About Nasher Cafe

2001 Campus Dr.
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

The 100-seat indoor/outdoor Nasher Cafe overlooks the garden and sits adjacent to a Mark Di Suvero sculpture, providing a serene and beautiful ambience. The menu consists of soups, salads, sandwiches, and desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Dinner: Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:15pm (building closes at 9pm)

Cross Street:
Anderson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 684-6032

Website:
http://www.nasher.duke.edu/museum_cafe.php

Entertainment:
Summer Days Nasher Nights Programming includes special events we coin 'Live and Local'. There is live music from the talented musicians of the area as well as a menu featuring local products. Check out the calendar on nasher.duke.edu for further information regarding special programming and more.

Parking Details:
The Nasher Museum has a metered parking lot. The meters accept credit cards or cash (exact change needed as they do not provide change).

Executive Chef:
Enrique Abreo

Private Party Contact:
Aidan Peters: 9196846032x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Aidan Peters, General Manager of the Nasher Museum Cafe for details regarding Private Events and bookings. 919.684.6032 or aidan.peters@duke.edu

Restaurant Photos

  • Black Bean And Chorizo Soup
  • Molten Chocolate Cake
  • Breakfast
  • Sweet and Salty Sandwich
  • Red, White, and Green Sandwich
Black Bean And Chorizo Soup
Molten Chocolate Cake
Breakfast
Sweet and Salty Sandwich
Red, White, and Green Sandwich

Nasher Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Outdoor Dining
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
2 More
Best Food
Durham
Best Value
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

great for lunch (26)
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for brunch (20)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
scenic view (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (10)
special occasion (10)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (6)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pleasant lunch

Dined on June 9, 2016

Good food, good portions, excellent service, lovely sitting outdoors with shading umbrellas, and opportunity to visit the museum afterwards.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Neat place inside the museum. Good bre ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Neat place inside the museum. Good breakfast menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely space for outdoor dining

Dined on May 27, 2016

Lovely space for outdoor dining

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great brunch at the museum! Fast, pleasa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great brunch at the museum! Fast, pleasant service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice food and good service at a very mod ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice food and good service at a very modest price. The environment is pleasant (including wonderful lighting), but it is unpleasantly noisy. The restaurant was not very crowded when we had brunch with friends and it was still a problem.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful setting. Interesting menu but ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful setting. Interesting menu but they were out of the hamburger entree and the beer my husband wanted. Also the area where we sat was very cold. My "Caesar salad" was delicious but it was really a Salad Nicoise."

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch after graduation. Awesom ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for brunch after graduation. Awesome food and nice ambiance. Will definitely return

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice and experience with fri ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent choice and experience with friends for lunch after the reopening of Duke Chapel. The location was easy to get to , away from the noise of town and nestled in attractive and peaceful surroundings. Parking was great, easy and accessible to Duke Gardens afterwards . We're already planning another event and will highly recommend this venue to others.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely brunch

Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious food, great view, we had a wonderful brunch. It was a bit loud, but that was the only negative.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nasher is great!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was great and our server Jordon was perfect. Adian the floor manager was sweet. All the food was well prepared and presented. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Spot!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I very much enjoy every meal I've had at the Nasher. I am thinking, though, that the brunch servings are smaller than the same dish that I've gotten for dinner there. That would be fine, but I think the price is still the same. Otherwise, I love the Nasher -- and I will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TASTY!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Very much enjoyed dinner with a friend last Thursday. The salads are majestic, and wonderfully tasty! Gives a calorie watcher a feeling of decadent dining! That delectable wine also adds to the feeling ;)!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Work of Art

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

A wonderful complement to a visit to Duke's Nasher Museum of Art is this gem of a cafe. Items on the unexpectedly extensive menu are expertly prepared and served by an attentive staff. Outdoor seating offers views of public art installations on the scenic Duke campus location.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Needs better service

Dined on February 21, 2016

everything pretty decent except SERVICE SO SLOW (all of the times I've been here)

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

cold day at the warm cafe

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed a pleasant meal on a cold day, a perfect day to stroll the museum. Making it a one stop occasion to include late lunch was convenient. Very attentive server brought beverage refills often. I regretted not substituting fruit for the highly seasoned potatoes but it was my own over site. Not long on ambience, the varied menu and table service makes it a step up from many venues cafes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Poor Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

