Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Nicollet Island Inn

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Lindsay Kunz
lindsay@nicolletislandinn.com 612-331-1800x3

Island Room or St. Anthony Event Spaces

-Newly Remodeled, Hardwood flooring
-An outdoor Private Garden Patio
-Space for 10-120 guests seated and up to 200 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access

Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Noah Balow

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 Event Spaces. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 10 guests, the Captain's Room up to 16, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 120 seated. Our events floor can accommodate nearly 200 people for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Kunz: (612) 331-1800 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Ryan via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Romantic (37)
See All
Scenic View (35)
Waterfront (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Cozy (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Business Meals (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
People Watching (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We live the multi course dinners with wine pairings. They had everything down, excellent I teresting food, great wine pairings and excellent service. These require a lot of table service and good timing to make it a good experience and they always get it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

2nd to NONE in customer service! Even when I make a mistake with my reservation, they took it on & made all things right. They've done this before with an expired coupon too; they don't just aim to please, they Just Do It!
Meals, wines, desserts, & service were all outstanding!
We brought my sister & BiL & they were equally impressed. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great service, comfortable ambience and wonderful food made for a very enjoyable experience for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This is our special place. They treat us with dignity and respect and have some of the most amazing food. Date Night was yummy and the wines matched perfectly. Always a hit with this place and people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Every time I've been to the Nicollet Island Inn, I'm treated as thought it is a special occasion. The staff are very considerate (but not hovering) and always ask for your seating preferences. This is a great place to enjoy a lovely view, and it is nice and quiet - easy to hold a conversation. The menu provides lots of interesting options - and the food looks and tastes great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Such a great, quaint spot for a pretty and tasty brunch. The atmosphere is sophisticated and beautiful. The tasting menu was delicious and service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic dining experience in a historic, iconic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great atmosphere, excelent menu, and all the food was delectable. The prices were not as high as we expected and well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a wonderful experience eating breakfast at Nicollet Island Inn! The food was excellent and the servers were attentive and knowledgeable. We will definitely come again and try their dinner menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Went for our anniversary. Perfect setting. Quiet and romantic. Food was terrific, as was the service. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Organic, Authentic, Healthy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2017

One gentleman in our party complained that the chicken he ordered was very dry and that he felt uncomfortable for a few hours afterward. The rest of us enjoyed our meals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were disappointed with the overall experience. In years past we were treated to very extraordinary service and unique food and desserts. My steak was overdone and the dessert choices were nothing special. For the price charged, it could have been much better. We will be trying other options for future dining. Also, there were many open tables and we were seated at a table with no water view, but instead drapery that should have been updated years ago. We asked to be moved. We were glad we didn't decide to stay the night also.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were celebrating an anniversary and could not have been happier with the food, service and ambiance. What a terrific brunch! Thank you Dan, our waiter, for your superb service! We could not have asked for more!

Kate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I went here for Sunday brunch and had a really nice time. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It's a nice place to go if you want to dress up a bit but it was still casual enough that I didn't feel uncomfortable or too formal. The food was excellent, a great selection of sweet and savory dishes that our server said changes seasonally and depends on local produce. It was a bit pricey but considering the ambiance and the quality that wasn't unexpected. The price might keep me from coming back regularly but I definitely recommend this place if you're looking to treat yourself.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We came for a Sunday brunch to celebrate a family birthday. Great food with a quiet elegant ambiance in a historic setting. Definitely will repeat and recommend to friends

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a great dining experience, seated in a quiet area as requested, enjoying fine dining all with excellent friendly service. Vallet parking added a special touch. Thank making this a very memorable celebration for our family.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good food and ambience ate in bar and bartender service sucked waited 25 minutes before we were waited on very poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

NII is traditionally one of our favorites. But this time one of us ordered the Walleye sandwich and the piece of fish was remarkably small. Not a good value for the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had always wanted to go, but had never had the opportunity until last night. Started with a carriage ride and then had a wonderful delicious dinner. It was hard to choose so we got the steak and the walleye and shared both. Perfect! Yes, we will go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The waiter was funny and great . Food was awesome ,

