About Muse Restaurant

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Historic (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Cozy (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (7)
Private Room (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fireplace (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

A lovely neighborhood restaurant off the beaten track from the Bay street scene. Very nice, higher end Italian plus great seafood. Very nice wine list. Charming setting in an old house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Historic setting, and excellent dinner and service. We sat upstairs which is quieter than downstairs.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our best dinner in 5 days in Charleston. The food was great, the portion sizes just right, and the personnel amazing. I had the arugula salad, the shrimp plate and finished with the ricotta cheesecake. I can't say enough good things. On top of everything, this was one of the least expensive meals we had.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A nice restaurant in an old house in the middle of old town. Mussels were excellent!! Modest wine list but some good choices. Scallops nicely grilled on risotto. Bar was small but hopping.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Booked table for 6. A celebration meal. The venue is an old Charleston home. Lovely place. Arrived on time and was immediately seated in back corner on 2nd floor (what used to be) porch.

Unfortunately the waiter did not do well and seemed to forget about us. We did not receive ANY food until +35 mins after arrival. When some food did arrive, it included both the appetizers and 1st course salads. The bread bowl - normally automatic and in our case somewhat necessary for the cheese plate ordered - did not arrive until later and only after two requests. Complained to manager which did no good. Water glasses remained empty. Made multiple requests for some oil and spices for the little saucers to dip the bread into. Then we noticed several tables around us received their entrees long before we did, but our family was seated 5-10 mins prior. Another complaint to management still did not fix the situation and may have made things worse. We were now pariah. Eventually our waiter was replaced with a new waitress.

While waitress #2 was fine, no one apologized for the earlier waiter's amazingly bad service. They did however try to blame us for being late (we weren't).

In short, interesting decor, average food, terrible service. There are so many good restaurants in Charleston. Go enjoy one of the others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Muse was a warm, comfortable, neighborhood feel. The food was excellent and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quality and quiet dining experience in Charleston.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went here for the first time last weekend with 4 girl friends. We had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Such a charming little restaurant! Very nice, high-end Italian food. Very nice wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The place has a nice ambiance. Some of the food is really good, other not so much. The sea bass is great, the calamari dish kind of odd. Also, while the service is pleasant, the food come out very slowly, which made us think that the kitchen was having trouble keeping up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fabulous all around. A great find that's off the beaten path.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Muse has a comfy and elegant atmosphere. I love the outdoor dining under the twinkly lights on the balcony. We had the best time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food is delicious. Fresh, local ingredients put together in creative ways. The service is great: helpful, friendly but not intrusive. The decor is comfortable and cozy, although perhaps could use some refreshing. Overall a great place.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We loved the ambience of Muse. The food was delicious as we enjoyed every bit if it!! Would recommend the scallops with Brussel sprout risotto and mussels in white wine with cannelloni beans.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I found the meals not to be as amazing as before, but still a delightful spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great Birthday Dinnet

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great dining experience on a busy Food + Wine Festival weekend!! There were 9 of us, which is always a challenge. Wonderful service - from decanting the wines to sharing the desserts! Whole fish was excellent, as was the tagliatelle bolognese and the scallops over brussel sprouts risotta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I would not eat their grilled calamari. It was undercooked and made me sick that night. The staff is friendly, but the food seems a bit overpriced for the quality.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This place had a great ambiance. A group of 3 of us sat outside before a concert. The food was good but not exceptional. I got the veal, my friends got the scallops, & the steak. I'd recommend going early, since it's not crowded then.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Ambience gorgeous. Wine list extremely interesting, with extensive by-the-glass selections. Salads, in particular the arugula/arughetto salad, a bouquet of flavors. Second courses absolutely authentic and delicious... but extremely small portions. With this one note of caution, an extremely caring staff and a very unique dining experience. My wife and I have a second home in the "Holy City" and are comfortable in revisiting "Muse".

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Puny portions. My red snapper was a tad over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was good, but nothing spectacular. Downtown Charleston has a lot of excellent restaurants, Muse is just not competitive enough.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was really slow and not helpful. Extremely overpriced menu for the quality and portion sizes of food. For a valentines day menu, extremely limited with not even a salad option?? That's disappointing.
First and last visit.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for Valentines Day. I made my reservation on Open Table. two days before, I got a phone call to advise me the dinner would be a price fixed limited menu. This would have been good to know, as I did not have any time to make another reservation. The meal was ok, but, not anything we would have normally have ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My boyfriend and I had Valentine's Day dinner there! The food was delicious and the restaurant is very beautiful!! I definitely will go back!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ordered the mussels, and as soon as they arrived we knew they were bad just by the way they smelled. We did taste one each, and yep, we were right. Awful. Thankfully no charge. We had to ask for a Diet Cole twice from our waiter and then we never received any refills on it or water. The Scallops and Risotto was bland, to say the least. The best I could do with that was ask for fresh ground pepper. The Bolognese was amazing, by far the highlight of the night. We will never go back. What a disappointment after a great culinary experience all week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Superb food and service- we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Opentable's service of reservation was excellent. I walked right up to the hostess and was to my table within seconds. Easy to use and will use it again for future services.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a very nice dinner--not a special occasion, but everything was lovely--good service, friendly hostess, good food--especially desserts!😊 cute, cozy, warm atmosphere. We will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Muse continues to be a very pleasant place to dine, with nice ambiance in historic converted single house. The menu is not overly fussy and has a good variety of choices; wine list is not extensive but a good one. Prices are reasonable for downtown.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fabulous meal! Fabulous service!
A little dark and cramped on the upstairs enclosed porch where we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and service. Cozy atmosphere. Somewhat expensive but well worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We loved that Muse is an old Charleston house and they are utilizing it well. Wallpapers and floors are well worn which is part of its charm. Our server was excellent and the food good. We would return when in Charleston again.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Charming ambience. Food is delicious. Love eating at the bar.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our meals were spectacular! I had the scallops, my husband had the bouillabaisse, our guests had osso bucco and pasta bolognese, and we were all impressed. Our server, Alexandra, was exceptional and gave us just the right amount of attention. Muse is one of our favorite local restaurants with special attention to service, atmosphere, and excellent food! We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Muse is in a charming Charleston building and has a lovely bar and a good kitchen. BUT the facility is looking tired and is in dire need of a facelift. That would also improve the atmosphere by nakibg it more upbeat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Nice selections on menu. Good wine list. This is a small restaurant. Entrance way was not attractive but inside was ok. Meal main courses were qutte good but coffee at end wasn't hot and panna cotta was mediocre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My husband and I enjoy trying new restaurants whenever we go out for date night. I found Muse while looking through the restaurant week participants. Muse's menu looked very appetizing and we decided to try it. We are very glad we did and look forward to returning. The staff was great and on top of our needs. The food was delicious. The tiramisu was one of the best we've ever had and we have tried many over the years. My husband and I make our own tiramisu and this was even better than ours. They have a huge wine list, which most can be purchased by the glass. We really enjoyed the Muse atmosphere. The character of the old home turned restaurant gave us a charming experience that added to an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I am local, and with all the new fad restaurants opening, it is refreshing to have a consistently great experience at a restaurant I love. The restaurant is in an old house and has all the charm that goes with that. There is a small bar downstairs for an intimate drink before dinner. I've never been disappointed, and despite the hustle and bustle of restaurant week, my dining companion and I had an incredible meal, with attentive and great service.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and dining. Dined with some friends fro KY and we all thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a very nice meal at Muse. I loved the ambience...very European, with stuccoed old world type paintings on the ceiling, and a series of small rooms set into an old downtown house. The wine list was deep and the waiter knowledgeable about the vino.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.