Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Nikko Japanese Restaurant

4.3
488 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Perfect For:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Fun
  • Special Occasion
Nikko Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar has a high energy atmosphere with a contemporary style. We are known for inventive, excellent, award winning sushi as well as the finest modern Japanese cuisine. Nikko has the feel of a upscale New York city restaurant with the promise to be hot and sexy. We have an assortment of over 300 bottles of fine wines as well as a full service bar. We feature a large private dining room with a full projection screen for company events or any other special occasion. Joannas welcoming personality with feather boa and trademark cowboy hat with tambourine overwhelms guests with "Sushi Love" when sake bombs are requested.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 370-0100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hiro Takayama/ Tsuyoshi Ono
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
the Seating capacity is up to 40 patrons with the capability of full audio and video access with the option to hold company events or to be reserved for personal parties.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
James Nix: (704) 519-5160
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
With advanced notice we accommodate any catering event for company or personal needs. We offer a sushi chef to be on site to insure authenticity.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
South Blvd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complimentary valet parking as well as reserved parking with great access to the restaurant through the elevator to our lobby entrance.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The light rail stops at the Bland Street Station behind Nikko Japanese Restaurant (the pink high rise building) which offers convenient transportation from the uptown area.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We feature a Live DJ on Friday and Saturday nights.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 488 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
3.9
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Excellent and tasty. Very noisy and energetic, not someplace for a laidback experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

It took 50 minutes to get our drinks and that was after we tracked down the manager. Almost an hour and twenty minutes to get our appetizers. My friend got the chicken fried rice. It looks like a kids sized portion and dinner. It was just chicken and rice and it was missing all the veggies that were listed on the menu. When we brought it up to the waitress she did nothing. The sushi wasn't anything special and it had to end pieces that made no sense. Cheap I say.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I've been to Nikko several times for birthdays and other special occasions. It seems fun, has awesome loud music and a DJ, and the sushi is more than decent. Their downfall is the service. The restaurant starts to get a club vibe after 8 pm on a Saturday and that's all fine and good — some restaurants are very successful with a club/restaurant scene. But Nikko simply isn't good at it. The servers are far too flustered and backed up and distracted. Three out of 17 of our guests NEVER received their food. None of it. Not even an update. Those three guests left the restaurant to eat at a fast food chain down the street, instead. And again, this was for someone's birthday! The owner should focus more on great customer service, and spend less time dancing with drunk patrons. It was a horrible experience and put a really bad taste in my mouth. I won't be back for a celebration of any sort.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Lobster roll was amazing. Fun atmosphere. We will be going here again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I wouldn't call the noise level "Energetic" but with this site's lack of options, that's all I'm allowed. I'd go for more of a "So loud you can't hold a conversation with the person sitting next to you, and the waiter has to lean all the way in to hear your order" type loudness. Not a place for an intimate date, or to hold any type of conversation other than literally texting the person right next to you.
However, the waiter was friendly, and had a smile on his face, and kept the sake flowing.
The food was nothing to write home about, but wasn't inedible either.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Incredibly loud. None of the food came as described. Rolls did not have sausage as listed. Dessert did not have ice cream or sauce as listed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Sushi is amazing and the atmosphere is great! They have a dj and make it a fun date night without having to go out out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Good vibes

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Both the service and sushi were really good. It was also a nice surprise that they had a thirsty Thursday special going (half off cocktails). I really enjoyed everything, so it was strange that the place was nearly empty. I did notice, though, that there were a few families with toddlers there, which was a little weird considering that the restaurant is more of a cocktail bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Awesome place, truly enjoyed the food, music and drinks. The service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Birthday dinner and it was awesome! I love this place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

As always - I had an awesome experience at Nikko's. Their sushi is truly some of the best in CLT. That also have a cool, trendy, vibe that oozes from every corner and crevice of this CLT favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Yes go to Nikko weekly and it is my go-to for guests and special occasions. Joanna is amazing- best Sushi restaurant in Charlotte!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Went there for my birthday Friday night. Had the best time, energy was lively and fun, nice ambiance. Most notable was our server. She was fantastic, very attentive, and fun spirited! They came out with the best bday dessert a straight girl could ever ask for, which included two scoops of delicious, refreshing mango ice cream, a banana, and whipped cream! It was the perfect ending to my night!! THank you!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Great Food, we arrived at 7:30 did not get food until 9
Love the Spirit of Owner and staff

