About Nonna Cucina Rustica

Calle San Jorge #103
San Juan, PR 00911
View Larger Map

Nonna provides a unique ambience blooming with history where you can savor Italian classics dishes abundant with fresh vegetables, assorted cheeses, extra virgin olive oil and “live” homemade pasta.

The menu includes a selection of dishes ranging from antipasti, soups and pasta with a variety of meats and seafood. The pizzas are made with carefully selected ingredients including Caputo flour from Naples, Italy, extra virgin olive oil unfiltered and fresh mozzarella.

"La Nonna” was the precursor of this Italian cuisine where they used the best ingredients while preparing everything from scratch. It is a throwback to the traditional and rustic cuisine. We try to respect these methods and recipes from the past while integrating cutting-edge techniques.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sat: 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Sun: 10:00 am - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Loiza Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 998-6555

Website:
http://www.nonnapr.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Saturday & Sunday Bellini Brunch 10am-3pm

Nonna Cucina Rustica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Caribbean
Best Food
Puerto Rico
Best Value
Puerto Rico
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (13)
romantic (10)
See All
special occasion (10)
kid-friendly (5)
good for groups (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is our favorite Italian restaurant ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This is our favorite Italian restaurant in the Condado area. We especially like the candied tomatoes and mozzarella salad. Then we always take the recommendation for a pasta and accompanying wine. Great food in small intimate restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time visiting Nonna t ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

This was my second time visiting Nonna the squid ink pasta with seafood was excellent! The hazelnut chocolate cake with toffee ice cream was fantastic I Iove this place Service was fantastic and the prices are very fair

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

our server was not happy that night and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

our server was not happy that night and not very enthusiastic with us. He took our wine order and came told us that they out of that wine and we order another wine after 15 minutes he came with first order he told they didn't have. My entrée was fantastic but not all felt the same of their order. Comfortable place but not my favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great italiano!!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing italian restaurant near Calle Loíza. They make their own pasta so you get a very fresh flavor when your food is served. They also have a variety of plates in their menu, including a couple of risottos (the lobster & champagne one is my all time favorite). Try the arancini and the meatballs (polpette) as appetizers. Their ricotta gnocchi are so good and flavorful. They have a very small space and it gets packed, particularly during the weekend so I recommend you make reservations beforehand. They also serve pizzas; I've never tried them but some of my friends have and they love them. There's no parking but they have valet service, which has never been a problem for me. Service & the food in general are great so give it a try!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious from start to finish

Dined on May 1, 2016

While visiting PR my friend and I ate at 4 different restaurants for dinner. This restaurant was excellent. Not the best out of the four, but it had some pretty stiff competition including Cucina Albierta which is owned by the same people. Good Italian food!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Duck ravioli appetizer was excellent. ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Duck ravioli appetizer was excellent. Entrees came before salad, but was corrected. Arugula salad was very good. Both entrees were fabulous - Paccheri with ragu and farfalle with Tuscan sausage. Chocolate cake was outstanding - nice and dense with chocolate frosting and hazelnuts served with hazelnut ice cream. Will definitely be back next time in San Juan.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was a huge surprise... all of the appetizers to entrees were delicious. Service staff attentive, knowledgeable. Great Experience

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service, definitely o ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent food and service, definitely one of my favs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just amazing

Dined on April 18, 2016

An amazing surprise in San Jaun, found just by chance but returning again before we leave Puerto Rico. From the start the service was always present but never intrusive. The apps, drinks, and dinner all came at a leisurely pace yet never a wait and always prepared perfectly. Our server made great suggestions and helped to customize a dish for one in our party. He treated our 10 year-old like a young lady and all of his service was given with a personal touch. Desert was amazing too. Many locals as well as tourists that night. A nice sound level for quit conversation and lots of space between the tables. Noona's would fit perfectly in Boston's North End.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was exquisite! Definitely coming ba ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Food was exquisite! Definitely coming back:)

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

10/10 for pasta!

