About Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse

700 E Adams
Springfield, IL 62701
View Larger Map

Perched 30 stories above Springfield's capital city, Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse offers unparalleled food, ambiance and service.
Our small intimate dining experience is perfect for a romantic dinner, entertaining business client or a night out with a group of friends.



We serve only the finest certified Black Angus aged steaks along with a selection of mouth-watering entrees.



At Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse we treat every occasion like it's a special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.nickandninosspringfield.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary parking for diners in the 7th & Monroe Street Municipal ramp, which is connected to the hotel.

We also offer Valet parking, which is available at the hotel entrance on Adams Street. Cost is $3.

Executive Chef:
Bradly Mechol

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room offers seating for up to 16 persons. Audio visual presentation equipment available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Denise Simon: (217)789-1530x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Seabass
  • Firecracker Shrimp Appetizer
  • Lamb Chop
  • Dry Aged 20oz Bone-In Ribeye
  • Chocolate Cake
  • Filet Mignon Sushi Roll
  • Firecracker Salmon
  • Seared Scallops
Seabass
Firecracker Shrimp Appetizer
Lamb Chop
Dry Aged 20oz Bone-In Ribeye
Chocolate Cake
Filet Mignon Sushi Roll
Firecracker Salmon
Seared Scallops

Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
10 More
Special Occasion
Chicago / Illinois
Contemporary American
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Central Illinois
Best Food
Central Illinois
Best Service
Central Illinois
Best Ambiance
Central Illinois
Best Value
Central Illinois
Romantic
Central Illinois
Special Occasion
Central Illinois
Most Booked
Central Illinois
Best Restaurants in Springfield ›

special occasion (66)
romantic (60)
scenic view (60)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (16)
late-night find (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A little pricey, but worth the experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

A little pricey, but worth the experience. The Firecracker Shrimp appetizer is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent experience! Fabulous food,worl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent experience!

Fabulous food,world class service,friendly staff, excellent ambience and a fantastic view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet quality food. Excellent friendl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Gourmet quality food. Excellent friendly service. Favorite for when visiting Springfield.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, great atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love this restaurant, great atmosphere. The staff are very professional and friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time two years ago was amazing ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our first time two years ago was amazing so we decided to go back for our anniversary and we were so disappointed! My lamb was absolutely rare and cold, our potatoes had and overpowering taste of garlic and the drinks from the bar were horrible! The server and greeter were amazing the food not so much! Can't understand how such an amazing place can change to this low standard!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyone loved there meal, was the best ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everyone loved there meal, was the best steak they ever had!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive and the foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. The sunset view was the cherry on top!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though we had a reservation, we wer ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we were given the worst table in the restaurant while other tables remained empty. I would strongly recommend asking for window side table or booth. The 2 top tables are too tiny too even hold the dishes needed for a regular meal. Guests are at the mercy of the hostess. Seating took the special,out of special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nick and Nino's is always a special trea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nick and Nino's is always a special treat. The service is very good and the food is very special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Cost a little ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food and service. Cost a little high for this city, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food. Very good service. Jus ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very good food. Very good service. Just very over priced. A $30-$50 entree should at least come with a couple of sides. To get one side you had to order an $8 small bowl of potatoes (that does serve 2 people), but still...$8 for a small bowl of potatoes? $13 for 5 shrimp (but it was very good shrimp). I guess that is why it is so quiet as it is very expensive to eat a meal there that most people can't afford to come. It is a free country and you can charge what you want but at those prices you won't get many repeat customers (unless you are very rich!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Always an all around wonderful experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always an all around wonderful experience from the top notch amazing food to the great service Jennifer and Chelsea were great! I had seasonal vegetables absolutely amazing candied beets. The host is always very welcoming and accommodating!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a nice atmosphere with a ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and a nice atmosphere with a nice view of Spingfield

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrate our anniverdary.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food, outstanding service, atmosphere the best. Will certainly return before our next anniversary. Certainly one of the top three in Springfield

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Snapper was great service very good as u ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Snapper was great service very good as usual new desserts (cheese cake) fabulous

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Business Meeting

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We had a party of 6 and they were able to accommodate us at a large round table which was nice for conversation. We tried an assortment of appetizers and side dishes and it was all fabulous. The portions are huge! Each side can easily serve 4 people. The Nick's potatoes were my favorite of the night, and the maple bacon ice cream was the perfect dessert. If you are looking for a place to impress people this is definitely the place to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had the Rib Eye steak with ga ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband had the Rib Eye steak with garlic crust which was seasoned to perfection! I had the Jumbo Lobster tails which were tender and sweet! Even the carmelized onion garnish was a treat! Service provided by our server Rick was impeccable! We didn't have any room left for dessert but we will definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The sauces and finishes for the steak op ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The sauces and finishes for the steak options were outstanding! Service was professional, and the view is unmatched.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food in a Central Illinois l ...

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Exceptional food in a Central Illinois location. Side dishes are large enough for two persons and should be shared. We each had the strip steak and it was excellent. Best bread basket ever. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place in Springfield for a special ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Best place in Springfield for a special occasion! Treated like royalty!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For the price I expected very good to ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

For the price I expected very good to excellent with everything. I expected the food to have really outstanding taste. I don't regret going, it was worth it to spend a little money for our 34 anniversary but at the same time I can't tell my friends that you get what you pay for.

One thing that surprised me a lot is that we were one of the first customers and yet they gave us a small table on the inside. I expected a full size table by the window. I noted that couples that came later did get a full size table closer to the window. Not a big deal, but I thought it was a little odd.

So I'm trying not to be too negative. Like I said I don't regret going but probably won't be back.

