About Muse Restaurant

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Cozy (22)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Quiet Conversation (19)
Romantic (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Casual (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wouldn’t recommend it. My daughter asked for a different sauce on her pasta and was told they don’t like to make changes to the menu. That would be enough reason not to return. You’re in the service industry you should accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was exceptional and the food selection and quality was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Restaurant was entirely empty on a Thursday night except for the two of us which was surprising because the food and service was good. Wait staff explained that they had been full earlier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

The portions were very small. We asked to have separate checks & we did not get it. The veal was tough. The polenta tasteless.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2017

I moved from Chicago 4 years ago and unfortunately, while many people tout Charleston as a foodie town, I do not. It seems there are many restaurants with pretty much the same low country menu and if you do not like spicy, seafood, or heavily sauced foods, you're out of luck. That's why Muse is so special. It's got a varied menu, lamb, beef, pastas, even veal which almost no one offers here. I think it's listed as Italian, but not really Italian...more like Italian options and there's something for everyone. Everything is excellently prepared and served from main dishes to salads and sides. Deserts are always excellent and the bartender makes the best Pomatini in the city. I've been there enough times to have gotten to know two of the wait staff that's usually working the second floor...a husband and wife team who are simply terrific, know their wines and pairings, are efficient and delightful and add to a wonderful dining experience.

One more plus...I love the environment. Muse is housed in an old house that's got to be at least 100 years old. The bar is downstairs, small and cozy but can be very loud once it gets busy. there is one dining room downstairs and several dining rooms upstairs. I prefer the upstairs. You're surrounded with old world charm. Each room has it's own personality, there is one table upstairs on the very small balcony which is so romantic and charming if you can get it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We arrived at Muse to an empty restaurant and were mildly concerned with our choice. A few more tables did come in, so we weren't eating alone. We had to change our original reservation due to a late flight into Charleston, and there frankly weren't a lot of place with openings. The location wasn't too far from our hotel and the menu looked good. The food was very good - some of the best scallops I have had in a long time. My daughter had the salad with goat cheese, and the tagliatelle with bolognese and loved hers as well. However the decor was in serious need of a facelift. The cushion on an extra seat at our table was ripped, there were dead bugs on the wall. Things just looked worn and in need of a good cleaning. With a little attention to decor this could be a really good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2017

A quiet and authentic small restaurant in a historic home in Charleston. Loved the ambiance, the food was excellent and service was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Menu is extensive. Delightful porch seating in Charleston single. Ambiance is better than the food which is average for the price. My scallop dish was over seasoned for example; could not taste the delicate scallops. Chocolate dessert with rhubarb sauce was delish on the other hand.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was delicious, but you don't get a lot for the price. Disappointed because of that.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

This was unfortunately a poor restaurant with undesirable food and atmosphere. I do not recommend Muse and suggest to look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Good is always authentic, well constructed and spot on.
The service was exceptional....welcoming, warm, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Lovely dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Sunday night's are hard as probably a different wait staff &:or chef. All I all a nice evening. We are continual customers of Muse & love the food & the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very diverse menu and great wines by the bottle and glass. Our waiter was spot on all night and we had a great evening. My lamb chops were perfectly done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Came across Muse by walking down a street my Wife and I hadn't gone done since starting our stay in Charleston.

Young lady waiting on us was attentive and was very pleasant . Spoke with the Owner for a bit as they started to pickup for the night and she was welcoming and insightful to the area.

We'll be back to Charleston in the next 6 months and Muse will be a return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had reservations for my birthday and were promptly seated as soon as we arrived. The server was very aware of the full menu and options. All of our party enjoyed the evening
And can't wait to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Muse was recommended to us by one of the restaurant's
bartenders, who we met earlier in the day while watching football downtown. It was restaurant week in Charleston. The meal my husband and I had was one of the best meals I've eaten during restaurant week. We liked the atmosphere of the old house, as well. I definitely want to go back to Muse the next time we are in Charleston to try the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Took a friend for a birthday on restaurant week. I had the chicken paté as an appetizer, braised short ribs with pappardelle as the entrée, and chocolate hazelnut tiramisú for dessert. The food was delicious, properly sized and reasonably priced. Would go again. The room was a tad small and there was a large and boisterous party nearby, but the ambiance improved considerably after they left. Tourists. Would definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was ok. Wine selection is great. Service was subpar; not very knowledgeable nor attentive. We wouldn't go back unless I wanted just wine.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Muse NEVER disappoints with food and service!
We had a GRAND time and experience. Thank you.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Organic, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

