About Nightbell

32 S. Lexington Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Nightbell is a contemporary American small plate restaurant with a craft cocktail bar and lounge. Chef Katie Button's menu is a blend of comfort food and inventive twists on the classics where there is a serious commitment to local farmers and sustainable products including a nose to tail beef program.

Bartenders create ever-changing concoctions using seasonal ingredients and hand-carved ice. At Nightbell, the atmosphere is dim and romantic with eclectic vintage-inspired decor, reminiscent of Asheville's Art Deco heritage. Step inside to escape the mundane and discover a world of surprises.

Nightbell is a member of the Heirloom Hospitality Group, the family business that also owns and manages the nationally acclaimed Cúrate bar de tapas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tue, Wed, Thur: 5 PM - 10:30 PM, Fri & Sat: 5 PM - 11 PM, Sun: 5 PM - 10PM

Closed on Mondays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day

Cross Street:
Aston Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-0375

Website:
http://www.thenightbell.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are located across the street from Nightbell and also at the corner of S. Lexington Ave and Aston Street. Private parking is also available at the Aloft Hotel; entrance is on S. Lexington Ave, south of Aston Street. Streetside parking is available downtown, but not on South Lexington Avenue between Patton Avenue and Aston Street.

Executive Chef:
Katie Button

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell

Nightbell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
1 More
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (115)
Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (53)
See All
Hot Spot (48)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Groups (32)
Late-night Find (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
478 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Definitely a favorite in AVL. I've bee ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Definitely a favorite in AVL. I've been several times, and never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef driven, delicious! Portions are s ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Chef driven, delicious! Portions are small but prices to share. Farm to table is taken to new heights here, wine selection was acceptable and not too pricey!

a perfect meal in downtown Asheville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was lively and attractive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

The atmosphere was lively and attractive and the service excellent. However, the table was tiny, silverware tiny and poorly weighted and the napkins tiny. Whoever selected the appointments was a munchkin. I am a small woman and still found this extremely difficult. The knife kept falling off the plate and it was so difficult to eat without getting my hands in the food. I went to the restroom to wash my hands three times. The food was creative, but overly complicated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was delicious and service was outst ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was delicious and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum! Loved ambiance and waitstaff was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Yum! Loved ambiance and waitstaff was very friendly and knowlegable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was terrific. Very nois ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food and service was terrific. Very noisy private party in the open restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

each dish was a creative surprise - fav ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

each dish was a creative surprise - fav was the infused vinaigrettes for the oysters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I don't say this lightly: this was one o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I don't say this lightly: this was one of the best meals I've had. The flavors blended perfectly and every dish worked. We went on recommendation of the host at our bed and breakfast, and we are so glad we took her advice. Go to Nightbell!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The experience we had at Nightbell was A ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The experience we had at Nightbell was AMAZING! We are foodies, I suppose, but I don't really care for that word. I just like to eat and try new things! I know I had to try Curate's sister restaurant on our most recent visit to Asheville, and I'm so glad we did. It is a tapas-style menu, offering bites (for one), and snacks + plates (to share). Everything was so inventive, well-balanced, flavorful, and just DELICIOUS. Do not miss the "deviled egg". As someone with gluten intolerance, I so appreciated being able to easily see what was gluten free and what could be modified to be GF. Lactose intolerance, tree nut allergic, it was all laid out in parentheses at the end of the item description. What's even better is there was a GF cake on their regular dessert menu. Of course, like everything else, it was to die for. Like a butter filled brown sugar lava cake- it was sweet and salty and perfect. The only thing that didn't add up, was that the restaurant ought to have been packed and though it was a Sunday night, it was very quiet. More for me, but I hope that more people will dare to visit this absolute gem!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails are tasty. Loved the cheese p ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cocktails are tasty. Loved the cheese plate, deviled egg, steak tartare, greens and heirloom tomatoes. The ambiance is excellent. This is a great place to take friends visiting the area.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic food, drink, and atmosphere. O ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic food, drink, and atmosphere. Our entire group loved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My sister and I visited Nightbell to cel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My sister and I visited Nightbell to celebrate grad school acceptance. The food was spectacular. The hush puppies and dipping sauce were amazing, as was the burger (I don't normally like burgers) and drinks. We had an Asheville On My Mind- very good bourbon drink. There was a lot for my sister to choose from, as she is vegetarian. The ambiance is fun, but make a reservation! Great for a few tapas and drinks. Will come again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

One of our favorite spots to eat in Ashe ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of our favorite spots to eat in Asheville. The presentations are amazing and Katie knows her food. Wild mushrooms were perfect and the sauted greens were fabulous. There is no way to describe the desserts because they are over the moon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Incredibly creative small plates take yo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Incredibly creative small plates take you on a culinary adventure that doesn't leave you feeling stuffed (or robbed). Great craft cocktails, too, in a funky, industrial but plush setting. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal at Nightbell was just outstand ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our meal at Nightbell was just outstanding. The food was delicious, inventive, and playful. The servers were all engaging and intent on providing a great dining experience. Recommendations were spot on. We truly enjoyed our dinner; we had dined at Curate the night before and, while that was excellent as well, if we could only choose one to go back to it would undoubtably be Nightbell.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food - some of the best small ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic food - some of the best small plates we have had in a long time. Would recommend over the other restaurants we ate at in Asheville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing, and service was wonder ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was amazing, and service was wonderful. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food and service. Creative m ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Creative menu. Tapas and entrees were well thought out. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Geat spot for a special occasion or just ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Geat spot for a special occasion or just a quick bite with a nice glass of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The place has a highly regarded reputati ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The place has a highly regarded reputation, as does it's sister spot, Curate. It is a bit hard to find, with no parking right close. It is a warm and exotic ambiance. BUT, the excellent food is over-rated, given the price (!) and THE VERY SMALL PORTIONS. Not an everyday choice, for sure. come with a large credit card max and expect to spend a LOT of it.....

