About Nico

3228 Sacramento Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Nico presents a menu format similar to the French and European style of dining "carte blanche" (without a menu or blank menu). This menu style invites guests to put themselves in the hands of the kitchen and enjoy a dining experience.

We offer a $65 5-course tasting menu that changes nightly. Pairings to complement the nightly changing menu are priced at $55 for the 5-course menu. "Bites" and à la carte selections are offered at our small 5-6 seat bar.

In addition to the pairings, Nico offers a full wine list, nightly wines by the glass (half or full), low proof cocktails, a handful of beers, and non-alcoholic sodas. Corkage is $38/person.

**Please let us know of any dietary restrictions when you reserve so that we may properly prepare for your party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday. Reservations are accepted 5:30pm-9:30pm.

Nico will be closed for a week in the Winter and two weeks the Summer each year. The 2016 Winter closure dates are January 1 - January 10.

Cross Street:
Lyon Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 359-1000

Website:
http://www.nicosf.com/

Public Transit:
Muni Lines: 1, 2, 3, 43.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Delaroque

Private Party Facilities:
The Maple Room at Nico, is our private dining room, named for it"s table that is crafted from a solid plank of maple and sits directly beneath a large skylight. The room accommodates 7-12 people comfortably, and is nestled away from both the main dining room as well as the kitchen, creating a truly private experience.

Additional:
Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Presidio Heights ›

Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (60)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
See All
Romantic (48)
Notable Wine List (29)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious modern clean french food, serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious modern clean french food, served prix fixe for 5 dishes. Everything prepared well. Loved the rustic modern decor, the neighborhood casual feel and great sevice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we eat here is the best time ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Every time we eat here is the best time yet. They always surprise us, and always in the best possible way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Never had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food and great service. Never had a piece of salmon cooked so perfectly at any restaurant before. All the courses on the tasting menu were fantastic on my visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, from the apetizers to th ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic food, from the apetizers to the desert (we had the 6 course menu). Only (minor) remark concerns the bread, not present on the table (you have to ask for it), and not really "home made". Service is excellent, but not very warm.

Without any discussion, this was our best diner during our 3 weeks stay in US.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Most perfect meal and wine pairing I've ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Most perfect meal and wine pairing I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've got a hint from a friend that this ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I've got a hint from a friend that this new restaurant is great, and I totally agree. The food is amazing, they have a 5-course menu that is reviewed every day. Service is also great, very friendly people.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonder meal with fantastic serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a wonder meal with fantastic service !! I loved not having to choose ! The chef surprises you with amazing fresh creations! I'll definitely be going back !!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great wine, amazing service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food, great wine, amazing service and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary hospitality and service et ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Extraordinary hospitality and service ethos, creativity, product quality. Plates are a work of art that are as interesting and delicious as they look.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started with some beautiful oysters acco ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Started with some beautiful oysters accompanied by magnum pour of their nightly Champagne. Followed by the 5-course carte blanche with wine pairings. Plate visuals were excellent as were flavors. We thought the wine pairing worked very well. Service was outstanding. Space is clean with very nice personal touches. Glassed in kitchen allows diners to watch preparations, which we really enjoyed. We also felt the pricing was very fair, for food quality, service and ambiance. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A food extravaganza! Service very attent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

A food extravaganza! Service very attentive and knowledgeable. We went early so we were very well taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm used to fine dining but Nico stunned ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I'm used to fine dining but Nico stunned me in its loveliness- it was absolutely superb and tucked away in one of my most favorite leafy neighborhoods in SF, Pacific Heights.

I can see why it got a Michelin star in 2016. The food is healthy, mostly French, with seasonal ingredients and a variety of flavors and textures. I appreciated that the food was not drenched in butter, you could taste and smell the herbs, and the flavors hit several notes in my palate.

We chose the prix fixe menu with tasting menu. The items for the prix fixe on the menu are not displayed, they come as a surprise and I recommend you not ask to see what's on the prix fixe menu because as it comes out, it is full of wonderful items which have amazing flavor.

My husband was going gluten-free and the menu was for the most part gluten-free. For those who eat wheat, their bread was amazing and fresh and with their own whipped butter.

