About Nico

3228 Sacramento Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Nico presents a menu format similar to the French and European style of dining "carte blanche" (without a menu or blank menu). This menu style invites guests to put themselves in the hands of the kitchen and enjoy a dining experience.

We offer a $65 5-course tasting menu that changes nightly. Pairings to complement the nightly changing menu are priced at $55 for the 5-course menu. "Bites" and à la carte selections are offered at our small 5-6 seat bar.

In addition to the pairings, Nico offers a full wine list, nightly wines by the glass (half or full), low proof cocktails, a handful of beers, and non-alcoholic sodas. Corkage is $38/person.

**Please let us know of any dietary restrictions when you reserve so that we may properly prepare for your party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday. Reservations are accepted 5:30pm-9:30pm.

Nico will be closed for a week in the Winter and two weeks the Summer each year. The 2016 Winter closure dates are January 1 - January 10.

Cross Street:
Lyon Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 359-1000

Website:
http://www.nicosf.com/

Public Transit:
Muni Lines: 1, 2, 3, 43.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Delaroque

Private Party Facilities:
The Maple Room at Nico, is our private dining room, named for it"s table that is crafted from a solid plank of maple and sits directly beneath a large skylight. The room accommodates 7-12 people comfortably, and is nestled away from both the main dining room as well as the kitchen, creating a truly private experience.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Presidio Heights ›

fit for foodies (79)
special occasion (63)
neighborhood gem (60)
See All
romantic (47)
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We are traveling from Atlanta and picked ...

Dined 5 days ago

We are traveling from Atlanta and picked Nico based on proximity to our hotel in Pacific Heights and of course, based on reviews. It did not disappoint. We loved how they offer a glass of different champagne nightly depending on what magnum they open. We chose to start there and had the most amazing brut rose champagne. Their bread and raw butter was absolutely divine. We paired our five courses with wine and I feel that is a must in order to truly highlight the already exceptional taste of the plates. Every dish and every wine was amazing. The wait staff and somm all did a wonderful job explaining every dish and wine. The somm spent extended time with my wine-industry fiancé and answered all of his questions politely and in detail. One of the wines poured was from 1982 - they did not hold back on the quality of what they were pouring. As for the food, to list it much more simply than it actually was: we were served a beet/berry based cold soup, abalone, king salmon, seared lamb, and a nectarine/white chocolate dessert. Each plate was layered, complex in flavors and absolutely stunning in presentation. Every bite left you wanting more but yet so satisfied with what you had. It was incredible. I completely disagree with other reviews that have said the portion sizes are too small - we did not leave hungry in any sense - but maybe eat the (amazing) bread and butter first to get a little more in your stomach before you start. :) We would 100% come back on our next visit to SF.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Beautifully plated, Interesting food com ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautifully plated, Interesting food combinations, some more successful than others. For adventurous omnivores. Dining area can get loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful meal we had. Twice. Obv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful meal we had. Twice. Obviously, as a Michelin-starred restaurant, the food was expected to be good, but Nico not only perfectly executes each dish, the flavor combinations are also always intriguing and not at all pretentious. That applies to the whole restaurant and staff. Warm, friendly, knowledgeable and a complete lack of pretension, making their patrons feel welcome and that combination makes for a wonderful dining experience. Add to that an amazing wine list with its share of wonderfully eclectic wines as well, all while being almost ridiculously reasonable in its pricing, given the selection, and you have the perfect dining spot. Well done, Nico, Maz and team!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

High-concept food executed badly. Absolu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

High-concept food executed badly. Absolutely not worth the value.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a cost effective mecca for foodi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a cost effective mecca for foodies. Each course was a touch out of my comfort zone, but I ended up enjoying every single bite! The food was more of a journey than a meal. The meal consisted of gorgeous platings of salmon, squid, halibut, duck and an incredible ice cream to serve as the finale. Each night is a different chef menu. We enjoyed not knowing what was coming. The service was also excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Really hate for too many folks to find o ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Really hate for too many folks to find out this may be best restaurant in SF. Then reservations will be impossible

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nico deserves acclaim

Dined on June 5, 2016

The experience was wonderful from beginning to end. The ambiance was very inviting with a modern French countryside aesthetic to the decor. As our table was not ready, we waited at the small bar where we ordered one of the house cocktails, which was delicious and refreshing. Once we were seated, our waiter arrived to guide us through the experience, and since the menu consists of a nightly 5-course tasting menu, he exquisitely explained each course as it arrived and also greatly enriched our experience with descriptions of the wine pairings. Each course left a stellar impression on us - especially a baked, brined snapper with mission figs and turnips, topped with mint; and the basil sorbet and custard with pistachios and meringue. Since the total price for the tasting menu and wine pairing was $130 ($65 and $65), we felt it was a more than reasonable price for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic Evening

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We opened with fresh oysters and a farmhouse ale, then followed with the 5 course menu - sight unseen - with pairings. The fish course was beyond excellent, and the dessert was magical. Everything else was superb. Go! Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Not good