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fantastic brunch with great service. A stunning location in the river for a relaxing morning with dear friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went with my boyfriend for an anniversary date, and they definitely accommodated for that. They gave us a secluded table which was thoughtful of them. The overall decor was very country club styled which was as uninteresting as the food ordered. The restaurant definitely catered to the traditional, typically older, snooty type. I ordered the hanger steak and my boyfriend ordered the lemon chicken. I wish I ordered his. My food came out a little more undercooked than I asked for. The cooked pieces were perfect but my boyfriend loved the lesser cooked pieces. They checked in and offered to cook it longer which was nice but it wasn't a big deal. However, the dish itself was odd. The greens they were on had some sort of stir fry over-cooked taste, it was very bitter and unpleasant. Wine was excellent. The cheese plate and the French onion soup was great. The chocolate mousse for dessert was incredible. Absolutely delicious! The place is definitely hit or miss depending on what you order and how you feel about this type of atmosphere. For the price point, I would say it's not worth it. I wouldn't come again. The location, was sentimental for us so it was worth it but beyond that, meh.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always, Nicollet Island Inn delivers on quality food, service and ambiance. This is our third time at the restaurant and the honeymoon period hasn't worn off. Treated special for our birthdays and taken care of by all the staff. Had the five course menu with wine pairings. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was the best dining experience ever! Our server was Joseph G. and he gave us the best service. Excellent food and dining worth the 85 mile drive to celebrate important occasions. I give the Nicollet Island Inn a 10+.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

What a wonderful place to spend a special evening with good company. The food was incredible, servers were so kind and thoughtful. There was a sense of warmth & hospitality there that is a rare find these days. Such a lovely spot-very highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always a great experience. And I am there often! Its a class A dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great Patio!
We sat on the patio and had a wonderful meal surrounded by plants and flowers.
I almost always have the salmon salad and my friend did this time too. We both loved it....just perfect! We really appreciated being able to take our time and visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Itwas a wonderful way to spend an anniversary. Our server Daniel went way out of his way to make us feel comfortable and enjoy our meal. Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Saturday brunch. Nice ambience. Quiet. Nice food. Would come back on a sunny day for the patio dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our server (Gibson) was great!!!!! Best server I have ever experienced. Made the evening very nice. The whole staff was friendly and they all wished us a Happy Anniversary. Nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Wonderful night, fabulous food and drink. Ambiance was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Took our Australian visitors here for a lovely lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

A favorite place to meet friends for special occasions! The beautiful dining room on the river, excellent menu items, creative presentations on each plate and attentive service from all of the staff add up to a leisurely meal in an atmosphere of warmth and hospitality!

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

10 years ago I took my girlfriend to the Nicollet Island Inn. This was our first experience at a fine dining restaurant as we were only 22 and that night I proposed to her and....she said yes :). Now, here we are 10 years later and still very happily married. I took my wife here for our 10 year Anniversary to relive the evening of our proposal and the staff went above and beyond to make sure our night was spectacular. The food and drinks were delicious, They sat us at the same table, provided complimentary champagne and a total of 3 servers commented on our anniversary while the house manager spent 5 minutes at our table discussing our proposal evening visit and talking about a lot of the details from that night. We received a lot of congratulatory remarks and just felt like the staff really cared about what they do. We will be back to celebrate many more Anniversaries and I have no doubt that each visit will be amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our service was excellent, staff cordial and knowledgeable. Our appetizer (lobster bruschetta) was awesome. I had the crab tagliatelle, the pasta was too thick and was not cooked to even al dente. I found about two small pieces of crab, the sauce was good. My husband had the duck and he said it was tough.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Drinks used to come with the 5 course buffet and sadly we were not told different. Bill was higher than expected.
Breakfast course was yummy but it went downhill fast. Too many creamy/ saucy choices. Gnocchi was too far too rich to eat and risotto was a 3/10.
I was very disappointed as I went before and wanted to take friends. We all were not impressed.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Outstanding food and ambiance. Would definitely go back for a date night or anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always, Nicollet Island Inn provided outstanding food, exceptional service, and beautiful atmosphere. Their Saturday brunch is my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We enjoyed eating outdoors. It was a bit noisy at times due to the front door and valet stand being right by the patio, but we appreciated the green shrub screening between the parking lot and patio. Would be better to move the valet parking to the front door (instead of before it) or even slightly past the front door - would be more pleasant for outdoor diners. Menu has lots of enticing offerings. Service was a bit slow but we weren't in a hurry and would rather have it be slow than rushed. I think there was a wedding and another private party that night so we understood the leisurely service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderful for business lunch meetings - few distractions and really nice food. Very unique out of the way place on the island off Hennepin Ave. An oasis in the middle of the mini-apple

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.