Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Nasher Cafe

The 100-seat indoor/outdoor Nasher Cafe overlooks the garden and sits adjacent to a Mark Di Suvero sculpture, providing a serene and beautiful ambience. The menu consists of soups, salads, sandwiches, and desserts.

2001 Campus Dr.
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Limited Menu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Dinner: Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:15pm (building closes at 9pm)

Cross Street:
Anderson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 684-6032

Website:
http://www.nasher.duke.edu/museum_cafe.php

Entertainment:
Summer Days Nasher Nights Programming includes special events we coin 'Live and Local'. There is live music from the talented musicians of the area as well as a menu featuring local products. Check out the calendar on nasher.duke.edu for further information regarding special programming and more.

Parking Details:
The Nasher Museum has a metered parking lot. The meters accept credit cards or cash (exact change needed as they do not provide change).

Executive Chef:
Enrique Abreo

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Aidan Peters, General Manager of the Nasher Museum Cafe for details regarding Private Events and bookings. 919.684.6032 or aidan.peters@duke.edu

Nasher Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
See All
Casual (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Live Music (3)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent setting within the Nasher Art Museum and there is a large glass wall looking out to Duke University heavily wooded area with art within the landscape. Patrons can opt for seating outside which is lovely. For lunch I selected the Eggplant sandwich on artisan bread with the red potato salad--tasty and lovely presentation. My friend had the salmon and green salad--also beautifully presented. Ingredients are quality and fresh, and breads as good as in France.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Poir service the day of my visit by server including wrong drink refill and no silverware

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a great experience at the Nasher Cafe for Sunday Brunch. It was for a Bday treat. The weather was beautiful, so the outdoor seating was fantastic. Our drinks were specials of the day and BOTH were great. The brunch/breakfast entrees were very good and proportioned and priced reasonably.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We love dining at the Nasher Café. The food is great and the staff is wonderful. Can dine either before or after looking at the fantastic art and special exhibits like Dolci are very interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

What a great dining option in an unexpected place! Lovely museum happens to have amazing food! The outdoor seating is perfect if the weather is nice too, making for an even better experience. Have been here multiple times when visiting my family in Durham.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Organic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I loved the idea of a dinner linked to the exhibition of the Italian painter Dolci. Therefore we ordered the Italian dishes. The quality of the food was pretty good and with a creative combination of the ingredients .

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Fabulous! Saw Frankie and Ed. Loved being there so much. It was lovely. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Casual, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing brunch/lunch dining!!! We love it here and to be right in the ambiance of the architecturally magnificent Nasher Museum is super!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great place to go for brunch. They open at noon, so I recommend making reservations. The service can be a little slow if you get there right at noon with everyone else, but the food is great every time. Very fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Best brunch in the area, but make reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Salad was good but served with a dry piece of bread. Should omit if you won't serve with a fresh wheat roll/bread or sweet bread.
Our waiter was not attentive to our needs. He said "we are very busy".

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Don't know if Nasher was simply short-handed for Saturday brunch, but we felt looked off and rushed in a sense. Servers while doing their job, food was on table.... they took no time to make the dining experience relaxing or warm/friendly. It's warm in summer, and water glasses should be filled to the brim more often than not. Going out to eat should also make us feel welcomed for our business, not like we are a chore to serve.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our Saturday lunch with friends at the Nasher Cafe was delightful. They have wonderful brunch/lunch selections.

The Cafe service was excellent, even as they got busy. Reservations are recommended. There were many young people, and an entertaining atmosphere.

We loved visiting the museum before and after our lunch. The selections from the permanent collection changes, so there are always new things to see.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love the food. Ate inside, very noisy. Unsure if our waiter or another person spilled my husband's coffee as he/she set it down. Did not take away coffee cup with spill in the saucer. Necessary to ask it be done. Perhaps cafe needs more staff, Saturday lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We really enjoyed the music, the laid back atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My only reservation about a top-top review is that I was seated directly underneath the frigid AC, which blew down precisely on my neck. I couldn't figure out where the cold air was coming from until I had finished the lunch. I'll just choose my seating more wisely next time!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent brunch! My friends and I went hiking at Duke forest and had brunch at Nasher Café. We all enjoyed the food and the environment!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Tiramisu especially good. Other courses and service also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This small, intiment restaurant is a hidden gem. Our group of 6 wasp offered a place inside with air conditioning or on the warmer, but visually delightful patio. On the patio we overlooked a green lawn with colorful artwork. The food is a little expensive-salads about $12. But everything was fresh, crisp and well-presented. Our server was friendly and efficient. Desserts were wonderful--the vanilla ice cream was rich and creamy-great on the apple or chocolate desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fantastic brunch for Father's Day. Absolutely delicious. Catered well to kids and adults.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is the second time that I have taken friends from out of town to the Nasher and been not only disappointed but embarrassed. Although we reserved a table there was no hostess to greet us and take us to the table, so we stood around aimlessly. When we ordered, the server came back and told us that the smoked salmon had not come in that day. Since smoked salmon is served cured and not fresh, I cannot understand how you can run out of it , especially when it is mentioned in two dishes on the menu. After we picked two different items, the server returned again to tell us that they were out of potato chips. I have never heard this one before. Surely you either buy more when you run low or send staff out that morning to buy some? The kale salad was a huge pile of kale with not much else on the plate. The coffee was not hot. All in all, a poor experience for quite an expensive casual lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

