About Nicollet Island Inn

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Lindsay Kunz
lindsay@nicolletislandinn.com 612-331-1800x3

Island Room or St. Anthony Event Spaces

-Newly Remodeled, Hardwood flooring
-An outdoor Private Garden Patio
-Space for 10-120 guests seated and up to 200 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access

Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Noah Balow

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 Event Spaces. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 10 guests, the Captain's Room up to 16, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 120 seated. Our events floor can accommodate nearly 200 people for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Kunz: 6123311800x3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Ryan via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Bruschetta
Chocolate Mousse
Salmon Benedict
Coffee Cake
Ricotta Gnocchi
Steak Tartar
Salmon
Lox
Apple Crisp
French Toast
Pastries
Mimosa
Raspberry & Chocolate Mousse Cake
Duck
Eggs Benedict
Duck Confit And Sweet Potato Hash
Sunrise Porridge
Corn Crusted Walleye
Eggplant Caprese
Quiche Du Jour
Beef Carpaccio
Creme Brulee French Toast
Steak Frites
Chicken Gnocchi
Huevos rancheros

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
3 More
Romantic
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (66)
Scenic View (65)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Brunch (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Historic (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Waterfront (7)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to celebrate our anniversary. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went to celebrate our anniversary. The inn was quiet and romantic. It was nice to be in a place were we could and not have to yell over the crowd. A definite place for the future for us.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ate here with my wife the morning afte ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I ate here with my wife the morning after our wedding. We each had the 3 course tasting menu. It was delicious and very filling. The service was very doting. The atmosphere was quiet and romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a wonderful dinner we had at Nicoll ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

What a wonderful dinner we had at Nicollet Island Inn last weekend. The ambience is elegant but very comfortable, and the setting overlooking the Mississippi on Nicollet Island is dreamy. Another world. Our dinners were beautifully prepared, with subtle, surprising flavors. My pasta dish, "Shrimp Chittara," with artichoke, asparagus, red pepper, and guanciale, was to die for. Wait staff couldn't be nicer.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicollet Island Inn has a great dining s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Nicollet Island Inn has a great dining space. Most tables have a view of the river. Our salads and main courses were done expertly. We were never rushed. The wait staff was attentive. Our special occasion was made that much more special by the great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was special occasion for my girlfri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was special occasion for my girlfriends birthday. We also stayed at the Inn. The dinner

was excellent as was the service. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to have

that special night.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing brunch! Our waiter was fantastic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing brunch! Our waiter was fantastic, the food outstanding, the view serene. Thank you for a wonderful anniversary experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I loved the 5 course Sund ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My husband and I loved the 5 course Sunday brunch. The food was delicious and got more so with each consecutive course. It is definitely one of our favorite spots in the Twin Cities.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NII is my favorite "fine dining" spot in ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

NII is my favorite "fine dining" spot in the Twin Cities. It is always a wonderful experience in an elegant setting. An amazing staff makes the exceptional food even better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Historic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great dining experience. We ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was a great dining experience. We were visiting Minneapolis and this dinner was a great ending to our trip. Nicollet Island Inn does a great job providing their service to their clients. The courses that we ordered were brought perfically and in a timely manner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and ambiance, not sold on ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service and ambiance, not sold on the menu. I had the scallops as my main course and they would have been better if they were seared on both sides. Didn't like that they were seared on one side and raw on the opposite side.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent experience. Wonderful food -- ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent experience. Wonderful food -- the pork stuffed with peaches was perfection. Very nice cheese plate, especially serving size.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointed in the limited brunch menu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Disappointed in the limited brunch menu. Service was great, ambiance was great, but thought it would have been better if there were more options for the brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Went the Nicollet Island Inn following p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went the Nicollet Island Inn following proposal to my girlfriend. The experience and ambiance was wonderful. Service was very friendly and helpful, and they made sure our seating was private for the occasion. Quiet jazz played in the background of this historic landmark as we were served a complimentary glass of champagne. We will definitely be back for future anniversaries.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I definitely love the res ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I definitely love the restaurant. The ambience there was very romantic. The food was great; however, had better for the price. Overall great place for a romantic dinner for two. We also enjoyed the carriage ride. The scenic route would be much better doing the daytime.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I often meet friends here for lunch. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I often meet friends here for lunch. The food is good and there's good parking along with a charming building and view of the Mississippi.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Costly. My husband is a bread person a ...

vip
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Costly.

My husband is a bread person and there is no bread on the table

you receive your entrée and that is it.

We dine out frequently, and have found this to be the place we will golf I'm hungry

all that being said

It is a beautiful special location place

With two glasses of wine and two entrées your bill will be over 125.

