Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.56mi

About Nonna Cucina Rustica

Nonna provides a unique ambience blooming with history where you can savor Italian classics dishes abundant with fresh vegetables, assorted cheeses, extra virgin olive oil and “live” homemade pasta.

The menu includes a selection of dishes ranging from antipasti, soups and pasta with a variety of meats and seafood. The pizzas are made with carefully selected ingredients including Caputo flour from Naples, Italy, extra virgin olive oil unfiltered and fresh mozzarella.

"La Nonna” was the precursor of this Italian cuisine where they used the best ingredients while preparing everything from scratch. It is a throwback to the traditional and rustic cuisine. We try to respect these methods and recipes from the past while integrating cutting-edge techniques.

Calle San Jorge #103
San Juan, PR 00911
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sat: 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Sun: 10:00 am - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Loiza Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 998-6555

Website:
http://www.nonnapr.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Saturday & Sunday Bellini Brunch 10am-3pm

Nonna Cucina Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (2)
Romantic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal. The sister restaurant is just as good. Great food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had a fantastic meal! We started working th the large antipasto plate which was fantastic. All very fresh and exactly as our server described.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Goat cheese ravioli with pine nuts, figs, etc...amazing. Buccatelli with beef ragu-- delish. Finished off with tiramisu and the evening was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was very good and it arrived very fast. Service was excellent and the waitress was very knowledgeable of the menu and recommended very good options. Goat cheese ravioli were awesome!!! Tiramisu with gelato for dessert mmm mmm mmm...

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It is a wonderful neighborhood restaurant -a real gem serving authentic Italian food. The staff were very friendly and patiently explained every item we inquired about.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great service and great food. Nice ambiance like we were sitting in Nonna's house. Highlight of the evening- ravioli with goat cheese, ricotta, pine nuts , dates and prosciutto . Homemade pasta with an amazing sauce. We are from Boston and eat in the North End often. We both agreed these were the best ravioli we have ever tasted! Literally melt in your mouth.-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fantastic food. Great ambience and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Awesome place off the beaten path. Service was outstanding. Food was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I love this local hideout - we go there every time we visit San Juan! Excellent food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 18, 2017

GreTgreat food service was.very at tentative great wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food and desserts at this place are delicious! Service was well-timed and friendly, and wines were affordable. I will definitely recommend it and will of course return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was a little disappointed with the lobster & champagne rizzoto. Was hoping for more flavor. The rest of our meal was great though & awesome service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Never again-the food was good but way too overpriced for the type and quantity of food. Smaller portions and the online menu advertises differently than actual menu. They were out of our wine choices, the service was nonexistent, we waited forever for our food, cheque, and change. I heard such good things, but I would never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Cute italian place off the beaten path with friendly and attentive service. Great flavors on the beef carpaccio. Other items seemed to be frozen or prepared in advanced and were not fully warm like the Arancini, tomato sauce, sausage pasta. Branzino was simple and good. There were a lot of big parties when we were there so perhaps bad timing but will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a group of 8. 4 locals and 4 from out of town. We ordered multiple dishes and passed around. The gnocchi was the stand out dish that was enjoyed by all. The butternut squash soup and the squid ink pasta were awful and were not finished. Soup was bland and thick the pasta was tough and the shell fish was "fishy". Everything was salted with a heavy hand. I would pass on my next invite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The place is wonderful. The food is superb, the only drawback is that it's a little noisy but not something that you can't handle. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Overall pleased with restaurant. Chef took care of my vegan nephew with a special plate which he liked very much. Bartender said he could prepare a Bellini but nut successful, No Peach Schnapps!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Nonna never disappoints. Excellent creative food in a warm and inviting setting. Each dish is prepared with the finest ingredients and attention to detail. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. Fiid and service was hreat. Thus is a small intimate restaruant. I truly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was a very good choice for us on our last night on our last visit to Puerto Rico. After a week or so of wonderful Puerto Rican food, I can never forget Italian. I got the casoncelli which was great. My wife got the Branzino (sea bass cooked in parchment). She LOVED IT! It was by far her favorite meal in Puerto Rico! Fish comes with the head, tail, the whole cannoli... (Caution - watch the fish bones, they're small and while stealing a bite, I almost choked on mine). Service was exceptional.

