About MXDC

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (9)
Tapas (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Late-night Find (8)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Spicy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
 (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Armando was Awesome!!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Armando was Awesome!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The shrimp cevic ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was delicious. The shrimp ceviche was so good we ended up getting a second order. Orders a bunch of tacos- all delicious especially with the hot sauce- ask for it. My husband HD the carne a la parilla and it was very good. The churros were the perfect finish. Tried some margaritas- they were just okay. But the food was excellent! Will definitely go back! And their service was fantastic. My cup was always full and they were sure to check in and make sure we were happy. Reminded me of the hoapitaliaty in Mexico City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best sources of classic and c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

One of the best sources of classic and contemporary Mexican (not Tex-Mex) cuisine, along with an excellent selection of cocktails and wines. The margaritas are superb, especially if you ask your server to dispense with the non-traditional agave syrup, which is all too common in margaritas today. The ceviches are truly outstanding, and the MXDC definitely warrants repeated visits, both with business associates and with current and prospective lovers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time eating at MXDC - ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This was my first time eating at MXDC - I will definitely be going back. The food was outstanding and our waiter was terrific.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would definitely eat here again

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Would definitely eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MXDC felt like a modern Mexican place. T ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 6, 2017

MXDC felt like a modern Mexican place. The dishes were yummy (I really enjoyed the lobster guacamole and the taco of the day - beef abogado - so many flavours!) To me, Mexican means comfort food and I feel that it can sometimes be a bit too heavy. I was pleasantly surprised that this wasn't a typical Mexican restaurant. The dishes were beautifully presented and the overall atmosphere was upbeat, chic, and fun. That same atmosphere was reflected in the dishes. I'd highly recommend MXDC if you're craving a new kind of Mexican restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Original reservation was for 8p. Receive ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Original reservation was for 8p. Received a call changing reservation due to "Open Table" error. They were hosting a private party for NYE. Message was either change or cancel. Could have offered us a discount or free appetizer for the inconvenience. Not a real warm and fuzzy experience. Food was just okay. Wait staff attentive. Drink was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

My experience here was okay. Food was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My experience here was okay. Food was a little over priced for portions. $12 queso was good but barely enough for two people to share.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Restaurant is in great location near Whi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Restaurant is in great location near White House area of Washington DC. It is less than a block from the Willard Hotel. We were seated quickly upon entering. Our waitress was attentive and answered all our questions about the menu. Prices were good. Drink specials were only good in the bar. Most entrees were between $15-20.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Kids meals dreadful - appear to be froze ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Kids meals dreadful - appear to be frozen food which was microwaved

Restaurant too hot -probably high 70s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for happy hour. Service was great a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Went for happy hour. Service was great and all staff were friendly. Would go back to try the dining regular menu for food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service. Food was good, more o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very good service. Food was good, more of a high-end menu, as opposed to the usual Mexican food I've eaten. Rockfish ceviche was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Meh, so-so. The food was good and the me ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Meh, so-so. The food was good and the menu is pretty typical Mexican, but on the pricey side. Fine for a work lunch, but too crowded and noisy to have a decent conversation. Tables are really close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I'm a frequent lunch diner at MXDC, and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I'm a frequent lunch diner at MXDC, and thought it might be a nice place to take my wife for a holiday dinner before shopping and seeing the National Christmas Tree. Honestly, it was the worst meal I've ever had there. The short rib with mole had zero flavor and was a minuscule portion (unlike the lunch portions which are generous). My wife's branzino was also small and uninteresting. Worst, we were overcharged for one of the items on the menu. Service was friendly but rushed, even though we had made an Open Table reservation. We'll think twice about going there again for any kind of meal. Another example of DC's mediocre culinary scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

MXDC lunch never disappoints. Service i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

