About Nonna's at The Homestead

1 Woodridge Road
Glen Arbor, MI 49636
View Larger Map

Simple. Unpretentious. Good.

Situated in The Village at The Homestead, Nonna's, features an Italian inspired contemporary menu while highlighting the seasonal bounty of Northern Michigan by Chef John Piombo. Accompanied by full bar service and boutique wines. Served in a three level, timber-framed structure with natural stone fireplaces, a chef's table, two intimate dining areas and a warm and welcoming loft.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Monday 5pm-9pm (Closed Tuesdays)

Cross Street:
The Village

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-5222

Website:
http://www.thehomesteadresort.com/dining/nonnas/

Parking Details:
Resort Village Parking is available.

Public Transit:
BATA Bus loop with stop at the reception center

Executive Chef:
John M. Piombo

Private Party Facilities:
Upstairs Private Loft Dining.

Private Party Contact:
John Piombo: 2313345222x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nonna's at The Homestead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
74 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and wine! Four of us in our ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and wine! Four of us in our party and everyone cleaned their plate. Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our third visit to Nonna's. On ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our third visit to Nonna's. On previous visits, though the food has always been good, the service has been poor and the bartender couldn't make a martini; this time we were pleased to find that the service was wonderful and the martinis excellent. The chef even sent out a complimentary white fish pate, which was delicious. Will certainly return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Nonna's. The food was excellent. The service was great and overall we enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations and this was our on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We made reservations and this was our one nice dinner out. My son really wanted to eat there. We arrived for our reservation and were put into a booth so tight that we could barely fit and had to move. Couldn't find anyone to talk to so we just moved ourselves. I found most of the restaurants at The Homestrad (except for the breakfast place, where everyone was very friendly) to act put out that we wanted to eat. Vety strange to me for a tourist town in a resort community at The Homestead. The food was decent, but I would probably not go back for all of the reasons mentioned above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Smell of mold/mildew in dining area.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Smell of mold/mildew in dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Excellent service as well as outstanding ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service as well as outstanding food. The outdoor dining deck was quite nice as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great, also the wine ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The atmosphere was great, also the wine. The food was not quite ok

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't bulk this in with your typical hot ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Don't bulk this in with your typical hotel/resort restaurant experience, this is really delicious, high quality, well-prepared food at a great value.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most staff recommended this restaurant. ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Most staff recommended this restaurant. Although the service and food was good, the food was not outstanding. I do not feel the price reflects the quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This restaurant, one of the very few in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This restaurant, one of the very few in the Homestead resort, needs some updating. The atmosphere was stuffy on a hot summer night without AC. The interior could use a face lift. The quality of the food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Service was excellent! Appetizer and win ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was excellent! Appetizer and wine was the beginning of what we would hope was a great dinner but main entrée of eggplant parmesan was a total let down. Skin was left on and became very bitter and eggplant was very mushy. We were given a special desert for my daughters 25th birthday but that turned out also horrible. Tiramisu desert that was what a 12year could have done!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

We were treated attentively and didn't l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were treated attentively and didn't lack for anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Limited menu. Wine we had selected was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Limited menu. Wine we had selected was not available. Dessert menu did not include an ice cream dish which was disappointing. Service was fair but, in defense

of our server, restaurant was very understaffed. Servers had to bus there own table as well as get their drinks, take orders, serve food and clear tables. No support staff available. The reason we went to Nonna's was because we were staying at The Homestead and did not want to leave

the property. If we were to return to The Homestead, may return to Nonna's. I would not go out of my way however, to eat here again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We dined at Nonna's a couple of years ag ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We dined at Nonna's a couple of years ago and enjoyed the restaurant then and it didn't disappoint this time, either! We like eating inside due to the ambience. Outside is nice but mainly families eat outside. We had their salad which was arugula, radicchio, and endive with a nice vinaigrette. For the main course we had the raviolis with spinach and cheese. The best part was the sauce over the raviolis which made this dish delicious. Their wine list was quite varied and large!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was OK for price,very convenient if ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was OK for price,very convenient if staying at The Homestead.Always seemed to have light bulbs burned out.Over table and bathroom.No music. Hostess was also waitress.Whole experience was OK but wouldn't make special trip to it if not staying here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My reservation was for Friday night, and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My reservation was for Friday night, and we enjoyed some risotto, lamb and Flowers pinot. The guitarist was good but it interfered with conversation. Our server was very good in a party of 9, changed from my reservation at 7:30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rude. Don't challenge guests when they e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Rude. Don't challenge guests when they explain what they don't like about a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent family friendly authentic Ital ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent family friendly authentic Italian at Homestead Resort. Best Lamb Chops in ages! Good salads, creamy burrata, fresh bread with good evoo, enjoyed all entrees, good wine list, full bar, friendly service. Dined there twice during our stay. Only miss was a pasta special that was very undercooked (and we like al dente). Otherwise very good. Desserts were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Below average food. We had to send back ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Below average food. We had to send back entre and appetizer.

General manager and other staff quit the day we were there.

