About Nasher Cafe

2001 Campus Dr.
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

The 100-seat indoor/outdoor Nasher Cafe overlooks the garden and sits adjacent to a Mark Di Suvero sculpture, providing a serene and beautiful ambience. The menu consists of soups, salads, sandwiches, and desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Dinner: Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:15pm (building closes at 9pm)

Cross Street:
Anderson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 684-6032

Website:
http://www.nasher.duke.edu/museum_cafe.php

Entertainment:
Summer Days Nasher Nights Programming includes special events we coin 'Live and Local'. There is live music from the talented musicians of the area as well as a menu featuring local products. Check out the calendar on nasher.duke.edu for further information regarding special programming and more.

Parking Details:
The Nasher Museum has a metered parking lot. The meters accept credit cards or cash (exact change needed as they do not provide change).

Executive Chef:
Enrique Abreo

Private Party Contact:
Aidan Peters: 9196846032x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Aidan Peters, General Manager of the Nasher Museum Cafe for details regarding Private Events and bookings. 919.684.6032 or aidan.peters@duke.edu

Restaurant Photos

  • Black Bean And Chorizo Soup - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
  • Molten Chocolate Cake - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
  • Breakfast - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
  • Sweet and Salty Sandwich - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
  • Red, White, and Green Sandwich - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
Black Bean And Chorizo Soup - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
Molten Chocolate Cake - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
Breakfast - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
Sweet and Salty Sandwich - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC
Red, White, and Green Sandwich - Nasher Cafe, Durham, NC

Nasher Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Healthy (6)
See All
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Scenic View (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Interesting food combinations in lovely ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Interesting food combinations in lovely atrium setting. This is how you make salads and sandwiches unique and foodie focused. Nothing outlandish. Simply tasty food combinations, many with southern accents to fit the Southern Accent current exhibition. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Nasher Cafe has a great ambiance and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Nasher Cafe has a great ambiance and the service is fantastic. However, the salmon benedict that my friend and I received was cold and underseasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food with lots of interesting and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food with lots of interesting and healthy salads and sandwiches while on the Duke campus! Loved sitting outside on the patio. Super place for lunch and a quick stroll through the museum was a nice bonus.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This must have been a new crew of server ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This must have been a new crew of servers or they might have been shorthanded - but the service was terrible. We were never sure who "our" server was as two different people came to the table to take orders, and when we needed something (salt, more tea), we had to flag down a third person because the first two never returned. After finishing our meals, we asked for a dessert menu (none was offered) and waited more than 10 minutes for someone to return to take our dessert order. After that wait, we decided against dessert and had to find someone to ask for our check.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Delicious and beautiful spot for a date, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious and beautiful spot for a date, a business meal or just a weekend treat. Great food and being able to combine brunch and museum is like the new dinner and a movie ;) Loved the wild mushroom Benedict!

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a group of five, there for a Satu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a group of five, there for a Saturday brunch with out of town guests. The menu had a good variety of meals, and we all felt it was a good quality and value. The setting was quiet and allowed us to talk and not be rushed.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Gorgeous setting. nearly empty. A potent ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Gorgeous setting. nearly empty. A potential gem more of us should know about. Brunch menu. Salad delicious. Nice is somewhat limited appetizer selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Brunch at Nasher Café is a borderline st ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Brunch at Nasher Café is a borderline steal! The prices are reasonable (except for the $3 8oz glass of OJ) and we even got free admission to one of the galleries in the museum, which was an added bonus. The menu is simple and has recognizable options. The food was amazing. They have indoor and outdoor seating available. It was our first time going, but we absolutely loved vibes of eating brunch inside an art museum.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A MeetUp group were there for an Indi fi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2016

A MeetUp group were there for an Indi film and dinner. Prices were quite high for small portions. Three of us ordered the golden beet salad and it was mostly just a pile of greens with only a few small pieces of beets and one small medalion of goat cheese with a scattering of walnuts. For the money, I think it should have had much more beets and a few medalions of cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Consistently good food and service. Nice ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Nasher Cafe is one of my favorite Du ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Nasher Cafe is one of my favorite Durham lunch spots. The food is always excellent, the service is usually pretty good. The building itself is one reason it is so enjoyable: light, bright, airy and the art vibe adds to the whole experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Small cafe with good food and great serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Small cafe with good food and great service. My waiter, Drew, remembered me during this last visit, including the beverage I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely ambiance in relaxed dining atmosp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lovely ambiance in relaxed dining atmosphere. Always enjoy the food & being inside the Nasher!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant lunch

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Good food, good portions, excellent service, lovely sitting outdoors with shading umbrellas, and opportunity to visit the museum afterwards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Neat place inside the museum. Good bre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Neat place inside the museum. Good breakfast menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely space for outdoor dining

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Lovely space for outdoor dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch at the museum! Fast, pleasa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great brunch at the museum! Fast, pleasant service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice food and good service at a very mod ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice food and good service at a very modest price. The environment is pleasant (including wonderful lighting), but it is unpleasantly noisy. The restaurant was not very crowded when we had brunch with friends and it was still a problem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Beautiful setting. Interesting menu but ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful setting. Interesting menu but they were out of the hamburger entree and the beer

my husband wanted. Also the area where we sat was very cold. My "Caesar salad" was delicious but it was really a Salad Nicoise."

