About Nonna

311 Hudson Lane
Monroe, LA 71201
View Larger Map

Thank you for checking in to Restaurant Nonna, the Italian Food venture from celebrated Louisiana Chef Cory Bahr. We specialize in Hand Crafted Italian Dishes with a bit of local flair in order to keep things fresh, seasonal, and delicious! We take pride in our Homemade Pastas and Pizza dishes made fresh daily, and also offer great Italian Wines and creative Specialty Cocktails. These can be enjoyed indoors or on our fantastic patio!You will notice that we have have private dining rooms. It should be mentioned that they are small rooms that seat 8-10 people. We have a little something for everyone,so please come enjoy the culture here at Nonna.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North 3rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(318) 605-2513

Entertainment:
We occasionally have live music on the patio, but no currently routine acts.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot for our guests only. Carpooling is encouraged if possible.

Public Transit:
We are two blocks off of Louisville, which offers Public Transportation by way of the bus. The stops at North 4th or North 3rd are closest to us. We are two blocks South at 311 Hudson.

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Oskoian

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Nonna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Monroe
Best Restaurants in Monroe ›

special occasion (5)
fit for foodies (3)
good for groups (3)
See All
late-night find (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
romantic (2)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place to dine. Local sources. As g ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place to dine. Local sources. As good as any place in larger cities.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Service Charge

Dined on June 11, 2016

First time I have ever seen a service charge on a check for 6 and was not real sure what that was for.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Meh. The veal piccata was heavily bread ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Meh. The veal piccata was heavily breaded/fried and other than a few capers wasn't really recognizable as veal piccata. Too bad. My son asked for plain spaghetti with a side of sauce and meatballs. They brought the pasta with red sauce and that normally wouldn't be a big deal except the red sauce was pretty awful -- very astringent/metallic tasting, to my taste and his sister's as well as his own. He ate none and the waiter was kind enough to take it off our bill. Still, the bill was pretty darn high for the mediocre food we were served. The restaurant is in a pretty house with a lovely bacci ball court to the side but the food definitely needs work before I would consider returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love that Nonna serves a great menu. M ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love that Nonna serves a great menu. Missing the meat and cheese boards, but otherwise great.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Night out with friends

Dined on April 18, 2016

The food was amazing. The food took longer than I thought for being a Monday night but we didn't mind waiting. The service was okay. Our server only checked on us once and we saw her check on another table more often than ours. She also made us feel rushed by giving us the check before we even got our dessert. We were still planning on ordering more drinks but decided to leave because we felt rushed. We felt like we should have had the best service due to the fact we're spending $100 each. Other than that, the atmosphere and food was great.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1

Dinner took nearly 4 hours.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Dinner took nearly 4 hours.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal out in the backyard. Grea ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Wonderful meal out in the backyard. Great food, great server, Heather.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on March 4, 2016

We dined for the first time last Ghursday night. It was a beautiful night outside on the georgeous patio. Service and food were perfect. Our new favorite place

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on February 14, 2016

this is an awesome place to go for dinner with friends and significant others. Great food, great people. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waiter, Aaron, was incredibly knowledgable of the wine selection and was incredibly professional. He sets the standard for service. The food was excellent and you can definitely tell that the chef knew what he was doing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great place!

Dined on January 17, 2016

No matter what I have ordered, the food has always been delicious. We go for an early dinner if we bring the kids or a late dinner if it's a date night and have always had a good experience regardless. I highly recommend Nonna's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. Heard great r ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

The service was excellent. Heard great reviews about your pizza so we tried one!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner.

Dined on January 10, 2016

It was a very nice dining experience. The food and service were both amazing. Our waitress gave us good recommendations regarding food choices. The crispy eggplant appetizer was excellent, as was the shaved broccoli pizza and the gnocchi. My one complaint is that the 2- person tables are too close to each other which resulted in having to listen to a conversation between the two people next to us. Otherwise, my cousin and I thoroughly enjoyed Nonna's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Outstanding Experience

Dined on January 5, 2016

Great food. Started with the Fried Cauliflower and order of Eggplant. Outstanding. Wife had the Redfish. I don't eat fish but I tasted it and it was great. This is the third time that I have eaten there and all 3 experiences were fantastic. Mixologist has skills and the bar is stalked with fresh squeezed lemons and limes. Wife had the Mississippi Mule and I sampled the Whistle Pig Rye Whiskey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

This was our company Christmas Party. W ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

This was our company Christmas Party. We were told the card was declined and another card had to be used for payment. Now there is a pending transaction on the card that was declined. The transaction on the second card has cleared. Nonna has payment and has that amount tied up on the original card. This would not be a problem in most cases but our total was $666.85.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

GOOD!!!

Dined on November 20, 2015

this was our first time and we enjoyed it very much, excellant food, service & drinks

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, relaxed atmosphere

Dined on November 13, 2015

I have always enjoyed delicious meals whenever I dine at Nonna's. The servers have always provided excellent suggestions for all courses, so listen to them when you go. The fish and the pizzas are always delicious! You can't go wrong with whatever you choose.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service2

Long wait times

Dined on November 5, 2015

If you want shorter wait times for your food (previous visits have been one hour or more to get your meal for a party of 2-4) then you have to tell your waiter. Unfortunately, our waiter made it a big deal that he was keeping us on task and used it as his license to be a little rude about it. He brought it up with every major interaction. It became awkward because we were treating an out-of-town guest who won the highest level of award in our company to a "Welcome to Monroe" dinner that intended to make her feel comfortable about the next day's events. Soon it felt like her relaxing experience of being welcomed to Monroe (she arrived earlier in the afternoon) now came off as a rushed dinner because of the waiter's behavior. The most surreal part of the night occurred when the chef was yelling repeatedly at the top of his lungs for an order to be picked up. It was embarrassing and disgraceful behavior. I hope that we can choose a different restaurant next quarter.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian Food in Louisiana

