About NOLA Restaurant

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. Chef de cuisine Brian Mottola works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Executive Chef:
Brian Mottola

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: 5045226652x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

NOLA Restaurant
NOLA Restaurant
Creme Brulee Trio
Shrimp and Grits
Shrimp & Grits
Ooey Gooey Warm Chocolate Cake
Banana Pudding Layer Cake
Hickory Roasted Duck
banana layer pudding cake
Burrata salad
Grilled Pork Chop
Miss Hay’s Stuffed Wings
BBQ Shrimp
Miss Hays Stuffed Chicken Wings
Apple tart
Chicken and Andouille Gumbo
Double-Barrel
Brioche and Jalapeño Corn Bread
Sazerac
Drunken Monkey Ice Cream
Braised Short Rib Bordelaise
St. Joseph Zeppole
Fois Gras Pate
Paneed Pork Loin, Bucatini, And Crab Carbonara
Cracklin' Crusted Frog Legs
Fried Oyster Vietnamese Po Boy With Kimchi
Buttermilk Fried Breast of Chicken 
Warm Ooey Gooey Cake
"Emeril’s" New Orleans Barbeque Shrimp
Miss Hay's Vietnamese Po Boy
Garlic Crusted Drum
Braised Pork Cheek Poboy
Banana Fosters Bread Pudding
Grilled Creekstone New York Strip
Boubon Sweet Potatoes
Stuffed Chicken Wings W/hoisin Sauce
Duck Confit and Fried Egg Pizza  with Parmesan Cheese, Truffle Oil and Baby Arugula
Prince Edward Island Black Mussels
Cheese Plate
Gumbo of the Day
Pork Cheek Boudin
King's Cake Bread Pudding
Wood Oven Roasted Pocket Bread
Pan Roasted Salmon
Grilled Gulf Fish
Crispy Smoked Duck And Mushroom Boudin Balls With Creole Mustard Sauce And Topped With Tomato Bacon Jam
Yellow Fin Tuna
Popcorn Sundae
Bread & Butter
Duck Confit & Fried Egg Pizza
Covey Rise Creole Tomato Gazpacho 
With Poached Gulf Shrimp
Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread
Assorted Baby Lettuces
Chicken And Andouille Sausage Gumbo
Double Barrel
Pali 'Bluffs' Pinot Noir Russian River Valley '11
Grilled Amberjack
Roussette de Savoie, Domaine Jean Vullien et Fils '12
Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Rosé
Bread Plate
Crispy Smoked Duck Balls
Garlic Roasted Ciabatta
Seared Sea Scallops
Emeril's Syrah
Craggy Range Sauvignon Blanc
Sticky Toffee Bread Pudding
Ginger Rum Cake With Pineapple Sorbet
Wild Field Peas
Specialty Cappuccino
fried chicken
White Chocolate And Blueberry Bread Pudding
Strawberry Shortcake Prof
Crispy Tomato & Bacon Salad
Duck Confit
Nola burger
Turkey Panini
Salada
Fried Green Tomatoes
Trim Cabernet Sauvignon
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Nola Cosmo
Stuffed Chicken
Duck And Andouille Gumbo
Veggie Pizza
New Orleans style crab cake
Grilled Creekstone Farms Rib Eye
Blueberry Upside Down Cake
Smoked Duck And Pepperjack Cheese Spring Roll
Pan Roasted Drum Fish
Chocolate Ice Cream With Candied Pecans
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
Turtle Soup
Gumbo
Mahi Mahi
Hickory Smoked Duck Breast With Sweet Corn Grits
Wood Fired Prince Edward Island Black Mussels
Profiteroles
Eiswein
Mussels

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (216)
Fit for Foodies (205)
Romantic (131)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (121)
Good for Groups (108)
Notable Wine List (100)
Hot Spot (83)
Great for Lunch (57)
Good for a Date (42)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Local Ingredients (34)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Authentic (25)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Comfort Food (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Scenic View (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (13)
Historic (12)
Fun (12)
Casual (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
8430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great!!! Service was aweso ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined a day ago