MXDC lunch never disappoints. Service is fast and friendly and the food is delicious. I highly recommend the tacos - ANY of the tacos! The romaine salad is equally delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pallella is superb. We also ordered ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The pallella is superb. We also ordered the short ribs with mole that was just ok. Tacos are good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was very loud in the restaurant, whic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was very loud in the restaurant, which made it difficult to hear. Noise dampening panels or something might be helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My office does our annual holiday lunch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My office does our annual holiday lunch here and the food this year was MUCH better than last year. Looks like they got a new menu- and it is fantastic! Tuesday's they offer 50% off bottles of wine which is awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Servers MUST tell customers if the 'rice ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Servers MUST tell customers if the 'rice and beans' are extra - customers assume, like at other restaurants, that these are part of the meal. He didn't say anything to us... just "rice and beans for your side or other" when we ordered tacos. We were less than pleased that we paid extra for something that could have been optional. Menu was unclear. Server less than transparent. Poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The food at MXDC was very good. Unfortun ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food at MXDC was very good. Unfortunately the service ruined our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We had a group of 8 (that included a ran ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a group of 8 (that included a range of dietary restrictions) and MXDC accommodated us extraordinarily well! Everyone was happy with food and drink and ability to converse in the upstairs seating section. We were in and out with a large group with plenty of time to make our show afterwards. The staff was timely and helpful and the food was delicious! We especially enjoyed Sangria Saturday and all of the taco options! Thanks for showing us a great evening, I will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MXDC has always been my go to DC restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

MXDC has always been my go to DC restaurant, whether it's for a business meal with a client, myself or with friends. Travel takes me to Washington almost weekly and the Spanish hostess/front manager consistently treats me like royalty, is very helpful and she definitely understands how to initiate an enjoyable dining experience for customers, which is much appreciated during or after a work day. This speaks well when a restaurant knows how to hire good staff since it's not just all about the food. The servers are also very attentive and, of course, the food is incredible. The tacos are savory and the carne is delicious. It's all quite delectable, especially with their options of choice tequila. Highly recommended. I would suggest making a reservation beforehand as it does get crowded.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy but otherwise hard to beat, e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very noisy but otherwise hard to beat, especially given the location. Solid Tex mex, cheap, fast, flavorful. Vibrant scene. Will happily visit again!

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Tapas, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

They were lovely enough to seat us early ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

They were lovely enough to seat us early and before everyone in our party was present. So we had delicious sangria! The food was wonderful. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice menu of snacks, small meals and ful ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

nice menu of snacks, small meals and full meals. We had tacos & they were excellent. These are small, soft tortillas with a variety of toppings, similar to what you'd get in Mexico on the street. Hongos (huitlacoche with mushrooms & corn) were my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was excellent. High quality and fu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was excellent. High quality and full of flavor. Easy to share. Fabulous margaritas. Reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very poor service but the quac and entre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very poor service but the quac and entree were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

I have been here for happy hour before a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have been here for happy hour before and it was a good deal. But we went for my boyfriends birthday and everything was great till the dinner. We ordered quesadillas, which were actually cheese crisps. for $17 i expected more on the "quesadilla" Ill just stick to going for happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious but service was v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was delicious but service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been to MXDC several times, and t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I have been to MXDC several times, and the food has remained consistently good, with very good table service. I give a "poor" due to the amazingly rude behavior of the hostess. Upon a arriving, I told her we had a reservation for 7 and she just pointed to a table in the restaurant and said "there's your table." Didn't escort us nor did she even smile or acknowledge our presence when we arrived. This is not the first time this hostess has been rude, but this was far and away beyond anything before. Enough to make m want to stay away from an otherwise good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

MXDC was good. Got the three-taco combo, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

MXDC was good. Got the three-taco combo, as did all of my friends, with various selections. They were all scrumptious. My only misgiving is that they run about $5/taco, which - while I know it's DC & all - is silly. The local taco truck is just as good and it's half that price. But the food was great, drinks were tasty. And actually I think I spent $15 on tacos and $40 on beverages... haha.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

