About Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

1611 E. Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
View Larger Map

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 381-6000

Website:
http://www.eatatnakama.com/

Catering:
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C

Private Party Facilities:
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cherry Blossom
  • Chicken and veggies
  • Eel, Salmon Roe, & Quail Egg Sushi
  • California Roll
  • Hibatchi Steak W/ Shrimp, Mushrooms, & Fried Rice
  • Toro, Salmon, & Ahi Sashimi....Ooooooooh!
  • Rainbow Roll
  • Blue Crab Roll
Cherry Blossom
Chicken and veggies
Eel, Salmon Roe, & Quail Egg Sushi
California Roll
Hibatchi Steak W/ Shrimp, Mushrooms, & Fried Rice
Toro, Salmon, & Ahi Sashimi....Ooooooooh!
Rainbow Roll
Blue Crab Roll

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (29)
Special Occasion (26)
Hot Spot (10)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nakama is a great restaurant with excell ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nakama is a great restaurant with excellent sushi!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner on 8/19/16 was for my parents,sis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dinner on 8/19/16 was for my parents,sisters,and my wedding anniversaries. It would be their first time there. Our dinner seemed to start out ok but then the cook came out and seemed like he didn't even want to be there. He rushed through cooking and never spoke a word. No fun or tricks, he was more worried about staring at another table for some reason. As a result, mine and my sisters scallops and veggies were raw. My plate became a pool of water. I didn't want to eat it but I tried and when pack up time came I told the waitress it was horrible and that my full plate she could throw away, so she sent the manager. He said since it looked like I took a few bites he could only give me a discount. Which he didn't anyways! I was disgusted and didn't want to make a scene and ruin my families time out, he had already ran back and forth from our table a couple times. So we left and my husband ended up in the bathroom all night, probably from the undercooked food! Also, that morning I called in to request a gong toast to our table for my parents that never even happened! The service, food, and overall experience was horrible,let alone the huge bill! Why go back?! There are plenty of other places to go in Pittsburgh. So I will.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Our chef was not entertaining. It was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our chef was not entertaining. It was our date and we ask for funny chef.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Terrible service. We got here at 930 and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Terrible service. We got here at 930 and they took the last table at 10. The chef did not say a word the whole time, did nothing like chefs do for habatchi and cooked (if I can even say cooked) our food as fast as he can. The vegetables were basically still raw. I normally chose nakama over saga and ichiban but this experience was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Nakama is always consistent.. a place fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Nakama is always consistent.. a place for a good times with friends and enjoying the display hibachi cooked food. This restaurant has been a little bit better than other Hibachi grills around Pittsburgh. We've dined here frequently and it's always a good time.

I did grade the overall value a little less since they charge $7 for fried rice. When you spend $27-$42 for an entree, I don't know if the fried rice was not a tad over charged.. who doesn't get fried rice at the hibachi grill?

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location. Love the valet parking. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great location. Love the valet parking. Food is great

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I met a friend of mine for a lunch date ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I met a friend of mine for a lunch date because she likes food cooked Hibachi Style. The service and food was of excellent quality and we both enjoyed the experience and plan to do this again in the near future.

We ordered the vegetable and the filet mignon options and shared. We loved the salad with the wonderful pineapple dressing. I plan to do take out on the salad or have some at the bar which has a good quality happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my time there. The staf ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I really enjoyed my time there. The staff was very polite and punctual. Also the hibachi cook was very entertaining!!! I already recommended someone to go there for their birthday!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke, our Chef, was hands down, the abso ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Luke, our Chef, was hands down, the absolute best we have had. Our previous time at Nakama, was not a great experience, both food and service wise. But we decided to give it another shot. Because of Luke, we will be coming back over and over again! Fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke is the best chef they have! He puts ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Luke is the best chef they have! He puts on a fabulous show and his food is OUTSTANDING!! He understands the food industry and has a phenomenal work ethic! He wants people to enjoy his food and does anything to make things right! We are so happy to see Luke back! He delivers the food in the right order appetizer first! Not all chefs cook in the right order. We have received our lobster first then the rice veggies and shrimp appetizer last! He needs to be promoted he knows how to do it right!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Sushi

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The best Sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed ourselves and the food was very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Enjoyed ourselves and the food was very good .

Not overpriced at the hibachi either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We sat at the sushi bar. Overall very g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We sat at the sushi bar. Overall very good experience. Sushi was fresh. One critique would be that I had sashimi platter which included crab stick and shrimp which by definition would not be sashimi. Otherwise food was very good. Ambiance is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We love Nakama. One of our favorites for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We love Nakama. One of our favorites for special occasions and hosting visiting guests from outside the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Had a fairly enjoyable dinning experienc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a fairly enjoyable dinning experience here, with above average food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall it was ok. We requested only b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall it was ok. We requested only broccoli as a vegetable instead of the traditions medley. They said the mixed vegetable was the only option. This is the only hibachi bar I have ever been to that would not accommodate this simple request. Our salads didn't show up until the chef was making the meals and they forgot the steamed rice. The food was good but the service can use some serious work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It was my guests birthday and it wasn't ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was my guests birthday and it wasn't acknowledged.I saw other tables getting this.That was my only disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived, the hostess stated that ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

When we arrived, the hostess stated that she could not find our reservation. She was extremely rude not only to me but to my guests as well. I was able to witness many times through out the evening that she was rude to guests.

