HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 1/19
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar

4.1
218 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Casual (3)
  • Fun (3)
  • Authentic (2)
Inspired by traditional Mexican street food, using indigenous herbs and spices used throughout the very heart of mexico. Chef Alejandro Victoria brings authentic recipes from his homeland in Michoacan to your plate. Beautiful ingredients, many organic and custom grown, are used to re-create timeless recipes with bold flavors and immediate freshness that jump off your tongue. Enjoy the upper level tequila bar with over 50 different tequila selections (100% agave reposado, blanca, mezcal), a scratch-made margartia menu, and a Latin American wine list.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(612) 345-7688
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 218 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1
  based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.8
service
3.9
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
64% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Emily (Chicago)
5.0
Dined on January 7, 2018

Met up with a friend at Nico's for lunch on a Sunday. It was pretty quiet and we were seated immediately. We ordered Barbacoa, Chorizo, Pastor, and Pescado tacos. All were very good eats. I'm looking forward to going back on a Monday for 1/2 price Margaritas.

Report
Helpful
vipAfoodiesincebirth (Minneapolis)
4.0
Dined on December 31, 2017

Our margaritas were tasty, as were the chips and guacamole. Surprisingly, for an early weekend dining slot, they were sold out of the squash tacos, so I ordered a quesadilla instead. It turned out to be a delicious second choice.

Report
Helpful
VickieO (Minneapolis)
4.0
Dined on December 31, 2017

I've been to Nico's before but this night the service was not good at all. Our server never asked if we wanted drinks when we sat down and didn't seem familiar with anything on the menu. He did not come back to check how our food was either. Fortunately, it was delicious, as I expected it to be. It was quiet but the temps may have kept people home. Our table was cold as we were near the door. There were other options for seating that would have been better on such a cold night.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
2.0
Dined on December 24, 2017

We were looking forward to trying a new Mexican restaurant. The food was very disappointing. It lacked flavor and was not authentic at all. The food wasn't even hot when it arrived at the table.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
4.0
Dined on November 21, 2017

very comfortable and friendly, good food and service

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0
Dined on October 21, 2017

I love this place. It is warm and cozy. The food is prepared with love.
The Carne Asada outstanding - tender and tasty. Margarita's are best in the city with 100% Agave. Alejandro provided an exceptional customer experience!

Report
Helpful
JCRH (Minneapolis)
4.0
Dined on October 19, 2017

We went for restaurant week and we were not disappointed. We had margaritas and Carne Asada and the best Tres Leches I have ever had! We are looking forward to coming back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
1.0
Dined on October 18, 2017

We found Nico's on the Minneapolis/St. Paul Magazine website for Restaurant Week and the menu looked promising. However, once we arrived it was a different story.

The service was extremely slow. It took about ten minutes before someone brought us water and took our drink order. When the drinks came we ordered the chips and salsa to start. After fifteen minutes had gone by and the chips and salsa hadn't we decided to leave. We were there for a total of about 45 minutes and ended up going to Burch just up the street and had a great experience.

The only saving grace was that the bartender was smart enough to comp our drinks.

Report
Helpful
perkey1 (Minneapolis)
3.0
Dined on October 2, 2017

The food was only okay. The service was not good: we had to repeat ourselves several times and she often came back with more questions. Probably wouldn't come back as there are better bars and better taco joints.

Report
Helpful
MeInMtka (Minneapolis)
1.0
Dined on September 19, 2017

Where to start? I think there may have been only one guy working. I made a reservation online using Open Table (had never been there before) - I was not "checked in" - which means I don't get the points. The chips were stale. The salsa "trio" for $8 was about 3 tablespoons each of mediocre salsa. There was a dried up chicken skin thing in our chips. Server was like - whatev. Brought more stale chips. The over-priced margs were horrid. The cheese quesadilla was soggy and literally dripping with - I don't know what. The street tacos were tasteless, lukewarm to cold and also soggy. The side of beans ($4 for about 1/3 C of beans) were most likely emptied from a can - unseasoned. The table was so sticky. Terrible service. Way overpriced, and to top it all off, this was supposed to be my birthday dinner with my kids. It *was* memorable in the worst way possible.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(612) 345-7688
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.

Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Give a Gift