About MW Restaurant

1538 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Casual dining with a Hawaii Regional Cuisine flair accompanied by exquisite desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

--- Lunch ---

Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

--- Dinner ---

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 955-6505 ext. 2

Website:
http://mwrestaurant.com/

Catering:
MW Restaurant is available for catering events.
Please visit our website at, www.mwrestaurant.com and click on the 'Private Dining and Catering' tab to fill out our event form. Our catering manager will be in touch with more information and our available menus.

Thank you for your interest.

Parking Details:
A limited number of self-park stalls are available on premise. Valet parking is also available for $5.00 exclusive of gratuity. There is metered parking located on Makaloa Street as well as a paid parking lot at the neighboring First Hawaiian Bank.

Executive Chef:
Wade Ueoka & Michelle Karr-Ueoka

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Report a photo problem

MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
MW Restaurant, Honolulu, HI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MW Restaurant offers a casual, simplistic dining atmosphere, conveniently located near Ala Moana Shopping Center between Waikiki and Downtown Honolulu. The restaurant features Hawaii Regional Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite desserts and a diverse wine, spirits and beverage list.

MW Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Local Ingredients (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Tasting Menu (33)
Business Meals (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Open Kitchen (23)
Casual (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Healthy (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fun (11)
Authentic (10)
Organic (9)
Family Style (9)
Private Room (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (7)
Tapas (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious meal but inattentive and slow ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious meal but inattentive and slow servicr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We had some out of town guests who hadn' ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

We had some out of town guests who hadn't been here before. They really enjoyed it! A little pricey, but the food was really good. We were even given a bowlful of delicious cookies with our check!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Menu printed our Anniversary celebration ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Menu printed our Anniversary celebration.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although the atmosphere wasn't what I ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Although the atmosphere wasn't what I expected, our server Darren was great! He made the best recommendations, the food is really the best I ever had. Can't wait to go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Got the prix-fixe lunch menu, the appeti ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Got the prix-fixe lunch menu, the appetizers were literally bite size... But the entree and dessert were very generously portioned. Delectable dishes delighted my taste buds. Our hostess was so warm and friendly... she was Ooozed with positive juju... Which helped set the mood for our first experience at mw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was using the gift card purchased thro ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was using the gift card purchased through open table. I believe the main complain I had is that Open Table had not developed a simple and comprehensive procedure for customer to redeem the gift card (printed version) at the restaurant, and MW does not know exactly what to do without causing confusions. I tried it using the gift card twice, and each time is a battle, too hard to explain it here in writing. If you provide me a phone number of person contact, I wl be happy to call and to tell how it is being handled currently and what I think it can be improved.

Under current situation, I would not recommend anyone to buy MW gift cards on Open Table.

Patrick

p.s. Cost for a bottle of beer is $12, and corkage charge is $25. These charges are all considered being too high.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We've eaten here several times prior but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We've eaten here several times prior but disappointed this visit. Scallop dish not worth $39 for 3 scallops over a little potion of fried rice. "Fried Chicken" dish on the too crispy side. Several menu items including dessert choices were not available and we had an early seating time. Beer overpriced $11 for one beer you can buy a 6 pack lower price! Overall not a good choice for meeting up with friends this time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Three of us enjoyed the Prix fixe lunch ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Three of us enjoyed the Prix fixe lunch which was delicious and beautifully presented. We ordered the day special appetizer, foie gras wontons in addition, which were very tasty. The service was impeccable , reception warm and helpful. Invariably an excellent meal in a very pleasant, modern minamalist setting.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered prefixed menu, $25 and it was ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We ordered prefixed menu, $25 and it was more than we expected!

I chose crispy fish over somen noodle and it was so yummy!!!

But I wish dessert were little more different.... It was just too sweet for us. But we liked kinako ice cream very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accommodating with gluten free options!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Accommodating with gluten free options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

this was the most bizarre fine dining ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

this was the most bizarre fine dining experience I ever had-almost the Emperor's new clothes.

