About Nico

3228 Sacramento Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Nico presents a menu format similar to the French and European style of dining "carte blanche" (without a menu or blank menu). This menu style invites guests to put themselves in the hands of the kitchen and enjoy a dining experience.

We offer a $65 5-course tasting menu that changes nightly. Pairings to complement the nightly changing menu are priced at $55 for the 5-course menu. "Bites" and à la carte selections are offered at our small 5-6 seat bar.

In addition to the pairings, Nico offers a full wine list, nightly wines by the glass (half or full), low proof cocktails, a handful of beers, and non-alcoholic sodas. Corkage is $38/person.

**Please let us know of any dietary restrictions when you reserve so that we may properly prepare for your party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday. Reservations are accepted 5:30pm-9:30pm.

Nico will be closed for a week in the Winter and two weeks the Summer each year. The 2016 Winter closure dates are January 1 - January 10.

Cross Street:
Lyon Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 359-1000

Website:
http://www.nicosf.com/

Public Transit:
Muni Lines: 1, 2, 3, 43.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Delaroque

Private Party Facilities:
The Maple Room at Nico, is our private dining room, named for it"s table that is crafted from a solid plank of maple and sits directly beneath a large skylight. The room accommodates 7-12 people comfortably, and is nestled away from both the main dining room as well as the kitchen, creating a truly private experience.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Presidio Heights ›

fit for foodies (85)
neighborhood gem (66)
special occasion (66)
See All
romantic (49)
notable wine list (30)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (9)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Innovative, daring combinations of flavo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Innovative, daring combinations of flavors, refined and meticulous presentation, warm and charming staff. Set menu is best for omnivores.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Piece of Paris in SF

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was really a nice place, worth visiting it. And indeed they deserved Michelin star they have now) the portions are quite small ( you won't put on weight after the dinner in this place) but very delicious . We also took wine pairing - this was really nice and well matched the dishes. Would definitely go there again once in SF

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

We thoroughly enjoyed the special 5 cour ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the special 5 course James Beard tasting menu. Also the sourdough bread was delicious and so fresh. Our server was quick to satisfy our request to slow the pace so we could enjoy a few minutes between courses to savor the flavors and appreciate the artful presentation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Imaginative food

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food here for a neighborhood restaurant is fantastic! Nico has the right price point and the right blend of service and ambiance to make it feel like a place you could go to everyday. Keep up the great work!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining here is always special!

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We love the 5-course set menu which is different everyday. We've been here six times since it opened and we have never had any repeats, which means we've had 30 different courses. Each dish, besides being amazing, is so well thought out in terms of ingredients, taste, texture and presentation we always come away with accolades from our guests. The service is top-notch, the ambiance is just perfect and the price is affordable. This has to be the best restaurant in SF where we have so many from which to choose!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent with very fresh ingredients and simple but beautiful presentation. Service was great and our waitress was friendly and helpful and explained each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great wine, great service, great value

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We went for the first time for my husband's birthday, and we had a wonderful experience. I had read some reviews that had complained that the service was cold/aloof, but our server had started a month ago, and she was warm , informed, and down-to-earth. The fixed price meal is a great deal with unusual, innovative dishes. The wine pairing seemed pricey comparatively, but well worth it -- wines were unusual and well paired. It was also a pleasure to experience a quiet restaurant where we could actually relax and talk and hear each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great neighborhood spot

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Thursday evening dinner. Great service. Food was very good. Five courses -- three were fantastic. Two were good. Bread needs some improvement... Wine pairing was excellent, as was the service. Overall, a great local place for a date or date-night with your spouse.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef's Surprise

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Imagine walking into a top restaurant without knowing what's on the menu except the culinary machinations of a superb chef! That's Nico. The food was simply great, although not copious. The menu evidently changes every night, so there is no reason to highlight what we ate, since you probably won't get it. One caution: avoid the wine pairing with the food. Since the portions are smaller than usual, the wine pairings are not, offering the possibility of being "over served." We loved this concept and would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic place to dine. Refreshing conc ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Fantastic place to dine. Refreshing concept with superb preparation of each dish and excellent presentation. Spot-on wine pairing and impeccable service. Our best meal in a very long time. We have found our new SF favorite!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 13, 2016

Once again, a great dining experience. The prix fixe menu is a fantastic assortment of what's available and in season. For example, one of the dishes included fresh, local dungeness crab that followed the opening of crab season. The combination of flavors included in each course is astonishing. I'm always left wondering how Nico and his team concoct these combinations. The courses also smoothly build upon and complement each other. We did not order the wine pairings. We did, however, enjoy an excellent bottle of a French Gamay recommended by our French waiter. The wine was a perfect complement to our course servings of crab, halibut, mushrooms, pork belly, asparagus, and steak. The collaborative service of the staff was impeccable. It's like eating in a fine bistro in Paris.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time better and better

