About Muse Restaurant

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: 8433011450x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Meze Platter
Arugula Salad
Big Island Goat Cheese & Beet Salad
Bolognese
Seared Scallops With Risotto
Grilled Calamari
Steamed Mussels
crabcake
Creme Brulee
Seared Scallops With Succotash & Charred Tomato Gravy
Dinner Bread
Caccuccio
Summer Vegetable Plate
Marinated Butcher Steak
Catch of the day with

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Charleston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (55)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Romantic (47)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Cozy (8)
Historic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrible place in a city full of great r ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Terrible place in a city full of great restaurants, sorry we waster one night there. Good totally underwhelming and presented very poorly. Snapper presented on a couple potato pieces with some shards of leek in a milky white sauce. Really unappetizing. More awful than the food was the decor. Broken down house in need of repairs and a serious deep cleaning. It looked dirty in low light must be really terrible in day light. Don't waste your time or money with so many great options in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Disappointed. Swordfish was not fresh an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Disappointed. Swordfish was not fresh and panna desert tasted frozen, not fresh.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very small dining and there was a table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very small dining and there was a table of 10 loud women so we couldn't even carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

We booked this got our daughter , grandd ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We booked this got our daughter , granddaughter and friend. They loved it. We have entertained out of town guests and also enjoyed it.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are natives of Charleston. Went to M ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We are natives of Charleston. Went to Muse on reviews for our anniversary. Not sure if the reviews were of the same place. Food very disappointing. Maybe it would rate the reviews if it were in Columbia or Savannah. Mussels were hopelessly bland- there are several places in Charleston that have better- best can be found at Rue de Jean (we went there to get a good anniversary meal). Pastas were also unimaginative, again, much better choices elsewhere downtown. Alas, they knew it was our anniversary, but not even a "Happy Anniversary" from waitperson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Beyond our expectations

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Beyond our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff is extremely knowledgeable ab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Wait staff is extremely knowledgeable about the wine selection. Food is authentic and fresh with inventive and currencurrent trendy twists.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found the food to be fresh and deligh ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We found the food to be fresh and delightful! Our waitress was very personable and very attentive.

The only complaint is the ambience is awful and desperately needing a very delicate update to enhance the structure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Delicious italian cuisine in a beautifu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious italian cuisine in a beautiful historic house in downtown Charleston. I had the gnocchi with shrimp and it was superb!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third visit to Muse. A great choice befo ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Third visit to Muse. A great choice before a show next door at the Threshold Reportory Theater. The food is great, focus on Mediterranean. This visit we had the chef's steak, which was delicious and perfectly prepared. The panna cotta dessert was awesome. Our waitress was Alex, who was very, very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a nice surprise. Food was excellen ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

What a nice surprise. Food was excellent and away from the "touristy" spots. Great find

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is not surrounded by oth ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This restaurant is not surrounded by other restaurants or retail stores so it may be missed by some. The food was fantastic, the homemade pasta definitely worth getting and the service was really good. Wine recommendations paired very well with the meals.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was great and we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was great, food was great and we were never rushed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on restaurant week and the value ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went on restaurant week and the value was great. I was going to the theatre next door so it was extremely convenient. Don't let that stop you though as they seem to have the same offering on the theatre bill. They gave us a nice quiet spot as we had 2 children. There were a couple of flying gnats but even those were caught by the wonderful waitress. Great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Swordfish special and the Snapper were e ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Swordfish special and the Snapper were excellent. Wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful homey atmosphere and the food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful homey atmosphere and the food and wine list are superlative!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a cool place . Historic hidden gem. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

What a cool place . Historic hidden gem. I thought the food was good but a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Took my daughter & her friend for dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Took my daughter & her friend for dinner. Loved the look and feel of the restaurant. Friendly service and the food was phenomenal! I'll definitely go back next time I'm in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Exquisite combination of food and ambian ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Exquisite combination of food and ambiance. Will definitely return to try more dishes!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to Muse and the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first time to Muse and the food, service and decor was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent service, great atmosphere, gre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

excellent service, great atmosphere, great food, but probably, the highlight, was the ambience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was varied and it was hard to s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The menu was varied and it was hard to settle on a dish. The Mojito cocktail was very refreshing on a warm night. I brought a shrug to guard against aggressive air conditioning but the room was comfortable and it wasn't necessary. Our waitress was knowledgeable and pleasant and the service was prompt and unobtrusive. The delicious mozzarella and tomato salad was was enough for two. The veal scallopini and tilefish special entree were very flavorful and perfectly cooked and presented. We shared a lemon torte for dessert. We would definitely return to sample those other items on the menu we were considering.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this little place and the staff is ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love this little place and the staff is awesome! If you want a quiet little date night and a good glass wine...go!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent; I really enjoyed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was excellent; I really enjoyed the ricotta gnocchi and my husband said his special fish of the day was fabulous. The wait staff was one of the best, and in Charleston where service is paramount, this is saying a lot. We ate outdoors on their patio, which was a little funky (chairs too low for the table, notably). The bar needs refurbishment. We were early for our dinner reservation so we thought we'd have a glass of wine there. The bar stool seats were torn and needing inner springs, not comfortable at all. The list of wines by the glass was surprisingly prosaic considering how they tout their wine selection. We will most likely go back for the food (and sit indoors). On the whole, it was a very good experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First, we dined early so that may influe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

First, we dined early so that may influence how quiet it was.