Dined on October 17, 2015

Nonna provides authentic Italian food utilizing local Louisiana farms and culture. They have a very seasonally-influence menu that changes frequently, which I love. Also, all their food is so fresh, so you'll have meals appropriate to the current season and growing season. Their wines are delicious. The desserts are amazing. All the appetizers are delightful. The pasta is fresh. I believe this is one of the best restaurants in northern Louisiana. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is exquisite. The service is to ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

The food is exquisite. The service is top notch. The ambiance is unlike anything in Monroe. In a town with limited options Nonna stands out as a true gem.

food5
ambience5
service5

I had the best red snapper that I have e ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

I had the best red snapper that I have ever had in my life. And the chocolate budino was absolutely amazing! Kudos to the chef!!! The service was excellent thanks to Heather. All in all a very memorable evening.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great Dining!

Dined on September 30, 2015

This was our second time to eat at Nonna. We've dined outside and inside. Both areas are great! But, if the weather is good, outside is our preference. Food is great and our service was good. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3

Disappointed

Dined on September 11, 2015

I love Cotton, and was anticipating dining at Nonna. The food was very good, but the noise level made our dinner unpleasant. Everyone in the restaurant had to shout to converse with others at their table. Hard floors, walls and ceiling make for poor acoustics. A consultation with a good interior designer is necessary.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place! Thoroughly enjoyed everyth ...

vip
Dined on September 10, 2015

Great place! Thoroughly enjoyed everything!

food5
ambience5
service5

Italian food oN the bayou

Dined on September 4, 2015

Loved it! Ambiance and setting were comfortable and welcoming. Great staff, amazing food from start to finish. It is a must for all. The cauliflower appetizer was amazing! Scallops cooked to perfection, and the Total Carnage pizza is to die for. Treat yourself to an amazing night of food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

A little disappointing

Dined on August 21, 2015

A little disappointing, especially because this restaurant has an excellent reputation. The service was slow and frankly the tomato sauce was tasteless. I've had better.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great bartender and good food, too!

Dined on August 12, 2015

The bartender was great--really enjoyed the strawberry fencehopper--tasted just like strawberry lemonade! Food was good. Good place for both business and personal dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service5

DINING EXPERIENCE

Dined on August 6, 2015

Service was superb - great waitress. Food was overpriced given quality. There were five of us. Three had the filet, one the lamb and the other a pasta. All three filets were somewhat tough and had grissel. The lamb was just so-so. We were seated in an alcove. The noise level was such that we were unable to carry on a conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5

A treasure

Dined on August 5, 2015

Nonna has a wonderful, and varied, menu sure to offer something for everyone. The creativity and thoughtfulness put into the cuisine offers an experience that is not available at commercial restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Food was great. Service was not good at ...

Dined on August 1, 2015

Food was great. Service was not good at all. Didn't let us know what they didn't have on the menu. Brought the app to the wrong table sat it down and then a few minutes later realized it was ours....

food5
ambience5
service5

The outdoor patio is great to start with ...

Dined on July 31, 2015

The outdoor patio is great to start with a drink before dinner and also nice for the entire dining experience. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly. The food was creative, well prepared and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great local find!

Dined on June 20, 2015

Excellent food! The service was great. It's very loud in there , so I wouldn't recommend for a romantic date; but for loud large parties, it's great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1

Food was mediocre. Service was poor. Wai ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2015

Food was mediocre. Service was poor. Waiter basically didn't bother with our party of 3 as he was serving an 8 top nearby. My food was cold and he brought my glass of wine finally while I was waiting for the check. When I complained, I got no apology. He left and the manager brought the check. Never did get that glass of wine. The manager did remove the cost of my entree but that didn't make up for a poor dining experience. The ambiance was nice, the food was good but not great. Overall, a mediocre experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

you can watch the chefs prepare

Dined on June 12, 2015

Excellent food and fantastic flavor- always fresh ingredients . Highly rwcommened

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for special occasion

Dined on May 18, 2015

Every detail and request was executed perfectly for my large family gathering. Details such as "hand mixed" lemonade for some of our young diners and appetizers arriving just shortly after our seating as requested make the difference. If you love grilled fish please ask if they have the pumpkin spice swordfish, one of the best meals I have ever been served!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Nonna!!

Dined on April 25, 2015

Nonna is the perfect date night spot! My husband and I always chose nonna to celebrate special occasions or a date night. The food is delicious! I love the gnocci and my husband loves the shrimp and crab fettucini! The service is always on point! Its fun to sit near their kitchen. There is a window and you can watch the chef's in action! The staff is always friendly! if you havent been- GO!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Louisiana

Dined on April 24, 2015

I have spent much time in Italy, and Nonna is a blessing to North Louisiana. This food is very authentically Italian in that all ingredients are very fresh and prepared through traditional Italian methods. However, the delight of this restaurant is its local Louisiana ingredients and Mediterranean influence. The menu changes seasonally, which is a great sign of just how fresh the food is. The wine list is amazing. All cocktails are delightful. Every course that Nonna offers is delectable. I tell my friends around the country about how much I love this restaurant. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a fabulous experience and had som ...

Dined on April 14, 2015

We had a fabulous experience and had some of the best food. I remember the grilled bread being excellent. They have a great wine selection. I would definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

always great!

Dined on March 8, 2015

Excellent food and service. This restaurant always hits the mark. The wine list is very nice for this region.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was amazing and the food was great ...

Dined on February 15, 2015

Staff was amazing and the food was great! My boyfriend and I were treated very well and the staff made our Valentine's Day dinner that much more better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.