About NOLA Restaurant

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. Chef de cuisine Brian Mottola works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Executive Chef:
Brian Mottola

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: 5045226652x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

NOLA Restaurant
NOLA Restaurant
Creme Brulee Trio
Shrimp & Grits
Shrimp and Grits
Ooey Gooey Warm Chocolate Cake
Banana Pudding Layer Cake
Hickory Roasted Duck
banana layer pudding cake
Miss Hays Stuffed Chicken Wings
BBQ Shrimp
Burrata salad
Grilled Pork Chop
Miss Hay’s Stuffed Wings
Apple tart
Warm Ooey Gooey Cake
Chicken and Andouille Gumbo
Double-Barrel
Brioche and Jalapeño Corn Bread
Sazerac
Drunken Monkey Ice Cream
Miss Hay's Vietnamese Po Boy
Braised Short Rib Bordelaise
St. Joseph Zeppole
Paneed Pork Loin, Bucatini, And Crab Carbonara
Fois Gras Pate
Cracklin' Crusted Frog Legs
Garlic Crusted Drum
Buttermilk Fried Breast of Chicken 
Fried Oyster Vietnamese Po Boy With Kimchi
"Emeril’s" New Orleans Barbeque Shrimp
Duck Confit and Fried Egg Pizza  with Parmesan Cheese, Truffle Oil and Baby Arugula
Braised Pork Cheek Poboy
Prince Edward Island Black Mussels
Stuffed Chicken Wings W/hoisin Sauce
Boubon Sweet Potatoes
Banana Fosters Bread Pudding
Grilled Creekstone New York Strip
Pork Cheek Boudin
Cheese Plate
Gumbo of the Day
King's Cake Bread Pudding
Wood Oven Roasted Pocket Bread
Pan Roasted Salmon
New Orleans style crab cake
Craggy Range Sauvignon Blanc
Chocolate Ice Cream With Candied Pecans
Smoked Duck And Pepperjack Cheese Spring Roll
Pan Roasted Drum Fish
Baby Arugula Salad
Grilled Gulf Fish
Covey Rise Creole Tomato Gazpacho 
With Poached Gulf Shrimp
Double Barrel
Bread & Butter
Pali 'Bluffs' Pinot Noir Russian River Valley '11
Roussette de Savoie, Domaine Jean Vullien et Fils '12
Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Rosé
Crispy Smoked Duck And Mushroom Boudin Balls With Creole Mustard Sauce And Topped With Tomato Bacon Jam
Yellow Fin Tuna
Popcorn Sundae
Duck Confit & Fried Egg Pizza
Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread
Assorted Baby Lettuces
Chicken And Andouille Sausage Gumbo
Grilled Amberjack
Crispy Smoked Duck Balls
Bread Plate
Garlic Roasted Ciabatta
Seared Sea Scallops
Emeril's Syrah
Sticky Toffee Bread Pudding
Wild Field Peas
Ginger Rum Cake With Pineapple Sorbet
Specialty Cappuccino
fried chicken
White Chocolate And Blueberry Bread Pudding
Strawberry Shortcake Prof
Crispy Tomato & Bacon Salad
Duck Confit
Nola burger
Turkey Panini
Salada
Fried Green Tomatoes
Trim Cabernet Sauvignon
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Nola Cosmo
Stuffed Chicken
Duck And Andouille Gumbo
Veggie Pizza
Grilled Creekstone Farms Rib Eye
Blueberry Upside Down Cake
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
Turtle Soup
Gumbo
Mahi Mahi
Hickory Smoked Duck Breast With Sweet Corn Grits
Wood Fired Prince Edward Island Black Mussels
Profiteroles
Eiswein

