Also charging children $29.99 is not appropriate in my eyes. I am not sure if we will come back again, I was looking to get the seafood and I felt the website did not advertise that they were doing a buffet for the day. So were came expecting one thing and received something else. All in all my mothers day was ok, even though my husband was disappointed that it wasn't what we thought.

going forward let people know on the website if you are doing something special on a holiday, also letting people know there tip is already included would be nice to know as well. This could be a nice place for a couple once these issues are addressed. I am not sure if its kid friendly did not seem that way to me on Mothers day.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Jamaicanslove

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We attended the Norfolk Seafood Company for my cousin's graduation.

I was unfamiliar with Norfolk so I found the restaurant from a seafood search on OpenTable.

I was surprised that with all the college graduations in the area we were still able to get a reservation. The staff was courteous, and our food came within a reasonable amount of time.

Our most memorable part of the meal was the cornbread and honey butter. We ordered 2 additional servings of it! The bread pudding was served warm and quickly became our family's favorite! The brownie sundae, however, was a disappointment (it wasn't warm) and it's only served with whipped cream - no chocolate sauce. The Key Lime Pie also left a lot to be desired.

Lastly, the iced tea liquor which was the special on the menu that day wasn't strong at all.

The experience itself was pleasant and the dimly lit lights made it quite comfortable. Both the staff and guests were quite friendly. My family, especially the graduate, enjoyed the restaurant very much. We'd definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was fantastic. I would recommen ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was fantastic. I would recommend Norfolk Seafood to my family and friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Never eat here!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2016

My love and I went to this restaurant for Valentine's day last night and it was a nightmare. It took 30 mins for someone to come to our table to wait on us after I flagged down a server. It took over an hour after that to get our food which was awful! We returned the food and cut our losses. The tables were too close and the couple beside us were high and crazy to say the least. It was the worst dining experience I have ever had in downtown Norfolk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

It took over an hour to get our main cou ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2016

It took over an hour to get our main course

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

A Nice night out for some Great Food.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant seems very relaxing, we enjoyed our seats. A very large party came in and apparently it through the kitchen into overload. A few tables left and a few stuck it out with us. It took over an hour to get our soups, and 1.5 hours to get our food. The service lady was very nice and tried to keep us up on what was happening. Once the food did arrive, it was fabulous! Hot, delicious and made you feel like the wait was worth it, the Chef did a great job! The owner did come by and apologized and adjusted our bill for the inconvenience. Things do happen and they all did a good job trying to absorb the impact of this overload in the kitchen. We will try this again because of how nice everything was handled, the place was very clean, had a pretty nice feeling atmosphere and the food really was fantastic, the bread pudding topped off the meal very nicely. thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delcious as usual

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We ordered She-Crab Soup, Jambalaya, Shrimp, Grits and fries. Everything was very filling portions, served hot, we had a great view and the food was delicious. Our reservation had us seated across from the fireplace which was perfect for a chilly day in the teens. Would go again and again and again. I cannot stress enough how amazing the she crab soup is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Beignet was unbelievable. Being from ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The Beignet was unbelievable. Being from Louisiana it was as close to, New Orleans you could get. The seafood was fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The she crab bisque is excellent. I rea ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 6, 2016

The she crab bisque is excellent. I really enjoyed the oysters. The collard greens are not well seasoned, but mashed sweet potatoes are great. The fried seafood platter is good as well. Try the create your own to enjoy lump crab meat and lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A very disappointing experience. Waited ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2016

A very disappointing experience. Waited a long time for the waitress and when I ordered a glass of wine she didn't bring it until I flagged her down and reminded her. I think she was new and she seemed to be the only waitress even thought it was a Saturday night at 7pm. She did not seem familiar with the menu. We ordered a tuna appetizer that appeared within minutes - almost too soon to have been made fresh. It was not very good. We paid our bill , declined to stay for dinner and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Our 1st (and probably last) experience h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Our 1st (and probably last) experience here was on New Years Eve at 7. We were seated promptly downstairs which is why I rate a 2 for ambiance. If I were just going for casual drinks and bar food with halfway decent prices, I wouldn't have been as disappointed. As I sat down I noticed food on my seat in the booth which I wiped off. Service started off on the slow side with drinks and didn't improve much. We realize it was a busy night (though they didn't seem overly busy when we first got there) and I spent years in restaurant so I am usually the first to empathize, but it just wasn't anywhere near the level of fine dining service we expected with fine dining prices. We barely saw our waitress and our finished plates sat there at the table until we asked for the check... then they were just moved from in front of us to the front edge of the table. It was just... weird. Food was average. My husband ordered raw bar combo and was pleased enough with it. I went in wanting fried flounder but the only way to even get it was on a $30 seafood combo. I like some seafood but not all (making the combo pointless for me) so I ordered the NY strip. The steak was done perfectly (med rare) and had a nice char flavor, but the mashed potatoes and green beans were WAYYYY too salty. They tasted like something you'd get at a cafeteria. I barely ate them. I also went in wanting/expecting a salad with the meal, but decided against spending an extra $8 on one. Overall, just not impressed. Also, we used valet... When we went to leave, there was still only one valet working. By that point it was busier, so we had to wait about 10-15 minutes to get our car and he brought the wrong one out first. Also, we saw him attempting to park a nice Mercedes with a stick shift... It took 2 seconds to realize he was NOT experienced with sticks. He stalled out multiple times and had the car rocking trying to move forward. It was funny but only because it wasn't our car. Clearly this place is understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

