About Nightbell

32 S. Lexington Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Nightbell is a contemporary American small plate restaurant with a craft cocktail bar and lounge. Chef Katie Button's menu is a blend of comfort food and inventive twists on the classics where there is a serious commitment to local farmers and sustainable products including a nose to tail beef program.

Bartenders create ever-changing concoctions using seasonal ingredients and hand-carved ice. At Nightbell, the atmosphere is dim and romantic with eclectic vintage-inspired decor, reminiscent of Asheville's Art Deco heritage. Step inside to escape the mundane and discover a world of surprises.

Nightbell is a member of the Heirloom Hospitality Group, the family business that also owns and manages the nationally acclaimed Cúrate bar de tapas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tue, Wed, Thur: 5 PM - 10:30 PM, Fri & Sat: 5 PM - 11 PM, Sun: 5 PM - 10PM

Closed on Monday's, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day

Cross Street:
Aston Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-0375

Website:
http://www.thenightbell.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are located across the street from Nightbell and also at the corner of S. Lexington Ave and Aston Street. Private parking is also available at the Aloft Hotel; entrance is on S. Lexington Ave, south of Aston Street. Streetside parking is available downtown, but not on South Lexington Avenue between Patton Avenue and Aston Street.

Executive Chef:
Katie Button

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Nightbell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
1 More
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (103)
special occasion (70)
hot spot (49)
See All
romantic (49)
vibrant bar scene (39)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (35)
late-night find (32)
neighborhood gem (21)
 (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!! Oh my, that deviled egg. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding!!! Oh my, that deviled egg. Whole experience was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

I never get steak out. Usually never coo ...

Dined 4 days ago

I never get steak out. Usually never cooked as good as I can do it. I was wrong. The steak we had was phenomenal as was everything else. I asked the bartender to surprise me with a drink and I was not disappointed. Anyone traveling to Asheville I would highly recommend this place. Also, I expected to pay a lot more than we did. Excellent.

food4
ambience3
service4

We enjoy small plates so this restaurant ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoy small plates so this restaurant was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nightbell is one of chef Katie Button's ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Nightbell is one of chef Katie Button's two extraordinary dining spots in Asheville (the other being Cúrate). The food is inventive and always fresh, and the cocktails are a gas. A great place to take visitors or for locals to enjoy on their own.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. Flavors are truly ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent experience. Flavors are truly unique. Standouts were the deviled egg, ultimate burger, sautéed greens and root beer float. Service was perfect ; attentive and personable. Great music and great ambience. I currently live in Boston, but lived in NYC and LA previously. Nightbell rivals my favorite places in those major hubs.

food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Very disappointed meal prices for no mea ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Very disappointed meal prices for no meal. Same ownership as Curate which is fantastic. Trying very hard to be different without success. Have been to tapas restaurants all over the World. We are very familiar with the concept. As example Malabar in Charlotte

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on May 11, 2016

First what was good. Our waitress was fine and other staff were very helpful in helping us negotiate entering and leaving (I use a walker). The food was unusual and presented well. We can reccommend the baked Alaska. The wine list was unusual and I was given good advice when asked about dry white wines. However, some of the food didn't quite add up to expectations -- the deviled eggs that received high praise from others for example. The very small plates did not hold the silver which kept falling off onto the table. Portions could have been slightly larger given the very high prices. This was my wife's birthday dinner, and we were disappointed.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Innovative and delicious

Dined on May 10, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing meal at Nightbell. We shared several small plates, our favorite way to eat. It started with the strangest deviled eggs: eggshells filled with sweet corn sabayon, roe and lox. It inspired a lot of discussion about whether we could reproduce it at home! We had a delicious low country red pea and calamari sauté, short ribs and Caesar salad. The salad was good, but quite a bit smaller than you'd expect, with less lemon, anchovy and Parmesan than we prefer. Our server was helpful and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed talking with him.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was all very creative and well pres ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was all very creative and well presented. Waiter was especially attentive. I know fancy tapas type restaurants don't serve large portions but some of them, the Caesar salad for example, were so small they were silly. Although we found enough meatless food to make a meal, more vegetarian options are always welcome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The grilled cheese is amazing. So is th ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The grilled cheese is amazing. So is the banana split.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Simple extraordinary food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Chef Katie Button has hit another home run with Nightbell. Every single dish is a delight and we found ourselves almost moaning over how good our dinner was. Try the deviled eggs to start and follow with a beet salad. The steak was fabulous and we can honestly say the trout was the best we've ever had. We shared plates and bread which was lovely. Everything Katie prepares is outstanding. We think maybe she is magic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

One and vegan and one not, but neither liked it

Dined on May 1, 2016

I'm a vegan and had two choices on the menu. I order both the beets and the spinach. The beets were okay, the spinach was very sweet. I took two bites and pushed it away. My husband is a meat water and ordered a few different items, but didn't care for any of them.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was great, the Baked Alaska was ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was great, the Baked Alaska was amazing, I will definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will be returning!

