Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Nasher Cafe

The 100-seat indoor/outdoor Nasher Cafe overlooks the garden and sits adjacent to a Mark Di Suvero sculpture, providing a serene and beautiful ambience. The menu consists of soups, salads, sandwiches, and desserts.

2001 Campus Dr.
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Dinner: Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:15pm (building closes at 9pm)

Cross Street:
Anderson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 684-6032

Website:
http://www.nasher.duke.edu/museum_cafe.php

Entertainment:
Summer Days Nasher Nights Programming includes special events we coin 'Live and Local'. There is live music from the talented musicians of the area as well as a menu featuring local products. Check out the calendar on nasher.duke.edu for further information regarding special programming and more.

Parking Details:
The Nasher Museum has a metered parking lot. The meters accept credit cards or cash (exact change needed as they do not provide change).

Executive Chef:
Enrique Abreo

Private Party Contact:
Aidan Peters: (919) 684-6032

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Aidan Peters, General Manager of the Nasher Museum Cafe for details regarding Private Events and bookings. 919.684.6032 or aidan.peters@duke.edu

Nasher Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (13)
Scenic View (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
See All
Healthy (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Romantic (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great low-key restaurant in a great location. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our lunch was very good. I had the Goat Cheese BLT and my husband had the Red, White and Green, both paninis, both with potato salad. The ingredients were fresh and I have heard locally sourced when possible. Portion size was plenty for lunch...almost too much, but you really want to stuff it in because its so good. Service was prompt, but reservations are needed if eating anywhere close to 12-12:30 time. Wine and beer selections are available...if you were not going back to work like we were! We will definitely be eating there again!

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very nice for lunch or dinner with a friend. Friendly, and congenial staff. It got a tad busy, so I did have to prompt the waiter to get me the check. Otherwise, smooth sailing all the way!!!

Tags: Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything perfect except parking. Lot full (but restaurant and museum did not look busy - ??). Had to park at Duke Gardens and hike back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food was delicious, as always. I prefer to eat on the terrace, but the weather did not allow for it. Still a pleasant place for a great lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch. Great atmosphere. We sat outside with beautiful weather. Nice live music that was not too loud but relaxing. My husband really liked the beer he got (Port City Optima Wit). The wine was good, the food was good and service was great.
Will definitely go back!

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent brunch in a lovely setting on the Duke campus!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Simply a very nice casual place to have lunch and then tour the museum. I had soup and salad, both delicious.
Apple tart with cinnamon ice cream was great. Three friends loved their creative sandwiches. Staff very attentive and friendly. The option of sitting out on the terrace an added bonus.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fun time good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our experience was good, but it wasn't particularly exceptional. I was very upset when I saw that they had charged a 20% gratuity when we were only 3 people (and the service wasn't amazing either). I think it's a nice place to go, but I wouldn't go back or mark it as a must when visiting Durham.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very nice staff who was very accommodating for a busy three year old. Food was delicious and tastefully presented.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We always have a great time here. It is a real treat, and the service is always great. I can recommend this as a nice treat for any lunch or brunch occasion.

p.s. The macchiatos are great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fun, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My friends and I were very happy with our meal. As always, we love the summer/fall fruit salad, though we prefer the grilled fruit from the fall salad. My friends also thought that the pasta was perfectly seasoned and very plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. There was no hostess and even though we had reserved no one took our name and when we told them we had a reservation they just told us to take any table. Some tables said reserved on them but who knows for whom? Loved the food and servers were very nice just very busy... maybe it was a bad day however it was not busy when we arrived at 12:15 pm.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I always enjoy the Nasher cafe: good veggie options, love the space, nice to have lunch as part of the visit to see exhibitions. It is a bit loud for general conversation but if you know that going in, then it is your choice. I seldom give 5 stars, it has to be a meal that I'll be talking about for months, so this was a lovely brunch, nice varied menu, well presented, the service was prompt, all quite nice....

