About Nightbell

32 S. Lexington Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Nightbell is an American restaurant focusing on local Appalachian ingredients.

You’ll enjoy Chef Katie Button’s masterful American food creations, served small-plate style. Enhance the meal with our playful and original craft cocktails, distinctive wines and spirits from all over the world, and local draft beers. Finish with a decadent dessert for a truly unique dining experience.

Nightbell is a member of the Heirloom Hospitality Group, the family business that also owns and manages the nationally acclaimed Cúrate bar de tapas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tue, Wed, Thur: 5 PM - 10:30 PM, Fri & Sat: 5 PM - 11 PM, Sun: 5 PM - 10PM

Closed on Mondays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day

Cross Street:
Aston Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-0375

Website:
http://www.thenightbell.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are located across the street from Nightbell and also at the corner of S. Lexington Ave and Aston Street. Private parking is also available at the Aloft Hotel; entrance is on S. Lexington Ave, south of Aston Street. Streetside parking is available downtown, but not on South Lexington Avenue between Patton Avenue and Aston Street.

Executive Chef:
Katie Button

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Nightbell, Asheville, NC
  • Nightbell, Asheville, NC
  • Nightbell, Asheville, NC
  • Nightbell, Asheville, NC
  • Nightbell, Asheville, NC
  • Nightbell, Asheville, NC
  • Nightbell, Asheville, NC
  • Nightbell, Asheville, NC
Nightbell, Asheville, NC
Nightbell, Asheville, NC
Nightbell, Asheville, NC
Nightbell, Asheville, NC
Nightbell, Asheville, NC
Nightbell, Asheville, NC
Nightbell, Asheville, NC
Nightbell, Asheville, NC

Nightbell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
1 More
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (66)
Creative Cuisine (64)
Special Occasion (61)
See All
Tapas (50)
Good for a Date (48)
Local Ingredients (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Romantic (44)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Cozy (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Fun (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Authentic (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Casual (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Healthy (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Organic (8)
Business Meals (8)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vegan (5)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They were out of oysters so no 5 stars. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

They were out of oysters so no 5 stars. The place has style and the food was very good. The wine was uncommon. I would like to go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall everything was wonderful. We arr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall everything was wonderful. We arrived early and waited for our reservation, however we wanted to go to bar and was told it was full. So we got a drink and came back to lobby... and then learned we weren't suppose to. The hostess new it was our first visit and they should explain if you have a rule about no drinks in the lobby.. I love this chef and Curate' so we didn't make a deal about it. The atmosphere is wonderful and the service was great and the food, we thought the pricing was good for what amount you got. Actually portions were larger than what I was expecting. We would return and recommend. Just wait and get your drink at table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from South Florida and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were visiting from South Florida and it was our first time in Asheville. Nightbell by far was our favorite restaurant! The food was AMAZING!!! The drinks and service was great! I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion and definitely intend to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We brought our 18 month old with us she ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We brought our 18 month old with us she is great in restaurants. We were made to feel at home,I know toting a baby can sometimes be a pain. The food was great and we will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love the creative small dishes at Ni ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We love the creative small dishes at Night Bell , well-executed, and served in a lively but comfortable environment with expert wait staff. The food 's creativity does not mean a sacrifice on taste,however. NightBell remains in the top 5 of our Local favorites. On this occasion the ribeye- -a larger dish to share - was perfectly grilled and seasoned and topped with a red pepper sauce. The egg with corn sabayon was as delightful as ever, and the duck confit with waffle and fries was an unusual take on poutine. The waffle was a little too hard/ crunchy and didn't incorporate as well as it should have but overall our group enjoyed the flavors of the dish. The Caesar salad in a jicama "taco" was not our favorite dish of the evening but offered a much needed green option. Oysters on half shell were

Buttery plump . Two of us really enjoyed the rum drink cocktail with pineapple and lime and ginger ; overall This is a great place to go when celebrating and festive or just wanting a foodies dinner out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food and well coordinated servi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Fabulous food and well coordinated service. Meticulous attention to detail and ingredients. We will definitely return!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nightbell was overall a great restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Nightbell was overall a great restaurant. The food was the best part - very creative and well prepared. Service was also very good. Very good cocktail/wine options by the glass to go with each plates. The food is Tapas style small plates. So order few items and try/share different things..would definitely go back on our next asheville visit

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was absolutely amazing, and our ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, and our server had great recommendations of what cocktails paired with courses! Id give more the five stars if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and service was gre ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was amazing and service was great too! I would recommend the bison burger and deviled egg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time at Nightbell. L ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Nightbell. Like Curate, the sauces are what make the food special. We so enjoyed the "hen of the woods" dish, and the dessert brownie with ice cream and meringue, we ordered them twice.

