About Noir

1909 E. Passyunk Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

Noir Restaurant is located along one of Philadelphia's hottest neighborhood's, East Passyunk Avenue. We pride ourselves by using only the freshest ingredients. Chef Marco Decotiis, born and raised in Montreal, Canada, brings his Italian culinary roots and local Canadian foods to Philly. Noir is open every day for lunch and dinner, and has a full bar offering an extensive craft beer selection along with a number of specialty cocktails & a wine selection for every palate. Be prepared to be properly taken care of and treated like family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm


Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am


Sunday: 11:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mifflin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 319-1678

Website:
http://www.noirrestaurantandbar.com/

Entertainment:
Local talent features on certain nights, including the Greg Farnese Trio singing The Great American Song Book.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. We work personally with guests to fit their needs and budget.

Parking Details:
Metered Parking available. Free parking on Sunday.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway and Bus stops nearby

Executive Chef:
Marco DeCotiis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Noir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (38)
fit for foodies (31)
great for lunch (17)
See All
vibrant bar scene (15)
special occasion (15)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (11)
notable wine list (8)
romantic (7)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! We were there for dinner with ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent! We were there for dinner with 6 people and we all loved it! Great appetizers, pasta and meat dishes! Something on the menu for everyone! Fantastic cocktails and wines without high prices! Great service as well! The owner kept checking on us to be sure we were enjoying everything! Definitely will go back!

food5
ambience4
service5

We took my wife for a late Mother's Day ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my wife for a late Mother's Day dinner. My son and daughter loved the food. I had the crab cake and it was the best I've had in years. My son had the veal with the mashed potatoes, loved it. My daughter had the flat bread which they made to her request. She was going to get what was on the menu but the server said they could make a buffalo chicken which she loves. The apps are great also. My wife got the pasta which she liked. Def recommend. Passyunk was packed that night even at 7. Service was great.

food4
ambience4
service5

We had the special ,Chilean sea bass top ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had the special ,Chilean sea bass topped with crab meat - was amazing!

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Noir

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The waitstaff was good except I don't really want to know our waiter's favorite fish dishes since I don't eat fish. Why not simply ask if we would like a recommendation? When six of the waitstaff began rearranging the chairs and tables it was distracting and noisy. The restaurant is small and adjacent to a very loud bar.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This restaurant is fabulous. There is nothing about it to dislike. Having grown up in this neighborhood I am elated to see the restaurant renaissance on Passyunk Avenue. If you like good food (Italian, fish and chicken pot pie which is the best that I have ever had) go to Noir. You will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food !!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great service! Friendly staff! Food and Martinis were excellent!! We shared a bunch of appetizers...every one of them were outstanding!! Great choices for Martinis too! Highly recommend the cheesesteak egg rolls, Arugala salad, shrimp and asparagus, rice balls, and pizza.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dining post Flyers game

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We felt welcomed the moment we were greeted at the door. The bar was already very active. We had taken the subway up from the Flyers game and several other patrons were obviously fans too. Noir fit the bill for our situation; something nice but casual since we were coming from the game. Our server, Nicole, was extremely pleasant and very accommodating. Noir has a nice list of specialty cocktails and enough of a wine glass to satisfy needs for by the glass. I highly recommend the octopus salad; the chucks of meat were very flavorful and the dressing on the accompanying greens was also very tasty. The beet salad was also good. We tried the linguine Raffael and, as promised, the sauce was not too heavy, more creamy and less than alfredo. The halibut topped with crab was a large piece of fish that was cooked nicely in a light sauce. The mash potatoes that came with were okay but were borderline warm. We picked two desserts (one to take home) that were good choices -- the creme brulee cheesecake and the lemoncello cake.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Noir needs to kick it up a notch.

