About Nicollet Island Inn

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Lindsay Kunz 612-331-1800x3
Island or St. Anthony Banquet rooms
-An outdoor patio with two-tiered walkout garden
-Small meeting space available for up to 24 people
-State-of-art A/V equipment for any occasion
-Space for 10-100 guests seated and up to 150 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access
Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Ryan Stechschulte

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 banquet rooms. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 8 guests, the Captain's Room up to 13, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 100 seated.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Kunz: 6123311800x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Ryan via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Bruschetta
Chocolate Mousse
Salmon Benedict
Ricotta Gnocchi
Coffee Cake
Steak Tartar
Salmon
Lox
Apple Crisp
French Toast
Pastries
Mimosa
Raspberry & Chocolate Mousse Cake
Duck
Eggs Benedict
Duck Confit And Sweet Potato Hash
Sunrise Porridge
Corn Crusted Walleye
Eggplant Caprese
Quiche Du Jour
Beef Carpaccio
Creme Brulee French Toast
Steak Frites
Huevos rancheros
Chicken Gnocchi

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
3 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Romantic
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

special occasion (80)
scenic view (76)
romantic (67)
See All
neighborhood gem (48)
great for lunch (39)
fit for foodies (38)
great for brunch (36)
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (15)
great for outdoor dining (11)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brunch is very poor - they claim either ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Brunch is very poor - they claim either 3 or 5 courses

1st start is what they call pastries - they were covered by a napkin - they looked and taste that they are bought in a store several days or at least one week ago - not looking tasty

2nd and 3r course is like an appetizer instead of a lunch

There is no refill for coffee and tea - 2 cups were billed/person

I had to apologize to the persons who were invited for this brunch that it was below all quality.

I went there for a dinner about 2 years ago - it was so bad then that they gave us a gift card of 50$ to come back. After this brunch I would even not go back if I would have received a gift card.

They should go somewhere to look how a good brunch is and change their brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The scenery was beautiful. it seems that ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The scenery was beautiful. it seems that customers are not allowed to answer phone calls but there is sign in the restaurant. When my husband got a call and he responded, one of the waiters came to him and demanded him to go outside. That was very unfriendly and I did not like it. I will never go back to this restaurant.

Asli

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was one of our favorite dining expe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was one of our favorite dining experiences ever. The food was wonderful and our server was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful place to take my family ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

What a wonderful place to take my family for breakfast on their first trip to Minneapolis!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding location and scenery, great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding location and scenery, great old building however food was a bit disappointing

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

What a wonderful spot for a 4th of July ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

What a wonderful spot for a 4th of July dinner! We have an exceptional experience every time we dine here. Ane we dine here often!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to enjoy the stay at Nico ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our first time to enjoy the stay at Nicollet Island Inn and have the fine dining to compliment our stay

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in the salad. We ex ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were disappointed in the salad. We expected more dessert choices. The food was not as special as we expected. We've been here before and remembered it as being much more special!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

As always the Inn did not disappoint. L ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always the Inn did not disappoint. Lovely evening looking out over the river and sipping good wines.

Lovely.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best "white tableclot ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is one of the best "white tablecloth" venues in the Twin Cities. Always a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always count on the Nicollet Isl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

You can always count on the Nicollet Island Inn for whatever you go there for: brunch, lunch, dinner, a special occasion. It never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've heard it has a wonderful brunch, an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've heard it has a wonderful brunch, and while there were high points, there were low points. I had to request the first course--assorted basket of pastries--when the server brought the second course, because he forgot it. I was expecting something wonderful and found the pastries pedestrian -- 2 mini croissants, a very dried-out, tasteless half-slice of mystery fruit bread and a mini blueberry muffin reminiscent of Country Inn & Suit's breakfast buffet. My husband and daughter grabbed the croissants. The server did ask if we wanted more after the second course but, why bother. The Nic Benedict eggs were delicious, as was the slice of quiche (wished there was a bit more on the plate) but the salad greens with the quiche didn't inspire (add a few fresh blueberries, diced strawberry, apple or pear depending on the season to give interest and color). Scallops was a misnomer on the menu for the third course--technically it's scallop--a bit over one inch in diameter. It was tasty and well prepared but appetizer sized. Looking back, they could have made the experience so much better by either knocking the basket of pastries out-of-the-park (go to Cupcake in Eagan and sample theirs for ideas) or serving more than 1 scallop. Will not be returning.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Went for brunch on Father's Day which we ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for brunch on Father's Day which we do almost every year. The 3-course brunch is plenty filling and the 5-course is more than we can eat. We had the eggs benedict, quiche, flank steak and scallops as part of the 3-course. All were excellent. The only thing we noticed is that over the past couple of years the complimentary mimosas have disappeared. That was always a nice touch and made it somewhat more special than some places.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite stops in Minneapolis ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of our favorite stops in Minneapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent experience as always! It is ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

An excellent experience as always! It is my "go to" for most important occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always an excellent e ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant is always an excellent experience. Whether for business or pleasure it is my favorite Twin Cities "go to".