Dined on March 29, 2016

What I appreciated the most about my dining experience was the craftsmanship of the pasta. It was very fresh and well-cooked. Depending on the plate, the level of consistency was different according to the dish and it was always spot on. Next time, I will place an order for the uncooked pasta to take home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group allowed the server to chose th ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Our group allowed the server to chose the entire dining experience for us. It was an a fun and flavorful evening!

food5
ambience4
service5

This is our second visit to Nonna Cucina ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

This is our second visit to Nonna Cucina and once again the food and the service were outstanding. Located off the beaten track but just a short cab ride from the Condado or Isla Verde hotel area. Not your run of the mill Italian. You won't find chicken franchaise or veal parm on the menu. Instead you will find dishes like lobster risotto with capers and fennel cooked in champagne broth or delicioys homemade pastas such as pasta dumplings stuffed with braised short ribs and sausage in pancetta, sage, and butter. All of this in a small, rustic, cozy, welcoming environment. Definitely worth the trip away from the hotel strip

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great of the beaten path find!

Dined on February 19, 2016

My friend & 2 kids tries Nonna after reading the reviews on open table, we were not disappointed. The food was delicious, old school Italian pasta & risottos, good kids menu(2 little ones could share) so could the adults. The lobster risotto was amazing & love the cippola pizza. Its off the beaten path so the crowd is a nice mix of locals, tourists & families. Will definitely return next time in San Juan!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

best meal this vacation...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

we had a terrific meal here with great service. probably our best meal in PR

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

At 4.5 stars, I was expecting wonderful. ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

At 4.5 stars, I was expecting wonderful. Nonna more than delivered that. It was fantastic, especially the lamb bolognese lasagna.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

GREAT ITALIAN RESTAURANT IN CONDADO

Dined on January 21, 2016

There are a few Italian restaurants in Condado, but definitely this is one of the best. Great food, decent wine list and moderately priced. I tried to make reservations by phone but got no answer, the online reservation worked fine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nonna is the best Italian restaurant in San Juan!

vip
Dined on January 4, 2016

I visit Puerto Rico several times a year and love eating at Nonna Cucina Rustica which rivals any Italian restaurant in New York City with its original menu and atmosphere. Don't look for the common fare as all of the dishes on the menu are unique. Try the duck & pear ravioli (my favorite dish on their menu) and you won't be disappointed. The Branzino cooked in a paper bag is fabulous also. Also they have great thin crust pizzas!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant.

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Our favorite restaurant while vacationing in Puerto Rico. What a gem. No one heard of it, but it's a real find

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Pasta,Great Service

Dined on December 4, 2015

Our server was very attentive and explained the Menu very well. He help us choose our plates and drinks. The pastas were fresh and delicious. The service was very fast. Definitely will go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, lacking service!

Dined on November 27, 2015

Food was great and our server was very helpfull in explainning everything. However, I found a piece of plastic inside one of my raviolis and didn't event get an apology! They tried to brush it off as a piece of onion, which it was obviously not and my dish didn't even had onions as one of the ingredients. An apology as well or at least a coffee or dessert on the house would have been nice. Totally dissapointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything on the menu is amazing. So ha ...

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Everything on the menu is amazing. So hard to choose. Will be back again next time we are in PR.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great dining

Dined on November 21, 2015

Nonnas is an excellent restaurant with great food choices and very nice ambience. Try the duck raviolis or the ribs. Or the rissoto. Mama mia! And the service is excellent. Coming back with my family for a second time around. Looking forward to it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service5

I used to recommend Nonna for brunch to ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

I used to recommend Nonna for brunch to everyone, they had the best french toasts and eggs bennedict I've had in San Juan. The quality of the food has decreased greately. The panettone french toasts used to be memorable because of the perfect consistence not the dried up mess I've tasted on the last brunches I've gone to. The mascarpone honey glaze wasn't appealing at all giving them a sort of coffeecake afteraste that ruined the experience. The eggs nonna benedicta used to melt in your mouth, when I had them the last time the black truffle fondata had a very grainy-sandy consistency and you couldn't even sense the black truffle, the bread was unsavory, flavorless unlike the dish I used to recommend to all my friends. The steak was a bit dry. Aside from the food, the service was good, the waiter was very accomodating and responsive. But, for those particular items, I don't think I'll be recommending it again.

food3
ambience1
service3

Decent food - Too Loud - Too cramped

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

Was on vacation and decided to try this place. It is very small and the tables are right on top of each other. It is also VERY loud to the point I could not even have a conversation without speaking louder than that. Food was decent - nothing great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and Jen our serve ...

