Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.56mi

About Nonna Cucina Rustica

Nonna provides a unique ambience blooming with history where you can savor Italian classics dishes abundant with fresh vegetables, assorted cheeses, extra virgin olive oil and “live” homemade pasta.

The menu includes a selection of dishes ranging from antipasti, soups and pasta with a variety of meats and seafood. The pizzas are made with carefully selected ingredients including Caputo flour from Naples, Italy, extra virgin olive oil unfiltered and fresh mozzarella.

"La Nonna” was the precursor of this Italian cuisine where they used the best ingredients while preparing everything from scratch. It is a throwback to the traditional and rustic cuisine. We try to respect these methods and recipes from the past while integrating cutting-edge techniques.

Calle San Jorge #103
San Juan, PR 00911
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sat: 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Sun: 10:00 am - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Loiza Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 998-6555

Website:
http://www.nonnapr.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Saturday & Sunday Bellini Brunch 10am-3pm

Nonna Cucina Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Cozy (5)
See All
Romantic (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 16, 2017

One of the best meals we have had! Took our family of four (including our extremely picky 10 year old American twins) and all of us gave our food a perfect "10"! Their version of a Caprese salad was perfection. My husband had the lamb lasagna, I enjoyed the goat cheese ravioli and the kids had spaghetti with meatballs and a dish very similar to chicken Parmesan in the United States. Everything was EXCELLENT! Great atmosphere, friendly service and easy street parting add to the reasons we will be back to this delightful spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We went to Nonna for our first meal on our honeymoon and it was amazing. The carpactio and braised beef were delicious and the wine list was extensive. They even gave us complimentary desert wine for our celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is our new favorite spot and can't stop thinking about how great the food is, the ambiance, the professionalism of the servers even after we leave the place. The pasta is homemade. The flavors are out of this world. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent food and very good service. Good place to meet with family and friends over dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was delicious and the restaurant attention was incredible

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Its like entering a restaurant in Milan or even Venice. Great feeling and great service. Carla was a very good hostess. This time with kids. Delicious pizza. Will be back alone with wife.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great food, and very nice staff!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food, greater vibe. Just what we were looking for for our family of 6 with kids ranging from 12-26. Hidden gem!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food and service. Awesome place to celebrate any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Service and food were both outstanding. My family wanted to change our other reservations for the week and go back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Love it! They call to confirm my reservation the food was wonderful I'm coming back for sure.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

So good we went two nights in a row! Close to our hotel, service excellent and friendly, food executed perfectly with 8 of us for business dinner and nice wine options, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great food. Friendly staff. Comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife and I were looking for a local spot, outside the touristy Ashford Ave area. Hit a home run here. Our server, Jan, was great! Suggested the Carpaccio, Risotto and Raviolis. Add a few glasses of Montelpuciano and we could have been in Rome! This cozy place is a must!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We chose the restaurant based on other reviews, but was a little skeptical when we got there as the place was not busy. All that changed once we got our food. Everything was delicious from the carpaccio and fritto misto apps to the lamb shank, lasagne, mushroom risotto, farfalle mains and finally the hazelnut cake for dessert. The cake was accompanied by a praline gelato that was incredible. Absolutely scrumptious food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was great, food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I went to Nonna Rustica's Ocean Park location and as usual they did not disappoint. The appetizers were delish and my friend and I were already stuffed before the main course arrived...but we made room! Luis the server was extremely attentive and made great meal recommendations.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend it to other friends or colleagues:)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely delicious. Every morsel was terrific! Perfect for the whole family. We the salami and formaggio board, pasta, pizza and steak. All were amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great meal. The sister restaurant is just as good. Great food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had a fantastic meal! We started working th the large antipasto plate which was fantastic. All very fresh and exactly as our server described.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Goat cheese ravioli with pine nuts, figs, etc...amazing. Buccatelli with beef ragu-- delish. Finished off with tiramisu and the evening was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was very good and it arrived very fast. Service was excellent and the waitress was very knowledgeable of the menu and recommended very good options. Goat cheese ravioli were awesome!!! Tiramisu with gelato for dessert mmm mmm mmm...

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It is a wonderful neighborhood restaurant -a real gem serving authentic Italian food. The staff were very friendly and patiently explained every item we inquired about.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great service and great food. Nice ambiance like we were sitting in Nonna's house. Highlight of the evening- ravioli with goat cheese, ricotta, pine nuts , dates and prosciutto . Homemade pasta with an amazing sauce. We are from Boston and eat in the North End often. We both agreed these were the best ravioli we have ever tasted! Literally melt in your mouth.-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fantastic food. Great ambience and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Awesome place off the beaten path. Service was outstanding. Food was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I love this local hideout - we go there every time we visit San Juan! Excellent food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 18, 2017

GreTgreat food service was.very at tentative great wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food and desserts at this place are delicious! Service was well-timed and friendly, and wines were affordable. I will definitely recommend it and will of course return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was a little disappointed with the lobster & champagne rizzoto. Was hoping for more flavor. The rest of our meal was great though & awesome service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Never again-the food was good but way too overpriced for the type and quantity of food. Smaller portions and the online menu advertises differently than actual menu. They were out of our wine choices, the service was nonexistent, we waited forever for our food, cheque, and change. I heard such good things, but I would never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Cute italian place off the beaten path with friendly and attentive service. Great flavors on the beef carpaccio. Other items seemed to be frozen or prepared in advanced and were not fully warm like the Arancini, tomato sauce, sausage pasta. Branzino was simple and good. There were a lot of big parties when we were there so perhaps bad timing but will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a group of 8. 4 locals and 4 from out of town. We ordered multiple dishes and passed around. The gnocchi was the stand out dish that was enjoyed by all. The butternut squash soup and the squid ink pasta were awful and were not finished. Soup was bland and thick the pasta was tough and the shell fish was "fishy". Everything was salted with a heavy hand. I would pass on my next invite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The place is wonderful. The food is superb, the only drawback is that it's a little noisy but not something that you can't handle. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Overall pleased with restaurant. Chef took care of my vegan nephew with a special plate which he liked very much. Bartender said he could prepare a Bellini but nut successful, No Peach Schnapps!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Nonna never disappoints. Excellent creative food in a warm and inviting setting. Each dish is prepared with the finest ingredients and attention to detail. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. Fiid and service was hreat. Thus is a small intimate restaruant. I truly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Muy bueno!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was a very good choice for us on our last night on our last visit to Puerto Rico. After a week or so of wonderful Puerto Rican food, I can never forget Italian. I got the casoncelli which was great. My wife got the Branzino (sea bass cooked in parchment). She LOVED IT! It was by far her favorite meal in Puerto Rico! Fish comes with the head, tail, the whole cannoli... (Caution - watch the fish bones, they're small and while stealing a bite, I almost choked on mine). Service was exceptional.

One thing about this place, however, is they do sit the table next to you very close, which some don't like.

Worth a visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant on our vacation to Puerto Rico. They make their own pasta so they were creative and delicious. Their prices are fair and their service is very welcoming. They seem to have a great following. We returned another night for a salad and their pizza. Their ingredients are fresh and good quality. Jan is very attentive and makes sure you are happy and satisfied.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.