About MXDC

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Tue 7:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Lunch (26)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Special Occasion (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Spicy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

VERY loud. We are upstairs and had trou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

VERY loud. We are upstairs and had trouble hearing each other. Had great margaritas and delicious food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Appetizer was received timely. Main cou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Appetizer was received timely. Main course took over 20 minutes. For lunch service this is unacceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was fantastic and a great ambia ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was fantastic and a great ambiance. Not too sure why the server was not willing to divide the check for our group...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had reservations and were seated imme ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had reservations and were seated immediately. It took a while for a server to get to our table. We flagged someone down. After that, service was fine. Food was delicious. We had an assortment of tacos, guac, shrimp ceviche was awesome. All salsas were tasty. Loved the habanero relish. My husband had the chile relleno: very good and healthy not covered in cheese and baked, but filled with veggies.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I came here for a girls night dinner a f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I came here for a girls night dinner a few weeks ago for a girls night dinner. The margaritas are great! I had the habanero and the mango, both of which were very good. We shared two different styles of guac, one regular and one with lobster. The servings were very small, barely enough for two or three people to share so I would suggest getting a double order for a larger group. For dinner, we shared a mix of enchiladas, tacos and the chile rellano, which despite being a vegetarian dish was by far the crowd favorite. Overall a great place for an easy dinner with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing restaurant. I can't wait to ret ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing restaurant. I can't wait to return again soon for the incredible food and lovely decor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MXDC is consistently great! The seasona ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

MXDC is consistently great! The seasonal options are delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tacos were served lukewarm. Branzino was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Tacos were served lukewarm. Branzino was very good.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Lunch crowd noise was very debilitating. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Lunch crowd noise was very debilitating. Please install some textiles to absorb noises! We did not get our complimentary chips until our meal arrived. Food was good

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Server was rude. Waited a very long tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Server was rude. Waited a very long time for service and drink order. Offered the "Mexican" soda, but server failed to mention that those sodas were not included in the kids menu ( which included soda, just not Mexican!) those sodas were $5 a piece. Pallea was so-so, tacos nothing special and margaritas weak. Very disappointed, the ambiance was nice and looked like it was going to be a good place. Sum it up, food was so-so, overpriced and our particular male server with black hair and glasses was rude.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food and service make for a fantas ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and service make for a fantastic evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good if you need very quick, if you're n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good if you need very quick, if you're not in a rush to get out within 45mins, not recommended. We were not able to make any modifications to our meals and dinner came out in 5minutes. Tasted pre-made/re-heated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great menu options, and everything was d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great menu options, and everything was delicious! Someone got our appetizer order wrong, so waitress comp'd it & brought us our original order. We ate both with great gusto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredibly loud. Do not recommend if con ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Incredibly loud. Do not recommend if conversation with your dining companions is important to you.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I like the food at MXDC but the service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I like the food at MXDC but the service was sub par -- our poor waitress was simply over-whelmed. We ordered iced teas, which never arrived, and then got billed. Of course, she removed the charge but that's not the point. I felt rushed - many bus people wandering around trying to take away the guacamole and plates that we were still nibbling on. My food, while good, came out a bit cold. Lastly, this place is really loud. Its very difficult to carry on a conversation without yelling. While I like the food, the overall experience was not positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Great food and great service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was slow and unattentive. Happy ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was slow and unattentive. Happy hour prices are the only reason I attend. Food is subpar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

This is my favorite restaurant, however ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant, however on this occasion it was less than it's best. We started out with one server, who was very nice, but she seem to be kind of hurried. Drinks came and we waited for the chips. Finally we asked our server if we could get some chips and salsa, and she was kind enough to do so. We took the first bite and realized that they were very stale. We tried to get her attention, but finally asked another server if he wouldn't mind getting us some fresh chips. I said, I know that this may not be what you do, but would you mind exchanging the stale chips for some fresh ones. He looked at me as if I had just spit on him, but went and go two baskets of chips and placed them on the table. I will chalk this up to it being restaurant week and ask people to be a little kinder to the servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

MXDC is the perfect spot for a business ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