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Saturday night dinner at Nightbell was o ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Saturday night dinner at Nightbell was one of the best meal experiences I've had to date. The food was delicious and unique but it was the service and care that made the experience a special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and creative, as ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was delicious and creative, as were the drinks. The service was good and it is an all-around fun spot. Food and drinks are pricey, but it's not outrageous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I prefer the food, ambiance, and drinks ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I prefer the food, ambiance, and drinks at Curate. Checked out Nightbell because of the same ownership and small plate dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Every trip to Asheville includes a dinne ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Every trip to Asheville includes a dinner at Nightbell. Fantastic small plates and out of this world desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a fan of Curate, and this was my fir ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I'm a fan of Curate, and this was my first time at Nightbell. It was disappointing. Our group of three tried many dishes last Thursday night: they were wildly inconsistent, other than desserts, which were diverse and uniformly fantastic.

Go for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellent food & service

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of two, celebrating a 65 ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were a party of two, celebrating a 65th birthday. The drink list was amazing, the island drink was very good. The server suggested we think about 6 to 8 plates for a party of two. We started with two appetizer plates, one salad plate and two entree plates, each plate that came to the table, was better than the last. The evening was topped off with two dessert plates. Again, each one was better than the last. Highly recommend this location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. The staff was k ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great dining experience. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. I'll be back on my next trip to the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly excellent. Every dish was creativ ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Truly excellent. Every dish was creative and delicious. Katie Button is an amazing chef. Asheville has a lot of outstanding chefs but she is in a league of her own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG. everything was beautiful and delic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

OMG. everything was beautiful and delicious. Great service. Exceptional cocktails. Fabulous decor

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Atmosphere was a bit ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was amazing. Atmosphere was a bit loud, but beautiful. Our server was too soft spoken and didn't offer explanation or suggestion which I feel is needed in a tapas environment. We went back the next night with a party of 8 and our server was MUCH more knowledgeable and helped a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

All of the dishes we tried at Nightbell ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

All of the dishes we tried at Nightbell were good- some of them were fabulous. We had the bread with chicken butter, the greens, the carrots, the clams, the deviled egg, and the hen of the woods mushrooms. The clams were delicious-- I wanted a straw for the broth. The deviled egg is amazing and just so smart. The carrots and greens were both total marvels-- my husband and I were like "what on earth..???" in a really good way, if that makes sense. The chicken butter was a huge hit with my husband, I liked it OK. The hen of the woods mushrooms were a little too sesame-y for me. The deserts were amazing. We had the key lime cheesecake, which was so interesting and fresh and light. Also the hazelnut molten cake, neither fresh nor light, but truly, truly memorable. We were glad we ate all the dishes, even the ones we didn't both adore, because it all was so creative and thoughtful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and service! This is my new ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing food and service! This is my new favorite in Asheville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Curate, but couldn't get reserva ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We love Curate, but couldn't get reservation in time, tried Nightbell instead. The portions of the small plates really are quite small, and not cheap. The deviled egg was scrumptuous. The clams very tasty but a small portion, the duck confit with cheddar mousse was for us the high point of the meal. Hamburger yummy but very rich. Hard to imagine having any coronaries open if you added the foie gras to it. Heads-on shrimp overly seasoned, oppressive. Root beer float dessert very clever, but dessert is for the heart, not the head. Overall, spent about $110 for three, with no wine. Overall, good but not delightful, and for the price, want more delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely outstanding experience! The c ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Absolutely outstanding experience! The chef/proprietor also runs Curate, a highly rated tapas restaurant. Think of this as top-notch farm-to-table "tapas" with a Southern flavor (which is why they don't call it "tapas", since that's specifically Spanish, at least according to the server we had). She also trained at El Bulli, often cited as the best restaurant in the world - and it shows.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Must have the deviled eggs. The hamburg ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Must have the deviled eggs. The hamburger was juicy. We also had the beef short ribs and the seafood plate. All delicious. The desserts - key lime pie and chocolate praline cake were very good (especially the cake!).

There is an impressive drink list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DO IT! We had a great server who recom ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

DO IT! We had a great server who recommended dishes perfect for all of our groups different likes. They were spot on....amazing...can't wait to return. Also,the cocktails are wonderful. A real treat ...this place is a must do!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Most of the food was highly enjoyable, e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Most of the food was highly enjoyable, especially the ribeye and the short ribs. The side items were so-so and exhorbitantly priced as so many tapas restaurants get away with. The atmosphere made up for that though. Altogether I recommend it for a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Several of the menu items are very good. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Several of the menu items are very good. The deviled egg is a specialty, and is a must try. When I ordered the wild mushroom dish (also very good), the server recommended the steak. As steaks go, it was OK, but certainly not memorable.

There is a imaginative drink menu as well, but $13 for a cocktail seemed a bit over the top.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I had heard that Nightbell was a great r ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I had heard that Nightbell was a great restaurant and we weren't disappointed. The "deviled egg" appetizer was sublime. Not a deviled egg at all. Just a wonderful rich sabayon. Another person in our party had the duck appetizer which was also excellent. I had the trout and another guest had the duck and waffles. Both outstanding. The service was friendly and prompt. I live in Charlotte and wish that we had restaurants that are as inventive as Nightbell. A spectacular experience from beginning to end. We will definitely go back again the next time we visit Asheville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.