About Nico Osteria

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 7:30AM - 10:30AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

Fit for Foodies (143)
Special Occasion (111)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
Hot Spot (76)
Notable Wine List (52)
Great for Lunch (50)
Romantic (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Great for Brunch (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Late-night Find (22)
Scenic View (20)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
987 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent server. Food was very good alt ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent server. Food was very good although two were hoping for more tuna. We all lov d the cookie that came w cappuccino

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pasta was o we cooked. Food on the plate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Pasta was o we cooked. Food on the plate had no style and was unappealing. Very, very average overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Nice food, inventive menu. Experience ma ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice food, inventive menu. Experience marred by poor service; waitress gave the impression she really couldn't be bothered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The restaurant has some issue with open ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant has some issue with open table reservation system. We arrived on time, waited a while for outside seating (hostess offered immediate seating inside). But they reported to Open Table that we hadn't shown up at all. I've eaten here multiple times. Food and service has always been excellent. This was the first time we ate here on a weekday. Food and service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

service was awful and so slow. we sat ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

service was awful and so slow. we sat outside, and we were completely ignored. every time we were about to give up and eat somewhere else, someone would appear.

after we were seated, it took 10-15 minutes for our waitress to even notice us. when she came by, we placed our entire order, since we realized this place was incredibly slow. she seemed like she did not want to serve us, and we wondered why. for 2 people, we placed a very large order, and we were not rude to her. we generally tip 20-30%, so it would have been a good table for her.

we saw her have conversation with the table in front of us, but she never once spoke with us. in fact, she only came by twice. once, to take our order, and another to give us our check.

it was just an awful experience. once she finally took our order, it took another 10-12 minutes to produce bread. it was that bad. it was taking so long that I got up to go inside and ask the hostesses about it. just as she saw me getting up and walking away, she sent for the bread.

I had to ask for Parmesan cheese 3x to 3 different people. she was really bad at refilling our water. we basically felt invisible to her and the restaurant in general.

my boyfriend described this restaurant as, "the appears just as you're about to walk away" place and chastised me for making "such a mediocre selection with awful service." it's always disappointing, when we have this kind of experience, because we are both very busy and often don't get to spend time together. we look forward to our weekend lunch and dinner dates, and we just want everything to be pleasant and smooth. this was anything but that.

the only thing that made it better was one of the bus boys. he tried to be a much more active waiter than our own waitress. he was running in to get stuff when he could, because our waitress was completely inattentive. we appreciated his efforts, and we gave him a nice tip.

today was an extremely disappointing experience, and I cannot recommend Nico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We love Nico and done there frequently. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

We love Nico and done there frequently. We ate outside on Sunday afternoon at 5 PM and the hostess and staff seemed like they were running around extremely disorganized. We waited over 20 minutes for our table when there were open tables available. The food was delicious as always. Heirloom tomato salad, buratta (this was just ok. I've had it there before and it was better), branzino, and rigatoni which were also quite good. We will go back with hopes the outdoor staff is a bit more on the ball.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Another great breakfast at Nico Osteria. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Another great breakfast at Nico Osteria. Distinctive menu -- unlike any other in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Amazing food, as always. Worth noting... ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing food, as always. Worth noting... I booked a table for a birthday celebration through opentable, called the restaurant to tell them we were celebrating a birthday, but was seated at what we thought was a less desirable table. We were told by the hostess that in order to get a table in the main dining room you have to ask for a certain table type (a "three" or "four" if I remember correctly). A bit off-putting but we still had a great meal.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lived upto expectations. On the expensiv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lived upto expectations. On the expensive side but very good .Presentation and quality of every dish was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to Chicago about five times ov ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've been to Chicago about five times over the last couple years and this is by far the best dining experience I've had.

From host to waiter to runner to chef, the entire team works to make sure you have a fantastic experience. The moment someone seems an empty plate getting in the way or a drink needing refreshed, they're on it.

And above all the food is awesome. The Brussels sprout bruschetta was DELICIOUS. We split the stuffed pappardelle and taleggio ravioli—all pasta is made in-house—and both were perfect.

From drinks to dessert, it was the best meal I've had in a long time that was topped off by amazing service and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The energy of the restaurant is really g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The energy of the restaurant is really good, and the food was delicious. My only issue is that we arrived on time for our reservation and where it sat until almost an hour later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Disappointing food - not to be recommend ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointing food - not to be recommended. The Frito misto was heavy and greasy and, bizarrely, came with fried vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

slow service even we are the only guests

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

slow service even we are the only guests

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

1. I ordered the tagliotelle with clams. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

1. I ordered the tagliotelle with clams... they did not get clams that day. ordered the

rigatoni bolognese....very little meat or sauce on the order...not good... it was my guests

birthday and he likes tiramisu.... the tiramisu turned out to be ice cream with some chcolate

shavings and a bit of syrup... the waiter did warn us that it wasn't the usual tiramiscu.... but

what was served wasnt worthy of this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

It was our 30th anniversary and we decid ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was our 30th anniversary and we decided to give Nico a try. It did not disappoint. They knew it was our anniversary and gave us a cocktail when we sat down. We shared all of our plates and each one was wonderful. We started with the chef choice crudo, and ended with the stuffed pappardelle and the dry aged ribeye. Too stuffed for dessert so we finished with some coffee and limoncello!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect! Chef Erling is one of the best ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Perfect! Chef Erling is one of the best in the city. Staple when in the city.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Came here for a birthday date night. Sit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Came here for a birthday date night. Sitting at the Chef's table was a great experience. Got the Brussel sprouts bruscetta, the prosciutto, the bolognese and the whole trout. Everything was fantastic. I would definitely come here again and our server was extremely helpful .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good was great, ambiance is great. Our w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good was great, ambiance is great. Our waiter was not very knowledgable about the menu and kind of tainted the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

