About Nico Osteria

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria
Nico Osteria

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 7:30AM - 10:30AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (151)
special occasion (96)
hot spot (80)
See All
neighborhood gem (77)
notable wine list (55)
great for lunch (51)
great for outdoor dining (47)
good for groups (42)
romantic (39)
great for brunch (38)
vibrant bar scene (37)
scenic view (15)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
917 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was good, if a bit on the sting ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was good, if a bit on the stingy side, portions-wise, for the money. And although I am 100% in favor of al dente pasta, our pasta dishes were both slightly undercooked -- even for al dente. Wine list will be challenging for folks not ready to spend $60 on a bottle. Finally, the Nico folks obviously did not read -- or were not communicated -- my request from Open Table. I mentioned it was a birthday dinner and asked for a quiet table. They sat us in the middle of the floor (people walking in front of and behind us), right by the server's station and next to a crying baby. Hello! Needless to say, we asked to be moved. And there was never any mention of my birthday or other special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal place! Incredible food, ambi ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Phenomenal place! Incredible food, ambiance, energy in the kitchen. Everything was just perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep up the great work great food .we en ...

Dined 5 days ago

Keep up the great work great food .we enjoyed very much . Will come back. Thanks

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous food and plenty of unusual choi ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous food and plenty of unusual choices that are rarely seen in an Italian restaurant. Enjoyed it so much returning for dinner within the week !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 37th wedding ann ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary and chose Nico Osteria for our personal celebration. We were treated special from the moment we walked in. After seating in the lounge area in great seats we were served champagne. Them the manager checked in on us and set us up with a great table with a view. We took our time. When seated, more champagne, with extremely special service. Meal was fantastic. They made this occasion special for us. Thank you Nico Osteria!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at Nico Osteria about a hal ...

Dined 6 days ago

I have eaten at Nico Osteria about a half dozen times - including lunch with a few friends, dinner with a large group, and private dinners in a room upstairs. Incredible how uniformly great the food is no matter what the event. Erling Wu-Bower had put together a place that is a cut above in terms of the quality of food, the creativity in the offerings, and the wonderful service. Kudos to him and his staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

very enjoyable experience overall with g ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

very enjoyable experience overall with great food. warning: pasta and bread will destroy your diet resolve. on the other hand, single small scoops of gelato make for a great diet conscious indulgence for dessert

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Nico Osteria was fabulous. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Our dinner at Nico Osteria was fabulous. We were seated promptly and our waiter was knowledgeable, gracious, and very helpful. The food and wine choices were great, and our selections and dining experience exceeded our expectations. We would go back in a second!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Branzino was outstanding!

Dined on June 20, 2016

Branzino was outstanding!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Having eaten here twice before we were d ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Having eaten here twice before we were disappointed with this visit especially as we were treating our good friends to brunch as a thank you. Drinks took over 15 minutes to arrive and our guest could not drink their bloody marys. Having decided on our order I was then told that the dish I had chosen was no longer available. It was 1.30 and I think they could have planned better than that. The brussel sprout bruschetta was good but I think we all agreed that our main dishes were just ok. Not sure I will be back.

food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding creativity, presentation and ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding creativity, presentation and taste. Quite pricey. Waitress was kind of going through the motions and not really passionate about the food, which would be helpful given the uniqueness of the menu. Overall greatly enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The only bad thing about our dining expe ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The only bad thing about our dining experiences is there was a HUGE dog on the patio with us and it was cramping the room at our table. The food was great and the outdoor seating is so cute too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

We sat for over 20 minutes without any s ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We sat for over 20 minutes without any service. Then we left.

food4
ambience4
service3

I think that your first time, you defini ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

I think that your first time, you definitely want to ask your waiter for direction on how to order. Personally, I did not feel as though we were given much direction and therefore our meal was a bit all over the place. Each dish was good, but the meal could have had a better flow.

food5
ambience5
service5

We sat at the bar area where you can wat ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We sat at the bar area where you can watch them preparing the appetizers. The sous chefs were quite friendly and explained what they were making and even gave us a small taste of something we didn't order so we could taste it. We enjoyed this restaurant tremendously and highly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5

The papardelle was and raw sampler was d ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The papardelle was and raw sampler was delicious, and paired with a rose made a yummy lunch! Great service and outside dining area. Alas got a little warm, but the meal and ambiance was still great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing (they have some of t ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food is amazing (they have some of the best crude in town) but what I loved the most was that I asked for a more intimate table on my OpenTable reservation and they happily obliged. The bar is also a great place to sit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service2

Eaten here many times. It took over 10 m ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Eaten here many times. It took over 10 minutes to get anyone to acknowledge we were there once we were seated. Even after that the waitress lacked good service. Disappointing considering everything else.

