About Nantucket Prime

29 Broad Street
Nantucket, MA 02554
View Larger Map

Nantucket Prime is an upscale island steakhouse, specializing in prime steaks, grilled fish, and raw bar. Please note that OpenTable reservations are for our Indoor Dining Room ONLY. For Patio requests and parties over 6 people, please call the restaurant at (508) 228-2117.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week in season; Thursday through Monday in the fall
LUNCH: 12noon – 3:00pm
MIDDAY: 3:00 - 5:30pm ~ Raw Bar and salads available on the Patio
DINNER: 5:30pm - 10pm
Patio Bar open Late

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-2117

Website:
http://ackprime.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua Smith

Nantucket Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3

service

3

ambience

3

noise

Moderate

33% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
46 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

A nice steak but that's it!

Dined on May 20, 2016

While we thought the quality of the steak and the preparation was great, we were disappointed with our overall experience. When dining in Nantucket you expect that there will be a substantial mark-up for location and quality. However, you also expect remarkable service, extras and a unique experience. This did not happen. We felt that we were charged and even over-charged for each morsel. Perhaps for this restaurant to compete and sustain in Nantucket, they should make clients feel that they are pampered. We had a wonderful and similar meal at The White Barn in Kennebunk, ME and it was a total dining experience. At Nantucket Prime we had only a well cooked steak.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Prime is a bad combination of lousy food ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Prime is a bad combination of lousy food, weak service and poor surroundings. Will not go back

food1
ambience2
service2

Food tasted like it was microwaved. Wors ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Food tasted like it was microwaved. Worst meal in Nantucket to date. Don't go, won't be around long.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. We sat outdoors on a cool ...

Dined on September 11, 2015

Great dinner. We sat outdoors on a cool September night but the heaters made it just right. Great food and service. We have children with food allergies and we always appreciate it when people handle that well for us. Everything wax great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Engagement dinner

Dined on September 5, 2015

My fiancé and I had dinner here to celebrate getting engaged earlier in the day. It was perfect - small and cozy, romantic and just absolutely lovely. The service was excellent, our bottle of champagne stayed chilled and our glasses were never empty. The server was extremely polite and friendly - providing a complimentary dessert at the end of our meal which was amazing. My fiancé had the 24 ounce porterhouse and I had the 9 ounce filet. Both were cooked to perfection. We had mashed potatoes and the corn risotto side dishes; potatoes were very good but I didn't really care for the corn dish. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a fine meal on the island and look forward to returning !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3

- overrated

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

Not worth the hype. Needs a total refurbishment. Food was okay. Smell of grease overwhelming. Total disconnect with loud music.

food5
ambience4
service4

Delish steaks. Yummy sides. Memorable de ...

Dined on August 14, 2015

Delish steaks. Yummy sides. Memorable desserts. Overall just a great meal. Will be back next year for sure.

food4
ambience3
service4

First time -- Not the last

Dined on July 31, 2015

Everything a meal on Nantucket should be: A warm summer night, with a full moon... Terrific food... Attentive, friendly service (including our genial host)... Great atmosphere. Smoked bluefish pate, NY strip, swordfish, and spinach side were perfectly prepared and seasoned. Lemon curd dessert was fresh and fabulous. We'll be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot

Dined on July 27, 2015

The food was excellent and it was only eclipsed by the friendly, knowledgable and professional staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Our dinner at Prime was delicious. The s ...

Dined on July 17, 2015

Our dinner at Prime was delicious. The service could not have been better. We were told upon arrival that "open table" reservations were for inside dining and on a beautiful night on Nantucket, when the rest of the island was outdoors enjoying mid-July beautiful weather, we sat alone in the dining room. It would have been nice to have some kind of special "touch" for our very expensive steak and potato dinner. ( greetings from the Chef or owner, perhaps a special complimentary roll?) They have the function down but need work on the "value added."

