About Nob Hill Club at the Mark Hopkins

One Nob Hill
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

The Nob Hill Club at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins offers an ever-changing menu reflecting the seasonality and bounty of California ingredients in one of San Francisco’s most classic hotel settings. Under the direction of Executive Chef Nenad Stefanovic, the Nob Hill Club is both a restaurant and lounge, inviting guests to conduct a casual business meeting, enjoy a meal or gather for after dinner drinks. The restaurant’s commitment to seasonality and sourcing as local as possible is reflected in the menus which feature details on purveyors and their proximity to the hotel. The California-centric wine list features by-the-glass and bottle selections from wineries in Napa and Sonoma to Monterey and Alameda counties.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Fri 6:30am-11:00am
Breakfast Sat-Sun 6:30am-12:00pm
Lunch: Mon-Sun 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Sat 3:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
California & Mason Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 616-6940

Website:
http://www.thenobhillclub.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel garage entrance is on California Street just east of Mason Street. Extremely limited street parking available.

Public Transit:
Powell Street Cable Car, California Street Cable Car

Executive Chef:
Nenad Stefanovic

Private Party Facilities:
The Nob Hill Club offers semi-private dining in a timeless ambiance that combines modern chic and classic elegance for up to 14 guests seated and 20 standing. Chef Nenad Stefanovic draws inspiration for his modern American fare from seasonal bounties of the surrounding farms and ranches.

Private Party Contact:
Joanna Carrasco: 4156166940x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Jumbo Prawns, Pancetta, Stone Ground Grits, Pimento Coulis
Roasted Bone Marrow, Oraganic Pesto, Crostini, Pickled Vegetables
San Daniele Prosciutto Panini, Taleggio Cheese, Basil Aioli, Roasted Peppers
Sichuan Pepper Jumbo Scallops, Grilled Watermelon, Heirloom Melon Salsa
Seafood Brodetto Soup
Milk Chocolate, Bailey's, Banana, Custard, Meringue
Handcrafted Tagliatelle Pasta, Marin Countyt Feta, Owven Dried Cherry Tomatoes, Organic Spinach, Porcini Cream Sauce
Mixed Field Green Salad, Shaved Fennel, Red Radish, Lemon Herb Vinaigrette
Paella Style Scallops, Mussels, Chorizo, Valencia Rice, Saffron
Humboldt Fog Agnolotti, Wild Mushroom, Truffle Essence, Snap Peas
Elk Rack, Caramelized Brussel Sprouts, Cranberry Gastrique, Dumpling
Black Cod Brioche, Lemon Herb Gribiche, Oven-Dried Tomato, Grain Mustard Potato Salad
Peanut Butter, White Chocolate, Caramel Ice Cream
Valencia Arancini, Manchego Cheese, Porcini Aioli
TCHO Chocolate, Hazelnut, Black Pepper-Rhubarb Sorbet
Smelt Fries, Celeriac Remoulade, Swiss Chard
Asian Pear, Frisee, Arugula, Goat Cheese Brulee, Sherry Walnut Vinaigrette, Port Syrup
Dungeness Crab Roll, Louie Dressing, Sweet Bun, Escabeche
Monkey Bread, Harisa Aioli, Roasted Fennel Butter, Black Salt
Ahi Tuna Trio: Ahi Poke, Sesame Crusted Ahi, Spicy Tuna Roll, Side of Wakame Salad

Nob Hill Club at the Mark Hopkins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Groups (2)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was delightful in every way. I espe ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was delightful in every way. I especially enjoyed the menu notes about the locally sourced ingredients, and the distance from "farm to fork". Our waiter was wonderful, the food superb. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice, quiet spot, excellent service good food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Why there were not more people there taking advantage of this fine spot, I have no idea, but we certainly enjoyed. I'd go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

A bar den dining combo room very nice an ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A bar den dining combo room very nice and comfortable. Not busy so we had a nice quiet dinner overlooking the street. Food was good and service was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall solid

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Lots of choices in SF and this option is good for the neighborhood. The brunch choices are excellent. The pasta is well, good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

5 yucks. Over priced

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Had gnocchi . Very gloppy heavy sauce. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Perfect for single diner

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Excellent place for a businessman to dine alone, work on ones iPad and enjoy excellent food and perfect service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thoughtful details

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

There was plenty of attention to detail, with a thoughtful explanation of the wine list, a small tasting session offered, and a variety of other gems. The crab cake salad, as appetizer, was excellent. No blemish on any aspect of this last-minute restaurant selection. Would love to return on my next trip to San Francisco!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

So wonderful, the staff, management!Everything went perfect like a wonderful orchestral piece!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good hotel brunch buffet

