About MXDC

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (61)
good for groups (60)
hot spot (51)
See All
vibrant bar scene (50)
great for lunch (47)
special occasion (30)
romantic (24)
neighborhood gem (19)
late-night find (14)
notable wine list (11)
kid-friendly (11)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First time at the restaurant. Interesti ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

First time at the restaurant. Interesting selections. My wife and I had 2 different items, both ok...although entrees, servings were small plates and enable sharing. My wife had a chicken dish which was dry and a bit bland (the sauces helped). I had the short rib tacos, which weren't bad, and added a grilled avocado with pico, which helped greatly. Service was a bit slow. Servers were friendly and atmosphere was nice. Noise wasn't bad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on May 20, 2016

MXDC is a gem in the downtown area. The food is always fantastic and the service is great. One of the few places that offer tasty selections for happy hour and dinner. The margaritas are yummy, whether your order them by the drink or the pitcher. Great spot to meet friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

The guacamole is always delicious! We al ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The guacamole is always delicious! We always enjoy our meals here. The drinks are fantastic too.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The restaurant was too loud to have a co ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The restaurant was too loud to have a conversation. People were crammed too close together. The food was pretty good but needed salt which wasn't on the table. Of all the good food in DC to eat, I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to visitors - there are places with better environments and better food. It was an experience to say we at a Todd English restaurant, but I don't ever need to do it again.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

The service was a little slow but the fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was a little slow but the food was amazing! I would definitely go back.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but just a little too loud fo ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food but just a little too loud for comfort. Probably much better at lunchtime.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Disappointed in Food Prices, Service = 80

Dined on May 10, 2016

I was disappointed on a few levels. First, happy hour was only good for the bar area so those expecting cheaper prices in the restaurant was disappointed. The website only mentioned takeout as being a happy hour exception. The taco prices were really ridiculous for the amount of food that you get. The flavor was good, but I have had better tacos from a food truck for 1/4 the price. The service was pretty good although I had a large group and they failed to follow through on their promise of sitting us together.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

OUTSTANDING

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is the second time we've been to MXDC. The food is absolutely delicious. We had the bronzino and the chilean seabass -- both were among the best we've ever tasted. We will be back, again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not the best service...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Not kid friendly. Bar scene seemed very vibrant. Food was okay, a little overpriced for me. Would probably not go back.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2

Much pricier than anticipated - portions ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Much pricier than anticipated - portions quite small, but food delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious and unique tacos. Mole sauce w ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Delicious and unique tacos. Mole sauce was very good on the fall apart short ribs. Margaritas were good, but not spectacular. What is with all the fruity flavors?

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great fun - good food. Perhaps understaffed

Dined on May 2, 2016

Food was great and no fuss, the ambience was excellent and felt really 'happening'. It seemed that it was understaffed and service was slow, but even though they were understaffed it was very friendly and professional. So in the end it didn't matter. Had a great time here.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food lively atmosphere

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food lively atmosphere

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Good Food, Missed on the Service

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent food; delicious well prepared and beautifully presented. There were three of us, lunch reservation at 12:30pm. Maybe because we were at the tail end of the lunch rush we were forgotten, although we were in the middle of the restaurant near the servers station. Our lunch arrived so late that without complaining or saying a word, they took off our drinks, which were non-alcoholic so not a big deal. We had to ask for chips and salsa, not offered. Our waters were never refilled. Our drinks were never refilled. We were all dry by the end of the meal. We had to keep waving our waiter down if we needed anything. I asked for no cheese and no sour cream on my chicken salad bowl and without asking they skipped the rice because it had butter. Any other restaurant they would have asked. I realized after eating half my meal that another colleague at the table with the same thing had rice so I waved the waiter down and asked for some rice. Poor experience, good food, lively ambience.

food4
ambience4
service5

Try the guacamole, it is amazing! And do ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Try the guacamole, it is amazing! And don't forget a margarita! The blueberry cilantro margarita was refreshing and unique. The quesadilla was good but I prefer a more traditional quesadilla and not the open faced version served at MXDC.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A little pricey, and portions are on the ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

A little pricey, and portions are on the smaller side. But the taste (for both food and drinks) is well worth it!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Decent food but service was lousy

