About Nan and Byron's

1714 South Blvd.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Nan and Byron's, located in Historic South End, focuses on Traditional American food with an emphasis on specialty crafted cocktails, alongside a vibrant bar scene.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch- Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch- Monday through Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner- All Week: 5:00pm - until

Cross Street:
South Blvd and East Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 224-7492

Website:
http://www.nanandbyrons.com/

Parking Details:
All guests of Nan and Byron's receive complimentary valet Friday & Saturday beginning at 5:30pm-until...

Public Transit:
The LYNX light rail stops at the cross of East and West Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Jamie Lynch

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact sales@nanandbyrons.com

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join Us for Father's Day!
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nan and Byron's is a new restaurant concept from the creators of 5Church serving a traditional cuisine. We are a family friendly restaurant located in the heart of Charlotte's Historic South End on the Corner of East and South Blvd. We offer private and semiprivate areas for all your events.

Nan and Byron's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Southend ›

neighborhood gem (49)
fit for foodies (42)
good for groups (42)
See All
great for brunch (33)
great for outdoor dining (27)
special occasion (26)
hot spot (24)
great for lunch (23)
romantic (14)
kid-friendly (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was excellent, as was the food. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent, as was the food. No complaints at all.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Overpriced and Not Very Organized

Dined 6 days ago

It was our first visit. Some of the food was good, but some was very bland. There were NO gluten-free options in terms of pastries, bread, grains, etc. There were NO dairy-free options either unless you count mixed fruit and meat. The meat and seafood selection was great, but since I am gluten and dairy sensitive, it was definitely overpriced for me. Our table was kept cleared off very well, but the bar was out of several food items multiple times throughout our time there (1:00 p.m. on a Sunday). It was not super crowded, but I had to ask for buffet items a couple of times because they were out and had not been replenished. The hostesses did not seem very interested in answering questions about the menu. Overall, I would not go back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The shrimp and grits dish was amazing!!!

Dined on May 17, 2016

The shrimp and grits dish was amazing!!!

food2
ambience2
service2

We went here to celebrate our son's 21 b ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We went here to celebrate our son's 21 bday. Very disappointing! Ordered mussels for appetizer which were good. After that it was all down hill. It took 45 minutes for our food to come. They put the wrong dressing all over my husbands salad. The portions were tiny for fairly pricey food. We ended up going thru a drive thru a few hours later. Won't be back!

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing but if you order off th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing but if you order off the menu during the buffet hours be ready to wait for an hour

food4
ambience5
service4

I had a steak and as always ot was cooke ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I had a steak and as always ot was cooked exactly as i ordered. My dining companion had the chicken pot pie. She was not impressed and would not order it again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My service is always outstanding!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've always enjoyed lunch and brunch. Looking forward to cocktails and dinner! The menu selections are wonderful! I posted a picture of the mushroom burger, it was huge and delicious! I couldn't finish it all in one sitting and it was still tasty as a leftover! My only concern was on Mother's Day a man came in and somehow got past Management/Hostess and was going from table to table asking for money for food, mine included. A manager did escort him out but he only came to two tables offering an apology, walking right past me and my table. He did look my way but proceeded on. That was a bit disappointing...

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

It was a great experience - good to see ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a great experience - good to see plenty of Moms on this special day. My mom enjoyed it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Stuffed

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the 2nd time we went here for brunch. It did not disappoint. Everyone left overly stuffed. Everything was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mom for Mother's Day! The food was fantastic! The buffet was kept clean, stocked and the food was hot!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great, meatloaf was good and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was great, meatloaf was good and pork chops were excellent. Vegis had a lot to desire.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome brunch! Includes crab legs, oys ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Awesome brunch! Includes crab legs, oysters and roast!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome BRUNCH

Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch buffet was amazing. Well worth the $23!!!! Includes a drink and they are constantly refilling the buffet! I recommend a reservation- they get busy QUICK!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp and grits melt in your mouth. The ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Shrimp and grits melt in your mouth. The tacos were interesting and good The Oreo desert was delicious. A very welcoming place. Great service

