About Muse Restaurant

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Cozy (21)
Romantic (21)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Historic (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Over priced , average food quality but the owner or manager, who ever she was kept running around restaurant bossing staff around and complaining about everything. Place looked like it could use a good cleaning too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten at Muse several other times while visiting Charleston. It is located on one of the quaint side streets in Charleston, Society, and it located in an old house. It happened that their was a outdoor concert going on across the street in a Hampton Inn so there was noise which you would normally not experience. The food and wine was excellent, Jennifer was a great waitress and we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Cheese plate and bread were good. Scallops were fabulous. Service was lackluster. Too many good restaurants with good service in Charleston for me to want to go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We attended my nieces college of Charleston graduation before bringing 8 people to dinner. The bartender gave her a glass of champagne and a congratulations when we entered. With such a large party I liked so many choices for drinks, appetizers, dinner and desserts. The waitress was very informative and patient. Perfect place for a large party. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our server was incredible!

Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were a large party celebrating a graduation. While the room was somewhat private, it was a bit musty. Also, I wish we were notified of having to be upstairs as I would have requested 2 tables on the first floor as 3 in our party have difficulty with stairs. We had a reservation and were seated promptly, yet we were short one chair and it took at least 10 minutes for our server to bring one over. Service overall was very slow and not very attentive--which I assume was the result of the tip being added to our large party. My husband, daughter and I had visited the bar and had a great experience with Donnie, thus prompting me to make a reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of the best kept secrets in Charleston! Owner Beth Anne Crane has had the same wonderful wait staff for years and the food is always great! Don't miss the duck with sumac, the Merguez sausage, any of the pastas and the daily fish special!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We sat outside to enjoy our delicious food. The service was professional and unhurried but efficient.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We always love to walk here for dinner. Sat at the bar- fun as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great place for dinner, either inside or outside. Especially good before going to the theatre.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very good food & perfect for a pre-show meal. Our waiter was fantastic! Very attentive and accommodating with our limited time. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful food; expert service. I took a friend to Muse, because it was a short, pleasant walk from the hotel, and I hoped to be able to converse over a very good meal. All that happened, on an unusually quiet night at Muse (Wednesday). Even though only a few tables were occupied upstairs, the staff did not discourage us from dining there, and the waiter was cheerful and prompt. He discussed our wine and dinner choices with us knowledgeably - that makes it fun and makes for better decisions. I had the wreckfish entree, which was sauteed beautifully, not overcooked, and was accompanied by some slightly crunchy veggies. My friend had the lamb, which was tender and passed her approval - and she's an expert on lamb. We shared the lemon tart - suitably tart and soothed by a dollop of whipped cream. Lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I recently had a four night mini-vacation in Charleston. We tried a different restaurant each afternoon and night. Muse was the last we visited. While we never had a bad meal, if we had visited Muse earlier, we would have gone back. The next time we are in Charleston we definitely will. We had a hard time choosing from the menu, because everything sounded great - and everything lived up to its description. We opted to follow a tapas-like approach. We shared the soup of the day (potato with porcini mushrooms ), then each had a salad (Roasted Baby Beets with Nutmeg Creme Fraiche, Toasted Walnuts & Balsamic Glaze, and Bibb Lettuce Salad with Honey Crisp Apple Slices, Gorgonzola Cheese, Crispy Farro, & Sherry Vinaigrette), and two appetizers (House Made Grilled Lamb Sausage with Red Peppers, Fennel, Radish, Tzatziki, Harrisa & Flat Bread, and Duck Breast Rubbed with Sumac & Served with Medjool Dates, Madeira Onions & Pomegranate Jus). Everything was outstanding. The server was calm, unobtrusive, helpful, and came around at just the right intervals. The restaurant is in an old house with dining in former parlors, dining rooms, bedrooms, etc. Since we were kind of on a date, we really enjoyed being in one of the upstairs rooms by an open window where we could watch the sun set,and enjoy some privacy. There were two other tables in use in the room, but spaced far enough apart to keep things quiet and private. For folks who want things more lively, the outdoor dining and bar on the first floor would definitely fit the bill. Speaking of "the bill", the price was very reasonable. Try it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic meal. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the wine list and made an excellent recommendation. A great alternative to the usual haunts. It says a lot about the restaurant scene when the food is that good and it isn't considered in the top 50 in some surveys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed our meals very much. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Loved the arugula salad, food was ok otherwise-just really small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious food, lovely decor, noticeably indifferent service made for a good but not great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Not sure that place should be classified as a restaurant- more like a bed and breakfast without the bed -

