About Muse Restaurant

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: 8433011450x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Meze Platter
Arugula Salad
Big Island Goat Cheese & Beet Salad
Bolognese
Seared Scallops With Risotto
Grilled Calamari
crabcake
Steamed Mussels
Creme Brulee
Seared Scallops With Succotash & Charred Tomato Gravy
Dinner Bread
Caccuccio
Summer Vegetable Plate
Marinated Butcher Steak
Catch of the day with

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Charleston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

neighborhood gem (61)
fit for foodies (59)
special occasion (50)
See All
romantic (40)
notable wine list (33)
good for groups (23)
great for outdoor dining (23)
vibrant bar scene (10)
scenic view (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my second visit to Muse and I f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my second visit to Muse and I found it outstanding as before. Something for everyone with MOST attentive service. Food delicious and beautifully presented. Will go again soon

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific dinner and the wait st ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a terrific dinner and the wait staff was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our large party was excited to dine here ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our large party was excited to dine here. After eating here though, the food reviews were mixed... I absolutely loved my pasta carbonara and the sea bass also had high marks, but those who ordered steaks were left disappointed as the steaks seemed well cooked, but unseasoned (with no salt on the frites or green beans as well) and rather disappointing for the price ($40). The wine list was wonderful and the ambiance gorgeous as the restaurant is located in an old home built in the 1850s. Unfortunately, it was a steamy Charleston summer night and despite their air conditioner working hard, the restaurant was quite warm with it getting more uncomfortable as our meal progressed. Overall, a good experience for some, but others said that they would not want to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Charleston has more than her fair share ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Charleston has more than her fair share of fabulous restaurants. This little gem is a rare find because it feels like Charleston. The home is only slightly revamped for restaurant needs; the curb appeal is modest; the menu is concise; the music is subdued... This NOT a showplace restaurant. Muse is an all new / old (in a good way) experience. IT IS LOVELY. We relished it! Dining in Charleston has become an art and this experience was uniquely Charleston. We had two salads that were simple 3-5 ingreediants like dining at a friends. The entree size is ample, and it is a meal (ie snapper, mixed veggies, and roasted potatoes ). The desserts were large enough to share but not over the top. If you enjoy being full order an appetizer, entree, and dessert. If you are going out after the entree will leave you satisfied not stuffed. Give yourself a full hour to hour and and a half for dinner. Make reservations and let them know if you prefer outside seating.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I enjoyed the service and meal. The ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I enjoyed the service and meal. The server seemed to know the products. The service was good and not rushed. I have been to Muse several times and each time has been enjoyable.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was fabulous! I read some of the n ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was fabulous! I read some of the negative reviews and I was a bit apprehensive, but this restaurant 'brought it'! Great pre-dinner cocktails, great appetizers, over the top entrees, and a notable wine selection. This is an Italian restaurant serving authentic cuisine. I've been to Italy many times and I was always disappointed when I returned home and couldn't find true Italian food. The chef nailed it! The service was amazing.. The only negative comment I have is 'I don't have a plate of the gnocchi with grilled shrimp' in front of me right now. Such a great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertained a friend from Dublin, Irelan ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Entertained a friend from Dublin, Ireland and we were impressed. Great service, food, and ambiance in a 158 year-old home in Charleston, SC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a quaint setting. Waitstaf ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food in a quaint setting. Waitstaff very friendly and unobtrusive. Bar downstairs is festive, upstairs rooms are quiet.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wreck fish was really yummy! Great place ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Wreck fish was really yummy! Great place for a romantic dinner! Great service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful wine list and unusual, well pr ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful wine list and unusual, well prepared food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely good food. Med style is very ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Definitely good food. Med style is very different from what most Americans eat. But if you appreciate diversity, you will enjoy it. Sea bass excellent. If menu says whole fish, expect the whole fish. Never had sea bass before, the taste is unforgettably good. Service was excellent also. Friendly, quiet atmosphere at 530 PM. Really enjoyed the music also. Not too loud, and able to enjoy one another's company. One cocktail, one app, 2 entrees, $100 after tipping. I would rate overall experience 4.5 out of 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Extreme Disappointment

