About NOLA Restaurant

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. The chef de cuisine works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: (504) 522-6652

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (129)
Good for a Date (125)
Creative Cuisine (121)
See All
Fit for Foodies (106)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Authentic (76)
Comfort Food (69)
Romantic (68)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Local Ingredients (67)
Notable Wine List (67)
Open Kitchen (61)
Fun (59)
Business Meals (57)
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Cozy (48)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Casual (45)
Hot Spot (44)
Historic (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Worth the Drive (37)
Great for Lunch (36)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Modern Decor (29)
Wood Oven (26)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
People Watching (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Spicy (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Family Style (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fireplace (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
9354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Super experience. Payton our waitress did a superb job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food with plenty of options from Creole and local food to more global tastes. Bar tender made me a personal cocktail when I couldn't find one I liked - asked me my favorite drink and made something perfect. Waiter was very friendly but not intrusive. Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Superb food and service! The drum Gish was outstanding and the kings cake bread pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

The decor was very nice and we sat upstairs. Service was exceptional! The mussels appetizer was large enough for a meal. The crab cake appetizer was not acceptable. It was mushy and tasteless and drowned in the corn sauce which was the only saving grace for this dish. I could not finish it.

The creme brûlée trio was wonderful.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

This place was amazing! The food was excellent and the service was over the top! We were seated immediately and we started our meal with the stuffed boneless wings (I think they were called Miss May's?) and they were so flavorful and a wonderful start! I had the New York Strip with the friend oysters and it was done to perfection and very tender! My wife had the shrimp and grits. The shrimp was very plentiful and the bacon with the cheese grits were amazing and unlike a comment before, I didn't find them greasy at all! We finished our meal with the banana cake with fudge sauce and Chantilly cream! This dessert was so flavorful with the bananas, chocolate, the cake, and the cream and yet so light!

Now the service was outstanding! We had Gregory and Ruth and I have to say that Gregory has the very best personality for this job! He was so joyful and loves life and very quick witted and interacted with us! He was very helpful with the suggestions and very knowledgeable about the food. We never wanted for anything and our waters, drinks, and bread was always plentiful. Silverware appeared and disappeared like a fine dance that was choreographed and perfected. The atmosphere was wonderful and all of the staff were very friendly and since we were chatty and interacting with them, they responded as well, which made the whole experience very personable for us. We will definitely return on our next visit!

If you get the chance you really need to give it a try. The food is very high quality and worth what you pay for! We highly recommend it!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambiance. I love sitting at the Chef's Bar and seeing the inner workings of the kitchen. Great service, I would say it's the best service I've seen in NOLA (my waiter Marco was great).

The food wasn't terrible but nothing wowed me (the most notable call out was the grits, which were very good). I had higher expectations for the food. I would say that food items need to be simplified. For example the garlic crusted fish, and shrimp and grits was overpowered by bacon. All I good taste was strong bacon, when I should of been tasting fish and shrimp. The fish was also a tad dry. They made me another order of shrimp and grits without bacon which was much better. This dish can be improved by removing the bacon and using colossal shrimp. I was not a fan of the hays stuffed chicken wings... the chicken wing was perfectly fried, but the stuffing was mediocre.

Cocktails, wine, and the chamomile grappa were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

NOLA is a great experience every time! The food and service are second to none, and the atmosphere and overall vibe is excellent. This spot is a must if you're in New Orleans.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This has been the best meal that we've enjoyed while in New Orleans. The drinks were delicious, the food was finger licking good and the dessert to die for. Will be coming back if time permits to enjoy the food 1 more time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first visit to NOLA. I had read about the restaurant and wanted to try it. It was exceptional. The wine/cocktail selections were extensive and for all price ranges. Our service was exceptional. The food was one if the best meals I have ever had. The BBQ shrimp appetizer and cheese grits were delicious. The desserts, gooey chocolate cake and banana rum bread pudding, were over the top. Go, go go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. And service was amazing and accommodating! Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best duck I ever had and the man who sat next to me (who I convinced to order it) said the same thing. Huge portion, perfectly seared, fantastic accompaniment of cornbread dressing with corn & green beans. Candied pecans on top. Will be dreaming of it for months. Also great wines by the glass (my tip, get the house).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was the best food ever! Great atmosphere and service. Just awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service is a bit rushed.

Tags: Spicy, Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very disappointing return visit. Great service cannot overcome at maximum average food

Have been coming here >10 years

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Everything was incredible. Paul was extremely attentive, pleasant and knowledgeable with the menu/wine pairings. I had the Sea Scallops which were absolutely fantastic. Great restaurant with exceptional ambience/food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We ordered off menu and were treated to pure delight. Treated like royalty.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent! Big John took great care of us. Food was amazing. Really enjoyed every thing we ate. Cocktails were lovely.A+

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Waited over an half for our meal then it came out wrong. Nothing really else left to be said. The manager didn't come out and apologize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always has been the case in the past, dinner at NOLA was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came to NOLA for Valentine's Day and he a wonderful experience. The staff was beyond competent with friendliness to boot! Awesome suggestions and first-class service. The food was EXCELLENT! A memorable dining experience. My only critique is that the ambiance is a bit laid-back for the price point. No candles on the tables. Old tables and chairs (not in the stylish way). The restaurant atmosphere seems more suited for business meetings or brunch. But, overall a very pleasant time. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

