About Muse Restaurant

Nestled away in a historic home in downtown Charleston is MUSE, an elegant restaurant and intimate bar reminiscent of a Mediterranean Villa. Executive Chef, Jason Houser melds the cuisines of Italy, Spain, France, & Greece, featuring preparations of Grilled Seafood, Seared Fish, Savory Meats, Homemade Pastas, and Salads. The extensive wine list complements the experience and offers 100 selections by the glass. The cozy bar empties out onto a terrace, offering outdoor dining, tapas, and cocktails.

82 Society Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-1102

Website:
http://www.charlestonmuse.com/

Parking Details:
A city parking lot is 1/2 block away

Executive Chef:
Joaquin Bustos

Private Party Facilities:
Muse is comprised of five separate dining rooms, all of which can be used for private parties. The entire establishment may also be booked for special occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Anne Crane: (843) 301-1450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Muse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Cozy (22)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Historic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Great experience, we really loved the chocolate torte dessert and the anchovy bruschetta!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I recommend it! It wasn't to over the top, and it wasn't to sunk down. The food was phenomenal, just know you're letting off some cash, but it's very worth it! The service was great, there when needed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always enjoy Muse they know their wine and food and service could not have been better.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food is consistently good. Always have great experience in the bar. Missed Donny, but Evan was very personable and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on June 3, 2017

A great place, with spectacular food and service. The gnocchi and bouillabaisse were our favourite, though we tried quite a lot of the menu and they were all fantastic. Beautiful old house, though the main rooms are more comfortable than the smaller corner room. Looking forward to being back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I recommend their outdoor seating, pleasant location and quieter than inside.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great besides portions. Took 5 guys for a bachelor party dinner and they were all still hungry after. I would definitely recommend appetizers and salads and doing the full course meal. Don't depend on the entrées to fill you up. Taste wise it was all great.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I have read mixed reviews of the restaurant. My wife and I both had seafood and found the food to be very good . We were seated promptly. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. While the service definitely wasn't rushed, I never felt it was taking to long to receive our food. Muse isn't our favorite restaurant, but we had a very nice meal and would recommend it .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Once again we ate on the patio prior to going next door to Threshold Rep theater for Piccolo performance. Our server remembered what we drank and suggested dishes she thought we'd like based on our previous trips there's. As usual, We had a fun, wonderful dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food was excellent. Great menu. Table was missing silverware, server forgot a salad order; so, attention to detail was missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Muse always had excellent food. Best Bolognese in town. Great bar food and nice outside area as well as dining room.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Do not eat here. We had reservations on the Sunday night of Memorial Day weekend; getting us seated seemed to be a confusing exercise for the staff. Muse is in an old house and dining takes place in rooms, upstairs and down, with several tables in each one; very charming. However - this makes it difficult for your server to see you or that you, for example, may need to order, or be welcomed to your table, or be given a glass of water. We were seated for over 10 minutes before anyone came to our table to ask us what we wanted to drink.

The rest of this will be brief. Restaurant was dirty and poorly maintained; every light fixture had at least one bulb burned out. There was an old white blanket draped over something in the corner. Staff was harried and overworked. Service was so confused that it detracted significantly from the experience. Prices are unjustifiably high. Food was great however - too bad the kitchen can't get a better service operation.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This restaurant is located in an old house built in the late 1800s and has a world of charm. The individual dining rooms did not have more than four or five small tables. The menu was varied from seafood to pasta with chicken or shrimp and steaks. All meals were prepared with a Mediterranean flair which was very enjoyable. Our server was very knowledgeable and quite personable. We will go back again on another visit to Charleston.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Best kept secret in Charleston. We LOVE it, and I hesitate to delve any deeper.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I think this restaurant could be better than my rating, but our experience wasn't that great. We arrived on time for our reservation, but the table wasn't ready. We were seated 30 minutes late, after sitting outside and watching through the window into the bar as two people groped each other lewdly. We were seated upstairs on the porch at a table jammed up against big curtains that I had to brush against constantly. Our server was in no hurry, although by now it was late and we were starving. I have a daughter that must eat gluten free, dairy free and the options were minimal and the server seemed uninterested in seeing if the chef could help. He just said, "sorry there aren't more options". The food was fine, but not necessarily memorable. Given all the choices in Charleston, I don't think we will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Interesting old home. Hostess was abrupt when we entered. Mussels were good. Bolognese was good, too. But we never received our grilled asparagus and yet were charged for it. The service in general was haphazard.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Smallest portion of pasta I have ever seen. It would have fit in teacup with room left over

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Yummy meal, not too expensive. Authentic feel of downtown Charleston.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Made a reservation for a late Mother's Day. Ordered some great cocktails/mocktails, bartender did a good job of whipping up specialty stuff for us.

Had the calamari as an appetizer, which was pretty bland for calamari.

Ordered the steak, which was excellent. Side of fries were a little meh, but I didn't really care about them.

Finished with Tiramisu, which was outstanding.

