Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

El NaranjoEl Naranjo
(238)
$$$$
Traditional Mexican | Central Austin, Austin
Booked 22 times today
Geraldine’sGeraldine’s
(286)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 43 times today
Phoenician Resto CafePhoenician Resto Cafe
(18)
$$$$
Lebanese | Downtown, Austin
Booked 1 time today
Emmer & RyeEmmer & Rye
(524)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 31 times today
Red Ash ItaliaRed Ash Italia
(418)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Austin
Booked 51 times today
FixeFixe
(798)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown, Austin
Booked 56 times today
True Food Kitchen - AustinTrue Food Kitchen - Austin
(546)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown, Austin
Booked 72 times today
Perla's Seafood and Oyster BarPerla's Seafood and Oyster Bar
(2039)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Austin
Booked 74 times today
Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Austin DowntownTruluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Austin Downtown
(1807)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Austin
Booked 44 times today
Perry's Steakhouse & Grille - Downtown AustinPerry's Steakhouse & Grille - Downtown Austin
(3980)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Austin
Booked 76 times today
Roaring Fork - Downtown, CongressRoaring Fork - Downtown, Congress
(1455)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 46 times today
Lambert's Downtown BBQLambert's Downtown BBQ
(1018)
$$$$
Barbecue | Downtown, Austin
Booked 28 times today
Eddie V's - 5th StreetEddie V's - 5th Street
(3217)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Austin
Booked 54 times today
ATX CocinaATX Cocina
(63)
$$$$
Contemporary Mexican | Downtown, Austin
Booked 48 times today
Ranch 616Ranch 616
(609)
$$$$
Southwest | Downtown, Austin
Booked 23 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Permanently Closed - NO VA Kitchen & Bar

This restaurant is permanently closed. NO VA is a Spanish phrase meaning "It doesn't go." The modern two story building that now houses NO VA Kitchen & Bar is a striking contrast to the historic buildings on Rainey Street. The menu offers home-spun twists on sophisticated classics.

87 Rainey Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monnday-Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-2:00am

Cross Street:
Driskill St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 382-5651

Website:
http://www.novaonrainey.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking for our guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

NO VA Kitchen & Bar - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
See All
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I have been to No Va many times and it has never disappointed. This has to be one of the most underrated and undiscovered gems in the downtown area. I don't know why -- maybe it's because it's in the thick of the Rainey Street bar scene, where one does not usually think of getting a meal. Maybe it is because people think its a hotel (the neon NO VA sign suggests "No Vacancies). Maybe it's because it's a small-plate place doesn't have a pretentious menu that identifies items on the menu by listing random exotic-sounding ingredients (think Swift's Attic, Odd Duck, Laundrette, Lenoir, Emmer & Rye, Wink, etc) and instead just names the item (e.g. "Crispy Brussels" ,"Curried Cauliflower", "Seasonal Ceviche"-- all of which are absolutely delicious, by the way). Maybe it's because it's not too expensive. I do really like all those other small-late restaurants I named, but No Va is my favorite. The other places always have a plate or two that is disappointing, but I have loved everything I ever got at No Va. Okay, they used to have a redfish dish that was just okay, but they took it off the menu. And whenever we take friends there, they have always loved it and wondered why it is so easy to get a reservation there even on a weekend night. Really, you need to eat here. I hesitate to say this because it's my favorite and I like that I don't ever have trouble getting a table, but I love this place too much and I want it to stay in business.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was looking forward to trying out No Va as it was recommended to me as a great place to try. The ambiance was nice. However, there were some issues that left a bad taste in my mouth...
1) We had 3 different waitresses in the course of 10 minutes, all repeating the same specials, clearly not aware we had already been notified of those;
2) the food came out at different times, my boyfriend was completely done with his before my appetizer even came out.
3) I had a cold soggy single fry at the bottom of my ceviche, it was disgusting. The waitress apologized but didn't offer to take it off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Only downside here is they bring the meals out at different times. Weird.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food!! The live music was an amazing addition.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Good hanger steak!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome brussel sprouts, cauliflower, and cocktails!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We stopped in for a quick bite to eat and drinks with another couple. The food was excellent. Service was ok. The wait staff was great but very busy. We sat outside. The patio was secluded and peaceful. A nice retreat from the crazy activity on the rest of Rainey Street. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Made reservations because we were unsure of how busy it would be for an early dinner. Was empty when we got there. Thought it was a little odd that they took us upstairs. I would recommend on a nice night asking to sit outside on patio or at least downstairs, so you felt more of the ambiance. Wish I had requested that. Food was good. We ended up ordering several of the small plates and sharing. The Brussels sprouts were by far my favorite. My husband got the calamari and it was excellent too. He also got the mac and cheese and it was very good. The vegetable salad I ordered was okay. Good, fresh ingredients, but too much salad dressing made it a little soggy. The curried cauliflower was good too. Good flavor, but i wasn't expecting the cauliflower to be fried. I didn't care for the texture it had with the batter.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary and Lorenzo and Kristien were fantastic hosts. Food was great and the wine Kristien suggested made the experience complete.

