Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Noir

Noir Restaurant is located along one of Philadelphia's hottest neighborhood's, East Passyunk Avenue. We pride ourselves by using only the freshest ingredients. Chef Marco Decotiis, born and raised in Montreal, Canada, brings his Italian culinary roots and local Canadian foods to Philly. Noir is open every day for lunch and dinner, and has a full bar offering an extensive craft beer selection along with a number of specialty cocktails & a wine selection for every palate. Be prepared to be properly taken care of and treated like family.

1909 E. Passyunk Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm


Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am


Sunday: 11:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mifflin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 319-1678

Website:
http://www.noirrestaurantandbar.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. We work personally with guests to fit their needs and budget.

Parking Details:
Metered Parking available. Free parking on Sunday.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway and Bus stops nearby

Executive Chef:
Marco DeCotiis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Noir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Bar Seating (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Romantic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food across the board. Our server Joe was also very helpful and on top of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, drinks and service as usual. Can't go wrong.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a neighborhood restarant Montreal Italian that exceeds what you would expect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always satisfied when i come to Noir for dinner! the food is excellent and never disappoints! One of my favorite spots to eat at!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The server was very friendly and they were helpful and eager to please. The food was good but slightly pedestrian. It would be an excellent place for diners with an unadventurous palate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always the food was delicious, Chuck our server was so nice as well as the staff. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The bar was so loud that you could not have a conversation with anyone at your table. Food was just ok. Would not make a trip to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Lots of dishes to choose from and some may be prepared in a variety of ways like the veal medallions. My husband and I each had the Cesar salad, unfortunately - we learned they had run out of anchovies when we requested those - but the salads were still very good. My husband had the veal medallions prepared with Marsala sauce, and I had the lobster ravioli. The entrees were also quite good, and the portions were a nice size. The drinks were a generous pour as were the wines. Overall enjoyable and a good value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Noir for lunch -- great as always! Soup of the day was phenomenal and flatbread very nice too. Dante, our server, was perfect. Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

had a great meal and great service on Mother's day

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything was Excellent! Love this place. The gem of Passyunk Ave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Everything was soo good! The food is AMAZING I cant stress it enough! cant wait to go back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Wonderful food, great ambiance. Noir has an eclectic menu. There were families, neighborhood people and a large birthday party--a nice, mixed atmosphere. The bar business picked up toward the end of our meal.
A beet salad was light & tasty, a nice balance of sharp, sweet and tangy.
The French onion soup was first rate, deeply flavored and rich. I tried poutine for the first time, and loved it! The braised pork shank was fantastic, succulent. It was beautifully presented and rendered, standing straight up on the plate, a sprig of rosemary rising out of the bone. I was able to pull the meat off with my fork. The braise did not dry out the meat, or make it stringy. Each chunk was full, deeply flavored. The demi sauce was perfect.
We stayed late, and did not feel rushed. I'll definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Server Chuck along with all the wait staff were magnificent and extremely attentive. It was our first time at the restaurant and certainly will not be the last. Thank you for an enjoyable afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great new find for us! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were charmed by this unpretentious and fun little trattoria. Our cocktails and food were excellent. We will definitely return but try to sit farther from bar to reduce noise factor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We dined for a friends birthday recently and were rather disappointed since the reviews were so great - Only time I would go back would be to sit at the bar for bar food. Food was just OK. Portions were huge which was nice but the main courses were just ok. Cheese Steak pot stickers were good. Eggplant appetizer quite salty and the artichoke bland. Chicken main course overcooked. Good wine prices and bar prices but food was just OK. Service though congenial was not good. There was only one waiter on staff so not his fault and there was a huge party. We had to call him over several times. Again, not his fault but when you expect a big crowd a waiter and one bus person was not enough.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always great food. Lunch menu offers almost as many items dinner menu. My favorite restaurant. Never had a bad dish there.

