About Muse Restaurant

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (22)
Historic (21)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Romantic (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (6)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was really slow and not helpful. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was really slow and not helpful. Extremely overpriced menu for the quality and portion sizes of food. For a valentines day menu, extremely limited with not even a salad option?? That's disappointing.

First and last visit.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

We went for Valentines Day. I made my r ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for Valentines Day. I made my reservation on Open Table. two days before, I got a phone call to advise me the dinner would be a price fixed limited menu. This would have been good to know, as I did not have any time to make another reservation. The meal was ok, but, not anything we would have normally have ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My boyfriend and I had Valentine's Day d ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

My boyfriend and I had Valentine's Day dinner there! The food was delicious and the restaurant is very beautiful!! I definitely will go back!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the mussels, and as soon as t ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ordered the mussels, and as soon as they arrived we knew they were bad just by the way they smelled. We did taste one each, and yep, we were right. Awful. Thankfully no charge. We had to ask for a Diet Cole twice from our waiter and then we never received any refills on it or water. The Scallops and Risotto was bland, to say the least. The best I could do with that was ask for fresh ground pepper. The Bolognese was amazing, by far the highlight of the night. We will never go back. What a disappointment after a great culinary experience all week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Superb food and service- we'll be back!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Superb food and service- we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Opentable's service of reservation was e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Opentable's service of reservation was excellent. I walked right up to the hostess and was to my table within seconds. Easy to use and will use it again for future services.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner--not a special ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a very nice dinner--not a special occasion, but everything was lovely--good service, friendly hostess, good food--especially desserts!😊 cute, cozy, warm atmosphere. We will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muse continues to be a very pleasant pla ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Muse continues to be a very pleasant place to dine, with nice ambiance in historic converted single house. The menu is not overly fussy and has a good variety of choices; wine list is not extensive but a good one. Prices are reasonable for downtown.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous meal! Fabulous service! A littl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fabulous meal! Fabulous service!

A little dark and cramped on the upstairs enclosed porch where we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food and service. Cozy atmosp ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and service. Cozy atmosphere. Somewhat expensive but well worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved that Muse is an old Charleston ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We loved that Muse is an old Charleston house and they are utilizing it well. Wallpapers and floors are well worn which is part of its charm. Our server was excellent and the food good. We would return when in Charleston again.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming ambience. Food is delicious. Lo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Charming ambience. Food is delicious. Love eating at the bar.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were spectacular! I had the sc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our meals were spectacular! I had the scallops, my husband had the bouillabaisse, our guests had osso bucco and pasta bolognese, and we were all impressed. Our server, Alexandra, was exceptional and gave us just the right amount of attention. Muse is one of our favorite local restaurants with special attention to service, atmosphere, and excellent food! We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muse is in a charming Charleston buildin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Muse is in a charming Charleston building and has a lovely bar and a good kitchen. BUT the facility is looking tired and is in dire need of a facelift. That would also improve the atmosphere by nakibg it more upbeat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Nice selections on menu. Good wine list ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Nice selections on menu. Good wine list. This is a small restaurant. Entrance way was not attractive but inside was ok. Meal main courses were qutte good but coffee at end wasn't hot and panna cotta was mediocre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I enjoy trying new restau ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My husband and I enjoy trying new restaurants whenever we go out for date night. I found Muse while looking through the restaurant week participants. Muse's menu looked very appetizing and we decided to try it. We are very glad we did and look forward to returning. The staff was great and on top of our needs. The food was delicious. The tiramisu was one of the best we've ever had and we have tried many over the years. My husband and I make our own tiramisu and this was even better than ours. They have a huge wine list, which most can be purchased by the glass. We really enjoyed the Muse atmosphere. The character of the old home turned restaurant gave us a charming experience that added to an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am local, and with all the new fad res ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I am local, and with all the new fad restaurants opening, it is refreshing to have a consistently great experience at a restaurant I love. The restaurant is in an old house and has all the charm that goes with that. There is a small bar downstairs for an intimate drink before dinner. I've never been disappointed, and despite the hustle and bustle of restaurant week, my dining companion and I had an incredible meal, with attentive and great service.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere and dining. Dined ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and dining. Dined with some friends fro KY and we all thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice meal at Muse. I loved ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a very nice meal at Muse. I loved the ambience...very European, with stuccoed old world type paintings on the ceiling, and a series of small rooms set into an old downtown house. The wine list was deep and the waiter knowledgeable about the vino.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We went during Restaurant Week. Therefor ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went during Restaurant Week. Therefore the restaurant was very crowded and I am sure under the strain of the crowd. The the food and service were average. Orders were mixed up. No bread was brought to the table until we asked a second time for it. I am sure this would be better during a normal week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were looking forward to Muse but the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were looking forward to Muse but the experience was disappointing. The venue itself and setting was everything we excepted. Service was intially friendly but quickly became apparent they were overwhelmed. All the food had good flavors but the cut of meats felt like poor quality. We both left half of our plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Good food in a pretty cool historic hous ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food in a pretty cool historic house. The location is good and ambiance is warm.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great staff! Asked our waitress about an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great staff! Asked our waitress about an open/private table on the patio and she checked and sat us outside! It was beautiful and the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When the server realized we weren't orde ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

