About Muse Restaurant

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: 8433011450x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (52)
neighborhood gem (52)
romantic (47)
See All
special occasion (47)
notable wine list (34)
great for outdoor dining (19)
good for groups (11)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (5)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Muse. Have been coming to Char ...

Dined 4 days ago

We loved Muse. Have been coming to Charleston for years but never had been here. Loved the atmosphere and we sat outside on a small patio. All the entrees that we tried were just the right portion size and delicious. The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable but not pushy. Would definitely go back next time we are in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heavenly evening with outside dining, de ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Heavenly evening with outside dining, delicious selection of beautifully prepared foods and excellent service. Our party of five was so impressed!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a very accommodating owne ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food and a very accommodating owner/staff. Highly recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and great service! Foun ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Wonderful food and great service! Found this neighborhood place via Open Table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time with no distractions

Dined on May 15, 2016

Celebrated end of fourth decade of second son at restaurant of his choice. We all agreed it was perfect. So intimate, so Charleston, great food, wine, dessert, service, and no distractions such as loud music. Crispy sea bass presentation unique and reportedly delicious. Creamy sweet onion soup was amazing. Tasted my first super Tuscan; more please. Just go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A historic house with original 1850's de ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

A historic house with original 1850's decor. Great food. The wine list was fair priced. Service outstanding. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance! Had a group of 8 and the ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great ambiance! Had a group of 8 and they were very accommodating , quick to serve, and responsive!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mother's Day Dinner Alfresco

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We ate here to celebrate Mother's Day an evening early, and we ate on the side patio outside. The food and service were very good as usual, and the atmosphere on a pleasant spring night was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2

High pressure to give up table. Didn't e ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

High pressure to give up table. Didn't even offer desert or coffee because they had another more valuable client next. We were there 90 mins.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

daughter's graduation dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great service, food .We were a group of 8 , we were not rushed, food was brought in a timely manner, Server was friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated in a small outdoor courty ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We were seated in a small outdoor courtyard where we could both watch the street activity and enjoy some patio privacy. Service was upbeat and efficient! I highly recommend this delightful restaurant:)

food4
ambience4
service4

It was great!

Dined on May 6, 2016

It was great!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a really nice evening at Muse. It ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a really nice evening at Muse. It was our wedding anniversary, so it was just nice to be out. The food was fantastic. I was a little disappointed in the flavor of the lamb chop, but it was really nicely cooked, and the beans and rainbow carrots were great! My husband had the chef's steak, and I got a little taste of that- SO GOOD! Our waitress was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Muses our favorite foods always on point ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Muses our favorite foods always on point and service is wonderful! Stephanie is the best!

food2
ambience5
service1
value1

WE LOVED THE FEEL OF THIS PLACE

Dined on May 1, 2016

PLACE IS BEAUTIFUL, VERY OLD,COZY AND DARK. THE SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE, AND THE FOOD NOT SO GREAT

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service

Dined on May 1, 2016

My sister and I met in Charleston last weekend and wanted to have a nice, relaxing special dinner for one of our evening meals - not a typical touristy spot. Muse had good recommendations and the menu looked good, so we booked our table. The meal was delicious. Our issue, on which we agree, is that we felt very rushed and not relaxed. Stephanie was aggressive in wanting to move the evening along, get orders in, and move us on out. While we could have indicated we wanted more time to relax, we did not feel welcome enough to so indicate. I will also say the manager on duty was not congenial or hospitable - no checking in, not even eye contact when he and I met face-to-face in the hallway. We accomplished half of our goals - good meal , but the secondary goal was not accomplished.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really great entree of fresh snapper. Wo ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Really great entree of fresh snapper. Wonderful time! Highly recommend it

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I went to Muse on a Th ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to Muse on a Thursday night and it could not have been better. The host asked us if we would like to have a table on the patio, it was a great day so we both agreed. Surprisingly we were taken up stairs to an outside deck with one table viewing Society Street. There was no doubt in my mind that we had the perfect table. Our server came by with menus and explained in detail the specials and walked us through the wine list. We received our drinks and ordered our food which thinking that the view and our server could not be outdone. I was wrong, from our appetizer to our main course we were pretty quiet because we could not stop eating. Our server was attentive but not over bearing which is rare in this town as most servers tend to check on you about 324234 times before the end of the meal. The experience was worth the price, no doubt. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Society St. Gem

Dined on April 21, 2016

Nice Charleston ambiance, excellent service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on April 16, 2016

The sumac duck and the swordfish were both fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2

Either this place does not like children ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Either this place does not like children or the service is just plain bad. Our server spent more time at the reception desk than attending to her guests and gave out kids cream instead of milk. Wanted to try it because of their homemade pasta but very few pasta dishes. Overpriced.

