About New Yorker Restaurant

60 West Market Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

New Yorker, a public dining establishment, is “the place to dine” in Salt Lake City. Located in the 1906 New York Hotel (listed on the National Register of Historic Places), New Yorker has consistently been rated as Utah’s dining establishment of choice. The delectable menus that change with the seasons and the exceptionally gracious service contribute to their many awards: top American Cuisine, business dining, superb downtown location, exceptional décor, best classic cocktails, and ambiance… just to name a few. In keeping with its name, the restaurant reflects a classic 1940s New York elegance with a unique stained glass ceiling and luxurious banquettes, both elements originating from the now renovated historic 1911 Hotel Utah.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4:30-9pm, Friday & Saturday 5:30-11pm.
Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Between 300 & 400 So/Main Street & West Temple

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-0166

Website:
http://newyorkerslc.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is conveniently located on the west side of the building, only a few steps from the entrance to The New Yorker. Parking is free for lunch. Valet parking is validated for dinner diners. Ample pay parking lot and metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
TRAX light rail is provided into-and-out of downtown Salt Lake City, with the Gallivan Plaza station only one-half block from the front door of the New Yorker.

Executive Chef:
Will Pliler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Bisque
Lobster Risotto
Duck Confit
Filet Of Sole
Creme Brulee
Rigatoni With Tuscan Wild Boar Bolognese
Crispy Fried Calamari
Pork Chop
Black Turtle Sundae
Crab Stuffed Portobello Mushroom
Salmon Cioppino
Rocky Mountain Trout Filet
Chicken Breast Scaloppini
Halibut
Rigatoni With Tuscan Wild Boar
Mushrooms And Brie
Tournedos Rossini
Raspberry Almond Torte
Crab Wedge Salad
Halibut With Macadamia Crust
Seafood Cobb
Jumbo Fried Shrimp
Wild Sockeye Salmon
Cape Whiting
Tuna Carpaccio Sashimi
Macadamia Crusted Chilean Sea Bass
Filet Medallions
crab cake
Lamb Chops
Filet of Atlantic Salmon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

The New Yorker offers three exceptional private dining rooms that can accommodate 6-45 guests. For parties over 45 guests, please contact us for availability.

New Yorker Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Utah
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Utah
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
4 More
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Based on all the stuff I read....I was e ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 2 days ago

Based on all the stuff I read....I was expecting more. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The New Yorker was once the belle dame o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The New Yorker was once the belle dame of Salt Lake, a fancy place for fancy meals. That was at least 100 years ago. It now just feels tired and the food is average on the verge of mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This meal was the absolute most flavorfu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This meal was the absolute most flavorful, delicious, beautifully prepared American cuisine we've enjoyed in the last ten years!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was gggggggggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeee ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was gggggggggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeerreeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttttttttttttttttttt

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I know your steaks are excellent, but I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I know your steaks are excellent, but I took a chance on the salmon. Unfortunately it was very dry. My experience dining in Utah is that fish is a challenge to prepare well due to the lack of familiarity with that cuisine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The potatoes tasted like instant potatoe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The potatoes tasted like instant potatoes, the sauce on the steak was overpowering, the asparagus was under cooked, and the fruit crisp was soggy. Our server was inattentive and didn't greet us and take our drink orders for some time. The food was not worth what we paid for it. We will NOT be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Even with Outdoor Retailers in town for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Even with Outdoor Retailers in town for their trade show (and the place was jammed with them) our table was ready and we were seated immediately. Always a great experience but the fish special was truly memorable. Our server, Victoria, kept things moving along with impossible odds considering how crowded it was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service. Their rec ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always great food and service. Their recipes are unique. Just all around excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good menu choices and service was very g ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good menu choices and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I decided to try the New Yorker for lunc ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I decided to try the New Yorker for lunch, although the food was good the price was more suited for dinner than a midday meal. Also, the restaurant reeked of raw seafood. The rose I had was ver good and my server was very informative and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As a graduate of the Cesar Ritz Hotel Ma ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As a graduate of the Cesar Ritz Hotel Management College I know exceptional service when I see it. I no longer work in the industry but eating at this restaurant brought back memories of serving tables in high end establishments all over the world. The service was spot on and was choreographed flawlessly. It made it an absolute pleasure to dine at this establishment.

