About Nikko Japanese Restaurant

325 Arlington Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Nikko Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar has a high energy atmosphere with a contemporary style. We are known for inventive, excellent, award winning sushi as well as the finest modern Japanese cuisine. Nikko has the feel of a upscale New York city restaurant with the promise to be hot and sexy. We have an assortment of over 300 bottles of fine wines as well as a full service bar. We feature a large private dining room with a full projection screen for company events or any other special occasion. Joannas welcoming personality with feather boa and trademark cowboy hat with tambourine overwhelms guests with "Sushi Love" when sake bombs are requested.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-0100

Website:
http://www.nikkosushibar.net/

Entertainment:
We feature a Live DJ on Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
With advanced notice we accommodate any catering event for company or personal needs. We offer a sushi chef to be on site to insure authenticity.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking as well as reserved parking with great access to the restaurant through the elevator to our lobby entrance.

Public Transit:
The light rail stops at the Bland Street Station behind Nikko Japanese Restaurant (the pink high rise building) which offers convenient transportation from the uptown area.

Executive Chef:
Hiro Takayama/ Tsuyoshi Ono

Private Party Facilities:
the Seating capacity is up to 40 patrons with the capability of full audio and video access with the option to hold company events or to be reserved for personal parties.

Private Party Contact:
James Nix: 7045195160

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nikko Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
See All
Romantic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I brought my husband to Nikko's for his ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I brought my husband to Nikko's for his birthday. I'd been before, so I knew the noise level was high...we don't mind that sort of thing! The hostess, Priscilla, was friendly and showed us to our table within a couple minutes of our arrival. My husband didn't like the location and told her we'd wait for a booth. She didn't mind at all and in less than 5 minutes we got a great booth! Our server was Kevin, and he was great! He wasn't super hands on, but that was how we liked it.. We had some questions, and he answered all of them. We will be back-it's my husband's new favorite sushi place! Oh, and the sushi was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service !!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time dining at Nikko. It was my ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My first time dining at Nikko. It was my daughter's birthday. She loves sushi and ate a fantastic meal!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had to write a negative revie ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I've never had to write a negative review before, but having to wait for an open table in a half empty restaurant? Walked past the valet playing football in the lot. The DJ needs to go. Too loud to hear anyone. It's like someone wanted to keep a high school drop out on payroll for working 2 nights a week. Horrible service as no one took our order after 15 min. Yet, they had time to clean larger tables for the tip. They also didn't have any sodas or lemonade available. Way to ruin an evening. You can see why they do so much carry out instead.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Things have gone down hill. The last few ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Things have gone down hill. The last few times we've been here the service has slowed down and the atmosphere has changed. Aside from our regular in and out visits we always make a big deal to go here for special occasions. Our visit Saturday night was extremely subpar to say the least. They've gone from making it a personal dining experience that made you, and your group feel special, the new mantra of Nikko's seems to be herding cattle and how many people can they get in and out. Sadly I don't think we will be going back. As good as the food was the horrendous service ruined it, and the special occasion.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Three of us visited looking for really g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Three of us visited looking for really good sushi and we were not disappointed!! The food tasted as good as it looked! If we are back in town we will be back. I also liked that there were tvs with football on on Monday night! Atmosphere was more high end though.

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I don't know how Nikko's does it but the ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I don't know how Nikko's does it but the sushi is consistently the best I have anywhere. If you have not been, you should go!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great sushi. Loud music. Good service.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great sushi. Loud music. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Fresh and good quality overall, with a t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh and good quality overall, with a touch of Americanized taste which couldn't make it for an authentic Japanese, but good experience. Music is energetic, bit club like and Miami atmosphere. Staff was ok but not the usual Charlotte friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great ambiance and atmosphere. I loved t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great ambiance and atmosphere. I loved the overall look. Sushi was fresh and very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and drinks were great! Hands d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food and drinks were great! Hands down the best sushi in town.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the place was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the place was nice and cozy. Great date night spot!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nikko never disappoints! Have been an av ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Nikko never disappoints! Have been an avid fan for over a decade and each time is as good as the first. Missing out if you've never been. Great place to go on night when its not so crowded, and also great to go when it is crowded to people watch and enjoy good food.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Professional and friendly staff. Sushi w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Professional and friendly staff. Sushi was appealing and fresh. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Only complaint is how LOUD t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food. Only complaint is how LOUD the music is. We couldn't hear each other and had to SCREAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That was NOT fun. :(

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a good spot for sushi and to gath ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a good spot for sushi and to gather with friends. A bit pricey, but if you know that going in then you'll be prepared. Good selection of rolls ... just watch out for the sake bombs ( when the owner walks around and pitches them, it sounds fun but they'll add up quick on the bill)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great time! The energy is alway ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great time! The energy is always so fun at Nikko

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The noise level was loud because of the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The noise level was loud because of the music but that's what I liked about it! We were going to go to a club after dinner but didn't need to because we danced in our seats while we ate and then stayed longer because of the great Dj!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was OUTSTANDING. Wish i could ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server was OUTSTANDING. Wish i could recall her name..

