About Nightbell

32 S. Lexington Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Nightbell is a contemporary American small plate restaurant with a craft cocktail bar and lounge. Chef Katie Button's menu is a blend of comfort food and inventive twists on the classics where there is a serious commitment to local farmers and sustainable products including a nose to tail beef program.

Bartenders create ever-changing concoctions using seasonal ingredients and hand-carved ice. At Nightbell, the atmosphere is dim and romantic with eclectic vintage-inspired decor, reminiscent of Asheville's Art Deco heritage. Step inside to escape the mundane and discover a world of surprises.

Nightbell is a member of the Heirloom Hospitality Group, the family business that also owns and manages the nationally acclaimed Cúrate bar de tapas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tue, Wed, Thur: 5 PM - 10:30 PM, Fri & Sat: 5 PM - 11 PM, Sun: 5 PM - 10PM

Closed on Monday's, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day

Cross Street:
Aston Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-0375

Website:
http://www.thenightbell.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are located across the street from Nightbell and also at the corner of S. Lexington Ave and Aston Street. Private parking is also available at the Aloft Hotel; entrance is on S. Lexington Ave, south of Aston Street. Streetside parking is available downtown, but not on South Lexington Avenue between Patton Avenue and Aston Street.

Executive Chef:
Katie Button

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell

Nightbell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
1 More
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (112)
special occasion (82)
romantic (52)
See All
hot spot (46)
notable wine list (40)
good for groups (34)
vibrant bar scene (33)
late-night find (32)
neighborhood gem (30)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great restaurant, cool atmosphere and ...

Dined 5 days ago

A great restaurant, cool atmosphere and excellent service. Was disappointed they did not have any oysters on the half shell for the evening but every item we ordered was delicious with perfect presentation, including Caesar salad, deviled egg (like you have never had nor imagined), sauteed squid with peas, grilled maitake mushroom and the ultimate burger. Will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service, our waiter, ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal and service, our waiter, Nathaniel, went out of his way to accommodate my wife's dietary restrictions and consulted with the chef in order to assure her meal was safe for her diet. Great food, and the desserts, paired with specially selected drinks were amazing. A definite return visit is planned.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a fantastic date spot. Courteou ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

This was a fantastic date spot. Courteous and professional staff, delicious and creative menu offerings, and an ambience unlike any other in Asheville. Thank you Nightbell and HHG!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant setting without being pretentiou ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Elegant setting without being pretentious. Tapas allowed us to sample a lot of different dishes, and they were all delicious and well-presented. Great place for taking your time to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent! Delicious craft c ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was excellent! Delicious craft cocktails. The food is great. Highly recommend the roasted beets and sautéed greens. Extremely friendly staff. Would love to go back and sit in their beautiful bar.

food3
ambience5
service2

It a place fora bite not dinner ! Portio ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

It a place fora bite not dinner ! Portions small but creative and innovative. Serves start with unresponsive hostess and had a waitress and kitchen who did not know how to coordinate getting food to table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Nightbell! Food, service, bar wer ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved Nightbell! Food, service, bar were all outstanding. Our server Nathaniel was the best! He was friendly and knowledgeable; he totally responded to he level of input we were looking for, and his recommendations were spot on. The bar service was excellent, and the bartender came to our table to ensure she would make the drink the way I wanted it. Menu had great range, and everything we ordered was delicious. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food is incredibly delici ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, the food is incredibly delicious. The menu choices are fresh innovative takes on some of our favorite southern dishes. The pan seared trout was perfectly prepared; a lightly crisp grit crust contrasting perfectly with the moist delicate sweetness of the trout. And the burger was the best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it every time !! Food is delicious ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Love it every time !! Food is delicious and so unique !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything we had was delicious with the ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything we had was delicious with the exception of the clams that were overly salty. The server explained that they were just salty clams, but no salt was added. He immediately corrected the situation for us. Portions are very, very small for the most part so keep this in mind. Mostly small plates of one item each. I would ask more questions about size next time I dined there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time here! The food w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a wonderful time here! The food was delicious and the service was amazing. We will be back for sure!

food3
ambience4
service4

Went in with extremely high expectations ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Went in with extremely high expectations as my wife and I absolutely love Katie Button's other restaurant, Curate. Food was mediocre with a few highlights such as the Ribeye special but overall nothing memorable. Wine list was uninspiring , cocktails were good. Most likely will not be returning unfortunately, we will stick with Curate.

food5
ambience5
service5

The mushroom dish was amazing. Si many d ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The mushroom dish was amazing. Si many different flavors, but each one was distinguishable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ringing Praises for the Nightbell!

