About MXDC

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Fun (10)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Tapas (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
People Watching (6)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (5)
Spicy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

nice menu of snacks, small meals and ful ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

nice menu of snacks, small meals and full meals. We had tacos & they were excellent. These are small, soft tortillas with a variety of toppings, similar to what you'd get in Mexico on the street. Hongos (huitlacoche with mushrooms & corn) were my favorite.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was excellent. High quality and fu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. High quality and full of flavor. Easy to share. Fabulous margaritas. Reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very poor service but the quac and entre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Very poor service but the quac and entree were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

I have been here for happy hour before a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have been here for happy hour before and it was a good deal. But we went for my boyfriends birthday and everything was great till the dinner. We ordered quesadillas, which were actually cheese crisps. for $17 i expected more on the "quesadilla" Ill just stick to going for happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious but service was v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was delicious but service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been to MXDC several times, and t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I have been to MXDC several times, and the food has remained consistently good, with very good table service. I give a "poor" due to the amazingly rude behavior of the hostess. Upon a arriving, I told her we had a reservation for 7 and she just pointed to a table in the restaurant and said "there's your table." Didn't escort us nor did she even smile or acknowledge our presence when we arrived. This is not the first time this hostess has been rude, but this was far and away beyond anything before. Enough to make m want to stay away from an otherwise good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

MXDC was good. Got the three-taco combo, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

MXDC was good. Got the three-taco combo, as did all of my friends, with various selections. They were all scrumptious. My only misgiving is that they run about $5/taco, which - while I know it's DC & all - is silly. The local taco truck is just as good and it's half that price. But the food was great, drinks were tasty. And actually I think I spent $15 on tacos and $40 on beverages... haha.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

It was awesome as always! Real Mexican g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was awesome as always! Real Mexican gourmet food.... taste...ingredientes... delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations at 6 pm because had ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had reservations at 6 pm because had tickets at the Kennedy Center for 8 pm. The guacomole was very good. The tacos were served VERY COLD. Either the kitchen was not doing a good job of overseeing the food service or the waitress did not pick up the food when it was ready.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Came here with a friend before a show at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Came here with a friend before a show at the Warner theater and had a great meal. The mix and match tacos are a great value, and are delicious. The service was friendly and attentive. This has also been my experience when I've come for lunch during the work day and for happy hour. The space may be a bit sterile to be considered a neighborhood gem, but I consider this a proven, solid choice for many different occasions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The experience was very nice. The food w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The experience was very nice. The food was great. The chicken enchilada was amazing. The white sangria was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice restaurant. We went pre theat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very nice restaurant. We went pre theater with friends. The menu is great and the service very friendly, attentive and quick. I was especially impressed that the waitress asked about food allergies when I ordered the mole. She also brought a candle for my husband's birthday.

The food was very good, portions a good size. The ingredients were fresh and well spiced.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The decor and atmosphere are very nice i ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The decor and atmosphere are very nice if you are looking for a contemporary, upscale vibe. There was an energetic buzz to the room that created a nice environment. The servers were attractive and polite, but a little bit too distant and hurried.

The guacamole and chips we ordered while we sipped a drink and explored the menu were the first clue that the food quality was average, at best. Unfortunately, the food here just wasn't very good.

Nice place for a quick drink, but there are much better upscale mexican options nearby.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food and the service were excellent. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food and the service were excellent. The vibe, however, was very loud and clubby. Great if that's what you're looking for, but not so much if you want to talk to your dining companions. We had to lean in and semi-shout most of the meal.

The happy hour specials were good. My cocktail was a little disappointing. I asked for something smoky with mezcal, and was served a "Mexico Mule," ie a moscow mule with mezcal. Sweet, not smoky at all, and unimaginative. But it otherwise looked like a hopping bar scene, if that's what you're after.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was good, not large portions an ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was good, not large portions and definitely not a "delicious" thought on the first bite or the last. The service was adequate, having to search for our server, brought the wrong wine twice and no refills on water. I would probably not go back again. To many other restaurants to experience and the favorites to return to.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Two stars for one of the oddest dining e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Two stars for one of the oddest dining experiences...made a reservation through OpenTable. No one called or e-mailed to let me know that the day I reserved for was a day they were featuring a "celebrity chef" (whom no one at our table had heard of), which meant, apparently: (a) you'd be asked multiple times if you had bought a ticket (ticket for what? no one ever explained); (b) a very nice three-piece ensemble would be playing; (c) the menu was truncated to a small brunch menu, which you could do as a pre fixe ($55.00) meal, which seemed less economical than a la carte, plus a make-your-own omelet station (which was obviously not manned by said celebrity chef); and (d) a camera guy would come by to interview you for your thoughts on the meal (I'm glad he didn't come back around, 'cause he wouldn't've been pleased with my on-camera responses). The customer service was unclear and slightly pretentious from the beginning. This would be a one-star review, except apparently the Braised Short Rib Nachos (slow cooked & braised, shredded short rib on top of house made tortilla chips finished with loaded topping of queso blanco) was quite tasty. Our diner who ordered El Pollo & Waffles (golden fried crispy chicken alongside a warm fluffy vanilla bean waffle, topped with banana butter and warm chipotle syrup) had to ask for the syrup and didn't receive the banana butter. The waffle itself looked like a large eggo waffle and the chicken were wings. The Brioche French Toast (topped with house made banana butter and warm chipotle syrup) made it to the table with the banana butter on the side (as requested), but again, the syrup had to be requested (and oddly, even though we gestured to both plates when we made the initial syrup request, we had to ask a second time for a second ramekin). MXDC seems to be another hyped-up DC restaurant without anything to back it up. The main positive was that a la carte, the prices were reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The Ceviche is the best in Washington DC ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Ceviche is the best in Washington DC by far. The halibut is delicious. Best churros ever!