The hostess was arrogant and off putting. The dining room was cafeteria like and more suited for lunch. Having said that the service was great and the food quite delicious but for the price and value the setting left much to be desired. No candles, and the wattage coming from the light fixtures was better suited to finding a lost contact lens than eating a high end meal. Lastly, we were escorted to the back room for the meal which seemed like a private dining/meeting room for special purposes with a flapping brown shade to hide the back kitchen. Icky. During the meal staff restocked the lower shelves in this back room with silverware/plates that were all wrapped in saran wrap. Ridiculous for the cost of the menu and the reputation of the chefs. I was really bummed to fly to Waikiki from Chicago and pick this for one of our nights with the surroundings and ambience the way it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

The server who brought the bread dropped ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The server who brought the bread dropped the slice of bread on the table. He said "sorry about that," then picked up the slice of bread and put in on my son's plate. I would have expected that at a restaurant like this the bread should have been discarded and a new slice of bread given to my son. We ordered 2 blueberry pineapple sodas and only one was served. We had to ask the waiter again for the second soda. My younger son ordered the chicken with gnocchi. Chicken was very dry and the gnocchi was like small grilled potatoes, not what you would expect for gnocchi. I ordered the lobster ravioli. The pasta was heavy, stuck together, and chewy - very disappointing. We have been to Italy twice and had gnocchi and pasta there. We know this is not Italy, but for the price this restaurant is asking we would expect a better quality meal. After the plates were cleared from our table we had to wait about 10 minutes before the waiter even brought the dessert menu to us. We ordered dessert and waited another 30 minutes for the dessert to be served. As the waiter served the dessert he did apologize for the wait. I know that I will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was excellent - some of the bes ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was excellent - some of the best we've had. I had the miso-honey glazed butterfish and my husband had steak. If all fish tasted as good as the butterfish, I would give up all meat! My husband is a real steak lover and he was also very happy. The service was a bit off, however. We had a reservation at 6:00, arrived on time, and still had to wait with another couple to be seated, even though the evening was just beginning. The 2 hostesses seemed to not communicate well with each other. Our waiter didn't know the vegetables of the day and just stated they were what the chef had for the day. Our waiter had to check back on our order twice, once because he forgot part of it and once because he hadn't known they were out of the wine I ordered.

Understanding it could have just been an off night for the service and enjoying the food as much as we did, we'll definitely dine here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

Chef Wade and Michelle are truly inspiri ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Chef Wade and Michelle are truly inspiring to watch and their food is so damn good I cannot find anything better on Oahu! They also have a great bar, and the bartender is amazing. I think she reads minds...

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Organic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious, onolicious, delicious!!! The ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delicious, onolicious, delicious!!! The price fixed menu offers are elegantly presented and again delicious. We keep coming back the panko crusted monchong over somen noodles. What a refreshing meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, , Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was delicious. There ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything we had was delicious. There were new items not listed on the menus online. The desserts were incredible. Service was friendly but slow and not particularly polished. Softer, dimmer lighting would give this place a classier feel to match the food and prices.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was whimsical and delicious! Vario ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was whimsical and delicious! Various flavors and textures entertained the palette and the presentations were very appetizing. The sliders were so delicious and the desserts lived up to our high expectations. Lastly, the MW signature cookie was a great touch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

MW never disappoints. The food is delici ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

MW never disappoints. The food is delicious and presented beautifully. I always know that any friend I bring will enjoy a wonderful meal! This time I tried the scallops on risotto--yummy! Until now, I thought the monchong was the best dish on the menu, but the scallops are my new favorite-- perfectly cooked seafood on a very tasty bed of risotto, creamy but not too rich with a nice crunch of asparagus bits.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Recommended to us by Hawaiian natives wh ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Recommended to us by Hawaiian natives who are foodies. Best meal we had in our visit to Honolulu. Not cheap but none of the restaurants we went to were. However, this one was worth what we paid. Delicious food, beautifully presented, with terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

4人で過去2回ほど訪れたが、地元の食材を工夫された調理で美味しく食べさせてくれる ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

4人で過去2回ほど訪れたが、地元の食材を工夫された調理で美味しく食べさせてくれるのは、評判通り。今回はお勧めのセットメニューを頼んだ。量はほどほどで、日本人向き。少し味が濃い目であるのが気になったが、合格ラインには達している。ホノルルのレストランとしてはコスパはかなり良い。お勧めできる。

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was a fabulous restaurant. Food was ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a fabulous restaurant. Food was creative Hawaiian cuisine and was amazing from starters through entrees and dessert! Don't miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My experience was really good, and the g ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My experience was really good, and the good was delightful. The noise level was normal, not too loud and not too quiet. I really enjoyed the dining, and I would like to come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was a little slower than the las ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was a little slower than the last two times we've been there. It took a lot longer for our food to come around but the waiter never mentioned why nor did he apologize for it. The food was pretty good as usual once it came. The hostess was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Most excellent! Yes you should dine at M ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Most excellent! Yes you should dine at MW

Perfect for any occasion!

