About Napa River Grill

1211 Herr Lane
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Inspired by the beauty and romance of California’s wine country, Napa River Grill provides a taste of Northern California in Louisville’s own backyard. The menu features expertly prepared dishes using only the finest seasonal ingredients, and the award-winning wine list offers the best from the New World. Set in the vibrant Westport Village, the cozy lounge opens into a bright dining room bathed in natural light. The outdoor bar, grapevine-surrounded patio, and fire pit make an ideal setting for alfresco meals. Whether you are having a romantic night out, a casual dinner with friends, or a business meeting, the relaxed yet elegant ambiance is perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Brunch: Sunday 10:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westport Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 423-5822

Website:
http://www.napariverlouisville.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Curry

Private Party Facilities:
Featuring two private dining rooms, Napa river Grill can accommodate small and large groups for private dining.

Our Vineyard Room features a custom wine bottle chandelier, and a custom wood table for boardroom style seating for up to 22 guests.
Our Large Private Dining Room features local art, and custom table configurations for up to 60 guests.

Weather permitting, our Patio Bar/Lounge is also available for rent, featuring two TVs and a full bar. Perfect for private cocktail events, or even for groups wanting to watch their favorite sports teams in a private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Mytch Law: 5024235822x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holiday Brunch
$34.95 excludes taxes and gratuities

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Napa River Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food at Napa River is always good. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Napa River is always good. I am always certain that I will have a good meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Napa River Grill is a nice restaurant. I ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Napa River Grill is a nice restaurant. I felt, for the money, the filet Mignon was relatively small compared to other restaurants that we've eaten at. Additionally I was rather uncomfortable at our table as the seating was close to wall and tables too close. Having spent nearly $300 I was disappointed overall or perhaps my expectations were too high. I think it would be a great place for lunch with girlfriends and will definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a work related dinner with 6 others. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Had a work related dinner with 6 others. Good choices on menu, food was well liked by everyone. Service was good but a tad slow (same waiter was attending to several other larger parties). Desserts were pricey. Ambience very good, low noise level and good decor. Too pricey for regular dining but great for occasions/special dinners.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food. Wide variety from Veget ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food. Wide variety from Vegetarian to beef, extensive wine list. Acoustics were not so good, seemed a little noisy. Our server was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service great! Food was very salty. Ca ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service great!

Food was very salty.

Calamari was done nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our server was very attentive and helpfu ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server was very attentive and helpful; most enjoyed their meal especially the pork chop and menagerie trio; my only complaint which I make to help kitchen menu planning is that beef brisket was dry and tasteless ; suggest remove from menu or find another method to prepare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good selection was varied and properly p ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good selection was varied and properly prepared. A very relaxing and fun night for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great waiter, food was delicious as alwa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great waiter, food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very good place to eat. Good food well ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A very good place to eat. Good food well prepared, prompt service. Nice ambiance. A place that I would recommend to all of my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the salmon, which was ok, but th ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ordered the salmon, which was ok, but the rice and corn that came with it was very strange. than make an issue of it, I didnt say anything. I couldn't eat much of it. The salmon was good but not amazing, which is what I expected when spending 80 bucks on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Decent service, good adult beverages, an ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Decent service, good adult beverages, and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Napa River Grill is always good with a n ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Napa River Grill is always good with a nice range of prices. Love the outdoor seating when it's not too hot. This is a well-established favorite of mine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Napa River Grill: You should take the Di ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Napa River Grill: You should take the Dine Out for Life sticker off your front door, since you didn't support it. It's an affront to the entire community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was very very good!Our waiter (Eli) ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

food was very very good!Our waiter (Eli) was excellent, very patient. Sampled several different appetizers, all were excellent. Recommend the seafood Menage-a-trois and bananas foster for dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good as was the food. O ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was very good as was the food. Our only disappointment was my wife and I and the couple with us ordered the same dessert--a banana specialty; after ten minutes the server informed us no banana desserts were available. We were puzzled--did they run out of bananas?

"Yes, we have no bananas, we have no bananas today." Maybe there will be bananas at our next visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always one of my favorite place to eat. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always one of my favorite place to eat. Delicious food that never fails to impress. Presentation is beautiful and service is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a family get together with 11 peo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a family get together with 11 people. They gave us our own room. Excellent service. Food was good. We were very happy with our experience there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Napa quite a bit for dinners an ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We go to Napa quite a bit for dinners and Happy Hours. It never disappoints. We recommend it to all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

five out of six of us ordered hamburgers ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

five out of six of us ordered hamburgers and we all agreed they were prepared just as we ordered and thenfries were great! The Caesar Salad was fresh and tasty and in general the meal was beyond complaint. Our server was very attentive and suggested drinks and appetizers and everything was done perfectly. We particularly appreciated the quiet atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another very nice evening at Napa. Our s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Another very nice evening at Napa. Our server, Eli, was very knowledgeable, and accommodating for all our questions, and changes. Quiet enough in the front room for conversation, no feeling of being rushed. Food served well, and was delicious.

