About Napkins Bar and Grill

1001 Second Street
Napa, CA 94559
View Larger Map

Napkins Bar + Grill, situated in the heart of downtown Napa offers a straightforward yet sophisticated menu of American cuisine with a global influence.

Seasonally inspired, and locally sourced menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Global, International

Hours of Operation:


Hours

Su-Th 11:00am-10:00pm

F-Sa 10:00pm-close

Sa-Su 11:00am-3:00pm Brunch

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 927-5333

Website:
http://www.napkinsnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers a diverse variety of live entertainment.

DJ, Solo Instrumental, Full Band

Catering:
Napkins Bar + Grill offers full range of catering and offsite services. We tailor our catering menu to fit the needs of all types of customers. Corporate, private, and special events.

Executive Chef:
Erasto Jacinto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Napkins Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Casual (9)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Great happy hour menu & food is excellent! The owner is very personable. Check them out for lunch or dinner as well. I have not tried the Saturday night event, plan to real soon.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

great beers, wines, and cocktails... fav was the lemon drop. we enjoyed the cheese plate and two preps of fresh grilled salmon

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our second year at Napkins for Valentine's Day and it was still just as amazing the second time around. Very swift service, energetic and happy staff, with an amazing menu selection. Dessert was outstanding, as was our overall dining experience. Highly recommended for all ages.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cannot beat the Mary's chicken with habanero/citrus gastric. Service was good. The only negative was that the mashed potatoes were not very hot.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere, and live music on Saturdays with dancing is truly the best plus a BIG plus my awesome amazing cousin works there ! If you never have been here you definitely have to come and check this amazing place out !Something you wouldn't want to miss!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time. Love it already. Would return. Had open table res and they were waiting for us and very accommodating. Great service from the managers to the bus staff. Great job!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

great place ! we loved happy hour prices were fantastic for what we got. Mules were so good and the food was great! it was a catch up with Girlfriends and we had a fabulous time!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Noisy but still a great dining experience. The drinks weren't that good..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ali and staff are awesome! We had a great time dining at Napkins during N.V. Restaurant Week. The cabernet glazed short ribs are to die for!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great dinner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Everything was great . The service was very good, food excellant. We sat after lunch over coffee and visited and were never rushed

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dined here on New Year Eve before 9pm and received free entry to their New Year Eve's party after 10pm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I ate here on our Anniversary (New Year's Eve). We called EVERYWHERE for a reservation last minute. I called Napkins and they had no openings. Only because I found a spot on Open Table were we able to get in!! It was great food and service. It was pretty noisy, but it was New Years, so I think people were more energetic than usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love this place! Food is always great; staff is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food and service were fair. Coffee is served in a mug with the spoon inside :((. Service is fair. We'll never come back. There are many restaurants in Napa to choose for the great foods and service! Trust me, I live in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food and. attentive service. I had the fish tostada and my boyfriend had the shrimp pasta and they were both quite good.

Nicely done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food was fine and the service was decent, but what is that smell? If I hadn't had a reservation for 13 people that is not easily switched, I probably wouldn't have stayed. Not sure what they can do about it, but it had that vaguely public bathroom smell that was not what you expect in a fine restaurant. It was a rainy night, so maybe it's not that way in other weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The Salmon Benedict was again delicious accompanied by bottomless mimosas and amazingly attentive service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

one of our fave restaurants...on Main Street/people watch...casual/comfortable atmosphere...our server Jasmine was great..attentive/cheerful/not smothering...full bar with tv/sports...food is delish! chicken wings & mac&cheese appetizers...pork chop...burger & fries...salmon...all great flavors! too bad not enough room for dessert!

