About Nikko Japanese Restaurant

325 Arlington Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Nikko Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar has a high energy atmosphere with a contemporary style. We are known for inventive, excellent, award winning sushi as well as the finest modern Japanese cuisine. Nikko has the feel of a upscale New York city restaurant with the promise to be hot and sexy. We have an assortment of over 300 bottles of fine wines as well as a full service bar. We feature a large private dining room with a full projection screen for company events or any other special occasion. Joannas welcoming personality with feather boa and trademark cowboy hat with tambourine overwhelms guests with "Sushi Love" when sake bombs are requested.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-0100

Website:
http://www.nikkosushibar.net/

Entertainment:
We feature a Live DJ on Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
With advanced notice we accommodate any catering event for company or personal needs. We offer a sushi chef to be on site to insure authenticity.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking as well as reserved parking with great access to the restaurant through the elevator to our lobby entrance.

Public Transit:
The light rail stops at the Bland Street Station behind Nikko Japanese Restaurant (the pink high rise building) which offers convenient transportation from the uptown area.

Executive Chef:
Hiro Takayama/ Tsuyoshi Ono

Private Party Facilities:
the Seating capacity is up to 40 patrons with the capability of full audio and video access with the option to hold company events or to be reserved for personal parties.

Private Party Contact:
James Nix: (704) 519-5160

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nikko Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (9)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Romantic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (3)
Live Music (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Live Sports (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food, great energy with DJ on ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food, great energy with DJ on weekends after 8 or 9pm. Sake bombs are a must if never had since the owner Joanna comes out dancing and singing with a funky boa and hat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great environment!! I always enjoy with ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great environment!! I always enjoy with family and friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Private Room, Family Style, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place. Highly recommend !grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Loved this place. Highly recommend !great wait staff and fresh, delicious food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service in this restaurant was horri ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

the service in this restaurant was horrible. We were seated for about 20 minutes before someone came to take our order. even then I had to ask someone to come to our table. The lady took our order and didn't ask us what we wanted to drink. our food was brought out and she handed us water.

More than likely I probably wouldn't go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Love the DJ and lounge atmosphere while ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love the DJ and lounge atmosphere while dining. Love the owner as well!! Wonderful place

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for any occasion. Love ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great restaurant for any occasion. Love the owers involvement on a nightly basis with all the guest

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Dancing, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool concept. The decor could be cooler ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cool concept. The decor could be cooler but no other "high end" spot in Charlotte with the live DJ and energy that this place has. Reminds me of some Dallas Steak houses. Classy and Turnt.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Service is quick and pleasant, the sushi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service is quick and pleasant, the sushi is delicious and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing NYE dinner here. The foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had an amazing NYE dinner here. The food was amazing and the service was great! Wish we lived in Charlotte so that we could dine there often!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best birthday ever!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The absolute best birthday ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall vibe of nikkos is upbeat and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The overall vibe of nikkos is upbeat and modern. A very fun place to be, especially for party's or just going out to have some fun with friends. I didn't try the sushi but the dumplings and steak that I had were absolutely amazing.

Tags: Great Beer, Modern Decor, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Solid place for sushi. Great variety of ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Solid place for sushi. Great variety of options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great sushi, sashimi and a variety of ot ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great sushi, sashimi and a variety of other dishes. We tried several appetizers, drinks, sushi, sashimi and entrees. Great spot, vibrant and exciting. Parking is a downfall but there is a quick valet service ready to assist.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service at Nikko is always a little ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service at Nikko is always a little challenging but the food is wonderful! Some servers are super! Others are somewhat sterile.

