About Nico

3228 Sacramento Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Nico presents a menu format similar to the French and European style of dining "carte blanche" (without a menu or blank menu). This menu style invites guests to put themselves in the hands of the kitchen and enjoy a dining experience.

We offer a $70 5-course tasting menu that changes nightly. Pairings to complement the nightly changing menu are priced at $55 for the 5-course menu. "Bites" and à la carte selections are offered at our small 5-6 seat bar.

In addition to the pairings, Nico offers a full wine list, nightly wines by the glass (half or full), low proof cocktails, a handful of beers, and non-alcoholic sodas. Corkage is $40.

**Please let us know of any dietary restrictions when you reserve so that we may properly prepare for your party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday. Reservations are accepted 5:30pm-9:30pm.

Nico will be closed for a week in the Winter and two weeks the Summer each year. The 2016 Winter closure dates are January 1 - January 10.

Cross Street:
Lyon Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 359-1000

Website:
http://www.nicosf.com/

Public Transit:
Muni Lines: 1, 2, 3, 43.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Delaroque

Private Party Facilities:
The Maple Room at Nico, is our private dining room, named for it"s table that is crafted from a solid plank of maple and sits directly beneath a large skylight. The room accommodates 7-12 people comfortably, and is nestled away from both the main dining room as well as the kitchen, creating a truly private experience.

Additional:
Banquet, Private Room, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in 2017 at Nico! We will offer a 6 course prix fixe menu at $90 with optional wine pairings (standard - $75 or premium - $85). Please let us know of any allergies or dietary restrictions so that we may properly prepare. Thank you!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good restaurant for birthday party

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good restaurant for birthday party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seating was uncomfortable the service sl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Seating was uncomfortable the service slow the food half cooked. One of the most disagreeable dining experiences I have had in a long time. Fixed menu was poorly conceived and would not suit everyone. In our case no one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Complex cuisine which is usually delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Complex cuisine which is usually delicious. Dessert was a bit over complicated. Superior service & ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tremendous food and very creative. Not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Tremendous food and very creative. Not an experience like any other. Very unique. I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a unique tasting experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always! The food here is just ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing as always! The food here is just so i imaginative that we keep coming back! Just exquisite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nico has a lovely atmosphere that isn't ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Nico has a lovely atmosphere that isn't too loud. All food and wine pairings were creative, beautiful and delicious. I was hoping for a mind-blowing meal or at least one mind-blowing dish for that much money and was slightly disappointed that I was merely pleased and not on another planet at any point. Maybe my palette isn't sophisticated enough for the intricate flavors. Maybe the concept of a different menu everyday trumps a singular mind-blowing experience. For me, I'd rather a dish transport me. Instead I remained firmly seated (and I do mean firmly on those wooden chairs) in a beautiful restaurant in a lovely part of SF.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I had heard that this was a great restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had heard that this was a great restaurant but our experience was rather negative. The music was electro/rock, too loud and definitely did not enhance the dining experience, though it may have entertained the staff. The 5-course prix fixe was an odd choice of extremely bitter, undercooked root vegetables. Only the pork was tender with interesting accompaniments but it was also undercooked. Palate cleansing sherbert was followed by dessert with sherbert. Wierd. The maitre d' brought my coat but didn't help me on with it. In light of all this, Nico is also overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Wonderful staff and fantastic food and p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful staff and fantastic food and pairings. Impeccable.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in sf. De ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in sf.

Definitely the concept of having one menu per day gives a fantastic approach to shine in the experience they offer.