No VA ... Thanks!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Best burger I've ever had. Service is fantastic and drinks are tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I thought the food was not that great for the price. I also think that my wine had gone bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

What can I say, the brunch was delicious but the service was horrible. There were only four tables with diners the rest of the restaurant was empty, yet my waitress was more concerned about getting me out of the restaurant than to keep me trying out more dishes. The chilaquiles were amazing as was the Austin hash, as were the biscuits. Too bad the waitress kept trying to take my plates away as I was still eating. I asked for a refill on my coffee and it felt like asking her was a chore for her, I am torn I'd like to give No Va another chance, but I don't appreciate being rushed especially when I'm not hanging out, but actually dinning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's 19th birthday at NO VA's Sunday Brunch. Service was great, the live music was a pleasing surprise and the fried chicken biscuit is a MUST! My daughter is vegan and she found pleasing items for her dietary needs.

Great brunch patio seating!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Organic, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A delightful surprise. Delicious, creative. They know and obviously love fresh food prepared with pride. Located in a lovely little street with pretty homes and other independent restaurants and bars. Locals recommend it and we agree!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Cozy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food is pretty average, location is great, plenty of better restaurants in Austin to eat. Nothing special about this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 29, 2016

food was delicious...I loved my meal there...will definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Enjoyed drinks at the bar and then had dinner upstairs. There was a large party dining near us and it was incredibly loud. We couldn't hear each other due to the noise level. Small plates were delicious. Ravioli was bland, but the pork chop and steak frites were both flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was excellent, especially the starters and desserts. Albondigas and Brussels sprouts are must-gets, as was the PB&J sweet at the end.

Among the entrees, the quail and raviolo were received best. I enjoyed the fish I had, but it wasn't anything special. My only complaint was that every entree came in a dish, rather than a plate. It kind of ruined the plating and presentation and made it more difficult to eat than it needed to be.

Craft cocktails were good, as was the wine we selected with our server's help. She was excellent throughout the night.

Thanks No Va!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Incredible wait staff and excellent food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Burger,Chilaquiles and Pancakes
Mimosas... What else can I say... Great for Brunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Margaritas were great and love the macaroni and cheese! Quaint place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was great! My friend and I had delicious drinks--and shared the brussels sprouts, mac & cheese, and meatballs. All 3 apps were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The atmosphere and food complimented each other nicely. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get great food at a reasonable price. Our server, Guy, was very accommodating and friendly and took the time to answer questions we had about the menu. I would highly suggest you visit this place for a date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was me and my girlfriend first time. We had heard the food was great. Food was amazing! We had a server that was in training. She was struggling a bit. Our drinks took awhile to get up to us but her trainer was great. I understand that training is difficult. We ordered grilled peaches that we didn't like. We ate 2 of 4. The manager came back to ask us about them. We told her that they had a little steak flavor. She was wonderful! She thanked us for the feed back, compt them off and let us order another dessert on them. I was impressed with their manager. It's nice to see the communication between the server and the manager Overall we had a good experience. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love No VA. This is a "go-to" restaurant and we love their inventive food, great cocktails and fun atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The menu has become far to small, choices very limited, only 1 fish entree, Not sure what the new chef is going for. Miss Brad very much.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great Austin experience. Was our anniversary, made it special. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2016

