About Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

1611 E. Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
View Larger Map

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar is a hip, fresh approach to Japanese cuisine. Enjoy the knife wielding chefs & experience why Nakama has the absolute best tasting hibachi grilled steak, chicken & seafood as well as the best sushi in Pittsburgh. Nakama has won numerous awards including: Best Japanese/Sushi Restaurant by Pittsburgh Magazine from 2005 through 2015.
Experience why Nakama is getting Pittsburgh's vote!! We are located at 10636 Perry Highway, Wexford, PA and in the heart of the historic South Side at 1611 East Carson Street.
Nakama features Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 5-7pm with specials on drinks & half off select appetizers in their huge cocktail lounge. Nakama also offers a well-priced children's menu. Gluten free options available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Teppanyaki

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.
Thursday, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm (dinner menu served all day)

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 381-6000

Website:
http://www.eatatnakama.com/

Catering:
Appetizer & Sushi platters are available for off-site drop-off.

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday through Saturday from 6:00pm. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
51A, 51B, 51C, 51D & 54C

Private Party Facilities:
Nakama offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken and veggies
  • Eel, Salmon Roe, & Quail Egg Sushi
  • California Roll
  • Hibatchi Steak W/ Shrimp, Mushrooms, & Fried Rice
  • Toro, Salmon, & Ahi Sashimi....Ooooooooh!
  • Rainbow Roll
  • Blue Crab Roll
Chicken and veggies
Eel, Salmon Roe, & Quail Egg Sushi
California Roll
Hibatchi Steak W/ Shrimp, Mushrooms, & Fried Rice
Toro, Salmon, & Ahi Sashimi....Ooooooooh!
Rainbow Roll
Blue Crab Roll

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (41)
special occasion (32)
great for lunch (15)
See All
hot spot (15)
kid-friendly (12)
romantic (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
fit for foodies (8)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed ourselves and the food was very ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Enjoyed ourselves and the food was very good . Not overpriced at the hibachi either.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We sat at the sushi bar. Overall very g ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We sat at the sushi bar. Overall very good experience. Sushi was fresh. One critique would be that I had sashimi platter which included crab stick and shrimp which by definition would not be sashimi. Otherwise food was very good. Ambiance is very good.

food5
ambience3
service5

We love Nakama. One of our favorites for ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We love Nakama. One of our favorites for special occasions and hosting visiting guests from outside the area.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a fairly enjoyable dinning experienc ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a fairly enjoyable dinning experience here, with above average food

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Overall it was ok. We requested only b ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall it was ok. We requested only broccoli as a vegetable instead of the traditions medley. They said the mixed vegetable was the only option. This is the only hibachi bar I have ever been to that would not accommodate this simple request. Our salads didn't show up until the chef was making the meals and they forgot the steamed rice. The food was good but the service can use some serious work.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my guests birthday and it wasn't ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was my guests birthday and it wasn't acknowledged.I saw other tables getting this.That was my only disappointment.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

When we arrived, the hostess stated that ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

When we arrived, the hostess stated that she could not find our reservation. She was extremely rude not only to me but to my guests as well. I was able to witness many times through out the evening that she was rude to guests. The servers were wonderful, very attentive and offered great customer service. The food was amazing and the preparation of the food was very entertaining. The cook was interactive with the group. I would go back and hope the hostess is not working, as she is rude and lacks the ability to provide excellent customer service. I am perplexed as to why the house would allow her to continue in her role.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef was great; very entertaining!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The chef was great; very entertaining!

food4
ambience4
service5

It was pretty good.

