About Muse Restaurant

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Cozy (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
See All
Romantic (21)
Historic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Authentic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Casual (7)
Private Room (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Not what we expected. Small portions. We were there early, 7pm on a Saturday night, and we were informed by the waitress that they were out of a lot of things on the menu. The waitress brought us a different wine than what we had ordered. She told us that they were out of the wine that we wanted and that this replacement was not on the menu, it was a substitute for the same price. I checked the wine menu, after we accepted the substitute, and found the wine that we were drinking on the menu. It was $10 less than the wine we originally ordered. The old bait and switch. Not impressed with this restaurant and I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, the lamb chops were perfect, the tuna tartare app was great. Rob, our server was knowledgeable, personable, and efficient. The only negative was a wine on the wine list wasn't available. However, Rob helped us find a suitable substitute.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good food and good value. In particular for us the portions were a sensible size.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Vacation. Waiter was outstanding but portions inconsistent. Screaming toddler at the table next to us did not help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The duck breast was some of the best we've had. Our server was not very knowledgeable which was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ate here during a trip to Charleston to celebrate a birthday. The food was amazing, and the ambiance was wonderful. The restaurant was completely full, yet we didn't feel that it was loud. We also got our food really quickly, especially considering how busy it was. We were in and out in under an hour, and that's with an appetizer included.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lovely restaurant. We had lots of good choices to choose from the menu. All meals were absolutely delicious. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was competent. The calamari app was tasteless, barely sautéed and bland. Should have sent it back. My husband veal was great tho, and so was my entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

From the slovenly dressesd whistling hostess to the filthy drape that was supposed to hide the storeroom to the dirty windows, frayed pillows, woodwork that begged for clean paint, hardwood floors that pleaded for cleaning and varnish, no Southern Comfort, no salt and pepper on the table, sticky carbonara and a flavorless specialty if the house to the mantle that served as a coffee pot and water shelf, this had to be the worst dining experience in some time and it wasn't cheap. With all of the fine dining venues in the area, this was a poor choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was very good. Like the Mediterranean influences in the meal choices.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Walking distance to Gaillard so we choose Muse as our before dinner. Everything was fabulous. Food, service and ambiance was a nice prelude to a concert at the beautiful Gaillard.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

What a cozy gem! The food here was awesome and the service was too. Cozy Mediterranean vibe with a menu that gave options for vegan and gluten free guests (along with the carnivores of course- haha!) This would be a great date night environment too, definitely recommend!

Tags: Historic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent food. The service was excellent as well and we had 11 people. We ate at three highly recommended restaurants during our stay and this one was our favorite. Will definitely revisit this one.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We expected Mediterranean cuisine but enjoyed the entrees nonetheless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wonderful place to eat. Thanks to Sara who recommended it. And thanks to a wonderful waitress ask for Stephanie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The evening was enjoyed by all. The food, service and ambiance were very good. A special note - we were dining as the sun was dropping. The sun hit my friend in the face as soon as she sat down. Before we had to ask a curtain was placed over the window and the issue addressed -
thoughtful and considerate staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Went here for dinner with friends last Saturday night. Decor is funky/cozy. The restaurant is located in a small house. We were seated downstairs. One of our party ordered the tuna tartare appetizer, was told after a while that the tuna wasn't good and the chef had decided to pull it. She ordered a second appetizer which took ages to appear. Other than that, the service was good. We all thought the food was ok, not great.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our guests had arrived ahead of us and been seated. The staff were all scurrying about and kept promising to seat us asap. More diners were gathering in the tiny reception area. My husband checked upstairs, and finding our guests there, hailed me to come on up.

The upstairs space was very tight and our waitress helped us adjust the table a couple of times to make space for traffic or the adjacent table.

One entree was not as hot as it should have been and one had to be sent back for additional cooking. The flavors were good and the presentations beautiful.

We gathered that the crunch was because nearly everyone in the restaurant (at 5:45pm) was going to the theater next door ... yes! Saw many, now familiar, faces there.

