Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Firehouse No. 1 GastropubFirehouse No. 1 Gastropub
(143)
American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
The Farmers UnionThe Farmers Union
(348)
Contemporary American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
Scott's Seafood - San JoseScott's Seafood - San Jose
(1298)
American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
Loft Bar and BistroLoft Bar and Bistro
(493)
American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
MezcalMezcal
(197)
Regional Mexican | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
NemeaNemea
(630)
Greek | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
Teske's Germania RestaurantTeske's Germania Restaurant
(631)
German | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
La PastaiaLa Pastaia
(724)
Contemporary Italian | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
BlueFin Japanese RestaurantBlueFin Japanese Restaurant
(297)
Japanese | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant - San JoseGordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant - San Jose
(37)
American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
Taurinus Brazilian SteakhouseTaurinus Brazilian Steakhouse
(170)
Brazilian Steakhouse | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
Il Fornaio - San JoseIl Fornaio - San Jose
(2392)
Italian | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
The FountainThe Fountain
(21)
Californian | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
ARCADIAARCADIA
(1100)
Steak | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - San JoseMcCormick & Schmick's Seafood - San Jose
(2176)
Seafood | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Reserve Now

About Nomikai

48 S 1St St
San Jose, CA 95113
View Larger Map

nomikai is a new restaurant and bar concept serving great tasting, Asian inspired specialty pizzas and food in a fun, relaxed, inviting atmosphere. Also available are craft cocktails, beers and a great selection of Japanese whiskys. The name nomikai comes from a drinking party phenomenon in the Japanese culture. nomikai is a place where friends and family can come and be social. nomikai isn't a place for a getaway - it's a place to get together (must be 21+ to enter)

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tues-Sat 5:30pm-close

Cross Street:
1st/Post

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-7199

Website:
http://www.nomikaisj.com/

Entertainment:
Whiskey Wednesdays. Punch Thursdays. Live Music Friday/Saturday with rotating DJs. Check out our website for calendar updates. nomikaisj.com

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whiskey Wednesdays. Punch Thursdays. Live Music Friday/Saturday with rotating DJs. Check out our website for calendar updates. nomikaisj.com

Sort By:
Newest
11 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Restaurant wasn't what I expected but it ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

Restaurant wasn't what I expected but it was something different.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great food but poor service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 28, 2014

This restaurant is up to something... Service is terrible, but food is really good.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Fun spot

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

This is a fun bar and restaurant with good customer service and drinks. It's not too big, somewhat cozy and kind of a hidden gem. There isn't a huge food selection, since it's more like appetizers and small plates.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Cute Place for Girls Night or Date

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2014

I went during the day for happy hour so it was not crowded. I loved the fact that I could hear my coworkers talking and we did not need to yell over loud music or a rowdy crowd. It's a place you can dress up nicely and it'd be appropriate, or you can go in casual clothes. The service was great. I hope I get the same server next time. I believe her name was Anastasia. I loved admiring all the details of the restaurant, from the bamboo menu to the lounge-y atmosphere. I tried the watermelon beer, A-MAIZE-ING flatbread, and the kim-cheese fries. All of them were unique & tasty and I can't wait to go back and try more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Awesome!!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

I found Nomikai on Yelp and thought I'd give it a try with my girlfriend. I must say, we found the right place for a dinner date! Food was delish, drinks were good and I really love the atmosphere. Dara our server was awesome!!! Thank you, we will definitely come back! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aweful

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2014

When we walked in, no one greated us. I finally had to go to the back area where the computer was to see if my name was on the reservation list. Only then did someone ask me if I "needed help." The bartender did not inform us of what beers were included in the happy hour menu. We sat down and waited and waited and waited for service. I have no idea how long we waited, but it was quite while. Overall, extremely bad customer service. We left and went to Billy Berks where we were immediately greeted, seated, offered a drink, and asked if we would like an appetizer. After a long day of work, this is hwo I like to be treated at a restaurant - as if I matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

ok, not great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2014

Very limited menu. some items not described well/accurately. Happy hour prices/specials were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Cocktail lounge, not a restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2014

The only thing more limited than the menu is the dining room space. The kitchen is tiny, so the food approach is heat and serve. Went during happy hour--not sure if the drinks are the regular size during that time, but they seemed about half the size of what you'd expect. I suspect that things here pick up later in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great date place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Took my fiancée here with a last minute reservation. The place was not packed at 7pm but I'm sure it got more busy in the evening. Good food. I like the Japanese take on pizza as well as the Japanese whiskey cocktails. Nice date ambiance. We would definitely consider coming back and/or even inviting friends out for a drink there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good for Happy Hour

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

The menu might sound weird with the Chinese fusion pizza, but actually they are pretty good. All of their dishes are pretty small, except the pizzas, so it's a good place for people to hangout after work. Plus they are really close to San Jose downtown, which makes it even better.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

whiskey wednesday

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2014

I had for an appetizer a garlic bread with eggplant paste spread. It was better than I was expecting. For my entree I had a pear with caramelized onion pizza. It was spectacular.

They have a very good happy hour menu and their whiskey selection is not large but all high quality. Service was perfect. Beautiful and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.