About Nico Osteria

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 7:30AM - 10:30AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (171)
special occasion (102)
hot spot (93)
See All
neighborhood gem (76)
notable wine list (73)
great for lunch (60)
romantic (51)
vibrant bar scene (49)
good for groups (46)
great for brunch (43)
great for outdoor dining (32)
scenic view (19)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

service was slow, otherwise the food was ...

Dined 3 days ago

service was slow, otherwise the food was great and the wine menu had a good selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nico never disappoints and I've never ha ...

Dined 3 days ago

Nico never disappoints and I've never had anything I haven't loved.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

I've been to Nico Osteria several times ...

Dined 3 days ago

I've been to Nico Osteria several times and enjoyed the food and service so when a few friends who were in town and staying in the area asked to meet for brunch I recommended this place. Sadly, the service was very poor and my friends were disappointed since they rely on my recommendations when in town. The food was also pretty mediocre on this occasion. I don't know what happened, but I wouldn't recommend it again. So sorry, just trying to be truthful.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The ambience leaves a bit to be desired. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The ambience leaves a bit to be desired. The place is noisy and the tables are not comfortable. The food was good along with the service but being loud it was difficult to speak to the other folks at our table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived on time for our 8:15pm reserv ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We arrived on time for our 8:15pm reservation, and luckily we found a seat at the bar/waiting area as we officially sat down for dinner at 8:35pm. However, we didn't mind the wait as the drinks were creative and the decor appealing. The service was great and the food excellent. We will definitely return.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Night at Nico Osteria

Dined on May 15, 2016

Busy Saturday night. 8:15 reservation with open table. Showed up early at restaurant. Had drinks. Not seated till 8:40 after pressing hostess. Tight seating. Food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We had to wait 45 minutes for our table ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We had to wait 45 minutes for our table and heard other people complaining about the same issue. Also, some tables are in a really nice part of the restaurant and others are not - I sat near the kitchen and the room had a feel of an upscale diner....not a spot with a $$$ menu and it didn't fit in with the rest of the restaurant's ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

all around outstanding

Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was perfect for a large group dining experience -- service, food recommendations, wonderful food, and a good wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Portions are on the smal ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was great. Portions are on the smallish size like you would expect in a good Florentine restaurant. We had pasta which was homemade and very interesting. Not classic Italian but wonderful nonetheless

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a fantastic experience. The foo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was a fantastic experience. The food was incredible and service was professional. We had the chef's raw bar to start which was so great we ordered it again. Looking forward to our next meal there

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impress your friends by bringing them here

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

There's a reason why this restaurant has earned many James Beard Foundation awards. Must try. Be prepared to spend some money however.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The experience was great we enjoyed our ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The experience was great we enjoyed our selves. Good value for the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent Mother's Day dinner. The brus ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent Mother's Day dinner. The brussels sprout bruschetta and prosciutto gnocchi were delicious to start and the whole Branzino was perfect- it transported us back to our honeymoon in Amalfi coast. Very memorable meal.

food5
ambience5
service1

Our food was delicious! At a beautiful h ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our food was delicious! At a beautiful high end restaurant I expect the wait staff to be engaged. Sadly, this was not our experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food and service was excellent...recommend the bloody Mary's

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, and the ambiance ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was fantastic, and the ambiance was perfect for a date night!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Brunch

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Had the lobster scramble, biscuits & gravy, and orange olive oil cake along with severl specialty cocktails. Highly recommend all of them. We will likely go back to try other dishes that sounded great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, wine, ambiance all great, especial ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food, wine, ambiance all great, especially our waiter!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food. Branzino baked in salt is a ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food. Branzino baked in salt is a must! Service was very good, but could have been just a little bit more attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Imaginative dishes, fresh and delicious. ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Imaginative dishes, fresh and delicious. Nice service, nice portions and more reasonably priced than we expected.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had Sunday brunch there and it was fabul ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had Sunday brunch there and it was fabulous. The scrambled eggs with lobster were excellent, as were the home made donuts and everything on the pastry tray. Others in my group had burgers, pancakes, apple pancakes, and everyone loved it. Service was outstanding. My second time there. The other time was for dinner a few months ago and was just as outstanding. One of my favorites when in Chicago.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

B&G w/Egg

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I had a special brunch date here, it was perfect! The B&G w/Fried Egg was the best I have had in quite a while, perfect amount of spice. My only complaint was that I ordered a blood mary that didn't quite hit the mark, especially for $13...