NOLA is always our first choice for a dinner reservation in New Orleans. It has great drinks to match the great food. It always has a fun atmosphere. We always request a table downstairs, too. Our Valentine's dinner was extra special at NOLA.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing service and even better food! Very prompt with servicing and seating you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service at Nola was terrific! We had reservations on Valentine's Day and had the best dinner possible! It's a tough night for service usually, but food & help were great. Salads were timely, filet & drum entrees were perfectly done, as was the king cake bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was terrific! The food was "meh" the Stuffed chicken wings were over fried. The New York was over cooked and tough, the muffin and bread were over presented to us, not much taste of jalapeño in the muffin or cheese in the bread. The pork chop was dry and over cooked as well. However, the trio of creme brûlée was AMAZING!!! Sadly I would not go back. We ate at the Commanders Palace the next night, hands down 10 times better!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made reservations for Valentine's Day dinner as soon as we decided to visit New Orleans again. Nola is always going to be a must-do for us every time we go. The food is always fantastic, but the service and presentation are what makes this place so special. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thanks for the great dining experience!! Great food, great ambiance and great staff!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food and they were very accommodating when they didn't have the wine I wanted. They also made me feel very welcome when they found out it was my birthday. I'd definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Me and my boyfriend had our Valentine's dinner here and it was amazing. Service was so amazing top notch! Food was delicious and the kings cake bread pudding was yummy.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic service from Terrence. Wood roasted oysters and hickory smoked duck were top notch as was the Wine list. Top notch in a city with many outstanding restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wife and I always go to NOLA when in town. Best gumbo we have had. Lot's of protein in the gumbo. I mention this as some places are light on it, like a certain bistro. flavors of all items showcase the Chef's talents.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

NOLA was by far my favorite area restaurant during prior New Orleans visits. Following an absence of five years, I finally returned to the area with friends in Feb '17 and visited several of my past favs, to include Irene's, Brennan's, Commander's Palace, and NOLA. I can conclude that in my book, NOLA is still #1 for food and service. I have never left disappointed there....ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Historic, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and the host said they could sit us shortly. We then went back to them 15 min later and they seated us upstairs right next to the wait station. Came out with soups in about 10 min then proceeded to wait over 30 min for entree. When my meal arrived I had order meat medium and it was rare. I was not in the mood to wait for the entree to be redone so I ended sharing my wife's dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful experience. The staff was the best ever. We were visiting New Orleans and after dining at Nola's wished we lived there so we could come more frequently to Nola's. Thank you all !

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Disappointing. Service was very good. Expected much more from an Emeril restaurant. Food was very "everyday" and tasted bland.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere as much as the delectable meal. And the service was impeccable. Can't wait to dine there next time we are in town!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hostess was nice, food was tasty, waiter assistants were prompt and friendly, our waiter was rude and ready for us to go.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience at NOLA. Our waiter Paul gave us exceptional service and was very helpful. The food was delicious and traditional with a creative twist.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food and excellent service... but food not as good as it used to be. They seem to be coasting

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

An overall excellent lunch. Excellent service, wonderful meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Took my sisters in law and brothers in law to NOLA on Thurs night. What a disappointment. I've eaten there several times but not in the past 6-8 yrs. Either they were having a bad night, or it's really gone downhill. Chargrilled oysters and BBQ shrimp apps were both cold. For entrees the shrimp and grits were mediocre and the drum was overcooked. One person had the pizza app as an entree and it came out cold too. It didn't help that our server seemed indifferent, almost arrogant. I hate to bash a New Orleans classic like NOLA, but it just wasn't up to the reputation it has had in the past.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

SO DISAPPOINTING...Reserved the chefs bar but too HOT to sit there. With the extreme heat what is the condition of your cooks?? Then the tables that we suggested against the walls were reserved but no signs. Seated us by kitchen. Tables were so close together it was hard for the staff to walk between without hitting the chairs or rubbing against us.

The food was good but really not great....what going on?? Not a good experience for us and our guest.

I would like to discuss with you before writing a blog.

214-675-2678

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Landmark, must go restaurant in NO. Food and service as expected-superlative. Highly recommend but not inexpensive

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My meal at NOLA was great and the personal service and attentive staff were incredible. Great discussions on the wine and the manager personally came over to offer a glass of wine from the bottle menu because of my interest. They were able to switch sides since I was interested in the sides from another dish to go with my pork chop. The pork chop was great and very moist and tender. Very nice wine list with an impressive list of wines by the glass.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always a great experience at Nola's. Quality of food is exceptional as well as service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was beautifully presented and served; However, Even the "not spicy option" was over the top spicy/salty - almost inedible for me. Sadly, Ruined what would have been a nice grilled fish. Dessert portions very small and nothing special. Hate to say- Disappointed overall.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Chose NOLA for our last night in New Orleans and loved it. Gumbo was delicious and the Louisiana Crab Cakes were the best ever. The salmon was perfect and Ooey Gooey Cake was tasty (and fun to say). Caesar salad was a bit too salty for our taste. Service was impeccable. Great memories of a great city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We enjoyed our first visit to NOLA, on our third trip to New Orleans. The steak (and accompaniments) were delicious, but it seemed like it took quite a long time to be served the entree. We were seated at 7:30 p.m. and our entree was brought to the table around 8:45-long time. It Iwas quite crowded (only two floors were open that evening), and quite loud. In spite, the food and service was great, and if you're not in a "great' hurry, I do recommend this fine restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We eat the Drum and it was EXCELLENT! The absolute BEST place to eat in the French quarter.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.