Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About Neumanali

Welcome to our beautifully restored Victorian with a contemporary twist. Neumanali opened six years ago and quickly became a neighborhood favorite. The menu features both fresh and seasonal entrees in addition to a selection of fun and unusual small plates. Perennial favorites are the pan-seared day boat scallops and "made to order" cioppino. The wine list is a bit eclectic and features smaller, more difficult to find winery selections. Lush garden dining is available in the summer and fall.

742 B Street
Hayward, CA 94541
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Watkins

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 583-9744

Website:
http://www.neumanali.com/

Parking Details:
Located behind restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located across the street from Hayward City Hall, BART and all bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Julie Romic Mckillop

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant available for private parties. Please contact us for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Julie McKillop: (510) 750-3921

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Neumanali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Special Occasion (8)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This is cute hidden jewel in downtown Hayward. The food was AMAZING and it was the perfect place for us to celebrate an anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was impeccable, our qualm is with the service. At this tier and price point, we expected more but was hardly given a smile. We were not treated rudely, but we were also hardly served if at all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is an amazing "hidden gem!" We're so happy we stumbled across it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great hidden gem! Order the chicken, you won't be sorry.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This was my third dining experience at the restaurant and I was pleased wth the food and wine selections. I hope that they reconsider having music, even one evening a week would be great. Also it would be great if the server was a bit more engaging with the customers. He was nice and helpful with menu selections, however it would help with the overall dining experience if he was a bit more personable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing Food and great ambiance! Always a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Second time to Neumanali and it was even better the second time. This is a small little restaurant that has fantastic food in the middle of Hayward. Who'd of thought.

Totally worth a visit.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

No value for the price and considered the dessert the best part of this meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

This place was fantastic. I was looking for a cool spot to take a date and have some good conversation and this was it! The food was great, the service was fantastic and you can't beat the atmosphere of an old Victorian home. Totally classy

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Manager was so pleasant and helpful with food and wine selections and even helped my friend find the place when she got lost. We sat for 3 hours and had great food and service. Really a gem of a place

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

To many restaurants charge prices for really good food but it really is just OK food. Not at Nemanali, the food exceeded the price in quality and the portions. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A bit expensive for what you get. The pork chop was excellent I have to admit. Cooked perfectly and delicious. The trout was overcooked. Appetizers fair and flourless chocolate cake dry unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Pleasantly surprised at this neighborhood gem. As appropriate I will start with the dessert - have the bread pudding. I'm a bp snob and this was amazing. I had the duck mole (nice and spicy) and my wife had the lamb. Outstanding over all.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Neumanali was such a gem of a restaurant, we were left wondering why we hadn't gone there sooner. We were a party of four and sat out on the back patio enjoying all the ambiance. Have your waiter describe all the extensive (and no doubt expensive) remodeling done to the property. Go for it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

When we arrived, we waited for the host to come....perhaps after 10 minutes he finally came and was really UNFRIENDLY. He guided us to a table. After waiting another 10 minutes, he finally came and poured water. Then left. We waited for so long then we decided to leave the premise. It seems like he was only one who did serve and host folks. Sigh. Do I want to go back? NO!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Neumanali is a great place for a date or any romantic dinner. This place has a great list of wines, a small bar and a fair amount of seating to enjoy a delicious dinner. I highly recommend this great establishment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This is a gem of a place in Hayward. I am so glad that they have been successful there. The food is always good. The wine list nice, and it is a lovely setting. They have a great menu-I have eaten here many times and it never disappoints!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fabulous neighborhood gem. And I found it by googling Hayward restaurants. Food phenomenal. Service fantastic.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent ambiance and comfortable in an old building.
The dining room is supportive of good conversation and a pleasing simple yet cozy atmosphere.

The menus is relatively small but offers appetizers, in between courses and a simple great selection of main courses.

