About MW Restaurant

1538 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Casual dining with a Hawaii Regional Cuisine flair accompanied by exquisite desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

--- Lunch ---

Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

--- Dinner ---

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 955-6505 ext. 2

Website:
http://mwrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet service will be available. However, there is a parking lot and parking is also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Wade Ueoka & Michelle Karr-Ueoka

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MW Restaurant offers a casual, simplistic dining atmosphere, conveniently located near Ala Moana Shopping Center between Waikiki and Downtown Honolulu. The restaurant features Hawaii Regional Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite desserts and a diverse wine, spirits and beverage list.

MW Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Special Occasion (54)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Local Ingredients (43)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Tasting Menu (31)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Open Kitchen (28)
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Casual (17)
Healthy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Authentic (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Romantic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Private Room (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Organic (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (6)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again the 5 course tasting menu wit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Once again the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairings worked for me. Introducing a local who had not eaten here before this highlighted some of their signature dishes and took the pressure off deciding what to order. I keep coming back because the quality is excellent and I am always pleased.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was our favorite restaurant in Oahu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant in Oahu and one of our top ten and we live in food friendly Seattle. Everything was incredibly fresh, well prepared and presented. Great service staff and the wine pairings were exceptional. Can't wait to get back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is rare that 100% of the dishes (appe ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It is rare that 100% of the dishes (appetizer, soup, entrées, desert) are excellent, but that was the experience here. A good value. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They don't know what is the "pro" hospit ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2016

They don't know what is the "pro" hospitality. So disappointed.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Love, love this restaurant! The service ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Love, love this restaurant! The service always over delivers, the caesar salad is the best in Hawaii!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately we were seated in an undes ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Unfortunately we were seated in an undesirable location near the stools in the corner. There were many other 2-tops open. They were filled up later but didn't like the fact we were chosen to sit where we were. Loud place. Difficult for a nice conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The food and service are always impeccab ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food and service are always impeccable at MW. The flavor profiles of all their dishes are unique, creative and harmonious. Our server, Austen, was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Not only is the fixed price lunch specia ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not only is the fixed price lunch special a great deal, the food is just awesome and MW is a wonderful place to meet up with friends and dine in an awesome atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took advantage of Restaurant Week to ord ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Took advantage of Restaurant Week to order off the prefix menu as a first-time experience. Also celebrated our daughter's 18th birthday. Waitstaff are excellent, super-attentive. Waiter was very friendly, patient, energetic and with a sense of humor. Senior staff member/manager also considerate enough to clear extra space for my mother-in-law to be able to get out with her walker.

Food was tasty and unique! Sampler appetizer was interesting and delicious. Even the vichyssoise, though something I would not consciously choose, was an opportunity to try out, since it was one of the trio of appetizers. Most of us chose the beef tenderloin medallion on top of lobster-infused mashed potatoes and lump lobster meat w/ some fresh green garnishes. simply excellent and savory. For dessert, again most of us chose the shave-ice selection. My daughter, however, went off the menu and had the creme brulee with other assorted additives, which was a great choice! In fact, she ordered off the menu completely and had a tofu based entree over somen noodles. I thought hers was amazing, and I'm typically a strict carnivore.

We'll be sure to go back to MW again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried the tasting menu for Restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We tried the tasting menu for Restaurant Week. There was a good selection to choose from and our entire party enjoyed the food. Will go back again when family is in town for Christmas.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week menu was outstanding. W ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Restaurant Week menu was outstanding. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lunch was very good and tasty. The plac ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Lunch was very good and tasty. The place is neatly kept and clean, and the staff is efficient.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good for a late lunch as they don't clos ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good for a late lunch as they don't close at 2 like many other restaurants.

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Melt in your mouth filet. Restaurant wee ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Melt in your mouth filet. Restaurant week meal was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had very great time, very enjoyable f ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had very great time, very enjoyable food.

It was little crowded, so it was little to hear the conversation.

