About NOLA Restaurant

534 Saint Louis Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

If you are unable to make a reservation online, please call us at (504) 522-6652.

NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse’s casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. Chef de cuisine Brian Mottola works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef’s food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Monday: 11:30am – 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-6652

Website:
http://www.emerilsrestaurants.com/nola-restaurant

Parking Details:
Validated parking at Omni Hotel on Chartres Street between St. Louis Street & Toulouse Street

Executive Chef:
Brian Mottola

Private Party Facilities:
Customize your private party with exquisite food, wine and service.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Favrot: 5045226652x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

NOLA Restaurant
NOLA Restaurant
Creme Brulee Trio
Shrimp & Grits
Shrimp and Grits
Ooey Gooey Warm Chocolate Cake
Banana Pudding Layer Cake
Hickory Roasted Duck
Miss Hays Stuffed Chicken Wings
banana layer pudding cake
BBQ Shrimp
Burrata salad
Grilled Pork Chop
Miss Hay’s Stuffed Wings
Warm Ooey Gooey Cake
Apple tart
Miss Hay's Vietnamese Po Boy
Garlic Crusted Drum
Chicken and Andouille Gumbo
Double-Barrel
Brioche and Jalapeño Corn Bread
Sazerac
Drunken Monkey Ice Cream
Buttermilk Fried Breast of Chicken 
Braised Short Rib Bordelaise
St. Joseph Zeppole
Paneed Pork Loin, Bucatini, And Crab Carbonara
Fois Gras Pate
Cracklin' Crusted Frog Legs
Fried Oyster Vietnamese Po Boy With Kimchi
Duck Confit and Fried Egg Pizza  with Parmesan Cheese, Truffle Oil and Baby Arugula
"Emeril’s" New Orleans Barbeque Shrimp
Prince Edward Island Black Mussels
Braised Pork Cheek Poboy
Stuffed Chicken Wings W/hoisin Sauce
Boubon Sweet Potatoes
Banana Fosters Bread Pudding
Grilled Creekstone New York Strip
Pork Cheek Boudin
Cheese Plate
Gumbo of the Day
King's Cake Bread Pudding
Wood Oven Roasted Pocket Bread
Pan Roasted Salmon
New Orleans style crab cake
Craggy Range Sauvignon Blanc
Chocolate Ice Cream With Candied Pecans
Smoked Duck And Pepperjack Cheese Spring Roll
Pan Roasted Drum Fish
Baby Arugula Salad
Grilled Gulf Fish
Covey Rise Creole Tomato Gazpacho 
With Poached Gulf Shrimp
Double Barrel
Bread & Butter
Pali 'Bluffs' Pinot Noir Russian River Valley '11
Roussette de Savoie, Domaine Jean Vullien et Fils '12
Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Rosé
Eiswein
Crispy Smoked Duck And Mushroom Boudin Balls With Creole Mustard Sauce And Topped With Tomato Bacon Jam
Yellow Fin Tuna
Popcorn Sundae
Duck Confit & Fried Egg Pizza
Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread
Assorted Baby Lettuces
Chicken And Andouille Sausage Gumbo
Grilled Amberjack
Crispy Smoked Duck Balls
Bread Plate
Garlic Roasted Ciabatta
Seared Sea Scallops
Emeril's Syrah
Sticky Toffee Bread Pudding
Wild Field Peas
Ginger Rum Cake With Pineapple Sorbet
Specialty Cappuccino
fried chicken
White Chocolate And Blueberry Bread Pudding
Strawberry Shortcake Prof
Crispy Tomato & Bacon Salad
Duck Confit
Nola burger
Turkey Panini
Salada
Fried Green Tomatoes
Trim Cabernet Sauvignon
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Nola Cosmo
Stuffed Chicken
Duck And Andouille Gumbo
Veggie Pizza
Grilled Creekstone Farms Rib Eye
Blueberry Upside Down Cake
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
Turtle Soup
Gumbo
Mahi Mahi
Hickory Smoked Duck Breast With Sweet Corn Grits
Wood Fired Prince Edward Island Black Mussels
Profiteroles

NOLA Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

fit for foodies (411)
special occasion (361)
notable wine list (198)
See All
good for groups (194)
neighborhood gem (173)
hot spot (160)
romantic (153)
great for lunch (113)
great for brunch (36)
vibrant bar scene (28)
kid-friendly (27)
late-night find (25)
scenic view (23)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
8197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat at the bar where we could watch and ...