Dined on April 18, 2016

We were not that impressed with MXDC. The food was fine, but the service was slow, and the order came out wrong. It was fairly expensive for a mediocre Mexican meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best Mexican food I've ever had. I'v ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The best Mexican food I've ever had. I've searched years for anything that could match the food I'd had in Texas and this place was even better! You must eat here if you have the choice. I will always come back when in DC.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner with my family! Food was excellent and great margaritas! Kid ( age 10) loves their taco selection. Fish tacos were out of this world! Loved the guac and salsa also. My husband enjoyed the chicken burrito immensely!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5

Had a reservation for a Saturday night. ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Had a reservation for a Saturday night. Food was great but our server was excellent. Staff were cordial and welcoming. I've lived in DC in the past and have dealt with snoody servers and over priced food but MXDC awesome 🌮!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our experience at MXDC was great. The Te ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our experience at MXDC was great. The Texan in our group was hoping for more authentic food but our group thought the variety was delicious!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Meet Up with Friends

Dined on April 11, 2016

I met a couple of girlfriends here for dinner on a Monday night. It was busy which was nice to see to help create the atmosphere. The lights are dimmed with candles on the tables and cool lighting throughout the restaurant. We had the guacamole to start and it was good, nothing over the top. We all enjoyed our dishes from the tacos to quesadilla, nice presentations too. We got an order of churros which are smaller than the usual big ones but perfect for dipping in the chocolate sauce on the side. I would definitely come back to try more.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Very limited options for those with food ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Very limited options for those with food allergies . Not very accommodating for substitutions or modifications.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Try the Habanero Margaritas

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

I come here mostly for the habanero margaritas and the guacamole, but they have pretty great Mexican food all around.

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Tasty but LOUD

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the food but left as soon as we could finish our very good dinner. The noise precluded any conversation beyond, "may I take your order" and "would you like something else to drink." Probably not targeting my age group. Food will draw me back again -- but for an early lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We went early and brought our 7 month ol ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We went early and brought our 7 month old. They were great and fully accommodated us to have a nice family experience. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and scene

Dined on April 6, 2016

Paella was good and very filling. Their various mescal drinks are fantastic. Would come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3

Guacamole was fantastic.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Guacamole was fantastic.

food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Don't bother

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was slow, extremely small portions and fairly average food. I ordered a quesadilla and was like a low quality mexican-style pizza. Great location and set up but skip it. For the price, there are better Mexican cuisine options around.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

A Strange Twist on Mexican

Dined on March 27, 2016

When I did a Google search on Mexican restaurants nearby, MXDC popped up; the reviews were good, and the pricing seemed fair. Reasonably, I assumed that a Mexican restaurant would have the typical Mexican fare such as chips and salsa, cheese dip, and fajitas. Not at this establishment. I was beyond disappointed. If you're looking for authentic Mexican food, this is not the place to go.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Awful

Dined on March 26, 2016

Have not had this disappointing a dining experience in a long time.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun place, lots of people, loud.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great margaritas. They made ours to suit our needs. Good food, but not the best I've ever had.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

No Mas

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was "flavored" with msg. All of us were swollen the next day. Waiter was arrogant and didn't get our ordr correct. Big fan of Todd English but not this spot.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Go there for the drinks?

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

The food is good but portions are very small. We tried their margaritas, which they have a great variety but again, the glasses, drinks were served in, were very small. Don't kid yourself, the place is expensive. For the price, I would say the value is on the lower side. But what I would come back for is their mixed fruit waters, "sin alcohol aqua frescas", 1/2 liter. They prepare them fresh and it is the most refreshing drink on the menu...and it is cheap!!! The flavors are fabulous but mango habanero is the best!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Loud and crazy...But good

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

We were winding down after a conference and the food here was excellent. The drinks even better. Habanero Marg was great. Same idea might work in a Bloody Mary as well. It was crazy loud though. Not my thing, but if that energy is what you are after, then there you go.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

No big deal.

Dined on March 22, 2016

Didn't think the tacos were anything spectacular. Guacamole was really good though

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for lunch

Dined on March 21, 2016

We had a really good lunch here. The lobster guacamole was fabulous. The three of us devoured it and could have eaten a second order. The fish tacos were the best of the three we tried-- park and chicken and fish. The chili rellano also was tasty. One of the best meals we enjoyed in DC.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3

It was extremely loud. My friends and I ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

It was extremely loud. My friends and I had to yell to hear each other. The food and service were both mediocre.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for lunch

Dined on March 14, 2016

Went there to celebrate a birthday and had a really great lunch. Food is awesome and service is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

MXDC

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Food is very good, especially the guacamole with bacon and blue cheese. The service could be a little more attentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.