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was a great experience. If you are looking for an experience that surpasses the usual dining then you must try Night Bell. Do not leave without trying the 'deviled" egg. It is totally unexpected and delicious. The staff is very knowledgable and attentive. Take their recommendations and you can't go wrong. The cocktails are a standout too. The food is mainly small plates,but there are a few full course meals as well.The atmosphere is eclectic and energetic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was memorable, but service a bi ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was memorable, but service a bit off that night.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food, drinks, and service

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our eighth or ninth trip to the Nightbell, and it was as wonderful as always. Our server was friendly and did a great job answering questions. The food was delicious - we split several plates and had the peanut cake for dessert. The mixed drinks are great - we each had two. The atmosphere here makes it one of our favorite restaurants in Asheville. They really focus on the visitor having a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun dining

Dined on April 23, 2016

We loved the creative dishes! Having small plates to share gives each person a chance to try all the goodies. Next time we would order only one or two things at a time. Our food seemed to come too quickly! Overall a fun and delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always!

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is the third time I have had dinner at Nightbell and each time was outstanding in service, food and beverages. They make wonderful and creative craft cocktails. I am really a craft beer drinker, but I always try at least one of the specialty cocktails and have never been disappointed. The menu has something for everyone and may be more accessible for your friends that are not quite ready for Spanish tapas. I look at Nightbell's menu as American tapas. Small plates that can be shared with a definite American/Southern slant. The flavors are solid and work well together. I especially like the deviled egg and the hushpuppies (I guess Southern was accurate). The manager is always moving around the restaurant and checking on tables, even though our server was thorough and very pleasant. We feel taken care of but not intruded upon which is nice. Nightbell is one of our top 5 go-to restaurants in town. If it is just me and my wife or with friends from out of town (like last Saturday night).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Try harder

Dined on April 23, 2016

I love good food so dont take this too negative . the Canadian waffle had great ingredients the duck was great. The foie gras was fantastic. The waffle was fluffy andthe French fries were OK. But it did not work together. Most of the 8 entrees we ordered were way too salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing to the palate

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our second dinner at Nightbell. Having discovered the first time that the plates are small and meant for sharing, we enthusiastically ordered 7 dishes for 3 of us. The food did not disappoint. The pecan trout was the best I've had, and the braised short ribs with grits (special that night) was amazing - tender, flavorful. And while the dishes are larger (on the right hand side of the menu, and toward the bottom of each group), we saved room for dessert. The Root Beer Float was extraordinary. I love how informed the wait staff are. They really know the food there, and clearly care about it just as much as the chef. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Playful

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Chef plays with food. In a good way. She reimagines every taste we loved as children and re-presents it. She learned much at El Bulli. Thank you , Chefs.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very impressive dinner. First time ther ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Very impressive dinner. First time there but had a fun experience. We both appreciated the explanations without being made to feel bad. Anxious to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Katy Button does it again

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Asheville is now blessed with two restaurants created by Chef Button. Curate was first and is still my favorite restaurant in North Carolina. Nightbell is wonderful as well. It is a testament to Chef's startling creativity. I dined there a second night this week to work further down the menu. Thanks be for the "deviled" egg.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Noisey and a bit over-priced

Dined on April 16, 2016

We tried Nightbell as we are familiar and love her sister-restaurant, Curate, as one of our favorites in Asheville and love the many dining experiences of this beautiful town. The first impression of the reception area was quiet and serene, then after climbing roughly 20 steps, the mood changed drastically and it went to loud and sometimes a bit raucous with screeching laughter and "high-fives" more typical of a sports bar. Not what I was expecting from the higher-end marketing of the place based upon the descriptions of the food and drinks. We had a difficult time hearing each other over the noise level. The wine and spirits menu was excellent and indeed I would classify this place as a bar that serves innovative food, not really a restaurant. While we generally enjoyed the food and its creativity, the portion sizes were small and we left hungry even after an $80 bill (we only had 2 hard ciders for alcohol). We frequent tapas restaurants all the time - especially Curate - and for the same price, never left feeling hungry. Our wait staff were very good and up to par with other Asheville restaurants.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Creative and Delicious

