About Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill

1776 Cheshire Bridge Road
Atlanta, GA 30324
View Larger Map

Nakato Japanese Restaurant is Atlanta's oldest Japanese restaurant. Established in 1972, Nakato is 3rd generation Japanese owner operated establishment. Please come in and enjoy our hibachi dining as well as an array of other Japanese cuisines from Sushi to Traditional tapas style dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Piedmont Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-6583

Website:
http://www.nakatorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Nakato offers complimentary valet services but also has a separate lot off of Piedmont Road for self parking.

Executive Chef:
Yoshifusa Kinjo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Sachiyo for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sachiyo Nakato: 4048736583

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Good for Groups (32)
Special Occasion (24)
Kid-friendly (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my husband's birthday and we were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was my husband's birthday and we were excited about trying "one of the best Japanese in Atlanta". Not only did they forget it was his birthday....it was in the open table reservation and the person confirming the reservation confirmed it, but the food was average..no better than any other Japanese we have frequented! When I mentioned it to the server, she did not apologize for the oversight, just said no one told her. Talk about a lack of communication! So I found it to be overpriced for what we got and not a lot of vegetables included in the meal. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Way overpriced. Food was terrible and bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Way overpriced. Food was terrible and bill was more than a nice expensive restaurant but with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Meal was substantially undermined by the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Meal was substantially undermined by the presence of a birthday party of 7-year-olds at the hibachi table that the parents made no effort to control. Constant shrieking, little boy mock fighting outside the hibachi room as we entered presented a safety hazard as well as noise pollution. Unexpected as our reservation was for 8 pm. Fortunately they left and the ambiance improved dramatically. Our hibachi chef was excellent, the meal was tasty, but the restaurant is beginning to look a little shabby. Recommend checking before accepting a table shared with young rowdy kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The main room is so loud and their was a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The main room is so loud and their was a geouo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was good however we went half the m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was good however we went half the meal waiting on a refill . When we got it, it was just a cup of drink with no ice

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

I have eaten here before years ago and h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I have eaten here before years ago and had a great experience. The restaurant quality has gone down dramatically. I have a seafood allergy. They prepared my food in the kitchen and it came out cold. I asked for fresh food and they took the plate and microwaved it and brought it back to me immediately. I refused to eat it since the meat was then overcooked and dried out. I had to complain to a manager and they did not charge me for the meal. I won't return here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a private room in which the floor ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a private room in which the floor was filthy, the grill was dirty, the party next to us exhaust fan wasn't working so we continued to inhale all the smoke. the Food wasn't enough and didn't have any flavor. We were sitting and waiting for 3 hours to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place, just VERY loud in the hibac ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great place, just VERY loud in the hibachi area. The waiter seemed new and made a few mistakes, but nothing bad. Food was AMAZING.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

We had a not so great experience here on ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a not so great experience here one time and this time was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef had a great personality.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Chef had a great personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. However, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. However, service this time wasn't too great. Had to wait about 30 mins on a reservation (watched as a table of about 10 was seated before us). Then, the air conditioning was broken (without mention or apology). Finally after we kept mentioning it, they brought out a utility fan, but it only reached about 3 people at the table. Someone in my party ordered steak medium rare and the chef cooked it well. At this point, we just wanted to finish our meal and cool off somewhere. Server was also not accommodating and rolled her eyes at almost every request from someone at the table. I'll definitely be back because I love the food, but I would hope service like this would be addressed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

I gave a lower overall review due to the ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I gave a lower overall review due to the end of the meal. We were surprised at how rushed we were to exit. The chef was serving the final course and had not even made it around the table when our check showed up. Then the server came around with "to go" boxes and if you wanted one you needed to get it and so you are trying to finish your meal and juggle your check, to go boxes etc. Kind of felt like "thanks for coming don't let the door hit you on the rear". First time that has happened.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Terrific Service! Had an infant with a s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Terrific Service! Had an infant with a stroller and they provided us with plenty of room for the whole family + small stroller!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed my experience with the excepti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I enjoyed my experience with the exception of the wasting food on my friend, and not compensating him

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was delicious as always. Our ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was delicious as always. Our chef was a bit quieter than others we have had, but the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The atmosphere was quite nice!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Overall there was quality customer service. The food was delicious and the grill master was hilarious. I enjoyed myself at the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had been here once before and had a wo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I had been here once before and had a wonderful experience, so I was excited to return here to celebrate my birthday with my best friend. It was not good. The restaurant was swelteringly hot. My friend finally went and asked the hostess to turn the a/c cooler and my friend said she saw the thermostat had been set at 78 in the lobby and it was well over 80 in the hibachi room. It was uncomfortably hot and they packed the diners in very tightly around the grill. I was elbow to elbow with my friend and the inebriated gentleman next to me. I ordered the filet mignon to be cooked medium and it was cooked well done. It's a really pricy place for it not to be a pleasant dining experience. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Mothers Day celebration

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had been to Nakato several years ago. I was reading the reviews after making the reservations and was concerned. We arrived about 15 minutes early and were sitted shortly after our group arrived. Our order for drinks was taken quickly and soon after appetizer, soup, salad and chef appeared. Everyone was pleasant and food was great. Everyone mentioned the entire experience was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very bad service. Our server was extremely slow. The cook took a very long time to come out. We had to wait a very long time for our checks as well. Not a very enjoyable experience but the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Why Even Allow Reservations?

