About Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill

1776 Cheshire Bridge Road
Atlanta, GA 30324
View Larger Map

Nakato Japanese Restaurant is Atlanta's oldest Japanese restaurant. Established in 1972, Nakato is 3rd generation Japanese owner operated establishment. Please come in and enjoy our hibachi dining as well as an array of other Japanese cuisines from Sushi to Traditional tapas style dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Piedmont Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-6583

Website:
http://www.nakatorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Nakato offers complimentary valet services but also has a separate lot off of Piedmont Road for self parking.

Executive Chef:
Yoshifusa Kinjo

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Sachiyo for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sachiyo Nakato: 4048736583

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for a festive Christmas Eve dinner! Whether you prefer Hibachi, Sushi or the most authentic Japanese cuisine in town, celebrate the holiday at Nakato!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Christmas is one of the most fun and popular days of the year at Nakato! Join us for great food and drinks to celebrate with family and friends.

Nakato Japanese Restaurant - Hibachi Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Fun (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is dirty, worn and very l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant is dirty, worn and very loud. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Excellent service. The complimentary val ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service. The complimentary valet is very convenient and very professionally handled. Our chef Dan was hilarious, and really entertaining to everyone at the table. Had a couple tricks and things I hadn't seen before, which is always nice. Very good experience.Will be returning soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but the service was horri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, but the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I enjoyed this resturant setting and sta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I enjoyed this resturant setting and staff was amazing..godzilla favorite drink!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. T ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The customer service was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was great. Same chef like last ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The chef was great. Same chef like last time. Everything was good as always. Oh best fried rice in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my wife birthday and everythi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Celebrated my wife birthday and everything went great. Service was spot on and the food was amazing. The servers catered to our every need. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time, seated with warmth ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a great time, seated with warmth and hospitality. The food is always tasty with an abundance of left over for next day. The atmosphere is great for all age groups and occasions. I'd say see for yourself, but I often frequent for the Hibachi.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good. Reserv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food and service were very good. Reservation was on time, valet parking was great.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our family to Nakato for our son ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We took our family to Nakato for our son's 9th birthday. Our kids loved the "show"--getting to see the chef cook right at table and were crazy about all the fun stuff he did w/fire (onion volcano, tossing a raw egg around on his spatula w/out breaking it, etc). We had a blast. The food isn't bad, but don't expect it to knock your socks off. It's more about the experience. I'd go back for a party again, but wouldn't seek out their hibachi for a date w/my husband or anything--too many fabulous places to eat in Atlanta for that!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

It was great. Food was good, needed more ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 10, 2016

It was great. Food was good, needed more flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Quality is low and expansive. Will not r ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Quality is low and expansive. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is too salty

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food is too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We had a poor experience at this restaur ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a poor experience at this restaurant it needs a major overhaul.

Food was subpar and gross .

Could have had a better frozen heated in microwave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I usually am satisfied leaving Nakato bu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I usually am satisfied leaving Nakato but I had an uncommon experience with them. It was my birthday and they brought the wrong person my birthday dessert. Then when they brought mine, it was pistachio ice cream. I also think the $4 upcharge for fried rice is excessive. Meal was good but not worth the price point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing service and food

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Amazing service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation and still wasn't seat ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Made a reservation and still wasn't seated for another 45 min. Something must be off with then heating and cooling. They four fans with dust flapping on the placed around the room blowing to help ventilate the space. It felt very damp and moist. Our chef didn't engage or do anything with the diners. Due to allergies they made my food in the kitchen. It came out stale and dry. I don't plan to ever go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice & clean restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice & clean restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As always the food and service are excel ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always the food and service are excellent. When making a reservation for the grills, I wish you could specify if you cannot sit in the section where removal of shoes is required. Since we could not sit there, we had an extra 30 minute wait. I also have a severe allergy to Onions and was unable to eat some options as they all came with onions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to celebrate a birthday with chi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday with children. It was very entertaining for the children. The food was very good, but they charged us extra to share, which we thought was not very admirable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was absolutely horrible! The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was absolutely horrible! The host was extremely rude and it ruined the night before it even began.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