A busy night

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2015

It was a very busy night for the restaurant with a private party on the main level which translated to slow everything in the lower level. Our server did her best, but both bar and kitchen weren't giving her any help. It was our first visit to the restaurant and overall, we were unimpressed. The food was nothing special and it was a bit overcooked. Maybe we will try it again on a less busy night to see if it gets any better. Maybe not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Oh My Oh My Oh My. Absolutely the Best ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 5, 2015

Oh My Oh My Oh My.

Absolutely the Best seafood I have ever had hands down.

The Lobster melts in your mouth.

The Shrimp and Scallops where so tender and juicy.

The fried oysters where perfect.

The She Crab Bisque & Gumbo du Jour was the best.

Then. The Beignets with Dipping Sauce was the best.

Restaurant was extremely clean.

Very very nice lay out.

The decor was really nice.

The service was excellent. No doubt she was worth her 20% tip.

I was happy with the price for what we got.

I would highly recommend this restaurant for those who like Excellect Seafood cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with a group

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2015

The restaurant was very accommodating to us, allowing us to change our group size at the last minute. The food was overall good, but not mind-blowing. The price point is a little high for the quality. It's a solid choice when you want good food on a Friday night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great for a Group

vip
 (Veracruz)·Dined on November 3, 2015

I recently entertained 16 international folks for dinner. Big Easy was a hugh hit. Service was super and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Cozy and classy

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Took a very special friend of mine out for a nice dinner date. Couldn't have asked for a better place! Complimentary valet service, small, but quaint dining room, low lighting, and light music. Service and food were excellent! The both of us ordered the catch of the day (salmon, which happens to be our favorite!). The fish was perfectly cooked and the sides complimented it very well. We ended the night with their bread pudding which was delicious! Loved this place. Save it for a special occasion!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Why so quiet?

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2015

One of our favorites. Excellent food and service, but last Saturday night was very quiet, only half full and the live music was absent. Hope The Big Easy is not falling on hard times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was excellent. Restaurant was n ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 1, 2015

Service was excellent. Restaurant was nice - decor had lots of character. Table next to us was really close and the guests were obnoxiously loud. Food was average - but might be what we ordered. Other menu items being served looked excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Good food, poor service

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2015

The food at the Norfolk Seafood Company was well prepared and tasty. However, the service was very disappointing. The waiter never anticipated our table's needs and often made us feel as if we were bothering him as we asked for additional food, drinks, etc. This experience reiterates the fact that service can/will make or break a restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Good Upscale Seafood Menu

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 19, 2015

The restaurant has quality space in a nice area downtown. We were seated in the basement level, which also has a bar and, while we were there during Friday Happy Hour, a live saxophonist.

The waiter was good enough to to bring us a second order of the complimentary honey muffins, which were delicious! I recommend the fresh seafood specials. The tuna was plated fabulously, and the fish of the day was well-prepared.

Price is not cheap, but not overly expensive for the quality.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day Fail

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2015

I wanted to take my wife and son somewhere nice for Mother's Day lunch. I looked on line at the pics of the restaurant and the dining area looked nice. I figured that for a fixed price of $30 per person, this would have been a great dining experience.

I was dead wrong. We arrived at 11:30 and were seated in the basement where the bar is, not upstairs. The buffet wasn't fully set out, there were still items not available when we served ourselves. The eggs to order wasn't ready and the my wife had finished lunch by the time the prime rib was set out. The food overall was ok, but no where close to being worth $30, it was an average buffet and she was charged full price even though not all of the food was ready. The downstairs bar area had the music cranked and we assumed it was the same music from the night before, not the best ambience.

Overall, I spent a lot of money and completely regret dining here. I could tell my wife was disappointed and I'm surprised I'm not in the doghouse for what appeared to have been my fault. I should have saved our money and gone somewhere nicer. Every time I drive by this restaurant, I will always remember that day. It was a complete fail and I will never forget it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.