About Neumanali

742 B Street
Hayward, CA 94541
View Larger Map

Welcome to our beautifully restored Victorian with a contemporary twist. Neumanali opened six years ago and quickly became a neighborhood favorite. The menu features both fresh and seasonal entrees in addition to a selection of fun and unusual small plates. Perennial favorites are the pan-seared day boat scallops and "made to order" cioppino. The wine list is a bit eclectic and features smaller, more difficult to find winery selections. Lush garden dining is available in the summer and fall.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Watkins

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 583-9744

Website:
http://www.neumanali.com/

Parking Details:
Located behind restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located across the street from Hayward City Hall, BART and all bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Julie Romic Mckillop

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant available for private parties. Please contact us for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Julie McKillop: 5107503921

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Neumanali, Hayward, CA
Neumanali, Hayward, CA

Neumanali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
East Bay
Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Hayward ›

Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Historic (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cauliflower on trout all burnt black. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Cauliflower on trout all burnt black. Scallops had bitter/weird taste. Ribeye steak and lamb chops were great. Only 1 waiter on a Saturday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food and service is excellent. Needs a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and service is excellent. Needs a full bar service.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant. A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Always excellent. Always feel special.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another awesome meal and great service!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Another awesome meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food!! It is a "hidden gem" in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food!! It is a "hidden gem" in hayward as everyone agrees.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and service was great, the value is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and service was great, the value is not bad, they have great wine.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food in a quaint old V ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great service and food in a quaint old Victorian home. We had duck breast and fine wine. It was a great call for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Abrin and the crew at Neumanali is pheno ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Abrin and the crew at Neumanali is phenomenal. They treat you with kindness and respect and are so friendly. The meal was outstanding and the setting was cozy and romantic. They are great for special occasions as well as for treating yourself to a wonderful meal in a terrific place with caring people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find, we will be back! Absolutely ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great find, we will be back! Absolutely the best restaurant we have found in Hayward. Absolutely a cut above the rest.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been going to Neum ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Neumanali for the past 7 years, for all kinds of occasions, with friends and family. It is one of our top 5 restaurants to go in the East Bay. We love this hidden gem, a lovely Victorian building, on a quiet street near downtown Hayward. The resturant has about 12 tables, and an outside patio for the warm summer nights. The ambience is elegant, and romantic, with candlelights, fresh flowers, and original paintings on the walls. Tables are arranged spaciousoy apart so you can enjoy the meal, without being forced to hear other people's conversations.

The food is always superb, with a great variety of selections. We like to order their Cajun shrimps, rack of lamb , filet mignon and pork chop. Portions are quite generous, and very often, my husband and I just share the food. They automatically split the dish for us without extra charge. Their bread pudding is my favorite dessert. They also have a great wine list, reasonably priced. We enjoyed their Argentinian red wine from the Melbac region. It is only $28 a bottle.

Service is impeccable. Abram is the host, and waiter. He runs the whole dining room, but keep things flowing smoothly alone.

We love going to Neumanali, and highly recommend others to treat themselves there for an enjoyable dining experience, or celebrating some special occasions with loved ones. ( without breaking the bank!)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Great food and a nice ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love this place. Great food and a nice quiet atmosphere making conversations easy.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I stumbled upon this place while killing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I stumbled upon this place while killing time waiting for the bus. the location places it off the beaten path making the experience quiet and quaint. the historic Victorian house looks exquisite and the dining room is cozy and inviting. the paintings that adorn the walls add to the ambience and the wine racks located toward the entrance are impressive even if you don't imbibe. this truly is Hayward's best kept secret and I highly recommend this location to any foodie.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly service, elegant, delicious, co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Friendly service, elegant, delicious, cosy. Same staff for many years.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bravo! Another well prepared meal.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Bravo! Another well prepared meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating two birthdays in one ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We were celebrating two birthdays in one dinner night out, and our kids (sons ages 13 and 10) really enjoyed their meals. My older son thought it was a bit dark in the restaurant. The service was spectacular and the restaurant is managed very well. We felt very cared for and the staff was super friendly. We received our meals very quickly. The food was tasty. We would recommend our friends to give Neumanali a try. Thanks! :-)

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Interesting location, small menu but onl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Interesting location, small menu but only a few wine by the glass options, but the chardonnay was very good. Dinner was very nice and my Caesar salad was fresh but a little blah. I wish some of the small plates were offered as a dinner just to have a few more options. It would be nice to have some salt and pepper shakers on the table. Only one waiter is the norm according to previous reviews. But he was very good at his job. Plan on a long and leisurely evening to enjoy your dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great service! Had the rack ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food, great service! Had the rack of lamb and my friend had the pork chop...both were delicious! We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there. Seems to only be one ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Second time there. Seems to only be one wait person who manages to take care of everyone. Unfortunately, I think he's too busy to chat a little, but he is efficient and keeps things going. I'm amazed at how he handles it all!

