About Napa River Grill

1211 Herr Lane
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Inspired by the beauty and romance of California’s wine country, Napa River Grill provides a taste of Northern California in Louisville’s own backyard. The menu features expertly prepared dishes using only the finest seasonal ingredients, and the award-winning wine list offers the best from the New World. Set in the vibrant Westport Village, the cozy lounge opens into a bright dining room bathed in natural light. The outdoor bar, grapevine-surrounded patio, and fire pit make an ideal setting for alfresco meals. Whether you are having a romantic night out, a casual dinner with friends, or a business meeting, the relaxed yet elegant ambiance is perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Brunch: Sunday 10:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westport Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 423-5822

Website:
http://www.napariverlouisville.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Curry

Private Party Facilities:
Featuring two private dining rooms, Napa river Grill can accommodate small and large groups for private dining.

Our Vineyard Room features a custom wine bottle chandelier, and a custom wood table for boardroom style seating for up to 22 guests.
Our Large Private Dining Room features local art, and custom table configurations for up to 60 guests.

Weather permitting, our Patio Bar/Lounge is also available for rent, featuring two TVs and a full bar. Perfect for private cocktail events, or even for groups wanting to watch their favorite sports teams in a private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Mytch Law: 5024235822x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holiday Brunch
$34.95 excludes taxes and gratuities

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Napa River Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
See All
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fireplace (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have dined at Napa River Grill many t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have dined at Napa River Grill many times but were very disappointed with this experience. Our cocktails were very good, but the meal itself was not to our liking. I had the duck special, and the meat was difficult to cut. The sweet potato gnocchi was tough and chewy, as though it was undercooked. My daughter ordered a filet, and we both questioned the cut of meat. It certainly did not appear to be a filet. We would have asked our server about it but after our food was brought to the table he never reappeared to check on us. I had wanted to order a glass of wine after the food arrived but the next time we saw him we were ready for the check. Probably won't be back, even though we love the location and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We frequent Napa River Grill about once ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We frequent Napa River Grill about once every 2 weeks.

Consistently a great value with great food.

Naturally, the always have a fantastic wine selection and they do not gouge you with over-the-top pricing on the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Out of 7 women five of us ordered the Ca ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Out of 7 women five of us ordered the Caesar with chicken because the menu didnt seem to have anything that appealed to us. The calamari is phenomenal. The ham and pimento is really good but not fond of the presentation or the crackers. We were all huge fans of Napa but the menu change over the past several years has alienated us.

We tried this past week hoping again and even the Caesar isn't as good as it used to be.

I love the restaurant and location just not the menu!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

All the proteins were overcooked and und ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

All the proteins were overcooked and under seasoned. Server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our lunch and especially the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch and especially the large round table. Good food and an excellent waiter.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very good. the wait st ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was very good. the wait staff was attentive and polite. Since brunch is a buffet, the food temperature was not ideal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb service from a trained and experi ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Superb service from a trained and experienced staff. Every detail was attended to. The food is tastefully served and will satisfy every appetite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love their patio. Service and wine were ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love their patio. Service and wine were great! Food was quite delicious. There was a large business group that took up two tables - wish they were in a private room. Overall, great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We will certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister recently visited from Austin, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My sister recently visited from Austin, TX. We chose Napa River because we wanted a classy and convenient spot to have a drink and a great meal. We were absolutely impressed with the amazing service, delicious wine, and mouth watering steak. While the atmosphere was relaxing and casual, we left feeling like we had splurged and indulged ourselves. The entire experience was wonderful and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 7 loved it from service to ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our party of 7 loved it from service to ambiance to drinks to food. We especially loved the round fire table. Perfect for the slightly chilly weather and for conversation. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had one of those rare meals where EVE ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had one of those rare meals where EVERYTHING was excellent. The service, the food, the wines. Every dish we ate was fresh and perfectly prepared. A great celebration night (birthday and retirement) to always remember.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and attentive service. Enjoyed ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent and attentive service. Enjoyed the flavor combinations and a very good wine and cocktail list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Brunch buffet on Sundays is the best aro ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Brunch buffet on Sundays is the best around!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 38th wedding ann ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary and really enjoyed the Sunday brunch. I really enjoyed the hot brown and broccoli casserole. I would prefer the gravy without sage and thyme and have it taste more like "southern style" gravy. Other than that, everything was delightful! We will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Sunday brunch! $2 mimosas and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful Sunday brunch! $2 mimosas and bloody Mary's keep us coming back. We celebrated our daughters birthday and anniversary over a nice Sunday brunch. With 9 people, including a toddler and preschooler they had something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mitch and his team did everything we ask ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Mitch and his team did everything we asked in hosting our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was uninspired and overpriced. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was uninspired and overpriced. We had a 7 pm reservation on a Saturday night. We were one of only three tables in the whole restaurant- the place is a ghost town. Of the three tables, one had a baby in a high chair and the other consisted of four octogenarians. If you are looking for good food or a hip vibe, this place is not it. Very disappointed as I have heard such great things. We will not go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is always wonderful here. I'm ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food is always wonderful here. I'm always impressed by the wait staff. They know their menu as well as their wine list. I find that very very helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Napa River for our ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My wife and I went to Napa River for our anniversary and really enjoyed our dining experience. The service was excellent and the food was very enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as expected

