About Nonna Cucina Rustica

Calle San Jorge #103
San Juan, PR 00911
View Larger Map

Nonna provides a unique ambience blooming with history where you can savor Italian classics dishes abundant with fresh vegetables, assorted cheeses, extra virgin olive oil and “live” homemade pasta.

The menu includes a selection of dishes ranging from antipasti, soups and pasta with a variety of meats and seafood. The pizzas are made with carefully selected ingredients including Caputo flour from Naples, Italy, extra virgin olive oil unfiltered and fresh mozzarella.

"La Nonna” was the precursor of this Italian cuisine where they used the best ingredients while preparing everything from scratch. It is a throwback to the traditional and rustic cuisine. We try to respect these methods and recipes from the past while integrating cutting-edge techniques.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sat: 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Sun: 10:00 am - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Loiza Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 998-6555

Website:
http://www.nonnapr.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Saturday & Sunday Bellini Brunch 10am-3pm

Nonna Cucina Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
See All
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excelent food and service. Will certainl ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excelent food and service. Will certainly go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am one of the many rave reviews of Non ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I am one of the many rave reviews of Nonna Cucina Rustica on Open Table. This place is more than amazing; it’s incredible. They take great pride in providing freshly prepared dishes that make you want to come back every meal. We made reservations on our second visit to San Juan for Saturday brunch. And again it was one of the best meals that we had. You must try the Tiramisu pancakes. I cannot say enough good things about them. They are exceptionally good. This visit, I had the steak and eggs. I have never been a great fan of steak and eggs, until now. There is no comparison to the any that I have had in the past. These were by far the best prepared of any. You must go here if you are in San Juan. You will not be disappointed, trust me.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

food was good service was more thank me ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

food was good

service was more thank me for allowing you to come not thank you for being here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Was well recomended but did not meet our ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Was well recomended but did not meet our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I go here around once every couple of mo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I go here around once every couple of months and generally love the food but this last time the Pasta was overcooked and heavy.

The burrata w had came w foul tasting anchovy infused greens .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Myhusband and I received recommendation ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Myhusband and I received recommendation from hotel concierge,

it was our last night on the island.......we were very pleased with choice.

Wine list,friendly service,fresh madepasta.........fish was very well baked& goat cheese ravioli

delicious.........very unique desserts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Delicious dishes

 
 (México)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Italian food and the staff wer ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic Italian food and the staff were excellent! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding!! This was a true Italian ex ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Outstanding!! This was a true Italian experience. Be patient as this is part of the experience. Everything was phenomenal from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite Italian restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This is our favorite Italian restaurant in the Condado area. We especially like the candied tomatoes and mozzarella salad. Then we always take the recommendation for a pasta and accompanying wine. Great food in small intimate restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my second time visiting Nonna t ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This was my second time visiting Nonna the squid ink pasta with seafood was excellent! The hazelnut chocolate cake with toffee ice cream was fantastic

I Iove this place

Service was fantastic and the prices are very fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our server was not happy that night and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

our server was not happy that night and not very enthusiastic with us. He took our wine order and came told us that they out of that wine and we order another wine after 15 minutes he came with first order he told they didn't have. My entrée was fantastic but not all felt the same of their order. Comfortable place but not my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great italiano!!!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing italian restaurant near Calle Loíza. They make their own pasta so you get a very fresh flavor when your food is served. They also have a variety of plates in their menu, including a couple of risottos (the lobster & champagne one is my all time favorite). Try the arancini and the meatballs (polpette) as appetizers. Their ricotta gnocchi are so good and flavorful. They have a very small space and it gets packed, particularly during the weekend so I recommend you make reservations beforehand. They also serve pizzas; I've never tried them but some of my friends have and they love them. There's no parking but they have valet service, which has never been a problem for me. Service & the food in general are great so give it a try!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious from start to finish

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

While visiting PR my friend and I ate at 4 different restaurants for dinner. This restaurant was excellent. Not the best out of the four, but it had some pretty stiff competition including Cucina Albierta which is owned by the same people. Good Italian food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Duck ravioli appetizer was excellent. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Duck ravioli appetizer was excellent. Entrees came before salad, but was corrected. Arugula salad was very good. Both entrees were fabulous - Paccheri with ragu and farfalle with Tuscan sausage. Chocolate cake was outstanding - nice and dense with chocolate frosting and hazelnuts served with hazelnut ice cream. Will definitely be back next time in San Juan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food & service

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was a huge surprise... all of the appetizers to entrees were delicious. Service staff attentive, knowledgeable. Great Experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, definitely o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent food and service, definitely one of my favs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just amazing

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

An amazing surprise in San Jaun, found just by chance but returning again before we leave Puerto Rico. From the start the service was always present but never intrusive. The apps, drinks, and dinner all came at a leisurely pace yet never a wait and always prepared perfectly. Our server made great suggestions and helped to customize a dish for one in our party. He treated our 10 year-old like a young lady and all of his service was given with a personal touch. Desert was amazing too. Many locals as well as tourists that night. A nice sound level for quit conversation and lots of space between the tables. Noona's would fit perfectly in Boston's North End.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was exquisite! Definitely coming ba ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Food was exquisite! Definitely coming back:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

10/10 for pasta!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

What I appreciated the most about my dining experience was the craftsmanship of the pasta. It was very fresh and well-cooked. Depending on the plate, the level of consistency was different according to the dish and it was always spot on. Next time, I will place an order for the uncooked pasta to take home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Our group allowed the server to chose th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Our group allowed the server to chose the entire dining experience for us. It was an a fun and flavorful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our second visit to Nonna Cucina ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

This is our second visit to Nonna Cucina and once again the food and the service were outstanding. Located off the beaten track but just a short cab ride from the Condado or Isla Verde hotel area.