Dined on June 3, 2016

The concept of using inexpensive produce to create a creative, interesting and fairly affordable five course meal is a good one, unfortunately at Nico the execution is not on par. The urge to come up with something different and modern leaves flavor and balance out of the equation. There seems to be little concern for contrasting textures, temperatures and the tasting experience overall. A fix menu carries a responsibility towards the guest, I'm afraid this responsibility is not taken seriously enough at Nico.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, fresh and seasonal. The ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent food, fresh and seasonal. The restaurant is simply beautiful and very cosy. The service is impeccable! Bravo Nico!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our dinner! We had some picky eate ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Loved our dinner! We had some picky eaters with difficult diets and they were extremely accommodating.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Innovative, daring combinations of flavo ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Innovative, daring combinations of flavors, refined and meticulous presentation, warm and charming staff. Set menu is best for omnivores.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Piece of Paris in SF

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was really a nice place, worth visiting it. And indeed they deserved Michelin star they have now) the portions are quite small ( you won't put on weight after the dinner in this place) but very delicious . We also took wine pairing - this was really nice and well matched the dishes. Would definitely go there again once in SF

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

We thoroughly enjoyed the special 5 cour ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the special 5 course James Beard tasting menu. Also the sourdough bread was delicious and so fresh. Our server was quick to satisfy our request to slow the pace so we could enjoy a few minutes between courses to savor the flavors and appreciate the artful presentation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Imaginative food

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food here for a neighborhood restaurant is fantastic! Nico has the right price point and the right blend of service and ambiance to make it feel like a place you could go to everyday. Keep up the great work!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining here is always special!

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We love the 5-course set menu which is different everyday. We've been here six times since it opened and we have never had any repeats, which means we've had 30 different courses. Each dish, besides being amazing, is so well thought out in terms of ingredients, taste, texture and presentation we always come away with accolades from our guests. The service is top-notch, the ambiance is just perfect and the price is affordable. This has to be the best restaurant in SF where we have so many from which to choose!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent with very fresh ingredients and simple but beautiful presentation. Service was great and our waitress was friendly and helpful and explained each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great wine, great service, great value

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We went for the first time for my husband's birthday, and we had a wonderful experience. I had read some reviews that had complained that the service was cold/aloof, but our server had started a month ago, and she was warm , informed, and down-to-earth. The fixed price meal is a great deal with unusual, innovative dishes. The wine pairing seemed pricey comparatively, but well worth it -- wines were unusual and well paired. It was also a pleasure to experience a quiet restaurant where we could actually relax and talk and hear each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great neighborhood spot

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Thursday evening dinner. Great service. Food was very good. Five courses -- three were fantastic. Two were good. Bread needs some improvement... Wine pairing was excellent, as was the service. Overall, a great local place for a date or date-night with your spouse.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef's Surprise

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Imagine walking into a top restaurant without knowing what's on the menu except the culinary machinations of a superb chef! That's Nico. The food was simply great, although not copious. The menu evidently changes every night, so there is no reason to highlight what we ate, since you probably won't get it. One caution: avoid the wine pairing with the food. Since the portions are smaller than usual, the wine pairings are not, offering the possibility of being "over served." We loved this concept and would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic place to dine. Refreshing conc ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Fantastic place to dine. Refreshing concept with superb preparation of each dish and excellent presentation. Spot-on wine pairing and impeccable service. Our best meal in a very long time. We have found our new SF favorite!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 13, 2016

Once again, a great dining experience. The prix fixe menu is a fantastic assortment of what's available and in season. For example, one of the dishes included fresh, local dungeness crab that followed the opening of crab season. The combination of flavors included in each course is astonishing. I'm always left wondering how Nico and his team concoct these combinations. The courses also smoothly build upon and complement each other. We did not order the wine pairings. We did, however, enjoy an excellent bottle of a French Gamay recommended by our French waiter. The wine was a perfect complement to our course servings of crab, halibut, mushrooms, pork belly, asparagus, and steak. The collaborative service of the staff was impeccable. It's like eating in a fine bistro in Paris.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time better and better

Dined on April 7, 2016

We've eaten at some of the best restaurants in the country, and Nico stands up among them, in quality, in service, in ambiance. We don't even bother to look at the menu anymore; we order the carte blanche five course dinner, and let every course be a surprise. We have not been disappointed even slightly; all the dishes are simultaneously innovative and comfortable. We book there every time we visit San Francisco.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very elaborately cooked & prepared dishe ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Very elaborately cooked & prepared dishes. Great value for a nice set of 5 course meal. Chefs and serving staff know what they are doing. Had enjoyable dinner!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great, innovative food at very reasonabl ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Great, innovative food at very reasonable price. Super wine list. Service is outstanding. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

This place is an oasis! We haven't had food this outstanding since we left Sydney 18 months ago....exquisite flavors and attentive service. We will now be regulars!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding attention to detail!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We love the blind tasting menu and unique combination of ingredients which are only enhanced by the wine pairing. A fantastic experiences for foodies!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Place

Dined on March 26, 2016

I would highly recommend Nico to anyone. We will be going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service.

