About Nico Osteria

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 7:30AM - 10:30AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

fit for foodies (149)
special occasion (111)
hot spot (83)
See All
neighborhood gem (78)
great for outdoor dining (60)
great for lunch (53)
notable wine list (49)
good for groups (47)
romantic (44)
vibrant bar scene (42)
great for brunch (39)
late-night find (19)
scenic view (18)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
947 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the food & great service.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love the food & great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had seared tuna salad and tagliolini f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had seared tuna salad and tagliolini for lunch.

Both were really tasty. Especially, I recommend Tagliolini!;)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I called Nico's and told them it was an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I called Nico's and told them it was an important business dinner. Friends flew in from out of town. We were sat beside the bar behind receptionist area in a heavy circulation area and a bad view. I would never risk another important dinner at the restaurant.

The food was good. Waitress was cute, friendly and nice. In the past I have had decent tables with groups. It has never panned out when I take a guest that I want to see the best. Last dinner with guest the same. Never again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always outstanding food at Nico, but som ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always outstanding food at Nico, but some of the time the service is too obsequious and patronizing. Great outdoor cafe space, and wonderful food.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Very beautiful night in the City so rest ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very beautiful night in the City so restaurant was hopping. Service was good and efficient. Lots of big tables and tourists. Food was fair.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had such a fun night at Nico. The food w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had such a fun night at Nico. The food was delicious. Cocktails and wine were spot on also. Very cool space.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you, Nico Osteria, for taking care ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Thank you, Nico Osteria, for taking care of us during our recent celebration! Your staff was warm and inviting, and very attentive without making us feel rushed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was chosen for a great breakfast me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was chosen for a great breakfast menu and a really cool website, on Rush St in Chicago. This place certainly did not disappoint. We were seated by a charming young lady and greeted by several servers as we passed through. Our server was absolutely charming and smiley, with the nicest outlook on life and people in general. Our table overlooked the street of this great city, and looking out at the blend of old beautiful skyscrapers and small quaint bars and restaurants, we could really prepare ourselves for the weekend we needed.

This breakfast menu is one to behold! After my fresh squeezed OJ ( best I ever tasted), We received our beautifully adorned dishes. The chicken confit hash w/ poached eggs rates as one the finest meals you could imagine! Crispy outside and moist meat chunks radiated a rosemary and mild onion aroma . We also dined on sliced Smoked salmon w/ eggs on a homemade, toasted roll along side of a ricotta style cheese. I will actually pick a hotel closer to this area on my next trip here just to take in the other offerings off the lunch and dinner menus of this fine establishment!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy!!! Everything cooked perfectly.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Yummy!!! Everything cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Food, Staff and Excellent Servi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fabulous Food, Staff and Excellent Service

We stayed at the Thompson Chicago for 4 nights for my birthday getaway and loved every meal we had at Nico Osteria. It is hard not to love this restaurant. The quality of the food and service are superb. The cuisine is creative and delicious and is served by professional and attentive staff. We had asked if we could reserve the same table we had the night before as it was my birthday the next night and Kiki made sure we got that same table. Her warm personality made

dining at Nico Osteria fun. Our server, Brett, was fantastic also - his attentive service and helpful suggestions helped to make our dining experience a very special one. The general manager, Nathaniel, who was off the night of my birthday had arranged to have a bottle of Prosecco delivered to our table in honour of my birthday. We also enjoyed two wonderful desserts at the end of our meal. Kiki, Brett and Nathaniel helped make my birthday a birthday to remember. From the staff to the food, this is one restaurant that does not disappoint. We look forward to our next dining experience at Nico Osteria

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I dined here for a special occasio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

While I dined here for a special occasion, this restaurant could be suitable for a more high end dinner with loved ones or friends. I had the pleasure of enjoying the 28oz. bone in Rib-Eye for dinner which was full of flavor and pair perfectly with the delicious meatballs I had as an appetizer. I would definitely recommend Nico as a place for a company outing (on a smaller scale), special occasion diners, and foodies looking for an explosion of flavor in every bite. I look forward to dining with them in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Great everything !!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fantastic. Great everything !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impressed by the appetizer, underwhelmed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Impressed by the appetizer, underwhelmed by the salad, enjoyed the lobster pasta. Service not as bad as previous reviews, just not coordinated in a way that makes you feel comfortable that your needs will be met.

Not a "go to" for special occasions. Okay for a casual/business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Nico consistently delivers at a high lev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Nico consistently delivers at a high level on menu selection and service. Excellent location for meeting friends both old and new.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is excellent, service very slow, ou ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food is excellent, service very slow, outdoor seating great, indoor seating is extremely cramped and lightning is way to bright for the dinner hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great outside seating on a Saturday even ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great outside seating on a Saturday evening with wonderful food. Highly recommend

the brushetta and bronzino. Great drink menu. The pasta was cooked to perfection. We shared all of our food because everything sounded so delicious. Our server

paced our food service perfectly. We never felt rushed. We are already planning our return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard great things about Nico but ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I had heard great things about Nico but always skipped it for somewhere else. But not anymore! Went there for dinner this past Saturday. Outstanding!!! We loved every item we ordered, particularly the orecchiette with ahi tuna!!! We decided to sit outside since this is such a wonderful corner for people watching. The corner was great tho a bit noisy. I will be back often!! Loved it!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sat outside, nice to enjoy the outdoors! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Sat outside, nice to enjoy the outdoors! Food was delicious and well presented. Cocktails were delightful and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Third time at this Resturant was tremend ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Third time at this Resturant was tremendous as the first two times.also the sommelier is fantastic and gives very good wine suggestions. The Bronzino is my favorite

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a very good first experience. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Overall, a very good first experience. Fish was fresh, creatively prepared, well presented. My only quibble is the pricing. Two of us ordered whole fish, one an arctic char and the other a branzino. Though our server said that the latter was a significantly larger piece of fish, they were both roughly the same size. The branzino was $20 more than the char and the preparation/ingredients did not seem to warrant that big a price difference.