But it means many people love to come this place!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have not been ever disappointed with a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I have not been ever disappointed with any thing that I've ever eaten here. I tried nearly everything on their small bites menu from 2013 to 2015 and was amazed that the staff in their natural frenzy, could offer such perfect meals, thorough service, and efficiency. Every course was meant to be enjoyed on its own merits and every bite a new oral experience. Then, suddenly the soul gets involved. With the eyes, nose, mouth, mind and soul involved, I was transcended to a place in my mind that I seldom get the chance to visit. That place where comfort, care, fulfillment, and thrill all come together to create a memory. This goes up there with a first kiss, a first sip of a 25 year old scotch, the aroma of grandmother's peach cobbler. Live! For additional stimulation, sit at the Chef's counter and talk to Wade, the chef and owner.

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Organic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh, local ingredients. Kitchen seemed ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fresh, local ingredients. Kitchen seemed slow on an average Sunday night. Could have had more attention from server.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As always the food was great, braised be ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always the food was great, braised beef, crispy kampachi.. candy bar fir dessert awesome!! Always a goto place for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had lunch with the prix fixe menu...Outs ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Had lunch with the prix fixe menu...Outstanding value!! LOVED IT!!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Wonderful and imaginative farm to table ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful and imaginative farm to table cuisine, Hawaiian style . Whether you want meat, fish or vegetarian entrees, there is something for everyone. I was feeling adventurous, so I tried the unagi (sea urchin) and butterfish arancini appetizer and the mochi crusted opakapaka (short tail pink snapper) over samen noodles. My spouse opted for tomato bisque and braised short ribs and foie gras over truffle smashed potatoes. A shared house salad, some cocktails, and a shared dessert: MW Candy bar rounded out the meal. Somewhat pricey, but absolutely worth it. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely set lunch menu esp the dessert! A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Lovely set lunch menu esp the dessert! Also the soup, ox tail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious from the pupus, main ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was delicious from the pupus, main dishes to dessert! I wanted to order everything on the

dessert menu! The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable. Evan and his staff were all so friendly and on the ball. Everyone we walked past greeted us. Planning on returning with our friends very soon. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Other reviews were very good so brought ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Other reviews were very good so brought visiting friends. Strike 1- Waiter took our appetizer order, then after served minutes came back got the dinner order and asked if we wanted any appetizers. Strike 2- 2 of us ordered scallops, 1 came out with the others, 1 didn't get served until 10 mins later; strike 3- steak was ordered med rare but came out well done, and had to wait again for it to be te-served ; strike 4 - 3 of us ordered coffee, 1 ordered tea. Had to remind waiter for tea, which didn't come for another 10 mins. Although, over done sreak was comp'd, so embarrassed our visitor friends picked up the check. Service is awful for the pricey menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent food all around - great appeti ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food all around - great appetizers (ahi poke, and jidori chicken), tasty salad (ceasar with an interesting paniolo jerky twist), great entrees (mochi crusted kampachi on somen noodles, and kurabota pork), and really excellent not to miss desserts and coffee. Good service (although a little long wait before asking if we wanted to order courses or order dessert). Open/industrial decor - not very romantic or private, but excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We keep coming back for the food but the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We keep coming back for the food but the service is always above our expectations!! Whole staff are very polite/courteous/clean/ very professional..

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Vegan, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food especially the des ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always excellent food especially the dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The lunch prie fixe menu is the best cho ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The lunch prie fixe menu is the best choice if you want to get a variety of foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the pork and it was tough and dry ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I had the pork and it was tough and dry with little flavor. The Caesar was good and I liked the added pipi kaula. Wine service was slow and when I mentioned it was a birthday we received zero recognition. Not even a small dessert. I've been here several times and the menu hasn't changed much since they opened. With the many restaurant options in Honolulu I wouldn't return to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food and service was excellent. The ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food and service was excellent. The only drawback was the seating. It is not a place you would have an intimate conversation because we were seated in a row very close to other people. I would recommend that they offer, as an option, seating with more privacy, the restaurant was not busy and there were many open seats in the middle of the venue. Other than that it was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

結婚2周年のハワイ旅行で利用しました。 ハワイの到着日は時差ボケ対策でかならず夜 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

