Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar

Inspired by traditional Mexican street food, using indigenous herbs and spices used throughout the very heart of mexico. Chef Alejandro Victoria brings authentic recipes from his homeland in Michoacan to your plate. Beautiful ingredients, many organic and custom grown, are used to re-create timeless recipes with bold flavors and immediate freshness that jump off your tongue. Enjoy the upper level tequila bar with over 50 different tequila selections (100% agave reposado, blanca, mezcal), a scratch-made margartia menu, and a Latin American wine list.

2516 Hennepin Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 345-7688

Website:
http://www.nicostacobar.com/

Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.4

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fun (6)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A great neighborhood gem. Just outside of downtown, this is a great place for a margarita and Mexican food.

The drinks are fantastic- a great menu of margarita options.

The food was delicious.

A bit tiny, so definitely use Open Table to reserve. The patio dining is the way to go.

Parking is very limited (street).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was just ok, nothing you couldn't find at any other Mexican restaurant. Our server was very nice but he only ended up being our server because whoever was suppose to take care of us never showed up. The place is in a old house and a pretty dirty one at that. The ambiance, well there is none and it's so loud you can't hear table mates. Lots of people outside which is probably the reason they are popular but even with reservations we couldn't get a table out there to enjoy what seems to be the only good thing about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Chips could be warmed
Plates could be provided for chips and sals
Excellent margarita

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Went on a Thursday night with some girlfriends for dinner and drinks-wasn't super busy and many tables were available inside (probably didn't need a reservation). Waitress forgot to put in our sides and I ended up getting my side of corn 30 minutes after finishing my tacos. We then ordered drinks and it took another 35 minutes for the waitress to bring 3 margaritas to our table. Food was pretty average. There are many other places in the city to get tacos and margs so I probably won't be returning to Nico's.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Went to celebrate girlfriend's birthday. The food was good and quick, unfortunately they were out of majority of things to make drinks so the drink options were limited! Was great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I loved the food even though they only prepare tamales once a week. I looked at the menu before going and would have loved to known that before choosing that restaurant. I didn't like being seated right behind another table when there were so many other empty tables available for privacy. I will go there again now that I know what to expect !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

They were to busy to seat us and recommended we went elsewhere because they were short staffed. We appreciated them being honest with us.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The margaritas were delicious and part of the happy hour deals. I was not as enthused about my tacos.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went here for the first time to celebrate my birthday and was NOT disappointed! Our server was amazing, the food was superb, and the drinks were to die for. Amazing happy hour specials! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great margaritas and wonderful tacos. Live the outside seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We were a group of 13 pre-theatre goers looking for a place to gather for drinks and nibbles on a Friday evening. Jason took great care in setting up a private space for our party, and Simeon crafted spectacular drinks for us. Food was ok, satisfied the diverse bunch that we were, and the service was really friendly and accommodating. Setting is a gorgeous repurposed Victorian on Hennepin, outdoor seating available, awesome tequila choices. Recommend the chicken nachos, enchiladas, and authentic (Mexican street) tacos.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It took 10 minutes for anyone to acknowledge us after we walked in, even though at least three staff members had seen us. The restaurant was empty yet everything we ordered took what seemed like twice the amount of time it should have. The chips were stale and flavorless, the three tacos we had were sloppy and soggy and gross. The edges of the tortillas were dry as if they had been sitting out for days. Overall this was one of the worst restaurants we have been to in Minneapolis, and it's an insult to Mexican cuisine. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

closed. We placed an online reservation for 8PM on Friday night We arrived and they were unexpectedly closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very Yummy food. Everything we got was delicious. Only thing is that NO ONE could bring us the correct food. 4 different times we had to talk with our waitress about not receiving the correct food. She was definitely over worked and frustrated that her coworkers couldn't do their jobs correctly. The food we ended up getting (as close to our order as we could get) ended up being delicious and I would go back. They need to train their staff more, and get it together although.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were a bit disappointed with our visit to Nico's. Our server was good, the tequila list was impressive, but the food was subpar. My tamale was nearly inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

