Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About NOLA Restaurant

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. The chef de cuisine works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: (504) 522-6652

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (168)
Special Occasion (168)
Fit for Foodies (165)
See All
Good for a Date (165)
Good for Anniversaries (125)
Authentic (113)
Good for Birthdays (87)
Romantic (87)
Local Ingredients (86)
Comfort Food (81)
Fun (78)
Open Kitchen (74)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Handcrafted Cocktails (68)
Business Meals (67)
Notable Wine List (65)
Casual (58)
Cozy (56)
Hot Spot (53)
Historic (52)
Good for Groups (48)
Worth the Drive (48)
Modern Decor (45)
Great for Lunch (41)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
People Watching (31)
Wood Oven (31)
Bar Seating (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Spicy (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Disabled Access (14)
Molecular Gastronomy (13)
Family Style (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (9)
Healthy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
 (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
9613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

This was an amazing experience. The food and the service were superb! The ambiance and decor were great. Highly recommended NOLA restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food & friendly service. However, for some reason, our whole section had to wait a long time for our entrees. They apologized, but offered no explanation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Never disappoints- amazing food (gumbo, golden redfish and gooey cake), great service and great atmosphere/location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Very disappointing experience. Have been two other times and never experienced the bad service before. Felt very unimportant compared to other guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

I spend a lot of time in restaurants, mostly working. Today I had a chance to eat at Nola and it was great. As soon as me and my wife walked in we got a great greeting from the host staff. The bartender was amazing and made great drinks. To sum this up, food service, and ambiance were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Wow, what a delicious meal, everything was cooked to perfection, the service was excellent. Great value, of course it is one of Emeril's. It is well worth getting a reservation as you will not be disappointed. The food was delicious beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Obviously we loved our meal and will be back the next time we are in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

If you are going to New Orleans for any reason business or pleasure. Nola's is a great place for dinner. The Food, drink, ambience and service were top notch. Good choice in New Orleans for people that don't eat seafood. Yes I would go back and recommend to everyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food - innovative dishes that change over time.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was fabulous! We had a great time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed Nola on our recent vacation in New Orleans. The gumbo was by our standards the best of the gumbos we sampled in the New Orleans area. Restaurant was very busy and probably not the place for an intimate dinner for two. There was a large party across from us of 12 people that were quite loud. But the food made up for it. Will definitely be back at Nola's next time we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing and the service was excellent!!!👍🏾

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten at Nola previously but only once. Had Shrimp & Grits. Very tasty. Took some out of town family a few days ago and was not very impressed. Felt like a tourist, although not. One ordered the duck and was the biggest disappointment. I tasted and was in agreement. Can't see why offer duck that was so nondiscript. Another ordered the scallops on pasta. Tried that also, not good. Too bad cause Nola has a few very good dishes and some they need to work on. Bill was $289 with wine for 5. Should be extraordinary.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I had read mixed reviews of the service, but could not have been more pleased with the attention we were provided by our waitstaff. The food was delicious and plentiful, and we greatly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We were recommended this restaurant from a former bar tender who use to work for you. He spoke highly of the service and cuisine. We were visiting from Washington DC area. The food was good and the service exceptional in all area's. Your employee's appeared to be very efficient with each one knowing their role in your dynamic serving order. Atmosphere was busy but relaxing as well. Did not feel rushed and all questions were openly answered. Food was great with good portions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We were on vacation & told to visit one of Emeril's places. We were not disappointed. The only downside was our server Big John seemed overwhelmed & forgot to take one of our parties orders. Also wished we tried the banana cake/pie. Overall it was an amazing experience

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food was excellent, we could not find fault.

The service was ok but they are trying too hard to impress and its too obvious. I would focus more on the little things and touches that really matter like bringing the appropriate cutlery to the table for the type of meal that you have (I had the mussels and its in a lovely sauce but I had no spoon to eat it with). Arranging cutlery/silverware for the entrée after eating appetizers not during and interrupting your meal and finally do not bring out the next course until everyone at the table has finished (its all about timing and not rushing the customers).

With these additional items I would have rated higher.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The good was astronomical! The waiter was friendly and on point, the other staff were very nice and just plain wonderful...we had a great time and a nice strong mint julip. I had the BBQ salmon with potatoes and my friend had scallops, well worth the price! I will be visiting again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had the best meal of my life at NOLA in 2006, so when I went back a few days ago, I tempered my expectations. I didn't need to. While Emeril's Shrimp and Grits wasn't as revelatory as it was 11 years ago, it was still absolutely spectacular, as was everything else we ate save the side of pepper jack macaroni and cheese, which was surprisingly pedestrian. Appetizers (oven-baked pocket bread, Caesar salad, entrees (S&G, short ribs, and a roasted duck), and desserts (ooey gooey cake, creme brulee trio, and an amazing sirup gateau) were all beautiful and delicious. Service was impeccable, especially considering we had our 9- and 5-year-olds with us.

