About Nico Osteria

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 11:30AM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 10:00AM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

Fit for Foodies (123)
Special Occasion (100)
Great for Outdoor Dining (73)
See All
Hot Spot (63)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Romantic (47)
Notable Wine List (46)
Great for Lunch (38)
Good for Groups (37)
Great for Brunch (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Good for a Date (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
People Watching (14)
Scenic View (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this place! My favorite for speci ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love this place! My favorite for special occasions. Brett was our server, and he was fantastic!

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best time, great food, attent ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had the best time, great food, attentive service and a lovely window table providing a fun view watching the pedestrians. Started off with cocktails and an appetizer; then a nice bottle of bold red wine recommended by our waiter. Side veggie dishes were gourmet and delicious. Entrees were chef-prepared and the finale included a variety of dessert liqueurs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the wait st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was outstanding and the wait staff was attentive without being intrusive The whole branzino alone was worth the trip. Definitely would recommend that you eat "family style" so that you can enjoy all the tastes from the menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is fantastic. Every bit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

This restaurant is fantastic. Every bite we had was delicious! Thank you to the Nico Osteria team for an outstanding meal, for the brilliant service, and for making our anniversary dinner amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and we were se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The service was excellent and we were seated right away. They gave us a complimentary bread but included it in the bill. Later they revised the bill. Also, I ordered the salmon. The portion was very small for the price and the fish was under cooked/ raw.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything regarding Nico Oseteria ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved everything regarding Nico Oseteria. Cocktails were superb, food was wonderful and the service was second to none. We will be back the next time in Chicago.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the Crudo -- all of them. Had stuf ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Get the Crudo -- all of them. Had stuffed parpadelle - was innovative and delicious. Rest of table raved about their meal as well. Would return in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful but the service w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was wonderful but the service was slow and choppy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been to Nico numerous times. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We have been to Nico numerous times. They never disappoint. The menu changes on a regular basis albeit a few mainstays (the brussel sprout bruschetta is NOT to be missed!). Everything is always presented beautifully, served at appropriate temperature and absolutely delicious. Our server, while lovely and personable, dropped the ball at bit the end of the evening, otherwise would have given 5 stars on all fronts. Go! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always nice - from service to food. Brea ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always nice - from service to food. Breakfast alfresco on a summery morning is the best on Rush Street.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch. Good choice if in the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Wonderful brunch. Good choice if in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My new fav spot hands down! Love the liv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My new fav spot hands down! Love the lively atmosphere and the layout of the Restauraunt! From the bar, to a cozy conversation on the suede couches, to fabulous dining, this Restauraunt has got to be on my top 10 list!!! Always a wonderful experience! Oh and did I mention they're fish is phenomenal ?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were amazing! We ma ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were amazing! We made a reservation, but they sat us by the bar. Kinda wished we sat more in the restaurant area since we were a little dressed up. People were in very casual clothing at the "bar" seating. Also, there was a hair in my food, but our waitress took care of it right away and gave us each an extra glass of wine to make up for the mix up. I also did get hit in the head by another server, but he was very apologetic! Overall though, the food is always amazing, the staff is always attentive and kind!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Asked for a table near window and only w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Asked for a table near window and only when I got to the restaurant did they inform us that there were no tables for 2 near windows. Extremely loud and back ground music did not help. Food seemed expensive and not worth the price . We asked for well cooked food and they kept serving us the same undercooked dish. It was extremely busy but had more of a cafeteria feeling and not the ambiance you want for such a expensive restaurant. Out side table seemed better but non available. My chicken was warm and not hot when arrived. Tasteless .

