About Napkins Bar and Grill

1001 Second Street
Napa, CA 94559
View Larger Map

Napkins Bar + Grill, situated in the heart of downtown Napa offers a straightforward yet sophisticated menu of American cuisine with a global influence.

Seasonally inspired, and locally sourced menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Global, International

Hours of Operation:


Hours

Su-Th 11:00am-10:00pm

F-Sa 10:00pm-close

Sa-Su 11:00am-3:00pm Brunch

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 927-5333

Website:
http://www.napkinsnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers a diverse variety of live entertainment.

DJ, Solo Instrumental, Full Band

Catering:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers full range of catering and offsite services. We tailor our catering menu to fit the needs of all types of customers. Corporate, private, and special events.

Executive Chef:
Erasto Jacinto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Napkins Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cute decor, sat outside. Food was just m ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Cute decor, sat outside. Food was just mediocre. Had corn soup, not much flavor, ceasar salad, just ok. Chicken sandwhich was the best thing we had but could use some more seasonings. Wouldn't say anything was bad just nothing really good. Bummed because so many amazing restaurants in area. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good choice for before a show at Uptown ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good choice for before a show at Uptown Theatre. Not a huge menu selection but everyone enjoyed their meals. No complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wings and Avacado cream sauce were o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The wings and Avacado cream sauce were outstanding!! Cool vibe to the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A drinkable wine list. Good food.

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A drinkable wine list. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

All of us enjoyed our lunches; the sand ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

All of us enjoyed our lunches; the sandwich / salad combos were great, and the seared ahi salad was excellent. Service was especially friendly. The servers kept coming by to refill water and check in to see if we needed anything.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the wagyu beef brisket sandwic ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I ordered the wagyu beef brisket sandwich with chicken tortilla soup.

The soup was a meal in itself. There was so much white meat chicken. Delicious!!!

I used a fork (knife not needed) to eat the brisket. I did not eat the bread. The brisket was tasty, tender and exceptional.

My server was very attentive I wanted for nothing. She anticipated my every need. She could give lessens!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good. Giant tv blaring ESPN in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was good. Giant tv blaring ESPN in our faces while eating was a little distracting from trying to spend time together. Service was a little slow and we had a bottle of wine and dessert pre-paid by family. The staff didn't mention it until I asked about it and I got the feeling that they wouldn't have remembered unless I had said something.

I do have to say, the vegetable Wellington was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We've been to many places in Napa and So ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We've been to many places in Napa and Sonoma but this was our first time at Napkins. The food was good with some interesting first and second plates to choose from. The place is appointed nicely, nothing over the top fancy and the value is good. The bar looks alive and has a nice backdrop presentation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated near the door and it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We were seated near the door and it was COLD. They quickly moved us to a more comfortable spot and closed the front door. We appreciated the efficiency with which they handled the situation.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly service, never felt rushed ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very friendly service, never felt rushed to turn the table. Varied menu with many choices for different tastes . All four of us loved what we had chosen and all the plates went back empty. People at the bar and kids at some tables. seems like a spot for everyone, singles and families alike. Comfortable atmosphere and tasty fresh food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and value. Service was very g ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food and value. Service was very good. We had a family group (all adults) and had time to visit and enjoy without being rushed. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

My Aunt suggested it because she had see ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My Aunt suggested it because she had seen the sign before. Usually, I check TripAdvisor for reviews. This time I did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a really delicious meal and the s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a really delicious meal and the service was excellent. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a nice place for dinner when we visi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Was a nice place for dinner when we visited Napa region.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent we had waiters ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was excellent we had waiters who were attentive and on top of things. The issue was that the food was meh at best, the mac and cheese tasted like it was from a box and was bland, Shrimp Linguini Pasta - an over oiled overcooked pasta and shrimp barely able to eat it. A lot of the entrees were left half eaten and we did not ask to take anything to go. Way overprices for the quality of the food they serve. Only saving grace with the servers who were on it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

This place is so fun, great, eclectic me ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This place is so fun, great, eclectic menu. Super attentive but not overbearing waitstaff, and inviting ambiance (love the old Napa images at the bar).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ahi tuna salad was outstanding, Tina ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The ahi tuna salad was outstanding, Tina was fresh and seared perfectly. Just the right amount of dressing, arugula was crisp and peppery. Great lunchtime meal. Do not order, however, If you want a heavier more filling entree; this was definitely light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great Father's Day Brunch! Enjo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great Father's Day Brunch! Enjoyed the bottomless mimosa's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We came on Game 6 night of the NBA Final ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We came on Game 6 night of the NBA Final, a poor choice on our part. So, it was loud and crowded. However, we were seated at a table on the sidewalk and it was quite pleasant. Due to the crowd inside, we were competing for service but our server was polite and accommodating even though he was getting beat up inside. Our food was delicious and hot, just perfect. Really, our only disappointment was the greeter. She barely acknowledged us when we walked in, never smiled, hardly made eye contact, and her body language suggested that she was less than pleased to be assisting us. She needs a serious attitude adjustment, or should be working back of the house. Also, she failed to check us in properly, and so OpenTable thought we had not honored our reservation. Still, given her minor role in the overall experience, we would come back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