The food was excellent as well. The portions were generous and we definitely ordered too much and left very full. The grilled artichoke was tender and flavorful, the burrata fresh & creamy and prosciutto delicious, the brie and mushrooms paired fabulously. For my entree I ordered the special Porterhouse, it was cooked perfectly and tasted like the top quality piece of meat it was. However the onion rings seemed to cheapen the presentation of such a delicious cut. The chimichurri sauce was balanced and not overly applied. My date had the heirloom tomato salad with fresh feta cheese and was quite taken with it. I did not try it myself so I cannot leave my opinion, but she really enjoyed it.

For desert we split the creme brulee. It was good, but the custard had broken either during cooking or storage. The coffee was excellent.

Overall I have to give the experience and A+ and I will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining establishment that lives up ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Fine dining establishment that lives up to the expectation. Food, service and cocktails were all excellent. Old school Sinatra-type music in the background, and thankfully at a nice, low volume which allowed conversation without straining to hear the other person.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place knocked the ball out of the p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place knocked the ball out of the park. I wasn't expecting the food/service/ambiance to be so top notch. We love Flemings, Ruth Chris, Spencer's, and coming here we didn't know why we never came before. I can't say a single negative thing about this place. It was just that awesome. From starters to dessert everything was prepared to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You folks did a great job , the Business ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

You folks did a great job , the Business meeting folks I took loved your place.

only one issue, the music from the speaker over our table was a little loud ( great Music) had to talk louder than I liked, some of us folks are kind of hard of hearing, but was still OK over all.

Thanks

John Wadlow

Business Manager

Local 140

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Moved away from Salt lake City 25 years ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Moved away from Salt lake City 25 years ago and still visit New Yorker regularly while in town. Continues to offer great food, cocktails/wine and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to have a memorable dining occ ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We wanted to have a memorable dining occasion for a new professional client. The New Yorker was perfect. We had a private room so there was minimal background noise. The ambiance was excellent, very impressive. There was a great variety of wonderful food and the service was very professional and prompt. Our clients were very impressed. We plan to come back to the New Yorker.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing food service atmosphere

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food service atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was delicious and service was good. Will return for a repeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always good

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

As always, our lunch at The New Yorker was good.

The food, the service, the ambience, were all great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a group of employees who were s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

This was a group of employees who were sent to lunch for a job well done. The room was private and set up beautifully, the service was perfect and your dessert menu is stellar. We enjoy being able to come to a nice restaurant for lunch. There are not many in the city. Thank you for a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

You know I hadn't been to the New Yorker ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

You know I hadn't been to the New Yorker since they remodeled it and quite frankly I like it a lot better now. Much brighter inside. Great food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Great Dinner at the New Yorker!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We met friends for dinner and had a wonderful evening. We have been coming to the New Yorker since they opened in the late 70's and have never had a bad meal! The ambience, service and food is always perfect. I like the fact that we can always order our favorites but, they also have seasonal specials that keep the menu fresh and new.

My husband had the Filet Mignon and I had the Pappardelle with Lobster which were both delicious. Our friends had the Alaskan Halibut and said it was done to perfection. My favorite dessert is their Grand Marnier Souffle which I always order along with my dinner. I don't think it's on their regular menu but they are always willing to make it for me! Our server Kristi was very attentive and extremely knowledgeable on the entire menu and took superb care of us the entire evening. Restaurants come and go but the New Yorker has always been our favorite and is always consistent in every way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Every visit we make to Salt Lake City, we seem to visit. Food, cocktails and service top notch for a town this size.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice special occasion place

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Went with family for a night out. Nice restaurant, decent wine list, food was very good. Good sized menu.

Our server I think was a bit new, but she did a good job, just not quite polished yet. The same can be said for the food. Very good, but just not quite stand out. And that I think was our major issue. Everything was good, but for the price you expect just a little more creativity.

