About Nighttown

Named after the Dublin Red-Light District in James Joyce's Ulysses, Nighttown possesses the ambiance of Irish pubs and turn of the century New York bars. Leaded, etched, and stained glass, combined with a clutter of memorabilia from earlier eras decorate the four distinctly different dining rooms and three active bars. Be sure to see Stephen's Green, our outdoor dining area (fully-heated for year-round use) with a wall-size waterfall.

Since opening day, February 5, 1965, the menu has been a model of consistency. Top quality Certified Angus Beef, milk -fed veal, and the freshest of fish and chicken are prepared with creative simplicity. Try our house specialty, The Dublin Lawyer. And Nighttown has the best jazz available - in fact, we're the only club in Ohio on Down Beat's list of The Best Jazz Clubs in the World.

12387 Cedar Ave
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Delaware

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 795-0550

Website:
http://www.nighttowncleveland.com/

Entertainment:
All music reservations must be made by phone. No open table reservations can be made for music events online

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking as wel as Valet is available.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sansone

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Savor your dining experience in one of our beautiful and unique private dining rooms. We will help you with every detail to ensure your event is sensational from start to finish.

Nighttown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Live Music (17)
Historic (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Casual (11)
Authentic (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Private Room (7)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic service and food is always del ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic service and food is always delicious and prepared just right.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Live Music, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a premiere music club featuring ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is a premiere music club featuring jazz at its best. Easy to see and hear from anywhere in this decent sized but cozy venue. Food and service are great Parking Lot in the back as well as valet available. Some street parking too some of the time. We went for New Years Brunch and had a wonderful few hours. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as I had expected. Two in m ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not as good as I had expected. Two in my party got the strip steak and didn't like it at all - both thought they may have gotten the wrong cut of meat. I got the special, dublin lawyer - it was okay, but kind of bland. Got the crab cake app, which was pretty good but the lobster bisque was like a brother rather than a regular lobster bisque... Had high expectations and wasn't very pleased w/ food. Our waitress was pretty good, and drinks were great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The "Dublin Lawyer" specialty lobster di ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The "Dublin Lawyer" specialty lobster dish

is excellent. My spouse and our friend had the mozzarella chicken dish. Our other dining companion had steak and was very pleased with it. The think I do NOT like about Night Town is having to walk through the middle of the kitchen, past prepared food, to get to the restrooms. That seems unsanitary. It is an older building and this simply cannot be avoided. It seems it would be a difficult restaurant for those with a physical handicap to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very disappointing. We have been going ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very disappointing. We have been going to Nighttown for years. We could count on good service very good food at a reasonable cost. The service was prompt and courteous with close to being curt. Granted it was New Years Eve and there was a good crowd but not packed and the waitress was hustling, but a smile and "how" are you would have been nice.

The food was mediocre at bet. I ordered the Dublin Lobster. This was my favorite dish. Lots of large chunks of lobster in a thick creamy mushroom sauce with a side of rice. Not this time. There was one piece of claw meat and two other small pieces of lobster swimming in a runny sauce with half a plate of rice. My Wife's chicken was dry and tasteless. All of this for $100, including the mandatory tip. So sorry Nightgown. We will be finding another place to count on.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

This has been a seasonal and special occ ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This has been a seasonal and special occasion pick for us for years; but this time (New Years Eve 2016) was big disappointment to us... the converted patio into indoor seating with overhead heaters is oppressive, even after changing tables... to hot/to cold. One out of the four servers actually was attentive to our table and service. The ambiance of the interior spaces is one of the draws for us, but seems to be reserved only for 'show seating'. I can't recommend seating in the expanded space. Food is still well prepared and tasty. I'll seek other venues in 2017; maybe try NightTown for afternoon lunch?... we shall see.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Last minute reservation, seated promptly ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Last minute reservation, seated promptly, server attentive despite being very busy. Food came out in expected order and was hot. Drinks good, overall a good evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Crowded Wednesday night as they had a mu ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Crowded Wednesday night as they had a musical act in the next room. Portions were plentiful and our server was nice.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was fantastic and our waitress ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was fantastic and our waitress was absolutely great. It was a party of five celebrating the holidays. Their soup and salad is the best, everyone had a different soup and a different salad. One person had a hamburger and he said he was going back with his wife. Thank you Nighttown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upstairs was cold and no ambiance whats ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Upstairs was cold and no ambiance whatsoever. Should not even open it up there. 1 waitress who had to make drinks n take orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Sadly we had a really bad experience at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Sadly we had a really bad experience at Nighttown. We came early,630 for dinner before a show which was to start at 830. There seemed to be one waiter for a huge room full of people. Long short it was hot and the service has extremely slow. He tried really hard but alas he was but one. Considering how long they have been in operation you would think they would have this down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Lovely menu. Easy access to university. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Lovely menu. Easy access to university. Everyone happy and satisfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful. We sat in the window ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was wonderful. We sat in the window seat so it was a little cold. I would recommend a small heater in that room for cold days. Service was okay. I have had better.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were there for an anniversary of a bl ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We were there for an anniversary of a blind date at NightTown......special occasion and special location. We went for lunch this year....Dublin Lawyer was great and our server was delightful.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish very greasy. As it was a special o ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fish very greasy. As it was a special occasion and we did not have time to have entrée replaced,

