Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Nonna Cucina Rustica

4.6
156 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
Nonna provides a unique ambience blooming with history where you can savor Italian classics dishes abundant with fresh vegetables, assorted cheeses, extra virgin olive oil and “live” homemade pasta.

The menu includes a selection of dishes ranging from antipasti, soups and pasta with a variety of meats and seafood. The pizzas are made with carefully selected ingredients including Caputo flour from Naples, Italy, extra virgin olive oil unfiltered and fresh mozzarella.

"La Nonna” was the precursor of this Italian cuisine where they used the best ingredients while preparing everything from scratch. It is a throwback to the traditional and rustic cuisine. We try to respect these methods and recipes from the past while integrating cutting-edge techniques.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon - Wed: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri: 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat: 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 998-6555
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Loiza Street
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Saturday & Sunday Bellini Brunch 10am-3pm
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Wine
What 156 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent! Great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Un espacio maravilloso donde disfrutar una buena comida y el servicio es de primera.
Volveremos!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

¡Excelente comida! Nos impresionó particularmente el aperitivo de mejillones. Precios razonables. Volvería pronto.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Food was amazing!! Some of the menu items were not available however our food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We loved Nonna, the service was super fast & attentive (not overly attentive). My husband & I both ordered the arugula salad. We both had pastas, both delicious. Not many vegetarian options, so they made me one of the pastas without meat.
Will def go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food is outstanding. The menu is a little lighter than listed here on open table, but I don't think there isba wrong choice. The bread is delicious. My wife's goat cheese ravioli was the best she had ever had (it is kind of her go too at Italian restaurants). I had the beef cheeks pasta that was very good. One of my kids had the spaghetti and the other a pizza and both were great. Neither complained about anything, which is a miracle in itself. Our server was very professional and super nice. We have had our fill of Mofongo at this point and it was great to have a legit Italian meal in Puerto Rico.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We had a party of four and everyone loved it. Great service and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Outstanding local find while on vacation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Blown Away!

What a gem! Food was perfect and the service phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent service. Food was great. Enjoyed the place. The wine was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Still one of the best restaurants in Puerto Rico. With the crisis it has shortened the menu. But the quality is outstanding. And relatively speaking a bargain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Awesome food & great service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Wonderful food expertly prepared and served! Can’t wait to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Nonna is one of our “go to” restaurants when in San Juan. Service is excellent and the food top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Food was amazing, best meal we’ve had here!! Staff was very friendly and prices were great! The noise level was high but an overall great experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Nice place, good service. But I ordered a pizza with three toppings and it came without tomato sauce. Never knew that was a topping! Appetizers and bread were very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Overall nice experience with a group of 6 coming from the US before a cruise. Our server was very attentive and personable. Our second time in the restaurant and would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Absolute gem in San Juan. Please come down to this island. Many wonderful places to eat including Nonna Cucina. They need your business to help recover from last year's hurricane.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Great athomsphere, great service (our server made me her signature pineapple bellini!!!) and home-made pistachio gelato to die for...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

We were vacationing in Puerto Rico and our Concierge recommended Nonno's. What a treat. The food is authentic, prepared and presented beautifully, service is outstanding. We ate there 3 times in 3 weeks. Highly recommend if you are looking for real Italian food. Not a large menu, but more than adequate and the prices can't be beat.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Good food as always, but to our surprise the menu was very limited comparing to previous visits. Charging for bottle water is unacceptable, give the customer to have tap water instead

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Awesome service and people

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Everything about Nonno is wonderful. It was our second time in 4 days will always return when in San Juan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

What a find! A fairly limited menu exquisitely prepared with friendly knowledgeable service. Prices are more than reasonable for quality and quantity of meals. Understand that it's packed on the weekend so go on an early weekday evening for a real treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

My new favorite Italian in San Juan.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Nonna is a good choice for any day dining, casual, friendly atmosphere with many good choices of pastas , pizzas or many other choices.
The waiters seem quite knowledgeable about the menu , also even though the wine list is not big the choices are good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Best dinner I’ve had on vacation in Puerto Rico. Or anywhere else in the last 6 months.

DO NOT let the location keep you away from this jewel of an Italian bistro. Great service, plentiful wine menu and just delicious tasting food to enjoy by a very creative kitchen

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Super tasty and extremely reasonable Italian w/ homemade pasta, quality meats & fish and yummy desserts. Duck ravioli & wild mushroom risotto were standouts. Chocolate panecotte ruined my New Years resolution. Combine with friendly service and reasonable wine list = a winner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2017

Really Good Pasta! Great for groups, and the service is outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Always divine to dine here, yet always soo cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 31, 2017

Great service and friendly ambiance. They have a cocktail list for you to start, wines by the glass and bottle and the staff can help you choose.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2017

Great neighborhood Italian restaurant. Love the butternut squash risotto. Best tiramisu desert as it is home made. Great service, water glass never empty and you are not rushed to leave or finish dishes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 27, 2017

Meseros excelentes, dinamicos y buscan alternativas para platos o bebidas. Local muy ameno para pasar el rato con buena compañia, amistades o grupos.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 27, 2017

Food is always good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

I had the goat cheese ravioli with pine nuts and pancetta. It was excellent. Sweet and savory together in one meal. Yum! The arugula salad was tasty too. Others had the duck ravioli, bucatini, polpets and lobster risotto. All were excellent. Wine and house specialty drinks were great. And to top it all off our servers were very friendly and accommodating to items deletion requests for certain food items and offered replacement condiments for the salads. I highly recommend Nonna's for a great dinning experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2017

We were early in the evening so the place was empty which gave us the opportunity to get to know our waiter, who was GREAT. Very authentic atmosphere and menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2017

One of the best meals we have had! Took our family of four (including our extremely picky 10 year old American twins) and all of us gave our food a perfect "10"! Their version of a Caprese salad was perfection. My husband had the lamb lasagna, I enjoyed the goat cheese ravioli and the kids had spaghetti with meatballs and a dish very similar to chicken Parmesan in the United States. Everything was EXCELLENT! Great atmosphere, friendly service and easy street parting add to the reasons we will be back to this delightful spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

We went to Nonna for our first meal on our honeymoon and it was amazing. The carpactio and braised beef were delicious and the wine list was extensive. They even gave us complimentary desert wine for our celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2017

This is our new favorite spot and can't stop thinking about how great the food is, the ambiance, the professionalism of the servers even after we leave the place. The pasta is homemade. The flavors are out of this world. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4