Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

5Church5Church
(1613)
Contemporary American | Uptown, Charlotte
Reserve Now
300 East300 East
(1045)
American | Dilworth, Charlotte
Reserve Now
CopperCopper
(896)
Indian | Dilworth, Charlotte
Reserve Now
The LibertyThe Liberty
(887)
Comfort Food | Southend, Charlotte
Reserve Now
Luciano's - CharlotteLuciano's - Charlotte
(505)
Italian | Southend, Charlotte
Reserve Now
BonterraBonterra
(1090)
Contemporary American | Dilworth, Charlotte
Reserve Now
Sullivan's Steakhouse - CharlotteSullivan's Steakhouse - Charlotte
(2067)
American | Southend, Charlotte
Reserve Now
O-Ku - CharlotteO-Ku - Charlotte
(2)
Sushi | Southend, Charlotte
Reserve Now
Nikko Japanese RestaurantNikko Japanese Restaurant
(320)
Sushi | Southend, Charlotte
Reserve Now
JP CharlotteJP Charlotte
(149)
American | Uptown, Charlotte
Reserve Now
Zen FusionZen Fusion
(101)
Fusion / Eclectic | Dilworth, Charlotte
Reserve Now
Bernardin's Restaurant - CharlotteBernardin's Restaurant - Charlotte
(815)
Contemporary American | Uptown, Charlotte
Reserve Now
Fiamma RestaurantFiamma Restaurant
(904)
Italian | Dilworth, Charlotte
Reserve Now
Fran's Filling StationFran's Filling Station
(261)
Bistro | Dilworth, Charlotte
Reserve Now
Brazz Carvery & SteakhouseBrazz Carvery & Steakhouse
(474)
Steak | Uptown, Charlotte
Reserve Now

About Nan and Byron's

1714 South Blvd.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Nan and Byron's, located in Historic South End, focuses on Traditional American food with an emphasis on specialty crafted cocktails, alongside a vibrant bar scene.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch- Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch- Monday through Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner- All Week: 5:00pm - until

Cross Street:
South Blvd and East Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 224-7492

Website:
http://www.nanandbyrons.com/

Parking Details:
All guests of Nan and Byron's receive complimentary valet Friday & Saturday beginning at 5:30pm-until...

Public Transit:
The LYNX light rail stops at the cross of East and West Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Jamie Lynch

Private Party Facilities:
Nan and Byron's is a new restaurant concept from the creators of 5Church serving a traditional cuisine. We are a family friendly restaurant located in the heart of Charlotte's Historic South End on the Corner of East and South Blvd. We offer private and semiprivate areas for all your events.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Whalen: 8553985191

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact sales@nanandbyrons.com

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Nan and Byron's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fun (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

$23 is a fair price for a brunch buffet, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

$23 is a fair price for a brunch buffet, but this particular offering was quite the "hit-and-miss" experience. A fellow diner enjoyed their crab legs and I thought the hashbrown casserole was excellent! However, the biscuits and gravy were inedible due to the high sugar content. Perhaps other states enjoy "sweet" gravy, but North Carolinians will not be amused. A selection of sweets was offered and could be compared to that of the Frozen section of a grocery store. The scrambled eggs contained so much milk that the flavor was lost. However, the bacon was quite tasty! All in all, we were satisfied with the meal, but felt that the value was not there. Still, based on past experiences with this restaurant, we will certainly return for meals other than "brunch".

