About Nan and Byron's

1714 South Blvd.
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Nan and Byron's, located in Historic South End, focuses on Traditional American food with an emphasis on specialty crafted cocktails, alongside a vibrant bar scene.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch- Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch- Monday through Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner- All Week: 5:00pm - until

Cross Street:
South Blvd and East Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 224-7492

Website:
http://www.nanandbyrons.com/

Parking Details:
All guests of Nan and Byron's receive complimentary valet Friday & Saturday beginning at 5:30pm-until...

Public Transit:
The LYNX light rail stops at the cross of East and West Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Jamie Lynch

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact sales@nanandbyrons.com

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nan and Byron's is a new restaurant concept from the creators of 5Church serving a traditional cuisine. We are a family friendly restaurant located in the heart of Charlotte's Historic South End on the Corner of East and South Blvd. We offer private and semiprivate areas for all your events.

Nan and Byron's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Southend ›

good for groups (28)
neighborhood gem (28)
great for brunch (27)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for lunch (14)
special occasion (14)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfriendly hostess and lack luster servi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Unfriendly hostess and lack luster service and what's up with the waiters? Had to search them out to get us tea & coffee. Breakfast buffet was tasty and filing for $23. No alcohol til 12 on Sunday's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We went for restaraunt week and made a l ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went for restaraunt week and made a late reservation for 9:30 on Saturday. We were pleased to see a nice ambiance, and we were seated promptly as the restaurant wasn't very busy at that time. However, things turned quickly. They must have been understaffed because we sat there 15 minutes waiting for someone to at least acknowledge us and take our drink orders. We finally asked a waitor who was walking by and finally got some service. The popcorn we received was old and burnt. There was a weird spicey topping as well. My husband and our friends ordered calamari for an appetizer and hated it. My tomato soup was okay but it was more like marinara sauce. I did enjoy my shrimp and grits but that was about it. My husband said the filet was just okay. My smores cheesecake was no better than a store bought cheesecake with chocolate syrup on top, and my husbands banana pudding tasted like "jello pudding" from the package with a couple cookies and 3 small cut bananas on it. Definitely not worth the $70 we spent. #disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I had high hopes for our dinner here, bu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had high hopes for our dinner here, but was sorely disappointed. Calamari was over seasoned to the point you couldn't eat it. The tuna tartar was warm. The chicken pot pie was cold and lacked seasoning, and the banana pudding was just a bowl of warm banana pudding with one wafer cookie.

I wish I did not pay for the food, barely edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We always enjoy Nan & Byron's!!! We went ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

We always enjoy Nan & Byron's!!! We went for restaurant week and had reservations, but they sat us in the bar area so it was a little loud. Food is always consistent and different.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a good overall experience. The s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a good overall experience. The service was excellent. The only thing missing was flavour! This seems to be common these days. The presentation was good, everything looked nice, but pretty much tasted the same ... bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We were part of Restaurant Week with a 6 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were part of Restaurant Week with a 6:30 reservation. When we entered, while we were greeted, the table we were shown to was right next to another party...when I asked could we sit here or here or here...i was told no "Those are all reserved." I said, "well, we made a reservation." Seeing my displeasure the hostess did nothing to help us but put the menus on the original table and walked away. That did not start the night out right. And jumping ahead, 3 of the four tables I requested as alternates were still empty when we left after finishing our meal. That did not go unnoticed.

Luckily, the server we had was great...friendly, on top of things, she took a bad beginning and turned everything around.

The first two courses were good, not great. Dessert was a complete let down. Overly sweet key lime pie and the S'Mores Cheesecake didn't live up to the hype. Completely tasteless and warm. The key lime tart was supposed to have a fruit puree on the base of the plate, but that had been put on the plate so long beforehand that it completely hardened.

It was a nice touch to offer a complimentary beer or glass of wine...odd however that we were never asked if we'd like another drink..which I was fully expecting to pay for. As restaurants make their money on the bar tab, I'd suggest that might be an area you'd like to push more.

But in the end, we figured you needed to turn tables quickly as we weren't even done with either the first or second courses and the next one arrived. Talk about FAST! Too fast!

So, while I'm glad we gave your restaurant a try, with so many restaurants in Charlotte I doubt we'll be back. Thanks, but sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding service and food! Four of us ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service and food! Four of us went for restaurant week and can't wait to go back. We were all pleased with our appetizers as well as entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It was just some typical breakfast item ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was just some typical breakfast items including fresh oyster and crab legs. Nothing to wow me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food and drinks were great, but the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and drinks were great, but the service was extremely slow. The kitchen was slow that the waiter/bartender ended up giving us a round of drinks on the house which was really nice. Would definitely go back, but the kitchen needs to step it up with the timing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The cutest little spot! My mom and I ate ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The cutest little spot! My mom and I ate dinner here during a trip to Charlotte and we were pleasantly surprised.