The setting, energy level, and a table by the window all added to the evening.

No regrets here. It's our new special place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow, where to begin. Nightbell is a sist ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wow, where to begin. Nightbell is a sister restaurant to Curate and is just as wonderful. Great ambiance, superb service, amazing craft cocktails and mind blowing food. The menu varies seasonally, but there are a few standards that are always on the menu. The Cesspool cocktail, bourbon, vermouth and espresso bitters, was well balanced smooth and seductive. The Root Beer Barrel, bourbon, house made sarsaparilla and cherry vanilla bitters was a little on the bitter side, but otherwise very tasty.

Must tries are

  • The Deviled Egg (nothing like your Aunt Martha made), an eggshell filled with corn sabayon and smoked trout gravlax,

  • The Crispy Waffle Duck Poutine, a bowl of waffle, french Fries, duck confit and cheddar cheese mouse and

  • The super fresh and tasty oysters.

The Mountain Trout Rillette special, a pate of mountain trout, was amazingly delicious as were the Grilled Hen of the Woods Mushrooms that almost tasted like a steak. The one disappointment of the evening was the Sauteed Squid with Red Eyed Peas. The dish was tasty with the squid cooked nicely and the cooked and then flash fried peas making an interesting textural contrast, but the squid rings were few and far between. A better description would be Red Eye Peas with Sauteed Squid.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful birthday celebration ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday celebration for my husband at Nightbell! The food was delicious, as always. The hush puppies and burger were our favorites. The hand crafted cocktails were unique and very good. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is average here at best. The fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food is average here at best. The food was salty and not impressive at all.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Incredibly creative and delicious food, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Incredibly creative and delicious food, the best craft margarita ever, industrial chic decor, and a highly engaging, excellent server. Perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, fantastic service, and a ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great ambiance, fantastic service, and amazing food. The NightBell is the perfect place for a date, or to bring a group of friends. We're also booking our holiday office party here.

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place gets food in a way that very ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This place gets food in a way that very few restaurants do. The food was extremely creative, unusually delicious, and beautifully presented. The atmosphere is great. I highly recommend this restaurant. I have eaten in great restaurants around the world, Paris, London, New York, San Francisco, Chicago, and many other great food cities, and this place's food would give the very best of those a solid run for their money. Five stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great experience! My mom is in a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Such a great experience! My mom is in a wheelchair and the hostess were SUPER accommodating in seating us, and making sure my mom was comfortable. Our server, Josiah, was very knowledgeable about the menu, and navigated us thru our meal with ease. He was very kind, and very helpful! Next time we are in Asheville, we will surely eat here again. Also, it was nice that the Chef delivered some of the menu items. It was a personal trust, and gave us a chance to praise! LOVE NIGHTBELL!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eclectic menu all excellent, cool wait s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Eclectic menu all excellent, cool wait staff, and a hip ambience - what more could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nightbell is always amazing. Phenomenal ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Nightbell is always amazing. Phenomenal food! Cocktails are creative and tasty; service is excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I rarely give 5 stars but Nightbell def ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I rarely give 5 stars but Nightbell definitely deserves the rating. The food was exceptional, the service flawless and the atmosphere warm and inviting. The small plates are perfect for sharing, allowing you to try multiple dishes. The incredible combination of flavors made simple dishes special; a salad with roasted squash, sautéed spinach with pine nuts. I would definitely recommend Nightbell.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was awesome. Our waither ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The restaurant was awesome. Our waither, Josiah, was extremely knowledgable about all of the dishes, and was able to make suggestions and recommendations. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Table for 2 was too small ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good. Table for 2 was too small, too cramped, and the silverware was bizarre and made it difficult to eat.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food! Great service! We have ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding food! Great service! We have dined there twice and the food was delicious both times!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highlights included the roasted turnips,

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Highlights included the roasted turnips,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

While in Asheville for work, we visited ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

