About Napa River Grill

1211 Herr Lane
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Inspired by the beauty and romance of California’s wine country, Napa River Grill provides a taste of Northern California in Louisville’s own backyard. The menu features expertly prepared dishes using only the finest seasonal ingredients, and the award-winning wine list offers the best from the New World. Set in the vibrant Westport Village, the cozy lounge opens into a bright dining room bathed in natural light. The outdoor bar, grapevine-surrounded patio, and fire pit make an ideal setting for alfresco meals. Whether you are having a romantic night out, a casual dinner with friends, or a business meeting, the relaxed yet elegant ambiance is perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Brunch: Sunday 10:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westport Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 423-5822

Website:
http://www.napariverlouisville.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Curry

Private Party Facilities:
Featuring two private dining rooms, Napa river Grill can accommodate small and large groups for private dining.

Our Vineyard Room features a custom wine bottle chandelier, and a custom wood table for boardroom style seating for up to 22 guests.
Our Large Private Dining Room features local art, and custom table configurations for up to 60 guests.

Weather permitting, our Patio Bar/Lounge is also available for rent, featuring two TVs and a full bar. Perfect for private cocktail events, or even for groups wanting to watch their favorite sports teams in a private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Mytch Law: 5024235822x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Holiday Brunch
$34.95 excludes taxes and gratuities

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Napa River Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (44)
good for groups (32)
great for outdoor dining (28)
See All
fit for foodies (27)
neighborhood gem (27)
notable wine list (21)
great for brunch (17)
great for lunch (17)
romantic (15)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was very very good!Our waiter (Eli) ...

Dined 6 days ago

food was very very good!Our waiter (Eli) was excellent, very patient. Sampled several different appetizers, all were excellent. Recommend the seafood Menage-a-trois and bananas foster for dessert.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was very good as was the food. O ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was very good as was the food. Our only disappointment was my wife and I and the couple with us ordered the same dessert--a banana specialty; after ten minutes the server informed us no banana desserts were available. We were puzzled--did they run out of bananas? "Yes, we have no bananas, we have no bananas today." Maybe there will be bananas at our next visit!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of my favorite place to eat. ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Always one of my favorite place to eat. Delicious food that never fails to impress. Presentation is beautiful and service is superb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a family get together with 11 peo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a family get together with 11 people. They gave us our own room. Excellent service. Food was good. We were very happy with our experience there.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We go to Napa quite a bit for dinners an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We go to Napa quite a bit for dinners and Happy Hours. It never disappoints. We recommend it to all.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

five out of six of us ordered hamburgers ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

five out of six of us ordered hamburgers and we all agreed they were prepared just as we ordered and thenfries were great! The Caesar Salad was fresh and tasty and in general the meal was beyond complaint. Our server was very attentive and suggested drinks and appetizers and everything was done perfectly. We particularly appreciated the quiet atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another very nice evening at Napa. Our s ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Another very nice evening at Napa. Our server, Eli, was very knowledgeable, and accommodating for all our questions, and changes. Quiet enough in the front room for conversation, no feeling of being rushed. Food served well, and was delicious. Would recommend, and will return. Just good food, ambience, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Napa River many times and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I have been to Napa River many times and it keep getting better. The wine list is great and the food is phenomenal! I would HIGHLY recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I chose Napa Grill for ou ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I chose Napa Grill for our anniversary dinner because it seemed like a romantic setting. We were not disappointed. The ambiance, food, and service were all wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Decent meal but nothing to write home about

