Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

The Grill on the Alley - San JoseThe Grill on the Alley - San Jose
(933)
$$$$
Steak | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 27 times today
Black Sheep BrasserieBlack Sheep Brasserie
(330)
$$$$
French | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 36 times today
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - San JoseMcCormick & Schmick's Seafood - San Jose
(2282)
$$$$
Seafood | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 50 times today
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San JoseFogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Jose
(961)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 47 times today
Loft Bar and BistroLoft Bar and Bistro
(510)
$$$$
American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 3 times today
HECHOHECHO
(198)
$$$$
Mexican | Castro, San Francisco
Booked 27 times today
Revelry BistroRevelry Bistro
(81)
$$$$
Traditional French | Civic Center / Hayes Valley / Van Ness, San Francisco
Booked 18 times today
Canela Bistro & Wine BarCanela Bistro & Wine Bar
(494)
$$$$
Spanish | Castro, San Francisco
Booked 21 times today
Beso Spanish Tapas and Wine BarBeso Spanish Tapas and Wine Bar
(268)
$$$$
Spanish | Mission, San Francisco
Booked 23 times today
The Spinnaker - SausalitoThe Spinnaker - Sausalito
(2340)
$$$$
Seafood | Sausalito, Marin
Booked 12 times today
FableFable
(378)
$$$$
American | Castro, San Francisco
Booked 19 times today
NemeaNemea
(677)
$$$$
Greek | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 24 times today
Heirloom CafeHeirloom Cafe
(656)
$$$$
Californian | Mission, San Francisco
Booked 52 times today
Zuni CafeZuni Cafe
(4429)
$$$$
Modern European | Civic Center / Hayes Valley / Van Ness, San Francisco
Booked 130 times today
CoquetaCoqueta
(1266)
$$$$
Spanish | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 109 times today

About Nomikai

48 S 1St St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

Nomikai is a social food and drinking establishment in San Jose where meeting up with friends for cocktails and a bite to eat is all about fun. Enjoy cocktails, sake, whiskey, or the very popular punch bowls offered on Thursdays only.

The food is original and exciting, such as starting off with duck pate or nori fries with seven spices. The handcrafted pizzas at Nomikai are exotic with ingredients such as Portuguese sausage, salmon sashimi, enoki mushrooms, five-spice roasted duck and pickled daikon. Nomikai is not a family dining spot – in fact, you have to be 21+ to enter, but then the menu is decisively not something most kids would enjoy, but you and your friends will adore it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tues-Sat 5:30pm-close

Cross Street:
1st/Post

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-7199

Website:
http://www.nomikaisj.com/

Entertainment:
Whiskey Wednesdays. Punch Thursdays. Live Music Friday/Saturday with rotating DJs. Check out our website for calendar updates. nomikaisj.com

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whiskey Wednesdays. Punch Thursdays. Live Music Friday/Saturday with rotating DJs. Check out our website for calendar updates. nomikaisj.com

Sort By:
S
11 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Restaurant wasn't what I expected but it ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2014

Restaurant wasn't what I expected but it was something different.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great food but poor service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2014

This restaurant is up to something... Service is terrible, but food is really good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Fun spot

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2014

This is a fun bar and restaurant with good customer service and drinks. It's not too big, somewhat cozy and kind of a hidden gem. There isn't a huge food selection, since it's more like appetizers and small plates.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Cute Place for Girls Night or Date

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2014

I went during the day for happy hour so it was not crowded. I loved the fact that I could hear my coworkers talking and we did not need to yell over loud music or a rowdy crowd. It's a place you can dress up nicely and it'd be appropriate, or you can go in casual clothes. The service was great. I hope I get the same server next time. I believe her name was Anastasia. I loved admiring all the details of the restaurant, from the bamboo menu to the lounge-y atmosphere. I tried the watermelon beer, A-MAIZE-ING flatbread, and the kim-cheese fries. All of them were unique & tasty and I can't wait to go back and try more.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Awesome!!!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2014

I found Nomikai on Yelp and thought I'd give it a try with my girlfriend. I must say, we found the right place for a dinner date! Food was delish, drinks were good and I really love the atmosphere. Dara our server was awesome!!! Thank you, we will definitely come back! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aweful

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2014

When we walked in, no one greated us. I finally had to go to the back area where the computer was to see if my name was on the reservation list. Only then did someone ask me if I "needed help." The bartender did not inform us of what beers were included in the happy hour menu. We sat down and waited and waited and waited for service. I have no idea how long we waited, but it was quite while. Overall, extremely bad customer service. We left and went to Billy Berks where we were immediately greeted, seated, offered a drink, and asked if we would like an appetizer. After a long day of work, this is hwo I like to be treated at a restaurant - as if I matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

ok, not great

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2014

Very limited menu. some items not described well/accurately. Happy hour prices/specials were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Cocktail lounge, not a restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2014

The only thing more limited than the menu is the dining room space. The kitchen is tiny, so the food approach is heat and serve. Went during happy hour--not sure if the drinks are the regular size during that time, but they seemed about half the size of what you'd expect. I suspect that things here pick up later in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great date place

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2014

Took my fiancée here with a last minute reservation. The place was not packed at 7pm but I'm sure it got more busy in the evening. Good food. I like the Japanese take on pizza as well as the Japanese whiskey cocktails. Nice date ambiance. We would definitely consider coming back and/or even inviting friends out for a drink there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good for Happy Hour

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2014

The menu might sound weird with the Chinese fusion pizza, but actually they are pretty good. All of their dishes are pretty small, except the pizzas, so it's a good place for people to hangout after work. Plus they are really close to San Jose downtown, which makes it even better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

whiskey wednesday

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2014

I had for an appetizer a garlic bread with eggplant paste spread. It was better than I was expecting. For my entree I had a pear with caramelized onion pizza. It was spectacular.

They have a very good happy hour menu and their whiskey selection is not large but all high quality. Service was perfect. Beautiful and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.