About NOLA Restaurant

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. Chef de cuisine Brian Mottola works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Executive Chef:
Brian Mottola

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: 5045226652x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

NOLA Restaurant
NOLA Restaurant
Creme Brulee Trio
Shrimp & Grits
Shrimp and Grits
Ooey Gooey Warm Chocolate Cake
Banana Pudding Layer Cake
Hickory Roasted Duck
banana layer pudding cake
BBQ Shrimp
Miss Hays Stuffed Chicken Wings
Burrata salad
Grilled Pork Chop
Miss Hay’s Stuffed Wings
Apple tart
Chicken and Andouille Gumbo
Double-Barrel
Brioche and Jalapeño Corn Bread
Sazerac
Drunken Monkey Ice Cream
Braised Short Rib Bordelaise
St. Joseph Zeppole
Fois Gras Pate
Paneed Pork Loin, Bucatini, And Crab Carbonara
Cracklin' Crusted Frog Legs
Warm Ooey Gooey Cake
Fried Oyster Vietnamese Po Boy With Kimchi
Miss Hay's Vietnamese Po Boy
Buttermilk Fried Breast of Chicken 
Garlic Crusted Drum
"Emeril’s" New Orleans Barbeque Shrimp
Braised Pork Cheek Poboy
Duck Confit and Fried Egg Pizza  with Parmesan Cheese, Truffle Oil and Baby Arugula
Banana Fosters Bread Pudding
Grilled Creekstone New York Strip
Boubon Sweet Potatoes
Stuffed Chicken Wings W/hoisin Sauce
Prince Edward Island Black Mussels
Pork Cheek Boudin
Cheese Plate
Gumbo of the Day
King's Cake Bread Pudding
Wood Oven Roasted Pocket Bread
Pan Roasted Salmon
New Orleans style crab cake
Craggy Range Sauvignon Blanc
Smoked Duck And Pepperjack Cheese Spring Roll
Pan Roasted Drum Fish
Chocolate Ice Cream With Candied Pecans
Baby Arugula Salad
Grilled Gulf Fish
Crispy Smoked Duck And Mushroom Boudin Balls With Creole Mustard Sauce And Topped With Tomato Bacon Jam
Yellow Fin Tuna
Popcorn Sundae
Bread & Butter
Duck Confit & Fried Egg Pizza
Covey Rise Creole Tomato Gazpacho 
With Poached Gulf Shrimp
Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread
Assorted Baby Lettuces
Chicken And Andouille Sausage Gumbo
Double Barrel
Pali 'Bluffs' Pinot Noir Russian River Valley '11
Grilled Amberjack
Roussette de Savoie, Domaine Jean Vullien et Fils '12
Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Rosé
Bread Plate
Crispy Smoked Duck Balls
Garlic Roasted Ciabatta
Seared Sea Scallops
Emeril's Syrah
Sticky Toffee Bread Pudding
Ginger Rum Cake With Pineapple Sorbet
Wild Field Peas
Specialty Cappuccino
fried chicken
White Chocolate And Blueberry Bread Pudding
Strawberry Shortcake Prof
Crispy Tomato & Bacon Salad
Duck Confit
Nola burger
Turkey Panini
Salada
Fried Green Tomatoes
Trim Cabernet Sauvignon
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Nola Cosmo
Stuffed Chicken
Duck And Andouille Gumbo
Veggie Pizza
Grilled Creekstone Farms Rib Eye
Blueberry Upside Down Cake
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
Turtle Soup
Gumbo
Mahi Mahi
Hickory Smoked Duck Breast With Sweet Corn Grits
Wood Fired Prince Edward Island Black Mussels
Profiteroles
Eiswein

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Fit for Foodies (282)
Special Occasion (275)
Neighborhood Gem (144)
See All
Romantic (142)
Notable Wine List (139)
Good for Groups (135)
Hot Spot (101)
Great for Lunch (82)
Late-night Find (26)
Great for Brunch (24)
Kid-friendly (18)
Scenic View (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
8350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there with my wife for our first we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went there with my wife for our first wedding anniversary. If I had one word to describe the experience, perfection. Waiter took care of us when we weren't sure what to order. First night in New Orleans, gave us the full experience in an hour and half.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Orleans is a better place with a res ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

New Orleans is a better place with a restaurant like NOLA, very enjoyable....we took the wife parents and it made for a great evening

