About Napkins Bar and Grill

1001 Second Street
Napa, CA 94559
View Larger Map

Napkins Bar + Grill, situated in the heart of downtown Napa offers a straightforward yet sophisticated menu of American cuisine with a global influence.

Seasonally inspired, and locally sourced menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Global, International

Hours of Operation:


Hours

Su-Th 11:00am-10:00pm

F-Sa 10:00pm-close

Sa-Su 11:00am-3:00pm Brunch

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 927-5333

Website:
http://www.napkinsnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers a diverse variety of live entertainment.

DJ, Solo Instrumental, Full Band

Catering:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers full range of catering and offsite services. We tailor our catering menu to fit the needs of all types of customers. Corporate, private, and special events.

Executive Chef:
Erasto Jacinto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Monday Special $26

Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Tuesday Special $26

Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Bubbles & Oysters Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Free Corkage on Thursdays

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $15.00 at Lunch

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Specials

Monday Special $26

Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Begin with seasonal soup or Caesar salad Entree is house made Buttermilk Fried Chicken w/ garlic mashed potatoes, gravy, and sauteed spinach Dessert is our signature dish- a deep dish chocolate chip cookie with sea salt and vanilla ice cream. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Feb 20, 2017 on Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Tuesday Special $26

Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Begin with soup or Caesar Salad Entree is our house made BBQ Baby Back Ribs w/ Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread w/ Honey Butter, Sweet & Sour Coleslaw Dessert is our signature dish- a Deep Dish Chocolate Chip Cookie w/ sea salt & vanilla ice cream. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Feb 20, 2017 on Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Bubbles & Oysters Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Enjoy 1/2 dozen Miyagi oysters for $15 and 25% off all sparkling and select bottles of wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Feb 20, 2017 on Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Free Corkage on Thursdays

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage on Thursdays. Bring your own bottle and we'll be happy to supply the rest!. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Feb 20, 2017 on Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $15.00 at Lunch

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $15.00 at Lunch. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Feb 20, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM.

Napkins Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
See All
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Sports (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Salmon Benedict was again delicious ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The Salmon Benedict was again delicious accompanied by bottomless mimosas and amazingly attentive service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

one of our fave restaurants...on Main St ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

one of our fave restaurants...on Main Street/people watch...casual/comfortable atmosphere...our server Jasmine was great..attentive/cheerful/not smothering...full bar with tv/sports...food is delish! chicken wings & mac&cheese appetizers...pork chop...burger & fries...salmon...all great flavors! too bad not enough room for dessert!

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was quite good but the service ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was quite good but the service was average. They overcharged us on the wine we purchased from the wine list and also charged us a corkage fee that should have been waived. They corrected this when we pointed out the error, but I got the feeling that the upcharge could have been intentional. This just detracted from our overall opinion of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding place, a local gem! Frances ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Outstanding place, a local gem! Francesca was a fabulous server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The short ribs and cornbread were a hit! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The short ribs and cornbread were a hit! Our service was exemplary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I ate there before going ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I ate there before going to the Uptown Theatre. My "vegetable" wellington (portabella mushroom, eggplant, tomato and goat cheese wrapped in a yummy pastry) was delicious - I would go back just for that! My husband had the chicken and mashed potatoes - very good also. We just had wine so I can't vouch for their cocktails but the bar looked very cool!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Check this place out for brunch! Endless ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Check this place out for brunch! Endless mimosas and Salmon Benedict were delicious! Great attentive servers too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service, What more do ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, great service, What more do you need? This is a wonderful new place in Napa.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worst experience ever! They are so unorg ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Worst experience ever! They are so unorganized. I had reservations. I saw there was happy hour going on and they informed me that they only do happy hour at the bar and outside patio. That is the stupidest thing I have ever heard. They sat us outside on the patio so that we could do happy hour. After sitting for 20 minutes outside on the patio nobody ever acknowledged us. We finally decided to just leave and eat elsewhere. I would not recommend this restaurant. There is so many better options in Napa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Pleasant way to have lunch with a friend ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Pleasant way to have lunch with a friend. Wonderful Ahi tuna salad. We will be back

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Came here for brunch with relatively low ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came here for brunch with relatively low expectations but the food definitely exceeded expectations. The chorizo omelette was really tasty, service great, and ambiance good for a group of 5 to catch up.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Ordered a wedge salad with chicken as my ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Ordered a wedge salad with chicken as my meal, was the last plate out and was told it was because they were making the chicken, when the salad finally came out, there was no chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The food was delicious and the portions ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was delicious and the portions were generous! The service was friendly and attentive without being pushy. Really great place. Looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place for dining in Napa that isn't ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice place for dining in Napa that isn't over the top where you pay for the decor. Excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cute decor, sat outside. Food was just m ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Cute decor, sat outside. Food was just mediocre. Had corn soup, not much flavor, ceasar salad, just ok. Chicken sandwhich was the best thing we had but could use some more seasonings. Wouldn't say anything was bad just nothing really good. Bummed because so many amazing restaurants in area. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good choice for before a show at Uptown ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good choice for before a show at Uptown Theatre. Not a huge menu selection but everyone enjoyed their meals. No complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wings and Avacado cream sauce were o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The wings and Avacado cream sauce were outstanding!! Cool vibe to the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A drinkable wine list. Good food.