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We went there for our Valentine's, made reservations way in advance - beautiful restaurant. They placed us in this back room that had no atmosphere, tables and chairs looked cheap and seemed messy from previous diners, no windows and large projector TV - sports bar? We went there when we dated back in the 80's and smaller place than the present location. Food was excellent as I remember but felt like we were not even in the restaurant, not valued customer, just pushed to a little back room for overflow! Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My wife and I visited Nikko on Valentine's Night. We had a great experience and enjoyed the food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The food is not that great for the price. The music was too loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Love the live DJ!!!! The atmosphere here is super sexy and very energetic. One of my new favs in town! Sushi is great too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

It was my Birthday. I had a wonderful time!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Love this place! The atmosphere is very fun, energetic, almost clubby (I've only been there on Saturday nights). Every time I've been there, the DJ plays the best songs! Their sushi is the best I've had. Perfect place for a get together or get a round of drinks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Celebrating Co worker promotion

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Be very careful how you order at this restaurant. We ordered a $35 bottle of saki. Our waiter came back and told us they were out of the $35 but that we could get "the 50". We mistakenly assumed he meant $50. No- he meant 50L - which was $130! When we got the bill it was $330 for 4 of us. Regardless of how good the food may have been (and it was just ok, not fantastic) - it spoiled my appetite for going back to Nikko ever again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Love love love this place! This was my first visit! Food was great! Loved the live DJ. Awesome vibe and fun atmosphere. Will definitely be returning!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Very nice and the food was good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

the music was so loud, it was impossible to have a conversation. For that reason, I would never go back for dinner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We had a HORRIBLE service experience with Stephanie. It took 30 minutes for her to initially come to our table, and additional 20 for the drinks to come out, the food to take more

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Went on a Saturday night over a long weekend (mlk day weekend) and the music was very loud, could barely talk to anyone at the table and it was very crowded by our booth and there was not much room to walk out and go to the bathroom. But this is my 4th time here and the food is fantastic, moderate value but still fantastic, and that will be the reason I keep returning, but probably never again on a weekend

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2018

A busy night with multiple large groups. We got a seat in the corner and were largely neglected. The owner danced by us several times with her famous cowboy hat on, but never even looked at us. From the beginning drinks, napkins and utensils, to the bill, we had to grab our waitress and ask for service. The food has always been great and the ambience loud, I will try them again, hopefully just a bad night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Food is always awesome!! Our waitress is always a pleasure!! I don’t know her name but she always waits on us and knows everything we like. Love her❤️

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We went especially for the oysters. Called ahead to make sure they were on the menu, was told that they were and after ordering our food was very disappointed to find out they weren’t. We came especially for the oysters but stayed anyway. The meal was good but very disappointed about them telling us over the phone that they had oysters when they didn’t. Would’ve went elsewhere if we had known.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Our sushi order never showed up. When we asked for the order to be cancelled after waiting over 30 minutes the waitress argued with us, saying that the food was already being prepared. We then asked to speak to the manager and instead of bringing over anyone, the waitress brought the check, which included the sushi that we still hadn't received, but the manager never showed up. Not a great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Energetic spot in South End! Sushi is amazing as is the owner and the staff. We have been twice in the last 2 months!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

They did not honor my reservation time. I Had to wait an additional 30 minutes and then i was only offered seating at the bar.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was excellent as usual! The service was not good though.... everything was very slow and we did t get any of the appetizers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

A group of us went for NYE and it was so much fun! Great atmosphere and delicious food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

One of my favorite places in charlotte great food drinks and sushi. Even a DJ on Friday’s!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Nikko's has a beautiful ambiance and an EXCELLENT DJ. It's always laughs, good food, great service and a FUN owner that makes her rounds during the entire evening! Great for a date night, a girls night out or a celebration event, even a quick bite. The online reservation process is easy as well. Complimentary valet is AWESOME as well. The parking deck is a bit tricky, so take advantage of that complimentary valet service. But tip the guys well cause they deserve it! I LOVE this spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Service was great, food came out fast and was delicious!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13