About Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

1611 E. Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
View Larger Map

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 381-6000

Website:
http://www.eatatnakama.com/

Catering:
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C

Private Party Facilities:
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cherry Blossom - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Chicken and veggies - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Eel, Salmon Roe, & Quail Egg Sushi - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • California Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Hibatchi Steak W/ Shrimp, Mushrooms, & Fried Rice - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Toro, Salmon, & Ahi Sashimi....Ooooooooh! - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Rainbow Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Blue Crab Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA

Report a photo problem

Cherry Blossom - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Chicken and veggies - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Eel, Salmon Roe, & Quail Egg Sushi - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
California Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Hibatchi Steak W/ Shrimp, Mushrooms, & Fried Rice - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Toro, Salmon, & Ahi Sashimi....Ooooooooh! - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Rainbow Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA
Blue Crab Roll - Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, Pittsburgh, PA

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Family Style (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

To the Nakama management staff: Your che ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

To the Nakama management staff: Your chef, MATT, prepared dinner for us tonight. (6:30pm reservation) He is truly a STELLAR cook!!! SUPER YUMMY!! Our Family of four unanimously voted our meals "favorite hibachi that we've EVER had"!!🏆🏆

He ,(and Justin our waiter), was quite courteous as well, a rare trait seen these days,unfortunately. Great wait staff all around.Our food was scrumptious, topped off with lots of Matt's snazzy utensil tricks that we thoroughly enjoyed!!! KUDOS to Matt!!! He's the BEST!! 👏🏻😁

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Chef Luke. He was entertaining ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We loved Chef Luke. He was entertaining and talented and held conversations with us making it that much better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great as usual! ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was great as usual!! I was there on a date and we had a really great time!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Family Style, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, , Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our experience at Nakama. The ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Nakama. The food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all enjoyed the chef cooking display. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We all enjoyed the chef cooking display. The waiter was very attentive, food was great. It was alot of food and half of us ended up taking a good portion home. We went there for a birthday celebration lunch during the holiday time so the restaurant became very busy late afternoon early evening. Lunch price was very reasonable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall very nice place to dine

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall very nice place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for a date night with some friends ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went for a date night with some friends and thoroughly enjoyed everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place to take out of town visitors s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fun place to take out of town visitors since it is located in the Southside. Food was excellent and we had a great time at our table with our waiter and the other guests.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worst dinner I have ever ha ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was the worst dinner I have ever had there. The cook messed up my sisters order and didn't care to fix it so we tried to talk to the manager who felt the need to shush both of my grown sisters and say she was old enough to be our mother not knowing our mother just recently passed away this year. Then she proceeded to remove my sisters food from our table and say she'd call the cops if we left and didn't pay for our food. Keep in mind that none of us touched our food when and after the incident took place. We asked for an apology and she wouldn't talk to us. I have given them a lot of business the past few years and so have the rest of my family. But her comments about my mother made me and my sister cry and left us very upset on my 21st BIRTHDAY. The manager there is extremely disrespectful and made my first birthday dinner without my mother very traumatic. I will NEVER go back to this establishment and do not suggest anyone else to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

the atmosphere was good a little bit noi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

the atmosphere was good a little bit noisy tho. Food was great like the dinner menus and rolls. The problem was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Reservation was trouble and check-in was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Reservation was trouble and check-in was very traumatic.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went to dinner with my sisters and cousi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went to dinner with my sisters and cousin for my cousin's 21st birthday. Not only did we wait forever for the chef to come, our waitress, Mimi, was less than stellar. My sister wanted to try a Nakama specialty drink and instead of a few nice recommendations, the drink menu was thrust at her. That was just one thing about our waitress but hey, we all have bad days sometimes. As far as the Chef goes, the guy barely interacted with the table and looked beyond done with his job. I didn't catch his name because it was not an experience to remember or request him by. Overall the food was alright although over priced for what you get. I would not plan on going here again unless that is what my table mates choose to do in the future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

As always a wonderful place to dine! Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As always a wonderful place to dine! The entertainment was great and the service was awesome! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the BEST meal I had all year. T ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was the BEST meal I had all year. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and fun! We took our 2 kids ages 7 and 9, they loved everything about it! Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! We ate the spicy Diabl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was amazing! We ate the spicy Diablo, soooo yummy! Service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was amazing. We would ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food and service was amazing. We would definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic and fun, food was good, chef ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fantastic and fun, food was good, chef was really good

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service but the cook was amazing h ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great service but the cook was amazing he made my sons dinner memorable

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious! But not great for gluten-free ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious! But not great for gluten-free diets or those with food allergies.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The best is when you get a fun chef

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The best is when you get a fun chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is our yearly tradition for our dau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is our yearly tradition for our daughters birthday dinner. We would not go anywhere else.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess were unaccommodating. I arri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The hostess were unaccommodating. I arrived on time for my reservation. I was told since two people in my party were not present that I couldn't be seated.

I had two rambunctious toddlers with me and with no lobby or waiting area it made it difficult to keep the two children in an area where there wasn't heavy foot traffic from restaurant staff and patrons.