Dined on June 1, 2016

I went to this restaurant as I was entertaining out of town business guests. The restaurant was fine but nothing particularly special. It was convenient to my office location.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything we ordered was delicious and ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious and the servers were very attentive. My only complaint was that the wait staff kept trying to remove plates and serving dishes before we had finished. We like to nibble on every last bite but they kept trying to clean up.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a laid back Saturday night d ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Perfect for a laid back Saturday night date . Service was timely, but not rushed. Interesting bourbon cocktails, wonderful bonein ribeye special. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Although we had a reservation, we waited ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Although we had a reservation, we waited well over half and hour for a table. There were 5 in our party. The hostess sat us at a table for four two times. We were very uncomfortable and asked to be moved twice. I asked the hostess two times to move two tables together for us. She said she would have to ask. Finally, at 45 minutes of waiting, she was given permission to move two tables together. Not very accommodating although the hostesses apologized numerous times.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were having dinner with a friend from college. Meal and service were great!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had small group of 3 celebrating a special day. The wait staff was attentative and friendly. Food was delicious. Had calamari appetizer and salmon for my entree. Both were perfect.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was great except it took a while to get our food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid place to eat!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We normally go for brunch on Sunday's. Mother's Day was crowded and noisier than usual with a long wait, but hey it WAS a holiday. The server moved seamlessly and the food was good and fresh. You always see the chef checking the buffet table and bringing out freshness( hot brown casserole, beef tips, fried chicken, broccoli casserole and so much more). If you don't leave there busting your diet and your pants then you didn't work the buffet right!! I always have to guiltily run on the treadmill afterwards. I'll probably avoid another Mother's Day, but I'll return again for the Regular Sunday Brunch Bunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Worst dining experience ever. The place ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Worst dining experience ever. The place was way overbooked. My family had a terrible time. Napa has been barely hangin on for years. We'll never go back.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Oversold for Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to Napa River Grill several times and have always enjoyed it. Most visits were for after-work cocktails/apps and dinners, but I have been for special occasion brunches before. This particular visit was less-than relaxing. We had a party of 6 for a Mother's Day brunch and the line for the main buffet was wrapped throughout the restaurant when we first arrived. Our group divided up to hit two different stations (the main food station and the salad area) but it meant we spent very little time at the table together to visit and enjoy our meal. It was clear to me that Napa stuck a table wherever they could to fit more people, with little thought to the flow. Also, when we went to leave and pay our bill, we were charged for 8 people instead of 6. Luckily we caught it before settling up. On a positive note, the food was absolutely delicious. I just wish the atmosphere was better since I was introducing several new people to the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Too many people not enough food lines

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our family went for Mother's Day and the crowd, even very early, was enormous and the lines were long for the buffet. They should have had two buffet lines - one in the rear of the building and one out front. The visit was chaotic and very disappointing. We will not be back for a special occasion.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Just ok.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Good service. Some dishes on the Derby menu were quite good, others not so good. Halibut was flavorful and nicely done. Rib eye was tough, a poor grade of meat. Patio dining didn't have much atmosphere.

food4
ambience5
service3

Outdoor dining was nice even during the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outdoor dining was nice even during the storm.

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible Service and Took too Long

Dined on May 7, 2016

It took us 3.5 hours to eat dinner when there was a set menu. The wait staff was unfriendly and unaccommodating. One persons steak was cold in the middle while another was overcooked. Never once was anyone apologetic for the slow service (we had to ask for bread, our first course and the second course) or the way a meal was prepared.

food3
ambience3
service2

Dinner following Oaks day, for hubby and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner following Oaks day, for hubby and I. Started off well. Service was timely and food very good. Unfortunately we had to witness service issues with at least 2 tables, staff very confused and running around ; my food very good, hubbys too well done for him. Our dining experience was too overwhelmed by problems staff had with others; will not go out of our way to come here again.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Derby weekend 4 course prix fix $85.00 p ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Derby weekend 4 course prix fix $85.00 per person a bit pricey. Add a bottle of wine and you end up with over $300.00 for two. Food was good but not outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service at Napa are outstan ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and service at Napa are outstanding. One of Louisville's best restaurants .

food4
ambience3
service4

Always a great experience. The steak was ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Always a great experience. The steak was delicious! Service is exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch with out of town friend during Der ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Lunch with out of town friend during Derby week. Of course that meant hot brown time. Very delicious according to my friend. We go regularly and never disappoints.

