Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.

1611 E. Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 381-6000

Website:
http://www.eatatnakama.com/

Catering:
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C

Private Party Facilities:
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (25)
Groups (21)
Birthdays (14)
See All
CreativeCuisine (12)
GoodForDates (12)
Fun (12)
HotSpot (10)
Anniversaries (10)
Casual (9)
WorthTheDrive (8)
HappyHour (6)
Authentic (6)
BarSeating (6)
PeopleWatching (5)
FamilyStyle (5)
NeighborhoodGem (5)
Lunch (4)
BusinessMeals (4)
VibrantBarScene (4)
DisabledAccess (3)
Spicy (3)
HandcraftedCocktails (3)
Foodies (3)
SundayLunch (2)
ChildFriendly (2)
ModernDecor (2)
LateNightFind (2)
PrePostTheatre (2)
Romance (2)
OpenKitchen (2)
VegetarianOptions (2)
Historic (1)
QuietConversation (1)
Cozy (1)
OutdoorDining (1)
GlutenFree (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
QuickBite (1)
Dancing (1)
Healthy (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

First place my boyfriend took me four years ago and we've been coming since. Love the sushi!!! Wait staff has also always been very friendly!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The front desk staff needs training.
They didn't check us in on OpenTable, so I was notified we were a no-show, while sitting in the restaurant. I went to the front desk to ask about this, and got tons of excuses and then was told sorry, can't change it after your arrival time, too bad. Finally, the manager came up, logged on, and changed our status to arrived in about 5 seconds. A simple, "let me ask" from any of the front staff would have been the right thing to say.

Good was fair. Not bad, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A good place for a fun evening! However, it was pretty loud, and it was difficult to hear the wait staff and chef. The food was worth it though!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We went there for my son's 16 th Birthday. It was his choice as he was there a few weeks ago for a friends Biethday and raved about it. Both times, his food allergies were well attended to by both the server and the chef. He had no issues and loved his meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Loved it food was great as usual waitress was very friendly and the chef definitely was A grade I will return it was a great night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Luke is an amazing hibachi chef...definitely makes the experience. We request him every time we come and it's always awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Drinks, food, and service were all awesome. Would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Started at the bar area in order to finish watching the pens game against the senators had the lemongrass and coconut saki of which I would strongly recommend especially for the warmer weather. The server escorted us to the habocki table where we stayed with sushi. Recommend the soft shell crab and the Dragon roll. We ordered the Kobe steak and Suzanne mixed grill both which were fantastic. The chef recommended not cutting up the steak or removing the fat until near done and he was spot on. We had a really fun and knowledgeable chef so this was just a terrific time overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Mimi our server was excellent. The chef was great! We had a really good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome place to celebrate

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was delicious and the chef was fun to watch preparing the food. Atmosphere a little dark and bland but overall a good Japanese food menu.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Nakama was a surprise--better than average Japanese hibachi food. The chef put on a show that was anything but typical--very entertaining and personable, and a lot of fun. We had some sushi appetizers, and they were also very good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very accommodating and perfect for a large group (18) Even presented at cut the cake for our special college graduation. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good sushi. Too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Too noisy. Dinner is far more expensive than lunch and they will stack meals to try and get the most money....for example an add on piece of chicken is $8 But an upgrade from strip steak to filet is $9.99. That said it's cheaper to get a filet and add chicken than it is to get the combo with strip steak and chicken and upgrade to a filet. Not consumer friendly on that front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Luke is fantastic!!! Hands down the best chef. Such a great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Early bird special is great (20% off hibachi). Sushi was only ok. Hibachi could have used more salt. A HUGE upside was that I did not feel 'bogged down' like I do after eating hibachi at other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wonderful as always. Food was great, service was great, and chef Luke(warm) was great as always. Keep it hopping, Nakama.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Ive only been there once and it was for a date but overall I was pleased. It was easy to hold down a conversation which I would maybe hold off on the hibachi thing if you're intentionstill are getting to know someone. It's not cheap but it's also not extremely expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The chef was GREAT and sever was right on our every need. Great place..

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our chef was great!!! He was very entertaining and he spent a little time making sure our son felt special since it was his birthday!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My kids loved this fun dining experience. The chef was really entertaining, and the food was tasty.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was a great and relaxing way to spend my birthday!!! No complaints overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Typical hibachi style set up. Chef was energetic and food quality was good as well as quantity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I've been to nakama before about a year ago. It was ok. My lady friend wanted to go so I made a reservation. Unfortunately it was on saint party's parade day. So I couldn't even get in with my reservation. So I guess that's my fault for thinking I could go to the south side on such a day. So I guess it's the apps fault or nakama itself for allowing me to make a reservation on this day. Plus side. I didn't waste any money on weak drinks and small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We visit Nakama as often as we can. It is at least a 1- 1 1/2 hour drive for us. One of our favorite places for celebrations, or just getting together with family or friends. Always delicious and fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Nakama never disappoints me with the service and especially the food. The ginger dressing was a little different, but very good. The cook was pleasant and did a great job cooking our food.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I ate at Nakama with a group of friends. The cook was entertaining but the food was just okay. The mushroom soup was very salty and had a lot pepper. The Sesame Chicken was overcooked and didn't have much flavor. Disappointing for me but others enjoyed the setting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was blain, it needed more seasoning. However, this portion size was really good. I ate my leftovers for two days.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Need to have enough wait staff to serve their customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Group of friends came here , one of which has never been to Nakama. Needless to say she loved it and so did everyone else. Our chef was funny and kept our attention throughout his "presentation". I had the lobster hibachi and red dragon roll, it was delicious !

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

After we were seated, We waited and waited. Then waited a bit more. Thankful we had water given to us. I understand Valentines day is a crazy day. I worked restaurant business for 28 years,
The server should have not been responsible for a table of 16 , all sat a once,
Not fair to the guest or the server.
Most Hibachi gives you rice or noodles. We didn't get our rice until meal was over.
Looking forward to Mike and Tony's down the street .
Treat your guest as a person.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were seated right on time, the waiter did a good job taking our drink and appetizer orders, but the chef Luke was outstanding. He was very personable, very funny and entertaining ,but most importantly the food was great. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The cook was funny n the slush puppie martini was amazing

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I was there a day before Valentine's Day to beat the rush. We got seated at the hibachi and had a whole one to all of ourselves which is rare but it was nice. We had a sushi and some beverages to start, All of which were great. Then the chef came, our dinner was prepared with flare and the chef was friendly and talkative. The dinner was delicious, my steak was prepared perfectly. All in all we had a lovely time, the staff was courteous, polite, and very attentive. The food was delicious, I especially recommend the "Hanalei Roll". The prices were affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always an awesome time. Great food as always. Great staff. Our hibachi chef was amazing. He worked the table for the kids and did crazy tricks. Our waiter was attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Early Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great dinner, other than the steamed white rice. It was served at I had all but completed eating the rest of the meal and it tasted like it had been sitting to long. We had a larger than normal party, so I didn't expect the server to be perfect, but I found out he was taking care of 31 people, so he was close to non-existent. I really felt bad for him and he obviously did the best he could.
So while they can squeeze more than eight at a table, I would not suggest it. Go somewhere else if your party is larger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday day lunch! Our chef was wonderful and the servers were exceptional. Thank you for a wonderful day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.