About Napa on Providence

110 Perrin Place
Charlotte, NC 28207
View Larger Map

In Napa Valley California, restaurants are inspired by the local surroundings – earthy wine vineyards, Spanish colonial architecture, small production farms, fresh ingredients and a passion for keeping things simplistic and natural.
The Napa Philosophy is our commitment to:
Comfortable and approachable food and drink
Freshness of ingredients
Locally sourced ingredients when possible
Partnering with area producers and craftsmen
Cooking everything from scratch
Great prices and variety of choices to encourage regular patronage
Vineyard inspired décor and presentation

With small and large plate offerings, Napa on Providence is perfect for a business luncheon, friends gathering for cocktails or families craving brunch. Walk-ins are welcome, but reservations are recommended. We look forward to your visit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Providence Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 900-8535

Website:
http://www.napaonprovidence.com/

Entertainment:
Special events and live entertainment are frequent occurrences here at Napa on Providence. Log on to our website or friend us on Facebook to receive updates and notifications about our upcoming events.
We provide live music every Thursday. You can look at your website to see who will be performing each week

Catering:
We do offer off-site catering. Please email or call us for more information.

Parking Details:
Private parking offered on both sides of the restaurant during lunch and dinner.
Guests can park in the Wells Fargo parking lot after 5:00.

Executive Chef:
Michael Griswold

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Napa 5-7 Happy Hour in the bar and lounge Monday-Friday
Brunch drink specials on the weekends

Private Dining

Along with one of the most pristine patios in the Queen City, Napa on Providence also offers a large lounge area and two different private dining rooms, fully equipped with state of the art A/V amenities. From wedding receptions to business meetings, we can accommodate all your private dining needs.

Napa on Providence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Outdoor Dining
Charlotte
Contemporary American
Charlotte
3 More
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Outdoor Dining
Charlotte
Contemporary American
Charlotte

Neighborhood Gem (77)
Notable Wine List (72)
Fit for Foodies (69)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
Special Occasion (67)
Great for Lunch (53)
Great for Brunch (51)
Good for Groups (49)
Romantic (43)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for a Date (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (6)
Business Meals (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service always good. The patio ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 16 hours ago

Food and service always good. The patio is especially nice. Inside is too noisy when they are busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

What a Great time we all had at the Mond ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

What a Great time we all had at the Mondavi wine dinner at Napa

The chef menu was amazing. Thank you to Bradley and Eric for the Great wine .

See you at the next one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlie was a great bartender. He gave u ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Charlie was a great bartender. He gave us excellent recommendations and paired our food to the wine perfectly. His beard was also on point and reminded me of the brawny paper towel guy that I have deemed about since I was a teen. I would recommend napa (and Charlie) to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday celebration for a visitor from ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Birthday celebration for a visitor from out of town.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner at Napa was fantastic! I highly r ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dinner at Napa was fantastic! I highly recommend the Duck Duo. We tried the new Nutella Cheesecake and Squash Trio desserts and both were crowd pleasers. Our server was wonderful and made my fiancees birthday extra special.

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Great staff, excelle ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Never disappoints! Great staff, excellent hospitality and food selections. We had brunch this Saturday and the manager Cynthia was so pleasant and engaging with not only us but with all the guests. Lovely experience start to finish!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a large group in from Texas and n ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a large group in from Texas and needed a last minute place to go for happy hour. We were able to get a reservation on a busy Friday evening and they were able to accommodate our group, a big thank you to Kim the GM for helping us out! Charlie did an amazing job separating our checks and keeping everything straight. It was a wonderful evening and we will be sure to come back again soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

the service was very slow. we sat at a 1 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

the service was very slow. we sat at a 1:30 lunch for 30 mins just to order ....party of 7..... 4 of us were told after we ordered they were out of the 2 items we requested. the kitchen was very slow to get food out when the place was nearly empty by then. we left 2 hrs after our reservation with out dessert as it was too late in the day.

in the past this has been a good place for our lunch club but I doubt my friends will be willing to try again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My husband and I was in town; as we live ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I was in town; as we live ~ 90 miles away from Charlotte. I was looking for a place to have Sunday brunch and ran across this restaurant. Relating to the following: Service, Food, Professional Staff, Greetings via Manager, Polite, AMAZING FOOD, knowledgeable wait staff. LOVED it; and loved the Sunday Bloody Mary!

