About Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse

700 E Adams
Springfield, IL 62701
View Larger Map

Perched 30 stories above Springfield's capital city, Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse offers unparalleled food, ambiance and service.
Our small intimate dining experience is perfect for a romantic dinner, entertaining business client or a night out with a group of friends.



We serve only the finest certified Black Angus aged steaks along with a selection of mouth-watering entrees.



At Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse we treat every occasion like it's a special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.nickandninosspringfield.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary parking for diners in the 7th & Monroe Street Municipal ramp, which is connected to the hotel.

We also offer Valet parking, which is available at the hotel entrance on Adams Street. Cost is $3.

Executive Chef:
Bradly Mechol

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room offers seating for up to 16 persons. Audio visual presentation equipment available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Denise Simon: (217)789-1530x3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seabass
  • Firecracker Shrimp Appetizer
  • Lamb Chop
  • Dry Aged 20oz Bone-In Ribeye
  • Chocolate Cake
  • Filet Mignon Sushi Roll
  • Firecracker Salmon
  • Seared Scallops
Seabass
Firecracker Shrimp Appetizer
Lamb Chop
Dry Aged 20oz Bone-In Ribeye
Chocolate Cake
Filet Mignon Sushi Roll
Firecracker Salmon
Seared Scallops

Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
10 More
Special Occasion
Chicago / Illinois
Contemporary American
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Central Illinois
Best Food
Central Illinois
Best Service
Central Illinois
Best Ambiance
Central Illinois
Best Value
Central Illinois
Romantic
Central Illinois
Special Occasion
Central Illinois
Most Booked
Central Illinois
Best Restaurants in Springfield ›

Special Occasion (56)
Scenic View (53)
Romantic (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been a few times before and always ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We've been a few times before and always enjoyed it so we returned for my husband's birthday. Same great food and dining experience as always. We were seated between two larger parties so it was not as quiet as usual, but still ok. So, good food, good service, great ambiance and the best view in Springfield.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

THIS WAS ONE OF THE MOST PLEASANT DINING ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

THIS WAS ONE OF THE MOST PLEASANT DINING EXPERIENCES THE WIFE AND I HAVE EVER HAD. WE'VE BEEN TO RUTHS CRISS,MORTONS, AND ALL THE OTHER STEAKHOUSES IN CHICAGO AND THIS WAS WHAT YOU WOULD CALL A PERFECT EXPERIENCE. OUR WAITER WAS RICK, AND THAT SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING BECAUSE,I NEVER REMEMBER ANY NAME OF THE WAITSTAFF. AS A MATTER OF FACT, THE WIFE AND I WERE TALKING LAST NIGHT THAT WE WOULDN'T MIND DRIVING FROM JOLIET,IL ON A SUNDAY JUST TO GO THERE !!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff remembered us from previous ye ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The staff remembered us from previous years, our server, Rick, was absolutely outstanding and we'll be looking forward to seeing him for our anniversary next year. The chef greeted our table, sent out an extra side for us to try, and came back out to see how we liked the meal. The lamb chops and surf & turf were to die for... best restaurant in Springfield. We LOVE Nick & Nino's, and the service is UNBEATABLE! Thanks for making our anniversary so special!!! Can't wait to see you all next year!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One discriminating member of my party sa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One discriminating member of my party said that her steak was the best she had ever had. Her cocktail, too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went here for our anniversary and loved ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

went here for our anniversary and loved it! Everything from food to service was exceptional. Not many places anymore where you can hear each other talk because of noise. It was really relaxing. Would love to go there more often but the cost is high. You get what you pay for though. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service and Wonderful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great Food, Great Service and Wonderful experience.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were outstanding. W ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. We chose this place since it was in the same hotel as we stayed and also for it's nice atmosphere to celebrate our wedding anniversary. They had us sit by ourselves without anyone close by for a romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary experienc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary experience. The staff was amazing. The flowers I ordered were on the table when we arrived. The pace was just right. We had a chance to talk with the chef after our dinner and give him our compliments for a great dinner. The hostess, the servers and the kitchen combined to make this a very special night for us.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nick and Nino's is the definition of whi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Nick and Nino's is the definition of white table cloth fine dining restuarant on the top floor of the Wyndham hotel in Springfield. The menu is brilliant, the favors are amazing. The service is fabulous. Eat there once or a hundred times, you can't go wrong.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for a birthday celebration. Wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went here for a birthday celebration. Was memorable and a great experience. Would recommend this romantic place for a date night or special occasion. The ambience and food was amazing. Will definitely go again to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Only complaint was that I was there t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My Only complaint was that I was there to celebrate my Birthday, and my past experience at other restaurants is that they give you dessert with a lit candle or something to acknowledge your Birthday. I did not received any acknowledgement, which was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Our time here was perfect. Not only was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our time here was perfect. Not only was our meal delicious, our table had the glorious view of the sun setting over the city. Service was attentive with our waiter Rick who was very knowledgeable. A wonderful evening that I highly recommend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but our waiter, B ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was fantastic but our waiter, Bill was inattentive, impatient and rude. Even my children noticed and they're young kids. I usually way over tip. Just the minimum this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Very nice place for a classy meal

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very nice place for a classy meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best meal, service, and a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely the best meal, service, and atmosphere you could have for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I've had dinner at Nick and N ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Every time I've had dinner at Nick and Nino's I've had a wonderful experience. The view is absolutely beautiful! This time I tried the veal on red pepper mashed potatoes topped with lump crab meat including asparagus, and it was exceptional! I didn't think I would ever stray from the fillet or sea bass, but I'm glad I did. I also love the goat cheese croutons in the Nick and Nino's salad. The desserts are also amazing, especially the Chef's homemade ice cream trio. The maple and bacon flavor was the table's favorite.

