HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Nan and Byron's

4.1
720 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (801)
  • Fit for Foodies (723)
  • Good for Groups (592)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Nan and Byron's serves up American fare with a modern twist. Its setting offers a casual atmosphere with warm lighting and comfortable seating. Nan and Byron's offers a variety of dishes for guests to try. An appetizer of tuna tartare, shrimp cocktail or peppadew poppers will tantalize the taste buds. Guests can dine on a main course of porcini mushroom ravioli, spicy NY strip steak with Yukon potatoes, meatloaf or pan-seared scallops with caramelized brussel sprouts. This restaurant also offers desserts, salads and sandwiches.

Nan and Byron's has a full bar with televisions overhead for guests to view the latest sports events. It offers brunch and provides outdoor patio seating.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch- Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch- Monday through Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner- All Week: 5:00pm - until
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(980) 224-7492
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: South Blvd and East Blvd
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 720 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1
  based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipncstargazing (Charlotte)
3.0
Dined on September 18, 2016

$23 is a fair price for a brunch buffet, but this particular offering was quite the "hit-and-miss" experience. A fellow diner enjoyed their crab legs and I thought the hashbrown casserole was excellent! However, the biscuits and gravy were inedible due to the high sugar content. Perhaps other states enjoy "sweet" gravy, but North Carolinians will not be amused. A selection of sweets was offered and could be compared to that of the Frozen section of a grocery store. The scrambled eggs contained so much milk that the flavor was lost. However, the bacon was quite tasty! All in all, we were satisfied with the meal, but felt that the value was not there. Still, based on past experiences with this restaurant, we will certainly return for meals other than "brunch".

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
1.0
Dined on September 18, 2016

Tons of items were scratched off of the menu. The only protein option, aside from the buffet, was eggs. Unfortunate- used to be one of our favorite brunch spots. Won't return :(

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
4.0
Dined on September 14, 2016

Great place for appetizers or a late snacking kind of restaurant. Bartenders are fantastic!

Report
Helpful
vipVeggielover (Charlotte)
3.0
Dined on September 10, 2016

We typically love this spot but this time the menu changed and it was just mediocre. The popcorn we received at the beginning of the meal was burnt, and when we requested a new batch it was still burnt. We didn't like that we lost the ability to select meats and cheeses for the charcuterie plate - we did not like the ones we received. Furthermore, many of the entrees changed, so the portobello mushroom dish was still on the menu but the best part, the sweet potato blue cheese gratin, was no longer served with it. Neither was the charred onion hollandaise. Not sure if we will be back again.

Report
Helpful
MIss (Charlotte)
2.0
Dined on September 4, 2016

Brunch is not a good time to go . They have serious problems getting food out if you order from the menu. Very slow. The food was not good and we have been there many times and things were always great! Not sure what their deal was for Sunday brunch. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
2.0
Dined on September 4, 2016

Horrible service.

Report
Helpful
vipteeks33 (Charlotte)
2.0
Dined on September 2, 2016

I have never been to a restaurant that serves Rib Eye steak all chopped up looking like a plate being served to a child. Potatoes were cold, and service was not good. We had reservations and there were only 3 other tables seated when we arrived, and yet we still waited 10 minutes just to get drinks ordered. When my friend asked about why his steak was all chopped up, the waitress scowled at him saying this is how it is served, and they have a Hanger steak on the menu that is served the same way. I am pretty sure hanger steak and rib eye are 2 total different steaks. 10 dollars for a glass of wine that was not even a full glass by restaurant standards. Needless to say, but I won't be going back to this restaurant anytime soon

Report
Helpful
Mike (Baltimore)
3.0
Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything was just 'OK' but when you factor in the price, it was a slightly displeasing service.

We got two bottles of wine (pinot noir & malbec)--both were about $35/bottle. Unfortunately, the wine was clearly stored at room temperature...and in a room that was likely 75-80 degrees. A wine cooler would have been nice to get it to a more drinkable temperature. C for the wine experience.

The appetizers were great (calamari and pimento cheese). No complaints here.

Entrees were pretty bad. Everything clearly sat under a heat lamp for a while....even though we waited quite a while between appetizers and entrees so there was no apparent reason to hold them. Every dish had some type of sauce which the top was getting crusty from sitting for a while.

1. Ribeye - Mashed potatoes were good, steak was a bit undercooked (very rare/arguably raw in some places). Broccolini very bland.

2. Salmon - Extremely salty, bland, and overcooked. Was way overcooked and over salted to the point that the two who got it found it hard to finish. Broccolini was bland. Advertised potatoes coming with it as well...but these were mostly a garnish as it was literally 4 sauteed potato chips served underneath everything.

3. Specialty Taco Entree - I tried three different ones (Fried Shrimp, Buffalo Shrimp, and Seared Tuna). Seared Tuna was probably the best, but still not great. Fried Shrimp and Buffalo shrimp were edible but not enjoyable. The Fried Shrimp variety included a soy and ginger but it was really pretty overpowering. The tacos were also very small. 2-3 SMALL shrimp per taco, 1 thin slice of tuna, and very little topping on either of them--clocking in at $18...kind of a rip off IMO.

We got desserts but I didn't really try any. The rest of the table found them enjoyable, though.

Service was quite good.

All-in-all, I really wanted to love the place. I did absolutely the interior and would love to come back for a couple COLD drinks and appetizers (the only great part, IMO).

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
3.0
Dined on August 28, 2016

The tables were very cramped, which was a huge inconvenient when returning to the buffet.

Report
Helpful
Holly (Charlotte)
3.0
Dined on August 20, 2016

It took longer than usual (per waitress) for food to come out. When it did it was less than pleasing. My brussel sprouts were not even cooked, almost impossible to eat. The mashed Yukon potatoes were almost none existent on my plate. The scallops were okay, but I've had way better. Very disappointed and will not be returning. Good place for drinks, but definitely not food.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
72

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch- Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch- Monday through Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner- All Week: 5:00pm - until
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
South Blvd and East Blvd
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(980) 224-7492
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
All guests of Nan and Byron's receive complimentary valet Friday & Saturday beginning at 5:30pm-until...
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The LYNX light rail stops at the cross of East and West Blvd.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jamie Lynch
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Nan and Byron's is a new restaurant concept from the creators of 5Church serving a traditional cuisine. We are a family friendly restaurant located in the heart of Charlotte's Historic South End on the Corner of East and South Blvd. We offer private and semiprivate areas for all your events.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Patrick Whalen: (855) 398-5191
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please contact sales@nanandbyrons.com