Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill

Nakato Japanese Restaurant is Atlanta's oldest Japanese restaurant. Established in 1972, Nakato is 3rd generation Japanese owner operated establishment. Please come in and enjoy our hibachi dining as well as an array of other Japanese cuisines from Sushi to Traditional tapas style dining.

1776 Cheshire Bridge Road
Atlanta, GA 30324
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Piedmont Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-6583

Website:
http://www.nakatorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Nakato offers complimentary valet services but also has a separate lot off of Piedmont Road for self parking.

Executive Chef:
Yoshifusa Kinjo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Sachiyo for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sachiyo Nakato: (404) 873-6583

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Join us for lunch or dinner! Enjoy a complimentary Daddy Roll (Cucumber, Avocado and Crabstick on the inside, Smoked Salmon mixed with Spicy Aioli, Tempura Flakes and Scallion on the outside) for every table celebrating with dad.

Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Casual (16)
Fun (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Family Style (10)
Private Room (9)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

It was date night for my wife and I. The food was terrific as usual. The grill area seemed far more smoky than We had ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food! This place never disappoints. Nakato is unfortunately only open for dinner but if they were open for lunch, I would come here way too often.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother day

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best Japanese steakhouse around so far. There was a little wait even a reservation but great food service

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best restaurant ever!!! Thank u for making my bday very special!!! Will definitely recommend to friends and will also come back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Chef was great this time around ! Very energetic , interacted with guest and was very funny ! I love this restaurant !

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Absolutely my favorite hibachi and sushi restaurant in Atlanta!

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food, drinks and service were awesome for a busy Saturday night. We started off with the Super Crunch sushi roll which was very fresh and delicious. We then had the hibachi chef cook us delightful steak and shrimp meals with fried rice. The servings were plentiful and we had left overs for days. The only glitch that we experienced was we were charged incorrectly for our meals. We gave the waitress our receipt and she said that it was corrected on their end and provided us with a new receipt. Today we noticed that we were charged twice for our meals and are currently waiting to receive a call from management to resolve this matter. Other than this mishap, it is definitely a fun place to dine with great food.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I dined at this restaurant before a long time ago. I did recall that the service and food was very good so when my son suggested Hibachi as his birthday dinner, I immediately made the reservation. We were not disappointed. As before, food, service and entertainment was great. Highly recommend and will return soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We waited nearly an hour past our reservation time to be seated and it was an hour after that before we had our first course. The noise levels were beyond uncomfortable. My hibachi chicken and shrimp were both cooked beyond inedible. Service was good and drinks were reasonably priced. Free valet was nice in such a congested area. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This was our second visit for a friends birthday and the service was horrible. Everyone at our table agreed. The hibachi chef was terrible and didn't really acknowledge anyone at the table. After serving everyone I wasn't served the meat I ordered. The chef said they'd bring it out and it didn't come out until 15 minutes later after I was done eating along with everyone else in my party. I denied the food since I was no longer hungry. After asking not to be charged for that meat and offering to pay for what I did receive they "slightly discounted" my order and not one person apologized. An apology goes a long way. So does a good cleaning which this place clearly needs however I digress. Choose another option and avoid this place at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We went to Nakato for our son's birthday. Service was fairly quick and food was great!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My favorite hibachi spot in Atlanta. My daughter loves the garlic noodles.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The service and food were excellent. A good time was had by all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We were sat 35 mins later than our reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Waitress need to know more about the food so they know what there talking about so you won't have to give them a low tip

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Service issues made this an average experience that I could have had elsewhere at much lower cost. Based on past experience and the cost of our party's meal, I expected a higher standard of service, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2017

First time at the Hibachi grill and it was a great time. It was our son's birthday and now he wants to go back everyday! Best sushi in Atlanta!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Always a great time at Nakato. Food was high quality as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My first time food was good and enjoyable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Not impressed with service or host staff. Used to enjoy it here, but no longer.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved the restaurant and the cook....food was an excellent deal and tasty except for some of the rice was hard. Other than that the birthday package was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was great valet did something to the car though my car keeps beeping feel like they were playing in it too much

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have been here multiple times for the hibachi. Always entertaining and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was excellent, and the chef/wait staff was excellent. The host was rather rude and abrupt however.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We made a reservation for 8:30p. We realized that we were going to be late and called to confirm that being 10 minutes late was okay for our reservation. They said yes. We were exactly 10 minutes late yet were not seated until 9:30. By that time, my son's 13th birthday, we were all not only extremely ravenous but tired. The food was fine and the chef and server were pleasant and fun. But the wait, with the "it's just 10 more minutes" was enough to make us not want to patronize the place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This has been my go to for habachi and tonight the food was the best it's ever been. The only negative was that the restaurant likes to crowd as many people into a table as possible, which makes things a little uncomfortable. Also, our waiter seemed like he may have been new and was slow about getting drinks/bringing food. That being said, he was friendly and not that big of a deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Went there for my daughter's birthday. Had a great time. Would visit again.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even with the reservation we had to wait 30 mins to be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, energetic atmosphere. Seating was tight.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome as always! The food at Nakatos is magnificent! My family and I can't wait to go back. Best hibachi in Atlanta.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have always had great food and service at Nakato.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent: hot, fresh, well seasoned, and a variety of options. The chef was nice and the service was quick. Also I was impressed with how everything went smoothly on a busy Valentine's Day evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As hibachi style places go, Nakato is a decent choice. I'm not going to give them a glowing review, but I'm not going to tarnish their image either. We have actually dined here 2-3 times, but this latest time was on Valentine's Day. When we arrived we were promptly seated at a almost-full hibachi table (which is great, because I hate being seated as the first party at a hibachi table).

Our drink orders were taken swiftly as well, but after we had sipped a bit of green tea the table attendant (not the hibachi chef), filled our tea cup with soup broth... and it was not a pleasant flavor when mixed with the green tea. They did apologize and correct the error, but at first the table attendant didn't want to believe we had just been served soup as a beverage. The side salad and soup (the actual soup that comes with your hibachi meal) were standard hibachi quality.

I got the hibachi scallops and my wife got the hibachi shrimp. We felt that these were very good. Interestingly, Nakato serves noodles (along with rice) when eating hibachi. I don't think I've ever encountered another hibachi restaurant that does that... but it's a good wrinkle in their experience. The veggies, rice, and noodles were great as well.

I do think their prices are a little higher than most hibachi restaurants (many of which offer coupons), but I would be willing to go back to Nakato sometime soon.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I remember Nakato from the 70's when it was round the corner on Piedmont. Same great food and service. Ahi tuna at teppanyaki (hibachi grill) was cooked too long if you like seared only but was still tasty. We will try something different next time, maybe sukiyaki. The hibachi was fun but it was 45 minutes of non-stop food and I've seen the onion volcano enough over the years!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall quality has depreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I made reservations for 12 to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. They were running about 30 minutes behind which was fine because so was some of our party. While it's pricier than some of the other hibachi spots the semi private room, food quality and overall ambiance was worth it. The drinks were STRONG and yummy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Generally great experience. However this time the hibachi chef didn't seem to know what he was doing forgot parts of multiple orders, food quality was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always enjoy my experience at this restaurant. Like others I have visited, I have never had a bad experience here. The customer service is exceptional, and eager to fulfill the customer needs. The food is delicious, I've always ordered steak, chicken, or shrimp. However this time I tried salmon..... can you say delicious😋

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.