Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Trattoria TimoneTrattoria Timone
(734)
Italian | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill, Oakville PlaceOliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill, Oakville Place
(1180)
Contemporary American | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Harpers LandingHarpers Landing
(336)
Global, International | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
SOLSTICE Restaurant & Wine BarSOLSTICE Restaurant & Wine Bar
(68)
Italian | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Jack Astor's - Mississauga (Dundas/403)Jack Astor's - Mississauga (Dundas/403)
(6)
Canadian | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Paradiso Restaurant - OakvilleParadiso Restaurant - Oakville
(89)
Mediterranean | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Casalinga RistoranteCasalinga Ristorante
(55)
Italian | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Alice Fazooli's - OakvilleAlice Fazooli's - Oakville
(372)
Italian | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Walker's Wine Bar & GrillWalker's Wine Bar & Grill
(82)
Seafood | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Jonathans of OakvilleJonathans of Oakville
(197)
International | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Tavolo Pizza Pasta WineTavolo Pizza Pasta Wine
(237)
Italian | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Plank RestobarPlank Restobar
(276)
Tapas / Small Plates | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Aristotles Steak and SeafoodAristotles Steak and Seafood
(27)
Steak | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Cucci RistoranteCucci Ristorante
(851)
Italian | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
CagneysCagneys
(68)
Steakhouse | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now

About Mye 2 Japanese Restaurant

360 Dundas St. East
Oakville, ON L6H 6Z9
View Larger Map

Welcome to Mye 2 Japanese Restaurant, the newly opened, second location for Oakville’s first Japanese Restaurant (Mye) and home of the finest in Japanese cuisine for over 26 years.



In 1987, Master Chef Motoaki Aoki opened Oakville’s first Japanese restaurant after having received an invitation from then-mayor Harry Barrett. Born and raised in Tokyo, Japan, Aoki brought with him his passion for both sophisticated and homegrown flavours. Today, Aoki is renowned for serving among the freshest and most appetizing sushis to be found across Canada. Every dish prepared at Mye 2 begins with the highest quality ingredients, bringing you the most delicious and authentic Japanese cuisine that"s sure to satisfy all palettes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Eeveryday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
DINNER: Monday- Friday, 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm (CLOSED Wednesdays),
Saturday & Sunday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Trafalgar and Dundas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 257-7747

Website:
http://www.mye2restaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering available! Please contact us at 905-257-7747

Parking Details:
Large, free public parking lot available on site.

Public Transit:
Public bus stops at intersection

Executive Chef:
Motoaki Aoki

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the place and the food, but the se ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved the place and the food, but the service was a bit slow and the phone kept ringing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Tasting menu not special

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Tasting menu is a bit over priced and really not worth the money. I had better tasting menu in Toronto. Location is okay if you live in Oakville. I will give their regular menu a try next time and see whether it is worth going back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fabulous as always

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We have been coming to Mye for at least 25 years. I was pleased to see Mye 2 open as it is closer to home. It is our families favourite restaurant, including our 10 and 14 year old daughters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

new experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

the food was excellent, the service was good , the ambience was not as good as I expected comparing to the original mye in downtown oakville . Would definitely recommend to others but would not consider this a place for a romantic evening or necessarily a special occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Have eaten here several times. Good Sush ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Have eaten here several times. Good Sushi, reservations are good idea on the weekends. Service is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mye 2 as always an enjoyable experience, ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Mye 2 as always an enjoyable experience, great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing time as always!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

Really love this place. I have been going here now for few years and the food i always amazing and the dining experience is always very relaxing and clean.

The service is always top quality, and it's a very nice and quiet restaurant.

Recommend to everyone who loves Japanese food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food but not sure it's worth the price

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The food is good Japanese food but not sure it's worth the price. A little pricey for what you get. The restaurant is clean but the layout of the restaurant reminds me more of a takeout restaurant than what I was expecting. Good location (Dundas and Trafalgar in Oakville) though as not many decent Japanese restaurants in the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Service was slow. Food was ok but was la ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

Service was slow. Food was ok but was lacking japanese flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Authentic Japanese Cuisine

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

Sushi, sahimi and rolls were very good. Uni could have been a smidge fresher. Good quality fish, with very little chewiness. Good service and ambiance. Pricey, but worth the splurge for authentic sushi craving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Quality sushi

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

We enjoy the quality sushi & grilled miso cod but the salmon teriyaki lunch was disappointing. Handmade greet tea ice cream & mochi ice cream desserts saved the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Food and Decor Tastefully Presented

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

Our dinners were delicious, service polite and attentive, and the decor modern and sophisticated. The blue fin and yellow fin tuna were excellent. Good choice of appetizers including lightly fried calamari which was very tender, tempura, and sashimi selection.