We would not recommend this restaurant unless for lunch or people watching with a drink.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Knowledgable staff; smooth service.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Knowledgable staff; smooth service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The Brussels Sprouts bruschetta was supe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The Brussels Sprouts bruschetta was superb. Good overall is amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service, sat on patio. Server was

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great service, sat on patio. Server was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

It was our first time at Nico's and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was our first time at Nico's and the food and service were wonderful. Brett, our server was friendly, accommodating and made our experience absolutely wonderful. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Fish and Italian. Service was fri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great Fish and Italian. Service was friendly and the servers were well educated

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, I thought the food at the resta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall, I thought the food at the restaurant was quite good. Unfortunately, the service was notably poor. Our waitress was pleasant enough, but things just seemed chaotic and there was a lack of communication between her and the other service staff. First there was a delay with our wine. When we ordered our dishes, we each ordered an appetizer, we ordered one pasta to share, and then we ordered a steak entree to share. Our waitress asked when we ordered if we wanted the pasta and steak to come together, or as separate courses. We said we wanted them as separate courses - first the pasta as the second course following the apps, and then the steak as the third course. When we were about two minutes into our appetizer course, our steak entree suddenly appeared. It was very odd. We told a surprised busboy that it was our third course, he looked surprised and walked away. In the meantime, I requested fresh ground pepper with my pasta course when they first brought it to the table, and no one ever brought it. Then when our steak did come out as planned, it tasted good enough, but was not even the slightest bit warm. Not even a hint of heat, it was room temperature. Which made me wonder if they just set aside the steak they had brought out with our salads, and then reserved it to us when it was time for our third course. Which would be shocking when you are charging $34 for a dish. When the waitress stopped by to ask how our steak was, I said it was nicely flavored but not the slightest bit warm and questioned whether it was the original steak. She said "No, of course they wouldn't do that," but she didn't really respond to the fact that our steak was cold, or offer anything to compensate us for it. If nothing else, she could have offered dessert on the house. It's really a shame, because I thought the food was very good and interesting. The service was bad enough though, that I could not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Possibly my favorite restaurant. Everyth ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Possibly my favorite restaurant. Everything is so delicious and fresh. Have had lunch, brunch and many dinners here and am always happy. Service is wonderful, the decor is chic, the outdoor is lovely---what's not to love?

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had recently eaten her and it was so g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I had recently eaten her and it was so good we came back. The coffee was great, food was awesome and the staff was amazing. The Brussel sprout bruschetta was to die for. I strongly recommend it.

My table mates had the stuffed banana pancakes, fig salad, regular pancakes and I had the breakfast sandwich. All items were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and creatively pr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was delicious and creatively presented and the crowd lively and festive, but the noise level too high for comfortable conversation with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent server. Food was very good alt ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent server. Food was very good although two were hoping for more tuna. We all lov d the cookie that came w cappuccino

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Lobster spaghetti is to die for. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The Lobster spaghetti is to die for. The Branzino was delightful. The ambiance (save the pretentious wannabees) was wonderful. There is ample seating, the service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Burrata with grilled kale, fresh fig ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Burrata with grilled kale, fresh figs and pecan pesto was absolutely to die for, will go back time and time for that and everything else! Service was wonderful - all around fantastic meal!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nico is one of our favorite neighborhoo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Nico is one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants. We love the outside sidewalk cafe. My daughter first had Aperol at Nico - now it is one of the most popular aperitifs for summer. I enjoyed a glass of the sparkling rose - so nice for summer. we enjoyed the oysters for the first course, the chilled corn soup (smooth and delicious), the brussels sprouts bruschetta, little gem lettuce, and the soft polenta. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pasta was o we cooked. Food on the plate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Pasta was o we cooked. Food on the plate had no style and was unappealing. Very, very average overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Nice food, inventive menu. Experience ma ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Nice food, inventive menu. Experience marred by poor service; waitress gave the impression she really couldn't be bothered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The restaurant has some issue with open ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The restaurant has some issue with open table reservation system. We arrived on time, waited a while for outside seating (hostess offered immediate seating inside). But they reported to Open Table that we hadn't shown up at all. I've eaten here multiple times. Food and service has always been excellent. This was the first time we ate here on a weekday. Food and service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

service was awful and so slow. we sat ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

service was awful and so slow. we sat outside, and we were completely ignored. every time we were about to give up and eat somewhere else, someone would appear.