Dined 3 days ago

Sat at the bar where we could watch and interact with chef. Had 10 year old grandson who said it was the best restaurant he had even been to. Always a dining pleasure! Can't come to New Orleans without a trip to NOLA.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

I sat at the kitchen bar, the Chef and S ...

Dined 4 days ago

I sat at the kitchen bar, the Chef and Sous Chef were delightful, very attentive to me while running an amazingly efficient kitchen. Dinner service was great

food3
ambience5
service5

The food did not give me the taste of Ne ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food did not give me the taste of New Orleans that I expected. This was disappointing. It was good food, but not New Orleans good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was recommended to me to visit whil ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was recommended to me to visit while in New Orleans on Business and it was Amazing......I highly recommend to eat here on your next trip to New Orleans and suggest the Shrimp and Grits

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Nola in the ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was my second visit to Nola in the past 2 years. It is definitely on my list each time business takes me to New Orleans. I am so impressed with their service and their food. The only negative is that I do not eat pork so there are many menu items I can't try. I ordered a fish dish and it was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best chicken & waffles ever! We loved th ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best chicken & waffles ever! We loved the food and the service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived early and was seated immediatly. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Arrived early and was seated immediatly. Service was exceptional, any questions we had were answered.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is impeccable !

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service is impeccable !

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We went for Father's Day and thought the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day and thought they would have a special menu, but they only had their regular lunch menu. We ordered the wood-fired oysters and were told that there were 4 to the order for $10.00, when we got them, there were only 3. The roasted beet salad was very good. The shrimp and grits were unlike any I have ever had before, not bad, but just different. I guess I just expected much more from this restaurant. It wasn't bad, but with so many fantastic restaurants in New Orleans, I will not go back. It doesn't hold a candle to K-Paul's -- go there instead.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

While the service and food were great, t ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

While the service and food were great, this is not a place for a date. The wood floors and exposed brick walls and open kitchen make the noise level high! However, if you want good food with properly paced service, this is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1

Not great. Service less than great and f ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Not great. Service less than great and food inconsistent. Been here before and standards much lower. Felt ripped off !

food2
ambience2
service2

Dissappointed with the food and service. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Dissappointed with the food and service. After eating at Emeril's the night before thought NOLA would measure up but fell really short on many levels.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding! The wings (not ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was outstanding! The wings (not your average wings) should not be missed, and the crab cake may be the best ever! This restaurant should be on everyone's must do list while in New Orleans.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was decent. The mac and cheese ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was decent. The mac and cheese was very salty but otherwise full of flavor. The service was decent. They were very efficient at removing plates throughout the dinner, but were otherwise a bit inattentive. We stated we were ready to order and one of the two servers walked away and came back about five minutes later to ask if we were ready to order. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We make it to NOLA every time we r in Ne ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We make it to NOLA every time we r in New Orleans. This is e every three to four years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Cab-steak was sensational, melt-in-your- ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Cab-steak was sensational, melt-in-your-mouth tender; bread pudding dessert was delightful - Made my birthday special, yay!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 35th wedding ann ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. It was an awesome night. Excellent from A to Z. Our waiter John (Big John) was great . Always caring for us. Wanted to know if everything was OK. Too bad we can't have points fro that evening. I would recommend this place in a heart beat. If we return to New Orleans, sur that we will return to this restaurant. A great exprerience Pierre Barbeau Quebec Canada

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Upon our arrival at Nola, we were greete ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Upon our arrival at Nola, we were greeted by the Nola staff. Our waiter, Big John was a great waiter and worked to make sure we had a wonderful dining experience. I ordered a rib eye steak from the menu. I ordered my steak medium and it was cooked right. My only comment was that it was not a tender as a rib eye I ordered two weeks earlier at 3 Forks in Dallas. Overall, we enjoyed the restaurant and would return to experience other items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing dinner to celebrate ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This was an amazing dinner to celebrate our anniversary with our friends on vacation. The service was stellar! We felt as though our happiness was the most important in the room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