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

another great meal - NOLA has never disa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

another great meal - NOLA has never disappointed me in its food and service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant! Best service and inc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing restaurant! Best service and incredible tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken was disappointing ; Popeye"s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The chicken was disappointing ; Popeye"s would have been a better choice. The Drum was solid, but unexceptional. The wine list was exceptional and overwhelmed the food items. Emerald must be satisfied with its mediocrity. It would serve him well to go back to the conceptual drawing board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food; great service; great place ! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food; great service; great place !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was simply wonderful. I was sur ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was simply wonderful. I was surprised how well executed each dish was. My table of three could not have been more satisfied. For me, the smoked duck was a fabulous dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meal we had in New Orlea ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of the best meal we had in New Orleans. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were in town for vacation ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My wife and I were in town for vacation and dined for lunch. We ordered the Pork Cheek Boudin Balls appetizer. They were outstanding! We would've liked more but the order only comes with 3. For lunch my wife ordered the Shrimp and Grits and I ordered the Wood Oven Roasted Drum. Both meals were fantastic. The service was friendly and attentive. We will visit Emeril's NOLA Restaurant every time we visit NOLA! This restaurant truly lived up to the expectations we had of an Emeril's restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NOLA is a New Orleans gem and a regular ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

NOLA is a New Orleans gem and a regular stop during our visits to the city. The stuffed chicken wings are a must, and plenty of fabulous Emeril-inspired entrees to take it from there. Frank behind the bar will take good care of your drink needs, and we enjoyed Big John and his team with their exceptional service throughout dinner. Eat, drink, and enjoy!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NOLA restaurant is one of our favorite p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

NOLA restaurant is one of our favorite places in New Orleans. The decor is simple, vibrant, and comfortable with views of quaint French Quarter shutters through the windows. Of course the food is the star of this show. Fried green tomatoes with poached shrimp was terrific as an appetizer. My husband's pork chop was cooked perfectly and so delicious. The strip steak with fried oysters was huge reminding us that Emeril's restaurants always serve big portions. We dined here 19 years ago and loved the food as much this visit as we did back then. Definitely one of the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

shrimp and grits and chargrilled oysters ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

shrimp and grits and chargrilled oysters were amazing. everything was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiter was a little off that evening. H ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Waiter was a little off that evening. Had the duck entrée and it tasted like paste. Dark meat and overcooked. Was very disappointed. Sorry but that's the deal. Big Emeril fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I dined at Nola last year and liked it v ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I dined at Nola last year and liked it very much but was very disappointed this visit. The hostess had a very sour attitude and though not rude was not friendly at all. Our waitstaff was sweet and tried hard but seemed new and inexperienced. My husbands scotch and my vodka were very stingy pours. My meal (shrimp & grits) was average at best. My husband had the smoked duck and my son the gumbo and the duck pizza, both of those were quite good. Also, the restaurant was freezing. I would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

NOLA's is a dining jewel defined by perf ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

NOLA's is a dining jewel defined by perfection. Some fine restaurants squander their good reputation; not NOLA's -- they earn it with every meal. Our waiter, Tim, was comfortable and caring about every detail of our meal and service. And, oh, the duck was the best I've ever had! My wife and I compared superlatives because she felt her drum fish was the most delicious fish entree she ever had. To say NOLA's is FIVE STARS is under-rating it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our guest recommended this restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our guest recommended this restaurant for he said one of the best. His opinion has changed and will not recommend. shrimp was overcooked and steak was very tough. They were out of the wine shown on the list that we asked for ($80/bot) an did not recommend an alternate. We chose one that was less expensive ($56/bot) so all worked out. Restaurant is very noisy and we could not visit with guests who sat across the table. Just a poor choice with so may other Great Restaurants in New Orleans. PS: Crab Cakes were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value3

Every time i visit New Orleans I come he ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Every time i visit New Orleans I come here for the duck and a bottle of Burgundy. This time it was good but has been excellent every other time. I will continue to try it because it is still the best duck i have had in a restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

2nd time here, awesome place all the way ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

2nd time here, awesome place all the way around, food exceeds my expectation

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, excellent service, good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Friendly staff, excellent service, good food! We were a challenging group - very distracted and had multiple cards to pay one bill. The server was kind and not annoyed (which we really deserved). Food was delicious and it really topped off our trip to New Orleans well!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service as always. Food was not as ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service as always. Food was not as good as usual, but I keep them at a very high level so it is tough to always meet that standard. No problem with reservation or seating. Only issue was a large, loud group near our table. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary, so we would have preferred a more romantic setting. Still a great evening as usual.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was disappointed with the quality of the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Was disappointed with the quality of the food. Duck was extremely dry and the shrimp and grits were uneventful. I expected so much more. Emerils brand must be played out and the have over expanded to the point where the food is suffering. K Pauls is a much better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