First time going with my fiancé we both enjoyed our selves. Food was very fulfilling.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was a limited menu and they only served tacos which were awful and a bite size snack not a meal. Left disappointed, however our server was very nice and great. I would give it another try on a different night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was Skeptical on this place especially after reading so many mixed reviews I figured I would see for myself. We were seated right away we didn't have any problems with that, we didn't have any issues with not getting any help they probably had too many people helping us actually. I do think things are a little overpriced, the single tacos could definitely be brought down 50 Cent to a dollar. And They need to make up their mind does a taco come with rice and beans or do they not come with Rice and beans. I ordered a taco I asked if they came with anything they said it was ala cart so then I ordered a side of rice and beans as she explained the size of the taco and it seemed a little small. Also one of the people I was with ordered a taco. I ended up getting the rice/bean side that I ordered plus there was some on the plate with the taco but the other person and order the tacos as well didn't get any and they really couldn't tell me why I got a side and he didn't. I was just a little agitated I should say because I wouldn't have ordered a side had I known it would come with as I asked to begin with for that reason.

I really wanted to like this place it seemed really cool that they had converted an old house into a restaurant. I went in excited and with an open mind.

The taco was good, the Margarita was great as well. I live in St. Paul and there are many Mexican food places between here and there to go for good food that is just as good and cheaper so I probably wouldn't go back unless I was invited as part of a birthday dinner or something like that but I wouldn't go purposely on my own. Wasn't terrible but for what they charge I think they need to kick things up a notch.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was amazing but the menu was a little complicated. We just asked the waiter what he recommended, and it turned out to be a great choice! We were really disappointed that we couldn't sit outside on such a nice day even though we made a reservation and requested outdoor seating. We just wanted to sit outside! It's stuff and crowded inside but the food was worth staying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall a nice place to have a margarita with real lime juice on a sunny patio in a great neighborhood. Need more servers during prime time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wow... what a terrible experience. We tried to like our meal avoiding the terrible experience but it didn't work. The food was not very good... We tried the margarita special. No one at the table could drink it and the bartender was incredibly rude. He told us "tell you waiter, I'm bartending the whole restaurant and can't deal with that". We saw him treat the rest of the restaurant the same way including the wait staff. Rather spend my money elsewhere. Thanks but we won't be back. Yuck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

AHHHHH-MAZING! I absolutely recommend Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar for any and every meal! Authentic Mexican food made fresh, can you go wrong? Staff is so fun, kind, and simply wonderful! They always ensure your order is correct and fix it promptly if not! Love this little neighborhood gem :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service impeccable, immediate seating with reservation, food was delicious and tequila list impressed my savvy party. It was such a fun experience!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I dined alone at the bar upstairs. Truly enjoyed the experience. Food was amazing. Atmosphere was lively. My only criticism is the bar staff doesn't do a great job serving a non-drinker who wants to order several courses at the bar. It's kind of a unique circumstance. So, I don't think it's indicative of some larger service issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was amazing but service was slow. Our waitress seemed really busy and we had to wait a while to order drinks and to get our check. We went during restaurant week so maybe service is better when not as busy.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Walked in stood at hostess stand at least 10 minutes. No one even acknowledged us. Had a reservation for 2 and no available tables. Sat at bar area to eat. Waited forever for our food and when it came it was not even warm. Sent it back and they warned it up. Now it was chewy! Super disappointed. Would not gonna back. Our server/bartender no where to be found. Saw him on the way out and didn't even apologize or try to make it right. Thumbs down!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had a reservation, waited 35 minutes to be seated! Staff acted like we were in the way...no place to wait except in the doorway. The female bartender upstairs was extremely rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went because of Restaurant Week. Food was so average. Churro dessert was the best part of the meal, but the tacos were bland and presentation was poor. Drinks were good. Service was poor - the server had his coat on when he came out with the check because he wanted to go home. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to a single person, and will absolutely never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always love going to Nico's. It's my favorite taco place in msp!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Horrible service. Rude bar tender

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I enjoyed the fun atmosphere at Nico's upon entering and loved that it was in an old renovated house. I was bummed that our service was less then stellar though. Table wasn't ready despite having put in a reservation over a day in advance and the host suggested we just sit at the bar instead (there was 4 of us). After a bit of a wait, past my reservation time, we were given a table because a group of people walked out because they no longer wanted to eat there. It was convenient but if they hadn't done that we could of potentially waited far longer.