Other than that, this is certainly a place for seafood lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First Class food and service at this won ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

First Class food and service at this wonderful restaurant! It was our wedding anniversary and because the weather was so nice, we opted to dine al fresco. Every course that we enjoyed was beyond excellent and we hope to return soon. Our gracious server was Ligia and she expertly guided us through the menu and made excellent suggestions. We started with the heirloom tomato salad, then enjoyed the lobster spaghetti---served inside the lobster shell. We then finished off with the salmon filet. On a budget, my wife and I split everything. For dessert we had what my wife referred to as the "Blueberry Orgasm", a blueberry pastry with a blueberry ice and lemon ice. The server was extremely attentive and the entire experience was wonderful! Totally recommended!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very pleasant restaurant with ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This is a very pleasant restaurant with fine service in an ideal location. The food for me was just fine, however, nothing spectacular. The cappuccino was the best I've had, though. It comes with a very nice small treat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good.. All of the crudos, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very good.. All of the crudos, the octopus bruschetta, and the meatballs were delicious. We ordered family style and shared a bunch of things. They changed the sauce on the lobster pasta from the last time we'd been in (and that had been our favorite dish) so we were a little disappointed in that but otherwise, everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice experience overlooking kitchen ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very nice experience overlooking kitchen. Interesting to watch the attention to detail. Wine list was virtually all Italian.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my go to places in Chicago. Take ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

One of my go to places in Chicago. Take the time to enjoy this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Second visit of the week and everything ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Second visit of the week and everything was excellent. Our served was not as good as last Friday, flat personality and the smile was non-existent-that put a bit of a damper on things BUT we ignored it and carried on. Love the menu and will be coming back on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was good, if a bit on the sting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was good, if a bit on the stingy side, portions-wise, for the money. And although I am 100% in favor of al dente pasta, our pasta dishes were both slightly undercooked -- even for al dente. Wine list will be challenging for folks not ready to spend $60 on a bottle. Finally, the Nico folks obviously did not read -- or were not communicated -- my request from Open Table. I mentioned it was a birthday dinner and asked for a quiet table. They sat us in the middle of the floor (people walking in front of and behind us), right by the server's station and next to a crying baby. Hello! Needless to say, we asked to be moved. And there was never any mention of my birthday or other special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Best crudo ever eaten!! All the food was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best crudo ever eaten!! All the food was amazing. The staff was very attentive and so friendly.

WHat a great evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceptional food, wine and servic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always exceptional food, wine and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal place! Incredible food, ambi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Phenomenal place! Incredible food, ambiance, energy in the kitchen. Everything was just perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep up the great work great food .we en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Keep up the great work great food .we enjoyed very much . Will come back. Thanks

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and plenty of unusual choi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fabulous food and plenty of unusual choices that are rarely seen in an Italian restaurant.

Enjoyed it so much returning for dinner within the week !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating our 37th wedding ann ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary and chose Nico Osteria for our personal celebration. We were treated special from the moment we walked in. After seating in the lounge area in great seats we were served champagne. Them the manager checked in on us and set us up with a great table with a view. We took our time. When seated, more champagne, with extremely special service. Meal was fantastic. They made this occasion special for us. Thank you Nico Osteria!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Nico Osteria about a hal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have eaten at Nico Osteria about a half dozen times - including lunch with a few friends, dinner with a large group, and private dinners in a room upstairs. Incredible how uniformly great the food is no matter what the event. Erling Wu-Bower had put together a place that is a cut above in terms of the quality of food, the creativity in the offerings, and the wonderful service. Kudos to him and his staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Horrible service.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food. Horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

very enjoyable experience overall with g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

very enjoyable experience overall with great food. warning: pasta and bread will destroy your diet resolve. on the other hand, single small scoops of gelato make for a great diet conscious indulgence for dessert

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our dinner at Nico Osteria was fabulous. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our dinner at Nico Osteria was fabulous. We were seated promptly and our waiter was knowledgeable, gracious, and very helpful. The food and wine choices were great, and our selections and dining experience exceeded our expectations. We would go back in a second!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Branzino was outstanding!

 
 (México)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Branzino was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having eaten here twice before we were d ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Having eaten here twice before we were disappointed with this visit especially as we were treating our good friends to brunch as a thank you. Drinks took over 15 minutes to arrive and our guest could not drink their bloody marys. Having decided on our order I was then told that the dish I had chosen was no longer available. It was 1.30 and I think they could have planned better than that. The brussel sprout bruschetta was good but I think we all agreed that our main dishes were just ok. Not sure I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding creativity, presentation and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding creativity, presentation and taste. Quite pricey. Waitress was kind of going through the motions and not really passionate about the food, which would be helpful given the uniqueness of the menu. Overall greatly enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.