About Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse

700 E Adams
Springfield, IL 62701
View Larger Map

Perched 30 stories above Springfield's capital city, Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse offers unparalleled food, ambiance and service.
Our small intimate dining experience is perfect for a romantic dinner, entertaining business client or a night out with a group of friends.



We serve only the finest certified Black Angus aged steaks along with a selection of mouth-watering entrees.



At Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse we treat every occasion like it's a special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.nickandninosspringfield.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary parking for diners in the 7th & Monroe Street Municipal ramp, which is connected to the hotel.

We also offer Valet parking, which is available at the hotel entrance on Adams Street. Cost is $3.

Executive Chef:
Bradly Mechol

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room offers seating for up to 16 persons. Audio visual presentation equipment available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Denise Simon: (217)789-1530x3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seabass
  • Firecracker Shrimp Appetizer
  • Lamb Chop
  • Dry Aged 20oz Bone-In Ribeye
  • Chocolate Cake
  • Filet Mignon Sushi Roll
  • Firecracker Salmon
  • Seared Scallops
Seabass
Firecracker Shrimp Appetizer
Lamb Chop
Dry Aged 20oz Bone-In Ribeye
Chocolate Cake
Filet Mignon Sushi Roll
Firecracker Salmon
Seared Scallops

Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Chicago / Illinois
Best Ambiance
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
11 More
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
Special Occasion
Chicago / Illinois
Contemporary American
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Central Illinois
Best Food
Central Illinois
Best Service
Central Illinois
Best Ambiance
Central Illinois
Best Value
Central Illinois
Romantic
Central Illinois
Special Occasion
Central Illinois
Most Booked
Central Illinois
Best Restaurants in Springfield ›

Special Occasion (61)
Scenic View (55)
Romantic (54)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here for a birthday celebration. Wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for a birthday celebration. Was memorable and a great experience. Would recommend this romantic place for a date night or special occasion. The ambience and food was amazing. Will definitely go again to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Only complaint was that I was there t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My Only complaint was that I was there to celebrate my Birthday, and my past experience at other restaurants is that they give you dessert with a lit candle or something to acknowledge your Birthday. I did not received any acknowledgement, which was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Our time here was perfect. Not only was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our time here was perfect. Not only was our meal delicious, our table had the glorious view of the sun setting over the city. Service was attentive with our waiter Rick who was very knowledgeable. A wonderful evening that I highly recommend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but our waiter, B ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was fantastic but our waiter, Bill was inattentive, impatient and rude. Even my children noticed and they're young kids. I usually way over tip. Just the minimum this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Very nice place for a classy meal

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very nice place for a classy meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best meal, service, and a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely the best meal, service, and atmosphere you could have for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I've had dinner at Nick and N ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Every time I've had dinner at Nick and Nino's I've had a wonderful experience. The view is absolutely beautiful! This time I tried the veal on red pepper mashed potatoes topped with lump crab meat including asparagus, and it was exceptional! I didn't think I would ever stray from the fillet or sea bass, but I'm glad I did. I also love the goat cheese croutons in the Nick and Nino's salad. The desserts are also amazing, especially the Chef's homemade ice cream trio. The maple and bacon flavor was the table's favorite.

I will recommend this restaurant as the best hidden gem in Springfield for any special occasion. Every server is delightful especially the two both named Rick. Chef Bradly even came out to our table to ask how everything tasted.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a must if you are in Springfi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Definitely a must if you are in Springfield. We ate here twice because we enjoyed our dinners so much! The veal Oscar was amazing. Nice wine list, great bartender, very accommodating all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was a pleasurable experience and the vie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was a pleasurable experience and the view was amazing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was fantastic. We ordered the f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our meal was fantastic. We ordered the firecracker shrimp as an appetizer and it was the absolute best shrimp! For entrees we ordered the scallops and the veal, both of which were amazing! The view of the sunset over the city of Springfield was beautiful. We would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening from start to finish! Warm ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great evening from start to finish! Warm, friendly greeting, view table, charming waiter. Excellent food! Steaks were perfectly cooked, and the sides were great. We choose the Nick's potatoes, asparagus, and the chef's vegetables which were roasted root vegetables. All delicious. One little quibble: a few more white wine choices would be appreciated.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a perfect evening. Our server(R ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Enjoyed a perfect evening. Our server(Rick) was extremely knowledgeable and made the evening outstanding. Would highly recommend both the restaurant and server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was incredible! This is a hi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything was incredible! This is a hidden gem in the heart of Springfield.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing about it needs changing. The st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Nothing about it needs changing. The staff was professional, suggestions were made, the pace was set by us and not the staff. We were there for a birthday meal and wanted it to be and "event". Definitely filled that need.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey, but worth the experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A little pricey, but worth the experience. The Firecracker Shrimp appetizer is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent experience! Fabulous food,worl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent experience!

