About Nikai Sushi & Game

225 N. Cache
Jackson Hole, WY 83002
View Larger Map

A modern, relaxed sushi bar &
game house that marries world-class dining with Jackson
Hole’s casual lifestyle. Carefully chosen relationships with
fisherman, farmers & ranchers committed to sustainability
allow Nikai to bring only the best of the best to the table.
Artisan cocktails, local craft beers and a finely curated, award-
winning wine & sake list. Open tues-Sat at 5pm. 225 N Cache.
307-734-6490. www.nikaijh.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
open tues.-sat. 5:00 pm to close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 734-6490

Website:
http://nikaijh.com/

Parking Details:
Public lots located both behind the restaurant and directly across the street.

Public Transit:
The START bus "Home Ranch Lot" stop is directly across the street.

Executive Chef:
Cooper Craighead

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Nikai Sushi & Game
  • Nikai Sushi & Game
  • Nikai Sushi & Game
Nikai Sushi & Game
Nikai Sushi & Game
Nikai Sushi & Game

Nikai Sushi & Game Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
American
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

special occasion (6)
fit for foodies (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
See All
hot spot (2)
romantic (2)
good for groups (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
37 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter didn't shake our sake and we real ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter didn't shake our sake and we realized at the end of the bottle why our coconut sake was clear. The food wasn't great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

We were disappointed in our dining exper ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were disappointed in our dining experience. Our previous experience was so good that it came as a big surprise. It started off good, as the hostess was very welcoming but our waiter seemed like he'd rather be anywhere else. The whole vibe with the workers, including the cooks in the kitchen was one of gloom and boredom. The edamame was still good and still a very generous portion. The rolls were sad. The rice didn't taste very fresh and the amount of fish in each was very skimpy. The sauces were flat, interior flavors muted, and the presentation was lacking. We tried four different rolls - and all were mediocre at best, so we didn't even bother to stay for dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Menu way too limited with game - should ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Menu way too limited with game - should have more variety for those of us who like more variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

On a family road trip from California, w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

On a family road trip from California, we had been gone over a week and my daughter was missing sushi, at the same time my husband was hungry for Elk. Driving into Jackson we pass Nikai Sushi & Game so we had to try it.

The first impression was not great, as you walk in and climb the stairs to the restaurant you notice a strong fishy smell but we kept going. Upstairs was better and the grill aroma over took the fish smell, half of the space was bar and it looked busy, the other half was dining. The staff was attentive and knew their menu well. My husband had the Elk chop and was very pleased with it, cooked to his liking and the sides were great. I had the eggplant curry, which the waitress described as not a Thai curry and thicker. It tasted great but I was hunting for the eggplant amongst the peppers and mushrooms. My daughter had the Elk & Bison tacos which tasted delicious but looked like the boxed crunchy tacos you make at home! She enjoyed her miso soup but her California roll was a miss with fishy tasting crab. I guess that is what happens when you order a California roll in Wyoming.

We would probably return if we were visiting again.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We have been going to Nikai for years. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have been going to Nikai for years. It was Always busy in the evenings in Winter and Summer. Last year they changed the name of it. Now it has been changed back to Nikai but business is Way Down. We always had the Coconut Margaritas. They used to be the best anywhere. Now they don't serve frozen drinks any longer.

We ordered from the sushi menu. I had scallop sushi and it was disgusting. I sent the second piece back. Very mushy and fishy tasting. the 2 other roles we ordered weren't anything to brag about either. Overall the place has come down in quality.

We left at the heart of dinner rush and there were only 4 tables with people at them. It was actually sad to see.

Guess that's what happens when you mess with a good thing..

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The sushi selection was excellent and ve ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The sushi selection was excellent and very tasty. We definitely plan to return. I loved my Arnold Palmers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food at Nikai was authentic -- meaning that it was carefully thought out and freshly prepared. Everything we ordered was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Back to Basics

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nikai has always been a favorite but has lossed it's direction by trying to be more than a great suchi restaurant. Glad to see some sushi back on the menu and think you should give up on wild game and American cuisine.

Too many other local restaurants are doing wild game but no one has a niche in Asian Food like you did.

Get back to the basics that made you what you are.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Happy that Nikai is back.

