About MW Restaurant

1538 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Casual dining with a Hawaii Regional Cuisine flair accompanied by exquisite desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

--- Lunch ---

Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

--- Dinner ---

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 955-6505

Website:
http://mwrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet service will be available. However, there is a parking lot and parking is also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Wade Ueoka & Michelle Karr-Ueoka

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

MW Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Fit for Foodies
Oahu
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Fit for Foodies (93)
Special Occasion (76)
Great for Lunch (51)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Hot Spot (30)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Romantic (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We split one tasting menu and ordered 3 ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

We split one tasting menu and ordered 3 additional appetizers. Heavy influence of Japanese ingredients. Portion sizes are too large. Seemingly everyone in the restaurant had a doggy bag on their table. For a restaurant that espouses to be considered an option for fine dining in Honolulu, they need to reduce portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing food. Bright lights and blank wa ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food. Bright lights and blank walls make for a strange ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Disappointing dinner after having been f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointing dinner after having been for lunch before that was a great experience. Service was slow, fish was under-cooked/raw of one of their signature entrees--mochi-crusted Opakapaka. Apologies but service was slow and disjointed thereafter as well. Our waiter seemed to have too many tables to wait on at the same time, and the bar service was slow.

The short ribs were overly salty/seasoned. Roy's is much better consistently. The scallops were okay, but a bit overdone. Overall, execution lacking.

There seemed to be many people standing around on the restaurant floor not doing much but looking around and spacing out versus servicing their diners. It took us over three hours for dinner, a bit too long even for a fine dining experience.

The desserts were also tired and boring. The new desserts were reaching to be different for the sake of being artsy/fancy without much substance.

This restaurant could be on the cusp of becoming a ho-hum over-priced local eatery resting on its original opening laurels.

I hope we were there on a rare bad night for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is what I call a fancy diner. MW i ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is what I call a fancy diner. MW is located in a strip mall. There is no real ambiance. The food is expensive, but it is pretty good. I do have to say the desserts are way over-priced for what you get. I will probably go back, but this would not be at the top of my list of places to dine in Honolulu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

One of the best meals we've had. We all ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

One of the best meals we've had. We all had something different and the food was flawless. Only wish I could have eaten more and tried the chefs tasting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for dinner. We were ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Wonderful experience for dinner. We were celebrating our daughters birthday and they added special touches to make it memorable. Great service and everyone was so friendly. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was meeting two friends, however I had ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was meeting two friends, however I had arrived early and asked to be seated. Upon being seated, the hostess mentioned that someone will be right with me for my order. After more than 5 minutes and trying to make eye contact, no servers gave me the time of day. Only then, a gentleman with a beard whom I thought was the bartender, came over to get my order for drinks. The restaurant seemed to be 3/4 full at 7:00pm on a Tuesday night; I think server attention needs to be addressed to at least ask once if a newly seated guest would like to order something. I certainly needed a drink to pass the time, and the bearded bartender picked up on that opportunity. And thank you Chef Wade for the mini-burger appetizers!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food - though not any better than a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Good food - though not any better than a bunch of other really good restaurants in Honolulu. The service was pretty terrible though. We were kept waiting and not acknowledged when the hostess was on the phone (for quite a while). Appetizers weren't all served at once. Inattentive service during the meal. For the price and the type of restaurant it purports to be, there are many better options.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

All food was awesome. Wish there wasn't ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

All food was awesome. Wish there wasn't so much gap of time between bread then dishes but I know you can't rush a good thing. Wish they offered second serving of bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The tasting menu was amazing. Each cour ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The tasting menu was amazing. Each course was a creative blend of flavors and ended with dessert, the strawberry shave ice, that brought a surprise with each bite. This was a meal that I will try again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food but being put in the backroom ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food but being put in the backroom for a first visit wasnʻt the best impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had an excellent meal with decent ser ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had an excellent meal with decent service. The evening was ruined when the Manager came by at the end of the evening to discuss his support for Donald Trump and was confrontational. Odd behaviour for the Manager!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

