About NO VA Kitchen & Bar

87 Rainey Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

NO VA is a Spanish phrase meaning "It doesn't go." The modern two story building that now houses NO VA Kitchen & Bar is a striking contrast to the historic buildings on Rainey Street. The menu offers home-spun twists on sophisticated classics.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:00pm 5:00pm-12:00am Sunday : 10:30am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Driskill St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 382-5651

Website:
http://www.novaonrainey.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant directly for any inquiries about our catering.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Abby Yates

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that seats up to 12 people. It has a large screen LCD TV with HDMI ports and can be sealed off from the main restaurant space.

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

NO VA Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Austin
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed drinks at the bar and then had d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed drinks at the bar and then had dinner upstairs. There was a large party dining near us and it was incredibly loud. We couldn't hear each other due to the noise level. Small plates were delicious. Ravioli was bland, but the pork chop and steak frites were both flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent, especially the start ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was excellent, especially the starters and desserts. Albondigas and Brussels sprouts are must-gets, as was the PB&J sweet at the end.

Among the entrees, the quail and raviolo were received best. I enjoyed the fish I had, but it wasn't anything special. My only complaint was that every entree came in a dish, rather than a plate. It kind of ruined the plating and presentation and made it more difficult to eat than it needed to be.

Craft cocktails were good, as was the wine we selected with our server's help. She was excellent throughout the night.

Thanks No Va!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Incredible wait staff and excellent food ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Incredible wait staff and excellent food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Burger,Chilaquiles and Pancakes Mi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Burger,Chilaquiles and Pancakes

Mimosas... What else can I say... Great for Brunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Margaritas were great and love the macar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Margaritas were great and love the macaroni and cheese! Quaint place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was great! My friend and I ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great! My friend and I had delicious drinks--and shared the brussels sprouts, mac & cheese, and meatballs. All 3 apps were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The atmosphere and food complimented eac ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The atmosphere and food complimented each other nicely. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get great food at a reasonable price. Our server, Guy, was very accommodating and friendly and took the time to answer questions we had about the menu. I would highly suggest you visit this place for a date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was me and my girlfriend first time. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was me and my girlfriend first time. We had heard the food was great. Food was amazing! We had a server that was in training. She was struggling a bit. Our drinks took awhile to get up to us but her trainer was great. I understand that training is difficult. We ordered grilled peaches that we didn't like. We ate 2 of 4. The manager came back to ask us about them. We told her that they had a little steak flavor. She was wonderful! She thanked us for the feed back, compt them off and let us order another dessert on them. I was impressed with their manager. It's nice to see the communication between the server and the manager Overall we had a good experience. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We love No VA. This is a "go-to" restau ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love No VA. This is a "go-to" restaurant and we love their inventive food, great cocktails and fun atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu has become far to small, choice ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The menu has become far to small, choices very limited, only 1 fish entree, Not sure what the new chef is going for. Miss Brad very much.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Austin experience. Was our anniver ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great Austin experience. Was our anniversary, made it special. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Austin Newbies

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My fiance and I found this restaurant while exploring our new home city and thoroughly enjoyed it. The gnocchi tossed in salsa verde with pork belly made us swoon and the cocktail list was exceptional! We will definitely be returning to this great spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Restaurant but uneven Service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were visiting Austin and this restaurant was close to our hotel.

It started out wonderfully, it's a lovely space. Our waiter was great to start with -- then kind of disappeared for long intervals. Our reservation was on the late side - and perhaps he was ready for his shift to end. I would give NoVa a higher rating but the service was lacking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, great music, great service!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Title says it all, but OpenTable is forcing me to write at least 50 characters, so here it is...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

goo restaurant

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Good experience. Server was very friendly and attentive; only criticism - when we arrived at the restaurant, the hostess and another employee were working on something and they didn't acknowledge we were standing there for what seemed like several minutes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Charming

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Rainey St is so hip and this place did not disappoint! The food was delicious and the service was full of southern hospitality. I will return most definitely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time. Better than the first!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I've now had the pleasure of two meals at NO VA and it seemingly got better, which was a difficult task. The staff is highly knowledgable about the food and drink. The food is creative and sustaining...and relatively cheap, especially for Austin!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unforgettable place with unforgettable food

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

For starters, the staff was very friendly and personable. The manager came to check on us several times and had a genuine interest in our experience and what we thought about the food. The meatballs were amazing and I wish I had room for another order! The cauliflower was a new recipe according to the manager and it did not disappoint. We had a burger which was on special and it practically melted in my mouth. You could tell the meat was high quality. We sat out front and took in all beauty of he neighborhood. Having never been to Austin, this place was recommended to me and I would absolutely recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ok but unremarkable. The se ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was ok but unremarkable. The service was absolutely horrendous. No Va means No Go. And that is my advice. Don't go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Good, but not great.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband, sister, and I went here for dinner one night. Wanted to celebrate and sit outside while people watching. It is a great place to do that! We had reservations, and were seated right away. Staff brought out waters to us right away, then server took drink order. Several minutes later, she took our food orders-appetizers and dinners for all 3 of us. One appetizer and a salad came out before the second appetizer did. THEN our drinks came out. Then the second appetizer came out. Then two of the 3 dinners came out. Everything tasted great, but the third dinner did not arrive until the other two were nearly done eating their food. Had we waited to eat the first two dinners until the last one came out, they would have been ice cold. Server was apologetic and helped to remedy the situation. SXSW is going on in Austin, so possibly the kitchen was inundated with orders, but it would have been much more enjoyable if we could have had our dinner, drinks, and apps spaced out appropriately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The ambiance was nice, we sat downstairs ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The ambiance was nice, we sat downstairs near the bar so it was a prime position to people watch. Later in the meal the bar got very loud though, which made it difficult to hear the conversations going on at my table.