I did not complain. However, this dish should have never left the kitchen. Also, the waitress was very curt. Have frequented this restaurant frequently through the years, I have absolutely no plans to return soon. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We introduced 4 friends to Nighttown, wh ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We introduced 4 friends to Nighttown, who enjoyed great ambiance and food for a great evening prior to a Christmas concert at Severance Hall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection of whiskeys and beers. F ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great selection of whiskeys and beers. Food was terrific. A good place to go before or after a show or movie. We did not stay for the jazz band but plan on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Tables too close together. Feels uncomfo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Tables too close together. Feels uncomfortable because you can hear the conversations from tables to the right and left. Food just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We had an early dinner before a talk at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had an early dinner before a talk at CWRU. Food was excellent and service was outstanding. No problems with parking or with being seated right away.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good and a great place to h ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Consistently good and a great place to have a nice dinner with friends on any night and a premier jazz venue some nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great menu and really good food and drin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great menu and really good food and drink. The place was packed with Cleveland natives and the servers were first rate. Great restaurant for the family or a date or a bar session.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had Nighttown's vegan entree option in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had Nighttown's vegan entree option in September of 2015 that was one of the most delicious vegan dishes I had ever had. I decided to have Thanksgiving dinner with my family assuming that the current vegan dish on the menu was the one I had last year. It was not. I believe last year's dish had eggplant and quinoa. This year's was eggplant and spaghetti squash. It was very disappointing. What can I say. My mother was VERY happy with her prime rib. We will most likely return next Thanksgiving but I am hoping that they will have a better vegan option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving dinner for the two of us wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner for the two of us was quite good in both cases. However, despite the fine first impression our server made, service was less than stellar: long waits for an offer of bread, soda replacement (flat) then incorrect new one; looong wait for dessert and the check. Frequent checks of the large dining room did not indicate massive crowds of holiday guests, that would otherwise explain the erratic service. Adding to our disappointment was an automatic 20% tip to our bill --despite the menu stating that a 20% is automatically applied for parties of 6 or more.

I've been a patron of NT for over 40 years (my late father's favorite restaurant). He would not have been happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The staff was very friendly and knowledg ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were in the restaurant on Thanksgiving because many other restaurants were closed. It was very busy, but we never felt rushed. The food was excellent. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience, and if we lived in Cleveland, we would definitely be regulars, and would come for the music as well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

XFood and service were great. Tables are ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

XFood and service were great. Tables are too close together. Very difficult to navigate through. We were celebrating an 80th birthday and would have ordered dessert, but our 6:30 reservation did not allow time for that without paying the charge for entertainment. I should have been told of that when making the reservation so we could have come earlier

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently good food. Always a good v ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Consistently good food. Always a good vegan option. Pleasant accommodating staff. Noise level depends on which room you sit in.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience, neighborhood ge ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great dining experience, neighborhood gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch menu. Enjoyed it as always ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great brunch menu. Enjoyed it as always. Food and service were very good.

Love the Corned beef hash. My wife's Eggs Benedict were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and not crowded. Good place to ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food and not crowded. Good place to grab Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

After our opening night, we wanted to ge ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

After our opening night, we wanted to get our small cast together to celebrate. We ask for a quiet corner ( a rarity at Nighttown) and we got it. Great service and food. It was a perfect evening with these talented people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time. One of the few places ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had a great time. One of the few places in Cleveland where you get good food and good entertainment. Great music.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is always delicious. Well ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food here is always delicious. Well prepared and served in a pleasing manner. Service is spot on. Prices are reflective of the good quality.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been dining here for 40 years, we'v ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I've been dining here for 40 years, we've had many of our significant family events here (birthdays, anniversaries, holidays - I even got engaged here in 1984!) I never hesitate to bring friends and clients to Nighttown - and as a Realtor, I am especially proud to make this a destination to show off to new clients relocating to the Northeast Ohio.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

While I miss the Chicken Chèvre, the CAP ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

While I miss the Chicken Chèvre, the CAPRESE CHICKEN is a very good dish. Our shared Ceasar salad was very good and the Dublin Lawyer was rich and flavorful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nighttown is a local treasure, always de ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Nighttown is a local treasure, always delicious food, always attentive & professional service. My visit with 5 friends prior to an author event was no exception to this. We had a wide variety of tastes, all of which were met. Our server was particularly flexible & affable, and we were able to enjoy the outdoor dining area on a mild evening. It's great to have a local venue that you can count on, and although we didn't stay for music this evening, that also sets Nighttown apart from other area restaurants of similar caliber. One in our group had not been to Nighttown before, and she was impressed and delighted with our choice.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rumer Willis performed!!!!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Rumer Willis performed!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch is the best ever. Lobster ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sunday brunch is the best ever. Lobster eggs Benedict!!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Private Room, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tues nite before theater restaurant not ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Tues nite before theater restaurant not crowded had to wait 40 minutes for food that wasn't even prepared according to menu. Server told manager who we never saw no apology or offer of drink or dessert. We of course didn't want anything except for manager to say something. Very disappointing

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We were seated outside on an uncovered p ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were seated outside on an uncovered pTio. Sun was beautiful and we were the only ones there. Didn't know about this patio but it served our purpose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went to hear a local and a national g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went to hear a local and a national guitarist. Had assumed if you went early for dinner, music was included (wrong there - plus 15% charge for using a credit card!). Why else eat dinner at Nighttown? Service was poor (the waiter wouldn't even look customers in the eye - although he was nice enough to warn us that 20% gratuity had been added to the bill), meal came out incorrect, food and drinks were mediocre. Previous reviewers had warned us, next time go for music only!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.