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I don't usually complain about a restaurant but sadly I must do so. My husband and I went here for Sunday brunch on 4/24/16. I had high hopes but we left highly disappointed. I had read all the negative reviews about the service and I have to say, sadly they were right. There were only about 6 other sets of customers in the restaurant and most decided on the $23/pp buffet. It looked like a nice buffet but we were not that hungry to justify the cost. So we opted for lighter fare. It took over 30 minutes to get our meal. While my Salmon benedict was excellent, my coffee was cold. While my husband's Boulevard breakfast was good, he didn't get the short stack of pancakes he ordered on the side and our waiter never came to refill our coffee, or even check on us until after we asked for the check. There appeared to be at least 7 waiters working but they all just seemed to be doing anything but helping serve the customers. It was odd. There is a management problem here that needs to be fixed before they lose their business. But we will not return and I will unfortunately not recommend Nan & Bryon's.

food2
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere and service but food ca ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great atmosphere and service but food can be basic especially for the price.

food2
ambience3
service2

I really wanted to like this place! Menu ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

I really wanted to like this place! Menu looked good but our experience was one disaster after another. Food was not good and managements response to it all was even worse. I won't be back ... until a new place takes the spot and hopefully runs a quality restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Hard to hear your food

Dined on April 22, 2016

We have been here three times and always the menu and food were excellent. Our only complaint is about the noise level in the dining room. You are seated side by side to other tables. Not only is it hard not to hear what they are saying, the ambient noise gets louder as the night goes on. There is little sound absorption. Go for the food, but not for an intimate evening or important business lunch. Would be fun for a group of friends, if you don't care that people on both sides of you will hear everything you are saying.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was good, but even dishes that were ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was good, but even dishes that were supposed to be hot were barely warm, at best. The 'carved meat station' had just small servings that were dried out, served by someone who didn't seem to care, and who didn't know what the sauces were. All the food that was supposed to be cold or warm were fine, though. Also, don't be short and want the buffet. It's likely you won't be able to see into the containers, and if you can, you will need to be very nimble to be able to actually be able to reach in and open them.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I don't recommend the brunch buffet.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food on the buffet was room temperature. They were running low on a lot of the hot items and they didn't replace them. The pancakes (small round disks) were overcooked/hard. The pastry options were just so-so. The shrimp were good, but I was told by someone in my party that the crab and oysters were not that great. The kicker is this is the most expensive brunch buffet that I've been to in Charlotte - $23. This was our first time going there and we will not be back. The nicest thing I could say is that the service was good.

food3
ambience2
service4

Mussels were great. Truffled eggs (devil ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Mussels were great. Truffled eggs (deviled) was also good. Portions nice. Restaurant too noisy for my taste.

food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Good but slow!

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was great...the service was painfully slow. Thank goodness we allowed extra time for traffic and brunch, otherwise we would have missed the opening of our show at Blumenthal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

I was very disappointed in the quality of the food. This was the second time to the restaurant and daughter from came in from out of town for her birthday. My wife order the grilled Salmon medium and it came out Chard. We ask the server to carry it back and she brought a second plate out and the salmon was put on the plate “RAW”. It appeared this was intentional since we sent the 1st plate back. The food was not eatable and very disappointed in the quality of food. I went from recommending this restaurant to not every going back. I paid the $110.00 tab and left the restaurant.

food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The meatloaf was awful and came with wha ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The meatloaf was awful and came with what looked and tasted like frozen vegetables. The shrimp and grits were bland but passable. The sparkling mojito was nothing special . The popcorn that they serve as a starter was supposed to be different but tasted stale and unappetizing. The décor was okay but seemed to be trying a little too hard. The server was nice and the meat and cheese plate was good. We won't be returning.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Brunch Buffect

Dined on March 27, 2016

I went with my family for Easter Brunch. The food was pretty good. I really enjoyed the smoked Salmon. They also had cold crabs, and fresh oysers included. The Carving stations, they had ham and turkey, which was a little cold to me, but overall everything was Great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I really wanted to love this new place - ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

I really wanted to love this new place - but the brunch buffet was truly horrible. The food was overall overcooked and dried out on the buffet, the pancakes and pastries were rock hard and the "special meats" were unavailable each time we went back to see if they had been replenished. The deviled eggs tasted store bought, which is fine if you aren't spending $25 a head. Cute interior and pleasant waitress, although all she did was bring us drinks. We had guests with us so we didn't make a fuss - but I will not be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service are always good her ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The food and service are always good here

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food.