Our waitress was very nice but she didn't come back to our table once for the 50 minutes we were there until I asked for the bill from a different waiter. She did seem to be overloaded with tables, but I noticed that she was stopping at the other tables around us pretty frequently but never back at ours, despite trying to make eye contact to signal we needed assistance. We ordered a salsa flight that did not get put in and we weren't able to re-order it till after our first round of food came. When it arrived it was all wrong, none of the salsas that we had asked for.

The food was great, lots of flavor and texture, great color and quality. I had a rhubarb margarita and it was fantastic, I will be trying that again for sure!

Our bill was brought out to us before our dessert even arrived, and we ended up having to ask for it to go, despite that it still took another 20 minutes until it arrived and it was cold by the time it got there. I generally don't like paying for food before it arrives in case there are issues with it ect... I can't really rate the churro because it was cold, but the sauce that came with it was pretty awesome. I will definitely try it again, hopefully during a less busy time period.

Overall I'd give Nico's a 3 out of 5. I will be trying it again and changing my rating if I have a better experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good Food but terrible service Will not be back bygg

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I went for Restaurant Week and the price was very good to try out Nico's. I don't know if I would go back again because the service was quite poor. Our waitress did not have a good attitude to begin with and we spent about two hours from being seated to leaving, when it could have been less than an hour. The food was good, but the slow and unfriendly service discourages me from going back anytime soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our first visit to this restaurant coincided with Restaurant Week. We arrived at 5:30pm, but it took 15-20 minutes to even be noticed by the wait staff who eventually brought water, then another 10-15 minute wait to put in our order. It seems as though they were short handed, and the place was filling up. We each had a taco platter with tacos pastor, barbacoa, pulled chicken, etc. The food was very good, as was my authentic margarita. It took a long time to get the bill. It's a shame the service was so slow, inconsistent and inattentive because that colored our experience negatively. Because the food and drinks were so good, we might be willing to give it another chance.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was horrible! They wouldn't honor mpls/stpaul restaurant special even when it was posted they were running a special. Restaurant week started today...so what the heck?! Also the service was awful...won't be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One star because zero stars isn't an option. Went to lunch Sunday afternoon and were seated inside at about 1:30. Waited for about 50 minutes to place our order; food showed up about 30 minutes later. Cold. Finally, begged for the check as the afternoon wore on. Asked to speak to the manager. Told that he was "too busy." Found him standing behind the counter on the first floor staring into space. Enjoyed his combative attitude and colorful language. We have eaten here before and enjoyed the food although service has been spotty. Believe that our recent experience and other disappointments at this place reflect poor organization and management. Good luck with that, we will avoid this place in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I used to love Nico's Tacos, but it must be under new ownership now because our experience was TERRIBLE. The food was awful (and I really wanted it to be good because I was so excited to take my friends there since I've had great experiences there 1 year+ ago). It was hardly a step up from Taco Bell. Uninspired and it all tasted the same - the tamales, sopas and tacos all ended up tasting almost identical (and not flavorful at all). Even the guacamole was lame, and I'm not sure how it's possible to goof up guacamole.

The margaritas were too sweet, but the tap beer was fine. The bathroom was dirty and the hallway to the kitchen made made re-think our choice to eat there (sooo dirty). And our server - holy crap! He was awful. I'm hoping he was maybe on his last night of working because he was full of bad attitude. Didn't even introduce himself, never asked how we were doing or how our food was...barely made eye contact until he brought the check.

AVOID this place; it's a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Super cute place with crazy good food. The service could have been a little faster, especially with refilling water, but overall we really enjoyed ourselves. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Margaritas are the best I've had! Food was great, not the normal Mexican.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place is good for delivery. Service was poor. I waited 10 minutes just to order my drink. I waited 10 minutes to get silverware after our lukewarm food arrived.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.