About Niu B Sushi & Robata - South Michigan Ave

888 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60605
View Larger Map

Niu B is the second location of the original Niu Japanese Fusion Lounge on 332 East Illinois Street in Chicago. Niu B features not only their signature maki rolls, fresh sushi nigiris and sashimi, but also Japanese Robata Grilled Skewers. Our full bar features specialty Japanese whiskey cocktails and house infusions, as well as Korean Soju that pairs perfectly with grilled skewers. The interior is sleek and modern with the inspiration of 1930"s Japanese Izakaya Bar in Tokyo.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
9th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 922-1127

Website:
http://www.niubchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty street meter parking and attached paid parking lot in the rear of building

Public Transit:
9th Street & Michigan Avenue

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Niu B Sushi & Robata - South Michigan Ave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Sushi
Chicago / Illinois
Sushi
Chicago
Best Restaurants in South Loop ›

Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
47 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were attending a game at Solider fiel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were attending a game at Solider field and I wanted sushi- this place came up as nearest with good reviews on OT- pleasant surprise-- my boyfriend and I both agreed that if we were unable to watch football once we got there we were going to leave- we entered and told the maitre Di that we wanted to watch the game- he took us to the back and we had the entire bar area to ourselves and total control of the remote- extremely accommodating, GREAT ambiance and the food was good! We will definitely return to this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine! Loved our server t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and wine! Loved our server too. Went before Coldplay concert. Great shelter from the storm! Sushi, ribs, Ramen, salads, soup, lobster tacos, all delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Niu B is outstanding and a g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food at Niu B is outstanding and a great value for all that you get.

Service is impeccable, nice ambiance and the manager is very gracious and hospitable.

It is my favorite place to eat........

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved all of the selections....house ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We loved all of the selections....house salad and both sashimi and hand rolls. Everything was extremely fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. Service was outstanding, prompt and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed what I ordered which was sushi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I enjoyed what I ordered which was sushi and ramen noodles but my hubby and daughter weren't too impressed. I would say if you love sushi than this is the spot for you but if you're on the fence than choose somewhere else. It was a little pricey but not outrageous. Overall, I enjoyed what I had and their drinks were pretty good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Decent sushi, good service, a little bit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Decent sushi, good service, a little bit of a diner ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great lunch menu. Sushi is very fresh.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great lunch menu. Sushi is very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific Food, Not -So-Terrific Service

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

First of all, the food at Niu B is excellent, and reasonably priced for sushi and sashimi. The Cherry Blossom appetizer is especially good. The restaurant can be a little loud, and the service leaves a lot to be desired. I ended up eating there twice during a conference, and each time the service was slow. Just realize that this will not be a quick meal: it may take awhile for your food and drinks to get ordered and then arrive.

Also, realize that if you go there with 5 people, management will try to seat you at a 4-top, with one person sitting at the end of the table, in the traffic lanes. NOT good. Would I return? yes, but with either a smaller group (<4) or a much larger group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Good sushi right near the Hilton Chicago

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Took a business colleague to lunch at this nice, quiet restaurant near her hotel. Sushi was good; service was a bit slow. Had to hunt for a server to bring a check. Overall, however, a nice choice,

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Pleasantly surprised! Everything we ord ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Pleasantly surprised! Everything we ordered from sushi, sashimi, noodle soup to dessert was simply delicious, fresh and nicely plated. Oh and the Lychee martini was also lovely.

Definitely coming back on my next trip.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bento Box lunch

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Interesting menu varieties, good price/value ration for bento box lunch in this area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Maki

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Walking distance to Chicago Hilton and Field Museum. Good price/value ratio. We had a combination of various Japanese and Thai dishes plus a great King Crab leg, accompanied by an excellent Sake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

local Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

This is one of those places, that you wonder why there is not a line out the door. Summer time there is outdoor seating. menu is full of interesting choices. servers all very helpful. Food is reasonably priced for on Mich Ave. we love it here, and hope the menu continues to evolve.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a good choice was a group of fr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This was a good choice was a group of friends. I got ramen, someone got sushi, someone got spare ribs. The menu was large enough that everyone could find something that fit. Everything was pretty good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great sushi!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Niu B has great sushi and fast service! I was very impressed with all of the sushi rolls that we ordered, and the wait staff was very pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really Good Food, Slow Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This is one of my husband's and my favorite restaurants, the ambiance and the location of the place is perfect and there isn't much struggle for parking even on Saturday nights. The maki rolls and the Japanese fried rice are really good. I ordered Spicy Kung Pao with Tofu, the taste was good but it was a little dry. The highlight was the Mochi ice cream, it's my favorite and the green tea flavor is great. My only disappointment was the slow service, my nobody came to ask us the order even after 15-20 minutes of sitting at the table. But otherwise I have always had a nice time at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Close to the Joffery

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This great restaurant is 4 blocks from the Roosevelt Theater which makes it a perfect before dinner restaurant for the Joffery. Everyone was welcoming and friendly. We had a great meal. Their signature sushi rolls are truly spectacular and you get a lot of pieces with each roll. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group loved this restaurant!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

