About Nicollet Island Inn

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Lindsay Kunz 612-331-1800x3
Island or St. Anthony Banquet rooms
-An outdoor patio with two-tiered walkout garden
-Small meeting space available for up to 24 people
-State-of-art A/V equipment for any occasion
-Space for 10-100 guests seated and up to 150 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access
Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Ryan Stechschulte

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 banquet rooms. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 8 guests, the Captain's Room up to 13, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 100 seated.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Kunz: 6123311800x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Ryan via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Bruschetta
Chocolate Mousse
Salmon Benedict
Ricotta Gnocchi
Coffee Cake
Steak Tartar
Salmon
Lox
Apple Crisp
French Toast
Pastries
Mimosa
Raspberry & Chocolate Mousse Cake
Duck
Eggs Benedict
Duck Confit And Sweet Potato Hash
Sunrise Porridge
Corn Crusted Walleye
Eggplant Caprese
Quiche Du Jour
Beef Carpaccio
Creme Brulee French Toast
Steak Frites
Huevos rancheros
Chicken Gnocchi

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Romantic
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
3 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Romantic
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
American
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

special occasion (76)
scenic view (75)
romantic (69)
See All
neighborhood gem (48)
great for lunch (36)
fit for foodies (35)
great for brunch (34)
good for groups (21)
notable wine list (14)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1893 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I've heard it has a wonderful brunch, an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I've heard it has a wonderful brunch, and while there were high points, there were low points. I had to request the first course--assorted basket of pastries--when the server brought the second course, because he forgot it. I was expecting something wonderful and found the pastries pedestrian -- 2 mini croissants, a very dried-out, tasteless half-slice of mystery fruit bread and a mini blueberry muffin reminiscent of Country Inn & Suit's breakfast buffet. My husband and daughter grabbed the croissants. The server did ask if we wanted more after the second course but, why bother. The Nic Benedict eggs were delicious, as was the slice of quiche (wished there was a bit more on the plate) but the salad greens with the quiche didn't inspire (add a few fresh blueberries, diced strawberry, apple or pear depending on the season to give interest and color). Scallops was a misnomer on the menu for the third course--technically it's scallop--a bit over one inch in diameter. It was tasty and well prepared but appetizer sized. Looking back, they could have made the experience so much better by either knocking the basket of pastries out-of-the-park (go to Cupcake in Eagan and sample theirs for ideas) or serving more than 1 scallop. Will not be returning.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for brunch on Father's Day which we ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for brunch on Father's Day which we do almost every year. The 3-course brunch is plenty filling and the 5-course is more than we can eat. We had the eggs benedict, quiche, flank steak and scallops as part of the 3-course. All were excellent. The only thing we noticed is that over the past couple of years the complimentary mimosas have disappeared. That was always a nice touch and made it somewhat more special than some places.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite stops in Minneapolis ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of our favorite stops in Minneapolis.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent experience as always! It is ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

An excellent experience as always! It is my "go to" for most important occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always an excellent e ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant is always an excellent experience. Whether for business or pleasure it is my favorite Twin Cities "go to".

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend this fine restaurant. F ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Highly recommend this fine restaurant. First-rate service in a wonderful atmosphere. Walleye dinners were delicious. Mushroom gnocchi is ideal to share as an appetizer. Chocolate mousse is mouth-watering. We will return - often.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For us, we sought out the restaurant bec ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

For us, we sought out the restaurant because it is close to DeLaSalle high school, that my husband attended. I loved the food and the environment. The wait staff was very accommodating and everyone was friendly and welcoming. The neighborhood is walkable next to the river and it was special to revisit his school.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good at Nicollet Isla ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is always good at Nicollet Island Inn - I had the Walleye and it is excellent. My husband had the pork tenderloin and loved it. The service is friendly, staff is knowledgeable and not overbearing. The atmosphere is pleasant, relaxing, and it is fun to see the horse drawn carriages pass by. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a favorite

Dined on June 9, 2016

the dining room is located in an historic inn on an island! minutes from downtown Minneapolis! Every table has a beautiful view, the service is wonderful and the food is always memorable. We arrived a few minutes before our reservation, so we had a glass of wine in the bar - a quiet, cozy, friendly spot.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic Night Out

