About Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar

2516 Hennepin Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55405
View Larger Map

Inspired by traditional Mexican street food, using indigenous herbs and spices used throughout the very heart of mexico. Chef Alejandro Victoria brings authentic recipes from his homeland in Michoacan to your plate. Beautiful ingredients, many organic and custom grown, are used to re-create timeless recipes with bold flavors and immediate freshness that jump off your tongue. Enjoy the upper level tequila bar with over 50 different tequila selections (100% agave reposado, blanca, mezcal), a scratch-made margartia menu, and a Latin American wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 345-7688

Website:
http://www.nicostacobar.com/

Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

fit for foodies (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
See All
hot spot (5)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
special occasion (2)
scenic view (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I want to try every taco on the menu!! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 15 hours ago

I want to try every taco on the menu!! We had the cactus, the tongue, the fish and the pork tacos. Each was it's own trip to heaven. We also loved the raspberry lime margarita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love our Nico's. Great staff, always ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We love our Nico's. Great staff, always welcoming and accommodating.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations made through Open Table app ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Reservations made through Open Table apparently don't give you the option of outdoor seating here. Would have liked to have known this beforehand. Hosts told us it would be a 30 minute wait to sit outside despite our having a reservation. And then when I said we'd wait and asked could he put our name down for outdoors, he said he couldn't, that it was first come first served, which made no sense since we were there. So we gave up and sat inside. Food was very mediocre. I had sopes and friend had enchiladas. Both lacking in flavor. Our margaritas were good and brought to us quickly, which was appreciated. Overall not impressed and wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It's great. Love the food. Went for bu ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It's great. Love the food. Went for bunch like their website said but they no longer serve brunch so we had breakfast tacos. rolled with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Love me some Nico's

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Very original/authentic small plates. Love the fresh squeezed margarita's. This is one of our favorite independently owned restaurants in town.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No Huevos?

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the 4th time we have been to Nicos. They used to have a few brunch type items on their menu. For some reason they got rid of them which I found disappointing. One of which was not Heuvos Rancheros. How does a Mexican restaurant not have this? Service was poor during our visit. I believe the kitchen was not prepared for the amount of people that showed up for Mothers Day.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

When you have a sitter for a few preciou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

When you have a sitter for a few precious hours, you must choose carefully. Do not choose Nico's.

Very disappointed. We were looking forward to a fun, casual night of good tacos and guac.

When the guac didn't come, we asked the waitress who said "she heard" that had happened. What? Can you do something about it?

The tacos were cold and the tamale was soo dry it could not be eaten without drowning it in sauce - which after asking for, were told that they "were out". Out. Of mole sauce. At 6:30 pm.

In the end we were out $50 for three drinks, no chips or guac, cold tacos and inedible tamales.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Nico's is are go to when craving good ta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Nico's is are go to when craving good tacos. It's our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

WOW

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

What a great place. Great ambiance, fun and easy going. Margarita's were AMAZING!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kind of ridiculous

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

It was kind of wreck there. The staff were running around like crazy hardly saying excuse me to guests and it was quite hard to determine who was staff as they didn't seem to have uniforms. The host came to the front desk rarely which means people waited several minutes just to ask if they were full, ask questions, or mention they had a reservation. I stood at the front desk for a full 8 minutes waiting to announce my arrival (had a reservation) and the host never actually acknowledged me, I had to stop him before he ran away again and tell him I was there and ready. Our server did not greet us very welcomingly and seemed annoyed by food allergy questions. The atmosphere inside was loud and chaotic even though we were not seated near anyone. The table was sticky and wobbly. The food was mediocre and the server did less than bare minimum with customer service. Overall I was highly disappointed by this place and experience. Should have gone next door to Namaste Café.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Yum!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great tacos and tequila in the heart of uptown. Grab a spot on the patio for the perfect summer taco experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big menu, took a while to find what I wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Big menu, took a while to find what I wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Awful experience

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We've been to nico's tacos many times, and have always enjoyed eveything - from the ambiance, to the service, to the food. Saturday, March 12 was a completely different story. We had a reservation, but had to still wait for a table. We ordered drinks, and after waiting over 20 minutes, when we asked about them, we were simply told they've been really busy- no apology. An hour after ordering our food, we asked if it was going to be much longer. Again we were told "some people have waited over 45minutes. We've been really busy." Then the server walked away- no apology. He came back 2 minutes later and said it would be 5 minutes. 25 minutes later our food finally arrived. We sat there and watched people that got seated after us not only get their meals but eat them, pay for them and leave before we ever received our meals. This was the absolute worst restaurant experience I've ever had. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food and the cocktails... Outta sigh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food and the cocktails... Outta sight. Service has gotten much better with new ownership. I love that it is an older building and feels quaint. Summertime patio seating is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The service was so slow. Two servers for ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The service was so slow. Two servers for the entire place with outdoor seating open too. And it was a Friday night. The host kept cramming people in only to have them sit there and sit there with no drinks or food. Our tacos were ok but cold. And my son ordered a steak that was like shoe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Cute bar

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Nice scenery. Small but so cute. The food was good. I will go again.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go for tequila not food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The tequila and guac were amazing. Tacos where fair at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Perfect NYE spot

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here with my gal for a last min NYE dinner and could not have been more pleased. Our waitress made some great suggestions and the food was really good. Local beer on tap in addition to mexican favorites, really good wine, apps, entries, all served well but not over the top. Seasonal drinks were a hit with the gal. Will go back, and recommend to others. Also, got to see Greg LeMond there, pretty cool.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

These were probably some of the worst ta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