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It really was a scene on the Sunday before V Day. Youth reigned as did the variety of young people outfits. Food was great, innovative brunch menu ands even though very crowded great service. A super place for Sunday brunch and we plan to try it for lunch and the one night they are open for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was great. There was an extremely long line so luckily we made a reservation. The wait staff and service in general needs A LOT of improvement. Felt as if the waiters were scared to come to the table, some were awkward, can tell the waiters are beginners (couldn't remember who ordered what, not attentive enough, etc.). Overall, I'd come back for the food and environment but don't expect the service to be good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fun times!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The setting is pleasant thanks to the large glass panes creating a link with the trees outside.
The sea scallops were done just right. They could be less salty.
Waiters are gracious and well informed about the wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here! The food is always hot and delicious, the drinks are cool and refreshing and the apple tart is amazing! One of our Sunday go to places!
Along with the art displays all around, you are often surrounded by a nice number of Duke students. It feels good to be with this generation of bright learners.
I must not forget the service. The servers seem to help out each other and it works. You are always greeted and addressed with a smile. These servers work hard and add to the positive experience at The Nasher.
We will return, with pleasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food and service - our new favorite place. Our party included a vegan, vegetarian and 2 with gluten allergies. We all were very happy with our meals and meal accommodations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was great and the waiters/waitresses were outstanding!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

restaurant at first was too cold - we moved to a table nearer the entrance away from the windows. In winter, some consideration to providing more heating would be appreciated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved it,was our Second visit, look forward to enjoying another meal in near future!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lovely setting but hard to enjoy meal when temperature barely cracked 70 degrees, or so it felt. One part of dining area is warm and comfortable, which I noted as I was leaving the cold portion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great New Years Eve Saturday Brunch! Great food and great service!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vegan, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is fabulous all the time. Our family is split among the vegetarians and the meat lovers. The salads especially the warm butternut squash salad is amazing. My three boys ages 22-15 love the burgers, the Portobello sandwiches, the salads with grilled tuna on top. The warm chocolate cake is always a favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always excellent brunches. warm and engaging servers. When it warm, you can sit outside...and a big plus is the museum. After a great meal, you can enjoy very special art.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Interesting food combinations in lovely atrium setting. This is how you make salads and sandwiches unique and foodie focused. Nothing outlandish. Simply tasty food combinations, many with southern accents to fit the Southern Accent current exhibition. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Nasher Cafe has a great ambiance and the service is fantastic. However, the salmon benedict that my friend and I received was cold and underseasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food with lots of interesting and healthy salads and sandwiches while on the Duke campus! Loved sitting outside on the patio. Super place for lunch and a quick stroll through the museum was a nice bonus.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This must have been a new crew of servers or they might have been shorthanded - but the service was terrible. We were never sure who "our" server was as two different people came to the table to take orders, and when we needed something (salt, more tea), we had to flag down a third person because the first two never returned. After finishing our meals, we asked for a dessert menu (none was offered) and waited more than 10 minutes for someone to return to take our dessert order. After that wait, we decided against dessert and had to find someone to ask for our check.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious and beautiful spot for a date, a business meal or just a weekend treat. Great food and being able to combine brunch and museum is like the new dinner and a movie ;) Loved the wild mushroom Benedict!

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a group of five, there for a Saturday brunch with out of town guests. The menu had a good variety of meals, and we all felt it was a good quality and value. The setting was quiet and allowed us to talk and not be rushed.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Gorgeous setting. nearly empty. A potential gem more of us should know about. Brunch menu. Salad delicious. Nice is somewhat limited appetizer selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Brunch at Nasher Café is a borderline steal! The prices are reasonable (except for the $3 8oz glass of OJ) and we even got free admission to one of the galleries in the museum, which was an added bonus. The menu is simple and has recognizable options. The food was amazing. They have indoor and outdoor seating available. It was our first time going, but we absolutely loved vibes of eating brunch inside an art museum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2016

A MeetUp group were there for an Indi film and dinner. Prices were quite high for small portions. Three of us ordered the golden beet salad and it was mostly just a pile of greens with only a few small pieces of beets and one small medalion of goat cheese with a scattering of walnuts. For the money, I think it should have had much more beets and a few medalions of cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Nasher Cafe is one of my favorite Durham lunch spots. The food is always excellent, the service is usually pretty good. The building itself is one reason it is so enjoyable: light, bright, airy and the art vibe adds to the whole experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.