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was fantastic and Jen our server was spot on for recommendations as well as attentive. Joey mixed the best drinks

food4
ambience4
service5

Superb mixologist!

Dined on October 30, 2015

Creative version of classic Italian dishes. Excellent service (without overdoing it!) and over the top cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent and very accom ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

The service was excellent and very accomodating, even with 2 toddlers!!

food2
ambience2
service2

Not a fan coming from ny Sugar and salt ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Not a fan coming from ny Sugar and salt added to most. Lester risotto receive and apps just ok. Will not be returning

food5
ambience3
service1

The risotto was outstanding and deliciou ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

The risotto was outstanding and delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the bartender (Robert) and the Tapas

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

We went here after reading the TripAdvisor reviews. We read that we should sit at the bar, which we did on both occasions (we went twice, we liked it so much) We had Robert for a bartender. We let him suggest food choices and drinks, and we were not disappointed. Everything we had from the Tapas menu was very tasty. I would go back again in a heartbeat if we return to San Juan

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The risotto is their best plate. The piz ...

Dined on September 13, 2015

The risotto is their best plate. The pizza there is also amazing, The only negative thing is they should have a better selection of wine. Overall is a great place to dine which you don't have to spend so much.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great local restaurant

Dined on September 7, 2015

Service and Food were excellent went back a second time

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding Service. Creative/great food.

Dined on August 29, 2015

Rustic, yet very cozy-like ambience...feel like home kind of setting. Food was superb, service was amazing (Angel made us feel very welcome). Dedicated time to explain menu, recommendations, etc. This place is a hidden gem! Will definitely return and recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1

Excellent creative italian food & drinks

Dined on August 14, 2015

This restaurant is great for brunches. Must try their different mimosas. Forget about the diet! If you go for regular menu, risottos are great as well as any pasta, which are freshly made by them. I have tried various dishes and all have been great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

This is the second time we have dinner a ...

Dined on July 20, 2015

This is the second time we have dinner at Nonna. Simply one of the best pasta places in Puerto Rico. The service is excellent and the prices are good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dining experience. Great food, f ...

Dined on July 12, 2015

Perfect dining experience. Great food, fresh pasta. Awesome service. Perfect for a romantic occasion.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Best Food So Far, in PR

Dined on June 12, 2015

It's small, nondescript exterior, and humble decor belies its oh so impressive cuisine! Innovative? No. Trendy? No. Just simple, well-prepared, Italian food that could have come out of the best-grandma-yet-to-be-imagined's kitchen. (What was your first hint? The name of the restaurant is Nonna's Cucina Rustica, after all!) We go to Nonna's every time we go to Puerto Rico. We recommend it to all of our posh friends who stay on the hotel strip. They scoff. They think they know better. And, then they go . . . and I cannot wipe the look of smug satisfaction off of my face.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Many Visits

Dined on May 10, 2015

We have been going to Nonna every time we go to PR. Always excellent Italian food

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

Biggest mistake for Mother's Day!

Dined on May 10, 2015

Worst experience ever. Reservation was for 12:00PM and the table was not ready, we waited for 30 minutes to be seated, our table was occupied. They call themselves an Italian restaurant, but in reality is a want to be Italian restaurant. They do not accommodate any changes in their menu. My parents wanted Spaguettis with red sauce and Meatballs. That was a totally impossible existence in the Chefs recipes. There was no way they could cook that. The spoon taste is the worst I have ever had in any called Italian restaurant. They are to disorganized, lack management and of course the 30 minute wait standing up at the entrance was the beginning of a lousy lunch. They need to review their recipes, menu and management skills. The description of the restaurant is far away from the truth.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.