Would love to return for a later time and when there is no performance to put such pressure on this staff and space.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A lovely neighborhood restaurant off the beaten track from the Bay street scene. Very nice, higher end Italian plus great seafood. Very nice wine list. Charming setting in an old house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Historic setting, and excellent dinner and service. We sat upstairs which is quieter than downstairs.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This was our best dinner in 5 days in Charleston. The food was great, the portion sizes just right, and the personnel amazing. I had the arugula salad, the shrimp plate and finished with the ricotta cheesecake. I can't say enough good things. On top of everything, this was one of the least expensive meals we had.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A nice restaurant in an old house in the middle of old town. Mussels were excellent!! Modest wine list but some good choices. Scallops nicely grilled on risotto. Bar was small but hopping.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Booked table for 6. A celebration meal. The venue is an old Charleston home. Lovely place. Arrived on time and was immediately seated in back corner on 2nd floor (what used to be) porch.

Unfortunately the waiter did not do well and seemed to forget about us. We did not receive ANY food until +35 mins after arrival. When some food did arrive, it included both the appetizers and 1st course salads. The bread bowl - normally automatic and in our case somewhat necessary for the cheese plate ordered - did not arrive until later and only after two requests. Complained to manager which did no good. Water glasses remained empty. Made multiple requests for some oil and spices for the little saucers to dip the bread into. Then we noticed several tables around us received their entrees long before we did, but our family was seated 5-10 mins prior. Another complaint to management still did not fix the situation and may have made things worse. We were now pariah. Eventually our waiter was replaced with a new waitress.

While waitress #2 was fine, no one apologized for the earlier waiter's amazingly bad service. They did however try to blame us for being late (we weren't).

In short, interesting decor, average food, terrible service. There are so many good restaurants in Charleston. Go enjoy one of the others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Muse was a warm, comfortable, neighborhood feel. The food was excellent and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quality and quiet dining experience in Charleston.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went here for the first time last weekend with 4 girl friends. We had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Such a charming little restaurant! Very nice, high-end Italian food. Very nice wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The place has a nice ambiance. Some of the food is really good, other not so much. The sea bass is great, the calamari dish kind of odd. Also, while the service is pleasant, the food come out very slowly, which made us think that the kitchen was having trouble keeping up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fabulous all around. A great find that's off the beaten path.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Muse has a comfy and elegant atmosphere. I love the outdoor dining under the twinkly lights on the balcony. We had the best time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food is delicious. Fresh, local ingredients put together in creative ways. The service is great: helpful, friendly but not intrusive. The decor is comfortable and cozy, although perhaps could use some refreshing. Overall a great place.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We loved the ambience of Muse. The food was delicious as we enjoyed every bit if it!! Would recommend the scallops with Brussel sprout risotto and mussels in white wine with cannelloni beans.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I found the meals not to be as amazing as before, but still a delightful spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great Birthday Dinnet

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great dining experience on a busy Food + Wine Festival weekend!! There were 9 of us, which is always a challenge. Wonderful service - from decanting the wines to sharing the desserts! Whole fish was excellent, as was the tagliatelle bolognese and the scallops over brussel sprouts risotta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I would not eat their grilled calamari. It was undercooked and made me sick that night. The staff is friendly, but the food seems a bit overpriced for the quality.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This place had a great ambiance. A group of 3 of us sat outside before a concert. The food was good but not exceptional. I got the veal, my friends got the scallops, & the steak. I'd recommend going early, since it's not crowded then.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Ambience gorgeous. Wine list extremely interesting, with extensive by-the-glass selections. Salads, in particular the arugula/arughetto salad, a bouquet of flavors. Second courses absolutely authentic and delicious... but extremely small portions. With this one note of caution, an extremely caring staff and a very unique dining experience. My wife and I have a second home in the "Holy City" and are comfortable in revisiting "Muse".

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Puny portions. My red snapper was a tad over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was good, but nothing spectacular. Downtown Charleston has a lot of excellent restaurants, Muse is just not competitive enough.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was really slow and not helpful. Extremely overpriced menu for the quality and portion sizes of food. For a valentines day menu, extremely limited with not even a salad option?? That's disappointing.
First and last visit.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.