About Nikko Japanese Restaurant

325 Arlington Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Nikko Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar has a high energy atmosphere with a contemporary style. We are known for inventive, excellent, award winning sushi as well as the finest modern Japanese cuisine. Nikko has the feel of a upscale New York city restaurant with the promise to be hot and sexy. We have an assortment of over 300 bottles of fine wines as well as a full service bar. We feature a large private dining room with a full projection screen for company events or any other special occasion. Joannas welcoming personality with feather boa and trademark cowboy hat with tambourine overwhelms guests with "Sushi Love" when sake bombs are requested.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-0100

Website:
http://www.nikkosushibar.net/

Entertainment:
We feature a Live DJ on Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
With advanced notice we accommodate any catering event for company or personal needs. We offer a sushi chef to be on site to insure authenticity.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking as well as reserved parking with great access to the restaurant through the elevator to our lobby entrance.

Public Transit:
The light rail stops at the Bland Street Station behind Nikko Japanese Restaurant (the pink high rise building) which offers convenient transportation from the uptown area.

Executive Chef:
Hiro Takayama/ Tsuyoshi Ono

Private Party Facilities:
the Seating capacity is up to 40 patrons with the capability of full audio and video access with the option to hold company events or to be reserved for personal parties.

Private Party Contact:
James Nix: 7045195160

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Nikko Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (17)
hot spot (16)
special occasion (13)
See All
vibrant bar scene (11)
fit for foodies (11)
late-night find (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
romantic (3)
great for lunch (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The sushi is good, although expensive. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The sushi is good, although expensive. The noise level is SO BAD, we will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Nikkos menu is very expansive and incred ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nikkos menu is very expansive and incredibly affordable for the quality of food that they serve. The only problem is that you will want to try nearly everything on it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sushi

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our favorite is the Dynomite Cracker roll. We also had the Crunchy Salmon and Crazy roll which all were excellent. Great place for a special occasion!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome experience. You will not be disa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome experience. You will not be disappointed! The food is excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great environment, delicious food and great service. We will definitely come back and recommend you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi Only

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I would only order sushi at this restaurant. The sushi was very good. The food on the regular menu was very suspect and not very good quality at all. Service was pretty good, non sushi related food was very questionable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Charlotte is not particularly known for Sushi...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Usually wouldn't eat Sushi without prior experience or a reliable recommdation, but had a craving. Nikko is passable, and probably Okay if your idea of Sushi is just rolls. I like Sashimi. Tuna was passable, but poorly sliced, and Uni was 'off'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A Little Loud

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I had a late dinner at 9PM. The music was just too loud for our taste. Overall the food and service were very good and we will return, but maybe earlier before the restaurant becomes a night club.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This place is delicious. I love the dj t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This place is delicious. I love the dj they had on Saturday. My group of friends had a lovely time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, the DJ atmosphere was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was good, the DJ atmosphere was unexpected and loud so it was difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Great Dining Experience!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I dined at Nikko for my birthday with a group of friends. I absolutely LOVED it! Great atmosphere, great music, and great food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The VIP roll was excellent! Awesome bott ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The VIP roll was excellent!

Awesome bottle selection too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good Sushi *

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Very good food, awesome service and great ambience. I went to a Tuesday and de music was perfect, not to loud like I saw at some reviews.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

So tasty, SO LOUD.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants, but our last visit was a bit of a disappointment. Usually my fiance and I go together for special occasions, but we invited my parents and sister to celebrate a birthday. The food was delicious as always, the service was fantastic and attentive, but the music was so loud that it ruined the experience. It was 8:30pm on a Saturday and they had a house DJ playing. While the music was great, it was incredibly loud. The waitress couldn't hear us to take our order, and we couldn't hear each other to converse. It felt like we were at a club- which isn't the most pleasant when you're having dinner. We left the meal with headaches and ringing ears. For the record- we're in our twenties.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The food was good. The wait staff was go ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was good. The wait staff was good. It had a club like feel to it. Definitely enjoyed it and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sushi

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Sushi great! Alicia our server was excellent . Only negative was music too loud before 8p.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best sushi in Charlotte!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Had a great time celebrating a birthday! The owner Joanna is great and brought over sake bombs! The only suggestion I would have is not turn the music up quite so loud that you can't talk. I liked it at first, but it gradually got so loud we could hear each other without yelling. The music was fun, young and hip just like the decor. Service was excellent and lots of young folks there. A fun place with awesome food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too loud

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Too loud couldn't even have a conversation at the table and the waitress messed up our order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Ambience - Great, Food -ok

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I was a little disappointed. I made reservations for 5:30p (shortly after opening) for dinner. With the prices being charged and the time, I expected more from the food. It was warm, the rice did not seem fresh and the chicken was drizzled with teriyaki sauce. The waiter brought me hot tea with no sugar, honey or anything to sweeten it. Afterwards we ordered dessert and the waiter went M.I.A. I don't know that I would go there again other than to meet friends for drinks (maybe).