MXDC is the perfect spot for a business lunch, and going during Restaurant Week was even better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Someone should tell the staff that someo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Someone should tell the staff that someone may take them up on 1,000 point table offer at 9:45. Maybe they shouldn't rush us out and premake the dessert and have it sitting while we eat dinner because the kitchen was closing. Felt extremely rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Food was excellent, as is expected at th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was excellent, as is expected at this location. Perhaps due to Restaurant Week crush, service was not up to our expectations for this establishment. We will be back, though, because the food more than makes up for service that was out of character.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding service and great food. Staf ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding service and great food. Staff was professional and courteous. Bartender didn't skimp on the alcohol. Only disappointed came when I increased our party size from 5 to 7 on OpenTable, available times became 5:30 or 10:00, and the 7:00 was no longer available. We left around 8:00 and there was only one other table upstairs with patrons. Could have had a party of 20 at 7:00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find for Mexican food in th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

What a great find for Mexican food in the District! The Jicama Salad was my favorite and the quesadillas were fantastic. I appreciate the authenticity and lack of overly-cheesy that you find at the less authentic restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way too noisy - even during the August r ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Way too noisy - even during the August recess. Very much like this place but will need to reconsider whether to dine here again for lunch. Service is good. Food is reliable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Classic modern Mexican (not Tex-Mex) far ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Classic modern Mexican (not Tex-Mex) fare, along with an outstanding selection of wine and cocktails. The location is great also, just north of Pennsylvania Avenue, and near The White House and most of the Smithsonian Museums.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food. The service was horribl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. The service was horrible. Server's first day. The orders came out correct, but it was SO slow.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I love MXDC! Great food and service. I w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I love MXDC! Great food and service. I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite loud in the dining area so hard to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Quite loud in the dining area so hard to hold conversation without screaming when it's busy. Great service . The taco portions were small for hungry people. Excellent enchiladas.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great lunch spot - interesting food, not ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great lunch spot - interesting food, not too expensive, open setting. However very noisy, can be difficult to hear what the person across from you is saying!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was in DC for a conference. We chose b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I was in DC for a conference. We chose because it was close to our hotel and had vegetarian options. The food was so good that we will return the next time we were in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Were here for an early dinner before a c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Were here for an early dinner before a concert. We were one of 2 tables seated in the dining area, with a few people at the bar. Nice bar area, but the dining area is unremarkable. Had tacos - three different kinds. All were good, and a decent value. This wouldn't be a destination restaurant for me, but if I was in the area, would pop into the bar for drinks and a light dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at MXDC is excellent. I got th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food at MXDC is excellent. I got the mushroom quesadillas; they were very filing and absolutely delicious. I was there for a business lunch at 1pm on a weekday; the noise level was pretty high -- it was hard to hear our conversation. The service was excellent, attentive and professional. I definitely recommend and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely the best from top to bottom! ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely the best from top to bottom! Jordan Wroblewski has it all figured out!

Thank you

Guy Fero

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time at MXDC. The food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had a great time at MXDC. The food was exceptional and the service was pretty good. I have been here about 3 times and have enjoyed each meal tremendously. It can get pretty loud in here, but it's still a fun time. The bar is pretty lively, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service + Great food = Fantastic E ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service + Great food = Fantastic Evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MXDC did not disappoint. The food is al ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

MXDC did not disappoint. The food is always good and this time the service was exceptional. I appreciated having an attentive, yet not "hovering" server. The restaurant is very energetic, specially for happy hour. If you are looking for quiet conversation, this would not be the spot for you. However, if you enjoy energetic surroundings - MXDC is awesome. The jalepeno margaritas are a must have!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

WAY too noisy even in the dining area. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

WAY too noisy even in the dining area. Food fine but not outstanding. Service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Service was great and the food was fanta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was great and the food was fantastic. The atmosphere was great as well. Overall, a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter and food! It is a little lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great waiter and food! It is a little loud in there and a couple time it was an issue with an intimate conversation. All in all great. My only issue I had was the warm Mexican Coke and the Manager stated he would make sure they are put in the cooler in the future. A glass with ice is useless because it waters the Coke down and makes it taste like a fountain soda not a Mexican Coke.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.