About Muse Restaurant

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
1515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

OUR WAITRESS, CAROLINE, WAS EXCELLENT AND VERY FRIENDLY. GOOD FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE...

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Christmas party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

This place is great! The bartender Don is the best! Great time. The arugula salad is the best salad I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

A gem, much less touristy, more authentic, electic historic building, wonderful location in the middle of downtown and one of the nicest service teams in Charleston.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The food and the Piano room upstairs were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Great place for a date night. The atmosphere was good and the food is amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants and it's consistently good. It's in an old house and the various rooms are decorated differently and delightfully with an old world decor. Each room is relatively small with two larger rooms and two very small rooms with maybe 3 tables each. The wait staff are excellent and knowledgeable when it comes to wines and their offerings. Can't say enough good things about Muse.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Wonderful food and extremely friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Muse is a quirky restaurant in a very old Charleston house.
The food and wine were excellent.
The menu was appealing, with some different twists.
I especially enjoyed the Lamb Oso Bucco. (sp?)

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. A favorite! Jen is a wonderful server - attentive, amiable, and gracious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Horrible cheese plate. Literally the laziest I have ever seen. It would be wise not to go eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

The ambiance was unique, food was exquisite, and Ross took amazing care of our table

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great find! An excellent location with great food and very good service.

We had a dinner party of 15 and had a fantastic time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We have been here 4 times now. It has been excellent every time. This time we had the calimari appetizer. Nice Smoky flavor. The trigger fish, scallops and veal scaloppini. All delicious. The waiter recommended a medium priced red wine. It really was a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Great food and wait staff. The atmosphere at Muse keeps bringing us back every time we come to Charleston.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2017

An excellent light meal before a performance at the Gaillard auditorium nearby. Lovely wine recommendation to go with the trigger fish special. Highly recommended. Have eaten there several times in the last couple of years and never been disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2017

My guest complained that his charger was dusty and dirty
Waiter said they were out of scotch on Monday night and
did not know scotch brands from bourbon
They said they had run out of steak at 6 pm with almost no-one in the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The chef made no accommodations. They were totally inflexible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Wouldn’t recommend it. My daughter asked for a different sauce on her pasta and was told they don’t like to make changes to the menu. That would be enough reason not to return. You’re in the service industry you should accommodate.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our server was exceptional and the food selection and quality was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Restaurant was entirely empty on a Thursday night except for the two of us which was surprising because the food and service was good. Wait staff explained that they had been full earlier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

The portions were very small. We asked to have separate checks & we did not get it. The veal was tough. The polenta tasteless.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2017

I moved from Chicago 4 years ago and unfortunately, while many people tout Charleston as a foodie town, I do not. It seems there are many restaurants with pretty much the same low country menu and if you do not like spicy, seafood, or heavily sauced foods, you're out of luck. That's why Muse is so special. It's got a varied menu, lamb, beef, pastas, even veal which almost no one offers here. I think it's listed as Italian, but not really Italian...more like Italian options and there's something for everyone. Everything is excellently prepared and served from main dishes to salads and sides. Deserts are always excellent and the bartender makes the best Pomatini in the city. I've been there enough times to have gotten to know two of the wait staff that's usually working the second floor...a husband and wife team who are simply terrific, know their wines and pairings, are efficient and delightful and add to a wonderful dining experience.

One more plus...I love the environment. Muse is housed in an old house that's got to be at least 100 years old. The bar is downstairs, small and cozy but can be very loud once it gets busy. there is one dining room downstairs and several dining rooms upstairs. I prefer the upstairs. You're surrounded with old world charm. Each room has it's own personality, there is one table upstairs on the very small balcony which is so romantic and charming if you can get it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We arrived at Muse to an empty restaurant and were mildly concerned with our choice. A few more tables did come in, so we weren't eating alone. We had to change our original reservation due to a late flight into Charleston, and there frankly weren't a lot of place with openings. The location wasn't too far from our hotel and the menu looked good. The food was very good - some of the best scallops I have had in a long time. My daughter had the salad with goat cheese, and the tagliatelle with bolognese and loved hers as well. However the decor was in serious need of a facelift. The cushion on an extra seat at our table was ripped, there were dead bugs on the wall. Things just looked worn and in need of a good cleaning. With a little attention to decor this could be a really good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2017

A quiet and authentic small restaurant in a historic home in Charleston. Loved the ambiance, the food was excellent and service was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Menu is extensive. Delightful porch seating in Charleston single. Ambiance is better than the food which is average for the price. My scallop dish was over seasoned for example; could not taste the delicate scallops. Chocolate dessert with rhubarb sauce was delish on the other hand.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was delicious, but you don't get a lot for the price. Disappointed because of that.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

This was unfortunately a poor restaurant with undesirable food and atmosphere. I do not recommend Muse and suggest to look elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Good is always authentic, well constructed and spot on.
The service was exceptional....welcoming, warm, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Lovely dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Sunday night's are hard as probably a different wait staff &:or chef. All I all a nice evening. We are continual customers of Muse & love the food & the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very diverse menu and great wines by the bottle and glass. Our waiter was spot on all night and we had a great evening. My lamb chops were perfectly done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Came across Muse by walking down a street my Wife and I hadn't gone done since starting our stay in Charleston.

Young lady waiting on us was attentive and was very pleasant . Spoke with the Owner for a bit as they started to pickup for the night and she was welcoming and insightful to the area.

We'll be back to Charleston in the next 6 months and Muse will be a return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had reservations for my birthday and were promptly seated as soon as we arrived. The server was very aware of the full menu and options. All of our party enjoyed the evening
And can't wait to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Muse was recommended to us by one of the restaurant's
bartenders, who we met earlier in the day while watching football downtown. It was restaurant week in Charleston. The meal my husband and I had was one of the best meals I've eaten during restaurant week. We liked the atmosphere of the old house, as well. I definitely want to go back to Muse the next time we are in Charleston to try the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Took a friend for a birthday on restaurant week. I had the chicken paté as an appetizer, braised short ribs with pappardelle as the entrée, and chocolate hazelnut tiramisú for dessert. The food was delicious, properly sized and reasonably priced. Would go again. The room was a tad small and there was a large and boisterous party nearby, but the ambiance improved considerably after they left. Tourists. Would definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was ok. Wine selection is great. Service was subpar; not very knowledgeable nor attentive. We wouldn't go back unless I wanted just wine.

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Muse NEVER disappoints with food and service!
We had a GRAND time and experience. Thank you.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Organic, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

4 of us met in Charleston for the weekend, first time for us all. As foodies, we were looking for an good place with interesting choices and including options for our one vegetarian. This was a great find - smaller place, comfortable and quiet environment, great service, and creative, yummy food. Highly recommend Muse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.