When we arrived at the cafe at our reservation time, we were asked to wait. The host apparently forgot about us, as several other groups of 2 and walk-ups were seated before us... Very hard to flag down a server as well. Otherwise food's great.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nasher Valetine Day

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was an awesome eating experience. My girlfriend was impressed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

chai latte too sweet

Dined on January 16, 2016

The chai latte is toooooo sweet, as always....Please consider changing the recipe and putting less sugar in it.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience5
service3

Looks are everything

Dined on November 21, 2015

The Nasher Cafe could serve boiled water for lunch and still rate a visit because of the airy, bright, elegant, spacious architecture that encloses it. The cafe spans from the Nasher Museum's soaring-yet-human-scaled atrium to the luminous outdoor patio overlooking a broad lawn bordered by Duke Rd. The food is mediocre at best, and the prices (too high for standard Mcfare but too low for gourmet fare) show it. I had a smoked salmon Eggs Benedictine that sounded elegant, but was served tepid-to-room-temperature, which ruined the taste experience from the very outset. The "flavor" ingredient--the smoked salmon--had a medicinal taste, rather than the velvety opulence of higher quality smoked fish. The garnishes were sauteed potatoes with a spicy seasoning but a mealy consistency that suggested microwave reanimation--also served tepid--and a generic small-leaf salad clump (baby lettuces don't age well) with a bit too much balsamic dressing. The "comfort" part of the Benedictine--the English muffin bottom--was soggy yet hard to cut, rather than crisply toasted, with a light, elastic crumb. Obviously, had it been served hot I might not have been so conscious of these deficiencies, so the Nasher Cafe's service is partly to blame. The servers were perfectly friendly and attentive, but it's obvious that the beautiful setting has brought in a mob of patrons that simply overwhelms the servers' ability to focus. I was there in a group of 5 for a 12:15 seating, and there were odd gaps in service, especially towards the end of the meal, when half of us were served dessert (cookies) while the other half waited 10 minutes or more for their coffee. I'm guessing the place (and that includes the kitchen) is just not very skilfully managed--a shame, since it is obviously a gold mine, even with the deficiencies.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great experience

Dined on November 18, 2015

Once again I had a great lunch at the Nasher. The sandwich I ordered was superb and the quinoa had a fresh taste. I polished off lunch with a scrumptious chocolate molten lava cake and a vanilla bean gelato. I will be back definitely!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

A romantic neighbourhood gem

Dined on November 8, 2015

A romantic neighbourhood gem enmeshed within the windswept fall colours of an eclectic campus. #whatsyourdefinitionofromantic

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

service pleasant but a bit forgetful

Dined on November 6, 2015

perhaps b/c we were sitting near the entrance, our server would forget about us for 5 minute periods. Fine once we had our food, but a bit anxiety-making at the beginning. But it all worked out well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Dining at the Nasher combines wonderful ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Dining at the Nasher combines wonderful food with a wonderful view, both of the contemporary architecture inside and the beauty of wooded Durham outside. Our server went out of his way to accommodate the allergies of a member of my dining party, as well. Everything tasted delicious and is reasonably priced.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

The art is the real reason to come here.

Dined on October 18, 2015

Our food was pretty good, but the acoustics inside the cafe are not so good. I recommend either sitting outside, if possible, or in the area within the museum. I had asked for an outdoor table, but they neglected to give us one.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Nasher cafè: who said classy had to be expensive?

Dined on October 3, 2015

The best brunch place in Durham! You enjoy an exquisite meal and then you have time to feed your cultured mind with the spectacular exhibitions that are at the Nasher Museum.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Semi-Casual, Fresh Food

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

Overall, the meal was good. Between a group of 3, we ordered two salads and two entrees. The service was nice, attentive, and helpful. I would highly recommend getting a salad, which were the highlight of the meal. The Parisian Salad is particular well-composed, but in general, their salads are made with very fresh ingredients and taste great. The entrees were also quite good, especially the seafood risotto. The meat was also fresh and cooked to perfection. The Nasher Cafe, although not a place to show up in wearing sweats, isn't too formal or flashy. It is a little pricey, but it is on Duke campus, so it's not relatively bad. Good place for a nice dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

The French toast is too sweet, but the B ...