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We had an 8 o'clock reservation. Got there at about 7:45, and it took 5 minutes for the valet to take our car, we checked in at 7:50 and they said our table would be ready shortly. "Shortly" turned into over an hour. We didn't sit down until 9:15, not to mention, people who arrived much later than us without a reservation were sat at the same time we were. Waiter was rude, and while I have been here before and wanted to surprise my boyfriend with a lovely dinner, it turned into a horrible experience based on the service. I understand reservation times can be an estimation, but over an hour was ridiculous and no one acknowledged how long we had been waiting. Instead, the hostess led us to believe we were going to be seated within a few minutes. We will not be back here, which is unfortunate because the food really is great, but it is not worth another experience like this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Birthday dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was good, atmosphere was fun. The servers were very attentive. And the servers brought out ice cream while they sang happy birthday. My only issue is I requested my steak to be medium well and it was under cooked. And it was a little over priced in comparison to other Hibachi places I've been

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an all-time family favorite for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

This is an all-time family favorite for birthdays as the kids love the entertainment and the food is better than any other hibachi restaurant in town. Especially a good deal if you go for the twilight special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The Best!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This past Saturday I had the best experience. The staff was awesome. The chef Hansen was great and very entertaining. I have become a frequent customer at this restaurant and will continue to be one. The food is absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Had not been in awhile and found that it is still the same. Great food; had the habachi shrimp and filet. Always more in quantity and have to take home. Great value and our chef entertained us when he cooked. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it, I've come here several times an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Love it, I've come here several times and it's always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food was great!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The food was great, however the steak was too chewy. We requested the intimate dining area where you take your shoes off, big mistake! It wasn't very comfortable and we were stuck with a large loud German family, not my idea of a romantic anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed our Experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The service, food and drinks were great. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gentleman who cooked our food was fantas ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Gentleman who cooked our food was fantastic, and the food was very yummy. Waitress was not very good. Never refilled water glasses or came around to see if we wanted another drink. Overall an entertaining and enjoyable dining experience, particularly because the gentleman who cook their food was so interactive and entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Had reservation for 8 PM and was seated ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Had reservation for 8 PM and was seated immediately but it was 9:00 before our chef arrived. Food was very bland. At other hibachi restaurants the meat was cooked early or even mid-meal and here we were served noodles, vegetables, and rice, then finally our meat was cooked (over-cooked and tough). Miso soup and salad was good, but the rest, not so much. Too expensive for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Good But...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

John the bartender is great ,the food is good however the window coverings are in disrepair in the Hibachi rooms. Sitting in pit without our shoes is a neat experience. Overall a good experience just need to catch up on the details

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bad waiter

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The restaurant was amazing I love how we have to take our shoes off they great you when you walk in but our waiter was horrible he was rude to us including my grandma and I was disappointed because it was my birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

Good

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

It's was great for an after work happy hour and a early dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

bad experience.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Chef stated he hates his job in front of customers. He's the only non Asian that's working at the hibachi section. He's rude because he picked on one of the customer and ask really weird and random questions that make people uncomfortable. The food was tooooo salty and oily. The chef over seasoned everything with soy sauce and butter. In general, the food taste like the ones that you could get at Denny's. However, i should give credit to the quality of the beef and salmon. It's very sad that the chef did a poor job in cooking such good quality of meat and fish.

I would not recommend people to come. Service was okay. We did not have a designated server and so no one refilled out water. Servers and receptionists are rude.

Poor experience :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

No attention to detail

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This evening was a special occasion meal for a friend, there was 3 of us dining. We were seated at a grill that already had 8 diners so we did not receive the attention to detail that we deserved from the Chef or the wait staff and the level of the food was way below this establishments standards. It was a very disappointing evening and we will think twice about ever dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Expect a "to go" box

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We ate Hibachi style. The appetizer alone was a meal; noodles, veggies and 2 shrimp then they made the meal - I had the filet mignon & shrimp – the steak was melt in your mouth great. We talked to the manager after our meal, he encouraged us to walk around and check out the restaurant. really nice place - if we are in Atlanta for a meal we will be looking at this place to eat again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this place!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This has always been my Husband and my favorite restaurant for the last 7 years. The food is so fresh and good. The cooks are Super friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Japanese Restaurant!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Just an overall great experience from driving into their lot. Great customer service and just a great place to get your sushi fix in!! The taste of the food was just amazing!!! Will be returning again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

While we don't love the whole hibachi thing and prefer the other side of the restaurant, Nakato's hibachi grill is better than any other in town. The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go all the time

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant, and very family friendly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and cook was phenomenal. Howeve ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food and cook was phenomenal. However the customer service at the host stand was absolutely terrible. We had a reservation and still had to wait over an hour. I called ahead of time to verify my party coming and when we got there we were told there was no record of our requests even though I had the confirmation email. The hosts were very rude and sassy and made it seem like we were burdening them. It was my sisters 18th birthday so we were trying to make it special for her and the negative energy definitely put a damper on the mood.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.