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Tons of items were scratched off of the ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Tons of items were scratched off of the menu. The only protein option, aside from the buffet, was eggs. Unfortunate- used to be one of our favorite brunch spots. Won't return :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Great place for appetizers or a late sna ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great place for appetizers or a late snacking kind of restaurant. Bartenders are fantastic!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We typically love this spot but this tim ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We typically love this spot but this time the menu changed and it was just mediocre. The popcorn we received at the beginning of the meal was burnt, and when we requested a new batch it was still burnt. We didn't like that we lost the ability to select meats and cheeses for the charcuterie plate - we did not like the ones we received. Furthermore, many of the entrees changed, so the portobello mushroom dish was still on the menu but the best part, the sweet potato blue cheese gratin, was no longer served with it. Neither was the charred onion hollandaise. Not sure if we will be back again.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Brunch is not a good time to go . They h ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Brunch is not a good time to go . They have serious problems getting food out if you order from the menu. Very slow. The food was not good and we have been there many times and things were always great! Not sure what their deal was for Sunday brunch. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Horrible service.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I have never been to a restaurant that s ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have never been to a restaurant that serves Rib Eye steak all chopped up looking like a plate being served to a child. Potatoes were cold, and service was not good. We had reservations and there were only 3 other tables seated when we arrived, and yet we still waited 10 minutes just to get drinks ordered. When my friend asked about why his steak was all chopped up, the waitress scowled at him saying this is how it is served, and they have a Hanger steak on the menu that is served the same way. I am pretty sure hanger steak and rib eye are 2 total different steaks. 10 dollars for a glass of wine that was not even a full glass by restaurant standards. Needless to say, but I won't be going back to this restaurant anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was just 'OK' but when you fa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything was just 'OK' but when you factor in the price, it was a slightly displeasing service.

We got two bottles of wine (pinot noir & malbec)--both were about $35/bottle. Unfortunately, the wine was clearly stored at room temperature...and in a room that was likely 75-80 degrees. A wine cooler would have been nice to get it to a more drinkable temperature. C for the wine experience.

The appetizers were great (calamari and pimento cheese). No complaints here.

Entrees were pretty bad. Everything clearly sat under a heat lamp for a while....even though we waited quite a while between appetizers and entrees so there was no apparent reason to hold them. Every dish had some type of sauce which the top was getting crusty from sitting for a while.

1. Ribeye - Mashed potatoes were good, steak was a bit undercooked (very rare/arguably raw in some places). Broccolini very bland.

2. Salmon - Extremely salty, bland, and overcooked. Was way overcooked and over salted to the point that the two who got it found it hard to finish. Broccolini was bland. Advertised potatoes coming with it as well...but these were mostly a garnish as it was literally 4 sauteed potato chips served underneath everything.

3. Specialty Taco Entree - I tried three different ones (Fried Shrimp, Buffalo Shrimp, and Seared Tuna). Seared Tuna was probably the best, but still not great. Fried Shrimp and Buffalo shrimp were edible but not enjoyable. The Fried Shrimp variety included a soy and ginger but it was really pretty overpowering. The tacos were also very small. 2-3 SMALL shrimp per taco, 1 thin slice of tuna, and very little topping on either of them--clocking in at $18...kind of a rip off IMO.

We got desserts but I didn't really try any. The rest of the table found them enjoyable, though.

Service was quite good.

All-in-all, I really wanted to love the place. I did absolutely the interior and would love to come back for a couple COLD drinks and appetizers (the only great part, IMO).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

The tables were very cramped, which was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The tables were very cramped, which was a huge inconvenient when returning to the buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

It took longer than usual (per waitress) ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It took longer than usual (per waitress) for food to come out. When it did it was less than pleasing. My brussel sprouts were not even cooked, almost impossible to eat. The mashed Yukon potatoes were almost none existent on my plate. The scallops were okay, but I've had way better. Very disappointed and will not be returning. Good place for drinks, but definitely not food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

awesome experience, food andservice. I w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

awesome experience, food andservice. I will recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Every item we ordered was delicious and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Every item we ordered was delicious and distinctive. The meatloaf and scallops were phenomenal and the beet burger was a terrific find for our vegetarian friend. Will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I absolutely love the ambiance of this r ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I absolutely love the ambiance of this restaurant! The lighting is perfect and not to bright. You also have great seating options- indoor or outdoor. The Nightshade Martini is great and so are the peppadew poppers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It took us 2.5 hours to get out food. A ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It took us 2.5 hours to get out food. Absurd. There was no one else there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Great food!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nan and Byron's was recommended to my wi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nan and Byron's was recommended to my wife and I by her son who lives in Charlotte. My wife was told the salmon was very good. The restaurant appears to be a converted gas station. View from our dining area was the side of an old building which appeared to be abandoned. The atmosphere was quite loud. Our waitress was a bit inattentive. Portions were small. I had the oyster appetizer. The oysters were small and tasteless and were overwhelmed by the pineapple and sauce they were served with. I ordered the ribeye which was small and cut to fan out to make it appear larger. My wife had the salmon, which unfortunately was served to her despite obviously being spoiled. They offered her something else and she had the pimiento cheese which was hard, underseasoned, and basically tasteless. Can't recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