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend this fine restaurant. F ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Highly recommend this fine restaurant. First-rate service in a wonderful atmosphere. Walleye dinners were delicious. Mushroom gnocchi is ideal to share as an appetizer. Chocolate mousse is mouth-watering. We will return - often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For us, we sought out the restaurant bec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

For us, we sought out the restaurant because it is close to DeLaSalle high school, that my husband attended. I loved the food and the environment. The wait staff was very accommodating and everyone was friendly and welcoming. The neighborhood is walkable next to the river and it was special to revisit his school.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always good at Nicollet Isla ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is always good at Nicollet Island Inn - I had the Walleye and it is excellent. My husband had the pork tenderloin and loved it. The service is friendly, staff is knowledgeable and not overbearing. The atmosphere is pleasant, relaxing, and it is fun to see the horse drawn carriages pass by. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a favorite

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

the dining room is located in an historic inn on an island! minutes from downtown Minneapolis! Every table has a beautiful view, the service is wonderful and the food is always memorable. We arrived a few minutes before our reservation, so we had a glass of wine in the bar - a quiet, cozy, friendly spot.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Night Out

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We stayed at the Nicollet Island Inn for our anniversary and had dinner there as well.

The staff was friendly and attentive. The wine list was very good. We both had fish with two totally different preparations and both were fantastic. The meal and the wine were moderately priced. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Family birthday dinner

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Took my husband out to dinner, but made it a family night with my 2.5 year old. That was risky... had he acted up, it might have been a terrible experience full of evil eyes from the other patrons/staff. I definitely wouldn't say this place was great for kids, but the waiter made sure to bring out juice and fruit right away, and was very quick with his meal. Because of that, and some crayons and paper, my son remained entertained and wasn't a disruption. Overall, a nice night, but don't be like me... leave the little ones at home unless they will be asleep or are reliably well-behaved.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was excellent, as were the drinks. Service was quick and friendly. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Minneapolis Must

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

If you are a visitor to Minneapolis, or a resident you must stop in at the Nicollet Island Inn for a meal. I think it is the most quaint and romantic restaurant around town. But don't just save it for that. My friends and I love going for breakfast or lunch. The food is delicious and service is always friendly. Have a delicious meal, enjoy the beautiful building, then go for a walk along the river. What could be better than that!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful time with my parents ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful time with my parents, wife and daughers and so, so appreicate their willingness to work with us as a party of 6. Thank you! Loved our waiter and the received the royal treatment. Food was excellent! Could not have asked for a nicer morning. Very special place!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent once again

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nicollet Island Inn is one of our favorite places. We consistently get a good meal there. This time, my husband enjoyed one of their nightly specials. I had the Filet Mignon. We both agreed that the whole meal was just excellent. A special shout-out for the Brie Fondue that comes with the Filet. Yum.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful location and lovely ambience!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was very good, fresh, hand-made. We were there as first-time guests to celebrate my son's birthday and it was a great choice. Our server was exceptional and very attentive. Our table ordered several different dishes including starters and desserts. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to dine for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A nice restaurant with a beautiful ambia ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

A nice restaurant with a beautiful ambiance, great wine list and good food selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day at Nicollet Island Inn

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service (Erin) and ambiance are great. It's easy to get to and easy to park, without any of the congestion and aggravation of going into the heart of downtown.

The setting is very nice, right on the river with St. Anthony Main just a short walk to the other side of a quaint, old bridge.

The food is always well prepared and nicely presented, but too sophisticated for my taste, tending toward the "feminine." However, my wife really likes it, so it's always a good choice for Mother's Day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was the perfect location for Mothers Day Brunch!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my family out to The Nicollet Island Inn for a perfect Mother's Day Brunch. The food is superb and the service is spot on. The ambiance was perfect for the occasion! Warning you will need to book a few months in advance, and it is quiet high-end. This was an absolutely lovely dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience! Loved everything ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful experience! Loved everything about this place. The 3 course brunch was the perfect way to start the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunch brunch at Nicollet Island Inn

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Sunday brunch at thNicollet Island Inn was fabulous!

I had a Mimosa and ordered the five course tasting which included a basket of pastries, Nic’s Benedict (Poached Eggs with Hollandaise and House-Smoked Salmon), Strawberry Salad, Scallops with Pea Risotto, Mint, Pea Tendrils and finished off brunch with the Chocolate Mousse, fresh berries and hazelnut crumble.

The food was a perfect size portion for me. Our table was next to the window with a great view of the river. The Nicollet Island Inn Restaurant was quiet and I enjoyed our table conversation without shouting. The service was outstanding with our server being attentive but not intrusive.

I will definitely go again to Sunday brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect atmosphere for special occasions.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Fine dining in a beautiful setting. The location is awesome and the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The pork tenderloin and spätzle were delicious as was the strip steak my husband ordered. It is a bit pricey but the ambiance makes it worthwhile. A great restaurant to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lamb and walleye were amazing!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The lamb and walleye were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A++++

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Great place for a wedding reception and your anniversary dinners from that moment forward. Great place, food, and service.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Fine dining with Great food, charming and comfortable surroundings and fantastic service.

Very good dinner selections, perfectly prepared and served by very attentive wait staff in clean and friendly area with great views.

Will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A New Favorite

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I would highly recommend this place. The mussels, steak tartare, mushroom gnocchi, and burger are all must-haves!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a lovely time. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband and I had a lovely time. The food was excellent. The pricing was good for fine dining. The service was fast, respectful, and spot on. The restaurant is lovely and the setting is great. It had been a while since we have been there but we both agreed we need to come more often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicollet Island excellence

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We bring out of town guests to The Nicollet Island Inn at every opportunity. Great venue and great people combined with great food and wine.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience was just lovely. It was S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

My experience was just lovely. It was Saturday, 7PM and the restaurant wasn't crowded. Even with it being April, the view of the Mississippi was nice. The mussels were tasty, the flank steak was done just right. I enjoyed reading about the history of the Inn. Overall, a really enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.