Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill

Nakato Japanese Restaurant is Atlanta's oldest Japanese restaurant. Established in 1972, Nakato is 3rd generation Japanese owner operated establishment. Please come in and enjoy our hibachi dining as well as an array of other Japanese cuisines from Sushi to Traditional tapas style dining.

1776 Cheshire Bridge Road
Atlanta, GA 30324
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Piedmont Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-6583

Website:
http://www.nakatorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Nakato offers complimentary valet services but also has a separate lot off of Piedmont Road for self parking.

Executive Chef:
Yoshifusa Kinjo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Sachiyo for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sachiyo Nakato: (404) 873-6583

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (15)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Casual (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Went for hibachi and it was great food, great atmosphere and enough food for lunch the next day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Had a very great Esperance fast courtesy, The food was very good the chef was very entertaining overall a great experience

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great portions, great food, and always great service as well. I have loved all of my visits to Nakato regardless of occasion. Hibachi rooms can get noisy if there are children.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing service. It was a bit warm where we sat. The crowd was a little rowdy & we had to speak loudly to hear each other. But, great meal overall.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had a great time. I would recommend for an evening outing.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Not impressed by the quality of food or the amateur hibachi chef who basically just cooked the food. When I go to hibachi I go for a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was great. We were celebrating a birthday and they made it very special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Terrific service from host to bar to dinner...always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great place to go to for any occasion! Food was great! Try the Godzilla (Alcoholic Drink)!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Delicious hibachi. Will be back to try the sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2017

My group and I are frequent patrons this restaurant. We went to today for my birthday dinner. We had reservations at time of opening. Host staff was very friendly. The chef was good. The food was okay. Not seasoned as well as usual and the portions are getting smaller and smaller each time we go. My group requested extra sides of noodles (an additional charge) but never received them. The chef gave the extra noodles my party ordered to two kids at the table so they received what we paid for. Other than that, dinner was good. Because we went early, the noise level was low and nice. I received a scoop of ice cream a with a song from the staff (thank you). I hope the value gets better. I hate to keep overpaying for such a small amount of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The value is decreasing. For $26 I got six cubes of chicken and a half dozen shrimp.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Everything was good except that they did not have air conditioning in the intimate hibachi area. It was extremely hot inside, especially after the flames on the grill started to heat everything up. I be been to this place nearly 10 times before, and I never felt it that hot. I also asked the waitress or sever about the heat, She replied, "yes it's been like this all day.... I understand what you mean."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I love eating here. Nakato's is hands down the best hibachi restaurant I've been to. My only issue this time was the service. Our waitress was absent just about the entire night. We had to ask other waiters/waitresses to do HER job... sorry that I didn't catch her name .. she didn't introduce herself maybe JEN??? Not sure .. but despite that the food was delicious and I'll definitely be back .. hopefully WITHOUT her being the server over us.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great restaurant with really good food. I was overwhelmed by the amount of food I bought.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was fantastic. Arguably the best Habachi grill for I've ever had. BUT - and I really, really hope the restaurant rethinks this. A section of the restaurant has on the floor seating, where you remove your shoes and have to sit down into the booth, basically sitting in the floor with chair backs. The issue is that the spacing in these areas is horrible. My wife had to cross her legs to not touch the man next to her, my leg was pushed up against the table leg the entire time. My parents who are both overweight were compressed up against each other and none of us had enough space to put our arms on the table. One of us always had to have one arm behind the other persons simply to have room to eat. 4 other "tables" in this area were used during our time there and each table had people that struggled to sit down and have room. This is an ATROCIOUS seating arrangement for elderly, overweight, people with bad knees, weak people, ect... it's not well thought out at all. We were given no choice where to seat for the Habachi. Had they asked us if we wanted that seating or the normal table hibachi grill table service we would have immediately chosen the second, which everyone we talked to around our table said the same. My parents struggled to get out of the table chairs which was embarrassing for them and put a damper on a great birthday celebration.

The food here was incredible, and well worth the price. However, the forced seating and inconsiderate setting would certainly make me rethink coming back here again if they don't choose to remodel and fix this. They're uncomfortable, no room, hard to get in and out of, and inconsiderate to make people sit there when others were seated at regular tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The service was great. Good friendly environment! Our cook was experienced & prepared the food to perfection. In addition, the bar was nice. Good drinks served with a good amount of alcohol.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very humid and warm inside. Food was ok.. service was very slow. Took 20 minutes to get a soda

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I really enjoyed my time at the restaurant; however, our server was extremely rude to our entire table (ppl we didn't even know were at the table and felt the same way). We had to report him to management and they handled the situation which we were appreciative of. I will definitely frequent the place because the food was delicious and our hibachi chef was entertaining and fun

