About Napa River Grill

1211 Herr Lane
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Inspired by the beauty and romance of California’s wine country, Napa River Grill provides a taste of Northern California in Louisville’s own backyard. The menu features expertly prepared dishes using only the finest seasonal ingredients, and the award-winning wine list offers the best from the New World. Set in the vibrant Westport Village, the cozy lounge opens into a bright dining room bathed in natural light. The outdoor bar, grapevine-surrounded patio, and fire pit make an ideal setting for alfresco meals. Whether you are having a romantic night out, a casual dinner with friends, or a business meeting, the relaxed yet elegant ambiance is perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Brunch: Sunday 10:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westport Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 423-5822

Website:
http://www.napariverlouisville.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Curry

Private Party Facilities:
Featuring two private dining rooms, Napa river Grill can accommodate small and large groups for private dining.

Our Vineyard Room features a custom wine bottle chandelier, and a custom wood table for boardroom style seating for up to 22 guests.
Our Large Private Dining Room features local art, and custom table configurations for up to 60 guests.

Weather permitting, our Patio Bar/Lounge is also available for rent, featuring two TVs and a full bar. Perfect for private cocktail events, or even for groups wanting to watch their favorite sports teams in a private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Mytch Law: 5024235822x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holiday Brunch
$34.95 excludes taxes and gratuities

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Napa River Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fireplace (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good service- new owners possibly? Food ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Good service- new owners possibly? Food was not as good as in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

the food was excellent and the service f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

the food was excellent and the service from Sydney was excellent as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Eve date. Server and service ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve date. Server and service were excellent . Will return as often as possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice evening. But....Table for five ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice evening. But....Table for five was in busy area- first by front door where lots of traffic and bright lights took away from ambience. Dimming lights and some kind of screen to block waiters from kitchen and guests going to bathroom and from private dining room would have helped if you choose to sit people in this space. Also the tables pushed together do not accommodate well with gaps in back cushions. Service was great and good food. Would come back only for a different table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

One of the Better Restaurant in a great ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the Better Restaurant in a great Foodie Town!THis is a fine local 4 star restaurant in a town that is know for great restaurants. We like it for special occasions. Their fish specials are great. THey do wonders with Salmon Grouper and Mai Tai dishes.

Start with their tomato soup in a pie shell, get their unique Ceasar salad and go for the fish. Good wine list!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and enjoyed it very ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a great meal and enjoyed it very much. One strange thing happened. The waiter called and asked if something was wrong with our dining experience because one person only left a dollar tip. (The person did get sidetracked in conversation and meant to leave 10 tip.) The person went back and corrected it. I was just surprised at the phone call- it was uncomfortable and then I had to ask the person -it was awkward. It was also unprofessional to ask about someone in my party of 6-and why they only tipped one dollar..😳😬

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food came out quick but was overpriced f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food came out quick but was overpriced for what we got. The steak was burnt and not of the high quality I expected. Very let down.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was phenomenal! Staff on the other ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was phenomenal! Staff on the other hand were not! For the amount of money we paid we were very disappointed in the attitude and services from the hostess stand and our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

What a pleasant brunch spot! Food was f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a pleasant brunch spot! Food was fresh and replenished frequently. We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined at Napa River Grill many t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have dined at Napa River Grill many times but were very disappointed with this experience. Our cocktails were very good, but the meal itself was not to our liking. I had the duck special, and the meat was difficult to cut. The sweet potato gnocchi was tough and chewy, as though it was undercooked. My daughter ordered a filet, and we both questioned the cut of meat. It certainly did not appear to be a filet. We would have asked our server about it but after our food was brought to the table he never reappeared to check on us. I had wanted to order a glass of wine after the food arrived but the next time we saw him we were ready for the check. Probably won't be back, even though we love the location and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We frequent Napa River Grill about once ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We frequent Napa River Grill about once every 2 weeks.

Consistently a great value with great food.

Naturally, the always have a fantastic wine selection and they do not gouge you with over-the-top pricing on the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Out of 7 women five of us ordered the Ca ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Out of 7 women five of us ordered the Caesar with chicken because the menu didnt seem to have anything that appealed to us. The calamari is phenomenal. The ham and pimento is really good but not fond of the presentation or the crackers. We were all huge fans of Napa but the menu change over the past several years has alienated us.

