About Neumanali

742 B Street
Hayward, CA 94541
View Larger Map

Welcome to our beautifully restored Victorian with a contemporary twist. Neumanali opened six years ago and quickly became a neighborhood favorite. The menu features both fresh and seasonal entrees in addition to a selection of fun and unusual small plates. Perennial favorites are the pan-seared day boat scallops and "made to order" cioppino. The wine list is a bit eclectic and features smaller, more difficult to find winery selections. Lush garden dining is available in the summer and fall.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Watkins

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 583-9744

Website:
http://www.neumanali.com/

Parking Details:
Located behind restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located across the street from Hayward City Hall, BART and all bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Julie Romic Mckillop

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant available for private parties. Please contact us for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Julie McKillop: 5107503921

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Neumanali
Neumanali

Neumanali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
East Bay
Best Value
East Bay
Romantic
East Bay
1 More
Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Hayward ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was unusually slow due to the si ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was unusually slow due to the singular waiter on a Friday night. 45 minutes of wait time for dinner. The customers next to us were served first although they were seated 20 minutes after we were. The waiter was pretentious, acting in affected formalities, like handing over the knife with his pinky up & using a tone of voice that can be described as declamatory. Why the need for all this grandiose affectations? Only to be served food that was barely seasoned & lukewarm.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Wonderful time celebrating birthdays wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Wonderful time celebrating birthdays with friend. Nice, quiet ambiance with soft music background. Good selection of foods, wine, and great service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The solo waiter opened the evening and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The solo waiter opened the evening and was kept busy. This may account for the fact that while cordial in attending our table well, he telegraphed a stern and unapproachable demeanor that was somewhat off-putting. He did, however, remembered that this was a birthday celebration and brought out the dessert with a celebratory candle. On the whole, we enjoyed Neumanali for its lovely setting and ambience, as well as the relaxed pacing of our dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

I've lived in Hayward for over 26 years ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've lived in Hayward for over 26 years and just learned this restaurant existed. What a gem! We had a great dinner. The meats are spectacular!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Neumanali is a special "find" in Hayward ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Neumanali is a special "find" in Hayward. Great food and excellent service in an intimate setting. The restaurant is housed in a historical victorian with great jazz oil paintings. I have never had a bad meal here. If you order the pork chop make sure that you haven't eaten for a day. It is a double double. I like their lamb and chopped avaocado salad. You can't go wrong

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I were on our way from Castr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I were on our way from Castro Valley to Dublin for a Friday night date night when we were met with unforgiving traffic. I quickly went to Open Table and found Neumanali as a local and available for reservation. We quickly cancelled our original reservation and made a new one with Neumanali. I was previously aware of this restaurant but quite honestly my wife and I both enjoy a cocktail before dinner and Neumanali only serves wine and in the past this had kept us from dining there before. What a mistake on our part. We were greeted by one of the partners at the door and sat in a particularly pleasant surrounding. Beautiful decorated surroundings and most enjoyable jazz music filled the room. We started by sharing Goat Cheese Salad...Wonderful! A great start. My only regret was that I did not order my own. Although everything on the menu looked great, we were both in the mood for meat. I selected the Rib Eye and my wife chose the Filet. I have had a few steaks in my day and I have to say this was one of the best seasoned steaks that I have ever had. Perfectly cooked too. My wife's Filet was equally enjoyable. We finished with Cheesecake for desert and it was the perfect finish to a fantastic meal. Oh by the way...we never missed not having a cocktail and enjoyed very much the wines recommended by our server. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing! The food was am ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was amazing! The food was amazing. Wonderful date night and overall experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great romantic place with delicious food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great romantic place with delicious food. Make reservation. definitely will come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a wonderful repeat location for us. as ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

a wonderful repeat location for us. as before, food was amazing (still thinking about the steamed clams), service was charming and perfect (despite having to cover the garden/dining room/front), a wonderful meal in such a peaceful setting (garden). would be nice to see a freshening of the menu, always high quality ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here, you get what you pay f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Second time here, you get what you pay for. The best restaurant in Hayward/Castro Valley area for sure. We will be back many times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and setting. Abrin, the head ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food and setting. Abrin, the head waiter, was helpful and friendly as always. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exactly what I was looking for

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice outdoor patio, able to bring my small dog, Wine, Food, and Service was Great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic neighborhood find on Op ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

What a fantastic neighborhood find on OpenTable. Thank you! We were seated promptly and the pacing of service was excellent.

We wanted a quiet place with good food so that we could have dinner with our 82 year old mom and her caregiver and easily converse. This restaurant has convenient parking and is easily accessible by people of limited mobility. The food was fantastic.

And we ran into some diners on the back patio that had their dogs with them as they dined. We'll definitely come back with our dogs next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Local favorite

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A great restaurant that serves as both our "perennial favorite" whenever we want to dine out but also the sophisticated "foodie" restaurant where I can take corporate clients and partners who are tired of the typical high-end chain restaurants.