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

Horrible Service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The service was horrible. There was a definite language barrier between our waiter and us. They messed up the food twice, I asked for wine and never got it. I paid cash and the waiter did not bring back my correct change. This place is only good for the atmosphere and the manager was no help either. Would not return for dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Slow Service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The kitchen was very slow. When we arrived, the table next to us was upset that they had been there over an hour. Our food arrived after we had been there about an hour, and the table next to us had still not received their food. The tables are also very cramped. I knew that the other table was upset, because we were almost sitting in their laps.

When we finally received our food, it was good, but not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great sushi but deafening music

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

pounding music made it impossible to converse to the person next to you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Always Excellent

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Nikko's has the best sushi I have found in the area. The new red dragon roll is excellent and highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for 8:30 PM for a p ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I made a reservation for 8:30 PM for a party of 13. We were not seated for 45 minutes and literally had to stand in the middle of the restaurant for the entire 45 minute delay. Then we were not served the main course until after 10PM. This was the first leg of a surprise Birthday outing. The delay caused us to miss a major portion of plans made for the remainder of the evening. I thought the purpose of a reservation was to reserve the space and time. I guess Nikko has its own idea about how reservations are supposed to work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

This was only my 2nd time dining at NIkko and the food was just as great as the first time as well as the atmosphere. The only complaint I have is that the service was very slow that night. We had 2 waitresses for our party of 10 and at one point we waited 20 minutes for a 2nd round of drinks---I also felt they weren't near as friendly and energetic is the waitress we had on our first visit there. I would recommend Nikko and I would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Very good service, food excellent, one o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Very good service, food excellent, one of my favorite spots to dine out.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The DJ made the night extra special. My ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The DJ made the night extra special. My wife (birthday girl) really enjoyed her evening there. The food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My new fav!!!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Visited Nikko's for a birthday celebration with 9 of my friends. This place is amazing!!! Greeted by the owner dressed in the most perfect Panthers' gear with her tutu and headpiece. And she was very present in the restaurant the entire evening taking pictures and celebrating with multiple customers. Dinner was great, the atmosphere was energetic and very lively, awesome selection of music, and the service was impeccable! Our server was warm, very attentive, and always available...he even offered to take our picture without us asking. This is definitely my new favorite spot to visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week rip off

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Appitizer and entree sized down for Restaurant Week meal. For the money, I would have been served larger portions if I had ordered off the regular menu. Quality of food was beyond excellent, and our waiter was fantastic, but crowd is young and very loud

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Best sushi in town period. Very upscale ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Best sushi in town period. Very upscale and trendy atmosphere. I forget our servers name but she was fantastic. Crunchy tuna roll was the best I've ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took wife and 15 friends and family out ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Took wife and 15 friends and family out for dinner the table space was to small service was slow when I finally got my food there was a piece of glass in my sushi not the best night

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

One of my Favorites!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I always have a great time when we go to Nikkos. The food is always good and fresh. Its clean and the ambiance is nice. The location is great because its right outside of downtown so its not as crowded but accessible to other nightlife and the highway. Nikko is always a pleasure to see because she is so welcoming and festive and you can tell that she really cares about her customer's dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great sushi in an energetic vibrant setting

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I have been here several times, including several years ago when the restaurant was in a smaller space nearby. We have always found Niko to have among the best sushi in the area, and the prices are reasonable. The decor is colorful and very modern and the place is always filled with large and small groups in a much younger age group. That's fine with us and seems much more fun than hanging out with a lot of older folks. The scene is definitely high energy and vibrant, including the loud electronic DJ music. Although we were there for dinner on New Year's Eve, it did not seem any louder or busier than normal weekend nights. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this place!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

One of our favorite restaurants. The food is always great and the restaurant has a great vibe and fun atmosphere!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special night out

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The food and atmosphere was beautiful. Our server was excellent. We did not walk out full though and spent $75 for the two of us.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Christmas Eve dinner. Not very crowded, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Christmas Eve dinner. Not very crowded, which was nice. Overall the sushi is excellent. Get the Cowboy Roll!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love Nikko's

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

My only request is to lower the volume of the speakers/DJ in the evenings. I've been here twice and it's the same issue. It's still a restaurant, not a night club and I'd like to be able to talk to my friends without yelling. Food and drink are delicious as always!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ended up at Nikko's by default becaus ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We ended up at Nikko's by default because it was the only sushi restaurant we could find open on a Sunday night. Since then we have been back several times for a sit down meal as well as for takeout.

Definitely worthwhile giving it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The ambiance was nice and trendy. The DJ ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The ambiance was nice and trendy. The DJ music kept the crowd lively throughout the evening.

Food was really good for sushi rolls. It was definitely a busy Saturday night in the kitchen as all tables were filled and seated.

We arrived early and was seated at our scheduled time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Bachelorette party dinner approved!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Bachelorette party dinner approved!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.