after we were seated, it took 10-15 minutes for our waitress to even notice us. when she came by, we placed our entire order, since we realized this place was incredibly slow. she seemed like she did not want to serve us, and we wondered why. for 2 people, we placed a very large order, and we were not rude to her. we generally tip 20-30%, so it would have been a good table for her.

we saw her have conversation with the table in front of us, but she never once spoke with us. in fact, she only came by twice. once, to take our order, and another to give us our check.

it was just an awful experience. once she finally took our order, it took another 10-12 minutes to produce bread. it was that bad. it was taking so long that I got up to go inside and ask the hostesses about it. just as she saw me getting up and walking away, she sent for the bread.

I had to ask for Parmesan cheese 3x to 3 different people. she was really bad at refilling our water. we basically felt invisible to her and the restaurant in general.

my boyfriend described this restaurant as, "the appears just as you're about to walk away" place and chastised me for making "such a mediocre selection with awful service." it's always disappointing, when we have this kind of experience, because we are both very busy and often don't get to spend time together. we look forward to our weekend lunch and dinner dates, and we just want everything to be pleasant and smooth. this was anything but that.

the only thing that made it better was one of the bus boys. he tried to be a much more active waiter than our own waitress. he was running in to get stuff when he could, because our waitress was completely inattentive. we appreciated his efforts, and we gave him a nice tip.

today was an extremely disappointing experience, and I cannot recommend Nico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We love Nico and done there frequently. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love Nico and done there frequently. We ate outside on Sunday afternoon at 5 PM and the hostess and staff seemed like they were running around extremely disorganized. We waited over 20 minutes for our table when there were open tables available. The food was delicious as always. Heirloom tomato salad, buratta (this was just ok. I've had it there before and it was better), branzino, and rigatoni which were also quite good. We will go back with hopes the outdoor staff is a bit more on the ball.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Another great breakfast at Nico Osteria. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another great breakfast at Nico Osteria. Distinctive menu -- unlike any other in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Amazing food, as always. Worth noting... ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing food, as always. Worth noting... I booked a table for a birthday celebration through opentable, called the restaurant to tell them we were celebrating a birthday, but was seated at what we thought was a less desirable table. We were told by the hostess that in order to get a table in the main dining room you have to ask for a certain table type (a "three" or "four" if I remember correctly). A bit off-putting but we still had a great meal.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lived upto expectations. On the expensiv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lived upto expectations. On the expensive side but very good .Presentation and quality of every dish was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to Chicago about five times ov ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've been to Chicago about five times over the last couple years and this is by far the best dining experience I've had.

From host to waiter to runner to chef, the entire team works to make sure you have a fantastic experience. The moment someone seems an empty plate getting in the way or a drink needing refreshed, they're on it.

And above all the food is awesome. The Brussels sprout bruschetta was DELICIOUS. We split the stuffed pappardelle and taleggio ravioli—all pasta is made in-house—and both were perfect.

From drinks to dessert, it was the best meal I've had in a long time that was topped off by amazing service and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The energy of the restaurant is really g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The energy of the restaurant is really good, and the food was delicious. My only issue is that we arrived on time for our reservation and where it sat until almost an hour later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Disappointing food - not to be recommend ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointing food - not to be recommended. The Frito misto was heavy and greasy and, bizarrely, came with fried vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

slow service even we are the only guests

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

slow service even we are the only guests

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

1. I ordered the tagliotelle with clams. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

1. I ordered the tagliotelle with clams... they did not get clams that day. ordered the

rigatoni bolognese....very little meat or sauce on the order...not good... it was my guests

birthday and he likes tiramisu.... the tiramisu turned out to be ice cream with some chcolate

shavings and a bit of syrup... the waiter did warn us that it wasn't the usual tiramiscu.... but

what was served wasnt worthy of this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.