About Noir

1909 E. Passyunk Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

Noir Restaurant is located along one of Philadelphia's hottest neighborhood's, East Passyunk Avenue. We pride ourselves by using only the freshest ingredients. Chef Marco Decotiis, born and raised in Montreal, Canada, brings his Italian culinary roots and local Canadian foods to Philly. Noir is open every day for lunch and dinner, and has a full bar offering an extensive craft beer selection along with a number of specialty cocktails & a wine selection for every palate. Be prepared to be properly taken care of and treated like family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm


Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am


Sunday: 11:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mifflin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 319-1678

Website:
http://www.noirrestaurantandbar.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. We work personally with guests to fit their needs and budget.

Parking Details:
Metered Parking available. Free parking on Sunday.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway and Bus stops nearby

Executive Chef:
Marco DeCotiis

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Noir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Italian
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in East Passyunk Avenue ›

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and the service are pretty darn ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and the service are pretty darn good. The server we had as excellent. We spent some time after dinner talking with the owner who couldn't have been nicer. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous food -great bartenders and staf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fabulous food -great bartenders and staff -you must try stuffed artichoke -Angel Event Bourbon(hard to find)and mushroom ravioli /and beef ribs!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a fantastic meal Saturday night. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a fantastic meal Saturday night. Our service was exceptional. Great place for a really great meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Awesome place!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Awesome place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a neighborhood place where one f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a neighborhood place where one feels comfortable. The bar is in the front and if it is crowded, this place will get very noisy. The bar area has a big TV, and a sports game was on. Fortunately there were only three people at the bar on a Sunday evening. Otherwise I imagine it would have extremely noisy. The service here is very friendly. Food came quickly. In fact, this is not a place for a leisurely dinner. For those who are hungry, and have a big appetite, this is their place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Nicole was an excellent waitress and the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nicole was an excellent waitress and the food was fantastic across the board. Definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was outstanding! Can't ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything we had was outstanding! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Noir, best kept secret in South Ph ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love Noir, best kept secret in South Philly, everyone in there are AWSOME people

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great. The cock ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food and service was great. The cocktails were good. They had my favorite bottle water. Neighborhood gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new spot for us on East Passyunk! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great new spot for us on East Passyunk! Food was amazing, owner truly cared about our experience, and the wine and beer options were great. But, if you're looking for a quiet, romantic place, this might not be the place for oyu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Four of us went to lunch at Noir to cele ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Four of us went to lunch at Noir to celebrate birthdays. In spite of the French name, the food is absolutely delicious Italian. Everything we had was top notch. The wild mushroom appetizer was especially good, as was the eggplant lasagna, the pappardelle Bolognese, and the seafood linguine. The homemade ravioli with meatballs was a classic, that was delicious. The food was made to order and piping hot. Each dish was so tasty, even memorable. Hoping for a return trip soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Noir was an amazing find for a date nigh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Noir was an amazing find for a date night. It was my first time going but will not be the last. Food/service/ambiance were all amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the 2nd time our book club met ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was the 2nd time our book club met at Noir for lunch. We love their delicious sandwiches and the place is relatively quiet at lunch time. Easy to find on the street parking, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

always perfect

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

always perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A definite must try. Great food and w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A definite must try. Great food and warm family atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I frequent Noir, definitely one of my fa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I frequent Noir, definitely one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants. Great food, excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It gets boring to continually tell peopl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

It gets boring to continually tell people that this is one restaurant they must try. The people are fantastic; the servers are very helpful; there is more than enough choices of wine and liquor. On top of that, they make the best chicken pot pie you will ever eat. The rest of the menu provides something for everyone's taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noir is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Noir is one of my favorite restaurants. I have been there several times and it's always a winner.

The food is out of this world and cooked to perfection. The atmosphere is friendly and the service is excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've ever had.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food. Nice relaxing place for lun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food. Nice relaxing place for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will be back

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Loud but delicious. Oh, did I say LOUD. Some sound deadening panels hanging from the ceiling would be a huge help. A more efficient HVAC would do wonders as well. The unit hanging on the wall only recirculates the air.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent! We were there for dinner with ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent! We were there for dinner with 6 people and we all loved it! Great appetizers, pasta and meat dishes! Something on the menu for everyone! Fantastic cocktails and wines without high prices! Great service as well! The owner kept checking on us to be sure we were enjoying everything! Definitely will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took my wife for a late Mother's Day ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my wife for a late Mother's Day dinner. My son and daughter loved the food. I had the crab cake and it was the best I've had in years. My son had the veal with the mashed potatoes, loved it. My daughter had the flat bread which they made to her request. She was going to get what was on the menu but the server said they could make a buffalo chicken which she loves. The apps are great also. My wife got the pasta which she liked. Def recommend. Passyunk was packed that night even at 7. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the special ,Chilean sea bass top ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had the special ,Chilean sea bass topped with crab meat - was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sausage and broc rabe and beans. Always ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Sausage and broc rabe and beans. Always great. Best calamari in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Noir

