About Nicollet Island Inn

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Lindsay Kunz
lindsay@nicolletislandinn.com 612-331-1800x3

Island Room or St. Anthony Event Spaces

-Newly Remodeled, Hardwood flooring
-An outdoor Private Garden Patio
-Space for 10-120 guests seated and up to 200 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access

Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Noah Balow

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 Event Spaces. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 10 guests, the Captain's Room up to 16, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 120 seated. Our events floor can accommodate nearly 200 people for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Kunz: 6123311800x3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Ryan via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Bruschetta - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Chocolate Mousse - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Salmon Benedict - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Coffee Cake - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Ricotta Gnocchi - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Steak Tartar - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Salmon - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Lox - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Apple Crisp - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
French Toast - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Pastries - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Mimosa - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Raspberry & Chocolate Mousse Cake - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Duck - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Eggs Benedict - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Duck Confit And Sweet Potato Hash - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Sunrise Porridge - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Corn Crusted Walleye - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Eggplant Caprese - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Quiche Du Jour - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Beef Carpaccio - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Creme Brulee French Toast - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Steak Frites - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Chicken Gnocchi - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Huevos rancheros - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
4 More
Special Occasion
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (40)
Scenic View (38)
See All
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Historic (25)
Cozy (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Waterfront (20)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Business Meals (9)
Private Room (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ambiance at Nicollet Island Inn was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

The ambiance at Nicollet Island Inn was wonderful, as was the service. I do have two complaints, which I sent to the manager and did not receive a response. 1) The menu is limited. For example, there is no salmon on the menu. 2) The customer needs to ask for bread. It's ok that they do not want to waste bread by not delivering it automatically, but the customer is not told that it must be requested. It would be better if the wait staff asked whether or not the customer wanted bread rather than leaving the customer waiting for bread and not knowing it must be requested. This is too high a caliber restauant to have this policy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We'd never been to Nicollet Island Inn b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We'd never been to Nicollet Island Inn before. My parents, girlfriend and I were very pleased! We all had the 5-Course tasting menu for brunch and we're delighted at the portions, flavors, and how appropriate all of the dishes were for the season. Our server, Alyssa, was attentive without being overbearing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice Thanksgiving meal. Not our fi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very nice Thanksgiving meal. Not our first at NII; not our last, either.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Thanksgiving prix fixe dinner. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Lovely Thanksgiving prix fixe dinner. The food was prepared beautifully, nicely seasoned and served graciously. Amenities included a take-home sandwich (turkey of course), cranberry, and a toll-house cookie. A warm and satisfying experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicollet Island Inn is a favorite place ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nicollet Island Inn is a favorite place to take my family on special occasions like holidays and birthdays. The food and service are consistently good, and the ambience feels homey.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The warm and friendly atmosphere made th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The warm and friendly atmosphere made the experience delightful.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the second time we spent Thanksgi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was the second time we spent Thanksgiving with you and it was a lovely experience. I think it is going to be our new tradition.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love going to the Inn but the menu se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We love going to the Inn but the menu seems to have gotten very limited and they are pricing themselves out of my market. The food was ok but not outstanding. The service was great! We love the atmosphere but will consider other options in the future.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was great experience, a gem

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It was great experience, a gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and very understanding c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing service and very understanding chef and waiter with a newborn slowing the meal down

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent and creative, atmosphe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food is excellent and creative, atmosphere is wonderful with gorgeous views, gorgeous building, and wonderful staff!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is fabulous. If you are looki ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is fabulous. If you are looking for a romantic night out along with great service and wonderful food this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Half the reason to visit is the ambiance ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Half the reason to visit is the ambiance and location. An after dinner walk or ride on the horse carriages adds to the evening.

The bouillabaisse was excellent and gingerbread cake a nice dessert

Onion soup was a bit salty for my taste

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Celebrated our 5 year anniversary and it ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Celebrated our 5 year anniversary and it was wonderful. Erin was our server and she was fabulous. We had a table for two overlooking the riverfront. We had a wonderful time. It was our first dinner at Nicollet Island Inn and it will not be our last!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. We were t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and great service. We were there for a birthday breakfast. Server was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here for a number of dinner oc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Have been here for a number of dinner occasions and never disappointed . Only criticism is that while I always find a dish I like I wish there were more options without pork, bacon or brussels sprouts. Also more veggie options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Elegant, quiet, wonderful relaxing exper ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Elegant, quiet, wonderful relaxing experience. This was a business meal with customers and they were impressed with the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Nicollet Island ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

