About Nonna's at The Homestead

1 Woodridge Road
Glen Arbor, MI 49636
View Larger Map

Simple. Unpretentious. Good.

Situated in The Village at The Homestead, Nonna's, features an Italian inspired contemporary menu while highlighting the seasonal bounty of Northern Michigan by Chef John Piombo. Accompanied by full bar service and boutique wines. Served in a three level, timber-framed structure with natural stone fireplaces, a chef's table, two intimate dining areas and a warm and welcoming loft.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Monday 5pm-9pm (Closed Tuesdays)

Cross Street:
The Village

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-5222

Website:
http://www.thehomesteadresort.com/dining/nonnas/

Parking Details:
Resort Village Parking is available.

Public Transit:
BATA Bus loop with stop at the reception center

Executive Chef:
John M. Piombo

Private Party Facilities:
Upstairs Private Loft Dining.

Private Party Contact:
John Piombo: 2313345222x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nonna's at The Homestead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

romantic (12)
special occasion (12)
fit for foodies (11)
See All
notable wine list (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
scenic view (7)
good for groups (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were treated attentively and didn't l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were treated attentively and didn't lack for anything.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Limited menu. Wine we had selected was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Limited menu. Wine we had selected was not available. Dessert menu did not include an ice cream dish which was disappointing. Service was fair but, in defense

of our server, restaurant was very understaffed. Servers had to bus there own table as well as get their drinks, take orders, serve food and clear tables. No support staff available. The reason we went to Nonna's was because we were staying at The Homestead and did not want to leave

the property. If we were to return to The Homestead, may return to Nonna's. I would not go out of my way however, to eat here again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We dined at Nonna's a couple of years ag ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We dined at Nonna's a couple of years ago and enjoyed the restaurant then and it didn't disappoint this time, either! We like eating inside due to the ambience. Outside is nice but mainly families eat outside. We had their salad which was arugula, radicchio, and endive with a nice vinaigrette. For the main course we had the raviolis with spinach and cheese. The best part was the sauce over the raviolis which made this dish delicious. Their wine list was quite varied and large!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was OK for price,very convenient if ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was OK for price,very convenient if staying at The Homestead.Always seemed to have light bulbs burned out.Over table and bathroom.No music. Hostess was also waitress.Whole experience was OK but wouldn't make special trip to it if not staying here.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My reservation was for Friday night, and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My reservation was for Friday night, and we enjoyed some risotto, lamb and Flowers pinot. The guitarist was good but it interfered with conversation. Our server was very good in a party of 9, changed from my reservation at 7:30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rude. Don't challenge guests when they e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Rude. Don't challenge guests when they explain what they don't like about a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent family friendly authentic Ital ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent family friendly authentic Italian at Homestead Resort. Best Lamb Chops in ages! Good salads, creamy burrata, fresh bread with good evoo, enjoyed all entrees, good wine list, full bar, friendly service. Dined there twice during our stay. Only miss was a pasta special that was very undercooked (and we like al dente). Otherwise very good. Desserts were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Below average food. We had to send back ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Below average food. We had to send back entre and appetizer.

General manager and other staff quit the day we were there.

No bussers, no bar tender, one waitress who was over worked.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Got there and the doors were locked! Th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Got there and the doors were locked! Thanks open table. ☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect evening! The food, service, and ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Perfect evening! The food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely view by waterfall, excellent serv ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely view by waterfall, excellent service, delicious food for all courses. We highly recommend Nonna's for a quiet dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was not. It ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was very good, service was not. It took over 10 minutes to even be addressed after we were seated. We ordered drinks, and it took another 10-15 minutes, we were seated 5 feet from the bar... The waitress seemed upset and was not very polite when our group inquired about the food. The waitress was also quick to tell us, "No we don't have that." or "No, we can't do that." rather than offer substitutions or other options. That being said, I thought the food was very good, I ordered the porterhouse, others in my group ordered the fillet and lobster and everyone was happy with their choices. The desserts were also good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We both ordered the lamb but then our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We both ordered the lamb but then our server said there was only one available, so my husband changed to the linguine with Caribbean lobster and shrimp.We both enjoyed our entrees. The lamb was seasoned and cooked perfectly....extremely tender & juicy. It was accompanied with asparagus & potatoes, also perfectly prepared. We shared a salad and mussels as a starter & bought a $100 bottle of wine. We would definitely come back when we are vacationing in the area again. My only complaint would be that our table was a little too close to the couple next to us....felt like they could join in on our conversation and vise versa. We were there on a Monday night.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The best lamb chops I've ever had...done ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The best lamb chops I've ever had...done perfectly and quite large. Soup was also excellent.

The server was very pleasant, but lacked abit of table class...forgot our utensils put them on the table in the same spot so we had to pick them up for ourselves.

Otherwise, the meal was just great.