Dined on June 4, 2016

We stayed at the Nicollet Island Inn for our anniversary and had dinner there as well. The staff was friendly and attentive. The wine list was very good. We both had fish with two totally different preparations and both were fantastic. The meal and the wine were moderately priced. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Family birthday dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

Took my husband out to dinner, but made it a family night with my 2.5 year old. That was risky... had he acted up, it might have been a terrible experience full of evil eyes from the other patrons/staff. I definitely wouldn't say this place was great for kids, but the waiter made sure to bring out juice and fruit right away, and was very quick with his meal. Because of that, and some crayons and paper, my son remained entertained and wasn't a disruption. Overall, a nice night, but don't be like me... leave the little ones at home unless they will be asleep or are reliably well-behaved.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was excellent, as were the drinks. Service was quick and friendly. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Minneapolis Must

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

If you are a visitor to Minneapolis, or a resident you must stop in at the Nicollet Island Inn for a meal. I think it is the most quaint and romantic restaurant around town. But don't just save it for that. My friends and I love going for breakfast or lunch. The food is delicious and service is always friendly. Have a delicious meal, enjoy the beautiful building, then go for a walk along the river. What could be better than that!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful time with my parents ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful time with my parents, wife and daughers and so, so appreicate their willingness to work with us as a party of 6. Thank you! Loved our waiter and the received the royal treatment. Food was excellent! Could not have asked for a nicer morning. Very special place!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent once again

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nicollet Island Inn is one of our favorite places. We consistently get a good meal there. This time, my husband enjoyed one of their nightly specials. I had the Filet Mignon. We both agreed that the whole meal was just excellent. A special shout-out for the Brie Fondue that comes with the Filet. Yum.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

What a beautiful location and lovely ambience!

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was very good, fresh, hand-made. We were there as first-time guests to celebrate my son's birthday and it was a great choice. Our server was exceptional and very attentive. Our table ordered several different dishes including starters and desserts. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to dine for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A nice restaurant with a beautiful ambia ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

A nice restaurant with a beautiful ambiance, great wine list and good food selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day at Nicollet Island Inn

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service (Erin) and ambiance are great. It's easy to get to and easy to park, without any of the congestion and aggravation of going into the heart of downtown. The setting is very nice, right on the river with St. Anthony Main just a short walk to the other side of a quaint, old bridge. The food is always well prepared and nicely presented, but too sophisticated for my taste, tending toward the "feminine." However, my wife really likes it, so it's always a good choice for Mother's Day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was the perfect location for Mothers Day Brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my family out to The Nicollet Island Inn for a perfect Mother's Day Brunch. The food is superb and the service is spot on. The ambiance was perfect for the occasion! Warning you will need to book a few months in advance, and it is quiet high-end. This was an absolutely lovely dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience! Loved everything ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful experience! Loved everything about this place. The 3 course brunch was the perfect way to start the day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunch brunch at Nicollet Island Inn

Dined on April 24, 2016

Sunday brunch at thNicollet Island Inn was fabulous! I had a Mimosa and ordered the five course tasting which included a basket of pastries, Nic’s Benedict (Poached Eggs with Hollandaise and House-Smoked Salmon), Strawberry Salad, Scallops with Pea Risotto, Mint, Pea Tendrils and finished off brunch with the Chocolate Mousse, fresh berries and hazelnut crumble. The food was a perfect size portion for me. Our table was next to the window with a great view of the river. The Nicollet Island Inn Restaurant was quiet and I enjoyed our table conversation without shouting. The service was outstanding with our server being attentive but not intrusive. I will definitely go again to Sunday brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect atmosphere for special occasions.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Fine dining in a beautiful setting. The location is awesome and the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The pork tenderloin and spätzle were delicious as was the strip steak my husband ordered. It is a bit pricey but the ambiance makes it worthwhile. A great restaurant to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The lamb and walleye were amazing!

