Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Nicollet Island Inn

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Lindsay Kunz
lindsay@nicolletislandinn.com 612-331-1800x3

Island Room or St. Anthony Event Spaces

-Newly Remodeled, Hardwood flooring
-An outdoor Private Garden Patio
-Space for 10-120 guests seated and up to 200 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access

Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Noah Balow

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 Event Spaces. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 10 guests, the Captain's Room up to 16, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 120 seated. Our events floor can accommodate nearly 200 people for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Kunz: (612) 331-1800 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Ryan via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Come celebrate Mother's Day with MOM at the Nicollet Island Inn! We are offering a delicious 5-Course prix fixe brunch menu with a Scandinavian twist. $49 for adults and $18 for kids.

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (53)
Romantic (51)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Scenic View (50)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Waterfront (44)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Cozy (38)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Great for Brunch (29)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Authentic (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Private Room (12)
Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
People Watching (9)
Fireplace (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent, especially the walleye. (Skip the desserts, though.) Service was very friendly, but incredibly slow. Thank goodness there were very few tables or we might still be there waiting for our entrees. The decor was charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Salad and soup was yummy. Meal was yummy . Dessert was so so. Would like to see crown brule and chocolate cake on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Elegant setting along the Mississippi, delicious and lovely food using freshest ingredients. We'll be back again, dining here is a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was awesome. We made our reservation several weeks in advance. We were seated early had an excellent table. Five course brunch was very good, nice selection good portion size.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

After reading all the great reviews, we were sadly disappointed. We were seated for our easter brunch at 1pm. It was nearly an hour later before we received our soup and salad. This was a four course fixed price meal. It took nearly two hours for our meal. We sat for a long time between courses with just ice water and our empty plates. The portions were quite small and the food itsself was mediocre. Nothing special. The staff were all very gracious and polite. Our server kept blaming the kitchen for the wait, however other tables around us seemed to be moving on to entree and dessert while we sat. Seemed like chaos to me, just a bad experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family had Easter Brunch and the service was excellent the 5 course was very very good.
I had eggs Benedict carrot ginger soup and the meatballs and desert was chocolate mouse everything was the best. I would go back again for lunch or diner, the view from our table was fantastic over looking the Mississippi River the whole family will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

On a whim we changed our Open Table reservation from a favorite dining spot to try Nicollet Island Inn. We were not disappointed. The service, the ambiance and the food was outstanding. Our server was a gentleman named Joe and he was fabulous! He made great recommendations, he was attentive and overall, just a really nice guy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was a lovely location for a date with the man who is my best friend and husband of 34 years! We enjoyed a quiet table, pleasant glass of wine and a delicious meal. We especially enjoyed the French onion soup & the wonderful apple cider brined roasted chicken. Our server was attentive and helpful but allowed us time to enjoy our evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very much exceeded my already high expectations. Quaint, quiet little gem in the heart of St. Anthony's main. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time. The service was great, the food excellent (sweet potato way to sweet), and the view of the river made it a perfect evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We loved the ambiance and nostalgic decor. Our server James was wonderful and made sure we enjoyed our meal, making suggestions and being very attentive.
I had ordered a floral bouquet for the table for my friend's birthday. It was beautiful and was waiting for us when we arrived.
We were given a table by the window and the people watching was great!
Portions were small so take your guys to an evening meal.
A very special Sunday brunch and we will be back again.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was fantastic (we had the 5 course tasting menu for brunch and our 3 year old had the 3 course kids' brunch). Our kind and attentive waiter was solicitous and wonderful. He saw my daughter tasting my soup course and brought out a mini bowl of siup of her own at no charge. He was so experienced and made our brunch a great time. I'm thinking this would be a great Sunday after church ritual.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a great spot. You have views of the water and the food is amazing

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Family Style, Casual, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Had the salmon salad which was delicious! The coffee was also wonderful and our waitress was very friendly and checked on us often. Was a bit surprised that the lunch menu had such a small selection although the food was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Historic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Always an excellent experience for business or a social occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The setting and appointments of the restaurant are lovely. The view of the river is beautiful. Though you are in the city you feel like you have left all its hustle and bustle behind.
We opted for the tasting menu. Sadly, we were disappointed in the food. the best part was the first course: Lobster Bruschetta. The Chocolate Mouse was not bad either. However, the three other courses were unremarkable.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The manager and waitstaff at Nicollet Island Inn are very knowledgable, professional and hospitable. We had a celebratory wedding anniversary dinner there over the weekend and they made us feel very special. If duck is on the menu when you visit, get it! You won't be sorry...such a decadent and delicious preparation; each bite was a moment to savor! And if you like a slightly sweet specialty cocktail after dinner, try "The Golden Spike"....heavenly!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My sister and I took my mom here recently to celebrate her 87th birthday. A request when I made a reservation for a special table that was quiet was honored. The ambiance and food was perfect, and Mom continues to talk about the place.
I was disappointed that the Inn no longer fusses a bit, as it did as recently as a year ago, with champagne and a dessert. (That is available now if you sign up for it for your own birthday.)
Our server was polite and pleasant but not attentive as we expected from past dining experiences there.
The host was very accommodating and even checked in with us while we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Really feel like they care about your experience as soon as you walk through the door. Great friendly service, wonderful tasting menu. Really enjoyed watching the river through the window. Will always come back here when I'm looking for a great meal and ambience.