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Napa River is excellent and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food at Napa River is excellent and the environment is quiet enough to have meaningful conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding! Service was f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding! Service was friendly and very efficient. I really recommend the beef brisket! Just order some extra sauce on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch is wonderful. Highly recom ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Sunday brunch is wonderful. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service. Always enjoy th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food, good service. Always enjoy the restaurant. Their cornbread is phenomenal both to start the meal and as dessert at the end.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

THE FOOD WAS GOOD BUT HAD TO REALLY SEAR ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2016

THE FOOD WAS GOOD BUT HAD TO REALLY SEARCH THE MENU ,, THE PRICES ARE EXCEPTIONALLY HIGH FOR THE CHOICES. THEY USED TO SERVE A VEAL DISH THAT WAS FABULOUS AND NOT OVER PRICED ...( MAYBE THAT IS WHY IT IS NO LONGER ON THE MENU).PROBABLY WILL CROSS NAPA OFF MY LIST,

OUR WAITRESS WAS FABULOUS AND HAD A SUPER PERSONALITY

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Bone in pork chop was pretty bland, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Bone in pork chop was pretty bland, but the shrimp and grits was delicious. Pricey for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food good service , with a bottle o ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good food good service , with a bottle of wine a little pricey but excellent choice recommended by out server

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The tomato soup is fabulous! Great ambia ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The tomato soup is fabulous! Great ambiance and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Napa River is always good. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at Napa River is always good. I am always certain that I will have a good meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Napa River Grill is a nice restaurant. I ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Napa River Grill is a nice restaurant. I felt, for the money, the filet Mignon was relatively small compared to other restaurants that we've eaten at. Additionally I was rather uncomfortable at our table as the seating was close to wall and tables too close. Having spent nearly $300 I was disappointed overall or perhaps my expectations were too high. I think it would be a great place for lunch with girlfriends and will definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a work related dinner with 6 others. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Had a work related dinner with 6 others. Good choices on menu, food was well liked by everyone. Service was good but a tad slow (same waiter was attending to several other larger parties). Desserts were pricey. Ambience very good, low noise level and good decor. Too pricey for regular dining but great for occasions/special dinners.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food. Wide variety from Veget ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food. Wide variety from Vegetarian to beef, extensive wine list. Acoustics were not so good, seemed a little noisy. Our server was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service great! Food was very salty. Ca ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service great!

Food was very salty.

Calamari was done nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our server was very attentive and helpfu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server was very attentive and helpful; most enjoyed their meal especially the pork chop and menagerie trio; my only complaint which I make to help kitchen menu planning is that beef brisket was dry and tasteless ; suggest remove from menu or find another method to prepare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good selection was varied and properly p ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good selection was varied and properly prepared. A very relaxing and fun night for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great waiter, food was delicious as alwa ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great waiter, food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very good place to eat. Good food well ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

A very good place to eat. Good food well prepared, prompt service. Nice ambiance. A place that I would recommend to all of my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the salmon, which was ok, but th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ordered the salmon, which was ok, but the rice and corn that came with it was very strange. than make an issue of it, I didnt say anything. I couldn't eat much of it. The salmon was good but not amazing, which is what I expected when spending 80 bucks on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Decent service, good adult beverages, an ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Decent service, good adult beverages, and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.