About Nico Osteria

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Modern Decor (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Open Kitchen (26)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Casual (19)
Business Meals (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
People Watching (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been here several times for lunch a ...

vip
 (Edinburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

I've been here several times for lunch and brunch and I love it! The food, the service, the atmosphere, the location are all stellar. I really like and appreciate that at least at lunch and brunch (can't speak for dinner time because I've never gone but would like to) it is quiet so you can have a conversation without having to lean forward to hear or shout to be heard. The staff is EXCELLENT and so good at making recommendations. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried the Chef's Selection Crudo. Servin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Tried the Chef's Selection Crudo. Servings were tiny, but very delicious. Olive bread dipped in olive oil was also amazing. Waiter was great, he made an excellent wine recommendation. We had the Ribeye Steak and Duck Sausage Mafalda with a side of crispy potatoes, all delicious. The Tiramisu dessert was a bit dry, but tasted very good. I would describe the restaurant itself as rustic with a modern feel. Will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a reservation for 6:30 on a Wedne ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation for 6:30 on a Wednesday and they sat us at the smallest table next to a large party when there were many other open tables available. At first I thought it was because it was two of us, but shortly after another table of two got a larger table next to us. Our waitress was nice but could have been more attentive, never asking us if we wanted additional drinks. Overall, it was fine but I left feeling hungry and was perturbed by being sat at such a small table at the wall when there were so many open slots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good brunch. Different from typica ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good brunch. Different from typical run of the mill brunch items. Hostess is very nice and accommodating as we like a booth by the window. Interesting wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I loved our meal and the seating staff. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I loved our meal and the seating staff. Our waiter was sweet but maybe left us alone too long between us asking for more time - and I don't think he was a good listener - we asked for a few things we never got - no matter - but I'm being picky. Thanks!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed everything about the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed everything about the experience. Only recommendation would to be spread tables out a little more. My girlfriend and I felt like we were sitting at the same table as the people sitting next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not good value for money. Small portion ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Not good value for money. Small portions and there was a communication problem on the cocktails and the drink after dinner was not correct

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Fantastic brunch and very attentive/aler ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic brunch and very attentive/alert service even though it was New Years day . The oatmeal is a hidden gem...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were packed in like sardines. I thou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were packed in like sardines. I thought I was going to have dinner with my wife, but the tables to the right and left of us were only 1 inch apart. I have business dinners and lunch meeting at Nico's, but this was not a great experience having dinner with complete strangers

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Took a friend here for lunch. Prices wer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Took a friend here for lunch. Prices were good, Italian donuts were amazing! There wasn't much of a crowd so we got a corner table. It's an eclectic atmosphere with marble siding and a wood-paneled ceiling.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our experience was impeccable. Everythin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our experience was impeccable. Everything we ordered was exquisite and delicious. Wonderful wine and our server Bitka was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dinner with our teen children. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious dinner with our teen children. Service was very good. Staff gave thorough answers to questions about menu items and also described food as it was delivered. Dining area is a bit tight, but noise level has sufficient conversational white noise so you don't feel like neighboring tables are part of your dinner conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meatballs were scrumptious. I had t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The meatballs were scrumptious. I had the Branzino, it was light, flaky , juicy and a fresh flavor. It is a generous portion. My husband had the stuffed Papperedelle. That was delicious, a warm comfort food flavor. Nico did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always great. Interesting menu a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food is always great. Interesting menu and knowledgeable wait staff. The noise level is loud, especially if you are seated at two top tables that are side-by-side. For that reason, I requested a table by the window in my opentable reservation. However, when my guest and I arrived, the hostess started to seat us at the side-by-side tables for two that I trying to avoid. Fortunately, there was an available table by the window

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the few Chicago restaurants that ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

One of the few Chicago restaurants that do fish well.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had Christmas Eve Feast of Seven Fish ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had Christmas Eve Feast of Seven Fishes. With a tab of almost $800 for 4, I would have expected the food to be, overall, better and the service also. This is not to say I was disappointed just not "wowed." And for that bill, I would prefer wow.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

My wife and I dined at Nico Osteria on C ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I dined at Nico Osteria on Christmas eve and ordered the Feast of the Seven Fishes. We found the service, the wine and the ambiance to be first rate. Our server was very knowledgeable and helped me pick out a very nice wine (2014 Occhipinti Frappato). Every course, from the crudo to the dolci, were absolutely delicious. The mood in the restaurant was very festive. I cannot remember the last time I enjoyed a meal this much. My wife and I now have a new Christmas eve tradition. Once the word gets out, you'll have to make your Christmas eve reservation by July 4th to get a table.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seven fish dinner was superb. Their win ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Seven fish dinner was superb. Their wine list is excellent and the service was impeccable.

