About Nicollet Island Inn

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Sarah Gruber 612-331-1800x3
Island or St. Anthony Banquet rooms
-An outdoor patio with two-tiered walkout garden
-Small meeting space available for up to 24 people
-State-of-art A/V equipment for any occasion
-Space for 10-100 guests seated and up to 150 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access
Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Ryan Stechschulte

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 banquet rooms. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 8 guests, the Captain's Room up to 13, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 100 seated.

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Gruber: 6123311800x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Brianna via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Restaurant Photos

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
4 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Romantic
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

special occasion (107)
romantic (106)
scenic view (99)
See All
neighborhood gem (58)
great for brunch (46)
fit for foodies (46)
great for lunch (39)
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (21)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Minneapolis Must

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

If you are a visitor to Minneapolis, or a resident you must stop in at the Nicollet Island Inn for a meal. I think it is the most quaint and romantic restaurant around town. But don't just save it for that. My friends and I love going for breakfast or lunch. The food is delicious and service is always friendly. Have a delicious meal, enjoy the beautiful building, then go for a walk along the river. What could be better than that!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful time with my parents ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful time with my parents, wife and daughers and so, so appreicate their willingness to work with us as a party of 6. Thank you! Loved our waiter and the received the royal treatment. Food was excellent! Could not have asked for a nicer morning. Very special place!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent once again

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nicollet Island Inn is one of our favorite places. We consistently get a good meal there. This time, my husband enjoyed one of their nightly specials. I had the Filet Mignon. We both agreed that the whole meal was just excellent. A special shout-out for the Brie Fondue that comes with the Filet. Yum.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

What a beautiful location and lovely ambience!

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was very good, fresh, hand-made. We were there as first-time guests to celebrate my son's birthday and it was a great choice. Our server was exceptional and very attentive. Our table ordered several different dishes including starters and desserts. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to dine for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A nice restaurant with a beautiful ambia ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

A nice restaurant with a beautiful ambiance, great wine list and good food selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day at Nicollet Island Inn

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service (Erin) and ambiance are great. It's easy to get to and easy to park, without any of the congestion and aggravation of going into the heart of downtown. The setting is very nice, right on the river with St. Anthony Main just a short walk to the other side of a quaint, old bridge. The food is always well prepared and nicely presented, but too sophisticated for my taste, tending toward the "feminine." However, my wife really likes it, so it's always a good choice for Mother's Day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was the perfect location for Mothers Day Brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my family out to The Nicollet Island Inn for a perfect Mother's Day Brunch. The food is superb and the service is spot on. The ambiance was perfect for the occasion! Warning you will need to book a few months in advance, and it is quiet high-end. This was an absolutely lovely dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience! Loved everything ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful experience! Loved everything about this place. The 3 course brunch was the perfect way to start the day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunch brunch at Nicollet Island Inn

Dined on April 24, 2016

Sunday brunch at thNicollet Island Inn was fabulous! I had a Mimosa and ordered the five course tasting which included a basket of pastries, Nic’s Benedict (Poached Eggs with Hollandaise and House-Smoked Salmon), Strawberry Salad, Scallops with Pea Risotto, Mint, Pea Tendrils and finished off brunch with the Chocolate Mousse, fresh berries and hazelnut crumble. The food was a perfect size portion for me. Our table was next to the window with a great view of the river. The Nicollet Island Inn Restaurant was quiet and I enjoyed our table conversation without shouting. The service was outstanding with our server being attentive but not intrusive. I will definitely go again to Sunday brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect atmosphere for special occasions.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Fine dining in a beautiful setting. The location is awesome and the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The pork tenderloin and spätzle were delicious as was the strip steak my husband ordered. It is a bit pricey but the ambiance makes it worthwhile. A great restaurant to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The lamb and walleye were amazing!

Dined on April 21, 2016

The lamb and walleye were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A++++

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great place for a wedding reception and your anniversary dinners from that moment forward. Great place, food, and service.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining

Dined on April 14, 2016

Fine dining with Great food, charming and comfortable surroundings and fantastic service. Very good dinner selections, perfectly prepared and served by very attentive wait staff in clean and friendly area with great views. Will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A New Favorite

Dined on April 10, 2016

I would highly recommend this place. The mussels, steak tartare, mushroom gnocchi, and burger are all must-haves!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a lovely time. The ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband and I had a lovely time. The food was excellent. The pricing was good for fine dining. The service was fast, respectful, and spot on. The restaurant is lovely and the setting is great. It had been a while since we have been there but we both agreed we need to come more often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicollet Island excellence

