Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 4.50mi
  3. Distance: 4.87mi
  4. Distance: 7.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 4.50mi
  3. Distance: 4.87mi
  4. Distance: 7.16mi

About Nonna's at The Homestead

Simple. Unpretentious. Good.

Situated in The Village at The Homestead, Nonna's, features an Italian inspired contemporary menu while highlighting the seasonal bounty of Northern Michigan by Chef John Piombo. Accompanied by full bar service and boutique wines. Served in a three level, timber-framed structure with natural stone fireplaces, a chef's table, two intimate dining areas and a warm and welcoming loft.

1 Woodridge Road
Glen Arbor, MI 49636
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Monday 5pm-9pm (Closed Tuesdays)

Cross Street:
The Village

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-5222

Website:
http://www.thehomesteadresort.com/dining/nonnas/

Parking Details:
Resort Village Parking is available.

Public Transit:
BATA Bus loop with stop at the reception center

Executive Chef:
John M. Piombo

Private Party Facilities:
Upstairs Private Loft Dining.

Private Party Contact:
John Piombo: (231) 334-5222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Well my reservation was accepted both over the phone and via Opentable, yet the restaurant was closed when we arrived. Pretty ridiculous mistake...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I am unable to review as the restaurant was closed when we arrived for our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, and wonderful wine list!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Thank you for making our engagement so memorable. Nonna's is truly a hidden gem - we are so happy that we discovered it! We will continue to recommend it to friends and family. We are looking forward to our next meal at Nonna's!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Nonna's is a great spot for an intimate dinner. It's off the beaten path in Leelanau County in the Homestead Resort. It's quiet and cozy and the service is outstanding. Our server on our most recent visit, Lindsey, was personable and attentive but not overbearing. The food is a little high in price, but well prepared. We both had aged steak, which was cooked perfectly medium rare but otherwise not remarkable. The roasted vegetables, though, were flavorful and not overcooked. The chef typically provides a free appetizer which is always different and unique. We also received a free dessert as it was my wife's birthday. Ultimately, it's the atmosphere and service which win us back over the food. Even so, a night at Nonna's is a special treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful place. Great value. Definitely a hidden gem

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my girlfriends birthday and Nonna's took amazing care of us. Our salad, appetizer and entrees were phenomenal and the chef catered to our needs. They even treated us to a unique appetizer and dessert!

Best place to eat at The Homestead by far.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Have been to Nonna's twice. Both times in winter with very few customers as Glen Arbor is more vibrant in the summer. Neither meal was disappointing and I would certainly go back. I will have to try Nonna's in the summer when it is busier to evaluate the service.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service were superb, as always. The menu changes often, and the choices are wonderful. The portion sizes are perfect. Nonna's is our absolutely favorite restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoyed a very pleasurable dining experience. Our esrver, Ann, was professional and personable. See you next year;)). Jonathan Gould

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience! Incredible service, food, and atmosphere. I would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The room was dark. Our waitress was inexperienced and poorly trained. The food was OK.

We have eaten at this place before and service and food were better then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Nonna's at the Homestead Resort was excellent! I had never heard of many of the menu choices, but the server explained each one very well...and they rocked! The flavors mixed together were a creative experience to be enjoyed. We had great service and really enjoyed our anniversary dinner, including the light and flavorful tiramisu Nonna's provided.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was exceptional and the service was awesome. If you're looking for a nice quite spot for a great meal and a truly exceptional wine and spirits list this is the spot.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very nice evening. Food was excellent. During the week at this time of year the resort is not too busy so our server was also the bartender and hostess. One additional person working at the time of our visit would have been beneficial. Regardless, great food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The restaurant is very small. You must have a reservation.
A gentleman playing guitar was a nice touch for background music. The seafood stew was delicious as was the salmon.
Service was perfect. A nice evening while staying at the Homestead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Best Risotto since my husband's Aunt made it and she was 100% Italian and the best cook I ever met.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and the cusine was very good. Creative tastes. Would it be possible to receive the receipe for the poached salmon. I really enjoyed that, as I am very fond of salmon and had not prepared this sauce before. Thank you sha17@att.net

