About NOLA Restaurant

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. Chef de cuisine Brian Mottola works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Executive Chef:
Brian Mottola

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: 5045226652x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

fit for foodies (430)
special occasion (374)
good for groups (209)
See All
notable wine list (203)
neighborhood gem (185)
romantic (167)
hot spot (154)
great for lunch (122)
great for brunch (36)
late-night find (29)
vibrant bar scene (28)
kid-friendly (24)
scenic view (16)
great for outdoor dining (5)
 (5)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
8119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The Shrimp and Grits was amazing!!!! The ...

Dined 8 hours ago

The Shrimp and Grits was amazing!!!! The best dessert is the Ooey Goey Cake by far!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dreamy

Dined 3 days ago

We have enjoyed fine dining many times, this is top on our lengthy list we travel to New Orleans often and every time plan to enjoy dinner at Nola the food is perfect, the service and atmospher is excelllent the quality and value - superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had great meal experience. The food w ...

Dined 3 days ago

We had great meal experience. The food was fantastic . Our service was great. When we return to new Orleans we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very attentive. Food was ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our server was very attentive. Food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner in New Orleans

Dined 4 days ago

We spent a week in New Orleans for part of 25 anniversary. For our last evening there we went to Emeril's, Nola restaurant on St Peter. It's a great 3 story bldg. they have wonderful service and an excellent menu. It's one of places that when you want something special and memorable you won't be disappointed. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service! A whole village! The frie ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great service! A whole village! The fried chicken was the best my partner or I had ever tasted and we've been in the South mostly our whole lives! Busy place so don't expect ambiance but you will feel joyfilled when you leave!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Shrimp and grits were amazing. Took one ...

Dined 5 days ago

Shrimp and grits were amazing. Took one hour for our main course. Multiple plates served before us to tables that ordered after us. Maybe it was the grits?

food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Nothing great

Dined 6 days ago

Very loaded. Sounded like a noisy bar. Some of the food was good but nothing amazing. Had the oysters which were horrible. Oysters had no taste and the crumbs were soggy. Nothing special. Service was amazing but that only works if the food is good.

food2
ambience1
service2
value2

For some reason I witnessed 3 separate t ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

For some reason I witnessed 3 separate tables who all arrived, were seated, and ordered various times after me and my fiancé were seated and order. 1 table of 4 guest ( arrived 12 minutes after us ) 1 table if 3 guest( arrived 8 minutes after us, and a couple( arrived 17 minutes after us). I couldn't seem to figure out why our food specifically took longer than the other tables. And payed attention to the time so closely because it took an abnormal amount of time to even take our drink order. I had a rare steak and she had the pork chop. Being that I've worked as a Pastry chef for 12 years, I found it severely disappointing in the fact we were served last of the 4 tables in our surrounding area. Being that I rarely get the time away from work the same time as my fiancé, we both feel like we could have spent our money at an establishment with more organization, or at least a better grasp of fairness.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and wine. 1st time there ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent food and wine. 1st time there and really enjoyed our meal & the ambiance

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As someone who doesn't consider themselv ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

As someone who doesn't consider themselves a 'foodie', or even experience seafood, I went to New Orleans with an open mind for once, and willing to try anything (that isn't raw!). Our last meal in the city was at NOLA, our service and food was beyond exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, just wow!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food here is phenomenal. Sure, it is a bit pricey, but the food was out of this world good! And the service was great as well. I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting New Orleans!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent time at NOLA. The wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an excellent time at NOLA. The wait staff was wonderful! The experience was awesome and so was the food! I thank the wonderful staff who served us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been a fan of Emeril since the 90 ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have been a fan of Emeril since the 90's, and have eaten at many of his restaurants in multiple cities. Our meal at NOLA was terrific, but I only have one small complaint: the gumbo was a little watery! I know, going into any of Emeril's places, you expect the gumbo to be 2nd to none, and I had high expectations. Being somewhat of a gumbo afficionado, I ate this New Orleans staple 3 times in the 3 days I was in New Orleans, and NOLA's came in 3rd! I have to assume that they ran out of brown roux, or maybe someone snuck too much stock into the pot, but whatever happened, it was a surprise! Besides that, the hickory smoked duck was esquisite, with a beautifully crisp skin and a corn pudding I wanted more of. The strawberry shortcake dessert was perfectly balanced, and the service was courteous and efficient. I will certainly continue to patronize this legend's restaurants at every opportunity!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of the best meals of my life. The du ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

One of the best meals of my life. The duck confit flatbread with a fried egg is not to be missed and the shrimp and grits was a treasure

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful food

food5
ambience5
service5

We dined with another couple for my birt ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We dined with another couple for my birthday and had a wonderful time. The waiter was very attentive, service was on point all night. Entrees we tried were shrimp and grits (amazing!), salmon (perfect!) and soft shell crab (loved it!). We would go again next time in NOLA.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent and the vibe was ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was excellent and the vibe was cool. I got the charbroiled salmon over smashed potatoes and crispy brussel sprouts. My dessert was amazing. It was a chocolate cake in a cup with roasted marshmallow, coconut and coffee flavored ice cream -- a taste sensation! It did end up costing more than we expected overall. You are paying for the Emeril name, but I'm glad we tried it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our first visit to NOLA. Nice v ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Enjoyed our first visit to NOLA. Nice variety and reasonable.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service 5 stars as all of Emeril's place ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Service 5 stars as all of Emeril's places are. We were disappointed in the portion size. We both had drum as our entree. The preparation and ingredients were excellent. The portion was a thimble full of fish- an appetizer portion at best. We had a salad and banana pudding cake dessert. The food was excellent but we left hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience2
service1

