Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Nikko Japanese Restaurant

Nikko Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar has a high energy atmosphere with a contemporary style. We are known for inventive, excellent, award winning sushi as well as the finest modern Japanese cuisine. Nikko has the feel of a upscale New York city restaurant with the promise to be hot and sexy. We have an assortment of over 300 bottles of fine wines as well as a full service bar. We feature a large private dining room with a full projection screen for company events or any other special occasion. Joannas welcoming personality with feather boa and trademark cowboy hat with tambourine overwhelms guests with "Sushi Love" when sake bombs are requested.

325 Arlington Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-0100

Website:
http://www.nikkosushibar.net/

Entertainment:
We feature a Live DJ on Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
With advanced notice we accommodate any catering event for company or personal needs. We offer a sushi chef to be on site to insure authenticity.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking as well as reserved parking with great access to the restaurant through the elevator to our lobby entrance.

Public Transit:
The light rail stops at the Bland Street Station behind Nikko Japanese Restaurant (the pink high rise building) which offers convenient transportation from the uptown area.

Executive Chef:
Hiro Takayama/ Tsuyoshi Ono

Private Party Facilities:
the Seating capacity is up to 40 patrons with the capability of full audio and video access with the option to hold company events or to be reserved for personal parties.

Private Party Contact:
James Nix: (704) 519-5160

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nikko Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (5)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 13 hours ago

Nikko's is mine and my friend's favorite sushi restaurant in town but tonight may have just ruined it for us. Despite the perfect sushi, the ambiance was totally disrupted by the obnoxiously loud music that started at 8pm. This is not one of those uptown restaurants that turns into a club at night time--especially at 8pm! We literally couldn't even have a conversation at a booth because it was so loud. To note, we are not elderly, cantankerous women-we are 29 year old, fun loving girls. Even for us, the music was entirely too loud for dinner and I honestly doubt we'll be back. We were incredibly disappointed tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My overall experience at Nikkos was not great and it was my birthday. I did not feel special at all, compared to my last experience. That's why I chose Nikkos again to have my birthday dinner. My table was given away after making reservations. I was put back into this room where you could barley hear the music. Customer service overall really sucked. I wouldn't have my birthday dinner there ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Table of 7 all with excellent sushi and drinks. Love their menu - nice variety. Our server, Samantha, was wonderful. We like the loud music on the weekend evenings. Very upbeat atmosphere and fun staff. Had a great time.

Not a place for kids. Inappropriate and awkward with the clubby music and happenings. Same great food here Sunday - Thursday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great variety of sushi, value is questionable, but overall great experience. Will def go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Gotta love Nikko's still after 19years THE BEST SUSHI in Charlotte. Joanna and her team have always delivered fresh Suhi, great service and always a fun evening. Sushi Love!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Felt like a club. Music played by DJ was so loud I couldn't hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

AMAZING sushi! All were reasonably priced as well. Some were a little pricy though. My dad ordered the hot sake and really enjoyed it. Our waitress was super friendly!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great food but dont get there much after 2pm since the close grom 3 til 430

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Outstanding experience. Definitely a must if you are in the Charlotte area.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Awesome experience for my bridal shower! The food, the service and the atmosphere was awesome!

Tags: Spicy, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Best sushi and shasimi anywhere. My favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Cowboy roll is the best. The fish is so fresh it melts in your mouth. Sushi Love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love Nikko's for sushi and for good drinks and atmosphere. While never crowded, there is usually an energy to Nikko's and service is nice and dependable. Love the more authentic items you can order as appetizers, for sushi, plus traditional Japanese items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nikki's is consistent and the sushi is really goodbut the restaurant needs a facelift. Panels were coming off the wall near our table, the menus were stained/dirty and everything needs a refresh. Our server had to be flagged down to take our order, to bring our bill. Lack of attention to detail is why anillos doesn't come up when searching for top sushi restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Have been twice for sushi, and was very impressed both times. Great sushi and fantastic service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This place has great sushi and appetizers! The service is great and Joanna does a great job making sure the guest are satisfied! Great for big parties or a date night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great sushi!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great Experience as Usual!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great experience great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best Sushi around! Over the top great restaurant, with a very extensive menu! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Scenic View, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Hot Spot, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Amazing food only to be trumped by the owner. Charlotte needs more people like her.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was my daughters 16th birthday and she enjoyed it so much! We enjoyed ourselves. And the DJ was on point!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I love this place!! It's always a great time with amazing food and drink. Great for any type of occasion! You can never go wrong when you go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

If you want good food and an awesome vibe definitely come to Nikko's... you will not be disappointed!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was good, but I was not at all impressed with the food. My salad was drenched in ginger dressing, entirely too much. My daughter ordered a medium well steak, & it came out well done, she couldn't even chew it. We had to send it back, & ordered something different. My entree of Lobster, shrimp, & scallop was drenched in teriyaki sauce, I could barely taste the food from all the teriyaki. My dessert, fried green tea ice cream, was the best thing I ordered. Lastly, the prices were a bit too high for the quality of food. Normally, I love Japanese food, however, I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our favorite spot in town. Great sushi and great atmosphere!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Attended a birthday celebration. The server was great and they presented the birthday girl with sorbet. Nice time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was good, but don't expect to go there and have a conversation with your party! We went at 7:30 on a Saturday night and had to scream across the table to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our waiter Sam was top notch. If I had a restaurant I would try to hire her!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was OK.
Hibachi came out cold and service was slow. There wasn't many people in the restaurant so not sure why things took so long. A friend ordered 2 sushi rolls and both rolls only came out with 5 pieces each so he returned it back and the chef made a new roll for him with 6 pieces but for the price it wasn't enough food. Waitress was nice and brought out complimentary ice cream, it was OK.
We love coming here but i think tonight was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Calamari wasn't the best; dry and rubbery. I usually order sushi, which is always delish but today I tried the salmon dinner. Let's just say I will be ordering sushi the next time I visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had a very bad experience. 1s t time dining here. We had a big party but with 2 waitresses our service was awful. It 2 hours after placing our order for the food to arrive, when it did it was cold for some in our party. A few paid in cash and was given a 2nd bill. The manager was nonchalant about everything. Reservations were made so they knew we were coming a head of time to be able to give our group excellent service. For some this was a 1st and last time dining there.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Vibrant atmosphere with young professionals. Good service and great sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good sushi but the noise level is unbearable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love this place! It is a must if you have not been yet.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Loved the restaurant but it was SO loud. We love the sushi, though, and the owner is fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Im going to start with what I liked, which was the atmosphere and the private booths. Other than that our waiter messed my order up 2 times (I'm assuming because the music made it hard for him to hear me. When I finally receive the meal I didn't ask for , it was very bland. Overall it was a disappointment!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was such an amazing dining experience! I loved that it was kind of a "club-like" vibe with amazing upbeat music. The food was also amazing 👌🏼 certainly will be dining here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.