I always leave super happy from Nico SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. There were two reall ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was very good. There were two really standout courses in our pre-fixe. The pacing was a bit off as we waited quite a while before receiving our 1st course and in between our 2nd and 3rd course. Once there were people waiting, the 4th and 5th courses felt more rushed. Overall a good dining experience though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

michelin star is well deserved. excellen ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

michelin star is well deserved.

excellent and interesting tasting menu.

wine pairings amazing.

service was outstanding.

will definitely be back again to celebrate other important moments in our lives.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Nico's. We were asked about allergies, and food preferences ahead of time, and when we came in, they linked those to us. My daughter was pregnant, so they cooked her meat well, and prepared an alternative to the raw shrimp dish that was served to everyone else. The fish dish and the pork were divine. The dessert with the mushroom base was strange. The drinks were innovative and delicious. The explanations of each of the courses was appreciated: it was an education for foodies! Thank you for an adventurous (you don't know what will be served) and delicious evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. All vegetables in those 5 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

It was great. All vegetables in those 5 courses. Exquisite

Highly recommended

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is my old "hood." I love the Pacifi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is my old "hood." I love the Pacific Heights ambiance despite horrible parking.

Beautifully appointed, great ambiance, not crowded and terrific service.

I'm not a real, natural fan of a multi-portion of small meals, but it seemed to work.

I need to go back with my wife to re her more expert opinion

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the inventive cuisine, but what ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyed the inventive cuisine, but what really stood out was the wine paring - best I've ever had. Great dinner with friends - service was attentive without being intrusive - over all, a fantastic experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I didn't understand how this place has a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I didn't understand how this place has a Micheline Star but be 3/4 full on a Friday night.

Price fix menu and thus the food was interesting, the best duck I be ever had. Fish was served raw - not a big fan - was not cooked. Dessert was fantastic. Service was fantastic.

My date and I left hungry, he said main calories was from the bread. Large staff : large overhead ...

Keeping my fingers crossed for them/ they seem nice I hope they can continue their success . My experience was kinda weird but good at the same time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Tasty! If Nico has more kinds food of me ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Tasty! If Nico has more kinds food of menu will be more better, because the tasting menu not enough to me haha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly, this place has lost most of it's ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Sadly, this place has lost most of it's charm from it's early days. I don't think they understood why people loved them so much.

Nico's used to be a neighborhood place with the quality and integrity of a tasting/pairing menu, but the casualness of a-la-carte ordering. To be clear, this is not a price point issue thing.

I've never been to a restaurant which was recently awarded a Michelin star that has gotten LESS busy + has tons of tables open on Wednesday night. As a point of contrast, getting into Octavia and Wako are now impossible!

Lastly, menus that change significantly day-to-day mean the staff doesn't know what's being served, and worse, the kitchen produced a couple winners and some definite losers. I am 100% onboard with seasonal cooking, but a little consistency might go along way towards achieving excellence.

I'd eat 2-3 times a month at the Nico I remember from their first 6 months open. Please bring that one back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Took my wife to Nico for her birthday. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Took my wife to Nico for her birthday. She's vegetarian so I was a bit worried about the options but she loved each and every dish. My dishes were incredible as well and we loved the ambiance, service, and food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food great!.. Wine pairing needs some wo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food great!.. Wine pairing needs some work... too many white and not enough of the red. Overall very good just not superbly amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had a friend who unfortunately took il ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had a friend who unfortunately took ill prior to the third course and the staff was very accommodating, charging us a reasonable amount for the dinner up to that point. I look forward to eating an actual entree there in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience and highly recommen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fantastic Experience and highly recommend checking this place out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, great presentation, plea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent food, great presentation, pleasant services!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every course was delicious and unique! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Every course was delicious and unique! The salmon was so tender; the beef so tender,

the foie gras in soup wonderful. We were delighted. Our first time and we will go back!