My experience with NOLA restaurant was s ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My experience with NOLA restaurant was superb. I was warmly greater by the host and brought to my table with an amazing view on the second story. The service team who took care of my table was prompt in approaching, and they were very attentive throughout the meal. My main server, Meredith, was an absolute GEM!! If you are lucky enough to have her, you will know why. Highly recommend her; she was fantastic. I opted for the tasting menu. The pork cheek boudin balls were excellent with the tomato-bacon jam. I had selected a Rioja rosé prior to picking my food (not the best choice; my fault, though), but my choice was the only slight shortcoming. The BBQ shrimp and grits were delicious, and so was the drunken monkey ice cream! I ended my evening at the bar with Kyle, and she too was an absolute GEM!! Kyle knows how to make a smooth and delicious Sazarac, which is a welcomed treat from all the terrible ones I have had other places. She was extremely personable along with knowledgable on her craft. Short version: have Meredith serve your table and Kyle fix your drinks. These two lovely ladies raise the bar for an already well-revered restaurant! If you haven't gone, go. If you've gone before, go again and keep your fingers crossed to get this dynamic duo along with some tasty cuisine!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. Everyone was happy with ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was good. Everyone was happy with their entree. Restaurant is extremely noisy. Not a good place to come for conversation. Wait staff was very friendly, but service was very slow. I assume the problem was the kitchen. All in all a nice meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Good as expected. Service outstanding. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Good as expected. Service outstanding. Food delivered together and on time. Flavors balanced. Liked it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I mistakenly made a reservation at NOLA ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I mistakenly made a reservation at NOLA thinking it was Emeril's Restaurant I ate at a year ago when on a business trip. When I came to the restaurant I knew it was the same but thought I would try it out anyway. So glad I did! The service was amazing, like all his restaurants are and the food delicious.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and Great food! We go to ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Awesome service and Great food! We go to New Orleans every year and go to NOLA Restaurant. We are always pleased with the great service and food! The staff are great and always kind! I recommend NOLA Restaurant next time your in New Orleans!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was just not what I was expecti ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was just not what I was expecting, and all in my party felt the same. I was looking more for some New Orleans style food with the Emeril flare. In many of the other menus at the other New Orleans restaurants, I had a hard time deciding what I wanted because everything sounded so very good. At Nola's , it was difficult deciding what to order because nothing sounded that good. The food was good when it came, just not what I was expecting.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had lunch at NOLA, just a simple sala ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We had lunch at NOLA, just a simple salad and some wine, but everything was delicious and the way the service staff took care of us you jwould have thought we were eating a five course dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3

Food presentation was outstanding but fo ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food presentation was outstanding but food was above average

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everything was wonderful. Usu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

As always, everything was wonderful. Usually get shrimp and grits, but decided to try something new. Asked the waiter for his recommendation. He suggested the drum. Outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Has lost quality over last few years. N ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Has lost quality over last few years. Not much traditional Cajun Creole left on menu. Stuffed chicken wings good, but more Thai than NOLA. Emeril Delmonico significantly better (which was not true in past)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NOLA!!!!! What's wonderful dining experi ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

NOLA!!!!! What's wonderful dining experience. The mac and cheese is a must, the pork chop was one of the best I have ever eaten and I've eaten a few. And the ooey gooey cake was phenomenal. When I return to New Orleans, NOLA will definitely be a repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there, before was lunch. Thi ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Second time there, before was lunch. This was dinner. Superb creative and delicious food - Emerill is a genius! Server was enthusiastic and knowledgable. We had a meal to remember!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service - food was wonderful - ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service - food was wonderful - beautiful presentation. So glad we could dine here in celebration of our anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here to have a nice New Orleans ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went here to have a nice New Orleans dinner in the French Quarter since my girlfriend had never been to the area before. We were seated on the third floor, and immediately waited on. The service was professional, fast, and nice. The food though, was amazing. I am still dreaming about the NY strip I had for dinner. Very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time to NOLA. The food was wonderf ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

First time to NOLA. The food was wonderful and they were very accommodating on having gluten-free options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NOLA has a fabulous staff with a wealth ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

NOLA has a fabulous staff with a wealth of knowledge about the food and city! We started with watermelon martinis which had a delicious chunk of vodka soaked watermelon. I had the vegetarian entree and unlike some other restaurants it was full of flavor. Absolutely loved the brusell sprouts! My husband had the shrimp and grits and loved it as well. He also had the banana pudding layer cake and he really enjoyed. Loved it overall!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service ! Food was great .

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service ! Food was great .

food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service from "Tall Paul" ! H ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding service from "Tall Paul" ! He waited on us hand and foot and gave spectacular recommendations! Food was very good! My husband really enjoyed the drum fish and my friends raved about their pork chops. My crab cake was good but to be honest my homemade one is better and not loaded with shells.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been to NOLA twice. Smoked duck wa ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Have been to NOLA twice. Smoked duck was good, would order again if one like duck. I do! Pork tenderloin was ok, not bad. Would not order again. Layered banana cake was good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service!

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food, great service!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

On vacation with friends. Was recommend ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

On vacation with friends. Was recommended by them. Food was awesome!!!!! Nice restaurant!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.