It is family friendly and some children were eating there also; yet unless I looked around and took notice, I'd not have known. Recommended

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved my first experience at Napa! I cel ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Loved my first experience at Napa! I celebrated my birthday and hosted a brunch for my bridesmaids here and they all loved it! The food (we all had chicken and waffles), mimosas and ambiance all exceeded my expectations. It's a super cute atmosphere too! I definitely plan on going back here for dinner or another brunch. And the staff was amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had very high expectation on both the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I had very high expectation on both the pairing, wine selection and local ingredients for food preparation. The ambiance is generic and we asked to be placed near the bar, as the inside looked very generic steakhouse. This place has nothing remarkable in terms of food selection, original plates, savory tapas or proper bread. The food was very salty and the portion appropriate. The salad has likely supermarket run of the mill tasteless farm raised salmon and remarkably pale lettuce. So-so on the salad and less than so-so on my wife's steak. The wine selection is timid, the rose selection pathetic and the much promoted wine from the tap is just a hype. The server did not pour the appropriate tasting amount and just came with the full glass, which I found proper for a trattoria in rural Napoli but not in this establishment. It has been a long while since I was given the glass of wine without the appropriate tasting and in a self described NAPA it is plain unacceptable. The crowds come sweating and in shorts and TV screens show anonymous golf. Not the food, the scene, the wine or the venue are worth repeating. This place must create character in all the above aspects. Not a fan.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Girls night out. We had a great ti ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great Girls night out.

We had a great time on the patio at Napa on providence.

They had wonderful live music playing. The small plates we had were very tasty .

Our server was very polite and made some great drink recommendations.

This is truly one of the best patio's in Charlotte.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as always. Wine chose ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was delicious as always. Wine chosen was perfect. Thank you. The hospitality by management and staff felt like a 5 start hotel. Cara's service was precise. All around great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance and the service were perfec ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The ambiance and the service were perfect. I loved the comfortable outdoor dining area, which was sheltered from any blowing mist/rain. The food, however, was a disappointment, especially the $27 crab-stuffed NC trout, which was dry, bland and almost flavorless. The fried calamari appetizer was good with the complementary sauce. The roasted mushroom risotto was good, but heavy on the risotto vs. the mushrooms. For dessert we shared the chocolate banana mousse bomb. The mousse was flavorful, but the frozen chocolate coating was reminiscent of a Polar Bar coating from the ice cream wagon. To end on a positive note, my wife was very pleased with the grilled chicken entree salad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Place is very nice...food is GREAT!...es ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Place is very nice...food is GREAT!...especially for brunch. Went for the bottomless mimosas but would definitely go back just to dine another time. They were overbooked with reservations when we got there for our table for 2. After waiting some time, we decided to go to the bar area to have a drink while we waited, it was a bit noisy but not horrible. We ended up being there so long that we just ordered food there. It was not until our food came out that the host came to tell us they finally had a table ready...negative, we just stayed were we were after all of that. Besides not getting a table even though I made a reservation, the rest of the experience there was quite nice.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Very tasty well prepared food, great ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very tasty well prepared food, great service, Cara was a great server, good wine choices and great deserts

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here for lunch on a Saturday. Ot ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We ate here for lunch on a Saturday. Other than a super nice and attentive server, the food was average at best, and the noise level so high we even gave up on shouting and skipped dessert. Probably a good call anyway since the entrees were uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The hostess Katie was amazing, she had t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The hostess Katie was amazing, she had the most welcoming smile and seated us promptly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is consistently good, service is co ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food is consistently good, service is consistently poor. The waitress seemed to be in a bad mood, service was slow, and there were multiple times we were without water. This is my second bad experience with service at Napa recently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We had some family in from NY so we had ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had some family in from NY so we had to bring them to our favorite Charlotte brunch spot! The shrimp & grits special was outstanding and we everyone raved about the food and the service! Lea even brought out a complimentary dessert for my mom's birthday! We will definitely be coming back :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was mediocre! When my friend ord ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was mediocre! When my friend ordered a glass of the Chateau St. Jean, our waiter immediately corrected by friend and said it was St. John. We ordered the calamari and way to salty! Ordered 2 pizzas and the linguini and clams. Everything was overloaded with salt. Would not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Good restaurant and ambiance. Good wine ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good restaurant and ambiance. Good wine list but just from California (which is not a bad thing) .Service was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Napa is a great place to have a high qua ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Napa is a great place to have a high quality meal in a very nice setting. Their "wines on tap" feature allows you to have access to less than a bottle of very good wines. My wife's pasta was excellent as were my hanger steak and short rib. The restaurant kindly accommodated my request for mushrooms instead of potatoes.