The interior was cozy with high ceilings and a skylight. I am sensitive to the architecture of a place, this one felt intimate and spacious, both. With this type of dining experience, the attitude could have been stuffy but it wasn't. Our server was a lovely woman who had a relaxed and attentive manner, and made us feel very welcome.

The experience unfolded in a lovely and delightful way. Nico also had a great soundtrack with Flaming Lips and Radiohead in the background. We loved Nico and we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived there was no-one at the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

When we arrived there was no-one at the restaurant and we requested to have a table along the side of the restaurant. As we had reserved well in advance, it didn't seem a big request, but we were told they were all taken. After being seated, we were given menus that had the same information on both sides and the waitress was referring to the menu content that we didn't have. The explanation of the menu secrecy was very confusing as were the wine options. The waitress was pushing the wine pairings, but we didn't want to that. we weren't automatically brought a wine list - we had to ask for it. The wine we chose was not available even thought the wine list is not that extensive. The first two courses involved raw (or close to raw) seafood (oysters and squid), so tricky for those who don't like raw seafood. The chairs have no seat or back padding so they're not comfortable (one of the reasons we had wanted to sit on the side which includes upholstered seating). Clearly a lot of effort goes into the food preparation and there are some unusual flavors and presentations. Three of the dishes were excellent, particularly the dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Fantastic!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

A treat from beginning to end. I surpri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A treat from beginning to end. I surprised a friend who loved how the meal unfolded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food, but felt the wine p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We enjoyed the food, but felt the wine pairings left a bit to be desired. It tasted like the flavor was often sacrificed so that an obscure wine could be served rather than a vintage with wider circulation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We paired the 5 course tasting menu with ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We paired the 5 course tasting menu with the wine flight - expensive but made it a real treat. The beef and fish were excellent. Dessert was slightly oddly flavoured (beer sorbet and fennel)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Such beautifully balanced and executed d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Such beautifully balanced and executed dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Five courses with wine pairings made thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Five courses with wine pairings made this lots of fun. The food is interesting and well prepared. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our wedding gifts was a giftcard ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of our wedding gifts was a giftcard to have dinner here. I'd never heard of it but as I told other people and looked online, it became apparent we were in for a treat. They do a prix fixe menu so I called to tell them my husband is vegetarian. They were very helpful and made sure they got all dietary restrictions accurate. The restaurant is small and modern. We arrived early and enjoyed a delicious glass of wine at the cute bar. We were promptly seated and the servers was wonderful and engaging. The dishes were ALL impressive. Even the vegetarian ones were spectacular. I was stuffed by the end of it and could barely finish my wine. I try not to go to the same nice restaurant twice but I might make an exception for Nico. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nico was amazing. The service was top-no ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Nico was amazing. The service was top-notch and I highly recommend doing the meal without having the menu read beforehand. Our meal started off with one of the best soups I've had in a while, a summer melon soup with creme fraiche. The red snapper in a fish head broth and NY strip for entrees were also fantastic. Dessert was amazing as well, surprise. On top of it all, the menu was a great value for a prix fixe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and casual feel. Plenty of str ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Good food and casual feel. Plenty of street parking around. Portions are not big so the 5 course meal with 3 appetizers we had was just about every right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A terrific find for adventuresome eaters ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

A terrific find for adventuresome eaters! Let this talented chef wow you with his innovative creations - and definitely do the wine pairings - you can share them for a 10 dollar premium if the full flight seems like more than you can handle on your own. The menu changes frequently, so every visit is its own experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Starter course and dessert were excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Starter course and dessert were excellent, however the other 3 dishes were mildly disappointing. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We are traveling from Atlanta and picked ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We are traveling from Atlanta and picked Nico based on proximity to our hotel in Pacific Heights and of course, based on reviews. It did not disappoint. We loved how they offer a glass of different champagne nightly depending on what magnum they open. We chose to start there and had the most amazing brut rose champagne. Their bread and raw butter was absolutely divine. We paired our five courses with wine and I feel that is a must in order to truly highlight the already exceptional taste of the plates. Every dish and every wine was amazing. The wait staff and somm all did a wonderful job explaining every dish and wine. The somm spent extended time with my wine-industry fiancé and answered all of his questions politely and in detail. One of the wines poured was from 1982 - they did not hold back on the quality of what they were pouring. As for the food, to list it much more simply than it actually was: we were served a beet/berry based cold soup, abalone, king salmon, seared lamb, and a nectarine/white chocolate dessert. Each plate was layered, complex in flavors and absolutely stunning in presentation. Every bite left you wanting more but yet so satisfied with what you had. It was incredible. I completely disagree with other reviews that have said the portion sizes are too small - we did not leave hungry in any sense - but maybe eat the (amazing) bread and butter first to get a little more in your stomach before you start. :) We would 100% come back on our next visit to SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautifully plated, Interesting food com ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautifully plated, Interesting food combinations, some more successful than others. For adventurous omnivores. Dining area can get loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