The food was great!!! Service was awesome...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I looked forward to visiting ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I looked forward to visiting this restaurant for our anniversary... My wife

had the soft shell crab special ( $34, way over priced)... one medium sized crab which was so oily she couldn't eat it. Not one wait staff asked how we enjoyed our meal and then we had to wait for what seemed forever for the check .... Our 6 other friends cancelled their reservation after we gave a review.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was amazing and the service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was amazing and the service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are outstanding. Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service are outstanding. This is my favorite restaurant in New Orleans!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great - Service was a little if ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great - Service was a little iffy for our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very very good

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved the stuffed chicken wings! The sta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the stuffed chicken wings! The staff was very attentive and offered a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This is always one of our favorite resta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is always one of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans. I have NEVER had a bad meal there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the place we chose for our anni ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was the place we chose for our anniversary dinner in New Orleans and unfortunately we were disappointed. The food was very good, when we got it, but the service was out of sync with us all night long. And it's not like they didn't know it was our anniversary as both the host staff and our wait staff congratulated us on it. We got there and things started fine, our waitress came over and we needed some time to figure out our wine selection and app. She left and did not return for at least another 10 minutes at which point we ordered our bottle of wine and app. Well the app got to our table well before we ever got wine, and it was luke warm. We asked to return it and she was very apologetic. We then got our wine, almost 30 minutes after we arrived and our app came shortly after, not much warmer. We figured this must be the way it was supposed to be served. Then we ordered our entrees as by this time we'd had plenty of time to decide, i.e. too much time. We finished our app and waited another 30 minutes plus minutes for our entrees, so we're over an hour in and have had an appetizer and a glass of wine to show for it, wanting to save the rest of our bottle for our entrees. Our waitress came by a couple times, once saying "your entrees should be out shortly", of course they weren't. Having been a waiter I understand the idea of not rushing a table, especially on special occasions but this was not that. Something was going on in the kitchen and our waitress appeared to be more attentive to a larger table near us. Our entrees finally show up and they had my entree wrong! Once again they apologized and said they'd get me one that was firing for another table and it would be out shortly. About 5 minutes later it shows up and is slightly raw due to the fact that they were hurrying it out. The manager comp'ed my entree and we got 2 glasses of champagne for an anniversary ending on the house, which eased the sting, but the damage was done. Get it together, Emeril.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Celebrated my 50th here. Attention to d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated my 50th here. Attention to detail was above imagineable. Food and service were simply amazing. This restaurant has to be enjoyed by anyone visiting New Orleans. Very close to Bourbon Street.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Emeril's NOLA does Cahun fu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Outstanding. Emeril's NOLA does Cahun fusion with the creativity and style that he brings to all his restaurants.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and staff was amazing. Very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The service and staff was amazing. Very friendly and welcoming. Our waiter had great knowledge of the menu and offered good recommendations. The food came out at a reasonable pace and was delicious and hot. The presentation of each plate was clean and very appealing to the eye. The desserts are house made and so tasty. There is not one thing that I could say was negative about our experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my mother here for her 60th birt ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We took my mother here for her 60th birthday dinner, and it was fantastic. The food was excellent, the staff were beyond wonderful, and I couldn't have asked for a better time to celebrate my mom.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the flavors and ambience ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Really enjoyed the flavors and ambience of NOLA.... a New Orleans must see!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant was phenomenal. We stuf ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This restaurant was phenomenal. We stuffed ourselves silly--so many good things to eat! Great way to end our 10th anniversary New Orleans weekend celebration.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. From the moment ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding experience. From the moment we arrived I was greeted by name (from my reservation) and the staff referred to me by name several times throughout the evening. Very nice touch.

Food was fantastic. Everyone at our table was happy with their choices. I can attest to the shrimp and grits and the creme brûlée being top notch. Drinks were excellent too.

