Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About Neumanali

Welcome to our beautifully restored Victorian with a contemporary twist. Neumanali opened six years ago and quickly became a neighborhood favorite. The menu features both fresh and seasonal entrees in addition to a selection of fun and unusual small plates. Perennial favorites are the pan-seared day boat scallops and "made to order" cioppino. The wine list is a bit eclectic and features smaller, more difficult to find winery selections. Lush garden dining is available in the summer and fall.

742 B Street
Hayward, CA 94541
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Watkins

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 583-9744

Website:
http://www.neumanali.com/

Parking Details:
Located behind restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located across the street from Hayward City Hall, BART and all bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Julie Romic Mckillop

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant available for private parties. Please contact us for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Julie McKillop: (510) 750-3921

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Neumanali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Historic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the Ambience but the food was not very good for the price point.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite two items on the menu are the wild mushroom brushetta and the pork chop and you must leave room for dessert because the hot fudge sundae is awesome! Great little place for a small group or a date, food and ambiance are wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Hubby and I enjoyed an early dinner (5:30pm reservation) before a Warriors game. It was midweek so the restaurant was about 1/3 full. Love the warm feel of the dining room with the jazz art. Service was good. We had the warm goat cheese salad - fabulous - and our beef entrees meals were excellent. We were here once before and ordered fish. Definitely, prefer their beef offerings. We had a relaxing, quiet meal and still arrived 15 minutes before tip-off. Definitely a recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great. Food was good for most part. The pairing of scallops with sweet potatoes did not work. The sweetness was overpowering to the delicate taste of scallops. Better to pair with savory. Great rec of Rose with my meal. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great spot in Hayward. Only place I ever recommend for a business dinner. Great ambience and the food is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Neumanali is our "go to" Date restaurant in Hayward. Nice, intimate restaurant with good food options, excellent service, and hot, tasty food. Lamb chops were excellent and well prepared.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very gracious service. I've been there several times and every meal has always been wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious food, Great Ambiance,good service, good portion of food

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food and service were excellent once again. Nice for a business dinner. Everyone enjoyed their entrees.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation, not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the experience. The restaurant is small but never noisy. The tables were well spaced so we didn't feel we were intruding on other conversations. Because of its small size, reservations are a must have (we saw some diners turned away). There is seating on the back patio but it is not heated.

There is one person running the front of the house. He was attentive without being overbearing and the pace of the meal was just right. I thought the menu to be a little eclectic but lacked vegetarian options. The wine list (as others have mentioned) is extensive. I liked that they also offer some wines by the glass -- good for a couple who don't need or want a full bottle.

There are few options for fine dining between San Jose and Oakland so Neumanali fills a need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently good food, a comfortable environment, and always a treat to see our Neumanali "family". The lamb was delicious And the trout was phenomenal as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Lamb rack was good.
Scallops we a little tasteless.
The sweet potato flavored with pare was quite interesting.
Our waiter was very informative.
The history of the building and the art on the walls is quite interesting.

The acoustics where we sat was not good...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

While all of their dishes are wonderful the chicken is particularly great. Very moist and delicious. Good wine list and great service. This is a place to enjoy your dinner, not a place to rush between appointments as service is timely but never rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I enjoy coming here on our anniversaries. It has a fancy atmosphere, and the food is good. However, it is expensive. We will keep going annually because it's kind of a tradition now, but I can't help but question if the food is really worth the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for our 51st. Anniversary, and as usual, savored great food coupled with good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Neumanali is a Hayward gem!! I've been going here for years and love it!! With the delicious food and an impressive wine selection, I couldn't ask for anything more. And I have to give a shout out for the one guy that does it all-Abrahm is amazing.

Everything is delicious, but I do have my favorites like the mushroom bruschetta, scallops and the trout.

