Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Lillian Veau'sLillian Veau's
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Southern | Dubach, Monroe

About Nonna

311 Hudson Lane
Monroe, LA 71201
View Larger Map

Thank you for checking in to Restaurant Nonna, the Italian Food venture from celebrated Louisiana Chef Cory Bahr. We specialize in Hand Crafted Italian Dishes with a bit of local flair in order to keep things fresh, seasonal, and delicious! We take pride in our Homemade Pastas and Pizza dishes made fresh daily, and also offer great Italian Wines and creative Specialty Cocktails. These can be enjoyed indoors or on our fantastic patio!You will notice that we have have private dining rooms. It should be mentioned that they are small rooms that seat 8-10 people. We have a little something for everyone,so please come enjoy the culture here at Nonna.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North 3rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(318) 605-2513

Entertainment:
We occasionally have live music on the patio, but no currently routine acts.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot for our guests only. Carpooling is encouraged if possible.

Public Transit:
We are two blocks off of Louisville, which offers Public Transportation by way of the bus. The stops at North 4th or North 3rd are closest to us. We are two blocks South at 311 Hudson.

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Oskoian

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Nonna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.9

ambience

3.6

value

3.0

noise

Energetic

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Romantic (2)
See All
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very tasty and the portion ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was very tasty and the portion size was very large.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The service was great. T ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was great. The service was great. The air conditioning was terrible. Was probably 80 degrees inside and 85 outside. We ordered our dinner and went outside for drinks. The outdoor area is very nice, and the light winds felt better than the circulation inside. The waiter did later bring a fan to put close to our table. I will definitely go back, but maybe later in the fall.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although a little pricey, the food was d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Although a little pricey, the food was delicious. Would have appreciated a small side salad with my meal of gnocchi as it was extremely rich. Filet mignon was tender and cooked to perfection. Heather was the best server and allowed us to have a very relaxed enjoyable evening. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pizza was thin and overcooked, The cauli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Pizza was thin and overcooked, The cauliflower appetizer was good. Service was fine but a little warm in the corner where we were sitting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I am really disappointed in both Open Ta ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I am really disappointed in both Open Table and Nonna. We went for our confirmed reservation only to find the restaurant CLOSED. Now, why wasn't that apparent on the booking site?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Pasta (homemade) was great. Pizzas were ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Pasta (homemade) was great. Pizzas were good - just be prepared for some really different ingredients. Portions were small when compared to the price. Went for ladies birthday, perfect for that. Not so sure our husbands would be impressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Always love Nonna. The food is fabulous ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always love Nonna. The food is fabulous. Music was loud this time and struggled to get the staff to turn it down. At least the tunes were good ones that they were playing. Drowned out the conversation to much and made it hard for our group to hear. Otherwise, everything was grand. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

From the welcome hostess to the final ti ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2016

From the welcome hostess to the final ticket was paid, we were attended to very well. The food was excellent and would recommend to anyone who like great food and ambiance

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nonna was a superb find. My wife and I ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Nonna was a superb find. My wife and I had one of the best meals in several years...and we spent a week in Charleston last year enjoying its restaurants. I wish we had a Nonna in Little Rock.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Bill was the best waiter I ha ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our waiter Bill was the best waiter I have ever had. He was very friendly and went out of his way to make sure you were happy. The food was great and I would come back here than Olive Garden. It was a little more expensive than Olive Garden but to me and my wife it was well worth it. I would highly recommend this restraint and look forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been there several times and have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2016

I have been there several times and have always enjoyed it.

I was so disappointed from the waitress mixing up glass or wines ordered to the food being overcooked to flies all around us inside. I will not be visiting again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Great place to dine. Local sources. As g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place to dine. Local sources. As good as any place in larger cities.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service Charge

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2016

First time I have ever seen a service charge on a check for 6 and was not real sure what that was for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Meh. The veal piccata was heavily bread ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Meh. The veal piccata was heavily breaded/fried and other than a few capers wasn't really recognizable as veal piccata. Too bad. My son asked for plain spaghetti with a side of sauce and meatballs. They brought the pasta with red sauce and that normally wouldn't be a big deal except the red sauce was pretty awful -- very astringent/metallic tasting, to my taste and his sister's as well as his own. He ate none and the waiter was kind enough to take it off our bill. Still, the bill was pretty darn high for the mediocre food we were served. The restaurant is in a pretty house with a lovely bacci ball court to the side but the food definitely needs work before I would consider returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I love that Nonna serves a great menu. M ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I love that Nonna serves a great menu. Missing the meat and cheese boards, but otherwise great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Night out with friends

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 18, 2016

The food was amazing. The food took longer than I thought for being a Monday night but we didn't mind waiting. The service was okay. Our server only checked on us once and we saw her check on another table more often than ours. She also made us feel rushed by giving us the check before we even got our dessert. We were still planning on ordering more drinks but decided to leave because we felt rushed. We felt like we should have had the best service due to the fact we're spending $100 each. Other than that, the atmosphere and food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Dinner took nearly 4 hours.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Dinner took nearly 4 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Wonderful meal out in the backyard. Grea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wonderful meal out in the backyard. Great food, great server, Heather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2016

