HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

4.1
1261 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion
Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 381-6000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
17th
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1261 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
74% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Hammango (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent as was the service! I love Nakama. I had been before but my boyfriend had never experienced hibachi so we went for our first anniversary. We loved it and are looking forward to anything trip back soon with a group of our friends. Fun, delicious, and something different.

Report
Helpful
dawnc 
4.0  Dined 5 days ago

great food and our chef was amazing. We had reservations for 5- just wish we didnt have to share the hibachi with strangers while we were celebrating a birthday.

Report
Helpful
HeathJS (Pittsburgh)
3.0  Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. However our grill did not seem to be working properly. The chef has to wait ten mins before he could start cooking because it wasn’t hot enough. When he did cook by the time the meat was done the vegetables were cold. I’ve had this chef before and definitely not normal for this place. Overall between the server being busy and the grill being slow our dinner took almost 3 hours. Other than the long waits and the first food out being a little cold by the time the rest was done everything was good. Food was still delicious and definitely was not the chefs fault.

Report
Helpful
JaneL 
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

So crowded! The waiting area was packed BUT they did take us on time for our reservation. Meal and drinks were excellent! Celebrated a birthday-would definitely recommend. Our chef did not speak to us while preparing dinner but some of the other chefs at other tables did; we really didn't mind as the restaurant was packed and the noise level was moderate. Will go back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

Had the miso soup, was not the greatest but decent. Edamame was good and a good size portion. Ordered 3 types of rolls and all of them were very good and large sizes. Overall a good experience! Would eat here again!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
1.0  Dined 7 days ago

This was one of the three worst experiences I have had at any restaurant in the last 10 years. Unfortunately, two of the three were at Nakama. I can't begin to express my disappointment given the cost of a dinner like this. Although this was not a special occasion, it was a rare time that we could get out for a "nice" dinner and we were very much looking forward to it. The wait staff never stopped to see if everything was ok or if anything else was needed. At one point we had requested a glass of ice and after 10 minute, stopped another employee who returned with it within two. minutes. The chef had already begun cooking prior to the appetizer being delivered. The soup and salad were delivered at the same time instead of the soup first, which had never occurred at any of the other Japanese steakhouse restaurants we had been to (including past dinners at Nakama) except one other time. Perhaps you can guess where that occurred. I understand if the restaurant is busy that service can suffer, however, as we watched our server walk passed several times, she never once even looked at our table. In other words, not only did she not check on us and ask if things were ok, she did not even acknowledge our table. Then didn't get the pint of sauce we asked for to take with us, and when we asked bout it, turned her head and rolled her eyes. Not going back even though in the past we had been there dozens of times and took all of our friends and family from out of town. After two times I will not waste my money on such poor experiences. The food is good but the frustration of the entirety of the evening is not worth it.

Report
Helpful
JillD 
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

I put in to have reservations a month before valentines day. I had really horrible seats with my husband, no room to move, and the portion was considerably smaller. For a $35 dollar plate/ per person he shouldn't have left hungry. It wasn't nearly the same experience we had a year ago.

Report
Helpful
ToroeF (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The server took good care of the patrons but the grill master set the experience and the reason for us to return soon

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Delicious food and great service but way too hot and loud.

Report
Helpful
DiBo (Pittsburgh)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

I feel like I am rushed through the whole dinner. I did not like that at all!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Great place

Report
Helpful
PaulaB (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

OMG YUM
Was 13 minutes late for reservation. Their response- “no problem.” Waitress immediately took drink orders. Salad and soup did come out while still eating appetizers. But finished before chef started cooking. I had seafood trio and it was to die for deliciousness. Ahi tuna and scallops were cooked perfect. Waitresses stand off to side so all you have to do is look over and they come see what you need. Now this was a Thursday night and it was 65% full in bar with 3 hibachi tables going. I’m sure the weekends are way busier. Not only would I go again, I can’t wait to go again!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Brought our young kids with us. Everyone had a great time and food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
Momof5 (Pittsburgh)
2.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

I was extremely disappointed in the way that it was understaffed and people were stuffed into tables. Looks like company greed to me. Wait staff and cooks were great but obviously stretched too far. Dinner took incredibly too long and we missed half of our show after. The food was wonderful. Waiter was great and accommodating. Cook was entertaining and talented. If only there was adequate staff this review would have been different and I would be a common return customer.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on January 30, 2018

Great dinner

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
1.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

I was very disappointed. I have been to many hibachi places, but this was not one I would recommend going to. The chef was not entertaining at all, he just cooked our food. The food was not good at all, but our waitress was nice.

Report
Helpful
RattieKelly (Pittsburgh)
3.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

My experiences here have been hit or miss. This trip was not the greatest. I have a feeling they don't have their best people in on Mondays. The waitress seemed to want to hurry everyone to order. We had to ask for a dish and soy sauce for our sushi, which isn't a big deal but I just feel like the devil is in the details. There were only four people total at our table and the hibachi chef did not find us worthy of putting on a show. I was the only woman, and the only one at the table who did not order seafood. The chef prepared all the seafood and then cooked my meat. So I waited longer than anyone for my main dish. The grill is huge so I don't understand while when you're only cooking for 4 why you can't fit my food on. He could have asked if I had a seafood allergy if that was the concern. Plus, why not cook the lady's food first? Not to seem old fashioned but it did seem strange.

Report
Helpful
DMDM (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

I thought that the food was good except that the steak had too much gristle - also the sushi came out with the app -which was okay, but almost immediately following was the soup, salad and the chef showed up to cook our meal. We really did get time to savor and enjoy the good food.

Also, sushi could use some improvement, falling apart and tuna and salmon cut too thick

Report
Helpful
Zoltan (Pittsburgh)
2.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

They have valet parking, but don't advertise that it's $7.00!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

My birthday

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

My favorite!!! Excellent food and service. Great value

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
3.0  Dined on January 8, 2018

The food was ok but that's only a part of why we went to Nikama. We mostly go for the hibachi cooking show. This time it was lackluster. The chef said that there was a lawsuit against them so he wasn't allowed to "perform" as we were used to with the knives and food flying. It was also very dark in the restaurant and hard to read the menu which led to a surprise upcharge on our bill for fried instead of white rice. I don't see us going back there.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

We went to celebrate my wife’s birthday. Everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Happy New Year! 2018

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Pretty poor at managing reservations.
Showed up and was told they were behind and that we had to wait for a seat. Was told that they would find us once the seats were available. Never happened. Had a couple of drinks and then just ordered sushi at the bar.
Poor management.

Report
Helpful
MICHAELB (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We were seated a hour after our reservation. They were very nice to give us free drinks but it was still an hour after we were supposed to be seated

Report
Helpful
Sydnie (Washington DC)
1.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

I normally frequent Nakama for special occasions or a quick bite at the sushi bar (I went about twice a month for two years). After this experience, I doubt I will go back. The service was absolutely deplorable. Our server was rude, agitated, and generally unfriendly. My party and I (who had a reservation and checked in 10 minutes prior to the reservation) waited over 45 minutes for our table, with no explanation for the wait. I am very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

made a reservation for 5:15 and a table was not ready for us. We did not get seated until closer to 6. Food and chef were very good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on December 24, 2017

We had a wonderful experience for our Christmas Eve family dinner. The food and service were great! Our waiter Lance was the best waiter we ever had. The chef did a great job and there was a ton of food. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
cap3550 (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on December 24, 2017

Great meal. Entertaining for kids. Servers were great and the chef was very social. Will definitely be back/

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
43