Mye2 is an enjoyable experience for whatever the occasion might be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best sush..in Oakville...hands down!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

it is the quality of the rice that makes the difference...and Mye has the best...plus great starters

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Japanese delight

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Just celebrated a group birthday sharing appetizer delights & dinner combos: all were authentic Japanese tastes with quality & attention to detail: salmon & tuna carpaccio; grilled sea bass & fried squid were excellent. Also we live the Mye2 Gozen combo & Steak AAA combos...dessert finished off the night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Dinner at Mye2 Japanese restaurant

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

We had the seven course tasting dinner, which turned out to be eight courses.

All of the food was excellent, and very well presented. We especially liked the tuna carpaccio, the teriyaki salmon and the beef tenderloin. The portions were just right for a multi-course tasting menu.

The service was very good, each dish arrived with a just a short break after finishing of the previous dish.

We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Special Occasion

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Good quality Japanese cuisine. Especially enjoy traditional Japanese tastes in Mye 2 Gozen set menu & Steak set menu. Did NOT like tasting menu because it did not have enough Japanese elements. I will try the Omakase Chef's course @ Mye for our next celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Underwhelming

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

There is better sushi at much better value, even in Oakville. Disappointed and underwhelming. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Looking forward to returning

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

They have continued the tradition of serving outstanding sushi established by the Mye. The best sushi available particularly the soft shell crab.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

always the freshest Sushi made with flair,

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

fantastic fresh and flavorful Sushi, great main course choices, generous portions

and all at reasonable prices . we have been to the original Mye in downtown Oakville

but this is our first time to the newer 'uptown' location, and bothnare absolutely

great. Highly recommend to anyone who loves Japanese food at its best

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A special Japanese date

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Thoughtful special elevated Japanese tastes. Delicate & delicious quality, like I was transported to eating in Kyoto Japan. Perfect for a special date or celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mye 2 Comes Through Again

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

Once again we had a great dinner at Mye 2. This time we chose a selection of appetizers instead of mains and we enjoyed them all. I love the takosu. My wife "kills" for the kappamaki. The service was prompt, friendly and attentive. It's only too bad that it isn't a little bit closer to home because then I would head over there much more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful dinner at Mye 2

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 24, 2015

We had been looking forward to having good, authentic Japanese food for quite some time when we were finally able to make the time to go to Mye 2 again. As before, the staff greeted us warmly and we were seated in a comfortable booth near the sushi bar. The dinner meals are usually quite large there so this time we decided to just order a number of appetizers and small sushi plates which worked out very well. Everything was very tasty and came out just when we wanted it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will wait to go back

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

For the positives, the food was very good the ambiance upscale. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

For the negatives, considering the location the food is overpriced. I would expect these prices for a downtown Toronto sushi restaurant. The service was painfully slow. They appeared to have an appropriate amount of staff, so I think the kitchen just isn't putting out the food quickly enough. The wait staff although friendly, were inattentive. We were seated and waited ten minutes just to get menus. Upon ordering we waited about an hour just for us to be told that our food was coming. It was another fifteen minutes after that.

If you have plenty of time to kill and don't mind sitting without any drinks, then this is a place for a nice dinner out.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

worst restaurant ever

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

We ordered the black cod and it was bland and it still got bones in it. We ordered the sushi platter and it was the worst sushi. If you do not know how to cook rice, do not open a sushi restaurant.the rice is cold, the fish has no taste to it. The food preparer(this is definitely not a chef) does not even know how to cut the sushi roll. On top of that, Our server asked me to pass her the plate, the soya sauce.... so she can clear the table, because she is too lazy to walk around me to pick it up. So if you want to pay $85 for a lousy appertizer and two terribly prepared sushi plate by a food preparer. You will be better off to pick up some sushi from the super market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Went for our first time with a friend fo ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 26, 2015

Went for our first time with a friend for lunch and we both enjoyed it. Service was very good and inobtrusive which we appreciated. All dishes were extremely fresh and beautifully presented. Definitely worth a return visit!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

