Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About NOLA Restaurant

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. The chef de cuisine works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: (504) 522-6652

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (139)
Special Occasion (137)
Creative Cuisine (135)
See All
Fit for Foodies (131)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
Authentic (92)
Romantic (80)
Good for Birthdays (74)
Local Ingredients (70)
Comfort Food (68)
Open Kitchen (68)
Fun (66)
Notable Wine List (63)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Business Meals (58)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Cozy (52)
Casual (51)
Good for Groups (44)
Hot Spot (43)
Historic (42)
Worth the Drive (40)
Modern Decor (40)
Great for Lunch (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Wood Oven (29)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
People Watching (24)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Spicy (15)
Outstanding Value (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Family Style (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (6)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
9484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second visit. The first was fantastic, this one, not so much. It really came down to our waiter. He was awful. We wanted to have half bottles of wine with our courses but that was s little much for our server to grasp. After our first course was devoured--the pork cheeks were great--I had to flag down a manager to cancel our wine because it was nowhere to be found, along with our server. We ordered a full bottle for our entree course which was served by the mgr but 30 min later our food still had not arrived. The large party next to us who ordered after we did got their food and we had none. Finally we were served. My wife had the duck which was great. I had the fried chicken which was sub par. After we we were half finished with our food the server returned to ask how things were. I replied "ehh...fair I guess". He said great and left. I choked down the rest of my over cooked underseasoned chicken and then we ordered dessert from the mgr. the bread pudding was excellent. When we were finished the server magically appeared and dropped our check immediately. We will never eat here again. There are too many fantastic restaurants in the quarter to deal with this crap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Nola is one of our more popular restaurants in the entire country.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

I have to say, I went on the recommendation of several friends and I was not disappointed!! The service here is beyond top notch!! My glass was never less than half full. They were always there to answer any questions. The food was indescribable. I had the Crab Cake appetizer, Shrimp and Grits entrée, and the Crème Brûlée Trio for dessert. I walked out extremely satisfied! I wish I lived closer so that I could go here more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a lousy waiter that ignored us. Food was just okay considering how expensive it was. We had a cramped table and it is very noisy in this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This place was amazing. Food was great and the staff was amazing. Watching them make sure every table was perfect was too cool to see. Would recommend 100%!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was Ray with Derek and Gregory assisting. Started with the butternut squash bisque and rabbit/andouille gumbo - both were very tasty. Braised pork belly was tender and delicious and tortellini had great flavor. The shrimp and grits were spot on - shrimp cooked just right and grits were creamy and some of the best I've had. We finished with the trio of creme brûlée which were very good (could have used the traditional burnt sugar crust - but still good) and toppings were fresh. Servers were very attentive and caring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing. I had the buttermilk fried chicken, pepper jack mac & cheese with greens. The gumbo was out of this world.

The service was world class. I had a reservation and was seated right away. I highly recommend you visit NOLA while in New Orleans.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was beyond reproach from the front door to the wait and service staff. Wonderful. The food was fantastic, however, we all agreed that the Garlic Crusted Drum was among the most bland and uninspired dishes our entire group had tasted. That said all other dishes were truly fantastic. As such this was still a 5-star meal and we will be back. Well done.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service quality was excellent. Appetizers were inventive (Boudin was outstanding. Rabbit gumbo was more stew than gumbo, but had excellent flavor. Very enjoyable

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and great food! We went for lunch - I had the Shrimp and Grits and my husband had the Short Rib Hash. We also enjoyed the Creme Brulee Trio and left feeling very satisfied and full :) PS - Our waitress was amazing and extremely attentive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

We were visiting New Orleans and were recommended NOLA. To be honest the food was average at best, I had a rabbit gumbo that was like cooked rabbit in hot water, sauce had no taste. My wife had fried chicken that looked like 2 big chicken tenders. The people on an adjacent table had a pizza that smelled so strongly of truffle that you could see none of them really wanted to eat it (and they didn't) and the smell at our table was off putting. Room was nice and services was good but certainly the food was a big disappointment, expect more local New Orleans type food, look at the menu before you go!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Nola was just ok. For the price it should have been memorable. Perhaps it's what we ordered but again, for the price all entrees should be excellent. We both thought our dishes were over salted. The BBQ shrimp appetizer was the best we ate here. Salty but good. The Caesar salad was pretty well done too although could use more anchovies. Their wine list is good but marked up too much. Noise level was ridiculous. Waiter, Marco, was terrific! Therefore we give Nola a 3. If it were less expensive we could overlook the noise perhaps and overuse of salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Been to NOLA the restaurant almost every NOLA visit. Go for the ambience and good food. Seems like menu has not changed much, which can be a plus, but also looking for new things. Server was very nice and attentive. Only downside for us was the lighting where we sat upstairs - with two very bright overhead light fixtures. We asked to tone it down but were told lighting dimmer would dim the whole restaurant. In my view the dining experience would be much more intimate and the ambience would be greatly improved by dimming the light in that area, or putting in much much lower wattage bulbs in those fixtures. Lighting appeared to be better and more appropriate in the other areas of the restaurant without the bright overhead lights.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Family Style, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our first time at Nola. We were visiting & took our niece for her 50th B-day. Staff was great & the food was great. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food is delicious, service is great, very nice restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 20, 2017