Fabulous food,world class service,friendly staff, excellent ambience and a fantastic view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet quality food. Excellent friendl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Gourmet quality food. Excellent friendly service. Favorite for when visiting Springfield.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, great atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love this restaurant, great atmosphere. The staff are very professional and friendly.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time two years ago was amazing ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our first time two years ago was amazing so we decided to go back for our anniversary and we were so disappointed! My lamb was absolutely rare and cold, our potatoes had and overpowering taste of garlic and the drinks from the bar were horrible! The server and greeter were amazing the food not so much! Can't understand how such an amazing place can change to this low standard!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyone loved there meal, was the best ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everyone loved there meal, was the best steak they ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive and the foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. The sunset view was the cherry on top!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though we had a reservation, we wer ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we were given the worst table in the restaurant while other tables remained empty. I would strongly recommend asking for window side table or booth. The 2 top tables are too tiny too even hold the dishes needed for a regular meal. Guests are at the mercy of the hostess. Seating took the special,out of special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nick and Nino's is always a special trea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nick and Nino's is always a special treat. The service is very good and the food is very special.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Cost a little ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food and service. Cost a little high for this city, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food. Very good service. Jus ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very good food. Very good service. Just very over priced. A $30-$50 entree should at least come with a couple of sides. To get one side you had to order an $8 small bowl of potatoes (that does serve 2 people), but still...$8 for a small bowl of potatoes? $13 for 5 shrimp (but it was very good shrimp). I guess that is why it is so quiet as it is very expensive to eat a meal there that most people can't afford to come. It is a free country and you can charge what you want but at those prices you won't get many repeat customers (unless you are very rich!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Always an all around wonderful experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always an all around wonderful experience from the top notch amazing food to the great service Jennifer and Chelsea were great! I had seasonal vegetables absolutely amazing candied beets. The host is always very welcoming and accommodating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a nice atmosphere with a ...

vip
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and a nice atmosphere with a nice view of Spingfield

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrate our anniverdary.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food, outstanding service, atmosphere the best. Will certainly return before our next anniversary. Certainly one of the top three in Springfield

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Snapper was great service very good as u ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Snapper was great service very good as usual new desserts (cheese cake) fabulous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Business Meeting

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We had a party of 6 and they were able to accommodate us at a large round table which was nice for conversation. We tried an assortment of appetizers and side dishes and it was all fabulous. The portions are huge! Each side can easily serve 4 people. The Nick's potatoes were my favorite of the night, and the maple bacon ice cream was the perfect dessert. If you are looking for a place to impress people this is definitely the place to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had the Rib Eye steak with ga ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband had the Rib Eye steak with garlic crust which was seasoned to perfection! I had the Jumbo Lobster tails which were tender and sweet! Even the carmelized onion garnish was a treat! Service provided by our server Rick was impeccable! We didn't have any room left for dessert but we will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The sauces and finishes for the steak op ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The sauces and finishes for the steak options were outstanding! Service was professional, and the view is unmatched.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food in a Central Illinois l ...

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Exceptional food in a Central Illinois location. Side dishes are large enough for two persons and should be shared. We each had the strip steak and it was excellent. Best bread basket ever. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place in Springfield for a special ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Best place in Springfield for a special occasion! Treated like royalty!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For the price I expected very good to ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

For the price I expected very good to excellent with everything. I expected the food to have really outstanding taste. I don't regret going, it was worth it to spend a little money for our 34 anniversary but at the same time I can't tell my friends that you get what you pay for.

One thing that surprised me a lot is that we were one of the first customers and yet they gave us a small table on the inside. I expected a full size table by the window. I noted that couples that came later did get a full size table closer to the window. Not a big deal, but I thought it was a little odd.

So I'm trying not to be too negative. Like I said I don't regret going but probably won't be back.

Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious steaks and beautiful sunset view!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

A delicious meal, beautiful view, and great service made for the perfect birthday celebration for my husband! We highly recommend Nick and Nino's and look forward to going back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit and glad we decided to d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our first visit and glad we decided to dine with you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite Dinner with a View

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had Mothers Day dinner the night before. Dinner was excellent. Sea bass and pork chop were excellent. Sides were big enough for two and very tasty. Excellent server who was very helpful in entree and wine selection. Hostess was very nice and all servers were very attentive.

Great meal and experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal! Overall the entire ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a great meal! Overall the entire experience was very nice, service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place for the view, the service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Awesome place for the view, the service and above all the food. We are always treated like very important guests by Denise the hostess.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.