About Nighttown

12387 Cedar Ave
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Named after the Dublin Red-Light District in James Joyce's Ulysses, Nighttown possesses the ambiance of Irish pubs and turn of the century New York bars. Leaded, etched, and stained glass, combined with a clutter of memorabilia from earlier eras decorate the four distinctly different dining rooms and three active bars. Be sure to see Stephen's Green, our outdoor dining area (fully-heated for year-round use) with a wall-size waterfall. Since opening day, February 5, 1965, the menu has been a model of consistency. Top quality Certified Angus Beef, milk -fed veal, and the freshest of fish and chicken are prepared with creative simplicity. Try our house specialty, The Dublin Lawyer. And Nighttown has the best jazz available - in fact, we're the only club in Ohio on Down Beat's list of The Best Jazz Clubs in the World.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Delaware

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 795-0550

Website:
http://www.nighttowncleveland.com/

Entertainment:
All music reservations must be made by phone. No open table reservations can be made for music events online

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking as wel as Valet is available.

Executive Chef:
Chris Stephens

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Savor your dining experience in one of our beautiful and unique private dining rooms. We will help you with every detail to ensure your event is sensational from start to finish.

Nighttown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Neighborhood Gem
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Cleveland Heights ›

neighborhood gem (49)
great for outdoor dining (33)
good for groups (31)
See All
special occasion (25)
late-night find (21)
fit for foodies (19)
great for lunch (13)
hot spot (11)
romantic (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (7)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was quite good. Sweet potato fries ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Food was quite good. Sweet potato fries were very sweet and not greasy. Ambiance was very pleasant. Wonderful classic facility with great historic pictures and artwork. Show was also very well done and entertaining. Got to meet others who live in and enjoy Cleveland. Great evening

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nighttown was our mother's favorite rest ...

Dined 6 days ago

Nighttown was our mother's favorite restaurant for decades. She passed away, so we came here after her funeral on Saturday. We were from Kentucky, Philly, Alabama and Florida. We all enjoyed it and will return when and if we come back to Cleveland.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a relaxed evening celebrati ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

We had such a relaxed evening celebrating our 44th anniversary. The server gave us enough time, between courses, to savor our meal and unlike some places we have eaten at, we didn't feel hurried along at all. Since the patio is 1st come 1st serve, we were happy to see that the owner had a reserved sign at one of the tables when we arrived. He also came over to wish us a happy anniversary as well as spend some time talking to us!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very accommodating with kids. Good food ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very accommodating with kids. Good food at a good price. A favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We are lucky to live in the neighborhood ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We are lucky to live in the neighborhood and to be so close to this comfortable restaurant with excellent food. It feels like home but with someone nice to wait on us and something good to eat that we don't have to prepare.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal on their very large pat ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Had a great meal on their very large patio. Decent vegetarian option with a good drink list.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We have eaten at Nightown for 30+ years ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We have eaten at Nightown for 30+ years and the food has always been good and consistent. This evening was the first time, I did not care for my meal. The trout was on the thin side and came looking pale and limp. It was covered with about 100 almond slivers which I think were put on there to cover up the appearance of the trout. It wasn't hot but, rather, room temperature. The baked potato was overdone and brownish. Very disappointing meal but I guess, one bad one, in 30 years , aren't bad odds.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our experience was super at Nighttown. We like to go early to dinner--but we like to stretch out the evening also. Our waiter was attentive and allowed us to take our time making decisions. Our food was prepared perfectly--my husband had the filet, med rare; I had the chicken caprese. This entree is so very tasty--it's now my favorite item on the menu.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nighttown

Dined on May 27, 2016

Went out for a dinner date. We were a little worried that we would miss the start of the Cavs game, but our service was very quick and our server was very friendly and totally on the ball. I had the prime rib and she had the capellini and both were outstanding. Dinner was a bit on the expensive side for someone who just finished college, but I will definitely return sometime soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

The poblano corn soup was excellent and ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The poblano corn soup was excellent and the trout amandine was very good. The fish tacos could have had more filling and the soft taco shells were over cooked- dry and burnt on the edge. The service was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nightown is reliable as ever. Food and s ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Nightown is reliable as ever. Food and service very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a reliably good meal in NY Irish ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a reliably good meal in NY Irish pub atmosphere.