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for brunch after graduation. Awesom ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for brunch after graduation. Awesome food and nice ambiance. Will definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice and experience with fri ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent choice and experience with friends for lunch after the reopening of Duke Chapel. The location was easy to get to , away from the noise of town and nestled in attractive and peaceful surroundings. Parking was great, easy and accessible to Duke Gardens afterwards . We're already planning another event and will highly recommend this venue to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely brunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious food, great view, we had a wonderful brunch. It was a bit loud, but that was the only negative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nasher is great!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was great and our server Jordon was perfect. Adian the floor manager was sweet. All the food was well prepared and presented. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2016

I very much enjoy every meal I've had at the Nasher. I am thinking, though, that the brunch servings are smaller than the same dish that I've gotten for dinner there. That would be fine, but I think the price is still the same. Otherwise, I love the Nasher -- and I will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

TASTY!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Very much enjoyed dinner with a friend last Thursday. The salads are majestic, and wonderfully tasty! Gives a calorie watcher a feeling of decadent dining! That delectable wine also adds to the feeling ;)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Work of Art

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 27, 2016

A wonderful complement to a visit to Duke's Nasher Museum of Art is this gem of a cafe. Items on the unexpectedly extensive menu are expertly prepared and served by an attentive staff. Outdoor seating offers views of public art installations on the scenic Duke campus location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Needs better service

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 21, 2016

everything pretty decent except SERVICE SO SLOW (all of the times I've been here)

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

cold day at the warm cafe

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed a pleasant meal on a cold day, a perfect day to stroll the museum. Making it a one stop occasion to include late lunch was convenient. Very attentive server brought beverage refills often. I regretted not substituting fruit for the highly seasoned potatoes but it was my own over site. Not long on ambience, the varied menu and table service makes it a step up from many venues cafes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Poor Service

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

When we arrived at the cafe at our reservation time, we were asked to wait. The host apparently forgot about us, as several other groups of 2 and walk-ups were seated before us... Very hard to flag down a server as well. Otherwise food's great.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Nasher Valetine Day

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2016

This was an awesome eating experience. My girlfriend was impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

chai latte too sweet

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2016

The chai latte is toooooo sweet, as always....Please consider changing the recipe and putting less sugar in it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Looks are everything

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2015

The Nasher Cafe could serve boiled water for lunch and still rate a visit because of the airy, bright, elegant, spacious architecture that encloses it. The cafe spans from the Nasher Museum's soaring-yet-human-scaled atrium to the luminous outdoor patio overlooking a broad lawn bordered by Duke Rd. The food is mediocre at best, and the prices (too high for standard Mcfare but too low for gourmet fare) show it. I had a smoked salmon Eggs Benedictine that sounded elegant, but was served tepid-to-room-temperature, which ruined the taste experience from the very outset. The "flavor" ingredient--the smoked salmon--had a medicinal taste, rather than the velvety opulence of higher quality smoked fish. The garnishes were sauteed potatoes with a spicy seasoning but a mealy consistency that suggested microwave reanimation--also served tepid--and a generic small-leaf salad clump (baby lettuces don't age well) with a bit too much balsamic dressing. The "comfort" part of the Benedictine--the English muffin bottom--was soggy yet hard to cut, rather than crisply toasted, with a light, elastic crumb. Obviously, had it been served hot I might not have been so conscious of these deficiencies, so the Nasher Cafe's service is partly to blame. The servers were perfectly friendly and attentive, but it's obvious that the beautiful setting has brought in a mob of patrons that simply overwhelms the servers' ability to focus. I was there in a group of 5 for a 12:15 seating, and there were odd gaps in service, especially towards the end of the meal, when half of us were served dessert (cookies) while the other half waited 10 minutes or more for their coffee. I'm guessing the place (and that includes the kitchen) is just not very skilfully managed--a shame, since it is obviously a gold mine, even with the deficiencies.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Another great experience

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2015

Once again I had a great lunch at the Nasher. The sandwich I ordered was superb and the quinoa had a fresh taste. I polished off lunch with a scrumptious chocolate molten lava cake and a vanilla bean gelato. I will be back definitely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A romantic neighbourhood gem

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2015

A romantic neighbourhood gem enmeshed within the windswept fall colours of an eclectic campus.

#whatsyourdefinitionofromantic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service pleasant but a bit forgetful

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2015

perhaps b/c we were sitting near the entrance, our server would forget about us for 5 minute periods. Fine once we had our food, but a bit anxiety-making at the beginning. But it all worked out well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dining at the Nasher combines wonderful ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2015

Dining at the Nasher combines wonderful food with a wonderful view, both of the contemporary architecture inside and the beauty of wooded Durham outside. Our server went out of his way to accommodate the allergies of a member of my dining party, as well. Everything tasted delicious and is reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The art is the real reason to come here.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Our food was pretty good, but the acoustics inside the cafe are not so good. I recommend either sitting outside, if possible, or in the area within the museum. I had asked for an outdoor table, but they neglected to give us one.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nasher cafè: who said classy had to be expensive?

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 3, 2015

The best brunch place in Durham!

You enjoy an exquisite meal and then you have time to feed your cultured mind with the spectacular exhibitions that are at the Nasher Museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Nasher is always amazing! I love com ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 27, 2015

The Nasher is always amazing! I love coming here with friends for brunch on the weekends

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Semi-Casual, Fresh Food

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2015

Overall, the meal was good. Between a group of 3, we ordered two salads and two entrees. The service was nice, attentive, and helpful. I would highly recommend getting a salad, which were the highlight of the meal. The Parisian Salad is particular well-composed, but in general, their salads are made with very fresh ingredients and taste great.

The entrees were also quite good, especially the seafood risotto. The meat was also fresh and cooked to perfection.

The Nasher Cafe, although not a place to show up in wearing sweats, isn't too formal or flashy. It is a little pricey, but it is on Duke campus, so it's not relatively bad. Good place for a nice dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.