Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Nicollet Island Inn

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Lindsay Kunz
lindsay@nicolletislandinn.com 612-331-1800x3

Island Room or St. Anthony Event Spaces

-Newly Remodeled, Hardwood flooring
-An outdoor Private Garden Patio
-Space for 10-120 guests seated and up to 200 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access

Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Noah Balow

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 Event Spaces. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 10 guests, the Captain's Room up to 16, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 120 seated. Our events floor can accommodate nearly 200 people for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Kunz: (612) 331-1800 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Ryan via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Scenic View (42)
See All
Waterfront (39)
Romantic (39)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for a Date (32)
Cozy (28)
Great for Brunch (28)
Great for Lunch (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Business Meals (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Authentic (8)
Historic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
2194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful night, fabulous food and drink. Ambiance was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Took our Australian visitors here for a lovely lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

A favorite place to meet friends for special occasions! The beautiful dining room on the river, excellent menu items, creative presentations on each plate and attentive service from all of the staff add up to a leisurely meal in an atmosphere of warmth and hospitality!

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

10 years ago I took my girlfriend to the Nicollet Island Inn. This was our first experience at a fine dining restaurant as we were only 22 and that night I proposed to her and....she said yes :). Now, here we are 10 years later and still very happily married. I took my wife here for our 10 year Anniversary to relive the evening of our proposal and the staff went above and beyond to make sure our night was spectacular. The food and drinks were delicious, They sat us at the same table, provided complimentary champagne and a total of 3 servers commented on our anniversary while the house manager spent 5 minutes at our table discussing our proposal evening visit and talking about a lot of the details from that night. We received a lot of congratulatory remarks and just felt like the staff really cared about what they do. We will be back to celebrate many more Anniversaries and I have no doubt that each visit will be amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our service was excellent, staff cordial and knowledgeable. Our appetizer (lobster bruschetta) was awesome. I had the crab tagliatelle, the pasta was too thick and was not cooked to even al dente. I found about two small pieces of crab, the sauce was good. My husband had the duck and he said it was tough.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Drinks used to come with the 5 course buffet and sadly we were not told different. Bill was higher than expected.
Breakfast course was yummy but it went downhill fast. Too many creamy/ saucy choices. Gnocchi was too far too rich to eat and risotto was a 3/10.
I was very disappointed as I went before and wanted to take friends. We all were not impressed.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Outstanding food and ambiance. Would definitely go back for a date night or anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always, Nicollet Island Inn provided outstanding food, exceptional service, and beautiful atmosphere. Their Saturday brunch is my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We enjoyed eating outdoors. It was a bit noisy at times due to the front door and valet stand being right by the patio, but we appreciated the green shrub screening between the parking lot and patio. Would be better to move the valet parking to the front door (instead of before it) or even slightly past the front door - would be more pleasant for outdoor diners. Menu has lots of enticing offerings. Service was a bit slow but we weren't in a hurry and would rather have it be slow than rushed. I think there was a wedding and another private party that night so we understood the leisurely service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderful for business lunch meetings - few distractions and really nice food. Very unique out of the way place on the island off Hennepin Ave. An oasis in the middle of the mini-apple

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The breakfast menu has so many delicious options, it was hard to choose. The service was fun and helpful. I especially appreciate the quiet atmosphere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a delicious Sunday night 3 course dinner at Nicollet Island Inn for our 20th anniversary. It was great food and service. We had a lovely time and would come back for another special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Salmon salad is my favorite and Nic's burger is my husband's.
Always great food and excellent service.
Sat on the patio and enjoyed a wonderful lunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 2, 2017

One of the most beautiful restaurants in the Twin Cities. The staff are professional and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I was dining with my mother and daughter and we decided we wanted to try a brunch somewhere new and we chose the Nicollet Island Inn Restaurant. Everything about our brunch was fabulous. We enjoyed the 5-course brunch and celebrated with some champagne. The service was excellent and the timing between the courses was perfect. The food was delicious! What a wonderful outing and a perfect place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Impeccable meal and service. I'd highly recommend to my closest friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and the service. It was my first time dining here. My wife also loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2017

excellent menu, delicious tastes, attractive presentation , quiet atmosphere, excellent service, reasonable prices, superb setting for business and personal interactions, capacity for organized group settings

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nicollet Island Inn just can't be over-appreciated. This is an excellent dining experience, they nail classic cocktails ... all courses were spectacular from the Lobster Bruschetta to the Poppy Seed Short Bread with Lemon Curd. We celebrate our anniversary there when we can coordinate dinner with the Aquatennial fireworks display. There's a lot of activity in the area, horse-drawn carriages, and plenty of people watching. You will be very comfortable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Overall experience was good, but in my opinion the food was overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Nicollet Island Inn was fabulous! We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and this was our first visit to the establishment. The bar is a classic. Hand carved wood and stained glass appoint the bar back. Great high top tables with claw feet. The bar even features an old school foot rail. Matt the bartender was skilled and made a great brandy old fashioned, sweet, Wisconsin style. Perhaps most impressive was the seating area upon the bar entrance. High back upholstered chairs surrounding round tables created a relaxing atmosphere to visit away from the main bar. The dining room was traditional, historically decorated with a great view of the river. Our server Joe was professional, knowledgable, and conversational. The food was fantastic! I had the filet, perfectly cooked, and my wife enjoyed the walleye. Don't miss out on the lobster risotto! I could have had that for the entree. Reasonably priced for high quality food and service. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I love that you can talk and it isn't to loud to hear your date! Lunch was great, the French onion soup is delicious and salmon salad is fabulous. We will be back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I've always loved Nicollet Island Inn, and my Sunday brunch with a best friend from out of town did not disappoint! Everything was lovely - and yummy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was such a lovely brunch with a beautiful view. We took my ninety year old mother in law and she really enjoyed herself. There is so much history to the inn and the island. The service was exceptional and the food was very good

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Dinner with friends after long hiatus. Very comfortable and pleasant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Went for 18th wedding anniversary. Was perfect for occasion. Great service, great food. No complaints. In our 18 years, probably the best anniversary dinner. Recommended to family and friends. Might make this our yearly anniversary destination.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was extremely salty. Tasty otherwise.Service was prompt ,


the waiter was not very helpful. Although we were there to celebrate a birthday There was nothing special. It appears that you have to belong to their birthday club and next time we can celebrate your birthday,,Seems kind of snobbish . But the chocolate mousse was very good.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 10, 2017

Loved the outdoor patio. Service was excellent. Small, but flavorful menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always a good bet. One of my go-to places near downtown.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Awesome Experiance

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great food and service. Excellent suggestions god done pairings, cocktails zbd desserts!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My favorite restaurant when I want to entertain guests.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was disappointing. We had a beautiful view and the dining room is nicely decorated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Filet Mignon here is not to be missed! Excellent! Great service, beautiful historic property, and ample parking all with views of the Mississippi from the window seats. Nice rooms for groups available too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The service was impeccable, the food was wonderful and the experience was grand.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It is a very peaceful and pleasant environment. The lobster sandwich was excellent accompanied by the perfect french fry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This restaurant is on the top of my list for atmosphere, food and fine service. All are exceptional. When I want to treat my guests to the best I take them here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went to Nicollet Island Inn for Father's Day brunch. It was the best brunch we have ever eaten!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Lovely river views from dining room and hotel rooms. Reminded my wife of when we stayed on Ile St Louis on the Seine in Paris, but with more attentive waiters!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We enjoyed the 5 course brunch on Father's Day. Each course was superb. The staff was very attentive. It is always a delight to dine here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.