About Muse Restaurant

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (20)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (3)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was amazing, lovely atmosphere, and great service. We have kids that are adventurous eaters and all 3 loved this restaurant. Can't wait to come back our next visit to Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Went to Muse to celebrate our daughter starting medical school. Staff was super nice and accommodating. Made the evening even more fun. The food and drinks were awesome. Everyone in the party loved their meal - from appetizers to desserts! Definitely recommend going there!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and outstanding service. I took a group of out of town business associates and they were highly pleased. It's a hidden Gem in Charleston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food and such a cute place! Small in scale but worth going if you can get reservations.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Felt like we were an inconvenience the entire 3 hours while we were sweating in a room with no AC. Also, important to know about half of the menu listed online is not in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

My wife and I have been there at least 8 times. This is our go to place in Charleston. The bar is cozy but way fun. We always have a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Nice overall place to enjoy on a date or with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Cool atmosphere in an old charleston house. The house could use some touching up..not a remodel just simple things like fresh paint and such. Food was pretty good...however my father got the chefs choice steak and the middle was inedible. The meat was so tough it couldn't even be cut with the knife. Very disappointed in that entree. Other dishes we got were the gnocchi, the salmon, the carbonara, and the sea bass. All were Great dishes. Overall a pleasant meal. Great spot for a date or conversation as the noise level is pretty low

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely awesome food! One of my Charleston favorites!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I had some family visiting but didn't find out until a few days before. I had not been to Muse before but the menu looked interesting and they could accommodate a reservation for a party of eight. I am happy to report that everyone enjoyed their meal. Several of us ordered the Swordfish special which was local caught and it was excellent. Others got the lamb chops which looked amazing. Same for the scallops. We started with the mussels and the Meze platter which are great to share with a bigger group. Muse has a pretty extensive wine list and over a dozen choices by the glass. By the glass prices were good for downtown Charleston. Our server was excellent and very attentive. Water glasses were refilled without asking and any questions about the menu were answered. The restaurant is in a historic home and we were seated on the second floor in a room with an old marble fireplace. There is a small bar on the first floor and the person working the bar was very friendly and offered suggestions on wine. He offered me a sample of a wine I was considering and his description was spot on. Overall we had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food and service were impeccable but the facility is shabby and looked dirty in some places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We came for an early pre-theatre meal before a show at Threshold Rep next door. They had a lovely 3 course pre-theatre menu which we both chose. Salads, the tile fish special and desserts were all nicely prepared. Service was excellent. Recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Everything was great. Although, the dish I ordered ran out of ingredients in the kitchen so that was very disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A great experience! Had the scallops and wreckfish which were cooked perfectly. Don't miss this hidden gem!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I have been several times over the years but will
Never go back! Food was not good. Waiter did not want to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great little restaurant tucked away between King and Meeting. In an old house with southern charm and character. I had one of the specials of the day, fresh snapper, which was delicious. We sat upstairs in a small room at the front of the building, very cozy. Service was excellent (Monday night). On our list when we return.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Muse is a regular for us. Food is great, ambiance is cozy and friendly. Once again, it did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very nice, downtown location close to parking. Mediterranean menu and vibe. The scallops were fresh with just enough char to add flavor. When the temperature was not as expected, the problem was corrected immediately. Wine list is exceptional in line with the Mediterranean approach. Don't expect to find 20 California Cabernets but plenty of choices from Loire, Burgundy, Italy and Spain. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Chose Muse for its' proximity to a night tour. Building is basically an old house, with a crowde bar downstairs, and small rooms to dine in up the narrow stairway. If you want modern and fancy this is not your place. If you want attentive service, great presentation, and a delicious meal than you should be satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I took my daughter to this restaurant thinking it would be a nice upper level dinner but, instead it was a run down poser restaurant. We ordered scallops - they were charred so badly that the char was all you could taste, and pasta bolognese - it barely had any meat in it. The portions are small. The bread is thinly sliced and served w olive oil straight out of the bottle. We had to ask for balsamic vinegar and salt and pepper. For the prices their bread and oil should be dressed up. Their dishes bigger and with better care in cooking. Also, we had to add salt to everything!!!! It was not seasoned at all. Dessert was good but, again small. Wine good and good prices. They need to clean this place up - very dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Every dish was a delight. From house made bread to ricotta gnocchi, and expertly presented deboned whole sea bass. Heirloom tomato salad with buffalo mozzarella and sweet corn soup were seasonal perfection. We didn't try dessert but we're tempted by Bourbon and Peach Panna cotta. Charming decor, great music. Service was smooth and efficient and we found our favorite new Italian white wine thanks to our server. Don't hesitate to go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Scallops and risotto are a must, the steak is devine, but the chocolate decadence with raspberry sin is amazing!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great meal and fabulous ambiance. Love sitting at the bar for an after dinner drink!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Muse. I was not crazy about the sea bass but it was no ones fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food, great service and quaint setting - definetely recommend!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food and service were good. They could have seated our party of 10 so we were not so crammed together. The area we were sitting had plenty of space and no one seated in our section the whole time we were there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

wonderful food and ambiance. would recommend to anyone visiting Charleston, as the food was quite inventive on a lovely historic street in an even lovelier historic townhouse. Wonderful architectural details and a lively, but romantic atmosphere. Service was excellent and food was delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Charming interior but the food was disappointing : the Bolognese sauce had no tomatoes in it, the grilled octopus was bland, the fish special was average.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Muse is a real neighborhood gem. Love the fabulous old house, and its cozy rooms, and funky decor. Good food. Great service. All in all, would not hesitate to go there again. In fact, I plan to do that. Bartender runs a good bar, and is very knowledgeable about wines. Lots of wines by the glass. Its charming.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great experience, we really loved the chocolate torte dessert and the anchovy bruschetta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I recommend it! It wasn't to over the top, and it wasn't to sunk down. The food was phenomenal, just know you're letting off some cash, but it's very worth it! The service was great, there when needed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always enjoy Muse they know their wine and food and service could not have been better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food is consistently good. Always have great experience in the bar. Missed Donny, but Evan was very personable and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on June 3, 2017

A great place, with spectacular food and service. The gnocchi and bouillabaisse were our favourite, though we tried quite a lot of the menu and they were all fantastic. Beautiful old house, though the main rooms are more comfortable than the smaller corner room. Looking forward to being back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I recommend their outdoor seating, pleasant location and quieter than inside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great besides portions. Took 5 guys for a bachelor party dinner and they were all still hungry after. I would definitely recommend appetizers and salads and doing the full course meal. Don't depend on the entrées to fill you up. Taste wise it was all great.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I have read mixed reviews of the restaurant. My wife and I both had seafood and found the food to be very good . We were seated promptly. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. While the service definitely wasn't rushed, I never felt it was taking to long to receive our food. Muse isn't our favorite restaurant, but we had a very nice meal and would recommend it .

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Once again we ate on the patio prior to going next door to Threshold Rep theater for Piccolo performance. Our server remembered what we drank and suggested dishes she thought we'd like based on our previous trips there's. As usual, We had a fun, wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food was excellent. Great menu. Table was missing silverware, server forgot a salad order; so, attention to detail was missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.