About Nasher Cafe

2001 Campus Dr.
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

The 100-seat indoor/outdoor Nasher Cafe overlooks the garden and sits adjacent to a Mark Di Suvero sculpture, providing a serene and beautiful ambience. The menu consists of soups, salads, sandwiches, and desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Dinner: Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:15pm (building closes at 9pm)

Cross Street:
Anderson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 684-6032

Website:
http://www.nasher.duke.edu/museum_cafe.php

Entertainment:
Summer Days Nasher Nights Programming includes special events we coin 'Live and Local'. There is live music from the talented musicians of the area as well as a menu featuring local products. Check out the calendar on nasher.duke.edu for further information regarding special programming and more.

Parking Details:
The Nasher Museum has a metered parking lot. The meters accept credit cards or cash (exact change needed as they do not provide change).

Executive Chef:
Enrique Abreo

Private Party Contact:
Aidan Peters: (919) 684-6032

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Aidan Peters, General Manager of the Nasher Museum Cafe for details regarding Private Events and bookings. 919.684.6032 or aidan.peters@duke.edu

Nasher Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
See All
Healthy (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Scenic View (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It really was a scene on the Sunday befo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It really was a scene on the Sunday before V Day. Youth reigned as did the variety of young people outfits. Food was great, innovative brunch menu ands even though very crowded great service. A super place for Sunday brunch and we plan to try it for lunch and the one night they are open for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was great. There was an extreme ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was great. There was an extremely long line so luckily we made a reservation. The wait staff and service in general needs A LOT of improvement. Felt as if the waiters were scared to come to the table, some were awkward, can tell the waiters are beginners (couldn't remember who ordered what, not attentive enough, etc.). Overall, I'd come back for the food and environment but don't expect the service to be good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Fun times!!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fun times!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is pleasant thanks to the la ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The setting is pleasant thanks to the large glass panes creating a link with the trees outside.

The sea scallops were done just right. They could be less salty.

Waiters are gracious and well informed about the wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine here! The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here! The food is always hot and delicious, the drinks are cool and refreshing and the apple tart is amazing! One of our Sunday go to places!

Along with the art displays all around, you are often surrounded by a nice number of Duke students. It feels good to be with this generation of bright learners.

I must not forget the service. The servers seem to help out each other and it works. You are always greeted and addressed with a smile. These servers work hard and add to the positive experience at The Nasher.

We will return, with pleasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service - our new fav ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food and service - our new favorite place. Our party included a vegan, vegetarian and 2 with gluten allergies. We all were very happy with our meals and meal accommodations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the waiters/waitr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was great and the waiters/waitresses were outstanding!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

restaurant at first was too cold - we mo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

restaurant at first was too cold - we moved to a table nearer the entrance away from the windows. In winter, some consideration to providing more heating would be appreciated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it,was our Second visit, look forw ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved it,was our Second visit, look forward to enjoying another meal in near future!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Lovely setting but hard to enjoy meal wh ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lovely setting but hard to enjoy meal when temperature barely cracked 70 degrees, or so it felt. One part of dining area is warm and comfortable, which I noted as I was leaving the cold portion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great New Years Eve Saturday Brunch! Gr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great New Years Eve Saturday Brunch! Great food and great service!

Tags: , Vegan, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is fabulous all the time. Our f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is fabulous all the time. Our family is split among the vegetarians and the meat lovers. The salads especially the warm butternut squash salad is amazing. My three boys ages 22-15 love the burgers, the Portobello sandwiches, the salads with grilled tuna on top. The warm chocolate cake is always a favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always excellent brunches. warm and eng ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always excellent brunches. warm and engaging servers. When it warm, you can sit outside...and a big plus is the museum. After a great meal, you can enjoy very special art.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting food combinations in lovely ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Interesting food combinations in lovely atrium setting. This is how you make salads and sandwiches unique and foodie focused. Nothing outlandish. Simply tasty food combinations, many with southern accents to fit the Southern Accent current exhibition. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Nasher Cafe has a great ambiance and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Nasher Cafe has a great ambiance and the service is fantastic. However, the salmon benedict that my friend and I received was cold and underseasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food with lots of interesting and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food with lots of interesting and healthy salads and sandwiches while on the Duke campus! Loved sitting outside on the patio. Super place for lunch and a quick stroll through the museum was a nice bonus.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This must have been a new crew of server ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This must have been a new crew of servers or they might have been shorthanded - but the service was terrible. We were never sure who "our" server was as two different people came to the table to take orders, and when we needed something (salt, more tea), we had to flag down a third person because the first two never returned. After finishing our meals, we asked for a dessert menu (none was offered) and waited more than 10 minutes for someone to return to take our dessert order. After that wait, we decided against dessert and had to find someone to ask for our check.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Delicious and beautiful spot for a date, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious and beautiful spot for a date, a business meal or just a weekend treat. Great food and being able to combine brunch and museum is like the new dinner and a movie ;) Loved the wild mushroom Benedict!