Horrible service, will choose somewhere ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Horrible service, will choose somewhere else next trip to town.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was attentive and courteous. O ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The staff was attentive and courteous. Our waiter was a real delight, so professional and accommodating. I had the Buttermilk Fried Chicken dinner and it was delicious... just a little too much food to finish in one sitting. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

Two of my coworkers and I were in town for a conference and chose Nola one evening for dinner. We were seated promptly at our reservation time. The service was very good, as was the food and its presentation. If I'm ever in New Orleans again, I would certainly revisit Nola, perhaps next time for lunch or dessert and coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were amazing. I do ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The service and food were amazing. I don't think I have ever been to a restaurant the runs as efficiently as NOLA.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant – Raymond - our s ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Outstanding restaurant – Raymond - our server - was the best we've ever had!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was so impressed with the service from t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Was so impressed with the service from the 2 girls that took us to our table to all the waiters. Superb!! They were all very attentive to everyone. The food was fabulous! I have already recommended this restaurant to my friends if they go to New Orleans. Would definitely go again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was good. The service was extremely poor.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Uneven, poor service beginning the minute our group walked in the door. It took about 15 minutes to be seated regardless of our reservation. We were initially seated at a wobbly table, then reseated, still no water or wine. I had a question about two wines, our waiter called the sommelier over. He was incredibly rude and not helpful at all. Next, the white wine we ordered arrived room temperature and had to spend an additional 15 minutes chilling in an ice bucket. Very poor indeed. This restaurant needs to refocus on customer attention and quality of service. We had dined here previously and had a wonderful experience. Not this time; will not be back and will not recommend this restaurant given all of the other restaurants in New Orleans with far better service. Emeril would be ashamed of our experience.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Love NOLA!

Dined on May 16, 2016

First floor is horribly noisy and it seems like the staff working there might be in training. In the past, we have been seated on the third floor which I will request in the future. There is no room to wait for your table and the bar only has a half dozen seats or so. Basically, you are in the way of either the front door or the kitchen. Our reservation was on a Monday at 645 and we were seated at 7 and our food delivered at 8. They seemed surprised when we requested more bread and the drinks took more than 30 minutes. The server assumed that we would all be sharing wine and rushed off before getting drink orders. With that said the food is amazing. Stuffed chicken wings are perfection. Scallops, swordfish, shrimp & grits are excellent. The banana pudding cake is good. Emeril never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was very good at Nola. My wife ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was very good at Nola. My wife had the duck and it was very tender. I had the scallops and they were delicious. My only complaint was that the scallops entree only had 3 scallops. I was expecting a couple more for the price. The banana pudding cake was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An incredible experience, with service s ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

An incredible experience, with service so personal that it was surreal. The coordination between the staff members was seamless and never overbearing. From the mussels, which were both sweet and sumptuous, to the swordfish that was sushi grade in its texture and taste, to the double-cut pork chop that was like nothing that we had ever tasted or cooked ( was it really a pork chop?), melded together with an outstanding Merlot and finally topped off with chocolate ice cream that one would die for, we were immersed in food paradise. After such a meal, my wife and I were walking on air!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good meal. Staff was knowledgeable ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Very good meal. Staff was knowledgeable and attentive, and made the visit very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The special menu provided smaller portio ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The special menu provided smaller portions and no apparent cost savings. Should have just ordered from the regular menu.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I had been to NOLA some years before and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had been to NOLA some years before and was really looking forward to this visit. The service and ambiance were wonderful, but the food was a little bit disappointing. Specifically my partner's steak was quite tough. Our server and the maitre d' made sure that it was replaced by another, more tender steak. The bottom line is "all's well that ends well," but Emeril maybe should pay more attention to this restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT! We celebrated my son's gradua ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

EXCELLENT! We celebrated my son's graduation. We were a party of 7 and they seated us at a round table, which was perfect, on the 3rd floor. The service was excellent and everyone enjoyed their food. This was our 3rd time at NOLA and enjoyed every visit. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice meal. I'm sad they changed t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very nice meal. I'm sad they changed the deep fried chicken. It was very disappointing from the prior dish, which was exceptional. everything else was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun dinner with family for my daughter's ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fun dinner with family for my daughter's graduation. Paul was our server and made the evening quite enjoyable. Perfect dinner selection recommendations. Classy guy. The dessert that was called cheese cake/bread pudding was amazing. Never heard of such a thing but am craving it again. Do miss the Chilean wine Purple Angel that was on the list last year. Hope they bring it back but plenty of good choices if they don't. Will be back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Should visit this restaurant more often. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Should visit this restaurant more often. Consistently fine food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Put NOLA on the Top of Your List

Dined on May 13, 2016

NOLA is always the first place I make dinner reservations for when visiting New Orleans and I suggest you do the same. NOLA has awesome food with a low key non-intimidating atmosphere. The staff always make you feel welcome. The meal is paced well so you don't feel rushed or ignored.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my 50th birthday-- Fantastic ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Celebrated my 50th birthday-- Fantastic Service! Paul was fantastic. Extremely personable & made us feel welcome and special. Thank you Paul! Food was fantastic!! Try the stuffed chicken wings appetizer- so delicious. Pork chop and fried chicken were excellent! Would definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dining experience! A must in New ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Amazing dining experience! A must in New Orleans!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.