About Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill

1776 Cheshire Bridge Road
Atlanta, GA 30324
View Larger Map

Nakato Japanese Restaurant is Atlanta's oldest Japanese restaurant. Established in 1972, Nakato is 3rd generation Japanese owner operated establishment. Please come in and enjoy our hibachi dining as well as an array of other Japanese cuisines from Sushi to Traditional tapas style dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Piedmont Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-6583

Website:
http://www.nakatorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Nakato offers complimentary valet services but also has a separate lot off of Piedmont Road for self parking.

Executive Chef:
Yoshifusa Kinjo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Sachiyo for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sachiyo Nakato: (404) 873-6583

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Fun (16)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Family Style (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Private Room (6)
Casual (6)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Even with the reservation we had to wait ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Even with the reservation we had to wait 30 mins to be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great food, energetic atmosphere. Seatin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, energetic atmosphere. Seating was tight.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome as always! The food at Nakatos ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome as always! The food at Nakatos is magnificent! My family and I can't wait to go back. Best hibachi in Atlanta.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have always had great food and service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

I have always had great food and service at Nakato.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, , Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was excellent: hot, fresh, well ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent: hot, fresh, well seasoned, and a variety of options. The chef was nice and the service was quick. Also I was impressed with how everything went smoothly on a busy Valentine's Day evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As hibachi style places go, Nakato is a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As hibachi style places go, Nakato is a decent choice. I'm not going to give them a glowing review, but I'm not going to tarnish their image either. We have actually dined here 2-3 times, but this latest time was on Valentine's Day. When we arrived we were promptly seated at a almost-full hibachi table (which is great, because I hate being seated as the first party at a hibachi table).

Our drink orders were taken swiftly as well, but after we had sipped a bit of green tea the table attendant (not the hibachi chef), filled our tea cup with soup broth... and it was not a pleasant flavor when mixed with the green tea. They did apologize and correct the error, but at first the table attendant didn't want to believe we had just been served soup as a beverage. The side salad and soup (the actual soup that comes with your hibachi meal) were standard hibachi quality.

I got the hibachi scallops and my wife got the hibachi shrimp. We felt that these were very good. Interestingly, Nakato serves noodles (along with rice) when eating hibachi. I don't think I've ever encountered another hibachi restaurant that does that... but it's a good wrinkle in their experience. The veggies, rice, and noodles were great as well.

I do think their prices are a little higher than most hibachi restaurants (many of which offer coupons), but I would be willing to go back to Nakato sometime soon.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

I remember Nakato from the 70's when it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I remember Nakato from the 70's when it was round the corner on Piedmont. Same great food and service. Ahi tuna at teppanyaki (hibachi grill) was cooked too long if you like seared only but was still tasty. We will try something different next time, maybe sukiyaki. The hibachi was fun but it was 45 minutes of non-stop food and I've seen the onion volcano enough over the years!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall quality has depreciated

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall quality has depreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made reservations for 12 to celebrate ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I made reservations for 12 to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. They were running about 30 minutes behind which was fine because so was some of our party. While it's pricier than some of the other hibachi spots the semi private room, food quality and overall ambiance was worth it. The drinks were STRONG and yummy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Generally great experience. However this ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Generally great experience. However this time the hibachi chef didn't seem to know what he was doing forgot parts of multiple orders, food quality was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Always enjoy my experience at this resta ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always enjoy my experience at this restaurant. Like others I have visited, I have never had a bad experience here. The customer service is exceptional, and eager to fulfill the customer needs. The food is delicious, I've always ordered steak, chicken, or shrimp. However this time I tried salmon..... can you say delicious😋

Tags: Casual, , Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and the entertainment how ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Loved the food and the entertainment however servers acted like they didn't want to be there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Had a wonderful time. Thanks for helpin ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Thanks for helping celebrate my son's birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations were running way behind whe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Reservations were running way behind when we got there. It was chaos and took at least 10 min to be acknowledged. Service was awful. Never got refills. Took forever for someone to take our order. Ordered an appetizer which arrived like 20-25 min after we ordered. It was just edamame!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was good and the chef's demo wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good and the chef's demo was good but not as entertaining as some I have seen (seemed canned and lacking in feeling). I was surprised to see a $4.25 charge for a small cup of hot tea with no offer of refills; likewise for all ice tea and Sprite (thought hot tea was complimentary). Also, the steamed rice was brought out after the meal had been consumed. There did not appear to be a waiter assigned to our table that we could communicate with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nakato is an Atlanata tradition and alwa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nakato is an Atlanata tradition and always delivers. Great service! Great food! Great people!

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, , Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time there and I truly ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was my first time there and I truly enjoyed it. Great food, love the atmosphere and the service I received was excellent...