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Charlotte's queen feast even ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went for Charlotte's queen feast event with the fixed price of $30 for appetiser, entree, and dessert. I have heard people told me before Nikko is the most expensive Japanese restaurant here in Charlotte, so I was very excited to try to find out about the quality of the fish. The sashimi deluxe was amazing. Everything was fresh. I am not sure what's the regular price, but the fixed price menu was awesome and I wish they would have event like this again in the near future. There's nothing I did not like about the food. The only complains I have were 1) the server was not very attentative - I am not sure how it happened but for my dessert ice cream he gave me a spoon that was so dirty and gross had strange orange stuff on the spoon (of course he did replace it with new dessert immediately but it should not have happened in the first place. this is not a cheap restaurant). 2) after dinner the next day or so when I was checking my credit card, I was not sure why the server attempted to charge my meal 3 times at the pending page...? I had to call the restaurant to assure the 2 additional charges were void. I thought that was a little bizarre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Best Sushi in Charlotte!!!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best Sushi in Charlotte!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very friendly and prompt des ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was very friendly and prompt despite being very busy. It almost has a club feel, the bar is hopping and the music is very loud, so don't expect to have great conversation. This is definitely more of a place to party. The food is on the expensive side but very good I've never been dissapointed and always had great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ordered Omkase and it was good but no ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We ordered Omkase and it was good but nothing special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The sushi is good, although expensive. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The sushi is good, although expensive. The noise level is SO BAD, we will not go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Nikkos menu is very expansive and incred ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nikkos menu is very expansive and incredibly affordable for the quality of food that they serve. The only problem is that you will want to try nearly everything on it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sushi

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our favorite is the Dynomite Cracker roll. We also had the Crunchy Salmon and Crazy roll which all were excellent. Great place for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome experience. You will not be disa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome experience. You will not be disappointed! The food is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great environment, delicious food and great service. We will definitely come back and recommend you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi Only

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I would only order sushi at this restaurant. The sushi was very good. The food on the regular menu was very suspect and not very good quality at all. Service was pretty good, non sushi related food was very questionable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Charlotte is not particularly known for Sushi...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Usually wouldn't eat Sushi without prior experience or a reliable recommdation, but had a craving. Nikko is passable, and probably Okay if your idea of Sushi is just rolls. I like Sashimi. Tuna was passable, but poorly sliced, and Uni was 'off'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A Little Loud

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I had a late dinner at 9PM. The music was just too loud for our taste. Overall the food and service were very good and we will return, but maybe earlier before the restaurant becomes a night club.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This place is delicious. I love the dj t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2016

This place is delicious. I love the dj they had on Saturday. My group of friends had a lovely time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, the DJ atmosphere was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was good, the DJ atmosphere was unexpected and loud so it was difficult to have a conversation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Great Dining Experience!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2016

I dined at Nikko for my birthday with a group of friends. I absolutely LOVED it! Great atmosphere, great music, and great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The VIP roll was excellent! Awesome bott ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2016

The VIP roll was excellent!

Awesome bottle selection too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good Sushi *

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Very good food, awesome service and great ambience. I went to a Tuesday and de music was perfect, not to loud like I saw at some reviews.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

So tasty, SO LOUD.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 20, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants, but our last visit was a bit of a disappointment. Usually my fiance and I go together for special occasions, but we invited my parents and sister to celebrate a birthday. The food was delicious as always, the service was fantastic and attentive, but the music was so loud that it ruined the experience. It was 8:30pm on a Saturday and they had a house DJ playing. While the music was great, it was incredibly loud. The waitress couldn't hear us to take our order, and we couldn't hear each other to converse. It felt like we were at a club- which isn't the most pleasant when you're having dinner. We left the meal with headaches and ringing ears. For the record- we're in our twenties.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The food was good. The wait staff was go ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was good. The wait staff was good. It had a club like feel to it. Definitely enjoyed it and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sushi

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Sushi great! Alicia our server was excellent . Only negative was music too loud before 8p.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best sushi in Charlotte!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Had a great time celebrating a birthday! The owner Joanna is great and brought over sake bombs! The only suggestion I would have is not turn the music up quite so loud that you can't talk. I liked it at first, but it gradually got so loud we could hear each other without yelling. The music was fun, young and hip just like the decor. Service was excellent and lots of young folks there. A fun place with awesome food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.