George

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary at Nonna's. We had dinner on a Sunday night in June and the restaurant was almost empty. However, when we were seated we walked past MANY empty tables and were seated right next to another couple. My husband asked to be seated at another table and we were. Three feet away. The other couple let soon after but another couple arrived and were seated right next to us. We were so close that if I had extended my arm I would have touched them. Keep in mind, the restaurant was almost completely empty. It ruined the meal for us and we left quickly. If the restaurant has been full the noise would have made it possible to still speak somewhat privately, however, since it was dead quiet and simply awkward to be seated that close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Everyone enjoyed their entree except me. ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their entree except me...the black squid was not tasty, nor was the chopped salad... Very bitter tasting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic Italian Fine Dining, great prices

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We dined here two nights and had two great experiences! It was very authentic and very reasonable prices!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for couples to have dinner at ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place for couples to have dinner at, but to pricey for family's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Let Down

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Eaten here twice before on getaway weekends and the food was excellent. This time it was disappointing. My steak was "well" salted and cooked beyond the medium I asked for. The White fish my wife ordered was also over done. Nothing was uneatable or anything to complain about, just not up to what our past experience had us salivating for. Perhaps its being here early in the season, they are just getting going and are not running a full tilt. The 2 other times were in September, when things were winding down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a wonderful time and a great wait ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a wonderful time and a great waitress. Food was good and we loved the value of Restaurant Week.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner for 6 during Restaurant Week

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Frankly we were all a bit disappointed with the meal, not the standard we expect at Nonna's.

The entrees were small, dried-out chicken (strips--not like chicken breast should be) but the 1st courses and desserts were delicious. One friend who ordered off the menu was not able to get a simple green salad, nor did they have soup to substitute, nor did they have a dessert to offer him, not even ice cream! He didn't make a big deal of it, but said the food was just okay.

Our server wasn't exactly too attentive either . . . I had trouble getting my water glass re-filled.

Altogether it wasn't the special meal that we thought we'd have at Nonna's, for sure.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Nonna's chef & staff are amazing

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This gem is in the homestead resort but open to the public. Even the amuse is wonderful, coconut crusted shrimp!!! We are never disappointed with food or service here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

we had a great time....went there in what was considered the off season but the food was fantastic, menu really good and the wine list was very diverse....can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was dubious

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Nonna's has received mixed reviews. Visited on a snowy night when most sensible people would have stayed home. I was the only customer. Took the advice for the arugula salad and the frutti de mar, both of which were very ample and very good. Becky was the hostess, bartender, and server. I appreciated her recommendations. I will certainly return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner with friends

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice dinner with friends. Good food, outstanding service and a quiet atmosphere; we could actually hear each other without needing to shout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Expected more

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed a weekend of skiing and relaxing at the Homestead Resort in February. We splurged on dinner at Nonna's Saturday night. The service was excellent as there were very few diners that night. My husband and I ordered the Whitefish and Beef Filet. The main entrees were tasty but not exceptional and not worth the price. The meal and dining experience was ok but not something we would repeat.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very impressed with food and service. Definitely coming back.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I didn't have any expectations going in, but boy was I wildly surprised. Every option I tasted was an option I'd recommend! Try the steak, the pastas, the salads. Clearly, the chef knows his stuff! The wine was exceptional, the food off the charts. 10/10.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caleb is fantastic, great food

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Caleb is fantastic, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fantastic

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

food is consistently GREAT!! service tops! thank you!!

A+

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small Italian Eatery

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

Excellent food and conveniently located in The Village for Homestead guests.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Great food and service

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner. I had the spinach stuffed pasta and my husband had steak. Both were very good. Excellent wine choices and I think prices were fair. Our waiter was wonderful. Overall a very nice evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good start, slow finish

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Nonna's was a very nice experience. Wellington was very attentive and displayed outstanding service. The meal was excellent, but when we were ready to go, nobody was to be found. I had to get up and track down somebody to pay the bill.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Amuse Bouche or antipasto ?

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Pleasant dining room. Good service; Marsha was a very nice server. Oddest amuse Bouche ever: pimento cheese and salami! Sounds like an antipasto to me. Deconstructed or not yet come stricter salad of an avocado next to two wedges of lettuce. Carpaccio was pounded almost too thin. Steak very good. Sides good as well. Spaghetti in tomato sauce with lobster and shrimp on it was interesting but a bit odd; somehow the sauce and the seafood seemed like two different tastes rather than a great combination. Nice wine selections as usual.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome service!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Great Food and superb service!! Our waitress was exceptional and the food was just as good. Very nice wine list as well. Very nice setting as well. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

definite do again

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

We dined on a Thursday night post Labor Day. It was not busy. All four of us enjoyed our meals. The service was excellent. The duck and salmon were especially good. The Caprese Salad was fresh and generously portioned.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than average

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

Small but charming. Food was ok in a very nice setting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Amazing food...amazing restaurant

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

This is our third time at Nonna's. The staff is always welcoming, the chef is amazing...AMAZING! I ordered the filet minon and my husband order the lamb. He was drooling and said it was the best lamb that has ever graced his lips. I felt the same way about my filet. Simply delicious and we will definitely return. You get a good amount of food for the price you pay, but the restaurant is pricey and I definitely don't recommend bringing children under the age of 16.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant experience but could be better

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 17, 2015

Waiter was friendly but lacked basic skills such as asking for drink order and offering dessert. Bread, salad and entrée-I had duck- were quite good. Wondered why no native fish on menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It was like they didn't know diners were coming

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2015

Something was going on in the management of the food services at the Homestead. Our maitre'd was poorly trained and rude. The restaurant did not open on time. Despite an empty restaurant below, our party of 5 adults and a baby were put in an attic with the extra chairs and linens. The arugula salad tasted terrible. The pork cheek in the rigatoni was gristly. Our server left the appetizers on the table through dessert, which he had to be prompted to bring. One of the appetizers was smelt that was so overcooked that little of it was eaten. There are far better options for Italian fare than Nonna's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.