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2

Been here several times. Do not like the ...

vip
Dined on July 5, 2015

Been here several times. Do not like the indoor section of this restaurant. Very bland and stuffy. Outside is the place to sit but it seems to be turning more towards a bar crowd than the dinner crowd. Food is very good. Service is spotty. Our waitress was overwhelmed and undertrained. Probably won't return. Too many better choices.

food2
ambience2
service1

The host was arrogant and unpleasant. I ...

vip
Dined on July 5, 2015

The host was arrogant and unpleasant. I almost left because he was so unfriendly and arrogant. The service overall was quite poor and continually rude. The food came out very slow and all our steaks came out at the wrong temperature. I wouldnt recommend going.

food5
ambience4
service2

Go for the food, but be wary of the service

vip
Dined on June 22, 2015

During our visit, on a Monday, at approximately 7 pm there were just five tables with diners in the indoor part of the dining area. At best service was fair, in which can only be described as a trial run before the season started. The servers were pleasant enough, indeed, even charming. But they really didn't have their act together at least not yet. This was disappointing because this was a special occasion dinner for us and because they were not business. This wait staff team needs some serious practice time together. That said, the food itself was absolutely excellent.

food2
ambience3
service2

Not Ready for Prime Time

Dined on December 6, 2014

I was rooting for this place as the JC needs a great restaurant in its space and the island could use a great steakhouse. The menu has all the right selections, including seasonal Nantucket Bay Scallops, which were pretty good apart from the undercooked gnocchi, and steak frites, the accompanying frites for which were cold. Unfortunately, and especially for the prices being charged, food and service were generally underwhelming while the noise level from the lounge overwhelmed the dining experience. Wine list is outrageously overpriced. The table next to ours sent the beef stroganoff dish back to the kitchen in search of the beef. For these prices, no bread basket to start your meal? Wait staff needs better training - drinks come fast, but food, not so much. The place is physically charming and the restaurant could develop into greatness, if only. I will give it another try in spring/summer and perhaps they will be ready for their close-up, then.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Nantucket prime was great.

Dined on December 5, 2014

Nantucket prime was great. Food was excellent. The service was good. The server was there without hurrying us. I was with my three sisters and we we ate well, had fun, good drinks and had a very enjoyable evening at Nantucket prime.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Terrible restaurant

Dined on October 22, 2014

We had reservations they decided to close due to rain. They never notifies us and could care less

food5
ambience5
service5

Sensational

Dined on October 17, 2014

We dined at Nantucket Prime during our weekend visit to the island. Each one us raved about our meals. The filet was the best ive ever had. I Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who values quality dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service2

Food was outstanding - did not care for ...

Dined on October 11, 2014

Food was outstanding - did not care for Server but would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Calling all meat-aterians!

Dined on October 9, 2014

The steaks were AH-mazing. Perfectly cooked! Their mushrooms were also quite tasty :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steak I've had in a LONG time

Dined on September 30, 2014

Nantucket Prime was OUTSTANDING. Food was unbelievable and the service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4

Forgettable

Dined on September 27, 2014

The distinguishing features are high prices with an undistinguished menu. The service is very good and the setting is nice. Despite the name, I wonder whether the steak is prime. I suggest the swordfish. We will not return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4

Nantucket's Best New Restaurant

vip
Dined on September 20, 2014

This was our 5th time to Prime this season! We brought a group and sat outside under the stars. It could not have been more perfect. The food was outstanding. The menu had changed since we were there last and has a fall theme. The service was excellent and Jessie is a great waiter. It was a great night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great New Nantucket Spot

Dined on September 11, 2014

The setting is lovely and the food is even better. A short walk from many downtown locations, we had a great meal out on the patio at dusk. The beef, as expected was excellent as was the wine selection by the glass. A new favorite for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ACK spot!

Dined on August 31, 2014

We all had a fantastic time! The burgers and drinks were great, and they helped us pick a crisp bottle of rosé. Cute setting and pleasant staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bone in filet is the best ever! One of t ...

vip
Dined on August 19, 2014

Bone in filet is the best ever! One of the best steaks I have ever had!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Try something new!

