About Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

1611 E. Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
View Larger Map

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 381-6000

Website:
http://www.eatatnakama.com/

Catering:
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C

Private Party Facilities:
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cherry Blossom - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Chicken and veggies - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Eel, Salmon Roe, & Quail Egg Sushi - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • California Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Hibatchi Steak W/ Shrimp, Mushrooms, & Fried Rice - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Toro, Salmon, & Ahi Sashimi....Ooooooooh! - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Rainbow Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Blue Crab Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Cherry Blossom - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Chicken and veggies - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Eel, Salmon Roe, & Quail Egg Sushi - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
California Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Hibatchi Steak W/ Shrimp, Mushrooms, & Fried Rice - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Toro, Salmon, & Ahi Sashimi....Ooooooooh! - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Rainbow Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Blue Crab Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was amazing. We would ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was amazing. We would definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic and fun, food was good, chef ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fantastic and fun, food was good, chef was really good

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service but the cook was amazing h ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great service but the cook was amazing he made my sons dinner memorable

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious! But not great for gluten-free ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious! But not great for gluten-free diets or those with food allergies.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The best is when you get a fun chef

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The best is when you get a fun chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is our yearly tradition for our dau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is our yearly tradition for our daughters birthday dinner. We would not go anywhere else.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess were unaccommodating. I arri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The hostess were unaccommodating. I arrived on time for my reservation. I was told since two people in my party were not present that I couldn't be seated.

I had two rambunctious toddlers with me and with no lobby or waiting area it made it difficult to keep the two children in an area where there wasn't heavy foot traffic from restaurant staff and patrons.

If feel for the given situation I could of been seated and waited for the other two party members to get to the restaurant.

In the past I was seated without my complete party, I don't understand why the change in policy? I won't stop going there moving forward, however Nakama should consider changing their policy or create a suitable waiting area. It made it very uncomfortable constantly moving out of the way of foot traffic by the front door.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was great. Good service ve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our waiter was great. Good service very fast for aHibachi restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely the most fresh seafood I've E ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Absolutely the most fresh seafood I've EVER had!!! If you can put up with the high noise level, this is where it's at for sushi!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have always had good service, fun chefs, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Have always had good service, fun chefs, etc. but this visit wasn't that great (service was absent, chef forgot everyone's appetizer, had to wait for about 20 minutes for check.) Hope this was a one time blip and not an indicator of decline.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nakama has outstanding food, service, an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Nakama has outstanding food, service, and wait staff. Our chef was by far the best we've ever had. The only hitch is parking in the south side, but for food this good, it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I celebrate every birthday at Nakama as ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I celebrate every birthday at Nakama as do many of my friends. For my last two visits in August and September, my party was fortunate to have Luke (employed since 2003) as the chef. He has a marvelous personality and disposition and makes the experience special for longtime patrons as well as first-time diners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Nakama. Whether we are in the moo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I love Nakama. Whether we are in the mood for hibachi style dining or excellent sushi, we have never EVER been disappointed. Fish is incredibly fresh, service is top notch, and the chefs put on a great show.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant atmosphere just had a din ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere just had a dingy sticky unclean feeling about it. There were a few flies in the dining room and the restroom was messy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

My feelings on this review are mixed. I ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

My feelings on this review are mixed. I requested a certain chef like I had been for years and years and all of a sudden this time we can't have him cause they are on a strict rotation (at 9pm at night mind you). I could see if this was 7pm on a Saturday night. When we realized we wouldn't have that particular chef, I no longer wanted hibachi. So we moved to the sushi bar where our experience more than made up for the hibachi debacle. Our waitress, Jenn, was on point. My water was always filled, she was very friendly and approachable. Sitting at the sushi bar also allowed us to talk to the chefs up there and that was fun as well. I don't quite understand why Nakama has an issue with requested chefs. You are making the customer happy and that always leads to better reviews and more recommendations therefore more business. Just my opinion though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our cook was amazing, our waitress a bra ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our cook was amazing, our waitress a brat. food was good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We really didn't need a reservation, as ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We really didn't need a reservation, as we were one of only 2 groups when we were seated. The food was great, but it is very expensive. Our waiter was fantastic and provided great customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nakama is a great restaurant with excell ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nakama is a great restaurant with excellent sushi!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and adult beverages were fantas ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food and adult beverages were fantastic. Our waiter was exceptionally good having very good knowledge of menu and facility. I have been going to NAKAMA for several years almost 10 years and have never had a bad experience

