About Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse

Perched 30 stories above Springfield's capital city, Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse offers unparalleled food, ambiance and service.
Our small intimate dining experience is perfect for a romantic dinner, entertaining business client or a night out with a group of friends.



We serve only the finest certified Black Angus aged steaks along with a selection of mouth-watering entrees.



At Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse we treat every occasion like it's a special occasion.

700 E Adams
Springfield, IL 62701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.nickandninosspringfield.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary parking for diners in the 7th & Monroe Street Municipal ramp, which is connected to the hotel.

We also offer Valet parking, which is available at the hotel entrance on Adams Street. Cost is $3.

Executive Chef:
Bradly Mechol

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room offers seating for up to 16 persons. Audio visual presentation equipment available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Denise Simon: (217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Romantic (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Scenic View (36)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1026 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

The dining room is cozy and elegant on the 30th floor of the Wyndham Hotel. Great Views of Springfield. Excellant cocktails. Great service especially with our Waiter Rick. The food is absolutley delicious and the steaks were delectable and cooked to perfection!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Prices too high for being called casual dining. Reservation requested was for a table by the window but we were seated across the room in a corner. Not very accommodating for children.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Beautiful view of the sunset. The service and food were both flawless. Relaxing and elegant. Quiet enough to enjoy long talks.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Fantastic! From the cocktails to the delicious menu choices. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Thank you for an amazing meal and accommodating our gluten free preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and view....very friendly and attentive staff....even the chef came out to talk to us and ask how our meal was.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

I have to say we have been coming to Nick and Ninos for years and they never disappoint. Professional staff and amazing food. My wife has allergies and they are always so heplfull in helping her choose menu items that work for her. Kudos to the whole staff. Its nice that we are lucky enough to have a restaurant with a big city feel like this place in Springfield. The views are amazing and the atmosphere is relaxing. It continues to be our go to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Awesome personal service by our server great suggestions, good wine. Sea bass was best my wife had. Bone in Manhattan was so good, Cream of Corn grits was so tasty!!
Nick and Ninos is now our Favorite Spot

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Nick and Ninos Servers are incredibly educated and friendly. We were treated so well and serviced incredibly. Very intimate and perfect for a romantic dinner. We had steak and lobster tail which were amazing! A little pricey and you had to pay for all the sides, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I'd like to start out by saying that I've been to Nick & Nino's on several other occasions, and always been very impressed with the service and food. This time, it was just lacking. The man who sat us asked if we were celebrating anything and we told him it was our anniversary, but there was no followup on that from anyone. Why ask if you're not going to do anything about it? Our server was great, until he forgot to put in half of my husband's order (a lobster tail for surf & turf). He told us the kitchen was busy and it would be right out, but we saw almost no one else waiting for food, and it took another 15-20 minutes for the lobster tail to arrive, leading us to believe he had forgotten it and was covering up. Meanwhile, no one checked on us. My husband was finished with the rest of his dinner by the time it came out, so he sent it back. No manager checked in and the server didn't come by until he brought it out. Next, the drink I ordered, a peartini, was straight vodka. It was so strong I couldn't even drink it. I don't like to send things back so I didn't say anything, but the fact that I had a full drink in front of me all night, didn't eat much of my food, and was looking around often to catch someone's attention should have been a clear signal to a manager that we needed a table touch. For a meal that was $130+, it was a huge disappointment. The atmosphere there is pretty bland, except for the view, but we were seated next to a wall and couldn't look out at all. There was a large group taking up half the dining room and even leaning over the back of my booth all night. Again, I never write reviews like this, but for such an expensive place that seems to pride itself on amazing food and service, it just didn't live up to that. I could have had a better experience for a much lower price tag somewhere else. We won't be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Amazing experience top to bottom. I only had to ding it for "value" cause it's not cheap but I wasn't expecting it to be as I've been here before. Our waitress was amazing and always so sweet, polite and attentive. But you expect that for the price. The view is fun! I've lived here my whole life but I still love seeing it from a different viewpoint. We will keep going back to celebrate events!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Awesome service and very good steak. Cowboy cut was a perfect medium. View from 30 th floor was amazing. But the attentive, informative, and personable service was the standout!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

From the appetizer to the desert, Nick and ninos steaks house was amazing. Everyone was extremely pleasant, helpful and friendly. The appetizer was excellent and fresh. The steaks were amazing cooked to perfection. We highly recommend the sea bass it was perfect as well

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

What a great experience!! From the moment you get off the elevator on the 30th floor till the moment you get back on they treat you like one of the family. The service was probably the best we've ever had, very knowledgeable and great recomendations. We had the cowboy ribeye and seabass with their nicks potato as a side which is an au gratin style. Everything was to die for!! Did I mention the lobster bisque!?! Hands down the best bisque out there anywhere. We will be back to this place!! No doubt the best restaurant in springfield!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nick and Ninos is one of my favorite steak houses of anyone I've ever been to. The service is unmatched. They know your name before you walk in the door. The food is always consistent. I've never had a bad meal. I would recommend Nick and Ninos to anyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The waiter was courteous, but she was waiting on multiple tables, and the service was super slow. My steak was overcooked. I did not complained because I was afraid that it would take another hour to get a replacement steak. If you want a steak in Springfield, this is the place to go. But based on our experience last Saturday, go elsewhere and eat a steak when you go back home. By the way, they charge $15.00 to split a steak, which I find completely outrageous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Loyal since Nick and Nino's opened. Not sure what has happened since last time we were there, but there has been a noticeable change. We waited at the hostess stand longer than usual. Took at least 15 minutes after we were seated for the waitress to take our order. Had minimal input about the food, we had to ASK about the Chef's Special.
We have come to Nick and Nino's for every birthday, anniversary and special occasion. Not sure if we will continue. The whole experience was lackluster and disappointing.

