Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Muse Restaurant

4.5
1607 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 577-1102
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joaquin Bustos
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 1607 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Food was not overly impressive. What I found most appalling was the mark up on the wine (~ 5x retail cost). They boasted that they are known for their wine, however, what we sampled was not impressive and the value was obviously poor

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

The food was good. The service was okay. They changed waiter/waitress on us a couple of times. Sometimes really slow, but overall was a good meal, good ambiance, enjoyable. We went for my husband's birthday, while we were in Charleston.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

food was okay, overpriced and very noisy could not hear each other

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We had an excellent meal - the trout was the standout, but everything was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

I always have a great meal at Muse! The food is delicious and the service is the best!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 17, 2018

My wife and I visited Charleston and ate at several very nice restaurants. Excellent food and service. Although thus restaurant had a very nice bartender( we chose to eat at the bar), the food was good not outstanding. My wife’s fish was good and plentiful, but my pasta was hardly enough for an appetizer no less a main course. I mentioned it to the bartender and he said would you want to order another. Not for $20. He never offered any more. I also found a piece of plastic in my meal which he took no action to rectify.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Just a lovely restaurant near the Renaissance Hotel. Small,quaint and historic. The food was great and the service was wonderful.
Recommend the Muse to everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Restaurant very unique, great bartender and excellent cocktails. The food side is to die for! I don't live in Charleston but every time I visit I make a reservation. I have never been disappointed in the last three years eating there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The wait staff was a little slow to begin with. We had to wait what seemed like a long time, to first get our water glasses filled, but the service improved somewhat after that. The food, however, was outstanding! The scallops, trout and crispy sea bass were excellent. The bouillabaisse while good was a bit skimpy in volume.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

So good we are going back tomorrow! We were disappointed we couldn’t get in to Husk or Magnolia, but no more! Perfect portion sizes. Wish they would get baguette s from Christophe ‘s next door rather than theirs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was great! Service could have been more attentive. The corkage fee was a little high compared to other restaurants in Charleston. All in all, we will return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

One of our favorites in Charleston! We love the food and the character of the building. Usually eat there a couple of times per month.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food and service! We took our time ordering and didn't feel rushed at all on a busy Saturday night. Food came out very quickly. Beautiful presentation and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Hidden gem amongst fabulous restaurants downtown. What a great find. Everything was wonderful. Will definitely return. Would have loved to had time to hang out at the bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great experience for the 1st time eating at Muse. Would definitely do again. Awesome food, great staff and a wonderful setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

What a fun restaurant! Great for a group (which we were) or a date. Lovely old house turned into a dining establishment with great nooks and crannies for tables, including a lovely balcony overlooking Society Street. The Meze Platter is a good way to start and the Grilled Calamari is excellent as well. We were a party of 9 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food, from the salads to the pasta to the fish entrees. We tried four of the desserts - lemon tart, tiramisu, Boca Negra, and the cheesecake and everyone had a favorite - a great way to get your friends and family arguing ...
Our server Don was excellent. His knowledge of the wines and the menu helped steer us in the right direction at every turn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Very quaint restaurant. The meal was delicious, though pricey for the quantity. Was placed in a room with a large group so that ruined the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The group really enjoyed the food and recommendations by the staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

This restaurant is located in a charming historic home. The service was impeccable and the food was equally good. We had a relaxing, quiet evening and will definitely go back. For us, this is the best dining experience we have had in Charleston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Such a fabulous dining experince. The restaurant is in an old home and was decorated very quaintly! My family was in town for the weekend and this was the favorite meal of the weekend. From the cheese tray to the wine to the entrees... it was all amazing. Portions were a good size and everyone felt full but not stuffed to the brim- always a plus for me!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Dinner was delicious and the recommendation of the waiter was great. The bar is a great place to go for a fun evening of conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The meal was excellent and the service very attentive. Best house Cabernet by the glass I've ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Very nice restaurant. Beautiful ambience- my dinner was a friends get together. We were able to talk with ease - the noise level was kept to a minimum / could hear ourselves talk and think without disrupting other patrons. Food was excellent and service very attentive. Prices are very reasonable. Meal was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We usually dine at Muse prior to attending a What If Production. The food and atmosphere are always very nice. We should visit more often when we venture downtown, but there are so many wonderful dining choices, we tend to not think about Muse. Since we are becoming more interested in attending What If Production, and Muse is so convenient, I am certain we will be dining there more often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

The flash fried crusty branzino was delish - they fillet it with the skin, tail,and head on before cooking. Tilefish was great too. Very helpful on wine selection. Good grilled calimari - but really more sautéed than grilled.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Classic Charleston atmosphere in an old house with excellent service and great tasting food! The PEI mussel app was nice...the biggest mussels I’ve ever had!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Came here for my first time to celebrate my friends birthday. Had a drink at the bar before being seated. Bartender made sure to introduce himself and learn all of our names. He continued to address us by our names and had thoughtful conversation. He even charged my phone behind the bar when he heard me complain that I only had 13% battery life left. Food was unique and delicious and the service was prompt. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Food and wine were excellent! Space is small and there was a large family table there which made it less than romantic and cozy if someone was looking for that. I was alone so it was not a problem. Reminded me of my family in fact when out with children and grandchildren. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We are Charlston locals and have dined at Muse before. In the past we have found it average. This experience however was way below average except for our wonderful server. It is unlikely that we will ever go back again. The only thing that met our expectation was the champagne I ordered which was a good one. I will definitely not recommend Muse to our Charleston friends or our guests from out of town.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Ambiance was really nice. Food was decent, but the chef was unwilling to make a substitution of a vegetable in my entree even though I had a food allergy to the original ingredient. Sever seemed unwilling to even ask the chef about it. For the prices on the menu, I would think they'd be willing to accommodate a change for an ALLERGY. Also, with such high prices I'd expect the portions to be bigger. My dad ordered the Lamb Osso Bucco and I ordered the Gnocchi, both were extremely rich and neither of us wanted to finish our meals. My gnocchi were not even properly made, they were mushy on the outside. Brussels sprout risotto was bland and had no Brussels sprouts (which I only ordered because they refused to replace the veggie in my meal). We did really enjoy their mussels, but the experience itself and the entrees were not enough for me to come back again. Nowadays, a chef should be willing to accommodate requests. as so many restaurants are. The food was not so impeccable that I would go back to a place that was unapologetically unwilling to give me the experience I wanted; there are many other restaurants that will, and that offer the same type of food with better execution. Overall, disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

The food was excellent. Lamb was fork tender. Service was great. And when we left, before we were even a block away, they called and said my wife had left her purse. Thank God for Open Table reservations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had a great time eating at Muse . We were a group of 10 people which is hard to do but Muse and the service team did a great job.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Very expensive for very average food. I will not go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Everything about the evening was fantastic , took my daughter & her college friends. all around great dining experience !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

This was our first time at Muse. The food was excellent from appetizers to desserts. I had the fish of the day and it was cooked perfectly. I would definitely recommend trying Muse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

My wife and I went to Muse 4 years ago, when were dating. It is small and tucked away, in an old house down a side street off the busiest part of King street. Very easy to walk by without noticing.

I surprised my wife by booking a reservation for our anniversary, and it was as nice as we remembered it being. It is a place that blurs boundaries, chameleonic. It is fine dining, but it’s not stuffy, it is both elegant and comfortable. The food was perfect, and beautiful. I didn’t like the actual serving dishes the food was played on, but that is probably my quirk and not theirs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

It was a great night.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The fish was good. The server was good. The chef would make no susbstitutions though so I will never go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
41