Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Niu B Sushi & Robata - South Michigan Ave

4.5
105 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
  • Healthy
Niu B is the second location of the original Niu Japanese Fusion Lounge on 332 East Illinois Street in Chicago. Niu B features not only their signature maki rolls, fresh sushi nigiris and sashimi, but also Japanese Robata Grilled Skewers. Our full bar features specialty Japanese whiskey cocktails and house infusions, as well as Korean Soju that pairs perfectly with grilled skewers. The interior is sleek and modern with the inspiration of 1930"s Japanese Izakaya Bar in Tokyo.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Japanese, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 922-1127
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
9th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty street meter parking and attached paid parking lot in the rear of building
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
9th Street & Michigan Avenue
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 105 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined a day ago

Pretty decent sushi for Chicago! Overpriced wine as you would expect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Sushi was fantastic. Absolutely exceptional experience. Can't wait to get back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great food.....interesting and tasty. Excellent service. Good spot in the neighbourhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Great sushi place walking distance to CSO and Art Institute events. The sushi was wonderful and at a good price for downtown. Week nights are not busy so you can get a table and have a pretty easy, quick, and quiet experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

good,but not perfect, the sushi is not so delicious but the noodles taste much better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We came early for our reservation but were seated immediately! They made sure we were comfortable! Our waitress was very helpful with recommendations and very friendly. Our food was excellent! We came on the amazing review our friend gave us of their experience and we were not disappointed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Always great food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Fantastic service, out of this world food. Unique and filling dishes with beautiful presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

It was amazing! Staff was accommodating. Would recommend coming here again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was attentive and timely. Food was excellent. A great find!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The waitress came to the table and only took 1/2 the tables drink orders. We had 7 people. When she came with 4 drinks, I asked if I could order a drink and then she took my order and the other two guests order. The sushi was excellent however, I did not think the tempura was that great. I would have expected more shrimp (more than 4) when you order shrimp tempura. There were more vegetables than shrimp. It looked like a mountain of fried food. During the meal, the waitress came around and asked if we would like another drink and I ordered another glass of Pinot Noir. She came back and said, Sorry, we are out of Pinot Noir and she walked away. She never asked if I would like something else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We selected this venue because we were all craving sushi after a day at the Field Museum. What a great find! Walking distance from the museum. The sushi was delicious. The Ramen was excellent! We will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Good time easy on the lengthen ask

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Great service. Fantastic sushi. Charging Stations!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2018

I loved the appetizers, but my entree was way over cooked. I ordered the three cup chicken and the chicken was so over cooked I couldn’t eat it. I tried two bites and that was it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 30, 2018

Bad service eventhough the place was completely empty as we walked in. Average food. Service was terrible and did not allow us to enjoy our experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Great food and service, will come again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Good food, service ok, ambiance great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2018

Niu is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is always amazing and the staff is wonderful.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 5, 2018

I don’t understand the high rating. Food was below average. Service was solid, though. It’s like the waitress knew the food kinda sucked and tried to make up for it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Great food! Not just a sushi place, wide range of Asian flavors. Great sushi, soup and ramen! Fantastic flavors! Nice atmosphere but casual and chill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Food was great, service was terrific. A great find on Michigan avenue. Waiters were attentive and extremely knowledgeable and helpful with menu items. Would not recommend for a romantic dinner because tables are too close but great for couples night or a night on the town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Didn't realize I was making a reservation so close to their closing time. Even with that, service, presentation and food was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Chicago. Great variety of food, everything is fresh and flavorful. Always excellent service with a subtle and pleasing ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2017

Great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Beyond Outstanding service match by delicious, creative combinations of fish. Highly pleased with the presentation and people. Great Job!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Great sushi, lots of options for people who aren't fish lovers

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food. Great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

I made reservations here for the start of my sister's bachelorette party weekend. The food, drinks, service and atmosphere were great. Everyone complimented my on the restaurant selection later in the night. They said it was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious and interesting selections. Service was fabulous. Great recommendations from the wait staff. Loved everything. Cheesecake and crime brûlée topped the sushi night perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent choice. Very attentive and friendly service. Great choice of Japanese, Korean, Chinese fusion with a focus on sushi and sashimi. Highly recommended and great value for money.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 10, 2017

Good food. Great service. I'm looking forward to returning for another meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 7, 2017

The ramen was delicious and a steal during happy hour for $8

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 29, 2017

I made a reservation here because the restaurant name says robata and the online opentable menu showed robata items. VERY disappointed-- no robata items on the actual menu and when I asked the waitress where they were she had no idea what I was referring to and said they didn't have any robata items. If you want robata, this not the place for you. Open Table, please correct the description and menu for this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2017

Attentive service, delicious food, nice presentation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2017

Always top-notch food and service. A great place to take friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2017

Always a wonderful experience at Niu B! Wonderful staff, amazing food, and romantic indoor and outdoor seating! Highly recommend! It is my favorite sushi spot in the city! Definitely a hidden gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic sushi - so fresh with a beautiful presentation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2017

former site of OYSY, went there last year thinking we were returning to OYSY, not knowing a new place was there! Went to Niu B ( knowingly this time) and had another great meal.

interesting drinks and good service.

highly recommended

Report
Helpful
1
2
3