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nakato never fails to amuse. Great for b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nakato never fails to amuse. Great for birthdays. My 8 year old was highly entertained.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Manager was horrible. The grill was not ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Manager was horrible. The grill was not on so we waited forever. The meal took over 2 hours. Manager came out and offered us 10% discount. Enough said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Very noisy. Too many children. Food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very noisy. Too many children. Food was so so. The food was mediocre. I doubt we will go back. Mainly because of the moist level.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This was not a good first time visit to ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was not a good first time visit to Nakato, and it will likely be my last. I honestly think the food is a bit overrated. It was mediocre, at best. I have had much better hibachi style meals. In addition, our waitress had a crappy attitude. My party had already taken note of her unpleasantness. Not two minutes later, a lady in a second party at our table said, "This is my first time here, and she is not making this a good first time experience. " I thought several times about asking the third party at our hibachi table if we could switch waitresses. So, I hoped that I'd be able to leave a more positive review, but I can't. Sorry. Not sorry!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was great, as always. The price ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was great, as always. The prices have gone up, however. While this used to be a regular go-to restaurant for us, it will now probably have to be a rare special occasion due to the prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We came for New Year's Eve and have make ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We came for New Year's Eve and have make this an annual tradition. We also enjoy Nakato throughout the year for dinner.

I think our chef on 12/31/16 was the best we've had at Nakato. Very talented man! The drink service was slow though and it was difficult to get her attention.

I do feel that this restaurant rushes tables during holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

First time here and I must say it was th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time here and I must say it was the best hibachi place I have ever been to! Food was fantastic! Chef was magnificent and very understanding because my husband does not eat red meat and he did not place the salmon near the red meat. Salad dressing was to die for. Soup was good. Fried rice amazing. And they sat us in this room where we took our shoes off I thought that was so interesting. Definitely will come back here when visiting Georgia again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had dinner at Nakato's for my birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had dinner at Nakato's for my birthday and it was such an awesome experience. The waiters sang Happy Birthday to me!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. We were one of the last t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was good. We were one of the last tables and felt kind of rushed by the server.

We had to ask for the sauces (ginger sauce, etc). I don't know if that is customary or not.

Spent $150 (plus $30 tip) for three people. Would have been nice if server boxed up our leftovers for us instead of just handing us a bunch of to-go boxes. We still had to ask for a bag (to put the to-go boxes in) and to-go soufflé cups (for the sauces we had to ask for).

All in all, the food was very good and the chef cooked everything to our liking. For a $180 meal, seemed a little tacky at the end of meal to be rushed and have to pack up our food. In addition, if you're not going to pack up our food, at the very least bring the appropriate supplies so we don't have to ask for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I chose here for Christmas dinner with m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I chose here for Christmas dinner with my teenage daughter. We had not had our girls day for the month, so we took care of both here! Our server Lauren and our Chef Tin were the consummate professionals. By us not visiting an authentic hibachi style restaurant before, we were a little awkward at first, however Lauren never let us know that she noticed. Tin was playful and accommodating with the meal and its preparations.

We will definitely recommend and visit again. Thank you for making our Christmas dinner even more magical!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is ok. I would not say food is ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The place is ok. I would not say food is so great. It is medium Hibachi Restaurant, nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We arrived 15 minutes prior to our reser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes prior to our reservations and still waited 50 minutes past the reserved time. To calm our frustrations, (Me complaining about them seating others ahead of us) they finally seated us. But unfortunately we had to wait an extra 37 minutes (yes I counted minutes) for the cook to come. This is my 8th or 9th visit, so telling me that this is the norm is not sufficient. Other than the poor service or lack of attention to customers needs, the food was great as always. The food and the cook made up for the customer servicing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Nakato was great. My reservation was fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Nakato was great. My reservation was for 7:30 and we all arrived a little late but they were very accommodating. Our chef was friendly and hilarious and our wait staff was just as good. Food was amazing as usual. I recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room, Fun, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I am a frequent patron of this restauran ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I am a frequent patron of this restaurant and have been disappoint on my last 2 visits. The food portions have become smaller than what I have previously received. I always ask the chef about the change to the portion sizes and they respond that nothing has changed. Being that I visit the restaurant at least once every 1 to 2 months throughout the year, I noticed the changes as well as the others in my group who are also frequent patrons. The portions have been cut by half to two-thirds smaller but the cost has not changed. It disappoints me that I still pay the same amount for less food. The food is very good but expensive. I am not sure whether my group and I will continue to visit this restaurant since the value is no longer there. I felt like I spent over $100 on $30 worth of food.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Really need to work on the efficiency an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Really need to work on the efficiency and logistics of the valet. Very slow response

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This place is better than the typical ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place is better than the typical chain hibachi restaurants. They sell drinks in fishbowl size.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Spicy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is dirty, worn and very l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The restaurant is dirty, worn and very loud. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Excellent service. The complimentary val ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service. The complimentary valet is very convenient and very professionally handled. Our chef Dan was hilarious, and really entertaining to everyone at the table. Had a couple tricks and things I hadn't seen before, which is always nice. Very good experience.Will be returning soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but the service was horri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, but the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I enjoyed this resturant setting and sta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I enjoyed this resturant setting and staff was amazing..godzilla favorite drink!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. T ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The customer service was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was great. Same chef like last ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The chef was great. Same chef like last time. Everything was good as always. Oh best fried rice in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my wife birthday and everythi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Celebrated my wife birthday and everything went great. Service was spot on and the food was amazing. The servers catered to our every need. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.