Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Nicola's Ristorante

Located just north of Downtown in Over the Rhine, Cincinnati’s hip and historic neighborhood, Nicola’s Ristorante Italiano has long been a fine dining staple of the city during its 18 years of operation. Owners Nicola and Maureen Pietoso pride their restaurant not only for its highly acclaimed contemporary Italian menu, extensive wine list, and variety of unique dining spaces, but most especially for their restaurant’s long-standing reputation for being warmly hospitable and accommodating.

1420 Sycamore Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Liberty Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-6200

Website:
http://www.nicolasotr.com/

Catering:
Nicola's Ristorante offers catering to diners' homes; 5-8 courses with wine parings, minimum 10 people, no Saturdays or Sundays, starting at $90.00 a person.

Parking Details:
Street parking and valet parking Monday through Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Joel Molloy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our award-winning food, wine, unique private & semi-private dining spaces, and professional service combine to create truly memorable experiences for business meetings, social celebrations, weddings, and rehearsal dinners. We can tailor the event to your individual needs.

Nicola's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Special Occasion (52)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Romantic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Notable Wine List (34)
Authentic (34)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Business Meals (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Cozy (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Seasonal (10)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 hours ago

Loved it! Amazing service! Was our Anniversary dinner. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Always excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner at Nicola's for our wedding anniversary. The staff gave us special attention for our special night, the food was delicious and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food was delicious and service excellent -- if you like formal. I'm afraid we were out-of-synch with the philosophy of the restaurant. More recently we have enjoyed splitting dishes and sampling a variety of items. Though the staff graciously accommodated our requests, I left thinking how incompatible 'sharing/splitting' is with 'presentation'.

Very nice restaurant, I should have known better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The service and food where excellent. Overall it was classic Italian food with a contemporary twist using many fresh ingredients. Reminded me of being in Italy. The bread basket was excellent many choices!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

They sat us right by the bathroom although there were many other tables open. The dishes we ordered were good but not amazing. Seemed overpriced, especially considering the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very kind service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food and service
Inside is quiet and lovely
Outside seating the traffic is loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Thank goodness for Restaurant Week! I love Nicola's, but it's pricey. Restaurant Week got us a delicious three-course meal - with a bonus fourth course of risotto - thrown in for $45. The bartender recommended an excellent rose to accompany our meal. The food was superb. Nicola's has the best break basket in the city. I could make a meal of it. Delicious and beautiful. We sat at the bar for cocktails pre-dinner. My dirty martini with blue cheese stuffed olives was sublime. I couldn't help but drink two. Dessert was so artfully presented and just as delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Lovely patio. Excellent service. Best bread basket. Friendly, helpful atmosphere.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wish they would not charge for the bread. They charge $1.33 and three of us didn't even eat a third of it. Just give us two pieces and don't charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 7, 2017

It was my birthday and Nicolas is my special celebration place because it reminds me so much of Italy and the food there - really takes me back- Brian - our waiter was exceptionally friendly and engaging - not at all stuffy- made you feel like you were The only people he had to wait on- all the staff work well together in a team spirit that conveyed they really enjoy what they do and who they do it with - Well done for a special evening out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Nicolas Monday night for restaurant week. We are foodies and love trying new places. We went to Nicolas and got everything on the restaurant week menu. The Chicory Lettuce salad was very bitter and the Watermelon salad left little to desire. The risotto lacked flavor and wasn't terrible but nothing to rave home about. The Pork Saltimbocca was a round piece of ham wrapped in bacon. The best part of the dish was the broccoli. I was excited for desert in hopes it would be better than the first two courses but it was not. The Passion Fruit tart was very over baring and sour. The chocolate sauce and peanut brittle that were on the plate were good but over all It was by far the worst meal I have had in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

As usual everything was wonderful! Service was very professional. Food was as delicious as ever.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delightful and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Nicola was outstanding! The food was delicious, the service was excellent, we will be back again!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Held a small business meeting (four attendees) upstairs. There was a large group downstairs, which probably made the noise level higher than it typically is. Despite that, it was by no means overwhelming.
The food and wine list are excellent at Nicola's. The service was on par with the food and wine. The décor is a sight since the building has such a history. I look forward to going back when I get back to Cincinnati.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

One of our Cincinnati favorites. Love the food and the ambiance. This was a birthday dinner but we can't always wait for a special occasion to go to Nicola's! Sometimes we just eat in the bar but we had a table this time and our waitress was great!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a lovely evening at Nicola's celebrating a special occasion with a group of friends. The service was impeccable and kept us laughing with their wit. The food was so delicious that it wasn't only a meal, it was an experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Cincinnati has great restaurants. This is the best. Great food and terrific service. Bonus during the summer is enjoying a meal in the garden. The menus had great summer additions and still had all our year around favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The new summer menu is outstanding. The summer cocktails were superb as well ! The outdoor patio was wonderful on a perfect mild July evening. The service was a just up to snuff though. It appeared that they were understaffed for a Fri. evening. People were rushing which meant things were missed at times and the staff had to be reminded. It is still a very good restaurant because the food is wonderful !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