Would recommend, and will return. Just good food, ambience, and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Napa River many times and ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have been to Napa River many times and it keep getting better. The wine list is great and the food is phenomenal! I would HIGHLY recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I chose Napa Grill for ou ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I chose Napa Grill for our anniversary dinner because it seemed like a romantic setting. We were not disappointed. The ambiance, food, and service were all wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent meal but nothing to write home about

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I went to this restaurant as I was entertaining out of town business guests. The restaurant was fine but nothing particularly special. It was convenient to my office location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything we ordered was delicious and ...

 
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious and the servers were very attentive. My only complaint was that the wait staff kept trying to remove plates and serving dishes before we had finished. We like to nibble on every last bite but they kept trying to clean up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Perfect for a laid back Saturday night d ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Perfect for a laid back Saturday night date . Service was timely, but not rushed. Interesting bourbon cocktails, wonderful bonein ribeye special. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we had a reservation, we waited ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Although we had a reservation, we waited well over half and hour for a table. There were 5 in our party. The hostess sat us at a table for four two times. We were very uncomfortable and asked to be moved twice. I asked the hostess two times to move two tables together for us. She said she would have to ask. Finally, at 45 minutes of waiting, she was given permission to move two tables together. Not very accommodating although the hostesses apologized numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great meal

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were having dinner with a friend from college. Meal and service were great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Had small group of 3 celebrating a special day. The wait staff was attentative and friendly. Food was delicious. Had calamari appetizer and salmon for my entree. Both were perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was great except it took a while to get our food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Solid place to eat!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We normally go for brunch on Sunday's. Mother's Day was crowded and noisier than usual with a long wait, but hey it WAS a holiday. The server moved seamlessly and the food was good and fresh. You always see the chef checking the buffet table and bringing out freshness( hot brown casserole, beef tips, fried chicken, broccoli casserole and so much more). If you don't leave there busting your diet and your pants then you didn't work the buffet right!! I always have to guiltily run on the treadmill afterwards. I'll probably avoid another Mother's Day, but I'll return again for the Regular Sunday Brunch Bunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst dining experience ever. The place ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Worst dining experience ever. The place was way overbooked. My family had a terrible time. Napa has been barely hangin on for years. We'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Oversold for Mother's Day

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to Napa River Grill several times and have always enjoyed it. Most visits were for after-work cocktails/apps and dinners, but I have been for special occasion brunches before. This particular visit was less-than relaxing. We had a party of 6 for a Mother's Day brunch and the line for the main buffet was wrapped throughout the restaurant when we first arrived. Our group divided up to hit two different stations (the main food station and the salad area) but it meant we spent very little time at the table together to visit and enjoy our meal. It was clear to me that Napa stuck a table wherever they could to fit more people, with little thought to the flow. Also, when we went to leave and pay our bill, we were charged for 8 people instead of 6. Luckily we caught it before settling up. On a positive note, the food was absolutely delicious. I just wish the atmosphere was better since I was introducing several new people to the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Too many people not enough food lines

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our family went for Mother's Day and the crowd, even very early, was enormous and the lines were long for the buffet. They should have had two buffet lines - one in the rear of the building and one out front. The visit was chaotic and very disappointing. We will not be back for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Just ok.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good service. Some dishes on the Derby menu were quite good, others not so good. Halibut was flavorful and nicely done. Rib eye was tough, a poor grade of meat. Patio dining didn't have much atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Outdoor dining was nice even during the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outdoor dining was nice even during the storm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Terrible Service and Took too Long

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

It took us 3.5 hours to eat dinner when there was a set menu. The wait staff was unfriendly and unaccommodating. One persons steak was cold in the middle while another was overcooked. Never once was anyone apologetic for the slow service (we had to ask for bread, our first course and the second course) or the way a meal was prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Dinner following Oaks day, for hubby and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner following Oaks day, for hubby and I. Started off well. Service was timely and food very good. Unfortunately we had to witness service issues with at least 2 tables, staff very confused and running around ; my food very good, hubbys too well done for him. Our dining experience was too overwhelmed by problems staff had with others; will not go out of our way to come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Derby weekend 4 course prix fix $85.00 p ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Derby weekend 4 course prix fix $85.00 per person a bit pricey. Add a bottle of wine and you end up with over $300.00 for two. Food was good but not outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food and service at Napa are outstan ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and service at Napa are outstanding. One of Louisville's best restaurants .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. The steak was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Always a great experience. The steak was delicious! Service is exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.