Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Napkins Bar and Grill

Napkins Bar + Grill, situated in the heart of downtown Napa offers a straightforward yet sophisticated menu of American cuisine with a global influence.

Seasonally inspired, and locally sourced menu.

1001 Second Street
Napa, CA 94559
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Global, International

Hours of Operation:


Hours

Su-Th 11:00am-10:00pm

F-Sa 10:00pm-close

Sa-Su 11:00am-3:00pm Brunch

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 927-5333

Website:
http://www.napkinsnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers a diverse variety of live entertainment.

DJ, Solo Instrumental, Full Band

Catering:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers full range of catering and offsite services. We tailor our catering menu to fit the needs of all types of customers. Corporate, private, and special events.

Executive Chef:
Erasto Jacinto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Napkins Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dancing (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Romantic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Good location in Napa and the food was very, very good. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have dined at Napkins for lunch on several occasions. This was our first dinner experience. The food and service ---- EXCELLENT !!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Napkins is a great downtown Napa spot, good for locals who want good food and great drinks. IMHO they make the best drinks in downtown Napa - for the locals who sometime don't want wine. It happens.

The service has always be good, and the ownership/management seem very friendly and interested if you're having a good time and enjoying the visit. We are so fortunate to have a large selection of good food in Napa; as I said sometimes you want to have fun and deserve it - take friends, enjoy the drinks and food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Vacation with family! Great food! Great service! Ate outside, weather nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

A little disappointing frim the service value perspective.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A pear salad was served with slices of unripe pear topped with frisee dressed with bland olive oil. It looked very nice on serving but proved tasteless and oily. A pasta with seafood proved more interesting, featuring tasty capers and spices, but was heavier than it needed to be. A generous serving a garlic bread dripped with butter and was too oily for me to eat, though my spouse did. The tables are small and the ambience seemed crowded on Saturday night. A TV showing sports completed the noisy scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The host was VERY slow to seat us, but service was better once we got to our table.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great service - food was just alright!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We went for my mother's 91st birthday brunch. The staff was absolutely wonderful and we had a marvelous time. They went above and beyond for everything. Without requesting it, they brought a cake based on what my mom ordered that they thought would be to her liking. They took pictures of us and did everything to make the event special. I can't say enough wonderful things about Napkins and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Absolutely love the food here. We also stayed and danced and it was a really fun time!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and the service we very good. We went there for lunch/brunch and were not disappointed. Beef brisket sandwich was very good and the crab cake benedict was excellent. We will definitely return for some dinner tasting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

This is my go to business lunch spot. It's a great place to have a meal and discussion. I will definitely take my next client here for lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was our second visit to Napkins for Sunday brunch. We were seated right on time and the drinks came quickly. Five of the seven of us ordered the Crab Benedict, 2 as it came and 3 with tweaks. Everything was delivered exactly to order. One had the brisket sandwich and he said he preferred the ones he gets in his home state of Texas, but probably because the southern cuts of meat are a lot fattier. And oh, the bread pudding, especially with the butterscotch option, was melt-in-your-mouth yummy! My only complaint was that the live performer was a little too loud to allow casual conversation, tho the music was real good! We look forward to going back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had wonderful table outside on gorgeous day. Food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Casual. Great food. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Most courteous greeting,
wonderful, cheerful, appropriate
service.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great atmosphere. Yay dancing! Bar/restaurant that turns into a dance floor!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We live in Napa and this was our 3rd trip to Napkins. We kept hoping it would get better but sadly it never has. There are so many great places to eat in Napa, but this is not one of them. Go to Angele's or Celedon or Zuzu or many others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had high hopes based on other reviews. Unfortunately our meal did not play out that way. We had requested an outdoor table but were taken to an indoor table. When I asked to be moved the hostess did so. The real problem with the location was the LOUD music that was coming out of the speakers just above our table. It made conversation almost impossible, and really detracted from the experience. The food we ordered was o.k., and table service appropriately attentive until towards the end of the meal when we were asked multiple times if we were finished. We were enjoying each other's company and this intrusion would have been o.k. if it had happened one time, but 5? I am glad others have had different experiences, but with so many wonderful choices in Napa, next time we will select another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there twice and both times, it's been a great experience. I highly recommend this place...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Lunch reservations for five including an 8-year and 11-year old. Offered a kids menu but the ordered pancakes from the brunch menu staying they were the best. Gramps had an omelette, Grams the wedge salad. Daughter had crab cakes Benedict -over the top. Service was impeccable!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Always enjoy seeing my cousin at work and enjoying the amazing food napkins has to offer truly one of my favorite places in Napa ! You guys always amazing me and I love all the amazing staff :)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great brunch! Super yummy , and who doesn't LOVE endless mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We were there for my dad's 51st birthday and from the moment we walked into the door we had amazing service. Great for accommodating a group of 9 I'd booked early enough. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter lunch.
We had the calamari and a side of fries to start...both good
For entrees we had the vegetable Wellington and the salmon...very good
Creme brûlée and cookie ice cream for dessert...meh, just ok
Loud 80's music and sports on all tv's...kinda weird but fine
Really great service...will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I was visiting Napa from the UK with two friends. Our meal was a last minute booking via Open Table. We loved the atmosphere, especially the live 3 piece band. The food was delicious and the cocktails were exceptional. Our hostess was lovely and really looked after us. If I lived in Napa I would definitely go again and again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Music, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Family get together

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Fun, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went for brunch and the live music. We loved the guitarist, Doug Houser, who truly added to the ambiance!
The food was better than average and the crab cake eggs Benedict were fabulous as was the beet salad. The "endless mimosas " were a real hit, and convinced us to return on another Sunday. The staff was efficient and personable.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was great service, food drink selection. I'm all about a great burger and the Niman Ranch burger was excellent and cooked BN perfectly medium rare. She had the veggie Wellington with LOTS of goat cheese was awesome.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was excellent and the service great! A convenient walk to the theatre... A very nice evening out.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Spicy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our table wasn't ready when we got there, so they gave us all sparkling wine! Great food. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great happy hour menu & food is excellent! The owner is very personable. Check them out for lunch or dinner as well. I have not tried the Saturday night event, plan to real soon.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

great beers, wines, and cocktails... fav was the lemon drop. we enjoyed the cheese plate and two preps of fresh grilled salmon

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our second year at Napkins for Valentine's Day and it was still just as amazing the second time around. Very swift service, energetic and happy staff, with an amazing menu selection. Dessert was outstanding, as was our overall dining experience. Highly recommended for all ages.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cannot beat the Mary's chicken with habanero/citrus gastric. Service was good. The only negative was that the mashed potatoes were not very hot.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere, and live music on Saturdays with dancing is truly the best plus a BIG plus my awesome amazing cousin works there ! If you never have been here you definitely have to come and check this amazing place out !Something you wouldn't want to miss!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

First time. Love it already. Would return. Had open table res and they were waiting for us and very accommodating. Great service from the managers to the bus staff. Great job!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

great place ! we loved happy hour prices were fantastic for what we got. Mules were so good and the food was great! it was a catch up with Girlfriends and we had a fabulous time!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.