Dined on June 10, 2016

We chose the Nightbell for our 36th wedding anniversary celebration! Nathanael provided impeccable service, bringing each course at just the right time. The selections were imaginative, tasty and offered variety in color, texture and character. Nathanael presented us with a pretty cigar box containing two delightful desserts which was a lovely surprise.!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always surprising, Always good

Dined on June 9, 2016

This was our fifth visit. Living in Asheville we frequently have out of town guests. When deciding on the best places to wow our visitors with the cool and unexpected, Nightbell has become one of our go-to places for dinner. It never fails to impress with surprising, creative and perfectly prepared dishes. I recommend it for an evening when you want to linger, order one or two shareable plates at time and just be happy with anticipation of the next treat to arrive. The person that delivers each dish is usually from the kitchen and they always seem very proud of their creations. I recommend Nightbell to anyone with a sense of culinary adventure and the time to enjoy it. Nothing is what you expect but it surpasses what you could imagine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit but won't be the last

Dined on June 5, 2016

Four of us had dinner on a rather quiet Sunday evening and the food and service was amazing. Everything we tried had a different twist like the Caesar salad bite served in a jicama "taco". There were several small and large plates that we would like to try so we'll be back and maybe we'll save room for dessert! I should mention that the bartender made us a special chocotini even though it wasn't on the menu. Nice touch!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Always a wonderful experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

The Nightbell is definitely not for your run of the mill Tuesday dinner. It is not cheap and you won't get out of there without spending a lot of money. But the atmosphere, the creativity in the cocktails, the funkiness of the decor, and the excellence in the food make it worth every single penny. It is a great place for drinks with the girls, a special date, a place to celebrate, and any other occasion that demands something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The menu & quality of the food has chang ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The menu & quality of the food has changed since my first visit.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem in Asheville

Dined on June 3, 2016

Night Bell absolutely knocked the ball out of the park during our visit. From the most creative take on deviled eggs to superbly crafted small plates, extensive wine selections and attentive service I would rate Night Bell in the top tier of American Restaurants

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Wasn't what we expected. Very awkward se ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Wasn't what we expected. Very awkward seating at what was basically community table. The Places was goregous and the waitress was sweet. Just wasn't our thing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special fusion of flavor

Dined on June 1, 2016

Nightbell was my choice to celebrate my birthday. The creative blend between flavors and ingredients enticed us to try as many dishes as we could. Small plate portions were reasonable. We don't care to pig-out on large portions and come out feeling bloated. We want to enjoy every bite and Nightbell's line-up allowed us to do just that. Regrettably we were so satisfied, we didn't want dessert! My only suggestion is to have some less expensive choices in the wine selections. There are many great wines in the world that don't have to start at $48 a bottle.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Dazzling food in Asheville

Dined on May 31, 2016

This was one of those meals where every dish was a creative surprise, and each mouthful a delight! The eclectic decor was a good complement to the food. The service was quirky and a little on the slow side, but did not mar an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Off the Beaten Path Jem

Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband and I wanted to dine at Curate, but were unable to secure reservations (Memorial Day Weekend). We read that Nightbell had the same ownership and thought we would give it a try. Located off the beaten path, what a dining surprise. We started with the recommended deviled eggs (not your mammas)-fantastic. The dishes just kept getting better. Highly recommend the waffle and duck confit. Dessert was out of this world. Tobacco infused chocolate cake with peppercorn and strawberry sorbet. My mouth is still watering. Don't miss this hidden jem!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off the beaten path....

Dined on May 29, 2016

Not really if you know where it is. It is off the main street,but just behind it. FIrst time visit for dinner, previously here for drinks in the evening. Great little tapas. Lots of share items. When it says small, it really isn't to share, so get 2 of them. The little tacos are great, also grilled cheese and tomato soup. This really is a foodie place and all the flavors are delicious. We will go back. I did put that it was quite, that is because we were here when they opened at 5, also on Sunday evening. It was not real crowded then. The last time, it was later and more crowded, so the noise was a little louder....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Creative yet approachable menu with know ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Creative yet approachable menu with knowledgable staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Innovative Small Plates

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Started the evening with a cocktail, the Veracruz, refreshing. Try the deviled egg but be sure to get your own. Well worth the $4. We followed this with the crudo, mushrooms and sauteed greens... a little seafood and veg before the Canadian Poutine waffle which came with duck confit, French fries (the reason for poutine in the description - the table next to us was so confused by this), a cheese mousse and foie gras for a surcharge which was well worth the $10 extra as it added another dimension to the richness of the dish but didn't overwhelm it. It also paired well with the 2009 Remelluri "Reserva" from Spain. We ended with the Baked Alaska which was delicious but almost too sweet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious creative food.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was great the menu was creative. All the food we ordered was brought out hot and delicious. This is our third time here and it never disappoints. The executive chef Katie comes to the table and it adds to the fun of the evening talking about the foods we ordered. She is passionate about the menu and you really can taste it. These people are proud of what they do! This is not a regular dinning experience it is a fun and adventurous experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!! Oh my, that deviled egg. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding!!! Oh my, that deviled egg. Whole experience was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

I never get steak out. Usually never coo ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

I never get steak out. Usually never cooked as good as I can do it. I was wrong. The steak we had was phenomenal as was everything else. I asked the bartender to surprise me with a drink and I was not disappointed. Anyone traveling to Asheville I would highly recommend this place. Also, I expected to pay a lot more than we did. Excellent.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing.

