About Muse Restaurant

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: 8433011450x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Meze Platter - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Arugula Salad - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Big Island Goat Cheese & Beet Salad - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Bolognese - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Seared Scallops With Risotto - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Grilled Calamari - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Steamed Mussels - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
crabcake - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Creme Brulee - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Seared Scallops With Succotash & Charred Tomato Gravy - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Dinner Bread - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Caccuccio - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Summer Vegetable Plate - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Marinated Butcher Steak - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Catch of the day with - Muse Restaurant, Charleston, SC

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (24)
Historic (23)
Cozy (18)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Private Room (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went during Restaurant Week. Therefor ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We went during Restaurant Week. Therefore the restaurant was very crowded and I am sure under the strain of the crowd. The the food and service were average. Orders were mixed up. No bread was brought to the table until we asked a second time for it. I am sure this would be better during a normal week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were looking forward to Muse but the ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We were looking forward to Muse but the experience was disappointing. The venue itself and setting was everything we excepted. Service was intially friendly but quickly became apparent they were overwhelmed. All the food had good flavors but the cut of meats felt like poor quality. We both left half of our plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

When the server realized we weren't orde ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

When the server realized we weren't ordering drinks or apps. She wanted nothing to do with us. No bread. No water refills. The food was very good. Very small portions. All of this equals a big DO NOT GO HERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Awesome food, great location! Nice old t ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome food, great location! Nice old town experience. Service was good and good was great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the pasta carbonarro which was ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

I ordered the pasta carbonarro which was good and my wife ordered the fish of the day which she said was just ok. The service was terrific and the salad had an unusual but nice touch wit the seared cheese slices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious dinner and vibrant bar scene. ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious dinner and vibrant bar scene. Donnie, the bartender, was awesome! We decided to stay at the bar and eat. The sea bass is a must to try!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband recently went to Muse for a q ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

My husband recently went to Muse for a quiet date night and had a lovely meal during restaurant week. The restaurant is warm and inviting with soothing hip music. The service was outstanding and the food was mouth watering. Loved the bruschetta! We will definitely be back and look forward to sitting on the balcony upstairs. Just beautiful.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live downtown Charleston and Muse is ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

We live downtown Charleston and Muse is the best kept secret for locals and curious visitors as well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at muse on new years day and it w ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate at muse on new years day and it was quiet but perfect. Lamb sausage is awesome! So many delicious menu options make it hard to choose but everything I have ever eaten is so good. This place is a little hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Second time here and service was good bu ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Second time here and service was good but it took a while to get food. The steak for our children came out under cooked and when it returned it was charred beyond recognition. They had to remake the plate and it was fine. Dessert was on the house but wouldn't go their again as a first choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was very disappointed. Made the reser ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was very disappointed. Made the reservation - even stated it was our 39th wedding anniversary and we chose this restaurant to celebrate. Was greeted hurriedly - another (possibly Host) rushed over, pushed her aside and said follow me. Dropped the menus off, left

us in a small (music room) - 4 2 seat tables, poor wall conditions (tried to repair cheaply) no ambiance, no introduction. Server was just a little better had 3 other tables fill up - got to

talking with two other tables ....they have been long time guests and they were disappointed.

Will never go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

When we told the Marriott staff and/or d ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we told the Marriott staff and/or drivers that we had reservations @ Muse, their eyes lit up and they became animated about their love of Muse, the restaurant, the bar and the food. They told us Muse is a local, hidden gem. Muse is located in a historic house across the street from The Renaissance Hotel and The Grand Bohemian Hotel.

We are accustomed to dining at high end restaurants. When we ordered Sea Bass on New Year's Eve 2016, we were pleasantly surprised by the presentation. The fish was served as a deboned fillet with head, severed, yet appearing as if attached, in a decorative fashion, with the fillet twisted, as if in motion. The taste was light and salted to perfection.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great! Food was great and service ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was great! Food was great and service was awesome. Portions were small but that is too be expected so we had absolutely no complaints. The building was beautiful and ambience was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our experience. I can' ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience. I can't say enough about the pleasant and professional service we received. The food was so good. Everyone enjoyed their plates and they were gorgeous. Loved the ambiance. Definitely a romantic destination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We sat upstairs and all six of us agreed ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We sat upstairs and all six of us agreed it was one of the best meals we had had in a long, long time. We could have eaten multiple orders of the goat cheese bruschetta appetizer and been very happy! The calamari and cheese plate appetizers were also very good (calamari used a light hand with the breading and oil so it wasn't as unhealthy as it often is at restaurants). As entrees we got the shrimp, scallops, snapper, and gnocchi, and each was fantastic. For dessert we split a chocolate torte and a tiramisu, both of which were amazing. I should note that I'm pretty hard to impress because I frequent top restaurants all over the country, but Muse definitely earns a spot in my top 10 ranking.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, exquisite presentation, atte ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, exquisite presentation, attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very excited to try this restaurant. ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was very excited to try this restaurant. The ambience is a beautiful home, and that adds something special to the evening. However, our group all felt that we were hoping for smoother/quicker service. (One entrée was completely forgotten, we had to ask for it a second time. It arrived 10 mins. after everyone else was served). Our waitress was pleasant but perhaps they were understaffed or just a slow paced kitchen. Several diners in our group had fish and thought the presentation was great, but the flavors not what they were hoping for.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food. Old school Charleston settin ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food. Old school Charleston setting and decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and friendly service. Charmi ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and friendly service. Charming atmosphere and great wine list.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant! The food and atmosphe ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely restaurant! The food and atmosphere were excellent. Our waitperson could have been better. We told her before ordering that we had dessert plans for later in the evening so we would be eating light. She must have assumed, incorrectly, that the bill would be small, and her tip would follow. She was attentive to the tables nearby, but not friendly or available to us. It turned out that the food was so good we passed on desert later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We really enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinn ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We really enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinner with friends at Muse. It had been awhile since we visited this restaurant, but, being longtime residents of the city, would highly recommend it to the open-minded folks who want to eat a creative meal downtown without the hype and tourist pressure. Big menu, cool/funky atmosphere (old house), great unobtrusive service, and just a charmed evening. We will return soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