While traveling cross-country we stopped ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

While traveling cross-country we stopped in Chicago for a few days. A friend had recommended Nico Osteria. Our dining experience was awesome . The food was delicious and inventive and just fabulous; the waitstaff were friendly and attentive and never skipped a beat; the setting was lively and hip. By far one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. We ate at the chef's table and had five courses-each one as good as the other. Do not miss if you are in Chicago!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crudo was outstanding and pricey. O ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The crudo was outstanding and pricey. Our first courses were pastas which were very tasty and perfectly prepared. We split an entree of trout that was perfect for two and our dining partners shared an entree of Branzino. Service was excellent and everything was tasty, including dessert and espresso.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 4th time here- with all oth ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was our 4th time here- with all other times being great- but this may be our last time- we had reservations for two and at first we directed to a very small table. Opted to take a table outside instead. Took 15 min for service, had to ask hostess to bring a wine list. Finally asked for sommelier, had a question regarding a red blend- he came chewing gum, in jeans and said "heard you need help picking out a rose" .... What?? We had full intentions of ordering a great bottle of wine and full course dinner- we had orders a nominal app- while waiting for sommelier- we closed out our tab for the tune of $14- what a bummer- we were excited for s great cab and dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Fabulous food. Combinations of flavors a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fabulous food. Combinations of flavors always amaze me.

Excellent service by Brett.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I only had brunch there, so this review ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I only had brunch there, so this review is only for the brunch. The food was mediocre at best. The French toast was way too sweet and the ham and cheese croissant I ordered was cold, they didn't even bother to heat it up. Server was barely available on multiple occasions I had to ask another server to find him. I heard their dinner menu is good I will probably be back to try that but brunch was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Amazing experience overall. One of the b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing experience overall. One of the best spots in the city. The service is top notch and the food is unique and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Rigatoni Bolognese and the Spaghetti ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Rigatoni Bolognese and the Spaghetti with Lobster were to die for -- I will be thinking about this meal for a long time. Nicely crafted wine list, with a variety of interesting choices at varying price points. Excellent service that added to our enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good food,mall the time. The menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good food,mall the time. The menu has evolved nicely!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistently great service and presentat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Consistently great service and presentation. Perhaps the best crudos and salt-crusted Branzino I have had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Nico because of a review by t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We went to Nico because of a review by the food critic in The Washington Post. As usual, Tom Sietsma's review did not steer us wrong. The crude is phenomenal. A real find for us- one we will revisit on future trips to Chicago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went there as part of a weekend celeb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went there as part of a weekend celebration with dear friends to celebration me and my wife's 25th anniversary. We sat outside and had a terrific lunch. Great Italian themed items and quality food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Rigatoni is fantastic, every time. D ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Rigatoni is fantastic, every time. Definitely try the Gelato!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service was awful. They were short ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was awful. They were short staffed AND stingy on the portions. They even got two of our brunch orders wrong. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

After a less than pleasurable experience ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

After a less than pleasurable experience at Grace, where $400 per person left me sorely disappointed and unimpressed the night before, Nico was a culinary rescue. From the roasted Brussels sprout bruschetta to the homemade pasta to the branzino, each course was just right, rustic, genuine and flavorful. We spent one quarter of the dough and enjoyed it 10 x more than our white tablecloth experience of the night before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent service! Interesting specialt ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent service!

Interesting specialty cocktail list.

Good appetizer list - The roasted olives are a must-try!

Complimentary olive bread with oil was delicious, and the Burrata appetizer was foodie-worthy!!

Tortellini with tuna sausage was very good!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved the Brussel sprout appetizer and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I loved the Brussel sprout appetizer and the tomatoe & peach salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we had an online booking we had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Although we had an online booking we had to wait at least 30 minutes before getting a table which was not in a good location as it was next to the reception desk & we requested to be given a better one inside. This was not taken care nicely & properly by the management. :(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

LOVE this place. Along with a beautiful ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

LOVE this place. Along with a beautiful & interesting decor, the menu options and food are outstanding. LOVE the hamachi crudo, branzino, gem lettuce salad, lobster spaghetti, buratta with fig, wine and dessert. I am sure I am missing something else...Oh yes, the bread is 100% worth eating. I'm not a chicken person, but my friends said that was exceptional too. Service was great. French rose - oops already mentioned that. Truly, I can't wait to come back soon. Ah, and the bruschetta - the one with octopus was devine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A most enjoyable lunch with a good frien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

A most enjoyable lunch with a good friend. The food was imaginative and tasty and we were encouraged to relax and take our time. I do have to say that our server, Jason, made our meal one of many future ones. He was friendly, courteous, and professional. He was always available but at the same time, gave us time to chat without feeling hurried. He is a wonderful asset to Nico. As we live in the neighborhood, we look forward to returning often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the food & great service.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love the food & great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had seared tuna salad and tagliolini f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had seared tuna salad and tagliolini for lunch.

Both were really tasty. Especially, I recommend Tagliolini!;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.