More of a bar comfort food than a restua ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

More of a bar comfort food than a restuant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

We went there for restaurant week. The m ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went there for restaurant week. The meals were good but the desserts were terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The salmon was very undercooked

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The salmon was very undercooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

First Time Was a Charm Very pleased wit ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First Time Was a Charm

Very pleased with our first experience here. We happened to come during Restaurant Week and 3 out of 4 of us took advantage of that. Good value, because unlike other restaurants, they include your first glass of wine or beer (or standard cocktails). I ordered the hangar steak which was honestly the best steak I've had in a LONG time. It was better than the filet mignon. Great flavor and super tender. The server was very friendly and somewhat prompt. Everyone loved their entrees, which included the filet and the scallops. The only things that weren't wonderful were the desserts - they were very standard, nothing special. The restaurant also needs a wider selection of wines by the glass. Overall, we are coming back, for sure!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was so-so. Nothing spectacular wher ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was so-so. Nothing spectacular where I "had" to go back. Our waiter, Mike, made our dining experience special though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service were awesome. Will be r ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service were awesome. Will be returning soon! Key lime tart was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 6:00 pm and our ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a reservation for 6:00 pm and our out of town guest 's flight was delayed by two hours so we called and asked to have our reservations pushed back by an hour. We actually excepted that they would not be able to accommodate us as it was a busy Friday night, not only did they make the change they were very nice when we called to let them know we were stuck in traffic they pushed the reservation another 15 minutes.

The staff was so friendly when we finally got there and the food was delicious. We were able to have a lovely dinner with our friends from Austria.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good service. Location was busy for ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Very good service. Location was busy for restaurant week but the waitress took care of all our needs. Steak was cooked just as it was requested. Look forward to trying other dishes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Unfriendly hostess and lack luster servi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Unfriendly hostess and lack luster service and what's up with the waiters? Had to search them out to get us tea & coffee. Breakfast buffet was tasty and filing for $23. No alcohol til 12 on Sunday's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We went for restaraunt week and made a l ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went for restaraunt week and made a late reservation for 9:30 on Saturday. We were pleased to see a nice ambiance, and we were seated promptly as the restaurant wasn't very busy at that time. However, things turned quickly. They must have been understaffed because we sat there 15 minutes waiting for someone to at least acknowledge us and take our drink orders. We finally asked a waitor who was walking by and finally got some service. The popcorn we received was old and burnt. There was a weird spicey topping as well. My husband and our friends ordered calamari for an appetizer and hated it. My tomato soup was okay but it was more like marinara sauce. I did enjoy my shrimp and grits but that was about it. My husband said the filet was just okay. My smores cheesecake was no better than a store bought cheesecake with chocolate syrup on top, and my husbands banana pudding tasted like "jello pudding" from the package with a couple cookies and 3 small cut bananas on it. Definitely not worth the $70 we spent. #disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I had high hopes for our dinner here, bu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I had high hopes for our dinner here, but was sorely disappointed. Calamari was over seasoned to the point you couldn't eat it. The tuna tartar was warm. The chicken pot pie was cold and lacked seasoning, and the banana pudding was just a bowl of warm banana pudding with one wafer cookie.