No bussers, no bar tender, one waitress who was over worked.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Got there and the doors were locked! Th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Got there and the doors were locked! Thanks open table. ☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect evening! The food, service, and ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Perfect evening! The food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely view by waterfall, excellent serv ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely view by waterfall, excellent service, delicious food for all courses. We highly recommend Nonna's for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was not. It ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was very good, service was not. It took over 10 minutes to even be addressed after we were seated. We ordered drinks, and it took another 10-15 minutes, we were seated 5 feet from the bar... The waitress seemed upset and was not very polite when our group inquired about the food. The waitress was also quick to tell us, "No we don't have that." or "No, we can't do that." rather than offer substitutions or other options. That being said, I thought the food was very good, I ordered the porterhouse, others in my group ordered the fillet and lobster and everyone was happy with their choices. The desserts were also good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We both ordered the lamb but then our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We both ordered the lamb but then our server said there was only one available, so my husband changed to the linguine with Caribbean lobster and shrimp.We both enjoyed our entrees. The lamb was seasoned and cooked perfectly....extremely tender & juicy. It was accompanied with asparagus & potatoes, also perfectly prepared. We shared a salad and mussels as a starter & bought a $100 bottle of wine. We would definitely come back when we are vacationing in the area again. My only complaint would be that our table was a little too close to the couple next to us....felt like they could join in on our conversation and vise versa. We were there on a Monday night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The best lamb chops I've ever had...done ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The best lamb chops I've ever had...done perfectly and quite large. Soup was also excellent.

The server was very pleasant, but lacked abit of table class...forgot our utensils put them on the table in the same spot so we had to pick them up for ourselves.

Otherwise, the meal was just great.

George

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary at Nonna's. We had dinner on a Sunday night in June and the restaurant was almost empty. However, when we were seated we walked past MANY empty tables and were seated right next to another couple. My husband asked to be seated at another table and we were. Three feet away. The other couple let soon after but another couple arrived and were seated right next to us. We were so close that if I had extended my arm I would have touched them. Keep in mind, the restaurant was almost completely empty. It ruined the meal for us and we left quickly. If the restaurant has been full the noise would have made it possible to still speak somewhat privately, however, since it was dead quiet and simply awkward to be seated that close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Everyone enjoyed their entree except me. ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their entree except me...the black squid was not tasty, nor was the chopped salad... Very bitter tasting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic Italian Fine Dining, great prices

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We dined here two nights and had two great experiences! It was very authentic and very reasonable prices!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for couples to have dinner at ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place for couples to have dinner at, but to pricey for family's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Let Down

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Eaten here twice before on getaway weekends and the food was excellent. This time it was disappointing. My steak was "well" salted and cooked beyond the medium I asked for. The White fish my wife ordered was also over done. Nothing was uneatable or anything to complain about, just not up to what our past experience had us salivating for. Perhaps its being here early in the season, they are just getting going and are not running a full tilt. The 2 other times were in September, when things were winding down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a wonderful time and a great wait ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a wonderful time and a great waitress. Food was good and we loved the value of Restaurant Week.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner for 6 during Restaurant Week

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Frankly we were all a bit disappointed with the meal, not the standard we expect at Nonna's.

The entrees were small, dried-out chicken (strips--not like chicken breast should be) but the 1st courses and desserts were delicious. One friend who ordered off the menu was not able to get a simple green salad, nor did they have soup to substitute, nor did they have a dessert to offer him, not even ice cream! He didn't make a big deal of it, but said the food was just okay.

Our server wasn't exactly too attentive either . . . I had trouble getting my water glass re-filled.

Altogether it wasn't the special meal that we thought we'd have at Nonna's, for sure.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Nonna's chef & staff are amazing

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This gem is in the homestead resort but open to the public. Even the amuse is wonderful, coconut crusted shrimp!!! We are never disappointed with food or service here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

we had a great time....went there in what was considered the off season but the food was fantastic, menu really good and the wine list was very diverse....can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was dubious

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Nonna's has received mixed reviews. Visited on a snowy night when most sensible people would have stayed home. I was the only customer. Took the advice for the arugula salad and the frutti de mar, both of which were very ample and very good. Becky was the hostess, bartender, and server. I appreciated her recommendations. I will certainly return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner with friends

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice dinner with friends. Good food, outstanding service and a quiet atmosphere; we could actually hear each other without needing to shout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Expected more

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed a weekend of skiing and relaxing at the Homestead Resort in February. We splurged on dinner at Nonna's Saturday night. The service was excellent as there were very few diners that night. My husband and I ordered the Whitefish and Beef Filet. The main entrees were tasty but not exceptional and not worth the price. The meal and dining experience was ok but not something we would repeat.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very impressed with food and service. Definitely coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I didn't have any expectations going in, but boy was I wildly surprised. Every option I tasted was an option I'd recommend! Try the steak, the pastas, the salads. Clearly, the chef knows his stuff! The wine was exceptional, the food off the charts. 10/10.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caleb is fantastic, great food

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Caleb is fantastic, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.