What a wonderful meal we had. Twice. Obv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful meal we had. Twice. Obviously, as a Michelin-starred restaurant, the food was expected to be good, but Nico not only perfectly executes each dish, the flavor combinations are also always intriguing and not at all pretentious.

That applies to the whole restaurant and staff. Warm, friendly, knowledgeable and a complete lack of pretension, making their patrons feel welcome and that combination makes for a wonderful dining experience.

Add to that an amazing wine list with its share of wonderfully eclectic wines as well, all while being almost ridiculously reasonable in its pricing, given the selection, and you have the perfect dining spot.

Well done, Nico, Maz and team!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High-concept food executed badly. Absolu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

High-concept food executed badly. Absolutely not worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

This is a cost effective mecca for foodi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a cost effective mecca for foodies. Each course was a touch out of my comfort zone, but I ended up enjoying every single bite! The food was more of a journey than a meal. The meal consisted of gorgeous platings of salmon, squid, halibut, duck and an incredible ice cream to serve as the finale. Each night is a different chef menu. We enjoyed not knowing what was coming. The service was also excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really hate for too many folks to find o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really hate for too many folks to find out this may be best restaurant in SF. Then reservations will be impossible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nico deserves acclaim

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The experience was wonderful from beginning to end. The ambiance was very inviting with a modern French countryside aesthetic to the decor. As our table was not ready, we waited at the small bar where we ordered one of the house cocktails, which was delicious and refreshing. Once we were seated, our waiter arrived to guide us through the experience, and since the menu consists of a nightly 5-course tasting menu, he exquisitely explained each course as it arrived and also greatly enriched our experience with descriptions of the wine pairings. Each course left a stellar impression on us - especially a baked, brined snapper with mission figs and turnips, topped with mint; and the basil sorbet and custard with pistachios and meringue. Since the total price for the tasting menu and wine pairing was $130 ($65 and $65), we felt it was a more than reasonable price for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Evening

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We opened with fresh oysters and a farmhouse ale, then followed with the 5 course menu - sight unseen - with pairings. The fish course was beyond excellent, and the dessert was magical. Everything else was superb.

Go! Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The concept of using inexpensive produce to create a creative, interesting and fairly affordable five course meal is a good one, unfortunately at Nico the execution is not on par. The urge to come up with something different and modern leaves flavor and balance out of the equation. There seems to be little concern for contrasting textures, temperatures and the tasting experience overall. A fix menu carries a responsibility towards the guest, I'm afraid this responsibility is not taken seriously enough at Nico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent food, fresh and seasonal. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent food, fresh and seasonal.

The restaurant is simply beautiful and very cosy.

The service is impeccable!

Bravo Nico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our dinner! We had some picky eate ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Loved our dinner! We had some picky eaters with difficult diets and they were extremely accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was pleasantly surprised.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Innovative, daring combinations of flavo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Innovative, daring combinations of flavors, refined and meticulous presentation, warm and charming staff. Set menu is best for omnivores.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Piece of Paris in SF

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was really a nice place, worth visiting it. And indeed they deserved Michelin star they have now) the portions are quite small ( you won't put on weight after the dinner in this place) but very delicious . We also took wine pairing - this was really nice and well matched the dishes. Would definitely go there again once in SF

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed the special 5 cour ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the special 5 course James Beard tasting menu. Also the sourdough bread was delicious and so fresh. Our server was quick to satisfy our request to slow the pace so we could enjoy a few minutes between courses to savor the flavors and appreciate the artful presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.