About Nantucket Prime

29 Broad Street
Nantucket, MA 02554
View Larger Map

Nantucket Prime is an upscale island steakhouse, specializing in prime steaks, grilled fish, and raw bar.



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week
LUNCH: 11:30am – 5:00pm
DINNER: 5:30pm - 10pm
LATE NIGHT MENU: 10pm-12midnight - be sure to check out our daily additions!
PATIO BAR open until 1am

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-2117

Website:
http://ackprime.com/

Executive Chef:
Trent Lidgy

Nantucket Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (10)
romantic (5)
good for groups (4)
See All
special occasion (4)
fit for foodies (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
56 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were reluctantly seated inside - havi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were reluctantly seated inside - having thot we reserved outside. Inside is newly renovated but not well spaced or lit. A bit cavernous. Our food and service made up for it. I had scallops that were four large Scallops alone on the plate. They should have used a smaller plate but the quality was outstanding. My wife had a hamachi crudo on a house salad. Fresh and tasty. Our waitress was on top of everything. Great ipa from the bar and pinot grigio. Over all nice

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner, server was very nice and a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner, server was very nice and attentive. Will definitely come back next summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was alright.. The guacamole was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was alright.. The guacamole was pretty bland. Oysters were local and delicious. I split a fish which was a mistake because serving sizes were very very small.. Otherwise our waitress was very helpful and sweet and the atmosphere is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was great. And our server jeb w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great. And our server jeb was awesome. Thank you

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't know why I don't go here more of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I don't know why I don't go here more often. The outdoor seating is really fantastic and the food is solid. Wait staff did a nice job. They have outdoor televisions which were playing a Red Sox Yankees game which was great to be able to check in on once in a while.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Way too expensive for food I could have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Way too expensive for food I could have cooked at home and to get food that I couldn't it was even more.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Did not see waiter for long duration. Di ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Did not see waiter for long duration. Did not receive part of our order. Part of the order did not arrive as ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

OVERALL GREAT; ONE EXCEPTION -TWO CHOICE ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

OVERALL GREAT; ONE EXCEPTION -TWO CHOICES ON MENU WERE NOT AVAILABLE-HAPPEN TO BE MY FAVORITES--GUESS OTHERS TOO!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food, great steak selection, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Amazing food, great steak selection, and fresh oysters. Our server, Jed, gave us truly excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good. Recomme ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food and service was very good. Recommend you go.

Very friendly atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

A nice steak but that's it!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

While we thought the quality of the steak and the preparation was great, we were disappointed with our overall experience. When dining in Nantucket you expect that there will be a substantial mark-up for location and quality. However, you also expect remarkable service, extras and a unique experience. This did not happen. We felt that we were charged and even over-charged for each morsel. Perhaps for this restaurant to compete and sustain in Nantucket, they should make clients feel that they are pampered. We had a wonderful and similar meal at The White Barn in Kennebunk, ME and it was a total dining experience. At Nantucket Prime we had only a well cooked steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Prime is a bad combination of lousy food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Prime is a bad combination of lousy food, weak service and poor surroundings. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Food tasted like it was microwaved. Wors ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Food tasted like it was microwaved. Worst meal in Nantucket to date. Don't go, won't be around long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Great dinner. We sat outdoors on a cool ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Great dinner. We sat outdoors on a cool September night but the heaters made it just right. Great food and service. We have children with food allergies and we always appreciate it when people handle that well for us. Everything wax great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Engagement dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

My fiancé and I had dinner here to celebrate getting engaged earlier in the day. It was perfect - small and cozy, romantic and just absolutely lovely. The service was excellent, our bottle of champagne stayed chilled and our glasses were never empty. The server was extremely polite and friendly - providing a complimentary dessert at the end of our meal which was amazing. My fiancé had the 24 ounce porterhouse and I had the 9 ounce filet. Both were cooked to perfection. We had mashed potatoes and the corn risotto side dishes; potatoes were very good but I didn't really care for the corn dish. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a fine meal on the island and look forward to returning !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

- overrated

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

Not worth the hype. Needs a total refurbishment. Food was okay. Smell of grease overwhelming. Total disconnect with loud music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Delish steaks. Yummy sides. Memorable de ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Delish steaks. Yummy sides. Memorable desserts. Overall just a great meal. Will be back next year for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

First time -- Not the last

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Everything a meal on Nantucket should be: A warm summer night, with a full moon... Terrific food... Attentive, friendly service (including our genial host)... Great atmosphere. Smoked bluefish pate, NY strip, swordfish, and spinach side were perfectly prepared and seasoned. Lemon curd dessert was fresh and fabulous. We'll be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great spot

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

The food was excellent and it was only eclipsed by the friendly, knowledgable and professional staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our dinner at Prime was delicious. The s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

Our dinner at Prime was delicious. The service could not have been better. We were told upon arrival that "open table" reservations were for inside dining and on a beautiful night on Nantucket, when the rest of the island was outdoors enjoying mid-July beautiful weather, we sat alone in the dining room. It would have been nice to have some kind of special "touch" for our very expensive steak and potato dinner. ( greetings from the Chef or owner, perhaps a special complimentary roll?) They have the function down but need work on the "value added."

