About MW Restaurant

1538 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Casual dining with a Hawaii Regional Cuisine flair accompanied by exquisite desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

--- Lunch ---

Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

--- Dinner ---

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 955-6505

Website:
http://mwrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet service will be available. However, there is a parking lot and parking is also available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Wade Ueoka & Michelle Karr-Ueoka

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

MW Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Fit for Foodies
Oahu
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Fit for Foodies (102)
Special Occasion (81)
Great for Lunch (49)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (14)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Which cuisine is also delicious, however ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 3 days ago

Which cuisine is also delicious, however it is a little salty for Japanese.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food awesome. Staff knows there jobs do ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food awesome. Staff knows there jobs down to busing staff. Noise carries here, so caring baby a few tables over made his.her presence felt. Place is good enough to be in higher rent district

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my dinner at the MW. Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner at the MW. The Mochi Crusted Kampachi was delicious. I was disappointed by that Arancini starter but the desserts made up for it. The Affo-misu was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We went to celebrate a birthday. Service ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday. Service was spectacular- from the host/hostess to water server and our waiter was a 10++. The food was SERIOUSLY onolicious!

Parking can be a bit of an issue, but a valet parking service is available.

MW doesn't disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome as usual. Occasional overdose on ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome as usual. Occasional overdose on sauces i.e. Happy Hour poke...avoid

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. We had ahi poke bowl, ah ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food. We had ahi poke bowl, ahi mandoo, house salad, loco moco, and butterfish special. All were very yummy. Dessert we shared ... sort of: affogato, banana cream pie, strawberry shave ice special. Three of us enjoyed a great meal. Third time I've been there; twice for lunch and once for dinner. Very good value for the kind of quality served.

One action item: valet parking turned us away at first saying they were filled. Not good form.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Service and food quality was excellent! ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service and food quality was excellent! I had the Butterfish which was cooked perfectly and our business client had the Oxtail soup which he said was his favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been a customer on several occasio ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've been a customer on several occasions and the food and service has always been great. The deserts are a must have as they are add new treats. The service is provided with a well staffed group who are friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really cool non-touristy spot. High qual ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really cool non-touristy spot. High quality locally sourced ingredients. Imaginative dishes with amazing flavors. Top notch service - attentive but not overly intrusive. Our waiter was super helpful and knowledgable about the menu and had great recommendations. Urban eats decor and vibe that you would find on the mainland. If you are looking to escape the sea of Hawaiian shirts and tiki torches vibe, try this place you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and very well pre ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious and very well prepared. We liked the menu. Our waiter was very attentive. For the price of the food we were a little surprised when all our food didn't come out together and it also seemed to take quite a long time to get our food. The decor is overly simplistic. I think some table clothes or art would add to the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was just OK. Last time we went, we ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was just OK. Last time we went, we ordered Tonkatsu sandwiches. It was terrible. I thought I would give a try one more time. But food was just OK. Desert was pretty good though. I don't think I'll go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I have heard so much about this restaura ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have heard so much about this restaurant. However, it was not to my expectations. The food was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We celebrated a very special occasion th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We celebrated a very special occasion this week at MW Restaurant and we're so happy we picked this restaurant. Our first time at MW Restaurant was memorable.

The interior of MW is no big deal and we don't understand why valet parking ($5, not including the tip) is necessary but the food and service make it worth coming and returning here.

For $25, the prix fixe lunch was a winner. Each prix fixe comes with an appetizer trio (Chilled Waialua Asparagus Soup, Asian Greek Salad and Pork Lettuce Wrap) -- everything was superb! For our entrees, we selected the Grilled Ahi Steak (sauteed with Chorizo, Ho Farms Tomatoes and Kale), the Grilled Kalbi Shortribs (with spicy Ho Farms Eggplant salad and Kimchee potato salad) and the Miso Honey Glazed Butterfish (with Baby bok choi, taegu and watercress salad). A+ for all the entrees -- and big portions, too! Dessert was Kula Strawberry Shave Ice (Haupia Tapioka, Strawberry-Yuzu Sorbet and Shaved Strawberry Granite). It was the perfect refreshing summer dessert and the sweetness was just right.