My pick for New Orleans. The food is always on point. Wish I had room to try it all. I make it a plan to go each time I am on vacation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Other than the appetizers some of which are hte same lopcal fare as served elsewhere three o0ut of te fo0ur mains wee a bst .
Duck looked schrumptous but was too smoked resultng in a dish that had a strong smoked flavor and dry mushy meat. Fried chicken wasdry white meat and not as good as the colonel but the pasta was tasty.
Dessert was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was slow. Food was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was excellent and service was professional and friendly. Shrimp and grits were the best that I have ever tasted. A+++++

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun, Spicy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

2nd visit to New Orleans in the last few years and 2nd visit to NOLA, both experiences were excellent! Go!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Nola is a favorite of ours. Professional, friendly wait staff who are knowledgeable about the food and the wine. For starters we love the chicken wings & the boudin balls. The barbecue shrimp is so good but this time I tried the scallops with seafood pasta & I'm glad I did. My husband had the garlic crusted drum and my daughter had the duck both which I'm told were delicious. We are never hurried or rushed, there is ample time to enjoy every course and linger over dessert. The noise level is moderate, you can hear everyone at your table. We look forward to dining at Nola everytime we visit New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing!! Absolutely amazing! I wish I could give more stars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Enjoyed the whole experience at NOLA. The food, service and atmosphere were all excellent. Well worth every penny would go again in a heartbeat!!!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had Nate as our server and he couldn't have been better! Really made our experience memorable! I've actually had him one other time! Now I'm just going to request him every time we go! Food and drinks were great. Also enjoyed watching the people go by! Be back soon! 😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The service and food were outstanding! Waitstaff were friendly, informative and highly professional. The amt of time between courses was perfect, never rushed. Our only negative comments are regarding the environment, the air conditioning was very cold and the fan/ blower is large and powerful, so much so that from where we were seated, the food cooled quickly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was wonderful but the service was terrible. It seems as though the servers know the food is good and so they have no longer care about the importance of good service. If a meal for three is going to cost over $200, I expect a waiter to greet us and at least acknowledge our existence. It's took over twenty minutes for someone to take our drink order and we didn't receive our drinks for another twenty minutes. How difficult is it to pour two glasses of wine and make a sazerac? We had a reservation for 8:45 and didn't reviewed our food until around 10:20. Overall, I would go for the food, but the service turned what should have been a lovely last night in New Orleans into something disappointing. The best service was from the bus boy who was also pouring our waters.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Will just can't say enough to describe. Even better than we had hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our meal was fantastic. The pork chop was absolutely incredible. Our waiter Raymond was very attentive and knowledgeable. service was amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

2 out of 3 meals good. Thirds meal, pork chop, extremely undercooked!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Disappointed. Not up to par with past visits. Not bad at all, but clearly slipping. Probably my last time here. For the price point and being in a genuine "foodie" City one expects far more than was delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I always wanted to eat in an Emeril restaurant. We were visiting New Orleans so this was my chance. Nola lived up to everything I have ever heard about it and Emeril's food. On a scale is 1-10 this was 11!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very disappointed with quality of the food. There was too much dressing on the Cesar salad. The grilled shrimp was tough and over cooked. The boudin balls were mushy and tasteless. J

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Visiting New Orleans... great meal, great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food and service were great. Unfortunately, a large party of young 'professionals were seated next to us, who were extremely loud and rude. We ended up cutting our dining experience short because of them.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Some of the best food in New Orleans! Could not ask for better service. It was more than a dinner, it was an amazing experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Waited really long for the experience and got positively surprised. Food was even better I expected. And dining and watching cooks doing their job was really nice.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great frog legs, super yummie baked oisters
Delicious duck!!
Fried green tomatoes 🍅

Warm & friendly waiter!!
Lovely wine list
All in all great experience

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Absolutely loved the food. Flavors are to die for. Service was impeccable with one of your team of three checking in on you. Emeril does it well and Terrance our waiter was fabulous

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.