Food is very good, wine selection good too! I've been there once without a reservation and had no problem. Second time with reservations for 4 people, no trouble at all.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely place with good service and food. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely place with good service and food. My companions thought the rack of lamb was up there with best they had ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good but not quite in line ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good but not quite in line with the price and the service was solicitous but clunky- reaching across me to move plates around many times. Since we were at a small table in the middle of the dining room, there was plenty of room to move around the table, rather than forcing me to dodge repeatedly. The wine by the glass menu was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Delicious food, great service, truly the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious food, great service, truly the best restaurant in Hayward.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is lovely, great food, and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The ambiance is lovely, great food, and service. It was perfect for a romantic date. We shared the Goat Cheese Salad and enjoyed the Pork Chop and Salmon entrees. Before dinner, we chatted in the garden.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a wonderful time fining here with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I had a wonderful time fining here with a friend I hadn't seen in a while. The staff were amazingly friendly and I enjoyed my meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was unusually slow due to the si ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was unusually slow due to the singular waiter on a Friday night. 45 minutes of wait time for dinner. The customers next to us were served first although they were seated 20 minutes after we were. The waiter was pretentious, acting in affected formalities, like handing over the knife with his pinky up & using a tone of voice that can be described as declamatory. Why the need for all this grandiose affectations? Only to be served food that was barely seasoned & lukewarm.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Love this place, the owner, the food, ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love this place, the owner, the food, everything! definitely neighborhood gem . You can also bring your dog if you sit outside. Love, Love, Love this place. Just wish it was open on Sundays and for lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time celebrating birthdays wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Wonderful time celebrating birthdays with friend. Nice, quiet ambiance with soft music background. Good selection of foods, wine, and great service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The solo waiter opened the evening and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The solo waiter opened the evening and was kept busy. This may account for the fact that while cordial in attending our table well, he telegraphed a stern and unapproachable demeanor that was somewhat off-putting. He did, however, remembered that this was a birthday celebration and brought out the dessert with a celebratory candle. On the whole, we enjoyed Neumanali for its lovely setting and ambience, as well as the relaxed pacing of our dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

I've lived in Hayward for over 26 years ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've lived in Hayward for over 26 years and just learned this restaurant existed. What a gem! We had a great dinner. The meats are spectacular!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Neumanali is a special "find" in Hayward ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Neumanali is a special "find" in Hayward. Great food and excellent service in an intimate setting. The restaurant is housed in a historical victorian with great jazz oil paintings. I have never had a bad meal here. If you order the pork chop make sure that you haven't eaten for a day. It is a double double. I like their lamb and chopped avaocado salad. You can't go wrong

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I were on our way from Castr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I were on our way from Castro Valley to Dublin for a Friday night date night when we were met with unforgiving traffic. I quickly went to Open Table and found Neumanali as a local and available for reservation. We quickly cancelled our original reservation and made a new one with Neumanali. I was previously aware of this restaurant but quite honestly my wife and I both enjoy a cocktail before dinner and Neumanali only serves wine and in the past this had kept us from dining there before. What a mistake on our part. We were greeted by one of the partners at the door and sat in a particularly pleasant surrounding. Beautiful decorated surroundings and most enjoyable jazz music filled the room. We started by sharing Goat Cheese Salad...Wonderful! A great start. My only regret was that I did not order my own. Although everything on the menu looked great, we were both in the mood for meat. I selected the Rib Eye and my wife chose the Filet. I have had a few steaks in my day and I have to say this was one of the best seasoned steaks that I have ever had. Perfectly cooked too. My wife's Filet was equally enjoyable. We finished with Cheesecake for desert and it was the perfect finish to a fantastic meal. Oh by the way...we never missed not having a cocktail and enjoyed very much the wines recommended by our server. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing! The food was am ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was amazing! The food was amazing. Wonderful date night and overall experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great romantic place with delicious food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great romantic place with delicious food. Make reservation. definitely will come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a wonderful repeat location for us. as ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

a wonderful repeat location for us. as before, food was amazing (still thinking about the steamed clams), service was charming and perfect (despite having to cover the garden/dining room/front), a wonderful meal in such a peaceful setting (garden). would be nice to see a freshening of the menu, always high quality ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here, you get what you pay f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Second time here, you get what you pay for. The best restaurant in Hayward/Castro Valley area for sure. We will be back many times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and setting. Abrin, the head ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food and setting. Abrin, the head waiter, was helpful and friendly as always. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exactly what I was looking for

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice outdoor patio, able to bring my small dog, Wine, Food, and Service was Great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic neighborhood find on Op ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2016

What a fantastic neighborhood find on OpenTable. Thank you! We were seated promptly and the pacing of service was excellent.

We wanted a quiet place with good food so that we could have dinner with our 82 year old mom and her caregiver and easily converse. This restaurant has convenient parking and is easily accessible by people of limited mobility. The food was fantastic.

And we ran into some diners on the back patio that had their dogs with them as they dined. We'll definitely come back with our dogs next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Local favorite

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

A great restaurant that serves as both our "perennial favorite" whenever we want to dine out but also the sophisticated "foodie" restaurant where I can take corporate clients and partners who are tired of the typical high-end chain restaurants.

I strongly recommend reservations since it is a small intimate restaurant but I can typically get in without much advanced planning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service is in an unassumi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food and service is in an unassuming location...really great!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fantastic experience. Corkage o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Another fantastic experience. Corkage only $15. Made my Mother's Day special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.