About Nighttown

12387 Cedar Ave
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Named after the Dublin Red-Light District in James Joyce's Ulysses, Nighttown possesses the ambiance of Irish pubs and turn of the century New York bars. Leaded, etched, and stained glass, combined with a clutter of memorabilia from earlier eras decorate the four distinctly different dining rooms and three active bars. Be sure to see Stephen's Green, our outdoor dining area (fully-heated for year-round use) with a wall-size waterfall.

Since opening day, February 5, 1965, the menu has been a model of consistency. Top quality Certified Angus Beef, milk -fed veal, and the freshest of fish and chicken are prepared with creative simplicity. Try our house specialty, The Dublin Lawyer. And Nighttown has the best jazz available - in fact, we're the only club in Ohio on Down Beat's list of The Best Jazz Clubs in the World.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Delaware

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 795-0550

Website:
http://www.nighttowncleveland.com/

Entertainment:
All music reservations must be made by phone. No open table reservations can be made for music events online

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking as wel as Valet is available.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sansone

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Nighttown will be opened until 10:00 Christmas Eve. Come enjoy dinner with your friends and family

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Savor your dining experience in one of our beautiful and unique private dining rooms. We will help you with every detail to ensure your event is sensational from start to finish.

Nighttown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Outdoor Dining
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Neighborhood Gem
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Cleveland Heights ›

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Live Music (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
See All
Late-night Find (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (10)
Historic (10)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Private Room (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (1)
Romantic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an early dinner before a talk at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an early dinner before a talk at CWRU. Food was excellent and service was outstanding. No problems with parking or with being seated right away.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good and a great place to h ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Consistently good and a great place to have a nice dinner with friends on any night and a premier jazz venue some nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great menu and really good food and drin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great menu and really good food and drink. The place was packed with Cleveland natives and the servers were first rate. Great restaurant for the family or a date or a bar session.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had Nighttown's vegan entree option in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had Nighttown's vegan entree option in September of 2015 that was one of the most delicious vegan dishes I had ever had. I decided to have Thanksgiving dinner with my family assuming that the current vegan dish on the menu was the one I had last year. It was not. I believe last year's dish had eggplant and quinoa. This year's was eggplant and spaghetti squash. It was very disappointing. What can I say. My mother was VERY happy with her prime rib. We will most likely return next Thanksgiving but I am hoping that they will have a better vegan option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving dinner for the two of us wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner for the two of us was quite good in both cases. However, despite the fine first impression our server made, service was less than stellar: long waits for an offer of bread, soda replacement (flat) then incorrect new one; looong wait for dessert and the check. Frequent checks of the large dining room did not indicate massive crowds of holiday guests, that would otherwise explain the erratic service. Adding to our disappointment was an automatic 20% tip to our bill --despite the menu stating that a 20% is automatically applied for parties of 6 or more.

I've been a patron of NT for over 40 years (my late father's favorite restaurant). He would not have been happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The staff was very friendly and knowledg ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were in the restaurant on Thanksgiving because many other restaurants were closed. It was very busy, but we never felt rushed. The food was excellent. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience, and if we lived in Cleveland, we would definitely be regulars, and would come for the music as well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

XFood and service were great. Tables are ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

XFood and service were great. Tables are too close together. Very difficult to navigate through. We were celebrating an 80th birthday and would have ordered dessert, but our 6:30 reservation did not allow time for that without paying the charge for entertainment. I should have been told of that when making the reservation so we could have come earlier

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently good food. Always a good v ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Consistently good food. Always a good vegan option. Pleasant accommodating staff. Noise level depends on which room you sit in.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience, neighborhood ge ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great dining experience, neighborhood gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch menu. Enjoyed it as always ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great brunch menu. Enjoyed it as always. Food and service were very good.

Love the Corned beef hash. My wife's Eggs Benedict were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and not crowded. Good place to ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food and not crowded. Good place to grab Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

After our opening night, we wanted to ge ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

After our opening night, we wanted to get our small cast together to celebrate. We ask for a quiet corner ( a rarity at Nighttown) and we got it. Great service and food. It was a perfect evening with these talented people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time. One of the few places ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had a great time. One of the few places in Cleveland where you get good food and good entertainment. Great music.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is always delicious. Well ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food here is always delicious. Well prepared and served in a pleasing manner. Service is spot on. Prices are reflective of the good quality.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been dining here for 40 years, we'v ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I've been dining here for 40 years, we've had many of our significant family events here (birthdays, anniversaries, holidays - I even got engaged here in 1984!) I never hesitate to bring friends and clients to Nighttown - and as a Realtor, I am especially proud to make this a destination to show off to new clients relocating to the Northeast Ohio.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

While I miss the Chicken Chèvre, the CAP ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

