About Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar

Inspired by traditional Mexican street food, using indigenous herbs and spices used throughout the very heart of mexico. Chef Alejandro Victoria brings authentic recipes from his homeland in Michoacan to your plate. Beautiful ingredients, many organic and custom grown, are used to re-create timeless recipes with bold flavors and immediate freshness that jump off your tongue. Enjoy the upper level tequila bar with over 50 different tequila selections (100% agave reposado, blanca, mezcal), a scratch-made margartia menu, and a Latin American wine list.

2516 Hennepin Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 345-7688

Website:
http://www.nicostacobar.com/

Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
See All
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love the fact that you can make a rese ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I love the fact that you can make a reservation at this little place. The parking was a little tricky but the staff is very friendly and the food is AMAZING. I happened to arrive early for my reservation and it was no problem at all-they were able to accommodate immediately. I can't wait to go back there again!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sadly, we are looking for a new Friday ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sadly, we are looking for a new Friday night hangout after the Green Mill closed on New Year's Eve. Nico's is definitely in the running. Our waitress/bartender was so gracious, offering us a tasting of the seasonal mulled wine when we asked about the drink. Highly recommend the mulled wine, especially good if you are nursing a cold. On the food menu, the tacos are our favorites. Light fare with exceptional flavoring. A great neighborhood spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I could Nico's a six out of five star ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

If I could Nico's a six out of five stars I would. The flavors are spectacular and the prices are quite good for quality Mexican food. And the house marg - awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, they don't mess around with ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, they don't mess around with their hot sauce (Yum). Will go there again. Had the street tacos and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there. Food was really good. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First time there. Food was really good. The guacamole amazing.

Service friendly and efficient

Not too noisy so you could have pleasant conversations.

They do up charge for extras so your bill can add up

Such as salsa and cheese etc.

their margarita's were really good.

I wil definitely go back again

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious margaritas, great chips and gu ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Delicious margaritas, great chips and guacamole, salsas available in all levels of heat, a nice variety of tacos and yummy quesadillas made for a great evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and drinks! Enjoyed the ambie ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food and drinks! Enjoyed the ambience and the staff was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place, good authentic food, friendly ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fun place, good authentic food, friendly wait staff; arrive early and enjoy the bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredible food - unlike any other Mexic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Incredible food - unlike any other Mexican restaurant I've ever been to. Huge tequila selection and well crafted cocktails. Decent beer selection. Very comfortable setting.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the authentic cuisine and extensiv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved the authentic cuisine and extensive menu. Best vegetarian tacos ever. Excellent Margaritas. And enjoyed the live music. We'll be back!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the food, which was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very disappointed in the food, which was bland arrived lukewarm , at best. Margaritas were excellent and the service was good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Friendly service!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally we get the tacos and they are a ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Normally we get the tacos and they are always spectacular. We got the enchiladas and they were ok, disappointing really. The margueritas were top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Fun place. Loved the old house. Great se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fun place. Loved the old house.

Great service.

Everything was good except the chips and salsa appetizer needs improvement. The chips were old and crumbled , the three salsas were very bland.

There was five of us and everyone was more than pleased with their entries

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The sauces and the guacamole are the sta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The sauces and the guacamole are the stars at Nico's. Add them to the custom made tacos and you get a flavor punch you can't find anywhere else. The sauces range form mild to hot hot. My friends had Margaritas that were great.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love eating at Nico's! Every time I go ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 16, 2016

I love eating at Nico's! Every time I go, the food is wonderfully delicious and quick. The patio is quaint but never too crowded and the servers are all very nice. They are all great with suggestions on orders as well! Nico's is my favorite summertime place to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for lunch during the week, and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went for lunch during the week, and the resteraunt was so full and understaffed that it took us 20 minutes to get our drinks and chips and salsa. My family didn't feel like waiting any longer, so we just closed out our tabs after our drink order came. Disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The server was not able (or willing?) to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The server was not able (or willing?) to give us any recommendations which was especially annoying since much of the menu has many items in an a la carte style, so a lot of decisions to make. The Al Pastor taco, which is my go-to favorite, was the worst I've had. The corn side dish was completely inedible - it was not fresh and the topping did not help at all. If I were a server there id never let my customers order it. I love the ambiance and have frequented the building since it was Pandoras coffee shop. I hope Nicos can make some adjustments. I don't think I'll risk going back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I want to try every taco on the menu!! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I want to try every taco on the menu!! We had the cactus, the tongue, the fish and the pork tacos. Each was it's own trip to heaven. We also loved the raspberry lime margarita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love our Nico's. Great staff, always ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We love our Nico's. Great staff, always welcoming and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations made through Open Table app ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Reservations made through Open Table apparently don't give you the option of outdoor seating here. Would have liked to have known this beforehand. Hosts told us it would be a 30 minute wait to sit outside despite our having a reservation. And then when I said we'd wait and asked could he put our name down for outdoors, he said he couldn't, that it was first come first served, which made no sense since we were there. So we gave up and sat inside. Food was very mediocre. I had sopes and friend had enchiladas. Both lacking in flavor. Our margaritas were good and brought to us quickly, which was appreciated. Overall not impressed and wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It's great. Love the food. Went for bu ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It's great. Love the food. Went for bunch like their website said but they no longer serve brunch so we had breakfast tacos. rolled with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Love me some Nico's

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Very original/authentic small plates. Love the fresh squeezed margarita's. This is one of our favorite independently owned restaurants in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No Huevos?