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

fit for foodies (370)
special occasion (333)
good for groups (178)
See All
notable wine list (171)
neighborhood gem (163)
romantic (146)
hot spot (143)
great for lunch (104)
great for brunch (34)
kid-friendly (25)
scenic view (24)
late-night find (24)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
8268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was impressive as they use a tea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was impressive as they use a team approach where each table has 3 servers (at least in our case). The food was so good and the best I've had in all of NOLA. I had the chicken with Mac n cheese but what really impressed me were the greens with bacon underneath. I don't even like greens (normally) but these were the best I've ever had. The wife had shrimp and grits which was delicious as well. 5 stars for sure! Dinner here is expensive but very good. Appears to have a relaxed dress code as I saw someone with a University of Arizona shirt on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, wow, wow! What an amazing experienc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wow, wow, wow! What an amazing experience we had celebrating my daughter and her husbands 3rd anniversary! We would definitely return and recommend. Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My son and I had a quick trip to New Orl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

My son and I had a quick trip to New Orleans and had dinner at NOLA before our ghost tour. The food was fantastic, the service delightful, and the warm ooey gooey cake was oh, sooooo gooooood! I thought the prices reasonable for the quality of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to NOLA since it ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was my first visit to NOLA since it opened in the mid-90s. Let me begin by saying that the staff members were attentive and friendly. However, the restaurant is in desperate need of a renovation. The decor seems to be just like it was 20+ years ago, except now it very weathered. The paint on the walls is chipped, the wood chairs are full of scratches and the men's restroom was just plain nasty. However, the food was above average, but not commensurate with the prices charged for the ambiance of the restaurant. I highly recommend its sister restaurant, the original Emeril's in the Warehouse District, which is impeccably clean with great decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

One of my favorite places to dine. Alwa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of my favorite places to dine. Always good food and atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first visit of some friends ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was the first visit of some friends to New Orleans and we thought this would be a good place to take them for some for some of that food New Orleans is famous for. Sorry to say only two of the four meals were to the standard one would expect of NOLA. One of my friends had Mussles cooked in a beer, but the beer flavor was so strong that there was no other flavor. I had the New York strip and asked for Medium Rare. Got well done. They went to refire a new stake and it took so long to prepare that all the rest of the table was finished with their meal. Waiter never asked, so finally flagged down the manager to ask what was taking so long on the new state. He ran off and brought back a new steak which was medium (not medium rare) and tough. I have had better meat from my local supermarket. The seating was also something less than desirable. For some reason they had to seat us at a waiter station in the door way even though other tables were in the area which remained vacant the entire time we were present. For the money paid, not a place I would recommend. Better to go around the corner to Brennan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The guy they greeted us at the front des ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The guy they greeted us at the front desk was not very friendly. However the service staff was excellent! Also I suggest you're put a partition up so that the service staff is not seen gathering within the dining room upstairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was to die for. Mouth watering ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was to die for. Mouth watering just thinking about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly below average! We ordered a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Surprisingly below average! We ordered a French wine from the super extended wine list, as well as appetizers and main courses. A good 15 minutes later we were told that the wine we chose wasn't available, so we picked another one. The wine arrived after we finished the appetizers (I ordered the Gumbo which would've been great WITH the wine). We complained to our waitress and her response was "I'm sorry Baby, we were really busy tonight and the wines are kept on the third floor". My steak was undercook and cold. My spouse's potatoes were cold. The waitress disappeared.

After we were done with our meal, the waitress asked my spouse if he wanted to lick the plate, remark that we both found completely out of place.

Having been to Emeril's the previous night we couldn't help but compare both places. We are definitely NOT going back to Nola.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Amazing food and top notch service to ma ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing food and top notch service to match. My wife and I went there to continue our 33rd Wedding Anniversary. This dining experience helped make it a memorable one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it. Our food was excellent. We had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved it. Our food was excellent. We had a great job.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On our last night in New Orleans we chos ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