I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was great. Service was not so great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I have gone to this Neumanali about 12 times over 5 years and I enjoyed every meal. They can only accommodate about 35 people and they book up quickly. Food and wine can be pricey but I think it's the BEST place to eat in Hayward and Hayward has SEVERAL good places to eat. They are NOT open for lunch and closed on Sunday and Monday. Very close to BART but the parking can be a bit tight. The Pork chops are to die for and I don't really order pork chops very often. They are as good or better than Wente in Livermore. The trout, Salmon and steak are always a good choice but the Pork chop OMG.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Neumanali's is always an amazing experience. The ambiance, the service, and the food - oh my, the food! I make it a point to visit every time I am in Hayward. You should, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Cauliflower on trout all burnt black. Scallops had bitter/weird taste. Ribeye steak and lamb chops were great. Only 1 waiter on a Saturday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and service is excellent. Needs a full bar service.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Always excellent. Always feel special.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Another awesome meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food!! It is a "hidden gem" in hayward as everyone agrees.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and service was great, the value is not bad, they have great wine.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great service and food in a quaint old Victorian home. We had duck breast and fine wine. It was a great call for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Abrin and the crew at Neumanali is phenomenal. They treat you with kindness and respect and are so friendly. The meal was outstanding and the setting was cozy and romantic. They are great for special occasions as well as for treating yourself to a wonderful meal in a terrific place with caring people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great find, we will be back! Absolutely the best restaurant we have found in Hayward. Absolutely a cut above the rest.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Neumanali for the past 7 years, for all kinds of occasions, with friends and family. It is one of our top 5 restaurants to go in the East Bay. We love this hidden gem, a lovely Victorian building, on a quiet street near downtown Hayward. The resturant has about 12 tables, and an outside patio for the warm summer nights. The ambience is elegant, and romantic, with candlelights, fresh flowers, and original paintings on the walls. Tables are arranged spaciousoy apart so you can enjoy the meal, without being forced to hear other people's conversations.
The food is always superb, with a great variety of selections. We like to order their Cajun shrimps, rack of lamb , filet mignon and pork chop. Portions are quite generous, and very often, my husband and I just share the food. They automatically split the dish for us without extra charge. Their bread pudding is my favorite dessert. They also have a great wine list, reasonably priced. We enjoyed their Argentinian red wine from the Melbac region. It is only $28 a bottle.
Service is impeccable. Abram is the host, and waiter. He runs the whole dining room, but keep things flowing smoothly alone.
We love going to Neumanali, and highly recommend others to treat themselves there for an enjoyable dining experience, or celebrating some special occasions with loved ones. ( without breaking the bank!)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love this place. Great food and a nice quiet atmosphere making conversations easy.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I stumbled upon this place while killing time waiting for the bus. the location places it off the beaten path making the experience quiet and quaint. the historic Victorian house looks exquisite and the dining room is cozy and inviting. the paintings that adorn the walls add to the ambience and the wine racks located toward the entrance are impressive even if you don't imbibe. this truly is Hayward's best kept secret and I highly recommend this location to any foodie.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Friendly service, elegant, delicious, cosy. Same staff for many years.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Bravo! Another well prepared meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We were celebrating two birthdays in one dinner night out, and our kids (sons ages 13 and 10) really enjoyed their meals. My older son thought it was a bit dark in the restaurant. The service was spectacular and the restaurant is managed very well. We felt very cared for and the staff was super friendly. We received our meals very quickly. The food was tasty. We would recommend our friends to give Neumanali a try. Thanks! :-)

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Interesting location, small menu but only a few wine by the glass options, but the chardonnay was very good. Dinner was very nice and my Caesar salad was fresh but a little blah. I wish some of the small plates were offered as a dinner just to have a few more options. It would be nice to have some salt and pepper shakers on the table. Only one waiter is the norm according to previous reviews. But he was very good at his job. Plan on a long and leisurely evening to enjoy your dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food, great service! Had the rack of lamb and my friend had the pork chop...both were delicious! We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Second time there. Seems to only be one wait person who manages to take care of everyone. Unfortunately, I think he's too busy to chat a little, but he is efficient and keeps things going. I'm amazed at how he handles it all!

Food is very good, wine selection good too! I've been there once without a reservation and had no problem. Second time with reservations for 4 people, no trouble at all.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely place with good service and food. My companions thought the rack of lamb was up there with best they had ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good but not quite in line with the price and the service was solicitous but clunky- reaching across me to move plates around many times. Since we were at a small table in the middle of the dining room, there was plenty of room to move around the table, rather than forcing me to dodge repeatedly. The wine by the glass menu was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious food, great service, truly the best restaurant in Hayward.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.