About Neumanali

742 B Street
Hayward, CA 94541
View Larger Map

Welcome to our beautifully restored Victorian with a contemporary twist. Neumanali opened six years ago and quickly became a neighborhood favorite. The menu features both fresh and seasonal entrees in addition to a selection of fun and unusual small plates. Perennial favorites are the pan-seared day boat scallops and "made to order" cioppino. The wine list is a bit eclectic and features smaller, more difficult to find winery selections. Lush garden dining is available in the summer and fall.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Watkins

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 583-9744

Website:
http://www.neumanali.com/

Parking Details:
Located behind restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located across the street from Hayward City Hall, BART and all bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Julie Romic Mckillop

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant available for private parties. Please contact us for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Julie McKillop: 5107503921

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Neumanali
Neumanali

Neumanali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Hayward ›

neighborhood gem (19)
special occasion (16)
romantic (14)
See All
fit for foodies (11)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exactly what I was looking for

Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice outdoor patio, able to bring my small dog, Wine, Food, and Service was Great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a fantastic neighborhood find on Op ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

What a fantastic neighborhood find on OpenTable. Thank you! We were seated promptly and the pacing of service was excellent. We wanted a quiet place with good food so that we could have dinner with our 82 year old mom and her caregiver and easily converse. This restaurant has convenient parking and is easily accessible by people of limited mobility. The food was fantastic. And we ran into some diners on the back patio that had their dogs with them as they dined. We'll definitely come back with our dogs next time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local favorite

Dined on May 21, 2016

A great restaurant that serves as both our "perennial favorite" whenever we want to dine out but also the sophisticated "foodie" restaurant where I can take corporate clients and partners who are tired of the typical high-end chain restaurants. I strongly recommend reservations since it is a small intimate restaurant but I can typically get in without much advanced planning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service is in an unassumi ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food and service is in an unassuming location...really great!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fantastic experience. Corkage o ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Another fantastic experience. Corkage only $15. Made my Mother's Day special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good and service was imp ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was really good and service was impeccable, our waiter was very attentive....

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience Will return Highl ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent experience Will return Highly recommended

food4
ambience4
service4

First time to this charming gem in Haywa ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

First time to this charming gem in Hayward. We had a wonderful experience, great food, great atmosphere and good service. We will dine there again soon and will recommend this place to our family and friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

I live in Hayward, and I just heard abou ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I live in Hayward, and I just heard about this gem. This place is awesome no other word to describe it. You get what you pay for its well worth it. Will be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very tasty food! I had the goat cheese s ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Very tasty food! I had the goat cheese salad, mushroom bruschetta, and the salmon. All three were terrific! We will be back for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upscale Neighborhood Restaurant

Dined on March 18, 2016

This restaurant is a charming find in downtown Hayward. It is in a converted Victorian house, and the ambience is both elegant and homey. The food was excellent, and the service was even better. A definite for a return visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service

Dined on March 13, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday, I had the ribeye and my wife had the fillet. They were both cooked perfectly but my wife's steak had way too much cracked pepper on it. She scraped off as much as she could but it was overwhelming with pepper. See had to send it back to the kitchen where they happily grilled her a new steak. We had a nice romantic dinner and the waiter even bought my wife a slice of cheesecake for her birthday. The service was excellent and the food was great.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice local neighborhood gym. The owners ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Nice local neighborhood gym. The owners are very nice. Good good and quiet atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service4

We had a romantic evening, the food was ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a romantic evening, the food was good and we did not feel rushed. A nice neighborhood gem in Hayward.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely romantic atmosphere along with gr ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Lovely romantic atmosphere along with great food and service. I will be back again!

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice place but a bit on the pricey side. ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Nice place but a bit on the pricey side. Great service & ambiance so I would come back to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, served hot and well prep ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Delicious food, served hot and well prepared.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Pretty good

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

It was a good place to stay close to home. Nice restaurant for Hayward

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lon

Dined on January 21, 2016

this was a real find. its an old home that has had an extensive remodel. the service & food were wonderful. we would return. the parking is easy, its on the 1st floor (no climbing) & is really nice inside. great for 2 to 4 for a nice dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Consistent!