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The waitstaff was good except I don't really want to know our waiter's favorite fish dishes since I don't eat fish. Why not simply ask if we would like a recommendation? When six of the waitstaff began rearranging the chairs and tables it was distracting and noisy. The restaurant is small and adjacent to a very loud bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Top Notch

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This restaurant is fabulous. There is nothing about it to dislike. Having grown up in this neighborhood I am elated to see the restaurant renaissance on Passyunk Avenue. If you like good food (Italian, fish and chicken pot pie which is the best that I have ever had) go to Noir. You will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food !!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great service! Friendly staff! Food and Martinis were excellent!! We shared a bunch of appetizers...every one of them were outstanding!! Great choices for Martinis too! Highly recommend the cheesesteak egg rolls, Arugala salad, shrimp and asparagus, rice balls, and pizza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dining post Flyers game

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We felt welcomed the moment we were greeted at the door. The bar was already very active. We had taken the subway up from the Flyers game and several other patrons were obviously fans too. Noir fit the bill for our situation; something nice but casual since we were coming from the game. Our server, Nicole, was extremely pleasant and very accommodating. Noir has a nice list of specialty cocktails and enough of a wine glass to satisfy needs for by the glass. I highly recommend the octopus salad; the chucks of meat were very flavorful and the dressing on the accompanying greens was also very tasty. The beet salad was also good. We tried the linguine Raffael and, as promised, the sauce was not too heavy, more creamy and less than alfredo. The halibut topped with crab was a large piece of fish that was cooked nicely in a light sauce. The mash potatoes that came with were okay but were borderline warm. We picked two desserts (one to take home) that were good choices -- the creme brulee cheesecake and the lemoncello cake.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Noir needs to kick it up a notch.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was quite tasty but not really, really special. It was very noisy and service seemed a bit unorganized. I liked the bar area, but the dining area needed something to make it cozier and more relaxed feeling.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Perfect. And Julian was amazing

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Perfect. And Julian was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So tasty!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Noir is one of the seemingly endless converted bars along East Passyunk, the restaurant scene that we're still exploring (when we were young, it was South Street & Fairmount). The staff is super-pleasant. The food is good. Every restaurant seems noisy to me now, so I don't count it against them -- lots of people having a good time. My dinner: linguine with shrimp in lobster sauce and a not-so-expensive house chardonnay. Really terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date place

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place for a nice quiet date or dinner with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Passyunk Avenue has been reborn.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Noir is a fantastic restaurant. I grew up within a block of this gem and it never ceases to amaze me how many restaurants have opened up all along the Avenue from Passyunk and Mckean to beyond Reed. And they are for the most part delicious. This is a great find and the food is unbelievable. Try the chicken pot pie or any of the other fine dishes. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious!! Looking forward t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Absolutely delicious!!

Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. We waited 15 min ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was very good. We waited 15 min. for our table at the bar, but that was fine. The hostess and waitstaff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. The one thing that was bad was the noise level. It was truly unbearable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good neighborhood spot!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We found the food to be uneven. The antipasta and pasta dishes were very good while the salmon and crab cake entrees were only average. Service was very good despite the fact the restaurant was quite busy. Kudos to our server Nicole. If we lived in the neighborhood we'd eat here frequently but the food wasn't good enough for a destination meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

GREAT food but really NOISY

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

This was the second time in a week that we were at NOIR - our favorite for lunch during South Philly Restaurant Week. The first time it was a bit noisy and busy but service was efficient. This time not quite the same. The food was fabulous and great value for RW but - even at 1:30pm r4esevation, it took 2 hours to eat lunch due to kitchen backup and large party of 12 made noise level so high there could be no conversation. The wait staff tried to do best they could. If the lunch prices the rest of the year were anywhere in line with RW, we'd be back every week. The Italian dishes are superb (Eggplant and the Papadele). But be aware that can be very noisy if busy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Neighborhood restaurant, great food and service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful lunch here during E. Passyunk Ave restaurant week. Second time here, had brought a friend from out of town and just had to come back...yes, two times thumbs up. Will bring some friends back the third time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a good find on east passyunk ave

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

I checked out Nori during restaurant week. They were doing a brisk business, and the menu was quite appealing. Waiters were very accomodating. Delicious salad and sandwich. Excellent cannoli!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.