About New Yorker Restaurant

New Yorker, a public dining establishment, is “the place to dine” in Salt Lake City. Located in the 1906 New York Hotel (listed on the National Register of Historic Places), New Yorker has consistently been rated as Utah’s dining establishment of choice. The delectable menus that change with the seasons and the exceptionally gracious service contribute to their many awards: top American Cuisine, business dining, superb downtown location, exceptional décor, best classic cocktails, and ambiance… just to name a few. In keeping with its name, the restaurant reflects a classic 1940s New York elegance with a unique stained glass ceiling and luxurious banquettes, both elements originating from the now renovated historic 1911 Hotel Utah.

60 West Market Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4:30-9pm, Friday & Saturday 5:30-11pm.
Closed Sunday.

Cross Street:
Between 300 & 400 So/Main Street & West Temple

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 363-0166

Website:
http://newyorkerslc.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is conveniently located on the west side of the building, only a few steps from the entrance to The New Yorker. Parking is free for lunch. Valet parking is validated for dinner diners. Ample pay parking lot and metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
TRAX light rail is provided into-and-out of downtown Salt Lake City, with the Gallivan Plaza station only one-half block from the front door of the New Yorker.

Executive Chef:
Will Pliler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

The New Yorker offers three exceptional private dining rooms that can accommodate 6-45 guests. For parties over 45 guests, please contact us for availability.

New Yorker Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Historic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Private Room (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Consistently great food and service. Love atmosphere

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was good
As a native New Yorker
I was pleased to see Long Island duck
And Montauk Point calamari on the menu
They had Graham's 30 year port
The Cod fish was good and it was not covered in flour products
Desert menu was also worth spending calories on

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was extraordinary, menu was delightfully different, waiter was eccentric but attentive. It was so impressive we went back the next day for lunch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

For the money I would recommend going to the Oyster Bar instead. I ordered a Veal with Crab. The veal was bland and the Crab hard like rubber. For the price the quality felt mediocre. Also their drinks were not the best. However I will say the service was great as the server was attentive and interacted with us well. I have no regrets going here for dinner, but I'll likely not return.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was good until the shuttle to the Symphony, offered by the restaurant, got in a fender bender and we had to walk to the Symphony.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The New Yorker in downtown Salt Lake City is always the best for value, ambiance, service, and the food is incredible. It is consistent at each visit. The menu changes different times of the year to keep it an exciting and interesting place to go. But, they also have great items on the menu that have been there as standards and for a reason, they are the comfort foods that are incredible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

great food ... Samuel the server was outstanding . Larger portions than I remembered. Food is always the proper temperature

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Have always loved the New Yorker. It has a great look and feel, but it's a bit pricey for a regular go to.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My steak was $52. I asked for it medium-well and it came out VERY WELL. Server never asked us how it was even though half the steak was still on the plate when we said we were done. So we paid and left. We will never be back. What a rip off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We began our evening by having a serving assistant spill a water all over my partner and I and our table....of course, it was a simple mistake and we weren't upset at all. Then as we moved to our new table, a different server knocked into it and sent the vase and flower flying, water included; round two in less than a minute! Again, a simple mistake; but at this point, both my partner and I are soaked and haven't even cracked a menu. At no point through out the evening was any offer made to compensate us for our repeated splashing.

Then, the food. We ordered a bottle of wine, three appetizers, an entree each, and a desert wine and desert each.

Unfortunately, nothing was good enough to warrant the price tag. I have no problem paying high prices for great food; but this was all far from great. The oysters were fishy and tough; the salmon was dry and didn't have any flavor. Every dish was subpar, which was incredibly disappointing for a restaurant that is generally held in high regard. $350 later, and we will never revisit. We will stick with Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service was amazing! My only complaint was that the dining room was really loud. I could barely here my boyfriend from across the table and the waiter was obviously struggling to hear us even though we were practically yelling our order to him.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is by far the NICEST restaurant in SLC, for special occasions, date night , taking customers.
I have been going to the New Yorker sense it opened, up until a few years ago could always count on Tom Seig setting at the end of the Bar.. The GOOD OLD DAYS..😊😬
You are treated very well from all the staff..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Sit in one of the more formal booths if you are looking for a more romantic or quieter atmosphere. The atmosphere hasn't changed (which is good!) since we were engaged in booth number ten 37 years ago and enjoyed the table this past Valentines Day. Excellent Chef who has been with the New Yorker for years and who fine-tuned his expertise along the way. We welcome the restaurant's invitation to bring your own cork-finished wine......since the New Yorker has never been known for an interesting and consumer friendly wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Lovely 'traditional' restaurant. Steaks are great, but actually the rest of the menu is much nicer than we expected.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was overpriced undercooked
And slow. Substandard service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very nice place for a relaxing dinner. Good variety in menu. Excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our server Cori was absolutely fantastic. Our meal was delicious. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Unfortunately the $53.00 Filet Mignon was disappointing: Only moderately tender and not prepared as requested. I would expect a much better cut of meat for that price. The server was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and despite making a reservation we were seated in the cafe next to a very noisy table of six. There appeared to be several linen tables available throughout our dinner and was disappointed what I had hoped would be a special birthday occasion was less than special. Food and service is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very nice food - and especially good service. We ordered almost exclusively the "specials" for salad, appetizers and main course. All were terrific. Blyth, our waitress, wins the award in the "most charming and helpful" category. We would go back, just to hang with her again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Introducing friends to their first visit. We received the perfect table location, as requested. They left loving the superb service, unique atmosphere, and great food, as we do. Noteworthy: We were asked, upon arrival, if we had any after-engagements that we had to meet deadlines for. Spoiled us with meticulous service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We hadn't been to this restaurant for 9-12 months. Unfortunately, their famous lamb chops were no longer on the menu. They need more vegan/vegetarian options as well. Give customers a simple option for dessert with no added sugar: fruits or berries.

