About Nonna's at The Homestead

1 Woodridge Road
Glen Arbor, MI 49636
View Larger Map

Simple. Unpretentious. Good.

Situated in The Village at The Homestead, Nonna's, features an Italian inspired contemporary menu while highlighting the seasonal bounty of Northern Michigan by Chef John Piombo. Accompanied by full bar service and boutique wines. Served in a three level, timber-framed structure with natural stone fireplaces, a chef's table, two intimate dining areas and a warm and welcoming loft.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Monday 5pm-9pm (Closed Tuesdays)

Cross Street:
The Village

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-5222

Website:
http://www.thehomesteadresort.com/dining/nonnas/

Parking Details:
Resort Village Parking is available.

Public Transit:
BATA Bus loop with stop at the reception center

Executive Chef:
John M. Piombo

Private Party Facilities:
Upstairs Private Loft Dining.

Private Party Contact:
John Piombo: 2313345222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Seven Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Friday Dec 23, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Seven Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Friday Dec 23, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Seven Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Friday Dec 23, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Nonna's at The Homestead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Romantic (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fireplace (3)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Music (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The room was dark. Our waitress was inex ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The room was dark. Our waitress was inexperienced and poorly trained. The food was OK.

We have eaten at this place before and service and food were better then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Nonna's at the Homestead Resort was exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Nonna's at the Homestead Resort was excellent! I had never heard of many of the menu choices, but the server explained each one very well...and they rocked! The flavors mixed together were a creative experience to be enjoyed. We had great service and really enjoyed our anniversary dinner, including the light and flavorful tiramisu Nonna's provided.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was exceptional and the service was ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was exceptional and the service was awesome. If you're looking for a nice quite spot for a great meal and a truly exceptional wine and spirits list this is the spot.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice evening. Food was excellent. D ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very nice evening. Food was excellent. During the week at this time of year the resort is not too busy so our server was also the bartender and hostess. One additional person working at the time of our visit would have been beneficial. Regardless, great food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant is very small. You must ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The restaurant is very small. You must have a reservation.

A gentleman playing guitar was a nice touch for background music. The seafood stew was delicious as was the salmon.

Service was perfect. A nice evening while staying at the Homestead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best Risotto since my husband's Aunt mad ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Best Risotto since my husband's Aunt made it and she was 100% Italian and the best cook I ever met.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed ourselves and the cusine was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and the cusine was very good. Creative tastes. Would it be possible to receive the receipe for the poached salmon. I really enjoyed that, as I am very fond of salmon and had not prepared this sauce before. Thank you sha17@att.net

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great but they were out ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service was great but they were out of some dishes already at 7.30pm. The eggplant Parmesan was excellent - not breaded but shin slices layered with sauce and just enough mozzarella, then baked in its own dish until melted together and piping delicious. Best I've had in northern Michigan.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a lovely dinner. We sat outside s ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. We sat outside since it was such a nice area and the weather was pleasant. The food was delicious, even better than the last time (Baka salmon and the twin beef filet) sauces were amazingly flavorful.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With reservations, we waited for an hour ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

With reservations, we waited for an hour and a half without receiving any food before leaving. The waitress told us there was a wedding that was taking priority. Why were they even open?

Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The restaurant only had a few people sea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The restaurant only had a few people seated for dinner, yet the service was extremely slow, it could have just been our waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The service was a bit slow, servers stre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The service was a bit slow, servers stretched too thin covering too many tables (no fault of theirs). Made for a longer dinner than planned but the food was excellent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Rude waitress after asking for a twist o ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Rude waitress after asking for a twist of lemon for my drink I had to get it from the bar myself. She saw me do this and offered no apologies

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

First time dining at Noona's Tavern. We ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 29, 2016

First time dining at Noona's Tavern. Went there on a whim, but didn't realize it was up scale (Tavern?) Was seated outside as we were in too casual of attire. Atmosphere outside was very nery nice and picturesque. I had the Salmon but felt it was over seadoned worh herbs and too much sauce for my taste. My husband had the Lobster snd Shrimp pasta in a red sauce. Likes his more but the lobster was tough. Overall a nice experience but wouldn't probably dine there again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic! Our waitress was ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was fantastic! Our waitress was out of this world!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine! Four of us in our ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food and wine! Four of us in our party and everyone cleaned their plate. Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our third visit to Nonna's. On ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was our third visit to Nonna's. On previous visits, though the food has always been good, the service has been poor and the bartender couldn't make a martini; this time we were pleased to find that the service was wonderful and the martinis excellent. The chef even sent out a complimentary white fish pate, which was delicious. Will certainly return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Nonna's. The food was excellent. The service was great and overall we enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations and this was our on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We made reservations and this was our one nice dinner out. My son really wanted to eat there. We arrived for our reservation and were put into a booth so tight that we could barely fit and had to move. Couldn't find anyone to talk to so we just moved ourselves. I found most of the restaurants at The Homestrad (except for the breakfast place, where everyone was very friendly) to act put out that we wanted to eat. Vety strange to me for a tourist town in a resort community at The Homestead. The food was decent, but I would probably not go back for all of the reasons mentioned above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Smell of mold/mildew in dining area.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Smell of mold/mildew in dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Excellent service as well as outstanding ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service as well as outstanding food. The outdoor dining deck was quite nice as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great, also the wine ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The atmosphere was great, also the wine. The food was not quite ok

