Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill

Nakato Japanese Restaurant is Atlanta's oldest Japanese restaurant. Established in 1972, Nakato is 3rd generation Japanese owner operated establishment. Please come in and enjoy our hibachi dining as well as an array of other Japanese cuisines from Sushi to Traditional tapas style dining.

1776 Cheshire Bridge Road
Atlanta, GA 30324
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Piedmont Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-6583

Website:
http://www.nakatorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Nakato offers complimentary valet services but also has a separate lot off of Piedmont Road for self parking.

Executive Chef:
Yoshifusa Kinjo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Sachiyo for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sachiyo Nakato: (404) 873-6583

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Fun (15)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Casual (9)
Family Style (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Private Room (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We were sat 35 mins later than our reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Waitress need to know more about the food so they know what there talking about so you won't have to give them a low tip

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Service issues made this an average experience that I could have had elsewhere at much lower cost. Based on past experience and the cost of our party's meal, I expected a higher standard of service, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

First time at the Hibachi grill and it was a great time. It was our son's birthday and now he wants to go back everyday! Best sushi in Atlanta!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Always a great time at Nakato. Food was high quality as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My first time food was good and enjoyable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Not impressed with service or host staff. Used to enjoy it here, but no longer.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved the restaurant and the cook....food was an excellent deal and tasty except for some of the rice was hard. Other than that the birthday package was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was great valet did something to the car though my car keeps beeping feel like they were playing in it too much

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have been here multiple times for the hibachi. Always entertaining and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was excellent, and the chef/wait staff was excellent. The host was rather rude and abrupt however.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We made a reservation for 8:30p. We realized that we were going to be late and called to confirm that being 10 minutes late was okay for our reservation. They said yes. We were exactly 10 minutes late yet were not seated until 9:30. By that time, my son's 13th birthday, we were all not only extremely ravenous but tired. The food was fine and the chef and server were pleasant and fun. But the wait, with the "it's just 10 more minutes" was enough to make us not want to patronize the place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This has been my go to for habachi and tonight the food was the best it's ever been. The only negative was that the restaurant likes to crowd as many people into a table as possible, which makes things a little uncomfortable. Also, our waiter seemed like he may have been new and was slow about getting drinks/bringing food. That being said, he was friendly and not that big of a deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Went there for my daughter's birthday. Had a great time. Would visit again.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even with the reservation we had to wait 30 mins to be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, energetic atmosphere. Seating was tight.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome as always! The food at Nakatos is magnificent! My family and I can't wait to go back. Best hibachi in Atlanta.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have always had great food and service at Nakato.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent: hot, fresh, well seasoned, and a variety of options. The chef was nice and the service was quick. Also I was impressed with how everything went smoothly on a busy Valentine's Day evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As hibachi style places go, Nakato is a decent choice. I'm not going to give them a glowing review, but I'm not going to tarnish their image either. We have actually dined here 2-3 times, but this latest time was on Valentine's Day. When we arrived we were promptly seated at a almost-full hibachi table (which is great, because I hate being seated as the first party at a hibachi table).

Our drink orders were taken swiftly as well, but after we had sipped a bit of green tea the table attendant (not the hibachi chef), filled our tea cup with soup broth... and it was not a pleasant flavor when mixed with the green tea. They did apologize and correct the error, but at first the table attendant didn't want to believe we had just been served soup as a beverage. The side salad and soup (the actual soup that comes with your hibachi meal) were standard hibachi quality.

I got the hibachi scallops and my wife got the hibachi shrimp. We felt that these were very good. Interestingly, Nakato serves noodles (along with rice) when eating hibachi. I don't think I've ever encountered another hibachi restaurant that does that... but it's a good wrinkle in their experience. The veggies, rice, and noodles were great as well.