Dined on April 16, 2016

We began with fabulous specialty cocktails, including a spicy ginger margarita, a luscious cheese plate with honey and pickled fruit, then worked our way through a scrumptious local beet salad, sautéed turnips, braised short ribs over grits, the burger and fries, and grilled mayataki mushrooms, the standout star of the evening. We were also seeing a show that night and our server made sure we finished dinner in time. Nightbell never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

There are better

Dined on April 16, 2016

As a native, I have enjoyed many of our longstanding and new restaurants. Nightbell came with relatively lukewarm recommendations from friends and I would have to concur. While the food is pleasant, this is primarily a tapas oriented establishment without the quality and cache of its counterpart, Curate. Even though all of my party of five actually ordered "entrees" or larger plates, the meals arrived staggered as with tapas'. Problem is we weren't gnoshing off of each other's plates as with tapas'. The pros of this restaurant would include the ability to typically get a reservation on weekends - but the value and overall dining experience is really rather mediocre.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Small plate heaven

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great Server with knowledge of the menu and good recs on the wine list. It's a small space so you need to be okay with sitting cozy with the couple next door. Signature Deviled egg is a must as well as the the Duck and waffle. Second trip for us and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

For the mobility impaired there is a lon ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

For the mobility impaired there is a long staircase up to the restaurant, not sure why this isn't a ADA issue, but once at the top the food and service is terrific

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 13, 2016

Our "entre" was served be for we were halfway through with our appetiser. The shrimp was overcooked.

food3
ambience3
service4

Fancy food in small portions. Wierd menu ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fancy food in small portions. Wierd menu. Only for the avante garde. Owner did try very hard to please

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent molecular gastronomy experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I decided to get reservations after hearing recommendations from many of our friends. The menu provided a variety of options each of which had unique approaches. We found each item to be a delightful experience. The cocktails were also delicious. Romantic, dimly lit environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over-the-top imaginative cuisine.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our server was highly knowledgeable, pacing our dishes to come out at the appropriate intervals to allow for gracious dining. She also had deep knowledge of the wine offerings and the bartender crafted a wonderful cocktail for me. The “deviled egg” appetizer was out of this world, crazy imaginative and worth the $4 per egg price.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Beautiful tasting food. Excellent servic ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful tasting food. Excellent service.

food5
ambience3
service5

Absolutely outstanding!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Absolutely outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Asheville ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Asheville, keeps getting better each visit. Keep up the excellent work. Also great place for late night stop. Has become of our go to places on one of our Asheville progressive dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Creative

Dined on April 6, 2016

This restaurant is owned by the same chef as Curate, a Spanish Tapas jewel nearby, only Nightbell serves American tapas, if there is such a thing. They create very interesting "small plates" using traditional Southern style. Excellent. I would try anything on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ecclectic Menu in a Casual Atmosphere

Dined on March 26, 2016

We tried a number of small dishes -- steak tartar, a salad, hush puppies, squid, desserts - and all were good. The stand outs for me: the tartar and baked Alaska. Being tapas, the dishes are on the small side and I'd say you need to order at least three per person to get a full-sized meal. (Our server recommended ordering between 5 to 8.) The service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Cool vibe

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had been to Nightbell before for drinks(which have always been beyond wonderful) but never sampled the menu. Friends were visiting from Vermont, and we thought we would give it a try. It was Easter weekend and the only available reservation was for 5:15, but that only shows how people flock to downtown Asheville and Nightbell. First, the cocktails were phenomenal. One of our party does not drink alcohol, but there were several options for her which she raved about. I had the mushrooms and steak and both were scrumptious...the steak was cooked perfectly rare. My husband had the hamburger which he wasn't wild about and since Nightbell is tapas, the servings small. Our friends enjoyed everything they ordered. Service was beyond perfect. Prices are expensive, but for the atmosphere and service it's worth it. All the restaurants in downtown Asheville have become overpriced, but that's just how it is when a little town becomes hip!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative and Delicious

Dined on March 25, 2016

My wife and I loved this place, it was a sweet place for a Friday night date. Just be aware that as it gets later, it can be a bit noisy. Every dish we had was amazing, from the beet salad and steak tartare to the pan-fried trout and squid with red-eye beans. The wine choices were also excellent, and in the menu are well-described by descriptives instead of by varietal. Just a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for entire family!

Dined on March 25, 2016

First visit to Nightbell and entire family was happy with experience. Service was so good! Our waiter was patient and helpful. Food was so delicious and the space was super cool. Highly recommend the hush puppies, trout, prawns, and ceviche. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.