On our last night in New Orleans we chose this restaurant based on its interesting online menu and the actual experience didn't disappoint. We took our server's advice on several items. We shared a caesar salad to start. The two entrées were really delicious - her scallops came with added shrimp and mussels and was the best she'd ever had apparently. My garlic-encrusted drum was amazingly tasty. We shared a banana layer cake (real bananas) for dessert. The wine list was the most extensive we've seen in a while, though most of them were out of our price range. Thankfully there were several in each category that we could afford and the one we tried was perfect. We also shared a glass of tawny port that was a perfect finish. The service was excellent - fast, expert, and very friendly. Definitely NOLA restaurant was a highlight of our visit to NOLA the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to HerbSaint! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This was my second visit to HerbSaint! I loved it both times. Service was great, food was too!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my birthday i loved the food but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It was my birthday i loved the food but i was expecting them to do sincr i told them it was my special day but overall its was good

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

There was a fly in my niece's glass of w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

There was a fly in my niece's glass of water and the staff were not at all disturbed by it. They brought her another glass and didn't even apologize. Our drinks took forever to appear. I had fried chicken. The chicken was very good but the mac and cheese and greens that came with it were so salty, I could not eat them. Our waiter was about as personable as a paper bag. Desserts were good but that is not enough for me to ever go back. Very disappointing for a celebrity chef's restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

7 pm reservation on Sunday July 10 Reci ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

7 pm reservation on Sunday July 10

Recieved meal around 8:45 pork chop wasn't cooked sent it back and it came back still uncooked Waitress was kind and understanding The manager was a bit rude trying tobe a comedian

The manager basically blew off the uncooked meal like it wasn't a big deal

I will not waste my time to even think about eating here in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our favorite restaurant in New Orleans. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in New Orleans. Food and service was excellent. We will definitely come back and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. Pricing is ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and great service. Pricing is competitive with upscale restaurants in New Orleans. Atmosphere is somewhat unique and pleasing - exposed brick and lighting. Big wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed in the service. Dined ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very disappointed in the service. Dined with my wife and son, wait staff brought me the wrong order, also forgot to bring a cocktail my son ordered. They did apologize for the error but these were careless mistakes that you don't expect from a restaurant like this. Doubt if I go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We always eat one meal at NOLA during o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We always eat one meal at NOLA during our stays in New Orleans. Both their lunch and dinner menus are varied while limited, but never disappoint.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at NOLA was impecca ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food and service at NOLA was impeccable. It was my best dining experience in the city over a five day vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I usually don't complain about the servi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I usually don't complain about the service, but it was slow and our server took forever to stop by. Food was good, not as good as some of the other restaurants we had during our trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

wonderful service, food, wine, ambiance.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

wonderful service, food, wine, ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience here. For sta ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a great experience here. For starters we tried the stuffed chicken wings and they were amazing. Also a small cup of the gumbo which was delicious. The night we were there it was chicken and sausage gumbo, but that changes from night to night I understand. For a main course, I had the fried chicken which came with sides of macaroni and cheese and greens. It was a very large piece of chicken and the breading was quite tasty and it was seasoned well, but the center of the breast lacked just a bit being done, with red blood visible near the bone. Other than that the plate was perfect, the greens were great and the mac and cheese was wonderful. My husband had the pork chop. It was large and cooked perfectly. He enjoyed his side of carrots very much as well. We also tried a dessert, we shared the cheesecake and it was delicious. The servers were all excellent. We wanted to try a pinot noir, and there were a couple of "by the glass" ones on the menu. We described our tastes to the server, and after consulting with the sommelier, she recommended a Belle glos wine to us that was so good I immediately began looking for a place to buy bottles of it. Overall, great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great anniversary dinner! The duck was r ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great anniversary dinner! The duck was recommended by the guests at the table next to us, and I was not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we arrived almost 30 minutes early and w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