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner on 8/19/16 was for my parents,sis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dinner on 8/19/16 was for my parents,sisters,and my wedding anniversaries. It would be their first time there. Our dinner seemed to start out ok but then the cook came out and seemed like he didn't even want to be there. He rushed through cooking and never spoke a word. No fun or tricks, he was more worried about staring at another table for some reason. As a result, mine and my sisters scallops and veggies were raw. My plate became a pool of water. I didn't want to eat it but I tried and when pack up time came I told the waitress it was horrible and that my full plate she could throw away, so she sent the manager. He said since it looked like I took a few bites he could only give me a discount. Which he didn't anyways! I was disgusted and didn't want to make a scene and ruin my families time out, he had already ran back and forth from our table a couple times. So we left and my husband ended up in the bathroom all night, probably from the undercooked food! Also, that morning I called in to request a gong toast to our table for my parents that never even happened! The service, food, and overall experience was horrible,let alone the huge bill! Why go back?! There are plenty of other places to go in Pittsburgh. So I will.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Our chef was not entertaining. It was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our chef was not entertaining. It was our date and we ask for funny chef.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Terrible service. We got here at 930 and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Terrible service. We got here at 930 and they took the last table at 10. The chef did not say a word the whole time, did nothing like chefs do for habatchi and cooked (if I can even say cooked) our food as fast as he can. The vegetables were basically still raw. I normally chose nakama over saga and ichiban but this experience was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Nakama is always consistent.. a place fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Nakama is always consistent.. a place for a good times with friends and enjoying the display hibachi cooked food. This restaurant has been a little bit better than other Hibachi grills around Pittsburgh. We've dined here frequently and it's always a good time.

I did grade the overall value a little less since they charge $7 for fried rice. When you spend $27-$42 for an entree, I don't know if the fried rice was not a tad over charged.. who doesn't get fried rice at the hibachi grill?

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nakama is a great place for a large part ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nakama is a great place for a large party. Our food was excellent and our hibachi chef was delightful! Nakama never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location. Love the valet parking. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great location. Love the valet parking. Food is great

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I met a friend of mine for a lunch date ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2016

I met a friend of mine for a lunch date because she likes food cooked Hibachi Style. The service and food was of excellent quality and we both enjoyed the experience and plan to do this again in the near future.

We ordered the vegetable and the filet mignon options and shared. We loved the salad with the wonderful pineapple dressing. I plan to do take out on the salad or have some at the bar which has a good quality happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my time there. The staf ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 3, 2016

I really enjoyed my time there. The staff was very polite and punctual. Also the hibachi cook was very entertaining!!! I already recommended someone to go there for their birthday!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke, our Chef, was hands down, the abso ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Luke, our Chef, was hands down, the absolute best we have had. Our previous time at Nakama, was not a great experience, both food and service wise. But we decided to give it another shot. Because of Luke, we will be coming back over and over again! Fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke is the best chef they have! He puts ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Luke is the best chef they have! He puts on a fabulous show and his food is OUTSTANDING!! He understands the food industry and has a phenomenal work ethic! He wants people to enjoy his food and does anything to make things right! We are so happy to see Luke back! He delivers the food in the right order appetizer first! Not all chefs cook in the right order. We have received our lobster first then the rice veggies and shrimp appetizer last! He needs to be promoted he knows how to do it right!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Sushi

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The best Sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed ourselves and the food was very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Enjoyed ourselves and the food was very good .

Not overpriced at the hibachi either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great, my family shared a v ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was great, my family shared a variety of sushi. The service was prompt, and the location in south side is convenient... However the only off putting thing to me was that I expected the atmosphere to be more of a fine restaurant when it turned out to feel like a sports bar with many flat screens and noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We sat at the sushi bar. Overall very g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We sat at the sushi bar. Overall very good experience. Sushi was fresh. One critique would be that I had sashimi platter which included crab stick and shrimp which by definition would not be sashimi. Otherwise food was very good. Ambiance is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We love Nakama. One of our favorites for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 25, 2016

We love Nakama. One of our favorites for special occasions and hosting visiting guests from outside the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Had a fairly enjoyable dinning experienc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a fairly enjoyable dinning experience here, with above average food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall it was ok. We requested only b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall it was ok. We requested only broccoli as a vegetable instead of the traditions medley. They said the mixed vegetable was the only option. This is the only hibachi bar I have ever been to that would not accommodate this simple request. Our salads didn't show up until the chef was making the meals and they forgot the steamed rice. The food was good but the service can use some serious work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It was my guests birthday and it wasn't ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was my guests birthday and it wasn't acknowledged.I saw other tables getting this.That was my only disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived, the hostess stated that ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2016

When we arrived, the hostess stated that she could not find our reservation. She was extremely rude not only to me but to my guests as well. I was able to witness many times through out the evening that she was rude to guests.

The servers were wonderful, very attentive and offered great customer service. The food was amazing and the preparation of the food was very entertaining. The cook was interactive with the group.

I would go back and hope the hostess is not working, as she is rude and lacks the ability to provide excellent customer service. I am perplexed as to why the house would allow her to continue in her role.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The chef was great; very entertaining!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The chef was great; very entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was pretty good.

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 4, 2016

It was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.