We tried this past week hoping again and even the Caesar isn't as good as it used to be.

I love the restaurant and location just not the menu!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

All the proteins were overcooked and und ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

All the proteins were overcooked and under seasoned. Server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our lunch and especially the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch and especially the large round table. Good food and an excellent waiter.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very good. the wait st ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was very good. the wait staff was attentive and polite. Since brunch is a buffet, the food temperature was not ideal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb service from a trained and experi ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Superb service from a trained and experienced staff. Every detail was attended to. The food is tastefully served and will satisfy every appetite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love their patio. Service and wine were ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love their patio. Service and wine were great! Food was quite delicious. There was a large business group that took up two tables - wish they were in a private room. Overall, great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We will certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister recently visited from Austin, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My sister recently visited from Austin, TX. We chose Napa River because we wanted a classy and convenient spot to have a drink and a great meal. We were absolutely impressed with the amazing service, delicious wine, and mouth watering steak. While the atmosphere was relaxing and casual, we left feeling like we had splurged and indulged ourselves. The entire experience was wonderful and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 7 loved it from service to ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our party of 7 loved it from service to ambiance to drinks to food. We especially loved the round fire table. Perfect for the slightly chilly weather and for conversation. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had one of those rare meals where EVE ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had one of those rare meals where EVERYTHING was excellent. The service, the food, the wines. Every dish we ate was fresh and perfectly prepared. A great celebration night (birthday and retirement) to always remember.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and attentive service. Enjoyed ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent and attentive service. Enjoyed the flavor combinations and a very good wine and cocktail list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Brunch buffet on Sundays is the best aro ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Brunch buffet on Sundays is the best around!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 38th wedding ann ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary and really enjoyed the Sunday brunch. I really enjoyed the hot brown and broccoli casserole. I would prefer the gravy without sage and thyme and have it taste more like "southern style" gravy. Other than that, everything was delightful! We will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Sunday brunch! $2 mimosas and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful Sunday brunch! $2 mimosas and bloody Mary's keep us coming back. We celebrated our daughters birthday and anniversary over a nice Sunday brunch. With 9 people, including a toddler and preschooler they had something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mitch and his team did everything we ask ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Mitch and his team did everything we asked in hosting our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was uninspired and overpriced. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was uninspired and overpriced. We had a 7 pm reservation on a Saturday night. We were one of only three tables in the whole restaurant- the place is a ghost town. Of the three tables, one had a baby in a high chair and the other consisted of four octogenarians. If you are looking for good food or a hip vibe, this place is not it. Very disappointed as I have heard such great things. We will not go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Recommended

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always wonderful here. I'm ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food is always wonderful here. I'm always impressed by the wait staff. They know their menu as well as their wine list. I find that very very helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Napa River for our ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My wife and I went to Napa River for our anniversary and really enjoyed our dining experience. The service was excellent and the food was very enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as expected

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Napa River is excellent and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food at Napa River is excellent and the environment is quiet enough to have meaningful conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding! Service was f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding! Service was friendly and very efficient. I really recommend the beef brisket! Just order some extra sauce on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch is wonderful. Highly recom ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Sunday brunch is wonderful. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service. Always enjoy th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food, good service. Always enjoy the restaurant. Their cornbread is phenomenal both to start the meal and as dessert at the end.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

THE FOOD WAS GOOD BUT HAD TO REALLY SEAR ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2016

THE FOOD WAS GOOD BUT HAD TO REALLY SEARCH THE MENU ,, THE PRICES ARE EXCEPTIONALLY HIGH FOR THE CHOICES. THEY USED TO SERVE A VEAL DISH THAT WAS FABULOUS AND NOT OVER PRICED ...( MAYBE THAT IS WHY IT IS NO LONGER ON THE MENU).PROBABLY WILL CROSS NAPA OFF MY LIST,

OUR WAITRESS WAS FABULOUS AND HAD A SUPER PERSONALITY

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Bone in pork chop was pretty bland, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Bone in pork chop was pretty bland, but the shrimp and grits was delicious. Pricey for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food good service , with a bottle o ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good food good service , with a bottle of wine a little pricey but excellent choice recommended by out server

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The tomato soup is fabulous! Great ambia ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The tomato soup is fabulous! Great ambiance and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Napa River is always good. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at Napa River is always good. I am always certain that I will have a good meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.