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't bulk this in with your typical hot ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Don't bulk this in with your typical hotel/resort restaurant experience, this is really delicious, high quality, well-prepared food at a great value.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most staff recommended this restaurant. ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Most staff recommended this restaurant. Although the service and food was good, the food was not outstanding. I do not feel the price reflects the quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This restaurant, one of the very few in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 25, 2016

This restaurant, one of the very few in the Homestead resort, needs some updating. The atmosphere was stuffy on a hot summer night without AC. The interior could use a face lift. The quality of the food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Service was excellent! Appetizer and win ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was excellent! Appetizer and wine was the beginning of what we would hope was a great dinner but main entrée of eggplant parmesan was a total let down. Skin was left on and became very bitter and eggplant was very mushy. We were given a special desert for my daughters 25th birthday but that turned out also horrible. Tiramisu desert that was what a 12year could have done!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

We were treated attentively and didn't l ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were treated attentively and didn't lack for anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Limited menu. Wine we had selected was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Limited menu. Wine we had selected was not available. Dessert menu did not include an ice cream dish which was disappointing. Service was fair but, in defense

of our server, restaurant was very understaffed. Servers had to bus there own table as well as get their drinks, take orders, serve food and clear tables. No support staff available. The reason we went to Nonna's was because we were staying at The Homestead and did not want to leave

the property. If we were to return to The Homestead, may return to Nonna's. I would not go out of my way however, to eat here again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We dined at Nonna's a couple of years ag ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We dined at Nonna's a couple of years ago and enjoyed the restaurant then and it didn't disappoint this time, either! We like eating inside due to the ambience. Outside is nice but mainly families eat outside. We had their salad which was arugula, radicchio, and endive with a nice vinaigrette. For the main course we had the raviolis with spinach and cheese. The best part was the sauce over the raviolis which made this dish delicious. Their wine list was quite varied and large!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was OK for price,very convenient if ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was OK for price,very convenient if staying at The Homestead.Always seemed to have light bulbs burned out.Over table and bathroom.No music. Hostess was also waitress.Whole experience was OK but wouldn't make special trip to it if not staying here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My reservation was for Friday night, and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2016

My reservation was for Friday night, and we enjoyed some risotto, lamb and Flowers pinot. The guitarist was good but it interfered with conversation. Our server was very good in a party of 9, changed from my reservation at 7:30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rude. Don't challenge guests when they e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Rude. Don't challenge guests when they explain what they don't like about a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent family friendly authentic Ital ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent family friendly authentic Italian at Homestead Resort. Best Lamb Chops in ages! Good salads, creamy burrata, fresh bread with good evoo, enjoyed all entrees, good wine list, full bar, friendly service. Dined there twice during our stay. Only miss was a pasta special that was very undercooked (and we like al dente). Otherwise very good. Desserts were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Below average food. We had to send back ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Below average food. We had to send back entre and appetizer.

General manager and other staff quit the day we were there.

No bussers, no bar tender, one waitress who was over worked.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Got there and the doors were locked! Th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Got there and the doors were locked! Thanks open table. ☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect evening! The food, service, and ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Perfect evening! The food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely view by waterfall, excellent serv ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely view by waterfall, excellent service, delicious food for all courses. We highly recommend Nonna's for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was not. It ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was very good, service was not. It took over 10 minutes to even be addressed after we were seated. We ordered drinks, and it took another 10-15 minutes, we were seated 5 feet from the bar... The waitress seemed upset and was not very polite when our group inquired about the food. The waitress was also quick to tell us, "No we don't have that." or "No, we can't do that." rather than offer substitutions or other options. That being said, I thought the food was very good, I ordered the porterhouse, others in my group ordered the fillet and lobster and everyone was happy with their choices. The desserts were also good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Hard to find, entrance door was locked, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Hard to find, entrance door was locked, food was meh. For tourists season, this place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We both ordered the lamb but then our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2016

We both ordered the lamb but then our server said there was only one available, so my husband changed to the linguine with Caribbean lobster and shrimp.We both enjoyed our entrees. The lamb was seasoned and cooked perfectly....extremely tender & juicy. It was accompanied with asparagus & potatoes, also perfectly prepared. We shared a salad and mussels as a starter & bought a $100 bottle of wine. We would definitely come back when we are vacationing in the area again. My only complaint would be that our table was a little too close to the couple next to us....felt like they could join in on our conversation and vise versa. We were there on a Monday night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.