The staff was very accommodating to our group of 11. The food came out pretty quick considering the size of our order and the drink service was very good. The food was PHENOMENAL, especially the Mellow Yellow. The staff also accommodated us bringing our own cakes for a birthday celebration. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

NYE last minute reservation - perfect night out

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The food and drinks were a delight to all senses - beautiful and delicious. When we found this last minute availability, party of five on NYE, I thought we'd be in for the place no one else wanted to go. This must be the place people don't know about yet. It was the best meal during our week of dining in Chicago while on vacation. The service was equally wonderful. Ambience can make casual and dressed diners feel comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You restaurant has a very cozy feel and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

You restaurant has a very cozy feel and the rolls were delicious. Hmmm...next time I must have plum wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in all ways

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Visited this sushi restaurant because of a great reference. Live in Madison WI and I thoroughly enjoyed the generous portions of sashimi and size of the rolls. Excellent service which made for an excellent evening. Thank you! Highly recommend this place. Fish was very fresh.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was Delicious and service was good!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Good was Delicious and service was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Sushi was very good as we're items from ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Sushi was very good as we're items from the limited Chinese menu. Service was excellent, very attentive staff. Truly a neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great local spot, South Loops best kept ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Great local spot, South Loops best kept secret!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hot Spot in Southloop with great sushi and service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

We have been going to the spot for years and we always have a great time! The new leather boots are added little more classic of it. The service are wonderful and Sashimi are always super fresh. Love the King Crab appetizers, Soft Shell crabs and beef tataki are delicious also. Make sure stop at the bar before or after for a drink as the bartender is super fun and make delicious cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Low Key with Very Good Sushi

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

Lots of menu choices. Very good sushi and non-sushi items. Spicy tuna, calamari and salmon are all good. Reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

We loved the food and wait staff. It wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

We loved the food and wait staff. It was great for a small group like the one I was with. We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

We enjoyed the food and the service was great. We thought the food was very good. We plan to come back with family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great find on S Michigan

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Sushi was great and specialty rod are huge. Great place with great vib.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A cute little modern sushi place that ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

A cute little modern sushi place that had some unique dishes. Their service was very prompt. The Decour inside was also very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Quality of sushi and portions were disappointing

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

I didn't really feel that the sushi was a high-quality . Maguro was very pale, not the usual red color I'm use to seeing. Speciality rolls were on small side too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Amazing food and awesome service!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

This is a very nice restaurant with amazing food and service. Our server made thoughtful suggestions and 'surprised' us when we didn't know what wine to order. This is a great place for a special occasion or any event.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality very disappointing. Dining ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2015

Food quality very disappointing. Dining room kind of noisy. We live close by & wish we could give a more positive review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Love the tastes and changes to a traditional Sushi

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

Fun new variations on Sushi. Love to go and do frequently. Wonder place to experience new eclectic variations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find in Chicago

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2015

Honestly had modest expecations about a Sushi house in the city. WOW...was I ever wrong. Niu B Sushi rivals any sushi house I have ever visited. Every dish was outstanding. Tuna sashimi plate was outstanding variety and from Miso soup starter to Sesame ice cream finish, not one dish failed to impress and delight. Will not miss a visit every time I go to Chicago in the future. FANTASTIC RESTAURANT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Restaurant

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 8, 2015

One of the best sushi restaurants I have visited. Outstanding at every level. In fact, it was so good, decided to eat at again later in the week during our visit. See my second review. Both visits, fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flavorless

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Niu B is a disappointment. The service is slow and forgetful. The sushi is uninspired. Worse, everything pretty much tastes the same. Maybe it is the grade of fish. Maybe they just combine too much fake shredded stuff. Whatever the readon, if you love sushi, don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This was our first time dining there and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

This was our first time dining there and they had just opened the day after remodeling. Since it was extremely cold out and we were staying at the Hilton on Michigan, we were happen to walk just a block south to the restaurant. There was a missing chef which they kept apologizing for, and the food was a little slow in coming, but we were not in a hurry and the rolls were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Niu Sushi & Robata

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 26, 2014

We wanted to try this restaurant because we live close to it. My husband liked the raw yellowtail with jalapeno and the tuna tataki so he is willing to return for another visit. I liked the lobster soup with coconut milk but would have preferred a cup of it instead of a huge bowl. There were a lot of different rolls (maki) to choose from but I ordered the dragon roll to see how it compared with our former favorite Sushi Wabi; it was pretty good. I also tried three robata: grilled shrimp that came in a sweet/sour sauce, grilled salmon that could have used a sauce, and the scallop wrapped in pancetta that had a creamy sauce; I liked the shrimp the best but it was messy to eat since it was in its shell. I don't recall if the menu told which came with what sauce. The service was quick and courteous but the waitress didn't know what an Arnold Palmer was. I would like come back with more people to try other maki.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Addition to Neighborhood

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2014

Niu replaced a sushi place in the same location that was quite good, but I think Niu is a step up. They still offer good sushi but also offer a broad Asian fusion menu with a nice variety of Japanese and Korean dishes

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.