About Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse

Perched 30 stories above Springfield's capital city, Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse offers unparalleled food, ambiance and service.
Our small intimate dining experience is perfect for a romantic dinner, entertaining business client or a night out with a group of friends.



We serve only the finest certified Black Angus aged steaks along with a selection of mouth-watering entrees.



At Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse we treat every occasion like it's a special occasion.

700 E Adams
Springfield, IL 62701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.nickandninosspringfield.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary parking for diners in the 7th & Monroe Street Municipal ramp, which is connected to the hotel.

We also offer Valet parking, which is available at the hotel entrance on Adams Street. Cost is $3.

Executive Chef:
Bradly Mechol

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room offers seating for up to 16 persons. Audio visual presentation equipment available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Denise Simon: (217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (46)
Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (45)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Cozy (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Business Meals (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1068 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

I’ve visited this restaurant about three times and enjoyed every experience. Very consistent!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

my husband's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was the best, food quality unbelievable, and view at sunset breathtaking. A great overall experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We were on vacation. We looked for an upscale restaurant and we found it on the 30th floor, the view was great except it was foggy out, and the capital wasn't lit up. The food was absolutely fabulous! We had pork with a vinaigrette sauce over potatoes and carrots. Just marvelous, the dessert was a cheesecake over a brownie, very rich. Thank you for making our trip to Springfield Illinois fabulous!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Anniversary date. Rick is one of the best waiter’s in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed a quiet dinner for our anniversary. We were a little disappointed the lounge/bar was closed during the week but the restaurant provided the cocktails

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My husband and I went over for our anniversary dinner. It was our first visit there. I had asked for a window seat when I made the reservation on Open Table but they were not able to accommodate since it was a Saturday night and we were wanting a 7:00 reservation. Service was a bit slow to start but ended up good. We were 30 minutes early (we were going to have a drink at the bar) but they told us our table was ready and went ahead and seated us. Our waitress had a bigger party she was taking care of as well as a few other tables and we all seemed to be at the same point in the process so I think she just got slammed. Food was very good. We had a bone -in ribeye and twin lobster tails as well as the hash brown side (which was crispy and awesome!). The entrees came with sides which we weren't aware of. On the menu they appeared to be a la carte so we actually ended up with way too much food. Chef came out and visited with us after the meal which I thought was a nice touch. Bill was $250. We each had 2 cocktails plus we had an appetizer and split a dessert. I would go back on a less busy night when we could sit by the window and enjoy the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Steak was top notch. Food to perfection. Never had a bad experience and our server was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2017

What a beautiful venue! We had a table by the window and the ambiance was wonderful! We enjoyed our meal and the service was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Good food. Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Ate here after one day stay in Springfield. Steak was excellent with lots of choices for crusts and sauces. Great wine slection and fantastic view of downtown Springfield capital at night. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

From the food to the service to the ambiance, this place hits the mark big time. It is one of the top 3 restaurants I have ever visited, and I have been to almost all 50 states.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Been here twice, latest on 9-30-17, other time @2 yrs ago. Both times had a great experience. Steaks cooked perfectly, the crust and sauce options make it unique apart from so many other steak places. Got a grilled lobster tail - fantastic! 3 filets with different crusts and sauces, highly recommend garlic crust and brandy peppercorn sauce! Good wine list, cool scenery and ambience, polite and professional service! Will definitely be back! Have been telling a lot of people to try this place, good for date/anniversary/prom! Get a reservation and go already!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was decent. My wife and I spent a weekend driving from Indianapolis to Springfield for a nice getaway to see the Lincoln sites. I wanted to give her a nice dinner, and read all the reviews prior to booking this restaurant.

The view is nice - I specifically booked this to have a sunset dinner from the 30th floor. Unfortunately, we were placed in a high-back booth and no visibility to the sunset unless we stepped out of the booth to watch it - leaving our food and drinks behind.

I had the sea bass. It was good, but I didn't find it to be anything special. My wife had the Flight of Filets (3 - 3 oz filets). They were cooked to perfection, which is a challenge - she is OK with a little pink but prefers well-done. Since she was sharing a few bites with me and I like medium well, they were idea for both of us. I wasn't a fan of the toppings - they were heaped on the filets, way too much, and we ended up scraping off 75% of them. The 3 sauces that came with the steak (we did bearnaise, wild mushroom, and I don't recall the 3rd) were good.

We shared the seasonal sauteed vegetables, which were sauteed zucchini and some other squash. It was OK - frankly, I make better on my grill at home. In the restaurant, they were fairly bland.

For dessert, we shared a chocolate/brownie/cheesecake. It, too, was OK. It tasted like a basic cheesecake, not a lot of flavor even with chocolate on top and a brownie base.

The ambiance was nice - quiet, good for conversation. The view would have been nice if we could have had a table looking out to watch the sunset. The drinks were decent. Overall, a nice restaurant, but the food was not all that impressive, particularly for the price. If I were there and wanted to have another sunset dinner, I might go again. However, for the price, I probably wouldn't make a special trip there.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My daughter had dinner here with her date and another couple for homecoming celebration. She indicated they were treated as adults, with respect, and the food was amazing. She was very excited when speaking of her experience and dinner. She took a quick video of her food because she was very impressed with the presentation.