The place ain't cheap, but it's worth it. I'll be back, someday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love this place , here before Katrina first time for hubby food just as delish as first time loved it BAMM!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I went here for Easter brunch. Great location and very friendly and attentive staff! Food was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service and ambiance was impeccable! However, the food was much to rich for my stomach. Every leaf of lettuce in the cornmeal dusted oyster salad was drenched in dressing and the crabcake was covered in a very rich cream sauce and very oily. I wish there were healthier or lighter options available, as we go there every Easter Sunday following mass at St. Louis Cathedral as our tradition. I only ate half of my food and yet my stomach is still upset :(

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was fantastic! The food was incredible and the service was great! I will defiantly return, and will recommended to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good food, great atmosphere, great service. We had the roasted beet salad which was delicious. The pecan-crusted flounder was excellent. My crab cake not so much. I couldn't taste the crab at all. It was more like a casserole. The server asked how we liked our food, however, and was quick to sense that I wasn't crazy about it. He brought the manager, who apologized and offered to make up for it with another crab cake. I wasn't interested in more food, however, so he comped the first crab cake. I appreciated that, but was sorry to miss a real crab cake for Easter lunch. We enjoyed our meal overall, loved the highly-recommended banana bread pudding with drunken monkey ice cream, and will definitely be back.

Tags: , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

excellent service, excellent food only downfall was sat us by wood stove oven and way too hot

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overall, our experience was underwhelming. Nothing about it was horrible. It just did not meet expectations. The food was okay. My husband enjoyed the cheese grits. Dessert was good. If you order the ooey gooey cake, be prepared for a slightly better version of what you get on a Carnival Cruise. The server who brought bread and water was wonderful. (He should be promoted.) However, the main waiter seemed to be annoyed with everything. It was so loud that it was difficult to have a conversation. There are so many other choices in New Orleans that we won't be returning to NOLA or recommending it. We much preferred Mr. B's Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

What can you say?? He is Emeril LaGasse after all. My wife and I have eaten at all of his restaurants in New Orleans. This was our first and it still is the best. The pork chop is literally one of the best things you can eat. It eats like a steak, cuts like a steak, looks like a steak, but tastes like a pork chop. The best pork chop you have ever eaten. We shared the Blu Fin Tuna credo for a starter. Every bite melts in your mouth. I MEAN MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH!!! Yummy in our tummies. Very good meal. We would have had dessert, but Cafe du Monde beckoned.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Coming to Nola's was on the top of our list for our visit to New Orleans. The food is superb, the servers thoughtful and helpful, and the manager warm and friendly. Thank you for a wonderful time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Nola was wonderful. The food was great, but maybe the best part was the waiters coordinated and put everyone's plates or drinks down at the same time. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Enjoyed warm bread, oysters and shrimp and grits! The duck too smokey. A bit pricier than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. Gregory was our head waiter and he couldn't have been nicer! I would highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

NOLA never lets me down. Once again, the food was great and the service was fantastic! I love that place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I was prett disappointed with my meal (scallops were very salty) and the speed at which our food came out (sort of felt rushed). The buttermilk fried chicken was pretty amazing- I will say that!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food and service was fine. However from out of town and they seated us on the third floor next to a family with three children when there was room in the two lower floor dining rooms with had much more ambience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I've been twice before and found it more expensive and food was just okay this time. Especially bad was the Salmon, cabbage and black eyed peas dish. The bbq sauce on the salmon, was just weird ... the dish seemed disjointed, thrown together leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I had not been to Nola since 1995. The food was not nearly as good as it used to be. For the price I expected to be wowed. The corn muffin tasted day-old. The shrimp and grits was greasy. Marco is a good waiter, attentive and charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We Love this Restaurant, always Wonderful!! The Service is Excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My daughter and I ate at NOLA while visiting New Orleans to tour the Tulane campus. I ordered the friend chicken and it was the best I've ever had! I especially loved the collared greens and mac n' cheese that accompanied the dish. Our server "Big John" was attentive and made great suggestions. I would definitely recommend NOLA to anyone that visits New Orleans.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It was heard to find something on the menu. Fish dish was very fishy to the taste so waiter took it back when he saw I wasn't eating it..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My only complaint is air conditioning vents blowing cold air on our table the entire dinner. I mentioned it to the waiter, who said it was on a timer. He said he would speak with a manager but nothing happened. The food was excellent as was the service, but freezing the entire dinner ruined the evening for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.