About Nico Osteria

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL
Nico Osteria, Chicago, IL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

Fit for Foodies (77)
Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Hot Spot (35)
Modern Decor (33)
Notable Wine List (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (26)
People Watching (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Authentic (22)
Open Kitchen (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Business Meals (17)
Casual (16)
Fun (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Seasonal (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Family Style (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (0)
Sort By:
S
1100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nico was the perfect place for my family ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Nico was the perfect place for my family's Christmas celebration. From our aperitif in the lounge to dinner in the middle of everything, we had a wonderful evening night full of good laughs and great food. Thanks Nico for always being stellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the brussel sprout bruschetta. It's ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Try the brussel sprout bruschetta. It's awesome. The short rib was as good as I have had in long time as well.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 4th visit to Nico, always great. We' ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Our 4th visit to Nico, always great. We'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the chef counter. Such fun!! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We dined at the chef counter. Such fun!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stuffed pappardelle was amazing, drinks ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Stuffed pappardelle was amazing, drinks superb and service spot on. Crudo was a must-- as creative and 'crisp' as the best sushi. I wished I could go regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic as always. Never ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic as always. Never had a bad meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and service. Personable s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service. Personable staff. Very creative

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good for lunch Better menu at lunch ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Good for lunch

Better menu at lunch Had Caesar salad with flank steak. Very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Our waitress was perfect, knowledgeable, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Our waitress was perfect, knowledgeable, relaxed, great communicator. All food was outstanding: bruschetta, pastas, salads, seafood. Great wine, too. A delightful dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Sunday brunch menu!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice Sunday brunch menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Always amazing food! They never dissapoi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always amazing food! They never dissapoint. The grilled salad should win an award. I also had a scrambled egg that was made by angels in heaven.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some parts of the restaurant were unacce ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Some parts of the restaurant were unacceptably loud (next to a large table of about 10-15), but we were offered a different table (in the bar area) that was much quieter. The wait staff and the food were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service. We went for dinner an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service. We went for dinner and had the Lobster Spaghetti and the Calabrian Style Seafood in Brodo, both HIGHLY recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great drinks and a perfect C ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food, great drinks and a perfect Chicago location. Perfect place for a night out.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second visit..the first was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our second visit..the first was excellent. Food & service seriously declined. We still love the hotel but won't go back to the restaurant any time soon. There are so many good restaurants in the neighborhood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The thanksgiving menu was great! Food to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The thanksgiving menu was great! Food took a bit took long to come out though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tables are so close that you can easily ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Tables are so close that you can easily touch the folks sitting next to you. Piped music interferes with conversation and even hearing the server. It was Thanksgiving and we understood that our main course might be a little delayed. But being totally ignored by wait staff so that we had to leave the table to attract enough attention to order another glass of wine is inexcusable, especially when wait staff frequenting the computer ordering banks made no effort to attend to patrons just sitting there gazing into space. Food is good, but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Amazing service and wonderful menu for t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing service and wonderful menu for thanksgiving.-not easy to pull off on a holiday. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just had a fabulous Thanksgiving meal at ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Just had a fabulous Thanksgiving meal at Nico. Terrific food, fantastic service (thanks Brett!) and even a take-home pumpkin cake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to Nico Osteria for a solo Thanks ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I came to Nico Osteria for a solo Thanksgiving dinner. The atmosphere was welcoming and I enjoyed my service. I wasn't a huge fan of one of the dishes but overall my meal was a delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just about everything was perfect which ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Just about everything was perfect which is why I won't give them less stars. We got there earlier then expected and they were very nice in accommodating us. The food was excellent it always is compliments to the chef, but I must say the dessert area does not stand with the rest of NICO it was very poor quality. There hasn't been one time where we experienced a good dessert, every time we try a new dessert and it's not good. They need to bring in someone to assist them in getting the quality and taste right because so far the desserts are just not up to par with their great food. This last dessert we had was the pistachio and it tasted as if we were eating old cake that had been sitting way too long in the refrigerator.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friendly staff, greeted with a smile. Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Friendly staff, greeted with a smile. Thought I would try some place new, nice restaurant. Center middle tables are Very Close/literally next to each other. Cozy experience rubbing elbows with the other diners. Limited Brunch menu, small portions, Pricey! Our service was lack luster...poor. Disappointed, how long we waited for a refill cup of coffee. Unfortunately won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