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall fantastic! The brussel sprout br ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Overall fantastic! The brussel sprout bruschetta was my ultimate favorite thing on the menu. Although, there was a confusion and it wasn't entered in the system when ordered the server did a fantastic recovery and she was amazing! I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dependable to Exceptional

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was my first brunch/lunch after 3 spectacular dinners. Saturday brunch/lunch menu not as exciting as dinner, with fewer selections, but really great food. Perfect burger for me, chicken hash with two fried eggs for him. Wait staff attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place for both lunch and ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

This is a great place for both lunch and dinner. This time we were here for lunch on a day we could sit outside. Food is always very good, nice selection of Italian wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and friendly service were excellent ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Food and friendly service were excellent. I would highly recommend

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Three of us went to Sunday brunch. Drinks were good! The rhubarb dessert was wonderful! I thought the menu was a little strange ( should have ordered a burger). We saw an ad for Chef Week and expected the 3 course menu-- however we were told it started on Monday, the 18th!!! Other restaurants started the 17th. It was rather annoying.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

All around great brunch

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Doug was our waiter and was fantastic. He even remembered my friend from when she was in with her family weeks prior. I had biscuits and gravy and I loved it with the fried egg on top. Great food, atmosphere and service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Plenty of others in the area - go elsewhere

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Tables are close - think cafeteria style - if youre not lucky enough to get a booth on the outside walls. I didnt want to sit that close - loud guest - so I was put in the bar area right inside the door. Thought I was being punished although it was quite. Food was average but expensive for lunch. Service was great. Wouldnt come back

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Main meal was great--had seafood dish as ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Main meal was great--had seafood dish as main and asparagus to start. Dessert was not good (a lemon, grapefruit, tangerine dish-can't remember name) so that was disappointing. The restaurant is very crowded and you feel a bit packed in so that affects ambiance.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Food was good, service was ok

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food was excellent. However, the service felt lackluster.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have now eaten at Nico 4 times.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Each time is better than the time than proceed it and that is very very high praise. I have eaten at the counter and watch the amazing care given to the preparation and it has been totally fascinating. I have eaten at the tables and the service has been super. When you eat at a restaurant like Nico, you will find the food at a totally different level than at 99% of the restaurants in Chicago.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I would almost never eat dinner in this neighborhood, but Nico is part of a restaurant group I trust (Blackbird, Avec, Publican, etc.) and Nico did not let me down. First, terrific service. Second, great food. We split the mackerel crudo to begin and it was perfect. Rich and full flavored as mackerel should be, and the bold accompaniments still allowed the fish to shine. Stuffed pappardelle was a little too salty but very good nonetheless. But the star of the evening was my seafood in brodo which was one of the most delicious seafood dishes I've ever had, and the seafood was perfectly cooked. For dessert, the chocolate hazelnut dessert which was pretty much perfect. Nice cocktails and a strong wine list too. I left thrilled with Nico. I'm just sad I had not visited earlier.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

traversecitysweethearts

Dined on April 9, 2016

We celebrated a girlfriend birthday. Our food was outstanding, as well as our server. Very pleasant afternoon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Limited Choices but worth it

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Visited Nico Osteria on my trip too Chicago and it was recommended by a local over the well-known RPM- the menu was not deep but thats because everything on it was fresh and so delicious- a must do

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Neigborhood gem

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We have been going to this resto since it has been opened as it is 2 blocks away. we were meeting our nephew's wife from out of town and thought she would enjoy it. For the first time ever we had bad service. We were seated with menu and drinks/wine list and it was about 15 min before anyone came to take our order after pouring water. Once we ordered our food it was smooth service, but unfortunately the long wait left a bad taste in my mouth. It especially bothered me as I have, since it opened, been telling friends that it is still a great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Fantastic food and service, but pricey

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Love this restaurant but always surprised by what it costs........

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This was a great meal for my husband's b ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

This was a great meal for my husband's birthday! It was pricey, but we enjoyed it so much that it didn't matter so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for visiting colleague

Dined on April 3, 2016

Brought a very particular English physician here for dinner. He was clearly skeptical, but was raving about the food and wine by the end of the meal. It helped that our server was knowledgeable, personable, and overall fabulous. Will definitely consider coming back when I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

outstanding

Dined on April 1, 2016

once again, a great dinner at Nico. The service was excellent, the pastas unique and tasty and the bruschetta out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.