I strongly recommend reservations since it is a small intimate restaurant but I can typically get in without much advanced planning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service is in an unassumi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food and service is in an unassuming location...really great!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fantastic experience. Corkage o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Another fantastic experience. Corkage only $15. Made my Mother's Day special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good and service was imp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was really good and service was impeccable, our waiter was very attentive....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great ambiance and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience Will return Highl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent experience

Will return

Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time to this charming gem in Haywa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

First time to this charming gem in Hayward. We had a wonderful experience, great food, great atmosphere and good service. We will dine there again soon and will recommend this place to our family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I live in Hayward, and I just heard abou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I live in Hayward, and I just heard about this gem. This place is awesome no other word to describe it. You get what you pay for its well worth it. Will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very tasty food! I had the goat cheese s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Very tasty food! I had the goat cheese salad, mushroom bruschetta, and the salmon. All three were terrific! We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

This restaurant is a charming find in downtown Hayward. It is in a converted Victorian house, and the ambience is both elegant and homey. The food was excellent, and the service was even better. A definite for a return visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday, I had the ribeye and my wife had the fillet. They were both cooked perfectly but my wife's steak had way too much cracked pepper on it. She scraped off as much as she could but it was overwhelming with pepper. See had to send it back to the kitchen where they happily grilled her a new steak.

We had a nice romantic dinner and the waiter even bought my wife a slice of cheesecake for her birthday. The service was excellent and the food was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice local neighborhood gym. The owners ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Nice local neighborhood gym. The owners are very nice. Good good and quiet atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a romantic evening, the food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a romantic evening, the food was good and we did not feel rushed. A nice neighborhood gem in Hayward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely romantic atmosphere along with gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Lovely romantic atmosphere along with great food and service. I will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place but a bit on the pricey side. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Nice place but a bit on the pricey side. Great service & ambiance so I would come back to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious food, served hot and well prep ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Delicious food, served hot and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pretty good

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

It was a good place to stay close to home. Nice restaurant for Hayward

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

lon

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

this was a real find. its an old home that has had an extensive remodel.

the service & food were wonderful. we would return. the parking is easy,

its on the 1st floor (no climbing) & is really nice inside. great for 2 to 4 for

a nice dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Consistent!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

The food and service are always great, we love it! If I had anything to criticize it would be that we go there quite a bit and would not mind different menu options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not good for large parties

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Great for couples on a date. Not good for parties more than 4. Came in with a large party (12) took more than an hour to get our food. Lighting was dim; was laughing at the party of 4 across from us using their cell phones flashlights to view the menu. Tried a taste of some of our parties food; pork chop was thick, rib eye was cooked to our liking (med rare) but both were under seasoned. Wish they had some veggies to go along with all the protein. So over all ... I've had better ... but don't get me wrong... it’s a great place to take you BF or GF on a nice dinner date. Everyone has their opinions, my suggestions to the staff, turn on the lights a little brighter... it would make a better experience to see the food you are eating. Cheers

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

YET UNDISCOVERED GEM IN HAYWARD

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

This may be the finest fine dining establishment in Southern Alameda County. The menu is always interesting, and the food well-prepared. A very good wine selection, served by a knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hayward's high-end restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

Neumanali's is a top restaurant in a smaller city where you wouldn't expect to find that level of gourmet dining and unobtrusively refined ambience. It never fails to please.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought my son here for his 17th birthda ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Brought my son here for his 17th birthday. I made notes that we were celebrating a birthday but didn't feel service was any better. Our server hardly checked on us & we felt as though he was annoyed by just the looks of us. He had his nose up the second we walked in. I've been here a few times and love the food every time. Service wasn't too great this evening & we felt rushed. I also felt judged this time around which was very strange. I have recommended this place to many of my friends and they love it there. We'll see next time..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The rack of lamb was amazing. Pomegranat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

The rack of lamb was amazing. Pomegranates with the grain medley, what a brilliant idea.

My wife had the scallops. Again it was amazing with the sweet potatoes.

We ate outside, it was a beautiful garden area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

We had diner last week with a group of four. Picked the restaurant from previous open table reviews. Meal was great, all aps and entries were delicious. Dry rub on the pork chop was worth the trip alone. We went on a weeknight, the restaurant was about half full when we arrived, we could easily carry on a conversation, and our service was great. I would return again when in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great East Bay Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Who would have known that a place like this exists in Hayward. The food is great, full of flavor. Ambiance is great. And best thing of all it's a great option in the East Bay without having to drive to the city or the Peninsula.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A fantastic meal!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

This was our first time at Neumanali, and our dinner was superb. The patio seating was quiet and comfortable, the wait staff was friendly and solicitous, and our dishes were delicious. I had the rib eye with cheddar-scallion potatoes -- I highly recommend it. For dessert, New York-style cheese cake (also highly recommended) and fresh-brewed (French press) decaf. Tasty wines as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.