My husband and I went to Nicollet Island Inn Restaurant for my birthday dinner. This was on a Tuesday and we were pleasantly surprised by how calm at quiet the environment was. We were able to sit comfortable and talk without loud noises in the background. Our server was great and the manager stopped by to check on us as well. The food was top notch! My husband had steak and I had chicken. Both were delicious and we were impressed by the quality of the meal. Afterward we had drinks in the historic bar and we were greeted by the bartender and manager again. Both were very friendly and accommodating. I have to say they made our night a fun one! Overall, this place is a gem and I will definitely be coming back again and again! I am recommending it to family and friends as well. This historic building has been overlooked by too many people! It's such a wonderful place to dine.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner, great new menu. Wonderfu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Awesome dinner, great new menu. Wonderful historic Inn.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster appetizer was delicious. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The lobster appetizer was delicious. The Walleye placed so as not to lose its crispness from the vegetables. This restaurant is a favorite of ours. Nice views of the River and good soundproofing makes for a cozy spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only thing that I would say needs improv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Only thing that I would say needs improvement is the wine list. It is very short.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff from hostess to waiter, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great wait staff from hostess to waiter, very attentive not overbearing . When asked about recommendations he was very knowledgable about all we asked about. Very good time had by all.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Waterfront, Organic, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Side dishes did not come out until we we ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Side dishes did not come out until we were 1/3 to 1/2 way through our entrees, on a night that the restaurant was not busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The NII was as nice as always. Fall eve ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The NII was as nice as always. Fall evening over looking the river. Only complaint was the scallops being over cooked. The Walleye was great and the Mushroom Gnocchi was a masterpiece.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Took friends from out of town, for a lov ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Took friends from out of town, for a lovely, quiet meal with a beautiful view and great service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was very efficient and timely ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Our waiter was very efficient and timely in his service. Food was very tasty.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Had their Date Night special. Excellent ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Had their Date Night special. Excellent. One of our favorite restaurants. Great view and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A friend invited us to dinner and we wer ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

A friend invited us to dinner and we were to choose the restaurant. Nicollet Island Inn was our first choice. My pork tenderloin was very good, the flat iron steak was excellent, and the walleye was deemed acceptable. It was a nice evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch 3 course seemed a bit expensive a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Brunch 3 course seemed a bit expensive and not a good value...would've liked coffe to be included in $23 price point...

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very nice restaurant, good food, excelle ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very nice restaurant, good food, excellent atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was my husband's birthday and I wante ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and I wanted to take him some place special and this was exactly the right place. We will definitely come back. The food was excellent, the service was great and we really enjoyed the sophisticated atmosphere. It was truly a pleasure and a perfect way to celebrate a special occasion. Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought someone who seldom goes to Min ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I brought someone who seldom goes to Minneapolis and they thought it was quite special. The Nicollet Island Inn is my favorite place for lunch.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our cheese plate was delightful. The mai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our cheese plate was delightful. The main course of walleye was very heavily breaded and bland, the wild rice that accompanied the meal was terrible. We were never offered a bread basket or rolls. We decided to try the restaurant again after a long absence and were very disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We celebrated our friends birthday and r ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We celebrated our friends birthday and really enjoyed the atmosphere! The food is very small portion for the large prices, so it's definitely not an every day place to dine at. It's not the kind of restaurant that gives you a complimentary birthday dessert, but they treated us to champagne when they brought the dessert out. Unfortunately we weren't impressed with our waitress, but the rest of the staff that we met was great! The ambiance at the Inn is what makes the experience worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We went to celebrate our anniversary. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary. The inn was quiet and romantic. It was nice to be in a place were we could and not have to yell over the crowd. A definite place for the future for us.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ate here with my wife the morning afte ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I ate here with my wife the morning after our wedding. We each had the 3 course tasting menu. It was delicious and very filling. The service was very doting. The atmosphere was quiet and romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a wonderful dinner we had at Nicoll ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

What a wonderful dinner we had at Nicollet Island Inn last weekend. The ambience is elegant but very comfortable, and the setting overlooking the Mississippi on Nicollet Island is dreamy. Another world. Our dinners were beautifully prepared, with subtle, surprising flavors. My pasta dish, "Shrimp Chittara," with artichoke, asparagus, red pepper, and guanciale, was to die for. Wait staff couldn't be nicer.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicollet Island Inn has a great dining s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Nicollet Island Inn has a great dining space. Most tables have a view of the river. Our salads and main courses were done expertly. We were never rushed. The wait staff was attentive. Our special occasion was made that much more special by the great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was special occasion for my girlfri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was special occasion for my girlfriends birthday. We also stayed at the Inn. The dinner

was excellent as was the service. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to have

that special night.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing brunch! Our waiter was fantastic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing brunch! Our waiter was fantastic, the food outstanding, the view serene. Thank you for a wonderful anniversary experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.