The little extras that we got really made our lunch even more special. The menu had a special printed greeting for us and the dessert plate had the same special greeting written in chocolate. There was also a surprise take-home bread courtesy of the pastry chef/owner. We were also lucky to get one of the best waiters we have encountered in our many years of dining out: Jaime! He was warm, attentive, professional, patient, and explained everything clearly.

We were not in a hurry so it worked out well because they do not rush you at MW and there was a long wait for the dessert even after the lunch crowd had left.

We're locals but it's always hard to pick a good place to dine when we have out-of-town guests -- but MW Restaurant is on our radar now!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Waiter was very attentive and answered a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Waiter was very attentive and answered all questions by describing dishes we inquired about and made recommendations based on what are the most popular items. Food was very good, enjoyable experience. $5 valet parking is pricy for car being a few steps away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had one meal (chicken) come out sligh ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had one meal (chicken) come out slightly under cooked and the manager promptly comped the dish. But other than that the food definitely notable. The ceviche was especially good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The only negative was that the mixed dri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The only negative was that the mixed drink was $17.50, and it wasn't that good. The food and service was on point. We would go again, but order wine instead.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a return visit for me, with my ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a return visit for me, with my family and a guest enjoying a first time meal. I respect restaurants like MW being nominated for a Beard best new restaurant award. However that recognition should be more than just the food quality and presentation.

Yes, our food and drink were excellent.

We dined at 5:30pm when the restaurant wasn't even 1/3 full.

What disappointed me was the service, especially when our entree dishes sat on the table for 15+ minutes, even though the manager walked past our table four times. He finally came over to help the server clear the table. By then our interest in dessert had waned and we simply wanted to leave. I don't get it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We entertained some young guests from Ca ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We entertained some young guests from California who enjoyed all the dishes we ordered - appetizers, their entree and desserts. It was the highlight of their trip to Hawaii!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Unagi & Butterfish Arancini was deli ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Unagi & Butterfish Arancini was delicious. The salads were good but not memorable. The stars of the show are their main entrees. My husband had the Hokkaido Scallops and he was so blown away at how sweet and perfectly cooked they were. I had the Mochi Crusted Kona Kampachi and it was the best preparation of kampachi I have ever had. The desserts were delicious. The service was great and we enjoyed the overall feel of the restaurant. We will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very delicious dining experience. The a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very delicious dining experience. The appetizers were great!!!! I really enjoyed the appetizers so when the entrees arrived, I was rather filled to enjoy it as much (so I ate half and packed the other half to go). The lilikoi brulee was out of this world!!! I liked that it had tapioca and many other textures instead of those brulees where you get with only custard. Everytime I dine at MW Restaurant, the dining experience leaves me wanting to keep coming back for more.

Loved that you don't need to dress up...there were people dressed with evening attire and people dressed with jeans. So whichever way you feel comfortable is fine.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Here is the most favorite restrant in Ha ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Here is the most favorite restrant in Hawaii.

Delicius and costperformance's so good!!!

I visited here last year, and twice in this summer vacation. For twice time, we could change menu in the cource.

Some dishes, a little likely Japanese and Corean( mochi, kimuchi).

Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent and very atten ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was excellent and very attentive. The Kona Lobster Carbonara and the Mochi Crusted Opakapaka were excellent. The one item that I would not order again is the Roast Pork Pizza Cake Noodle. We had a great evening at MW and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food!!! Our favorite go to res ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fabulous Food!!! Our favorite go to restaurant in Waikiki. Love Chef Wade and Michelle, what a team. They have put together a wonderful staff from the hostess, bartender, service and kitchen. Thank you for always making our visit special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was uneven. Seafood Stew as good , ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was uneven. Seafood Stew as good , but arrived warm, rather than hot. Opah was way overcooked. Lobster Salad was terrific. Special Mango Salad was only OK, because the mangos were too tart.

