About Nico

3228 Sacramento Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Nico presents a menu format similar to the French and European style of dining "carte blanche" (without a menu or blank menu). This menu style invites guests to put themselves in the hands of the kitchen and enjoy a dining experience.

We offer a $65 5-course tasting menu that changes nightly. Pairings to complement the nightly changing menu are priced at $55 for the 5-course menu. "Bites" and à la carte selections are offered at our small 5-6 seat bar.

In addition to the pairings, Nico offers a full wine list, nightly wines by the glass (half or full), low proof cocktails, a handful of beers, and non-alcoholic sodas. Corkage is $38/person.

**Please let us know of any dietary restrictions when you reserve so that we may properly prepare for your party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday. Reservations are accepted 5:30pm-9:30pm.

Nico will be closed for a week in the Winter and two weeks the Summer each year. The 2016 Winter closure dates are January 1 - January 10.

Cross Street:
Lyon Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 359-1000

Website:
http://www.nicosf.com/

Public Transit:
Muni Lines: 1, 2, 3, 43.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Delaroque

Private Party Facilities:
The Maple Room at Nico, is our private dining room, named for it"s table that is crafted from a solid plank of maple and sits directly beneath a large skylight. The room accommodates 7-12 people comfortably, and is nestled away from both the main dining room as well as the kitchen, creating a truly private experience.

Additional:
Banquet, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (57)
Special Occasion (55)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
See All
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had a friend who unfortunately took il ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had a friend who unfortunately took ill prior to the third course and the staff was very accommodating, charging us a reasonable amount for the dinner up to that point. I look forward to eating an actual entree there in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience and highly recommen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic Experience and highly recommend checking this place out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, great presentation, plea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent food, great presentation, pleasant services!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every course was delicious and unique! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Every course was delicious and unique! The salmon was so tender; the beef so tender,

the foie gras in soup wonderful. We were delighted. Our first time and we will go back!

Dessert was heavenly. What a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Nico's menu is creative, light and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Chef Nico's menu is creative, light and modern. He succeeded in transforming simple ingredients into colorful, imaginative dishes with layers of flavors which harmonize so well. The peach and red pepper in a Steelhead trout bouillon with a pop of roe was my favorite dish of the evening. The halibut in the next dish was cooked to perfection. The dining room was convivial with an energetic vibe and Emily, our server, was delightful. We would have to knit-pick to find a negative thing to say! Bravo, Nicolas and team!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing as always! The team here always ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing as always! The team here always deliver an amazing experience. Superb service which was provided at the pace we requested. Exceptional dishes which never cease to be outstanding and innovative. Love it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible. I'd go back here ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Absolutely incredible. I'd go back here again and again. Chef Nico is a genuious. You'll leave pleasantly full but not overly stuffed or ravenous. The wine pairings were also an incredible compliment, pairing wine I'd rarely order with incredibly fresh food for an unforgettable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best places in SF.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the best places in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting combination and flavours of ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Interesting combination and flavours of food. Excellent service and reasonably priced tasting menu as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time at Nico and it ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was our second time at Nico and it was even more amazing. We had the tasting menu with paired wines. Each course was presented with a fine art flair that matched the exquisite and sensitive balance of flavor, texture, color, freshness and pleasure. Nico presents one culinary masterpiece after another by letting the best qualities of the course's primary element (fruit, vegetable, fish or fowl; we didn't have red meat) bloom with the fusion of spices and other ingredients. Our service was exceptionally professional with a lot of fun conversation, information and interplay thrown in. What a perfect evening! With modest pricing, what a great value!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was their monthly vegetarian menu. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This was their monthly vegetarian menu. Great for those who are vegetarian! If you like good hearty protein skip their monthly veggie dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Would have had 4th course be red meat ra ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Would have had 4th course be red meat rather than chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Prix Fixe dinner with excellent wine pai ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Prix Fixe dinner with excellent wine pairings. We especially liked the sake with the fish course. We had two diners with food allergies and they were accommodated quite well. The pace is a bit leisurely, but not slow. And at $65, it is an excellent value.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A regrettable mistake occurred: i though ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A regrettable mistake occurred: i thought I made reservations at an entirely different restaurant.

We realized this quickly upon our arrival but we had tickets for Beautiful so didn't think we could leave, go somewhere else, and not be late for the show. The waitstaff was great - they were gracious and tried to be accommodating. I do not want to downgrade the food in any way as it was beautifully presented, but the fact is I don't like most of my food raw or severely undercooked, I don't care for the odd flavor combinations, and since consistency is a very important part of my food enjoyment, I simply could not enjoy any of the offerings. We went with another couple who did enjoy the first and third course out of a five course offering. While they don't have a bar, they do offer a variety of drinks and wine. Again, I thought the wine list was skimpy and maybe a bit odd (we are all from the Napa Valley) and the drink ingredients offered a strange combination of flavors as well. It seemed like a restaurant that was trying too hard to be edgy, use sustainable ingredients and be "new wave" all at once but that may be an unfair assessment.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Perfection

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nico has by now become our favorite rest ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Nico has by now become our favorite restaurant in San Francisco. While they always strive to accommodate the dietary limitations or food allergies of guests, the carte blanche offerings are consistently creative, surprising, and simply delicious. The wait staff is professional, attentive, helpful, and superbly well trained. The wine pairings are often as surprising, creative and good as the food. We loved speaking with sommelier about a couple. While the prices have gone up since they first opened, Nico remains a very good value for such high quality cuisine, and deserves to be called something far more than a "neighborhood gem." People should be willing to travel to find a dining experience this extraordinary.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food, and great service! Very ea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Awesome food, and great service! Very easy to like for every taste bud. Loved the excitement before every course, as we chose not to have the waiter tell us in advance what the menu was.

