Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Napkins Bar and Grill

Napkins Bar + Grill, situated in the heart of downtown Napa offers a straightforward yet sophisticated menu of American cuisine with a global influence.

Seasonally inspired, and locally sourced menu.

1001 Second Street
Napa, CA 94559
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Global, International

Hours of Operation:


Hours

Su-Th 11:00am-10:00pm

F-Sa 10:00pm-close

Sa-Su 11:00am-3:00pm Brunch

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 927-5333

Website:
http://www.napkinsnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers a diverse variety of live entertainment.

DJ, Solo Instrumental, Full Band

Catering:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers full range of catering and offsite services. We tailor our catering menu to fit the needs of all types of customers. Corporate, private, and special events.

Executive Chef:
Erasto Jacinto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Napkins Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (9)
Fun (9)
Groups (6)
See All
Birthdays (6)
Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
HotSpot (5)
OutdoorDining (5)
LiveMusic (5)
PeopleWatching (4)
HandcraftedCocktails (4)
VibrantBarScene (4)
Foodies (3)
ChildFriendly (3)
SpecialOccasions (3)
ModernDecor (3)
SundayLunch (3)
BarSeating (3)
GreatBeer (3)
Lunch (3)
WorthTheDrive (3)
NeighborhoodGem (3)
Romance (2)
LateNightFind (2)
Anniversaries (2)
QuickBite (2)
PrePostTheatre (2)
LiveSports (2)
NotableWineList (2)
HappyHour (2)
Authentic (2)
BusinessMeals (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
Vegan (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
Spicy (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
ComfortFood (1)
Dancing (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
CreativeCuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

This is my go to business lunch spot. It's a great place to have a meal and discussion. I will definitely take my next client here for lunch or dinner!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was our second visit to Napkins for Sunday brunch. We were seated right on time and the drinks came quickly. Five of the seven of us ordered the Crab Benedict, 2 as it came and 3 with tweaks. Everything was delivered exactly to order. One had the brisket sandwich and he said he preferred the ones he gets in his home state of Texas, but probably because the southern cuts of meat are a lot fattier. And oh, the bread pudding, especially with the butterscotch option, was melt-in-your-mouth yummy! My only complaint was that the live performer was a little too loud to allow casual conversation, tho the music was real good! We look forward to going back again soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had wonderful table outside on gorgeous day. Food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Casual. Great food. Excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Most courteous greeting,
wonderful, cheerful, appropriate
service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great atmosphere. Yay dancing! Bar/restaurant that turns into a dance floor!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We live in Napa and this was our 3rd trip to Napkins. We kept hoping it would get better but sadly it never has. There are so many great places to eat in Napa, but this is not one of them. Go to Angele's or Celedon or Zuzu or many others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had high hopes based on other reviews. Unfortunately our meal did not play out that way. We had requested an outdoor table but were taken to an indoor table. When I asked to be moved the hostess did so. The real problem with the location was the LOUD music that was coming out of the speakers just above our table. It made conversation almost impossible, and really detracted from the experience. The food we ordered was o.k., and table service appropriately attentive until towards the end of the meal when we were asked multiple times if we were finished. We were enjoying each other's company and this intrusion would have been o.k. if it had happened one time, but 5? I am glad others have had different experiences, but with so many wonderful choices in Napa, next time we will select another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Lunch reservations for five including an 8-year and 11-year old. Offered a kids menu but the ordered pancakes from the brunch menu staying they were the best. Gramps had an omelette, Grams the wedge salad. Daughter had crab cakes Benedict -over the top. Service was impeccable!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always enjoy seeing my cousin at work and enjoying the amazing food napkins has to offer truly one of my favorite places in Napa ! You guys always amazing me and I love all the amazing staff :)!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great brunch! Super yummy , and who doesn't LOVE endless mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were there for my dad's 51st birthday and from the moment we walked into the door we had amazing service. Great for accommodating a group of 9 I'd booked early enough. Would recommend to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter lunch.
We had the calamari and a side of fries to start...both good
For entrees we had the vegetable Wellington and the salmon...very good
Creme brûlée and cookie ice cream for dessert...meh, just ok
Loud 80's music and sports on all tv's...kinda weird but fine
Really great service...will return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I was visiting Napa from the UK with two friends. Our meal was a last minute booking via Open Table. We loved the atmosphere, especially the live 3 piece band. The food was delicious and the cocktails were exceptional. Our hostess was lovely and really looked after us. If I lived in Napa I would definitely go again and again!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Music, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Family get together