I will recommend this restaurant as the best hidden gem in Springfield for any special occasion. Every server is delightful especially the two both named Rick. Chef Bradly even came out to our table to ask how everything tasted.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a must if you are in Springfi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Definitely a must if you are in Springfield. We ate here twice because we enjoyed our dinners so much! The veal Oscar was amazing. Nice wine list, great bartender, very accommodating all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was a pleasurable experience and the vie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was a pleasurable experience and the view was amazing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was fantastic. We ordered the f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our meal was fantastic. We ordered the firecracker shrimp as an appetizer and it was the absolute best shrimp! For entrees we ordered the scallops and the veal, both of which were amazing! The view of the sunset over the city of Springfield was beautiful. We would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening from start to finish! Warm ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great evening from start to finish! Warm, friendly greeting, view table, charming waiter. Excellent food! Steaks were perfectly cooked, and the sides were great. We choose the Nick's potatoes, asparagus, and the chef's vegetables which were roasted root vegetables. All delicious. One little quibble: a few more white wine choices would be appreciated.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a perfect evening. Our server(R ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Enjoyed a perfect evening. Our server(Rick) was extremely knowledgeable and made the evening outstanding. Would highly recommend both the restaurant and server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was incredible! This is a hi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything was incredible! This is a hidden gem in the heart of Springfield.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing about it needs changing. The st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Nothing about it needs changing. The staff was professional, suggestions were made, the pace was set by us and not the staff. We were there for a birthday meal and wanted it to be and "event". Definitely filled that need.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey, but worth the experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A little pricey, but worth the experience. The Firecracker Shrimp appetizer is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent experience! Fabulous food,worl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent experience!

Fabulous food,world class service,friendly staff, excellent ambience and a fantastic view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet quality food. Excellent friendl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Gourmet quality food. Excellent friendly service. Favorite for when visiting Springfield.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, great atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love this restaurant, great atmosphere. The staff are very professional and friendly.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time two years ago was amazing ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our first time two years ago was amazing so we decided to go back for our anniversary and we were so disappointed! My lamb was absolutely rare and cold, our potatoes had and overpowering taste of garlic and the drinks from the bar were horrible! The server and greeter were amazing the food not so much! Can't understand how such an amazing place can change to this low standard!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyone loved there meal, was the best ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everyone loved there meal, was the best steak they ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive and the foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. The sunset view was the cherry on top!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though we had a reservation, we wer ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we were given the worst table in the restaurant while other tables remained empty. I would strongly recommend asking for window side table or booth. The 2 top tables are too tiny too even hold the dishes needed for a regular meal. Guests are at the mercy of the hostess. Seating took the special,out of special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nick and Nino's is always a special trea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nick and Nino's is always a special treat. The service is very good and the food is very special.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Cost a little ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food and service. Cost a little high for this city, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food. Very good service. Jus ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very good food. Very good service. Just very over priced. A $30-$50 entree should at least come with a couple of sides. To get one side you had to order an $8 small bowl of potatoes (that does serve 2 people), but still...$8 for a small bowl of potatoes? $13 for 5 shrimp (but it was very good shrimp). I guess that is why it is so quiet as it is very expensive to eat a meal there that most people can't afford to come. It is a free country and you can charge what you want but at those prices you won't get many repeat customers (unless you are very rich!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Always an all around wonderful experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always an all around wonderful experience from the top notch amazing food to the great service Jennifer and Chelsea were great! I had seasonal vegetables absolutely amazing candied beets. The host is always very welcoming and accommodating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a nice atmosphere with a ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and a nice atmosphere with a nice view of Spingfield

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrate our anniverdary.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food, outstanding service, atmosphere the best. Will certainly return before our next anniversary. Certainly one of the top three in Springfield

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Snapper was great service very good as u ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Snapper was great service very good as usual new desserts (cheese cake) fabulous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Business Meeting

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We had a party of 6 and they were able to accommodate us at a large round table which was nice for conversation. We tried an assortment of appetizers and side dishes and it was all fabulous. The portions are huge! Each side can easily serve 4 people. The Nick's potatoes were my favorite of the night, and the maple bacon ice cream was the perfect dessert. If you are looking for a place to impress people this is definitely the place to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had the Rib Eye steak with ga ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband had the Rib Eye steak with garlic crust which was seasoned to perfection! I had the Jumbo Lobster tails which were tender and sweet! Even the carmelized onion garnish was a treat! Service provided by our server Rick was impeccable! We didn't have any room left for dessert but we will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.