My fiance and I found this restaurant while exploring our new home city and thoroughly enjoyed it. The gnocchi tossed in salsa verde with pork belly made us swoon and the cocktail list was exceptional! We will definitely be returning to this great spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2016

We were visiting Austin and this restaurant was close to our hotel.
It started out wonderfully, it's a lovely space. Our waiter was great to start with -- then kind of disappeared for long intervals. Our reservation was on the late side - and perhaps he was ready for his shift to end. I would give NoVa a higher rating but the service was lacking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Title says it all, but OpenTable is forcing me to write at least 50 characters, so here it is...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Good experience. Server was very friendly and attentive; only criticism - when we arrived at the restaurant, the hostess and another employee were working on something and they didn't acknowledge we were standing there for what seemed like several minutes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Rainey St is so hip and this place did not disappoint! The food was delicious and the service was full of southern hospitality. I will return most definitely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2016

I've now had the pleasure of two meals at NO VA and it seemingly got better, which was a difficult task. The staff is highly knowledgable about the food and drink. The food is creative and sustaining...and relatively cheap, especially for Austin!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 31, 2016

For starters, the staff was very friendly and personable. The manager came to check on us several times and had a genuine interest in our experience and what we thought about the food. The meatballs were amazing and I wish I had room for another order! The cauliflower was a new recipe according to the manager and it did not disappoint. We had a burger which was on special and it practically melted in my mouth. You could tell the meat was high quality. We sat out front and took in all beauty of he neighborhood. Having never been to Austin, this place was recommended to me and I would absolutely recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was ok but unremarkable. The service was absolutely horrendous. No Va means No Go. And that is my advice. Don't go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2016

My husband, sister, and I went here for dinner one night. Wanted to celebrate and sit outside while people watching. It is a great place to do that! We had reservations, and were seated right away. Staff brought out waters to us right away, then server took drink order. Several minutes later, she took our food orders-appetizers and dinners for all 3 of us. One appetizer and a salad came out before the second appetizer did. THEN our drinks came out. Then the second appetizer came out. Then two of the 3 dinners came out. Everything tasted great, but the third dinner did not arrive until the other two were nearly done eating their food. Had we waited to eat the first two dinners until the last one came out, they would have been ice cold. Server was apologetic and helped to remedy the situation. SXSW is going on in Austin, so possibly the kitchen was inundated with orders, but it would have been much more enjoyable if we could have had our dinner, drinks, and apps spaced out appropriately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 3, 2016

The ambiance was nice, we sat downstairs near the bar so it was a prime position to people watch. Later in the meal the bar got very loud though, which made it difficult to hear the conversations going on at my table.

We ordered an array of appetizers. My favorite was the albóndigas (meatballs).

Overall I had a pretty good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 20, 2016

I had the worst experience at NOVA and i am truly disappointed. I went with my girlfriend because a friend of mine Daniel Nicholson who is also the owner of Nadamoo recommended it. The service was really poor, they served us water at the start of the meal and that was it we did not get a refill of water after that. They took forever to bring out our food, and when they eventually did i told the waiter my chicken didn't taste good and i asked him to bring it back and just get me a burger. He said ok took my food to the kitchen and completely ignored us for the rest of the night. My girl finished her food we finished our drink and i was waiting for my burger for 45 minutes! it never came. I had to find the waiter and tell him we did not receive my food and he should just give me the bill. Eventually the bill comes and he charged me for the burger and the chicken which i didn't even have any of them. That is when i got upset and told him, and eventually the manager came over to my table and apologized and told me they would pay for my meal. By that time i just wanted to leave i had a terrible time with my girl i didn't eat any food and that ruined my whole night. I expected a lot better from NOVA and i was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 16, 2016

All servers were really friendly and helpful. The location is great except for the Rainey street curse-minimal parking options. The up - downstairs seating design is functional and the table spacing works well. The wines were good, the food was tasty and the price was as expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 9, 2016

We had the short ribs which were outstanding. The mac and cheese is great! It is a must try. Wines by the glass are good but the selection in minimal. Cocktails are very good. Nice selection of whiskeys.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.