About MW Restaurant

1538 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Casual dining with a Hawaii Regional Cuisine flair accompanied by exquisite desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

--- Lunch ---

Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

--- Dinner ---

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 955-6505

Website:
http://mwrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet service will be available. However, there is a parking lot and parking is also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Wade Ueoka & Michelle Karr-Ueoka

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

MW Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Fit for Foodies
Oahu
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

fit for foodies (107)
special occasion (77)
great for lunch (50)
See All
neighborhood gem (45)
good for groups (40)
hot spot (40)
notable wine list (14)
romantic (12)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was uneven. Seafood Stew as good , ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was uneven. Seafood Stew as good , but arrived warm, rather than hot. Opah was way overcooked. Lobster Salad was terrific. Special Mango Salad was only OK, because the mangos were too tart.

Service was not paced well. Salads arrived very quickly, but we had a long wait for the entrees. Perhaps that's why the Seafood Stew had lost heat.

Noise level was uncomfortable. Too many hard surfaces. We could;t hear each other across the table is we spoke in normal conversational tones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We celebrated our anniversary with anoth ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary with another couple. Appreciated the nice touches -- personalized menu and banana loaf and cookies to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice and elegant....pricey but plat ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice and elegant....pricey but plate presentation is awesome... Nice to splurge once in awhile😉

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food itself was lovely. The ambience ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food itself was lovely. The ambience was too barren even for "minimalism." It felt like we were eating in a location at a strip mall. It was priced about 30% too high for the total experience. Definitely would not recommend or come back unless significant changes were made. Seems to be very well liked by the locals though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

All around great experience - food, serv ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

All around great experience - food, service, environment (very clean).

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to MW Restaurant for a business ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went to MW Restaurant for a business dinner. The service was outstanding. Our waiter knew when to give us the space to have our discussions. The food was great as usual. I had the butterfish, and it was tender, tasty, and satisfying. We had 4 in our party and the table we sat at was a little cramped. The waiter and bussers did a good job of table management, though, and they compensated well for the lack of space. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant for business or for any other special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love MW restaurant, the food is to die ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I love MW restaurant, the food is to die for, yet it is so affordable. It's no wonder it's really popular. I was there on a Monday night, and we made the mistake of thinking we'd be able to eat in two hours. You cannot mistake this restaurant for your casual neighborhood bistro- to do it justice you need at least 2 1/2 hours, preferably 3. We had too much going on- flights to catch, cars to return. It was a stressful experience- I thought I was subtly letting our waiter know we were in a time crunch but I was too subtle I guess.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Recommended by a local friend, our group ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Recommended by a local friend, our group had an excellent time at MW. Food was delicious and service was great. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Honestly was an amazing dinner! Had both ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Honestly was an amazing dinner! Had both of chefs tasting menus. We are definitely going to be coming back. Can get costly, but worth even penny. The food is always on point. The service is good but could be better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service are consistently ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service are consistently excellent since I visit this restaurant often. Staff is very attentive and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and great food. Glad we we ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great service and great food. Glad we went and would love to go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I went here with the family. I felt ever ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I went here with the family. I felt every dishs well. Everything was beautiful and their dishs was flavorful. I'm quite satisfied! The staff was kind, too and it was appropriate. Thank you very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Portuguese bean soup was awesome. A ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Portuguese bean soup was awesome. Ate a small lunch so we could indulge on dessert! Not disappointed at all.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service recovery by server. Soup to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good service recovery by server. Soup too

Spicy for me so they did not charge us for it.

Specials are usually good.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the Cucumber Coctail! Excellent ch ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love the Cucumber Coctail! Excellent choice for my Birthday Celebration. Just dim the lights a tiny bit, seems a little too bright in the dining room. All in all my favorite Oahu Restaurant!! Thanks MW!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Off the charts great!!! The service wa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Off the charts great!!!

The service was extraordinary. Every restauranteur in the world would kill to have that staff.

The food was fresh, thoughtful, and expertly executed. Dietary substitutions were handled with amazing grace. Lastly, the wine list was thankfully as thoughtful as the menu - and priced very reasonably.

In short, my favorite meal this year.

If I had to add any criticism it would be that the lighting is glaring and some artwork in the very monotone back wall would be welcome.

Well done to everyone at MW. It was sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our food was good, especially the pork b ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our food was good, especially the pork belly bao and the creme brûlée dessert. Salads are huge. Our waiter, Austin was just average. He did not offer chopsticks to go with our salad. We could not get his attention so another waiter brought them to us. we asked for more bread and he said he would bring some. More than 15 minutes went by and no bread so we asked another waiter. Austin then brought some to our table and said it took a while because they were in the oven. He could have told us that while we waited, then we would not have to wonder.

We will return as we love the restaurant and the food. The cookies and treats are a plus.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food and the $25 prix fixe for l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Amazing food and the $25 prix fixe for lunch was a great value. Get the mochi encrusted fish! Best meal I've had in Honolulu and I visit family there often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wade and Michelle continue to impress me ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wade and Michelle continue to impress me each time we've dined at MW Restaurant. The prix fixe lunch was outstanding. Service and food were the best.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our second visit, and was the fir ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was our second visit, and was the first time for dinner.