Dined on March 16, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Fantastic and friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Rather loud. Service is fast only if you ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Rather loud. Service is fast only if you do the buffet for brunch...otherwise it can take 30-40 min to get your food. Our server also was extremely slow on drinks.

food4
ambience3
service4

Our 2nd dining experience was not as goo ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Our 2nd dining experience was not as good as our first visit last Feb. 28. They took out the two best items in the menu, the ravioli porcini with lobster tail and steak with arugula salad. Thankfully they kept the tomato soup with grilled cheese crab sandwich. Unfortunately, the tomato soup was a little salty this time. We ordered the bucatini

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good time, great food

Dined on March 6, 2016

My group has visited Nan & Byron's several times. Each time the food has been excellent and the service has been terrific. We were closer to the prime time rush on this trip and everything took a little longer this time when compared to other trips. That would be my only complaint. Waitstaff was good and the food was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Meh

Dined on March 5, 2016

Place was good when it opened, but has gone downhill. Service was slow and food was cold.

food2
ambience3
service4

Food portion was very small and came out ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Food portion was very small and came out cold

food4
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed myself here, the ravioli was g ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

I enjoyed myself here, the ravioli was great, Mac and cheese was good, and the lobster mashed potatoes were to die for. The noise here isn't too bad, but to be fair on the night I went there was a 55 person party in there. The service was excellent! Megan and Ryan were super friendly, and very attentive, but not over bearing or annoying which is important to me. I came to dine here one time before today and the experience wasn't great, what's awesome is they listened to my concerns and they went above and beyond to make it right this time! I can't say how great their customer service was enough times. Again Megan and Ryan are super awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5

We have met here before for lunch. Wonde ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

We have met here before for lunch. Wonderful food, we got the south end chicken hoagie and kitchen sink salad. Be sure to get two different desserts so you can share!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A Gem

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food with reasonable prices. The ambience is just right to have a decent conversation. Piped in music was good. The manager came to our table to say hello. We're definitely returning for more delicious food.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cool atmosphere

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I finally tried Nan and Byron's recently, and were both pleased but not overly impressed with the experience. Our server was on point, which was wonderful. The homemade spiced popcorn was a unique alternative to munch on while we waited for our food...no complaints there! Our food was fairly good. I enjoyed my beet burger until the very end when all I was eating was large chunks of steamed beet. Between that taste and the raw red onion on the sandwich, I couldn't get those flavors out of my mouth for the rest of the night! The top half of the bun was also hard, like perhaps it had been heated a bit too long. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his chicken pot pie. I loved the fresh herbs featured in it. We probably won't go out of our way to return to Nan and Byron's since the prices and quality of the food aren't top notch, but it was definitely worth a visit!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and great service

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and myself visited on Sunday around 545PM. Had a reservation,were quickly seated. We were going to a concert at 7 so did not order an appetizer. My wife had wine and was served promptly. I ordered Mearloaf and she had Salmon. Service time was fairly quick. Both were delicious. Meatloaf was moist and tasty. I tried Salmon and was good. We ordered Key lime Pie. It was getting late so they packed it for us. We both would go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for brunch and did not order the bu ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Went for brunch and did not order the buffet, but wish we did! Will be returning for the brunch buffet on many more Sunday's to come.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great, service was attentive. B ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was great, service was attentive. But we all loved our cocktails. The Refashioned, Saint's Cut and Farmhouse Lemonade were our choices and they were terrific. Oh yeah, do yourself a favor and order the oreos for dessert, too.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.