An outstanding evening from start to fin ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

An outstanding evening from start to finish. Food was wonderful as always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely . Sauces were wonderful. Seafood ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely . Sauces were wonderful. Seafood was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Muse is generally a good bet for a nice ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Muse is generally a good bet for a nice meal. The food is excellent and the setting in a old historic home is great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We sat at the bar as we always enjoy the ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

We sat at the bar as we always enjoy the bartender there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Staff was very helpful, patient and know ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Staff was very helpful, patient and knowledgeable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that such a wonderful restaurant is ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Love that such a wonderful restaurant is in proximity to the theater. What a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was good; ambience ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our dining experience was good; ambience is fine; service was wonderful. The historic house is very unique. Excellent cheese plate for appetizer; my entrée of scallops and risotto was very good. My hubby had the 14 oz strip steak of which only about half could be eaten. Unfortunately, it had some tough veining and was just too tough to eat. The flavor of the steak was ok; nothing special. A restaurant of this quality should be serving filet not strip steak. We only went to this restaurant because it is close to What If Productions and we were seeing a friend in a production there. I would go back and perhaps order a pasta dish or seafood, but not the beef. It was rather strange having a restroom in the midst of diners on the second floor, but because of the layout of the old home, I understand why it is there. I think I'd like to try Muse in the summer and eat outside; the patio looked fun, but it was too cold. With so many outstanding restaurants in Charleston, this place is good, but not way up there on my list.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous restaurant. Food was excellent. ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Food was excellent. Mussels, sea bass and special of the day, wreckfish all delicious. Also loved the intimacy of the house and small dining rooms. Waiter was attentive, but not intrusive. Will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muse is always warm and cozy. A good win ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Muse is always warm and cozy. A good wine list and menu. The food is good, interesting and prepared well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Decided against wine after 3 bottles tha ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Decided against wine after 3 bottles that were on the menu were not available. Service was not that welcoming. Food was small portion for the price. I am not someone who eats a large meal. But with so many fables resteraunts in areas would not go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I have eaten in many of the fine restaur ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

I have eaten in many of the fine restaurants in Charleston over the years. This trip was a girls (seniors/aarp) trip. We ate at Many top restaurants and enjoyed them all but our most memorable meal for the five of us was Muse. The ambiance, the service and the food were outstanding I hesitate to give this review because we were able to get a reservation on the same day and I would be afraid that in the future it might be difficult.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muse is a nice option in the increasingl ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Muse is a nice option in the increasingly competitive Charleston restaurant scene: very good food at decent prices in a wonderful old house in a quiet spot. The menu is varied, although not extensive, and the combination of Italian/Mediterranean flavors and local seafood and other ingredients works very well. With tables located throughout the house, dining can be as intimate as desired. We were not able to enjoy the patio on our visit, but it looks to be a great spot in hospitable weather.

As life-long lovers of Charleston and "repeat offenders" on the dining scene, we are always pleased to add a restaurant to our "we'll be back" list!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice. All meals were delicious.

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Very nice. All meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent meal. Had the snapper. Cooked ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent meal. Had the snapper. Cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place exceeded our expectations. Th ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

This place exceeded our expectations. The food was great . i would go back there any time. They also when above and beyond with high service that i felt would back anyone keep coming back.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walking up Society street, seeing Muse c ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Walking up Society street, seeing Muse come into view started the evening off with the anticipation of a quaint, cozy, romantic evening. We were greeted warmly and seated outside, which was perfect for the lovely Charleston evening. Stephanie was our server who took us on a journey of a beautifully picked bottle of Malbec and 4 small plates. (Local Cheese Board, Bruschetta, Tuna Crudo, & Meze Platter) Our favorite was the special Bruschetta for the evening which was a Cherry compote on top of the creamiest goat cheese. SO GOOD, that we went the next day to (goat.sheep.cow) to purchase some compote and goat cheese to recreate that dish back here in Savannah. The only thing that would made it even more of a euphoric experience was if there was a little more acid or something with the Tuna Crudo. All in all we finished our special evening the dessert of the night that was an incredible Pumpkin Spice Panna cotta.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best authentic bolognese we have eve ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

The best authentic bolognese we have ever had! And it was preceeded by chicken liver pate bruschetta topped with honey coated figs!! Everything was absolutely fantistic!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a late dinner at Muse. Our reserv ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a late dinner at Muse. Our reservation was at 9:45. By the time we were eating dessert, the bar area was getting pretty busy and loud, but it wasn't a deal-breaker. Our food and wine were excellent. We had salads, soup, tuna appetizer, salmon, pasta carbonara, and a delicious chocolate dessert with strawberry-rhubarb sauce. Everything was quite good, and we would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I was so excited to eat here. The wait s ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

I was so excited to eat here. The wait staff was very attentive. The food, however was good, not great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.