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was quite tasty but not really, really special. It was very noisy and service seemed a bit unorganized. I liked the bar area, but the dining area needed something to make it cozier and more relaxed feeling.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. And Julian was amazing

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Perfect. And Julian was amazing

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So tasty!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Noir is one of the seemingly endless converted bars along East Passyunk, the restaurant scene that we're still exploring (when we were young, it was South Street & Fairmount). The staff is super-pleasant. The food is good. Every restaurant seems noisy to me now, so I don't count it against them -- lots of people having a good time. My dinner: linguine with shrimp in lobster sauce and a not-so-expensive house chardonnay. Really terrific.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date place

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place for a nice quiet date or dinner with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Passyunk Avenue has been reborn.

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Noir is a fantastic restaurant. I grew up within a block of this gem and it never ceases to amaze me how many restaurants have opened up all along the Avenue from Passyunk and Mckean to beyond Reed. And they are for the most part delicious. This is a great find and the food is unbelievable. Try the chicken pot pie or any of the other fine dishes. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious!! Looking forward t ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Absolutely delicious!! Looking forward to our next visit.

food4
ambience4
service5

The food was very good. We waited 15 min ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was very good. We waited 15 min. for our table at the bar, but that was fine. The hostess and waitstaff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. The one thing that was bad was the noise level. It was truly unbearable.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good neighborhood spot!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

We found the food to be uneven. The antipasta and pasta dishes were very good while the salmon and crab cake entrees were only average. Service was very good despite the fact the restaurant was quite busy. Kudos to our server Nicole. If we lived in the neighborhood we'd eat here frequently but the food wasn't good enough for a destination meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

GREAT food but really NOISY

Dined on February 26, 2016

This was the second time in a week that we were at NOIR - our favorite for lunch during South Philly Restaurant Week. The first time it was a bit noisy and busy but service was efficient. This time not quite the same. The food was fabulous and great value for RW but - even at 1:30pm r4esevation, it took 2 hours to eat lunch due to kitchen backup and large party of 12 made noise level so high there could be no conversation. The wait staff tried to do best they could. If the lunch prices the rest of the year were anywhere in line with RW, we'd be back every week. The Italian dishes are superb (Eggplant and the Papadele). But be aware that can be very noisy if busy.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood restaurant, great food and service

Dined on February 26, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful lunch here during E. Passyunk Ave restaurant week. Second time here, had brought a friend from out of town and just had to come back...yes, two times thumbs up. Will bring some friends back the third time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

a good find on east passyunk ave

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

I checked out Nori during restaurant week. They were doing a brisk business, and the menu was quite appealing. Waiters were very accomodating. Delicious salad and sandwich. Excellent cannoli!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Ital food. Bood Service but it can be NOISY

Dined on February 24, 2016

We go every time they have their Restaurant Week menu and get the same pasta dishes each time (Eggplant and Papadelli). The service has been great. But they often have large parties (10-12) and - even at 2pm, it can be very noisy. I only wish their regular lunch menu was closer to the RW one or we'd be there every week!

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Eh..if I was in the area

Dined on February 24, 2016

When you first walk in you realize how small the place actually is. We had a reservation and still had to wait. My food was a little salty. My friends food was fine. The portions were a good size and the staff was very accommodating since we had to wait and it was crowded. The inside looks really cool and the restaurant week menu had some really good choices. You could tell some people were definitely regulars--which was comforting. I wouldn't take the drive over there for this restaurant but maybe if I was in the area again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Passyunk Restaurant weekn

Dined on February 23, 2016

We chose Nior randomly for Passyunk restaurant week. When I arrived the restaurant was fairly empty which made me nervous that it wasn't a "good" restaurant. Well much to my surprise it was Great! The place did fill up as it got later. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. I will be going back again.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Good Food but Tight!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was good but service was just okay (forgot to put bread on table). Also, the place is so small it feels crowded! Might go back but can't promise.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious eggplant and linguine pescator ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Delicious eggplant and linguine pescatore.

food3
ambience2
service5
value4

I liked it.

