About Nicollet Island Inn

95 Merriam
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View Larger Map

The Nicollet Island Inn has stood witness to over a century of change on the shores of the Mississippi River. The Inn is consistently named the most romantic restaurant in the area and its river views have been voted some of the best in the city. An immediately recognizable Minneapolis landmark, the Inn offers world-class cuisine created by Executive Chef Noah Balow , whose innovative and constantly updated menu includes a variety of seafood, steaks and gourmet specialty dishes. Our wine menu has been chosen specifically to compliment the food and highlight producers from the world's leading wine regions.

Nic's bar, just off the main dining room, is a casual, old-world tavern and the patio offers stunning views of the Minneapolis skyline. The Inn is a convenient, comfortable destination for breakfast or lunch meetings while the 3 or 5-course Sunday Brunch is the perfect weekend indulgence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 1:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 331-1800

Website:
http://www.nicolletislandinn.com/

Catering:
Contact Lindsay Kunz
lindsay@nicolletislandinn.com 612-331-1800x3

Island Room or St. Anthony Event Spaces

-Newly Remodeled, Hardwood flooring
-An outdoor Private Garden Patio
-Space for 10-120 guests seated and up to 200 for a reception
-Free wireless Internet access

Our professional staff provides attentive service combined with excellent cuisine to create a productive and memorable event.
Please visit our website for more information: www.nicolletislandinn.com/specialevents.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking for guests of the Nicollet Island Inn.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Noah Balow

Private Party Facilities:
Nicollet Island Inn has three private/semi-private dining rooms and 2 Event Spaces. The Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 10 guests, the Captain's Room up to 16, and the Fireside Lounge up to 24. The Island room can fit 50 seated, 70 for cocktails. The St. Anthony room can fit 120 seated. Our events floor can accommodate nearly 200 people for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Kunz: (612) 331-1800 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have multiple private dining options for groups of 6-24 guests in either our Private Dining Room, Captain's Room, or Fireside Lounge. Whether it's a meeting, family celebration, or corporate dinner, our experienced staff can create a menu to meet virtually any need. For more information please contact Ryan via email at events@nicolletislandinn.com or by phone 612-331-1800 ext. 7.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Lobster Bruschetta - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Chocolate Mousse - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Salmon Benedict - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Coffee Cake - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Ricotta Gnocchi - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Steak Tartar - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Salmon - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Lox - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Apple Crisp - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
French Toast - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Pastries - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Mimosa - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Raspberry & Chocolate Mousse Cake - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Duck - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Eggs Benedict - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Duck Confit And Sweet Potato Hash - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Sunrise Porridge - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Corn Crusted Walleye - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Eggplant Caprese - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Quiche Du Jour - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Beef Carpaccio - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Creme Brulee French Toast - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Steak Frites - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Chicken Gnocchi - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN
Huevos rancheros - Nicollet Island Inn, Minneapolis, MN

Nicollet Island Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Historic (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Romantic (41)
Scenic View (41)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Good for a Date (37)
Cozy (34)
Waterfront (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Private Room (10)
Seasonal (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Fireplace (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fabulous, what a great use ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fabulous, what a great use of lobster for the different courses.

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my husband to Nicollet Island ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I brought my husband to Nicollet Island Inn for his birthday. This was our first visit. We had delicious food in a beautiful setting. The pacing of the courses was wonderful. I hope to come back and try the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Lobster Fest. Hostess was spec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for Lobster Fest. Hostess was spectacular and welcomed us as though she cared that we were there. Our waiter acted the entire time like it was an inconvenience to be waiting on us. We had prepaid for our 5 course meal. The main course of our meal (Lobster and Steak) was cold and probably the worst I've ever had. The lobster was juicy and would have been good if it would have been hot. But it wasn't even warm. The potato medallions were cold and hard and the broccoli was also cold. I probably would have said something to the waiter but she never came back to ask us how it was. All in all, for the $$ that we paid, it was a very unpleasant dining experience. Very sad about that because I'd never been there and we made our reservations over 6 weeks ago and were looking forward to celebrating the evening. The bus person that took our dirty dishes was so friendly and nice . Too bad our waiter didn't care as much about us as the bus person did.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We frequently visit for our anniversary ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We frequently visit for our anniversary dinner. The food is always good, the service is excellent, and the bar and wine list are quite good. But most of all the atmosphere and view is simply spectacular, especially in winter and after a recent snowfall. We will continue our tradition long into the future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Two of us went for

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Two of us went for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

The service was fabulous and the staff w ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was fabulous and the staff was wonderful. We went for Lobster Week and the food was great!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my niece for brunch. The food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Took my niece for brunch. The food was excellent! The Mushroom Gnocchi we ordered my niece said was the best she has ever had. The atmosphere was very pleasant and the service was great. I will go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal, the setting is ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal, the setting is lovely and we had the best service I have ever had. The wait staff is so attentive and helpful with the elderly as well as the very young!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just average. I had the wal ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was just average. I had the walleye and it was lackluster. We had 3 steak dinners in the group and they were all just ok. The service was outstanding!!! We all loved the ambience of the inn. We would not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great. Waitress was helpful, co ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was great. Waitress was helpful, courteous and friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really special, historic place. Go for t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really special, historic place. Go for the festivity and the beauty!