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Took my mother here while visiting. Busy but easy to get a reservation later on a Saturday evening. Hostesses were wonderful to help my mother put her walker somewhere that it would be out of the way. Food was amazing. Overall service was great. Will be back when we visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food is nothing like it used to be. It tastes different, and not in a good way. The chef at the hibachi grill did not speak much at all. He did not do any of the tricks that are usually done, and he did not ask if anyone was celebrating anything. Our server was just as bad. She rarely came to check on us, she didn't ask if we were celebrating anything. We used to go to this restaurant once or twice a month, but now it is not worth the drive or the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Place was packed full, there were probably 5 birthday songs in the time I was there and they said that was very unusual but it is apparently the birthday hotspot. It has the highest reviews in the city and surrounding areas so that's why I picked it. The chef was great and the food was even better. I had sushi and hibachi and the portions are huge. It was pretty noisy but that's to be expected. The waitress was a little slow on the refills but other than that it was top notch!! I would definitely go again and recommend to all my friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The only thing that bothers me about this place is you have to ask for the dipping sauces. I ask for the sauces and he only poured the white sauce. I had to ask for the other as well. We've been here several times and happens quite often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The air wasn't working, and they xidnt9ha e the decency to comp soft drinks at least. The waitress gave incorrect information. The saving grace was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband , daughter and I really enjoyed ourselves. The food was amazing and the prices are reasonable especially since they give you a lot of food! Family friendly restaurant... customer service was excellent ... we made reservations and was seated on time
Overral is was a great experience
Will definitely come back

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My family and I treated my husband for father's day at this restaurant. He really enjoyed the food, myself and my kids did too. We did not enjoy our server Lauren, she really seemed like she didn't want to work that day. It was definitely made up for by our hibachi chef (should've got his name), he was great and the food was spectacular!!! I'd absolutely return but would definitely not want to be seated in Lauren's section.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a great time at a semi-private table. Lots of fun and conversation was lively. A relaxed experience. You never feel rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The place needs a major facelift especially by the hibachi grill. The chef/cook behind the grill was not entertaining, we had 4 kids on our table and not one was excited to be there. The chef/cook cooked up some veggies, meat served it and left...the food was very bland. There was another table besides us where the chef was very engaged with the patrons, but that was just one out of the 8 I saw...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was a great experience with good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Cook was very friendly and funny and food tasted AMAZING. Only thing was one of the waitress was kind of rude to one of my guests

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Pretty good hibachi. Chest was good at his craft, not very engaging but could have been the crowd rather than him. Waitstaff was hard working but overall I felt a bit rushed to finish what was a bit of an overpriced meal. 3 stars overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Reunion with friends !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Not impressed at all considering all the reviews. Our chef was very UN interesting and non entertaining. The food wasn't anything different than any other habatchi place I've been to -especially considering the amount it all cost. Nope not impressed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food as always , waitress was a little rushed with serving the check but was slow during dinner with any drink refills or orders for cocktails . I only saw her twice during dinner , but 3-4 times as we still tried to finish our plates to rush with payment and boxing up the remaining food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was date night for my wife and I. The food was terrific as usual. The grill area seemed far more smoky than We had ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was delicious. You will get ur money worth. When u leave there, you are going to be extra full. Try to go on a light stomach

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent food! This place never disappoints. Nakato is unfortunately only open for dinner but if they were open for lunch, I would come here way too often.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Definitely the best hibachi in Atlanta that also happens to be a top 10 sushi spot. My wife gets the hibachi and I get the sushi and we share. Their sushi selection is vast. The rice is well done sushi rice. We came here for Mother's day recently and everything went very well. I should say everything ended well. We had a reservation at 6:30 but they couldn't seat us until almost 7pm. It's understandable on a busy day when you can't control how long others linger at a table. But I still was not happy waiting. What made it right was them noticing that we had been waiting and asking if we wanted drinks and even assured us we would get a free appetizer for the inconvenience. They wound up bringing out two. The meal was great and everything went well except when we were leaving. The valet left my lights on and my battery died. My keyhole doesn't work so were locked out too, since it needs the battery for the key fob to work. Not happy at all. But again, they made it right. It was an honest mistake by the valet that had bigger consequences than it should have since my key hole didn't work. Nevertheless, they took us inside and brought us more drinks and desserts while we waited for someone they knew to unlock the car and jump it. Took about 45 minutes but we had some time for good conversation with the family while enjoying the free food and drinks. They also gave us a very generous gift certificate to come back another time. We will definitely be back. This time with a new car battery installed. Special thanks to the Director of Operations (forgot his name) who worked very hard to remedy the situation.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother day

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.