About MXDC

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (56)
good for groups (55)
hot spot (50)
See All
great for lunch (49)
vibrant bar scene (47)
special occasion (22)
neighborhood gem (20)
romantic (11)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (8)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1

Not a good experience. Service was slow ...

Dined 3 days ago

Not a good experience. Service was slow. Salsa was really tasty, and guacamole appetizer was great; too bad it arrived two minutes before the main entrees. Carne enchiladas had a weird flavor, and were unlike any enchilada I've ever had. The Carne a la Parrila was overcooked. Don't waste your time and money on this place.

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Food was good but tacos were small, was ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food was good but tacos were small, was still hungry after 3 tacos. The shrimp tacos were much better than the pollo. The restaurant was VERY noisy, terrible ambience. Avoid if on a date.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Had dinner here recently around 6:30 on ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Had dinner here recently around 6:30 on a weekday (reservation necessary - it was a packed house). The food was tasty, but it was SO LOUD I had to shout across the little table to my friend.

food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Although we had a reservation there was ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Although we had a reservation there was only bar seating available. The service was bad as we had empty water glasses most of the night. Not a good experience for a DC restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The lobster guacamole is always amazing!

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

The lobster guacamole is always amazing!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mexican with a twist

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Up-scale, tasty and inventive Mexican food. Nice selection for vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Javier did a great job as our server for ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Javier did a great job as our server for the evening! He was attentive but not too much, which was good since we were 6 ladies having a reunion and needed time to reconnect and socialize. The food and cocktails were delicious. I had the salmon, a tad over cooked but still delish. My friends who had the branzino and striped bass loved their dishes too. My only pet peeve is the resturant policy to not allow a party of 6 or more have separate checks. A few of us were traveling on business and it would have been easier for us to have ability to pay separately. Otherwise, it was fantastic and will definitely return to MXDC!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My second time here. Brought a group of ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My second time here. Brought a group of co-workers and they were all impressed with the selection & quality.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Just say NO!

Dined on June 2, 2016

With other good Mexican restaurants in DC, there is no reason to put yourself through the MXDC experience. From the moment I arrived, before the restaurant was full, the noise level was unbearable. It got worse as the restaurant filled up. The margaritas were small, really small, watery and expensive. I was more hopeful about the food. After all, I ordered the Mariscada Quesadilla - lobster, crab and shrimp with piquillo spread, jalapeño crime and mozzarella. What could be bad, right? Everything! There was very little meat and no flavor to it. The quesadilla was dry, close to inedible and in fact I left most of it behind. On a positive note, the service was not terrible. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. Tha bright spot was certainly not enough to lure me back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good place for lunch. We come here often ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Good place for lunch. We come here often.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Good but pricey for what you got

Dined on May 28, 2016

We found the tacos were not any more creative than street tacos but were roughly $5 a taco. The pitcher of margaritas was not what we considered a pitcher; however, they were good. The service was excellent and they were good with our children.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Upscale Mexican Hit

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

I selected MXDC, for an evening out with old friends, because members of the group had requested upscale Mexican and we had been wanting to try Todd English's downtown location for some time. We were a bit nervous because non-professional reviewers, on various sites, are pretty hard on MX - while the restaurant wasn't perfect, we found the harsh criticism unfounded. Criticism number one seems to be service and while the host stand seemed in a bit of a funk, our server was friendly and knowledgeable. Criticism #2 is the bar and with some of that we agree. Our first round was way too slow for a restaurant with a happy hour vibe. I'm no Margarita connoisseur but my classic was way too strong and my plea for a version with more sweet or sour to temper the bite was ignored - the Margarita was regular sized and priced at a stiff $18. Criticism #3 is the food and we found that to be flat wrong - the food is very very good; a great selection of flavors make assorted Tacos a hit, desserts are simple but yummy. Criticism #4 is the noise - well, yes its loud, its got a fun vibe and if you are out for a family dinner or romantic evening, know that up front. Value is average - No one flinched at $350 (tip incl) for 6 but $18 for a 6oz cocktail does seem high. I love this place for happy hour or small bites but you might consider elsewhere if "dining" is what you had in mind - we'd certainly come back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

MXDC is ALWAYS very good. The food is f ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

MXDC is ALWAYS very good. The food is fabulous! The décor is beautiful, the lighting is great, the service is excellent and the guacamole is the best in town. Very good restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Restaurant. Excellent & Innov ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Beautiful Restaurant. Excellent & Innovative Mexican Food. We picked MXDC for our last night in DC before heading home to San Diego. We were treated like it was a Special Occasion and we had a great time.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has friendly staff and g ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

This restaurant has friendly staff and great food. The food is fresh and flavorful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First time at the restaurant. Interesti ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

First time at the restaurant. Interesting selections. My wife and I had 2 different items, both ok...although entrees, servings were small plates and enable sharing. My wife had a chicken dish which was dry and a bit bland (the sauces helped). I had the short rib tacos, which weren't bad, and added a grilled avocado with pico, which helped greatly. Service was a bit slow. Servers were friendly and atmosphere was nice. Noise wasn't bad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on May 20, 2016

MXDC is a gem in the downtown area. The food is always fantastic and the service is great. One of the few places that offer tasty selections for happy hour and dinner. The margaritas are yummy, whether your order them by the drink or the pitcher. Great spot to meet friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

