Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.

1611 E. Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 381-6000

Website:
http://www.eatatnakama.com/

Catering:
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C

Private Party Facilities:
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Fun (26)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
People Watching (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Romantic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Ive only been there once and it was for a date but overall I was pleased. It was easy to hold down a conversation which I would maybe hold off on the hibachi thing if you're intentionstill are getting to know someone. It's not cheap but it's also not extremely expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Our chef was great!!! He was very entertaining and he spent a little time making sure our son felt special since it was his birthday!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My kids loved this fun dining experience. The chef was really entertaining, and the food was tasty.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was a great and relaxing way to spend my birthday!!! No complaints overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Typical hibachi style set up. Chef was energetic and food quality was good as well as quantity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I've been to nakama before about a year ago. It was ok. My lady friend wanted to go so I made a reservation. Unfortunately it was on saint party's parade day. So I couldn't even get in with my reservation. So I guess that's my fault for thinking I could go to the south side on such a day. So I guess it's the apps fault or nakama itself for allowing me to make a reservation on this day. Plus side. I didn't waste any money on weak drinks and small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We visit Nakama as often as we can. It is at least a 1- 1 1/2 hour drive for us. One of our favorite places for celebrations, or just getting together with family or friends. Always delicious and fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Nakama never disappoints me with the service and especially the food. The ginger dressing was a little different, but very good. The cook was pleasant and did a great job cooking our food.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I ate at Nakama with a group of friends. The cook was entertaining but the food was just okay. The mushroom soup was very salty and had a lot pepper. The Sesame Chicken was overcooked and didn't have much flavor. Disappointing for me but others enjoyed the setting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was blain, it needed more seasoning. However, this portion size was really good. I ate my leftovers for two days.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Need to have enough wait staff to serve their customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Group of friends came here , one of which has never been to Nakama. Needless to say she loved it and so did everyone else. Our chef was funny and kept our attention throughout his "presentation". I had the lobster hibachi and red dragon roll, it was delicious !

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

After we were seated, We waited and waited. Then waited a bit more. Thankful we had water given to us. I understand Valentines day is a crazy day. I worked restaurant business for 28 years,
The server should have not been responsible for a table of 16 , all sat a once,
Not fair to the guest or the server.
Most Hibachi gives you rice or noodles. We didn't get our rice until meal was over.
Looking forward to Mike and Tony's down the street .
Treat your guest as a person.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were seated right on time, the waiter did a good job taking our drink and appetizer orders, but the chef Luke was outstanding. He was very personable, very funny and entertaining ,but most importantly the food was great. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The cook was funny n the slush puppie martini was amazing

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I was there a day before Valentine's Day to beat the rush. We got seated at the hibachi and had a whole one to all of ourselves which is rare but it was nice. We had a sushi and some beverages to start, All of which were great. Then the chef came, our dinner was prepared with flare and the chef was friendly and talkative. The dinner was delicious, my steak was prepared perfectly. All in all we had a lovely time, the staff was courteous, polite, and very attentive. The food was delicious, I especially recommend the "Hanalei Roll". The prices were affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always an awesome time. Great food as always. Great staff. Our hibachi chef was amazing. He worked the table for the kids and did crazy tricks. Our waiter was attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Early Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great dinner, other than the steamed white rice. It was served at I had all but completed eating the rest of the meal and it tasted like it had been sitting to long. We had a larger than normal party, so I didn't expect the server to be perfect, but I found out he was taking care of 31 people, so he was close to non-existent. I really felt bad for him and he obviously did the best he could.
So while they can squeeze more than eight at a table, I would not suggest it. Go somewhere else if your party is larger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday day lunch! Our chef was wonderful and the servers were exceptional. Thank you for a wonderful day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was spot on and our waiter Brandon did a great job. Unfortunately all of the meats cooked were way over cooked. I know it is a hot spot eatery and they are always busy, but there are other hibachi type restaurants in the area that are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My daughter chose this place for her birthday dinner and this place was amazing. Great customer service the chef was excellent! He treated my daughter with mind blowing hospitality...food was great first time I had been there and yes we will return!!

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

To the Nakama management staff: Your chef, MATT, prepared dinner for us tonight. (6:30pm reservation) He is truly a STELLAR cook!!! SUPER YUMMY!! Our Family of four unanimously voted our meals "favorite hibachi that we've EVER had"!!🏆🏆
He ,(and Justin our waiter), was quite courteous as well, a rare trait seen these days,unfortunately. Great wait staff all around.Our food was scrumptious, topped off with lots of Matt's snazzy utensil tricks that we thoroughly enjoyed!!! KUDOS to Matt!!! He's the BEST!! 👏🏻😁

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We loved Chef Luke. He was entertaining and talented and held conversations with us making it that much better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was great as usual!! I was there on a date and we had a really great time!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Family Style, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Nakama. The food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We all enjoyed the chef cooking display. The waiter was very attentive, food was great. It was alot of food and half of us ended up taking a good portion home. We went there for a birthday celebration lunch during the holiday time so the restaurant became very busy late afternoon early evening. Lunch price was very reasonable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall very nice place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went for a date night with some friends and thoroughly enjoyed everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fun place to take out of town visitors since it is located in the Southside. Food was excellent and we had a great time at our table with our waiter and the other guests.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was the worst dinner I have ever had there. The cook messed up my sisters order and didn't care to fix it so we tried to talk to the manager who felt the need to shush both of my grown sisters and say she was old enough to be our mother not knowing our mother just recently passed away this year. Then she proceeded to remove my sisters food from our table and say she'd call the cops if we left and didn't pay for our food. Keep in mind that none of us touched our food when and after the incident took place. We asked for an apology and she wouldn't talk to us. I have given them a lot of business the past few years and so have the rest of my family. But her comments about my mother made me and my sister cry and left us very upset on my 21st BIRTHDAY. The manager there is extremely disrespectful and made my first birthday dinner without my mother very traumatic. I will NEVER go back to this establishment and do not suggest anyone else to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

the atmosphere was good a little bit noisy tho. Food was great like the dinner menus and rolls. The problem was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Reservation was trouble and check-in was very traumatic.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went to dinner with my sisters and cousin for my cousin's 21st birthday. Not only did we wait forever for the chef to come, our waitress, Mimi, was less than stellar. My sister wanted to try a Nakama specialty drink and instead of a few nice recommendations, the drink menu was thrust at her. That was just one thing about our waitress but hey, we all have bad days sometimes. As far as the Chef goes, the guy barely interacted with the table and looked beyond done with his job. I didn't catch his name because it was not an experience to remember or request him by. Overall the food was alright although over priced for what you get. I would not plan on going here again unless that is what my table mates choose to do in the future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As always a wonderful place to dine! The entertainment was great and the service was awesome! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was the BEST meal I had all year. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and fun! We took our 2 kids ages 7 and 9, they loved everything about it! Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was amazing! We ate the spicy Diablo, soooo yummy! Service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food and service was amazing. We would definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fantastic and fun, food was good, chef was really good

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.