I thought the prices were a bit high but for a special occasion. I'd love to revisit but price would be a consideration.

Kudos to showing us what a well oiled operation should look like.

Highly recommend if your looking for an impressive experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dinner, dessert and lots of wine o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great dinner, dessert and lots of wine options. Authentic food.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Table of six. We ordered duck, pork chop ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Table of six. We ordered duck, pork chop, shrimp & grits, seafood bouillon and 2 strip steaks. All very good, though duck was the least favorite and pork chop on the dry side. Had seen $45 3-course menu on website that was not available at the restaurant. We shared a charcuterie platter and 2 orders of stuffed wings, both delicious. Four of our party ordered a local cocktail called Sazerac, and only one of them liked it. Very medicine-y tasting, I heard. Waitstaff was very attentive, though I wanted a bit more time (and light - very dark in there) to study the wine list, but our server really rushed me to make a choice. She ended up bringing a taste of something she thought I'd like. It was very good, but drier than my usual choice. But I ended up ordering a bottle of it so that she'd leave me in peace. She was very nice, just very assertive, too. For example, several times when we were ordering, she let us know that she would order something else (duck v. Salmon, strip steak v. Drum). We were all so full that only one dessert was ordered. The staff was very attentive and we were well looked after throughout the meal. Definitely a good experience. Relaxes pacing. I would go back at lunch to try some other dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good, of course. We felt v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was good, of course. We felt very crammed in.

Also the noise level was very high. The service wasn't so great either. Our salad came

quickly but we waited quite a while for our main course. I expected better considerating the

reputation.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Absolutely fabulous. Exceeded my expect ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Absolutely fabulous. Exceeded my expectations and those in my party. Acknowledged our special celebration, made food recommendations, very attentive. Food and drink were divine. No one had a bad meal, and we each tasted each others as there was an ample amount but not excessive. Would repeat if the opportunity presents itself.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience for those "Food Network ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great experience for those "Food Network" fans. I always wondered if the food that Emeril cooked on his programs was as good as it looked. Now I know, it definitely was!! Great atmosphere, wonderful full service staff, tend to every need and desire. This is certainly on the "MUST DO" list when visiting the New Orleans. Excellent establishment.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our 10th anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went for our 10th anniversary dinner. Everyone but our main server was down to earth and friendly. Our main server (of about 3) never smiled at all. Wine was delicious. Food was good, dessert was great. Ambience was good, air-conditioning was freezing. Three out of five stars.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Thought service only fair as they seemed ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Thought service only fair as they seemed bored. Ordered hamburger and fries. The fries were cold! Shrimp and grits were good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Enjoyed the meal. Food was excellent. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed the meal. Food was excellent. The staff was amazing. Very friendly and helpful. Made our experience very enjoyable. Will definitely dine there in future visits to New Orleans. Will recommend it to friends and family

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was the best we ate while in Ne ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was the best we ate while in New Orleans on a bus trip.Excellent atmosphere.Excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not as impressed as I thought it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was not as impressed as I thought it was going to be. Ambience and our server were excellent. Grilled shrimp and grits had too much oil pooling on the side of the dish leaving an orange oily ring. Banana layer cake with too much and overripe bananas, barely any cake and oddly, not that sweet. NY Strip...too thick a cut and slightly tough. Was in Emeril's audience twice during it's hey day in NYC and just didn't quite make what I thought it would be. Still, it was an enjoyable meal with excellent watermelon martinis but feel a tad short.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to NOLA several times befor ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We have been to NOLA several times before, unfortunately the food was far from what it was,