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was quite good but the service was average. They overcharged us on the wine we purchased from the wine list and also charged us a corkage fee that should have been waived. They corrected this when we pointed out the error, but I got the feeling that the upcharge could have been intentional. This just detracted from our overall opinion of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Outstanding place, a local gem! Francesca was a fabulous server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The short ribs and cornbread were a hit! Our service was exemplary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I ate there before going to the Uptown Theatre. My "vegetable" wellington (portabella mushroom, eggplant, tomato and goat cheese wrapped in a yummy pastry) was delicious - I would go back just for that! My husband had the chicken and mashed potatoes - very good also. We just had wine so I can't vouch for their cocktails but the bar looked very cool!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Check this place out for brunch! Endless mimosas and Salmon Benedict were delicious! Great attentive servers too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, great service, What more do you need? This is a wonderful new place in Napa.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Worst experience ever! They are so unorganized. I had reservations. I saw there was happy hour going on and they informed me that they only do happy hour at the bar and outside patio. That is the stupidest thing I have ever heard. They sat us outside on the patio so that we could do happy hour. After sitting for 20 minutes outside on the patio nobody ever acknowledged us. We finally decided to just leave and eat elsewhere. I would not recommend this restaurant. There is so many better options in Napa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Pleasant way to have lunch with a friend. Wonderful Ahi tuna salad. We will be back

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came here for brunch with relatively low expectations but the food definitely exceeded expectations. The chorizo omelette was really tasty, service great, and ambiance good for a group of 5 to catch up.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Ordered a wedge salad with chicken as my meal, was the last plate out and was told it was because they were making the chicken, when the salad finally came out, there was no chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was delicious and the portions were generous! The service was friendly and attentive without being pushy. Really great place. Looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice place for dining in Napa that isn't over the top where you pay for the decor. Excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Cute decor, sat outside. Food was just mediocre. Had corn soup, not much flavor, ceasar salad, just ok. Chicken sandwhich was the best thing we had but could use some more seasonings. Wouldn't say anything was bad just nothing really good. Bummed because so many amazing restaurants in area. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good choice for before a show at Uptown Theatre. Not a huge menu selection but everyone enjoyed their meals. No complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The wings and Avacado cream sauce were outstanding!! Cool vibe to the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A drinkable wine list. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

All of us enjoyed our lunches; the sandwich / salad combos were great, and the seared ahi salad was excellent. Service was especially friendly. The servers kept coming by to refill water and check in to see if we needed anything.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I ordered the wagyu beef brisket sandwich with chicken tortilla soup.

The soup was a meal in itself. There was so much white meat chicken. Delicious!!!

I used a fork (knife not needed) to eat the brisket. I did not eat the bread. The brisket was tasty, tender and exceptional.

My server was very attentive I wanted for nothing. She anticipated my every need. She could give lessens!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was good. Giant tv blaring ESPN in our faces while eating was a little distracting from trying to spend time together. Service was a little slow and we had a bottle of wine and dessert pre-paid by family. The staff didn't mention it until I asked about it and I got the feeling that they wouldn't have remembered unless I had said something.

I do have to say, the vegetable Wellington was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We've been to many places in Napa and Sonoma but this was our first time at Napkins. The food was good with some interesting first and second plates to choose from. The place is appointed nicely, nothing over the top fancy and the value is good. The bar looks alive and has a nice backdrop presentation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We were seated near the door and it was COLD. They quickly moved us to a more comfortable spot and closed the front door. We appreciated the efficiency with which they handled the situation.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very friendly service, never felt rushed to turn the table. Varied menu with many choices for different tastes . All four of us loved what we had chosen and all the plates went back empty. People at the bar and kids at some tables. seems like a spot for everyone, singles and families alike. Comfortable atmosphere and tasty fresh food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food and value. Service was very good. We had a family group (all adults) and had time to visit and enjoy without being rushed. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2016

My Aunt suggested it because she had seen the sign before. Usually, I check TripAdvisor for reviews. This time I did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a really delicious meal and the service was excellent. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Was a nice place for dinner when we visited Napa region.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was excellent we had waiters who were attentive and on top of things. The issue was that the food was meh at best, the mac and cheese tasted like it was from a box and was bland, Shrimp Linguini Pasta - an over oiled overcooked pasta and shrimp barely able to eat it. A lot of the entrees were left half eaten and we did not ask to take anything to go. Way overprices for the quality of the food they serve. Only saving grace with the servers who were on it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2016

This place is so fun, great, eclectic menu. Super attentive but not overbearing waitstaff, and inviting ambiance (love the old Napa images at the bar).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2016

The ahi tuna salad was outstanding, Tina was fresh and seared perfectly. Just the right amount of dressing, arugula was crisp and peppery. Great lunchtime meal. Do not order, however, If you want a heavier more filling entree; this was definitely light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.