About Nighttown

12387 Cedar Ave
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Named after the Dublin Red-Light District in James Joyce's Ulysses, Nighttown possesses the ambiance of Irish pubs and turn of the century New York bars. Leaded, etched, and stained glass, combined with a clutter of memorabilia from earlier eras decorate the four distinctly different dining rooms and three active bars. Be sure to see Stephen's Green, our outdoor dining area (fully-heated for year-round use) with a wall-size waterfall.

Since opening day, February 5, 1965, the menu has been a model of consistency. Top quality Certified Angus Beef, milk -fed veal, and the freshest of fish and chicken are prepared with creative simplicity. Try our house specialty, The Dublin Lawyer. And Nighttown has the best jazz available - in fact, we're the only club in Ohio on Down Beat's list of The Best Jazz Clubs in the World.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Delaware

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 795-0550

Website:
http://www.nighttowncleveland.com/

Entertainment:
All music reservations must be made by phone. No open table reservations can be made for music events online

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking as wel as Valet is available.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sansone

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Savor your dining experience in one of our beautiful and unique private dining rooms. We will help you with every detail to ensure your event is sensational from start to finish.

Nighttown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Outdoor Dining
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Neighborhood Gem
Cleveland
1 More
Outdoor Dining
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Cleveland Heights ›

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Good for Groups (22)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Romantic (6)
Live Music (4)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to hear a local and a national g ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went to hear a local and a national guitarist. Had assumed if you went early for dinner, music was included (wrong there - plus 15% charge for using a credit card!). Why else eat dinner at Nighttown? Service was poor (the waiter wouldn't even look customers in the eye - although he was nice enough to warn us that 20% gratuity had been added to the bill), meal came out incorrect, food and drinks were mediocre. Previous reviewers had warned us, next time go for music only!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

My meal was delicious. I had the swordfi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My meal was delicious. I had the swordfish special--it was perfectly cooked, something that has been lacking at some of the fine restaurants in Cleveland, that is , how to cook fish properly!

Our service was a bit strange. The waitress was very nice, but the waiter who served the food was sloppy--he just sort of tossed the plates on the table and didn't bring any serving utensils for our appetizer. Other than that, our meal was very good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

remains an all time favorite for many ye ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

remains an all time favorite for many years..lots of reasins why..keep up the good work and dont take the trout off the menu😘

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Live Music, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was amazing !!!!!! Everythi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waitress was amazing !!!!!!

Everything else underwhelming. The food was ok, the restaurant look " old" not like old and charming like it has lots of history but more like old - we don't care anymore - everyone knows use we don't need to try .

The live music was excellent.

So in conclusion good for a show but that's about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

Been there a long time. Keeps getting be ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Been there a long time. Keeps getting better. he host is one of a kind. the food delicious and the service good as usual. Great for late night and the bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're longtime customers of Nighttown. L ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We're longtime customers of Nighttown. Love the patio and the food. Service fine. Fun place to gather with friends/family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great outside dining with outstanding an ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great outside dining with outstanding and friendly service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I Have been dining st Nightt ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My wife and I Have been dining st Nighttown since shortly after it opened in the late sixties early seventies and have never been disappointed. We both ordered "The Dublin Lawyer" and enjoyed it from first to last bite. The no flour chocolate cake was a perfect ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was only good, nothing special. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was only good, nothing special. I came for the music performance, and that was spectacular. I do not appreciate the so called "service charge" which the waitress said was her tip, being automatically added to my bill. It was 20% and then there was a space for an "tip" that did not indicate it was an additional tip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have visited Nighttown many times bef ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have visited Nighttown many times before, but this was our first time getting there this early (4:00 PM). It turns out to be a great time for a quiet dinner. I tried the lobster roll, and although the roll was nothing special, the lobster salad filling was quite good. My wife enjoyed her flatiron steak.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was outstanding, Megan I was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our server was outstanding, Megan I was very attentive to our group. I had the pork tenderloin which could have been very good, but it was overcooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The outdoor patio was festive for our gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The outdoor patio was festive for our group of ten celebrating my birthday. Martinis were perfect. Rack of lamb, salmon Caesar salad, mussels, were all well prepared. Those who ordered the infamous Dublin Lawyer raved in delight.The celebratory flourless chocolate cake was deliciously rich and shared by all. Service was cordial and efficient. Love Nighttown!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for good food friends. Patio ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for good food friends. Patio water feature was amazing! !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent as always. Our favorite place ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent as always. Our favorite place for brunch. Try the lobster egg benedicts.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, Service was simply outsta ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good, Service was simply outstanding!!!!

The patio was relaxing and beautiful.

Want to bring my dog for brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The large outdoor patio is great for gro ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The large outdoor patio is great for groups, they easily accommodated our group of 8. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Several raved about the mushroom soup and the crabcakes. The trout almandine is always a good, reliable choice. Wish I had tried the chocolate dessert rather than the creme brulee. This is one of my favourite desserts but several of us found it too sweet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoyed our late lunch on the terrace ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We enjoyed our late lunch on the terrace! A wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch menu at Nighttown is a very good ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch menu at Nighttown is a very good one, with considerable variety offered. What was particularly appreciated was the attentive service for a mixed-age group of 15. Jeremiah was most accommodating, and while service is never speedy, it was efficient, and we never felt we had been forgotten. Everyone was pleased with his/her meal, from breakfast dishes to burgers. Eating on the Stephen's Green patio in the warm weather is delightful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

W4e love this place. the food, staff, a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

W4e love this place. the food, staff, and all are terrific. We come often

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite good. Sweet potato fries ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was quite good.