The Rib Eye was mostly fat and tough. Won't be going back anytime soon.😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Absolutely tremendous food and service! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Absolutely tremendous food and service! The pork cheek boudin balls were so good, I could've eaten a thousand of them! I had my first Sazerac there and it was delicious. There were so many good choices to eat but I went with the garlic crusted drum because I'm from NE and we don't have drum there plus I've seen Emeril made brabant potatoes several times and just had to try them! I was too full to really appreciate dessert because of the servers' generosity in handing out this fabulous brioche and cornbread during the meal with the most incredible butter...but I wasn't going to leave without some banana pudding cake! The first two bites I had were amazing and then they packed it up for me and it was just as good for breakfast the next day! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I wasn't in love with the decor and the stained dirty ceilings and floors...maybe it was supposed to look rustic but it just looked dingy instead. I'd go back for a meal and to hang around with the wonderful staff anytime though!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Duck was not special Shrimps was good Ov ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Duck was not special

Shrimps was good

Overall , i would not recommend.

Dissappointing

Value for money : very poor

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great restaurant. I thought it was a typ ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great restaurant. I thought it was a typical touristic place in French Quarter, but was pleasantly surprised. Will definitely come again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our servers were incredibly personal and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our servers were incredibly personal and knowledgeable. When one guest in my party went to order his entree, the server actually suggested AGAINST that selection. The guest decided to order it anyway, and later told the server he was right and he should have listened. It wasn't that the food was bad, but it wasn't worth the price and there were far better things on the menu (like the pork chops) that were phenomenal and he would have been better off ordering that. Overall, it was a great experience and I would 100% trust the recommendations and reviews of the staff and eat there again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love NOLA. However, my friend didn't ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I love NOLA. However, my friend didn't like the mac and cheese and could not eat the buttermilk chicken. She said it was too rich. I had the duck and it was delicious. We sat upstairs which was much quieter. The beet salad and pocket bread was outstanding. So was the sazerac and the champagne cocktail.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I brought my mother here for her Birthda ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I brought my mother here for her Birthday dinner. We drove over night from Atlanta. She has watched Emeril on TV for years. The food was amazing! Every bite delicious! 'The bread and water guy ' Collin was courteous, speedy and attentive. Our actual waitress was rude and not attentive in the least. When I asked for the catch of the day and what the market price was and when I asked to sample Emeril' 2010 wine I felt she was rude and dismissive. When she brought the wine for me to sample she just say it down left and didn't return for approx 10 min, where as I was able to finally order my drink. Then she sent over another waiter to continue taking care of us and he seemed all over the place. It took an extended time to get any of our meals - the people who were seated behind is sat down 15-20 min after is and received their food before us. If this was for any other time I would've walked out. The wait and the service was horrible. I would recommend others for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The service was terrible. After waiting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service was terrible. After waiting 45 minutes after ordering, our food finally came. The order was wrong and the food that came out was cold. After notifying the waitress she took the food and never brought back the correct order. She even tried to charge us for that food. I can't recommend this restaurant to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED! First trip to Ne ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!

First trip to New Orleans. NOLA came highly recommended, so I enthusiastically made a reservation for Sat. dinner. How could I go wrong with an Emeril restaurant IN New Orleans? Unfortunately, I quickly learned NOLA is NOT all that it is hyped up to be.

THE GOOD:

~The (free) dinner rolls as soon as we sat down - Delicious!

~The cocktails. Watermelon martini, pomegranate martini and mango mojito-all fantastic.

~The decor-(Most) of the restaurant has a VERY cool vibe. Warehouse-feel with a cool elevator in the middle. UNLESS you sat where we did...

THE BAD:

~The wait to be seated-40 minutes AFTER our reservation time! A busy Saturday night in NO, we were willing to be forgiving of this.

~The wait for our entrees-45 minutes between appetizer and entree.

~ALL the food AFTER the (free) dinner rolls. SO very disappointing. Really wanted to love the food! Again, Emeril-how could we go wrong? Well, because the food is simply turn-key, similar in quality to TGI Fridays or Cheesecake Factory on a bad day. NO JOKE... Soup du Jour (Oyster Rockerfeller) was just OK-very salty, nothing special. Garlic Crusted Drum (fish)-the flavors didn't "go together". NOLA's Buttermilk Fried Chicken-chicken itself was decent. The pepper jack mac & cheese was bland and cold. I should have sent it back. The greens were OK.