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We may have hit the restaurant on an off night since reviews were good. This was in celebration of our 40th wedding anniversary. We ordered our food and all seemed well. When the food arrived, my wife's order was correct, but mine was not. This meant we were out of sync for the meal. I should have just accepted what was brought because then after waiting for my meal it came and was inedible. Probably because it was rushed, the scallops were not properly cooked and the entire flavor of the dish was off. At this point our waitress basically disappeared and we had to flag down another waiter to get help. I ended up ordering what had been brought previously because I did not trust them to cook scallops properly. The portions were small and the grilled asparagus was pathetic. My wife is an excellent cook and she remarked "I expect to have food at least as good as I can cook myself when we go out." That did not happen this night. In order to "make it right for our mistake", they gave me my glass of wine for free. Whoopee! I cannot recommend this restaurant for anyone. Poor food and poor service are a very bad combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Charleston Charmer

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I was in Charleston for the Spoleto Arts Festival and was attending an 8pm performance on Sunday. I was looking for somewhere close to the venue that had good food reviews. I settled on Muse, and subsequently I got a recommendation to go there from a Charleston resident I know and with whom I spent the afternoon. She further advised me to sit at the bar as I was dining alone -- which I did.

Very small bar (maybe 10 seats) with a mix of Spoleto-goers and some bar regulars. I think the building used to be a residence. Bartender was attentive and the company was inclusive and friendly. They have an extensive selection of wines by the glass as well as cocktails. I ordered the grilled calamari appetizer -- it was well-seasoned and a little smoky and delicious. Then I ordered the crispy sea bass. (both had been recommended to me by my friend and I asked the bartender as well about the entree). It came, delightfully displayed on a cauliflower puree, kale , and romesco. The romesco was nicely smoky and spiced and the fish was prepared well with a crispy skin as promised. I drank a fulled-bodied white burgundy that stood up well to the stronger flavors.

I would for sure go back to Muse if I return to Charleston, for a drink or for dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Return Visit

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome meal. One of us enjoyed the steamed mussels as a starter. The other two saved room for the dessert (panna cotta) which was "to die for". We all enjoyed the Catch of the Day which was prepared perfectly. The waitress was knowledgeable and helped us choose a bottle of wine that matched. Muse is a unique restaurant -- an older house remodeled to provide a series of eclectic dining rooms. Very effective in keeping the noise level down. Doors opened at 5p, we had reservations and were seated immediately.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Decor needs refr ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and service. Decor needs refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food at Muse was excellent.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I had perfectly cooked steak frites, which, even if a somewhat boring choice, was simply delicious and very satisfying. My husband had pasta bolognese; it was very richly flavorful, and came with homemade pasta. Ricotta cheesecake with berries topped it off, very light and yummy. Service was good, even though the restaurant was quite busy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

location, value and great service to boot!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We picked here as we were going to a Picolo event next door. We couldn't have been more pleased. The server was perfectly attentive without being overbearing, had good suggestions and the food was excellent and not too pricey. A great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Since I live in Charleston this is my favorite go-to restaurant. Filled with locals/regulars but also people visiting there is always a fun crowd at the bar.

During busy/event times of year--SEWE, Spoleto, etc the staff is terrific at working to get you out the door when you need to be.

The menu is diverse and perfect for all types, whether you just want a bite or a full meal.

There is outside dining and the bar area is the "Cheers" of Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servings were very small. Hubby got 3 s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Servings were very small. Hubby got 3 scallops that were small and no flavor. Salad for hubby OK, I asked for blue cheese for my salad and was told there was no blue cheese in the kitchen at all. Salad size is small. Service was very good- no complaints. We had a guest with us who ordered a New York Strip which was OK but was small for a strip.

