About MXDC

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Wed 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 12:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (50)
good for groups (48)
hot spot (47)
See All
vibrant bar scene (41)
great for lunch (41)
special occasion (26)
neighborhood gem (18)
romantic (12)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (8)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely the best from top to bottom! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely the best from top to bottom! Jordan Wroblewski has it all figured out!

Thank you

Guy Fero

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time at MXDC. The food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time at MXDC. The food was exceptional and the service was pretty good. I have been here about 3 times and have enjoyed each meal tremendously. It can get pretty loud in here, but it's still a fun time. The bar is pretty lively, too.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service + Great food = Fantastic E ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service + Great food = Fantastic Evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MXDC did not disappoint. The food is al ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

MXDC did not disappoint. The food is always good and this time the service was exceptional. I appreciated having an attentive, yet not "hovering" server. The restaurant is very energetic, specially for happy hour. If you are looking for quiet conversation, this would not be the spot for you. However, if you enjoy energetic surroundings - MXDC is awesome. The jalepeno margaritas are a must have!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

WAY too noisy even in the dining area. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

WAY too noisy even in the dining area. Food fine but not outstanding. Service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Service was great and the food was fanta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was great and the food was fantastic. The atmosphere was great as well. Overall, a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter and food! It is a little lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great waiter and food! It is a little loud in there and a couple time it was an issue with an intimate conversation. All in all great. My only issue I had was the warm Mexican Coke and the Manager stated he would make sure they are put in the cooler in the future. A glass with ice is useless because it waters the Coke down and makes it taste like a fountain soda not a Mexican Coke.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In spite of the rude hostess, who made i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

In spite of the rude hostess, who made it clear that seating people was beneath her, the food and the service was quite good. The server took great interest in my food allergies, and checked with the kitchen on what i had ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The server ignored our table for about 1 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The server ignored our table for about 10 minutes when we first sat down. We had to flag someone down, who then went and got a woman who had walked past our table several times without even acknowledging us. She then did not know how to properly serve a Paloma.

Food was ok, desperately undersalted guacamole was the highlight. But the biggest problem was that it was so oppressively loud, we cancelled our entrees and left to get the rest of our dinner elsewhere.

Management response to the improperly made drink was quick and efficient and they gave us a new on on the house. The space is beautifully decorated and very cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

The best thing was the food--it was deli ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The best thing was the food--it was delicious! The only thing lacking was the quality of the service--it was noticeably slow. The wine I ordered at the same time I order my entree was delivered when I was almost finished with my meal. I mentioned to the server than I thought he had forgotten about my drink order. He apologized for the delay saying, "At least I got it to you before you finished." I expect better service than this at a Todd English restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was great. The service was spec ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was great. The service was spectacular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Friendly staff! The sang ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service! Friendly staff! The sangria's are made on Tues of each week and at its best by the weekend! (At least that's what Christian said! 😀)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My dinner was the three taco special. My ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My dinner was the three taco special. My meal was good. My wife had the jicama salad and tortilla soup. The tortilla soup was very good but the salad had spoiled watermelon in it. Because of this I cannot give the restaurant better ratings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Worth checking out for the amazing selec ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Worth checking out for the amazing selection of street tacos. Very hip interior. Only complaint is we were sat right next to another couple when half the section was empty - kind of a buzzkill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food it perfect, the wait staff is w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food it perfect, the wait staff is wonderful and the drinks were well made, this is a must visit place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretentious Mexican food, overpriced, ba ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pretentious Mexican food, overpriced, bad service, from the door to the server, just the buser was nice. Didn't refill water or soda, Food (chile relleno) was poorly cooked and tasteless. Place was very noise and was almost on top of another persons table.

Terrible experience, second time here and i was worst then first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We had members of our party with celiac. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had members of our party with celiac. We ordered guacamole but asked if they could bring a few corn tortillas for the individuals who couldn't eat the chips that had been in the fryer w/ wheat items. They brought 3 corn tortillas and charged us $3 for them. I thought that was ridiculous! Otherwise food was good enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

One of the best in service at all levels ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

One of the best in service at all levels we've experienced recently and we've been traveling through Canada and DC the last three weeks. Server was great, bus/table set up exceptional and was very professional. Food was incredible. Date of dining: June 29 2016 p.m. shift.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was delicious and fantastic servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Dinner was delicious and fantastic service but felt that meal was overpriced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I were in town for our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My boyfriend and I were in town for our one year anniversary and we happened to be walking past when we decided to make a late reservation and go in. The place is amazing. Very romantic but great for the bar scene. Everyone was dressed business casual, sadly we had jeans and t shirts on (which we regret). I somehow told our waiter that it was our one year and the operations manager came and gave us complimentary drinks for the occasion which was so nice. The manager was amazing, gave us great recommends and our waiter was very nice helping my man since he had food restrictions. The food was amazing and you could tell it was fresh. I definitely recommend this place for couples. The whole experience is something I will always remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the paella for two and thought it ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had the paella for two and thought it was fantastic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not a good experience. Service was slow ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Not a good experience.