My wife and I had the fettuccini with marinara sauce special. The pasta was fine, but neither of us cared for the marinara sauce. It was rather tasteless. The portions were very small, as well. Our daughters had the gnocchi with four cheese sauce. The sauce was good, but the gnocchi were a bit chewy. The menu prices are high, but the food didn't live up to the cost. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

I found it on yelp and now I wish I was in Cincinnati more often. It was exceptionally good. I travel a lot, hitting lots of good restaurants and high end restaurants that pretend to be good. This was the real deal. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This is my favorite Cincinnati restaurant. The food is amazing. Never a bad meal. Great breads Best gnocchi I have ever had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We went to Nicola's to celebrate our daughter's 26th birthday. We were greeted by manager, Kenny Huff. We were seated and then turned over to the competent hands of waiter, Charles. Charles walked us through the menu and made several suggestions as to how we could maximize our dining experience. His suggestions were "spot on". The food was outstanding as usual; but, the service and attention to our dining enjoyment was nothing short of phenomenal. Throughout the night, Kenny kept checking to be sure we were being well taken care of. Following dinner at our request, he provided the history of the restaurant and offered us a tour of the private dining areas for future consideration. Before leaving, Charles took several pictures for our daughter to commemorate her celebration. Thank you for taking such good care of us! My husband said Nicola's is his new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I made an effort to go on a Monday night so that I could get the $15 special. It is a house or Caesar salad to start then the bolognese. Definitely worth it because they give such a large portion you even have some to take home! Service was excellent. My only complaint was the particular table we sat at was right at the top of the stairs near the servers station, and every time servers would walk by the table would shake. It just felt like we were in the way. Wonderful meal though and will always go back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 17, 2017

It was my first time dining at Nicola's. Wonderful meal! The food and service were excellent. General Manager Kenny Huff was amazing and treated us like royalty. Loved the décor and ambiance. The bread basket is off the hook! Thanks for the hospitality. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The staff was very helpful and accommodating to our group even thought they did seem a bit surprised by a group of six men and one woman.
The food was delicious although not exactly prepared as the waiter mentioned. My salmon was good but supposed to have a puree with it and instead had lentils.
Dessert was the very best part of the meal by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Visiting town for a wedding and looked for the best place to celebrate our wedding anniversary; this place was fabulous - the staff were great; and the food was perfect. From the bread thru every course. We sat outdoors and enjoyed a peaceful dinner - highly recommend for couples.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was excellent, the atmosphere was very pleasant and we did not feel rushed! Overall, Nicola's was just a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great waitress and bar tender. Gave us a sample of your home made Grenadine. Nice touch and unexpected. Food was very tasty and uniquely prepared. We shall return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Nicola's was the best dining experience we've had in years. The service was most considerate, and the food was delicious. We'll be back next time we are in town, and we've already recommended it to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We don't go there often enough! Nicola's never fails to surprise and please with exceptional service and outstanding culinary adventures.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food is always excellent. They didn't disappoint on that score and never do.. Our server was a bit distracted and service got very slow at the end of the meal. However, he knows the menu and was nice, if not overly friendly. The food never fails. I had the beef loin, my husband had the lamb. We shared the corn risotto and an appetizer. Each of us had a salad. My Roasted Beet salad was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Everything was perfect at nicola's to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Just one small thought is to offer a scrumptious chocolate dessert. I realize most people would be too full from the meal to order dessert. However my darling husband is a chocoholic! 5 stars!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Nicola's! We will certainly be back.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Monday night special is outstanding, Nicolas is our favorite and the best Italian in the area!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great services as always and the food. Love the breads!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were seated in the very nice patio area. The wine list had mostly expensive wines unfortunately. The service was somewhat uneven, possibly due to the servers having to wait on tables both inside the restaurant and outside. The fish I ordered was okay, but there was no warning that I should expect bones within. Our server offered a free dessert to compensate, but we declined. It would have been a nicer offer to deduct something off of our bill. The price point for entrees seemed a bit high for what was received. The one thing this restaurant may want to consider is to limit or prohibit the use of cell phones. The couple next to us was constantly getting email message notifications, taking selfies, etc. which detracted from the nice atmosphere on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Love Nicola's! The bread basket is a must. Each menu item is carefully prepared and presentation is beautiful. A delight for your senses. We will return when visiting Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.