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A drinkable wine list. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

All of us enjoyed our lunches; the sand ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

All of us enjoyed our lunches; the sandwich / salad combos were great, and the seared ahi salad was excellent. Service was especially friendly. The servers kept coming by to refill water and check in to see if we needed anything.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the wagyu beef brisket sandwic ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I ordered the wagyu beef brisket sandwich with chicken tortilla soup.

The soup was a meal in itself. There was so much white meat chicken. Delicious!!!

I used a fork (knife not needed) to eat the brisket. I did not eat the bread. The brisket was tasty, tender and exceptional.

My server was very attentive I wanted for nothing. She anticipated my every need. She could give lessens!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good. Giant tv blaring ESPN in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was good. Giant tv blaring ESPN in our faces while eating was a little distracting from trying to spend time together. Service was a little slow and we had a bottle of wine and dessert pre-paid by family. The staff didn't mention it until I asked about it and I got the feeling that they wouldn't have remembered unless I had said something.

I do have to say, the vegetable Wellington was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We've been to many places in Napa and So ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We've been to many places in Napa and Sonoma but this was our first time at Napkins. The food was good with some interesting first and second plates to choose from. The place is appointed nicely, nothing over the top fancy and the value is good. The bar looks alive and has a nice backdrop presentation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated near the door and it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We were seated near the door and it was COLD. They quickly moved us to a more comfortable spot and closed the front door. We appreciated the efficiency with which they handled the situation.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly service, never felt rushed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very friendly service, never felt rushed to turn the table. Varied menu with many choices for different tastes . All four of us loved what we had chosen and all the plates went back empty. People at the bar and kids at some tables. seems like a spot for everyone, singles and families alike. Comfortable atmosphere and tasty fresh food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and value. Service was very g ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food and value. Service was very good. We had a family group (all adults) and had time to visit and enjoy without being rushed. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

My Aunt suggested it because she had see ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2016

My Aunt suggested it because she had seen the sign before. Usually, I check TripAdvisor for reviews. This time I did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a really delicious meal and the s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a really delicious meal and the service was excellent. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a nice place for dinner when we visi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Was a nice place for dinner when we visited Napa region.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent we had waiters ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was excellent we had waiters who were attentive and on top of things. The issue was that the food was meh at best, the mac and cheese tasted like it was from a box and was bland, Shrimp Linguini Pasta - an over oiled overcooked pasta and shrimp barely able to eat it. A lot of the entrees were left half eaten and we did not ask to take anything to go. Way overprices for the quality of the food they serve. Only saving grace with the servers who were on it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

This place is so fun, great, eclectic me ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2016

This place is so fun, great, eclectic menu. Super attentive but not overbearing waitstaff, and inviting ambiance (love the old Napa images at the bar).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ahi tuna salad was outstanding, Tina ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2016

The ahi tuna salad was outstanding, Tina was fresh and seared perfectly. Just the right amount of dressing, arugula was crisp and peppery. Great lunchtime meal. Do not order, however, If you want a heavier more filling entree; this was definitely light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great Father's Day Brunch! Enjo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great Father's Day Brunch! Enjoyed the bottomless mimosa's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We came on Game 6 night of the NBA Final ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We came on Game 6 night of the NBA Final, a poor choice on our part. So, it was loud and crowded. However, we were seated at a table on the sidewalk and it was quite pleasant. Due to the crowd inside, we were competing for service but our server was polite and accommodating even though he was getting beat up inside. Our food was delicious and hot, just perfect. Really, our only disappointment was the greeter. She barely acknowledged us when we walked in, never smiled, hardly made eye contact, and her body language suggested that she was less than pleased to be assisting us. She needs a serious attitude adjustment, or should be working back of the house. Also, she failed to check us in properly, and so OpenTable thought we had not honored our reservation. Still, given her minor role in the overall experience, we would come back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

The best fish tostada I've ever had. Fri ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The best fish tostada I've ever had. Friendly, informal, efficient. Great bar, too. Highly recommended. Wish our waiter knew more about the old Napa photographs above the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

I love good food, and this was good food! Flavors were spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

service was very slow and they forgot on ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2016

service was very slow and they forgot one person in our party's order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It was probably a challenging weekend as ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was probably a challenging weekend as it was Bottlerock. The server or kitchen forgot one of the entrees at our table. We all had hamburgers which were really good. The lost entree arrived well into the middle of our meal. No amends made on the bill however. Sitting outside on the sidewalk was fun for people watching. Concert goers were so happy and excited. It was contagious. We had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food with some interesting items, a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Good food with some interesting items, and our service was excellent. Bit on the pricey side for what it is, but we expected as much. They turn the place into a dance club at 10 on Saturdays, which transformed the place from a trendy dinner spot into a full DJ dance party.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of those places in Napa that ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is one of those places in Napa that I love visiting because it's a true crowd pleaser. I can come here with different groups of friends and know they'll always love what they order. Most of their menu is made up of American classics deliciously made with fresh ingredients and a modern twist, the rest of the menu includes tasty Asian and Latin inspired items. I love many of their items including the ahi tuna salad, their burger, ribeye steak, and their grilled day boat scallops! The staff is friendly and professional and the owner, Ali, attentive to guests. On Thursday nights they have great live music and on Fridays and Saturdays they have DJ music. Napkins is a great lunch or dinner spot. I recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.