Service was slow. Salsa was really tasty, and guacamole appetizer was great; too bad it arrived two minutes before the main entrees. Carne enchiladas had a weird flavor, and were unlike any enchilada I've ever had. The Carne a la Parrila was overcooked. Don't waste your time and money on this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Food was good but tacos were small, was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was good but tacos were small, was still hungry after 3 tacos. The shrimp tacos were much better than the pollo. The restaurant was VERY noisy, terrible ambience. Avoid if on a date.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Had dinner here recently around 6:30 on ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Had dinner here recently around 6:30 on a weekday (reservation necessary - it was a packed house). The food was tasty, but it was SO LOUD I had to shout across the little table to my friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Although we had a reservation there was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Although we had a reservation there was only bar seating available. The service was bad as we had empty water glasses most of the night. Not a good experience for a DC restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

The lobster guacamole is always amazing!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The lobster guacamole is always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mexican with a twist

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Up-scale, tasty and inventive Mexican food. Nice selection for vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Javier did a great job as our server for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Javier did a great job as our server for the evening! He was attentive but not too much, which was good since we were 6 ladies having a reunion and needed time to reconnect and socialize. The food and cocktails were delicious. I had the salmon, a tad over cooked but still delish. My friends who had the branzino and striped bass loved their dishes too. My only pet peeve is the resturant policy to not allow a party of 6 or more have separate checks. A few of us were traveling on business and it would have been easier for us to have ability to pay separately. Otherwise, it was fantastic and will definitely return to MXDC!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My second time here. Brought a group of ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My second time here. Brought a group of co-workers and they were all impressed with the selection & quality.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Just say NO!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

With other good Mexican restaurants in DC, there is no reason to put yourself through the

MXDC experience. From the moment I arrived, before the restaurant was full, the noise level was unbearable. It got worse as the restaurant filled up.

The margaritas were small, really small, watery and expensive. I was more hopeful about the food. After all, I ordered the Mariscada Quesadilla - lobster, crab and shrimp with piquillo spread, jalapeño crime and mozzarella. What could be bad, right? Everything! There was very little meat and no flavor to it. The quesadilla was dry, close to inedible and in fact I left most of it behind.

On a positive note, the service was not terrible. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. Tha bright spot was certainly not enough to lure me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Good place for lunch. We come here often ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Good place for lunch. We come here often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good but pricey for what you got

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We found the tacos were not any more creative than street tacos but were roughly $5 a taco. The pitcher of margaritas was not what we considered a pitcher; however, they were good. The service was excellent and they were good with our children.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Upscale Mexican Hit

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I selected MXDC, for an evening out with old friends, because members of the group had requested upscale Mexican and we had been wanting to try Todd English's downtown location for some time. We were a bit nervous because non-professional reviewers, on various sites, are pretty hard on MX - while the restaurant wasn't perfect, we found the harsh criticism unfounded. Criticism number one seems to be service and while the host stand seemed in a bit of a funk, our server was friendly and knowledgeable. Criticism #2 is the bar and with some of that we agree. Our first round was way too slow for a restaurant with a happy hour vibe. I'm no Margarita connoisseur but my classic was way too strong and my plea for a version with more sweet or sour to temper the bite was ignored - the Margarita was regular sized and priced at a stiff $18. Criticism #3 is the food and we found that to be flat wrong - the food is very very good; a great selection of flavors make assorted Tacos a hit, desserts are simple but yummy. Criticism #4 is the noise - well, yes its loud, its got a fun vibe and if you are out for a family dinner or romantic evening, know that up front. Value is average - No one flinched at $350 (tip incl) for 6 but $18 for a 6oz cocktail does seem high. I love this place for happy hour or small bites but you might consider elsewhere if "dining" is what you had in mind - we'd certainly come back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

MXDC is ALWAYS very good. The food is f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

MXDC is ALWAYS very good. The food is fabulous! The décor is beautiful, the lighting is great, the service is excellent and the guacamole is the best in town. Very good restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Beautiful Restaurant. Excellent & Innov ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Beautiful Restaurant. Excellent & Innovative Mexican Food. We picked MXDC for our last night in DC before heading home to San Diego. We were treated like it was a Special Occasion and we had a great time.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has friendly staff and g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This restaurant has friendly staff and great food. The food is fresh and flavorful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the restaurant. Interesti ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

First time at the restaurant. Interesting selections. My wife and I had 2 different items, both ok...although entrees, servings were small plates and enable sharing. My wife had a chicken dish which was dry and a bit bland (the sauces helped). I had the short rib tacos, which weren't bad, and added a grilled avocado with pico, which helped greatly. Service was a bit slow. Servers were friendly and atmosphere was nice. Noise wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Never disappoints

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

MXDC is a gem in the downtown area. The food is always fantastic and the service is great. One of the few places that offer tasty selections for happy hour and dinner. The margaritas are yummy, whether your order them by the drink or the pitcher. Great spot to meet friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The guacamole is always delicious! We al ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The guacamole is always delicious! We always enjoy our meals here. The drinks are fantastic too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The restaurant was too loud to have a co ...

 
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The restaurant was too loud to have a conversation. People were crammed too close together. The food was pretty good but needed salt which wasn't on the table. Of all the good food in DC to eat, I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to visitors - there are places with better environments and better food. It was an experience to say we at a Todd English restaurant, but I don't ever need to do it again.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.