The waiter was polite and kind, so we could be relaxed with their great dishes.

Every dish looks very beautiful, tastes good and unique because of the ingredients from Asia.The combination of the ingredients is amazing.

Especially what I should recommend is their dessert. You can't miss it.

Only thing to be in my mind was katsuo-bushi on butterfish aranchini, it reminded me of Japanese takoyaki, which is casual fast-food. Trivial, you know.

We love to visit MWrestaurant again, and are looking forward to enjoying beautiful dishes.

Their hand-made cookies are also delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a reservation for a table for 2 at ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I had a reservation for a table for 2 at 5:30 PM and all of the tables were open except 2 tables the hostess seated me next to the open kitchen. When I asked her to move me as I had a biz dinner and didn't want to smell like the food and didn't want a loud table. The hostess next moved me to the next undesirable location right by the entrance and hostess stand. I was dressed nicely and so was my client. I don't know why the hostess chose to treat me so poorly. The food was great and so was the waiter but I won't return to that restaurant unless I am guaranteed to be treated with respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

the food was very good. the service wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

the food was very good. the service was slow, had to ask about the food, asked for additional sauce which never came and had to ask another waiter who brought it in seconds. for a high end place, service should be better.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

One of the best restaurants to eat in Ho ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of the best restaurants to eat in Honolulu! Don't get confused by all of the new restaurants opening. MW's menu is exciting and offers food for all diners in your party. The standard dishes of fish, meets, pasta, etc. all done with a unique flair by Michelle & Wade. The night we went they also had a whole roasted pig they were preparing dishes from - so you never know what unique dining experiences might occur the night you go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was kind and informative and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server was kind and informative and modeled the menu to fit one of our diner's needs. The staff was attentive and professional. Presentation and overall taste were perfect. If I had to note one "improve" it would be that there could be less time between meals and wine presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic service, great food, excellent ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic service, great food, excellent wine list

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and excellent service! I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service! I would definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place does not mess around. It is ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This place does not mess around. It is like a Roy's, only fresher ingredients. The flavors are off the scale!

When family is in town, or if I have a important business meeting, I will always come here first. I have never been disappointed. Big Mahalos to the entire kitchen staff: you are amazing. I also need to recognize Shawna behind the bar. She is quick, smart, and a pleasure to talk to. Ask her for a recommendation, I think she is psychic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess is very friendly. The food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The hostess is very friendly.

The food was fabulous as usual. But the service was extremely slow. It was not a full house yet it took almost 30 minutes to get our appetizer which came at the same time with our salad.We were not offered the buttery, yummy focaccia bread they usually serve till our salad was served. Lunch took 2 hours total and we were so sad we had to skip dessert because we needed to get back to the office.

I was surprised I have been here many times but this was the slowest service ever. My guest had questions about the Greek salad and the waiter had no idea what the Asian flare was to the salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Fabulous service, excellent food and des ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fabulous service, excellent food and desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Excellent service, beginning with a warm ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent service, beginning with a warm welcome. Delicious food, always something different. The prix fixe menu at lunch is a good deal. The mango shave ice over tapioca was a perfect summer dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to this restaurant before w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have been to this restaurant before when visiting Honolulu and would definitely return!

I had a mango salad with micro greens that was super and their mochi crusted fish with soba noodles and kimchi was excellent. I saw the tasting menu items passing by and I think that would be a good thing to try.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First time, definitely not our last. Our ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

First time, definitely not our last. Our server Austin knowledgeable and first class customer service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing value for spend money. We never ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nothing value for spend money. We never recommend this restaurant!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Nice restaurant, good food. Go for the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice restaurant, good food. Go for the appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of my favorites. Great for late lun ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of my favorites. Great for late lunch, early "pau hana" because of the option to order Prix Fixe, $5.00 Small Plates, or the regular lunch menu from 2-5pm.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food always tastes as good as its pr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food always tastes as good as its presentation is fantastic. The wait staff were very friendly and took the time to explain each dish from appetizer to dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We ordered oysters for appetizer got 3 t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We ordered oysters for appetizer got 3 that each were a at best 1 inch across. Didn't know they could grow them that small for $13 bucks. They were so small if there was anything special about them you couldn't taste it. My wife ordered scallops with fried rice it was delicious cause I had to finish it because it was too spicy for her. The waiter did not tell her it was going to be spicy. My wife loved what I ordered. Desert was great. Coffee was overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Awesome service!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was outstanding, service was ok. t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was outstanding, service was ok. there was a wait for everything: to order, to receive our appetizers, to receive our main entrees, to order dessert, and to get our bill processed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Fantastic customer service. The food wa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic customer service. The food was fabulous everything came out tasting great. We had a couple of minor incidents with some of the dishes but the restaurant took care of everything and Actually comp some of the meal. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone they have such great customer service it was fantastic. When we visit Hawaii again will definitely come here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.