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were all dissapointed when we lost Nikai. Glad owner has brought it back. Creative sushi. All our choices were great and each had a uniqueness we loved. Glad we were there before others figure out it's back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not as good as it once was

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Nikai was my husband and my favorite restaurant, and it has always been a treat to going during off season for $6 rolls. However, this experience was not as top notch as in the past. The rolls weren't as delicious (and there weren't as many choices on the $6 menu), the music playing inside was terrible (it used to not be noticeable), and the interior design was no longer the beautiful, clean, Japanese design it had been in the past. They also got rid of the best dessert-- tempura banana split! The restaurant was empty for a Saturday night, and the whole experience left me thinking that Nikai is no longer one of the "it" restaurants in Jackson. Sorry to see all of the changes! Why change something that was working so well?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Second visit

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We were here in December 2015 when the menu was less oriented to sushi and we were not planning to return. In March, we noticed the menu was more sushi-oriented and decided to give it a second chance. I'm glad we did because we enjoyed several of their sushi/sashimi dishes. We are planning to return next ski season.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my first time back since it chang ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

It was my first time back since it changed. I'm very disappointed with the menu changes. Why change something that use to work? We have enough "Jackson" style restaurants. Nikai's old menu had many sushi options and it was financially doable. Now you have expensive rolls and everything else is way highly priced for the quality of food. The dinner options like the Lamb Hot Pot, it was horrible. Totally unexpected how it looked and tasted. It was mostly broth with not much flavor. Unfortunately, I won't be coming back or recommending it to anyone unless the owner brings back the old Nikai. This use to be my favorite place to bring friends and family. Too bad the owner felt the need to fit in with the rest of the "Jackson" style when it use to be perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Really enjoyed the experience

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Really enjoyed the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Glad Nikai is Back

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Nikai tried a different menu (wild game) for a couple of months, but apparently it did not meet with customer approval. They have brought back the sushi menu, and it is as good as ever. Now we just need to recover the tempura items and things will be back to the outstanding restaurant Nikai has always been

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Sushi! We are glad it is back!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We were very happy with our Sushi. We tried the Dagwood, Tiger, Spicy Tuna, and a few other specialty rolls. They were all excellent. We ordered the Dagwood again since we enjoyed it so much. We would definitely recommend trying the Nigiri as well. Everything was delicious. The service was great. We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never go there

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This was by far far the worst dining experience that I have ever had. The service was terrible. The food actually tasted good. But the service made it a very miserable night in Jackson hole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

sushi is superb! very very fresh! us dub ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

sushi is superb! very very fresh! us dubois folks would make the trek over the mountain just for the sushi and then head back home! very worth it! glad nikai swapped back to sushi also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprisingly Good Sushi

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This place has some great sushi! Big and fresh rolls, but definitely on the expensive side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Restore the old sushi menu

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Our party of nine enjoyed a nice dinner at Nikai, returning for another in a long line of annual visits. We were sorry to see that the extensive sushi menu had been significantly pared back. The sushi we ordered, however, was great. Our party reported that the lamb stew was bland, but the buffalo/elk burger was excellent. Overall, we love the atmosphere, the cocktail selections and the sushi. We say keep the burger and go back to the old sushi menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Bizzare

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I went with my wife and two boys for Valentine's Day.

Service was good. Delivery of food was strange.

my wife's dish can out and we watched her eat it by her self. It was explained that this was the order of things; first comes sashimi, then nigiri followed by rolls. Eventually my nigiri came and as explained came the rolls.

Salmon pieces had brown flesh and some skin on them, I've not seen this before. Besides it was fishy tasting.

Overall not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Was the best meal out we have had in qui ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Was the best meal out we have had in quite some time

Everything was great

Food, price, service all were perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Idea but Poor Execution

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

This was our first visit. Many menu items, including wines by the glass, were not available. Supposed reason for this was that the menu is changing in a couple of weeks, which seemed like a feeble excuse for not having a number of items from a short menu. The goat cheese appetizer was excellent; the rest of the items we ordered, however, ranged from poor to mediocre.

"Wild fish and game" seems like it ought to be a winning idea for Jackson, if it is well done. The location is not bad, the dining room is beautiful, and the service was decent (if undistinguished). But the execution on the food was poor by any standards. I hear via the rumor mill that the restaurant may transition to something else; with the same chef and owners, however, we will be reluctant to return for some time. Bad thing to have happen in Jackson when local patronage is so important in the off-peak seasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

New Restaurant is Delicious

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We are local and went for the first time this past week. It opened in December in place of a local favorite restaurant. The dining style is small plates to be shared. The food was very good and presented nicely. Many of the items on the menu were not available and when we asked what was going on, the waiter told us they were going to close for a short time. Not sure what that is all about but we do hope they return. It was a restaurant that we would visit again. The elk chop was delicious as were the trout cakes, stuffed mushroom and crab salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great small plate restaurant

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Goat cheese, trout cakes, Caprese salad & ravioli were all very good. Meatloaf was a little dry. The ancient risotto was bland & the apple cake was flavorless. Recommend they either change plates between courses or put a stack of plates on tables for customers. Provide a spoon for sauces. Service was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Extremely small portions with an Extreme ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

Extremely small portions with an Extremely large price.