It was my husband's birthday and we were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we were excited about trying "one of the best Japanese in Atlanta". Not only did they forget it was his birthday....it was in the open table reservation and the person confirming the reservation confirmed it, but the food was average..no better than any other Japanese we have frequented! When I mentioned it to the server, she did not apologize for the oversight, just said no one told her. Talk about a lack of communication! So I found it to be overpriced for what we got and not a lot of vegetables included in the meal. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Way overpriced. Food was terrible and bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Way overpriced. Food was terrible and bill was more than a nice expensive restaurant but with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Meal was substantially undermined by the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Meal was substantially undermined by the presence of a birthday party of 7-year-olds at the hibachi table that the parents made no effort to control. Constant shrieking, little boy mock fighting outside the hibachi room as we entered presented a safety hazard as well as noise pollution. Unexpected as our reservation was for 8 pm. Fortunately they left and the ambiance improved dramatically. Our hibachi chef was excellent, the meal was tasty, but the restaurant is beginning to look a little shabby. Recommend checking before accepting a table shared with young rowdy kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great place to celebrate birthdays. Fun ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place to celebrate birthdays. Fun for all involved. Food is always good and fresh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The main room is so loud and their was a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The main room is so loud and their was a geouo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was good however we went half the m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was good however we went half the meal waiting on a refill . When we got it, it was just a cup of drink with no ice

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

I have eaten here before years ago and h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I have eaten here before years ago and had a great experience. The restaurant quality has gone down dramatically. I have a seafood allergy. They prepared my food in the kitchen and it came out cold. I asked for fresh food and they took the plate and microwaved it and brought it back to me immediately. I refused to eat it since the meat was then overcooked and dried out. I had to complain to a manager and they did not charge me for the meal. I won't return here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a private room in which the floor ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a private room in which the floor was filthy, the grill was dirty, the party next to us exhaust fan wasn't working so we continued to inhale all the smoke. the Food wasn't enough and didn't have any flavor. We were sitting and waiting for 3 hours to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place, just VERY loud in the hibac ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great place, just VERY loud in the hibachi area. The waiter seemed new and made a few mistakes, but nothing bad. Food was AMAZING.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

We had a not so great experience here on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a not so great experience here one time and this time was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef had a great personality.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Chef had a great personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. However, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. However, service this time wasn't too great. Had to wait about 30 mins on a reservation (watched as a table of about 10 was seated before us). Then, the air conditioning was broken (without mention or apology). Finally after we kept mentioning it, they brought out a utility fan, but it only reached about 3 people at the table. Someone in my party ordered steak medium rare and the chef cooked it well. At this point, we just wanted to finish our meal and cool off somewhere. Server was also not accommodating and rolled her eyes at almost every request from someone at the table. I'll definitely be back because I love the food, but I would hope service like this would be addressed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

I gave a lower overall review due to the ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I gave a lower overall review due to the end of the meal. We were surprised at how rushed we were to exit. The chef was serving the final course and had not even made it around the table when our check showed up. Then the server came around with "to go" boxes and if you wanted one you needed to get it and so you are trying to finish your meal and juggle your check, to go boxes etc. Kind of felt like "thanks for coming don't let the door hit you on the rear". First time that has happened.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Terrific Service! Had an infant with a s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Terrific Service! Had an infant with a stroller and they provided us with plenty of room for the whole family + small stroller!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed my experience with the excepti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I enjoyed my experience with the exception of the wasting food on my friend, and not compensating him

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was delicious as always. Our ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was delicious as always. Our chef was a bit quieter than others we have had, but the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The atmosphere was quite nice!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Overall there was quality customer service. The food was delicious and the grill master was hilarious. I enjoyed myself at the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had been here once before and had a wo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I had been here once before and had a wonderful experience, so I was excited to return here to celebrate my birthday with my best friend. It was not good. The restaurant was swelteringly hot. My friend finally went and asked the hostess to turn the a/c cooler and my friend said she saw the thermostat had been set at 78 in the lobby and it was well over 80 in the hibachi room. It was uncomfortably hot and they packed the diners in very tightly around the grill. I was elbow to elbow with my friend and the inebriated gentleman next to me. I ordered the filet mignon to be cooked medium and it was cooked well done. It's a really pricy place for it not to be a pleasant dining experience. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Mothers Day celebration

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had been to Nakato several years ago. I was reading the reviews after making the reservations and was concerned. We arrived about 15 minutes early and were sitted shortly after our group arrived. Our order for drinks was taken quickly and soon after appetizer, soup, salad and chef appeared. Everyone was pleasant and food was great. Everyone mentioned the entire experience was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.