Dined on May 4, 2016

It was pretty good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Hibachi Experience

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Nakama uses downdraft hibachi tables so there are no big, ugly vent hoods over the tables. It is a very attractive restaurant. The food is excellent and the wait staff and chefs are friendly and professional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not Happy with anything about Nakama

Dined on April 30, 2016

I've heard wonderful things about Nakama for years, however; that was not true for my visit. This visit was for my daughter's college graduation. We chose Nakama because my daughter is vegan and had many choices there. While the rest of our party had hibachi style meals, my daughter ordered soup and sushi for her main course. We were served our food and her stuff didn't arrive and we couldn't find a server to bring it. We were finished with our overcooked meals before she received her food. Her meal wasn't meant to be takeout!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Teresa's Birthday

Dined on April 20, 2016

We chose Nakama for Teresa's birthday because we've been there before and it's always been very good. Our waiter & chef were very good. We've had the chef cook for us before and it was nice to have him again. He's very personable and friendly. The food was great and we enjoyed the evening.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

a classical Japanese steak house and sushi bar with great food and atmosphere

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service

Dined on April 9, 2016

I've gone here a lot and it was busy but our service was probably the worst I've have ever had. The waitress never came back to check on us until it was time for our checks. The chef had to get us refills on waters. The people next to me never got there alcoholic drinks or there steamed rice. It just seemed that our waitress was completely overwhelmed. Which I'm a server so I understand but she seemed to waiting on tables all through out the restaurant which is a lot on a Saturday night prime dinner time.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Burnt food

Dined on April 2, 2016

My first experience here. I was pre warned that it was more of a bar for decent sushi then a good Hibachi, Needless to say we went for a birthday and the "chef" burnt everything that was cooked! the server seemed to be over whelmed and asking to speak with a manager left me standing there for 15 min before i finally walked out

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Fun and good food

Dined on March 31, 2016

Good food and fun atmosphere. We enjoy going for special occasions. The hibachi is good but too salty in my opinion. The sushi is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Very good food and lots of it!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Very good food and lots of it!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service, good food, large portions.

Dined on March 18, 2016

I'm not a huge fan of this type of meal but the people I was with all liked it and the chef was quite skilled. My steak was at least medium and nowhere near medium rare. Most of my group took food home.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First timer

Dined on March 6, 2016

It was nice, the fried rice was really good. We really didn't know what too order, and everyone else food looked so good!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

The service was great. Our waitress was ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The service was great. Our waitress was very attentive. My one complaint would be on the noise level. My fiancé and I joked that it would be a horrible place for a first date because we could barely hear each other.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was absolutely good. We sat at the grill section and our chef was friendly. Enjoyed everything and our server was nice and accommodating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Not happy

Dined on February 21, 2016

I was overall not happy at the food experience. Even though I had a reservations I still had to wait until a table became available. The cook seemed like he was rushed and did not cook my food the way I wanted. I was just overall not happy. I paid a lot of money at nakama and walked out not satisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time and great food! Luv ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Always a great time and great food! Luv this place!

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We have always chosen Nakama,

Dined on February 15, 2016

But this year on Valentines Day, we had a reservation, for 9:30 we did not get seated til 10:45 because we were over looked. Then , The seat us at a very crouded table where the cook did not even have my Fried rice witch they charge extra for! He gave me the burnt stuff that was left over on the grill witch was around 6 table spoons of rice. Sad part is, We have gone to Nakama many times, And we have had wonderful service and food before. But this is the last time I'll go there, Because the last 3 times we have gone its like it gets worse and worse. A few months ago I took my husband for his Birthday and his shrimp was so over cooked it was like chewing gum. We have been to other places like Benny Hanna and Yokoso and never had any of these problems! And the price is like half almost. Its crazy, for what they charge they should make sure your service, experience and food are perfect. I'm extremely disappointed. And wished the manager would of came to are table and spoken to me when I had asked to speak with one . But I guess since I'm not a Steelers football player or A Pens player my service dose not matter. Yet I've got GREEN MONEY like everyone else.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2

Even with the reservation we waited abou ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Even with the reservation we waited about an hour to get a table. The food was ok but loved the setting and ambience! Good night overal!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Foodie

Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was great but even with a reservation we still had to wait for a hour to be seated.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Great Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything worked like clock work at the hibachi, too much food to eat in one seating, take home box needed. Good quality food and nice chef presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

chef

Dined on February 13, 2016

Always enjoy nakama. Chef was disappointing this time. Not fun and didn't do much which is part of the experience.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Not as good as it used to be

