About Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

1611 E. Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
View Larger Map

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 381-6000

Website:
http://www.eatatnakama.com/

Catering:
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C

Private Party Facilities:
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Family Style (7)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Need to have enough wait staff to serve their customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Group of friends came here , one of which has never been to Nakama. Needless to say she loved it and so did everyone else. Our chef was funny and kept our attention throughout his "presentation". I had the lobster hibachi and red dragon roll, it was delicious !

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

After we were seated, We waited and waited. Then waited a bit more. Thankful we had water given to us. I understand Valentines day is a crazy day. I worked restaurant business for 28 years,

The server should have not been responsible for a table of 16 , all sat a once,

Not fair to the guest or the server.

Most Hibachi gives you rice or noodles. We didn't get our rice until meal was over.

Looking forward to Mike and Tony's down the street .

Treat your guest as a person.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were seated right on time, the waiter did a good job taking our drink and appetizer orders, but the chef Luke was outstanding. He was very personable, very funny and entertaining ,but most importantly the food was great. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The cook was funny n the slush puppie martini was amazing

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I was there a day before Valentine's Day to beat the rush. We got seated at the hibachi and had a whole one to all of ourselves which is rare but it was nice. We had a sushi and some beverages to start, All of which were great. Then the chef came, our dinner was prepared with flare and the chef was friendly and talkative. The dinner was delicious, my steak was prepared perfectly. All in all we had a lovely time, the staff was courteous, polite, and very attentive. The food was delicious, I especially recommend the "Hanalei Roll". The prices were affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always an awesome time. Great food as always. Great staff. Our hibachi chef was amazing. He worked the table for the kids and did crazy tricks. Our waiter was attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Early Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great dinner, other than the steamed white rice. It was served at I had all but completed eating the rest of the meal and it tasted like it had been sitting to long. We had a larger than normal party, so I didn't expect the server to be perfect, but I found out he was taking care of 31 people, so he was close to non-existent. I really felt bad for him and he obviously did the best he could.

So while they can squeeze more than eight at a table, I would not suggest it. Go somewhere else if your party is larger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday day lunch! Our chef was wonderful and the servers were exceptional. Thank you for a wonderful day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was spot on and our waiter Brandon did a great job. Unfortunately all of the meats cooked were way over cooked. I know it is a hot spot eatery and they are always busy, but there are other hibachi type restaurants in the area that are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My daughter chose this place for her birthday dinner and this place was amazing. Great customer service the chef was excellent! He treated my daughter with mind blowing hospitality...food was great first time I had been there and yes we will return!!

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

To the Nakama management staff: Your chef, MATT, prepared dinner for us tonight. (6:30pm reservation) He is truly a STELLAR cook!!! SUPER YUMMY!! Our Family of four unanimously voted our meals "favorite hibachi that we've EVER had"!!🏆🏆

He ,(and Justin our waiter), was quite courteous as well, a rare trait seen these days,unfortunately. Great wait staff all around.Our food was scrumptious, topped off with lots of Matt's snazzy utensil tricks that we thoroughly enjoyed!!! KUDOS to Matt!!! He's the BEST!! 👏🏻😁

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We loved Chef Luke. He was entertaining and talented and held conversations with us making it that much better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was great as usual!! I was there on a date and we had a really great time!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Family Style, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Nakama. The food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We all enjoyed the chef cooking display. The waiter was very attentive, food was great. It was alot of food and half of us ended up taking a good portion home. We went there for a birthday celebration lunch during the holiday time so the restaurant became very busy late afternoon early evening. Lunch price was very reasonable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall very nice place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went for a date night with some friends and thoroughly enjoyed everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fun place to take out of town visitors since it is located in the Southside. Food was excellent and we had a great time at our table with our waiter and the other guests.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was the worst dinner I have ever had there. The cook messed up my sisters order and didn't care to fix it so we tried to talk to the manager who felt the need to shush both of my grown sisters and say she was old enough to be our mother not knowing our mother just recently passed away this year. Then she proceeded to remove my sisters food from our table and say she'd call the cops if we left and didn't pay for our food. Keep in mind that none of us touched our food when and after the incident took place. We asked for an apology and she wouldn't talk to us. I have given them a lot of business the past few years and so have the rest of my family. But her comments about my mother made me and my sister cry and left us very upset on my 21st BIRTHDAY. The manager there is extremely disrespectful and made my first birthday dinner without my mother very traumatic. I will NEVER go back to this establishment and do not suggest anyone else to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

the atmosphere was good a little bit noisy tho. Food was great like the dinner menus and rolls. The problem was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Reservation was trouble and check-in was very traumatic.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went to dinner with my sisters and cousin for my cousin's 21st birthday. Not only did we wait forever for the chef to come, our waitress, Mimi, was less than stellar. My sister wanted to try a Nakama specialty drink and instead of a few nice recommendations, the drink menu was thrust at her. That was just one thing about our waitress but hey, we all have bad days sometimes. As far as the Chef goes, the guy barely interacted with the table and looked beyond done with his job. I didn't catch his name because it was not an experience to remember or request him by. Overall the food was alright although over priced for what you get. I would not plan on going here again unless that is what my table mates choose to do in the future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As always a wonderful place to dine! The entertainment was great and the service was awesome! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was the BEST meal I had all year. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and fun! We took our 2 kids ages 7 and 9, they loved everything about it! Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was amazing! We ate the spicy Diablo, soooo yummy! Service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food and service was amazing. We would definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fantastic and fun, food was good, chef was really good