Skip all the other Mexican and go straight to MXDC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very good. Tacos were excell ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service was very good. Tacos were excellent but the rockfish ceviche had too much soy and the traditional guacamole lacked heat and a little salt.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Loud but generally good food -- needs mo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Loud but generally good food -- needs more spice and less salt. Excellent margaritas 🙂

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It is hard to find Mexican food that is ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It is hard to find Mexican food that is not heavy or too saucey or overwhelmed by melted cheese. This restaurant struck the right balance of bold flavor but done in a light way. The lunch sizes were not too large or too small. The ingredients were fresh and zesty, yet also delicate. All the flavors were able to shine through.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We reserved ahead to celebrate a birthda ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We reserved ahead to celebrate a birthday/anniversary; colorful lively setting is fun, but main seating area was deafening...we were thoughtfully relocated to quieter window area. Our food was mixed...good guacamole, tasty grilled romaine, an excellent 'pescado' (branzino filet), but truly mediocre chicken enchilada (tepid, flavorless)...and a forgettable flan. Our fruity red sangria was pleasant. Our server completely forgot our coffee order, apologized, & 'comped' our flan (which we didn't eat). Overall, a disappointment for our special occasion :(

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food and service were great. The whi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and service were great. The white sangria was really tasty. There was a large table next to us that was very loud so that was unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a vegetarian, I am hesitant to try ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As a vegetarian, I am hesitant to try out unique restaurants. Everything was made clear on the menu for my options. My husband and I loved it and even stopped back for a late night snack after a hockey game on Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very enjoyable dinner with some we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a very enjoyable dinner with some well prepared foods we don't usually see. Service was good and the place was lively. Also liked wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Decent food but not up to Todd English s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Decent food but not up to Todd English standards. Food delivered to my wife was actually cold and had to send it back. Ended up eating at different times, which was unfortunate for our date and delayed us getting to the theater.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was very good, the service very ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food was very good, the service very attentive, but the place was extremely noisy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've long been a fan of MXDC, for its au ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I've long been a fan of MXDC, for its authentic Mexican food and cocktails. It strikes me as an excellent place to bring a date, even someone who isn't aware that he's a date.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here once for lunch and once ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I have been here once for lunch and once for dinner. Both experiences were excellent, I will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for lunch and we were very pl ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

First time for lunch and we were very pleased with the find. Food was very good. We both had the 'burrito bowl' and loved our choices. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Had the 3 tacos- ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious. Had the 3 tacos- Pollo, Mahi-Maui and Chorizo. All really good. Great service. Overall, a fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Server was great! Hi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was fantastic. Server was great! Highly recommend. Also, quite a tequila selection. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, but service wasn't. We h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was great, but service wasn't. We hardly saw our server and he wasn't friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Our drinks were inventive and quite good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our drinks were inventive and quite good. I had I Know What Boys want

The guacamole was lame sort of bland.

The mole was excellent and tacos were okay not that original

Overall we had a nice time and waitress was cool and helpful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

In town to visit my son at college. Wan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

In town to visit my son at college. Wanted to get him a good meal away from local fast food that he is accustomed to. We started off with a mix n match taco trio. These were fantastic. They were short rib, pork shoulder and chicken. Excellent authentic flavors. We felt like we were back in Mexico. Smoked chilies and fresh guacamole with the salsa verde was a great compliment to the soft tacos. For main course we had the paella for 2. This was also excellent; however, the portion was very large. It could have easily fed 3 or 4 people. It was served in traditional large pot tableside. The tres leches and churro desserts rounded out the meal, and they were nothing less than perfect just like our entire experience from service to ambiance to the delicious food. Todd English has outdone himself with this eatery. It is My favorite restaurant in DC by far...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but definitely overpriced ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was good but definitely overpriced for what you get. The three tacos on the taco plate were tiny and not even served with any rice or beans; $4 each for a small bowl of rice or black beans is just crazy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The General Manager Jordan Wroblewski to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The General Manager Jordan Wroblewski took special care of our 2 11yr olds with a special entre not even on the menu! Ceviche all of them fantastic Halibut amazing and the churros perfect ending to absolutely fantastic evening!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant location and ambiance was gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Restaurant location and ambiance was great. Paella was not as tasty as the last time I was there. Was told by maître d that they now bake it which may have changed the taste. Service was absolutely horrible. However, once the maître d was informed he was very helpful & accommodating.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Delicious margaritas and great food! Wou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Delicious margaritas and great food! Would highly recommend this restaurant for either a night on the town or a cozy dinner for two.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and drinks!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and knowledgeable staff, but ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great food and knowledgeable staff, but we had a light over our table flickering the whole time!! Distracting and the staff didn't seem to notice at all. But really, if a failing lightbulb is the only fault I can find, then it's a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.