Dined on August 16, 2014

We felt like a steak dining experience on island in summer, which is so rare. The service was great and food excellent. One of the best rib eye steaks I have ever had. Also loved the ambiance, which was historic inn meets fresh upscale dining room.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Not Nantucket

Dined on August 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel and very elegant dining room. And therein lies my problem with this restaurant. It was over $300 for three of us with only two glasses of wine. Absolutely everything, including bread was a la carte. The food was ok, certainly not a "dining experience " worthy of these prices. There are dozens of fine restaurants on the island at less then half the price. Sorry, we wanted it to be better. On a positive note, the staff were terrific.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

review

Dined on August 12, 2014

Food was ok Steak was huge and full of fat - overpriced with no sides with it- just a big steak clam pasta had only 3 clams in the whole dish chairs and table were not steady on patio only one waitress to the whole patio - so it was a very long wait not sure if I will go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3

Confused

vip
Dined on August 12, 2014

I thought that the venue was very tastefully decorated, and was greeted by a waitress who seated us promptly. My steak was fine, and the service was attentive. The confusing part is in the details. The bartender who helped serve our party of 6 our drinks was dressed in faded jeans with an untucked shirt and sneakers, compared to a very pretty and well dressed waitress. The "background music" was loud Motown in a room where a light Bach would seem more appropriate. The hostess station is apparently outside the Inn in which the restaurant is located. No prominent signage indicating we should check in there as opposed to the dining room. This place is new but they better start getting to work on the details or they won't get to be old.

food3
ambience2
service1

Overpriced and slow service

Dined on August 11, 2014

Prime real estate but not prime experience. Waitstaff was nice but exceptionally slow. After being seated we waited for more than 10 minutes before waitress came back. After finally ordering it was one full hour before we got an appetizer. The food was good but not great. And yes..... I know it is Nantucket and so you should expect to pay a lot but wow.... Expensive.

food2
ambience1
service1

Service was terrible, food was mediocre ...

vip
Dined on August 8, 2014

Service was terrible, food was mediocre and the aesthetics needs a make over. Only a couple of months old and the place is overpriced and not pretty at all.

food2
ambience4
service2

Not worth the Trip

Dined on August 8, 2014

Beautiful, newly re-done dining room looks more like NYC than NKT. Appetizers were good, especially the oysters. The waitress, Cat, was surly, unfriendly and inattentive, acting as if she had better things to do than wait on the four of us. I had a steak that I could not chew, it was so tough. My husband ordered the rib-eye and left half of it on his plate because it was all fat. And if you are thinking of eating outside, the patio has an obnoxious wide-screen TV that just ruins the ambiance. Won't be dining there again. There are too many wonderful restaurants to choose from

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on August 8, 2014

3rd time back and the food and service was were as good if not better than the first two dinners. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly. Will be back whenever we are on Nantucket.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful evening

vip
Dined on August 7, 2014

What a great restaurant. Delicious food. The staff were friendly efficient and flexible - we had our 11 and 9 year old children with us and our waitress couldn't have been more helpful with tweaking the menu for them. We all had steak and each one was full of flavour, butter soft and perfectly cooked. Interesting wine list and delicious puddings also. We're in Nantucket for a week and are returning to Prime tonight.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Nantucket prime

Dined on August 6, 2014

Food was very average and the prices outrageous even for Nantucket. That location continues to fail, it could be successful but to do it you have to be special not run of the mill.

food5
ambience5
service5

First-timer

Dined on August 2, 2014

Loved the entire evening. Will go again next time on the island.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Addition

Dined on August 1, 2014

Had two meals here over the course of our week here. Great food and service. We sat on the patio. Steaks were very tasty. Scallop dish as well. We'll definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak in Nantucket

vip
Dined on August 1, 2014

Fantastic steak restaurant in downtown. Great pairing of wine to filet. Perfectly cooked. Flavors wonderful. Don't miss it for a nicer meal out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
food1
ambience3
service1

"Sub" Prime - Bring an Airbag!

vip
Dined on July 31, 2014

I was foolish. Normally I read Open Table reviews and I did not. A HUGE mistake. Caesar salad was lathered in dressing. Strip steak was reminiscent of something you would find at a Denny's except not as good. Thank God my Daughters Boyfriend was entertaining. DON'T GO! For the NY prices, at least provide a NY Steakhouse experience (or something better than Red Robin). Provide some food worth eating. You do the Coffin House a tremendous disservice. Just awful.

food1
ambience1
service1

Unpleasant

Dined on July 29, 2014

Wait staff very unprofessional. Poorly dressed in Jean shorts with nose rings. Not acceptable in such a pricey restaurant. Steak was so tough it had to be cut in very very small pieces to be Abe to chew and swallow it. French fries were greasy and soggy. Not crisp. Very disappointed. Will never return and if they last it will be a miracle.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.