Mom had the beet burger and raved about it. Get the mojito fries. I had salad with salmon and a side of brussel sprouts. Sprouts were good, could have been cooked a bit more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the food at this restaurant! The sp ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Love the food at this restaurant! The spring roll appetizer and Greek salad are my favorites.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre. Waitress was accommod ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was mediocre. Waitress was accommodating. Found the reviews were overly generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

As usual food and service was fantastic, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As usual food and service was fantastic, but there was a very loud, obnoxious party of at least thirty people! They completely ruined our dining for the evening as all three of us rushed through our meal and left with aching heads! The waitstaff kept apologizing, but something should have been said to the group. In future we will walk out if large groups are there. Too many other wonderful places in Southend, to put up with that again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Went for happy hour with a girlfriend, i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Went for happy hour with a girlfriend, it was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had a reservation for Father's Day. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a reservation for Father's Day. The food was good however because it was a holiday, you could only purchase the brunch buffet. It would be nice for this to be posted on the website or in the reservation confirmation. It worked out for our group so I will not complain. Just know if you are not buffet people (and we are not) call ahead to confirm you can order off the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

It was Father's Day and the regular menu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was Father's Day and the regular menu wasn't available at all -- it was either the $23 buffet or nothing. I wanted a really light meal so this was a problem. Plus, the buffet did not include salads as advertised. It was a disappointing, expensive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We ate Father's Day brunch. Overall a go ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We ate Father's Day brunch. Overall a good eating experience, with plenty to choose from. The children particularly like the chilled seafood, including crab legs. I thought the meat carving station to be better than the normal buffet, with tender brisket and moist pork loin. The pastries could have fresher as the bagels were stale and there was no cream cheese for the lox.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was not overly busy with ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The restaurant was not overly busy with guest but did have a huge rehearsal dinner. They seemed to balance the 100+ crowd very well. They were totally separated from the dining area we were seated in. Even with having to serve all those people, staff, service & food, our meals did not take an obnoxious amount of time to come out. The server was as attentive as possible given the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I liked the decor of the restaurant and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I liked the decor of the restaurant and there seemed to be plenty of tables. It was not too crowded while we were there for lunch so we were seated right away and the service was really good. Everyone tried something different and we also tried the pimento cheese appetizer. I think everyone in our party enjoyed their food and also enjoyed the atmosphere. The location was convenient for our guests from Uptown and our group from Southpark.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great weekend brunch!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great weekend brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a very good brunch, food excellen ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was a very good brunch, food excellent and a nice selection to please everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife had the "Classic tacos" and I ha ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife had the "Classic tacos" and I had the Signature Tacos. The Classic chicken tacos were good with plenty of spice. The Classic ground filet tacos had an "off" flavor that neither of us cared for. The Specialty pork tacos were bland. Draft beer was warm. Big party going on so maybe it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Quiet because there were very few diners ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Quiet because there were very few diners. Even so, the server was either new or didn't care!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Brunch so hard!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Brunch buffet is AMAZING and you can't beat a $2.50 refill for mimosas! We can sit here for HOURS- Sunday FUNDAY! Delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Easy to get to a ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food and service. Easy to get to and a decent amount of parking. The overall interior has a cool feel - and I love the popcorn they bring to the table when you sit down. Nice unique touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time here and appreciated the dive ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

First time here and appreciated the diverse menu, the drinks were off the chart good, limited draft beer selections though. We had the stuffed peppers, the spring rolls, and the crispy oysters which were very good. For dinner we had the filet, pork chops, and scallops. The filet was slightly overcooked but we chose not to send it back, still very tasty though, the pork chops over grits had great flavor but needed some type of vegetable to round out the plate. Overall we were pleased with our experience here but not blown away.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was excellent, as was the food. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Service was excellent, as was the food. No complaints at all.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overpriced and Not Very Organized

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

It was our first visit. Some of the food was good, but some was very bland. There were NO gluten-free options in terms of pastries, bread, grains, etc. There were NO dairy-free options either unless you count mixed fruit and meat. The meat and seafood selection was great, but since I am gluten and dairy sensitive, it was definitely overpriced for me. Our table was kept cleared off very well, but the bar was out of several food items multiple times throughout our time there (1:00 p.m. on a Sunday). It was not super crowded, but I had to ask for buffet items a couple of times because they were out and had not been replenished. The hostesses did not seem very interested in answering questions about the menu. Overall, I would not go back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The shrimp and grits dish was amazing!!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The shrimp and grits dish was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went here to celebrate our son's 21 b ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We went here to celebrate our son's 21 bday. Very disappointing! Ordered mussels for appetizer which were good. After that it was all down hill. It took 45 minutes for our food to come. They put the wrong dressing all over my husbands salad. The portions were tiny for fairly pricey food. We ended up going thru a drive thru a few hours later. Won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was amazing but if you order off th ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing but if you order off the menu during the buffet hours be ready to wait for an hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had a steak and as always ot was cooke ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I had a steak and as always ot was cooked exactly as i ordered. My dining companion had the chicken pot pie. She was not impressed and would not order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was ok....

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was ok....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

My service is always outstanding!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've always enjoyed lunch and brunch. Looking forward to cocktails and dinner! The menu selections are wonderful! I posted a picture of the mushroom burger, it was huge and delicious! I couldn't finish it all in one sitting and it was still tasty as a leftover! My only concern was on Mother's Day a man came in and somehow got past Management/Hostess and was going from table to table asking for money for food, mine included. A manager did escort him out but he only came to two tables offering an apology, walking right past me and my table. He did look my way but proceeded on. That was a bit disappointing...

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience - good to see ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a great experience - good to see plenty of Moms on this special day. My mom enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Stuffed

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the 2nd time we went here for brunch. It did not disappoint. Everyone left overly stuffed. Everything was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mom for Mother's Day! The food was fantastic! The buffet was kept clean, stocked and the food was hot!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, meatloaf was good and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was great, meatloaf was good and pork chops were excellent. Vegis had a lot to desire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome brunch! Includes crab legs, oys ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Awesome brunch! Includes crab legs, oysters and roast!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome BRUNCH

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch buffet was amazing. Well worth the $23!!!! Includes a drink and they are constantly refilling the buffet! I recommend a reservation- they get busy QUICK!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.