HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not bookable

This restaurant is closed temporarily. Check back soon

Nonna's at The Homestead

4.0
101 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (78)
  • Romantic (70)
  • Fit for Foodies (57)
Simple. Unpretentious. Good.

Situated in The Village at The Homestead, Nonna's, features an Italian inspired contemporary menu while highlighting the seasonal bounty of Northern Michigan by Chef John Piombo. Accompanied by full bar service and boutique wines. Served in a three level, timber-framed structure with natural stone fireplaces, a chef's table, two intimate dining areas and a warm and welcoming loft.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Italian, Italian, Modern European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Wednesday-Monday 5pm-9pm (Closed Tuesdays)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(231) 334-5222
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John M. Piombo
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Upstairs Private Loft Dining.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
John Piombo: (231) 334-5222
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
The Village
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Resort Village Parking is available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
BATA Bus loop with stop at the reception center
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 101 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0  based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Northern MI)
1.0  Dined on May 21, 2017

Well my reservation was accepted both over the phone and via Opentable, yet the restaurant was closed when we arrived. Pretty ridiculous mistake...

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
1.0  Dined on April 2, 2017

I am unable to review as the restaurant was closed when we arrived for our reservation.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Northern MI)
4.0  Dined on March 18, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, and wonderful wine list!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Northern MI)
5.0  Dined on March 11, 2017

Thank you for making our engagement so memorable. Nonna's is truly a hidden gem - we are so happy that we discovered it! We will continue to recommend it to friends and family. We are looking forward to our next meal at Nonna's!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined on February 24, 2017

Nonna's is a great spot for an intimate dinner. It's off the beaten path in Leelanau County in the Homestead Resort. It's quiet and cozy and the service is outstanding. Our server on our most recent visit, Lindsey, was personable and attentive but not overbearing. The food is a little high in price, but well prepared. We both had aged steak, which was cooked perfectly medium rare but otherwise not remarkable. The roasted vegetables, though, were flavorful and not overcooked. The chef typically provides a free appetizer which is always different and unique. We also received a free dessert as it was my wife's birthday. Ultimately, it's the atmosphere and service which win us back over the food. Even so, a night at Nonna's is a special treat.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful place. Great value. Definitely a hidden gem

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Grand Rapids)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my girlfriends birthday and Nonna's took amazing care of us. Our salad, appetizer and entrees were phenomenal and the chef catered to our needs. They even treated us to a unique appetizer and dessert!

Best place to eat at The Homestead by far.

Report
Helpful
vipPDB1 (Milwaukee)
4.0  Dined on January 19, 2017

Have been to Nonna's twice. Both times in winter with very few customers as Glen Arbor is more vibrant in the summer. Neither meal was disappointing and I would certainly go back. I will have to try Nonna's in the summer when it is busier to evaluate the service.

Report
Helpful
Pamela (Northern MI)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service were superb, as always. The menu changes often, and the choices are wonderful. The portion sizes are perfect. Nonna's is our absolutely favorite restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Northern MI)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoyed a very pleasurable dining experience. Our esrver, Ann, was professional and personable. See you next year;)). Jonathan Gould

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Northern MI)
5.0  Dined on December 10, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience! Incredible service, food, and atmosphere. I would recommend this to anyone.

Report
Helpful
RnB1 (Northern MI)
2.0  Dined on November 5, 2016

The room was dark. Our waitress was inexperienced and poorly trained. The food was OK.

We have eaten at this place before and service and food were better then.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Northern MI)
5.0  Dined on October 29, 2016

Nonna's at the Homestead Resort was excellent! I had never heard of many of the menu choices, but the server explained each one very well...and they rocked! The flavors mixed together were a creative experience to be enjoyed. We had great service and really enjoyed our anniversary dinner, including the light and flavorful tiramisu Nonna's provided.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Northern MI)
5.0  Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was exceptional and the service was awesome. If you're looking for a nice quite spot for a great meal and a truly exceptional wine and spirits list this is the spot.

Report
Helpful
Gerard (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on October 13, 2016

Very nice evening. Food was excellent. During the week at this time of year the resort is not too busy so our server was also the bartender and hostess. One additional person working at the time of our visit would have been beneficial. Regardless, great food and service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7