Dined on February 21, 2016

I liked it. The food was delicious, service was great! The only thing I did not enjoy was how close the tables were to each other. We were sat in the middle of the tiny dining area and felt like we were sitting on peoples lap. But after a while you barely notice how close you are to the neighboring table. I would definitely recommend Noir.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great cozy spot!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Loved the cozy bar/restuarant. Very good food and nice amount! Our service was amazing! Visited during Restuarant week and we will be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Noir

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went with 2 other couples. Good food and good service. Real small place. Parking is difficult at this restaurant. Good bar scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Proud to have it in the neighborhood

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was not your average Italian fare. They had Arancini, hard to find and delicious. The linguine and clams was a perfect al dente, not mush. High class all around and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Food & service w/ a smile

Dined on February 11, 2016

Just love the atmosphere, everyone welcomes you with a smile & the food is just so outstanding. Looking forward to another night out @ Noir!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Noir Redux

Dined on February 7, 2016

This was our second visit to Noir, and we plan to go back again. It gets busy (and noisy) on weekend nights, with an active bar scene. That being said, once we got seated (thirty minutes past reservation time), we had a great dining experience. Our server was knowledgeable, competent, and patient. The prosciutto wrapped asparagus and the arancini appetizers were outstanding, as were the perfectly grilled veal chops and the short ribs with mushroom ravioli.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

staff was really nice. food was great. g ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

staff was really nice. food was great. great overall vibe and fun atmosphere was created nicely and promptly sat when we were ready. We arrived early for our reservation but were not rushed to our seats. Would absolutely return, ate with 2 other couples and no complaints from anyone on anything!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended

Dined on February 5, 2016

Our service was great! Our waiter Dante was very efficient! The stuff artichoke is excellent and highly recommended!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Business Dinner

Dined on February 1, 2016

Excellent food and wine, reasonable prices, great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It's small so noise depends on how busy ...

Dined on January 26, 2016

It's small so noise depends on how busy it is but this is one of my favorite restaurants. I've never had a bad meal yet !! Recommend the stuffed artichoke and gnocchi in marinara

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Perfect

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

I can eat here 3 times a week and never have the same thing and never get tired. Food is amazing. Wait staff (Noland) perfect. I love it here

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Great meal. Staff was friendly, welcomi ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

Great meal. Staff was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The clientele seemed like regulars which added to the nice neighborhood atmosphere. Every dish was delicious!! Short ribs and spinach gnocchi were the highlights. There seemed to be only one experienced server for the entire restaurant and bar, so service was unpredictable. It was a great evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, friendly, fun

Dined on January 19, 2016

Noir is one of my favorite spots to go in Philadelphia. I live all the way in West Philly and travel down to Noir once every 1-2 weeks because I love it so much. The staff is like family and the food is so delicious. Ever since the first time I walked in I was treated so kindly and given delicious food to eat. They take great care of you here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very Enjoyable

Dined on January 16, 2016

Very good quality dinner with a comfort food feel beyond the ordinary. Nice wine and beer selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS AMAZING

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

This neighborhood hot spot never fails me. The food is always on point and delicious. Try the Rice Balls and the Canulli Sausage with white beans and Broccoli Rabe. The service is impeccable. All the in crowd hangs at the bar and you never know who you're going to run into. Don't miss this gem on Passyunk avenue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best on the Avenue

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

If you haven't been to Noir you are missing out on a unique food experience. Start with the rice balls...just like grandmas! The pork shank, the pot pie, the octopus, everything was perfectly prepared. Gourmet food in a casual atmosphere. The service couldn't be better....it was extremely crowded and the owner went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable because there was a large party next to us. The small room is cozy, noisy (in a good way) and the food is definitely worth returning again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The pappardelle was inedible

Dined on December 16, 2015

I'm not sure if the pasta was stale, dried out or just horribly undercook but it was like eating old rubber bands. The sauce was terribly acidy. The place was true neighborhood Italian with a lots of interesting characters but the ambience did not make up for the poor pasta , browned lettuce of the Caesar salad and stale bread. Definitely a miss !

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.