Dined on April 9, 2016

We bring out of town guests to The Nicollet Island Inn at every opportunity. Great venue and great people combined with great food and wine.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My experience was just lovely. It was S ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

My experience was just lovely. It was Saturday, 7PM and the restaurant wasn't crowded. Even with it being April, the view of the Mississippi was nice. The mussels were tasty, the flank steak was done just right. I enjoyed reading about the history of the Inn. Overall, a really enjoyable experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything about our visit to the Nicollet Island Inn was great. The food was wonderful, the server was very attentive and helpful, and the ambience was lovely. There was a special touch which was not expected. My friend and I were there to celebrate her 60th birthday, and when our shared dessert was served, there was a lit candle in it, plus we each got a glass of champagne. A very memorable evening at a charming location.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a beautiful place!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had a wonderful experience here on the extremely special occasion of my first meeting with my birthdaughter after 26 years. My sister had called ahead to (somehow) impress upon the wait staff and manager that this was a super special night for me, and the staff could not have been more understanding (took us a very long time to get around to ordering!), patient, kind, and gracious. I believe our server's name may have been Erin (?) (I wish I could remember for sure!), and she was just extremely good to us. The experience really could not have been any better, in any way at all! (I did not pay the bill, so I don't know the "value," but I would have paid any amount at all to have such a wonderful, relaxing meal in such a beautiful environment -- so nice that it perfectly matched the immensity of the occasion for me! Thank you ever so much to the Nicollet Island Inn Restaurant for making this very special night for us even more wonderful. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We count on Nicollet Island Inn for spec ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

We count on Nicollet Island Inn for special occasions but our lunch was an overpriced disappointment. Service was polite, ambience was nice, squash soup was very tasty, but all four entrees were cold. Grilled cheese was mediocre, and special of the day (Swedish meatballs and potato salad) was not as good as I could make myself at home - meatballs dry and tough (microwaved Simek's would be better), and potato salad tasted like it came out of a plastic container. At those prices for such a mediocre meal, we won't be back any time soon.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Old school ambiance

Dined on March 28, 2016

What a lovely venue for a special Occasion. We especially enjoyed the filet mignon. The prices are pretty steep but mostly the food is very nicely done. The crab cake was the only disappointment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely as always!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Best place for a long lunch with best friend. Great service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Adorable with a great view!

Dined on March 16, 2016

What an adorable little restaurant. I am so happy a friend suggested the location.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views and atmosphere as always

Dined on March 10, 2016

I love to dine at Nicollet Island Inn. This is a standard for us to celebrate special occasions. The location is wonderful and service is always excellent. The food is very good as well. Great for special occasions in the evenings and also great meeting get together with friends for brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambiance, service and food!! W ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, service and food!! We had the mussels, wedge salad and chicken all were excellently prepared!!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Meh

Dined on February 29, 2016

While me and my wife go there on special occasions, the menu hasn't changed much over time. The whole, sparse menu is priced skyhigh and one always leaves hungry based on the main course alone. Non-alcoholic drink menu is not offered. Not a good value for the money. The outrageously loud 'after work' crowd gets old when you are trying to enjoy a quiet, fancy meal during the week. If you want a raging loud bar scene, I'd rather go to a non-pretentious bar . Fail to see what make's this place anything more than an overpriced hipster bar.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I can't wait to go back!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Everything about this place was right! I would order all the food again, everything we has was amazing. They also serve one of my favorites wines! Was a perfect date-night. Very romantic and feels special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Ambiance

Dined on February 28, 2016

We really enjoyed the food, the service, the attentiveness of the staff, how quiet the restaurant is compared with many of the modern high-ceiling spaces, which are so noisy. A particularly nice touch was the surprise of champagne for my friend, whose birthday we were celebrating. I also really like the old-world decor and ambiance, and the views from this restaurant. This is our third visit to this restaurant, and I hope to return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous experience.

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had our wedding reception here in 2000. We have come back on numerous occasions and have always been extremely pleased with the service, ambiance, food and scenery. If you're looking for romance, your search is over.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic fine dining treatment

Dined on February 26, 2016

The location is a quiet respite from the downtown madness. Simply being able to park and walk into the building is refreshing. However, the location is the easy part for them. The service was obviously a concerted effort to provide fine hospitality. The host greeted us in the lobby warmly and the waiter was excellent, providing just exactly the right amount of attention and nothing more. I didn't forget about the food - it was fit for the price and atmosphere and there were no complaints at the table. The perfectly-sized menu provided a nice variety. However, it was the fine service that we appreciated most.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A fine gem of a place, an attitude and a question