You will need to order a salad or an appetizer or in order to not go home hungry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

One of the few places I can request iceb ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of the few places I can request iceberg lettice in salad.

Strange you would have shrimp with Israeli couscous!

All in all, everything is great at Nicollet Island Inn. (Many years ago this was called Island Storm & Door Co.)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, the brunch menu was part ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food, the brunch menu was particularly outstanding. The servers were attentive, efficient and professional.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere, beautiful views, excel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great atmosphere, beautiful views, excellent for special occasions and the wait staff was very helpful and professional.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

great service from erin

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

great service from erin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant. Great food, fai ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We love this restaurant. Great food, fairly quiet and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great old place with a terrifi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is a great old place with a terrific view and great service. If you like classic dining experiences, this is for you. Great service, expensive but not without value to match. Great views and food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

So many special seating areas to choose ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

So many special seating areas to choose from all with great views. Food was fresh and tasty. Waiter was attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful A+ dining for most people! (W ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Wonderful A+ dining for most people!

(Warning: the restaurant is not fully prepared for celiacs and gluten allergies)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We had the five course brunch on Sunday ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had the five course brunch on Sunday and it was absolutely marvelous in every way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions were very small, and my dat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The portions were very small, and my date and I waited 30 minutes to receive our third course.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Another wonderful dinner at The Nicollet ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at The Nicollet Island Inn! Excellent service, food, setting, ambience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and the ambiance!! The s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Loved the food and the ambiance!! The service was very attentive as well!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch is very poor - they claim either ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Brunch is very poor - they claim either 3 or 5 courses

1st start is what they call pastries - they were covered by a napkin - they looked and taste that they are bought in a store several days or at least one week ago - not looking tasty

2nd and 3r course is like an appetizer instead of a lunch

There is no refill for coffee and tea - 2 cups were billed/person

I had to apologize to the persons who were invited for this brunch that it was below all quality.

I went there for a dinner about 2 years ago - it was so bad then that they gave us a gift card of 50$ to come back. After this brunch I would even not go back if I would have received a gift card.

They should go somewhere to look how a good brunch is and change their brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The scenery was beautiful. it seems that ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The scenery was beautiful. it seems that customers are not allowed to answer phone calls but there is sign in the restaurant. When my husband got a call and he responded, one of the waiters came to him and demanded him to go outside. That was very unfriendly and I did not like it. I will never go back to this restaurant.

Asli

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was one of our favorite dining expe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was one of our favorite dining experiences ever. The food was wonderful and our server was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful place to take my family ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

What a wonderful place to take my family for breakfast on their first trip to Minneapolis!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding location and scenery, great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding location and scenery, great old building however food was a bit disappointing

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

What a wonderful spot for a 4th of July ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

What a wonderful spot for a 4th of July dinner! We have an exceptional experience every time we dine here. Ane we dine here often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to enjoy the stay at Nico ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our first time to enjoy the stay at Nicollet Island Inn and have the fine dining to compliment our stay

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in the salad. We ex ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were disappointed in the salad. We expected more dessert choices. The food was not as special as we expected. We've been here before and remembered it as being much more special!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

As always the Inn did not disappoint. L ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always the Inn did not disappoint. Lovely evening looking out over the river and sipping good wines.

Lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best "white tableclot ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is one of the best "white tablecloth" venues in the Twin Cities. Always a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always count on the Nicollet Isl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

You can always count on the Nicollet Island Inn for whatever you go there for: brunch, lunch, dinner, a special occasion. It never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've heard it has a wonderful brunch, an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've heard it has a wonderful brunch, and while there were high points, there were low points. I had to request the first course--assorted basket of pastries--when the server brought the second course, because he forgot it. I was expecting something wonderful and found the pastries pedestrian -- 2 mini croissants, a very dried-out, tasteless half-slice of mystery fruit bread and a mini blueberry muffin reminiscent of Country Inn & Suit's breakfast buffet. My husband and daughter grabbed the croissants. The server did ask if we wanted more after the second course but, why bother. The Nic Benedict eggs were delicious, as was the slice of quiche (wished there was a bit more on the plate) but the salad greens with the quiche didn't inspire (add a few fresh blueberries, diced strawberry, apple or pear depending on the season to give interest and color). Scallops was a misnomer on the menu for the third course--technically it's scallop--a bit over one inch in diameter. It was tasty and well prepared but appetizer sized. Looking back, they could have made the experience so much better by either knocking the basket of pastries out-of-the-park (go to Cupcake in Eagan and sample theirs for ideas) or serving more than 1 scallop. Will not be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.