Dined on May 26, 2016

I travel to Asheville around once a year and look forward to trying different restaurants. Curate is a favorite that I visit each year, so I was delighted to learn a "sister" restaurant had opened. Nightbell has a great look and vibe, but the food just isn't exceptional in any way. An order of clams--cooked properly and tender--were served in a lobster broth that tasted only of salt. Raw oysters (at $4 each) were small and served with two apothecary style dropper bottles of cocktail and herb infusions that carried very little flavor. I would have preferred a vinegary minionette or even straight horseradish. It looked cool but did not cover the fact that the plate was substandard. Hush puppies were the most fluffy I have ever had and truly fried exactly right. However, again, no flavor...no bit of onion, pepper, anything other than cornmeal. I could go on. Nothing was bad but nothing was very noteworthy either. Service was satisfactory with one exception. At an early dinner time, the sun was coming in the windows blinding anyone facing that direction. Servers closed the wooden shutters where they could get to them without disturbing patrons, but several (in my eyeline) remained open because people were dining at tables in front of them. When I say "blinding," this is no exaggeration. Direct late afternoon sun in my face prevented me from looking up at all. I appreciate the server's reluctance to disturb their meal, but mine was certainly disturbed. Overall, I cannot recommend Nightbell. Asheville offers too many other establishments getting it right.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service4

We enjoy small plates so this restaurant ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoy small plates so this restaurant was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nightbell is one of chef Katie Button's ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Nightbell is one of chef Katie Button's two extraordinary dining spots in Asheville (the other being Cúrate). The food is inventive and always fresh, and the cocktails are a gas. A great place to take visitors or for locals to enjoy on their own.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. Flavors are truly ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent experience. Flavors are truly unique. Standouts were the deviled egg, ultimate burger, sautéed greens and root beer float. Service was perfect ; attentive and personable. Great music and great ambience. I currently live in Boston, but lived in NYC and LA previously. Nightbell rivals my favorite places in those major hubs.

food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Very disappointed meal prices for no mea ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Very disappointed meal prices for no meal. Same ownership as Curate which is fantastic. Trying very hard to be different without success. Have been to tapas restaurants all over the World. We are very familiar with the concept. As example Malabar in Charlotte

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on May 11, 2016

First what was good. Our waitress was fine and other staff were very helpful in helping us negotiate entering and leaving (I use a walker). The food was unusual and presented well. We can reccommend the baked Alaska. The wine list was unusual and I was given good advice when asked about dry white wines. However, some of the food didn't quite add up to expectations -- the deviled eggs that received high praise from others for example. The very small plates did not hold the silver which kept falling off onto the table. Portions could have been slightly larger given the very high prices. This was my wife's birthday dinner, and we were disappointed.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Innovative and delicious

Dined on May 10, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing meal at Nightbell. We shared several small plates, our favorite way to eat. It started with the strangest deviled eggs: eggshells filled with sweet corn sabayon, roe and lox. It inspired a lot of discussion about whether we could reproduce it at home! We had a delicious low country red pea and calamari sauté, short ribs and Caesar salad. The salad was good, but quite a bit smaller than you'd expect, with less lemon, anchovy and Parmesan than we prefer. Our server was helpful and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed talking with him.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was all very creative and well pres ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was all very creative and well presented. Waiter was especially attentive. I know fancy tapas type restaurants don't serve large portions but some of them, the Caesar salad for example, were so small they were silly. Although we found enough meatless food to make a meal, more vegetarian options are always welcome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The grilled cheese is amazing. So is th ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The grilled cheese is amazing. So is the banana split.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Simple extraordinary food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Chef Katie Button has hit another home run with Nightbell. Every single dish is a delight and we found ourselves almost moaning over how good our dinner was. Try the deviled eggs to start and follow with a beet salad. The steak was fabulous and we can honestly say the trout was the best we've ever had. We shared plates and bread which was lovely. Everything Katie prepares is outstanding. We think maybe she is magic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

One and vegan and one not, but neither liked it

Dined on May 1, 2016

I'm a vegan and had two choices on the menu. I order both the beets and the spinach. The beets were okay, the spinach was very sweet. I took two bites and pushed it away. My husband is a meat water and ordered a few different items, but didn't care for any of them.

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.