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service was great but they were out of some dishes already at 7.30pm. The eggplant Parmesan was excellent - not breaded but shin slices layered with sauce and just enough mozzarella, then baked in its own dish until melted together and piping delicious. Best I've had in northern Michigan.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. We sat outside since it was such a nice area and the weather was pleasant. The food was delicious, even better than the last time (Baka salmon and the twin beef filet) sauces were amazingly flavorful.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

With reservations, we waited for an hour and a half without receiving any food before leaving. The waitress told us there was a wedding that was taking priority. Why were they even open?

Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The restaurant only had a few people seated for dinner, yet the service was extremely slow, it could have just been our waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The service was a bit slow, servers stretched too thin covering too many tables (no fault of theirs). Made for a longer dinner than planned but the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Rude waitress after asking for a twist of lemon for my drink I had to get it from the bar myself. She saw me do this and offered no apologies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 29, 2016

First time dining at Noona's Tavern. Went there on a whim, but didn't realize it was up scale (Tavern?) Was seated outside as we were in too casual of attire. Atmosphere outside was very nery nice and picturesque. I had the Salmon but felt it was over seadoned worh herbs and too much sauce for my taste. My husband had the Lobster snd Shrimp pasta in a red sauce. Likes his more but the lobster was tough. Overall a nice experience but wouldn't probably dine there again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was fantastic! Our waitress was out of this world!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food and wine! Four of us in our party and everyone cleaned their plate. Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was our third visit to Nonna's. On previous visits, though the food has always been good, the service has been poor and the bartender couldn't make a martini; this time we were pleased to find that the service was wonderful and the martinis excellent. The chef even sent out a complimentary white fish pate, which was delicious. Will certainly return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Nonna's. The food was excellent. The service was great and overall we enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We made reservations and this was our one nice dinner out. My son really wanted to eat there. We arrived for our reservation and were put into a booth so tight that we could barely fit and had to move. Couldn't find anyone to talk to so we just moved ourselves. I found most of the restaurants at The Homestrad (except for the breakfast place, where everyone was very friendly) to act put out that we wanted to eat. Vety strange to me for a tourist town in a resort community at The Homestead. The food was decent, but I would probably not go back for all of the reasons mentioned above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Smell of mold/mildew in dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service as well as outstanding food. The outdoor dining deck was quite nice as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The atmosphere was great, also the wine. The food was not quite ok

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Don't bulk this in with your typical hotel/resort restaurant experience, this is really delicious, high quality, well-prepared food at a great value.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This restaurant, one of the very few in the Homestead resort, needs some updating. The atmosphere was stuffy on a hot summer night without AC. The interior could use a face lift. The quality of the food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Most staff recommended this restaurant. Although the service and food was good, the food was not outstanding. I do not feel the price reflects the quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was excellent! Appetizer and wine was the beginning of what we would hope was a great dinner but main entrée of eggplant parmesan was a total let down. Skin was left on and became very bitter and eggplant was very mushy. We were given a special desert for my daughters 25th birthday but that turned out also horrible. Tiramisu desert that was what a 12year could have done!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were treated attentively and didn't lack for anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Limited menu. Wine we had selected was not available. Dessert menu did not include an ice cream dish which was disappointing. Service was fair but, in defense
of our server, restaurant was very understaffed. Servers had to bus there own table as well as get their drinks, take orders, serve food and clear tables. No support staff available. The reason we went to Nonna's was because we were staying at The Homestead and did not want to leave
the property. If we were to return to The Homestead, may return to Nonna's. I would not go out of my way however, to eat here again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We dined at Nonna's a couple of years ago and enjoyed the restaurant then and it didn't disappoint this time, either! We like eating inside due to the ambience. Outside is nice but mainly families eat outside. We had their salad which was arugula, radicchio, and endive with a nice vinaigrette. For the main course we had the raviolis with spinach and cheese. The best part was the sauce over the raviolis which made this dish delicious. Their wine list was quite varied and large!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.