But the chefs are always on par!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I brought my husband to Nikko's for his ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I brought my husband to Nikko's for his birthday. I'd been before, so I knew the noise level was high...we don't mind that sort of thing! The hostess, Priscilla, was friendly and showed us to our table within a couple minutes of our arrival. My husband didn't like the location and told her we'd wait for a booth. She didn't mind at all and in less than 5 minutes we got a great booth! Our server was Kevin, and he was great! He wasn't super hands on, but that was how we liked it.. We had some questions, and he answered all of them. We will be back-it's my husband's new favorite sushi place! Oh, and the sushi was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service !!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time dining at Nikko. It was my ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My first time dining at Nikko. It was my daughter's birthday. She loves sushi and ate a fantastic meal!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had to write a negative revie ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I've never had to write a negative review before, but having to wait for an open table in a half empty restaurant? Walked past the valet playing football in the lot. The DJ needs to go. Too loud to hear anyone. It's like someone wanted to keep a high school drop out on payroll for working 2 nights a week. Horrible service as no one took our order after 15 min. Yet, they had time to clean larger tables for the tip. They also didn't have any sodas or lemonade available. Way to ruin an evening. You can see why they do so much carry out instead.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Things have gone down hill. The last few ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Things have gone down hill. The last few times we've been here the service has slowed down and the atmosphere has changed. Aside from our regular in and out visits we always make a big deal to go here for special occasions. Our visit Saturday night was extremely subpar to say the least. They've gone from making it a personal dining experience that made you, and your group feel special, the new mantra of Nikko's seems to be herding cattle and how many people can they get in and out. Sadly I don't think we will be going back. As good as the food was the horrendous service ruined it, and the special occasion.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Three of us visited looking for really g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Three of us visited looking for really good sushi and we were not disappointed!! The food tasted as good as it looked! If we are back in town we will be back. I also liked that there were tvs with football on on Monday night! Atmosphere was more high end though.

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I don't know how Nikko's does it but the ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I don't know how Nikko's does it but the sushi is consistently the best I have anywhere. If you have not been, you should go!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great sushi. Loud music. Good service.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great sushi. Loud music. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Fresh and good quality overall, with a t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh and good quality overall, with a touch of Americanized taste which couldn't make it for an authentic Japanese, but good experience. Music is energetic, bit club like and Miami atmosphere. Staff was ok but not the usual Charlotte friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great ambiance and atmosphere. I loved t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great ambiance and atmosphere. I loved the overall look. Sushi was fresh and very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and drinks were great! Hands d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food and drinks were great! Hands down the best sushi in town.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love some nikkos

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always love some nikkos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious and the place was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the place was nice and cozy. Great date night spot!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nikko never disappoints! Have been an av ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Nikko never disappoints! Have been an avid fan for over a decade and each time is as good as the first. Missing out if you've never been. Great place to go on night when its not so crowded, and also great to go when it is crowded to people watch and enjoy good food.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Professional and friendly staff. Sushi w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Professional and friendly staff. Sushi was appealing and fresh. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Only complaint is how LOUD t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food. Only complaint is how LOUD the music is. We couldn't hear each other and had to SCREAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That was NOT fun. :(

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a good spot for sushi and to gath ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a good spot for sushi and to gather with friends. A bit pricey, but if you know that going in then you'll be prepared. Good selection of rolls ... just watch out for the sake bombs ( when the owner walks around and pitches them, it sounds fun but they'll add up quick on the bill)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great time! The energy is alway ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great time! The energy is always so fun at Nikko

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The noise level was loud because of the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The noise level was loud because of the music but that's what I liked about it! We were going to go to a club after dinner but didn't need to because we danced in our seats while we ate and then stayed longer because of the great Dj!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was OUTSTANDING. Wish i could ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server was OUTSTANDING. Wish i could recall her name..

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Charlotte's queen feast even ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went for Charlotte's queen feast event with the fixed price of $30 for appetiser, entree, and dessert. I have heard people told me before Nikko is the most expensive Japanese restaurant here in Charlotte, so I was very excited to try to find out about the quality of the fish. The sashimi deluxe was amazing. Everything was fresh. I am not sure what's the regular price, but the fixed price menu was awesome and I wish they would have event like this again in the near future. There's nothing I did not like about the food. The only complains I have were 1) the server was not very attentative - I am not sure how it happened but for my dessert ice cream he gave me a spoon that was so dirty and gross had strange orange stuff on the spoon (of course he did replace it with new dessert immediately but it should not have happened in the first place. this is not a cheap restaurant). 2) after dinner the next day or so when I was checking my credit card, I was not sure why the server attempted to charge my meal 3 times at the pending page...? I had to call the restaurant to assure the 2 additional charges were void. I thought that was a little bizarre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Best Sushi in Charlotte!!!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best Sushi in Charlotte!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very friendly and prompt des ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was very friendly and prompt despite being very busy. It almost has a club feel, the bar is hopping and the music is very loud, so don't expect to have great conversation. This is definitely more of a place to party. The food is on the expensive side but very good I've never been dissapointed and always had great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ordered Omkase and it was good but no ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We ordered Omkase and it was good but nothing special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The sushi is good, although expensive. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The sushi is good, although expensive. The noise level is SO BAD, we will not go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Nikkos menu is very expansive and incred ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nikkos menu is very expansive and incredibly affordable for the quality of food that they serve. The only problem is that you will want to try nearly everything on it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.