Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Niu B Sushi & Robata - South Michigan Ave

Niu B is the second location of the original Niu Japanese Fusion Lounge on 332 East Illinois Street in Chicago. Niu B features not only their signature maki rolls, fresh sushi nigiris and sashimi, but also Japanese Robata Grilled Skewers. Our full bar features specialty Japanese whiskey cocktails and house infusions, as well as Korean Soju that pairs perfectly with grilled skewers. The interior is sleek and modern with the inspiration of 1930"s Japanese Izakaya Bar in Tokyo.

888 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60605
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
9th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 922-1127

Website:
http://www.niubchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty street meter parking and attached paid parking lot in the rear of building

Public Transit:
9th Street & Michigan Avenue

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Niu B Sushi & Robata - South Michigan Ave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (3)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The service was not great. Our dessert took over 30 minutes to get and it was just a slice of cake. Food is ok for the price. Been to better places with better tasting sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great sushi. Interesting menu choices. Very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was a great place for dinner wth the family when we visited chaicago. Quick walk down from Hilton

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always excellent!! We are regulars!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good discovery! Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My friend and I went here during restaurant week and tried their 3-course prixe fixe menu. I had the rock shrimp as first course and it was nicely cooked and seasoned. I selected the red dragon maki roll for second course - taste was just OK as spicy tuna roll could be, nothing spectacular but they were generous with the portions (12 pieces). The main course, which I selected the fried pollack, was the biggest disappointment. The fish was too flaky to pull apart and eat, it was not seasoned so very bland unless eaten with a condiment (which there was a small side of sauce included).

The portions were generous and the plating was visually appealing. Also, although the wait staff was friendly and attentive they could learn how to time the delivery of the dishes. We were not even done with our first course when the second and third course arrived. Speedy but inappropriate given the small tables and large plating.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This Niu B in comparison to the one closer to the Water Tower has a much more casual vibe that I was looking for in my dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Interesting and well-prepared meal, a good value during Chicago Dining Week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

this is a really good local sushi bar. never over crowded, so usually easy to get seating. very good service. really good menu, and very fresh sushi.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a sashimi combination with four types of fish. The presentation was beautiful. Unfortunately, the fish could have been fresher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great sushi and service. Went for my son's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

They did not have my open table reservation when I arrived and were quite rude about it. I was taking a client to lunch and it looked very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The ambiance was nice, but the service was poor. The waitress didn't give us soy sauce mini-saucers and always interrupted our conversation. I couldn't understand most of the staff as they had heavy accents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were attending a game at Solider field and I wanted sushi- this place came up as nearest with good reviews on OT- pleasant surprise-- my boyfriend and I both agreed that if we were unable to watch football once we got there we were going to leave- we entered and told the maitre Di that we wanted to watch the game- he took us to the back and we had the entire bar area to ourselves and total control of the remote- extremely accommodating, GREAT ambiance and the food was good! We will definitely return to this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and wine! Loved our server too. Went before Coldplay concert. Great shelter from the storm! Sushi, ribs, Ramen, salads, soup, lobster tacos, all delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food at Niu B is outstanding and a great value for all that you get.
Service is impeccable, nice ambiance and the manager is very gracious and hospitable.
It is my favorite place to eat........

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We loved all of the selections....house salad and both sashimi and hand rolls. Everything was extremely fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. Service was outstanding, prompt and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

I enjoyed what I ordered which was sushi and ramen noodles but my hubby and daughter weren't too impressed. I would say if you love sushi than this is the spot for you but if you're on the fence than choose somewhere else. It was a little pricey but not outrageous. Overall, I enjoyed what I had and their drinks were pretty good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Decent sushi, good service, a little bit of a diner ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great lunch menu. Sushi is very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2016

First of all, the food at Niu B is excellent, and reasonably priced for sushi and sashimi. The Cherry Blossom appetizer is especially good. The restaurant can be a little loud, and the service leaves a lot to be desired. I ended up eating there twice during a conference, and each time the service was slow. Just realize that this will not be a quick meal: it may take awhile for your food and drinks to get ordered and then arrive.

