About Nonna's at The Homestead

1 Woodridge Road
Glen Arbor, MI 49636
View Larger Map

Simple. Unpretentious. Good.

Situated in The Village at The Homestead, Nonna's, features an Italian inspired contemporary menu while highlighting the seasonal bounty of Northern Michigan by Chef John Piombo. Accompanied by full bar service and boutique wines. Served in a three level, timber-framed structure with natural stone fireplaces, a chef's table, two intimate dining areas and a warm and welcoming loft.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday-Saturday 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
The Village

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-5222

Website:
http://www.thehomesteadresort.com/dining/nonnas/

Parking Details:
Resort Village Parking is available.

Public Transit:
BATA Bus loop with stop at the reception center

Executive Chef:
John M. Piombo

Private Party Facilities:
Upstairs Private Loft Dining.

Private Party Contact:
John Piombo: 2313345222x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nonna's at The Homestead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

romantic (12)
fit for foodies (9)
special occasion (9)
See All
notable wine list (8)
scenic view (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
good for groups (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
47 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Fine Dining, great prices

Dined 5 days ago

We dined here two nights and had two great experiences! It was very authentic and very reasonable prices!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice place for couples to have dinner at ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place for couples to have dinner at, but to pricey for family's.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Let Down

Dined on May 13, 2016

Eaten here twice before on getaway weekends and the food was excellent. This time it was disappointing. My steak was "well" salted and cooked beyond the medium I asked for. The White fish my wife ordered was also over done. Nothing was uneatable or anything to complain about, just not up to what our past experience had us salivating for. Perhaps its being here early in the season, they are just getting going and are not running a full tilt. The 2 other times were in September, when things were winding down.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time and a great wait ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a wonderful time and a great waitress. Food was good and we loved the value of Restaurant Week.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Dinner for 6 during Restaurant Week

Dined on May 5, 2016

Frankly we were all a bit disappointed with the meal, not the standard we expect at Nonna's. The entrees were small, dried-out chicken (strips--not like chicken breast should be) but the 1st courses and desserts were delicious. One friend who ordered off the menu was not able to get a simple green salad, nor did they have soup to substitute, nor did they have a dessert to offer him, not even ice cream! He didn't make a big deal of it, but said the food was just okay. Our server wasn't exactly too attentive either . . . I had trouble getting my water glass re-filled. Altogether it wasn't the special meal that we thought we'd have at Nonna's, for sure.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nonna's chef & staff are amazing

Dined on May 4, 2016

This gem is in the homestead resort but open to the public. Even the amuse is wonderful, coconut crusted shrimp!!! We are never disappointed with food or service here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice

Dined on April 9, 2016

we had a great time....went there in what was considered the off season but the food was fantastic, menu really good and the wine list was very diverse....can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was dubious

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Nonna's has received mixed reviews. Visited on a snowy night when most sensible people would have stayed home. I was the only customer. Took the advice for the arugula salad and the frutti de mar, both of which were very ample and very good. Becky was the hostess, bartender, and server. I appreciated her recommendations. I will certainly return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner with friends

Dined on March 19, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice dinner with friends. Good food, outstanding service and a quiet atmosphere; we could actually hear each other without needing to shout.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Expected more

Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed a weekend of skiing and relaxing at the Homestead Resort in February. We splurged on dinner at Nonna's Saturday night. The service was excellent as there were very few diners that night. My husband and I ordered the Whitefish and Beef Filet. The main entrees were tasty but not exceptional and not worth the price. The meal and dining experience was ok but not something we would repeat.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Very impressed with food and service. Definitely coming back.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on February 12, 2016

I didn't have any expectations going in, but boy was I wildly surprised. Every option I tasted was an option I'd recommend! Try the steak, the pastas, the salads. Clearly, the chef knows his stuff! The wine was exceptional, the food off the charts. 10/10.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Caleb is fantastic, great food

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Caleb is fantastic, great food

food5
ambience5
service5

fantastic

Dined on November 2, 2015

food is consistently GREAT!! service tops! thank you!! A+

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3

Small Italian Eatery

Dined on October 14, 2015

Excellent food and conveniently located in The Village for Homestead guests.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on October 12, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner. I had the spinach stuffed pasta and my husband had steak. Both were very good. Excellent wine choices and I think prices were fair. Our waiter was wonderful. Overall a very nice evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Good start, slow finish

Dined on October 10, 2015

Nonna's was a very nice experience. Wellington was very attentive and displayed outstanding service. The meal was excellent, but when we were ready to go, nobody was to be found. I had to get up and track down somebody to pay the bill.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Amuse Bouche or antipasto ?