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Fun, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went for brunch and the live music. We loved the guitarist, Doug Houser, who truly added to the ambiance!
The food was better than average and the crab cake eggs Benedict were fabulous as was the beet salad. The "endless mimosas " were a real hit, and convinced us to return on another Sunday. The staff was efficient and personable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was great service, food drink selection. I'm all about a great burger and the Niman Ranch burger was excellent and cooked BN perfectly medium rare. She had the veggie Wellington with LOTS of goat cheese was awesome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was excellent and the service great! A convenient walk to the theatre... A very nice evening out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Healthy, Spicy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our table wasn't ready when we got there, so they gave us all sparkling wine! Great food. Great service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great happy hour menu & food is excellent! The owner is very personable. Check them out for lunch or dinner as well. I have not tried the Saturday night event, plan to real soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

great beers, wines, and cocktails... fav was the lemon drop. we enjoyed the cheese plate and two preps of fresh grilled salmon

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our second year at Napkins for Valentine's Day and it was still just as amazing the second time around. Very swift service, energetic and happy staff, with an amazing menu selection. Dessert was outstanding, as was our overall dining experience. Highly recommended for all ages.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cannot beat the Mary's chicken with habanero/citrus gastric. Service was good. The only negative was that the mashed potatoes were not very hot.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere, and live music on Saturdays with dancing is truly the best plus a BIG plus my awesome amazing cousin works there ! If you never have been here you definitely have to come and check this amazing place out !Something you wouldn't want to miss!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time. Love it already. Would return. Had open table res and they were waiting for us and very accommodating. Great service from the managers to the bus staff. Great job!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

great place ! we loved happy hour prices were fantastic for what we got. Mules were so good and the food was great! it was a catch up with Girlfriends and we had a fabulous time!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Noisy but still a great dining experience. The drinks weren't that good..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ali and staff are awesome! We had a great time dining at Napkins during N.V. Restaurant Week. The cabernet glazed short ribs are to die for!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Everything was great . The service was very good, food excellant. We sat after lunch over coffee and visited and were never rushed

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dined here on New Year Eve before 9pm and received free entry to their New Year Eve's party after 10pm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I ate here on our Anniversary (New Year's Eve). We called EVERYWHERE for a reservation last minute. I called Napkins and they had no openings. Only because I found a spot on Open Table were we able to get in!! It was great food and service. It was pretty noisy, but it was New Years, so I think people were more energetic than usual.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love this place! Food is always great; staff is great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food and service were fair. Coffee is served in a mug with the spoon inside :((. Service is fair. We'll never come back. There are many restaurants in Napa to choose for the great foods and service! Trust me, I live in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food and. attentive service. I had the fish tostada and my boyfriend had the shrimp pasta and they were both quite good.
Nicely done!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food was fine and the service was decent, but what is that smell? If I hadn't had a reservation for 13 people that is not easily switched, I probably wouldn't have stayed. Not sure what they can do about it, but it had that vaguely public bathroom smell that was not what you expect in a fine restaurant. It was a rainy night, so maybe it's not that way in other weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The Salmon Benedict was again delicious accompanied by bottomless mimosas and amazingly attentive service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

one of our fave restaurants...on Main Street/people watch...casual/comfortable atmosphere...our server Jasmine was great..attentive/cheerful/not smothering...full bar with tv/sports...food is delish! chicken wings & mac&cheese appetizers...pork chop...burger & fries...salmon...all great flavors! too bad not enough room for dessert!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.