About Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse

Perched 30 stories above Springfield's capital city, Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse offers unparalleled food, ambiance and service.
Our small intimate dining experience is perfect for a romantic dinner, entertaining business client or a night out with a group of friends.



We serve only the finest certified Black Angus aged steaks along with a selection of mouth-watering entrees.



At Nick and Nino's penthouse steakhouse we treat every occasion like it's a special occasion.

700 E Adams
Springfield, IL 62701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.nickandninosspringfield.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary parking for diners in the 7th & Monroe Street Municipal ramp, which is connected to the hotel.

We also offer Valet parking, which is available at the hotel entrance on Adams Street. Cost is $3.

Executive Chef:
Bradly Mechol

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room offers seating for up to 16 persons. Audio visual presentation equipment available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Denise Simon: (217) 789-1530 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (41)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Scenic View (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Business Meals (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (11)
Modern Decor (7)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The appetizers, sea bass, and service were all outstanding, as was the ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Best Restaurant in Springfield Illinois in my opinion .5STAR

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The lobster bisque was unmatched for its deep, rich flavor.

The sea bass was perfect. The best I have had in 25 years since since my original perfect sea bass at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

Great views of Springfield and a moderate noise level where you can talk with others without shouting made this a memorable experience.

Our compliments to the chef.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great dining experience!! Would highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was an excellent experience. Better than I expected. I guess I have noticed over the years that restaurants with some great feature, like a great view, often have either mediocre food or bad service. Not the case here. The service was flawless, and the food was really amazing. Every single item on the plate was hot, fresh, and prepared to perfection. I've never had a meal with so many different unique and delicious flavors. It is expensive, but not THAT much more than a high-end chain restaurant. We'll be returning for sure, Lord willing (and providing).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Nick and Nino's has always been reliable for special occasions and on this occasion did not disappoint. The menu has changed somewhat, and there appears to be fewer special items offered (like the elk I had several visits ago - very tasty!) Steaks are high quality; one diner had a medium rare order that arrived somewhat rarer than expected, but this is unusual. The wine list could be more extensive or more varied, though choices are reasonable for the restaurant's size. Dessert continues to be a high point: always freshly prepared and beautifully presented. We will certainly be visiting again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Outstanding evening as usual. Ric is a outstanding server and very knowledgeable about the menu. Breads and food are excellent

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Delicious dinner, excellent service. Perfect way to celebrate an anniversary!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 30, 2017

This is the best steakhouse in Springfield IL. The service is very good and the view of the state capital from the top floor is incredible. The place is expensive and at par with any place in St Louis or Chicago. We had the filet mignon and was excellent and perfectly prepared. You need to order additional servings of mash potatoes since they are separate, and both the mash and au gratin were good. Excellent wine list. Recommended!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We ordered 3 steaks, one was way overcooked , other two had no flavor , very strange for aged Ribeye !
Pork belly appetizer was horrible , the only good dish was our potato , that's all. I don't recommend this place , won't be back .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was fantastic but bar was disappointing. Cocktails were overpriced but not well made. No bar menu for drinks. Great view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Hands down one of the best places I've ever been too. Our waitress, Andrea, was amazing; super caring and professional. The atmosphere is soothing after a long day of work. I drove in from Peoria, Illinois just to try it out. I will definitely return. Great for Dates, business meetings, late night dinner, etc.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cancún)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding experience in an unexpected location. Find dining at it's best!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a wonderful time and will return. The only thing that would have made it even better was to get the window table I requested in the reservation. It was our 37 wedding anniversary and we had hoped to have a window table. I made the reservation a couple of weeks earlier and there should have been time to get window table. And most of the time we were there, there was a window table available. Hopefully next time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had an amazing dinner at Nick and Nino's. The staff, especially our server Jennifer, were incredible. We had a special request for a meal and the staff happily accommodated or request.

The view was magnificent, the atmosphere was relaxing and the food was phenomenal.

The chef came to out table to make sure the special order was to my daughter's liking.

