Neumanali

4.5
299 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
Welcome to our beautifully restored Victorian with a contemporary twist. Neumanali opened six years ago and quickly became a neighborhood favorite. The menu features both fresh and seasonal entrees in addition to a selection of fun and unusual small plates. Perennial favorites are the pan-seared day boat scallops and "made to order" cioppino. The wine list is a bit eclectic and features smaller, more difficult to find winery selections. Lush garden dining is available in the summer and fall.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 583-9744
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Julie Romic Mckillop
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Restaurant available for private parties. Please contact us for further details.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Julie McKillop: (510) 750-3921
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Watkins
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Located behind restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Located across the street from Hayward City Hall, BART and all bus lines.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 299 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful dinner. Salmon with lemon potatoes and hollandaise sause was delicious and the filet mignon was so tender and melted in your mouth. Had the bread pudding and flourless chocolate cake to end this excelkent meal. My husband and I were very happy customers

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

One of best restaurant in Hayward. Excellent overall!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

What a hidden gem of a place. I happen to find it on open table and took a chance because it was said to be quiet. We had a party of 7 and several members are particularly deaf. This makes many restaurants challenging .
The food was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great food and fantastic service! The owners of this place have made it a true neighborhood treasure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

I have been here a few times for my company Christmas party. And decided to bring my spouse for his birthday hoping it would be different. Food is great prices a little high . And the dryness of the waiters are terrible, they never smile, very few words spoken, leaves you feeling very uncomfortable. If that could change it would make it a very welcoming place to come to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

This is one of Haywards hidden gems. Great food. Great service (Abren is AWESOME!). They never disappoint. I like to start with my favorites, Mushroom Bruschetta, and warm goat cheese salad. They offer an awesome selection of entrees all of which are yummy. Don't forget to ask about the soup of the day. The artichoke soup is to die for!
BTW the art work displayed is museum worthy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

So great perfect ambiance and delicious menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

I’ve been traveling a lot and wanted a nice dinner with my wife and Neumanali is perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The food and the service were outstanding
The wines were delicious and we cleaned our plates.
We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The place is insanely consistent; always an extraordinary experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The food was superb -- probably some of the best food I've had at a restaurant. I had the filet mignon and my friend ordered the lamb. She said the same thing. The service was very good, the waiter had been a waiter for 30 years, and he was really on top of everything. Definitely will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Celebrated my 66th birthday with my wonderful husband and enjoyed a delicious dinner.
Even better, we could bring some home to enjoy another day. The cream of artichoke soup, Caesar salad, steaks, potatoes, veggies, bread, etc. were perfect. As was the ice cream sundae for dessert. We brought along an 18-year old bottle of Wente's Cabernet and it was a perfect addition to the meal. The $15 corkage fee was reasonable. Our host was mindful and the atmosphere was quiet. Unlike so many other restaurants where it is hard to talk over the din.
We just found this restaurant in the past year and have tried to book several times but it is often 'sold out ', so I suggest getting your reservation in early. We will be back! Thanks for a special birthday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Neumanali is our favorite Hayward restaurant. We appreciate the personable service and excellently prepared dishes. They have a fine wine list and the staff is very knowledgeable about their offerings. My wife is a southerner and greatly appreciate the authenticity of their southern food dishes. We have been happy to introduce this excellent eatery to our other foodie friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great local gem referred to us by some friends. Happy to have finally tried it. The restaurant made you feel like you were transported to somewhere else!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very nice! Live in Fremont and wanted to try something different. Very happy with my pick and my wife and I will return for sure!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The meal was excellent and the service good. Even though we only had one server for the entire
restaurant he was able to handle everything and we had a very enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

It was romantic nice to have my wife having fun it was great day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We had another fine meal at Neumanali. We introduced a new couple to the experience this time. They were amazed at the ability to chat without having to shout. And they very much enjoyed the food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The restaurant was very good and we are planning on going back. The only problem which we need to correct is that our server said that the first cc we gave him didn’t go through because it was the metal kind so we gave him a second card. What the sever didn’t realize was that the first card had gone through so that we were charged twice. The restaurant is closed today and when I contact them tomorrow I’m sure they will reverse the second charge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We really enjoyed the food. Creative and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