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Overview of Muse Restaurant

Dined on April 8, 2016

The restaurant, in physical apperance, is somewhat "tired". It does not give a first impression of being really clean - of course it is a very old building which contributes to that feeling. However, the service and food were outstanding. We had cocktails and then enjoyed the fact that their selection of wine by the glass was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We are outside so noise level great! Foo ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

We are outside so noise level great! Food was delicious.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner marred by 6 noisy adults

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food great. Service great. Owner. Setting tables, setting a great example. But 6 mature, noisy adults raised the noise level to a din. Dinner for four was neat $175. Shouldn't have to be abused by loud party in a relatively small room.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pasta and Wine

Dined on March 29, 2016

The homemade pasta is unreal, and the winelist is extensive and yet reasonable!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a winner!

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Always a winner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner!

Dined on March 25, 2016

There is really only good things to say about this Gem on Society Street! The Food is amazing! Sea bass was to die for and the steak was the best ive had!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding !

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Outstanding !

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Find!

Dined on March 17, 2016

My daughter and I stumbled upon this restaurant when she was attending CofC. It has become a MUST visit on each trip. This former home serves as a quaint backdrop for the excellent food, wine and service. The menu is very fresh and daily specials are creative and delicious. Pastas are outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Kind of neglected by our waiter. Sad.

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Kind of neglected by our waiter. Sad.

food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Take a pass

Dined on March 8, 2016

The restaurant looks tired, and nothing occurs during the meal to perk up one's interest. The wines are nondescript, and the appetizers are, at best, forgettable. We tried three different ones, and not one was worth eating. Very disappointed by our experience, and will not return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Italian restaurant with roots from Phila. PA

Dined on March 6, 2016

Love this neighborhood restaurant just off King Street for Italian food! Their pillows of Gnocchi are so popular they ran out of them when we wanted to order them! I think the Food and Wine participants found this gem and ate all the gnocchi's! The owner is from Philadelphia and she knows how to cook excellent Italian dishes! Try this restaurant out for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Not what it says

Dined on March 6, 2016

Very disappointed. Menu on website in no way resembled what the menu actually was. Supposedly marketed as an Italian restaurant - no way was it Italian.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect for date-night

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I had an enjoyable dinner. Our waitress was lovely. The lamb sausage was delicious. I could have eaten the taziki sauce in a bowl with a big spoon all by itself. I had the shrimp dish and my husband had the lobster risotto and they both were perfectly seasoned and portioned. It was the best meal we've had in 6 months

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceeds expectations

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Muse doesn't get the press of the places on East Bay or on upper King but they always deliver in terms of food, wine and service. The menu offers variety from appetizers to dessert, the servers have excellent timing(i.e. They don't bring your entry 3 minutes after your salad!) and they have a very nice and varied wine by-the-glass list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

My wife and I arrived for an early reser ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife and I arrived for an early reservation on a Sunday so we could make a show at the Gaillard. We were literally the only ones in the restaurant and then they seat four cackling old ladies right on top of us. Why? There were tables everywhere and they seat these people in our laps? The intimate table for two that we were sitting at became a table for six. Needless to say, having a private conversation with my wife was impossible. Aside from that the service was good as was the food. We ordered Striped Bass and Snapper and both were fresh and well prepared. Portions were a bit small however for a moderately expensive price point. Good wine list. Would we go back? Well it's a nice restaurant but with all of the wonderful choices in Charleston, probably not.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Not my first choice.

Dined on February 27, 2016

The wait staff was very friendly and the restaurant itself was nice. The food lacked seasoning and the portion size's were small especially considering the price. Ordered everything from appetizers to dessert and was not impressed by one dish. It was mediocre at best. If your looking for a great restaurant in Charleston this is not it.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful food!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We pick this restaurant because of reviews that said it was quiet and romantic. The night we went it was very noisy and very busy with everyone having to walk by our table. When I mentioned this to our waitress, she suggested we move to the patio. She helped us move our appetizers and drinks and set us up outside. From then on it was wonderful. The food was fantastic! The waitress did suggest that we, if we return (which we most likely will do), request a quiet table and they would do their best to help us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful Birthday celebration of r my daughter

Dined on February 19, 2016

I had asked during the on-line reservation for them to please do something to embarrass my teenaged daughter for her birthday. so after a wonderful meal-the carbonara is new and incredible-the waitress turned off the lights and presented her with cake. I started to sing Happy Birthday and my daughter shushed us. She said this was embarrassing enough. then the three other tables that were on our floor all burst into Happy Birthday and my family joined it. as always, a great meal and perfect event. thank you so much, Muse.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location, great food and great atmosphere.

Dined on February 18, 2016

We had everything from appetizers to dessert. Everything was perfectly prepared and perfect in terms of taste texture and temperature. Staff was pleasant and professional and knew their food and wine. Although we were expecting more Italian(rated as number 1 Italian in USA today) it was more Mediterranean and not the traditional Italian we were somewhat expecting. The bouillabaisse was perfect as was the bib salad. This was the perfect choice for a romantic dinner for my husband and I. Although the portions were small there was value in the quality in the selection of contents and preparation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.