Will continue to go there at least once or twice a month. Food is just sooooo good!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was delicious!!!! Our waiter Chuck was very attentive and pleasant. He was great!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Exceeded all of our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I have eaten here many, many times. It is always up to my expectations. Donna, the hostess, is charming and very helpful. It doesn't hurt any when your husband is the chef and the restaurant is crowded. with diners waiting to enjoy a great meal. The chef makes the best chicken pot pie I have ever eaten. And the rest of the menu ain't too bad. Drinks and wine are on hand and cover the field. We were recently away for an extended vacation and at least a few times a week I would tell my wife that we were going to Noir upon our return. We did and I am a happy man!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My husband and I went for dinner, it was one of the best meal I had ..The service was wonderful..all the servers were right there and with a smile on there faces..Would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a great meal...

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was great and the service was outstanding. Nice cozy atmisphere. Definitely go again

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

excellent as usual...best food on Passyunk...try the meatball sandwich with rabe for lunch

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We were at NOIR for the 3rd time in 10 days for Restaurant Week. We go at least three times every RW. The food is so good (the pastas are my favorite) and the triple Chocolate cake is so rich, I always bring half home. The atmosphere is a neighborhood bar vibe but the food is Italian via Montreal. (Look at the menu and you'll understand). Can';t wait for next RW (a year away.. darn!)

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Decided to try this spot during restaurant week. Don't know where they get the bread but it was so good I easily could have filled up on it (which would have been a mistake). I had the Bolognese - so yummy. It's small and loud (there were a couple of groups there that day and we had to repeat ourselves to be heard). I really enjoyed the food and the service and that's most important. I'll definitely go again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Delicious authentic Italian food! Great neighborhood atmosphere. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Although the food was great, the place is small. With all of the other old school Italian restaurants in the area, this place seems like it's just doing the same thing for a higher price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Upon entering we were welcomed and offered two different table options. The hostess said we could sit where we felt most comfortable, which we appreciated. The service was timely, efficient, accommodating and extremely friendly. The entire staff was great.
The ambiance was perfect. It feels like a local restaurant where locals, families and tourists can all congregate and bond over great food and drinks.
The food was outstanding. Some of the best we have eaten in a while. The mole frites were out of this world. We ordered a second basket of bread to enjoy every last bit of the flavorful broth! Our entrees were all delicious.
There were so many great food options that we will be returning to dine at Noir.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Top Notch Italian Cuisine in a friendly neighborhood place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We come here for the artichoke. I would guess that most of the servers are family members who are working for them; very nice but not great at their jobs (but not terrible). The service isn't great but it's ok. The food is VERY good. The wine is barely drinkable. Don't understand how an Italian restaurant doesn't even have one good red wine to drink. I would like ONE good option, even if I had to pay $14-15 for it. The wine list needs help, and the service is mediocre at best. The prices are similar to a fancy restaurant, which is strange given the above, but their food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was good. Tight layout and difficult to hear what my friend was saying. Super loud. Bar area seems nice. Wine list pricey with few to no options less than $35. Service was excellent. Desert was awesome. Loved the lemoncella dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went for REstaurant week (3 times). Food sooo good and great value RW, Love the pasta sauces - bolognese is super and large portions. Triple Chocolate cake is deloish! GREAT staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A group of four of us went to Noir for their restaurant week lunch special - $15 for an appetizer, main course, and dessert! I had the Cheese Steak Potstickers (out of this world - definite must!), the Chicken Italiano Sandwich (tasty and filling), and the Limoncello Cake (also super super good!). The appetizer and dessert were definitely my favorite. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Wouldn't hesitate to come again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Well prepared food. Interesting tastes . Large portions- an exceptional deal during Passyunk restaurant week.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We go here at least three times every restaurant week. The Pastas are great, burgers huge and large portions. Staff very friendly. We just returned from our SECOND visit this week!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Very good food and ambience
Very pleasant experience

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Cute little restaurant; very cozy and intimate! Drinks, appetizers and entrees were all delicious! Definitely want to come back to try other dishes!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Friendly atmosphere with really nice food.
Sit at the bar and enjoy good old fashion bar tending.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.