Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.

1611 E. Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 381-6000

Website:
http://www.eatatnakama.com/

Catering:
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C

Private Party Facilities:
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (4)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was horrible. Made us feel as though we were an inconvenience. Never said hello. Never even smiled or spoke to us. When we asked for a drink or some water he said. "Hold on". Just rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great. Waiter was not great but overall it was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was amazingbut their was an up-charge to get fried rice instead of white rice when the price was already fairly high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Worse nakama experience I ever had. I will never return to this restaurant. The hosts were all chatting when we arrived, they did not greet us until I finally spoke up and told them I had a reservation. We were not ask which seating did we prefer, they just took us to a table with a group and we wanted to seat at a regular table. After explaining to the hostess, that we did not want to seat there and preferred to sit a regular table for two. They finally sit us where we wanted then it's a waiter forever to come to our table. When he finally arrives he has the biggest attitude. He asked us if we wanted something to drink and ask us was there anything else. I told him we needed food menus because we weren't given any. He returns with our waters and one food menu knowing we needed two. After seeing how rude he was going to be if we decided to just leave. I don't trust a impolite, unprofessional, and aggressive waiter!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very nice for a group of 8 people. fresh cooked food very tasty

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Server was great, but chef was very rushed. All of the meat and seafood was more well done than we requested and meal felt very rushed. Have had great experiences here in the past, but this meal was not worth the high price.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything was enjoyable and delicious. The service was great and the food perfect. Would definitely go there again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We have been going to Nakama for years. This past Sat. night we had one of the most entertaining chefs!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food was good. Service was slow. Not like our food took a while. The server just went away for really long periods of time. It was kind of bizarre. Loved the location and the service itself was quite friendly. Overall, pretty good. I would come again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food was good. Our hibachi chef was friendly and engaging. He made it a fun experience. Tipped him well. Our waiter was just ok. Not attentive to our drinks. 18% gratuity added in for our party of 6. The service was not worth 18% especially after directly tipping our chef. Overall good experience for those celebrating their birthdays.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Overall experience was good..went there to celebrate birthday.. host and waiter forgot to bring dessert. After check was paid for host laugh like it was a joke and says oh i forgot ur dessert. No comp sorry or anything...that was rude and unexpected considering the place was nowhere near busy. ...other than that i had an awsome time...Note to self do not go here for birthday..

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2017

First place my boyfriend took me four years ago and we've been coming since. Love the sushi!!! Wait staff has also always been very friendly!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The front desk staff needs training.
They didn't check us in on OpenTable, so I was notified we were a no-show, while sitting in the restaurant. I went to the front desk to ask about this, and got tons of excuses and then was told sorry, can't change it after your arrival time, too bad. Finally, the manager came up, logged on, and changed our status to arrived in about 5 seconds. A simple, "let me ask" from any of the front staff would have been the right thing to say.

Good was fair. Not bad, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A good place for a fun evening! However, it was pretty loud, and it was difficult to hear the wait staff and chef. The food was worth it though!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We went there for my son's 16 th Birthday. It was his choice as he was there a few weeks ago for a friends Biethday and raved about it. Both times, his food allergies were well attended to by both the server and the chef. He had no issues and loved his meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Loved it food was great as usual waitress was very friendly and the chef definitely was A grade I will return it was a great night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Luke is an amazing hibachi chef...definitely makes the experience. We request him every time we come and it's always awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Drinks, food, and service were all awesome. Would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Started at the bar area in order to finish watching the pens game against the senators had the lemongrass and coconut saki of which I would strongly recommend especially for the warmer weather. The server escorted us to the habocki table where we stayed with sushi. Recommend the soft shell crab and the Dragon roll. We ordered the Kobe steak and Suzanne mixed grill both which were fantastic. The chef recommended not cutting up the steak or removing the fat until near done and he was spot on. We had a really fun and knowledgeable chef so this was just a terrific time overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Mimi our server was excellent. The chef was great! We had a really good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome place to celebrate

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was delicious and the chef was fun to watch preparing the food. Atmosphere a little dark and bland but overall a good Japanese food menu.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Nakama was a surprise--better than average Japanese hibachi food. The chef put on a show that was anything but typical--very entertaining and personable, and a lot of fun. We had some sushi appetizers, and they were also very good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very accommodating and perfect for a large group (18) Even presented at cut the cake for our special college graduation. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good sushi. Too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Too noisy. Dinner is far more expensive than lunch and they will stack meals to try and get the most money....for example an add on piece of chicken is $8 But an upgrade from strip steak to filet is $9.99. That said it's cheaper to get a filet and add chicken than it is to get the combo with strip steak and chicken and upgrade to a filet. Not consumer friendly on that front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Luke is fantastic!!! Hands down the best chef. Such a great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Early bird special is great (20% off hibachi). Sushi was only ok. Hibachi could have used more salt. A HUGE upside was that I did not feel 'bogged down' like I do after eating hibachi at other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wonderful as always. Food was great, service was great, and chef Luke(warm) was great as always. Keep it hopping, Nakama.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Ive only been there once and it was for a date but overall I was pleased. It was easy to hold down a conversation which I would maybe hold off on the hibachi thing if you're intentionstill are getting to know someone. It's not cheap but it's also not extremely expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The chef was GREAT and sever was right on our every need. Great place..

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our chef was great!!! He was very entertaining and he spent a little time making sure our son felt special since it was his birthday!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My kids loved this fun dining experience. The chef was really entertaining, and the food was tasty.

Tags: People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was a great and relaxing way to spend my birthday!!! No complaints overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Typical hibachi style set up. Chef was energetic and food quality was good as well as quantity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I've been to nakama before about a year ago. It was ok. My lady friend wanted to go so I made a reservation. Unfortunately it was on saint party's parade day. So I couldn't even get in with my reservation. So I guess that's my fault for thinking I could go to the south side on such a day. So I guess it's the apps fault or nakama itself for allowing me to make a reservation on this day. Plus side. I didn't waste any money on weak drinks and small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We visit Nakama as often as we can. It is at least a 1- 1 1/2 hour drive for us. One of our favorite places for celebrations, or just getting together with family or friends. Always delicious and fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Nakama never disappoints me with the service and especially the food. The ginger dressing was a little different, but very good. The cook was pleasant and did a great job cooking our food.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I ate at Nakama with a group of friends. The cook was entertaining but the food was just okay. The mushroom soup was very salty and had a lot pepper. The Sesame Chicken was overcooked and didn't have much flavor. Disappointing for me but others enjoyed the setting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was blain, it needed more seasoning. However, this portion size was really good. I ate my leftovers for two days.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.