Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About Neumanali

Welcome to our beautifully restored Victorian with a contemporary twist. Neumanali opened six years ago and quickly became a neighborhood favorite. The menu features both fresh and seasonal entrees in addition to a selection of fun and unusual small plates. Perennial favorites are the pan-seared day boat scallops and "made to order" cioppino. The wine list is a bit eclectic and features smaller, more difficult to find winery selections. Lush garden dining is available in the summer and fall.

742 B Street
Hayward, CA 94541
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Watkins

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 583-9744

Website:
http://www.neumanali.com/

Parking Details:
Located behind restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located across the street from Hayward City Hall, BART and all bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Julie Romic Mckillop

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant available for private parties. Please contact us for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Julie McKillop: (510) 750-3921

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Neumanali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Historic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous neighborhood gem. And I found it by googling Hayward restaurants. Food phenomenal. Service fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was my first time eating at the restaurant. The food was really good, and the service was great. Oh, the bread pudding was AMAZING. I would recommend dinner, wine and dessert. It's a great little find in down town Hayward.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent ambiance and comfortable in an old building.
The dining room is supportive of good conversation and a pleasing simple yet cozy atmosphere.

The menus is relatively small but offers appetizers, in between courses and a simple great selection of main courses.

Prices are excellent and quality and presentation simple yet pleasing and the portions are the correct midsize with no overload of side dishes and what you order like their meat or fish is well proportioned and the feature of the dish.
Eating out on average 3 times a week and traveling through the upscale areas of the US and Europe, highly recommend and returning for a 2nd time in a row before traveling on.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The restaurant is in a beautiful Victorian home. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Food was delicious. A true gem and wonderful dining experience!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I have had meals at this restaurant and there has never been a "let down". Always tasteful, the appointments, ambience wait service and food; I have highly recommended it to a number of friends. Always look forward to going; it's a conundrum because you don't want to wear it out ....but oh my goodness!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Neumanali is definitely a neighborhood gem! It is now my go to place. The atmosphere is ideal for a small get together with family or friends - as well as a date; the overall vibe is to enjoy your food and your company. The food is great and the staff very friendly. Their menu offers a little of everything. Love how the restaurant is in an old Victorian. VERY nice selection of wines. Make sure you order dessert - their bread pudding is my absolute favourite! What a wonderful place!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Living in Hayward most of my life, I have to say I have come to accept that we are just sadly not going to ever be a spot for upscale restaurants. Then we tried this restaurant. I was not expecting much. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised! The look, the service, the food was all great. Now, compared to your upscale places in the City, like Michael Mina or Gary Danko, etc., of course it isn't anywhere close... but it definitely had an upscale feel and the food was all really decent quality. The restaurant is in an old victorian house converted to a restaurant, and also features outdoor seating on a cute back patio. Looks so relaxing out there, but we went on a hot day, so we sat inside for the cooler air. As far as food, my only complaint would be that they tend to love to pepper the heck out of everything. Way too much pepper on my lamb, and my husband's steak. (Be advised that I'm not a big black pepper fan to begin with, but my husband even mentioned it was a bit too much). But otherwise, it was all cooked well and they had delicious good quality cuts of meat, and the sides offered and sauces were also good and well-plated. We both started with the warm goat cheese salad, which was amazing! No complaints on that at all. I can't tell you how nice it is to have a nice, quiet new date-night spot! We will definitely be returning A.S.A.P.!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was good. The service was horrible. I'm not referring to that it took a long time - we didn't care since we were a group of ten and that's to be expected. The service was so rude from beginning to end. They automatically got an 18% tip but if it was good service we would tip above that. When I ask if he could please start Taking the order from the other end (I'm always the last to order)he told me know he would just come back. There were too many and worse examples- so much so that it became laughable. Are we being punked? It was a $700 bill and there was t even a thank you. No one sent anything back or was demanding. I just don't think he should be working front of house.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

A little too much meat - the place is elegant but the massive pork chop with a smidge of potatoes was not so appetizing. Would have been nicer to have a little more variety in the meal. Might go back as I meet my son in Hayward and it was quiet enough for a visit

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent service and food, as always! Will definitely be back again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Three friends and I had a good time- nice atmosphere, attractive space, and good food, with some misses. I had the trout with thin-shaved cauliflower. Flavor was really good but the fish was overcooked and terribly dry. A friend ordered the rib eye and described the desired doneness as "pale pink in the middle". The waiter didn't try to reach a mutually understood specification, though it seemed he understood, but it arrived thoroughly gray, not a bit of pink- such a shame. Both of us would have been justified sending our mains back. Salads were good. Cheese cake was good especially the caramelly penuche nuts.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

