Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Nikko Japanese Restaurant

Nikko Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar has a high energy atmosphere with a contemporary style. We are known for inventive, excellent, award winning sushi as well as the finest modern Japanese cuisine. Nikko has the feel of a upscale New York city restaurant with the promise to be hot and sexy. We have an assortment of over 300 bottles of fine wines as well as a full service bar. We feature a large private dining room with a full projection screen for company events or any other special occasion. Joannas welcoming personality with feather boa and trademark cowboy hat with tambourine overwhelms guests with "Sushi Love" when sake bombs are requested.

325 Arlington Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-0100

Website:
http://www.nikkosushibar.net/

Entertainment:
We feature a Live DJ on Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
With advanced notice we accommodate any catering event for company or personal needs. We offer a sushi chef to be on site to insure authenticity.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking as well as reserved parking with great access to the restaurant through the elevator to our lobby entrance.

Public Transit:
The light rail stops at the Bland Street Station behind Nikko Japanese Restaurant (the pink high rise building) which offers convenient transportation from the uptown area.

Executive Chef:
Hiro Takayama/ Tsuyoshi Ono

Private Party Facilities:
the Seating capacity is up to 40 patrons with the capability of full audio and video access with the option to hold company events or to be reserved for personal parties.

Private Party Contact:
James Nix: (704) 519-5160

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nikko Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Bar Seating (12)
See All
Fun (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Live Music (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Romantic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 21 hours ago

Best sushi and shasimi anywhere. My favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Cowboy roll is the best. The fish is so fresh it melts in your mouth. Sushi Love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love Nikko's for sushi and for good drinks and atmosphere. While never crowded, there is usually an energy to Nikko's and service is nice and dependable. Love the more authentic items you can order as appetizers, for sushi, plus traditional Japanese items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nikki's is consistent and the sushi is really goodbut the restaurant needs a facelift. Panels were coming off the wall near our table, the menus were stained/dirty and everything needs a refresh. Our server had to be flagged down to take our order, to bring our bill. Lack of attention to detail is why anillos doesn't come up when searching for top sushi restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Have been twice for sushi, and was very impressed both times. Great sushi and fantastic service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This place has great sushi and appetizers! The service is great and Joanna does a great job making sure the guest are satisfied! Great for big parties or a date night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great experience great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best Sushi around! Over the top great restaurant, with a very extensive menu! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Scenic View, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Late-night Find, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Amazing food only to be trumped by the owner. Charlotte needs more people like her.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was my daughters 16th birthday and she enjoyed it so much! We enjoyed ourselves. And the DJ was on point!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I love this place!! It's always a great time with amazing food and drink. Great for any type of occasion! You can never go wrong when you go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

If you want good food and an awesome vibe definitely come to Nikko's... you will not be disappointed!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was good, but I was not at all impressed with the food. My salad was drenched in ginger dressing, entirely too much. My daughter ordered a medium well steak, & it came out well done, she couldn't even chew it. We had to send it back, & ordered something different. My entree of Lobster, shrimp, & scallop was drenched in teriyaki sauce, I could barely taste the food from all the teriyaki. My dessert, fried green tea ice cream, was the best thing I ordered. Lastly, the prices were a bit too high for the quality of food. Normally, I love Japanese food, however, I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our favorite spot in town. Great sushi and great atmosphere!

Tags: Modern Decor, Dancing, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Attended a birthday celebration. The server was great and they presented the birthday girl with sorbet. Nice time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good, but don't expect to go there and have a conversation with your party! We went at 7:30 on a Saturday night and had to scream across the table to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our waiter Sam was top notch. If I had a restaurant I would try to hire her!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was OK.
Hibachi came out cold and service was slow. There wasn't many people in the restaurant so not sure why things took so long. A friend ordered 2 sushi rolls and both rolls only came out with 5 pieces each so he returned it back and the chef made a new roll for him with 6 pieces but for the price it wasn't enough food. Waitress was nice and brought out complimentary ice cream, it was OK.
We love coming here but i think tonight was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Calamari wasn't the best; dry and rubbery. I usually order sushi, which is always delish but today I tried the salmon dinner. Let's just say I will be ordering sushi the next time I visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had a very bad experience. 1s t time dining here. We had a big party but with 2 waitresses our service was awful. It 2 hours after placing our order for the food to arrive, when it did it was cold for some in our party. A few paid in cash and was given a 2nd bill. The manager was nonchalant about everything. Reservations were made so they knew we were coming a head of time to be able to give our group excellent service. For some this was a 1st and last time dining there.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Vibrant atmosphere with young professionals. Good service and great sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good sushi but the noise level is unbearable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I love this place! It is a must if you have not been yet.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the restaurant but it was SO loud. We love the sushi, though, and the owner is fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Im going to start with what I liked, which was the atmosphere and the private booths. Other than that our waiter messed my order up 2 times (I'm assuming because the music made it hard for him to hear me. When I finally receive the meal I didn't ask for , it was very bland. Overall it was a disappointment!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was such an amazing dining experience! I loved that it was kind of a "club-like" vibe with amazing upbeat music. The food was also amazing 👌🏼 certainly will be dining here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was excellent, but the music is way too loud.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The parking situation is confusing and I have been to Nikkos plenty of times. Please consult with property management on signage to direct patrons to the right exits when trying to get from their parking space to the restaurant in a comfortable way. I was lost in a staircase with heels on and had to walk outside to get into the restaurant. :-(

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My service sucked I had reservations @9:00 I did t get seated till 10:15 my food was cold my service sucked and I was billed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really enjoyed this restaurant! The service was great. The employee were very friendly and the food was wonderful!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious food, great energy with DJ on weekends after 8 or 9pm. Sake bombs are a must if never had since the owner Joanna comes out dancing and singing with a funky boa and hat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great environment!! I always enjoy with family and friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Private Room, Family Style, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Loved this place. Highly recommend !great wait staff and fresh, delicious food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

the service in this restaurant was horrible. We were seated for about 20 minutes before someone came to take our order. even then I had to ask someone to come to our table. The lady took our order and didn't ask us what we wanted to drink. our food was brought out and she handed us water.

More than likely I probably wouldn't go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love the DJ and lounge atmosphere while dining. Love the owner as well!! Wonderful place

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cool concept. The decor could be cooler but no other "high end" spot in Charlotte with the live DJ and energy that this place has. Reminds me of some Dallas Steak houses. Classy and Turnt.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great restaurant for any occasion. Love the owers involvement on a nightly basis with all the guest

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Dancing, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service is quick and pleasant, the sushi is delicious and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.