When the server realized we weren't ordering drinks or apps. She wanted nothing to do with us. No bread. No water refills. The food was very good. Very small portions. All of this equals a big DO NOT GO HERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Creative, delicious dishes. Fondue with ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Creative, delicious dishes. Fondue with figs and pistachios - not what I would have chosen, but thankfully my dining partner did. Truly special dinner, again. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. Since this restaurant is in an old Charleston single house, I highly recommend it to visitors. You'll get great food with true Charleston ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great location! Nice old t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Awesome food, great location! Nice old town experience. Service was good and good was great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the pasta carbonarro which was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I ordered the pasta carbonarro which was good and my wife ordered the fish of the day which she said was just ok. The service was terrific and the salad had an unusual but nice touch wit the seared cheese slices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious dinner and vibrant bar scene. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious dinner and vibrant bar scene. Donnie, the bartender, was awesome! We decided to stay at the bar and eat. The sea bass is a must to try!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was not up to par. The tone, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was not up to par. The tone, the body language, the way/when they reached across the table. There were so many small acts that were an inconvenience and appeared unthoughtful. Perhaps they were having a bad day; it was restaurant week. However, it was bad enough to form a negative impression of Muse. The ambiance was quite charming tho. The cozy bar downstairs was especially inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

My husband recently went to Muse for a q ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My husband recently went to Muse for a quiet date night and had a lovely meal during restaurant week. The restaurant is warm and inviting with soothing hip music. The service was outstanding and the food was mouth watering. Loved the bruschetta! We will definitely be back and look forward to sitting on the balcony upstairs. Just beautiful.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live downtown Charleston and Muse is ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We live downtown Charleston and Muse is the best kept secret for locals and curious visitors as well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at muse on new years day and it w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate at muse on new years day and it was quiet but perfect. Lamb sausage is awesome! So many delicious menu options make it hard to choose but everything I have ever eaten is so good. This place is a little hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Second time here and service was good bu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Second time here and service was good but it took a while to get food. The steak for our children came out under cooked and when it returned it was charred beyond recognition. They had to remake the plate and it was fine. Dessert was on the house but wouldn't go their again as a first choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was very disappointed. Made the reser ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was very disappointed. Made the reservation - even stated it was our 39th wedding anniversary and we chose this restaurant to celebrate. Was greeted hurriedly - another (possibly Host) rushed over, pushed her aside and said follow me. Dropped the menus off, left

us in a small (music room) - 4 2 seat tables, poor wall conditions (tried to repair cheaply) no ambiance, no introduction. Server was just a little better had 3 other tables fill up - got to

talking with two other tables ....they have been long time guests and they were disappointed.

Will never go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

When we told the Marriott staff and/or d ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we told the Marriott staff and/or drivers that we had reservations @ Muse, their eyes lit up and they became animated about their love of Muse, the restaurant, the bar and the food. They told us Muse is a local, hidden gem. Muse is located in a historic house across the street from The Renaissance Hotel and The Grand Bohemian Hotel.

We are accustomed to dining at high end restaurants. When we ordered Sea Bass on New Year's Eve 2016, we were pleasantly surprised by the presentation. The fish was served as a deboned fillet with head, severed, yet appearing as if attached, in a decorative fashion, with the fillet twisted, as if in motion. The taste was light and salted to perfection.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great! Food was great and service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was great! Food was great and service was awesome. Portions were small but that is too be expected so we had absolutely no complaints. The building was beautiful and ambience was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our experience. I can' ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience. I can't say enough about the pleasant and professional service we received. The food was so good. Everyone enjoyed their plates and they were gorgeous. Loved the ambiance. Definitely a romantic destination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We sat upstairs and all six of us agreed ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We sat upstairs and all six of us agreed it was one of the best meals we had had in a long, long time. We could have eaten multiple orders of the goat cheese bruschetta appetizer and been very happy! The calamari and cheese plate appetizers were also very good (calamari used a light hand with the breading and oil so it wasn't as unhealthy as it often is at restaurants). As entrees we got the shrimp, scallops, snapper, and gnocchi, and each was fantastic. For dessert we split a chocolate torte and a tiramisu, both of which were amazing. I should note that I'm pretty hard to impress because I frequent top restaurants all over the country, but Muse definitely earns a spot in my top 10 ranking.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, exquisite presentation, atte ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, exquisite presentation, attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very excited to try this restaurant. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was very excited to try this restaurant. The ambience is a beautiful home, and that adds something special to the evening. However, our group all felt that we were hoping for smoother/quicker service. (One entrée was completely forgotten, we had to ask for it a second time. It arrived 10 mins. after everyone else was served). Our waitress was pleasant but perhaps they were understaffed or just a slow paced kitchen. Several diners in our group had fish and thought the presentation was great, but the flavors not what they were hoping for.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.