We ordered an array of appetizers. My favorite was the albóndigas (meatballs).

Overall I had a pretty good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Terrible Experience

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I had the worst experience at NOVA and i am truly disappointed. I went with my girlfriend because a friend of mine Daniel Nicholson who is also the owner of Nadamoo recommended it. The service was really poor, they served us water at the start of the meal and that was it we did not get a refill of water after that. They took forever to bring out our food, and when they eventually did i told the waiter my chicken didn't taste good and i asked him to bring it back and just get me a burger. He said ok took my food to the kitchen and completely ignored us for the rest of the night. My girl finished her food we finished our drink and i was waiting for my burger for 45 minutes! it never came. I had to find the waiter and tell him we did not receive my food and he should just give me the bill. Eventually the bill comes and he charged me for the burger and the chicken which i didn't even have any of them. That is when i got upset and told him, and eventually the manager came over to my table and apologized and told me they would pay for my meal. By that time i just wanted to leave i had a terrible time with my girl i didn't eat any food and that ruined my whole night. I expected a lot better from NOVA and i was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Hip, Smooth and in the Groove Rainey St

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

All servers were really friendly and helpful. The location is great except for the Rainey street curse-minimal parking options. The up - downstairs seating design is functional and the table spacing works well. The wines were good, the food was tasty and the price was as expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love NOVA

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We had the short ribs which were outstanding. The mac and cheese is great! It is a must try. Wines by the glass are good but the selection in minimal. Cocktails are very good. Nice selection of whiskeys.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Avg at Best

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Average food

Salmon rec as medium rare. Overly salted.

And on lenles?

WTF!

Mac and cheese must have?

Not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, drinks, ambiance

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

My wife and I went for our anniversary. The shortrib was overwhelmingly recommended by other reviewers, so we got that and the ceviche. They were both great, and the drinks were amazing.

The service was non-obtrusive but attentive, and the location on Rainey street was great. There are a couple places for drinks and dancing within walking distance.

I would definitely recommend No Va.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NO VA is probably my favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

NO VA is probably my favorite restaurant in Austin. The menu is incredible and the food is always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food but price was high

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

The positives of No Va -- Nice location on Rainey Street. Restaurant was laid out nicely with indoor and outdoor options. Quiet upstairs room. Service very attentive.

The negatives of No Va -- We started out with a pear salad which was very good. Wife had chicken entree which was very rubbery and side dish of rice that was not too tasty. I had the beef short rib which was very good but not worth $29. No bread served with dinner. The experience was nice but I simply thought for the money spent there are better dining options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Overall, the restaurant and dining exper ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

Overall, the restaurant and dining experience made for a great evening. We went to the outside seating on the upper level and has the patio to ourselves which was great: backdrop of the skyline and the music from below. We ordered the fries to start and I loved the house made ketchup. I got the Brussels sprouts and the kale salad, which weren't bad but they certainly weren't anything special. My boyfriend got the short rib which most definitely was something special. The meat was so tender and flavored so nicely and it was complimented perfectly with the green beans and mashed potatoes. As usual, I just always wished I had ordered something else! But our waiter was great. I was originally concerned since we were out there alone that either he'd forget about us or our service would be slow but he somehow kept an eye out and was absolutely great! Thanks Dylan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. They had live music ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Food was very good. They had live music and a nice ambience. The food took a very long time to come out, but the manager apologized and comped our first round of drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The meatballs, short rib, and mac and ch ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

The meatballs, short rib, and mac and cheese were all three very delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience. Met expectations

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

Great experience. Met expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Pretty good little spot

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2015

Food was just a little better than alright, and I like how the place looks. But the noise level was frustratingly high for a small group of 3. Every surface is bare, and ripe for sound to bounce around.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Ohmygawd

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Get the short ribs- they tell you that you won't need a knife... they aren't lying. Pairs excellently with the Nugan Estate Cabernet Sauvignon. Amazing brussels sprouts. Fantastic mules. Oh my lord, there are not enough wonderful things to say... Just go and taste for yourself!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They 'ran out' of two menu items we had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

They 'ran out' of two menu items we had decided to order, but the substitutions were tasty and we had an overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good. The family style ser ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

Food was very good. The family style service was great way to share a meal and be able to try different items off the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely outdoor patio with superb food an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Lovely outdoor patio with superb food and wine. Just what we wanted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yes!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

The gnocchi was incredible! If you like sweet alcoholic drinks, the Dutch Myle is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

meh

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

The whole rainy district is gross nOw. Super touristy. The restaurant is pretty but nothing spectacular. We waited way too long at our table until I finally flagged someone down to get our server. Our waitress was nice. The food was pretty good but over priced. I liked my gnocchi and the mac and cheese. My husband said the brussel sprouts were gOod and the pork was okay. I didn't try any desserts or drinks but they looked good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Nice place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Very good and attentive service. Food was good, and had a nice wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.