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a group of five, there for a Satu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a group of five, there for a Saturday brunch with out of town guests. The menu had a good variety of meals, and we all felt it was a good quality and value. The setting was quiet and allowed us to talk and not be rushed.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Gorgeous setting. nearly empty. A potent ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Gorgeous setting. nearly empty. A potential gem more of us should know about. Brunch menu. Salad delicious. Nice is somewhat limited appetizer selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Brunch at Nasher Café is a borderline st ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Brunch at Nasher Café is a borderline steal! The prices are reasonable (except for the $3 8oz glass of OJ) and we even got free admission to one of the galleries in the museum, which was an added bonus. The menu is simple and has recognizable options. The food was amazing. They have indoor and outdoor seating available. It was our first time going, but we absolutely loved vibes of eating brunch inside an art museum.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A MeetUp group were there for an Indi fi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2016

A MeetUp group were there for an Indi film and dinner. Prices were quite high for small portions. Three of us ordered the golden beet salad and it was mostly just a pile of greens with only a few small pieces of beets and one small medalion of goat cheese with a scattering of walnuts. For the money, I think it should have had much more beets and a few medalions of cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Consistently good food and service. Nice ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Nasher Cafe is one of my favorite Du ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Nasher Cafe is one of my favorite Durham lunch spots. The food is always excellent, the service is usually pretty good. The building itself is one reason it is so enjoyable: light, bright, airy and the art vibe adds to the whole experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Small cafe with good food and great serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Small cafe with good food and great service. My waiter, Drew, remembered me during this last visit, including the beverage I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely ambiance in relaxed dining atmosp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lovely ambiance in relaxed dining atmosphere. Always enjoy the food & being inside the Nasher!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant lunch

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Good food, good portions, excellent service, lovely sitting outdoors with shading umbrellas, and opportunity to visit the museum afterwards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Neat place inside the museum. Good bre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Neat place inside the museum. Good breakfast menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely space for outdoor dining

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Lovely space for outdoor dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch at the museum! Fast, pleasa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great brunch at the museum! Fast, pleasant service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice food and good service at a very mod ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice food and good service at a very modest price. The environment is pleasant (including wonderful lighting), but it is unpleasantly noisy. The restaurant was not very crowded when we had brunch with friends and it was still a problem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Beautiful setting. Interesting menu but ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful setting. Interesting menu but they were out of the hamburger entree and the beer

my husband wanted. Also the area where we sat was very cold. My "Caesar salad" was delicious but it was really a Salad Nicoise."

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for brunch after graduation. Awesom ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Went for brunch after graduation. Awesome food and nice ambiance. Will definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice and experience with fri ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent choice and experience with friends for lunch after the reopening of Duke Chapel. The location was easy to get to , away from the noise of town and nestled in attractive and peaceful surroundings. Parking was great, easy and accessible to Duke Gardens afterwards . We're already planning another event and will highly recommend this venue to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely brunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious food, great view, we had a wonderful brunch. It was a bit loud, but that was the only negative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nasher is great!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was great and our server Jordon was perfect. Adian the floor manager was sweet. All the food was well prepared and presented. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2016

I very much enjoy every meal I've had at the Nasher. I am thinking, though, that the brunch servings are smaller than the same dish that I've gotten for dinner there. That would be fine, but I think the price is still the same. Otherwise, I love the Nasher -- and I will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

TASTY!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Very much enjoyed dinner with a friend last Thursday. The salads are majestic, and wonderfully tasty! Gives a calorie watcher a feeling of decadent dining! That delectable wine also adds to the feeling ;)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Work of Art

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 27, 2016

A wonderful complement to a visit to Duke's Nasher Museum of Art is this gem of a cafe. Items on the unexpectedly extensive menu are expertly prepared and served by an attentive staff. Outdoor seating offers views of public art installations on the scenic Duke campus location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Needs better service

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 21, 2016

everything pretty decent except SERVICE SO SLOW (all of the times I've been here)

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.