While in Asheville for work, we visited several restaurants highly recommended by the locals. Nightbell was by far the best experience. The attention to details from the decor, the food, the wine list, staff and management provided a fantastic experience. The deviled egg is to die for. Yes, deviled egg is a MOST try.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative and well-prepared dishes. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very creative and well-prepared dishes. Don't be misled by the "small plates" description; all were delicious and more than filling. Although we decided to try Nightbell because we could not get a table on short notice at Curate, it was a very happy second choice!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive staff, creative cuisine and ta ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Attentive staff, creative cuisine and tasty cocktails. Everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I made reservations to ce ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I made reservations to celebrate my birthday. We are locals so not our first time and apparently we love Nightbell or we wouldn't have been back. It was packed and although we had reservations, it was probably still almost 30 minutes before we were seated. They offered a quicker route via community table but since it was my birthday and we rarely get to spend alone time out, we opted for waiting for the table. Glad that we waited for the intimate table next to the windows. And we were also given complimentary hush puppies for our wait. Nice touch! Excellent as usual. However, if it had not been for my birthday, not sure we would have bothered. Hate to see the hordes of out-of-towners and even more so when they are rude to our local businesses. Sorry for the staff who had to deal with that! Will definitely recommend to our local friends and look forward to coming back, perhaps on a week night. I will share what I have heard from others and we have noticed ourselves is that it is a bit noisy. We were really hoping since our first visit that Nightbell would be more a place for an intimate romantic dining experience and no need to raise your voice to be heard across the table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful meal at Nightbell. I especial ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful meal at Nightbell. I especially liked that even though it is small plates style, they make an effort to deliver the dishes in an order that makes sense and not too quickly, instead of slapping a hodgepodge down in whatever random order they come out. We had an appetizer platter of duck 3 ways, followed by greens, a 10 oz steak that divided beautifully for 2 people, and fries with a remoulade sauce that was truly out of this world. Curate, Katie Button's other restaurant, gets the press and was mobbed every time we walked by, but Nightbell was a charmer.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hen of the wood mushrooms were hands dow ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Hen of the wood mushrooms were hands down the best thing we have eaten in a while...so good we ordered a second order. Staff was amazing and made her birthday very memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's a fine line between creative and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

There's a fine line between creative and contrived and unfortunately this dining experience felt much more the later. I had really been looking forward to the experience because I love the companion restaurant (Curate) so much, but they are not in the same league. I mean seriously, that "deviled egg" thing was definitely a stretch and felt more like eating a half cooked Easter egg out of its shell - I couldn't even call in interesting - only bizarre. We hoped the desert would redeem the meal as it sounded so very good on paper, but it arrived with a very burnt bottom that ruined any other flavors that may have been possible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Lovely ambiance. Lively and busy, but no ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lovely ambiance. Lively and busy, but not too loud and the lighting was on the dim side, so had a nice, romantic feel. Décor was interesting and tables were cozy. Food absolutely delicious and creatively prepared. The cocktails were also absolutely outstanding. Only complaint is that the price for the amount of food is a bit high.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed our dinner very much and were ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much and were pleased that there were some delicious gluten free options, including two wonderful gluten free desserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nowhere near as good as Curate which is ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Nowhere near as good as Curate which is either a sister restaurant or connected somehow. The setting is great. The food choices was a little too over the top for me but might be fine for others. It all felt very "salesy". But for many people it may be a big hit. I'm not suggesting anything is bad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful atmosphere and fabulous food!! ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and fabulous food!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent as always! We were celebrating ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2016

excellent as always! We were celebrating my husband's birthday and it fit the occasion perfectly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal I ever had. Afte ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This was the best meal I ever had. After finishing each course, we said the next course could never live up to the last, but they always did. Each was incredibly delicious. Service was quick and attentive, and the wait staff was very knowledgeable about the menu. Not inexpensive, but reasonable for the quality of the food.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Simply perfect! The food was awamzing a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Simply perfect! The food was awamzing and the service was attentive and personal. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening and will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"This is the best meal I've ever had," s ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

"This is the best meal I've ever had," said my husband.

And really, I could just stop there.

This was my second time at the Nightbell--I'd eaten there when they opened--and it was fantastic. The food is just extraordinary. (Try the deviled eggs NO MATTER WHAT.) We had six small plates and two small desserts and two cocktails and everything--everything--was sublime.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We couldn't wait to try Nightbell after ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We couldn't wait to try Nightbell after eating at Curate several times. We were let down. We found the food to be salty and our group of 4 left hungry and we spent $100+. We won't be returning. We'll stick with Curate. We did like the atmosphere and our server was friendly and helpful with the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.