About Nightbell

32 S. Lexington Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Nightbell is a contemporary American small plate restaurant with a craft cocktail bar and lounge. Chef Katie Button's menu is a blend of comfort food and inventive twists on the classics where there is a serious commitment to local farmers and sustainable products including a nose to tail beef program.

Bartenders create ever-changing concoctions using seasonal ingredients and hand-carved ice. At Nightbell, the atmosphere is dim and romantic with eclectic vintage-inspired decor, reminiscent of Asheville's Art Deco heritage. Step inside to escape the mundane and discover a world of surprises.

Nightbell is a member of the Heirloom Hospitality Group, the family business that also owns and manages the nationally acclaimed Cúrate bar de tapas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tue, Wed, Thur: 5 PM - 10:30 PM, Fri & Sat: 5 PM - 11 PM, Sun: 5 PM - 10PM

Closed on Mondays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day

Cross Street:
Aston Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-0375

Website:
http://www.thenightbell.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are located across the street from Nightbell and also at the corner of S. Lexington Ave and Aston Street. Private parking is also available at the Aloft Hotel; entrance is on S. Lexington Ave, south of Aston Street. Streetside parking is available downtown, but not on South Lexington Avenue between Patton Avenue and Aston Street.

Executive Chef:
Katie Button

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell

Nightbell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
1 More
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (102)
Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (52)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Groups (32)
Late-night Find (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Tapas (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wow! What a find this was. From the mo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wow! What a find this was. From the moment we were greeted warmly and personably, to our friendly and knowledgeable waitress, to the extra attention of the sommelier and then the chef.....this dining experience was superb! And then the food......we've never had such creative combinations of flavor, texture, colors.....with the resulting explosions of tasting delight.

In fact, this whole experience was so beyond our expectations, that when we ecountered the opposite at a highly rated, hard-to-get-into restaurant two nights later.....we excused ourselves and left.....and headed straight for Nightbell......and another equally delightful dining experience.

We were further delighted with the reasonable prices. Often a tapas or small plate restaurant can add up to a hefty bill. Even with the wine and desserts, this was more than worth it, and less than many other more ordinary menus.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great small plates allow for sharing. I ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great small plates allow for sharing. Imaginative twist to southern standards. Always delicious and often unexpected like the deviled egg. A must try and one of our regular evening out favorites.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous as were the drinks ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was fabulous as were the drinks. I especially enjoyed the waffle w/duck confit and I splurged with the added foie gras. wow - just wow.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each dish was incredibly inventive and d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Each dish was incredibly inventive and delicious. I highly recommend the Caesar salad. (I know, right? Just trust me.) It's served on a jicama taco shell and has a surprisingly bright taste for a Caesar. The squid salad is also fabulous. We will definitely be returning next time we are in town.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Creative menu! I would di ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great service! Creative menu! I would dine there again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined a number of times at Night ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We have dined a number of times at Nightbell when our travels take us to Asheville. When we learned Nate Allen (chef at Knife and Fork, Spruce Pine, NC) would be the guest chef we made sure to arrive a day early to have dinner at Nightbell and enjoy Nate's cooking. The meal, service, and atmosphere were excellent. Our waiter Nathaniel was spot on, attentive and helpful with the menu and wine selection. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special event between Nightbe ...

