About Muse Restaurant

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: 8433011450x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Meze Platter - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Arugula Salad - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Big Island Goat Cheese & Beet Salad - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Bolognese - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Seared Scallops With Risotto - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Grilled Calamari - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Steamed Mussels - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
crabcake - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Creme Brulee - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Seared Scallops With Succotash & Charred Tomato Gravy - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Dinner Bread - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Caccuccio - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Summer Vegetable Plate - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Marinated Butcher Steak - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Catch of the day with - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Romantic
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Romantic (29)
Special Occasion (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
See All
Quiet Conversation (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Historic (19)
Cozy (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Authentic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Private Room (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Muse is a nice option in the increasingl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Muse is a nice option in the increasingly competitive Charleston restaurant scene: very good food at decent prices in a wonderful old house in a quiet spot. The menu is varied, although not extensive, and the combination of Italian/Mediterranean flavors and local seafood and other ingredients works very well. With tables located throughout the house, dining can be as intimate as desired. We were not able to enjoy the patio on our visit, but it looks to be a great spot in hospitable weather.

As life-long lovers of Charleston and "repeat offenders" on the dining scene, we are always pleased to add a restaurant to our "we'll be back" list!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice. All meals were delicious.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice. All meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent meal. Had the snapper. Cooked ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meal. Had the snapper. Cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place exceeded our expectations. Th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This place exceeded our expectations. The food was great . i would go back there any time. They also when above and beyond with high service that i felt would back anyone keep coming back.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walking up Society street, seeing Muse c ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Walking up Society street, seeing Muse come into view started the evening off with the anticipation of a quaint, cozy, romantic evening. We were greeted warmly and seated outside, which was perfect for the lovely Charleston evening. Stephanie was our server who took us on a journey of a beautifully picked bottle of Malbec and 4 small plates. (Local Cheese Board, Bruschetta, Tuna Crudo, & Meze Platter) Our favorite was the special Bruschetta for the evening which was a Cherry compote on top of the creamiest goat cheese. SO GOOD, that we went the next day to (goat.sheep.cow) to purchase some compote and goat cheese to recreate that dish back here in Savannah. The only thing that would made it even more of a euphoric experience was if there was a little more acid or something with the Tuna Crudo. All in all we finished our special evening the dessert of the night that was an incredible Pumpkin Spice Panna cotta.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best authentic bolognese we have eve ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The best authentic bolognese we have ever had! And it was preceeded by chicken liver pate bruschetta topped with honey coated figs!! Everything was absolutely fantistic!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a late dinner at Muse. Our reserv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a late dinner at Muse. Our reservation was at 9:45. By the time we were eating dessert, the bar area was getting pretty busy and loud, but it wasn't a deal-breaker. Our food and wine were excellent. We had salads, soup, tuna appetizer, salmon, pasta carbonara, and a delicious chocolate dessert with strawberry-rhubarb sauce. Everything was quite good, and we would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I was so excited to eat here. The wait s ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I was so excited to eat here. The wait staff was very attentive. The food, however was good, not great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Old house setting; great background musi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Old house setting; great background music; excellent wait staff; shared a meze platter as appetizer; mediocre Malbec; wonderful shrimp entree off the menu; strip steak special was perfect. If there weren't so many dining choices in Charleston and only so many nights during our stay, we would definitely return to Muse. Who knows... we still have three more nights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Had a nice but not spectacular dinner th ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Had a nice but not spectacular dinner there last nite. We're seated upstairs by ourselves in a quiet room, ambience meh. Very good waitress, food was served promptly ,and we all agreed was interesting and well prepared. Place needs an update in furnishings, but if you can get past that, the food is worth a visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Staff was extremely accommodating and kn ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Staff was extremely accommodating and knowledgeable. The osso bucco was delicious and fell right off the bone. The friend had the scallops and really enjoyed them as well. Restaurant was surprisingly empty for a Saturday night, but we enjoyed sitting outside and the quiet setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed the outdoor patio and with music ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Enjoyed the outdoor patio and with music in the background. Interesting setting of the restaurant in an older home. Well intentioned server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely Charleston historic charm combine ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Lovely Charleston historic charm combined with excellent cuisine and great wines. Quiet enough too allow comfortable conversations.

Tags: Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Food in a relaxed, intimate se ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent Food in a relaxed, intimate setting! Great for groups or just for two. Fish was fresh and the sauce was uniquely delicious!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner here before a show at the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had dinner here before a show at the theater next door and were very impressed.

Food was really delicious, service great. Pretty, historic place.

Only negative I would say is it could use a good thorough cleaning....probably because it is such an old building, it seemed a bit dusty and on the 2nd floor you can see right into the service area...needs a screen or door.

But definitely would go back and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had friends in town and we enjoyed ever ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had friends in town and we enjoyed everything about Muse. Patio area was so private and easy to carry on a conversation. Food and Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muse is a hidden gem in Charleston SC, w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Muse is a hidden gem in Charleston SC, with creative food and wonderful ambiance. Our waitperson, Cat, was the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful hidden treat. The hist ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What a wonderful hidden treat. The historic house is beautiful...I had to stop in every room just to look at everything. The food was great and our waiter was, too. We'll be back soon, for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the ambiance ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was excellent and the ambiance was perfect for our occasion. I had the salmon special and it was delicious. My mother in law had the bass and said it was the best she's every had. I would highly recommend Muse to anyone visiting or living in Charleston.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the neighborhood vibe and wonderful ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love the neighborhood vibe and wonderful wait staff.