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

The food and service are always great, we love it! If I had anything to criticize it would be that we go there quite a bit and would not mind different menu options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Not good for large parties

Dined on October 17, 2015

Great for couples on a date. Not good for parties more than 4. Came in with a large party (12) took more than an hour to get our food. Lighting was dim; was laughing at the party of 4 across from us using their cell phones flashlights to view the menu. Tried a taste of some of our parties food; pork chop was thick, rib eye was cooked to our liking (med rare) but both were under seasoned. Wish they had some veggies to go along with all the protein. So over all ... I've had better ... but don't get me wrong... it’s a great place to take you BF or GF on a nice dinner date. Everyone has their opinions, my suggestions to the staff, turn on the lights a little brighter... it would make a better experience to see the food you are eating. Cheers

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

YET UNDISCOVERED GEM IN HAYWARD

Dined on October 10, 2015

This may be the finest fine dining establishment in Southern Alameda County. The menu is always interesting, and the food well-prepared. A very good wine selection, served by a knowledgeable staff.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hayward's high-end restaurant

Dined on October 8, 2015

Neumanali's is a top restaurant in a smaller city where you wouldn't expect to find that level of gourmet dining and unobtrusively refined ambience. It never fails to please.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

Brought my son here for his 17th birthda ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Brought my son here for his 17th birthday. I made notes that we were celebrating a birthday but didn't feel service was any better. Our server hardly checked on us & we felt as though he was annoyed by just the looks of us. He had his nose up the second we walked in. I've been here a few times and love the food every time. Service wasn't too great this evening & we felt rushed. I also felt judged this time around which was very strange. I have recommended this place to many of my friends and they love it there. We'll see next time..

food5
ambience5
service5

The rack of lamb was amazing. Pomegranat ...

Dined on September 9, 2015

The rack of lamb was amazing. Pomegranates with the grain medley, what a brilliant idea. My wife had the scallops. Again it was amazing with the sweet potatoes. We ate outside, it was a beautiful garden area.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Find!

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

We had diner last week with a group of four. Picked the restaurant from previous open table reviews. Meal was great, all aps and entries were delicious. Dry rub on the pork chop was worth the trip alone. We went on a weeknight, the restaurant was about half full when we arrived, we could easily carry on a conversation, and our service was great. I would return again when in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great East Bay Neighborhood Restaurant

Dined on August 16, 2015

Who would have known that a place like this exists in Hayward. The food is great, full of flavor. Ambiance is great. And best thing of all it's a great option in the East Bay without having to drive to the city or the Peninsula.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A fantastic meal!

Dined on August 2, 2015

This was our first time at Neumanali, and our dinner was superb. The patio seating was quiet and comfortable, the wait staff was friendly and solicitous, and our dishes were delicious. I had the rib eye with cheddar-scallion potatoes -- I highly recommend it. For dessert, New York-style cheese cake (also highly recommended) and fresh-brewed (French press) decaf. Tasty wines as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining

Dined on July 17, 2015

This was my second visit - the dishes are amazing , the lamb, scallops and pork chops are served with special detail to both the prep and presentation. Several wonderful wines, and a lovely sound track for ambience. One of the most gorgeous rooms in the east bay

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Hayward

vip
Dined on June 26, 2015

We recently went with a party of 10 for dinner. The warm olives, shrimp and mushroom appetizers were all a nice start. Main courses by guests included the trout with califlower, the steak, loin lamb chops and the pork chop. Everyone thought their dishes were prepared well and they do a excellent job with the presentation . I have to say that the pork chop is outstanding--thick, juicy and tasty and the trout dish was also a special treat. The restaurant is a wonderful place to take guests for a special occasion or just a nice dinner. If it were located in Oakland or SF I think it would be mostly full every night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Lolagusto

vip
Dined on June 14, 2015

It is gem for the location. Perhaps the only good restaurant in the city of Hayward. The food is average, the ambience is great. Not very friendly owner, waiter, I think he is everything. Too stiff. He needs to hire someone who has good customer manners