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

Pleasant dining room. Good service; Marsha was a very nice server. Oddest amuse Bouche ever: pimento cheese and salami! Sounds like an antipasto to me. Deconstructed or not yet come stricter salad of an avocado next to two wedges of lettuce. Carpaccio was pounded almost too thin. Steak very good. Sides good as well. Spaghetti in tomato sauce with lobster and shrimp on it was interesting but a bit odd; somehow the sauce and the seafood seemed like two different tastes rather than a great combination. Nice wine selections as usual.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service!

Dined on September 19, 2015

Great Food and superb service!! Our waitress was exceptional and the food was just as good. Very nice wine list as well. Very nice setting as well. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

definite do again

Dined on September 10, 2015

We dined on a Thursday night post Labor Day. It was not busy. All four of us enjoyed our meals. The service was excellent. The duck and salmon were especially good. The Caprese Salad was fresh and generously portioned.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4

Better than average

vip
Dined on September 9, 2015

Small but charming. Food was ok in a very nice setting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food...amazing restaurant

Dined on August 29, 2015

This is our third time at Nonna's. The staff is always welcoming, the chef is amazing...AMAZING! I ordered the filet minon and my husband order the lamb. He was drooling and said it was the best lamb that has ever graced his lips. I felt the same way about my filet. Simply delicious and we will definitely return. You get a good amount of food for the price you pay, but the restaurant is pricey and I definitely don't recommend bringing children under the age of 16.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Pleasant experience but could be better

Dined on August 17, 2015

Waiter was friendly but lacked basic skills such as asking for drink order and offering dessert. Bread, salad and entrée-I had duck- were quite good. Wondered why no native fish on menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience1
service1

It was like they didn't know diners were coming

Dined on July 15, 2015

Something was going on in the management of the food services at the Homestead. Our maitre'd was poorly trained and rude. The restaurant did not open on time. Despite an empty restaurant below, our party of 5 adults and a baby were put in an attic with the extra chairs and linens. The arugula salad tasted terrible. The pork cheek in the rigatoni was gristly. Our server left the appetizers on the table through dessert, which he had to be prompted to bring. One of the appetizers was smelt that was so overcooked that little of it was eaten. There are far better options for Italian fare than Nonna's.

food4
ambience3
service5

The service is great we had an awesome t ...

vip
Dined on July 1, 2015

The service is great we had an awesome time on our anniversary

food4
ambience5
service4

A Charming Environment with Impressive Food

vip
Dined on June 12, 2015

We were in town from NYC and just loved this spot - thought it competed with any restaurant we eat at in New York! The food was delicious. The servers were very accommodating - a few kinks to iron out but nothing that would prevent us from returning. There was wonderful live music - a Spanish guitar - how can you top that? We were preparing for the M22 Challenge the following morning so we did not order any wine (sadly), but the wine list was impressive & well-priced. However, the next day we found ourselves sitting outside by the fire and the hostess at Nona's was considerate enough to send us down with a bottle and some glasses. The bottle knocked it out of the park.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Review of Nonna's

Dined on December 29, 2014

Nonna's is our favorite restaurant, and we routinely dine there. The food is consistently superb, the service is always outstanding, and the setting is lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was OK but it was a slow night ...

Dined on November 13, 2014

The food was OK but it was a slow night and the waiter seemed to be on automatic pilot.

food2
ambience4
service3

The restaurant was not busy so we enjoye ...