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic atmosphere and food. Highly r ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere and food. Highly recommend to anyone that is driving through Minneapolis to stop and check it out. I've heard the bar has fantastic food as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appreciated the variety and quality of t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Appreciated the variety and quality of the food, and the fiendly, flexible wait staff.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Christmas Dinner. Lovely locale. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely Christmas Dinner. Lovely locale. Beautiful decor. Attentive service. Terrific food. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent our first Christmas Eve without ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We spent our first Christmas Eve without family and decided to have dinner at the Nicollet Island Inn. It was an enjoyable evening, good food, good drinks and good service. We stayed there once, years ago, and would recommend it as a place to spend a night or two.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Puts you in the holiday spirit, the Inn ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Puts you in the holiday spirit, the Inn is always a festive setting. Good and timely waiter was helpful. The salmon said was excellent with a nicely crusted piece of salmon, flavorful pomegranate dressing and salad extras. I requested a piece of bread to go with the salad and waiter provided a nice slice of French bread. The roast beef sandwich was on delicious French bread but was half grizzle or tough meat, French fries were tasty, warm and crispy. Dessert pana cotta with fresh nutmeg on top finished the meal with a great cup of coffee. It's a charming place to dine and always with the entertainment of what's happening in the neighborhood and on the river as the fox pranced along the shore line..

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything wonderful! Thanks

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything wonderful! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought a client here for lunch and ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I brought a client here for lunch and had a lovely time. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. I hadn't been here in quite a while and this visit reminded me of one of Minneapolis' best kept dining secrets. Will return again soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice evening.

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We have enjoyed dining here for 30+ year ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We have enjoyed dining here for 30+ years. We don't understand why it's not more popular

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I went there on the coldest ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My wife and I went there on the coldest day since last winter, -10 F. We first encountered the valet who quickly took our car and helped us into the lobby. Warm and cozy we were greeted by the host who quickly brought to a table with a beautiful view of the frozen river. Hot coffee, a bloody Mary and the 5 course sampler meal followed in that order. Our waiter was friendly but not over attentive, the food was exceptional and the setting was so relaxing. We will definitely come back during warmer weather and enjoy a room and the Mississippi River.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have always loved going to the Nicoll ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We have always loved going to the Nicollet Island Inn. This was a special Christmas treat with the Guthrie following dinner. Love to grab a bite to eat in the bar which is equally as special and cozy. Open Table made it easy to reserve a table. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This is one of those reviews that you ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is one of those reviews that you hate to write because you don't want to give away a truly good secret, but at the same time, the establishment deserves the recommendation. So here's hoping that they suddenly do not become overwhelmed with business that it becomes impossible to book a table less than 3 months in advance! This is 5 stars all around - service, ambiance, meal, drinks. The view of the river (esp during a snowfall) beats the St. Paul Grille's view of Rice Park. A bit expensive, but certainly no more so than any other establishment of a similar dining level. The one suggestion I would make is to include more vegan/vegetarian options.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy the festive decor and our seats ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We enjoy the festive decor and our seats by the windows. It made our annual Christmas lunch special again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service. Cuisine was classic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Impeccable service. Cuisine was classic and excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch you will enjoy this locatio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great Brunch you will enjoy this location just make sure you allow time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great food, great service and always gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

great food, great service and always great ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful experience ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience. The food was very delicious, our room was very appealing and comfortable, and the entire staff at the Inn were very friendly and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and breakfast was a good c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great service and breakfast was a good choice for a pre Guthrie Theater matinee. Also

we were able to leave one car there during the play.

Will return for a summer on the deck lunch.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The ambiance at Nicollet Island Inn was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The ambiance at Nicollet Island Inn was wonderful, as was the service. I do have two complaints, which I sent to the manager and did not receive a response. 1) The menu is limited. For example, there is no salmon on the menu. 2) The customer needs to ask for bread. It's ok that they do not want to waste bread by not delivering it automatically, but the customer is not told that it must be requested. It would be better if the wait staff asked whether or not the customer wanted bread rather than leaving the customer waiting for bread and not knowing it must be requested. This is too high a caliber restauant to have this policy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We'd never been to Nicollet Island Inn b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We'd never been to Nicollet Island Inn before. My parents, girlfriend and I were very pleased! We all had the 5-Course tasting menu for brunch and we're delighted at the portions, flavors, and how appropriate all of the dishes were for the season. Our server, Alyssa, was attentive without being overbearing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice Thanksgiving meal. Not our fi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very nice Thanksgiving meal. Not our first at NII; not our last, either.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Thanksgiving prix fixe dinner. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Lovely Thanksgiving prix fixe dinner. The food was prepared beautifully, nicely seasoned and served graciously. Amenities included a take-home sandwich (turkey of course), cranberry, and a toll-house cookie. A warm and satisfying experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicollet Island Inn is a favorite place ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nicollet Island Inn is a favorite place to take my family on special occasions like holidays and birthdays. The food and service are consistently good, and the ambience feels homey.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The warm and friendly atmosphere made th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The warm and friendly atmosphere made the experience delightful.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, , Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the second time we spent Thanksgi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was the second time we spent Thanksgiving with you and it was a lovely experience. I think it is going to be our new tradition.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love going to the Inn but the menu se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We love going to the Inn but the menu seems to have gotten very limited and they are pricing themselves out of my market. The food was ok but not outstanding. The service was great! We love the atmosphere but will consider other options in the future.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was great experience, a gem

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It was great experience, a gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and very understanding c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing service and very understanding chef and waiter with a newborn slowing the meal down

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent and creative, atmosphe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food is excellent and creative, atmosphere is wonderful with gorgeous views, gorgeous building, and wonderful staff!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.