Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Niu B Sushi & Robata - South Michigan Ave

Niu B is the second location of the original Niu Japanese Fusion Lounge on 332 East Illinois Street in Chicago. Niu B features not only their signature maki rolls, fresh sushi nigiris and sashimi, but also Japanese Robata Grilled Skewers. Our full bar features specialty Japanese whiskey cocktails and house infusions, as well as Korean Soju that pairs perfectly with grilled skewers. The interior is sleek and modern with the inspiration of 1930"s Japanese Izakaya Bar in Tokyo.

888 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60605
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
9th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 922-1127

Website:
http://www.niubchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty street meter parking and attached paid parking lot in the rear of building

Public Transit:
9th Street & Michigan Avenue

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Niu B Sushi & Robata - South Michigan Ave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (3)
See All
Business Meals (3)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort by
S
82 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Didn't realize I was making a reservation so close to their closing time. Even with that, service, presentation and food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Chicago. Great variety of food, everything is fresh and flavorful. Always excellent service with a subtle and pleasing ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Beyond Outstanding service match by delicious, creative combinations of fish. Highly pleased with the presentation and people. Great Job!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great sushi, lots of options for people who aren't fish lovers

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I made reservations here for the start of my sister's bachelorette party weekend. The food, drinks, service and atmosphere were great. Everyone complimented my on the restaurant selection later in the night. They said it was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious and interesting selections. Service was fabulous. Great recommendations from the wait staff. Loved everything. Cheesecake and crime brûlée topped the sushi night perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent choice. Very attentive and friendly service. Great choice of Japanese, Korean, Chinese fusion with a focus on sushi and sashimi. Highly recommended and great value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Good food. Great service. I'm looking forward to returning for another meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The ramen was delicious and a steal during happy hour for $8

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I made a reservation here because the restaurant name says robata and the online opentable menu showed robata items. VERY disappointed-- no robata items on the actual menu and when I asked the waitress where they were she had no idea what I was referring to and said they didn't have any robata items. If you want robata, this not the place for you. Open Table, please correct the description and menu for this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Attentive service, delicious food, nice presentation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Always top-notch food and service. A great place to take friends and family.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Always a wonderful experience at Niu B! Wonderful staff, amazing food, and romantic indoor and outdoor seating! Highly recommend! It is my favorite sushi spot in the city! Definitely a hidden gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic sushi - so fresh with a beautiful presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

former site of OYSY, went there last year thinking we were returning to OYSY, not knowing a new place was there! Went to Niu B ( knowingly this time) and had another great meal.

interesting drinks and good service.

highly recommended

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The best Sushi ever!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was delicious, but I ended up getting a bacterial infection from the sushi and have been sick all week. Ended up having to get an antibiotic from my doctor to get rid of the gut issue I have been suffering from. I know it is your own risk when you eat raw fish, but I eat sushi all the time and have never gotten sick before. Definitely won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The fish was very fresh & the waiter/ waitress were very helpful with suggestions. Awesome Sushi Choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food and restaurant ambiance was fantastic and I cannot wait to go back and eat there again! Great service and very delicious food and drink choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The service was not great. Our dessert took over 30 minutes to get and it was just a slice of cake. Food is ok for the price. Been to better places with better tasting sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great sushi. Interesting menu choices. Very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was a great place for dinner wth the family when we visited chaicago. Quick walk down from Hilton

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always excellent!! We are regulars!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good discovery! Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My friend and I went here during restaurant week and tried their 3-course prixe fixe menu. I had the rock shrimp as first course and it was nicely cooked and seasoned. I selected the red dragon maki roll for second course - taste was just OK as spicy tuna roll could be, nothing spectacular but they were generous with the portions (12 pieces). The main course, which I selected the fried pollack, was the biggest disappointment. The fish was too flaky to pull apart and eat, it was not seasoned so very bland unless eaten with a condiment (which there was a small side of sauce included).

The portions were generous and the plating was visually appealing. Also, although the wait staff was friendly and attentive they could learn how to time the delivery of the dishes. We were not even done with our first course when the second and third course arrived. Speedy but inappropriate given the small tables and large plating.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This Niu B in comparison to the one closer to the Water Tower has a much more casual vibe that I was looking for in my dining experience.

Tags: Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Interesting and well-prepared meal, a good value during Chicago Dining Week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

this is a really good local sushi bar. never over crowded, so usually easy to get seating. very good service. really good menu, and very fresh sushi.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a sashimi combination with four types of fish. The presentation was beautiful. Unfortunately, the fish could have been fresher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great sushi and service. Went for my son's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

They did not have my open table reservation when I arrived and were quite rude about it. I was taking a client to lunch and it looked very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The ambiance was nice, but the service was poor. The waitress didn't give us soy sauce mini-saucers and always interrupted our conversation. I couldn't understand most of the staff as they had heavy accents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were attending a game at Solider field and I wanted sushi- this place came up as nearest with good reviews on OT- pleasant surprise-- my boyfriend and I both agreed that if we were unable to watch football once we got there we were going to leave- we entered and told the maitre Di that we wanted to watch the game- he took us to the back and we had the entire bar area to ourselves and total control of the remote- extremely accommodating, GREAT ambiance and the food was good! We will definitely return to this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and wine! Loved our server too. Went before Coldplay concert. Great shelter from the storm! Sushi, ribs, Ramen, salads, soup, lobster tacos, all delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food at Niu B is outstanding and a great value for all that you get.
Service is impeccable, nice ambiance and the manager is very gracious and hospitable.
It is my favorite place to eat........

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We loved all of the selections....house salad and both sashimi and hand rolls. Everything was extremely fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. Service was outstanding, prompt and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I enjoyed what I ordered which was sushi and ramen noodles but my hubby and daughter weren't too impressed. I would say if you love sushi than this is the spot for you but if you're on the fence than choose somewhere else. It was a little pricey but not outrageous. Overall, I enjoyed what I had and their drinks were pretty good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.