HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Neumanali

4.7
264 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Anniversaries
Welcome to our beautifully restored Victorian with a contemporary twist. Neumanali opened six years ago and quickly became a neighborhood favorite. The menu features both fresh and seasonal entrees in addition to a selection of fun and unusual small plates. Perennial favorites are the pan-seared day boat scallops and "made to order" cioppino. The wine list is a bit eclectic and features smaller, more difficult to find winery selections. Lush garden dining is available in the summer and fall.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 583-9744
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Julie Romic Mckillop
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Restaurant available for private parties. Please contact us for further details.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Julie McKillop: (510) 750-3921
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Watkins
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Located behind restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Located across the street from Hayward City Hall, BART and all bus lines.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 264 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7  based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

I love this place my husband and I come here for Valentine's day, anniversary and birthday. We love the food, and how close it is to our home. It is our neighborhood jem!!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious, we all were happy with out dishes. However Service felt like it was a little bit rushed and Since it was my birthday i was expecting like a complementary dessert, i didn’t got anything so i had to end up ordering a $8.00 cheese cake. It wasn’t a great experience so I don’t know if I will ever go back there again.

Report
Helpful
AskQuon (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

This is a true neighborhood hidden gem. We bring people here when we want a nice meal in a very nice but casual setting. It's much like having dinner at a friend's house. It a very good value as the food is excellent, nicely presented and served at reasonable prices.

We have come to trust this place.

Jim

Report
Helpful
Daricker3 (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Everything you want in a meal out. Everything.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

It is always an incredible experience! We absolutely love this place and look forward to it every time.

Report
Helpful
vipflash442 (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

The ribeye and the pork chop was amazing.

Report
Helpful
AskQuon (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

This was our third visit. And just like our previous visits, this one was another outstanding experience! Thanking here is a lot like going to a friend's house. The decor is subtle in the lighting is low so it is a very intimate experience. The food and service is consistently good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Was great!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Fantastic food, lovely restaurant, proper linen table cloths and napkins. Pleasant staff. We all had different dishes and everyone was happy with their choice. Easily the best restaurant in the area. This was our 3rd visit and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

This is my go-to place for a nice dinner in Hayward. Consistently good food and service.

Report
Helpful
vipMaryA (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Lovely environment. I was particularly impressed with our server's knowledge of the menu and their wines. Also, I felt their wines were reasonably priced. Our entrees were served piping hot and their arrival was well timed. Everyone enjoyed their meals.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

Great work dinner. Perfect balance of noise and privacy. Food was excellent as was wine and service.

Report
Helpful
Stephanandme2 (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

Food was good, I would return. Ambiance is nice and tastefully done. Service was ok. The server was working solo and seemed annoyed at times. Overall is a nice place though .

Report
Helpful
Kyle (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was great. The host, waiter and bartender were all the same person, but he managed to do it all somehow. I will probably be back.

Report
Helpful
vipDianahR (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 4, 2017

Had dinner here for my husband's birthday with a couple of friends. We've lived in the Bay Area our whole lives and never know this gem existed! The restaurant looks like a little home and is very cozy and lovely inside. They even have a lovely outdoor area available for seating with the weather permits. The service was great and the food was outstanding! We enjoyed our entire evening and will most definitely be back soon.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on November 3, 2017

Celebrated Pats B-day she had the rib eye I had the scallops
The steak and sides were perfect as were the scallops perfect sear and all
the only criticism I have is the meal needed a little more salt.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 3, 2017

Just perfect.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 2, 2017

The food was impeccable the service was fantastic Ambience was perfect I couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate my birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 2, 2017

This restaurant is so quaint and charming. There are a limited number of tables which makes for a very intimate dining experience. The service was friendly and the food was delicious! I had the salmon and my husband had the ribeye. He is super critical of how red meat is prepared and said it was the best ribeye he's had in the bay area. He was also quite pleased with the sauteed spinach that accompanied his steak. My salmon was cooked to perfection which I paired with a nice buttery chardonnay. The place is very inviting and you'll be tempted to stay long after you've finished your meal to just chat. This made for a nice evening out without having to break the bank for a wonderful meal. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
AskQuon (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on October 18, 2017

This is a very small place with just one person, Abram, handling the dining room. It's near the newer, downtown area and it is in the bottom floor of a 3 story, wooden frame building with apartments in the upper floors. There is a small parking lot for the tenants and patrons.