I wish I did not pay for the food, barely edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We always enjoy Nan & Byron's!!! We went ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We always enjoy Nan & Byron's!!! We went for restaurant week and had reservations, but they sat us in the bar area so it was a little loud. Food is always consistent and different.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a good overall experience. The s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a good overall experience. The service was excellent. The only thing missing was flavour! This seems to be common these days. The presentation was good, everything looked nice, but pretty much tasted the same ... bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Such a disappointment. My boyfriend and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Such a disappointment. My boyfriend and I came here for the first time during restaurant week. We went at 5:45 to avoid crowds. When we got there, we were seated at a two top with very uncomfortable chairs, so I asked if we could sit at the booth side. We were told that we couldn't because every table was reserved, but by the time we left only half the restaurant was full. Immediately we felt rushed by the wait staff. We were pressured to order quickly and eat even quicker. Each course was brought before we had a chance to finish eating. The food was so heavily salted and seasoned that it was hard to eat. The whole time, we felt as if we were being rushed through. Walking in the door, eating a three course meal and getting the check took 38 minutes. The whole time, at least 5-8 waiters and waitresses stood in the back chatting and hanging out. It was so uncomfortable seeing this as I was eating. Overall, we could not enjoy the experience because we were being rushed through. We spoke to the couple at the table next to us afterwards, and they felt the exact same way. Big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We were part of Restaurant Week with a 6 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were part of Restaurant Week with a 6:30 reservation. When we entered, while we were greeted, the table we were shown to was right next to another party...when I asked could we sit here or here or here...i was told no "Those are all reserved." I said, "well, we made a reservation." Seeing my displeasure the hostess did nothing to help us but put the menus on the original table and walked away. That did not start the night out right. And jumping ahead, 3 of the four tables I requested as alternates were still empty when we left after finishing our meal. That did not go unnoticed.

Luckily, the server we had was great...friendly, on top of things, she took a bad beginning and turned everything around.

The first two courses were good, not great. Dessert was a complete let down. Overly sweet key lime pie and the S'Mores Cheesecake didn't live up to the hype. Completely tasteless and warm. The key lime tart was supposed to have a fruit puree on the base of the plate, but that had been put on the plate so long beforehand that it completely hardened.

It was a nice touch to offer a complimentary beer or glass of wine...odd however that we were never asked if we'd like another drink..which I was fully expecting to pay for. As restaurants make their money on the bar tab, I'd suggest that might be an area you'd like to push more.

But in the end, we figured you needed to turn tables quickly as we weren't even done with either the first or second courses and the next one arrived. Talk about FAST! Too fast!

So, while I'm glad we gave your restaurant a try, with so many restaurants in Charlotte I doubt we'll be back. Thanks, but sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding service and food! Four of us ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding service and food! Four of us went for restaurant week and can't wait to go back. We were all pleased with our appetizers as well as entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It was just some typical breakfast item ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was just some typical breakfast items including fresh oyster and crab legs. Nothing to wow me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food and drinks were great, but the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and drinks were great, but the service was extremely slow. The kitchen was slow that the waiter/bartender ended up giving us a round of drinks on the house which was really nice. Would definitely go back, but the kitchen needs to step it up with the timing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The cutest little spot! My mom and I ate ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The cutest little spot! My mom and I ate dinner here during a trip to Charlotte and we were pleasantly surprised.

Mom had the beet burger and raved about it. Get the mojito fries. I had salad with salmon and a side of brussel sprouts. Sprouts were good, could have been cooked a bit more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the food at this restaurant! The sp ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Love the food at this restaurant! The spring roll appetizer and Greek salad are my favorites.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre. Waitress was accommod ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was mediocre. Waitress was accommodating. Found the reviews were overly generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

As usual food and service was fantastic, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As usual food and service was fantastic, but there was a very loud, obnoxious party of at least thirty people! They completely ruined our dining for the evening as all three of us rushed through our meal and left with aching heads! The waitstaff kept apologizing, but something should have been said to the group. In future we will walk out if large groups are there. Too many other wonderful places in Southend, to put up with that again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Went for happy hour with a girlfriend, i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Went for happy hour with a girlfriend, it was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had a reservation for Father's Day. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a reservation for Father's Day. The food was good however because it was a holiday, you could only purchase the brunch buffet. It would be nice for this to be posted on the website or in the reservation confirmation. It worked out for our group so I will not complain. Just know if you are not buffet people (and we are not) call ahead to confirm you can order off the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.