Mye 2 is a gem set right in a quiet neighborhood. We really enjoyed the service and food, and we appreciated our server stayed late for us without rushing us out of the store.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went there for their ramen and was not d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 12, 2015

Went there for their ramen and was not disappointed. Best place for Ramen and sushi outside of Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was poor ths time. More staffing ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

Service was poor ths time. More staffing is required to ensure better service to guests. The first time we came the service was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Excellent service!!!!!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

This is my new favorite restaurant in Oakville. Excellent service and food. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not planning to go back.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

Tried Mye 2 and not planning to go back. The tuna carpaccio was delicious and we ordered a second round of it. The pork belly wrap was "OK" while the drunken chicken was absolutely bad: fatty chicken parts dipped in some type of batter and deep fried. My stomach is still hurting from it. The spicy tuna roll could have been mistaken for a grocery store one.

Service was over attentive with waitresses constantly cutting in our conversations without presenting any excuses. One cut right in to ask us to give her the little piece of paper with which they cover the plastic chopsticks. Good on you to recycle those pieces of paper but wait until the end of the meal (or an appropriate time) to pick them up.

Prices seems expensive for the restaurant set-up and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Excellent!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

Mye does it again with fantastic service and amazing food!! Will be back again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and Food sliding ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

First couple of times we dine there, there was food and service was gratifying.

This time service was 4/10, the mood of the staff was somber. My tempura was cold..overall I can’t say I enjoyed my meal. I will give it another try, hopefully things will improve.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Mye Strikes Gold Again

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 30, 2014

We had a chance to visit the new Mye location at Dundas and Trafalgar on Sunday night and it was every bit as enjoyable experience as any of our visits to the original location in old downtown Oakville, only closer to home. The food was great, the service was attentive and friendly and as an added bonus it was 15 minutes closer to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

I have been going to Mye for over 20 years and Mye 2 doesn't disappoint!

Same great service and the food is as amazing as ever, but Mo has added some welcome twists to his delicious menu. The beef tartare is a must try. The yellow fin grilled collar is outstanding.

Be sure to ask your server what the sushi fish of the day is. If you're lucky it may be the ocean trout or horse mackerel!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food quality; prompt attentive ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 27, 2014

Excellent food quality; prompt attentive service; authentic Japanese quisine expertly prepared

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable and refined family dining

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 27, 2014

This was our first visit to Mye2. It is a neighborhood Japanese restaurant that is an offspring of the original Mye location in downtown Oakville. We read online reviews and knew we were going for the pork belly ramen and drunken chicken. Both were excellent!

The drunken chicken as an appetizer was really delicious. Tender, juicy, slightly salty but in a very good way and crispy.

The ramen broth was a welcome surprise in that it was delicate with great flavor. We have had our fair share of ramen over the years and this one was a cut above. The pork belly was melt in your mouth delicious. Not sure about the baby bok choy but it did not detract from enjoying our ramen.

Service was attentive and friendly! We will be back!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Freshest sashimi around

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

I took my wife to Mye2 for her birthday dinner in October, 2014. She is Japanese and very particular when it comes to sashimi. This is her absolutely favourite Japanese restaurant and she loves it because the fish is the freshest of all the restaurants we've tried. Also, the sushi chef and many of the staff are from Japan so everything is prepared authentically by experts. I found the place to be very comfortable, the lighting just right, and not too noisy to have a conversation while still feeling lively. Prices are fair and good value for the quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Ramen!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

I am constantly on the lookout for ramen greatness within reach of work or home and I am pleased to say Mye2 provides a solid bowl and doesn't disappoint.

The portion size was good and the broth came hot. The pork belly was tender but could have use a little marinating to bring out its flavour more. The broth was light with a moderately dense flavour and a mild oily finish. The bamboo shoots where crunchy and tasty which is rare. The noodles where done perfectly. The price point at $12.50 is a little high but there are few options in the area other than Kenzo in Mississauga which has an awesome tonkatsu pork bone broth. I would say if you wanted a bowl of ramen in Oakville, Mye2 is the place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 19, 2014

I rated it expensive because the serving size was comparatively small. We ordered one spicy salmon (6 pcs), one dynamite (6 pcs), 1 Futo Maki (8 pcs), 1 light order and 1 full order of Pork Belly Ramen. No drink, no desert and our tab came to $75 for the three of us and we weren't quite satisfied. Service was good compared to last visit but a bit slow.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The ambiance and the food was very good. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

The ambiance and the food was very good. We will be back soon to savour the sashimi.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.