We will go back with friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing! Truly amazing!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing! Truly amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is consistently wonderful, no m ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is consistently wonderful, no matter what you order. Some of the best food I've ever eaten. Expensive, and worth it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We always love the food, and service!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We always love the food, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably the best food I've had ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was probably the best food I've had at a restaurant in a long time. The crudo was fabulous (it melts in your mouth). The meatballs were delicious. All the other seafood dishes we got were amazing. Our server was so helpful.

It was our first time there and we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have had excellent meals at Nico althoug ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Have had excellent meals at Nico although there is inconsistency in the cooking quality. For instance calamari over charred and chicken over cooked. The gem salad was under seasoned and over cooked as well. That said I really enjoy the restaurant and will continue try in hopes that I land on a "good" day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The prices are high for comparible resta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The prices are high for comparible restaurants. The pasta was excellent. The fish was average. Apps just OK. Tables in center stacked far too close together, impossible to have private conversation. Drink Portions smaller than comparible restaurants. Service was very good.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

This was our first time here. I was a li ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our first time here. I was a little concerned after having read a few less than stellar reviews. However we decided to keep our reservation and am so glad we did. Let me address a couple recent complaints from others. First it is not a quiet restaurant but never were we bothered by others conversation. Secondly, every staff person was excellent. Truly so! There were not numerous people bothering us or telling us the same information. The staff was attentive but not over bearing. Our waters and wine refilled appropriately. No one cleared a plate until we were both done with our meals. Wonderful food. We had the crispy chicken and Dover sole for main entrees. Delicious!! We shared the delectable beet salad as a starter. The wine list is an impressive selection of Italian delights. This is a charming restaurant with great food and service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fabulous but the seating wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was fabulous but the seating was disappointing. We were so close to the next table that we could hear every word. We were practically sitting together. The frustrating part was that there were many other tables for 2 and year we were sat next to another couple and then a 3rd couple was seated next to us when we could have been spread out. We wouldn't go back even though the food was fabulous. We got to hear about the unhappy marriage of our nearby diners. Not pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Excellent food and service. They have an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. They have an excellent Italian wine list with a broad range of prices. Their selection from the Piedmont region is particularly good. This was our second meal there and we've had a great experience each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was not memorable - perhaps expecta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was not memorable - perhaps expectations were high considering this is top 10 and there are other Italian favourites we skipped to try Nico. Service was either too enthusiastic (greeter kept asking how we were and usher kept trying to clear our table) or too muted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Delicious dinner! Would have preferred t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Delicious dinner! Would have preferred that most of the food did not come out at the same time. Better coursing would have been great. Service was pretty good otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I really don't see the fascination with ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I really don't see the fascination with this restaurant. Ate there on Sunday evening with another couple. On the OpenTable reservation, I requested a quiet table - they sat us in a booth right next to their credit card receipt printer (despite the restaurant being 20% full). I reqested a quieter location so they moved us to a corner booth. We ordered the $15/pp chef's tasting of four different fish for the the table to share . For a total of $60, each of us literally got four slices (2" x 1/4") of fish. Very fresh, but not even enough to satisfy my great-aunt's kitten. We ordered these entrees: short ribs (delicious), stuffed pappardelle (miniscule portion) & beef tongue (again tiny). The short ribs were the lowest-priced of these entrees at $28. All the desserts were $12. The tiramisu was the strangest I have ever eaten - it had a dry hard crust - like an igloo covered in choclate powder. Strange & NOT tasty. The atmosphere was particularly special - more like an overpriced deli. As you can tell, I really believe this place is way over-hyped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

What a great meal Exceptional

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

What a great meal

Exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would have preferred a booth, 2 tops in ...

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Would have preferred a booth, 2 tops in the middle are a little tight. Great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and atmosphere is great. Try to go ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food and atmosphere is great. Try to go for lunch every year when we are in Chicago. Great atmosphere and great food. A little disappointed this year that they didn't have the Prix fixe lunch. Still great though.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nico was the perfect place for my family ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Nico was the perfect place for my family's Christmas celebration. From our aperitif in the lounge to dinner in the middle of everything, we had a wonderful evening night full of good laughs and great food. Thanks Nico for always being stellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the brussel sprout bruschetta. It's ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Try the brussel sprout bruschetta. It's awesome. The short rib was as good as I have had in long time as well.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 4th visit to Nico, always great. We' ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our 4th visit to Nico, always great. We'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the chef counter. Such fun!! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We dined at the chef counter. Such fun!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! We shared several items on the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved it!

We shared several items on the menu and I can't wait to go back. Our waiter was very helpful with his recommendations and they were all quite good! There is outdoor seating in the summer months for great people watching on a busy corner. Looking forward to dining again soon.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stuffed pappardelle was amazing, drinks ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Stuffed pappardelle was amazing, drinks superb and service spot on. Crudo was a must-- as creative and 'crisp' as the best sushi. I wished I could go regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic as always. Never ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food was fantastic as always. Never had a bad meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.