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Both the food and the service was superb. We sat in a nice cozy room what provide nice privacy. Our meals were excellent along with a great wine list that was reasonably price.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Not what we expected. Small portions. We were there early, 7pm on a Saturday night, and we were informed by the waitress that they were out of a lot of things on the menu. The waitress brought us a different wine than what we had ordered. She told us that they were out of the wine that we wanted and that this replacement was not on the menu, it was a substitute for the same price. I checked the wine menu, after we accepted the substitute, and found the wine that we were drinking on the menu. It was $10 less than the wine we originally ordered. The old bait and switch. Not impressed with this restaurant and I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, the lamb chops were perfect, the tuna tartare app was great. Rob, our server was knowledgeable, personable, and efficient. The only negative was a wine on the wine list wasn't available. However, Rob helped us find a suitable substitute.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good food and good value. In particular for us the portions were a sensible size.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Vacation. Waiter was outstanding but portions inconsistent. Screaming toddler at the table next to us did not help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The duck breast was some of the best we've had. Our server was not very knowledgeable which was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ate here during a trip to Charleston to celebrate a birthday. The food was amazing, and the ambiance was wonderful. The restaurant was completely full, yet we didn't feel that it was loud. We also got our food really quickly, especially considering how busy it was. We were in and out in under an hour, and that's with an appetizer included.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lovely restaurant. We had lots of good choices to choose from the menu. All meals were absolutely delicious. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was competent. The calamari app was tasteless, barely sautéed and bland. Should have sent it back. My husband veal was great tho, and so was my entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

From the slovenly dressesd whistling hostess to the filthy drape that was supposed to hide the storeroom to the dirty windows, frayed pillows, woodwork that begged for clean paint, hardwood floors that pleaded for cleaning and varnish, no Southern Comfort, no salt and pepper on the table, sticky carbonara and a flavorless specialty if the house to the mantle that served as a coffee pot and water shelf, this had to be the worst dining experience in some time and it wasn't cheap. With all of the fine dining venues in the area, this was a poor choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was very good. Like the Mediterranean influences in the meal choices.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Walking distance to Gaillard so we choose Muse as our before dinner. Everything was fabulous. Food, service and ambiance was a nice prelude to a concert at the beautiful Gaillard.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

What a cozy gem! The food here was awesome and the service was too. Cozy Mediterranean vibe with a menu that gave options for vegan and gluten free guests (along with the carnivores of course- haha!) This would be a great date night environment too, definitely recommend!

Tags: Historic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent food. The service was excellent as well and we had 11 people. We ate at three highly recommended restaurants during our stay and this one was our favorite. Will definitely revisit this one.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We expected Mediterranean cuisine but enjoyed the entrees nonetheless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wonderful place to eat. Thanks to Sara who recommended it. And thanks to a wonderful waitress ask for Stephanie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The evening was enjoyed by all. The food, service and ambiance were very good. A special note - we were dining as the sun was dropping. The sun hit my friend in the face as soon as she sat down. Before we had to ask a curtain was placed over the window and the issue addressed -
thoughtful and considerate staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Went here for dinner with friends last Saturday night. Decor is funky/cozy. The restaurant is located in a small house. We were seated downstairs. One of our party ordered the tuna tartare appetizer, was told after a while that the tuna wasn't good and the chef had decided to pull it. She ordered a second appetizer which took ages to appear. Other than that, the service was good. We all thought the food was ok, not great.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our guests had arrived ahead of us and been seated. The staff were all scurrying about and kept promising to seat us asap. More diners were gathering in the tiny reception area. My husband checked upstairs, and finding our guests there, hailed me to come on up.

The upstairs space was very tight and our waitress helped us adjust the table a couple of times to make space for traffic or the adjacent table.

One entree was not as hot as it should have been and one had to be sent back for additional cooking. The flavors were good and the presentations beautiful.

We gathered that the crunch was because nearly everyone in the restaurant (at 5:45pm) was going to the theater next door ... yes! Saw many, now familiar, faces there.

Would love to return for a later time and when there is no performance to put such pressure on this staff and space.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A lovely neighborhood restaurant off the beaten track from the Bay street scene. Very nice, higher end Italian plus great seafood. Very nice wine list. Charming setting in an old house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Historic setting, and excellent dinner and service. We sat upstairs which is quieter than downstairs.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This was our best dinner in 5 days in Charleston. The food was great, the portion sizes just right, and the personnel amazing. I had the arugula salad, the shrimp plate and finished with the ricotta cheesecake. I can't say enough good things. On top of everything, this was one of the least expensive meals we had.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.