Prices are excellent and quality and presentation simple yet pleasing and the portions are the correct midsize with no overload of side dishes and what you order like their meat or fish is well proportioned and the feature of the dish.
Eating out on average 3 times a week and traveling through the upscale areas of the US and Europe, highly recommend and returning for a 2nd time in a row before traveling on.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was my first time eating at the restaurant. The food was really good, and the service was great. Oh, the bread pudding was AMAZING. I would recommend dinner, wine and dessert. It's a great little find in down town Hayward.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The restaurant is in a beautiful Victorian home. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Food was delicious. A true gem and wonderful dining experience!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My wife and I have had meals at this restaurant and there has never been a "let down". Always tasteful, the appointments, ambience wait service and food; I have highly recommended it to a number of friends. Always look forward to going; it's a conundrum because you don't want to wear it out ....but oh my goodness!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Neumanali is definitely a neighborhood gem! It is now my go to place. The atmosphere is ideal for a small get together with family or friends - as well as a date; the overall vibe is to enjoy your food and your company. The food is great and the staff very friendly. Their menu offers a little of everything. Love how the restaurant is in an old Victorian. VERY nice selection of wines. Make sure you order dessert - their bread pudding is my absolute favourite! What a wonderful place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Living in Hayward most of my life, I have to say I have come to accept that we are just sadly not going to ever be a spot for upscale restaurants. Then we tried this restaurant. I was not expecting much. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised! The look, the service, the food was all great. Now, compared to your upscale places in the City, like Michael Mina or Gary Danko, etc., of course it isn't anywhere close... but it definitely had an upscale feel and the food was all really decent quality. The restaurant is in an old victorian house converted to a restaurant, and also features outdoor seating on a cute back patio. Looks so relaxing out there, but we went on a hot day, so we sat inside for the cooler air. As far as food, my only complaint would be that they tend to love to pepper the heck out of everything. Way too much pepper on my lamb, and my husband's steak. (Be advised that I'm not a big black pepper fan to begin with, but my husband even mentioned it was a bit too much). But otherwise, it was all cooked well and they had delicious good quality cuts of meat, and the sides offered and sauces were also good and well-plated. We both started with the warm goat cheese salad, which was amazing! No complaints on that at all. I can't tell you how nice it is to have a nice, quiet new date-night spot! We will definitely be returning A.S.A.P.!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was good. The service was horrible. I'm not referring to that it took a long time - we didn't care since we were a group of ten and that's to be expected. The service was so rude from beginning to end. They automatically got an 18% tip but if it was good service we would tip above that. When I ask if he could please start Taking the order from the other end (I'm always the last to order)he told me know he would just come back. There were too many and worse examples- so much so that it became laughable. Are we being punked? It was a $700 bill and there was t even a thank you. No one sent anything back or was demanding. I just don't think he should be working front of house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

A little too much meat - the place is elegant but the massive pork chop with a smidge of potatoes was not so appetizing. Would have been nicer to have a little more variety in the meal. Might go back as I meet my son in Hayward and it was quiet enough for a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent service and food, as always! Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Three friends and I had a good time- nice atmosphere, attractive space, and good food, with some misses. I had the trout with thin-shaved cauliflower. Flavor was really good but the fish was overcooked and terribly dry. A friend ordered the rib eye and described the desired doneness as "pale pink in the middle". The waiter didn't try to reach a mutually understood specification, though it seemed he understood, but it arrived thoroughly gray, not a bit of pink- such a shame. Both of us would have been justified sending our mains back. Salads were good. Cheese cake was good especially the caramelly penuche nuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

With only one waiter, no busser, no bartender, and no host every night means service is slow at best. Having our check practically thrown at us without a thank you was really rude. We won't return or recommend to anyone. The same tired menu is not only poor but the food is of amateur quality and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

As always, Neumanali did not disappoint! We decided to play hooky and go to a day game at AT&T Park. It worked out perfectly to walk from the BART station, just a block away, after the game for a wonderful meal. This time we ordered a variety of salads and appetizers instead of entrees, but all are delicious. We go often enough to wish they would change the menu a bit, but we were there on a Thursday, so probably missed out on the weekend specials.
Abran was his usual friendly, attentive self while never seeming snooty or intrusive. Of course we'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Dinner was great. The best pork chop I've had at a restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great, great atmosphere and wonderfully delicious food, incredible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This restaurant is in a lovely old Victorian. There is parking onsite and it's right near BART. It is quiet, inviting, and everything was delicious. Especially the pork chop,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Our absolute favorite restaurant in Hayward. Great food, preparation and a dedicated staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My favorite two items on the menu are the wild mushroom brushetta and the pork chop and you must leave room for dessert because the hot fudge sundae is awesome! Great little place for a small group or a date, food and ambiance are wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

Enjoyed the Ambience but the food was not very good for the price point.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hubby and I enjoyed an early dinner (5:30pm reservation) before a Warriors game. It was midweek so the restaurant was about 1/3 full. Love the warm feel of the dining room with the jazz art. Service was good. We had the warm goat cheese salad - fabulous - and our beef entrees meals were excellent. We were here once before and ordered fish. Definitely, prefer their beef offerings. We had a relaxing, quiet meal and still arrived 15 minutes before tip-off. Definitely a recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was great. Food was good for most part. The pairing of scallops with sweet potatoes did not work. The sweetness was overpowering to the delicate taste of scallops. Better to pair with savory. Great rec of Rose with my meal. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great spot in Hayward. Only place I ever recommend for a business dinner. Great ambience and the food is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Neumanali is our "go to" Date restaurant in Hayward. Nice, intimate restaurant with good food options, excellent service, and hot, tasty food. Lamb chops were excellent and well prepared.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.