My overall experience at Nico was amazin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My overall experience at Nico was amazing ! When I made a reservation I informed them that I would be celebrating an anniversary and they were so great about it. When we arrived they sat us immediately and brought us complimentary champagne. Our food arrived very quickly after we ordered and it was incredible. I had the squash glazed chicken and my boyfriend had the lobster spaghetti. Both were so delicious! Afterwards we ordered the chocolate torte for dessert and to our surprise they also brought out a 2nd complimentary pineapple dessert that was super good as well. I would highly recommend Nico to anyone celebrating an important event or even just for a fun date night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I love this restaurant, but that day, it ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I love this restaurant, but that day, it was off. The service was not very good. The server was slow to come to the table and forgot some things. Two pasta dishes didn't have their normal sauciness. They were somewhat dry. This has not happened before. It was just a bad day. It is a pricier restaurant, so it is harder to swallow off days.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Awesome food, great location, service wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Awesome food, great location, service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very much enjoyed my dining experience. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very much enjoyed my dining experience. I look forward to returning soon. The bar area was comfortable and lovely. The meal was wonderful. Our wait person was a doll, very helpful in explaining and recommending dishes. The restaurant has a chic yet comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait 30 minutes even with a reser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Had to wait 30 minutes even with a reservation

They "forgot" to check us in and many people who arrived later than us got their tables first.

Unfriendly and slow service at the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

All I can say is: AMAZING. Food was ou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

All I can say is: AMAZING. Food was outstanding, original, tasty, fresh... marvelous evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat at the chefs counter and it was a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We sat at the chefs counter and it was amazing! Superb past and an amazing whole branzino

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful service, food, and atmosphere. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

wonderful service, food, and atmosphere. a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at Nico half a dozen times ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I have eaten at Nico half a dozen times on trips to Chicago for work and to visit daughter. The food is excellent and have had only a few misses. The pastas are excellent and appetizers are at

times wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. I will say the start of o ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good. I will say the start of our experience was not that great. Did not feel very welcome by the hostess.

The dessert was average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to meet clients or prospects ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great place to meet clients or prospects for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet and eat. Been comin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great place to meet and eat. Been coming here for a while and it's nice to see the quality of the product and level of service remain so high. Try all the Crudos then move through this seafood centric menu, but don't miss the pastas, they are too good to miss.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite neighborhood restaurant. Gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My favorite neighborhood restaurant. Great food, good prices and wait staff are all professional and polite. Also one of few- - in triangle that is dog friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding as I would expect f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was outstanding as I would expect from any of Chef Kahan's One Off Hospitality restaurants. From appetizer to dessert, aperitif to digestif, everything was well crafted, well balanced and delicious. Sadly I cannot speak to the ambiance effectively- we sat very near the bar toward the front of the house, and it was a very late reservation- so our experience of the place was a bit more raucous than I would've liked for a romantic dinner for two. That said the food and spirits were delicious enough for me to look forward to my next experience, though perhaps at a slightly quieter portion of their restaurants.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome food - friendly staff and great ...

 
 (West Sussex)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Awesome food - friendly staff and great atmosphere. Go and enjoy now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I expected more out of an Italian restau ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I expected more out of an Italian restaurant. They brought out bread with just a small plane bowl of olive oil. Had to ask for cheese and it was very Bland. The water they brought to the table was warm and I'm just getting started.

The meal I ordered was brought to me, but missing shrimp. I explained this to my waiter who stated to me that they cut up the shrimp. Well I don't see any, look at my plate, do you? He stated no. I'll check for you. Then when he came back he told me that the kitchen said they put them in my meal.

So now that I'm a lier and apparently my waiter is blind, a manager was asked for, but never came to the table. Insted the waiter returned and stated he spoke with the manager ( because he or she was too busy to talk to a customer) that they would remove it from the bill and offered a dessert, but by this time we had to leave.

As for me, I'll never return to this restaurant. The food was fair at best, what I did eat of it, and I didn't appreciate the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Sat at the kitchen bar and was a great e ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Sat at the kitchen bar and was a great experience, the chefs there really know how to cook!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love just about any dish we order! Uniqu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love just about any dish we order! Unique vegetables (cauliflower, grilled gem salad), and entrees with really great sauces. Cocktails are good as well! Never disappointed when we dine here. Staff is very nice even though you may wait a while to be asked for your drink order. Once that happens, service is great.

This is definitely one of our "go to" spots, and a lovely restaurant to bring guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.