Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar

Norfolk Seafood Company is a place where seafood lovers can find a traditional plate of flounder, scallops or crab but without the fancy ingredients and inflated prices. The restaurant is centrally located in downtown Norfolk. The mission of the Norfolk Seafood Company is to bring tasty seafood to locals and tourists, minus the trip to the Oceanfront. The menu features everything a good seafood restaurant should offer, plus all the sides. A cold beer, wine or a specialty drink from the bar rounds off any meal.

111 Tazwell St
Norfolk, VA 23510
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Granby St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 227-6222

Website:
http://www.norfolkseafoodco.com/

Parking Details:
Valet after 5:30pm

Executive Chef:
Sean Olds

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Morgan: (757) 227-6222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Cozy (8)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Romantic (5)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Spicy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Great evening dining
Good location for many Norfolk activities
Friendly knowledgeable staff
Will return

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great oysters - good variety and reasonable price. Excellent martini. Server very nice. Prices reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Megan our waitress was very informative and attentive. She told us in advance that there maybe a little wait in food due to a huge party just placing their order and she brought corn muffins to the table when we asked. She explain the were a little over cooked. If she had never said anything we would have not known. They were delicious and golden.

The overall the food was very tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The quality of the oysters and rest of the seafood was top notch. The service while very friendly was extremely slow. I would base this on the service staff and not the kitchen as the server would disappear for long periods of time. My wine glass sat empty for more than 20 minutes before I was asked if I wanted a refill. Our wait for a dozen raw oysters was 40 minutes. With no bread or food on the table that can seem like a very long time. Over two hours and 15 minutes for a dinner for two is pushing it. The value on some items seems to be a little off. Oysters were priced fairly but $26.99 for 3 scallops and 4 shrimp with a side of cole slaw is steep. Overall pretty disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Overall good experience, however they must have been understaffed that night as the wait for service and food was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was good but not spectacular. Service was fine. We felt like we walked into a ghost town... hardly anyone there and very quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I were very excited to try this restaurant based on its wonderful reviews. We really appreciated the valet parking and the great menu. What soured our experience was the seating of a very large group of extremely loud women right next to us after we had let the hostess know that we were looking for a quieter table. Not 5 minutes into our experience did she sit this group and we had a pecifically chose the upstairs dining for the more formal experience. These women should have, clearly, been seated in the pub.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a 6:15 reservation to have dinner before an 8:00 performance at the Wells Theatre. We arrived on time and were seated right away. We had excellent service and the seafood dinners were outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Dinner was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food made me think of New Orleans. My date and I enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We arrived for an early seating due to afterwards heading over the the theatre for a play and were seated immediately. The timing was because other reviews said the service was slow which was not what we found to be true on this evening but it was not busy at this early time (6pm) so it was also quiet. We shared the app on the specials list of oysters bienville and they were fantastic as well as the complimentary muffins/soft butter. Since we had used the valet (which they let us keep the car there until after the play which is a nice touch) , we did't have anywhere to put leftovers and if we had both ordered entrees they would have gone to waste so we ordered the crab bisque which was tremendous as well as the crab and avocado salad and shared. Both dishes were over abundant with lump succulent crab meat. The avocado could have used another day of ripening but overall it was good. My Kettle One slightly dirty martini was delicious. There server, while pleasant seemed almost to have turned to walk away barely even having put the plates on the table. She didn't appear to be that busy. Good array of craft beers. This isn't our first visit and we've ran the gastro gambit and it can get quite pricey but the food is always good and for us, worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our waiter was either very new or just slow. We ordered etoufee, which is a stew-like meal no doubt made in advance. It took over an hour to get our order. It was crowded but not that bad. Maybe they need to hire more wait staff.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our steaks were both over cooked and bland. Lobster was over cooked and rubbery as well.
We waited outside for over 10 minutes for the valet to show up just to get our keys. We would never go back to this establishment again nor recommend it to anyone. It was a waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and waiter was great! It took a long time to get out food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had to give the restaurant two opportunities to do a review. The service the first time was good but our bill was really done incorrectly. It took them over week to correct it, but they did. The first time the food was truly over shadowed by the billing process
The second was great and the food was just as good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and service. Tables are a bit close together. Not great for quiet conversation or privacy, but not too noisy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed beautifully prepared meals while sitting by the warm fireplace before attending a Virginia Symphony Concert. We topped off the meal with a slice of key lime pie that was out of this world! The atmosphere was quite, romantic and perfect for both the young and young in heart. A good choice for a Valentines Day dinner with your sweet heart!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was beyond incredible. Scallop Risotto was life changing.

Valet parking was ideal.