Not used to what we have come to expect from Nick and Nino's. Not sure what was going on last Saturday night, but sure wasn't up to past standards.

Sorry, the food was fine, but a lot of our pleasure comes from the service, starting with how we are greeted and wait time. No enthusiasm about the menu from our wait staff made it not very pleasurable. We were so disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

It was a special occasion yet it was a big disappointment. The greeting at the door was cordial; the waiter was one of the best.; the room - comfortable and spacious with a grand view of the city and beyond.
The food was pricey and one doesn't mind paying top dollar for fine food - the crabcake appetizer was very good; the Caesar salad was limp; one entree was good but just average and the other was not edible. It was the special of the day - lamb chops - filled with gristle and fat.
The waiter was advised and the chef stopped at our table explaining that sometimes a shipment of chops has a few bad ones. Well, I don't want a bad one - not at that price or at any price. A replacement wasn't offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

There was a view of a black tiled wall in the booth I was seated in. I ate dinner there because of the 30 floor view as advertised.when I asked if we could sit at a table to see the view we were told that they were already reserved. When we were finished with dinner several tables were still available that we could have been seated at. Overall my 40day aged steak was a little tough and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Lovely restaurant with gorgeous view. Unexpected surprise in Springfield.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were disappointed that for our special occasion we were put at a table in the middle of the room by the drink station. It was hard to hear one another and visit.
The food was excellent and waitress was good. But the ambience left much to be desired.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food was absolutely spectacular. The service was exceptional. The atmosphere was upscale and romantic. Our bill was a bit pricey, but it was a special occasion so we expected to splurge.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I have never had such amazing service! Never! Professional and pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The best view in central Illinois, the best restaurant in central Illinois, and the best service in central Illinois. Signature experience crafted by professionals - I’ll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The place was recommended by our friend and it turned out to be our best dinning experience on this trip, including New York If you go to Springfield, put this place on your list. I had the sea bass, "phenomenal" crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside, steak is one of the best my wife ever had, best restaurant in Springfield Illinois hands down

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Only complaint - I asked for a window table when made reservation and was told we had one but did not get one even though a few were available. Maybe for the best - sun was streaming in and some folks had on sunglasses. But I wanted to see the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This restaurant is perfect for a special occasion. Entrees are absolutely delicious and presented beautifully. There are choices for every taste. The wine list is superb, and the staff will recommend a wine for every dish. Super fancy place. I loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The appetizers, sea bass, and service were all outstanding, as was the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Best Restaurant in Springfield Illinois in my opinion .5STAR

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The lobster bisque was unmatched for its deep, rich flavor.

The sea bass was perfect. The best I have had in 25 years since since my original perfect sea bass at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

Great views of Springfield and a moderate noise level where you can talk with others without shouting made this a memorable experience.

Our compliments to the chef.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My wife and I have eaten here for over five years. Every time is better than the next. Great table service outstanding menu all with an intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great dining experience!! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was an excellent experience. Better than I expected. I guess I have noticed over the years that restaurants with some great feature, like a great view, often have either mediocre food or bad service. Not the case here. The service was flawless, and the food was really amazing. Every single item on the plate was hot, fresh, and prepared to perfection. I've never had a meal with so many different unique and delicious flavors. It is expensive, but not THAT much more than a high-end chain restaurant. We'll be returning for sure, Lord willing (and providing).

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Nick and Nino's has always been reliable for special occasions and on this occasion did not disappoint. The menu has changed somewhat, and there appears to be fewer special items offered (like the elk I had several visits ago - very tasty!) Steaks are high quality; one diner had a medium rare order that arrived somewhat rarer than expected, but this is unusual. The wine list could be more extensive or more varied, though choices are reasonable for the restaurant's size. Dessert continues to be a high point: always freshly prepared and beautifully presented. We will certainly be visiting again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Outstanding evening as usual. Ric is a outstanding server and very knowledgeable about the menu. Breads and food are excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Delicious dinner, excellent service. Perfect way to celebrate an anniversary!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on May 30, 2017

This is the best steakhouse in Springfield IL. The service is very good and the view of the state capital from the top floor is incredible. The place is expensive and at par with any place in St Louis or Chicago. We had the filet mignon and was excellent and perfectly prepared. You need to order additional servings of mash potatoes since they are separate, and both the mash and au gratin were good. Excellent wine list. Recommended!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Went to Nick & Ninos for my wife's birthday. Absolutely great! Great service, food, and atmosphere. The best sea bass I've ever had. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We ordered 3 steaks, one was way overcooked , other two had no flavor , very strange for aged Ribeye !
Pork belly appetizer was horrible , the only good dish was our potato , that's all. I don't recommend this place , won't be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was fantastic but bar was disappointing. Cocktails were overpriced but not well made. No bar menu for drinks. Great view.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.