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here on Saturday for lunch and was a bit disappointed in the food. I always thought Nakama had the best hibachi around but the chicken was crunchy and the carrots in the fried rice were hard. The soup and steak were very good as well as the mushroom appetizer. I would go back and get the steak only and get the white rice instead of the fried rice.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyable Lunch

Dined on February 6, 2016

This visit to Nakama was a good experience; the fried rice was the best I have had. I love the hibachi shrimp and steak and the salad dressing is to die for. We have gone back 3 times in the past two months for special occasions/lunches and have always loved the lively cooks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Nakama Lunch Celebration (disappointment)

Dined on February 4, 2016

Disappointing. Although food was good, service at lunchtime was barely adequate. I had called ahead for the special "gong" celebration....never happened. Also, waiter didn't ask us for second drinks nor did he ask everyone at the table when one person spoke up for a second beverage. Then we were told the only way we could have dessert (and no coffee was available) was if it was someone's birthday.....are you kidding? I organized this celebratory lunch for my work team. Underwhelmed by the service and was somewhat embarrassed that I had suggested this place to my colleagues. I wouldn't do it again. On a positive note, the sushi was fantastic!

food5
ambience3
service1
value5

We were rush the whole time

Dined on January 23, 2016

My party was only 3 person party we where sit in a corner with no other guest the waitress rush us out it was super annoying

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Our cook was not energetic at all! Very lame.

Dined on January 18, 2016

When we arrived we were seated quickly and our server was excellent. My daughter ordered the mushroom appetizer and got the shrimp instead. When we told our cook he did not fix the mistake. Our cook was very lame. This is a place where your cook is supposed to entertain you but not the case at all here. He was lame and did not speak to us. He was only there to cook our food. I took my daughter there for the experience but got nothing. And the food was not over the top. I will not go back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As good as I remembered

Dined on January 11, 2016

It had been years since I've been to Nakama and I took my boyfriend there as a combination Christmas/anniversary date. We had drinks, sushi, and hibachi. Everything was cooked perfect, my boyfriend loved his stake, and I surely enjoyed the huge scallops. Yum! I can't want to save up some money and go again! The only thing that was a negative was that it is extremely dark in the restaurant, and it was not dark outside, I would have liked to been able to see a little more clearly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious!! The ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious!! The chef was very pleasant! It was a little too dark for us other than that it was a perfect night!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of my favorites!

Dined on January 9, 2016

I love Nakama, the quality of the food is much better than other local Japanese steakhouses, and the rolls are delicious! The service was good and the Chef was good, we've had more entertaining chefs here in the past. The hostess area is a little chaotic. I agree with not seating until the whole party arrives, which is why we all came in one car. The party in front of us were told to stand aside until their party arrives. Unfortunately there is not much room to stand aside and wait, leaving us standing there for a few minutes while they figured out what the hostess was telling them. I don't know how this could be improved, just a thought...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Terrible Experience

Dined on January 5, 2016

Manager was rude. Food was over-cooked. Booked this reservation to specifically celebrate a birthday- staff did not acknowledge. Will never willingly return to a Nakama.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

My friends and I came to Nakama for dinner on NYE. We had a fantastic time. The food was amazing, the drinks were strong, and the waitress was attentive. Although it was crowded, there was plenty of room between tables so you didn't feel like you were squished up against strangers, and it wasn't nearly as loud as I expected. Nakama is a little pricey but I would absolutely recommend it for a big group or special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

No healthy options

Dined on December 31, 2015

I wish there were healthier options, including brown rice and not making everything so salty:-(

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great New Years dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and I love Nakama so when a reservation was available we jumped on it! Our waiter and chef were both amazing. I can't remember their names but we were there at 6pm on New Years Eve. We love Nakama and tell everybody to go for sushi and hibachi!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.