Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Nantucket Prime

3.8
87 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

Nantucket Prime is an upscale island steakhouse, specializing in prime steaks, grilled fish, and raw bar.



Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
7 days a week
LUNCH: 11:30am – 5:00pm
DINNER: 5:30pm - 10pm
LATE NIGHT MENU: 10pm-12midnight - be sure to check out our daily additions!
PATIO BAR open until 1am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(508) 228-2117
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Trent Lidgy
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Centre Street
What 87 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.8based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.7
service
3.8
ambience
3.2
value
Noise · Moderate
74% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on December 14, 2016

Great over Stroll weekend, can't wait to be back this summer!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Stroll Weekend and they were not prepared for the rush. Beautiful venue, grouchy greeter, wait staff excellent and food was good but not great meat like summer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Our server Kat was friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 2, 2016

This is my first and last time going to prime
Restaurants not professionally Ron who have amateur staff service was horrible and the food was mediocre at best
It is not someplace I'd recommend to anybody

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 4, 2016

Nothig. Restaurant was closed with no notice. Disappointed in the communication.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2016

Very nice place to dine- love the decor and the food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 15, 2016

Service was poor but it wasn't the server, who was fine. It was the kitchen. The chef comped us an extra appetizer to apologize for the wait. We then waited too long for our entrees. They admitted their mistake and then repeated it.
Also, one would think a steakhouse called Prime would have prime rib. Actually, they don't have much beef at all. I had the Big M-ACK burger. OK, but the food trucks at Cisco Brewery are a better value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2016

My wife and I had a lovely evening at Nantucket prime. The staff is super friendly, and we absolutely adore the outdoor patio. The manager Kat was so nice, she came over to us a couple of times to check on us and made sure we had a memorable experience. The food is top notch! Make sure you try the big mACK. We will definitely go back there next time we are on Nantucket!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 3, 2016

Lively outdoor dining venue. Service was fair food was expensive and not uniformly good. My salmon was barely edible and I ercooked. My husband's swordfish was perfect. Very uneven food and service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 30, 2016

Awful in so many ways. Well after appetizers served (including cold chowders) waiter came to table to tell us they were taking the swordfish 3 of us had ordered off the menu for the fall and just ran out (don't they buy it fresh every day rather than for the season?), and didn't he know this right after we placed our order? We instead ordered salmon cooked rare and halibut. Both well overcooked and served cold. Had a nice bottle of wine, but nobody ever visited the table to pour it. To their credit, they took all the main courses off the bill. Terrible food, terrible service. So many other good places on island to eat. Avoid this at all costs - and perhaps since this is so poorly managed also avoid their related restaurants at other Nantucket Island Resorts properties.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 27, 2016

I made a reservation for two weeks in advance realizing Nantucket can be a busy place. The restaurant was relatively quiet and we were seated outside, neck to the stairs. I asked to move inside which wasn't a problem. We ordered the Burrrata, for 19$ and it was 1/8 a slice of tomato and some cheese. When the dish was addressed with the waitress she simply stated "this is how it comes". We left after the small snack.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

Really a gorgeous night! We were seated immediately in garden-nice al fresco experience. Drinks, raw bar and a lovely heirloom tomato/stone fruit salad all were lovely. Great entree choices beyond steaks-the pan roasted lobster sounded so tempting but we were trying to switch it up so focused on aged steaks. All perfect and sides were presented /seasoned well. Kids enjoyed as well and devoured it all... Hard to get the perfect mix across ages, trends and palates...but it worked! Coffees, desserts also great-passionfruit sorbet and a brownie sundae. On par w/NYC restaurants but in a absolutely lovely Nantucket locale. Really a nice experience to round out the weekend. We'll be back they are doing all the right things from service, food and overall experience--it is obviously well planned/orchestrated to be this successful...So happy we chose this!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food, great service: Moisa was really sweet and attentive!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 21, 2016

It was a great family evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2016

Great experience all around. The host and wait staff were super-friendly. Was very kid-friendly as well. Big M-ACK delicious as always!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Great setting! Great food! Great bartender. But what happened in the kitchen? After waiting almost 30 minutes for our salads/starters; we then waited 45 minutes more for one entree (the other 3 came 6-7 minutes later) we truly enjoyed the food and the bartender waiting on us in the fun outdoor bistro worked very hard, but the manager made excuses and really never handled it the way she should have. We'll give Prime another try as setting superb, food excellent. Hopefully my next review will be even more positive.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 19, 2016

When you have to send 3 out of 4 steaks back, that's the sign of a bad "steak house". One was way too rare (and we like our steaks medium rare) and two were lukewarm at best. For $65 a steak I expected things to be much, much better. There are way too many other great options on Nantucket to have to put up with sub par food. Maybe that's why we got a reservation just two days ahead of time.

I do have to say that the sommelier/manager did the right thing. I told her that they needed to do something on the bill and she rightly took the most expensive steak off the bill (we still spent over $400). She had heard about our food and was mortified. She didn't push back when I asked for some kind of credit.