結婚2周年のハワイ旅行で利用しました。

ハワイの到着日は時差ボケ対策でかならず夜の食事を予約して、早くに眠らないようにしています。

いつもはアランチーノに行くのですが、今回は評判のこのお店に行きました。

お料理は創作日本食って感じで優しい繊細な味でした。食事中はビールを頼みましたが、テーブルサイドで冷やしてくれてのサーブにはつい嬉しくて顔がほころびました。

一つだけ言うと。

当日は日本人のお客様はいなかったのですが、私たちは他のお客様とは少し距離もある入口に程近い席に通されました。窓側が希望だと言うとあまり良い顔ではなく渋々?移してくれましたが、その点はほしを一つ下げました。

それがなければお料理も美味しくて

立地も良くて素敵なお店です。

次回も行くかと言われれば、予約に希望席を書いて行くと思います。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We assumed we'd be getting tiny portions ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We assumed we'd be getting tiny portions and ordered too much food, however all of the food was just so delicious. Prices affordable and well worth the food. Absolutely fantastic experience, service was at a very high standard.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 5 course tasting menu was excellent ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The 5 course tasting menu was excellent especially as we live on another island and don't get a chance to eat here often. MW is my new go-to restaurant while visiting Honolulu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

well worth a visit, wonderful food ..... ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2016

well worth a visit, wonderful food ...............................

please don't force me to write 50 letters or more ....................

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a spectacular meal at MW! We are ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a spectacular meal at MW! We are not particularly foodies per se but we're looking for a really nice restaurant that had local Hawaiian inspired items on the menu and MW did not dissapoint! We were visiting Hawaii for our honeymoon and this was by far the best meal of our trip!! The staff was wonderful, we had so many different servers visit our table during the meal, they really were incredibly efficient but we never felt rushed at any point. The food was spectacular! Absolutely amazing! You have to try the Ahi Poke and the Unagi and butterfish arancini- such a great way to start off the meal! Both appetizers were huge! So large that we ended up sharing the Surf-n-Turf because we couldn't possibly each get separate entrees after those incredible appetizers! We did have to drive to MW since it was not within walking distance to the Sheraton Waikiki but we both said it was absolutely worth the 5 minute drive! We can not say enough great things about MW Restaurant and we are looking forward to coming back the next time we are in Waikiki!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely great food! Excellent chefs ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Absolutely great food! Excellent chefs and kitchen staff,

Super table service, servers are attentive without hovering.

Nice place to bring mainland visitors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Organic, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 3 course menu option was creative an ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The 3 course menu option was creative and delicious. The upgrade to a regular dessert was much appreciated. The wait staff is friendly, dependable and conscientious. Loved the iced tea and the short rib stew as well as the Karl I!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of the best keeps getting bette ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The best of the best keeps getting better! I have eaten here many times, and the service and quality of ingredient keeps me coming back again and again. There is a new bartender named Elizabeth who has take the reins from Shawna (who I have always adored) and Elizabeth has stepped up to the plate and exceeded all of my expectations. She is very friendly and knows how to pour everything I like.

As far as the food goes, you MUST try the burger! OMGx2 Thank you Chef Wade!

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Organic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend this restaurant ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I would highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family. The service and food was outstanding. Our waiter gave exceptional customer service and very attentive. The food was awesome!! Everything on the menu taste so good!! I notified MW on Open Table that is was my parent's birthday - it came with a personalized menu, a special dessert and cookies individually wrapped for the entire party and special granola treat to take home for the birthday people. Overall great experience!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, very flavorful food. Excelle ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious, very flavorful food.

Excellent service by Austin.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant came recommended and it ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This restaurant came recommended and it was really good food and a really interesting menu and approach. The poke tacos were excellent, the butterfish was superb and there were many items I would like to go back and try. I was there for a business dinner with other guests who were challenged by the noise level to understand (non native speakers) the server and I think she got frustrated. As a result our service went downhill so it was not great, but I would definitely give this a second chance. The food and th vibe in the place was excellent, very sophisticated menu, but without sacrificing taste and with excellent preparation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.