Dined on April 21, 2016

The lamb and walleye were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A++++

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great place for a wedding reception and your anniversary dinners from that moment forward. Great place, food, and service.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining

Dined on April 14, 2016

Fine dining with Great food, charming and comfortable surroundings and fantastic service. Very good dinner selections, perfectly prepared and served by very attentive wait staff in clean and friendly area with great views. Will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A New Favorite

Dined on April 10, 2016

I would highly recommend this place. The mussels, steak tartare, mushroom gnocchi, and burger are all must-haves!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a lovely time. The ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband and I had a lovely time. The food was excellent. The pricing was good for fine dining. The service was fast, respectful, and spot on. The restaurant is lovely and the setting is great. It had been a while since we have been there but we both agreed we need to come more often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicollet Island excellence

Dined on April 9, 2016

We bring out of town guests to The Nicollet Island Inn at every opportunity. Great venue and great people combined with great food and wine.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My experience was just lovely. It was S ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

My experience was just lovely. It was Saturday, 7PM and the restaurant wasn't crowded. Even with it being April, the view of the Mississippi was nice. The mussels were tasty, the flank steak was done just right. I enjoyed reading about the history of the Inn. Overall, a really enjoyable experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything about our visit to the Nicollet Island Inn was great. The food was wonderful, the server was very attentive and helpful, and the ambience was lovely. There was a special touch which was not expected. My friend and I were there to celebrate her 60th birthday, and when our shared dessert was served, there was a lit candle in it, plus we each got a glass of champagne. A very memorable evening at a charming location.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a beautiful place!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had a wonderful experience here on the extremely special occasion of my first meeting with my birthdaughter after 26 years. My sister had called ahead to (somehow) impress upon the wait staff and manager that this was a super special night for me, and the staff could not have been more understanding (took us a very long time to get around to ordering!), patient, kind, and gracious. I believe our server's name may have been Erin (?) (I wish I could remember for sure!), and she was just extremely good to us. The experience really could not have been any better, in any way at all! (I did not pay the bill, so I don't know the "value," but I would have paid any amount at all to have such a wonderful, relaxing meal in such a beautiful environment -- so nice that it perfectly matched the immensity of the occasion for me! Thank you ever so much to the Nicollet Island Inn Restaurant for making this very special night for us even more wonderful. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We count on Nicollet Island Inn for spec ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

We count on Nicollet Island Inn for special occasions but our lunch was an overpriced disappointment. Service was polite, ambience was nice, squash soup was very tasty, but all four entrees were cold. Grilled cheese was mediocre, and special of the day (Swedish meatballs and potato salad) was not as good as I could make myself at home - meatballs dry and tough (microwaved Simek's would be better), and potato salad tasted like it came out of a plastic container. At those prices for such a mediocre meal, we won't be back any time soon.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Old school ambiance

Dined on March 28, 2016

What a lovely venue for a special Occasion. We especially enjoyed the filet mignon. The prices are pretty steep but mostly the food is very nicely done. The crab cake was the only disappointment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely as always!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Best place for a long lunch with best friend. Great service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Adorable with a great view!

Dined on March 16, 2016

What an adorable little restaurant. I am so happy a friend suggested the location.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views and atmosphere as always

Dined on March 10, 2016

I love to dine at Nicollet Island Inn. This is a standard for us to celebrate special occasions. The location is wonderful and service is always excellent. The food is very good as well. Great for special occasions in the evenings and also great meeting get together with friends for brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambiance, service and food!! W ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, service and food!! We had the mussels, wedge salad and chicken all were excellently prepared!!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Meh

Dined on February 29, 2016

While me and my wife go there on special occasions, the menu hasn't changed much over time. The whole, sparse menu is priced skyhigh and one always leaves hungry based on the main course alone. Non-alcoholic drink menu is not offered. Not a good value for the money. The outrageously loud 'after work' crowd gets old when you are trying to enjoy a quiet, fancy meal during the week. If you want a raging loud bar scene, I'd rather go to a non-pretentious bar . Fail to see what make's this place anything more than an overpriced hipster bar.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I can't wait to go back!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Everything about this place was right! I would order all the food again, everything we has was amazing. They also serve one of my favorites wines! Was a perfect date-night. Very romantic and feels special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Ambiance

Dined on February 28, 2016

We really enjoyed the food, the service, the attentiveness of the staff, how quiet the restaurant is compared with many of the modern high-ceiling spaces, which are so noisy. A particularly nice touch was the surprise of champagne for my friend, whose birthday we were celebrating. I also really like the old-world decor and ambiance, and the views from this restaurant. This is our third visit to this restaurant, and I hope to return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.