Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Noir

Noir Restaurant is located along one of Philadelphia's hottest neighborhood's, East Passyunk Avenue. We pride ourselves by using only the freshest ingredients. Chef Marco Decotiis, born and raised in Montreal, Canada, brings his Italian culinary roots and local Canadian foods to Philly. Noir is open every day for lunch and dinner, and has a full bar offering an extensive craft beer selection along with a number of specialty cocktails & a wine selection for every palate. Be prepared to be properly taken care of and treated like family.

1909 E. Passyunk Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm


Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am


Sunday: 11:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mifflin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 319-1678

Website:
http://www.noirrestaurantandbar.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. We work personally with guests to fit their needs and budget.

Parking Details:
Metered Parking available. Free parking on Sunday.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway and Bus stops nearby

Executive Chef:
Marco DeCotiis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Noir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

3.9

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (5)
Romantic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Our Favorite place to dine.
Always good!
Never had a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were wonderful but the restaurant was simply too loud to be able to relax and converse. Unfortunate becuase otherwise it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

More of a glorified neighborhood bar-restaurant than a hip restaurant like the name suggests. Gets very loud due to small area, tiled floor, and busy atmosphere. If you like a festive, noisy, and energetic dining experience, then this place is for you. If you are on a first date you may want to avoid because you won't be able to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Saturday night was my time at Nior and I will 100% be back. The food was outstanding. Our waiter Dante was the best!! Thanks Nior!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food! Seriously tasted like good Italian home cooking - so good! It's a noisy lively atmosphere but that's not a bad thing, it's just not an intimate quiet place if that's your thing. Service was great and everyone was friendly!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wanted to try a different place on East Passyunk - Noir came up on Open Table. Restaurant was not crowded which made me wonder a bit. Food was just fair. Would not go back with all the other dining options on the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The restaurant was easy to get to. When I arrived we arrived, we were welcomed and seated immediately. The food was delicious and came out promptly. Definitely will be back again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Good food & great service. Would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was good, with exception of several black flies on the wall next to our table, which I noticed at the end of our dinner. I don't know if they were fleas or fruit flies. It was not good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent choice for pre-ballgame dinner. Food was very good, service was quick yet didn't feel rushed. In fact, relaxed dinner and still on time for Phillies.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Had a wonderful meal. We shared a delicious lasagna appetizer. Others loved their pasta Bolognese and lobster ravioli. Our waiter was outstanding, the wine was good. We enjoyed all. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have reviewed Noir many times. Our recent meal was delicious as usual. The chicken scallopini and the eggplant parmigian were fantastic. Try it, you'll like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

My husband and my sister took me to Noir for my birthday lunch. It was a quiet Tuesday in the Summer, so we had the place mostly to ourselves. The bartender/waiter was very friendly and helpful with cocktail and menu selections. I ordered three appetizers instead of an entree (hey, it was my birthday!). My absolute favorite was the stuffed artichoke...it was delicious! I also enjoyed the rice balls and the poutine (without the smoked meat). My husband loved his appetizer (eggplant lasagna). He and my sister both ordered the fried meatball sandwich and declared them to be just like my (Italian) mother's fried meatballs!
It was a wonderful birthday lunch!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It pains me to give Noir such a low rating because the food was SO delicious. However, it was so noisy inside that it was impossible to talk to the person literally sitting beside you. I consider myself a foodie - as are the 5 other people with me - and I've never been in a restaurant so loud. I couldn't wait for dinner with friends to end so I could get out of there. It was unfortunate because we all agreed the food was great. The sausage, beans and brocoli rabe appetizer has a wonderful flavor. Lobster ravioli was very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Very Comfortable atmosphere for lunch. Food healthy as well as hearty. portions perfect for lunch. Small intimate dining area. Waiter was attentive and on his game. Noise level high, but did not distract from meal. Highly recommend for casual as well as business eating.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Went on July 17th for our Anniversary. Wait staff was friendly and polite. Food was delicious. Plates were big and filling. Some of the best rice balls.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is my second time eating at Noir, both times the food has been fantastic, with friendly service, and good cocktails. I am sure we will visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Recommended by a friend who's local to the restaurant. Was well worth the visit! Great food and great service! It was our first time there. And, Colin made us feel welcomed as if we were regulars! Our meals were fantastic! Especially the veal chop. Probably the best I've ever had! If we're ever in the neighborhood again, we're sure to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

First time at Noir and it was one of the best places I have been at. The food was great and the staff was attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is not the first time I have reviewed this restaurant. I have never had a bad meal there. You must try Noir's chicken scallopini. It is absolutely mouth-watering and makes love to your palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Took a chance on this place and I wasn't disappointed. Amazing meal and amazing service. The hostess was attentive and concerned that everything was fine. One of the best meals I've had in a long time. I'll be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was not my best experience in Passyunk Square. My friends and I were rushed (politely, generally) throughout our whole meal. From having our entrees served 5 minutes after our appetizers to having one of the servers noisily clean silverware at one of the adjacent tables, we did not enjoy the comfortable easy-going atmosphere we were hoping for. The food was OK, my friends enjoyed their pasta dishes, however my stuffed artichoke was greasy and swimming in a pool of water. There are so many nice restaurants in this area that this is not one that I will return to.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food across the board. Our server Joe was also very helpful and on top of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food, drinks and service as usual. Can't go wrong.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is a neighborhood restarant Montreal Italian that exceeds what you would expect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always satisfied when i come to Noir for dinner! the food is excellent and never disappoints! One of my favorite spots to eat at!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The server was very friendly and they were helpful and eager to please. The food was good but slightly pedestrian. It would be an excellent place for diners with an unadventurous palate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always the food was delicious, Chuck our server was so nice as well as the staff. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Kitchen was doing a nice job, but there is work to do with service level. My starter was great, but the level little bit dropped when it came to the main course.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The bar was so loud that you could not have a conversation with anyone at your table. Food was just ok. Would not make a trip to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Lots of dishes to choose from and some may be prepared in a variety of ways like the veal medallions. My husband and I each had the Cesar salad, unfortunately - we learned they had run out of anchovies when we requested those - but the salads were still very good. My husband had the veal medallions prepared with Marsala sauce, and I had the lobster ravioli. The entrees were also quite good, and the portions were a nice size. The drinks were a generous pour as were the wines. Overall enjoyable and a good value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I keep eating there and the food continues to be off the charts! This last visit I had a new addition to the menu for the summer; chicken scaloppini. It was marvelous. The chef is a genius with sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Noir for lunch -- great as always! Soup of the day was phenomenal and flatbread very nice too. Dante, our server, was perfect. Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

had a great meal and great service on Mother's day

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything was Excellent! Love this place. The gem of Passyunk Ave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Everything was soo good! The food is AMAZING I cant stress it enough! cant wait to go back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Wonderful food, great ambiance. Noir has an eclectic menu. There were families, neighborhood people and a large birthday party--a nice, mixed atmosphere. The bar business picked up toward the end of our meal.
A beet salad was light & tasty, a nice balance of sharp, sweet and tangy.
The French onion soup was first rate, deeply flavored and rich. I tried poutine for the first time, and loved it! The braised pork shank was fantastic, succulent. It was beautifully presented and rendered, standing straight up on the plate, a sprig of rosemary rising out of the bone. I was able to pull the meat off with my fork. The braise did not dry out the meat, or make it stringy. Each chunk was full, deeply flavored. The demi sauce was perfect.
We stayed late, and did not feel rushed. I'll definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Server Chuck along with all the wait staff were magnificent and extremely attentive. It was our first time at the restaurant and certainly will not be the last. Thank you for an enjoyable afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great new find for us! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.