Dessert was heavenly. What a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Nico's menu is creative, light and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Chef Nico's menu is creative, light and modern. He succeeded in transforming simple ingredients into colorful, imaginative dishes with layers of flavors which harmonize so well. The peach and red pepper in a Steelhead trout bouillon with a pop of roe was my favorite dish of the evening. The halibut in the next dish was cooked to perfection. The dining room was convivial with an energetic vibe and Emily, our server, was delightful. We would have to knit-pick to find a negative thing to say! Bravo, Nicolas and team!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing as always! The team here always ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing as always! The team here always deliver an amazing experience. Superb service which was provided at the pace we requested. Exceptional dishes which never cease to be outstanding and innovative. Love it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible. I'd go back here ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Absolutely incredible. I'd go back here again and again. Chef Nico is a genuious. You'll leave pleasantly full but not overly stuffed or ravenous. The wine pairings were also an incredible compliment, pairing wine I'd rarely order with incredibly fresh food for an unforgettable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best places in SF.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the best places in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting combination and flavours of ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Interesting combination and flavours of food. Excellent service and reasonably priced tasting menu as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time at Nico and it ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was our second time at Nico and it was even more amazing. We had the tasting menu with paired wines. Each course was presented with a fine art flair that matched the exquisite and sensitive balance of flavor, texture, color, freshness and pleasure. Nico presents one culinary masterpiece after another by letting the best qualities of the course's primary element (fruit, vegetable, fish or fowl; we didn't have red meat) bloom with the fusion of spices and other ingredients. Our service was exceptionally professional with a lot of fun conversation, information and interplay thrown in. What a perfect evening! With modest pricing, what a great value!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was their monthly vegetarian menu. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

This was their monthly vegetarian menu. Great for those who are vegetarian! If you like good hearty protein skip their monthly veggie dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Would have had 4th course be red meat ra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Would have had 4th course be red meat rather than chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Prix Fixe dinner with excellent wine pai ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Prix Fixe dinner with excellent wine pairings. We especially liked the sake with the fish course. We had two diners with food allergies and they were accommodated quite well. The pace is a bit leisurely, but not slow. And at $65, it is an excellent value.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A regrettable mistake occurred: i though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A regrettable mistake occurred: i thought I made reservations at an entirely different restaurant.

We realized this quickly upon our arrival but we had tickets for Beautiful so didn't think we could leave, go somewhere else, and not be late for the show. The waitstaff was great - they were gracious and tried to be accommodating. I do not want to downgrade the food in any way as it was beautifully presented, but the fact is I don't like most of my food raw or severely undercooked, I don't care for the odd flavor combinations, and since consistency is a very important part of my food enjoyment, I simply could not enjoy any of the offerings. We went with another couple who did enjoy the first and third course out of a five course offering. While they don't have a bar, they do offer a variety of drinks and wine. Again, I thought the wine list was skimpy and maybe a bit odd (we are all from the Napa Valley) and the drink ingredients offered a strange combination of flavors as well. It seemed like a restaurant that was trying too hard to be edgy, use sustainable ingredients and be "new wave" all at once but that may be an unfair assessment.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Perfection

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nico has by now become our favorite rest ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Nico has by now become our favorite restaurant in San Francisco. While they always strive to accommodate the dietary limitations or food allergies of guests, the carte blanche offerings are consistently creative, surprising, and simply delicious. The wait staff is professional, attentive, helpful, and superbly well trained. The wine pairings are often as surprising, creative and good as the food. We loved speaking with sommelier about a couple. While the prices have gone up since they first opened, Nico remains a very good value for such high quality cuisine, and deserves to be called something far more than a "neighborhood gem." People should be willing to travel to find a dining experience this extraordinary.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food, and great service! Very ea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Awesome food, and great service! Very easy to like for every taste bud. Loved the excitement before every course, as we chose not to have the waiter tell us in advance what the menu was.

The only strange thing was the weird rock music that was playing in restaurant. Didn't mind it too much, but it just seemed out of place.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great neighborhood gem with all the amen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great neighborhood gem with all the amenities - service, setting, food and drink were amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No place I have ever found delivers food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

No place I have ever found delivers food prepared at this level for such a modest price in a casual environment. Staff are well trained professionals but not robotic like so many places. They know the food preparations and the wine pairings. One of those places you are afraid to praise too much because it will soon be an impossible reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful wait staff Nice ambiance Food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Wonderful wait staff

Nice ambiance

Food had interesting combinations

Great sangria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.