I do think their prices are a little higher than most hibachi restaurants (many of which offer coupons), but I would be willing to go back to Nakato sometime soon.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I remember Nakato from the 70's when it was round the corner on Piedmont. Same great food and service. Ahi tuna at teppanyaki (hibachi grill) was cooked too long if you like seared only but was still tasty. We will try something different next time, maybe sukiyaki. The hibachi was fun but it was 45 minutes of non-stop food and I've seen the onion volcano enough over the years!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall quality has depreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I made reservations for 12 to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. They were running about 30 minutes behind which was fine because so was some of our party. While it's pricier than some of the other hibachi spots the semi private room, food quality and overall ambiance was worth it. The drinks were STRONG and yummy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Generally great experience. However this time the hibachi chef didn't seem to know what he was doing forgot parts of multiple orders, food quality was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always enjoy my experience at this restaurant. Like others I have visited, I have never had a bad experience here. The customer service is exceptional, and eager to fulfill the customer needs. The food is delicious, I've always ordered steak, chicken, or shrimp. However this time I tried salmon..... can you say delicious😋

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Loved the food and the entertainment however servers acted like they didn't want to be there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Thanks for helping celebrate my son's birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Reservations were running way behind when we got there. It was chaos and took at least 10 min to be acknowledged. Service was awful. Never got refills. Took forever for someone to take our order. Ordered an appetizer which arrived like 20-25 min after we ordered. It was just edamame!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good and the chef's demo was good but not as entertaining as some I have seen (seemed canned and lacking in feeling). I was surprised to see a $4.25 charge for a small cup of hot tea with no offer of refills; likewise for all ice tea and Sprite (thought hot tea was complimentary). Also, the steamed rice was brought out after the meal had been consumed. There did not appear to be a waiter assigned to our table that we could communicate with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nakato is an Atlanata tradition and always delivers. Great service! Great food! Great people!

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was my first time there and I truly enjoyed it. Great food, love the atmosphere and the service I received was excellent...

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nakato never fails to amuse. Great for birthdays. My 8 year old was highly entertained.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Manager was horrible. The grill was not on so we waited forever. The meal took over 2 hours. Manager came out and offered us 10% discount. Enough said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very noisy. Too many children. Food was so so. The food was mediocre. I doubt we will go back. Mainly because of the moist level.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was not a good first time visit to Nakato, and it will likely be my last. I honestly think the food is a bit overrated. It was mediocre, at best. I have had much better hibachi style meals. In addition, our waitress had a crappy attitude. My party had already taken note of her unpleasantness. Not two minutes later, a lady in a second party at our table said, "This is my first time here, and she is not making this a good first time experience. " I thought several times about asking the third party at our hibachi table if we could switch waitresses. So, I hoped that I'd be able to leave a more positive review, but I can't. Sorry. Not sorry!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was great, as always. The prices have gone up, however. While this used to be a regular go-to restaurant for us, it will now probably have to be a rare special occasion due to the prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We came for New Year's Eve and have make this an annual tradition. We also enjoy Nakato throughout the year for dinner.
I think our chef on 12/31/16 was the best we've had at Nakato. Very talented man! The drink service was slow though and it was difficult to get her attention.
I do feel that this restaurant rushes tables during holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time here and I must say it was the best hibachi place I have ever been to! Food was fantastic! Chef was magnificent and very understanding because my husband does not eat red meat and he did not place the salmon near the red meat. Salad dressing was to die for. Soup was good. Fried rice amazing. And they sat us in this room where we took our shoes off I thought that was so interesting. Definitely will come back here when visiting Georgia again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had dinner at Nakato's for my birthday and it was such an awesome experience. The waiters sang Happy Birthday to me!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was good. We were one of the last tables and felt kind of rushed by the server.

We had to ask for the sauces (ginger sauce, etc). I don't know if that is customary or not.

Spent $150 (plus $30 tip) for three people. Would have been nice if server boxed up our leftovers for us instead of just handing us a bunch of to-go boxes. We still had to ask for a bag (to put the to-go boxes in) and to-go soufflé cups (for the sauces we had to ask for).

All in all, the food was very good and the chef cooked everything to our liking. For a $180 meal, seemed a little tacky at the end of meal to be rushed and have to pack up our food. In addition, if you're not going to pack up our food, at the very least bring the appropriate supplies so we don't have to ask for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.