The menu is fairly compact with about 7 starters (including soup and salads, 9 entrees and 4 desserts. All the items seem to be well chosen and cover a wide base of dishes to satisfy most people. All are pretty standard with nothing weird/odd. It was just the 2 of us for dinner.

We had a shared Warm Goat Cheese Salad. She had Steamed Clams Starter and I had the Spicy Fish Stew (Cioppino) and both were excellent! A really nice touch was the Grilled Garlic Crostini that was perfect for dipping in the wonderful sauce and broth. We shared a Cheesecake for dessert and decaf coffee. She had a glass of Pinot Noir and I had Iced Tea. Everything was superb - food, service, ambiance. The whole bill came to $100 (included tax + 20% tip) and it was totally a lovely experience.

We'll be back!

Jim

Report
Helpful
Cynthia (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on October 7, 2017

Unfortunately, we had the same experience others have had. The poor service began at the door. The host looked at us and said "Oh you're early" Literally, that is what he said...
We were 20 mins early as this best suited our schedule and traffic. We told him we would be just fine at the wine bar as we were waiting for friends. He was the ONLY person for hosting, seating, and serving. He was no AT ALL friendly as he had no time. He NEVER smiled for our party of 4 or for others. When he served the food he left quickly. My grilled rack of lamb was over cooked...medium vs medium rare. He never came back so I was unable to ask for another dinner. He raced to service the entire restaurant so I was unable to flag him down and frankly, didn't have the heart.
When you walk in and he is again alone...turn around and leave because service will be poor and food may not be to your preference. At these prices, one deserves a better experience. No I will not be back, nor refer others.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 22, 2017

Awesome meal and service. We are regulars and always leave happy.

Report
Helpful
Bonnie (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on September 1, 2017

Very nice ambiance for a date or for a small gathering with friends. Reasonably priced bottles of wine & delicious small plates & entrees cooked to your liking. I would definitely come back to try the outdoor seating or for a relaxed night out after a long week for some wine & nibbles.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on August 26, 2017

All in all a good restaurant. The service can be a bit slow though. Each time we have gone it seems as if only one person is covering all of the tables. He also doesn't tend to smile much, just goes about his tasks in a brisk manner. Not overall a bad thing, just could use a bit more lightening up.

Report
Helpful
omnieater (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on August 25, 2017

This restaurant is located in a sweet, old Victorian in downtown Hayward. It is one of the few remnants of the town's past. The owners are extremely lovely. We had a private party there almost two years ago and have dined there several times since. The food is quite good; very good by the standards of Hayward and Castro Valley which have a lot of restaurants but few of very nice quality. The dining room is pretty with an attractive bar. The menu is fairly extensive with beef, pork, chicken, and fish entrees and very nice appetizers, salads, and desserts. If you are in the area, this is without a doubt the nicest restaurant.

Report
Helpful
lov3lylia (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on August 16, 2017

This is cute hidden jewel in downtown Hayward. The food was AMAZING and it was the perfect place for us to celebrate an anniversary.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was impeccable, our qualm is with the service. At this tier and price point, we expected more but was hardly given a smile. We were not treated rudely, but we were also hardly served if at all.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on August 10, 2017

This is an amazing "hidden gem!" We're so happy we stumbled across it!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on August 4, 2017

Great hidden gem! Order the chicken, you won't be sorry.

Report
Helpful
vipDiningDiva (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on August 1, 2017

This was my third dining experience at the restaurant and I was pleased wth the food and wine selections. I hope that they reconsider having music, even one evening a week would be great. Also it would be great if the server was a bit more engaging with the customers. He was nice and helpful with menu selections, however it would help with the overall dining experience if he was a bit more personable.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9