About Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill

1776 Cheshire Bridge Road
Atlanta, GA 30324
View Larger Map

Nakato Japanese Restaurant is Atlanta's oldest Japanese restaurant. Established in 1972, Nakato is 3rd generation Japanese owner operated establishment. Please come in and enjoy our hibachi dining as well as an array of other Japanese cuisines from Sushi to Traditional tapas style dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Piedmont Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-6583

Website:
http://www.nakatorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Nakato offers complimentary valet services but also has a separate lot off of Piedmont Road for self parking.

Executive Chef:
Yoshifusa Kinjo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Sachiyo for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sachiyo Nakato: (404) 873-6583

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Fun (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Romantic (4)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very noisy. Too many children. Food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Very noisy. Too many children. Food was so so. The food was mediocre. I doubt we will go back. Mainly because of the moist level.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This was not a good first time visit to ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was not a good first time visit to Nakato, and it will likely be my last. I honestly think the food is a bit overrated. It was mediocre, at best. I have had much better hibachi style meals. In addition, our waitress had a crappy attitude. My party had already taken note of her unpleasantness. Not two minutes later, a lady in a second party at our table said, "This is my first time here, and she is not making this a good first time experience. " I thought several times about asking the third party at our hibachi table if we could switch waitresses. So, I hoped that I'd be able to leave a more positive review, but I can't. Sorry. Not sorry!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was great, as always. The price ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was great, as always. The prices have gone up, however. While this used to be a regular go-to restaurant for us, it will now probably have to be a rare special occasion due to the prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We came for New Year's Eve and have make ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We came for New Year's Eve and have make this an annual tradition. We also enjoy Nakato throughout the year for dinner.

I think our chef on 12/31/16 was the best we've had at Nakato. Very talented man! The drink service was slow though and it was difficult to get her attention.

I do feel that this restaurant rushes tables during holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

First time here and I must say it was th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time here and I must say it was the best hibachi place I have ever been to! Food was fantastic! Chef was magnificent and very understanding because my husband does not eat red meat and he did not place the salmon near the red meat. Salad dressing was to die for. Soup was good. Fried rice amazing. And they sat us in this room where we took our shoes off I thought that was so interesting. Definitely will come back here when visiting Georgia again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had dinner at Nakato's for my birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had dinner at Nakato's for my birthday and it was such an awesome experience. The waiters sang Happy Birthday to me!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. We were one of the last t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was good. We were one of the last tables and felt kind of rushed by the server.

We had to ask for the sauces (ginger sauce, etc). I don't know if that is customary or not.

Spent $150 (plus $30 tip) for three people. Would have been nice if server boxed up our leftovers for us instead of just handing us a bunch of to-go boxes. We still had to ask for a bag (to put the to-go boxes in) and to-go soufflé cups (for the sauces we had to ask for).

All in all, the food was very good and the chef cooked everything to our liking. For a $180 meal, seemed a little tacky at the end of meal to be rushed and have to pack up our food. In addition, if you're not going to pack up our food, at the very least bring the appropriate supplies so we don't have to ask for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I chose here for Christmas dinner with m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I chose here for Christmas dinner with my teenage daughter. We had not had our girls day for the month, so we took care of both here! Our server Lauren and our Chef Tin were the consummate professionals. By us not visiting an authentic hibachi style restaurant before, we were a little awkward at first, however Lauren never let us know that she noticed. Tin was playful and accommodating with the meal and its preparations.

We will definitely recommend and visit again. Thank you for making our Christmas dinner even more magical!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is ok. I would not say food is ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The place is ok. I would not say food is so great. It is medium Hibachi Restaurant, nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We arrived 15 minutes prior to our reser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes prior to our reservations and still waited 50 minutes past the reserved time. To calm our frustrations, (Me complaining about them seating others ahead of us) they finally seated us. But unfortunately we had to wait an extra 37 minutes (yes I counted minutes) for the cook to come. This is my 8th or 9th visit, so telling me that this is the norm is not sufficient. Other than the poor service or lack of attention to customers needs, the food was great as always. The food and the cook made up for the customer servicing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Nakato was great. My reservation was fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Nakato was great. My reservation was for 7:30 and we all arrived a little late but they were very accommodating. Our chef was friendly and hilarious and our wait staff was just as good. Food was amazing as usual. I recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room, Fun, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really need to work on the efficiency an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Really need to work on the efficiency and logistics of the valet. Very slow response

