Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Noir

Noir Restaurant is located along one of Philadelphia's hottest neighborhood's, East Passyunk Avenue. We pride ourselves by using only the freshest ingredients. Chef Marco Decotiis, born and raised in Montreal, Canada, brings his Italian culinary roots and local Canadian foods to Philly. Noir is open every day for lunch and dinner, and has a full bar offering an extensive craft beer selection along with a number of specialty cocktails & a wine selection for every palate. Be prepared to be properly taken care of and treated like family.

1909 E. Passyunk Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm


Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am


Sunday: 11:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mifflin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 319-1678

Website:
http://www.noirrestaurantandbar.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. We work personally with guests to fit their needs and budget.

Parking Details:
Metered Parking available. Free parking on Sunday.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway and Bus stops nearby

Executive Chef:
Marco DeCotiis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Noir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Casual (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I have reviewed Noir many times. Our recent meal was delicious as usual. The chicken scallopini and the eggplant parmigian were fantastic. Try it, you'll like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

My husband and my sister took me to Noir for my birthday lunch. It was a quiet Tuesday in the Summer, so we had the place mostly to ourselves. The bartender/waiter was very friendly and helpful with cocktail and menu selections. I ordered three appetizers instead of an entree (hey, it was my birthday!). My absolute favorite was the stuffed artichoke...it was delicious! I also enjoyed the rice balls and the poutine (without the smoked meat). My husband loved his appetizer (eggplant lasagna). He and my sister both ordered the fried meatball sandwich and declared them to be just like my (Italian) mother's fried meatballs!
It was a wonderful birthday lunch!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It pains me to give Noir such a low rating because the food was SO delicious. However, it was so noisy inside that it was impossible to talk to the person literally sitting beside you. I consider myself a foodie - as are the 5 other people with me - and I've never been in a restaurant so loud. I couldn't wait for dinner with friends to end so I could get out of there. It was unfortunate because we all agreed the food was great. The sausage, beans and brocoli rabe appetizer has a wonderful flavor. Lobster ravioli was very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Very Comfortable atmosphere for lunch. Food healthy as well as hearty. portions perfect for lunch. Small intimate dining area. Waiter was attentive and on his game. Noise level high, but did not distract from meal. Highly recommend for casual as well as business eating.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Went on July 17th for our Anniversary. Wait staff was friendly and polite. Food was delicious. Plates were big and filling. Some of the best rice balls.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is my second time eating at Noir, both times the food has been fantastic, with friendly service, and good cocktails. I am sure we will visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Recommended by a friend who's local to the restaurant. Was well worth the visit! Great food and great service! It was our first time there. And, Colin made us feel welcomed as if we were regulars! Our meals were fantastic! Especially the veal chop. Probably the best I've ever had! If we're ever in the neighborhood again, we're sure to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

First time at Noir and it was one of the best places I have been at. The food was great and the staff was attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is not the first time I have reviewed this restaurant. I have never had a bad meal there. You must try Noir's chicken scallopini. It is absolutely mouth-watering and makes love to your palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Took a chance on this place and I wasn't disappointed. Amazing meal and amazing service. The hostess was attentive and concerned that everything was fine. One of the best meals I've had in a long time. I'll be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was not my best experience in Passyunk Square. My friends and I were rushed (politely, generally) throughout our whole meal. From having our entrees served 5 minutes after our appetizers to having one of the servers noisily clean silverware at one of the adjacent tables, we did not enjoy the comfortable easy-going atmosphere we were hoping for. The food was OK, my friends enjoyed their pasta dishes, however my stuffed artichoke was greasy and swimming in a pool of water. There are so many nice restaurants in this area that this is not one that I will return to.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food across the board. Our server Joe was also very helpful and on top of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food, drinks and service as usual. Can't go wrong.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is a neighborhood restarant Montreal Italian that exceeds what you would expect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always satisfied when i come to Noir for dinner! the food is excellent and never disappoints! One of my favorite spots to eat at!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The server was very friendly and they were helpful and eager to please. The food was good but slightly pedestrian. It would be an excellent place for diners with an unadventurous palate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always the food was delicious, Chuck our server was so nice as well as the staff. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Kitchen was doing a nice job, but there is work to do with service level. My starter was great, but the level little bit dropped when it came to the main course.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The bar was so loud that you could not have a conversation with anyone at your table. Food was just ok. Would not make a trip to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Lots of dishes to choose from and some may be prepared in a variety of ways like the veal medallions. My husband and I each had the Cesar salad, unfortunately - we learned they had run out of anchovies when we requested those - but the salads were still very good. My husband had the veal medallions prepared with Marsala sauce, and I had the lobster ravioli. The entrees were also quite good, and the portions were a nice size. The drinks were a generous pour as were the wines. Overall enjoyable and a good value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I keep eating there and the food continues to be off the charts! This last visit I had a new addition to the menu for the summer; chicken scaloppini. It was marvelous. The chef is a genius with sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Noir for lunch -- great as always! Soup of the day was phenomenal and flatbread very nice too. Dante, our server, was perfect. Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