I have been her myself a few times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The view is the best in Springfield--from the 39th floor. We came during daylight and watched the sunset. Cool to go from day to night. Be sure to ask for a window seat!

The steaks are excellent. There are choices for coatings and sauces. There are also several great sides--large enough to share. Our waitress was friendly and helpful.

It is somewhat expensive but it is a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We had an excellent meal at Nick and Nino's. Three of us each had a "Flight of Fillets". The fillets were excellently prepared. I was not overwhelmed by the crust but I was really impressed with the sauce. Next time I will leave the crusting but try several of the sauces.

The atmosphere was very nice. The restaurant is on the 30th floor of the hotel with a spectacular view of Springfield. Service was spot on with a warm, welcoming staff.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

I was very pleased and very satisfied with the very tasty salmon dish that I ate! In addition I was very impressed by the care and attention lavished on me by the waiter. He did all so well in a very friendly, caring and natural way! He should be commended!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great food, but very expensive . Wonderful view of Springfield.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and overall experience. Is pricey but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We visit Nick & Nino's every year for our anniversary... while we were a bit sad that Rick wouldn't be our waiter, we were super happy to hear of his promotion! He's stellar! The chef is always amazing, love that he comes to the table to meet and greet... it's a great little touch! The corn grits are always a favorite at our table, the flight of filets and lobster tails were spot on, as usual! The scallops were divine and the shrimp was outstanding. The only thing we felt was good, but not amazing, was the new lamb chops. The hubs usually gets their rack of lamb, but they changed it up a little this year, he said it was just so-so as opposed to the usual mind-blowing rack of ribs. Everything else was amazing... we love Nick & Nino's, the staff (Jenna was our waitress and she was awesome too!) and the ambience is perfect for our annual anniversary dinner with some great friends! We'll be back next year, without a doubt!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The welcome at the front desk, the great service of the wait staff , the attentiveness of Maitre d' Rick, to the friendly and talented Chef Bradley, who made an appearance to make sure we were entirely satisfied..... Which we were.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

I love this place. The food is out of this world!! Service is outstanding . I cant get enough!!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Rick was an attentive and enthusiastic waiter that made the time special for us (25th anniversary). Food was outstanding with care in preparation, taste, and plating. What a gem to find in Springfield!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My amazingly beautiful girlfriend and I went here. The service was amazing. The food was delicious. And most importantly, she smiled the entire time!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

This place is top notch when it comes to fine dining. The atmosphere and servers there are second to none. If you are ever in the area I suggest you try Nick and Ninos because they have the best food in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great dinner. Wonderful waiter. Good for special occasions. My steak was great!! The sauces even better!! Mushrooms were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Nice place to eat if you are looking for fine dining. Located on the 30th floor of the Wyndham Hotel in Springfield, Illinois. Great view from the restaurant and bar. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. Only 4 window tables, which we highly recommend; otherwise, nothing else special about the inside of this restaurant. The sea bass was good, the scallops not so much. Loved the bread basket and butter ... nice presentation and good variety of different breads.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was delicious and the view was spectacular. It is expensive compared to the restaurants we usually frequent (total was $120 including tip), but perfect for a special occasion!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had a table with a great view and we will be back to din very soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Chef Bradly is absolutely amazing. Everything he made was above and beyond in flavor and presentation. I can't think of a single complaint. Our sever Rick was also amazing. Rick made an already enjoyable dinner a fabulous experience. Being on the 30th floor looking down at the city of Springfield was fantastic. Definitely planning to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We were in town to attend the Farm progress show and stayed at the hotel. I have been to your restaurant before so I recommended to my associates that were traveling with me. They and I were totally blown away with the service and the food.
Thanks for making me look good and for a Great evening!

We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Steaks were great, dessert disappointing, drinks overpriced. Rick is an exceptional waiter. We will return for dinner but will have drinks at a different place.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We like to eat at Nick and Nino's for special occasions. This time we went there for my wife's birthday. She had the scallops, which she absolutely loved (and she's a gourmet cook); we share a side dish of spinach, which was very good. I had a filet mignon with a horseradish crust. Excellent and tender. I was slightly disappointed in my dessert, which was a chocolate cake supposedly soaked in Grand Marnier, but I couldn't taste that. My wife had the berry basket, which she also thought was very good. Overall, an excellent dinner, and I plan to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We brought family from out of state and Nick and Nino's was great like always! Our waitress, Amanda, was so friendly and attentive. I cannot eat there without ordering the Firecracker Shrimp and once again it did not disappoint.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were there for a friend's birthday and were happy to get a table by the windows as it was a beautiful evening with a perfect sunset. The food is spectacular but I don't care for the way it's priced as everything is a la carte and it gets to be more expensive than it's worth. Our server, Rick, was spot on and we could not have asked for anything more from him. This is a place very much worth it for a special occasion dinner but a little too expensive for everyday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Rick is a fabulous server! He makes the dining experience perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent service, food and atmosphere.

Great lobster bisque, Salmon and mashed potatoes!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great service, dishes prepared just right. Very accommodating. Scallops were tender, steaks as should be. Delicious sauces.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our server was outstanding very attentive and helpful. Food was excellent. Like always a great meal and venue for dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.