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Been here several times. Do not like the ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

Been here several times. Do not like the indoor section of this restaurant. Very bland and stuffy. Outside is the place to sit but it seems to be turning more towards a bar crowd than the dinner crowd. Food is very good. Service is spotty. Our waitress was overwhelmed and undertrained. Probably won't return. Too many better choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

The host was arrogant and unpleasant. I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

The host was arrogant and unpleasant. I almost left because he was so unfriendly and arrogant. The service overall was quite poor and continually rude. The food came out very slow and all our steaks came out at the wrong temperature. I wouldnt recommend going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Go for the food, but be wary of the service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2015

During our visit, on a Monday, at approximately 7 pm there were just five tables with diners in the indoor part of the dining area. At best service was fair, in which can only be described as a trial run before the season started. The servers were pleasant enough, indeed, even charming. But they really didn't have their act together at least not yet. This was disappointing because this was a special occasion dinner for us and because they were not business. This wait staff team needs some serious practice time together. That said, the food itself was absolutely excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Not Ready for Prime Time

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 6, 2014

I was rooting for this place as the JC needs a great restaurant in its space and the island could use a great steakhouse. The menu has all the right selections, including seasonal Nantucket Bay Scallops, which were pretty good apart from the undercooked gnocchi, and steak frites, the accompanying frites for which were cold. Unfortunately, and especially for the prices being charged, food and service were generally underwhelming while the noise level from the lounge overwhelmed the dining experience. Wine list is outrageously overpriced. The table next to ours sent the beef stroganoff dish back to the kitchen in search of the beef. For these prices, no bread basket to start your meal? Wait staff needs better training - drinks come fast, but food, not so much. The place is physically charming and the restaurant could develop into greatness, if only. I will give it another try in spring/summer and perhaps they will be ready for their close-up, then.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Nantucket prime was great.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 5, 2014

Nantucket prime was great. Food was excellent. The service was good. The server was there without hurrying us. I was with my three sisters and we we ate well, had fun, good drinks and had a very enjoyable evening at Nantucket prime.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 22, 2014

We had reservations they decided to close due to rain. They never notifies us and could care less

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Sensational

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

We dined at Nantucket Prime during our weekend visit to the island. Each one us raved about our meals. The filet was the best ive ever had. I Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who values quality dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding - did not care for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

Food was outstanding - did not care for Server but would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Calling all meat-aterians!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 9, 2014

The steaks were AH-mazing. Perfectly cooked! Their mushrooms were also quite tasty :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steak I've had in a LONG time

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 30, 2014

Nantucket Prime was OUTSTANDING.

Food was unbelievable and the service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Forgettable

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

The distinguishing features are high prices with an undistinguished menu. The service is very good and the setting is nice. Despite the name, I wonder whether the steak is prime. I suggest the swordfish.

We will not return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Nantucket's Best New Restaurant

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

This was our 5th time to Prime this season! We brought a group and sat outside under the stars.

It could not have been more perfect.

The food was outstanding. The menu had changed since we were there last and has a fall theme.

The service was excellent and Jessie is a great waiter. It was a great night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great New Nantucket Spot

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2014

The setting is lovely and the food is even better. A short walk from many downtown locations, we had a great meal out on the patio at dusk. The beef, as expected was excellent as was the wine selection by the glass. A new favorite for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great ACK spot!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2014

We all had a fantastic time! The burgers and drinks were great, and they helped us pick a crisp bottle of rosé. Cute setting and pleasant staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bone in filet is the best ever! One of t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2014

Bone in filet is the best ever! One of the best steaks I have ever had!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try something new!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

We felt like a steak dining experience on island in summer, which is so rare. The service was great and food excellent. One of the best rib eye steaks I have ever had. Also loved the ambiance, which was historic inn meets fresh upscale dining room.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Nantucket

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel and very elegant dining room. And therein lies my problem with this restaurant. It was over $300 for three of us with only two glasses of wine. Absolutely everything, including bread was a la carte. The food was ok, certainly not a "dining experience " worthy of these prices. There are dozens of fine restaurants on the island at less then half the price. Sorry, we wanted it to be better. On a positive note, the staff were terrific.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

review

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2014

Food was ok

Steak was huge and full of fat - overpriced with no sides with it- just a big steak

clam pasta had only 3 clams in the whole dish

chairs and table were not steady on patio

only one waitress to the whole patio - so it was a very long wait

not sure if I will go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Confused

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on August 12, 2014

I thought that the venue was very tastefully decorated, and was greeted by a waitress who seated us promptly. My steak was fine, and the service was attentive. The confusing part is in the details. The bartender who helped serve our party of 6 our drinks was dressed in faded jeans with an untucked shirt and sneakers, compared to a very pretty and well dressed waitress. The "background music" was loud Motown in a room where a light Bach would seem more appropriate. The hostess station is apparently outside the Inn in which the restaurant is located. No prominent signage indicating we should check in there as opposed to the dining room. This place is new but they better start getting to work on the details or they won't get to be old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Overpriced and slow service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2014

Prime real estate but not prime experience. Waitstaff was nice but exceptionally slow. After being seated we waited for more than 10 minutes before waitress came back. After finally ordering it was one full hour before we got an appetizer. The food was good but not great. And yes..... I know it is Nantucket and so you should expect to pay a lot but wow.... Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.