Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today
Special offers available. See details

Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar

4.3
145 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Authentic
  • Romantic
Norfolk Seafood Co & Big Easy Oyster Bar features fresh local seafood with a Cajun creole twist. The restaurant is centrally located in downtown Norfolk. The mission of the Norfolk Seafood Company is to bring tasty seafood to locals and tourists, minus the trip to the Oceanfront. The menu features everything a good seafood restaurant should offer, plus all the sides. A cold beer, wine or a specialty drink from the bar rounds off any meal.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday: Closed
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 4p(Lounge), 5p-9:30p(Dinner)
Wednesday: 4p(Lounge), 5p-9:30p(Dinner)
Thursday: 4p(Lounge), 5p-9:30p(Dinner)
Friday: 4p(Lounge), 5p-10:30p(Dinner)
Saturday: 4p(Lounge), 5p-10:30p(Dinner)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 227-6222
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sean Olds
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Rachel Morgan: (757) 227-6222
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Granby St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet after 5:30pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

We are so glad you will be dining with us on Mother's Day! We look forward to having you!

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 145 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Good food, good servic, waitress had a great smile and warm manner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Some of the best local seafood I have had I a while.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Delightful for our group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Excellent customer service and delicious food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Very good seafood dishes and deserts. Good beer and cocktail selection. Was a quiet and pleasant dining environment, even on a busy St. Patrick's Day, Saturday evening. Server was attentive and professional, did not rush us to order. We were seated downstairs in a comfortable, if not rustic room. The upstairs seating had more ambiance. Bottom line, enjoyed our meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

This was a great choice. I was a little skeptical due to reviews from restaurant week but I was very very pleased. Our waitress was great, service was quick and everyone checked in on us. I am very please and will be back !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Really enjoyed the restaurant. The food was great reasonably priced and the service was wonderful. Everybody was very nice. The only downside? Parking sucks. I had to park three blocks away in a parking garage.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Burger special is great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Options were broiled or fried.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Had family in town and took them here. The food and service were great. We had to ask for the music to be turned down but everything else was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great place for an intimate evening. Food was delicious , service we great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Very nice restaurant. Went for Valentines Day. Food was excellent. Only concern was the extra long wait for each course. I could tell the food sat a little while so it may have been my servers delay. Overall, good night- I will try again to see it was just the crowd size causing the delay. Every table was full.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The service was TERRIBLE. The waiter was nonchalant and didn’t accommodate to any of the issues we had. We ordered the crab bisque and it had WAY too much butter in it. You could literally dip your spoon in it and pull it out and it would be covered in butter. When we told her we couldn’t eat it because of the amount of butter, she just said okay and didn’t offer any other options. Since this is a “fancy” and “high end” restaurant, I was expecting the service to be A1. The waiter was rude when it came to our issues and questions. The price was WAY too high for the food amount. It wasn’t worth the price at all. I won’t be coming back here again. I wish I knew the waiters name so that I could tell the manager about her.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine date with my wife. Seated in the bar without an option for dining room seating. Heating inadequate for dining and lacking in any intimacy for event. Food quality poor. Wait service good. Value marginal for expense. Disappointing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Nice restaurant. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great Evening with attention to detail from everyone involved. Diane was an accomplished server and communicated with the table flawlessly. Our meals were wonderfully prepared by the kitchen and suitably portioned. Very tasty and fresh. Cocktails were smooth and on point. Will certainly return for another favorable evening dinning out. Only gig was the loud dinner party arriving half way through our evening and sitting on the same level that drowned out our evenings conversations at our table from time to time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food was great and the service was perfect, thanks for a wonderful night out!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food was spectacular. Well presented and very tasty. My only issue was with an old fashioned cocktail i had ordered. It was not at all what I asked for. It didn’t even have ice?? I would’ve tried another one but didn’t want to risk it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The seafood was good and the presentation was nice. It is simple, straight-forward seafood-fare. The oyster selection is very good for the area and everything was well-prepared. The server was friendly even though he had been over-seated for a busy theater Saturday. The wine selection was adequate, the bar could have been a bit more comprehensive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We went on Friday during Restaurant Week and you would think they would have been more prepared for a large crowd. We arrived on time but still had to wait almost 15 minutes. There is no place to wait at the door, we were always having to move because people were leaving or the wait staff was coming from downstairs. Service was extremely slow. Our dinner took 2.5 hours. My companions ordered the salmon dish and the tuna dish and they got huge portions. I ordered Crab Norfolk and I got a very paltry serving that was not very tasty and overcooked. My appetizer portion was bigger than my main dish. Of course, my order was from the cheaper menu. Get what you pay for. The staff were friendly and helpful, just rushing around and a little frenzied. I had been here on other time to the bar downstairs and was not impressed with the service then either. I will give dinner one more chance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