The guacamole is always delicious! We al ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The guacamole is always delicious! We always enjoy our meals here. The drinks are fantastic too.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The restaurant was too loud to have a co ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The restaurant was too loud to have a conversation. People were crammed too close together. The food was pretty good but needed salt which wasn't on the table. Of all the good food in DC to eat, I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to visitors - there are places with better environments and better food. It was an experience to say we at a Todd English restaurant, but I don't ever need to do it again.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Modern Mexico

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

This is a favorite of mine, with creative cocktails, a decent wine selection, and classic and modern interpretations of traditional Mexican (not Tex-Mex) fare.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

Extremely loud. Hard to have a conversat ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Extremely loud. Hard to have a conversation. Friendly service. Interesting flavors, but food was all very heavy and rich.

food5
ambience5
service4

The service was a little slow but the fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was a little slow but the food was amazing! I would definitely go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty good food. I love the tacos and t ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Pretty good food. I love the tacos and the guacamole.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but just a little too loud fo ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food but just a little too loud for comfort. Probably much better at lunchtime.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Disappointed in Food Prices, Service = 80

Dined on May 10, 2016

I was disappointed on a few levels. First, happy hour was only good for the bar area so those expecting cheaper prices in the restaurant was disappointed. The website only mentioned takeout as being a happy hour exception. The taco prices were really ridiculous for the amount of food that you get. The flavor was good, but I have had better tacos from a food truck for 1/4 the price. The service was pretty good although I had a large group and they failed to follow through on their promise of sitting us together.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

OUTSTANDING

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is the second time we've been to MXDC. The food is absolutely delicious. We had the bronzino and the chilean seabass -- both were among the best we've ever tasted. We will be back, again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not the best service...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Not kid friendly. Bar scene seemed very vibrant. Food was okay, a little overpriced for me. Would probably not go back.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2

Much pricier than anticipated - portions ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Much pricier than anticipated - portions quite small, but food delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious and unique tacos. Mole sauce w ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Delicious and unique tacos. Mole sauce was very good on the fall apart short ribs. Margaritas were good, but not spectacular. What is with all the fruity flavors?

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great fun - good food. Perhaps understaffed

Dined on May 2, 2016

Food was great and no fuss, the ambience was excellent and felt really 'happening'. It seemed that it was understaffed and service was slow, but even though they were understaffed it was very friendly and professional. So in the end it didn't matter. Had a great time here.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food lively atmosphere

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food lively atmosphere

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Good Food, Missed on the Service

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent food; delicious well prepared and beautifully presented. There were three of us, lunch reservation at 12:30pm. Maybe because we were at the tail end of the lunch rush we were forgotten, although we were in the middle of the restaurant near the servers station. Our lunch arrived so late that without complaining or saying a word, they took off our drinks, which were non-alcoholic so not a big deal. We had to ask for chips and salsa, not offered. Our waters were never refilled. Our drinks were never refilled. We were all dry by the end of the meal. We had to keep waving our waiter down if we needed anything. I asked for no cheese and no sour cream on my chicken salad bowl and without asking they skipped the rice because it had butter. Any other restaurant they would have asked. I realized after eating half my meal that another colleague at the table with the same thing had rice so I waved the waiter down and asked for some rice. Poor experience, good food, lively ambience.

food4
ambience4
service5

Try the guacamole, it is amazing! And do ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Try the guacamole, it is amazing! And don't forget a margarita! The blueberry cilantro margarita was refreshing and unique. The quesadilla was good but I prefer a more traditional quesadilla and not the open faced version served at MXDC.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I went to MXDC on a visit to DC with my ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I went to MXDC on a visit to DC with my teenaged daughter. It presents itself as hip and inventive Mexican, but I found the menu pretty ordinary. The guacamole was good, but could have used a bit of seasoning. It was also a very small serving, not enough for two girls to share. My daughter ordered chicken tacos, which were tasty. I wanted to try the chile relleno. I tried to get it without the white truffle sauce but was advised that the sauce was already mixed in the filling, which is never a good sign (nor is truffle sauce generally a good sign). I ordered the salmon instead. The fish was good but the accompanying vegetables were the kind of bland generic side dish you'd expect to get at Denny's, or on a plane. There were lots of families with young kids.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A little pricey, and portions are on the ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

A little pricey, and portions are on the smaller side. But the taste (for both food and drinks) is well worth it!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Decent food but service was lousy

Dined on April 18, 2016

We were not that impressed with MXDC. The food was fine, but the service was slow, and the order came out wrong. It was fairly expensive for a mediocre Mexican meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best Mexican food I've ever had. I'v ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The best Mexican food I've ever had. I've searched years for anything that could match the food I'd had in Texas and this place was even better! You must eat here if you have the choice. I will always come back when in DC.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner with my family! Food was excellent and great margaritas! Kid ( age 10) loves their taco selection. Fish tacos were out of this world! Loved the guac and salsa also. My husband enjoyed the chicken burrito immensely!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5

Had a reservation for a Saturday night. ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Had a reservation for a Saturday night. Food was great but our server was excellent. Staff were cordial and welcoming. I've lived in DC in the past and have dealt with snoody servers and over priced food but MXDC awesome 🌮!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our experience at MXDC was great. The Te ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our experience at MXDC was great. The Texan in our group was hoping for more authentic food but our group thought the variety was delicious!

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.