We dined for the first time last Ghursday night. It was a beautiful night outside on the georgeous patio. Service and food were perfect. Our new favorite place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2016

this is an awesome place to go for dinner with friends and significant others. Great food, great people. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waiter, Aaron, was incredibly knowledgable of the wine selection and was incredibly professional. He sets the standard for service. The food was excellent and you can definitely tell that the chef knew what he was doing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great place!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 17, 2016

No matter what I have ordered, the food has always been delicious. We go for an early dinner if we bring the kids or a late dinner if it's a date night and have always had a good experience regardless. I highly recommend Nonna's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. Heard great r ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The service was excellent. Heard great reviews about your pizza so we tried one!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 10, 2016

It was a very nice dining experience. The food and service were both amazing. Our waitress gave us good recommendations regarding food choices. The crispy eggplant appetizer was excellent, as was the shaved broccoli pizza and the gnocchi. My one complaint is that the 2- person tables are too close to each other which resulted in having to listen to a conversation between the two people next to us. Otherwise, my cousin and I thoroughly enjoyed Nonna's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another Outstanding Experience

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 5, 2016

Great food. Started with the Fried Cauliflower and order of Eggplant. Outstanding. Wife had the Redfish. I don't eat fish but I tasted it and it was great. This is the third time that I have eaten there and all 3 experiences were fantastic. Mixologist has skills and the bar is stalked with fresh squeezed lemons and limes. Wife had the Mississippi Mule and I sampled the Whistle Pig Rye Whiskey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our company Christmas Party. W ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 13, 2015

This was our company Christmas Party. We were told the card was declined and another card had to be used for payment. Now there is a pending transaction on the card that was declined. The transaction on the second card has cleared. Nonna has payment and has that amount tied up on the original card. This would not be a problem in most cases but our total was $666.85.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

GOOD!!!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2015

this was our first time and we enjoyed it very much, excellant food, service & drinks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, relaxed atmosphere

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2015

I have always enjoyed delicious meals whenever I dine at Nonna's. The servers have always provided excellent suggestions for all courses, so listen to them when you go. The fish and the pizzas are always delicious! You can't go wrong with whatever you choose.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Long wait times

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2015

If you want shorter wait times for your food (previous visits have been one hour or more to get your meal for a party of 2-4) then you have to tell your waiter. Unfortunately, our waiter made it a big deal that he was keeping us on task and used it as his license to be a little rude about it. He brought it up with every major interaction.

It became awkward because we were treating an out-of-town guest who won the highest level of award in our company to a "Welcome to Monroe" dinner that intended to make her feel comfortable about the next day's events. Soon it felt like her relaxing experience of being welcomed to Monroe (she arrived earlier in the afternoon) now came off as a rushed dinner because of the waiter's behavior.

The most surreal part of the night occurred when the chef was yelling repeatedly at the top of his lungs for an order to be picked up. It was embarrassing and disgraceful behavior. I hope that we can choose a different restaurant next quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Best Italian Food in Louisiana

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Nonna provides authentic Italian food utilizing local Louisiana farms and culture. They have a very seasonally-influence menu that changes frequently, which I love. Also, all their food is so fresh, so you'll have meals appropriate to the current season and growing season. Their wines are delicious. The desserts are amazing. All the appetizers are delightful. The pasta is fresh. I believe this is one of the best restaurants in northern Louisiana. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is exquisite. The service is to ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 3, 2015

The food is exquisite. The service is top notch. The ambiance is unlike anything in Monroe. In a town with limited options Nonna stands out as a true gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had the best red snapper that I have e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2015

I had the best red snapper that I have ever had in my life. And the chocolate budino was absolutely amazing! Kudos to the chef!!!

The service was excellent thanks to Heather. All in all a very memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2015

This was our second time to eat at Nonna. We've dined outside and inside. Both areas are great! But, if the weather is good, outside is our preference. Food is great and our service was good. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointed

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2015

I love Cotton, and was anticipating dining at Nonna. The food was very good, but the noise level made our dinner unpleasant. Everyone in the restaurant had to shout to converse with others at their table. Hard floors, walls and ceiling make for poor acoustics. A consultation with a good interior designer is necessary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Great place! Thoroughly enjoyed everyth ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2015

Great place! Thoroughly enjoyed everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian food oN the bayou

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2015

Loved it! Ambiance and setting were comfortable and welcoming. Great staff, amazing food from start to finish. It is a must for all. The cauliflower appetizer was amazing! Scallops cooked to perfection, and the Total Carnage pizza is to die for. Treat yourself to an amazing night of food and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little disappointing

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2015

A little disappointing, especially because this restaurant has an excellent reputation. The service was slow and frankly the tomato sauce was tasteless. I've had better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great bartender and good food, too!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2015

The bartender was great--really enjoyed the strawberry fencehopper--tasted just like strawberry lemonade! Food was good. Good place for both business and personal dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

DINING EXPERIENCE

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2015

Service was superb - great waitress. Food was overpriced given quality. There were five of us. Three had the filet, one the lamb and the other a pasta. All three filets were somewhat tough and had grissel. The lamb was just so-so. We were seated in an alcove. The noise level was such that we were unable to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

A treasure

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2015

Nonna has a wonderful, and varied, menu sure to offer something for everyone. The creativity and thoughtfulness put into the cuisine offers an experience that is not available at commercial restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.