 
 (Fargo)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

This was a special event between Nightbell and Knife and Fork chefs. The food and cocktails were phenomenal. We were surprised with the flavor so of each dish we ordered. Every dish exceeded our expectations. The service was quick yet server was easy going about explaining the food and recipes to us. The food came out as soon as it was ready so it was hot. Much better than getting everything at once. The two chefs came out to talk to us and we're cordial and not rushed. They were genuine. Nightbell is not inexpensive. However, I consider it a value worth paying for.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time visiting the res ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was my second time visiting the restaurant. It was fantastic the first time and was just as great this time. The deviled eggs are great, the mushrooms were one of my favorites of the night the smokey grilled taste and the marinade was absolutely fantastic. The short ribs special was great too! I also had the the peanut caramel desert which was good, but I tend not to like the sea salt taste with my deserts, please let that discourage you all the other flavors and texture of the cake was great.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time to Nightbell for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first time to Nightbell for my wife and I. The best compliment I can give is that we can't wait to go back. FANTASTIC Experience! We were blown away by the flavor of every unique dish we ordered and service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was simply fantastic, from start to f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was simply fantastic, from start to finish! We can't wait to have the burger and those fries again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nightbell was the perfect way to cap off ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Nightbell was the perfect way to cap off our night with some light bites after seeing a show at the Altamont Theater. The house-made fries with special sauce and the beet chips were enjoyed by the whole table; both were very tasty, but not particularly exceptional. The sauteed squid with red peas, on the other hand was to die for! I order squid almost anytime I see it on a menu. This preparation was especially unique and the elements went perfectly together from both a taste and texture perspective - truly left me wanting more. I will definitely order that again. Others in my party also enjoyed their dishes very much - the apple brandy burger and the hush puppies to name a few. As good as all the main dishes were, the highlight came at dessert time. We ordered 3 of the 4 dessert offerings for the table: key lime cheesecake, espresso glazed mouse, and roasted peanut and brown butter cake. Each one was more scrumptious than the one before. It was hard to believe how good they all tasted! Each one provided a devastatingly delectable sensory experience for the mouth - we were all in awe! One should seriously consider a trip to this restaurant just for the desserts! Chef Katie was there, working so hard as usual, but she still made time to swing by our table and say a quick hello. She and her husband both know exactly what they're doing, and deserve every ounce of success that comes their way. It was a magical evening that was enjoyed not only by my group, but judging by the great energy in the restaurant, by everyone else there as well!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had an amazing time there on my birth ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had an amazing time there on my birthday! Service and atmosphere was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I thought the menu was pretentious. In ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I thought the menu was pretentious. Ingredients more complicated than they needed to be. The "deviled egg" was delightful, especially with the trout roe in the center and its presentation in an eggshell, but I think I'll save my money and go to a less expensive but still delicious venue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Great place. Fun food, more tapas than e ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great place. Fun food, more tapas than entrées. The wine list descriptions are worth the price of admission. Very well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners we've had in a w ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

One of the best dinners we've had in a while! Really can't say enough about how delicious the food was (and the cocktails!). The staff were all very nice and accommodating. I read and was told to expect to leave hungry because of the small plates but we left stuffed and I felt the prices were very reasonable for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was sub par. I spoke to the ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service was sub par. I spoke to the manager to let him know and apparently he was aware of the issue. Seems like it should have been rectified prior to our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

One of the best restaurants I've been to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've been to in the US! Steak tartar, deviled egg and burger are memorable!!! Best burger in the US. Absolutely perfect, home made bun, juicy meat and packed with flavor!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. We ate at Nightbell last weekend an ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wow. We ate at Nightbell last weekend and were seriously impressed. The creativity is a step above, the service is top notch and the food is delicious. It's a unique dining experience and we will definitely be returning. For the record we enjoyed our experience at least as much as Curate, the sister restaurant. Overall, Nightbell is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are huge fans of Katie Button and her ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We are huge fans of Katie Button and her restaurants, Curate and Nightbell.

Nightbell's food is Katie's foray into innovative evocative and, sometimes, playful food.

Definitely try the Deviled Egg as a one bit starter - it's like no other deviled egg you've ever had. All the food is good - new on the menu is Duck Confit Poutine - it's so good we just laughed when we ate it. The tile fish and succotash, outstanding.

While the wine list is not extensive it has some great, reasonably priced bottles and a lovely Spanish sparkling rose that is so fun to sip as you read the menu.

We were celebrating our anniversary and are so happy we decided to visit Nightbell again - Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the experience and the small plate ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved the experience and the small plates :) Most members of my group were new to this tyoe of dining so it was a great first for them!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food! Decor doesn't know what ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful food! Decor doesn't know what it wants to be; bar area nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We went with friends from out of town. E ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went with friends from out of town. Ever selection was a "slam dunk!" Kudos to the chef!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed Nightbell. The men ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed Nightbell. The menu was unique and the food prepared very well. Our server knew the dishes exceptionally well and was very professional. The bartender made some great recommendations on our cocktails. The ambiance is very eclectic and attractive. I would recommend this restaurant for a date night or simple night out with friends!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten before at Nightbell and wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We have eaten before at Nightbell and was never disappointed, so we went for my wife's birthday dinner. I let the restaurant know by voicemail in advance. To our surprise not only did the waiter arrive with a presentation box containing a unique desert bite, but also a plate with a burning candle. Really nice - made what was already a great evening even better.