food4
ambience1
service3
value4

Too crowded broke safety and left almost ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Too crowded broke safety and left almost 12 inch walk areas between when seated . food was good . . DUE TO CROWD YOU COULD HARDLY HEAR.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Filet melts in your mouth, as does t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The Filet melts in your mouth, as does the Veal meatloaf. Couple it with a glass of Bookers on the side and it's perfect. The portions are nice, but not big. They may have a live band playing the evening you're there, check the website. The staff are all very knowledgable and kind. This isn't a young person's place (evidenced by the prices), but young professionals/parents/older people in the neighborhood are who this place caters to. Whatever you do though, you must get the Crème brûlée.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The fish tacos were very good as was the ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The fish tacos were very good as was the slaw. The refined beans were adequate. The pork tenderloin was very good as was the polenta. The dish would benefit from a little more sauce. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and did an excellent job.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Dublin lawyer is always fantastic. Waffl ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dublin lawyer is always fantastic. Waffle over cooked. Burger no seasoning. Despite reservations, we were told there was a party of 80 so the kitchen was backed up. Actual wait wasn't too bad, but the planning seemed off. Waitress was accommodating and kind. I would think there could be music for Mother's Day since its Nighttown.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing Brunch! Nothing better!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day brunch! It was awesome! We were sat in the covered garden patio. Amazing natural light and comfortable for our group of 8. It was a little loud, but that was due to the Mother's Day crowd. We had a great time and the food was delicious! Its the best eggs benedict I've had in the Shaker Hts area! Great for brunch, I'll continue to go there over and over! Never a poor experience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Overwhelmed for Mother's Day?

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were walked through an empty restaurant to an extremely crowded enclosed patio for Mother's Day brunch. Service was slow. One of my companions got tired of waiting for cream for his coffee and got up from the table to seek our server out. My lobster eggs benedict was good, except for one half of the English muffin was blackened. I wouldn't have served that to anyone I remotely cared about. To see it on my plate at a nicer restaurant, was disturbing. I've been here when service and food have been better, but it was a little embarrassing to have chosen it for my mother on her special day. I'll go again, but focus on music events rather than a celebration venue.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Fun place, my dish wasn't great but I wa ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fun place, my dish wasn't great but I was trying something for the first time so I can't complain.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

On our way to a musical event and on a t ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

On our way to a musical event and on a tight schedule, we did it all with the help of our efficient server.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved Nighttown for Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Had brunch there on Easter and everything--service, food and atmosphere--was outstanding! Given my experience, I'll be going back for a concert and dinner with high expectations, given how great their brunch was.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Easter brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our group was seated in an extra room beside a very large and extremely loud group when there were seats in the main room empty. After a while the group left which let us hear each other. The food was good but there was a great deal of server confusion which led to delays. Not sure I would suggest this place for holidays but my guests have been here before and love the food.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

orthodoxy dinner spit.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Enjoyed a birthday dinner here as I wanted to have one of their specialties, the Dublin Laywer, which was delicious. Service was a bit slow but very friendly. Took a while to get our Brussels sprouts salad as the delivery server couldn't seem to find us but we eventually got it as our primary server checked on us. Overall, an enjoyable evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Solid menu with some nods toward British ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Solid menu with some nods toward British pub fare: lamb stew, bangers& mash. I got the stew, which was fine except the mashed potatoes on top were lukewarm at best. My wife enjoyed the salmon burger and a friend really liked his clam chowder. Waitstaff was excellent. Friendly and helpful. Live music from from the bar wafted into the dining area. Just loud enough to enjoy, but not so loud to impede conversation. Nice selection of draft beers and creative cocktails from the bar. My Maple Old Fashioned was tasty. One disappointment: I could not use my Open Table gift certificate because I did not print it out. Waiter said they did not have any way to scan it. I offered to email it to them so they could print it, but they couldn't do it. Restaurant should fix that if they're going to participate.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

disappointed

Dined on March 6, 2016

We went to Night Town on a whim two days before the visit I am going to review and liked it fine, so we decided to bring my 86yr old mother (who has fond memories of Night Town) and my two adult children for a small celebration. We made reservations but ended up not being expected. After standing in a very crowded, busy hallway for a long time, we were shunted to an overflow space that was not at all the experience we anticipated. We expected a certain warm ambiance -- low lighting, art and photos on the walls, music drifting in the air, etc. But this overflow space lacked all of that and instead had bright institutional lighting, it was cold (we all sat there with our coats on) and we had a fan blowing on us. The server was nice but completely overwhelmed with too many parties. She removed my bread plate and silverware before we were done with the bread about a half hour before the food finally came out. The server never replaced my silverware. I ordered the same dish I had ordered at our previous visit but it was not at all the same. The dish was lacking key ingredients, it was tiny (not nearly enough food for the price), and it seemed slapped together. When we mentioned this to our server she brought out a ridiculously small portion of the missing ingredient that was really insulting. When the served asked if everything was satisfactory I mentioned that my dish was not what I had expected. She sent for the manager who came to our table and apologized but made no real effort to make us feel better. In fact, she blamed us for not saying something earlier (When? Before the food came out?). This was probably our last-ever visit to this restaurant that we used to frequent with some regularity in the past. Very disappointing and sad.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Not special enough for the price.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The salad, chocolate cake and clam chowder were special. The rest of the dishes were just average. The wine was generous and smooth, but little flavor. For the price, I probably will not go back again.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun and entertaining dinner great food