Not your run of the mill Italian. You won't find chicken franchaise or veal parm on the menu. Instead you will find dishes like lobster risotto with capers and fennel cooked in champagne broth or delicioys homemade pastas such as pasta dumplings stuffed with braised short ribs and sausage in pancetta, sage, and butter.

All of this in a small, rustic, cozy, welcoming environment.

Definitely worth the trip away from the hotel strip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great of the beaten path find!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

My friend & 2 kids tries Nonna after reading the reviews on open table, we were not disappointed. The food was delicious, old school Italian pasta & risottos, good kids menu(2 little ones could share) so could the adults. The lobster risotto was amazing & love the cippola pizza. Its off the beaten path so the crowd is a nice mix of locals, tourists & families. Will definitely return next time in San Juan!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

best meal this vacation...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

we had a terrific meal here with great service. probably our best meal in PR

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

At 4.5 stars, I was expecting wonderful. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

At 4.5 stars, I was expecting wonderful. Nonna more than delivered that. It was fantastic, especially the lamb bolognese lasagna.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GREAT ITALIAN RESTAURANT IN CONDADO

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

There are a few Italian restaurants in Condado, but definitely this is one of the best.

Great food, decent wine list and moderately priced. I tried to make reservations

by phone but got no answer, the online reservation worked fine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nonna is the best Italian restaurant in San Juan!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

I visit Puerto Rico several times a year and love eating at Nonna Cucina Rustica which rivals any Italian restaurant in New York City with its original menu and atmosphere. Don't look for the common fare as all of the dishes on the menu are unique. Try the duck & pear ravioli (my favorite dish on their menu) and you won't be disappointed. The Branzino cooked in a paper bag is fabulous also.

Also they have great thin crust pizzas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Our favorite restaurant while vacationing in Puerto Rico. What a gem. No one heard of it, but it's a real find

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Pasta,Great Service

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Our server was very attentive and explained the Menu very well. He help us choose our plates and drinks. The pastas were fresh and delicious. The service was very fast. Definitely will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, lacking service!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Food was great and our server was very helpfull in explainning everything. However, I found a piece of plastic inside one of my raviolis and didn't event get an apology! They tried to brush it off as a piece of onion, which it was obviously not and my dish didn't even had onions as one of the ingredients. An apology as well or at least a coffee or dessert on the house would have been nice. Totally dissapointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything on the menu is amazing. So ha ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Everything on the menu is amazing. So hard to choose. Will be back again next time we are in PR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Nonnas is an excellent restaurant with great food choices and very nice ambience. Try the duck raviolis or the ribs. Or the rissoto. Mama mia! And the service is excellent. Coming back with my family for a second time around. Looking forward to it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I used to recommend Nonna for brunch to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

I used to recommend Nonna for brunch to everyone, they had the best french toasts and eggs bennedict I've had in San Juan. The quality of the food has decreased greately. The panettone french toasts used to be memorable because of the perfect consistence not the dried up mess I've tasted on the last brunches I've gone to. The mascarpone honey glaze wasn't appealing at all giving them a sort of coffeecake afteraste that ruined the experience. The eggs nonna benedicta used to melt in your mouth, when I had them the last time the black truffle fondata had a very grainy-sandy consistency and you couldn't even sense the black truffle, the bread was unsavory, flavorless unlike the dish I used to recommend to all my friends. The steak was a bit dry.

Aside from the food, the service was good, the waiter was very accomodating and responsive.

But, for those particular items, I don't think I'll be recommending it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Decent food - Too Loud - Too cramped

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Was on vacation and decided to try this place. It is very small and the tables are right on top of each other. It is also VERY loud to the point I could not even have a conversation without speaking louder than that. Food was decent - nothing great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

The food was fantastic and Jen our serve ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was fantastic and Jen our server was spot on for recommendations as well as attentive. Joey mixed the best drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb mixologist!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

Creative version of classic Italian dishes. Excellent service (without overdoing it!) and over the top cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent and very accom ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The service was excellent and very accomodating, even with 2 toddlers!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not a fan coming from ny Sugar and salt ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Not a fan coming from ny

Sugar and salt added to most. Lester risotto receive and apps just ok. Will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The risotto was outstanding and deliciou ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

The risotto was outstanding and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Loved the bartender (Robert) and the Tapas

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

We went here after reading the TripAdvisor reviews. We read that we should sit at the bar, which we did on both occasions (we went twice, we liked it so much)

We had Robert for a bartender. We let him suggest food choices and drinks, and we were not disappointed. Everything we had from the Tapas menu was very tasty. I would go back again in a heartbeat if we return to San Juan

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.