Dined on April 7, 2016

We've eaten at some of the best restaurants in the country, and Nico stands up among them, in quality, in service, in ambiance. We don't even bother to look at the menu anymore; we order the carte blanche five course dinner, and let every course be a surprise. We have not been disappointed even slightly; all the dishes are simultaneously innovative and comfortable. We book there every time we visit San Francisco.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very elaborately cooked & prepared dishe ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Very elaborately cooked & prepared dishes. Great value for a nice set of 5 course meal. Chefs and serving staff know what they are doing. Had enjoyable dinner!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great, innovative food at very reasonabl ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Great, innovative food at very reasonable price. Super wine list. Service is outstanding. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

This place is an oasis! We haven't had food this outstanding since we left Sydney 18 months ago....exquisite flavors and attentive service. We will now be regulars!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding attention to detail!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We love the blind tasting menu and unique combination of ingredients which are only enhanced by the wine pairing. A fantastic experiences for foodies!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Place

Dined on March 26, 2016

I would highly recommend Nico to anyone. We will be going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service.

Dined on March 20, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the 5 course fixed price dinner with wine pairings. Each course was outstanding, and the wines were interesting and good matches for the food. We definitely want to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice surprise

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Not sure what I expected from a five-course carte blanche (chef's choice) but what I ate last week exceeded all expectations. Each course was delicious, well-timed, and not too big. We had asparagus w/avocado to start; omelette with fresh herbs; beautiful fish and whether it was sea bass or what I cannot remember. Followed by rare lamb with tapneade and chocolate mousse dessert. Delicious. That you can get that much love and detail and imagination on a plate -- five plates -- for $65 is a marvel. Ambiance: lovely and spare. Nice lighting. I checked the "moderate" box above but It got a little loud for a while there. Dialing down the music just a bit would be an improvement. But I'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nico: Remarkable place for dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

Nico's daily changing tasting menu makes it a unique experience. Each course, while small enough to allow for a 5-course meal, is a work of art on the plate. The chef's ability to create unusual combinations is remarkable and showcases superb creativity. How does he do it? The wine pairing is also a stunning opportunity to experience wines that are not the usual fare. For e example, one dessert was paired with sparkling sake; I never knew sake could sparkle. The atmosphere for such dining excellence is casual and fun. The servers are helpful and knowledgeable about the food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu Change

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

I am troubled by the decision to eliminate the 3 course tasting menu with the choice of only the 5 course tasting menu. We have now been to Nico at least 4 times and have enjoyed it immensely. But the reality is that, with rare exceptions, the 5 course meal is just too much food, and too expensive, especially if one does the pairing -- which we like to do.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just heavenly!!

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Nico has a new monthly vegetable-inspired dinner series, appropriately titled "The Art of Seasonal Produce". The artistry is evident in everyone of the 5 courses we had. It was creative beyond our imagination even though we were four 'foodies'. The delicious combinations of tastes and textures in each dish were beautiful and unique. The first was Fennel, tea tendrils, oro blanco, white chocolate with roe. The second was little red potatoes slices, spring onion slices with stripes of beaufort cheese sauce on top. It was an exquisite work of modern art that tasted out of this world. As the 3rd and 4th courses came, they became more and more elaborate preparations. They were all fantastic. The wild mushrooms with nettle, vin jaune and lardo was to die for. By the time the dessert came, our vocabulary became just single syllables of appreciation and enjoyment. It is no wonder Nico has a Michelin star after being in business for only 2 years. We really appreciate that Nico is able to keep the prices affordable, at $55 for the 5-course seasonal vegetable menu. I should mention that their daily 5-course menu is $65.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artfully prepared vegan meal

Dined on March 3, 2016

First Wednesdays of the month are vegetarian-based. The chef, however, created a lovely vegan gluten-free 5-course meal for me and printed up a special menu. $55 prix fixe. Outstanding! The service was impeccable. Already booked again for next month. Can't wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Absolutely Delightful!