Dined on March 20, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the 5 course fixed price dinner with wine pairings. Each course was outstanding, and the wines were interesting and good matches for the food. We definitely want to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice surprise

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Not sure what I expected from a five-course carte blanche (chef's choice) but what I ate last week exceeded all expectations. Each course was delicious, well-timed, and not too big. We had asparagus w/avocado to start; omelette with fresh herbs; beautiful fish and whether it was sea bass or what I cannot remember. Followed by rare lamb with tapneade and chocolate mousse dessert. Delicious. That you can get that much love and detail and imagination on a plate -- five plates -- for $65 is a marvel. Ambiance: lovely and spare. Nice lighting. I checked the "moderate" box above but It got a little loud for a while there. Dialing down the music just a bit would be an improvement. But I'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nico: Remarkable place for dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

Nico's daily changing tasting menu makes it a unique experience. Each course, while small enough to allow for a 5-course meal, is a work of art on the plate. The chef's ability to create unusual combinations is remarkable and showcases superb creativity. How does he do it? The wine pairing is also a stunning opportunity to experience wines that are not the usual fare. For e example, one dessert was paired with sparkling sake; I never knew sake could sparkle. The atmosphere for such dining excellence is casual and fun. The servers are helpful and knowledgeable about the food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing. Really creative menu a ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was amazing. Really creative menu and excellent wine pairings. The prices are reasonable so long as you don't order the champagne from the magnum - which will significantly alter your budget. Very knowledgable and friendly staff, management and owners. Chef came to our table and talked with us as did his partner. We'll back. No kids (didn't take them the first time).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu Change

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

I am troubled by the decision to eliminate the 3 course tasting menu with the choice of only the 5 course tasting menu. We have now been to Nico at least 4 times and have enjoyed it immensely. But the reality is that, with rare exceptions, the 5 course meal is just too much food, and too expensive, especially if one does the pairing -- which we like to do.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just heavenly!!

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Nico has a new monthly vegetable-inspired dinner series, appropriately titled "The Art of Seasonal Produce". The artistry is evident in everyone of the 5 courses we had. It was creative beyond our imagination even though we were four 'foodies'. The delicious combinations of tastes and textures in each dish were beautiful and unique. The first was Fennel, tea tendrils, oro blanco, white chocolate with roe. The second was little red potatoes slices, spring onion slices with stripes of beaufort cheese sauce on top. It was an exquisite work of modern art that tasted out of this world. As the 3rd and 4th courses came, they became more and more elaborate preparations. They were all fantastic. The wild mushrooms with nettle, vin jaune and lardo was to die for. By the time the dessert came, our vocabulary became just single syllables of appreciation and enjoyment. It is no wonder Nico has a Michelin star after being in business for only 2 years. We really appreciate that Nico is able to keep the prices affordable, at $55 for the 5-course seasonal vegetable menu. I should mention that their daily 5-course menu is $65.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artfully prepared vegan meal

Dined on March 3, 2016

First Wednesdays of the month are vegetarian-based. The chef, however, created a lovely vegan gluten-free 5-course meal for me and printed up a special menu. $55 prix fixe. Outstanding! The service was impeccable. Already booked again for next month. Can't wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Absolutely Delightful!

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Every one of our five courses was imaginative and creative, each dish was a delicious mix of tastes, colors and textures, each was also a delight for the eyes!! This has to be the most beautiful dinner in the whole city for such a reasonable price. We have already recommended Nico to many friends who share our enthusiasm.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECTION

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Outstanding. Creative. Sophisticated. Artistry. Perhaps the best in San Francisco. I am reluctant to recommend it so highly only because I fear I won't be able to get a reservation when I want it. Easily in the top 10% of the finest restaurants I have dined throughout the world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent nuanced cuisine with perfect w ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent nuanced cuisine with perfect wine pairings in a warm, neighborhood setting. The staff are warm and friendly with everyone participating, sharing the same gusto. Nico's cuisine is so nuanced - a journey of flavors to truly savor and take your time to experience as they unfold. Maz is a wizard with wine pairings...when going carte blanche, it is the best adventure - the wine whets the palate, then the food enters - causing a spiral of flavors, culminating in a transformation of both. A great example of how subtle curated flavors can be just as impactful as the current trend of bold and intense flavors...

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A wonder dining experience, lovely beef ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

A wonder dining experience, lovely beef tongue, crab bisque with carrot, snapper, pork and dessert. Limited cocktail options but a full wine list. The only off note is the GM/Wine Director, not personable, kind of aloof, a marked difference to the other staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful surprise in a randomly picked restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

The tasting menu my fiancée and I had was a 6 course Valentine's day special with wine tasting. I was surprised to hear that most of the pairings with the food were whites. This made sense as the menu unfolded and several seafood dishes appeared. The whites chosen matched the dishes very well which ranged from poached oyster to black cod to an onion tarte. Slices of New York strip were paired with the only red while a bubbly sake paired with a light dessert which included candied beets (I would provide more details but the wine pairing was doing its job by then). Guillaume was our server and provided a nice energetic but casual feel. I felt that the staff was a bit in a state of chaos at times but it was still a wonderful experience and we will go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.