we arrived almost 30 minutes early and were seated immediately. Service staff were knowledgeable, professional and very attentive. Crab cake appetizer was the best we had ever had. My wife had the duck and the meat was very tender and loaded with flavor. I had the shrimp and grits - got six large shrimp that were perfectly cooked and flavorful. the portion of grits was ridiculously small and covered with a sauce of clarified butter, bacon and tasso ham that was so excessively rich that I didn't eat half of either. we split the crème bruele trio for dessert and they were all delicious, very creamy and complimented each other well. I'm glad that we went, but now that I can check it off my "bucket list" will not be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and food. If I lived in Ne ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great service and food. If I lived in New Orleans I'd dine here often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was much quieter than I w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The restaurant was much quieter than I was expecting, and there did seem to be more staff than customers at one point, but we did get fantastic service. They only have a few cocktails but these were well-made and generous, otherwise there is an extensive wine list. I had the buttermilk chicken with probably the best mac 'n' cheese I have ever tasted, followed by a feather-light frozen mai tai desert. The desert as a whole worked well, although individual mouthfuls of the different components seemed to jar. My husband had steak with oysters - several days later he is still talking about how amazing the oysters were. His trio of creme brule were unctuous and packed with flavour. Our servers were very attentive, and given the quietness of the restaurant, happy to chat to us tourists.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall a good dining experience. I was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Overall a good dining experience. I was excited to go to an Emeril Lagasse restaurant. I ordered Miss Hays Chicken wings, and had the oysters as an appy and the hickory smoked duck as an entree. The entrees were superb, the chicken wings were a surprise with the vermicelli and asian inspired dipping sauce and the oysters were perfect. THe entree was quite delicious, smoky, and savourythe duck was cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was amazing. Atmosphere was great ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was amazing. Atmosphere was great and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely love NOLA and will continu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We absolutely love NOLA and will continue to come back here for special occasions. The menu and the daily specials are simply the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience great food I wish I cou ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great experience great food I wish I could have experienced the dessert. The drum was excellent. The fried chicken I was just ok so was the gumbo but everything else was 5 stars especially the service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service by wait staff was fantastic - tr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service by wait staff was fantastic - treated like royalty.

All Meals were ala carte.

Pork Cheek Boudin Balls, overcooked, stringy, too small a portion.

Side salad - nothing about it that was memorable - neither the salad nor the dressing.

Pork Chop w/cubed sweet potatoes - Pork cooked to perfection - seasoning was too light and non-defined, sweet potatoes too under cooked - like eating raw, pool of glaze that the meal was floating in was thin, and posed to be a clothes staining nightmare when one of the sweet potatoes fell off fork into the glaze.

Banana Pudding Cake had all the components but lacked something that tied it together into a cohesive desert, not just an assortment of items on the plate. With the over inflated menu prices, we opted out of wine service. This was the single most expensive meal I have ever had in my life, and my expectations were high and I was left feeling robbed. Our trip to New Orleans was solely to go to an Emeril's restaurant - we arrived in town at 4:30pm, had dinner reservations for 6:30pm at NOLA and left town the next morning at 6:00am on our way to Florida. I truly wish I could have more and better things to say about my time at NOLA, but that wasn't to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Amazing restaurant i enjoy myself very m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing restaurant i enjoy myself very much and look forward to dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My second time at this restaurant. I hap ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My second time at this restaurant. I happen to be a Top Chef fan so of course had to visit the great emerille's rstaurant. Unfortunately I have to say go someplace else. My chicken was raw! It was taken away and instead of preparing another, they had actually refired the same piece of chicken. I have never had that happen in any decent restaurant. Next, the macaroni and cheese was watery, cooked like someone from the north! Just not a good experience and management seemed fine that I was not pleased.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I would like to see more variety on the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I would like to see more variety on the menu. The menu is pricey. There should be more options for people who don't eat seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and good food. Nice friend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service and good food. Nice friendly service

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Shrimp in grits was great ---right porti ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Shrimp in grits was great ---right portion, right spice. Topped off the meal with dessert. Banana cake and sorbet were awesome. Service was top notch as well.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had one night in New Orleans and choo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had one night in New Orleans and choose Nola and we are so glad we did. Loved the food and service, would definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner. Wait staff was great. Food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great dinner. Wait staff was great. Food could have been just a little bit warmer.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.