That being said, if you are looking for a nice special occasion place that is "safe" to bring almost anyone with almost any taste in food, this is an excellent choice. The tried and true done well!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant is beautiful, the service ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, the service is fabulous and the food is always delicious. Hillary is always so welcoming and makes us feel so glad to be back at the New Yorker. Cori is a wonderful server and always has the best food suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, neat ambience

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Celebrated a birthday here with a special lunch. Very nice staff and wonderful service. The building has an art-deco vibe and was comfortable and warm, even on a rainy/snowy day. Also, free valet parking is a plus. The lunch hour was not crowded at all. Food was fantastic and fresh.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old line, traditional place

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food and service are old school but quite good. An awful surprise was bread with large chunks of garlic baked in -- tasted horrible. Because it is an old building, and downstairs, it tends to be dark and a bit creaky. There is an unpleasant odor - water based - when one descends the stairs and enters the lobby. I've noticed it before. It is a good place for formal dinners with associates or special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Dinner and ride to the symphony.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Dinner and ride to the symphony. As always, the New Yorker did not disappoint!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

greta experience awesome staff

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

First time visiting the new yorker exceed my expectations!! Friendly staff, amazing food and tons of wonderful food options. Based on my experience I will be going back there soon

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect venue for a business dinner. Gre ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Perfect venue for a business dinner. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful space and food--ambiance slipping?

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

I have been coming to the New Yorker for years, since it was a private club. This is one of my go-to spots for a special occasion meal. My recent visit didn't disappoint--the space was beautiful as always, service was attentive, and our meal, including salads, entrees, dessert, and drinks was excellent. Menu standards are consistently delicious and well presented.

One disappointing note to an otherwise lovely evening was the low standard of dress of other patrons. I think of the New Yorker as an upscale restaurant, and was confused to see diners in jeans, t-shirts, and even a baseball cap at the table. More than one table included diners in such attire. I know Utah isn't typically a very formal place, but I think the low standard detracted significantly from the experience. Shame.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious & Great Service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food is always great. The atmosphere is pleasant. Servers are always attentive and personable. I tried one of their signature cocktails along with my typical glass of wine this time and it was very refreshing and tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, great service.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food is always presented beautifully and tastes great. Service is fast ( maybe a little too fast for a romantic dinner), but the servers are very attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful Special Occassion

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything from the moment you walked in the door to walking to the car was professionally looked after. Cara, our waitress, suggested her favorite which was on the mark. The Chef prepared a great dinner!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentines Weekend

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We have been here twice now, the food is always really good. I had the filet mignon which came with broccoli rabe and mashed potatoes. The steak and broccoli were amazing. The potatoes could have had better texture and flavor. My husband got the New York Strip. He loved it and the cheesy au gratin style potatoes were delicious.

My only complaints about the food...they try to make their butter look fancy and it comes out hard as a rock. We had to wait a while to be able to even put it on our bread. We also got the creamy crab and corn soup. It tasted a bit fishy for my taste, too much like clam chowder. The consistency was great.

Also, for Valentines it wasn't as romantic and intimate as I was expecting. The last time we came it seemed pretty dim, quiet, romantic. This time we were seated next to a large group and the lights were much brighter. It was a little disappointing that it wasn't as intimate as I remember.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was amazing!!! Service was amazing! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was amazing!!! Service was amazing!!! We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience for our first ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a great experience for our first time. The food was delicious. Pricing was higher than normal and the dessert (cheese cake) was average. The staff was friendly and our waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Food was delicious. Co ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great atmosphere. Food was delicious. Cori provided excellent service. Loved our Valentines dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Newyorker Was Fantastic!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I made reservations for my wife and I to celebrate Valentine's Day at the NewYorker. I asked around an did some online research for nice fine dinning places that would be worth 40-50 bucs a meal. The Newyorker was the repeated restaurant that I kept hearing so I made the decision to give it a try. My wife and I were not disappointed. My wife and I are restaurant and food snobs. We expect the service to be professional and the food to be exceptional. My expectations were absolutely met. The food at the Newyorker was phenomenal and the service was close to perfection. The restaurant decor was fitting for Valentine's Day. My wife and I will absolutely be returning to the Newyorker soon with empty stomachs!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our Annual Valentine's Dinner

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Going to the New Yorker for a romantic dinner on or around Valentine's Day has been our tradition for the last 10 years, or so. We love it and look forward to next year as soon as we leave every year. The service, ambience, food and cocktails are are always first class. This year was no exception. We shared the Duck Confit with several appetizers and it was all amazing; as always. Looking forward to next year and to seeing what delectable options will be offered.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.