Thanks.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious steaks and beautiful sunset view!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

A delicious meal, beautiful view, and great service made for the perfect birthday celebration for my husband! We highly recommend Nick and Nino's and look forward to going back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit and glad we decided to d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our first visit and glad we decided to dine with you

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite Dinner with a View

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had Mothers Day dinner the night before. Dinner was excellent. Sea bass and pork chop were excellent. Sides were big enough for two and very tasty. Excellent server who was very helpful in entree and wine selection. Hostess was very nice and all servers were very attentive.

Great meal and experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal! Overall the entire ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a great meal! Overall the entire experience was very nice, service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place for the view, the service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Awesome place for the view, the service and above all the food. We are always treated like very important guests by Denise the hostess.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, but not Great

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 60th birthdays. While I thought I had made a reservation far enough in advance to ask for a table by the window we weren't accommodated. The table offered would have put the sunlight directly in our eyes so we asked for another table. Our waiter was helpful and pleasant. The food was fabulous. One thing you have to know is this isn't Chicago. It's Springfield. For dinner I would have expected table cloths which would have cut down on the over zealous spraying of windex by the bus boy to clean the tables after customers had left. The smell of windex is not what I want to smell while eating a steak and it didn't agree with my dinner. We had a pleasant dinner until the bus boy came and asked "are you still working on that?" The proper phrase is "may I removed your plate." Then he proceeded to clear our plate like we were in a cafeteria, stacking dishes loudly and precariously on top of each other. There was a little mix up with our appetizer and both the waiter and the hostess came to correct the situation so they get high marks on good customer service. Fabulous food, pleasant waiter and nice view get an A. Bus boy and lack of table cloths take the grade down to a B-. But, then again, it's Springfield, not Chicago. If you go with that in mind you won't be too disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This is must for date night! Excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This is must for date night!

Excellent service, food, and atmosphere.

Parking was easy, convenient, and secure as well.

Five Stars all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We spent our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Nick & Nino's it was very enjoyable. The food was excellent and the ambiance was great. I would recommend this for your special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

City-High Magic

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great views of Springfield. Bartender played along with me while we concocted a cocktail named for President Lincoln. The Loopy Lincoln. Food was fresh and delicious, plate was delightfully displayed, and bartender knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

What a gem! The food is always outstanding and we love coming to Nick & Nino's for their extensive wine list. Rick, our server, was phenomenal. I can't say enough great things about him. Denise, the hostess, remembers me every time and she is a true asset to the restaurant. This is by far the best restaurant in Springfield, and as someone who visits Chicago's vibrant restaurant scene often, I must say Nick & Nino's could give any big city fine dining / chic restaurant a run for their money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Just as expected. Excellant food, good service, nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

1st time was excellent - 2nd time was better!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My wife and I come to Springfield each year to judge at the FBLA State Competition. Last year a friend suggested we try Nick and Nino's and it was excellent. This year we returned and found the experience even better. There were many good choices from the wine list to complement our meal and we chose a Pinot Noir from France. Both salads were superb and I was pleased that the presentation of my Caesar was improved from last year. The homemade breads were a nice complement. Our main courses were prepared exactly as we wanted - my wife's fish was thoroughly cooked and my filet was extra rare. We suggest Nick's potatoes as a side - a little heavy on the cheese but the sauce was tasty. We limited dessert to coffee as we did not want to be over stuffed. This restaurant is now firmly in our Top Five list and our only complaint is that they do not have another location closer to our Chicago area home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food even better view

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food was really outstanding . My wife had the small filet. I had the lamb chops. Both were excellent and cooked correctly as ordered( medium rare). The wine list was impressive with selections in all price ranges. we got an excellent French pinot noir for $45. Our waiter (Rick) was very professional and attentive. My only complaint was the room was a little warm which was strange because the outside temp was in the low forties. I didn't complain but should have.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was extremely good. I think ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Everything was extremely good. I think the price of the food is worth it. My only complaint would be that the drinks are priced out of line.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First timers --- loved it!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We tried N&N's for the first time while looking for a quiet place highly recommended for a Friday night dinner. We had three choices, eventually picking this one; we were not disappointed. We knew going in that the price was going to be higher than most other places, but we were looking for a special culinary experience and willing to invest a bit more. We were not disappointed. Everything was fabulous, from the appetizer to the entree to the dessert. We had the honey apple brie brushcetta for appetizer which was a lovely combination of flavors. Entrees of duck and pork chop were healthy sized but not too much. Dessert of ice cream sampler did the job of rounding out the meal and cleansing the palette. Wonderful experience; definitely recommend and will return if in Springfield again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversory Dinner at Nick and Nino's

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

It's always a little stressful when you introduce people to a restaurant that they have not been to before. However Nick and Nino's hit a home run with the couple that joined us for our anniversary dinner. Our server was outstanding as was the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

quiet and romantic

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Nick and Nino's has become our favorite place to dine as a couple. The view of the city is fantastic, the servers and bartenders are funny, engaging and efficient. The food, however, is the star!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WOW experience!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

A great dining experience from the moment we stepped off the elevator and were warmly greeted by Denise, the hostess to our server Ladd's description of the food and wines and his attentiveness of service. We have dined at Nick and Nino's before, this time we went to celebrate a birthday. We shared my favorite appetizer, the firecracker shrimp. Two of us had the signature lobster bisque and the others had the beautifully presented caesar salads. Each of us had a different entree, the lamb chops, flight of filets, dry aged New York strip steak and the signature Chiplote sea bass. We shared the asparagus and Nick's potatoes side dishes. We shared a couple of desserts, drank a bottle of wine with dinner and overall had a perfect night. We'll be back--we deserve it!! Thanks Nick and Nino's

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff never disappoints and the kitc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The staff never disappoints and the kitchen is always spot on. We love this place! They will be around a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.