My wife and I had a very pleasant dinner ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

My wife and I had a very pleasant dinner. The salad, fish and chicken were perfectly cooked and nicely presented. We look forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went to celebrate our daughters b-day. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went to celebrate our daughters b-day. Fantastic food with great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and service was very ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was excellent and service was very good. Convenient location. Casual so don't have to dress up which I like.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am a foodie and my husband goes along ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I am a foodie and my husband goes along for the ride. I asked a friend where we should go on Oahu for our Anniversary dinner and she recommended MW, well it exceeded our expectations! The food was so flavorful, absolutely loved the local fresh ingredients, and the service was amazing!!! Definitely one of the best if not the best meals we've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing time celebrating 1 year a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Had an amazing time celebrating 1 year anniversary - service was impeccable.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Which cuisine is also delicious, however ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Which cuisine is also delicious, however it is a little salty for Japanese.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food awesome. Staff knows there jobs do ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food awesome. Staff knows there jobs down to busing staff. Noise carries here, so caring baby a few tables over made his.her presence felt. Place is good enough to be in higher rent district

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my dinner at the MW. Th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner at the MW. The Mochi Crusted Kampachi was delicious. I was disappointed by that Arancini starter but the desserts made up for it. The Affo-misu was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We went to celebrate a birthday. Service ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday. Service was spectacular- from the host/hostess to water server and our waiter was a 10++. The food was SERIOUSLY onolicious!

Parking can be a bit of an issue, but a valet parking service is available.

MW doesn't disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome as usual. Occasional overdose on ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome as usual. Occasional overdose on sauces i.e. Happy Hour poke...avoid

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. We had ahi poke bowl, ah ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food. We had ahi poke bowl, ahi mandoo, house salad, loco moco, and butterfish special. All were very yummy. Dessert we shared ... sort of: affogato, banana cream pie, strawberry shave ice special. Three of us enjoyed a great meal. Third time I've been there; twice for lunch and once for dinner. Very good value for the kind of quality served.

One action item: valet parking turned us away at first saying they were filled. Not good form.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Service and food quality was excellent! ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service and food quality was excellent! I had the Butterfish which was cooked perfectly and our business client had the Oxtail soup which he said was his favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been a customer on several occasio ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've been a customer on several occasions and the food and service has always been great. The deserts are a must have as they are add new treats. The service is provided with a well staffed group who are friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really cool non-touristy spot. High qual ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really cool non-touristy spot. High quality locally sourced ingredients. Imaginative dishes with amazing flavors. Top notch service - attentive but not overly intrusive. Our waiter was super helpful and knowledgable about the menu and had great recommendations. Urban eats decor and vibe that you would find on the mainland. If you are looking to escape the sea of Hawaiian shirts and tiki torches vibe, try this place you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and very well pre ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious and very well prepared. We liked the menu. Our waiter was very attentive. For the price of the food we were a little surprised when all our food didn't come out together and it also seemed to take quite a long time to get our food. The decor is overly simplistic. I think some table clothes or art would add to the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was just OK. Last time we went, we ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was just OK. Last time we went, we ordered Tonkatsu sandwiches. It was terrible. I thought I would give a try one more time. But food was just OK. Desert was pretty good though. I don't think I'll go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I have heard so much about this restaura ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have heard so much about this restaurant. However, it was not to my expectations. The food was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We celebrated a very special occasion th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We celebrated a very special occasion this week at MW Restaurant and we're so happy we picked this restaurant. Our first time at MW Restaurant was memorable.

The interior of MW is no big deal and we don't understand why valet parking ($5, not including the tip) is necessary but the food and service make it worth coming and returning here.

For $25, the prix fixe lunch was a winner. Each prix fixe comes with an appetizer trio (Chilled Waialua Asparagus Soup, Asian Greek Salad and Pork Lettuce Wrap) -- everything was superb! For our entrees, we selected the Grilled Ahi Steak (sauteed with Chorizo, Ho Farms Tomatoes and Kale), the Grilled Kalbi Shortribs (with spicy Ho Farms Eggplant salad and Kimchee potato salad) and the Miso Honey Glazed Butterfish (with Baby bok choi, taegu and watercress salad). A+ for all the entrees -- and big portions, too! Dessert was Kula Strawberry Shave Ice (Haupia Tapioka, Strawberry-Yuzu Sorbet and Shaved Strawberry Granite). It was the perfect refreshing summer dessert and the sweetness was just right.