One thing about this place, however, is they do sit the table next to you very close, which some don't like.

Worth a visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant on our vacation to Puerto Rico. They make their own pasta so they were creative and delicious. Their prices are fair and their service is very welcoming. They seem to have a great following. We returned another night for a salad and their pizza. Their ingredients are fresh and good quality. Jan is very attentive and makes sure you are happy and satisfied.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Third time to this restaurant. Always good service and ambience. Very good Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Amazing homemade pasta! I highly recommend any pasta dish. My family all got something different and everything was delicious. From the gnocchi to the duck ravioli. We had the lemon basil panacotta. To die for!! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food is always amazing, I can't recommend the goat cheese ravioli enough. One of my favorite dishes anywhere. The pizzas are also delicious. Great staff & ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The dinner was amazing. Service was very good. Just loved the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excelent food and service. Will certainly go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I am one of the many rave reviews of Nonna Cucina Rustica on Open Table. This place is more than amazing; it’s incredible. They take great pride in providing freshly prepared dishes that make you want to come back every meal. We made reservations on our second visit to San Juan for Saturday brunch. And again it was one of the best meals that we had. You must try the Tiramisu pancakes. I cannot say enough good things about them. They are exceptionally good. This visit, I had the steak and eggs. I have never been a great fan of steak and eggs, until now. There is no comparison to the any that I have had in the past. These were by far the best prepared of any. You must go here if you are in San Juan. You will not be disappointed, trust me.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2016

food was good
service was more thank me for allowing you to come not thank you for being here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Was well recomended but did not meet our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I go here around once every couple of months and generally love the food but this last time the Pasta was overcooked and heavy.
The burrata w had came w foul tasting anchovy infused greens .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Myhusband and I received recommendation from hotel concierge,
it was our last night on the island.......we were very pleased with choice.
Wine list,friendly service,fresh madepasta.........fish was very well baked& goat cheese ravioli
delicious.........very unique desserts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic Italian food and the staff were excellent! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Outstanding!! This was a true Italian experience. Be patient as this is part of the experience. Everything was phenomenal from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2016

This is our favorite Italian restaurant in the Condado area. We especially like the candied tomatoes and mozzarella salad. Then we always take the recommendation for a pasta and accompanying wine. Great food in small intimate restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 10, 2016

This was my second time visiting Nonna the squid ink pasta with seafood was excellent! The hazelnut chocolate cake with toffee ice cream was fantastic

I Iove this place
Service was fantastic and the prices are very fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 8, 2016

our server was not happy that night and not very enthusiastic with us. He took our wine order and came told us that they out of that wine and we order another wine after 15 minutes he came with first order he told they didn't have. My entrée was fantastic but not all felt the same of their order. Comfortable place but not my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing italian restaurant near Calle Loíza. They make their own pasta so you get a very fresh flavor when your food is served. They also have a variety of plates in their menu, including a couple of risottos (the lobster & champagne one is my all time favorite). Try the arancini and the meatballs (polpette) as appetizers. Their ricotta gnocchi are so good and flavorful. They have a very small space and it gets packed, particularly during the weekend so I recommend you make reservations beforehand. They also serve pizzas; I've never tried them but some of my friends have and they love them. There's no parking but they have valet service, which has never been a problem for me. Service & the food in general are great so give it a try!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 1, 2016

While visiting PR my friend and I ate at 4 different restaurants for dinner. This restaurant was excellent. Not the best out of the four, but it had some pretty stiff competition including Cucina Albierta which is owned by the same people. Good Italian food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Duck ravioli appetizer was excellent. Entrees came before salad, but was corrected. Arugula salad was very good. Both entrees were fabulous - Paccheri with ragu and farfalle with Tuscan sausage. Chocolate cake was outstanding - nice and dense with chocolate frosting and hazelnuts served with hazelnut ice cream. Will definitely be back next time in San Juan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.