Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Nightbell

4.5
639 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

Nightbell is an American restaurant focusing on local Appalachian ingredients.

You’ll enjoy Chef Katie Button’s masterful American food creations, served small-plate style. Enhance the meal with our playful and original craft cocktails, distinctive wines and spirits from all over the world, and local draft beers. Finish with a decadent dessert for a truly unique dining experience.

Nightbell is a member of the Heirloom Hospitality Group, the family business that also owns and manages the nationally acclaimed Cúrate bar de tapas.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tue, Wed, Thur: 5 PM - 10:30 PM, Fri & Sat: 5 PM - 11 PM, Sun: 5 PM - 10PM

Closed on Mondays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 575-0375
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Katie Button
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Aston Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private parking lots are located across the street from Nightbell and also at the corner of S. Lexington Ave and Aston Street. Private parking is also available at the Aloft Hotel; entrance is on S. Lexington Ave, south of Aston Street. Streetside parking is available downtown, but not on South Lexington Avenue between Patton Avenue and Aston Street.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 639 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Creative, fun, great bar, pricy, lots of energy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing! Incredibly creative and perfectly prepared food with exemplary service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2017

Fun place to dine, great food and service...look forward to dinning there again...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2017

Great restaurant and the small dishes do not disappoint. We enjoyed the food immensely and would recommend trying as much as possible. The major downside was that it took nearly 15 minutes to be served. The bartender finally asked for our orders as he didn't know who was supposed to serve our table. Once the orders went in everything went smoothly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2017

Good and service outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful meal and atmosphere. Cocktails are unique and delicious. Food was great - had oysters, beef tartare, the flounder special and my husband had the ribeye. All amazing. Just love this restaurant. All portions are small or to share so you can try a variety of things.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food excellent service well worth the value

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome experience. Like their sister restaurant Curate, a gem not to be missed by serious conniseuers of great food, informed servers and comfortable environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2017

First time there and really wondered why it took us so long! Lovely intimate space, excellent service, imaginative tapas and larger plates too. Fun cocktails, though pricey. Very accommodating to my GF requests. Everything was flavorful, but especially loved the celery root soup and the mushroom dish. Will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2017

Rather than ordering ourselves, we chose the "Nightbell Experience" allowing our server to select dishes for us based upon the input we shared with her. It was everything we hoped for and more! Each selection was superb. The combination of ingredients is often something inexplicable but always a gastric delight. Bravo! Well, well done!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2017

The second best meal we have ever had....GLOBALLY. The innovative, superb ingredients were composed into fantastic dishes. The wine list is very interesting and well-priced. We are sharing our enthusiasm with our Asheville friends. In a town where the competition is getting very stiff, NIGHTBELL excells in food, wine and service. Go and ENJOY!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a delicious, creative, and totally satisfying experience! Many thanks, once again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a very nice NY Eve dinner. The food was amazing, especially the flounder! Our server was very kind and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful gem of a restaurant with unique dishes that delight the palate and provide variety for anyone's dietary wishes. The price was more than reasonable - the service was excellent - I would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2016

Night Bell is a food lovers dream. Such a creative menu in a beautiful setting. Don't miss the opportunity to eat at this restaurant. We can't wait until the next time we are in Asheville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Every attention to detail well orchestrated. Amazing flavors from the first plate through dessert. A must do.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent experience! We!'lol be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2016

We went here based on press about the chef for a romantic dinner. My wife who is incredibly picky loved it and said it was one of the best restaurants she ever ate at. She particularly loved the flounder special. The ambiance is nice and romantic but casual at the same time. The cocktails are great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Absolutely the perfect Christmas Eve meal. Mixologist was phenomenal and our server was brilliant in her service and recommendations. The Tapas concept was perfect. Ever dish had tremendous flavor and variety.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2016

We've eaten at dozens of places in Asheville and all over the US and Europe. This ranks in the top 3 of any place we've ever eaten. Food was imaginative and fabulously delicious. This is a must when in Asheville!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2016

Nightbell is a true gem, tucked away unassumingly on S. Lexington Ave. This was not our first visit, but we are always surprised by the interesting individual & tapas choices on the menu; we tried as many as we possibly could in one setting - all of them wonderful. Before Nightbell, I never checked "Molecular Gastronomy" on a restaurant review; but after eating their version of a "deviled egg" -and the unique "grilled oyster" it is clear that Nightbell is among the best of the best at innovative, fun, delicious food options.
The moderately priced, delicious wines were also a nice touch. (More expensive options are available, of course.)
Highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 20, 2016

We went to the Nightbell for a special night with out-of-town friends. The ambiance was outstanding, and the decor was festive and cozy for the holidays. It was loud and energetic, but I wouldn't consider that a negative. FOOD: We had read positive reviews, and the food was delicious and creative - however, be prepared to leave hungry! We all ordered 3 or 4 plates from up and down the menu - and the portions were by far the smallest of any place I've had in a long time. To their credit, the menu did say "single-bite" for many of the plates. COCKTAILS: Outstanding, creative and delicious. Loved the homemade eggnog list! OVERALL: We're Asheville locals, and wanted to visit once, but we probably wouldn't recommend to our family or friends - purely because of the exceptionally small portions and high prices - but we understand that AVL is a foodie city, so it will certainly attract a certain clientele. We all commented that it was the least Asheville-ish type of restaurant in town - but, not necessarily a bad thing. It's nice that there's something for everyone. Worth at least one visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is top-notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2016