Menu is well appointed . You can have a lovely appetizer before the theatre or a late night dinner with friends on the terrace

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish!! cozy, great service, amazing fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delish!! cozy, great service, amazing food, cool music. love this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and good service. Quaint and ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and good service. Quaint and romantic too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had not been to Muse for a long time. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We had not been to Muse for a long time. We selected Muse because we had tickets for the live theatre next door. Now we are again reminded about how good the food is and will frequent more often.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

3 of 4 meals were fantastic but one lack ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2016

3 of 4 meals were fantastic but one lacked flavor. Presentation was lovely and the outdoor dining was delightful

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was really good, all 10 of us e ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was really good, all 10 of us enjoyed our meals. Good portions also, not overwhelming and not small. Good wine list. I would go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muse is a special gem in a city full of ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Muse is a special gem in a city full of excellent restaurants. The building is vintage and well kept. The food was excellent and popping with taste. We had six different entrees and all each was excellent. We will be back in the future for sure!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular food prepared by Executive ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Spectacular food prepared by Executive Chef, Joaquin Bustos, and served by awesome Stephanie. My grandson had the gnocchi with oyster mushrooms and a drizzle of truffle oil followed by a dessert of white chocolate, sour cherry panna cotta. Best dessert ever, according to my grandson. My daughter and I shared the whole sea bass which was flash seared and served over cauliflower purée with a side of roasted tomatoes. We also shared a side of creamed corn risotto. Scrumptious and so flavorful. For starters we had the steamed mussels and arugula salad. Wonderful! All was magnificent. We certainly enjoyed the dinner, ambience, and wine! I would definitely recommend Muse Restaurant for anyone visiting or living in (lucky people) Charleston, SC. Beautiful, charming city and some fantastic food choices!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muse did not match up to the reviews we ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Muse did not match up to the reviews we had read. We had asked for a quiet table and were escorted up stairs to an enclosed area that may have been a porch. The ventilation did not work well. It was fairly quiet however. The service was halting. My white wine arrived warm and I had to wait for it to be replaced. My knife and fork were taken after my salad was finished and I had to ask for replacements, which were slow in coming. The food was good, but not more than that. My husband was served a most unusual presentation of an entire sea bass, which was flavorful but a little dry. The most efficient part of the entire evening was the bartender procuring us a rickshaw for the long ride home to our hotel. If we return to Charleston, we will not be going back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Was very good, overall. Was recommended ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Was very good, overall. Was recommended to get the steak as well as the grilled calamari. Unfortunately, we weren't crazy about either. Also, with so many great steak places in Charleston, I should've tried something different. My wife's food was great though!

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Always interesting to dine in an old hom ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always interesting to dine in an old home turned restaurant. Cushion seats could have used a little reupholstering, but otherwise quite nice. 4 of us dined and all enjoyed our main courses ( I like my fettucine carbonara with a poached egg on top, it was pre-mixed, but they obliged with an extra egg on top, no charge). The sauteed calamari was a fail, rubbery and tasteless, but our waitress took it off the bill without us even asking after noting we did not eat much of it. Overall a very nice experience

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I came for our anniversar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband and I came for our anniversary, and it was lovely. The wine bar is fantastic. The ambiance is very old world/European feeling. I loved it. The food is very good as well. I had the veal scallopini and while it was not a preparation I'm used to, it was absolutely delicious. We loved everything about it. It was also nice to be in a restaurant that isn't trying to be trendy.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experienc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experience at Muse. The food was wonderful. The atmosphere was great with a lot of charm and ambience. Great staff, very helpful and nice; they made you feel comfortable and at home. A great dining experience, and I certainly want to return soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible place in a city full of great r ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Terrible place in a city full of great restaurants, sorry we waster one night there. Good totally underwhelming and presented very poorly. Snapper presented on a couple potato pieces with some shards of leek in a milky white sauce. Really unappetizing. More awful than the food was the decor. Broken down house in need of repairs and a serious deep cleaning. It looked dirty in low light must be really terrible in day light. Don't waste your time or money with so many great options in Charleston.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Disappointed. Swordfish was not fresh an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Disappointed. Swordfish was not fresh and panna desert tasted frozen, not fresh.

Tags: Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very small dining and there was a table ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very small dining and there was a table of 10 loud women so we couldn't even carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

We booked this got our daughter , grandd ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We booked this got our daughter , granddaughter and friend. They loved it. We have entertained out of town guests and also enjoyed it.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are natives of Charleston. Went to M ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We are natives of Charleston. Went to Muse on reviews for our anniversary. Not sure if the reviews were of the same place. Food very disappointing. Maybe it would rate the reviews if it were in Columbia or Savannah. Mussels were hopelessly bland- there are several places in Charleston that have better- best can be found at Rue de Jean (we went there to get a good anniversary meal). Pastas were also unimaginative, again, much better choices elsewhere downtown. Alas, they knew it was our anniversary, but not even a "Happy Anniversary" from waitperson.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Beyond our expectations

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Beyond our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff is extremely knowledgeable ab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Wait staff is extremely knowledgeable about the wine selection. Food is authentic and fresh with inventive and currencurrent trendy twists.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.