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my first time here. I loved the selection on the 3 and 5 course brunch menu. We had a wonderful waiter and amazing food. Loved people watching and being able to see the river from our table

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Waterfront, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Historic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding service by MAT, who was tending the bar ! A true professional and extremely entertaining.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

As usual an excellent meal at a great restaurant. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was superb, the atmosphere romantic and scenic and the pacing of our three course dinner was excellent. Definitely recommend! Many thanks to the staff and huge compliments to the chef.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went with three couples and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We ate at this restaurant for eat week. The food was great and the service was excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Delicious food (breakfast) with shared Tres Leches; quiche unique
Waiter was engaging but not overpowering
Able to talk as noise level was quiet
Love the ambiance, by the Mississippi River, situated on an island
Just a very delightful experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and service does not disappoint! The city view is beautiful and the old charm ambiance is very relaxing. The french onion soup was traditional with a twist, the medium steak was extremely tender and flavorful. The recommended wine pairing went very well with the meal and the Sebastian Joe's ice cream was the perfect end to a perfect meal. Everything was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful Sunday brunch! Our server was fantastic - wonderful sense of humor, both noticed and anticipated our needs, and was incredibly patient with us older ladies brunching :)
Three course tasting menu is a delight - beautiful preparation, wonderful flavors and textures. Great coffee, very reasonably priced glasses of sparkling wine and mimosas. Plus, the front desk staff is always happy to accommodate our special requests and needs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have always had a special time at Nicollet Island Inn. The food we had last night was especially delicious, particularly the mushroom wild rice soup. Our server was very attentive also. It was an incredibly romantic evening that I know I'll remember for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've been here a few times and had nothing but the best! This Valentines menu seemed lack luster and not what's it been in the past. Did you switch chefs?? I don't feel like what we had this time was worth the $200+ tab. Our server was very nice and accommodating. We will be back again I'm sure, but this visit just wasn't anything to write home about..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Valentine's day menu dinner was delicious we added the wine paring for the perfect romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Celebrated Valentines Day with my wife at the Nicollet Island Inn and they did not fail to deliver. We have always enjoyed the inn from the first time we dined there. The ambiance is perfect for any special occasion. Although slightly on the pricer side the food here never disappoints. Everything from the appetizers to the desserts are prepared with care and are delicious every time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Booking over a month in advance for Valentine's day dinner with Nicollet Island Inn's restaurant, my significant other and I were excited to try their famous lobster and crab cakes listed on the dinner menu and so many of the reviews we read from the internet.

Evening of, we pulled up to the valet 10 minutes prior to our reservation time, checked in and waited in their classy but small waiting area. 20 minutes pass before the hostess directs us to the small, awkwardly shaped 'L' booth located right next to the kitchen doors, worst seat in the house.

Sitting down, our waitstaff comes over, fills the water glasses and deposits a single, thin card on the table before us -- a 'special' set menu that not only doesn't list options of anything we intended to order, but had arguably some of the lowest-rent items available on their regular menu. I politely and quietly ask our waitress if I could have a copy of the regular menu because although a set menu is not that uncommon on valentine's day, often the regular full menu is available upon request -- She states that that is not an option tonight. After awkwardly lingering for a few seconds, she says she'll come back in a minute. I discuss with my S/O whether or not she wants to deal with not only the set menu which eliminated all of our craving pics, but also the worst table in the house to which she replies absolutely not. Before we say another word or have time to inform our waitress that we will be dining elsewhere, she rudely walks past, stopping briefly to as 'So, are you sayin' or goin''. That was the final nail in their coffin. We had made no gesture or vocal request / hint at leaving the restaurant prior to this.

We promptly stood up from our table, retrieved our car from the prompt and courteous valet and headed downtown for better.

As much as we want to go back and get our favorites, this experience has fouled our view of this restaurant so much so that I don't think we'll be back for any reason moving forward.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Rarely disappoints. Breakfast, lunch, brunch, dinner, special occasions. Good food. Good prices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful venue for a post theater early dinner! Bar was lovely - wine choice from Bartender was delicious! Opted for a 3 course light dinner and it was delicious - prepared creatively and served exquisitely. Lovely, quiet, friendly place - we enjoyed the one on one service!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Nicollet Island Inn is one of the finest restaurants in the Twin Cities, in an urban area with fantastic dining options. The restaurant is elegant, quiet and has impeccable service. But the Sunday Brunch is something else! It gets an A++. A five-course breakfast is beyond elegant, with some of the finest food ever. My European visitor was astonished at this meal, declaring that it was one of the best he had ever eaten.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went there for brunch tasting menu. Excellent value and exceptionally well made food. Has a very historic and classy atmosphere. I will return.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The first time I've ever been disappointed at the NII. Brunch. Pastry basket was uninspiring. Pork tenderloin had a dried out crusty exterior. The ham hock turned out to be minced and mixed with the beluga lentils. The green apple chutney was a schmear on the plate — I would have liked it on the side and about 3 times as much. The egg benedict was very good. The egg was perfectly poached—a mean feat to do well, I think, and they did! I would have liked more lemon in the hollandaise. At $23 per person, the price was reasonable enough.

As always, the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We frequently visit the Nicollet Island Inn for it's beautiful bar and dining room experiences. Best of the best in Minneapolis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always enjoy dining at the Nicollet Island Inn. In the past the food and service has always been superior. We were a bit disappointed on our last visit. We were there for Sunday brunch and seemed to have a inattentive waiter. We had to ask a service person passing by for the pastry basket after a long wait and then when our food arrived one entree was cold. When the waiter finally checked back and was told he whisked the plate away and it was returned to our table after having been put on another plate and only a bit warmer than when it first arrived. This was the first time we have had a negative experience after many excellent meals at the inn. We will return in the future, but maybe not for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.