With only one waiter, no busser, no bartender, and no host every night means service is slow at best. Having our check practically thrown at us without a thank you was really rude. We won't return or recommend to anyone. The same tired menu is not only poor but the food is of amateur quality and presentation.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As always, Neumanali did not disappoint! We decided to play hooky and go to a day game at AT&T Park. It worked out perfectly to walk from the BART station, just a block away, after the game for a wonderful meal. This time we ordered a variety of salads and appetizers instead of entrees, but all are delicious. We go often enough to wish they would change the menu a bit, but we were there on a Thursday, so probably missed out on the weekend specials.
Abran was his usual friendly, attentive self while never seeming snooty or intrusive. Of course we'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Dinner was great. The best pork chop I've had at a restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great, great atmosphere and wonderfully delicious food, incredible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This restaurant is in a lovely old Victorian. There is parking onsite and it's right near BART. It is quiet, inviting, and everything was delicious. Especially the pork chop,

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Our absolute favorite restaurant in Hayward. Great food, preparation and a dedicated staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 19, 2017

Enjoyed the Ambience but the food was not very good for the price point.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My favorite two items on the menu are the wild mushroom brushetta and the pork chop and you must leave room for dessert because the hot fudge sundae is awesome! Great little place for a small group or a date, food and ambiance are wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Hubby and I enjoyed an early dinner (5:30pm reservation) before a Warriors game. It was midweek so the restaurant was about 1/3 full. Love the warm feel of the dining room with the jazz art. Service was good. We had the warm goat cheese salad - fabulous - and our beef entrees meals were excellent. We were here once before and ordered fish. Definitely, prefer their beef offerings. We had a relaxing, quiet meal and still arrived 15 minutes before tip-off. Definitely a recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great. Food was good for most part. The pairing of scallops with sweet potatoes did not work. The sweetness was overpowering to the delicate taste of scallops. Better to pair with savory. Great rec of Rose with my meal. Would definitely go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great spot in Hayward. Only place I ever recommend for a business dinner. Great ambience and the food is excellent

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Neumanali is our "go to" Date restaurant in Hayward. Nice, intimate restaurant with good food options, excellent service, and hot, tasty food. Lamb chops were excellent and well prepared.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very gracious service. I've been there several times and every meal has always been wonderful

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious food, Great Ambiance,good service, good portion of food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food and service were excellent once again. Nice for a business dinner. Everyone enjoyed their entrees.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I made a reservation, not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the experience. The restaurant is small but never noisy. The tables were well spaced so we didn't feel we were intruding on other conversations. Because of its small size, reservations are a must have (we saw some diners turned away). There is seating on the back patio but it is not heated.

There is one person running the front of the house. He was attentive without being overbearing and the pace of the meal was just right. I thought the menu to be a little eclectic but lacked vegetarian options. The wine list (as others have mentioned) is extensive. I liked that they also offer some wines by the glass -- good for a couple who don't need or want a full bottle.

There are few options for fine dining between San Jose and Oakland so Neumanali fills a need.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently good food, a comfortable environment, and always a treat to see our Neumanali "family". The lamb was delicious And the trout was phenomenal as always.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Lamb rack was good.
Scallops we a little tasteless.
The sweet potato flavored with pare was quite interesting.
Our waiter was very informative.
The history of the building and the art on the walls is quite interesting.

The acoustics where we sat was not good...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

While all of their dishes are wonderful the chicken is particularly great. Very moist and delicious. Good wine list and great service. This is a place to enjoy your dinner, not a place to rush between appointments as service is timely but never rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I enjoy coming here on our anniversaries. It has a fancy atmosphere, and the food is good. However, it is expensive. We will keep going annually because it's kind of a tradition now, but I can't help but question if the food is really worth the price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for our 51st. Anniversary, and as usual, savored great food coupled with good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Neumanali is a Hayward gem!! I've been going here for years and love it!! With the delicious food and an impressive wine selection, I couldn't ask for anything more. And I have to give a shout out for the one guy that does it all-Abrahm is amazing.

Everything is delicious, but I do have my favorites like the mushroom bruschetta, scallops and the trout.

I look forward to my next visit.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was great. Service was not so great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I have gone to this Neumanali about 12 times over 5 years and I enjoyed every meal. They can only accommodate about 35 people and they book up quickly. Food and wine can be pricey but I think it's the BEST place to eat in Hayward and Hayward has SEVERAL good places to eat. They are NOT open for lunch and closed on Sunday and Monday. Very close to BART but the parking can be a bit tight. The Pork chops are to die for and I don't really order pork chops very often. They are as good or better than Wente in Livermore. The trout, Salmon and steak are always a good choice but the Pork chop OMG.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Neumanali's is always an amazing experience. The ambiance, the service, and the food - oh my, the food! I make it a point to visit every time I am in Hayward. You should, too!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Cauliflower on trout all burnt black. Scallops had bitter/weird taste. Ribeye steak and lamb chops were great. Only 1 waiter on a Saturday evening.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and service is excellent. Needs a full bar service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Always excellent. Always feel special.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Another awesome meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.