If feel for the given situation I could of been seated and waited for the other two party members to get to the restaurant.

In the past I was seated without my complete party, I don't understand why the change in policy? I won't stop going there moving forward, however Nakama should consider changing their policy or create a suitable waiting area. It made it very uncomfortable constantly moving out of the way of foot traffic by the front door.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was great. Good service ve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our waiter was great. Good service very fast for aHibachi restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely the most fresh seafood I've E ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Absolutely the most fresh seafood I've EVER had!!! If you can put up with the high noise level, this is where it's at for sushi!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have always had good service, fun chefs, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Have always had good service, fun chefs, etc. but this visit wasn't that great (service was absent, chef forgot everyone's appetizer, had to wait for about 20 minutes for check.) Hope this was a one time blip and not an indicator of decline.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nakama has outstanding food, service, an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Nakama has outstanding food, service, and wait staff. Our chef was by far the best we've ever had. The only hitch is parking in the south side, but for food this good, it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I celebrate every birthday at Nakama as ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I celebrate every birthday at Nakama as do many of my friends. For my last two visits in August and September, my party was fortunate to have Luke (employed since 2003) as the chef. He has a marvelous personality and disposition and makes the experience special for longtime patrons as well as first-time diners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Nakama. Whether we are in the moo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I love Nakama. Whether we are in the mood for hibachi style dining or excellent sushi, we have never EVER been disappointed. Fish is incredibly fresh, service is top notch, and the chefs put on a great show.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great Beer, , Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant atmosphere just had a din ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere just had a dingy sticky unclean feeling about it. There were a few flies in the dining room and the restroom was messy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

My feelings on this review are mixed. I ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

My feelings on this review are mixed. I requested a certain chef like I had been for years and years and all of a sudden this time we can't have him cause they are on a strict rotation (at 9pm at night mind you). I could see if this was 7pm on a Saturday night. When we realized we wouldn't have that particular chef, I no longer wanted hibachi. So we moved to the sushi bar where our experience more than made up for the hibachi debacle. Our waitress, Jenn, was on point. My water was always filled, she was very friendly and approachable. Sitting at the sushi bar also allowed us to talk to the chefs up there and that was fun as well. I don't quite understand why Nakama has an issue with requested chefs. You are making the customer happy and that always leads to better reviews and more recommendations therefore more business. Just my opinion though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our cook was amazing, our waitress a bra ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our cook was amazing, our waitress a brat. food was good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We really didn't need a reservation, as ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We really didn't need a reservation, as we were one of only 2 groups when we were seated. The food was great, but it is very expensive. Our waiter was fantastic and provided great customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nakama is a great restaurant with excell ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nakama is a great restaurant with excellent sushi!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and adult beverages were fantas ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food and adult beverages were fantastic. Our waiter was exceptionally good having very good knowledge of menu and facility. I have been going to NAKAMA for several years almost 10 years and have never had a bad experience

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner on 8/19/16 was for my parents,sis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dinner on 8/19/16 was for my parents,sisters,and my wedding anniversaries. It would be their first time there. Our dinner seemed to start out ok but then the cook came out and seemed like he didn't even want to be there. He rushed through cooking and never spoke a word. No fun or tricks, he was more worried about staring at another table for some reason. As a result, mine and my sisters scallops and veggies were raw. My plate became a pool of water. I didn't want to eat it but I tried and when pack up time came I told the waitress it was horrible and that my full plate she could throw away, so she sent the manager. He said since it looked like I took a few bites he could only give me a discount. Which he didn't anyways! I was disgusted and didn't want to make a scene and ruin my families time out, he had already ran back and forth from our table a couple times. So we left and my husband ended up in the bathroom all night, probably from the undercooked food! Also, that morning I called in to request a gong toast to our table for my parents that never even happened! The service, food, and overall experience was horrible,let alone the huge bill! Why go back?! There are plenty of other places to go in Pittsburgh. So I will.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Our chef was not entertaining. It was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our chef was not entertaining. It was our date and we ask for funny chef.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Terrible service. We got here at 930 and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Terrible service. We got here at 930 and they took the last table at 10. The chef did not say a word the whole time, did nothing like chefs do for habatchi and cooked (if I can even say cooked) our food as fast as he can. The vegetables were basically still raw. I normally chose nakama over saga and ichiban but this experience was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Nakama is always consistent.. a place fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Nakama is always consistent.. a place for a good times with friends and enjoying the display hibachi cooked food. This restaurant has been a little bit better than other Hibachi grills around Pittsburgh. We've dined here frequently and it's always a good time.

I did grade the overall value a little less since they charge $7 for fried rice. When you spend $27-$42 for an entree, I don't know if the fried rice was not a tad over charged.. who doesn't get fried rice at the hibachi grill?

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nakama is a great place for a large part ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nakama is a great place for a large party. Our food was excellent and our hibachi chef was delightful! Nakama never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location. Love the valet parking. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great location. Love the valet parking. Food is great

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.