The little extras that we got really made our lunch even more special. The menu had a special printed greeting for us and the dessert plate had the same special greeting written in chocolate. There was also a surprise take-home bread courtesy of the pastry chef/owner. We were also lucky to get one of the best waiters we have encountered in our many years of dining out: Jaime! He was warm, attentive, professional, patient, and explained everything clearly.

We were not in a hurry so it worked out well because they do not rush you at MW and there was a long wait for the dessert even after the lunch crowd had left.

We're locals but it's always hard to pick a good place to dine when we have out-of-town guests -- but MW Restaurant is on our radar now!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Waiter was very attentive and answered a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Waiter was very attentive and answered all questions by describing dishes we inquired about and made recommendations based on what are the most popular items. Food was very good, enjoyable experience. $5 valet parking is pricy for car being a few steps away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had one meal (chicken) come out sligh ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had one meal (chicken) come out slightly under cooked and the manager promptly comped the dish. But other than that the food definitely notable. The ceviche was especially good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The only negative was that the mixed dri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The only negative was that the mixed drink was $17.50, and it wasn't that good. The food and service was on point. We would go again, but order wine instead.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a return visit for me, with my ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a return visit for me, with my family and a guest enjoying a first time meal. I respect restaurants like MW being nominated for a Beard best new restaurant award. However that recognition should be more than just the food quality and presentation.

Yes, our food and drink were excellent.

We dined at 5:30pm when the restaurant wasn't even 1/3 full.

What disappointed me was the service, especially when our entree dishes sat on the table for 15+ minutes, even though the manager walked past our table four times. He finally came over to help the server clear the table. By then our interest in dessert had waned and we simply wanted to leave. I don't get it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We entertained some young guests from Ca ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We entertained some young guests from California who enjoyed all the dishes we ordered - appetizers, their entree and desserts. It was the highlight of their trip to Hawaii!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Unagi & Butterfish Arancini was deli ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Unagi & Butterfish Arancini was delicious. The salads were good but not memorable. The stars of the show are their main entrees. My husband had the Hokkaido Scallops and he was so blown away at how sweet and perfectly cooked they were. I had the Mochi Crusted Kona Kampachi and it was the best preparation of kampachi I have ever had. The desserts were delicious. The service was great and we enjoyed the overall feel of the restaurant. We will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very delicious dining experience. The a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very delicious dining experience. The appetizers were great!!!! I really enjoyed the appetizers so when the entrees arrived, I was rather filled to enjoy it as much (so I ate half and packed the other half to go). The lilikoi brulee was out of this world!!! I liked that it had tapioca and many other textures instead of those brulees where you get with only custard. Everytime I dine at MW Restaurant, the dining experience leaves me wanting to keep coming back for more.

Loved that you don't need to dress up...there were people dressed with evening attire and people dressed with jeans. So whichever way you feel comfortable is fine.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Here is the most favorite restrant in Ha ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Here is the most favorite restrant in Hawaii.

Delicius and costperformance's so good!!!

I visited here last year, and twice in this summer vacation. For twice time, we could change menu in the cource.

Some dishes, a little likely Japanese and Corean( mochi, kimuchi).

Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent and very atten ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was excellent and very attentive. The Kona Lobster Carbonara and the Mochi Crusted Opakapaka were excellent. The one item that I would not order again is the Roast Pork Pizza Cake Noodle. We had a great evening at MW and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food!!! Our favorite go to res ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fabulous Food!!! Our favorite go to restaurant in Waikiki. Love Chef Wade and Michelle, what a team. They have put together a wonderful staff from the hostess, bartender, service and kitchen. Thank you for always making our visit special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.