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food and service with 2 bands going in the background. Such a fun experience

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This Cleveland institution did not disappoint

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went to dinner at Nighttown on our way to a program at the Cleveland Institute of Music (another well-known and revered Cleveland institution). We told our server that we had a limited time during which to have our dinner, so she took care of us promptly. Her service was very attentive, efficient, and friendly. The food was very good. I had the Dublin Lawyer, a lobster dish which is a house specialty, and I highly recommend it. My husband, who is a vegetarian, had the Halloumi Kebab, which is a delicious grilled goat and sheep cheese served with citrus couscous and grilled asparagus. He was very pleased with his dish and enjoyed it thoroughly. The Nighttown menu includes a variety of meat, chicken, fish, and vegetarian dishes which are sure to please even the fussiest of eaters. Unfortunately, we did not have time to order dessert, but the selections all sounded delicious. In addition to going to Nighttown for the food, I highly recommend attending one of the venue's jazz shows, which feature both local and nationally-known Jazz performers. The shows also offer the full drinks and food menus, and the entertainment in combination with the menu offerings make for a very enjoyable evening. Nighttown is a Cleveland institution and a gem!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food with Character

Dined on February 22, 2016

This restaurant is a gem in Cleveland Heights. If you have not yet been there, do not delay. The menu offers vegetarian, vegan, and carnivore options. Additionally, nearly anyone can find something in their price range - from a reasonable pasta or appetizer, to filet mignon. And it's all delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best birthday

Dined on February 20, 2016

Made a reservation for 8 for my wife's birthday celebration. Changed it to 10, no problem. Changed it to 12, no problem. Very accommodating, excellent food, excellent service. The owner managed to squeeze a few of us into the show area after dinner. Not cheap but not expensive either and well worth it. We ended up having brunch there the next day too, and the food and service were equally excellent. So it's not just a great place for musical performances, it's a great place for food and special events too.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

My wife and daughter had the New England ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and daughter had the New England style chowder. They both liked it a lot. I had lobster bisque, the soup of the day, delicious. The girls had Caesar salad. It definitely tasted of anchovy. I had the house salad, much better. My daughter had a cheeseburger, not much to add there. My wife had the Dublin Lawyer, lobster meat, rice, mushrooms, and a delightful sauce. I had sea scallops. It came with 4 very large scallops, a pilaf of rice, wild rice and dried cherries. It was good, but no Dublin Lawyer. The server was attentive. No complaints.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great brunch with friends!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to Nighttown for happy hour, for dinner and a show, and now for brunch! It's a neighborhood staple in Cleveland Heights and always delivers - even on a busy day with holiday crowds. We had a group of 5 people and everyone's food was spot on. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was good and an excellent value, bu ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was good and an excellent value, but was with a party of 6 and didn't get my meal until others had finished.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Enjoyed a great dinner at Nighttown on Valentine's Day. We had the Dublin Lawyer (her) and the Monkfish (me), shared a Brussel sprout salad to start with, and finished things off with the flourless chocolate tort. The salad was a little small to share (and for the price), but otherwise everything far exceeded our expectations. The entrees were delicious! We definitely plan to return in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A local gem

Dined on February 7, 2016

We really enjoyed the ambiance & food at Nighttown...can't believe this gem was never on our radar before now. We went on a Saturday evening, and the jazz music was a nice background to our conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there with a group ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

It was our first time there with a group of 10 the food was awesome and Tony our server was amazing! We didn't wait for anything! Telling everyone I know and we'll definitely return! Thanks for a fun night!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on January 17, 2016

My sister was in town from Dallas and we went to the top 4 restaurants in Cleveland and on the last night went to Nightown-Phenomenal service from Samantha- great clam chowder, brussell sprout salad was perfect and the filet mignon was flawless!! The cauliflower augratin was the best we ever had!! I would highly recommend Nightown- don't waste your time at the highly rated downtown restaurants- Nightown is an absolutely fantastic restaurant!!! The other "top" 4 restaurants did not even come close to our visit to Nightown.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Nighttown, always Cleveland, since 1965

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

An eclectic menu with comfort surroundings. A place to count on when you want the best with great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We return often to Nighttown for brunch ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

We return often to Nighttown for brunch because the food is good, the service is reasonably efficient and friendly, and the atmosphere is anything but cookie-cutter. It has been a standard in the heights because it has what it takes to make people come back. One of the better brunch menus in the entire city. Almost never disappointed.

food2
ambience3
service5
value1

brunch

Dined on January 1, 2016

I was excited to try nighttown but was very unimpressed, food came out burned. Server was very helpful but unfortunately I will not be returning.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.