We recommend the deviled egg and the carrot and beet chips as well as anything else on the menu - it is that good.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Kimberley, was amazing aweso ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our server, Kimberley, was amazing awesome full of personality and so very sweet we can't wait to come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a little bit too odd for me. Some ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Just a little bit too odd for me. Some of the choices were not very tasty, and at least one item was awful (Wicked Oyster). The burger and the chicken were good, and the hushpuppies were very good. Overall though, I think it is a one-time try for me. Will not go back. There were six of us and the bill was $250.00. A bit steep for small bites and a glass of wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

It was my husband's birthday and we were ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we were pleasantly surprised that Nightbell lived up to its reputation, both in its offerings and great service. The waitress walked that thin line between too much service and too little very adeptly. She was great at interpreting the menu for us. The food was wonderful and we ended up being completely satisfied. The deserts, especially, were stellar, along with the tiny birthday gift. This place may not be where we would go weekly, but you never know. It is certainly someplace we will entertain special friends and enjoy on special occasions.

Wonderful experience!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Drove from Atlanta and were not disappoi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Drove from Atlanta and were not disappointed. There were 4 of us and we shared 9 of the plates and every single one was delicious, creative, and beautifully presented. Wish we lived closer so we could take advantage of this place more frequently. Love the small plate concept!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My second visit this summer.. Love the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My second visit this summer.. Love the Steak Tartare and the Carrots. I will go back again.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a favorite in AVL. I've bee ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Definitely a favorite in AVL. I've been several times, and never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef driven, delicious! Portions are s ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Chef driven, delicious! Portions are small but prices to share. Farm to table is taken to new heights here, wine selection was acceptable and not too pricey!

a perfect meal in downtown Asheville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I was very disappointed in this restaura ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was very disappointed in this restaurant having eaten at Curate during my last visit to Asheville. The chilled cucumber soup was too spicy, even though I told the waitress I could not eat spicy. If ever there is a dish that does not need pepper, cucumber soup is one. The crispy waffle was really heavy and gummy. The only things I liked were the hush puppies and the deviled egg. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The atmosphere was lively and attractive ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The atmosphere was lively and attractive and the service excellent. However, the table was tiny, silverware tiny and poorly weighted and the napkins tiny. Whoever selected the appointments was a munchkin. I am a small woman and still found this extremely difficult. The knife kept falling off the plate and it was so difficult to eat without getting my hands in the food. I went to the restroom to wash my hands three times. The food was creative, but overly complicated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was delicious and service was outst ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was delicious and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum! Loved ambiance and waitstaff was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Yum! Loved ambiance and waitstaff was very friendly and knowlegable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was terrific. Very nois ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food and service was terrific. Very noisy private party in the open restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

each dish was a creative surprise - fav ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

each dish was a creative surprise - fav was the infused vinaigrettes for the oysters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I don't say this lightly: this was one o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I don't say this lightly: this was one of the best meals I've had. The flavors blended perfectly and every dish worked. We went on recommendation of the host at our bed and breakfast, and we are so glad we took her advice. Go to Nightbell!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The experience we had at Nightbell was A ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The experience we had at Nightbell was AMAZING! We are foodies, I suppose, but I don't really care for that word. I just like to eat and try new things! I know I had to try Curate's sister restaurant on our most recent visit to Asheville, and I'm so glad we did. It is a tapas-style menu, offering bites (for one), and snacks + plates (to share). Everything was so inventive, well-balanced, flavorful, and just DELICIOUS. Do not miss the "deviled egg". As someone with gluten intolerance, I so appreciated being able to easily see what was gluten free and what could be modified to be GF. Lactose intolerance, tree nut allergic, it was all laid out in parentheses at the end of the item description. What's even better is there was a GF cake on their regular dessert menu. Of course, like everything else, it was to die for. Like a butter filled brown sugar lava cake- it was sweet and salty and perfect. The only thing that didn't add up, was that the restaurant ought to have been packed and though it was a Sunday night, it was very quiet. More for me, but I hope that more people will dare to visit this absolute gem!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.