So very disappointed to show up for our 2pm lunch reservation on time (everything online that we had found said that the restaurant was open until 3pm for lunch) only to be greeted with an empty dining area. A man approached us and said that there was no food available. My thoughts went immediately to health department concerns, shipment interruptions, the world's coming to an end but we weren't informed. Rather, the man said that the restaurant was open until 3pm but that the kitchen closed at 2pm. I asked him why Open Table allowed us to make lunch reservations. He shrugged, said something about summer hours, and walked away.
We had a delicious meal with good service in a beautiful setting at Guglhupf. I highly recommend Guglhupf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I got the name from your 100 best brunches in the USA

I was sadly disappointed in the food, the atmosphere.

It was like earring in an entrance to an office bldg

Very sad😩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food and service were really good. The mushrooms on my Benedict were a little over-cooked and there could have been a few more. The bearnaise sauce looked like it was applied from a squeeze bottle and I would have preferred it spooned on - that is just an aesthetic choice, though, since the flavor was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great low-key restaurant in a great location. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our lunch was very good. I had the Goat Cheese BLT and my husband had the Red, White and Green, both paninis, both with potato salad. The ingredients were fresh and I have heard locally sourced when possible. Portion size was plenty for lunch...almost too much, but you really want to stuff it in because its so good. Service was prompt, but reservations are needed if eating anywhere close to 12-12:30 time. Wine and beer selections are available...if you were not going back to work like we were! We will definitely be eating there again!

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very nice for lunch or dinner with a friend. Friendly, and congenial staff. It got a tad busy, so I did have to prompt the waiter to get me the check. Otherwise, smooth sailing all the way!!!

Tags: Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything perfect except parking. Lot full (but restaurant and museum did not look busy - ??). Had to park at Duke Gardens and hike back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food was delicious, as always. I prefer to eat on the terrace, but the weather did not allow for it. Still a pleasant place for a great lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch. Great atmosphere. We sat outside with beautiful weather. Nice live music that was not too loud but relaxing. My husband really liked the beer he got (Port City Optima Wit). The wine was good, the food was good and service was great.
Will definitely go back!

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent brunch in a lovely setting on the Duke campus!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Simply a very nice casual place to have lunch and then tour the museum. I had soup and salad, both delicious.
Apple tart with cinnamon ice cream was great. Three friends loved their creative sandwiches. Staff very attentive and friendly. The option of sitting out on the terrace an added bonus.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fun time good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our experience was good, but it wasn't particularly exceptional. I was very upset when I saw that they had charged a 20% gratuity when we were only 3 people (and the service wasn't amazing either). I think it's a nice place to go, but I wouldn't go back or mark it as a must when visiting Durham.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very nice staff who was very accommodating for a busy three year old. Food was delicious and tastefully presented.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We always have a great time here. It is a real treat, and the service is always great. I can recommend this as a nice treat for any lunch or brunch occasion.

p.s. The macchiatos are great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fun, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My friends and I were very happy with our meal. As always, we love the summer/fall fruit salad, though we prefer the grilled fruit from the fall salad. My friends also thought that the pasta was perfectly seasoned and very plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. There was no hostess and even though we had reserved no one took our name and when we told them we had a reservation they just told us to take any table. Some tables said reserved on them but who knows for whom? Loved the food and servers were very nice just very busy... maybe it was a bad day however it was not busy when we arrived at 12:15 pm.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I always enjoy the Nasher cafe: good veggie options, love the space, nice to have lunch as part of the visit to see exhibitions. It is a bit loud for general conversation but if you know that going in, then it is your choice. I seldom give 5 stars, it has to be a meal that I'll be talking about for months, so this was a lovely brunch, nice varied menu, well presented, the service was prompt, all quite nice....

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.