This meal by far was my favorite on our ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This meal by far was my favorite on our recent trip to New Orleans. Absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had eaten at NOLA before with a group ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had eaten at NOLA before with a group and enjoyed it. My grown daughter and I ate recently and I was a bit disappointed. The menu seemed to be sparse and the food was good but not outstanding. The service was wonderful though as were our cocktails. The warehouse setting is very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. The service was exce ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was great. The service was excellent. I just would've liked to of seen some chef creativity in some of the side dishes, appetizers, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What you would expect from Emeril. Great ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

What you would expect from Emeril. Great food and great service. The staff was on top of their game and made everyone feel like they were the most important person in the room. My wife had the roasted duck. It was succulent and tender. I had the blackened pan crusted drum fish which was cooked with a southern flair. We would highly recommend NOLA.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Found a review for this place and it was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Found a review for this place and it was near to our hotel so we booked it. It was really good. We chose the taster menu and it was excellent. We had a lovely cocktail to start and we shared the starter and the desert and one of us just had a main course and they were okay with that. Really very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Bathrooms need to renovated ,also had a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Bathrooms need to renovated ,also had a big bug in the ladies room

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The customer service here is outstanding ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The customer service here is outstanding! Hosts and hostesses greet you and several servers helped us throughout the evening. The food was good also. Not the best mint julep in town though so stick with the NOLA cosmo. Delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and unique dining experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent food and unique dining experience. Kids loved it too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was so friendly and accomadati ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The staff was so friendly and accomadating. The restaurant itself was gorgeous and inviting.

Our waiter Abe great drink recommendations. The charcuterie board we ordered for an app was fantastic, I had the shrimp and grits and would have licked the bowl if I could have.

Everyone in my group enjoyed their meal and cleaned off their plates. I can't wait for another excuse to go back. It was the best meal we had while in New Orleans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We picked NOLA because we were visiting ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We picked NOLA because we were visiting the city and we like Emril L. We read the website and dressed for the occasion. Unfortunately they don't enforce the code and we saw everything from shorts and Tanks to flip flops. Took the special right out of the occasion.

Great food and service just not the ambience we were expecting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was awesome, all the waiters ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was awesome, all the waiters were right there if you needed any thing , checked on you. The food was magnificent. I never dreamed it was that good. The creme brûlée was out of this world.!! Our fist time to New Orleans, the food and history was priceless. Have watched Emeril for years on TV was so excited to get to eat at his restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best hamburger i ever had and everyt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

the best hamburger i ever had and everything else was great too- BBQ shrimp a must. The staff is EXCELLENT and I've already recommended to a friend coming to New Orleans.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was dinner with 6 adult family member ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was dinner with 6 adult family members and the noise level was quite high on the second floor. Service staff of 3, 2 were not too enthusiastic about being there.. Food was tasty but not the wow we have had at other emeril locations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

food was quite good, but the banana pudd ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

food was quite good, but the banana pudding did not live up to our expectations. Lots of whipping cream, and not too much substance.

Once we told the server we were not going to have wine, he seemed to vanish for the rest of the evening. Nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I was disappointed in the service from h ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was disappointed in the service from head waiter. The assistant servers were great. The food was good (I had the duck) but compared to other meals I had during this trip it was average. I was at this restaurant several years ago and had an outstanding experience so this time was a noticeable difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was over priced compared to oth ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was over priced compared to other restaurants that we visited in the area. We had high expectations and were disappointed. Would not recommend to friends, there are plenty of other places that offer great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

We Would return. Loved the menu choices, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We Would return. Loved the menu choices, especially the bacon cauliflower soup.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here for our fifth w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our fifth wedding anniversary. When I saw rabbit on the menu, I knew we had to go here - I've wanted to try rabbit for quite some time. It was excellent! There was a lightly-breaded breast (I think) and some not breaded. Though there was a little bit of gristle in the non-breaded part, it did not take away from the enjoyment. My wife got the shrimp and grits. She was a little surprised that the shrimp still had their tails, but she really enjoyed it! We started off with the pocket bread, and I want the recipe! It was light and airy, with just the right amount of flavor. Plus, before ordering, they brought us each a rosemary roll and a jalapeno cornbread muffin. For desert, we split the ooey-gooey cake. It was excellent! Our server had a trainee with him, but that did not distract at all. Also, they were very quick about picking up loose scraps of paper (like the cover for the butter) and refilling our water glasses. Whenever one of us got up to use the restroom, (or when we were getting our picture taken)somebody came along and refolded our napkins. Such attention to detail did not go unnoticed!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was perfect & the food was AWESO ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was perfect & the food was AWESOME!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.