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the 4th time we have been to Nicos. They used to have a few brunch type items on their menu. For some reason they got rid of them which I found disappointing. One of which was not Heuvos Rancheros. How does a Mexican restaurant not have this? Service was poor during our visit. I believe the kitchen was not prepared for the amount of people that showed up for Mothers Day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

When you have a sitter for a few preciou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2016

When you have a sitter for a few precious hours, you must choose carefully. Do not choose Nico's.

Very disappointed. We were looking forward to a fun, casual night of good tacos and guac.

When the guac didn't come, we asked the waitress who said "she heard" that had happened. What? Can you do something about it?

The tacos were cold and the tamale was soo dry it could not be eaten without drowning it in sauce - which after asking for, were told that they "were out". Out. Of mole sauce. At 6:30 pm.

In the end we were out $50 for three drinks, no chips or guac, cold tacos and inedible tamales.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Nico's is are go to when craving good ta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Nico's is are go to when craving good tacos. It's our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

WOW

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2016

What a great place. Great ambiance, fun and easy going. Margarita's were AMAZING!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kind of ridiculous

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2016

It was kind of wreck there. The staff were running around like crazy hardly saying excuse me to guests and it was quite hard to determine who was staff as they didn't seem to have uniforms. The host came to the front desk rarely which means people waited several minutes just to ask if they were full, ask questions, or mention they had a reservation. I stood at the front desk for a full 8 minutes waiting to announce my arrival (had a reservation) and the host never actually acknowledged me, I had to stop him before he ran away again and tell him I was there and ready. Our server did not greet us very welcomingly and seemed annoyed by food allergy questions. The atmosphere inside was loud and chaotic even though we were not seated near anyone. The table was sticky and wobbly. The food was mediocre and the server did less than bare minimum with customer service. Overall I was highly disappointed by this place and experience. Should have gone next door to Namaste Café.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Yum!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great tacos and tequila in the heart of uptown. Grab a spot on the patio for the perfect summer taco experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big menu, took a while to find what I wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Big menu, took a while to find what I wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Awful experience

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We've been to nico's tacos many times, and have always enjoyed eveything - from the ambiance, to the service, to the food. Saturday, March 12 was a completely different story. We had a reservation, but had to still wait for a table. We ordered drinks, and after waiting over 20 minutes, when we asked about them, we were simply told they've been really busy- no apology. An hour after ordering our food, we asked if it was going to be much longer. Again we were told "some people have waited over 45minutes. We've been really busy." Then the server walked away- no apology. He came back 2 minutes later and said it would be 5 minutes. 25 minutes later our food finally arrived. We sat there and watched people that got seated after us not only get their meals but eat them, pay for them and leave before we ever received our meals. This was the absolute worst restaurant experience I've ever had. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food and the cocktails... Outta sigh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food and the cocktails... Outta sight. Service has gotten much better with new ownership. I love that it is an older building and feels quaint. Summertime patio seating is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The service was so slow. Two servers for ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2016

The service was so slow. Two servers for the entire place with outdoor seating open too. And it was a Friday night. The host kept cramming people in only to have them sit there and sit there with no drinks or food. Our tacos were ok but cold. And my son ordered a steak that was like shoe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Love the upstairs area- great margaritas ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Love the upstairs area- great margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute bar

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Nice scenery. Small but so cute. The food was good. I will go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go for tequila not food

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The tequila and guac were amazing. Tacos where fair at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Perfect NYE spot

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here with my gal for a last min NYE dinner and could not have been more pleased. Our waitress made some great suggestions and the food was really good. Local beer on tap in addition to mexican favorites, really good wine, apps, entries, all served well but not over the top. Seasonal drinks were a hit with the gal. Will go back, and recommend to others. Also, got to see Greg LeMond there, pretty cool.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

These were probably some of the worst ta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 13, 2015

These were probably some of the worst tacos I've ever had. I would never. ever. recommend anyone go here and eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Drinks were delicious, loved the salsa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Drinks were delicious, loved the salsa and guac. Our server was awesome and gave great recommendations and accommodated our large party with ease.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nico's: Yes!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2015

What a nice find! Went to Nico's based on Open Table reviews. Three of us enjoyed an excellent dinner and especially appreciated the real Margaritas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.