About Nightbell

32 S. Lexington Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Nightbell is a contemporary American small plate restaurant with a craft cocktail bar and lounge. Chef Katie Button's menu is a blend of comfort food and inventive twists on the classics where there is a serious commitment to local farmers and sustainable products including a nose to tail beef program.

Bartenders create ever-changing concoctions using seasonal ingredients and hand-carved ice. At Nightbell, the atmosphere is dim and romantic with eclectic vintage-inspired decor, reminiscent of Asheville's Art Deco heritage. Step inside to escape the mundane and discover a world of surprises.

Nightbell is a member of the Heirloom Hospitality Group, the family business that also owns and manages the nationally acclaimed Cúrate bar de tapas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tue, Wed, Thur: 5 PM - 10:30 PM, Fri & Sat: 5 PM - 11 PM, Sun: 5 PM - 10PM

Closed on Mondays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day

Cross Street:
Aston Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-0375

Website:
http://www.thenightbell.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are located across the street from Nightbell and also at the corner of S. Lexington Ave and Aston Street. Private parking is also available at the Aloft Hotel; entrance is on S. Lexington Ave, south of Aston Street. Streetside parking is available downtown, but not on South Lexington Avenue between Patton Avenue and Aston Street.

Executive Chef:
Katie Button

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
  • Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell
Nightbell

Nightbell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
1 More
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (116)
special occasion (86)
romantic (52)
See All
hot spot (43)
notable wine list (39)
neighborhood gem (34)
vibrant bar scene (32)
late-night find (32)
good for groups (31)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Several of the menu items are very good. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Several of the menu items are very good. The deviled egg is a specialty, and is a must try. When I ordered the wild mushroom dish (also very good), the server recommended the steak. As steaks go, it was OK, but certainly not memorable.

There is a imaginative drink menu as well, but $13 for a cocktail seemed a bit over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We were lucky enough to have someone rec ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were lucky enough to have someone recommend Nightbell to us during our visit to Asheville. It was wonderful; among the best meals my wife & I have ever had. The deviled eggs are unique and a must-try. Everyone does deviled eggs now, but not like these. Everything was amazing: gin & lime cured trout, pecan crusted wreckfish, the sauteed greens, the steak tartare, and then finishing with a very interesting (and delicious) take on key lime cheesecake. Service was spot on, and every item we ordered was fantastic. Highly recommend visiting Nightbell when you're in Asheville!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nightbell is a small plate journey of ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Nightbell is a small plate journey of exploration, a quest for the holy grail of complexity of flavor, rather than a more typical comfort food focused dining experience. Two of us dined there and it was marvelous. A delicious example of "molecular gastronomy", the deviled egg, should be ordered by all...its that amazing. We split an order of hush puppies, the mushrooms, and each had the spectacular hamburger; was too much food for us so I am perplexed by the reviews that complain of leaving hungry...unless it is a matter of quality versus quantity, in which case, Nightbell might not be your cup of tea. For us, one of the top dining experiences ever. Exceptional service, professional while approachable, and first class bar. Totally recommend. Classy and casual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The signature dish - devil egg - is grea ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The signature dish - devil egg - is great, as usual. The rest of the dishes we had, however, were not as great. The main issue is that there is very little variety of tastes in the other dishes. If you like the flavor of lemon, citrus, vinegar, etc. then you'd be very happy here. Otherwise, go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Altho portions were very small, we were ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Altho portions were very small, we were quite satisfied and didn't desire anything more.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service. Asheville may have lots o ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service. Asheville may have lots of restaurants but the service may be lacking. Mark Rosenstein taught the original Marketplace staff how to provide top notch service many years ago. Old ashevillians miss that quality. Chelsea gave us that good service in spades.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I ate at Nightbell for my ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I ate at Nightbell for my birthday. The food was amazing. We started with the Duck Charcuterie board. It was to die for...the cured duck was warm and tasted excellent alone or with the mustard. The duck pastrami did taste a bit more like jerky but melted in your mouth. The duck pate was smooth and creamy...amazing dish. We also enjoyed the deviled egg and steak tartare (believe them when they say those dishes are for one! Each dish only took about 3 bites to consume). We loved the clams and hen of the woods and ended on a savory note with the cheese tray.

Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not very vegan friendly Server was detac ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Not very vegan friendly

Server was detached and not friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This is the best place we've been in Ash ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the best place we've been in Asheville so far. Can't recommend highly enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was really nice and the foo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The ambience was really nice and the food was delicious. We enjoyed each of the options we had and there were many choices. Nice evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

incredible menu, very innovative. great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

incredible menu, very innovative. great service as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dear Chelsea, you made it pretty clear t ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Dear Chelsea, you made it pretty clear that you did not enjoy serving our table on Sunday night. That's a shame because we were a group of friends who hadn't been together in many years, the men went to kindergarten together and now live in Memphis, Tokyo, Charlotte and Asheville. We could have gone anywhere for dinner, but we chose Nightbell, and we got your unhappy service. Our drinks and dinner were very good, thanks to the kitchen & bartender. Your manager had a smile on his face that you lacked. There are so many great places to enjoy meals in Asheville, I think we will seek them out next time we visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was so unique and tasty. The s ...

 
 (Fargo)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was so unique and tasty. The seasoning was perfect and surprisingly delicious. Presentation of the food was attractive. The service was perfect: not too much attention and not too little. We particularly enjoyed the craft cocktails. I would go to Nightbell again in a minute.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Amazing drinks and creative food, great ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing drinks and creative food, great service; fantastic combination. Consistently excellent. We will be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there. Love Cúrate so had hig ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

First time there. Love Cúrate so had high expectations. Not disappointed. Ample food. Steak Tartare superb, deviled egg delish and unexpected, great hush puppies, tasty cheese plate, good duck -- no complaints. Wonderful waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was spectacular and unique! A ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was spectacular and unique! A+ for presentation of the cocktails and food. You can tell the special care that is taken on the dishes each night. Give Nightbell a shot. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The deviled egg was fantastic!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The deviled egg was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food at Nightbell is better than ad ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food at Nightbell is better than advertised! From the appetizer to the desert the food exceeds expectations and is a GREAT value.

The uniqueness of the restaurant is highlighted by the decor, the excellent taste in music that plays at just the right volume and a bartender that is as good as the chef.

You can not go wrong at the Nightfall any time of day or night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great restaurant, cool atmosphere and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A great restaurant, cool atmosphere and excellent service. Was disappointed they did not have any oysters on the half shell for the evening but every item we ordered was delicious with perfect presentation, including Caesar salad, deviled egg (like you have never had nor imagined), sauteed squid with peas, grilled maitake mushroom and the ultimate burger. Will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service, our waiter, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent meal and service, our waiter, Nathaniel, went out of his way to accommodate my wife's dietary restrictions and consulted with the chef in order to assure her meal was safe for her diet.

Great food, and the desserts, paired with specially selected drinks were amazing.

A definite return visit is planned.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a fantastic date spot. Courteou ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was a fantastic date spot. Courteous and professional staff, delicious and creative menu offerings, and an ambience unlike any other in Asheville. Thank you Nightbell and HHG!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Elegant setting without being pretentiou ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Elegant setting without being pretentious. Tapas allowed us to sample a lot of different dishes, and they were all delicious and well-presented. Great place for taking your time to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent! Delicious craft c ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was excellent! Delicious craft cocktails. The food is great. Highly recommend the roasted beets and sautéed greens. Extremely friendly staff. Would love to go back and sit in their beautiful bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It a place fora bite not dinner ! Portio ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

It a place fora bite not dinner ! Portions small but creative and innovative. Serves start with unresponsive hostess and had a waitress and kitchen who did not know how to coordinate getting food to table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Loved Nightbell! Food, service, bar wer ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved Nightbell! Food, service, bar were all outstanding. Our server Nathaniel was the best! He was friendly and knowledgeable; he totally responded to he level of input we were looking for, and his recommendations were spot on. The bar service was excellent, and the bartender came to our table to ensure she would make the drink the way I wanted it. Menu had great range, and everything we ordered was delicious. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food is incredibly delici ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, the food is incredibly delicious. The menu choices are fresh innovative takes on some of our favorite southern dishes. The pan seared trout was perfectly prepared; a lightly crisp grit crust contrasting perfectly with the moist delicate sweetness of the trout. And the burger was the best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it every time !! Food is delicious ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Love it every time !!