We also had the fried artichoke hearts with aioli which were outstanding and a unique take on artichoke hearts.

We would readily recommend Napa and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the first time I've been to NAP ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was the first time I've been to NAPA on Providence. I frequented its predecessor in this location, Providence Café, quite often. I'm not sure why I didn't try NAPA sooner. It was fantastic and I plan to return again soon! The drink list was unique and the drink I chose wonderful. The calamari was delicious. My friend had the duck (fabulous!) and I had the fig pizza which was wonderful (I would have it again!). It is a quiet location. Although a little warm, we sat outside. Noise level was moderate, more so from other patrons, as opposed to traffic noise. Our server was good. Timing was good; he didn't always know what was what or what was available without double-checking; friendly. All in all, a really good dining experience! I would definitely recommend ~

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We have been to NAPA on Providence sever ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been to NAPA on Providence several times. Each time the service is wonderful and the food is memorable. This occasion was the visit of our daughter and grandson. We had a delightful brunch. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic restaurant. We went for ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

What a fantastic restaurant. We went for a girls night and it was great! The duck and tuna tartar are out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful late lunch with a friend ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had a wonderful late lunch with a friend who just moved to Charlotte. She loved the short rib quiche and was super impressed with the wine list. Excellent service as always, we will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Napa on Providence is one of our favorit ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Napa on Providence is one of our favorites restaurants, but this last visit was a below par experience. Service was incredibly slow throughout the entire evening. We waited 20 minutes with just water...no drinks from the bar or bread. I'm not sure what the deal was with our server...maybe he had too many tables or maybe he was just distracted? Once it arrived, our meal was good, but it will still be a long time before I go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

A group of us went out to dinner for a g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

A group of us went out to dinner for a going away dinner for one of the girls. Lyndsay was our server and she was awesome! Super knowledgable about the menu and answered all of our questions and made awesome suggestions. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Napa never disappoints. We go ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As always, Napa never disappoints. We go often & love it for date night, GNO, or family dinners. Bradley & his team always pick the perfect wines!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and creative menu. The lavende ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious and creative menu. The lavender pound cake is a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent spot with fantastic wine se ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

An excellent spot with fantastic wine selections and service. Relaxed environment and ambience...we would dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious but the noise level w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious but the noise level was so high that it was very difficult and frustrating to have a conversation. Will not return for that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food quality and service were very good. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food quality and service were very good. Unfortunately, there was very little food to eat. Portion sizes were defiantly lacking for the price. My hanger steak had about 5 very small pieces, about the size of pickle slice. My shortcake/berry dessert was barely larger than a fifty cent piece! I was still hungry when I left!

So much for Restaurant Week, I believe next time we will order off the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service. We went during restauran ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great service. We went during restaurant week and our server went over the wine list and let us sample a few glasses before we decided on a bottle. Usually during restaurant week some restaurants won't pay attention to you because they know you have a "set menu" this was NOT the case at Napa. The server was very attentive. I will definitely be back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great environment inside. We ate outsid ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great environment inside. We ate outside on the patio which was quiet and nice. We went for restaurant week and had the mussels, stuffed meatballs, hanger steak, and salmon. Everything was fantastic and the wine on tap was served slightly chilled which was very good. Would definitely recommend and we will be going back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used Queen's week, and the fixed pric ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We used Queen's week, and the fixed price menu was excellent. We both had nicely prepared fish entrees, and matched a carafe of Zinfandel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Knowledgable ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent food and service! Knowledgable staff , overall top notch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Napa for my birthday which als ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We ate at Napa for my birthday which also always falls during the week of Queen's Feast. The fixed menu was great, and the selections we made exceeded our expectations. The service was great and all around, it was a very pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Knowledgeable wait staff, on point! Food ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Knowledgeable wait staff, on point! Food was quick, fresh and yummy. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.