Service was not paced well. Salads arrived very quickly, but we had a long wait for the entrees. Perhaps that's why the Seafood Stew had lost heat.

Noise level was uncomfortable. Too many hard surfaces. We could;t hear each other across the table is we spoke in normal conversational tones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We celebrated our anniversary with anoth ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary with another couple. Appreciated the nice touches -- personalized menu and banana loaf and cookies to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice and elegant....pricey but plat ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice and elegant....pricey but plate presentation is awesome... Nice to splurge once in awhile😉

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food itself was lovely. The ambience ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food itself was lovely. The ambience was too barren even for "minimalism." It felt like we were eating in a location at a strip mall. It was priced about 30% too high for the total experience. Definitely would not recommend or come back unless significant changes were made. Seems to be very well liked by the locals though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

All around great experience - food, serv ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

All around great experience - food, service, environment (very clean).

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to MW Restaurant for a business ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went to MW Restaurant for a business dinner. The service was outstanding. Our waiter knew when to give us the space to have our discussions. The food was great as usual. I had the butterfish, and it was tender, tasty, and satisfying. We had 4 in our party and the table we sat at was a little cramped. The waiter and bussers did a good job of table management, though, and they compensated well for the lack of space. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant for business or for any other special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love MW restaurant, the food is to die ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I love MW restaurant, the food is to die for, yet it is so affordable. It's no wonder it's really popular. I was there on a Monday night, and we made the mistake of thinking we'd be able to eat in two hours. You cannot mistake this restaurant for your casual neighborhood bistro- to do it justice you need at least 2 1/2 hours, preferably 3. We had too much going on- flights to catch, cars to return. It was a stressful experience- I thought I was subtly letting our waiter know we were in a time crunch but I was too subtle I guess.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Recommended by a local friend, our group ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Recommended by a local friend, our group had an excellent time at MW. Food was delicious and service was great. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Honestly was an amazing dinner! Had both ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Honestly was an amazing dinner! Had both of chefs tasting menus. We are definitely going to be coming back. Can get costly, but worth even penny. The food is always on point. The service is good but could be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The hostesses were very friendly. Ambian ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The hostesses were very friendly. Ambiance casual and sophisticated. Service very good. The food was okay. Half of the items we ordered came out barely warm. I was especially disappointed in the kona lobster carbonara ($42) where the noodles came out clumped together as if it had been sitting in the window; minimal sauce as well. The two desserts we wanted to order were sold out (before 9PM on a Saturday night) which was again disappointing. The food was good, but I've definitely had better, especially for a tab of $215 with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service are consistently ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service are consistently excellent since I visit this restaurant often. Staff is very attentive and professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and great food. Glad we we ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great service and great food. Glad we went and would love to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I went here with the family. I felt ever ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I went here with the family. I felt every dishs well. Everything was beautiful and their dishs was flavorful. I'm quite satisfied! The staff was kind, too and it was appropriate. Thank you very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Portuguese bean soup was awesome. A ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Portuguese bean soup was awesome. Ate a small lunch so we could indulge on dessert! Not disappointed at all.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service recovery by server. Soup to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good service recovery by server. Soup too

Spicy for me so they did not charge us for it.

Specials are usually good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the Cucumber Coctail! Excellent ch ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love the Cucumber Coctail! Excellent choice for my Birthday Celebration. Just dim the lights a tiny bit, seems a little too bright in the dining room. All in all my favorite Oahu Restaurant!! Thanks MW!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Off the charts great!!! The service wa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Off the charts great!!!

The service was extraordinary. Every restauranteur in the world would kill to have that staff.

The food was fresh, thoughtful, and expertly executed. Dietary substitutions were handled with amazing grace. Lastly, the wine list was thankfully as thoughtful as the menu - and priced very reasonably.

In short, my favorite meal this year.

If I had to add any criticism it would be that the lighting is glaring and some artwork in the very monotone back wall would be welcome.

Well done to everyone at MW. It was sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.