Food is delicious and so unique !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was delicious with the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything we had was delicious with the exception of the clams that were overly salty. The server explained that they were just salty clams, but no salt was added. He immediately corrected the situation for us. Portions are very, very small for the most part so keep this in mind. Mostly small plates of one item each. I would ask more questions about size next time I dined there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time here! The food w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a wonderful time here! The food was delicious and the service was amazing. We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went in with extremely high expectations ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went in with extremely high expectations as my wife and I absolutely love Katie Button's other restaurant, Curate. Food was mediocre with a few highlights such as the Ribeye special but overall nothing memorable. Wine list was uninspiring , cocktails were good. Most likely will not be returning unfortunately, we will stick with Curate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The mushroom dish was amazing. Si many d ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The mushroom dish was amazing. Si many different flavors, but each one was distinguishable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ringing Praises for the Nightbell!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We chose the Nightbell for our 36th wedding anniversary celebration! Nathanael provided impeccable service, bringing each course at just the right time. The selections were imaginative, tasty and offered variety in color, texture and character. Nathanael presented us with a pretty cigar box containing two delightful desserts which was a lovely surprise.!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always surprising, Always good

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This was our fifth visit. Living in Asheville we frequently have out of town guests. When deciding on the best places to wow our visitors with the cool and unexpected, Nightbell has become one of our go-to places for dinner. It never fails to impress with surprising, creative and perfectly prepared dishes. I recommend it for an evening when you want to linger, order one or two shareable plates at time and just be happy with anticipation of the next treat to arrive. The person that delivers each dish is usually from the kitchen and they always seem very proud of their creations. I recommend Nightbell to anyone with a sense of culinary adventure and the time to enjoy it. Nothing is what you expect but it surpasses what you could imagine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit but won't be the last

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Four of us had dinner on a rather quiet Sunday evening and the food and service was amazing. Everything we tried had a different twist like the Caesar salad bite served in a jicama "taco". There were several small and large plates that we would like to try so we'll be back and maybe we'll save room for dessert! I should mention that the bartender made us a special chocotini even though it wasn't on the menu. Nice touch!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Nightbell is definitely not for your run of the mill Tuesday dinner. It is not cheap and you won't get out of there without spending a lot of money. But the atmosphere, the creativity in the cocktails, the funkiness of the decor, and the excellence in the food make it worth every single penny. It is a great place for drinks with the girls, a special date, a place to celebrate, and any other occasion that demands something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The menu & quality of the food has chang ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The menu & quality of the food has changed since my first visit.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Gem in Asheville

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Night Bell absolutely knocked the ball out of the park during our visit. From the most creative take on deviled eggs to superbly crafted small plates, extensive wine selections and attentive service I would rate Night Bell in the top tier of American Restaurants

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't what we expected. Very awkward se ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Wasn't what we expected. Very awkward seating at what was basically community table. The

Places was goregous and the waitress was sweet. Just wasn't our thing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Special fusion of flavor

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Nightbell was my choice to celebrate my birthday. The creative blend between flavors and ingredients enticed us to try as many dishes as we could. Small plate portions were reasonable. We don't care to pig-out on large portions and come out feeling bloated. We want to enjoy every bite and Nightbell's line-up allowed us to do just that.

Regrettably we were so satisfied, we didn't want dessert!

My only suggestion is to have some less expensive choices in the wine selections. There are many great wines in the world that don't have to start at $48 a bottle.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dazzling food in Asheville

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This was one of those meals where every dish was a creative surprise, and each mouthful a delight!

The eclectic decor was a good complement to the food. The service was quirky and a little on the slow side, but did not mar an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.