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This place is better than the typical ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place is better than the typical chain hibachi restaurants. They sell drinks in fishbowl size.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Spicy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is dirty, worn and very l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The restaurant is dirty, worn and very loud. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Excellent service. The complimentary val ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service. The complimentary valet is very convenient and very professionally handled. Our chef Dan was hilarious, and really entertaining to everyone at the table. Had a couple tricks and things I hadn't seen before, which is always nice. Very good experience.Will be returning soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but the service was horri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, but the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I enjoyed this resturant setting and sta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I enjoyed this resturant setting and staff was amazing..godzilla favorite drink!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. T ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The customer service was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was great. Same chef like last ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The chef was great. Same chef like last time. Everything was good as always. Oh best fried rice in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my wife birthday and everythi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Celebrated my wife birthday and everything went great. Service was spot on and the food was amazing. The servers catered to our every need. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time, seated with warmth ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a great time, seated with warmth and hospitality. The food is always tasty with an abundance of left over for next day. The atmosphere is great for all age groups and occasions. I'd say see for yourself, but I often frequent for the Hibachi.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good. Reserv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food and service were very good. Reservation was on time, valet parking was great.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our family to Nakato for our son ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We took our family to Nakato for our son's 9th birthday. Our kids loved the "show"--getting to see the chef cook right at table and were crazy about all the fun stuff he did w/fire (onion volcano, tossing a raw egg around on his spatula w/out breaking it, etc). We had a blast. The food isn't bad, but don't expect it to knock your socks off. It's more about the experience. I'd go back for a party again, but wouldn't seek out their hibachi for a date w/my husband or anything--too many fabulous places to eat in Atlanta for that!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

It was great. Food was good, needed more ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 10, 2016

It was great. Food was good, needed more flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Quality is low and expansive. Will not r ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Quality is low and expansive. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is too salty

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food is too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We had a poor experience at this restaur ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a poor experience at this restaurant it needs a major overhaul.

Food was subpar and gross .

Could have had a better frozen heated in microwave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I usually am satisfied leaving Nakato bu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I usually am satisfied leaving Nakato but I had an uncommon experience with them. It was my birthday and they brought the wrong person my birthday dessert. Then when they brought mine, it was pistachio ice cream. I also think the $4 upcharge for fried rice is excessive. Meal was good but not worth the price point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing service and food

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Amazing service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation and still wasn't seat ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Made a reservation and still wasn't seated for another 45 min. Something must be off with then heating and cooling. They four fans with dust flapping on the placed around the room blowing to help ventilate the space. It felt very damp and moist. Our chef didn't engage or do anything with the diners. Due to allergies they made my food in the kitchen. It came out stale and dry. I don't plan to ever go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice & clean restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice & clean restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As always the food and service are excel ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always the food and service are excellent. When making a reservation for the grills, I wish you could specify if you cannot sit in the section where removal of shoes is required. Since we could not sit there, we had an extra 30 minute wait. I also have a severe allergy to Onions and was unable to eat some options as they all came with onions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to celebrate a birthday with chi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday with children. It was very entertaining for the children. The food was very good, but they charged us extra to share, which we thought was not very admirable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was absolutely horrible! The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was absolutely horrible! The host was extremely rude and it ruined the night before it even began.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

It was my husband's birthday and we were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we were excited about trying "one of the best Japanese in Atlanta". Not only did they forget it was his birthday....it was in the open table reservation and the person confirming the reservation confirmed it, but the food was average..no better than any other Japanese we have frequented! When I mentioned it to the server, she did not apologize for the oversight, just said no one told her. Talk about a lack of communication! So I found it to be overpriced for what we got and not a lot of vegetables included in the meal. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Meal was substantially undermined by the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Meal was substantially undermined by the presence of a birthday party of 7-year-olds at the hibachi table that the parents made no effort to control. Constant shrieking, little boy mock fighting outside the hibachi room as we entered presented a safety hazard as well as noise pollution. Unexpected as our reservation was for 8 pm. Fortunately they left and the ambiance improved dramatically. Our hibachi chef was excellent, the meal was tasty, but the restaurant is beginning to look a little shabby. Recommend checking before accepting a table shared with young rowdy kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Way overpriced. Food was terrible and bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Way overpriced. Food was terrible and bill was more than a nice expensive restaurant but with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great place to celebrate birthdays. Fun ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place to celebrate birthdays. Fun for all involved. Food is always good and fresh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The main room is so loud and their was a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The main room is so loud and their was a geouo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was good however we went half the m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was good however we went half the meal waiting on a refill . When we got it, it was just a cup of drink with no ice

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.