About Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse

Perched 30 stories above Springfield's capital city, Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse offers unparalleled food, ambiance and service.
Our small intimate dining experience is perfect for a romantic dinner, entertaining business client or a night out with a group of friends.



We serve only the finest certified Black Angus aged steaks along with a selection of mouth-watering entrees.



At Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse we treat every occasion like it's a special occasion.

700 E Adams
Springfield, IL 62701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.nickandninosspringfield.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary parking for diners in the 7th & Monroe Street Municipal ramp, which is connected to the hotel.

We also offer Valet parking, which is available at the hotel entrance on Adams Street. Cost is $3.

Executive Chef:
Bradly Mechol

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room offers seating for up to 16 persons. Audio visual presentation equipment available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Denise Simon: (217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (38)
See All
Scenic View (34)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Modern Decor (12)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The quality is unbeatable and never disappoints..pricey, but no where else in the area like it!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Over all great experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great atmosphere and wonderful view of the city. Food was solid . The bartender ( I believe his name was Chris ) was full of personality, we really enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Best view south of Chicago. Service very good. Food very good. Very expensive! I guess you have to pay for the view. Would like to come more often, cannot afford it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

First time-wonderful experience! I have been recommending to friends.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a good experience here. A little pricey. Excellent service from our waiter Rick.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

All the food was excellent with great service and view. A must when visiting Springfield.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

You will not be disappointed if you goto Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse. Every aspect of this restaurant is excellent. The service first and foremost was phenomenal, and the food ontop of this managed matched it. I will definitely be back.

Its worth noting that the firecracker shrimp appetizer might have been the best thing I have ever ate in my entire life. I had to force myself not to lick the plate. So I definitely recomend that, hell order two, you wont be disappointed. ;)

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great view of Springfield, IL. Food and service were great, with friendly staff and good wine selection. Highly recommend if you are in Springfield or around!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Purely creative awesome perfectly prepared food and impeccable unrushed service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My wife and I have been to Nick & Nino's a couple of times and each time we visit we feel at home. Everything is wonderful and the staff go out of their way to make your experience special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Always enjoy Nick and Nino's. Good food, good service and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been to Nick and Ninos several times. The only disappointment this time - When I made our reservation, I had requested a table next to a window. We were seated in the center of the room even though there was an empty table next to the window...apparently reserved for someone else. Once I got past that, I enjoyed the view even from the center of the room. Our waiter, Rick (younger with brown hair--believe there are 2 waiters named Rick) was excellent and attentive. He knew the menu very well. The food was over the moon delicious...my filet with garlic crust and Truffle Bordelaise was wonderful! My husband had the cowboy ribeye with garlic crust and brandy peppercorn sauce...he raved about it! Nick's potatoes and the asparagus were superb! We did have the crab cakes as an appetizers and they are probably the best around! Atmosphere is so relaxing and romantic. This is our very special restaurant. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service. Food was delicious. Some low level music would have been nice. A lovely dining experience for adults who enjoy fine food and conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We took our parents to Nick and Nino's for their 40th Wedding Anniversary. 10 people sitting in front of a large window looking over the city at sunset. Great service along w/ an awesome menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Scallops were cooked perfectly and my partners lamb was great! Loved our gingerbread creme Brule wished they still placed a sparkler in dessert but was told fire department put a stop on it... too bad. The noise level was higher than our last visit bit overall a wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very excellent, we are small portion eaters, and we were full when done. We only ordered the entree, no salads or appetizers. They provided us with complimentary bread, even though we didn't order anything but entree. The view was amazing, we sat by the window. The server kept all our glasses full, we did not have to ask for a thing, she was on top of her job. Very knowledgeable about the menu, and very happy. You could tell she loves what she does. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Never disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a fantastic experience. We had a private room which was fantastic and our waitress was phenomenal. She took special care to make sure that we were able to find dairy free items for two of us. The food was fantastic. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience celebrating my in-laws 40th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We arrived earlier than our reservation, but we were seated immediately. Our waiter Rick was phenomenal, very informative and polite. He was attentive, made excellent suggestions, and made the dining experience one-of-a-kind. Our food was exquisite in both taste and appearance. The price was worth the experience and my wife and I are eager to go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Just excellent! From the current to the food to the service...this place exceeds!
Our waiter was fabulous and had the perfect mix of attention and commentary. View is nice too!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was good, the service was slightly above average. The taste of the steak was very good, the cut of meat was average. (Ny strip) The prosciutto wrapped chicken was excellent. I would suggest an effort to be made towards making it a more intimate dining experience. Especially for the tables without a window view.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My girlfriend, and I really enjoyed the dinning experience we had at Nick and Nino's in Springfield IL. The cusine and service was what you would expect at a fine dinning establishment. The ambient lighting and relaxed atmosphere really put us in a romantic mood as we dined and conversed.

Our waitress Jennifer was a simple delight plus well versed in the correct mannerisms and knowledge of the restaurant, and its menu.