I think trouble was brewing with their wait staff. One young man was learning the ropes of being a server and had the smiley, happy, friendly vibe down. While our server was perfectly attentive, he barely spoke a word, seemed extremely annoyed to be working that shift, and interacted with us as if we insulted his very existence. It was a Tuesday night though, so we didn't expect greatness.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wasn't pleased with overall food during this visit :
- Oysters came with no condiments
- Coke was flat, long wait for sweet tea
- Shrimp were small (only 2 with steak and shrimp meal)
- Steak wasn't good

Service was ok. Waitress/staff were friendly and apologetic.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Waitress was somewhat inattentive throughout the whole meal. Many different people ended up serving us during the meal to include the hostess who had seated us. Staff was friendly. Maybe they got swamped by number of customers? Had to wait an inordinate amount of time before our dinner check came at the end of the meal causing us to be delayed in arriving at the theater in a timely manner. Food was okay. We have mixed feelings about returning. Maybe the downstairs raw bar would be a better experience overall.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We made a reservation through Open Table for 6:30 on a Tuesday evening, and the reservation was confirmed. We promptly arrived at 6:20. We were told our table was not yet ready. We waited, and the time of our reservation passed. At 7:00 pm, the restaurant was still unable to provide us our table for 2. At 7:15, we had to give up on a table, because we had obligations later that evening and the time constraints would no longer allow us time to have dinner. We did not end up eating dinner at the restaurant due to their failure to have a table available for us even 45 minutes after our scheduled reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

You must like seafood if you come here because the menu is almost all seafood. They had a few other types of dishes on their specials. We got a small raw platter as an appetizer and everything was tasty. My husband got a fried seafood platter and I got a grill seafood combo. All the seafood tasted fresh. My husband's dish was fresh from the deep fryer. The sweet mashed potatoes were delicious. We finished it off with a brownie sundae, also excellent. The bread was excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fried oyster poboy and fried okra! Don't get much better than that!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Well-prepared food, with attentive servers in a lovely building. Varied menu with excellent specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This is my 4th trip to Norfolk Seafood Co. since last year so I figured I knew what to expect. I haven't been on a weekday or since Valentine's Day so I was unaware that the valet would be unavailable on this night. Upon arrival we received the sparkling water (which I didn't know I would be charged for). We ordered our regular she crab soup and full oysters rockefeller. Our reservation was at 7, we ordered around 7:30 but did not receive either until around 8:15. This seemed a bit excessive for an empty restaurant on a rainy Thursday night. Our Oysters were a bit overcooked, the she-crab soup was excellent as always. I can't rave enough about the soup its an excellent blend of quality with the pepper being spicy but not overbearing as well as good sized pieces of crab meat. Seafood jambalaya as well is a perfect blend of quality and quantity, the lump crab is not in short supply in this dish. A couple concerns notwithstanding, this restaurant is great and I plan on making future reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had made reservations at the restaurant for a special night out with my husband. When we arrived, we were seated in the bar downstairs, rather than the restaurant, which had plenty of seats available.
The bar had a nice vibe and would have been OK, except a large party arrived and it got very noisy, very quickly. I was never able to determine why we were not seated in the restaurant.
We ordered Oysters Rockefeller for an appetizer and they were wonderful!
My husband had the creole pasta and liked it very much. I had the gumbo and found it to be very salty and spicy for spicy's sake, rather than for taste. I like spicy, but this too spicy, and did not enhance the flavor.
The Catch of the Day was Salmon, which is not a fish local to Virginia, so I found it an unusual choice.
A comment card was handed out with the receipt which I don't feel is appropriate in a nice restaurant. This wasn't McDonald's.
So, overall, I don't plan to go back

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great place to eat and have drink... atmosphere is relaxing and casual. Food was great. Could stand a little more attention from the wait staff.... overall.... go and eat!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our first time dining here. We had reservations and were seated downstairs. The service was very good and friendly. We were expecting a bit more upscale ambiance. The oysters Rockefeller were superb! The blackened tuna bites were cooked too long and were accompanied by a very salty dip. The broiled seafood platter was overpriced at $30 and over cooked. The crab cake was good with plenty of crab but the two small shrimp, two small scallops, and small piece of fish were overcooked. We will not be returning for dinner but maybe for the Oyster Rockefeller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went there with my family. The waiter was very helpful in making suggestions and and helping us with our dining choices. All the courses were prepared deliciously and we truly enjoyed our meal. If you have tried it you should.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Here's the thing, if you say you are a seafood restaurant, I think you should offer more than one fish. (e.g. Legal Seafood in Boston) Don’t get me wrong, I like Salmon but I was expecting more options. We sat in the (below) bar area, which was cool but a bit noisy and understaffed. Apparently there was a private party upstairs and that could have affected the food and service, I suspect. I had to go to the bar to get my guest a drink b/c the waiter was a bit covered up with the 3-4 tables he was handling. Oh well....back to LA. for more of a real variety of seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place for a date night. If you love seafood or just that Cajun touch in your food, keep this place in mind! Valet parking was a breeze.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Up stairs was having a private party. So my family had dinner down stairs next to the bar. It was a little dark. Not the best for a family with kids. The waiter lacked personality. He was polite and attentive but lacked conversation. I ordered the special, which was blacked mahi. The portion was very small. Luckily I had the crab salad before. When I asked for the wifi, no one knew how to access it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was great, nice quaint restaurant with great staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was date night for my husband and I. The service and food were excellent. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love this place! everything my wife and I have tried has been excellent. We love the Rockefeller oysters especially!!! Everytime we come to Norfolk we go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The server was very helpful and knowledgeable. She was attentive without being hovering. The meal was great and we enjoy the ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fresh Fresh Fresh, and wonderfully prepared with attentive service. The soft shell crabs were the best we have had in quite awhile and the blue point oysters were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Ambiance was a little to dim. Need some more lighting. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This lace was great and had great happy hour prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.