A nice experience, but hardly phenomenal, and a little on the pricey side for the quality.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Was annoyed that they said we didn't show up for my reservation when we absolutely did show up and on time, and dined at the restaurant. Just an annoyance. My appetizer of tuna carpaccio was delicious, but the lamb chops were the most gristly, difficult to eat chops I've ever had. I had to fight around the gristle. I've eaten a lot of lamb chops and I have to wonder if this was actually still a "lamb" chop or a more mature animal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

LOVE love love this restaurant! I recently had several famly members in town and we ate at sweveral restaurants. MUSE was by far the very best. Great southern charm and ambiance without being sappy. Great menu selections and special. Wine list was great. Dessert was scrumptious. Wait staff was attentive. What more could we want? Everyone enjoyed it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Over priced , average food quality but the owner or manager, who ever she was kept running around restaurant bossing staff around and complaining about everything. Place looked like it could use a good cleaning too

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We have eaten at Muse several other times while visiting Charleston. It is located on one of the quaint side streets in Charleston, Society, and it located in an old house. It happened that their was a outdoor concert going on across the street in a Hampton Inn so there was noise which you would normally not experience. The food and wine was excellent, Jennifer was a great waitress and we enjoyed our meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Cheese plate and bread were good. Scallops were fabulous. Service was lackluster. Too many good restaurants with good service in Charleston for me to want to go back anytime soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We attended my nieces college of Charleston graduation before bringing 8 people to dinner. The bartender gave her a glass of champagne and a congratulations when we entered. With such a large party I liked so many choices for drinks, appetizers, dinner and desserts. The waitress was very informative and patient. Perfect place for a large party. Everything was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our server was incredible!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were a large party celebrating a graduation. While the room was somewhat private, it was a bit musty. Also, I wish we were notified of having to be upstairs as I would have requested 2 tables on the first floor as 3 in our party have difficulty with stairs. We had a reservation and were seated promptly, yet we were short one chair and it took at least 10 minutes for our server to bring one over. Service overall was very slow and not very attentive--which I assume was the result of the tip being added to our large party. My husband, daughter and I had visited the bar and had a great experience with Donnie, thus prompting me to make a reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of the best kept secrets in Charleston! Owner Beth Anne Crane has had the same wonderful wait staff for years and the food is always great! Don't miss the duck with sumac, the Merguez sausage, any of the pastas and the daily fish special!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We sat outside to enjoy our delicious food. The service was professional and unhurried but efficient.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We always love to walk here for dinner. Sat at the bar- fun as usual

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great place for dinner, either inside or outside. Especially good before going to the theatre.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very good food & perfect for a pre-show meal. Our waiter was fantastic! Very attentive and accommodating with our limited time. Would definitely recommend!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful food; expert service. I took a friend to Muse, because it was a short, pleasant walk from the hotel, and I hoped to be able to converse over a very good meal. All that happened, on an unusually quiet night at Muse (Wednesday). Even though only a few tables were occupied upstairs, the staff did not discourage us from dining there, and the waiter was cheerful and prompt. He discussed our wine and dinner choices with us knowledgeably - that makes it fun and makes for better decisions. I had the wreckfish entree, which was sauteed beautifully, not overcooked, and was accompanied by some slightly crunchy veggies. My friend had the lamb, which was tender and passed her approval - and she's an expert on lamb. We shared the lemon tart - suitably tart and soothed by a dollop of whipped cream. Lovely evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I recently had a four night mini-vacation in Charleston. We tried a different restaurant each afternoon and night. Muse was the last we visited. While we never had a bad meal, if we had visited Muse earlier, we would have gone back. The next time we are in Charleston we definitely will. We had a hard time choosing from the menu, because everything sounded great - and everything lived up to its description. We opted to follow a tapas-like approach. We shared the soup of the day (potato with porcini mushrooms ), then each had a salad (Roasted Baby Beets with Nutmeg Creme Fraiche, Toasted Walnuts & Balsamic Glaze, and Bibb Lettuce Salad with Honey Crisp Apple Slices, Gorgonzola Cheese, Crispy Farro, & Sherry Vinaigrette), and two appetizers (House Made Grilled Lamb Sausage with Red Peppers, Fennel, Radish, Tzatziki, Harrisa & Flat Bread, and Duck Breast Rubbed with Sumac & Served with Medjool Dates, Madeira Onions & Pomegranate Jus). Everything was outstanding. The server was calm, unobtrusive, helpful, and came around at just the right intervals. The restaurant is in an old house with dining in former parlors, dining rooms, bedrooms, etc. Since we were kind of on a date, we really enjoyed being in one of the upstairs rooms by an open window where we could watch the sun set,and enjoy some privacy. There were two other tables in use in the room, but spaced far enough apart to keep things quiet and private. For folks who want things more lively, the outdoor dining and bar on the first floor would definitely fit the bill. Speaking of "the bill", the price was very reasonable. Try it!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic meal. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the wine list and made an excellent recommendation. A great alternative to the usual haunts. It says a lot about the restaurant scene when the food is that good and it isn't considered in the top 50 in some surveys.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed our meals very much. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Loved the arugula salad, food was ok otherwise-just really small portions.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious food, lovely decor, noticeably indifferent service made for a good but not great experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.