food3
ambience1
service3

We have eaten at NRG many prior times, ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We have eaten at NRG many prior times, all nice experiences. This one was disappointing. In spite of making reservations ahead we were seated at a round table for six though it was just me and my wife. It was awkward but the only thing available that I could see. Very loud, we were in the middle of the main dining area with servers whisking by. Despite all of the space at the table we were in the middle of all the action snd felt in the way of everybody. Food was ok, but for a &100 check for the two of us the whole experience including the awkwardness wasn't worth the price.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Waiter seemed off -missed bringing some ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Waiter seemed off -missed bringing some drinks and missed an order. Food was very good.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly lunch

Dined on April 22, 2016

Server attentive. Able to carry on conversation. Salmon very good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service

Dined on April 16, 2016

It was our first time but will not be our last. The food was excellent from the warm buttered cornbread served while we waited to our meal which came supper fast to my husband's bourbon and coke. Normally he complains that drinks are watered down but he said that was a great drink which meant it was good and strong! I loved the bacon marmalade on my burger and my husband really enjoyed the Delmonico ribeye! The thing we enjoyed most was our server, Eli. He was the best. He had the best smile and was very friendly and in addition to his wonderful demeanor, he was well versed in the specials of the day, the menu, the wine list, the bourbons, and anything else we put before him. We were thoroughly impressed with Eli and enjoyed our dining experience with him as much as we enjoyed the food and our experience at Napa River Grille!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We came for my birthday celebration with ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

We came for my birthday celebration with my family. We had a very nice evening. The service was good. The staff was friendly. Most thought that their food was quite good. They have a nice modest wine list. Our selection was very good.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food

Dined on April 10, 2016

Always love the taste of the food when I dine here. The flavors are wonderful. Excellent service and a nice quiet restaurant to dine in

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

We were seated very late after reservati ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We were seated very late after reservation time but understood how extremely busy they were for Easter Brunch. Inflated prices (normal buffet pricing $18.95 w $2 mimosas or bloody marys-Easter pricing $34.95 and $5 for said drinks) for the holiday without a difference of selection excluding an added raw bar. No name tags on food chafing dishes, caked on food on serving utensils and quality not up to normal standards. Service from our waiter was next to nonexistent and this was about one hour before service ended so not particularly busy. Would I return, yes but never on a holiday. Very disappointed for $160 plus bill (before tip) for four people that only ate a small portion due to mediocre food temp and quality and one cocktail each.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! The best brunch in Louisville.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Outstanding On every level! If you're in Louisville or live here you have to try the brunch. I believe it's the best in Louisville.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Always enjoy Napa. Best special occasion ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always enjoy Napa. Best special occasion buffet in Louisville. Don't tell anybody it was crowded already.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Napa River never disappoints. The brunc ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Napa River never disappoints. The brunch food was delicious. What the four of us loved the most was that we could pick how we wanted our eggs cooked and no added price to our bill. The fried chicken was delicious!! Everything really good. And James our server was top notch. We will be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Kudos to the kitchen -- made up for poor waiter

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a group of five on at Saturday night - although all of the food that we had was outstanding, the evening was a bit frustrating because of the lack of attention, focus and availability of our waiter. The supplemental staff did a great job filling up water glasses and bringing food, but the waiter himself was not to be found. Drinks from the bar took forever or didn't appear and there were long gaps between engagements -- odd and frustrating. The food was outstanding --- notables -- The Salmon filet, Ribeye, Filet and brisket. The bibb salads were great as was the minestrone soup. The oatmeal raisin cookies were fantastic as was the brownie. The peanut butter creme brulee had too much chocolate in it for our taste, but was still good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Worth one visit, but not a regular spot for me

Dined on March 11, 2016

The Napa Valley Grill tries to take you back to Cali. Lots of surf and turf on the menu with some interesting Asian fusion plates. All the food appeared very fresh and appetizing. The presentation of the food was definitely thought out. The wine list is long and you are bound to find something you like. The only reason I did not give this place a five star rating is that it is a place where you get what you pay for. In this case that is a good thing, but it reduce the value.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.