It was awesome as always! Real Mexican g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was awesome as always! Real Mexican gourmet food.... taste...ingredientes... delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations at 6 pm because had ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had reservations at 6 pm because had tickets at the Kennedy Center for 8 pm. The guacomole was very good. The tacos were served VERY COLD. Either the kitchen was not doing a good job of overseeing the food service or the waitress did not pick up the food when it was ready.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Came here with a friend before a show at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Came here with a friend before a show at the Warner theater and had a great meal. The mix and match tacos are a great value, and are delicious. The service was friendly and attentive. This has also been my experience when I've come for lunch during the work day and for happy hour. The space may be a bit sterile to be considered a neighborhood gem, but I consider this a proven, solid choice for many different occasions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The experience was very nice. The food w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The experience was very nice. The food was great. The chicken enchilada was amazing. The white sangria was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice restaurant. We went pre theat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very nice restaurant. We went pre theater with friends. The menu is great and the service very friendly, attentive and quick. I was especially impressed that the waitress asked about food allergies when I ordered the mole. She also brought a candle for my husband's birthday.

The food was very good, portions a good size. The ingredients were fresh and well spiced.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The decor and atmosphere are very nice i ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The decor and atmosphere are very nice if you are looking for a contemporary, upscale vibe. There was an energetic buzz to the room that created a nice environment. The servers were attractive and polite, but a little bit too distant and hurried.

The guacamole and chips we ordered while we sipped a drink and explored the menu were the first clue that the food quality was average, at best. Unfortunately, the food here just wasn't very good.

Nice place for a quick drink, but there are much better upscale mexican options nearby.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food and the service were excellent. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food and the service were excellent. The vibe, however, was very loud and clubby. Great if that's what you're looking for, but not so much if you want to talk to your dining companions. We had to lean in and semi-shout most of the meal.

The happy hour specials were good. My cocktail was a little disappointing. I asked for something smoky with mezcal, and was served a "Mexico Mule," ie a moscow mule with mezcal. Sweet, not smoky at all, and unimaginative. But it otherwise looked like a hopping bar scene, if that's what you're after.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was good, not large portions an ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was good, not large portions and definitely not a "delicious" thought on the first bite or the last. The service was adequate, having to search for our server, brought the wrong wine twice and no refills on water. I would probably not go back again. To many other restaurants to experience and the favorites to return to.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Two stars for one of the oddest dining e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Two stars for one of the oddest dining experiences...made a reservation through OpenTable. No one called or e-mailed to let me know that the day I reserved for was a day they were featuring a "celebrity chef" (whom no one at our table had heard of), which meant, apparently: (a) you'd be asked multiple times if you had bought a ticket (ticket for what? no one ever explained); (b) a very nice three-piece ensemble would be playing; (c) the menu was truncated to a small brunch menu, which you could do as a pre fixe ($55.00) meal, which seemed less economical than a la carte, plus a make-your-own omelet station (which was obviously not manned by said celebrity chef); and (d) a camera guy would come by to interview you for your thoughts on the meal (I'm glad he didn't come back around, 'cause he wouldn't've been pleased with my on-camera responses). The customer service was unclear and slightly pretentious from the beginning. This would be a one-star review, except apparently the Braised Short Rib Nachos (slow cooked & braised, shredded short rib on top of house made tortilla chips finished with loaded topping of queso blanco) was quite tasty. Our diner who ordered El Pollo & Waffles (golden fried crispy chicken alongside a warm fluffy vanilla bean waffle, topped with banana butter and warm chipotle syrup) had to ask for the syrup and didn't receive the banana butter. The waffle itself looked like a large eggo waffle and the chicken were wings. The Brioche French Toast (topped with house made banana butter and warm chipotle syrup) made it to the table with the banana butter on the side (as requested), but again, the syrup had to be requested (and oddly, even though we gestured to both plates when we made the initial syrup request, we had to ask a second time for a second ramekin). MXDC seems to be another hyped-up DC restaurant without anything to back it up. The main positive was that a la carte, the prices were reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.