So we really really want to love this place again... It's been through a number of changes since it first opened over a decade ago; each time we tried it after the first turnover, there was no reason to return. The ambiance is lovely, a mix of contemporary and "loft"--exposed brick, etc, warm woods and curving lines; decor departs from the previous New Orleans vibe to a theme of sailboats and nautical flags. The menu has returned to a somewhat Louisiana core, with gumbo, crawfish beignets, etc., but seafood in general. We went during restaurant week. The staff is the BEST EVER: very congenial & efficient, everyone helping out, no "that's not my job/let me find your server". Cornbread was WAY too sweet and sticky (a problem since day one). The 5 fried oysters were fabulous, huge & sweet with a spicy, crisp just-right crust(not hard & thick). Raw oysters were good but a little surprised to only get 3 on the small side, on the $35 menu. Surf & turf (steak and scallops) was delicious & well-prepared in every way. Crab Norfolk, a classic dish invented in the 1930s, is comprised of lump crabmeat and butter. Not this version! Quite disappointing: scrap ends of crabmeat, not well seasoned--but overloaded with DRIED parsley!--and little to no liquid, especially no butter. And there was shell/cartilage every bite. Desserts: brownie sundae had very little ice cream and a dried out brownie. The bread pudding was flat-out awful, tough and dry layers of bread--with no discernable egg holding it together at all--in a puddle of plain white sugar glaze creating a soggy bottom layer. We've eaten 4 exquisite, different versions of New Orleans pudding (Commander's Palace, Brennan's, Palace Cafe and NOLA). Even among the "regular" recipes, it's a hard dish to mess up! They used to have a "beignet sundae" that was far preferable... So the jury's still out. We may return for some judicious choices from the regular menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

First time--very good. May be noisy when full. Restaurant week menu great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2018

We loved the fried oysters, Cajun pasta and sorbet, but the three other entrees on the $25 Downtown Restaurant Week options (fried bass, shrimp, and tuna) were just o.k. Exceptional service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

My wife and I had a very enjoyable and relaxing dinner before a show at Chrysler Hall.
Both the food and service were very good. Will will return for another visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The food was excellent, ambiance was great, and our server was friendly and helpful. However, the service was quite slow. Our server took are drink order promptly, but we didn’t receive them until about 20 minutes later. I only saw one server for the 35 people in the dining room. Liked the food and atmosphere a lot though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

We came he for dinner prior to seeing a play at Wells Theater being it is only a block from the theater. We have visited The Big Easy on another occasion also. We had our anniversary dinner here. We love the downstairs. For our anniversary, they had a man playing the saxophone and it was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Was great all of us had specials and they were en-pointe.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 19, 2017

Not as flavorful as we expected. Based on reviews, we thought we would give this restaurant a try. We stopped by on a Thursday early evening and we were among only a few guests present. We both ordered the lobster, shrimp and scallops seafood combination. The quality and quantity of seafood was decent, but even with the extra charge lemon/garlic butter, we both found that the meal did not have a lot of flavor, pretty bland tasting. My cocktail was pretty weak, while Mrs.’s red sangria was sweet, just as she likes it. The service was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was delicious and service was great. Overall a great place to go to!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2017

The restaurant was really nice - the food was very good and the restaurant had a nice atmosphere. We had a great meal before going to the Well's theatre, which is less than a block away. Very convenient location.

However, the service was sooooooo disappointing. We barely saw our waiter -- he was preoccupied with a large group. But even in the few times he came to us, he wasn't particularly friendly. The manager came by to check on us and apologized for giving us the waiter with the big group, but lets just say the service was far below expectations for a fine dining environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The décor and ambience are conducive to quiet conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

This place is my wife's favorite. I love it as well. The food is seasoned and cooked to perfection. The fried lobster tail and lump crab meat are my favorite when dining here. The service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Very good atmosphere and food. With the bed menu change it was hard comparing what I could and could not get from the online menu.

The service started out okay but being that I was seated next to two big parties; my wife and I felt somewhat neglected on refills and impeccable service.

I ended up having to go downstairs to the other part of the restaurant, ordered a drink and walked it back up.

For a Friday - I understand business and weekenders but it should not demote other patrons to feeling "secondrate".

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Delicious food and big portions! We had a wonderful evening and will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 8, 2017

The food and service was good. Great happy hours specials. The drinks were interesting. They had many unique drinks with a different twist. I liked the idea of some of them, but didn't love the ones I tried.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Our server was amazing. He was there when we needed him and let us be when we were enjoying our dinner. The food was very good and the warm cornbread muffins was the perfect accompaniment to our dishes. The bar ambiance down stairs was a little more casual than I would have preferred when I made the reservation, but our server was amazing and it made up for it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Awesome food and atmosphere, definitely on my list of top 5 places to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Out at this quaint little restaurant during Restaurant Week in Norfolk. The server was very attentive to our needs and helpful with the drink selection. Atmosphere was perfect for date night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Overall it was a good experience. I mostly went because I wanted some beignets and this was the only restaurant that sold them. The beignets were decent; however I wish had more than just 2 per order because if I'm paying $8.99 for the dessert I should get at least 5 of those beignets.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

It took a little bit for the server to get us water and introduce himself. The moment the food came, I completely forgot about that cause it was so delicious. I would recommend this place to anyone. The atmosphere was cozy and quaint. Perfect for a date or small group.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4