The servers were wonderful, very attentive and offered great customer service. The food was amazing and the preparation of the food was very entertaining. The cook was interactive with the group.

I would go back and hope the hostess is not working, as she is rude and lacks the ability to provide excellent customer service. I am perplexed as to why the house would allow her to continue in her role.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The chef was great; very entertaining!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The chef was great; very entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was pretty good.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

It was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Hibachi Experience

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Nakama uses downdraft hibachi tables so there are no big, ugly vent hoods over the tables. It is a very attractive restaurant. The food is excellent and the wait staff and chefs are friendly and professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not Happy with anything about Nakama

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I've heard wonderful things about Nakama for years, however; that was not true for my visit. This visit was for my daughter's college graduation. We chose Nakama because my daughter is vegan and had many choices there. While the rest of our party had hibachi style meals, my daughter ordered soup and sushi for her main course. We were served our food and her stuff didn't arrive and we couldn't find a server to bring it. We were finished with our overcooked meals before she received her food. Her meal wasn't meant to be takeout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Teresa's Birthday

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We chose Nakama for Teresa's birthday because we've been there before and it's always been very good. Our waiter & chef were very good. We've had the chef cook for us before and it was nice to have him again. He's very personable and friendly. The food was great and we enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun experience

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

a classical Japanese steak house and sushi bar with great food and atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I've gone here a lot and it was busy but our service was probably the worst I've have ever had. The waitress never came back to check on us until it was time for our checks. The chef had to get us refills on waters. The people next to me never got there alcoholic drinks or there steamed rice. It just seemed that our waitress was completely overwhelmed. Which I'm a server so I understand but she seemed to waiting on tables all through out the restaurant which is a lot on a Saturday night prime dinner time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Burnt food

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My first experience here. I was pre warned that it was more of a bar for decent sushi then a good Hibachi, Needless to say we went for a birthday and the "chef" burnt everything that was cooked! the server seemed to be over whelmed and asking to speak with a manager left me standing there for 15 min before i finally walked out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Fun and good food

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Good food and fun atmosphere. We enjoy going for special occasions. The hibachi is good but too salty in my opinion. The sushi is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Very good food and lots of it!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Very good food and lots of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service, good food, large portions.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I'm not a huge fan of this type of meal but the people I was with all liked it and the chef was quite skilled. My steak was at least medium and nowhere near medium rare. Most of my group took food home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First timer

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

It was nice, the fried rice was really good. We really didn't know what too order, and everyone else food looked so good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was great. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The service was great. Our waitress was very attentive. My one complaint would be on the noise level. My fiancé and I joked that it would be a horrible place for a first date because we could barely hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was absolutely good. We sat at the grill section and our chef was friendly. Enjoyed everything and our server was nice and accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not happy

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I was overall not happy at the food experience. Even though I had a reservations I still had to wait until a table became available. The cook seemed like he was rushed and did not cook my food the way I wanted. I was just overall not happy. I paid a lot of money at nakama and walked out not satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Always a great time and great food! Luv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Always a great time and great food! Luv this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have always chosen Nakama,

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

But this year on Valentines Day, we had a reservation, for 9:30 we did not get seated til 10:45 because we were over looked. Then , The seat us at a very crouded table where the cook did not even have my Fried rice witch they charge extra for! He gave me the burnt stuff that was left over on the grill witch was around 6 table spoons of rice. Sad part is, We have gone to Nakama many times, And we have had wonderful service and food before. But this is the last time I'll go there, Because the last 3 times we have gone its like it gets worse and worse. A few months ago I took my husband for his Birthday and his shrimp was so over cooked it was like chewing gum. We have been to other places like Benny Hanna and Yokoso and never had any of these problems! And the price is like half almost.

Its crazy, for what they charge they should make sure your service, experience and food are perfect.

I'm extremely disappointed. And wished the manager would of came to are table and spoken to me when I had asked to speak with one . But I guess since I'm not a Steelers football player or A Pens player my service dose not matter. Yet I've got GREEN MONEY like everyone else.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Even with the reservation we waited abou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Even with the reservation we waited about an hour to get a table. The food was ok but loved the setting and ambience! Good night overal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Foodie

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was great but even with a reservation we still had to wait for a hour to be seated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything worked like clock work at the hibachi, too much food to eat in one seating, take home box needed. Good quality food and nice chef presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

chef

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Always enjoy nakama. Chef was disappointing this time. Not fun and didn't do much which is part of the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Not as good as it used to be

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here on Saturday for lunch and was a bit disappointed in the food. I always thought Nakama had the best hibachi around but the chicken was crunchy and the carrots in the fried rice were hard. The soup and steak were very good as well as the mushroom appetizer. I would go back and get the steak only and get the white rice instead of the fried rice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.