Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar

Inspired by traditional Mexican street food, using indigenous herbs and spices used throughout the very heart of mexico. Chef Alejandro Victoria brings authentic recipes from his homeland in Michoacan to your plate. Beautiful ingredients, many organic and custom grown, are used to re-create timeless recipes with bold flavors and immediate freshness that jump off your tongue. Enjoy the upper level tequila bar with over 50 different tequila selections (100% agave reposado, blanca, mezcal), a scratch-made margartia menu, and a Latin American wine list.

2516 Hennepin Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 345-7688

Website:
http://www.nicostacobar.com/

Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.4

ambience

3.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Authentic (12)
Happy Hour (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Spicy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Dancing (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was amazing but the menu was a little complicated. We just asked the waiter what he recommended, and it turned out to be a great choice! We were really disappointed that we couldn't sit outside on such a nice day even though we made a reservation and requested outdoor seating. We just wanted to sit outside! It's stuff and crowded inside but the food was worth staying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall a nice place to have a margarita with real lime juice on a sunny patio in a great neighborhood. Need more servers during prime time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wow... what a terrible experience. We tried to like our meal avoiding the terrible experience but it didn't work. The food was not very good... We tried the margarita special. No one at the table could drink it and the bartender was incredibly rude. He told us "tell you waiter, I'm bartending the whole restaurant and can't deal with that". We saw him treat the rest of the restaurant the same way including the wait staff. Rather spend my money elsewhere. Thanks but we won't be back. Yuck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

AHHHHH-MAZING! I absolutely recommend Nico's Taco and Tequila Bar for any and every meal! Authentic Mexican food made fresh, can you go wrong? Staff is so fun, kind, and simply wonderful! They always ensure your order is correct and fix it promptly if not! Love this little neighborhood gem :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service impeccable, immediate seating with reservation, food was delicious and tequila list impressed my savvy party. It was such a fun experience!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was amazing but service was slow. Our waitress seemed really busy and we had to wait a while to order drinks and to get our check. We went during restaurant week so maybe service is better when not as busy.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Walked in stood at hostess stand at least 10 minutes. No one even acknowledged us. Had a reservation for 2 and no available tables. Sat at bar area to eat. Waited forever for our food and when it came it was not even warm. Sent it back and they warned it up. Now it was chewy! Super disappointed. Would not gonna back. Our server/bartender no where to be found. Saw him on the way out and didn't even apologize or try to make it right. Thumbs down!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Went because of Restaurant Week. Food was so average. Churro dessert was the best part of the meal, but the tacos were bland and presentation was poor. Drinks were good. Service was poor - the server had his coat on when he came out with the check because he wanted to go home. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to a single person, and will absolutely never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a reservation, waited 35 minutes to be seated! Staff acted like we were in the way...no place to wait except in the doorway. The female bartender upstairs was extremely rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always love going to Nico's. It's my favorite taco place in msp!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Horrible service. Rude bar tender

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I enjoyed the fun atmosphere at Nico's upon entering and loved that it was in an old renovated house. I was bummed that our service was less then stellar though. Table wasn't ready despite having put in a reservation over a day in advance and the host suggested we just sit at the bar instead (there was 4 of us). After a bit of a wait, past my reservation time, we were given a table because a group of people walked out because they no longer wanted to eat there. It was convenient but if they hadn't done that we could of potentially waited far longer.

Our waitress was very nice but she didn't come back to our table once for the 50 minutes we were there until I asked for the bill from a different waiter. She did seem to be overloaded with tables, but I noticed that she was stopping at the other tables around us pretty frequently but never back at ours, despite trying to make eye contact to signal we needed assistance. We ordered a salsa flight that did not get put in and we weren't able to re-order it till after our first round of food came. When it arrived it was all wrong, none of the salsas that we had asked for.

The food was great, lots of flavor and texture, great color and quality. I had a rhubarb margarita and it was fantastic, I will be trying that again for sure!

Our bill was brought out to us before our dessert even arrived, and we ended up having to ask for it to go, despite that it still took another 20 minutes until it arrived and it was cold by the time it got there. I generally don't like paying for food before it arrives in case there are issues with it ect... I can't really rate the churro because it was cold, but the sauce that came with it was pretty awesome. I will definitely try it again, hopefully during a less busy time period.

Overall I'd give Nico's a 3 out of 5. I will be trying it again and changing my rating if I have a better experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Spicy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good Food but terrible service Will not be back bygg

