Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About NOLA Restaurant

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. The chef de cuisine works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Currently Closed for Renovations - Reopening Mid-September

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: (504) 522-6652

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Good for a Date (68)
Creative Cuisine (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Authentic (46)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Local Ingredients (45)
Comfort Food (44)
Romantic (44)
Casual (41)
Business Meals (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fun (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Cozy (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Hot Spot (16)
People Watching (16)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (8)
Spicy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
9990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice evening for their official “reopening”. Food was good and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

NOLA used to be one of the best restaurants in New Orleans. DIning at NOLA was a special treat for my extended family when in New Orleans. Now the food is tasteless, the atmosphere looks cheap downstairs and what used to be impeccable service has diminished considerably. We were so disappointed with our appetizers and entrees we left before ordering dessert. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely hosts, friendly and experienced bar staff, and absolutely fantastic food!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were a group of four from Texas and spending the night in new Orleans before boarding cruise ship on Sunday. Shrimp and grits were so good. Would definitely recommend NOLA for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The staff was very friendly, attentive, and accommodating. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Terrence was awesome! Great dining experience from start to finish. Delicious cocktails, the best fried chicken you will ever taste and the service was top-notch. Truly an awesome night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Amazing dinner! A friend and I went for a small birthday celebration for her and NOLA was not a disappointment! We also went back in November for my bridal shower with a larger group and that was also a great experience. The server was definitely knowledgeable of the menu and drink selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service outstanding and the food was absolutely delicious! I had the gumbo of the day and shrimp and grits. Best gumbo I have ever eaten! Great atmosphere. My husband had the NY strip and it was cooked to perfection. We ended our meal with the creme brûlée trio which was incredible. This place will be a MUST when I get to revisit New Orleans!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

highly recommend; one of the best lunches I have had in a long time; the shrimp and grits were divine; service is great; do not miss

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was great. The service was wonderful! Everything was fresh and hot! The drink were great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food and service were great! I would definitely recommend for a nice dinner or special occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent service! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was great and the restaurant was a nice quiet romantic getaway in NO.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Really enjoyed it! Service was great and quality of food was too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Everything was beyond expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Best experience. Staff was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent food, reasonably priced, and validates parking ticket

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Over the top! Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Fun wait staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Spicy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We really enjoyed the experience at NOLA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Everything ordered was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

The best meal we've ever eaten. Everything was wonderful. Service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! The staff was equally awesome. I believe our waiter's name was Reggie? Heavier-set young black man. He listened intently to our questions and helped us pick options that knocked our taste buds out of the park! I have visited countless restaurants, had all levels of service, and have been a waiter myself, he is by FAR the best server I have ever experienced and this man should be considered a treasure to the restaurant! If I had any level of critique, it would be that the party's next to us were very loud but, that's is on them, not the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was excellent had to send back two dishes and get something different and the coffee was disgusting and cold!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Simply fantastic from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was the place I choose to celebrate my 40th birthday and it lived up to my expectations! The food was wonderful!! We had a party of 10 and everyone spoke of the high quality of the food and the wait staff. Thank you for making me feel great on my special birthday. I plan to back if I every go back to New Orleans.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Another Emeril restaurant that's superb! First one we've tried in New Orleans and it was so good! Food excellent, service top notch. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Delicious food and wine, exceptional service, especially from Big John and support staff.
In spite of the fierce competition for foodies in New Orleans, I would definitely return!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful experience. The service is fantastic and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Dinner was good. I had the shrimp and grits. They were excellent except for the fact that the shrimp still had the tails. While I don't normally mind the tails left on the shrimp it was hard eating these because of the sauce on the shrimp and grits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent location, topnotch service and an amazing grits and shrimp

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent service, comfort food at its finest! Highly recommended for dates or special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent meal, excellent service! We definitely will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Went to NOLA and was a tad disappointed! Service was good over the whole time - but as the area around us got loaded you could see the staff got stretched and missed a beat. Basically - spread just a little thin. More a reflection on the general manager than the people, who were great.

Appetizers were good had the boudin balls which had a great taste and the puffed pita bread - it was well done, fresh etc... but a bit plain.

For dinner we had the Shrimp and Grits and the Fried Chicken. Great greens with the fried chicken. The gravy was great with the jelly in it. Really worked well with the fried chicken. The mac and cheese was awesome and had a great KICK. If you like this type of food - it was great plus.

Dessert - so so. The bread pudding was served room temperature ( I assume they wanted to do that vs they just did not get it heated up?). Not so good because bread pudding is better warm! (opinion of course!!) The ice cream that came with it was very good.

Overall - a great high end restaurant for New Orleans...good service, solid food with some memorable creativity (the jelly in the gravy!)

Would I go back? hmmmm there are probably another 20 places I can go in New Orleans that are as good or better - so I would just try something new vs repeat at this point.

A word about the rating: I am comparing this to high end places and thus it gets what it gets. If I was using Chili's as the baseline NOLA is 5 stars across the board.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Came here for a business dinner on July 20th and was thrilled with the outstanding service and excellent food. We ate everything on our plates! Since we were there for business, we had many topics to discuss and wanted to build a rapport with our new connections. We never felt rushed & the servers were perfection. I wish I remembered our waiters name-he was delightful!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great service but was disappointed with the Shrimp n Grits. I thought the dish was too salty. My husband had the drum fish and was equally disappointed. We were visiting from D.C. and ate at Meril the day before and was thoroughly impressed, but NOLA was a let down . We thought the food was better at Meril.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fantastic service and food and atmosphere 111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The waitress and staff were very nice. I liked the attention to detail, and the crab cakes were very savory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

My friend Laura and I were on a short trip to New Orleans and our #1 priority was eating at an Emeril's restaurant. We chose NOLA and it was fantastic. Food was out of this world good! Service staff as great. Iwould highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Top notch. Very attentive service from the moment we entered the door.

Fantastic food. Great wine list.

Would go back in a heartbeat. Definitely a reason to go to the Quarter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Best bread pudding ever! (it didn't need the ice cream , it was amazing on its own). Scallops and fettuccine were fabulous too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.