Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About NOLA Restaurant

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. The chef de cuisine works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: (504) 522-6652

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (185)
Fit for Foodies (182)
Creative Cuisine (180)
See All
Good for a Date (179)
Good for Anniversaries (132)
Authentic (131)
Local Ingredients (105)
Romantic (105)
Good for Birthdays (96)
Fun (85)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
Business Meals (80)
Handcrafted Cocktails (80)
Comfort Food (77)
Notable Wine List (75)
Open Kitchen (72)
Good for Groups (66)
Casual (61)
Worth the Drive (59)
Historic (58)
Hot Spot (58)
Cozy (54)
Modern Decor (48)
Great for Lunch (46)
People Watching (42)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Wood Oven (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Spicy (23)
Tasting Menu (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Seasonal (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Scenic View (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Family Style (10)
Healthy (8)
Great Beer (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Private Room (5)
Organic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
9756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service. Very friendly and engaging staff. My pork chop was excellent. My partner's short ribs were over salted. We noted this to the manager and he was very apologetic and responsive. Overall great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic food, excellent service. With so many great restaurants to choose from, it's hard to not pick this place as a must for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I went for the business lunch and had the best salad and hanger steak with frites. Both dishes were outstanding and perfectly portioned. All for $20 plus tax and tip. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

I've been to many of Emeril's restaurants in New Orleans and Las Vegas, including NOLA on prior occasions. This visit I wanted friends new to Emeril's food and New Orleans to experience the flavors and service I've always enjoyed. Didn't work out that way. Our waiting was not attentive, offered no recommendations and generally absent from our experience. Fortunately, a great busser took better care of us. The food; watermelon salad very unripe and tasteless, oven roasted oysters and BBQ shrimp were lacking any flavor, especially for Emeril. The icing was my friend's steak ordered median well (I know) was served medium rare. When returned and brought out again, it was severely charred and still very pink inside.

To summarize, I know this restaurant has done and can do much better, just not for my group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding as always. I have been eating at Nola since it opened on each visit. Quality product and great staff!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was fantastic and the food was second to none.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 4 days ago

Big John took care of us. A great meal and a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been in NOLA before and had a pretty good meal. But we were pretty disappointed by the grilled oysters that were tepid and tasteless. The short ribs were ok, and my NY Strip steak was delicious. Our server Michelle was terrific. The oysters were taken off our bill. We just didn't feel the menu and found the food ordinary.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was awesome and the service beyond compare.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a business dinner at NOLA. Great service, wonderful food and nice atmosphere. I would highly recommend to anyone for a nice dinner or event. You will want to make reservations well in advance especially for larger parties. Everyone really enjoyed the dinner and would return another time.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was quite good, but it felt a little like we were being rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Six of us recently at this restaurant and five of us loved our meal. For the one that didn't, his comments were that the fish sandwich lunch special was soggy, tasteless and was just a mess to eat. He ate a couple of bites but then left it alone. The waiter noticed this...but didn't inquire further once we told him that we didn't like the food. We didn't ask for something else, but we should have. Besides this miss, the rest of the food was very good and represented a good value. I am guessing our one party's poor experience was a fluke.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

This was overall a fairly disappointing experience. I was dining alone and they stuck me in a spot right by the kitchen. My waiter was very nice but I couldn't hear what he said over the noise. I also only saw him a couple times during the whole evening. At one point I sat with no food and an empty wine glass for about 10 minutes while waiters constantly walked past me. The food was good but not that good. Maybe another night this would've been better.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. Wonderful experience

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice. Food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Arrived with great expectations, left dissatisfied and disappointed. I truly felt like the dishes we ordered were thrown together without any care factor. Was very excited when we ordered the boudin balls , due to the other reviews, but I couldn't compete just one. The texture was creamy, fatty with a BBQ sauce flavor...not what I was expecting. I had the spare rib (plural) over pasta, my wife had the scallops (3), also over pasta. Flavors were bland, we both had to add salt to bring our plate to life. Overall, we felt neglected and didn't receive the dining experience that we would expect from an "Emeril" owned restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Visiting New Orleans for a few days and NOLA was on our to do list. Was not disappointed. From the host desk to the wait staff, kudos for making us feel so welcome. The food was top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Brilliant service. The wait staff was exceptional. The food was lovely and the bartender was absolute tops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was amazing! Very New Orleans which was fun and festive. Get the ooey gooey dessert, it was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

We chose this restaurant for lunch after our daughter's college graduation and it was wonderful. They accommodated one in our party with food allergies, made our 8 year old happy, had great food and drinks for all and our waiter was superb. Would visit again with a small or large group with pleasure!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

No complaints. The reviews are spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food and wonderful service! Would definitely go again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

With all the choices in New Orleans, definitely worth it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My favorite place in New Orleans!! I recommend it to all of my friends. The staff is phenomenal! Food is amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

By far my favorite meal on this trip! The food is superb and the staff are all excellent. I absolutely can't wait to go back the next time we are in NOLA!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Really enjoyed all aspects of NOLA! Great food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were seated upstairs for lunch which was a treat. The space is bright and sunny. Our servers were very attentive and the food and drinks were superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very mixed.

The garlic soup, boudin balls and jalapeño cornbread were delicious. The ribeye special was underwhelming: too thin - 1/2" thick or so, green beans were noticeably under done (not even close to al dente), the roasted potatoes were also not quite fully cooked, but the mushrooms were great. Also, the whipped butter had an oily consistency - I don't think it was pure butter.

Service was attentive, but the dinner was slow - 2 hours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lunch was delicious; service was great. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Visiting New Orleans for a week of relaxation, good food and enjoy the libations with my wife. Very nice restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 17, 2017

First time in New Orleans. Nola surpassed every expectation. The food was delicious and the service nonpareil.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Was on vacation & ran across the restaurant as we walked around the city! Very coool atmosphere & the oysters were yummy! We tried Emerls original Resturant the next night but didn't compare to this one ! Great wine list too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food and service at NOLA were both incredible. We would highly recommend for a date, and special occasions. Everyone from the hostess to the servers and wait staff were very pleasant. Service was very well orchestrated and we waited for nothing. Both floor managers came to our table to ensure everything was fine (which it was) and we felt appreciated as customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great restaurant. Emeril knows how to do it!!!!!!!
Wonderful, friendly staff. Excellent food. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Spicy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was fantastic great experience. Service was pretty good but felt a little rushed. Had to ask for another drink a couple of times. Did not check back with the table as often as needed.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The place was cold and noisy and the food was just fair for a relatively expensive place. We complained about the cold several times and finally had to open a door to the outside to warm up. The caesar salad was small and not very tasty.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were in New Orleans for a few days' vacation. NOLA was one of the restaurants I found on line. We were pleasantly surprised and very happy that we made the early evening reservation after a bounteous Mother's Day brunch!

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, great food, great Bloody Mary ......overall experience wonderful!

Tags: Historic, Spicy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was fantastic, no detail was left to chance. Meals were served with precision. Pleasant and added to the experience.
The meals was nothing short of amazing.
The grits were by far the best I've every had or probably ever will.
The entrees were filled with so much flavor. Every bite was like a new experience.
I will definitely be a regular when in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great dinner whether you are ordering apps and drinks or a full meal with a New Orleans taste.

Had my birthday dinner with the roasted duck. Extremely tasty!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.