Highly recommended for those who want to spend a romantic evening of exquisite dinning with a breathtaking view of the city lights at night.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Organic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Nick and Nino's is always a special gen in Springfield. Wonderful food and beautiful presentations. A little on the pricey side, but WELL worth the extra cost.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The view and ambiance is very nice. The restaurant is not large, so reservations are recommended, especially on weekends. We both had the scallops with chopped sweet potato made with bacon. The scallops needed to be cooked a bit longer. The potatoes were very good. The other couple enjoyed their steak and sea bass. The 2 scallop dinners, a side order of vegetables, and one cup of coffee came to $85.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. Expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One thing I love about any restaurant is the feeling of being welcomed and valued. Nick & Nino's definitely has this part down. Our server, Rick, made us feel very much at home and called me by name the entire evening, despite the fact that I had never been there before.
My wife and I do enjoy bread before our meal, but this bread basket is something else. Along with yeast rolls and breadsticks was a wafer-thin cracker bread with romano cheese baked on and a cinnamon raisin toast with sunflower seeds and honey that could've been a dessert by itself.
Our appetizer was the smoked chicken and chorizo egg rolls. These were served vertically with some crispy sweet potato threads on top and a smoky pepper cream for dipping. Every ingredient could be tasted, and none overwhelmed another. This balance of flavor would prove to be the hallmark of the rest of the meal as well.
My wife ordered the special--Chicken Oscar. A chicken breast topped by baby asparagus, a VERY fresh crab cake and hollandaise over a bed of roasted shallot and red pepper mashed potatoes. I had the flight of filets, which are three 3-ounce filets, each with its own crust (I had garlic, blue cheese and horseradish) served with a sweet onion jam, roasted tomatoes and your choice of sauce (I had bearnaise). We had Nick's potatoes as our side. These are creamy scalloped potatoes baked with a parmesan crust.
For dessert, we shared a chocolate peppermint schnapps cake, served with whipped cream, a mint leaf, and raspberry and lime/kiwi sauces. Everything I just described, plus a pepsi and an iced tea, came to $108. You'd spend WAY more than that at Morton's in St. Louis and not get nearly as good of food.
One note about the window seats--it's really difficult to get one, even if you reserve in advance. I would suggest just go, have a good time, and get up and take a peek out the window when they're changing over the tables.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nick and Nino's is an oustanding place for a romantic date! The food was awesome! Loved thatChef came out to meet every single table to see how the food was to everyone! The chef definitely cares about his patrons and the food that he serves. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I went there for an early Valentine's day and had the best time! Our waiter was absolutely outstanding, I loved his descriptions of all the menu items. He was quick and helpful and just overall a wonderful server. The food is really some of Springfield's finest! Love this place!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was slow this evening. Reservations were for 8:15. It was 10:30 before we were done. If it weren't for "Matt" (who no longer works in the restaurant) paying attention to us and our drinks, we would have waited quite some time for more water. Good thing Matt was having dinner with his lovely wife! Food was very good, as always. Not sure I want to spend that much money when I have to wait for over two hours to be served and done. Only 4 persons in our party and the restaurant was not full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The guys had the bone on, double-cut, stuffed pork chops with the sweet potato hash and the ladies did the grilled Mahi Mahi and the pan seared scallops! Everything was wonderful including very attentive service from Rick.

The view was great and made my wife's birthday celebration!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were there for our 9th Anniversary and it was also our first time. It was amazing! The food was great and the service was just as good!!! We can't wait to go back :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food and outstanding service. A bit pricy, but wonderful place for a special occasion or just a nice romantic evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have had dinner several times. The food and ambiance is good. However, the menu is ala carte. As a result the final bill is very expensive considering the price of the food and drink.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The restaurant staff was very accommodating. Our server was very polite, courteous and knowledgeable. The food was excellent. Would highly recommend this facility to a friend looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I brought my wife here for her birthday and it was fantastic! The staff was more than courteous and the food was amazing. I would highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions such as birthdays or anniversaries. Maybe a tad pricey for everyday dining but the quality of the service and food helped lighten the blow to my wallet. I will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was amazing and the young lady waiting on us was excellent! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great atmosphere and night time view of the city. Service was great, but the steaks were a little over cooked. I will give it another shot.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was excellent...though a bit heavy. Shrimp appetizers very tasty...the Nick's Potatoes (side dish) is VERY heavy...cream, cheese, etc... wish we'd gotten a veggie, instead. Excellent scallops w/ sweet potato hash. Husband loved his steak w/ blue cheese... Wine list is good, though awfully pricey. This time (this is about our 3rd or 4th time), service wasn't quite as quick & attentive as it usually is. Nothing earth-shattering, but it took quite a while for someone to initially stop at the table, and getting bread basket took a while, as did the 1 dessert we ordered. Other than that...a great "special occasion" restaurant. We can only afford to come here about once a year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.