4 of us met in Charleston for the weekend, first time for us all. As foodies, we were looking for an good place with interesting choices and including options for our one vegetarian. This was a great find - smaller place, comfortable and quiet environment, great service, and creative, yummy food. Highly recommend Muse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Outstanding cuisine, is Muse's hallmark!! However, the small stuff matters and Muse gets it all wrong. For example, shotty table service including jammed salt shakers and poor table service etiquette on the part of the server, show a lack of attention to detail. The establishment's apparent manager was loud, complaining and seemingly unaware that her comments regarding the restaurants problems and its employees could be heard throughout. Further, the eclectic choice of jazz music was too loud, as was the noise level in the tiny dining room where other patrons' conversations could be fully heard. Characterized by some as shabby chic, Muse was more dilapidated, as well as dark, dingy and musty. Fortunately, the food at Muse remains its only redeeming feature. Muse could up its game exponentially by investing in itself. Disappointing atmosphere significantly detracted from overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Loved it! Great service and food. Only gave fewer stars because it could have used some paint on the window sills to look a little cleaner.
Ross was a delightful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Muse was one of the highlights of our trip to Charleston. It's tucked away in an historic house downtown, so you don't get the usual touristy feel that might come from a downtown restaurant. We sat upstairs and had an incredible meal. The cheese plate was well chosen, the ricotta gnocchi with truffled mushrooms was delicious, and the cheesecake dessert was fluffy and gorgeous. Highly recommended!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A dingy place with very cramped and noisy eating space, this dilapidated house turned eatery is very overpriced, had a rude host, frazzled servers, and gross bathrooms. The 4 star rating is just total BS! Last but absolutely not least, if a fire occurred, it would be a death trap. Don't eat here when there are so many other choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Although small and a bit cramped, Muse offers very good food and service with a thoughtful wine list that features reasonable prices, many wines by the glass with generous pours. A great choice if you are looking for fine cuisine without spending a lot of money.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were seated upstairs where it was very stuffy and warm. One of our party requested that their steak, which was the special, be cooked medium rare. It was definitely well done but they elected not to complain because they didn' want to delay the meal for our party.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very good food, and our waiter was great. Unfortunately, we weren't treated well by the Maitre d. It was the Eclipse weekend so the only reservation we could get was 5pm, when the restaurant opens. We were the first guests and asked to sit at the bar for a drink before dinner. He disallowed that, saying that they were too busy to have us delay our seating. He then proceeded to seat our party of 5 at a table for 4, even though we were the first and only guests. We were packed in tight in a corner that had poor air conditioning. The excellent service and good food that followed didn't quite make up for our discomfort and poor treatment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was amazing, lovely atmosphere, and great service. We have kids that are adventurous eaters and all 3 loved this restaurant. Can't wait to come back our next visit to Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

first time, amazing....loved it, will definitely be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Went to Muse to celebrate our daughter starting medical school. Staff was super nice and accommodating. Made the evening even more fun. The food and drinks were awesome. Everyone in the party loved their meal - from appetizers to desserts! Definitely recommend going there!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food and outstanding service. I took a group of out of town business associates and they were highly pleased. It's a hidden Gem in Charleston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food and such a cute place! Small in scale but worth going if you can get reservations.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Felt like we were an inconvenience the entire 3 hours while we were sweating in a room with no AC. Also, important to know about half of the menu listed online is not in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

My wife and I have been there at least 8 times. This is our go to place in Charleston. The bar is cozy but way fun. We always have a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Nice overall place to enjoy on a date or with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Cool atmosphere in an old charleston house. The house could use some touching up..not a remodel just simple things like fresh paint and such. Food was pretty good...however my father got the chefs choice steak and the middle was inedible. The meat was so tough it couldn't even be cut with the knife. Very disappointed in that entree. Other dishes we got were the gnocchi, the salmon, the carbonara, and the sea bass. All were Great dishes. Overall a pleasant meal. Great spot for a date or conversation as the noise level is pretty low

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely awesome food! One of my Charleston favorites!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I had some family visiting but didn't find out until a few days before. I had not been to Muse before but the menu looked interesting and they could accommodate a reservation for a party of eight. I am happy to report that everyone enjoyed their meal. Several of us ordered the Swordfish special which was local caught and it was excellent. Others got the lamb chops which looked amazing. Same for the scallops. We started with the mussels and the Meze platter which are great to share with a bigger group. Muse has a pretty extensive wine list and over a dozen choices by the glass. By the glass prices were good for downtown Charleston. Our server was excellent and very attentive. Water glasses were refilled without asking and any questions about the menu were answered. The restaurant is in a historic home and we were seated on the second floor in a room with an old marble fireplace. There is a small bar on the first floor and the person working the bar was very friendly and offered suggestions on wine. He offered me a sample of a wine I was considering and his description was spot on. Overall we had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food and service were impeccable but the facility is shabby and looked dirty in some places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.