Dined on September 21, 2014

The restaurant was not busy so we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. The menu was a bit eclectic for our tastes and we had trouble making a selection. My steak was cooked perfectly, well, half of it was. The other half was well done. How do you do that? We loved the Homestead and if traveling in Michigan will stay there again.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Deligted

Dined on August 28, 2014

Our group of 7 was seated in the foyer which was perfectly private for us although the music with lyrics was a bit loud for conversation. Our waiter spoke with unusual sylabification and I was a bit insulted when he read the entire menu to us instead of simply highlighting a few items that the menu had fallen short of enticing. Our meals came at all different times and the waiter had to ask each person instead of remembering or checking his notes who ordered what. Aside from the waiter's unpolished skills, the food was completely fabulous and we all were delighted to have the area to ourselves. Both the host and waiter were engaging but careful not to interrupt various conversations. How does a restaurant "run out" of hot water for tea?

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service4

AC NOT WORKING

vip
Dined on August 23, 2014

We dined previously at Nonna and enjoyed our meal, so we decided to bring our guests. Unfortunately this experience was not up to par. The AC was not operational, and in addition to being stuffy in the restaurant, we were told the ceiling fans did not work.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Made reservation for our 25th wedding an ...

Dined on August 20, 2014

Made reservation for our 25th wedding anniversary on Open Table and when we arrived at Nonna's they had no record of a reservation for us and were booked up! Fortunately I had my I phone with a copy of the confirmation # so they found a table for us but was a stressful situation that shouldn't happen. Dinner was OK but not what I was expecting from the "high end" description from the Homestead people. Atmosphere was loud with many children(some well behaved some not so much). For the money( some entrees $39) you are better off taking a short drive to Glen Arbor, Leland or Traverse City.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

AMAZING DINNER!

Dined on August 20, 2014

We have been going to Nonna's for years, but this year when we visited GA, I think it was the BEST! Delicious salads, first course small plates and main course entrees. We loved it! They even go all out with grass fed beef, which is still rare these days in most restaurants even though it is soooo great and so much healthier for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasant surprise

Dined on July 23, 2014

Pleasant atmosphere. Quality food, especially the soup & salads. Good service. Good offering of local Michigan wine. Limited, but best local wines. Pastas failed to excite.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A big hit at the Homestead

Dined on July 21, 2014

Nonnna's is a delightful restaurant within the Homestead complex. Easy location just a few miles from downtown glen arbor. Their cocktail and wine selections are well matched with a tailored and sophisticated menu. We enjoyed calamari and grilled meatballs for appetizers accompanied by delicious complimentary bread with olives and garlic in oil. Pasta and entree selections were strong. Seafood stew and tagliatelle with rabbit confit. Service was friendly and helpful albeit a bit undereducated on menu details. Overall a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service5

Food was ok. Very limited menu. Seemed a ...

Dined on July 21, 2014

Food was ok. Very limited menu. Seemed a bit pricey. Wine was very good. We were seated outside next to a playground. Host never asked our preference for inside or out. We then asked to be moved inside. A waiter for the table next to us was explaining the entree choices to a couple and discouraged them from getting the meatballs, which we had just ordered. Very tacky! We were disappointed in the restaurant, especially since we went for my husband's special birthday celebration.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, even greater service

Dined on July 7, 2014

Amazing good with an option for all the different tastes in our group. Every meal was enjoyed by each of us. Our server knew the menu well and was eager to help us each make food choices that fit our personal likes. Very attentive

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service2

Good food, weak service

vip
Dined on July 5, 2014

The food was good, but the service was weak. We were a large party (6), but the staff seemed harried and confused with our orders. Some of our drink orders required multiple reminders to multiple waiters--and still took an exceedingly long time to arrive. Some of our orders were wrong (e.g., dressing on the side for our salads.) The waiters were nice but seemed rushed and brusque. One person smirked when we wanted our salads returned because they were dressed and we asked for dressing on the side. The person who explained menu items went through them so fast we could hardly make sense of what he said. After a waiter singled out one of our party as a "slow eater" who held up everyone else's entrees, the entrees suddenly arrived.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

4 of us ordered dinner, 3 were served. I ...

Dined on July 5, 2014

4 of us ordered dinner, 3 were served. I was done eating by the time our friend received his meal. Not the first time this has happened. My dinner was Sea bass which came with nothing but the fish. Ordered 2nd wine, was ready for the check by the time it came.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great good, service and wine!

Dined on July 4, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful night out without the kids at Nonnas! Great food, service and wine (Caymus - - our favorite)!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.