I couldn't recommend this place to any one looking for a good meal on Nantucket.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service was fantastic - everyone was very attentive. We sat outside by the bar and enjoyed the music played by the bartender - not too loud which was awesome. The wine list was very nice but would have been better if it had more moderate priced options. Although the food was deliious - the sides were ala carte. If I am buying a $49.00 piece of steak - it would have been nice if sides were included. The experience was good, outsiding dining fabulous but a bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 8, 2016

Ridiculously slow service. 30 minutes before bread. 90 minutes before entrees. Has been going downhill last summer and this. Great venue, food and service have become disappointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 7, 2016

This place was dead in terms of diners. We were the only ones seated inside on a Sunday night. Place was boring, overpriced, and slow. Perhaps would've been a different experience if we had been seated outside, which we requested but were told our request could not be accommodated. Would not return or recommend given the other options available in the area.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was unfriendly. Hostess tried to put us inside when reservation acknowledged outside only. Steak under cooked; raw, not medium rare. Sent it back and it came out the same. No steak knife. No salt and pepper. Shouldn't have to ask for these items.I could go on but you get the idea.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2016

We've been coming to Nantucket for over 20 years, we've got our favorites. The Summer House has long been on the top of the list, it's now off the list. Prime is a MUST GO restaurant, we will never visit without at least one dinner at Prime. By far the best steak on Island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2016

Nantucket Prime did not disappoint. We come at least once a season to have their tomahawk steak which was cooked to perfection. The couple at the table next to us had the same. We paired it with bearnaise and bordelaise sauces as well as the best carrots I have ever tasted (fresh from Moor's End farm). My wife had the Daou Cabernet which she raved about. It was a gorgeous, cool night and we sat on the terrace. The service was friendly and the manager was very attentive. Only good things to say. Will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 2, 2016

Overall very disappointed. We booked through Open Table and that means you are inside. At best it is a small ballroom from the 1950's with little or no character. Service was great. Calm chowder very bland and the pear salad had maybe a quarter of a peer. My husband loved his tuna and the steaks got mixed reviews from the kids. Definitely a miss.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 1, 2016

Friendly staff but not the cleanest place. Our little one was crawling for two minutes inside the dining room and completely dirty from head to toe. Food ok but nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2016

delish...had a fab new york strip cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2016

The fillet mignon was amazing. The service was great. Inside was beautiful. Overall a great experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 23, 2016

We were reluctantly seated inside - having thot we reserved outside. Inside is newly renovated but not well spaced or lit. A bit cavernous. Our food and service made up for it. I had scallops that were four large Scallops alone on the plate. They should have used a smaller plate but the quality was outstanding. My wife had a hamachi crudo on a house salad. Fresh and tasty. Our waitress was on top of everything. Great ipa from the bar and pinot grigio. Over all nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Great dinner, server was very nice and attentive. Will definitely come back next summer.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 23, 2016

The outdoor seating is great, but that's about it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was alright.. The guacamole was pretty bland. Oysters were local and delicious. I split a fish which was a mistake because serving sizes were very very small.. Otherwise our waitress was very helpful and sweet and the atmosphere is great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was great. And our server jeb was awesome. Thank you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 20, 2016

FOOD WAS GOOD BUT THE KITCHEN DIDNT GET THE FOOD OUT IN TIMELY FASHION. OUR BAKED POTATO CAME OUT AFTER WE FINISHED OUR MEAL.. WHO WANTS TO EAT A BAKED POTATO FOR DESSERT. YOU ONLY HAD 3 TABLES DINING INDOOR. OUTSIDE PATIO WAS BUSY.
PORTIONS COULD BE SLIGHTLY LARGER. I ALSO THINK YOU SHOULD ADD OTHER OPTIONS FOR CATEGORY RECOMMENDATIONS.. NONE OF THE ABOVE MATCHED MY DINNER ATMOSPHERE.
SIDE NOTE. THE COUPLE SITTING IN THE NEXT BOOTH EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM OF FOOD NOT MAKING IT TO THE TABLE IN A TIMELY FASHION...THANK YOU

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 17, 2016

I don't know why I don't go here more often. The outdoor seating is really fantastic and the food is solid. Wait staff did a nice job. They have outdoor televisions which were playing a Red Sox Yankees game which was great to be able to check in on once in a while.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 17, 2016

Way too expensive for food I could have cooked at home and to get food that I couldn't it was even more.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 15, 2016

It was terrible. Don't go beyond a burger!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 12, 2016

Did not see waiter for long duration. Did not receive part of our order. Part of the order did not arrive as ordered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 6, 2016

OVERALL GREAT; ONE EXCEPTION -TWO CHOICES ON MENU WERE NOT AVAILABLE-HAPPEN TO BE MY FAVORITES--GUESS OTHERS TOO!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 5, 2016

Amazing food, great steak selection, and fresh oysters. Our server, Jed, gave us truly excellent service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 27, 2016

Food and service was very good. Recommend you go.
Very friendly atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3