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Every one of our five courses was imaginative and creative, each dish was a delicious mix of tastes, colors and textures, each was also a delight for the eyes!! This has to be the most beautiful dinner in the whole city for such a reasonable price. We have already recommended Nico to many friends who share our enthusiasm.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECTION

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Outstanding. Creative. Sophisticated. Artistry. Perhaps the best in San Francisco. I am reluctant to recommend it so highly only because I fear I won't be able to get a reservation when I want it. Easily in the top 10% of the finest restaurants I have dined throughout the world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent nuanced cuisine with perfect w ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent nuanced cuisine with perfect wine pairings in a warm, neighborhood setting. The staff are warm and friendly with everyone participating, sharing the same gusto. Nico's cuisine is so nuanced - a journey of flavors to truly savor and take your time to experience as they unfold. Maz is a wizard with wine pairings...when going carte blanche, it is the best adventure - the wine whets the palate, then the food enters - causing a spiral of flavors, culminating in a transformation of both. A great example of how subtle curated flavors can be just as impactful as the current trend of bold and intense flavors...

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A wonder dining experience, lovely beef ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

A wonder dining experience, lovely beef tongue, crab bisque with carrot, snapper, pork and dessert. Limited cocktail options but a full wine list. The only off note is the GM/Wine Director, not personable, kind of aloof, a marked difference to the other staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful surprise in a randomly picked restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

The tasting menu my fiancée and I had was a 6 course Valentine's day special with wine tasting. I was surprised to hear that most of the pairings with the food were whites. This made sense as the menu unfolded and several seafood dishes appeared. The whites chosen matched the dishes very well which ranged from poached oyster to black cod to an onion tarte. Slices of New York strip were paired with the only red while a bubbly sake paired with a light dessert which included candied beets (I would provide more details but the wine pairing was doing its job by then). Guillaume was our server and provided a nice energetic but casual feel. I felt that the staff was a bit in a state of chaos at times but it was still a wonderful experience and we will go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

One Michelin star ? Really?

Dined on February 10, 2016

The smell of bleach at the bar was overpowering when we entered the restaurant. The smell of chlorine lingered throughout dinner. The staff seemed apathetic and uninterested. The wine pairing was disappointing and the waiter pouring knew nothing about the wines which were not up to the expectations for a one star Michelin restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and nice atmosphere

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food and nice atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant in San Francisco

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Premeire culinary experience coupled with an upscale ambiance - all at the right price point. You must go to Nico if you enjoy and appreciate excellent food, wine, and having a nice time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our anniversary dinner was excellent! Fo ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was excellent! Food was fantastic: combination of subtle, but creative flavors and beautiful presentation. Excellent service! Very laid back and unpretentious atmosphere. Will be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Visiting from Chicago

Dined on January 16, 2016

Lives up to its one star Michelin award. Service here is outstanding, food subtle and very good for flavor profiles.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for spoiling me, I only ever want ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

Thanks for spoiling me, I only ever want to eat at Nico, ever more. Seriously, the best meal with perfect wine pairings, keep it going.....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Put yourself in the hands of the chef

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

There are some misses but mostly hits on their ever changing and always interesting prix fix menu. You put yourself in the hands of the chef but be confident you will be pleased you did. Service is improving but still needs some polish.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special dining experience

Dined on December 23, 2015

Wonderfully prepared dishes, served with wine pairings. Fish dish with black trumpet mushrooms was exceptional. We appreciated the attentive service and the presentation of each course.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful restaurant

vip
Dined on December 16, 2015

Food is well-priced and exciting. Atmosphere is contemporary and pleasant. It is pretty quiet from 5:30 to about 7 pm which makes for good place for conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great experience, left hungry

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

The food quality, service, and ambiance were wonderful - highly recommend. The server was very helpful and friendly, and had a great wine bottle presentation. The food was inventive and the set menu is a fun way to get out of your comfort zone. If I had to make a critique it would be two small issues; one is the portion size. I understand it's a set menu with small plates, but after five courses I was ready to go home and order a pie from Delfina. Second, I am allergic to fish. Overall, they accommodated this nicely, however the salad came with fish. Rather than substituting another protein, I received grilled cabbage, which I don't feel is an even exchange.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly creative cooking

Dined on December 11, 2015

Nico and his team prepare a lovely dinner with simple, delicious and fresh ingredients that are cleverly brought together into a harmonius meal

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Anniversary Dinner

Dined on December 11, 2015

My husband and I ate at Nico on Dec 10, 2015 to celebrate out 8 year anniversary. We were blown away. From the attentive and warm service, to the outstanding 5 course tasting menu, to the personalized note wishing us a happy anniversary, nothing could have been better. The staff takes care of everything so you can enjoy the evening without having to decide between courses/entree options. The wine pairings were interesting and excellent (not your typical Sav Blanc, Chard, Merlot, then Cab experience) and highly recommended. If you're looking to relax and enjoy your meal and have the staff take care of everything for you, this is your place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.