Best cuisine a treat for your taste buds! Thank you

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, , Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Fun, Private Room, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice meal, but a bit salty.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice meal, but a bit salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good service. Food is delicious.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very good service. Food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

五感で楽しめるレストランです‼︎

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

五感で楽しめるレストランです‼︎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's always a great dining experience. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It's always a great dining experience. I love when we are sometimes presented with a little pastry gift at the end of our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but service so-so... Manageme ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good food, but service so-so... Management realized service was not so good, so comped us our appetizers...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

A few very good dishes, but they are try ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A few very good dishes, but they are trying too hard to simply be different at the expense of creating tasty interesting dishes. Kampachi on a bed of greens and rice is not innovative, even with a fancy name. The scallops were delicious, but again simply on a bed of rissoto-like rather uninteresting rice. The srvice was good once we were seated, and It is not too pricey for Honolulu,but at their prices they should have table linen and a suitable roomy entdry for patrons waiting to be seated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We made reservations for my birthday din ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We made reservations for my birthday dinner for 5:45. When we arrived, there were many tables for 2, but the hostess took a long time in seating us. It made us feel like we were walk ins and had to settle for a less desirable table when she offered us a small table closest to the entry. We asked for another table and again, the hostess and another staff member conversed and after another delay was seated at another table. Not a good start but our server was good and the food was delicious. Ordered fried calamari which was a bit chewy. The sauce was very peppery. The Caesar salad was very good - leaning towards an Asian flavored dressing. The freshly toasted bread was light and tasty. Chicken entree was delicious. I ordered the Mochi Crusted Tofu over somen noodles. It was wonderful. Nice combination of taste and texture. The sauce could have been a little more liquid, but it had a nice taste. Combining different flavors was also evident in the Kula strawberrry shave ice dessert. Loved the Yuzu sorbet, tapioca and the strawberry kanten. Yummy. Would we have been treated better had I informed the hostess that I was celebrating a birthday???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Exceptional service.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

MW gracefully blends well mannered servi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

MW gracefully blends well mannered service with a relaxing island feel. We recently enjoyed an exceptional variety of appetizers including our favorite fresh ahi poke, unagi and butterfish arancino, crispy tempura scallops, and salad with crunchy butterfish skin. Our favorite was the decadent dessert tropical fruit creamsicle brûlée and the light banana cream pie. As one of our favorite restaurants, we will definitely be back for more of the excellent culinary delights offered at this contemporary award winning eatery!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just wanted to thank our server Melanie, ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Just wanted to thank our server Melanie, excellent service finally.... will request her again. Aloha, Derek

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants on the i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants on the island! The best service I have ever had too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

MW is the urban upscale diner. The pric ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 12, 2016

MW is the urban upscale diner. The pricing reflects the "upscale" part. The food is very flavorful and the menu is varied enough that you will find something for everyone. I had the kampachi and it was very delicious. I would certainly order that again.

I reserve MW for special occasions, not really every day.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We went for the first time and were quit ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We went for the first time and were quite pleased with the food. I had the scallops (really good!) & my husband had the pork (also good). Our friends told the staff it was my birthday & there was an extra surprise for dessert. Lovely. Only criticism is that they whisk away plates while you are still chewing and the next plate was there before you could breathe. I would like them to slow it down a little.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I was very impressed with the quality an ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was very impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. The service was excellent. Our waiter was very knowledgeable regarding wine, dessert wines & ports. I would definitely come back to MW the next time I am in Honolulu.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome dinner service tonight. Chef Mi ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Awesome dinner service tonight. Chef Michelle even made a special fruit platter for my mom's birthday..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The price was great and there were some ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The price was great and there were some great appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.