The best fish tostada I've ever had. Fri ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The best fish tostada I've ever had. Friendly, informal, efficient. Great bar, too. Highly recommended. Wish our waiter knew more about the old Napa photographs above the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I love good food, and this was good food! Flavors were spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

service was very slow and they forgot on ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

service was very slow and they forgot one person in our party's order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It was probably a challenging weekend as ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was probably a challenging weekend as it was Bottlerock. The server or kitchen forgot one of the entrees at our table. We all had hamburgers which were really good. The lost entree arrived well into the middle of our meal. No amends made on the bill however. Sitting outside on the sidewalk was fun for people watching. Concert goers were so happy and excited. It was contagious. We had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food with some interesting items, a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Good food with some interesting items, and our service was excellent. Bit on the pricey side for what it is, but we expected as much. They turn the place into a dance club at 10 on Saturdays, which transformed the place from a trendy dinner spot into a full DJ dance party.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of those places in Napa that ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is one of those places in Napa that I love visiting because it's a true crowd pleaser. I can come here with different groups of friends and know they'll always love what they order. Most of their menu is made up of American classics deliciously made with fresh ingredients and a modern twist, the rest of the menu includes tasty Asian and Latin inspired items. I love many of their items including the ahi tuna salad, their burger, ribeye steak, and their grilled day boat scallops! The staff is friendly and professional and the owner, Ali, attentive to guests. On Thursday nights they have great live music and on Fridays and Saturdays they have DJ music. Napkins is a great lunch or dinner spot. I recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great local place. Friendly staff. If ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

great local place. Friendly staff. If you want company watching a sporting game this is the place to go. Sit at the bar and enjoy!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go for happy hour, many of the same menu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Go for happy hour, many of the same menu items as the dinner menu at much lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Upbeat happy servers and efficient but p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Upbeat happy servers and efficient but personal touch on Mother's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch on Sunday - the food was great, the service was amazing - we will definitely be back when we're in town.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, bad environment...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal, but did not realize that this place isn't a restaurant. It's a sports bar with food. If you don't mind gigantic televisions and a noisy crowd, the food is a draw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Great value

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a great lunch on a Friday and then had an even better dinner a week later. The Brisket sandwich is the bomb! Very casual and comfortable. Enjoyed both meals!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff cares about your business. It ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The staff cares about your business. It's has come along way in a positive direction.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For a busy night the servious

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

For a busy night the servious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food & service - the salmon was fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Great food & service - the salmon was fresh & perfectly cooked & the coleslaw was crunchy & tasty. A great place for our workgroup birthday lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

eating in Napa

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We ate here for the first time on Sunday 2/14. It is a very casual, noisy place frequented by a younger group of people 20-30's. The food however was surprisingly good and was a good value. We shared a beet and goat cheese salad (could have had more goat cheese) and my husband got the chicken which he really enjoyed while I got the pork chop which was also very good. We didn't enjoy the mashed potatoes and the Wines were reasonably priced.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Not so hot

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food Oversll tasted great! The service did not meet our expectation due to the fact they were over sold for movie premier! We were not asked if we wanted dessert just to get out of our seat to change it into a night club. Also my entree was served incorrect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

downtown Napa...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

...everything was great! servers attentive without being hovering...group of 5 of us tried shrimp/grits & meatballs & mac&cheese & mussels...main dishes were pork chop(large with slightly sweet sauce, moist & flavorful)...salmon...pasta & shrimp...& loaded burger...all DELISH! but wait, desserts: chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream, berry parfait with ice cream shared by all & all 2 thumbs up! we were there on a Saturday at 1pm..not busy...'brunch' menu til 3p on wkends with some breakfast fare also on the menu looked good...we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a good "appetizer" meal

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

I was out for dinner by myself and chose to eat the bar. The bartender was very helpful and I enjoyed good wine and a few appetizers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good service and food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Brunch was good, and they were nice to accommodate my friend's specific request relative to her food intolerances. I prefer brunch or lunch there, as it gets too crowded for dinner, so the service suffers a little due to that.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.