had a great meal and great service on Mother's day

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything was Excellent! Love this place. The gem of Passyunk Ave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Everything was soo good! The food is AMAZING I cant stress it enough! cant wait to go back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Wonderful food, great ambiance. Noir has an eclectic menu. There were families, neighborhood people and a large birthday party--a nice, mixed atmosphere. The bar business picked up toward the end of our meal.
A beet salad was light & tasty, a nice balance of sharp, sweet and tangy.
The French onion soup was first rate, deeply flavored and rich. I tried poutine for the first time, and loved it! The braised pork shank was fantastic, succulent. It was beautifully presented and rendered, standing straight up on the plate, a sprig of rosemary rising out of the bone. I was able to pull the meat off with my fork. The braise did not dry out the meat, or make it stringy. Each chunk was full, deeply flavored. The demi sauce was perfect.
We stayed late, and did not feel rushed. I'll definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Server Chuck along with all the wait staff were magnificent and extremely attentive. It was our first time at the restaurant and certainly will not be the last. Thank you for an enjoyable afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great new find for us! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were charmed by this unpretentious and fun little trattoria. Our cocktails and food were excellent. We will definitely return but try to sit farther from bar to reduce noise factor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We dined for a friends birthday recently and were rather disappointed since the reviews were so great - Only time I would go back would be to sit at the bar for bar food. Food was just OK. Portions were huge which was nice but the main courses were just ok. Cheese Steak pot stickers were good. Eggplant appetizer quite salty and the artichoke bland. Chicken main course overcooked. Good wine prices and bar prices but food was just OK. Service though congenial was not good. There was only one waiter on staff so not his fault and there was a huge party. We had to call him over several times. Again, not his fault but when you expect a big crowd a waiter and one bus person was not enough.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always great food. Lunch menu offers almost as many items dinner menu. My favorite restaurant. Never had a bad dish there.

Will continue to go there at least once or twice a month. Food is just sooooo good!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was delicious!!!! Our waiter Chuck was very attentive and pleasant. He was great!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Exceeded all of our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and service as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I have eaten here many, many times. It is always up to my expectations. Donna, the hostess, is charming and very helpful. It doesn't hurt any when your husband is the chef and the restaurant is crowded. with diners waiting to enjoy a great meal. The chef makes the best chicken pot pie I have ever eaten. And the rest of the menu ain't too bad. Drinks and wine are on hand and cover the field. We were recently away for an extended vacation and at least a few times a week I would tell my wife that we were going to Noir upon our return. We did and I am a happy man!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My husband and I went for dinner, it was one of the best meal I had ..The service was wonderful..all the servers were right there and with a smile on there faces..Would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a great meal...

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was great and the service was outstanding. Nice cozy atmisphere. Definitely go again

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

excellent as usual...best food on Passyunk...try the meatball sandwich with rabe for lunch

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We were at NOIR for the 3rd time in 10 days for Restaurant Week. We go at least three times every RW. The food is so good (the pastas are my favorite) and the triple Chocolate cake is so rich, I always bring half home. The atmosphere is a neighborhood bar vibe but the food is Italian via Montreal. (Look at the menu and you'll understand). Can';t wait for next RW (a year away.. darn!)

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.