This is the second time we've been to Neumanali and we had a great time again!! We brought our two boys (12) and (14) and they enjoyed the food and the impeccable service, too. There's no way to go wrong at Neumanali. We had the lamb, the chicken, the scallops and the filet mignon and all were superb. We also had the asparagus soup and some very tasty appetizers.
The atmosphere is relaxed and we felt special here. We'd recommend Neumanali to anyone looking for a restaurant with excellent food, service, and a positively memorable dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This is a amazing hidden jewel in Hayward. The hubby came here for the first time a few month ago because we were tired of going to the city or San Ramon for high end food and service. The co-owner is very nice and the food was beyond AMAZING.!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

A wonderful discovery for us! Great food, wonderful building, fabulous service. We loved everything we ordered (the trout with crispy cauliflower was what I ordered and it was amazing). The room is beautiful and the other diners were a nice diverse group. I have been recommending the restaurant to everyone since we went last weekend. We brought our 8 year old and she loved it too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

The five of us each enjoyed our individual entrees and dessert.
Loved the decor, the wine recommendation was on spot and the water closet -- tops.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

This has been our go-to spot for years. Always good food and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2018

We had a relatively long wait for our orders to be taken. After they were, and after some time had passed, the waiter returned to tell us that they were out of the entrée my dinner companion had ordered. What he didn’t tell us was that her new choice was going to take a very long time, whereas mine would be done quickly. As a result we waited and waited. My companion’s food was plentiful but over cooked, and my meal was sparse. In general, the food was just mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Neumanali is an excellent fine dining experience. We've been before and have enjoyed ourselves each time. The service is impeccable and personalized. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Food was delicious! Will definitely come back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great food...filet mignon cooked perfectly and seasoned to perfection. Bread pudding was not too sweet. Hidden gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Excellent food whether steak or seafood. One of the better restaurants in Hayward!!!
Great discovery!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

dinner was amazing. All the food was great quality. First time here and i'd go back again. great personal service even though they were busy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Highly recommend this place. Hidden gem for sure!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

In all the years I have lived in Hayward, finally dined here with one of my sisters. Wonderful ambiance, lighting though, too dim. Hard to really read the menu. My entree was divine. Grilled Chicken Breast topped with Roasted Corn Salsa, served with Whipped Potatoes. Entree was delivered to the table steaming hot, which is wonderful. I enjoyed the Chopped Salad, it was more like a 'minced' salad, but was so very tasty. I could've had a whole bowl of it. Include a Great dinner guest and you have the makings of a Wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Brought one of my girlfriends here for the first time ,she thoroughly enjoyed it one of hayward's best kept secrets and the food was impeccable as well as quick service .I have read many reviews about this restaurant and it's always a complaint about the server . IT is a husband and wife running a business and although he may not have time for small talk and he may be focused on doing his job he has always been courteous to everybody that I've seen and every time I have been there

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Hayward does not have many nice establishments for company dinners. Neumanali was a great choice where the food and service was excellent and the only negative was the location that did not have sufficient parking .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I love this place my husband and I come here for Valentine's day, anniversary and birthday. We love the food, and how close it is to our home. It is our neighborhood jem!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Food was delicious, we all were happy with out dishes. However Service felt like it was a little bit rushed and Since it was my birthday i was expecting like a complementary dessert, i didn’t got anything so i had to end up ordering a $8.00 cheese cake. It wasn’t a great experience so I don’t know if I will ever go back there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

This is a true neighborhood hidden gem. We bring people here when we want a nice meal in a very nice but casual setting. It's much like having dinner at a friend's house. It a very good value as the food is excellent, nicely presented and served at reasonable prices.

We have come to trust this place.

Jim

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Everything you want in a meal out. Everything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

It is always an incredible experience! We absolutely love this place and look forward to it every time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8