food5
ambience4
service4

Sublime. Finest ingredients, expertly ha ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Sublime. Finest ingredients, expertly handled, and beautifully presented. Go as a large group to sample many different dishes. The squid ink chitarra, the baby octopus bruschetta, the crude, and the branzino were our favorites. The rest of the menu beckons.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good meal

Dined on June 10, 2016

My two friends and I dined here on Thursday night. We were seated immediately at a table by a window. Noise level was high. Our waiter was delightful. For an appetizer we had soft shell crabs. They were delicious. All of our main course selections were very good. All in all, it was a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Unprofessional hostess

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We've dined here previously and liked the food very much and decided this would be our new go to neighborhood restaurant. This time, we were 18 minutes late (17 minutes counting) from the moment we entered the door. Our table was given away (they claimed they only keep the tables for 15 minutes). I was with my elderly parents who moved slowly. We had to wait another 25 minutes for another table. The two hostesses were rude and did not handle the situation in a professional manner. The food that evening was mediocre. Otherwise, the other staff were fine. We won't be back. The food is fine but not good enough to make up for the attitudes at the check in. A pity.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Indifferent service and mediocre food

Dined on June 7, 2016

I've been to Nico many times and have typically found it quite good. This time, however, the service was indifferent and the food mediocre. All in all, very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Wonderful

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Stopped in for a quick lunch in the late afternoon - it was wonderful from start to finish. The crudos and pastas are certainly a highlight, but even the salads were delicious and very memorable. A beautiful place to dine and enjoy excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service3

Service was eh!!! And for these prices I ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was eh!!! And for these prices I expected better treatment by the hostesses and servers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks, Phil

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We're always seeking new dining experiences, so I checked the Trib's list of the 50 best restaurants. I was not aware this is part of the group that owns Blackbird et al. I could not be happier with the service and the food. The food is cleverly conceived - fried anchovies on the beet salad, for example. My companion was very happy with the Papardelle. The lobster spaghetti sounded unusual, and it was: part of the shell topped by the spaghetti and lots of lobster meat. Leave room for deserts - they, too, are unusual.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've had in a long ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in a long time! From the moment we walked in to the very end! Excellent service, food was superb and the ambiance was perfect! Make sure to try the Brussel sprout bruschetta, and you can't go wrong with any of the pastas. Did I mention the drinks are made with all fresh ingredients? Incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Very well-executed Northern Italian cuisine. Service was great as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Neighborhood restaurant

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Jasmine was very nice, professional and accommodating. We live a few blocks away and own a business a few blocks away too....not only do we eat here often, we refer our customers here too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best pasta! Loved this place!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Best pasta! Loved this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

later brunch time = oysters and seafood treats

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

the Aperol spritz starters complemented the oysters - we requested smaller since they were east coast and our server readily complied. They were delicious. The little gem salad, burrata, brussel sprout bruschetta were all tasty starters. We also enjoyed the clam taglioni - rich and laden with clams. Nico does a great job with fresh seafood and we always enjoy our dining experience there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2

This was my second visit to Nico's. Once ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my second visit to Nico's. Once again the food and ambience were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

DR

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fun, hip atmosphere. Swapped lounge for Dining room on occasion of arriving quite early. Neat room.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

was not pleased upon arrival being shown ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

was not pleased upon arrival being shown a seat in the "waiting" section of the restaurant and being told that we would be seated "as close" to our reservation time as they could accommodate.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Rib Eye is next level.

Dined on May 26, 2016

Rib Eye is next level.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Branzino was excellent and the fish ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The Branzino was excellent and the fish was enough for two. We also split a pasta dish, ravioli with English peas which was perfectly executed and very flavorful. Our server was very attentive. Nico is pricey but the food quality is first rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding especially the ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was outstanding especially the stuffed pappardelle. Our waiter was also very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great from start to finish

Dined on May 24, 2016

Went here for lunch to celebrate a friend's birthday and was thoroughly impressed. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The "Writer's Block" cocktail was spectacular, even for $12. The oysters were some of the best I have ever had, even on the coast. My friend ordered the "ear" pasta and, honestly, I do not think I have ever had a better pasta dish. My orzo shrimp and quinoa salad was very good as well. The only negative was that our server disappeared right when we wanted to get the check, but I will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Expectations were high and they were met ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Expectations were high and they were met..."Italian seafood" done really well. Great service. Sommelier gave a terrific recommendation. Look forward to going back...

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

service was slow, otherwise the food was ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

service was slow, otherwise the food was great and the wine menu had a good selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nico never disappoints and I've never ha ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Nico never disappoints and I've never had anything I haven't loved.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.