Food was okay, but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Was better as previous restaurant, in our opinion

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Really cold, apparently due to issues with frigid temps and failure recirculating fan near grill. Everyone with coats on....a bit odd.

Pleasant selection, but minute portions (except the lamb stew). Service impaired not by the very attentive waiter but by the kitchen, getting meals out at all different times. Expensive, which is fine, but food/service didn't match price point.

Food overlooked, sent back and overlooked again. Could have been good but shouldn't have to cut fish with knife.

Hope they are able to get the whole gig together or will not survive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Wildly delicous!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We were hard pressed to find a place to eat on New Year's Eve, but found Wild and were unsure of what to expect because it had just reopened. We were very pleased, the service was fantastic and the food was unique and well prepared. Thanks to Justin, Dustin and Devin for taking such great care of our family, we definitely recommend Wild!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Bring Back Nikai

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

One of the worst food experiences we have had in Jackson. Everything was over cooked and overpriced. The blackened snapper was so dry it was chewy and tasted like chicken. The bison was gamey, and we love so we would know.

The only good thing was the salmon roll, so we ordered a bunch just to fill up.

It was waaaaaayyyy better as Nikai. Please, please go back to that format!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Not a place for kids!! Don't come here i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Not a place for kids!! Don't come here if you have children under 10. No food options for them not even proper cups. I wouldn't describe it as casual either - kind of fancy - prob good date night but not for a family with young kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

They had only been open 11 days so do ke ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

They had only been open 11 days so do keep that in mind but there needs to be a serious overhaul of the menu. Only one dish out of the five we ordered was good. The wild boar ribs were uneatable and the beans that came with the dish were the worst bean I've ever tasted. I would recommend not going until they change their menu and perhaps a new chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Great!

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We really enjoyed our meal on Christmas night. We loved the shared plates and the atmosphere. Order a cocktail - we tried a few different ones and they were some of the best cocktails we have ever had! Thank you to Wild for making our holiday so wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Had Christmas dinner here. Bison filet wrapped in bacon was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Blackened snapper over kimchi brussel sprouts was an unusual twist. Amaretto peanut butter cup was a tasty "adult" dessert. Menu was eclectic/fusion/game. Highly recommended new restaurant to try out in Jackson, WY.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great new restaurant in Jackson

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We had a family dinner here on Christmas night and we were very pleased. The food was very interesting and tasty.

We really enjoyed be stuffed mushroom and the goat cheese appetizer. For entrées, I had the bison wrapped in bacon and really liked it. My wife had the game meatloaf and really enjoyed it, my wife had the game meatloaf and really enjoyed it, especially the vegetables that came with it.

Our server told us that the plates came out when they were ready in order to stimulate conversations and sharing. I would have rather had all of the food show up at one time because we already share.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not what we had expected. Food is ok, no ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Not what we had expected. Food is ok, nothing over the top special or worth returning.

Walking up the steps to the actual restaurant, you get hit by overwhelming odors of food - open kitchen might not be such a great idea in a small room with no fresh air... You get a cantina like feeling. Also no view, very dark.

Even though other tables were available, they wanted to give us the table right in front of the kitchen entrance - for an not overly full restaurant, not a great start.

Overall, we thought from the website and the few reviews we found we'd come to a modern, fresh restaurant - it's not. It looks like it was an Japanese restaurant (turns out it was) with dated decor and food that was a bit of everything - from elk filet to sushi. We ordered baked goat cheese as a starter and a few dishes as they portions are meant for sharing. As I pointed out to the waiter, I don' t eat meat so I ordered the fish ones for me, my husband got meat. However, we got fish as first dish "to share", then an order of meat and sometimes in between the goat cheese. So our actually planned dinner together turned out to be more waiting till the other got their food as well. For our taste, it's missing a clear theme and there is nothing "memorable" about it. We canceled the second reservation we had made for the following week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Had dinner here on Xmas eve, great food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Had dinner here on Xmas eve, great food and service. Both the snapper and bison filet were very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had four small plates. Good

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

We had four small plates. Good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for Sushi in Jackson. Not a ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 17, 2015

Great place for Sushi in Jackson. Not a very big place, and it's very popular, so make sure to make reservations. It would be better if they had more wait staff as service can be slow - we were not in a hurry though, so it didn't bother us. It's also on the expensive side, but the quality of the dishes made it worth it. We would definitely go again next time we are in Jackson.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.