These were probably some of the worst tacos I've ever had. I would never. ever. recommend anyone go here and eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Drinks were delicious, loved the salsa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Drinks were delicious, loved the salsa and guac. Our server was awesome and gave great recommendations and accommodated our large party with ease.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nico's: Yes!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

What a nice find! Went to Nico's based on Open Table reviews. Three of us enjoyed an excellent dinner and especially appreciated the real Margaritas!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality ingredients and great tasting fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Quality ingredients and great tasting food. Good options for vegetarian and Carnivores. The tequila is in abundance, one of the best places in town for fresh made margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another Sunday Funday at Nico's

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Once again, another great brunch at Nico's. Mimosas and Chiliquiles are the best way to start a a Sunday! The wait staff was attentive and personable, we had a great waiter. Even though it was Dia de los muertos and there were activies all around the nosise level was tolerable. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine addition to the repertoire!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

The portions are perfect (you can always order more!)

The salsas are FANTASTIC!!!!!

My wife loves the margarita selection.

The staff are energetic and attentive.

A fine addition to your collection of evening spots!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very flavorful and healthy options on th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Very flavorful and healthy options on the menu (in addition to salsa and chips and many kinds of marguerites.). Our sever was excellent. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Love the drinks, love the tacos, love the quac. Love the patio too. Inside is cool but great summer patio.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really Good Food!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

The portions are not obnoxiously large, and the food is amazingly flavorful! There are 12-15 options for fillers, including pork, beef, chicken, seafood, and even nopales. There are five salsas to choose from (aside from the Pico). The guac is delicious. It is hard to be unpleased with the food.

The drinks offer wine, tequila-based cocktails (surprise!), and a delightful michelada. Again, two thumbs WAAAAAy up!

So why does the service have to be so... meh? I have had perfect orders, but nearly no wait presence; I have had screwed-up orders and waitstaff hovering like gnats; I have had wait staff try to pay attention to our table AND another table . What's wrong with getting the order right AND dropping by the table once every ten minutes to just look – maybe to ask a question if a glass or dish is empty?

Almost a trifecta, Nico's. Almost perfect...

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food is fresh, authentic and amazing

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

Our group could not stop talking about the food all day. From the delicious salasa offerings to the many choices for tacos Nico's has it all. In particular they don't ruin their food with heaping blobs of sour cream they let their fresh and varied dishes speak for themselves.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, too expensive.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

Loved the food, loved the service, but wasn't swooning over the prices. Drinks are incredibly expensive for what you get. Similar things nearby for less.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best Mexican Minneapolis

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Nico's staff is always great and the food is very delicious. We love coming to Nico's. The guac is always amazing as well as the drinks. The outdoor seating is very nice on the patio and balcony.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Don't miss it

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

First time here. An eclectic restaurant that really delivers. From wonderful guacamole and chips with a trio of salsas. (Don't miss the roasted tomatillo.) We all had tacos. From the shrimp, chicken, braised beef, pork. They were all excellent. Adding avacado and marinated cactus made them outstanding. Great selection of tequilas and great service make this a must visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tacos

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

My friend and I met for happy hour and stayed for dinner. Reasonable margarita drinks on happy hour with fun flavors like raspberry or agave cucumber. Fresh made chips with different salsas were good and the tacos were what sold me. I would recommend the chicken and carnitas. The taco platter if you're really hungry is great or you can purchase single tacos.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nico's brunch does it again

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

My mission this summer is to eat my way through the brunch menu, and I am halfway there with no complaints! Definitely recommend Nico's, whether for brunch or otherwise. The staff is always pleasant and the food always delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Yummy

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

Nico's is a casual but delicious restaurant with a cute outdoor seating area. Their 'Casita' margarita was fantastic! (As was their 'Pastor' burrito)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice spot on Hennepin

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Great patio, fun atmosphere, solid Mexican food. My wife and I ate there on a summer Friday when the weather was beautiful and the service was a little slow, but it was overall a good experience in what I would call a casual, date-like setting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

consistently great food

 
·Dined on June 20, 2015

I go here about once a week. Service can be slow when it's busy, but we're not usually in a hurry. My favorites: nopales taco, mahi mahi burro, pescado taco, Punto bean tostada, beans and rice, guacamole. Great patio.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

There have been several attempts to operate a themed restaurant in this former Uptown Duplex. This is by far the best use of this unique space.

The food was clearly freshly prepared and Mexican authentic.

I had a house made cocktail that had been aging in oak. It was tiny for $12 but tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe on a weekniight?

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

Friday evening; party of 3. Service was impossibly slow. It took over 30 minutes to get our ($7,/overpriced) trio of salsas w chips, and when it arrived, it wasn't the salsas we'd ordered. For $1 more, I'd recommend just ordering the guacamole. It was good

When the entrees _finally_ came, the carne asada was so overdone that it was like shoe leather.....not kidding. The server said it'd "been left on the grill too long" (so why was it plated??). They also sent out 1 taco w the wrong filling, but we never said a thing as we were ready to eat. The flautas de nopales and other tacos were good (barbacoa, carnitas, lengua). I've eaten at Nico's 3 other times and had much better service & better food. It's a safer be on a weeknight. Skip it if things are busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great find

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

Best Guacamole ever and love live the spicy margarita- we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Brunch Spot

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

I finally made it here for brunch! We go to Nico's quite a bit and have been talking about brunch for months. I finally made it there and it was well worth the wait. The Huevos Rancheros was super good with the verde salsa, I will definitely get it again. Sitting on the front porch for a Saturday brunch was perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.