Put the lamb chops back on the menu--they were the best in SLC!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great time and the dinner was wonderful. Victoria was our waitress, she made suggestions for us and was right on with her recommendations. We went to Kinky Boots and were able to ride the shuttle, which was so very nice!
Thank you for such a great night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had not been here in years, but due to a special occasion, decided to return the what I remembered as a special, romantic, great place to celebrate with a nice meal. It was all that I had remembered. The food was superb. The service, performed by a team, was also very attentive. Being a fancy, white cloth, more formal place, it was entirely different than most the Park City restaurants we go to. More folks were dressed up and it was certainly quieter and more romantic. I only wish they had a few 1/2 bottle selections on their wine list. As we paired many glasses with our cuisine, we could not order a whole bottle and drive home. We had a special Grouper fish dish and the fillet. Both were outstanding. The Foie Gras was delightful too. If you have not been here in a while, I'd recommend revisiting as it was a great time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been a regular customer here for 35 years. Never disappoints. Great food, wine list, cocktails and service. A Salt Lake City institution not to be missed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is the best place to take clients from out of town. They are pleasantly surprised how nice the restaurant is and the quality of food is great. Service is perfect, attentive, and professional without being intrusive. The entire staff is so friendly and professional as well. I go there with friends for lunch and prior to events and the staff couldn't be better in getting you there on time. Letting the manager know in advance you are with clients is very beneficial. They always make you look great and treat my clients in a friendly, professional manner. The best!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Superb customer service. Hilary went above and beyond to make sure it was a perfect experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place reminds me of classic New York style steak and seafood place. Lamb Shank is phenomenal. Steaks top shelf. Salads top shelf. Older crowd of veterans. Consistency is really dialed in here. When I don't want to risk a fail, I go here. Staff is always on point, never wait long, even on New Year's Eve. Managed with precision.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was quick but I server kept forgetting who ordered what (It happened with the drinks and the meals) On top of that the party before us "forgot" their phone and came to interrupt our table and made us look for his phone 4 times. After that our server also came to our table and asked AGAIN for that missing phone. We were celebrating a very special ocassion and I think the experience what ruined due to the numberless times we had to stand up and even help look for that missing phone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time at the New Yorker. The WORST experience I ever had at a classy place this like. Although the food was good everything else was terrible. We were squished into a tiny table for two in front of an extremely high traffic area above the railing. I couldn't even put my elbow out or it would be bumped. I felt like I was on the an aisle seat in an aircraft . Trays of food were traveled over our heads the entire night. Because it was such a high traffic area the server couldn't spend more than 30 seconds asking for our orders because people were trying to get past him. I'm not sure if it was because of New Year's Eve and they added tables that should've belong there. I made my reservations well over a month and a half in advanced. When we asked to move to a different table so we can actually have a conversation, they didn't try to look. We were told they were all booked up however during the entire course of our meal there were multiple tables not even being used. I was told I needed to request a booth table. (I didn't know that) My husband is an extremely generous tipper, we appreciate good service. It's just our way of saying thank you. We left extremely disappointed and due to the "cattle type service" We will never go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, the food was outstanding, wait staff was attentive and friendly and ambiance was perfect. We highly recommend the New Yorker to friends and business associates.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Years Eve Dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our beet salad was wilted and hardly had any beets nor enough dressing. My fish stew was too salty and too fishy. Everyone else said their meal was mediocre. At $100 a plate, (we were shocked at the bill) it was not worth the price. Service was good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Absolutely a wonderful experience. We went to the New Yorker on a double date, and my friend (unexpectedly) had to bring her baby along. The waitress and waiter were absolutely phenomenal and extremely accommodating and understanding. At no time did we feel like we were unwelcome for bringing a baby, and that was very appreciated. The food was delicious, the service was fantastic, and the atmosphere was charming and comfortable. Thank you, New Yorker!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very nice place to dine in SLC they have a great wine list and full bar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had to compete for service with a large wedding group in the same room. ....very dissappointed, almost embarrased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was great except it was very crowded. I was the last person seated and could barely fit into the space ( I am thin). We were seated right in the isle very close to the tables adjacent to us....so close that they had trouble getting out of the their booth. It seemed like you simply wanted to fit in as many people as possible rather than comfortably accommodate your guests. The reservation was made several weeks ahead. If you were unable to accommodate that big a group, you should have acknowledged that rather than squeezing us into an busy walk through area...an area that is the main access to the restaurant. We will likely use the New Yorker again but will know to request an appropriate seating arrangement.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had not eaten at the New Yorker in 20 years since we moved from SLC we just thought of it while in town and went and it was as good as it was 20 years ago! The staff was amazing and the food incredible! We will be back! Soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Consistently one of SLC's top spots.
Special occasion, theater - whatever. Always enjoyable since 78(?)
Stu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.