Dined on September 13, 2015

The French toast is too sweet, but the Benedict dishes are all absolutely delicious

food5
ambience4
service1

Delicious food. Horrible service.

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

Food was excellent. The service was absolutely horrendous. Took forever to order. Took forever to get our food. Took forever to get our check. Get it together. There is a potential for greatness.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

classy!

Dined on September 12, 2015

The ambience at the Nasher Cafe is lovely. The food is always excellent and the service was outstanding. We were able to take our time and not feel rushed to turn the table over. It's always a special place to have brunch with friends.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food as always.

Dined on September 12, 2015

Happy to accomodate special requests. Good, fast service in a friendly atmosphere with students and art museum visitors. We enjoy eating outdoors if the weather is good. Try the seafood or veggie omlet with the apple and vanilla bean ice cream for dessert. Heavenly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Interesting lunch sandwich choices

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

Excellent and interesting sandwich choices and accompanying sides. They show a culinary imagination that's not too far out but a pleasing change from the usual. We enjoyed our lunch vey much.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Nasher

Dined on September 5, 2015

The cafe was amazing. Atmosphere was perfect for a date. Also, the lighting during day time was really good for quality pictures. Definitely recommend it to everyone

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Delightful special meal

Dined on August 13, 2015

We had the Chilean evening meal at the Nasher Cafe. The Chilean Bass with shrimp and mussels was outstanding. Also, there was nice selection of Chilean wines with a knowledgable wine steward. It is very nice to have these special meals highlighting foods from around the world available in Durham.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

Dined on July 30, 2015

I was pretty underwhelmed with my experience at Nasher Cafe. The menu looked great online but when we got to the restaurant, some of the items were different, which was disappointing. The prices were also far too high for the quality of food served. I was looking forward to a nice date night and the cafe didn't really make for a good dining experience.

food5
ambience3
service1

great food, service needs improvement

Dined on July 26, 2015

Service was terribly slow. Wait staff was polite, but they did not have enough servers for a brunch and there was indication that someone had not shown up so I'm leery if this is normal for the restaurant. Food was excellent and I felt reasonably priced for the quality and amount. Music by Mike Paris of Dogwood Blossom was excellent. Music volume was set well so you could hear the music as well as converse with friends. Great idea for the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service2

Lovely food, lovely place

Dined on July 26, 2015

I always enjoy the Nasher because of the setting: it is so light and bright plus I can go early or stay after and see the exhibits which are always provocative. Our last visit in July 26 was delightful with one caveat: the staff apparently hadn't been given an update on numbers so the service was uneven. Our original waiter completely gave up on us and the manager took over. She was overwhelmed as well so getting a cup of coffee, dessert and the check took quite a time and quite an effort to get someone's attention. The staff really needed a heads up on how many people were going to come. They were doing their best, trying to get to everyone. The music was an attraction so there were way more than usual. It is always busy on brunch days so this was above and beyond. The food was really nice, as always, the kitchen managed to stay on top of things.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2

SLOW SERVICE

Dined on July 23, 2015

The food, as always in my experience at the Nasher, was good, and the menu had many interesting possibilities. Unfortunately, it seemed the servers and cooks hadn't anticipated the crowd, which didn't make sense, since it was a special event evening and folks made reservations. We waited a very long time to be served, and barely made it to the movie offering.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, pleasant atmosphere

Dined on June 27, 2015

The patio is quiet and has a lovely view, though it can get hot in full sun if you can't arrange an umbrella just right. The food is fresh, interesting, and there is considerable variety on the menu. It is appealingly presented as well. The quality of every item ordered by our large group was really quite excellent -- tasty and fresh -- though some of the sauces, e.g. with the smoke salmon -- you might want them to put on the side, because their default is to pour it right on. The chairs are OK, but aren't the most comfortable for an extended sit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

great service & surprisingly delicious food!

Dined on June 21, 2015

great service & surprisingly delicious food! We are a family of 4 & entertained ourselves prior with art and corn hole in the middle of the museum. Very calm. Great for visiting college student parents.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the service, the atmosphere. S ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2015

The food, the service, the atmosphere. Spectacular. My waiter, Jordan, I believe could gauge when to stop in and when to hold out when my friend and I were in deep conversation. It's so nice and memorable when a waiter isn't breathing down my neck asking if everything is okay. Everyone I encountered for the slightest moment was very friendly. Will absolutely return!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.