About Nikko Japanese Restaurant

325 Arlington Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Nikko Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar has a high energy atmosphere with a contemporary style. We are known for inventive, excellent, award winning sushi as well as the finest modern Japanese cuisine. Nikko has the feel of a upscale New York city restaurant with the promise to be hot and sexy. We have an assortment of over 300 bottles of fine wines as well as a full service bar. We feature a large private dining room with a full projection screen for company events or any other special occasion. Joannas welcoming personality with feather boa and trademark cowboy hat with tambourine overwhelms guests with "Sushi Love" when sake bombs are requested.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-0100

Website:
http://www.nikkosushibar.net/

Entertainment:
We feature a Live DJ on Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
With advanced notice we accommodate any catering event for company or personal needs. We offer a sushi chef to be on site to insure authenticity.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking as well as reserved parking with great access to the restaurant through the elevator to our lobby entrance.

Public Transit:
The light rail stops at the Bland Street Station behind Nikko Japanese Restaurant (the pink high rise building) which offers convenient transportation from the uptown area.

Executive Chef:
Hiro Takayama/ Tsuyoshi Ono

Private Party Facilities:
the Seating capacity is up to 40 patrons with the capability of full audio and video access with the option to hold company events or to be reserved for personal parties.

Private Party Contact:
James Nix: (704) 519-5160

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nikko Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
See All
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Live Music (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Cozy (2)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Calamari wasn't the best; dry and rubber ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Calamari wasn't the best; dry and rubbery. I usually order sushi, which is always delish but today I tried the salmon dinner. Let's just say I will be ordering sushi the next time I visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Had a very bad experience. 1s t time di ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a very bad experience. 1s t time dining here. We had a big party but with 2 waitresses our service was awful. It 2 hours after placing our order for the food to arrive, when it did it was cold for some in our party. A few paid in cash and was given a 2nd bill. The manager was nonchalant about everything. Reservations were made so they knew we were coming a head of time to be able to give our group excellent service. For some this was a 1st and last time dining there.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Vibrant atmosphere with young profession ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Vibrant atmosphere with young professionals. Good service and great sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good sushi but the noise level is unbear ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good sushi but the noise level is unbearable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I love this place! It is a must if you h ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I love this place! It is a must if you have not been yet.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the restaurant but it was SO loud. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the restaurant but it was SO loud. We love the sushi, though, and the owner is fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Im going to start with what I liked, whi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Im going to start with what I liked, which was the atmosphere and the private booths. Other than that our waiter messed my order up 2 times (I'm assuming because the music made it hard for him to hear me. When I finally receive the meal I didn't ask for , it was very bland. Overall it was a disappointment!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

This was such an amazing dining experien ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was such an amazing dining experience! I loved that it was kind of a "club-like" vibe with amazing upbeat music. The food was also amazing 👌🏼 certainly will be dining here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food and service

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, but the music is ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was excellent, but the music is way too loud.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The parking situation is confusing and I ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The parking situation is confusing and I have been to Nikkos plenty of times. Please consult with property management on signage to direct patrons to the right exits when trying to get from their parking space to the restaurant in a comfortable way. I was lost in a staircase with heels on and had to walk outside to get into the restaurant. :-(

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My service sucked I had reservations @9: ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My service sucked I had reservations @9:00 I did t get seated till 10:15 my food was cold my service sucked and I was billed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Really enjoyed this restaurant! The serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really enjoyed this restaurant! The service was great. The employee were very friendly and the food was wonderful!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great energy with DJ on ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious food, great energy with DJ on weekends after 8 or 9pm. Sake bombs are a must if never had since the owner Joanna comes out dancing and singing with a funky boa and hat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great environment!! I always enjoy with ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great environment!! I always enjoy with family and friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Private Room, Family Style, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place. Highly recommend !grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Loved this place. Highly recommend !great wait staff and fresh, delicious food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service in this restaurant was horri ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

the service in this restaurant was horrible. We were seated for about 20 minutes before someone came to take our order. even then I had to ask someone to come to our table. The lady took our order and didn't ask us what we wanted to drink. our food was brought out and she handed us water.