We happened upon Nightbell while vacationing in North Carolina. We needed a dinner time on Sunday at 830. Were we surprised. The ambience was super cool. A really hip vibe. We didn't realize it was the sister restaurant to where we wanted to go. The food was a small plate share menu with a play on Souther Appalachian cuisine. Local purveyors. Excellent execution. So amazingly good. The service was excellent. Attentive with excellent recommendations. I would highly recommend. Definitely try the deviled eggs and duck pastrami.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent service. Flavorful food. Yam Vodka was a premium choice at a reasonable price.
Eggnog choices were extensive and flavorful. We will return !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 17, 2016

Great cocktails but the food was quite disappointing, except for the Duck. The amount of garlic and lemon on the fresh fish dish made the fresh flounder impossible to taste at all and the rest of the dishes seem to be struggling in an effort to be unique versus concentrating on their flavors.
Oddly, They also do not provide the wine varietal name on their wine list, only a description. I cannot see how this helps anyone by removing varietal of grape from all of the wines on the wine list ?
Curate is truly amazing but this latest effort seems to be struggling to find its feet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2016

We loved the Nightbell! Great ambiance and service. The food is spectacular. Go with an adventurous spirit and try everything!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2016

THE most excellent burger we've had in AVL ever, and that includes almost everywhere now...not sure what they did, and it wasn't cheap, but it was amazing. Had to start the review w/ that.

Overall this is a 4-5 star food event and I only gave it a 4 because our servers were not very personable desert took about 20 mins after ordering and my 2-oz coffee serve w/ the dessert was a joke (sorry - that's not acceptable - I should've sent it back).

Otherwise the food is outstanding, creative, not mired in what's new for the week (that we could tell) and we'd easily return again (esp to give the wait staff another chance). I won't detail every course, but they were easily top shelf, top notch, beautifully displayed, and beyond delicious - without a doubt worth every cent. Where else are you going to get duck jerky?

The window-seat overlooking the street was pretty sweet too. The atmosphere is excellent as well - classic brick / rock /wood and low lit that makes for intimate conversation, etc.

A note on servers: we locals and we don't expect anyone to know that, but the origin and core of AVL life is a smile and friendliness. Our servers were impersonal and cold. We're not the talk-your-heads off . ask-you-about-your-life types but simple eye contact, a genuine smile, and friendliness go a long way. Servers need to read clients and see if they want to be left alone or care for even minor interaction instead of approaching with Brooklyn waiter deadpan, as if that's somehow pleasant. Basic friendliness makes for better tips (we left 15%, would've gone way higher for friendlier interaction) and generates a more personal experience in our view...win-win situation. So we're constantly stumped when servers are aloof - just doesn't make sense in this town. We were early (515pm) and it filled up fast, so we know time matters - but smiling and friendliness take no extra time. Its my only recommendation for this establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent. Great taste. Small bites. Worth every cent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Great atmosphere and knowledgeable staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Very interesting and good tapas but restaurant is extremely loud

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2016

Outstanding - we let the very knowledgeable waitress order for our group of 3. We LOVED every course. If you haven't been, you really need to go !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Simply fabulous! The food was only matched by the tremendous service. Friendly and warm while allowing us space for conversation. Attentive without being intrusive. A delicate balance that they managed to maintain throughout our meal.

On the food; delicious with truly unique presentations. The Crispy Waffle with Duck con feit was simply awesome. The menu is structured to allow for ease of sharing and the range of flavors and options is almost staggering. One of the best steak tartare dishes I have ever had but I won't spoil it by describing the presentation...you have to experience it.

The only warning here is to get a reservation...and do it early. Saturday evening was full and I suspect that is the norm.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2016

The menu is intimidating at first but the waitress explained everything beautifully. Food was fabulous! Beautiful venue but a bit noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

We had the Nightbell experience and it was well worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2016

Was in with my daughter's (ages 7 & 10). They have fairly expansive palates and ate well from the menu. Highlight, of course, was Chef Katie coming to our table with special items and speaking with my daughters. Oldest daughter said she felt like a celebrity - thank you to the staff for rewarding their willingness to branch out their eating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2016

Great place for a date, though would also be great for a group of friends. Highlights are warm friendly wait staff, unusual cocktails, small plates of interesting food, and great ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2016

Phenomenal experience! Some local friends recommended as a place we could not miss...and we were not let down. Comparable to any of our favorite restaurants around the country.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2016

NIGHTFALL LIVED UP TO THE GLOWING REVIEWS I HAD READ ABOUT THE PLACE. THE SMALL PLATE APPROACH TO THEIR MENU, WHICH OUR SERVER CALLED "APPALACHIAN TAPAS", MADE IT EASY TO ORDER A VARIETY OF ITEMS -- ALL WERE DELICIOUS.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16