The only strange thing was the weird rock music that was playing in restaurant. Didn't mind it too much, but it just seemed out of place.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great neighborhood gem with all the amen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great neighborhood gem with all the amenities - service, setting, food and drink were amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No place I have ever found delivers food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

No place I have ever found delivers food prepared at this level for such a modest price in a casual environment. Staff are well trained professionals but not robotic like so many places. They know the food preparations and the wine pairings. One of those places you are afraid to praise too much because it will soon be an impossible reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful wait staff Nice ambiance Food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Wonderful wait staff

Nice ambiance

Food had interesting combinations

Great sangria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. The food was delicious bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service. The food was delicious but their aged steak had some super tough tendon parts that were inedible. Their dessert was really creative and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious modern clean french food, serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious modern clean french food, served prix fixe for 5 dishes. Everything prepared well. Loved the rustic modern decor, the neighborhood casual feel and great sevice and, easy parking!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we eat here is the best time ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Every time we eat here is the best time yet. They always surprise us, and always in the best possible way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Never had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food and great service. Never had a piece of salmon cooked so perfectly at any restaurant before. All the courses on the tasting menu were fantastic on my visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, from the apetizers to th ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic food, from the apetizers to the desert (we had the 6 course menu). Only (minor) remark concerns the bread, not present on the table (you have to ask for it), and not really "home made". Service is excellent, but not very warm.

Without any discussion, this was our best diner during our 3 weeks stay in US.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Most perfect meal and wine pairing I've ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Most perfect meal and wine pairing I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Everything was prepared ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food. Everything was prepared with care and thoughtfully. For the price, I think the meal was excellent. It seems to be a hidden gem. Also, the service was very attentive. I enjoyed the meal very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've got a hint from a friend that this ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I've got a hint from a friend that this new restaurant is great, and I totally agree. The food is amazing, they have a 5-course menu that is reviewed every day. Service is also great, very friendly people.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonder meal with fantastic serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a wonder meal with fantastic service !! I loved not having to choose ! The chef surprises you with amazing fresh creations! I'll definitely be going back !!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great wine, amazing service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food, great wine, amazing service and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary hospitality and service et ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Extraordinary hospitality and service ethos, creativity, product quality. Plates are a work of art that are as interesting and delicious as they look.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started with some beautiful oysters acco ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Started with some beautiful oysters accompanied by magnum pour of their nightly Champagne. Followed by the 5-course carte blanche with wine pairings. Plate visuals were excellent as were flavors. We thought the wine pairing worked very well. Service was outstanding. Space is clean with very nice personal touches. Glassed in kitchen allows diners to watch preparations, which we really enjoyed. We also felt the pricing was very fair, for food quality, service and ambiance. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A food extravaganza! Service very attent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

A food extravaganza! Service very attentive and knowledgeable. We went early so we were very well taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm used to fine dining but Nico stunned ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I'm used to fine dining but Nico stunned me in its loveliness- it was absolutely superb and tucked away in one of my most favorite leafy neighborhoods in SF, Pacific Heights.

I can see why it got a Michelin star in 2016. The food is healthy, mostly French, with seasonal ingredients and a variety of flavors and textures. I appreciated that the food was not drenched in butter, you could taste and smell the herbs, and the flavors hit several notes in my palate.

We chose the prix fixe menu with tasting menu. The items for the prix fixe on the menu are not displayed, they come as a surprise and I recommend you not ask to see what's on the prix fixe menu because as it comes out, it is full of wonderful items which have amazing flavor.

My husband was going gluten-free and the menu was for the most part gluten-free. For those who eat wheat, their bread was amazing and fresh and with their own whipped butter.

The interior was cozy with high ceilings and a skylight. I am sensitive to the architecture of a place, this one felt intimate and spacious, both. With this type of dining experience, the attitude could have been stuffy but it wasn't. Our server was a lovely woman who had a relaxed and attentive manner, and made us feel very welcome.

The experience unfolded in a lovely and delightful way. Nico also had a great soundtrack with Flaming Lips and Radiohead in the background. We loved Nico and we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived there was no-one at the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

When we arrived there was no-one at the restaurant and we requested to have a table along the side of the restaurant. As we had reserved well in advance, it didn't seem a big request, but we were told they were all taken. After being seated, we were given menus that had the same information on both sides and the waitress was referring to the menu content that we didn't have. The explanation of the menu secrecy was very confusing as were the wine options. The waitress was pushing the wine pairings, but we didn't want to that. we weren't automatically brought a wine list - we had to ask for it. The wine we chose was not available even thought the wine list is not that extensive. The first two courses involved raw (or close to raw) seafood (oysters and squid), so tricky for those who don't like raw seafood. The chairs have no seat or back padding so they're not comfortable (one of the reasons we had wanted to sit on the side which includes upholstered seating). Clearly a lot of effort goes into the food preparation and there are some unusual flavors and presentations. Three of the dishes were excellent, particularly the dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Fantastic!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

A treat from beginning to end. I surpri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A treat from beginning to end. I surprised a friend who loved how the meal unfolded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food, but felt the wine p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We enjoyed the food, but felt the wine pairings left a bit to be desired. It tasted like the flavor was often sacrificed so that an obscure wine could be served rather than a vintage with wider circulation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We paired the 5 course tasting menu with ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We paired the 5 course tasting menu with the wine flight - expensive but made it a real treat. The beef and fish were excellent. Dessert was slightly oddly flavoured (beer sorbet and fennel)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.