More than likely I probably wouldn't go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Love the DJ and lounge atmosphere while ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love the DJ and lounge atmosphere while dining. Love the owner as well!! Wonderful place

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool concept. The decor could be cooler ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cool concept. The decor could be cooler but no other "high end" spot in Charlotte with the live DJ and energy that this place has. Reminds me of some Dallas Steak houses. Classy and Turnt.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great restaurant for any occasion. Love ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great restaurant for any occasion. Love the owers involvement on a nightly basis with all the guest

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Dancing, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is quick and pleasant, the sushi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service is quick and pleasant, the sushi is delicious and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing NYE dinner here. The foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had an amazing NYE dinner here. The food was amazing and the service was great! Wish we lived in Charlotte so that we could dine there often!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best birthday ever!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The absolute best birthday ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall vibe of nikkos is upbeat and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The overall vibe of nikkos is upbeat and modern. A very fun place to be, especially for party's or just going out to have some fun with friends. I didn't try the sushi but the dumplings and steak that I had were absolutely amazing.

Tags: Great Beer, Modern Decor, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, , Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Solid place for sushi. Great variety of ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Solid place for sushi. Great variety of options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great sushi, sashimi and a variety of ot ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great sushi, sashimi and a variety of other dishes. We tried several appetizers, drinks, sushi, sashimi and entrees. Great spot, vibrant and exciting. Parking is a downfall but there is a quick valet service ready to assist.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service at Nikko is always a little ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service at Nikko is always a little challenging but the food is wonderful! Some servers are super! Others are somewhat sterile.

But the chefs are always on par!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I brought my husband to Nikko's for his ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I brought my husband to Nikko's for his birthday. I'd been before, so I knew the noise level was high...we don't mind that sort of thing! The hostess, Priscilla, was friendly and showed us to our table within a couple minutes of our arrival. My husband didn't like the location and told her we'd wait for a booth. She didn't mind at all and in less than 5 minutes we got a great booth! Our server was Kevin, and he was great! He wasn't super hands on, but that was how we liked it.. We had some questions, and he answered all of them. We will be back-it's my husband's new favorite sushi place! Oh, and the sushi was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service !!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time dining at Nikko. It was my ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My first time dining at Nikko. It was my daughter's birthday. She loves sushi and ate a fantastic meal!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had to write a negative revie ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I've never had to write a negative review before, but having to wait for an open table in a half empty restaurant? Walked past the valet playing football in the lot. The DJ needs to go. Too loud to hear anyone. It's like someone wanted to keep a high school drop out on payroll for working 2 nights a week. Horrible service as no one took our order after 15 min. Yet, they had time to clean larger tables for the tip. They also didn't have any sodas or lemonade available. Way to ruin an evening. You can see why they do so much carry out instead.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Things have gone down hill. The last few ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Things have gone down hill. The last few times we've been here the service has slowed down and the atmosphere has changed. Aside from our regular in and out visits we always make a big deal to go here for special occasions. Our visit Saturday night was extremely subpar to say the least. They've gone from making it a personal dining experience that made you, and your group feel special, the new mantra of Nikko's seems to be herding cattle and how many people can they get in and out. Sadly I don't think we will be going back. As good as the food was the horrendous service ruined it, and the special occasion.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Three of us visited looking for really g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Three of us visited looking for really good sushi and we were not disappointed!! The food tasted as good as it looked! If we are back in town we will be back. I also liked that there were tvs with football on on Monday night! Atmosphere was more high end though.

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I don't know how Nikko's does it but the ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I don't know how Nikko's does it but the sushi is consistently the best I have anywhere. If you have not been, you should go!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great sushi. Loud music. Good service.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great sushi. Loud music. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Fresh and good quality overall, with a t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh and good quality overall, with a touch of Americanized taste which couldn't make it for an authentic Japanese, but good experience. Music is energetic, bit club like and Miami atmosphere. Staff was ok but not the usual Charlotte friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great ambiance and atmosphere. I loved t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great ambiance and atmosphere. I loved the overall look. Sushi was fresh and very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and drinks were great! Hands d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food and drinks were great! Hands down the best sushi in town.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love some nikkos

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always love some nikkos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious and the place was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the place was nice and cozy. Great date night spot!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.