Not a "trendy" restaurant, which is a plus to me. Have eaten at several other highly regarded places in Charleston and Muse food was at least as good as any we've had in Charleston.

It was our anniversary and we were given complimentary glasses of champagne, nice touch.

Service was excellent, food was excellent, dessert was great! We will definitely be back on future visits to Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decided to go to Muse for my birthday di ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Decided to go to Muse for my birthday dinner with friends. We were seated upstairs in a lovely room that only had 3 tables in it. It was quaint - I loved that the house dates back to the 1850s. Food was good - portions on some meals a little small (lamb chops, scallops). Desserts were good - especially the tiramisu! I liked that I left the restaurant feeling satisfied...not stuffed! I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites since I discovered i ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

One of my favorites since I discovered it 3 years ago on a weekend visit. Great food and service!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place, lovely food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Lovely place, lovely food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I read the reviews before making a reser ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I read the reviews before making a reservation, and I was a little hesitant because they weren't consistent. The gal that greeted us upon entry wasn't that welcoming or friendly, and she suggested that we wait in the bar since we were early. The bartender barely greeted us as we waited. The place is quite dingy too - although my husband claims that's part of the identity. I wanted to leave but we stuck around. I'm glad we did because once we were seated our server was great and the food was amazing! We shared the Meze platter - delicious! My in laws had the catch of the day, I had the shrimp and polenta, and my husband the steak - all very good! We then shared the ricatto cheesecake and chocolate cake - yummy! Give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We came in for a quick bite between a bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We came in for a quick bite between a business meeting and theatre. The lite bite we had was excellent as it has been in the past. One of us arrived a bit late for our reservation, but our waiter was very accommodating and got us served and out in good time for the show. Overall another excellent experience in this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal with family and friends ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had a great meal with family and friends before heading next door to see our daughter in a play at Threshold Repertory Theatre. All the food and the service were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

excellent scallops and veal scalopin, d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

excellent scallops and veal scalopin, decent prices and excellent service, maybe a hidden gem in Charleston as its off the downtown main area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Repeat diner

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great dining experience. Repeat diner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit to Muse and I f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was my second visit to Muse and I found it outstanding as before. Something for everyone with MOST attentive service. Food delicious and beautifully presented. Will go again soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific dinner and the wait st ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a terrific dinner and the wait staff was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our large party was excited to dine here ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our large party was excited to dine here. After eating here though, the food reviews were mixed... I absolutely loved my pasta carbonara and the sea bass also had high marks, but those who ordered steaks were left disappointed as the steaks seemed well cooked, but unseasoned (with no salt on the frites or green beans as well) and rather disappointing for the price ($40). The wine list was wonderful and the ambiance gorgeous as the restaurant is located in an old home built in the 1850s. Unfortunately, it was a steamy Charleston summer night and despite their air conditioner working hard, the restaurant was quite warm with it getting more uncomfortable as our meal progressed. Overall, a good experience for some, but others said that they would not want to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Charleston has more than her fair share ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Charleston has more than her fair share of fabulous restaurants. This little gem is a rare find because it feels like Charleston. The home is only slightly revamped for restaurant needs; the curb appeal is modest; the menu is concise; the music is subdued... This NOT a showplace restaurant. Muse is an all new / old (in a good way) experience. IT IS LOVELY. We relished it! Dining in Charleston has become an art and this experience was uniquely Charleston. We had two salads that were simple 3-5 ingreediants like dining at a friends. The entree size is ample, and it is a meal (ie snapper, mixed veggies, and roasted potatoes ). The desserts were large enough to share but not over the top. If you enjoy being full order an appetizer, entree, and dessert. If you are going out after the entree will leave you satisfied not stuffed. Give yourself a full hour to hour and and a half for dinner. Make reservations and let them know if you prefer outside seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I enjoyed the service and meal. The ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I enjoyed the service and meal. The server seemed to know the products. The service was good and not rushed. I have been to Muse several times and each time has been enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was fabulous! I read some of the n ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was fabulous! I read some of the negative reviews and I was a bit apprehensive, but this restaurant 'brought it'! Great pre-dinner cocktails, great appetizers, over the top entrees, and a notable wine selection. This is an Italian restaurant serving authentic cuisine. I've been to Italy many times and I was always disappointed when I returned home and couldn't find true Italian food. The chef nailed it! The service was amazing.. The only negative comment I have is 'I don't have a plate of the gnocchi with grilled shrimp' in front of me right now. Such a great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.