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great service but the cook was amazing he made my sons dinner memorable

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious! But not great for gluten-free diets or those with food allergies.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The best is when you get a fun chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is our yearly tradition for our daughters birthday dinner. We would not go anywhere else.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The hostess were unaccommodating. I arrived on time for my reservation. I was told since two people in my party were not present that I couldn't be seated.

I had two rambunctious toddlers with me and with no lobby or waiting area it made it difficult to keep the two children in an area where there wasn't heavy foot traffic from restaurant staff and patrons.

If feel for the given situation I could of been seated and waited for the other two party members to get to the restaurant.

In the past I was seated without my complete party, I don't understand why the change in policy? I won't stop going there moving forward, however Nakama should consider changing their policy or create a suitable waiting area. It made it very uncomfortable constantly moving out of the way of foot traffic by the front door.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our waiter was great. Good service very fast for aHibachi restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Absolutely the most fresh seafood I've EVER had!!! If you can put up with the high noise level, this is where it's at for sushi!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Have always had good service, fun chefs, etc. but this visit wasn't that great (service was absent, chef forgot everyone's appetizer, had to wait for about 20 minutes for check.) Hope this was a one time blip and not an indicator of decline.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Nakama has outstanding food, service, and wait staff. Our chef was by far the best we've ever had. The only hitch is parking in the south side, but for food this good, it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I celebrate every birthday at Nakama as do many of my friends. For my last two visits in August and September, my party was fortunate to have Luke (employed since 2003) as the chef. He has a marvelous personality and disposition and makes the experience special for longtime patrons as well as first-time diners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I love Nakama. Whether we are in the mood for hibachi style dining or excellent sushi, we have never EVER been disappointed. Fish is incredibly fresh, service is top notch, and the chefs put on a great show.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere just had a dingy sticky unclean feeling about it. There were a few flies in the dining room and the restroom was messy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

My feelings on this review are mixed. I requested a certain chef like I had been for years and years and all of a sudden this time we can't have him cause they are on a strict rotation (at 9pm at night mind you). I could see if this was 7pm on a Saturday night. When we realized we wouldn't have that particular chef, I no longer wanted hibachi. So we moved to the sushi bar where our experience more than made up for the hibachi debacle. Our waitress, Jenn, was on point. My water was always filled, she was very friendly and approachable. Sitting at the sushi bar also allowed us to talk to the chefs up there and that was fun as well. I don't quite understand why Nakama has an issue with requested chefs. You are making the customer happy and that always leads to better reviews and more recommendations therefore more business. Just my opinion though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our cook was amazing, our waitress a brat. food was good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We really didn't need a reservation, as we were one of only 2 groups when we were seated. The food was great, but it is very expensive. Our waiter was fantastic and provided great customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nakama is a great restaurant with excellent sushi!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food and adult beverages were fantastic. Our waiter was exceptionally good having very good knowledge of menu and facility. I have been going to NAKAMA for several years almost 10 years and have never had a bad experience

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dinner on 8/19/16 was for my parents,sisters,and my wedding anniversaries. It would be their first time there. Our dinner seemed to start out ok but then the cook came out and seemed like he didn't even want to be there. He rushed through cooking and never spoke a word. No fun or tricks, he was more worried about staring at another table for some reason. As a result, mine and my sisters scallops and veggies were raw. My plate became a pool of water. I didn't want to eat it but I tried and when pack up time came I told the waitress it was horrible and that my full plate she could throw away, so she sent the manager. He said since it looked like I took a few bites he could only give me a discount. Which he didn't anyways! I was disgusted and didn't want to make a scene and ruin my families time out, he had already ran back and forth from our table a couple times. So we left and my husband ended up in the bathroom all night, probably from the undercooked food! Also, that morning I called in to request a gong toast to our table for my parents that never even happened! The service, food, and overall experience was horrible,let alone the huge bill! Why go back?! There are plenty of other places to go in Pittsburgh. So I will.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our chef was not entertaining. It was our date and we ask for funny chef.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Terrible service. We got here at 930 and they took the last table at 10. The chef did not say a word the whole time, did nothing like chefs do for habatchi and cooked (if I can even say cooked) our food as fast as he can. The vegetables were basically still raw. I normally chose nakama over saga and ichiban but this experience was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.