Great place, we will surely be back here the next time we are in Springfield.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been here twice and both times it has been great. The food is great, service awesome. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Fantastic meal, cocktails and service-- everything we could have hoped for to celebrate our anniversary!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The service was wonderful and the food was incredible. We enjoyed the beautiful view if the city. Thank you for the great experience, we will be back!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had a wonderful experience for a business dinner. Rick was the most amazing waiter ever, felt like we had a private concierge all evening. Thank you, Rick!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had an absolutely lovely dinner for 6 people. View was right across from the statehouse. Parking was free valet. Service was exceptional, with special accommodation for one person with limited mobility - without even asking. Food was mouthwatering, from the appetizers (small amounts, so had to order more for all 6 of us to taste everything) to the steaks. We had filets that were perfect. Lovely ambiance. Couldn't ask for a lovelier evening. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great place for dinner. The service is always superior and the food is perfectly prepared. The 30th floor of the tallest building in town makes for a wonderful view! I go back almost every time I'm in Springfield.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great restaurant

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The quality is unbeatable and never disappoints..pricey, but no where else in the area like it!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Over all great experience

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great atmosphere and wonderful view of the city. Food was solid . The bartender ( I believe his name was Chris ) was full of personality, we really enjoyed our experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Best view south of Chicago. Service very good. Food very good. Very expensive! I guess you have to pay for the view. Would like to come more often, cannot afford it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

First time-wonderful experience! I have been recommending to friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a good experience here. A little pricey. Excellent service from our waiter Rick.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

All the food was excellent with great service and view. A must when visiting Springfield.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

You will not be disappointed if you goto Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse. Every aspect of this restaurant is excellent. The service first and foremost was phenomenal, and the food ontop of this managed matched it. I will definitely be back.

Its worth noting that the firecracker shrimp appetizer might have been the best thing I have ever ate in my entire life. I had to force myself not to lick the plate. So I definitely recomend that, hell order two, you wont be disappointed. ;)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great view of Springfield, IL. Food and service were great, with friendly staff and good wine selection. Highly recommend if you are in Springfield or around!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Purely creative awesome perfectly prepared food and impeccable unrushed service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My wife and I have been to Nick & Nino's a couple of times and each time we visit we feel at home. Everything is wonderful and the staff go out of their way to make your experience special.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Always enjoy Nick and Nino's. Good food, good service and a nice atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been to Nick and Ninos several times. The only disappointment this time - When I made our reservation, I had requested a table next to a window. We were seated in the center of the room even though there was an empty table next to the window...apparently reserved for someone else. Once I got past that, I enjoyed the view even from the center of the room. Our waiter, Rick (younger with brown hair--believe there are 2 waiters named Rick) was excellent and attentive. He knew the menu very well. The food was over the moon delicious...my filet with garlic crust and Truffle Bordelaise was wonderful! My husband had the cowboy ribeye with garlic crust and brandy peppercorn sauce...he raved about it! Nick's potatoes and the asparagus were superb! We did have the crab cakes as an appetizers and they are probably the best around! Atmosphere is so relaxing and romantic. This is our very special restaurant. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service. Food was delicious. Some low level music would have been nice. A lovely dining experience for adults who enjoy fine food and conversation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We took our parents to Nick and Nino's for their 40th Wedding Anniversary. 10 people sitting in front of a large window looking over the city at sunset. Great service along w/ an awesome menu!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Scallops were cooked perfectly and my partners lamb was great! Loved our gingerbread creme Brule wished they still placed a sparkler in dessert but was told fire department put a stop on it... too bad. The noise level was higher than our last visit bit overall a wonderful evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very excellent, we are small portion eaters, and we were full when done. We only ordered the entree, no salads or appetizers. They provided us with complimentary bread, even though we didn't order anything but entree. The view was amazing, we sat by the window. The server kept all our glasses full, we did not have to ask for a thing, she was on top of her job. Very knowledgeable about the menu, and very happy. You could tell she loves what she does. We will definitely go there again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Never disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.