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Having fond memories of the place, we visited the restaurant at the Inn for Sunday brunch to celebrate a birthday in our family. We were a mom, her 3 year old girl and her parents. Our "welcome" consisted of being advised that crying babies are sent to the foyer. An unnecessary mood-dampening start. The little one was perfectly behaved during our stay. Food was good, as was the service, and the view of course as always, beautiful. During brunch, we received a FaceTime call from Europe, to wish grandma a happy birthday. Apologies are in order for the ringing which was obtrusive indeed, albeit not more so than clanking metal pitchers being filled with ice. (Suggestion: set up a sign requesting that mobile devices be put in silent mode ... and keep the back quiet). We turned the volume down as quickly as possible, but were admonished twice to "respect other guests" and to move to the foyer, even though our table - including the party on FaceTime - was soft spoken throughout, unlike some other tables. Sadly, a mood killing shadow had been cast by the restaurant's attitude. We even missed taking a birthday picture. It would be a pity to see this fine gem of a place losidng its allure and relevance due to mindless application of anachronistic rules. The point is patron civility and tolerance, not the presence of children or the use of electronics. Whom does the restaurant want to cater to? The past or the future? Millennials (now parents) and baby-boomers (now grandparents) are the name of the game, and they are always connected! To attract or reject them. That's the question.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food. High-end French style ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Outstanding food. High-end French style restaurant. Excellent food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

business

Dined on February 16, 2016

GREAT location for a business lunch. Quiet environment, professional service, good view, easy parking. Can hardly do better.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Eve

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were warmly greeted by the very professional staff. Our table was ready right away. We had a quiet seating area, with a wonderful view of the riverfront. Our waitress, Erin, was friendly and informative. The timing of the courses was excellent. The food was properly prepared and displayed very elegantly. The overall pace of the evening was perfect for a special night. The ambiance was quiet and appropriate for the evening. I will recommend this to my friends, and surely we will return for future special evenings. Perhaps next time we will get a room and spend the night. PS - they even valley parked the car, which topped of a great evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

First trip for me and it had been a while since my wife had visited. The menu was set for the day so not a true experience overall. I will say the food was delicious, the service very good. The wine is over-priced as the same bottle is $20 less at other restaurants and recently. We are looking forward to returning to peruse the full menu and enjoy a lovely meal. Maybe this time we'll be seated near a window as was requested in the reservation... ! We visited the bar after dinner and had a great time. Matt is terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent tasting menu! Well thought out ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent tasting menu! Well thought out and executed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Romantic Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for the first time for Valentine's dinner. Everyone from the valets to the hostess to the waiter set the mood and made it the special occassion it was intended to be. Our food was outstanding. We had the crab cake appetizer and the prime rib and lobster main course. It was probably the best lobster I've ever had! The chocolate mousse was to die for! When we were getting ready to leave we asked the hostess to take a picture of us. She didn't just snap a photo, she actually suggested several different locations (in front of flower arrangements, the fireplace, etc.) and we ended up with several professional looking shots we'll have for memories of this special night. A huge "thank you" to everyone there for the wonderful experience. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and Yummy!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service, wonderful views, and tasty food! We came here for Valentines Day Dinner and it was absolutely perfect. The servers were very attentive and professional, the food was very delicious and presented beautifully, not very loud, and gorgeous scenery! The valet parking was also really cheap and convenient! Overall a great place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great family birthday celebration

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our party of four wanted a quiet dining experience, and we got it. We had a wonderful view from our table. Individually, we had the salmon, walleye, mushroom gnocchi, and duck. All were very good. The desserts, not so much, but the coffee was good. The service was outstanding. Our server made up a mocha latte on request and requested the brussel sprouts extra crispy for us. She was knowlegable about the menu and the best wine for the duck. A very nice evening.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hidden gem

Dined on February 8, 2016

It would be easy to miss the Nicollet Island Inn as one needs to make a quick right onto Wilder Street after crossing the Hennepin bridge, before reaching Main Street and its array of restaurants and bars. The restaurant is tucked away in this quaint inn, with some lovely views of the Mississippi and the Hennepin/Main intersection. The area was colorfully lit up the night we were there and provided a charming backdrop for dinner. The service table was beautifully set and the service was excellent. I'm sorry I don't recall the name of our server (female), but she was knowledgeable and very helpful answering the questions we had. There was nothing wrong with what I ordered - the sautéed walleye - but it was a little bland for me. However, I had a taste of my companion's salmon, which was delicious; I'll order that on my next visit. Yes, we definitely plan to return to the Nicollet Island Inn Restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.