Also, realize that if you go there with 5 people, management will try to seat you at a 4-top, with one person sitting at the end of the table, in the traffic lanes. NOT good. Would I return? yes, but with either a smaller group (<4) or a much larger group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Took a business colleague to lunch at this nice, quiet restaurant near her hotel. Sushi was good; service was a bit slow. Had to hunt for a server to bring a check. Overall, however, a nice choice,

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Pleasantly surprised! Everything we ordered from sushi, sashimi, noodle soup to dessert was simply delicious, fresh and nicely plated. Oh and the Lychee martini was also lovely.
Definitely coming back on my next trip.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Interesting menu varieties, good price/value ration for bento box lunch in this area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Walking distance to Chicago Hilton and Field Museum. Good price/value ratio. We had a combination of various Japanese and Thai dishes plus a great King Crab leg, accompanied by an excellent Sake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2016

This is one of those places, that you wonder why there is not a line out the door. Summer time there is outdoor seating. menu is full of interesting choices. servers all very helpful. Food is reasonably priced for on Mich Ave. we love it here, and hope the menu continues to evolve.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2016

This was a good choice was a group of friends. I got ramen, someone got sushi, someone got spare ribs. The menu was large enough that everyone could find something that fit. Everything was pretty good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Niu B has great sushi and fast service! I was very impressed with all of the sushi rolls that we ordered, and the wait staff was very pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2016

This is one of my husband's and my favorite restaurants, the ambiance and the location of the place is perfect and there isn't much struggle for parking even on Saturday nights. The maki rolls and the Japanese fried rice are really good. I ordered Spicy Kung Pao with Tofu, the taste was good but it was a little dry. The highlight was the Mochi ice cream, it's my favorite and the green tea flavor is great. My only disappointment was the slow service, my nobody came to ask us the order even after 15-20 minutes of sitting at the table. But otherwise I have always had a nice time at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2016

This great restaurant is 4 blocks from the Roosevelt Theater which makes it a perfect before dinner restaurant for the Joffery. Everyone was welcoming and friendly. We had a great meal. Their signature sushi rolls are truly spectacular and you get a lot of pieces with each roll. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 14, 2016

The staff was very accommodating to our group of 11. The food came out pretty quick considering the size of our order and the drink service was very good. The food was PHENOMENAL, especially the Mellow Yellow. The staff also accommodated us bringing our own cakes for a birthday celebration. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The food and drinks were a delight to all senses - beautiful and delicious. When we found this last minute availability, party of five on NYE, I thought we'd be in for the place no one else wanted to go. This must be the place people don't know about yet. It was the best meal during our week of dining in Chicago while on vacation. The service was equally wonderful. Ambience can make casual and dressed diners feel comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2015

You restaurant has a very cozy feel and the rolls were delicious. Hmmm...next time I must have plum wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2015

Visited this sushi restaurant because of a great reference. Live in Madison WI and I thoroughly enjoyed the generous portions of sashimi and size of the rolls. Excellent service which made for an excellent evening. Thank you! Highly recommend this place. Fish was very fresh.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2015

Good was Delicious and service was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2015

Sushi was very good as we're items from the limited Chinese menu. Service was excellent, very attentive staff. Truly a neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2015

Great local spot, South Loops best kept secret!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2015

We have been going to the spot for years and we always have a great time! The new leather boots are added little more classic of it. The service are wonderful and Sashimi are always super fresh. Love the King Crab appetizers, Soft Shell crabs and beef tataki are delicious also. Make sure stop at the bar before or after for a drink as the bartender is super fun and make delicious cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 10, 2015

Lots of menu choices. Very good sushi and non-sushi items. Spicy tuna, calamari and salmon are all good. Reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.