Sweet potato fries were very sweet and not greasy.

Ambiance was very pleasant. Wonderful classic facility with great historic pictures and artwork.

Show was also very well done and entertaining.

Got to meet others who live in and enjoy Cleveland.

Great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nighttown was our mother's favorite rest ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nighttown was our mother's favorite restaurant for decades. She passed away, so we came here after her funeral on Saturday. We were from Kentucky, Philly, Alabama and Florida. We all enjoyed it and will return when and if we come back to Cleveland.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had such a relaxed evening celebrati ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had such a relaxed evening celebrating our 44th anniversary. The server gave us enough time, between courses, to savor our meal and unlike some places we have eaten at, we didn't feel hurried along at all. Since the patio is 1st come 1st serve, we were happy to see that the owner had a reserved sign at one of the tables when we arrived. He also came over to wish us a happy anniversary as well as spend some time talking to us!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating with kids. Good food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very accommodating with kids. Good food at a good price. A favorite!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and drink were delicious. The servi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food and drink were delicious. The service was somewhat slow and disorganized...this seems to be a continuing problem whenever my wife and I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We are lucky to live in the neighborhood ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We are lucky to live in the neighborhood and to be so close to this comfortable restaurant with excellent food. It feels like home but with someone nice to wait on us and something good to eat that we don't have to prepare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal on their very large pat ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Had a great meal on their very large patio. Decent vegetarian option with a good drink list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at Nightown for 30+ years ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We have eaten at Nightown for 30+ years and the food has always been good and consistent. This evening was the first time, I did not care for my meal. The trout was on the thin side and came looking pale and limp. It was covered with about 100 almond slivers which I think were put on there to cover up the appearance of the trout. It wasn't hot but, rather, room temperature. The baked potato was overdone and brownish. Very disappointing meal but I guess, one bad one, in 30 years , aren't bad odds.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our experience was super at Nighttown. We like to go early to dinner--but we like to stretch out the evening also. Our waiter was attentive and allowed us to take our time making decisions. Our food was prepared perfectly--my husband had the filet, med rare; I had the chicken caprese. This entree is so very tasty--it's now my favorite item on the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nighttown

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Went out for a dinner date. We were a little worried that we would miss the start of the Cavs game, but our service was very quick and our server was very friendly and totally on the ball. I had the prime rib and she had the capellini and both were outstanding. Dinner was a bit on the expensive side for someone who just finished college, but I will definitely return sometime soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The poblano corn soup was excellent and ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The poblano corn soup was excellent and the trout amandine was very good. The fish tacos could have had more filling and the soft taco shells were over cooked- dry and burnt on the edge. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nightown is reliable as ever. Food and s ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Nightown is reliable as ever. Food and service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a reliably good meal in NY Irish ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a reliably good meal in NY Irish pub atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too crowded broke safety and left almost ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Too crowded broke safety and left almost 12 inch walk areas between when seated . food was

good . . DUE TO CROWD YOU COULD HARDLY HEAR.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

The Filet melts in your mouth, as does t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Filet melts in your mouth, as does the Veal meatloaf. Couple it with a glass of Bookers on the side and it's perfect.

The portions are nice, but not big. They may have a live band playing the evening you're there, check the website. The staff are all very knowledgable and kind. This isn't a young person's place (evidenced by the prices), but young professionals/parents/older people in the neighborhood are who this place caters to.

Whatever you do though, you must get the Crème brûlée.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fish tacos were very good as was the ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The fish tacos were very good as was the slaw. The refined beans were adequate. The pork tenderloin was very good as was the polenta. The dish would benefit from a little more sauce. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dublin lawyer is always fantastic. Waffl ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Dublin lawyer is always fantastic. Waffle over cooked. Burger no seasoning. Despite reservations, we were told there was a party of 80 so the kitchen was backed up. Actual wait wasn't too bad, but the planning seemed off. Waitress was accommodating and kind. I would think there could be music for Mother's Day since its Nighttown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Amazing Brunch! Nothing better!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day brunch! It was awesome! We were sat in the covered garden patio. Amazing natural light and comfortable for our group of 8. It was a little loud, but that was due to the Mother's Day crowd. We had a great time and the food was delicious! Its the best eggs benedict I've had in the Shaker Hts area! Great for brunch, I'll continue to go there over and over! Never a poor experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overwhelmed for Mother's Day?

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were walked through an empty restaurant to an extremely crowded enclosed patio for Mother's Day brunch. Service was slow. One of my companions got tired of waiting for cream for his coffee and got up from the table to seek our server out. My lobster eggs benedict was good, except for one half of the English muffin was blackened. I wouldn't have served that to anyone I remotely cared about. To see it on my plate at a nicer restaurant, was disturbing.

I've been here when service and food have been better, but it was a little embarrassing to have chosen it for my mother on her special day. I'll go again, but focus on music events rather than a celebration venue.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Fun place, my dish wasn't great but I wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fun place, my dish wasn't great but I was trying something for the first time so I can't complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

On our way to a musical event and on a t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

On our way to a musical event and on a tight schedule, we did it all with the help of our efficient server.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.