Overall, it was OK but not anything to brag about (for the price). We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Creamy soup too rich for my taste

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The menu really did not excite us and the pricing seemed really high for the entrees.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved Muse. Have been coming to Char ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We loved Muse. Have been coming to Charleston for years but never had been here. Loved the atmosphere and we sat outside on a small patio. All the entrees that we tried were just the right portion size and delicious. The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable but not pushy. Would definitely go back next time we are in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heavenly evening with outside dining, de ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Heavenly evening with outside dining, delicious selection of beautifully prepared foods and excellent service. Our party of five was so impressed!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a very accommodating owne ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food and a very accommodating owner/staff.

Highly recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and great service! Foun ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Wonderful food and great service! Found this neighborhood place via Open Table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good time with no distractions

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Celebrated end of fourth decade of second son at restaurant of his choice. We all agreed it was perfect. So intimate, so Charleston, great food, wine, dessert, service, and no distractions such as loud music. Crispy sea bass presentation unique and reportedly delicious. Creamy sweet onion soup was amazing. Tasted my first super Tuscan; more please. Just go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A historic house with original 1850's de ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

A historic house with original 1850's decor. Great food. The wine list was fair priced. Service outstanding. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance! Had a group of 8 and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great ambiance! Had a group of 8 and they were very accommodating , quick to serve, and responsive!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Dinner Alfresco

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We ate here to celebrate Mother's Day an evening early, and we ate on the side patio outside. The food and service were very good as usual, and the atmosphere on a pleasant spring night was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

High pressure to give up table. Didn't e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

High pressure to give up table. Didn't even offer desert or coffee because they had another more valuable client next. We were there 90 mins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

daughter's graduation dinner

 
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great service, food .We were a group of 8 , we were not rushed, food was brought in a timely manner, Server was friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in a small outdoor courty ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were seated in a small outdoor courtyard where we could both watch the street activity and enjoy some patio privacy. Service was upbeat and efficient! I highly recommend this delightful restaurant:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a really nice evening at Muse. It ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a really nice evening at Muse. It was our wedding anniversary, so it was just nice to be out. The food was fantastic. I was a little disappointed in the flavor of the lamb chop, but it was really nicely cooked, and the beans and rainbow carrots were great! My husband had the chef's steak, and I got a little taste of that- SO GOOD! Our waitress was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Muse is our favorite! food is always on ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Muse is our favorite! food is always on point and service is wonderful! Stephanie is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WE LOVED THE FEEL OF THIS PLACE

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

PLACE IS BEAUTIFUL, VERY OLD,COZY AND DARK. THE SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE, AND THE FOOD NOT SO GREAT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My sister and I met in Charleston last weekend and wanted to have a nice, relaxing special dinner for one of our evening meals - not a typical touristy spot. Muse had good recommendations and the menu looked good, so we booked our table. The meal was delicious. Our issue, on which we agree, is that we felt very rushed and not relaxed. Stephanie was aggressive in wanting to move the evening along, get orders in, and move us on out. While we could have indicated we wanted more time to relax, we did not feel welcome enough to so indicate. I will also say the manager on duty was not congenial or hospitable - no checking in, not even eye contact when he and I met face-to-face in the hallway. We accomplished half of our goals - good meal , but the secondary goal was not accomplished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Really great entree of fresh snapper. Wo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Really great entree of fresh snapper. Wonderful time! Highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend and I went to Muse on a Th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to Muse on a Thursday night and it could not have been better. The host asked us if we would like to have a table on the patio, it was a great day so we both agreed. Surprisingly we were taken up stairs to an outside deck with one table viewing Society Street. There was no doubt in my mind that we had the perfect table.

Our server came by with menus and explained in detail the specials and walked us through the wine list. We received our drinks and ordered our food which thinking that the view and our server could not be outdone. I was wrong, from our appetizer to our main course we were pretty quiet because we could not stop eating. Our server was attentive but not over bearing which is rare in this town as most servers tend to check on you about 324234 times before the end of the meal.

The experience was worth the price, no doubt. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Society St. Gem

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Nice Charleston ambiance, excellent service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The sumac duck and the swordfish were both fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.