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I went for Restaurant Week and the price was very good to try out Nico's. I don't know if I would go back again because the service was quite poor. Our waitress did not have a good attitude to begin with and we spent about two hours from being seated to leaving, when it could have been less than an hour. The food was good, but the slow and unfriendly service discourages me from going back anytime soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our first visit to this restaurant coincided with Restaurant Week. We arrived at 5:30pm, but it took 15-20 minutes to even be noticed by the wait staff who eventually brought water, then another 10-15 minute wait to put in our order. It seems as though they were short handed, and the place was filling up. We each had a taco platter with tacos pastor, barbacoa, pulled chicken, etc. The food was very good, as was my authentic margarita. It took a long time to get the bill. It's a shame the service was so slow, inconsistent and inattentive because that colored our experience negatively. Because the food and drinks were so good, we might be willing to give it another chance.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One star because zero stars isn't an option. Went to lunch Sunday afternoon and were seated inside at about 1:30. Waited for about 50 minutes to place our order; food showed up about 30 minutes later. Cold. Finally, begged for the check as the afternoon wore on. Asked to speak to the manager. Told that he was "too busy." Found him standing behind the counter on the first floor staring into space. Enjoyed his combative attitude and colorful language. We have eaten here before and enjoyed the food although service has been spotty. Believe that our recent experience and other disappointments at this place reflect poor organization and management. Good luck with that, we will avoid this place in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was horrible! They wouldn't honor mpls/stpaul restaurant special even when it was posted they were running a special. Restaurant week started today...so what the heck?! Also the service was awful...won't be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I used to love Nico's Tacos, but it must be under new ownership now because our experience was TERRIBLE. The food was awful (and I really wanted it to be good because I was so excited to take my friends there since I've had great experiences there 1 year+ ago). It was hardly a step up from Taco Bell. Uninspired and it all tasted the same - the tamales, sopas and tacos all ended up tasting almost identical (and not flavorful at all). Even the guacamole was lame, and I'm not sure how it's possible to goof up guacamole.

The margaritas were too sweet, but the tap beer was fine. The bathroom was dirty and the hallway to the kitchen made made re-think our choice to eat there (sooo dirty). And our server - holy crap! He was awful. I'm hoping he was maybe on his last night of working because he was full of bad attitude. Didn't even introduce himself, never asked how we were doing or how our food was...barely made eye contact until he brought the check.

AVOID this place; it's a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Super cute place with crazy good food. The service could have been a little faster, especially with refilling water, but overall we really enjoyed ourselves. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Margaritas are the best I've had! Food was great, not the normal Mexican.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place is good for delivery. Service was poor. I waited 10 minutes just to order my drink. I waited 10 minutes to get silverware after our lukewarm food arrived.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service was great! The noise leve was a little high- music was loud. Also we were seated in a corner table where by husband was pushed against the wall and my chair was so close to the person behind me that we kept bumping each other (and neither of us were big people).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wide selection of sauces for the chips. Inventive tacos. And inexpensive.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I love the fact that you can make a reservation at this little place. The parking was a little tricky but the staff is very friendly and the food is AMAZING. I happened to arrive early for my reservation and it was no problem at all-they were able to accommodate immediately. I can't wait to go back there again!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sadly, we are looking for a new Friday night hangout after the Green Mill closed on New Year's Eve. Nico's is definitely in the running. Our waitress/bartender was so gracious, offering us a tasting of the seasonal mulled wine when we asked about the drink. Highly recommend the mulled wine, especially good if you are nursing a cold. On the food menu, the tacos are our favorites. Light fare with exceptional flavoring. A great neighborhood spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

If I could Nico's a six out of five stars I would. The flavors are spectacular and the prices are quite good for quality Mexican food. And the house marg - awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, they don't mess around with their hot sauce (Yum). Will go there again. Had the street tacos and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First time there. Food was really good. The guacamole amazing.
Service friendly and efficient
Not too noisy so you could have pleasant conversations.
They do up charge for extras so your bill can add up
Such as salsa and cheese etc.
their margarita's were really good.
I wil definitely go back again

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Delicious margaritas, great chips and guacamole, salsas available in all levels of heat, a nice variety of tacos and yummy quesadillas made for a great evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food and drinks! Enjoyed the ambience and the staff was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fun place, good authentic food, friendly wait staff; arrive early and enjoy the bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Incredible food - unlike any other Mexican restaurant I've ever been to. Huge tequila selection and well crafted cocktails. Decent beer selection. Very comfortable setting.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved the authentic cuisine and extensive menu. Best vegetarian tacos ever. Excellent Margaritas. And enjoyed the live music. We'll be back!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very disappointed in the food, which was bland arrived lukewarm , at best. Margaritas were excellent and the service was good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Normally we get the tacos and they are always spectacular. We got the enchiladas and they were ok, disappointing really. The margueritas were top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fun place. Loved the old house.
Great service.
Everything was good except the chips and salsa appetizer needs improvement. The chips were old and crumbled , the three salsas were very bland.
There was five of us and everyone was more than pleased with their entries

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The sauces and the guacamole are the stars at Nico's. Add them to the custom made tacos and you get a flavor punch you can't find anywhere else. The sauces range form mild to hot hot. My friends had Margaritas that were great.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 16, 2016

I love eating at Nico's! Every time I go, the food is wonderfully delicious and quick. The patio is quaint but never too crowded and the servers are all very nice. They are all great with suggestions on orders as well! Nico's is my favorite summertime place to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went for lunch during the week, and the resteraunt was so full and understaffed that it took us 20 minutes to get our drinks and chips and salsa. My family didn't feel like waiting any longer, so we just closed out our tabs after our drink order came. Disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.