THE UGLY:

~Our seating location-2nd floor, in the back, near the restrooms. Considering we had a reservation and waited 40 minutes past our time, I expected a fairly decent seat - this was the WORST seat in the house. No one should ever be located in this area of the restaurant.

~The Service-ABOMINABLE. Perhaps because we were sitting in the "staging area", there seemed to be mass chaos happening during our entire stay. Our waiter was pushy and continued to rush us. The help continued to talk under their breath about the other customers. Food came out slow for every table. Not at all professional in any way.

~WAY OVERPRICED!

NEVER AGAIN!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Best chicken andouille sausage gumbo I'v ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best chicken andouille sausage gumbo I've ever had anywhere! It was gumbo of the day! Had fun celebrating my mom's birthday there. It was fun and lively. I enjoyed the pork chop- also one of the best I've had. Great fun and great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very bustling restaurant with lots of gr ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very bustling restaurant with lots of great drinks. Did menu was decent too. All in all a great experience and would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wow! Every bite was imcre. incredible! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wow! Every bite was imcre. incredible!!! And so was Leon!! Actually.... The whole staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friday night, we wanted to go to a resta ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Friday night, we wanted to go to a restaurant that had something a 10 year-old could eat. We decided to go to the Quarter for a change and ended up at NOLA. The 10 year-old LOVED the elevator to the 2nd floor. We adults ordered apps. I had the special spinach, pear, blue cheese and cracklin salad with bacon dressing. It was delicious. The cracklins were a very nice touch. My dinner companion had the gumbo of the day. It was pork and andouille. The gumbo had nice flavor, but could have been hotter. The 10 year-old had the fried chicken and mac & cheese, which she loved, but $27 for a chicken breast and some mac & cheese, although very good, was pretty high. We were glad we asked that the child's meal be brought first because it took FOREVER to get our entrees. While, at first, we felt that we were being rushed, I truly think they just forgot about us in the end. The child had already had dessert before they brought our entrees. When they came, the entrees were good, but not great. I had the pork chop, which was cooked well, but was not served hot enough. The sweet potatoes that came with it were nothing special, just boiled, cubed sweet potatoes. The duck was very smoky and while it was good, it was supposed to have a bourbon glaze, which could not be tasted at all. The green beans that came with it were just green beans. Whatever that other thing was underneath the duck -- some kind of savory pudding, I think -- did not have a lot of flavor. The ooey gooey cake that the child had for dessert was very good, but again, not served hot enough. They need to pay attention to the temperatures at which the food is served and be more creative with the sides and maybe cut the price of the chicken by about $7.00. Also, they shouldn't just assume that everyone are tourists. They could ask where you are from, so that locals don't get the tourist treatment, which we did until we let the waiter know we were local.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Authentic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

NOLA was disappointing. We went here fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

NOLA was disappointing. We went here for a friend's birthday and this place was highly recommended. To start off the night. my friend and I ordered an old fashioned and it was terrible. The first one they made was too sweet, tasted like syrup so we sent it back. Instead of making a new drink, we saw the bartender trying to fix it by adding more bitters and ice and resend out to the table, and it tasted even worst. We sent the same drink back and this time, the bartender added club soda (which doesn't normally has in an old fashioned) and resend out to the table. We were so disappointed at this bartender and cancelled the drink and can't believe this is a Emeril restaurtant.

We ordered the duck, shrimp and grits and the pork chop for dinner. Overall, the shrimp and grits was good but not the best I had in New Orleans but the duck was disappointing. The duck was dry and flavorless and I guess don't see how it was southern cooking. It reminds me of a smoked marinated duck gone wrong.

There are many great restaurants in New Orleans and French Quarter and NOLA is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.