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

As would be expected with a restaurant in a 4.5 star hotel, the food was plentiful and varied. Not as extensive as the Ritz-Carlton but good enough. The hostess was very courteous and greeted us by name and made sure that the main waiter knows our name as well, which was a nice touch. As with every buffet some items, especially the hot ones, were out too long and started to get dry. The house coffee was a bit of a disappointment, it was weak yet tasted burned so we had to order americanos instead. The ambiance has some old world charm with plenty of wood and brass, however feels a little cramped if they have a full house.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our evening was perfect. Thank you!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Space is intimate. Wait staff was friendly and accommodating. The food was great and served in a timely manner. Will definitely come back on another special occasion. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and presentation ws excellent. ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

The food and presentation ws excellent. We enjoyed the restaurant very much

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fancy-expency

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

When we have booked with OpenTable and came it said that they dont work with reservations. Price for on person who doesn't stay in a hotel is $10. So for one dish for both and two glasses of wine we payed $80 in total. But anyway, view is awesome, and live-music as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing experience.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

Was going to an event in the area and this seemed the best of the very limited options in the area. Somehow I expected better from the main restaurant in the Mark Hopkins. Mediocre wine list --pretty much all grocery store wines, especially by the glass. Boring menu. Was just looking for a light dinner. Ordered the giant prawns -- they were properly cooked but been a long time since I saw 3 prawns sitting alone on a plate, not even a decent garnish. Salad was recommended and boring. The main courses looked pretty unexciting and heavy on steak -- but real steak houses do better. (What is it with Nob Hill- everything seems to be a steakhouse! Would hardly know SF was a great, creative food city. Mostly hotel restaurants. Perhaps this is what the hotels think tourists want. I remember when SF hotels used to have good restaurants.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Fabulous place, great service & deliciou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

Fabulous place, great service & delicious food. The view is breathless.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, slow service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

Granted our visit was just a "snapshot" in time but the inattentiveness of the waiter was excessively slow. At times he would just disappear and other s would have to step in for him.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Everything good but the food

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

I ordered a $79 steak to share, medium rare. Half of it was well done and the other half medium at best. I did not send it back because I had invited friends and they ordered fish - which was about four mouthfuls in size. They were half way done in a few minutes and I did not want to delay things. I would not recommend going here but I would go back myself to give it another try.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Hoped for more.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2014

I checked this out for dinner. Given the food selection at the Top of the Mark is limited, I was hoping for the opposite at this latest edition to the iconic hotel. Though nicely prepared, the offerings seemed more like bar food and like the Top of the Mark, the choices were very limited. I would not make this a destination for an evening out. The ambiance was also lacking, though I cannot put my finger on exactly why... Perhaps it was because nobody was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Elegant Atmosphere and Delicious

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

I booked a table for Mother's Day Brunch and was delighted with the result. The Nob Hill Club was recently renovated and has a lovely elegance with a classic San Francisco charm. Looking out the corner window you can see down to the Trans America Building. The brunch was not over the top with seafood choices or a carving station, but was a reasonably priced, traditional hotel brunch with delicious hot items, salmon, fruit, pastry, and smoothie selections. I was impressed with the service I received from the hostess. She was extremely friendly and went above and beyond to make it a great Mother's Day for my mom and it was greatly appreciated. I was charmed with the whole experience and I will definitely be coming back and recommending it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Suprised it wasn't better

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

I was excited to find a new high end place had opened in town, but unfortunately the food and wine were underwhelming. Many better places to explore in the city. We ate the Smelts which did not seem completely fresh and were not enjoyable (I love smelts and was excited that it was on their menu). The rack of lamb was awesome and tender, but the flavoring was not exciting. My boyfriend had the vegetarian pasta and seemed OK with it, but when I tasted it also did not impress. Hazelnut dessert was great though! Friendly service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Your time is up

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2014

My steak was superb. My partner's dish was nice, the fish excellent, the potatoes were salty and bland, less salt would have been nice.

Our waiter was polite and none of this was his fault.

I recommend the following to your manager: Do not start using the vacuum cleaner while diners are still eating. Nor turn on the bright lights as if we were in a cheap bar and it's last call for drinks.

Do not rush patrons to order dessert, or out the door. Pay your waiters and help for overtime as needed so people are not rushed/and pushed out. How very un-European of you!

We ended up going to another restaurant for dessert, and expresso.

Grading you a B-/C+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Not Ready

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2014

The dining room at the Mark Hopkins has been renovated and the room is attractive. Unfortunately, both the menu and "front of the house" need to be improved. The menu is limited and unusual. Almost every dish had something exotic in its preparation. The chef is trying too hard. In fact, the food was actually pretty good. Although not busy, we had a long wait to get a waiter. There were several managers on duty who just ignored us. We brought a 30 year old Bordeaux to dinner and when we did get the waiter he had no idea how to handle or open the wine. There is no sommelier. After he destroyed the cork, I had to open the bottle. I give them credit for waiving the corkage.

Clearly the chef has talent but they still have work to do. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.