While I miss the Chicken Chèvre, the CAPRESE CHICKEN is a very good dish. Our shared Ceasar salad was very good and the Dublin Lawyer was rich and flavorful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nighttown is a local treasure, always de ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Nighttown is a local treasure, always delicious food, always attentive & professional service. My visit with 5 friends prior to an author event was no exception to this. We had a wide variety of tastes, all of which were met. Our server was particularly flexible & affable, and we were able to enjoy the outdoor dining area on a mild evening. It's great to have a local venue that you can count on, and although we didn't stay for music this evening, that also sets Nighttown apart from other area restaurants of similar caliber. One in our group had not been to Nighttown before, and she was impressed and delighted with our choice.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rumer Willis performed!!!!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Rumer Willis performed!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch is the best ever. Lobster ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sunday brunch is the best ever. Lobster eggs Benedict!!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Private Room, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tues nite before theater restaurant not ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Tues nite before theater restaurant not crowded had to wait 40 minutes for food that wasn't even prepared according to menu. Server told manager who we never saw no apology or offer of drink or dessert. We of course didn't want anything except for manager to say something. Very disappointing

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We were seated outside on an uncovered p ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were seated outside on an uncovered pTio. Sun was beautiful and we were the only ones there. Didn't know about this patio but it served our purpose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went to hear a local and a national g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went to hear a local and a national guitarist. Had assumed if you went early for dinner, music was included (wrong there - plus 15% charge for using a credit card!). Why else eat dinner at Nighttown? Service was poor (the waiter wouldn't even look customers in the eye - although he was nice enough to warn us that 20% gratuity had been added to the bill), meal came out incorrect, food and drinks were mediocre. Previous reviewers had warned us, next time go for music only!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

My meal was delicious. I had the swordfi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My meal was delicious. I had the swordfish special--it was perfectly cooked, something that has been lacking at some of the fine restaurants in Cleveland, that is , how to cook fish properly!

Our service was a bit strange. The waitress was very nice, but the waiter who served the food was sloppy--he just sort of tossed the plates on the table and didn't bring any serving utensils for our appetizer. Other than that, our meal was very good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

remains an all time favorite for many ye ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 2, 2016

remains an all time favorite for many years..lots of reasins why..keep up the good work and dont take the trout off the menu😘

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Live Music, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was amazing !!!!!! Everythi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waitress was amazing !!!!!!

Everything else underwhelming. The food was ok, the restaurant look " old" not like old and charming like it has lots of history but more like old - we don't care anymore - everyone knows use we don't need to try .

The live music was excellent.

So in conclusion good for a show but that's about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

Been there a long time. Keeps getting be ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Been there a long time. Keeps getting better. he host is one of a kind. the food delicious and the service good as usual. Great for late night and the bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're longtime customers of Nighttown. L ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We're longtime customers of Nighttown. Love the patio and the food. Service fine. Fun place to gather with friends/family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great outside dining with outstanding an ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great outside dining with outstanding and friendly service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I Have been dining st Nightt ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 28, 2016

My wife and I Have been dining st Nighttown since shortly after it opened in the late sixties early seventies and have never been disappointed. We both ordered "The Dublin Lawyer" and enjoyed it from first to last bite. The no flour chocolate cake was a perfect ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was only good, nothing special. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was only good, nothing special. I came for the music performance, and that was spectacular. I do not appreciate the so called "service charge" which the waitress said was her tip, being automatically added to my bill. It was 20% and then there was a space for an "tip" that did not indicate it was an additional tip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have visited Nighttown many times bef ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have visited Nighttown many times before, but this was our first time getting there this early (4:00 PM). It turns out to be a great time for a quiet dinner. I tried the lobster roll, and although the roll was nothing special, the lobster salad filling was quite good. My wife enjoyed her flatiron steak.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was outstanding, Megan I was ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our server was outstanding, Megan I was very attentive to our group. I had the pork tenderloin which could have been very good, but it was overcooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The outdoor patio was festive for our gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The outdoor patio was festive for our group of ten celebrating my birthday. Martinis were perfect. Rack of lamb, salmon Caesar salad, mussels, were all well prepared. Those who ordered the infamous Dublin Lawyer raved in delight.The celebratory flourless chocolate cake was deliciously rich and shared by all. Service was cordial and efficient. Love Nighttown!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for good food friends. Patio ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for good food friends. Patio water feature was amazing! !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent as always. Our favorite place ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent as always. Our favorite place for brunch. Try the lobster egg benedicts.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, Service was simply outsta ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good, Service was simply outstanding!!!!

The patio was relaxing and beautiful.

Want to bring my dog for brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The large outdoor patio is great for gro ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 12, 2016

The large outdoor patio is great for groups, they easily accommodated our group of 8. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Several raved about the mushroom soup and the crabcakes. The trout almandine is always a good, reliable choice. Wish I had tried the chocolate dessert rather than the creme brulee. This is one of my favourite desserts but several of us found it too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoyed our late lunch on the terrace ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We enjoyed our late lunch on the terrace! A wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch menu at Nighttown is a very good ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch menu at Nighttown is a very good one, with considerable variety offered. What was particularly appreciated was the attentive service for a mixed-age group of 15. Jeremiah was most accommodating, and while service is never speedy, it was efficient, and we never felt we had been forgotten. Everyone was pleased with his/her meal, from breakfast dishes to burgers. Eating on the Stephen's Green patio in the warm weather is delightful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

W4e love this place. the food, staff, a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 29, 2016

W4e love this place. the food, staff, and all are terrific. We come often

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.