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

Dined on June 6, 2015

My husband and I celebrated our six year anniversary here with a wonderful meal and great bottle of wine. We shared a few plates and enjoyed all, especially the lamb. Service was fantastic! Great to know we have a local gem. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Leave the kids at home

Dined on May 31, 2015

It's too bad they didn't have a single thing to offer any of the kids in our party. We should have known it woud not be kid-friendly given the price but they certainly weren't trying to acommondate us. They only had one highchair in the whole restaurant. They offered to make frys for the kids but I could tell the waiter was bothered to have to think outside the box. No kids cups. Our children loved the place and behaved well and we took them outside to the patio when they needed a chance to roam around. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is very cute I just wish that children could be more accepting here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Kappa Man

Dined on May 10, 2015

My family and I went this establishment looking to have a good food, good service and a good ambiance. What we got was great food, outstanding service and a wonderful ambiance. The food was excellently prepared and the portions were very generous. Our hostess was personable but respectful,of our groups desire for privacy. The dining room set up was perfect for family interactions, as well as. couples. We will definitely be back for More group dinners. What a neighborhood gem!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Quality Food

vip
Dined on April 25, 2015

Dinner for four on an early Friday night found the restaurant empty and I was able to watch it fill by seven. The interesting part was there was only one server. The food was good and served hot. However the meal took two and half hours. It could have taken an hour less if the establishment had more help on the floor. I will go back for the clams and the pork chop.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable and the food ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2015

The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. We were late to our reservation, and by extension, we were late to leave the restaurant (around 11pm). The staff was very gracious and did not make us feel the slightest bit rushed.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hayward gem

Dined on April 18, 2015

Hayward had one of the most wonderful intimate dining / cocktails spot in the eastbbay. The restarsunt is in a historian Victorian that exudes elegance, the menu says special and delicious ( foodies will be thrilled) , the wine selection is worthy and the ambiance makes you relax and enjoy the evening. We were served by the partner, who literally made us feel at home. Great Friday evening/ night experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Neumanali - a great pregame find in Hayward

Dined on April 3, 2015

We dined at Neumanali before a Warriors game. We chose Neumanali because we wanted a good meal (not arena/fast food) before the game. We were very impressed! The location is great - in a moderately quiet mixed neighborhood of residential homes and close to Bart and downtown Hayward. In an old Victorian (with its own private parking lot!) the restaurant is charming. We all had salads to start. The goat cheese salad was especially a hit with the cheese cake being perfectly melted inside but not hot on the outside ruining the greens. Two in our group had the rack of lamb and loved it! Served medium rare and seasoned enough without overpowering the lamb. The other two had the day boat scallops. While they were good, the scallops did not taste as fresh as we expected (slightly too fishy). When we go back, we would all stick with a "land" dish. Also, service was great - attentive but not intrusive. We feel that we really discovered a hidden gem and would not hesitate to come to Neumanali again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite local spots!

Dined on March 20, 2015

Whether it's a special occasion or just a dinner out, Neumanali is a cut above most neighborhood joints. Service is impeccable, but not rushed - this is not a place you go before a play or movie, unless you've allowed plenty of time to eat. The small plates are a great way to share different tastes, or if you want to leave room for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Secret Gem

Dined on February 4, 2015

Had the please of discover a hidden gem of a fine dining experience in Hayward. Had all the pieces needed to make a special night out. Quaint Victorian home with a warm glow. A historic vibe inside. Simple yet complete menu A take your timer laugh, have some wine and enjoy your evening atmosphere. Neumanali made my girlfriends birthday unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.